Opinion

Cooper v. Social Security Administration

  • 131 F.4th 995
Court
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
Filed
Mar 20, 2025
Status
Published
Cited by
8 cases
Authority
More cited than 57.1%

The opinion

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DARRIN LENALD COOPER, No. 24-1084

BAP No.

Appellant,

1:23-bk-1098

v.

OPINION

SOCIAL SECURITY

ADMINISTRATION,

Appellee.

Appeal from the Ninth Circuit

Bankruptcy Appellate Panel

Frederick Philip Corbit, Julia W. Brand, and Gary A.

Spraker, Bankruptcy Judges, Presiding

Argued and Submitted February 11, 2025

Seattle, Washington

Filed March 20, 2025

Before: Ronald M. Gould and Jacqueline H. Nguyen,

Circuit Judges, and Richard D. Bennett, Senior District

Judge. *

*

The Honorable Richard D. Bennett, United States Senior District Judge

for the District of Maryland, sitting by designation.

2 COOPER V. SSA

Opinion by Judge Bennett

SUMMARY **

Bankruptcy

The panel (1) reversed the Bankruptcy Appellate Panel’s

decision affirming the bankruptcy court’s order denying a

debtor’s motion to hold the Social Security Administration

in contempt for violating the bankruptcy discharge

injunction by adjusting the debtor’s monthly benefits to

recoup an overpayment of Social Security Disability

Insurance benefits; and (2) remanded to the Bankruptcy

Appellate Panel with instructions to remand to the

bankruptcy court for further proceedings.

Through its own error, the Social Security

Administration overpaid the debtor before his Chapter 7 no-

asset discharge in bankruptcy. Two years after his

discharge, it recouped the overpayment debt by reducing his

monthly benefits.

The panel held that the equitable recoupment doctrine

allows recovery of a discharged debt where the creditor and

debtor share countervailing obligations that meet the logical

relationship test. Under that test, obligations are logically

related when they arise from the same transaction or

occurrence such that recoupment is equitable. The panel

clarified that the logical relationship test demands

**

This summary constitutes no part of the opinion of the court. It has

been prepared by court staff for the convenience of the reader.

COOPER V. SSA 3

consideration of the equities, including the purpose of the

Bankruptcy Code, in each individual case. Agreeing with

other circuits, the panel held that recoupment is

impermissible where, as here, the Social Security

Administration seeks to recoup overpayments from a

bankrupt beneficiary who engaged in no malfeasance.

COUNSEL

Marc S. Stern (argued), Seattle, Washington, for Appellant.

Kyle A. Forsyth (argued), Assistant United States Attorney;

Tessa M. Gorman, United States Attorney; United States

Department of Justice, Office of the United States Attorney,

Seattle, Washington; for Appellee.

Thomas M. Mayer (argued) and Nancy Bello, Kramer Levin

Naftalis & Frankel LLP, New York, New York, for Amici

Curiae National Consumer Bankruptcy Rights Center and

National Association for Consumer Bankruptcy.

4 COOPER V. SSA

OPINION

BENNETT, Senior District Judge:

This appeal arises at the intersection of the Bankruptcy

Code, 11 U.S.C. § 101 et seq., and the Social Security Act,

42 U.S.C. § 401 et seq. Under the Social Security Act, 42

U.S.C. §§ 401, 423, the federal government operates a

Federal Disability Insurance Trust Fund to provide Social

Security Disability Insurance (“SSDI”) benefits to

qualifying individuals. Id. §§ 401(b), (h); 423. In

conjunction with the old-age benefits provision of the Social

Security Act, Congress established SSDI benefits “to

provide workers and their families with basic protection

against hardships created by the loss of earnings due to

illness or old age.” Mathews v. De Castro, 429 U.S. 181,

185–86 (1976). The Bankruptcy Code, which seeks to

“grant a ‘fresh start’ to the ‘honest but unfortunate debtor,’”

reflects a similar concern for the effects of financial

hardship. Marrama v. Citizens Bank, 549 U.S. 365, 367

(2007) (quoting Grogan v. Garner, 498 U.S. 279, 286–87

(1991)). Thus, discharge in bankruptcy enjoins creditors

from collecting pre-filing debts. 11 U.S.C. § 524(a)(2).

As an SSDI beneficiary who received a no-asset

discharge in bankruptcy in 2020, Appellant Darrin Lenald

Cooper (“Cooper”), received protections under both the

Social Security Act and the Bankruptcy Code. Through its

own error, the Social Security Administration overpaid

Cooper before his discharge in bankruptcy. It then recouped

the overpayment debt by reducing his monthly SSDI benefits

two years after his discharge.

An issue of first impression in our Circuit, we consider

whether the Social Security Administration (“SSA”) may

COOPER V. SSA 5

recoup SSDI benefits it overpaid, through its own error, from

a beneficiary who has already received a no-asset discharge

in bankruptcy. Recoupment is an equitable doctrine that

predates the Bankruptcy Code and allows recovery of a

discharged debt where the creditor and debtor share

countervailing obligations that meet our logical relationship

test. See, e.g., Sims v. United States Dep't of Health &

Human Servs. (In re TLC Hosps., Inc.), 224 F.3d 1008, 1011

(9th Cir. 2000). Under that test, obligations are logically

related when they arise from the same transaction or

occurrence such that recoupment is equitable. Id. at 1011,

1014.

In this case, the bankruptcy court and Bankruptcy

Appellate Panel (“BAP”) determined that recoupment was

permissible because the overpayment and ongoing

entitlement to benefits were logically related: they arose

from the same disability period, disability, trust fund, and

statutory scheme. The BAP effectively ended its inquiry

there, suggesting that the logical relationship test precluded

consideration of the equities, such as Cooper’s lack of fault

in SSA’s overpayment. SSA urges us to adopt this view on

appeal. We decline to do so.

