Opinion

State ex rel. Koonce v. Indus. Comm.

  • 1994 Ohio 463
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Jun 14, 1994
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.6%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court of

Ohio are being transmitted electronically beginning May 27,

1992, pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief Justice

Thomas J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the Reporter's

Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio. Attention: Walter S.

Kobalka, Reporter, or Deborah J. Barrett, Administrative

Assistant. Tel.: (614) 466-4961; in Ohio 1-800-826-9010.

Your comments on this pilot project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court to the

full texts of the opinions after they have been released

electronically to the public. The reader is therefore advised

to check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d published by West

Publishing Company for the final versions of these opinions.

The advance sheets to Ohio St.3d will also contain the volume

and page numbers where the opinions will be found in the bound

volumes of the Ohio Official Reports.

The State ex rel. Koonce, Appellant, v. Industrial Commission

of Ohio et al., Appellees.

[Cite as State ex rel. Koonce v. Indus. Comm. (1994), Ohio

St.3d .]

Workers' compensation -- Industrial Commission's continuing

jurisdiction does not extend beyond the institution of

mandamus proceedings -- Courts not precluded from ordering

Industrial Commission, in mandamus action, to award

permanent total disability benefits.

(No. 93-1665 -- Submitted March 29, 1994 -- Decided June

15, 1994.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County, No.

92AP-1393.

Appellant-claimant, Samuel Koonce, sustained two injuries,

in 1989 and in 1990, in the course of and arising from his

employment with appellee Dresser Industries, Inc., Marion

Division, and his workers' compensation claims were allowed.

He later applied to appellee Industrial Commission of Ohio for

permanent total disability compensation. At his March 31, 1992

hearing, the commission voted to hold claimant's application in

abeyance pending an additional medical examination. It appears

that Dr. J.Q. Brown performed that examination and concluded

that claimant had a twenty percent permanent partial impairment

that did not prevent sustained remunerative employment.

The commission denied permanent total disability

compensation. The commission's internal voting sheet indicated

that each of the three commissioners who elected to deny

permanent total disability compensation based his vote in part

on Dr. Brown's report. The commission's order, however, did

not reference that report:

"The reports of Drs. Eboh, Cunningham and Hutchison were

reviewed and evaluated. This order is based particularly upon

the report of Dr. Hutchison, the evidence in the file and the

evidence adduced at the hearing.

"Mr. Koonce is 61 years of age with a fifth grade

education and a 35 year work history as a building maintenance

worker. The medical evidence relied upon by Mr. Koonce, the

report of Dr. Eboh, indicates Mr. Koonce is permanently and

totally disabled when the allowed conditions are factored with

a consideration of his education and age. However, the report

of Dr. Hutchison, as relied upon by the Commission, relates Mr.

Koonce as only an 18% total body impairment from the allowed

back conditions and no impairment from the allowed conditions

to his hands. This report noted that the degenerative changes

found in the diagnostic tests and upon examination are

primarily a result of the normal aging process. This report

concluded that Mr. Koonce could engage in sustained

remunerative employment consistent with normal physical

limitations placed upon a person of his age. When these low

levels of impairment found by Dr. Hutchison are coupled with a

consideration of the nature of the allowed conditions, the

limited course of medical treatment over the history of his

claim, and limited diagnostic test results, Mr. Koonce shall

not be found to be permanently and totally disabled from the

allowed conditions in the claims. It should be noted that a

consideration of the nature of the allowed conditions and the

low levels of impairment found by the Industrial Commission

specialist outweigh any consideration of Mr. Koonce's age or

limited education."

Claimant filed a complaint in mandamus in the Court of

Appeals for Franklin County, claiming that the commission

abused its discretion in denying permanent total disability

compensation. Prior to the appellate court's decision,

however, the commission, claiming continuing jurisdiction under

R.C. 4123.52, vacated its order denying permanent total

disability compensation, "since it is evident that a writ of

mandamus will issue in consideration of a factual error in the

order which cannot be rectified due to a change in the

composition of the Commissioners who had voted." The

commission then moved for summary judgment in the court of

appeals, claiming that its decision to vacate its order

rendered the action moot. The appellate court sustained the

commission's motion and denied the writ.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as of

right.

Stewart R. Jaffy & Associates Co., L.P.A., Stewart R.

Jaffy and Marc J. Jaffy, for appellant.

Lee I. Fisher, Attorney General, and Gerald H. Waterman,

Assistant Attorney General, for appellee Industrial Commission.

Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease and Robert A. Minor, for

appellee Dresser Industries, Inc., Marion Division.

