Opinion

San Miguel Community Assn. v. State Farm

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Oct 17, 2013
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 30.3%

The opinion

Filed 10/1/13; pub. order 10/16/13 (see end of opn.)

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

SAN MIGUEL COMMUNITY

ASSOCIATION et al.,

G047738

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

(Super. Ct. No. 30-2011-00478236)

v.

OPINION

STATE FARM GENERAL INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Defendant and Respondent.

Appeal from a judgment of the Superior Court of Orange County, Ronald

L. Bauer, Judge. Affirmed.

Samuels, Green & Steel, Orlando F. Cabanday and Frederick H. Choi for

Plaintiffs and Appellants.

LHB Pacific Law Partners, Michael J. McGuire and Matthew F. Batezel for

Defendant and Respondent.

* * *

Question: When an insurance company issues a liability policy, agreeing to

indemnify its insured against a third party claim for damages covered under the policy,

and to defend the insured against any such claim, does the insurer have a duty to defend

the insured against a third party lawsuit seeking injunctive relief but no compensatory

damages? Answer: No. The third party‟s failure to seek compensatory damages against

the insured means the dispute is not a claim for damages under the policy. The insurer‟s

defense obligation requires it to provide the insured with a defense against a claim

seeking damages potentially payable under the policy, not to defend the insured‟s honor

or otherwise assist it in resolving a nonmonetary dispute.

Here, appellants San Miguel Community Association and William Beggs

sued State Farm General Insurance Company, alleging it breached obligations to them

under a liability insurance policy by refusing to reimburse them for the cost of defending

the early stages of a lawsuit in which the plaintiffs had initially sought only injunctive

relief to enforce parking restrictions within the community, plus an award of punitive

damages. When the third party plaintiffs later amended their pleading to include a claim

for recovery of compensatory damages, State Farm agreed to assume appellants‟ defense,

but refused to reimburse it for any defense costs incurred prior to the amendment. The

trial court entered summary judgment in favor of State Farm.

Appellants challenge the judgment, arguing State Farm had an obligation to

provide them with a defense even in absence of any express claim for damages in the

earlier versions of the third party complaint, because those earlier versions implied the

third parties had suffered compensable damages as a result of appellants‟ wrongdoing and

thus demonstrated appellants had potential liability for damages covered under the policy.

We affirm.

In the abstract, it is irrelevant that the third party might have suffered harm

that could give rise to a claim for damages covered under the insured‟s policy. What

matters is whether the third party has sought to recover damages from the insured. It is

2

only when the third party does that, that it has it made a claim which triggers even

potential coverage under a liability policy. That did not occur here until the third party

plaintiffs amended their pleading to include a claim for compensatory damages. Finally,

because coverage is triggered by a third party claim for damages, the allegation that State

Farm also misrepresented that the attorney for the third parties had denied they sustained

damages adds nothing to the cause of action. Whether or not those third parties believed

they had sustained damages, the record demonstrates they made no effort to recover any

from appellants until their second amended complaint.

FACTS

San Miguel, a nonprofit residential community association, is the named

insured under the State Farm policy at issue in this case and Beggs is the president of San

Miguel‟s board of directors. State Farm‟s policy provided San Miguel with

“comprehensive business liability” coverage. Under that coverage, State Farm agreed to

“pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of

bodily injury, property damage, personal injury or advertising injury” caused by an

“occurrence.”

The policy defined an “occurrence” as either “an accident . . . which

result[s] in bodily injury or property damage,” or “the commission of an offense, or a

series of similar or related offenses, which results in personal injury or advertising

injury.” And the policy defined “property damage” as: (1) “physical injury to or

destruction of tangible property, including all resulting loss of use of that property . . .

[; and (2)] [¶] loss of use of tangible property that is not physically injured or destroyed,

provided such loss of use is caused by physical injury to or destruction of other tangible

property. . . .”

3

The policy also offered optional coverage for “Directors and Officers

Liability,” which was defined as “those sums the insured becomes legally obligated to

pay as damages because of „wrongful acts‟ committed by an insured solely in the conduct

of their management responsibilities for the Condominium/Association.” “Wrongful

acts” was defined as “any negligent acts, errors, omissions or breach of duty directly

related to the operations of the Condominium/Association.” However, the Directors and

Officers Liability coverage did not apply to “any dishonest, fraudulent, criminal or

malicious act, including fines or penalties resulting from these acts”; did not apply to

“bodily injury, property damage, personal injury or advertising injury liability”; or

“damages other than monetary damages.”