We clarify that the logical relationship test has never

precluded consideration of the equities. Indeed, the logical

relationship test requires courts to evaluate such

considerations to ensure that recoupment is equitable in each

case. Aligning with our sister courts that have considered

similar issues, we hold that recoupment is impermissible

where, as here, SSA seeks to recoup overpayments from a

bankrupt beneficiary who engaged in no malfeasance.

Accordingly, we REVERSE and REMAND for further

proceedings.

6 COOPER V. SSA

BACKGROUND

An understanding of this appeal requires an explanation

of the Bankruptcy Code, the Social Security Act, and the

facts underlying Cooper’s case.

I. Bankruptcy Code

“The principal purpose of the Bankruptcy Code is to

grant a ‘fresh start’ to the ‘honest but unfortunate debtor.’”

Marrama, 549 U.S. at 367 (quoting Grogan, 498 U.S. at

286–87). Bankruptcy offers multiple paths by which

individuals may seek to overcome debt. “[C]hapter 7 of the

Bankruptcy Code, which governs liquidations, embodies

two ideals: (1) giving the individual debtor a fresh start, by

giving him a discharge of most of his debts; and

(2) equitably distributing a debtor’s assets among competing

creditors.” Sherwood Partners, Inc. v. Lycos, Inc., 394 F.3d

1198, 1203 (9th Cir. 2005). Accordingly, Chapter 7 allows

a debtor to “discharge . . . prepetition debts following the

liquidation of the debtor’s assets by a bankruptcy trustee,

who then distributes the proceeds to creditors.” Marrama,

549 U.S. at 367; see also 11 U.S.C. § 727 (defining Chapter

7 discharge).

Discharge under 11 U.S.C. § 727 “releases the debtor

from personal liability for her pre-bankruptcy debts,” Boeing

N. Am., Inc. v. Ybarra (In re Ybarra), 424 F.3d 1018, 1022

(9th Cir. 2005), and enjoins “commencement or continuation

of an action, the employment of process, or an act, to collect,

recover, or offset any such debt as a personal liability of the

debtor[,]” 11 U.S.C. § 524(a)(2). The Bankruptcy Code

defines “debt” as a “liability on a claim,” 11 U.S.C.

§ 101(12), and “claim” as “a right to payment,” Id.

COOPER V. SSA 7

§ 101(5)(A). 1 In a “no-asset” Chapter 7 bankruptcy, debts

are discharged even if a creditor does not receive notice of

the bankruptcy filing. White v. Nielsen (In re Nielsen), 383

F.3d 922, 926–27 (9th Cir. 2004). Such discharge despite

lack of notice reflects that “filing a claim is meaningless and

worthless in a no-assets case.” Id. at 927.

II. Social Security Act

Under the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 401 et seq.,

the federal government operates a Federal Disability

Insurance Trust Fund (“Trust Fund”) to provide SSDI

payments to beneficiaries. Id. §§ 401(b), (h); 423. Workers

finance the Trust Fund by paying social security taxes, which

are invested in United States government securities and

deposited into the General Fund of the Treasury. Id.

§ 401(b); BARRY F. HUSTON, CONG. RSCH. SERV., RL33028,

SOCIAL SECURITY: THE TRUST FUNDS 1 (2024). Social

Security income is then accounted for in trusts divided

according to SSDI benefits and retirement benefits, and SSA

1

As fully defined under 11 U.S.C. § 101(5), a claim is:

(A) right to payment, whether or not such right is

reduced to judgment, liquidated, unliquidated,

fixed, contingent, matured, unmatured, disputed,

undisputed, legal, equitable, secured, or

unsecured; or

(B) right to an equitable remedy for breach of

performance if such breach gives rise to a right to

payment, whether or not such right to an equitable

remedy is reduced to judgment, fixed, contingent,

matured, unmatured, disputed, undisputed,

secured, or unsecured.

“Congress intended by this language to adopt the broadest available

definition of ‘claim.’” Johnson v. Home State Bank, 501 U.S. 78, 83

(1991).

8 COOPER V. SSA

draws from the Trust Fund to distribute monthly SSDI

benefits. BARRY F. HUSTON, CONG. RSCH. SERV., supra, at

3; 42 U.S.C. §§ 401(a), (b). Workers’ tax contributions to

the Trust Fund create their eligibility for benefits by earning

them credits toward future benefits. 2 U.S. SOC. SEC.

ADMIN., PUBL’N NO. 05-10072, HOW YOU EARN YOUR

CREDITS 1–3 (2025). To receive SSDI benefits, individuals

must establish their specific eligibility via an application

process. 42 U.S.C. § 423(a).

SSA determines an SSDI applicant’s entitlement to

payment in three stages: (1) SSA determines the individual’s

eligibility for SSDI benefits; (2) SSA determines the

individual’s primary insurance amount; and (3) SSA

determines the individual’s correct monthly payment. In the

first stage, applicants generally qualify for SSDI benefits if

they meet the legal definition of “disabled,” are “fully

insured,” and have earned sufficient credits based on

covered earnings in the years preceding their application.

See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.110, 404.130, 404.132 (explaining

required number of credits); 42 U.S.C. § 415 (explaining

determination of monthly benefits amount). For SSDI

benefits, the Social Security Act defines disability as

blindness or “inability to engage in any substantial gainful

activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or

mental impairment which can be expected to result in death

or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a

2

In 2025, for example, individuals receive one credit for each $1,810.00

they earn, up to a maximum of four credits each year. U.S. SOC. SEC.

ADMIN., PUBL’N NO. 05-10072, HOW YOU EARN YOUR CREDITS 1–3

(2025).

COOPER V. SSA 9

continuous period of not less than 12 months[.]” 3 42 U.S.C.

§§ 423(d)(1)(A), (B). To be fully insured, an applicant must

have earned at least one credit per year since turning 22 years

old. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.110. An applicant has sufficient

credits for SSDI benefits if he has earned 20 credits for the

10 years immediately preceding his disability. U.S. SOC.

SEC. ADMIN., PUBL’N NO. 05-10072, supra, at 3.

