Opinion

State ex rel. Moss v. Ohio State Hwy. Patrol Retirement Sys.

  • 97 Ohio St. 3d 198
  • 2002 Ohio 5806
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Nov 6, 2002
Status
Published
Cited by
16 cases
Authority
More cited than 86.8%

The opinion

[This decision has been published in Ohio Official Reports at 97 Ohio St.3d 198.]

THE STATE EX REL. MOSS, APPELLEE, v. OHIO STATE HIGHWAY PATROL

RETIREMENT SYSTEM ET AL., APPELLANTS.

[Cite as State ex rel. Moss v. Ohio State Hwy. Patrol Retirement Sys.,

2002-Ohio-5806.]

Ohio State Highway Patrol Retirement System—Retirement board determined

that it was unable to consider an application for disability retirement

benefits because the applicant’s employment was terminated and he was

not an employee of the Ohio State Highway Patrol—Under R.C. 5505.18

and 5505.20, an employee of the Ohio State Highway Patrol who is a

member of the retirement system is eligible for disability retirement

benefits if the employee applies for those benefits before being

terminated—Court of appeals’ grant of a writ of mandamus ordering the

retirement system and its board to vacate its order determining that it was

unable to consider claimant’s application and ordering them to conduct

further proceedings to determine claimant’s eligibility for disability

retirement benefits affirmed.

(No. 2002-0750—Submitted September 17, 2002—Decided November 6, 2002.)

APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No. 00AP-1082.

____________________

Per Curiam.

{¶1} Beginning in December 1981, the Ohio State Highway Patrol

employed appellee, Karl L. Moss, as a state trooper for over 17 years. In July 1999,

Moss began approved medical leave from employment. During that time, Moss

received his first weekly session of psychotherapy from a psychologist, who

diagnosed him as suffering from major depression.

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶2} On September 20, 1999, Moss applied to appellant Ohio State

Highway Patrol Retirement Board for disability retirement benefits. On September

28, 1999, the Ohio State Highway Patrol terminated Moss’s employment. On

October 1999, Stephen Pariser, M.D., a psychiatrist appointed by the board

pursuant to R.C. 5505.18(A), conducted a medical examination of Moss. Dr.

Pariser concluded that Moss was permanently and totally incapacitated to perform

his job duties with the State Highway Patrol due to his major depression, that the

onset of his disability was July 1999, and that he should be retired.

{¶3} On December 1, 1999, the board determined that it was unable to

consider Moss’s application for disability retirement benefits because he was no

longer an employee of the State Highway Patrol.

{¶4} In September 2000, Moss filed a complaint in the Court of Appeals of

Franklin County for a writ of mandamus to compel appellants, Ohio State Highway

Patrol Retirement System, its board, and the board members, to consider his

application for disability retirement benefits. In November 2001, a magistrate

recommended that the court of appeals grant the writ of mandamus. Appellants

filed objections to the magistrate’s decision, and in March 2002, the court of

appeals overruled appellants’ objections and adopted the magistrate’s findings of

fact and conclusions of law. The court of appeals granted a writ of mandamus

directing the State Highway Patrol Retirement System and its board to vacate its

order denying disability retirement benefits for Moss and ordering that further

appropriate proceedings to determine his eligibility for benefits be conducted. This

cause is now before the court upon appellants’ appeal as of right.

{¶5} In order to be entitled to the requested writ of mandamus, Moss had to

establish a clear legal right to consideration of his application for disability

retirement benefits, a corresponding clear legal duty on the part of the State

Highway Patrol Retirement System and its board to consider his application, and

2

January Term, 2002

the absence of a plain and adequate remedy in the ordinary course of law. State ex

rel. Gaydosh v. Twinsburg (2001), 93 Ohio St.3d 576, 578, 757 N.E.2d 357.

{¶6} Appellants do not dispute that mandamus is an appropriate remedy by

which to seek relief from the board’s refusal to consider an application for disability

retirement benefits. Cf. State ex rel. Pipoly v. State Teachers Retirement Sys., 95

Ohio St.3d 327, 2002-Ohio-2219, 767 N.E.2d 719, at ¶14 (“mandamus is an

appropriate remedy where no statutory right of appeal is available to correct an

abuse of discretion by an administrative body”). R.C. 5505.18 does not provide for

an appeal from the board’s determinations concerning applications for disability

retirement benefits.

{¶7} Therefore, the dispositive issue is whether Moss established a clear

legal right to the requested relief and a concomitant clear legal duty on appellants’

part to provide it. State ex rel. Ryan v. State Teachers Retirement Sys. (1994), 71

Ohio St.3d 362, 364, 643 N.E.2d 1122.

{¶8} Appellants contend that the court of appeals erred in holding that the

pertinent statutes did not require Moss to be a member of the State Highway Patrol

Retirement System at the time of his medical examination by a board-appointed

physician and at the time of the board’s determination of Moss’s application for

benefits.

{¶9} Membership in the State Highway Patrol Retirement System includes

all State Highway Patrol employees. R.C. 5505.02 and 5505.01(A). Under R.C.

5505.20, a member of the retirement system who ceases to be an employee for any

reason other than the employee’s retirement or death is no longer a member:

{¶10} “Should a member of the state highway patrol retirement system

cease to be an employee of the state highway patrol, for any reason, except his

retirement or death, he shall thereupon cease to be a member of the retirement

system and he shall forfeit his total service credit at that time.”