Additionally, State Farm agreed to “defend any claim or suit seeking

damages payable under this policy even though the allegations of the suit may be

groundless.” (Italics added.) A “suit” is defined as “a civil proceeding in a court of law

in which damages . . . to which this insurance applies are alleged,” and includes “an

arbitration proceeding in which such damages are claimed” and “any other alternative

dispute resolution proceeding in which such damages are claimed and to which you

submit with our consent.” (Italics added.)

The underlying suit arose out of a dispute regarding enforcement of parking

restrictions within the San Miguel community. The third party plaintiffs are two San

Miguel residents who briefly served as members of its board of directors. During their

tenure on the board, these plaintiffs sought enforcement of parking restrictions within the

community, and promulgated new policies governing parking. They were later recalled

from the board in an election which also resulted in Beggs becoming a board member.

The newly comprised board of directors rescinded the parking policies.

In late 2008, the third party plaintiffs began complaining at board meetings

that San Miguel was not enforcing the parking restrictions contained in the community‟s

governing Declarations, Conditions, Covenants and Reservation of Easements (CC&R‟s)

4

and that the failure to do so was causing the plaintiffs distress and affecting their property

values. The plaintiffs also alleged they had incurred out-of-pocket costs (in the form of

copying costs and fees) as part of their effort to persuade the board to enforce the

CC&R‟s.

San Miguel rejected the plaintiff‟s complaints, and in December 2008, the

plaintiffs made a demand for nonbinding mediation of the dispute concerning

enforcement of the CC&R‟s. The notice identified several issues to be addressed in the

mediation, but did not identify any damages allegedly suffered by plaintiffs, or demand

compensation. After receipt of the plaintiff‟s alternate dispute resolution (ADR) demand,

San Miguel tendered its defense to State Farm.

The plaintiffs‟ attorney testified in deposition that if he had been asked in

December 2008 about damages, he would have said that the “gravamen” of plaintiffs‟

complaint “would have been to fix the wrongs that were occurring.” While he had done

an analysis of money damages stemming from San Miguel‟s violation of the CC&R‟s,

and concluded there were “loss-of-use damages” and “postage damages,” he concluded

they “were not of a significant amount.” He stated that “my clients weren’t actually

looking for a payout on those monetary damages . . . as much as they were looking for

the injunctive relief to correct the problems that were occurring.” (Italics added.)

Upon receipt of the ADR demand, a State Farm representative noted in the

claim file that it was “[u]nclear if [the] demand for non-binding mediation seeks either

[bodily injury, property damage, personal injury or advertising injury] under Cov. L; or

money [damages] under [optional directors and officers]. The allegations are vague as to

resulting [damages] or prayer for relief.” The representative also noted that a letter from

the plaintiffs‟ attorney outlining their claims includes “no mention of money [damages.]”

A State Farm supervisor suggested to the claims representative that he find out “what

other information [San Miguel] has about this matter that could shed some light on the

5

nature of the damages claim. You may also need to talk with the plaintiff attorney about

this.”

According to the State Farm claim file, the representative spoke to the

plaintiffs‟ attorney on January 27, 2009. The file reflects that in addition to providing

other information about the claim, the attorney indicated the plaintiffs “have not suffered

any [personal injury] at this time or out of pocket expense.” The plaintiffs‟ attorney

testified he did not recall that “first conversation” with the State Farm representative in

January 2009, although he did not specifically deny it occurred. He did note it was his

usual practice not to take calls from insurance company representatives who were not

attorneys.

On January 29, State Farm sent San Miguel a letter stating it was

continuing to investigate the claim and was reserving its rights to deny coverage.

On March 9, State Farm‟s claim representative recommended denial of the claim, based

on the fact the plaintiffs had asserted no claim for damages covered by the policy, and on

March 23, State Farm formally denied the claim on that basis. The letter explained there

was no coverage under the business liability policy because “the claimants‟ allegations

involve alleged failure of the Association to enforce parking regulations, replace fire

signage, or the Association‟s failure to provide notice of election results. Such claims do

not qualify as bodily injury, property damage, personal injury or advertising injury . . . .”

