Opinion

State ex rel. Buswell v. Indus. Comm.

  • 82 Ohio St. 3d 102
  • 1998 Ohio 262
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Jun 10, 1998
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 34.9%

The opinion

[This opinion has been published in Ohio Official Reports at 82 Ohio St.3d 102.]

THE STATE EX REL. BUSWELL, APPELLEE AND CROSS-APPELLANT, v.

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION OF OHIO, APPELLANT AND CROSS-APPELLEE.

[Cite as State ex rel. Buswell v. Indus. Comm., 1998-Ohio-262.]

Workers’ compensation—Industrial Commission not bound by a prior

interlocutory order for the award of permanent total disability

compensation—Industrial Commission’s order denying permanent total

disability compensation supported by “some evidence,” when.

(No. 95-2044—Submitted May 13, 1998—Decided June 10, 1998.)

APPEAL and CROSS-APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

94APD09-1309.

__________________

{¶ 1} Claimant Sharon E. Buswell, appellee and cross-appellant, sustained

an industrial injury in 1982 while employed as a staff nurse for First Community

Village. Her workers’ compensation claim was allowed for “strain of neck, strain

of middle back and low-back; reactive depression.”

{¶ 2} In 1992, she moved appellant and cross-appellee, Industrial

Commission of Ohio, for permanent total disability (“PTD”) compensation. She

accompanied her application with the May 16, 1992 report of Roseanne F. Umana,

Ph.D., who stated that claimant was psychiatrically incapable of work.

{¶ 3} Several other reports were also before the commission. Dr. John Q.

Brown noted “relatively mild” physical findings and assessed a twenty percent

physical impairment that would permit claimant to do sedentary work. Dr. Gordon

Zellers also found that claimant’s physical condition permitted sedentary to light

work. Dr. Jerold H. Altman found no psychiatric impediment whatsoever to a

resumption of work. A combined-effects review from Dr. Walter A. Holbrook also

found a capacity for sedentary work.

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶ 4} In an August 3, 1993 interlocutory order, the commission awarded

PTD compensation for a closed period. At the expiration of that period, the

commission, on December 28, 1993, denied further PTD compensation, writing:

“ * * * This order is based particularly upon the reports of Drs. J. Q. Brown,

Altman, Holbrook and Zellers.

“It is found the claimant retains the residual functional capacity to perform

light to sedentary employment based upon the conditions allowed in this claim.

This finding is based upon reports of Drs. Holbrook, J.Q. Brown and Zellers. Dr.

Zellers examined the claimant on 4/7/92 and found she is physically capable of

performing light duty work. Dr. J.Q. Brown, disinterested orthopedic specialist,

found a 20% permanent partial physical impairment, noting the physical findings

were relatively mild. Dr. Holbrook performed a combined effects review and

concluded that the claimant is physically capable of sedentary employment. It is

further found the allowed reactive depression is not work prohibitive and would not

prevent the claimant from resuming her former position of employment. This

finding is based upon the report of Jerold Altman, M.D., psychiatrist. Dr. Holbrook

also did not place any restriction based upon the allowed psychiatric condition. It

is further noted this claimant has non-allowed physical and psychiatric conditions

which are causing disability. In 1982 Drs. Sadar and Wolfe diagnosed

fibromyositis. Dr. Wolfe reported again in November, 1991 that the claimant’s

neck and low back condition continues to be myofascial in nature with some early

degenerative disc or joint disease in the lumbar spine.

“The fibrositis as diagnosed by Dr. Wolfe is not allowed in this claim.

Additionally, the claimant was hospitalized in 1983 for treatment of ‘bipolar

affective disease/manic.’ In August and September of 1984[,] Dr. D.R. Thoward

[sic], psychiatrist, diagnosed ‘schizoaffective disorder, borderline personality

organization’ and recommended day hospital treatment for at least one year[‘]s

duration. The claimant was then treated in an outpatient program at Harding

2

January Term, 1998

Hospital, per Dr. Thorward’s recommendation, for a number of years. These

psychiatric conditions are separate from the allowed reactive depression.

