Opinion

State ex rel. Peabody Coal Co. v. Indus. Comm.

  • 1993 Ohio 82
Court
Ohio Supreme Court
Filed
Jul 13, 1993
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.5%

The opinion

OPINIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

The full texts of the opinions of the Supreme Court

of Ohio are being transmitted electronically beginning May

27, 1992, pursuant to a pilot project implemented by Chief

Justice Thomas J. Moyer.

Please call any errors to the attention of the

Reporter's Office of the Supreme Court of Ohio.

Attention: Walter S. Kobalka, Reporter, or Deborah J.

Barrett, Administrative Assistant. Tel.: (614) 466-4961;

in Ohio 1-800-826-9010. Your comments on this pilot

project are also welcome.

NOTE: Corrections may be made by the Supreme Court

to the full texts of the opinions after they have been

released electronically to the public. The reader is

therefore advised to check the bound volumes of Ohio St.3d

published by West Publishing Company for the final

versions of these opinions. The advance sheets to Ohio

St.3d will also contain the volume and page numbers where

the opinions will be found in the bound volumes of the

Ohio Official Reports.

The State ex rel. Peabody Coal Company, Appellee, v.

Industrial Commission of Ohio; Middaugh, Appellant.

[Cite as State ex rel. Peabody Coal Co. v. Indus. Comm.

(1993), Ohio St.3d .]

Workers' compensation -- Industrial Commission abuses its

discretion in awarding continued temporary total

compensation when it fails to address the raised

issues of whether allowed conditions had become

permanent and whether claimant had resumed gainful

employment.

(No. 92-2158 -- Submitted April 20, 1993 -- Decided

July 14, 1993.)

Appeal from the Court of Appeals for Franklin County,

No. 91AP-360.

Claimant-appellant, Howard Middaugh, was injured in

the course of and arising from his employment with

appellee, Peabody Coal Company ("Peabody"), a self-insured

employer. After his claim was allowed for "fracture left

arm (elbow)," claimant began receiving temporary total

disability compensation. On November 16, 1988, Peabody

challenged claimant's continuing receipt of temporary

total disability compensation. Peabody accompanied its

motion with the report of Dr. John F.M. O'Leary, who

opined that claimant had reached maximum medical

improvement.

At a January 10, 1989 hearing before the Industrial

Commission, a district hearing officer held:

"* * * [T]he employer's request to have the claimant

examined by an Industrial Commission Specialist is held in

abeyance at this time.

"The claimant is presently scheduled to receive

living maintenance until 2-26-89. If the claimant

requests Temporary Total after that date[,] refer the

claimant to MEDSP (medical specialist) for an exam on the

issue of extent of disability, then reset on that issue."

No appeal was taken from this order.

On November 14, 1989, claimant moved the commission

to recognize "left ulnar neuropathy" as part of his

claim. He also sought reinstatement of temporary total

compensation from the date of the last payment to continue

into the future upon submission of medical proof. Among

other evidence submitted in support was a C-84

supplemental physician's report from claimant's attending

physician, Lawrence M. Lubbers, which certified claimant

as temporarily and totally disabled through November 1,

1989 due to the neuropathic condition.

On January 22, 1990, a district hearing officer held:

"The claim is additionally allowed for:

'post-operative left ulnar neuropathy,' per the report of

Dr. Lubbers.

"Temporary Total Compensation is awarded from 4-2-89

through 10-31-89 and to continue until the reset hearing.

"Claimant is referred to MEDSP (Medical Specialist)

for an examination on the issues of extent of disability

and permanent total impairment.

"Reset on extent of disability when the MEDSP report

is on file."

Peabody appealed. Before the Regional Board of

Review, Peabody submitted evidence alleging that claimant

had worked while drawing temporary total compensation.

The board's order, however, did not address these

allegations and merely affirmed the January 22, 1990

district hearing officer's order "based on the Employer's

appeal, evidence in the file and/or evidence adduced at

the hearing." The commission refused further appeal.

Peabody filed a complaint in mandamus in the Court of

Appeals for Franklin County, claiming that the commission

erred in awarding continued temporary total compensation.

The appellate court agreed, finding that the commission

abused its discretion by failing to address the issues of

whether the allowed conditions had become permanent and

whether claimant had resumed gainful employment. It

vacated the commission's order and returned the cause to

the commission for consideration of these issues, with

further payment of compensation to be precluded until the

claimant is examined by a specialist and a determination

is made, after a hearing, of the extent of claimant's

disability.

This cause is now before this court upon an appeal as

of right.

Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease, Sarah J. Cruise and

Julie M. Larson, for appellee Peabody Coal Company.

Robert B. Liss, for appellant.

Per Curiam. Among the reasons justifying termination

of temporary total disability compensation are: (1) return

to sustained gainful employment, or (2) claimant has a

permanent disability, i.e., has reached maximum medical

improvement. State ex rel. Ramirez v. Indus. Comm.

(1982), 69 Ohio St.2d 630, 23 O.O.3d 518, 433 N.E.2d 586;

Vulcan Materials Co. v. Indus. Comm. (1986), 25 Ohio St.3d

31, 25 OBR 26, 494 N.E.2d 1125. During the administrative

proceedings in this case, claimant's entitlement to

temporary total compensation was challenged on these two

bases. None of the orders issued, however, addressed

these matters. For the reasons set forth below, we return

the cause to the commission for further consideration and

a new order.

In State ex rel. Gen. Am. Transp. Corp. v. Indus.

Comm. (1990), 49 Ohio St.3d 91, 551 N.E.2d 155, the

claimant's inability to work was undisputed. Evidence

also indicated that claimant suffered from severe health

problems unrelated to his industrial injury. The

commission found that claimant could not return to his

former job and awarded temporary total compensation.