As for coverage under the optional directors‟ and officers‟ coverage, the letter noted “the

claims do not seek recovery of money damages.”

The nonbinding mediation did not resolve the matter, and in April 2009 the

plaintiffs filed their initial complaint against Beggs only, alleging causes of action for

breach of the CC&R‟s and nuisance, and seeking injunctive relief. Although the cause of

action for nuisance included an allegation that Beggs‟ conduct was “intentional and/or

grossly willful,” and “despicable” and on that basis justified an award of punitive

6

damages, it neither alleged the plaintiffs‟ sustained, nor sought recovery of, any

compensatory damages.

Beggs once again submitted the claim to State Farm, but before State Farm

had taken formal action on the claim, the plaintiffs filed their first amended complaint.

In that amended complaint, the plaintiffs added San Miguel as a defendant, and added a

third cause of action for breach of fiduciary duty.

Again, the First Amended Complaint contained no allegation the plaintiffs‟

sustained compensatory damages as a result of defendants‟ alleged wrongs, nor sought

recovery of any such damages. Instead, it alleged the effect of the defendants‟ violations

of the CC&Rs was to cause them “irreparable injury due [to] the actions alleged herein

and depriv[e] them of the benefit of the CC&Rs” which “cannot be fully compensated in

damages.” (Italics added.) Hence, the sole remedy the plaintiffs sought for the alleged

breach of the CC&R‟s was an injunction. In their nuisance cause of action, the plaintiffs

again claimed they “cannot be fully compensated for the damages caused” and were

“without an adequate remedy at law,” and they again sought the remedy of an injunction.

In their cause of action for breach of fiduciary duty, the plaintiffs alleged they “have been

harmed” by defendants‟ breaches, but again “cannot be fully compensated for the

damages caused” and again characterized the harm as “irreparable” and sought an

injunction. And once again, the plaintiffs included an allegation that defendants‟ conduct

was intentional and despicable, and on that justified an award of punitive damages.

San Miguel again tendered the defense of the first amended complaint to

State Farm, and on May 26, 2009, State Farm denied the claim. Once again, State Farm

based its denial on the fact “the action does not seek damages that would be covered

under the policy.”

San Miguel demurred to the plaintiffs‟ first amended complaint and moved

to strike the punitive damages allegation on the basis the plaintiffs had failed to allege

any entitlement to compensatory damages. In opposition to the demurrer, the plaintiffs

7

argued they could amend the complaint to allege entitlement to an award of such

damages, including “„diminution in value to Plaintiff[s]‟ homes and annoyance‟” caused

by San Miguel‟s failure to enforce the parking regulations, and costs incurred by

plaintiffs in attempting to resolve the matter short of litigation. The court sustained the

demurrer with leave to amend, and the plaintiffs filed their second amended complaint in

August 2009.

The second amended complaint alleged for the first time that as a result of

San Miguel‟s alleged wrongs, the plaintiffs had sustained damages “in an amount to be

proved at trial or . . . nominal damages to the extent necessary.” In their prayer for relief,

the plaintiffs sought, in addition to declaratory and injunctive relief, an award of

“compensatory damages, according to proof at the time of trial or alternatively . . .

an award of nominal damages.”

San Miguel once again tendered the claim to State Farm, pointing out that

“unlike the previous complaints, [the second amended complaint] seeks damages.” State

Farm once again denied coverage. In its letter, State Farm stated “plaintiffs have made

no claims for money damages,” and pointed out “[n]ominal damages are not money

damages arising out of a wrongful act.” State Farm also reiterated in its letter that the

plaintiffs‟ attorney had advised State Farm the plaintiffs had incurred no out-of-pocket

costs. The letter did not state when the plaintiffs‟ attorney had made that statement.

However, San Miguel‟s attorney apparently interpreted State Farm‟s denial

letter as reflecting a statement made by the plaintiffs‟ attorney following the filing of the

second amended complaint. He thus contacted the plaintiffs‟ attorney and inquired

whether the attorney had denied to State Farm that plaintiffs had incurred damages in

connection with the second amended complaint. According to a confirming letter written

by San Miguel‟s attorney, the plaintiffs‟ attorney replied that he had not spoken to

anyone from State Farm within the past three to four months and reiterated that his clients

had incurred the damages as set forth in the second amended complaint. San Miguel‟s

8

attorney then wrote a letter to State Farm, informing it that the plaintiffs‟ attorney was in

fact claiming they had incurred compensable damages, and accusing State Farm of

making a “material misstatement[] of fact to support its letter declining . . . tender.”