After an individual has established eligibility for SSDI

benefits, SSA determines his “primary insurance amount,”

which is his monthly benefits amount without adjustments.

See 20 C.F.R. § 404.212. An individual’s primary insurance

amount is set by a formula that considers his average

monthly earnings over a specific number of years based on

his present age and the age at which he became disabled. 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.211, 404.280–404.287. Generally, the

formula indexes an individual’s social security earnings after

1950 and averages them “over the period of time [the

applicant] can reasonably have been expected to have

worked in employment or self-employment covered by

social security.” Id. § 404.211(a).

Finally, in the last stage of the entitlement process, SSA

determines the beneficiary’s correct monthly payment. This

stage requires SSA to consider other benefits—including

workers’ compensation or other forms of Social Security

payments—that the beneficiary has received. 42 U.S.C.

§ 424a(a)(2)(B); 20 C.F.R. § 404.408. If a beneficiary’s

workers’ compensation and SSDI benefits together total

more than eighty percent of his earnings before he became

disabled, SSA must reduce his monthly SSDI payments so

3

The parties do not dispute that Cooper meets the definition of

“disabled” under the Social Security Act.

10 COOPER V. SSA

that the total benefits amount falls below the eighty-percent

threshold. 42 U.S.C. § 424a(a)(5).

Once SSA has completed every stage of the entitlement

process, an SSDI beneficiary is entitled to receive monthly

benefits payments in the correct monthly payment amount. 4

Such entitlements are subject to periodic review, and SSA

“must evaluate [the beneficiary’s] impairment(s) from time

to time to determine if [he is] still eligible for payments

based on disability.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.989. Additionally,

Section 404 of the Social Security Act requires SSA to

recover or adjust benefits “[w]henever the Commissioner of

Social Security finds that more or less than the correct

amount of payment has been made to any person under this

subchapter . . . .” 42 U.S.C. § 404(a)(1); see also Sullivan v.

Everhart, 494 U.S. 83, 90 (1990) (acknowledging Social

Security Act mandates recovery of prior overpayments).

Where a person has been overpaid, SSA must recover those

benefits by (1) decreasing the person’s benefits payment;

(2) requiring the person to refund the amount received in

excess; (3) decreasing any payment payable to that person;

(4) reducing tax refunds to recover the overpayment; or

(5) utilizing any combination of these four methods. 42

U.S.C. § 404(a)(1)(A). A beneficiary subject to recovery of

overpaid benefits under 42 U.S.C. § 404 may request relief

based on financial need. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.502(c)(1)

(permitting significant need-based reductions in amount of

monthly reduction of benefits).

4

Monthly benefits payments are paid in “the month following the month

for which they are due.” U.S. SOC. SEC. ADMIN., PUBL’N NO. 05-10029,

DISABILITY BENEFITS 9 (2025). For example, beneficiaries receive the

benefits due for the month of July in the month of August. Id.

COOPER V. SSA 11

Beneficiaries who have filed for bankruptcy receive

protections under both the Social Security Act and the

Bankruptcy Code. Specifically, 42 U.S.C. § 407 protects

future benefits payments from creditors in bankruptcy, and

the bankruptcy discharge injunction precludes SSA from

collecting discharged debts. 11 U.S.C. § 524(a)(2); see also

Bilyeu v. Morgan Stanley Long Term Disability Plan, 683

F.3d 1083, 1093 (9th Cir. 2012) (“The purpose of the

exemption created by Congress in 42 U.S.C. § 407 is to

protect social security beneficiaries from creditors’ claims.”

(quoting Dionne v. Bouley, 757 F.2d 1344, 1355 (1st Cir.

1985))). SSA’s Program Operations Manual System

(“POMS”) provides nonbinding guidance to SSA employees

and instructs that, even in a no-asset bankruptcy in which

SSA did not receive notice, “the bankruptcy judgment will

be binding on SSA with repayment (if any) limited to the

terms of the discharge order unless the Office of General

Counsel (OGC) is successful in objecting to the discharge.”

U.S. SOC. SEC. ADMIN., GN 02215.230, RESULT OF

BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDINGS – PC PROCEDURE (2023). These

protections mirror the Bankruptcy Code’s “fresh start”

policy by seeking to protect a debtor’s post-bankruptcy SSDI

benefits from creditors. See HSBC Bank USA, Nat’l Ass’n

v. Blendheim (In re Blendheim), 803 F.3d 477, 485 (9th Cir.

2015) (discussing purpose of Chapter 7 bankruptcy).

III. Cooper’s Case

On March 26, 2007, Cooper suffered a disabling injury

while working for Boeing Company in Washington. Due to

his resulting disability, Cooper began receiving gross

monthly workers’ compensation payments of at least

$4,862.25 in March 2015. In May 2017, without the

assistance of counsel, Cooper applied for SSDI benefits

based on his disability. In his application, Cooper

12 COOPER V. SSA

mistakenly reported that he had applied for but had not yet

received workers’ compensation benefits. SSA denied

Cooper’s application, and he hired counsel to appeal the

denial.

On April 30, 2019, an administrative law judge found

Cooper eligible for SSDI benefits, subject to possible

workers’ compensation offset provisions, because he was

fully disabled within the definition of 42 U.S.C. § 1382(a).

On May 1, 2019, still represented by counsel from his

appeal, Cooper submitted a Workers’ Compensation/Public

Disability Benefit Questionnaire (“Questionnaire”) to the

Social Security Field Office in Everett, Washington

(“Everett Field Office”). The submitted Questionnaire

disclosed that and accurately detailed that Cooper was

receiving workers’ compensation payments. Nevertheless,

Everett Field Office employees failed to properly record his

workers’ compensation benefits in SSA’s system.

