Opinion

State ex rel. Ondusko v. Indus. Comm.

  • 79 Ohio St. 3d 382
  • 1997 Ohio 379
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Sep 17, 1997
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 34.9%

The opinion

[This opinion has been published in Ohio Official Reports at 79 Ohio St.3d 382.]

THE STATE EX REL. ONDUSKO, APPELLEE, v. INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION OF

OHIO, APPELLANT.

[Cite as State ex rel. Ondusko v. Indus. Comm., 1997-Ohio-379.]

Workers’ compensation—Interlocutory award of permanent total disability

compensation does not conclusively establish a claimant’s right to continue

permanent total disability compensation beyond the closed period awarded

in the order.

(No. 95-795—Submitted August 26, 1997—Decided September 17, 1997.)

APPEAL from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No. 94APD03-320.

__________________

{¶ 1} Appellee-claimant, George Ondusko, sustained two injuries in the

course of and arising from his employment with David Black General Contractor

and Jarvis, Downing & Emch, respectively. In 1989, claimant moved appellant,

Industrial Commission of Ohio, for permanent total disability compensation. On

June 13, 1990, claimant’s application was heard by a deputy of the commission,

who issued the following order:

“FINDINGS OF FACT AND ORDER OF THE COMMISSION

“INTERLOCUTORY ORDER

“* * *

“It is the finding of the Commission that the claimant is permanently and

totally disabled, that compensation for such disability be awarded 100% in claim #

83-19303 from 6-14-90 to 1-6-91; further payment of compensation [is] to be

considered at the next scheduled hearing on the issue of continuation of permanent

and total disability; that the Application be granted to the extent of this order * * *.

“Claim files to be referred to RHDIV [Rehabilitation Division] for an

evaluation of the claimant’s rehabilitation potential * * *. Once [the] report is on

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

file, claim files [are] to be referred to the Legal Section for preparation of statement

of facts to be completed within 71 days from the date the rehabilitation report is on

file and set for hearing before the members of the Industrial Commission on the

issue of continuation of the award of permanent and total disability compensation.

“The reports of doctor(s) Holbrook, Cohen, Turton and J.Q. Brown were

reviewed and evaluated.

“This order is based particularly upon the reports of doctor(s) Holbrook,

Cohen, Turton and J.Q. Brown[,] a consideration of the claimant’s age, education,

work history and other disability factors including physical, psychological and

sociological, that are contained in the instant application, the evidence in the file

and the evidence adduced at the hearing, including the Permanent Total Hearing

Worksheet.”

{¶ 2} That order was approved by Industrial Commission members Smith,

Bell, and McAllister.

{¶ 3} A series of interim orders ultimately extended permanent total

disability compensation to August 23, 1992. During that period, the membership

of the commission changed significantly. Also during that period of extension,

claimant’s rehabilitation file was closed. The closure report stated:

“Mr. Ondusko is a 54 year old injured worker with a high school education

and a certificate for T.V. repair, which he completed in 1956. He has worked as a

laborer-pipelayer (869.664-014/heavy strength range) and a coal mine supervisor

(181.167-018/light strength range). He recently completed a pain and stress

program at the J.L. Camera Center and is currently functioning in the light strength

range, with limitations in stoop, bend, and carry activities. Although the mine

supervisor position is within Mr. Ondusko’s present strength range, it is not within

his physical abilities. This position requires a great deal of walking over uneven

surfaces which is beyond Mr. Ondusko’s physical ability. His certificate in T.V.

repair is outdated and would not be useful in today[’]s market. Therefore, Mr.

2

January Term, 1997

Ondusko does not have any transferable skills within his present strength range.

The following are additional barriers to Mr. Ondusko’s return to work:

“(1) Weight (5'8" — 286.5 pounds).

“(2) Diabetic condition for which he has been on a strict diet which he has

difficulty observing.

“(3) Questionable motivation.

“(4) Social Security Disability payments.

“(5) Expected starting salary of $25,000 to $30,000 per year.

“(6) Not wanting to relocate and the local economy not appearing to support

a job search.

“(7) Has not worked since September 1983.

“At the beginning of his rehabilitation program at the J.L. Camera Center[,]

Mr. Ondusko walked with a cane and could only walk 15 minutes. At discharge,

he was walking without a cane for 35 minutes. He has, at discharge, a sitting

tolerance of an average of 60 minutes and a standing tolerance of an average of 40-

60 minutes. Mr. Ondusko participated in work circuit tasks at J.L.C.C. and had

frequent pain[,] causing the need for increased rest breaks. Though Mr. Ondusko

made slight improvements in his [illegible] capacities, he is still physically limited

in regards to employability.

“* * *

“Mr. Ondusko was reported as having questionable motivation. He had

problems with punctuality as well as a couple of instances of not wanting to leave

the residence hall at all. It is reported that he had to be spoken to on a periodic basis

in regards to his behavior and verbal conduct in interactions with fellow injured

workers. His interpersonal skills appeared abrasive to some people. It was reported

also that he stated he did not want to work for low pay and didn’t know what he

could do to make as much money as he is making while collecting SSDI and

compensation.

3

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

“Upon the analysis of variables which affect this case, it is determined that

Mr. Ondusko does not have a realistic opportunity of returning to employment.

Therefore, the provision of additional rehabilitation services would not be expected

to significantly improve his re-employment status.”