A State Farm representative then contacted the plaintiffs‟ attorney. The

attorney did recall that conversation, which he described as “a second phone call I believe

I did have with [a State Farm representative], after I had been advised . . . that apparently

there was a claim we had made some sort of an admission there were no damages.

Which was not our position. [¶] Our position was the monetary damages were de

minimus, but there are damages.” The attorney acknowledged that “[i]t may be an issue

that those damages will go away if we settle the main part of the action, but not that they

don‟t exist.” He stated, however, that he had no recollection of what he actually told the

representative during that second call, “and I probably hung up on the gentleman.”

Following that conversation, State Farm reversed its decision and agreed to

provide San Miguel with a defense of the plaintiffs‟ lawsuit under a reservation of rights.

However, it concluded that its obligation to provide a defense commenced on August 27,

2009, when San Miguel tendered the second amended complaint – the first complaint

seeking recovery of compensatory damages and thus the first to reflect the potential for

coverage under the policy. Consequently, State Farm refused to compensate San Miguel

for the costs incurred in defending the underlying case prior to that time.

This lawsuit followed. San Miguel alleged a cause of action for breach of

the insurance contract, and a cause of action for breach of the covenant of good faith and

fair dealing. Both causes of action were based on the identical assertions that State Farm

had breached its obligations by (1) failing to pay for defense of the plaintiffs‟ underlying

claim prior to the filing of their second amended complaint, and (2) misrepresenting the

statements of the plaintiffs‟ attorney concerning their purported lack of damages in an

effort to avoid paying benefits under the policy. San Miguel specifically alleged the

plaintiffs‟ complaint in the underlying lawsuit had included a claim for money damages

9

within the coverage of the optional Directors and Officers Liability provision of State

Farm‟s policy from the outset, and thus that State Farm was obligated to pay the cost of

defending that suit from the outset. State Farm successfully moved for summary

judgment, and the court entered a final judgment in its favor.

DISCUSSION

We employ a de novo standard of review on appeal from a summary

judgment. (Aguilar v. Atlantic Richfield Co. (2001) 25 Cal.4th 826, 860.) We are not

bound by the trial court‟s stated reasons for granting summary judgment, and will affirm

the judgment if correct on any theory advanced. “The trial judge‟s stated reason for

granting summary judgment is not binding on us because we review its ruling, not its

rationale.” (Reliance Nat. Indemnity Co. v. General Star Indemnity Co. (1999)

72 Cal.App.4th 1063, 1074.)

In our analysis, “[w]e apply the same three-step analysis required of the

trial court. First, we identify the issues framed by the operative complaint and answer

since it is these allegations to which the motion must respond. Second, we determine

whether the moving party‟s showing establishes facts which negate the opponent‟s claim

and justifies a judgment in the moving party‟s favor. When the moving party makes a

prima facie showing, the third and final step is to determine whether the opposition

demonstrates the existence of a triable issue of material fact. [Citation.] [¶] In

performing these steps, we view the evidence in the light most favorable to the party

opposing the motion, liberally construe the opposing party‟s evidence, strictly construe

the moving party‟s evidence, and resolve all doubts in favor of the opposing party.”

(Minish v. Hanuman Fellowship (2013) 214 Cal.App.4th 437, 444.)

State Farm‟s motion for summary judgment was based on the assertion that

the policy it issued to San Miguel did not obligate it to provide a defense to any claim

10

unless “covered damages” were sought, and that contrary to San Miguel‟s allegation, no

such damages had been sought by the plaintiffs in the underlying case until they filed

their second amended complaint. The trial court agreed with that analysis, despite San

Miguel‟s vigorous assertion that a claim for covered damages was implicit in the earlier

versions of the complaint.