Relying in part on the improperly processed

Questionnaire, SSA then determined Cooper’s monthly

payment, including any retroactive benefits owed. On May

10, 2019, SSA mailed Cooper a Notice of Award (“Notice”)

informing him that he was entitled to SSDI benefits of

approximately $2,000 per month beginning in May 2019. 5

The Notice disclosed that Cooper was also entitled to

retroactive SSDI benefits dating back to May 2016 and

detailed the process by which SSA would calculate the

retroactive benefits owed. The Notice then explained that

5

Beginning on June 16, 2019, the State of Washington reduced

Cooper’s workers’ compensation benefits to reflect his receipt of Social

Security benefits. Under the adjusted workers’ compensation payment

rate, Cooper received monthly workers’ compensation payments of

$3,849.11.

COOPER V. SSA 13

SSA would hold the SSDI benefits accrued between May

2016 and April 2019 pending its determination of whether

Cooper had received Supplemental Security Income benefits

during that period such that his SSDI benefits should be

reduced.

The Notice also stated that Cooper’s SSDI award may be

reduced if he had received workers’ compensation benefits.

The Notice advised: “At that time, you may have to pay back

any Social Security benefits that you were not due. Please

let us know the decision on the [workers’ compensation]

claim right away.” In August 2019, SSA disbursed

$67,335.50 to Cooper, representing $73,355.50 in

retroactive SSDI benefits less $6,000 withheld and paid

directly to Cooper’s counsel during his appeal. Because

SSA previously failed to correctly record Cooper’s workers’

compensation benefits in its system, SSA did not account for

Cooper’s workers’ compensation benefits when calculating

the retroactive SSDI benefits. As a result, this retroactive

benefits payment contained $73,112.90 in overpaid SSDI

benefits.

In July 2020, Cooper filed for a no-asset Chapter 7

bankruptcy. At that time, neither Cooper nor SSA was aware

that he had received more than $73,000 in overpaid benefits

in August 2019. Because Cooper was unaware of the

overpayment, he did not schedule SSA as a creditor in his

bankruptcy, and SSA did not receive notice of his case or its

discharge. The Trustee issued a report of no distribution and

closed the case without setting a time for filing proof of

claim. On October 21, 2020, Cooper received a discharge of

his debts, including unlisted debts, under 11 U.S.C. § 727.

See In re Nielsen, 383 F.3d at 926–27.

14 COOPER V. SSA

In November 2020, approximately two weeks after

Cooper’s bankruptcy case was discharged, SSA sent Cooper

a letter requesting information about his workers’

compensation benefits. In response, and consistent with the

Questionnaire he filed with the Everett Field Office on May

1, 2019, Cooper disclosed, once again, that he was receiving

workers’ compensation benefits. Cooper also provided

notice of his bankruptcy and explained that any debts he

might owe SSA were discharged. For the next two years,

Cooper continued to receive his SSDI benefits each month,

subject to cost of living adjustments.

On October 30, 2022, SSA sent Cooper a letter

informing him for the first time that the retroactive benefits

paid to him in August 2019 had included $73,112.90 in

overpaid funds. SSA stated that Cooper had not timely

informed SSA of his workers’ compensation benefits, which

caused SSA to calculate his benefits without accounting for

his workers’ compensation payments. Accordingly, SSA

explained that beginning in January 2023, it would hold back

Cooper’s monthly benefits payments until it had recovered

the overpayment. 6 In the letter, SSA advised Cooper that he

could (1) ask SSA to hold back less than his full monthly

benefit; (2) appeal SSA’s decision regarding the

overpayment; or (3) request a waiver of recovery. Cooper

did not request any form of relief from SSA. 7

6

The letter also explained that SSA would continue to deduct monthly

Medicare premiums from his monthly checks.

7

After the filing of the briefs in Cooper’s appeal before us, Cooper

administratively appealed SSA’s decision regarding the overpayment.

At oral argument, counsel for both parties agreed that SSA had denied

Cooper’s initial appeal, but his case remained pending further

administrative review.

COOPER V. SSA 15

In December 2022, SSA adjusted Cooper’s monthly

payment by $2,498.90, which reduced his overpayment

balance to $70,641.00. In January 2023, SSA began to hold

back Cooper’s monthly payments, and Cooper did not

receive SSDI benefits that month. In response, on January

25, 2023, Cooper’s bankruptcy attorney faxed and mailed to

SSA a copy of Cooper’s discharge order and a letter

explaining that his debt to SSA had been discharged. On

January 31, 2023, SSA informed Cooper’s bankruptcy

attorney that it would not honor the discharge because it had

not received timely notice of the bankruptcy and the

overpayment was not listed in the bankruptcy filing. On

February 14, 2023, SSA notified Cooper that it would

withhold $1,893.00 from his monthly benefits going

forward.

In February 2023, Cooper reopened his bankruptcy and

moved for the bankruptcy court to hold SSA in contempt for

adjusting his monthly benefits in violation of the discharge

injunction. 8 SSA suspended further adjustment of Cooper’s

monthly benefits pending resolution of litigation, and the

bankruptcy court received briefing and heard oral argument

on Cooper’s motion. Cooper contended that any debt to SSA

was discharged regardless of SSA’s notice because debts

owed to creditors in a no-asset bankruptcy are discharged

even when they are not listed in a debtor’s schedules. SSA

argued that it was statutorily required to recover the

overpayment, and offset was proper under the doctrine of

equitable recoupment, which provides an exception to the

discharge injunction.

8

Cooper filed a Motion to Show Cause, which the bankruptcy court

construed as a motion to hold SSA in contempt.

16 COOPER V. SSA

On May 10, 2023, after an initial hearing and

supplemental briefing, the bankruptcy court issued an oral

decision in favor of SSA. The bankruptcy court determined

that equitable recoupment allowed SSA to recover the

discharged SSDI overpayment without violating the

discharge injunction in Cooper’s case. The bankruptcy court

explained that, in the Ninth Circuit, recoupment may apply

to non-contractual entitlements subject to the logical

relationship test. Applying that test, the bankruptcy court

concluded that the statutory scheme supporting Social

Security benefits envisions pre-petition overpayments

logically linked to post-petition entitlements because it

requires SSA to consider an individual’s entire work history,

including pre-petition benefits payments, when determining

SSDI entitlements. The bankruptcy court reasoned that a

“very strong logical relationship” existed because the

countervailing obligations arose from the same entitlement

program and basis for entitlement. The bankruptcy court

suggested, however, that it would be “fair” for the

Government to consider Cooper’s position when addressing

the timing and amount of recoupment.