“The claimant is almost 50 years of age and has worked as a Licensed

Practical Nurse. She has had extensive education at Columbus State Community

College, Hocking Tech and Columbus School of Nursing. She has her L.P.N.

degree. She returned to school in 1983 and completed one quarter of a one-year

program to update her training to R.N. She was accepted into an occupational

therapy training program in 1990, however, she decided not to attend the program.

Considering the claimant’s age of 50 and her extensive education[,] it is found she

has the capability to obtain employment within her functional capabilities if she so

chooses considering only the allowed conditions. The claimant has at least 15

productive years remaining in the work force. With her educational level she could

leave the health care field and pursue other forms of light to sedentary employment,

i.e.[,] inventory control, sales, clerical, etc. She also has options remaining in the

health care field if she pursued further education such as her R.N. license or

occupational therapy training. There are job opportunities for R.N.’s which are

sedentary in nature such as case reviews for insurance companies. Therefore, the

claimant is not permanently and totally disabled as a result of the allowed

conditions in this claim.”

{¶ 5} Claimant filed a complaint in mandamus in the Court of Appeals for

Franklin County, alleging that the commission abused its discretion in denying PTD

compensation. The court of appeals, based on State ex rel. Draganic v. Indus.

Comm. (Sept. 22, 1994), Franklin App. No. 93APD10-1491, unreported, 1994 WL

521157, held that the commission was bound by its August 3, 1993 order and

therefore abused its discretion in denying further PTD compensation. The court,

however, then reviewed the PTD denial order, determined that it did not satisfy

State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57 Ohio St.3d 203, 567 N.E.2d 245, and

returned the cause for further consideration and amended order.

3

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

{¶ 6} This cause is now before this court upon an appeal and cross-appeal

as of right.

__________________

Philip J. Fulton & Associates and Corrine S. Carman, for appellee and

cross-appellant.

Betty D. Montgomery, Attorney General and Yolanda V. Vorys, Assistant

Attorney General, for appellant and cross-appellee.

__________________

Per Curiam.

{¶ 7} Subsequent to the issuance of the court of appeals’ decision in this

case, we decided State ex rel. Draganic v. Indus. Comm. (1996), 75 Ohio St.3d 461,

663 N.E.2d 929. There, we reversed the decision presently relied upon by the court

below, and held that the commission was not bound by a prior interlocutory order

for the award of permanent total disability compensation.

{¶ 8} Our decision in Draganic disposes of all the issues currently

presented but one—claimant’s request for relief pursuant to State ex rel. Gay v.

Mihm (1994), 68 Ohio St.3d 315, 626 N.E.2d 666. Upon review, we find relief

consistent with Gay to be inappropriate.

{¶ 9} We initially find “some evidence” in support of the commission’s

conclusion that claimant is medically capable of sustained remunerative

employment. Drs. Brown and Zellers found claimant physically capable of

sustained remunerative employment. Dr. Altman made a similar finding with

regard to claimant’s allowed psychiatric condition. Finally, Dr. Holbrook felt that

the conditions cumulatively permitted sedentary employment.

{¶ 10} Turning to the commission’s nonmedical analysis, we find that it

satisfies the requirements of State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57 Ohio

St.3d 203, 567 N.E.2d 245. Stressing claimant’s relatively young age and her

education, the commission found claimant to have many sedentary career options

4

January Term, 1998

both within and outside the field of health care. While the claimant has asked us to

view her education in a less favorable light than did the commission, we decline to

so do, recognizing the commission’s exclusive role as interpreter of evidentiary

weight and credibility. State ex rel. Burley v. Coil Packing, Inc. (1987), 31 Ohio

St.3d 18, 31 OBR 70, 508 N.E.2d 936. Accordingly, our finding of Noll compliance

negates claimant’s eligibility for relief under Gay.

{¶ 11} For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the court of appeals is

reversed.

Judgment reversed.

MOYER, C.J., F.E. SWEENEY, PFEIFER, COOK and LUNDBERG STRATTON, JJ.,

concur.

DOUGLAS and RESNICK, JJ., dissent.

__________________

5

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.