1. Implied Claim for Recovery of Damages in the Underlying Case

On appeal, San Miguel does not dispute that a claim for covered damages

by the third party plaintiffs was necessary to trigger State Farm‟s duty to defend under

the policy. That is appropriate, as the policy clearly specifies the obligation to defend

applies to “any claim or suit seeking damages payable under this policy even though the

allegations of the suit may be groundless.” (Italics added.) As pointed out in United

Pacific Ins. Co. v. Hall (1988) 199 Cal.App.3d 551, 556, “[w]here the language of an

insurance policy plainly obligates an insurer to defend an action for damages against the

insured, the insurer has no obligation to defend an insured in . . . proceedings where

damages are not sought.”

Instead, San Miguel essentially repeats the argument it made below, and

indeed characterizes the main question to be resolved on appeal as: “Do the [underlying

plaintiffs‟] allegations asserting claims for nuisance, breach of fiduciary duty, irreparable

damage, and praying for punitive damages, which in turn would require proof of actual

damages, give rise to the implication of actual damages and [thus] obligat[e] State Farm

to defen[d] the claims?” (Italics added.)

San Miguel‟s argument that a claim for actual damages was implied in the

allegations of the underlying case relies significantly on Travelers Property Casualty Co.

of America v. Charlotte Russe Holding, Inc. (2012) 207 Cal.App.4th 969 (Travelers).

According to San Miguel, Travelers stands for the proposition that an insurer “shall

[infer] the elements necessary to find a possibility of coverage and may not decline a

defense simply because the pleading does not expressly state the conditions for

11

coverage.” (Italics added.) In our view, however, Travelers expresses a different rule,

and is thus inapposite.

Travelers involved a third party claim made by a clothing manufacturer,

which alleged that the insured, a retailer, had harmed the manufacturer‟s brand reputation

by severely discounting the manufacturer‟s clothing in its stores. The retailer sought

insurance coverage for the dispute on the theory that the allegations amounted to a claim

the retailer had disparaged the manufacturer‟s goods. While the trial court rejected the

argument, the Court of Appeal did not. The court explained “it is not essential that the

underlying claims must be expressly phrased in terms of „disparagement‟ or trade libel”

in order to trigger coverage. (Travelers, supra, 207 Cal.App.4th at 978.) Rather, it was

sufficient if the third party allegations “may be understood to accuse” the retailer of such

conduct. (Ibid.)

In other words, Travelers reminds us we cannot strictly construe the

allegations of a third party complaint, and allow the insurer to deny coverage merely

because those existing allegations are not phrased in strict accordance with the language

of the policy. Thus, Travelers merely reinforces the well-established notion espoused in

Gray v. Zurich Insurance Co. (1966) 65 Cal.2d 263, 276-277, that an insurer “cannot

construct a formal fortress of the third party‟s pleadings and retreat behind its walls. The

pleadings are malleable, changeable and amendable. . . . [C]ourts do not examine only

the pleaded word but the potential liability created by the suit. . . . [¶] . . . [¶] . . . An

insurer, therefore, bears a duty to defend its insured whenever it ascertains facts which

give rise to the potential of liability under the policy.”

But what Travelers does not do is what San Miguel claims: establish a rule

that insurers must infer the existence of additional allegations not actually included

within the underlying third party complaint, merely because it is aware those additional

claims might have been plausibly included. And that is what San Miguel is arguing for

here.

12

In effect, San Miguel is asserting that because the third party plaintiffs in

the underlying case purportedly sustained some actual damage as a result of San Miguel‟s

alleged wrongs – albeit in an amount that plaintiffs‟ own attorney characterized as “de

minimus” – and thus could have sought recovery of those damages from San Miguel in

earlier pleadings, State Farm was obligated to infer they had actually done so. We reject

the assertion.

First, we note that in their earlier pleadings, the third parties‟ description of

the alleged harm inflicted on them by San Miguel was actually inconsistent with the

implication they were seeking money damages. They characterized that harm as

“irreparable,” and they purported to be “without an adequate remedy at law” to redress it.

Standing alone, such allegations imply that an award of money damages is not sought,

because monetary damages are the quintessential remedy at law. Further, as our Supreme

Court has explained: “irreparable injuries [are] ones that cannot be adequately

compensated in damages.” (Intel Corp. v. Hamidi (2003) 30 Cal.4th 1342, 1352.) Until

the plaintiffs filed their second amended complaint, expressly claiming a right to recover

compensatory damages flowing from San Miguel‟s wrongs, there was no reason to infer

that any such claim was intended.