3

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶11} Notably, while R.C. 5505.20 requires that an employee who, like

Moss, is terminated, forfeits entitlement to total service credit, the statute does not

specify that the employee forfeits entitlement to disability retirement benefits

applied for prior to termination. In fact, although appellants contend that a trooper

whose employment is terminated without having been granted disability retirement

benefits by the board “forfeits the opportunity to receive a disability retirement,”

they also acknowledge that “[t]he forfeiture provisions of R.C. 5505.20 apply only

to service credit * * *.”

{¶12} Moss applied for disability retirement benefits under R.C.

5505.18(A), which provides:

{¶13} “Upon the application of a member of the state highway patrol

retirement system, a person acting on behalf of a member, or the superintendent of

the state highway patrol on behalf of a member, a member who becomes totally and

permanently incapacitated for duty in the employ of the state highway patrol may

be retired by the board.

{¶14} “The medical examination of a member who has applied for disability

retirement shall be conducted by a competent physician or physicians appointed by

the board. The physician or physicians shall file a written report with the board

containing the following information:

{¶15} “(1) Whether the member is totally incapacitated for duty in the

employ of the patrol;

{¶16} “(2) Whether the incapacity is expected to be permanent;

{¶17} “(3) The cause of the member’s incapacity.

{¶18} “The board shall determine whether the member qualifies for

disability retirement and its decision shall be final.” (Emphasis added.)

{¶19} Notwithstanding appellants’ claims to the contrary, nothing in R.C.

5505.18(A) requires that an applicant for disability retirement benefits be a member

of the retirement system, i.e., an employee, at the time that the applicant is

4

January Term, 2002

examined by a physician or physicians appointed by the board. The pertinent

portion of R.C. 5505.18(A) expressly states that the examination is of the “member

who has applied for disability retirement,” which requires only that the applicant

be a member of the retirement system at the time of applying for disability

retirement.

{¶20} Moreover, the reference in R.C. 5505.18(A) to the board’s

determination of whether the member qualifies for disability retirement must be

read in the context of the entire statute. “Words and phrases shall be read in context

* * *.” R.C. 1.42; Key Services Corp. v. Zaino (2002), 95 Ohio St.3d 11, 14, 764

N.E.2d 1015. When so construed, the provision refers to the previously specified

time of the application rather than the subsequent time at which the board renders

its determination on the application.

{¶21} This construction comports with the general rules of statutory

construction by furthering the purpose behind the disability retirement provisions.

In construing a statute, a court’s paramount concern is the legislative intent. State

v. S.R. (1992), 63 Ohio St.3d 590, 594, 589 N.E.2d 1319. The legislative intent of

the statutes concerning the board’s administration of its funds is to provide

“benefits to participants and their beneficiaries and defraying reasonable expenses

of administering the system.” R.C. 5505.06(A). Requiring a board determination

of the merits of Moss’s application for disability retirement benefits furthers this

purpose. “Ambiguous statutory provisions [in pension statutes] must be construed

liberally in favor of the interests of public employees and their dependents that the

pension statutes were designed to protect.” State ex rel. Solomon v. Police &

Firemen’s Disability & Pension Fund Bd. of Trustees (1995), 72 Ohio St.3d 62, 65,

647 N.E.2d 486; State ex rel. Teamsters Local Union 377 v. Youngstown (1977),

50 Ohio St.2d 200, 205, 4 O.O.3d 387, 364 N.E.2d 18.

{¶22} Furthermore, the interpretation advocated by appellants could result,

as noted by the court of appeals, in a trooper being ineligible for disability

5

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

retirement benefits simply because the board has either not timely appointed a

physician to examine the applicant or has not yet made its determination on the

application. We construe R.C. 5505.18 and 5505.20 to avoid this unreasonable and

absurd result. R.C. 1.47(C); see, also, State ex rel. Painesville v. Lake Cty. Bd. of

Commrs. (2001), 93 Ohio St.3d 566, 570, 757 N.E.2d 347.

{¶23} Finally, ordering the board to render a determination on the merits of

Moss’s disability retirement application is consistent with precedent. In Gutierrez

v. Police & Firemen’s Disability & Pension Fund of Ohio (1994), 70 Ohio St.3d

362, 363, 639 N.E.2d 39, we held, in construing the disability retirement provision

contained in former R.C. 742.37(C)(2), that “if a police officer is a member of the

fund at the time he is permanently and totally disabled in the performance of his

official duties he is entitled to commence participation in the fund at any time

thereafter.” The applicant for disability retirement benefits in Gutierrez filed his

application seven and one-half years after his termination from the police

department; by contrast, Moss filed his application before being terminated. Under

these circumstances, even the author of the dissenting opinion in Gutierrez would

have recognized entitlement to a consideration of the merits of the application for

disability retirement benefits. Id. at 364-365, 639 N.E.2d 39 (Wright, J.,

dissenting).

{¶24} Based on the foregoing, the court of appeals did not err in holding

that under R.C. 5505.18 and 5505.20, an employee of the State Highway Patrol

who is a member of the retirement system is eligible for disability retirement

benefits if the employee applies for these benefits before being terminated.

Therefore, Moss is entitled to a writ of mandamus ordering the retirement system

and its board to vacate its order determining that it was unable to consider Moss’s

application and ordering them to conduct further proceedings to decide Moss’s

eligibility for disability retirement benefits. Accordingly, we affirm the judgment

of the court of appeals.

6

January Term, 2002

Judgment affirmed.

MOYER, C.J., DOUGLAS, RESNICK, F.E. SWEENEY, PFEIFER, COOK and

LUNDBERG STRATTON, JJ., concur.

____________________

Fusco, Mackey, Mathews, Smith & Watkins, L.L.P., and Michael J. Fusco,

for appellee.

Betty D. Montgomery, Attorney General, and Cheryl D. Pokorny, Assistant

Attorney General, for appellants.

____________________

7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.