Cooper timely appealed to the BAP, which affirmed the

bankruptcy court. The BAP explained that the bankruptcy

court had not abused its discretion because the overpayment

and adjustment satisfied the logical relationship test.

Specifically, the BAP determined that the pre-filing

overpayment and post-filing adjustment arose from the same

disability, disability period, statutory scheme, and common

fund. Although the BAP acknowledged Cooper’s argument

that his retention of the overpayment would not offend

equity, it determined that contrary Ninth Circuit law and

Cooper’s failure to utilize remedies within the Social

Security Act precluded ruling in his favor. Finally, the BAP

COOPER V. SSA 17

concluded that the bankruptcy court had properly considered

the equities because it held an evidentiary hearing and

allowed supplemental briefing.

This appeal followed. 9

STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review the BAP’s decision de novo, applying “the

same standard of review that the BAP applied to the

bankruptcy court’s ruling.” Boyajian v. New Falls Corp. (In

re Boyajian), 564 F.3d 1088, 1090 (9th Cir. 2009). The BAP

in this case reviewed the bankruptcy court’s decision for

abuse of discretion. A bankruptcy court abuses its discretion

when it applies the incorrect legal rule or when “its

application of the correct legal standard to the facts was

illogical, implausible, or without support in inferences that

may be drawn from the facts in the record.” USAA Fed. Sav.

Bank v. Thacker (In re Taylor), 599 F.3d 880, 888 (9th Cir.

2010). The scope of the bankruptcy discharge injunction is

a legal issue reviewed de novo. See Palmdale Hills Prop.,

LLC v. Lehman Com. Paper, Inc. (In re Palmdale Hills

Prop.), 654 F.3d 868, 875 (9th Cir. 2011).

DISCUSSION

In this appeal, we consider whether SSA may recoup

overpaid SSDI benefits from a beneficiary who has already

received a discharge in bankruptcy. The equitable doctrine

of recoupment is governed by the logical relationship test,

which asks whether the countervailing obligations at issue

arose from the same transaction or occurrence such that

9

Amici curiae National Consumer Bankruptcy Rights Center and

National Association of Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys filed an

amicus brief in support of Cooper’s position and participated in

argument virtually.

18 COOPER V. SSA

recoupment is equitable. See Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med.

Ctr. Liquidating Tr. v. California (In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp.

& Med. Ctr., Inc.), 975 F.3d 926, 934 (9th Cir. 2020). In the

proceedings below, SSA argued that the logical relationship

test permits consideration of only the factual and legal

connections between the countervailing obligations. The

bankruptcy court did not address other equities in its opinion,

and the BAP determined that our precedent precluded

consideration of equitability. On appeal, SSA also argues

that the Social Security Act and Bankruptcy Code can be

harmonized to permit recoupment of overpaid benefits in all

cases. We clarify that the logical relationship test demands

consideration of equitability, including the purpose of the

Bankruptcy Code, in each individual case. We conclude that

recoupment is not permissible where, as here, SSA seeks to

recoup overpayments it made absent any fault by a no-asset

bankrupt beneficiary.

***

As “the ancestor of the compulsory counterclaim,”

recoupment is an equitable doctrine preserved through

judicial decisions. In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr.,

Inc., 975 F.3d at 934 (quoting Coplay Cement Co. v. Willis

& Paul Grp., 983 F.2d 1435, 1440 (7th Cir. 1993)). We have

defined recoupment as “the setting up of a demand arising

from the same transaction as the plaintiff’s claim or cause of

action, strictly for the purpose of abatement or reduction of

such claim.” Newbery Corp. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., 95

F.3d 1392, 1399 (9th Cir. 1996) (quoting 4 Collier on

Bankruptcy ¶ 553.03, at 553–15 (15th ed. 1995) (emphasis

in original)). Recoupment is distinct from setoff, which is

preserved in the Bankruptcy Code and “allows entities that

owe each other money to apply their mutual debts against

each other, thereby avoiding ‘the absurdity of making A pay

COOPER V. SSA 19

B when B owes A.’” Citizens Bank v. Strumpf, 516 U.S. 16,

18 (1995) (quoting Studley v. Boylston Nat’l Bank, 229 U.S.

523, 528 (1913)); see also 11 U.S.C. § 553(a) (“[T]his title

does not affect any right of a creditor to offset a mutual debt

owing by such creditor to the debtor that arose before the

commencement of the case under this title against a claim of

such creditor against the debtor that arose before the

commencement of the case.”). Unlike recoupment, “[t]he

defining characteristic of setoff is that ‘the mutual debt and

claim . . . are generally those arising from different

transactions’” that occurred before the bankruptcy.

Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1398 (alteration and emphasis in

original) (quoting 4 Collier on Bankruptcy, supra ¶ 553.03,

at 553–14).

Although it is never referenced in the Bankruptcy Code,

recoupment “exempts a debt from the automatic stay [or

discharge] when the debt is inextricably tied up in the post-

petition claim.” In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1011

(quoting United States v. Consumer Health Servs. of Am.,

Inc., 108 F.3d 390, 395 (D.C. Cir. 1997)); see Aetna U.S.