However, because the commission had not addressed the

causal relationship question that had been placed squarely

before it, we remanded the cause for further consideration

and an amended order, writing:

"* * * [A]ll agree that claimant is unable to return

to his former job. The key question is whether this

inability is due to the claimant's allowed conditions or

to his other medical problems.

"The commission's order does not address this

critical issue. It merely confirms that a

work-prohibitive disability exists. Without a clear

commission statement on causal relationship, evidentiary

review is impossible." Id. at 92, 551 N.E.2d at 156-157.

Peabody placed the permanency question before the

district hearing officer and the gainful employment

allegation before the regional board of review, yet none

of the ensuing orders discussed these allegations. Since

an affirmative finding as to either precludes temporary

total compensation, the appellate court correctly returned

the cause to the commission for further consideration.

Claimant argues that the allowance of a new condition

- left ulnar neuropathy - - relieved the commission from

having to discuss the permanency question. Claimant

reasons that with the additional allowance, Dr. O'Leary's

report could not be "some evidence" of permanency since it

addressed only claimant's initial condition. Claimant's

evidentiary reasoning may be correct. However, the fact

that there may be no evidence of permanency does not free

the commission from having to make that finding in its

order, given the facts of this case.

Claimant alternatively asserts that the district

hearing officer did "address" the permanency issue when it

referred claimant for a specialist examination. This

contention fails. The district hearing officer's order

does not reflect a determination of whether claimant had

or had not reached maximum medical improvement. Without

that determination, the hearing officer cannot be said to

have "addressed" the issue. Mere referral for evaluation

resolved nothing.

Claimant also suggests that the regional board's

silence on the gainful employment issue indicates a

rejection of that assertion. In support, claimant cites

State ex rel. DeMint v. Indus. Comm. (1990), 49 Ohio St.3d

19, 550 N.E.2d 174, which held that the submission of new

evidence at the board level does not require separate

evidentiary findings if the board chooses not to rely on

that evidence.

At issue before the district hearing officer in

DeMint was claimant's ability to return to his old job.

Claimant appealed the district hearing officer's denial of

temporary total compensation and presented additional

medical evidence of his inability to work to the regional

board of review. The board, however, affirmed the

district hearing officer's order "based on the claimant's

Appeal, evidence in the file and/or evidence adduced at

the hearing," without mentioning the new evidence.

Claimant attacked the board's order, and the court of

appeals granted a limited writ of mandamus, holding that

the board's failure to prepare separate evidentiary

findings, in light of the new evidence, violated State ex

rel. Mitchell v. Robbins & Myers, Inc. (1983), 6 Ohio

St.3d 481, 6 OBR 531, 453 N.E.2d 721.

We disagreed, noting that Mitchell required citation

only of evidence relied on, not that which is merely

considered. Accordingly, we held:

"[T]he submission of new evidence does not require

separate Mitchell findings if the reviewer does not rely

on that evidence. Where a regional board adopts the

reasoning and decision of the district hearing officer and

the district hearing officer's order satisfies Mitchell,

we consider the regional board's order in compliance as

well." DeMint, supra, 49 Ohio St.3d at 20, 550 N.E.2d at

176.

The present claimant suggests that the lack of

citation to alleged gainful employment in the regional

board's order indicates that the board considered, but did

not rely on, that evidence. DeMint, however, is

distinguishable from this case and thus cannot support

claimant's position. As the court of appeals in the

instant case, through its referee, aptly stated:

"* * * In DeMint, the regional board faced the same

question decided by the district hearing officer, but with

additional evidence presented. In the instant case, the

additional evidence submitted to the board presented an

issue that was not before the district hearing officer."

(Emphasis added.)

When the regional board, without comment, simply

affirmed the district hearing officer's order - - which

was premised solely on the medical question of ability to

return to the former position of employment - - it ignored

another, separate question before it, i.e., whether the

claimant had undertaken other sustained remunerative

employment. Even where a claimant is medically unable to

return to his former job, he cannot continue to receive

temporary total compensation once he has accepted other

sustained gainful employment. State ex rel. Nye v. Indus.

Comm. (1986), 22 Ohio St.3d 75, 22 OBR 91, 488 N.E.2d 867;

State ex rel. Johnson v. Rawac Plating Co. (1991), 61 Ohio

St.3d 599, 575 N.E.2d 837. As the referee noted in his

report to the court of appeals, the regional board may

indeed have rejected as unpersuasive the allegation that

claimant had been working. However, if it did, the order

should have specifically so stated. Without a specific

finding on this second, distinct issue, the regional

board's order cannot be evaluated to determine whether an

abuse of discretion occurred.

Peabody claims that the award was improper for the

additional reason that it contravened the January 10, 1989

order and, therefore, violated res judicata. This

assertion is premised on Peabody's belief that the January

10, 1989 order prohibited further temporary total

compensation without prior examination and hearing. This

is incorrect. While the order did indeed provide that

claimant should be examined and a hearing held if claimant

requested further temporary total compensation, the order

did not expressly prohibit compensation payment in the

interim. While this may have been what the commission

meant, it is not what it said. As a result, we find that

the January 22, 1990 order did not alter the earlier final

order, and res judicata was not violated. We also find

that the appellate court erred in ordering the commission

to stay the payment of all temporary total disability

compensation to the claimant pending a commission medical

examination.

Accordingly, we reverse that portion of the court of

appeals' judgment which prohibits the payment of any

temporary total disability compensation pending a

commission medical evaluation. The balance of the

judgment is affirmed.

Judgment affirmed in

part and reversed in

part.

Moyer, C.J., A.W. Sweeney, Douglas, Resnick, F.E.

Sweeney and Pfeifer, JJ., concur.

Wright, J., not participating.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.