Second, we reject San Miguel‟s claim that the underlying plaintiffs‟ request

for punitive damages in the earlier pleadings necessarily implied that an award of

compensatory damages – a prerequisite for the desired punitive damages – was also being

sought in those complaints. In general, whether such damages are sought can be

discerned from the face of the complaint. Just as the plaintiffs‟ first two complaints

clearly sought punitive damages – they just as clearly did not seek compensatory ones.

And the fact that the plaintiffs‟ claim for punitive damages was flawed in the earlier

complaints does not require anyone to infer they pleaded something different than they

did. If defendants (and courts) were required to infer the existence of allegations missing

13

from a complaint merely because those allegations are necessary to the success of a

claim, there would be little purpose to demurrers.

And of course, San Miguel did demur – and successfully – to the first

amended complaint in the underlying case, pointing to the plaintiffs‟ failure to seek actual

damages as a significant flaw in both their claim for punitive damages and their cause of

action alleging breach of fiduciary duty. Clearly, then, San Miguel did not “infer” the

missing allegations already existed in the first amended complaint. State Farm was not

obligated to do so either.

And third, the testimony offered by the plaintiffs‟ attorney supports the

conclusion they were not initially seeking an award of covered damages in the underlying

case – expressly or impliedly. While the attorney completed a damage analysis very

early in the dispute, his conclusion was that the damages incurred by the plaintiffs “were

not of a significant amount.” At another point, he described their damages as “de

minimus.” Perhaps more important, the attorney made it clear that the plaintiffs‟ goal –

the “gravamen” of their underlying case – was to obtain injunctive relief, and he thus

acknowledged that the plaintiffs “weren’t actually looking for a payout on those

monetary damages . . . .” (Italics added.) And even when the plaintiffs‟ attorney finally

did include a claim for compensatory damages in their second amended complaint, in an

attempt to shore up their other challenged claims, he was refreshingly honest in

acknowledging that the damages they were entitled to recover might only be “nominal.”

(See Heritage Pacific Financial, LLC v. Monroy (2013) 215 Cal.App.4th 972, 1006

[“The award of only nominal damages highlighted the plaintiff‟s failure to prove actual

injury or any basis for awarding punitive damages”]; Silk v. Feldman (2012) 208

Cal.App.4th 547, 556 [“In the absence of proof of actual damages, nominal damages are

awarded”].)

In light of the foregoing, we conclude San Miguel failed to demonstrate the

existence of even a triable issue of fact to support its contention that the plaintiffs in the

14

underlying case were seeking an award of damages that might be covered by State

Farm‟s policy prior to the filing of their second amended complaint – and thus failed to

demonstrate State Farm had any obligation to provide San Miguel with a defense in the

underlying case prior to that time.

2. The Alleged Misrepresentation

San Miguel‟s second contention is that State Farm‟s attempt to avoid

coverage by “making up the phone call” in which the attorney for the plaintiffs in the

underlying case purportedly stated they had sustained no damages, constitutes actionable

bad faith and thus precluded summary judgment in State Farm‟s favor. We find the

contention unpersuasive for several reasons.

First, we find no evidence in the record that the phone call was “made up.”

The evidence in the record demonstrates State Farm‟s case file reflects that one of its

representatives spoke to the plaintiffs‟ attorney in December 2008, when the case was in

the early ADR stage, and the attorney‟s position was that his clients “have not suffered

any [personal injury] at this time or out of pocket expense.” While the attorney later

testified he did not remember the call, and that his belief at the time was that his clients

had suffered some “de minimus” amount of damages, he did not actually deny having the

conversation. Moreover, in a conversation with San Miguel‟s counsel in the wake of his

filing the second amended complaint in August 2009, the attorney stated he had not

spoken with a State Farm representative about the case in the past three to four months –

thus implying he had spoken to one at a prior date.

It was San Miguel‟s counsel who assumed – apparently erroneously – that

the statement contained in State Farm‟s letter denying a defense for the second amended

complaint in the underlying case, to the effect that the plaintiffs‟ attorney denied they had

sustained damages, referenced a new denial. But the letter does not specify the date of

the attorney‟s statement, and does not reflect there were multiple conversations with the

plaintiffs‟ attorney. In short, a careful reading of the letter does not support the idea that

15

State Farm made any misrepresentations about having a conversation with the attorney

for the plaintiffs in the underlying case.