Healthcare, Inc. v. Madigan (In re Madigan), 270 B.R. 749,

754 (BAP 2001) (“Since recoupment is neither a claim nor a

debt, it is unaffected by either the automatic stay or the

debtor’s discharge.”). That is, by seeking only to “defin[e]

the amount owed under a single claim” without raising an

independent claim or debt against the debtor, recoupment

enables a creditor to recover discharged debt that would

otherwise be inaccessible. In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. &

Med. Ctr., Inc., 975 F.3d at 933 (citing Reiter v. Cooper, 507

U.S. 258, 265 n.2 (1993)); see also In re TLC Hosps., Inc.,

224 F.3d at 1011 (citing 5 Collier on Bankruptcy ¶ 553.10,

at 553–104 (15th ed. rev. 1996)). Recoupment thus carries

extraordinary power to undermine the fundamental purpose

20 COOPER V. SSA

of the Bankruptcy Code by enabling creditors to evade the

discharge injunction and collect discharged debts.

“The limitation of recoupment that balances this

advantage is that the claims or rights giving rise to

recoupment must arise from the same transaction or

occurrence that gave rise to the liability sought to be

enforced by the bankruptcy estate.” In re TLC Hosps., Inc.,

224 F.3d at 1011 (emphasis in original). To determine

whether claims arise from the same transaction or

occurrence, we apply a logical relationship test derived from

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 13(a). In re Gardens Reg’l

Hosp. & Med. Ctr., Inc., 975 F.3d at 934; see also FED. R.

CIV. P. 13(a)(1)(A). Under that test, we ask “whether the

relevant rights being asserted against the debtor are

sufficiently logically connected to the debtor’s

countervailing obligations such that they may be fairly said

to constitute part of the same transaction.” In re Gardens

Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., Inc., 975 F.3d at 934 (citing In re

TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1012; Newbery, 95 F.3d at

1401–02). In bankruptcy, we give “transaction” a broad

construction that may include multiple logically related

occurrences. See Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1403.

We have applied this test by evaluating the “legal and

factual connections between the two countervailing

obligations.” In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., Inc.,

975 F.3d at 936. We have recognized legal relationships

where claims arose from a common statutory framework or

common fund. See id. at 938 (determining countervailing

obligations’ roots in common fund supported finding logical

relationship); In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1013

(determining countervailing obligations’ roots in statutory

scheme supported finding logical relationship). We have

similarly recognized factual relationships where claims

COOPER V. SSA 21

arose from a contract between the creditor and debtor. See

Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1402–03.

“We have long held that ‘whatever equitable powers

remain in the bankruptcy courts must and can only be

exercised within the confines of’ the Bankruptcy Code.”

Law v. Siegel, 571 U.S. 415, 421 (2014) (quoting Norwest

Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197, 206 (1988)). In

recognition of recoupment’s power to encroach on the fresh

start policy underpinning the Bankruptcy Code, we have

repeatedly cautioned that “courts should apply the

recoupment doctrine in bankruptcy cases only when ‘it

would . . . be inequitable for the debtor to enjoy the benefits

of that transaction without meeting its obligations.’”

Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1403 (quoting Univ. Med. Ctr. v.

Sullivan (In re Univ. Med. Ctr.), 973 F.2d 1065, 1081 (3d

Cir. 1992)); In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., Inc.,

975 F.3d at 934 (quoting Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1403); In re

TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1013, 1014 (quoting Newbery,

95 F.3d at 1403; In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at 1081).

This appeal identifies a potential tension between the logical

relationship test and our precedent that equitable recoupment

should apply only where it prevents a debtor from

inequitably benefitting from a transaction. Before reaching

the facts of Cooper’s case, therefore, we clarify that the

logical relationship test demands consideration of the

fundamental purpose of the bankruptcy code and of the

equities in each case.

I. Logical Relationship Test

Our prior decisions make clear that our logical

relationship test demands consideration of both equitability

and the purpose of the Bankruptcy Code. In Newbery Corp.

v. Fireman’s Fund Insurance Co., 95 F.3d 1392 (9th Cir.

22 COOPER V. SSA

1996), we applied equitable recoupment to a payment

dispute between Chapter 11 debtor Newbery Corporation

and creditor Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company. Id. at

1400. We explicitly provided that “we agree with the Third

Circuit’s observation that courts should apply the

recoupment doctrine in bankruptcy cases only when ‘it

would . . . be inequitable for the debtor to enjoy the benefits

of that transaction without meeting its obligations.’” Id. at

1403 (quoting In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at 1081). We

then applied recoupment because the parties’ claims arose

from the same contract such that the logical relationship test,

including the equitability standard, was satisfied. Id. at

1402–03. In so holding, we made clear that the logical

relationship test evaluates the legal and factual connections

between the obligations at issue to determine if those

connections are sufficient to make recoupment equitable.

That is, the factual and legal relationships between

countervailing obligations alone cannot justify recoupment

unless they establish that recoupment is equitable on the

facts of the case.

In In re TLC Hospitals, Inc., 224 F.3d 1008 (9th Cir.

2000), we applied the logical relationship test before

separately evaluating the equitable considerations that

supported recoupment. Chapter 7 debtor TLC Hospitals

(“TLC”), which operated hospitals that received Medicare

funding from the United States Department of Health and

Human Services (“HHS”), received overpayments of

$112,061 in HHS Medicare funding in 1993 but was

underpaid by $68,871.71 for Medicare services in 1994. Id.

at 1010. After TLC filed for bankruptcy, HHS sought to

recoup its overpayment by deducting the 1993 overpayments

from the amount it owed TLC for the 1994 underpayments.

Id. According to the statutory scheme governing Medicare,

COOPER V. SSA 23

42 U.S.C. §§ 1395c–1395i-5, TLC received regular

payments reimbursing it for the estimated cost of care to

Medicare patients but agreed to audits to retroactively

account for any under- or overpayment contained in the

estimated reimbursements. Id. at 1011–12 (citing 42 C.F.R.