Per Curiam. The appellate court, in making its

determination, did not have the benefit of this court's

decision in State ex rel. Rodriguez v. Indus. Comm. (1993), 67

Ohio St.3d 210, 616 N.E.2d 929, which held that the

commission's continuing jurisdiction does not extend beyond the

institution of mandamus proceedings. As such, the commission

abused its discretion in vacating the order.

Turning to the merits, we find two related aspects of the

order particularly troubling. First is the amount of

significance the commission attaches to the percentage of

impairment assigned by Dr. Hutchison. Second is the erroneous

suggestion that Hutchison attributed claimant's physical

limitations exclusively to his age, not his allowed

conditions. It seems the commission disregarded a most germane

aspect of Hutchison's report -- his conclusion that the allowed

conditions precluded heavy lifting as well as frequent stooping

and bending.

These restrictions set forth by Dr. Hutchison preclude

claimant's return to his former job. More broadly, the

restrictions effectively confine claimant to lighter --

possibly sedentary -- employment. The commission's order does

not adequately explain how it determined that claimant's age,

education and work history render claimant amenable to that

type of work. Accordingly, we find that the requirement of

State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57 Ohio St.3d 203,

567 N.E.2d 245, has not been met.

Having reached this conclusion, we must determine the

appropriate remedial option -- a return for further

consideration and amended order pursuant to Noll or a writ of

mandamus compelling a permanent total disability award under

State ex rel. Gay v. Mihm (1994), 68 Ohio St.3d 315, 626 N.E.2d

666. We elect the latter. Given the evidence of record --

claimant's advanced age, extremely limited education and

singular job history -- we are unpersuaded that a denial of

compensation can be adequately justified should the cause be

returned once more to the commission.

Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeals is

reversed and the writ is allowed.

Judgment reversed

and writ allowed.

A.W. Sweeney, F.E. Sweeney and Pfeifer, JJ., concur.

Douglas and Resnick, JJ., concur separately.

Moyer, C.J., and Wright, J., dissent.

Douglas, J., concurring. State ex rel. Gay v. Mihm

(1994), 68 Ohio St.3d 315, 626, N.E.2d 666 stands for the

proposition that courts will no longer be precluded from

ordering permanent total disability compensation where a

claimant clearly deserves such an award. In his dissent

herein, Justice Wright attacks the holding in Gay and

excoriates the majority in Gay for our search for "justice."

Perhaps we are also old-fashioned in believing that at least

one of the roles of courts is to be fair and to seek "justice,"

even in the face of continued vitriolic attempts to discredit

our efforts in achieving those goals. In fact, as Justice

Wright said in Morris v. Savoy (1991), 61 Ohio St.3d 684, 692,

576 N.E.2d 765, 772, "[s]omeone once said that if tempted by a

sense of humanity, treat it not as a weakness, but grant it a

measure of consideration."

Having submitted his dissent, in the case at bar,

attacking Gay, Justice Wright fails to adequately explain his

concurrence in the recent case of State ex rel. McGee v. Indus.

Comm. (1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 370, N.E.2d , which, for its

judgment, cites and relies on the holding and reasoning of

Gay! Oh well, who ever said we should be consistent.

Resnick, J., concurs in the foregoing concurring opinion.

Moyer, C.J., dissenting. The reasons for my separate

concurrence in State ex rel. Gay v. Mihm (1994), 68 Ohio St.3d

315, 626 N.E.2d 666, have been given new meaning by the

majority opinion in this case. The majority has reviewed the

commission file and made its own judgment, thereby disregarding

the "some evidence rule." A proper application of the rule in

Gay has now been extended to place this court once again, as it

was a number of years ago, in the position of second-guessing

an administrative agency that should be permitted to exercise

its discretion. At the very most, we should return this case

to the commission for further consideration and amended order

pursuant to State ex rel. Noll v. Indus. Comm. (1991), 57 Ohio

St.3d 203, 567 N.E.2d 245.

For the foregoing reasons, I dissent from the judgment and

opinion of the majority.

Wright, J., dissenting. In State ex rel Gay v. Mihm

(1994), 68 Ohio St.3d 315, 626 N.E.2d 666,, the majority of

this court in attempting to dispense "justice" substantially

eroded the "some evidence" rule adopted by this court in a

myriad of cases in the past. See, e.g., State ex rel. Elliott

v. Indus. Comm. (1986), 26 Ohio St.3d 76, 26 OBR 66, 497 N.E.2d

70; State ex rel. Milburn v. Indus. Comm. (1986), 26 Ohio St.3d

119, 26 OBR 102, 498 N.E.2d 440; State ex rel. Hudson v. Indus.