Second, even if the phone call took place, but the State Farm representative

mischaracterized what the attorney said, we could not find a triable issue of fact. San

Miguel points to evidence in the record suggesting the State Farm representative who

initially spoke to the plaintiffs‟ attorney did not specifically ask him about whether they

incurred damages, but instead inferred they had none from the attorney‟s description of

their “asserted claims.” Based on the attorney‟s later testimony about the plaintiffs‟

claims, and the relief they were seeking at that time, this was an accurate inference. As

the attorney explained, the plaintiffs‟ “out of pocket” damages were insubstantial, and

they were not making any effort to recover them. Instead, what the plaintiffs wanted

from San Miguel was enforcement of the CC&R‟s. From the insurance company‟s

perspective, the third party‟s disavowal of any claim for damages is tantamount to an

acknowledgement they have sustained none. The inaccuracy, if any, was insignificant.

Third, the fact State Farm did not engage in significant additional efforts to

investigate the claim following the initial phone call to the plaintiffs‟ attorney creates no

triable issue of fact. Although there was evidence suggesting the plaintiffs had sustained

some miniscule amount of compensable damage, the record is absolutely clear they were

making no effort to recover those damages from San Miguel prior to the filing of their

second amended complaint. Moreover, that damage claim was made only after San

Miguel backed the plaintiffs into a corner by demurring to the first amended complaint,

and even then, the plaintiffs acknowledged that the damages they sought might be purely

nominal. There is simply no evidence that if State Farm had engaged in a more rigorous

investigation, it would have led to any conclusion other than that no covered claim

existed until the plaintiffs in the underlying case filed their second amended complaint.

Finally, San Miguel‟s claim for liability based on State Farm‟s alleged bad

faith in manufacturing evidence fails for the most basic reason of all: As our Supreme

16

Court held in Waller v. Truck Ins. Exchange, Inc. (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1, a claim for liability

based on an insurer‟s alleged breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair

dealing cannot be maintained unless the insured was entitled to coverage under the

insurer‟s policy. As the Court explained, “when benefits are due an insured, „delayed

payment based on inadequate or tardy investigations, oppressive conduct by claims

adjusters seeking to reduce the amounts legitimately payable and numerous other tactics

may breach the implied covenant because‟ they frustrate the insured‟s right to receive the

benefits of the contract in „prompt compensation for losses.‟ [Citation.] Absent that

contractual right, however, the implied covenant has nothing upon which to act as a

supplement, and „should not be endowed with an existence independent of its contractual

underpinnings.‟” (Id. at p. 36.)

Here, because the plaintiffs in the underlying case were not seeking

damages against San Miguel prior to the filing of their second amended complaint, there

was no potential for coverage under State Farm‟s policy prior to that filing, and thus no

contractual requirement that it provide San Miguel with a defense. It consequently

follows that even if State Farm had engaged in questionable tactics to support the denial

of San Miguel‟s claim in the early stages of the underlying litigation, those tactics would

not provide a basis upon which to impose liability for breach of the covenant of good

faith and fair dealing. We find no error in the trial court‟s grant of summary judgment in

State Farm‟s favor.

17

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed. State Farm is to recover its costs on appeal.

RYLAARSDAM, ACTING P. J.

WE CONCUR:

MOORE, J.

IKOLA, J.

18

Filed 10/16/13

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION THREE

SAN MIGUEL COMMUNITY

ASSOCIATION et al.,

G047738

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

(Super. Ct. No. 30-2011-00478236)

v.

ORDER CERTIFYING OPINION

STATE FARM GENERAL INSURANCE FOR PUBLICATION

COMPANY,

Defendant and Respondent.

Defendant and Respondent, State Farm General Insurance Company,

requested that our opinion filed on October 1, 2013, be certified for publication. It

appears that our opinion meets the standards set forth in California Rules of Court, rule

8.1105(c). The request is GRANTED. The opinion is ordered published in the Official

Reports.

RYLAARSDAM, ACTING P. J.

WE CONCUR:

MOORE, J.

IKOLA, J.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.