§ 413.64(f)). We concluded that this statutory framework

established that “Congress rather clearly indicated that it

wanted a provider’s stream of services to be considered one

transaction” such that the countervailing obligations were

logically related. Id. at 1013 (quoting Consumer Health

Servs. of Am., Inc., 108 F.3d at 395). We then separately

concluded that the equities favored recoupment because the

circular system of over- and underpayments was inherent in

the statutory scheme and providers could avoid the

reimbursement scheme by voluntarily ceasing their

provision of Medicare services. Id. at 1014. Our analysis of

the circular statutory payment system as both a legal

connection and an equitable consideration emphasized that

the legal and factual underpinnings that support a logical

relationship must also make recoupment equitable on the

facts of the particular case. See id.

We explicitly acknowledged the role of the equities

when we refused to apply equitable recoupment in a dispute

between an individual creditor and a commercial debtor in

Aalfs v. Wirum (In re Straightline Investments, Inc.), 525

F.3d 870 (9th Cir. 2008). In that case, we declined to reach

the logical relationship test because we determined that the

creditor had continued to lend money to the debtor in

violation of the bankruptcy court’s order. Id. at 876. We

concluded that equitable recoupment could not apply

“because it is an equitable remedy and equitable remedies

may not be invoked to compensate someone who has

engaged in inequitable conduct.” Id. at 882.

24 COOPER V. SSA

More recently, in In re Gardens Regional Hospital and

Medical Center, Inc., 975 F.3d 926 (9th Cir. 2020), we

permitted recoupment of some California Medicaid (“Medi-

Cal”) payments from a hospital in Chapter 11 bankruptcy.

Id. at 929, 931. Gardens Regional Hospital and Medical

Center (“Gardens Regional”) had entered a provider

agreement with Medi-Cal such that it paid Hospital Quality

Assurance Fee (“HQAF”) and fee-for-service payments in

return for Medi-Cal payments for care to Medicaid patients.

Id. at 930–31. HQAF funds were deposited into a High

Quality Assurance Revenue Fund (“HQAR Fund”), and

some HQAR Fund proceeds became supplemental Medi-Cal

payments to hospitals. Id. at 937. Gardens Regional owed

nearly $700,000 in HQAF payments, and California sought

to recoup these funds by withholding more than $4 million

in Medi-Cal payments. Id. at 931. We deemed the logical

relationship test satisfied only as to the Medi-Cal funds

related to HQAF payments, which arose under California’s

circular payment scheme by which hospitals paid into the

same fund from which they received Medi-Cal payments.

Id. at 937. We held that the funds related to unpaid fee-for-

service payments failed the logical relationship test because

no statutory policy linked those payments to the withheld

funds and no direct factual links existed between the

payments and the withheld funds. Id. at 939.

Before reaching the recoupment issue, however, we

cautioned that courts must scrutinize the effect of

recoupment in each case because of its potential to

“undermine the fundamental purpose of” the Bankruptcy

Code. Id. at 934–35 (quoting 5 Collier on Bankruptcy, ¶

553.10[3] (Richard Levin & Henry J. Sommer eds., 16th ed.

2019)). For this reason, we rejected California’s assertion

that there was a sweeping right to setoff in the statute and

COOPER V. SSA 25

regulations governing HQAF payments established a logical

relationship sufficient to permit recoupment. Id. at 939.

Such a broad interpretation of the logical relationship test

would destroy any distinction between setoff and

recoupment and frustrate the fundamental purpose of

bankruptcy proceedings. Id.

We have never held that the logical relationship test

precludes consideration of the equities. Our sister circuits

have addressed the role of equity under the logical

relationship test. The First and Eighth Circuits have

concluded that a distinct balancing-of-the-equities test is

inappropriate because “[t]he ‘same transaction’ analysis

itself inherently embodies competing issues of equity, for the

simple reason that ‘it would be inequitable for [a debtor] to

enjoy the benefits of the same transaction without also

meeting its obligations.’” Terry v. Standard Ins. Co. (In re

Terry), 687 F.3d 961, 964 (8th Cir. 2012) (quoting Slater

Health Ctr., Inc. v. United States (In re Slater Health Ctr.,

Inc.), 398 F.3d 98, 104 (1st Cir. 2005)). The Third Circuit,

however, has rejected a logical relationship test that

collapses equitability into the logical relationship between

the countervailing obligations, explaining “[f]or the

purposes of recoupment, a mere logical relationship is not

enough.” In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at 1081. The

Second Circuit has favorably cited the Third Circuit’s

holding. See Malinowski v. N.Y. State Dep’t of Labor (In re

Malinowski), 156 F.3d 131, 133 (2d Cir. 1998) (“The Third

Circuit has held that ‘a mere logical relationship is not

enough’ to warrant recoupment in the bankruptcy context.”

(quoting In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at 1081)). As

detailed above, our prior cases have reiterated the Third

Circuit’s holding regarding the role of equitability in the

logical relationship test and emphasized that recoupment is

26 COOPER V. SSA

appropriate only where it is equitable. See Newbery Corp.,

95 F.3d at 1403 (citing In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at

1081); In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1014 (citing

Newbery Corp., 95 F.3d at 1403; In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973

F.2d at 1081).

Our logical relationship test demands consideration of

the equities, including the fundamental purpose of the

Bankruptcy Code. The factual and legal connections that

undergird any logical relationship must be such that

recoupment is equitable on the facts of the specific case and

thus will not improperly encroach on the Bankruptcy Code’s

policy of limiting setoff. See, e.g., In re TLC Hosps., Inc.,

224 F.3d at 1014 (“Sound equitable considerations support

HHS’s right to recoup . . . If a provider in bankruptcy does

not wish to be subject to Medicare’s system of adjustments,

it can cease providing Medicare services.”); In re Gardens

Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., Inc., 975 F.3d at 938 (“And for the

same reasons, allowing recoupment in the unique context

presented here would not encroach upon, or undermine, the

policy judgments reflected in the Bankruptcy Code’s

limitations on setoffs.”).