Comm. (1984), 12 Ohio St.3d 169, 12 OBR 237, 465 N.E.2d 1289;

State ex rel. G F Business Equip., Inc. v. Indus. Comm. (1981),

66 Ohio St.2d 446, 20 O.O.3d 379, 423 N.E.2d 99; State ex rel.

Dodson v. Indus. Comm. (1980), 62 Ohio St.2d 408, 16 O.O.3d

439, 406 N.E.2d 513; State ex rel. Humble v. Mark Concepts,

Inc. (1979), 60 Ohio St.2d 77, 14 O.O.3d 275, 397 N.E.2d 403.

In the words of the majority in Gay, "where the facts of the

case indicate that there is a substantial likelihood that a

claimant is permanently and totally disabled, courts are not

and will not be precluded from ordering the Industrial

Commission, in a mandamus action, to award permanent total

disability benefits notwithstanding the so-called 'some

evidence' rule." Gay, supra, syllabus.

I joined the Chief Justice in his well-reasoned and cogent

dissent from this syllabus in Gay. Chief Justice Moyer asked:

"What does 'substantial likelihood' mean ***? Which standard

[substantial likelihood or some evidence] is to be applied by

the court of appeals and this court? How do the standards

relate to each other?" In my view, the majority in Gay may

have fallen into the morass that prevailed prior to our return

to the "some evidence" rule. I submit that we will live to

regret the plethora of appeals that will accrue as the result

of Gay and its progeny.

Today we see just how far the majority will go in passing

out a little "justice."

As pointed out by the majority in the facts but neglected

in the body of its opinion, the Industrial Commission held

Koonce's application for permanent total disability

compensation in abeyance pending an additional medical

examination by Dr. J. Q. Brown. Dr. Brown concluded in his

report that Koonce had only a twenty percent permanent partial

impairment and that this did not prevent sustained remunerative

employment.

One of the problems in this case -- in fact, in my belief

the controlling issue -- stems from the discrepency between the

commissioners' internal voting sheets and the commission's

order denying permanent total disability compensation. While

the voting sheets indicate that the commissioners relied, at

least in part, on Dr. Brown's report, the denial order did not

reference it. Rather, the order mentions only the medical

reports of Drs. Eboh, Cunningham and Hutchison. The

commission's order and rationale denying Koonce permanent total

disability compensation is set forth below:

"The reports of Drs. Eboh, Cunningham and Hutchison were

reviewed and evaluated. This order is based particularly upon

the report of Dr. Hutchison, the evidence in the file and the

evidence adduced at the hearing.

"Mr. Koonce is 61 years of age with a fifth grade

education and a 35 year work history as a building maintenance

worker. The medical evidence relied upon by Mr. Koonce, the

report of Dr. Eboh, indicates Mr. Koonce is permanently and

totally disabled when the allowed conditions are factored with

a consideration of his education an age. However, the report

of Dr. Hutchison, as relied upon by the Commission, relates Mr.

Koonce as only an 18% total body impairment from the allowed

back conditions and no impairment from the allowed conditions

to his hands. This report noted that the degenerative changes

found in the diagnostic tests and upon examination are

primarily a result of the normal aging process. This report

concluded that Mr. Koonce could engage in sustained

remunerative employment consistent with normal physical

limitations placed upon a person of his age. When these low

levels of impairment found by Dr. Hutchison are coupled with a

consideration of the nature of the allowed conditions, the

limited course of medical treatment over the history of his

claim, and limited diagnostic test results, Mr. Koonce shall

not be found to be permanently and totally disabled from the

allowed conditions in the claims. It should be noted that a

consideration of the nature of the allowed conditions and the

low levels of impairment found by the Industrial Commission

specialist outweigh any consideration of Mr. Koonce's age or

limited education."

Koonce, of course, filed for the writ of mandamus we have

granted today. As any reader can see, regardless of whether

the denial order specifically mentions Dr. Brown's report, the

commission's conclusion in this case is supported not only by

"some evidence" but by a substantial amount of reliable and

probative evidence. Perhaps I am old-fashioned but the

decision-making process should involve at least three factors:

(1) A search for "justice,"

(2) A rational reasoning process, and

(3) A respect for precedent and stability in the law.

The majority has ignored items 2 and 3 above. Thus, I

must vigorously dissent from the majority's total departure

from an appropriate review of this type of case.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.