{¶ 4} On August 18, 1992, claimant’s application for permanent total

disability compensation was heard by commissioners Colasurd, McAllister,

Geltzer, and Mayfield. Relying on Doctors Turton, Brown, and Holbrook, the

commission denied further permanent total disability compensation. The

claimant’s request for reconsideration was granted, as the order “may have violated

the guidelines set forth in State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57 Ohio St.3d

203 [567 N.E.2d 245].”

{¶ 5} On March 17, 1993, the commission again denied claimant’s

application. Claimant again successfully moved for reconsideration and on August

27, 1993, a third denial order issued, which read:

“The order is based particularly upon the reports of Doctor(s) Turton,

Brown, Holbrook and J. Ruth, M.S.[,] evidence in the file and evidence adduced at

hearing.

“It is found[,] based upon a review of physical, psychiatric and vocational

evaluations in file[,] that the claimant retains the residual functional capacity to

perform sustained remunerative employment. From a physical perspective it is

found the claimant retains the residual functional capacity to perform sedentary

work duties. John Q. Brown, M.D., disinterested orthopedic specialist, found a

22% impairment based upon the allowed physical conditions. He indicated that

while the claimant could not return to a labor job in construction, there would be

many forms of sustained remunerative employment that the claimant could engage

in since all of his orthopedic complaints are in the lower extremities. The claimant

could perform a sit down job and have unrestricted use of his neck and upper

extremities. Robert L. Turton, D.O., disinterested psychiatrist, found a 15%

4

January Term, 1997

impairment related to the allowed depression. Dr. Turton found this psychiatric

condition is not work restrictive. Dr. Turton found a combined effects impairment

of 28% of the whole person due to all allowed conditions. Dr. Holbrook reviewed

all medical evidence in [the] file and concluded the claimant has a 55% impairment

due to all allowed conditions. Dr. Holbrook reported the claimant can perform low

stress sedentary employment.

“It is further further [sic] found this fifty-five (55) year old claimant has the

vocational ability to perform work within his physical restrictions. The claimant

has a high school education and has worked as a construction worker and coal mine

foreman. The vocational evaluation by Judy L. Patton, M.S., indicates this is a

semi-skilled work history. The 10-9-90 Vocational Evaluation by John Ruth, M.S.,

indicates that with additional rehabilitation services and short-term technical

training[,] the claimant would be able to secure competitive employment in the near

future. Based upon this report[,] it is found the claimant does have the potential to

be re-trained for employment within his functional capacities. The claimant’s age

of 55, high school education and work experience as a foreman would be assets in

the rehabilitation effort. The 3-26-91 addendum from J. Ruth, M.S., is not found

persuasive as he finds no rehabilitation potential based upon outdated psychiatric

evaluations from Raymond Boniface and Earl Greer. Mr. Ruth did not indicate he

considered the more current psychiatric evaluation by R. Turton, D.O., which

indicates the psychiatric condition is not work prohibitive. It is further noted the

I.C. rehabilitation division initially found rehabilitation potential for the claimant.

The case was subsequently closed in large part due to poor motivation on the part

of the claimant. The closure summary indicates [that] the claimant had

questionable motivation and that he did not want to work for low pay and didn’t

know what he could do to make as much money as he is making while collecting

Social Security Disability Income and compensation. Therefore, as the claimant

5

SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

can be retrained for sustained remunerative employment within his functional

capacities[,] he is not permanently and totally disabled.”

{¶ 6} Claimant filed a complaint in mandamus in the Court of Appeals for

Franklin County, alleging that the commission abused its discretion in denying

further permanent total disability compensation. The court of appeals, citing its

decision in State ex rel. Draganic v. Indus. Comm. (Sept. 22, 1994), Franklin App.

No. 93APD10-1491, unreported, 1994 WL 521157, held that the commission,

absent new and changed circumstances, was bound by the finding of permanent

total disability made in its June 13, 1990 interlocutory order. The court of appeals

accordingly granted a writ, which vacated the order denying permanent total

disability compensation.

{¶ 7} The cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of right.

___________________

Green, Haines, Sgambati, Murphy & Macala Co., L.P.A., Ronald E. Slipski

and Steven L. Paulson, for appellee.

Betty D. Montgomery, Attorney General, and Patsy A. Thomas, Assistant

Attorney General, for appellant.

___________________

Per Curiam.

{¶ 8} The court of appeals based its vacation of the commission’s order

exclusively on its decision in State ex rel. Draganic. We have since reversed

Draganic, holding that an interlocutory award of permanent total disability

compensation does not conclusively establish a claimant’s right to continue

permanent total disability compensation beyond the closed period awarded in the

order. State ex rel. Draganic v. Indus. Comm. (1996), 75 Ohio St.3d 461, 663

N.E.2d 929.

{¶ 9} In this case, no other challenge to the commission’s order denying

further permanent total disability compensation has been made. Given our reversal

6

January Term, 1997

of Draganic and the absence of any challenge to the evidentiary sufficiency of the

commission’s order, our review can go no further.

{¶ 10} Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeals is reversed.

Judgment reversed.

MOYER, C.J., F.E. SWEENEY, PFEIFER, COOK and LUNDBERG STRATTON, JJ.,

concur.

DOUGLAS and RESNICK, JJ., dissent.

__________________

7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.