We have cautioned that an overly broad interpretation of

the logical relationship test would frustrate the fundamental

purpose of bankruptcy proceedings. In re Gardens Reg’l

Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 934–35; see also In re TLC

Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1012 (The “‘logical relationship’

concept is not to be applied so loosely that multiple

occurrences in any continuous commercial relationship

would constitute one transaction.”). Accordingly, courts

may only apply equitable recoupment where it is equitable

and consistent with the Bankruptcy Code’s “principal

purpose . . . to grant a ‘fresh start’ to the ‘honest but

unfortunate debtor.’” Marrama, 549 U.S. at 367 (quoting

COOPER V. SSA 27

Grogan, 498 U.S. at 286–87). This equitability component

of our logical relationship test prevents recoupment from

improperly defying the purpose of bankruptcy and ensures

that the equitable remedy of recoupment operates within the

limits of the Bankruptcy Code. See Law, 571 U.S. at 421.

Any application of recoupment in Cooper’s case, therefore,

requires consideration of the equities and the purpose of the

Bankruptcy Code.

II. Recoupment of Overpaid SSDI Benefits

In this case, SSA reduced Cooper’s monthly SSDI

benefits in 2023 to recoup an overpayment debt discharged

in Cooper’s bankruptcy two years prior. The bankruptcy

court and the BAP concluded that this reduction constituted

permissible recoupment based on legal connections where

both claims arose from the same statutory scheme and trust

fund and factual connections where both claims arose under

the same disability and disability period. The parties do not

dispute the underlying facts, and the applicability of

equitable recoupment in this case depends on whether their

countervailing claims “arise from the same transaction or

occurrence that gave rise to” Cooper’s ongoing benefits

entitlement such that recoupment is equitable. See In re

Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 934 (quoting

In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1011). We conclude that,

despite some legal and factual connections between the

overpayment and Cooper’s SSDI entitlement, the

application of recoupment to his case was inequitable and

incongruous with the fundamental purposes of both the

Bankruptcy Code and the Social Security Act.

***

As an initial matter, we address SSA’s contention on

appeal that this case requires no consideration of the logical

28 COOPER V. SSA

relationship test because both the Bankruptcy Code and the

Social Security Act permit recoupment. As explained above,

there is no dispute that the Bankruptcy Code allows

recoupment across the discharge injunction where the

countervailing obligations meet the logical relationship test.

See Reiter, 507 U.S. at 265 n.2; In re Madigan, 270 B.R. at

754. SSA contends that recoupment of SSDI benefits from

a bankrupt beneficiary is always permissible because it is

consistent with the Bankruptcy Code and the Social Security

Act’s provision requiring SSA to calculate benefits in a

manner that accounts for prior overpayments. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 424a. Such a sweeping right to recoupment would defeat

the fundamental purpose of the Bankruptcy Code and create

a circuit split regarding a practice that the Social Security

Act already proscribes.

As our sister courts have held, the Social Security Act

protects SSDI benefits from recovery in bankruptcy and

contains no language that would exempt SSA from this

limitation. See, e.g., Neavear v. Schweiker (Matter of

Neavear), 674 F.2d 1201, 1205 (7th Cir. 1982); Rowan v.

Morgan, 747 F.2d 1052, 1055 (6th Cir. 1984). The plain

language of the Social Security Act curtails creditors’ ability

to access a debtor’s entitlement to ongoing benefits:

The right of any person to any future payment

under this subchapter shall not be

transferable or assignable, at law or in equity,

and none of the moneys paid or payable or

rights existing under this subchapter shall be

subject to execution, levy, attachment,

garnishment, or other legal process, or to the

COOPER V. SSA 29

operation of any bankruptcy or insolvency

law.

42 U.S.C. § 407(a). As we have repeatedly recognized,

“[t]he purpose of the exemption created by Congress in 42

U.S.C. § 407 is to protect social security beneficiaries from

creditors’ claims.” Bilyeu, 683 F.3d at 1093 (quoting

Dionne, 757 F.2d at 1355); see also Lopez v. Wash. Mut.

Bank, FA, 302 F.3d 900, 903 (9th Cir. 2002) (“Section

407(a) was designed ‘to protect social security beneficiaries

and their dependents from the claims of creditors.’” (quoting

Crawford v. Gould, 56 F.3d 1162, 1166 (9th Cir. 1995))).

SSA’s own internal guidance expressly provides that

discharges in bankruptcy are binding on SSA such that it

may only collect debts in a manner consistent with the terms

of the discharge order. U.S. SOC. SEC. ADMIN., GN

02215.230, supra.

Moreover, the Social Security Act and its derivative

regulations caution that SSA should not adjust benefits in a

manner that defeats the purpose of Title II by “depriv[ing] a

person of income required for ordinary and necessary living

expenses.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.508; see also 42 U.S.C. § 407.

Like the Bankruptcy Code’s discharge injunction, these

Social Security provisions protect a beneficiary’s present

benefits from creditors. See In re Blendheim, 803 F.3d at

486. A rule permitting sweeping recoupment of every pre-

filing benefits overpayment would subvert Section 207 of

the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 407, by exposing

bankrupt beneficiaries’ entitlements to SSA as a creditor. In

the context of no-asset debtors like Cooper, a sweeping

recoupment right would defeat the purpose of Title II in

contravention of the Social Security Act. See 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.508; 42 U.S.C. § 407. It would be akin to “ascrib[ing]

30 COOPER V. SSA

to Congress an intent to throw the Social Security claimant

a lifeline that it knew was a foot short.” Sullivan v. Hudson,

490 U.S. 877, 890 (1989).

Finally, as an equitable doctrine not mentioned in the

Bankruptcy Code, “recoupment is not subject to all of the

same strictures in bankruptcy as setoff.” In re Gardens Reg’l

Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 933; see also Newbery, 95

F.3d at 1399 (“[T]he limits placed on setoff under section

553 generally do not apply to recoupment claims.”).

Recoupment is exempt from the automatic stay and the strict

mutuality and pre-filing requirements that govern

obligations subject to setoff. 10 In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. &

Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 933 (citing Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1398–

99); see also 11 U.S.C. § 362(a)(7) (limiting setoff under the

automatic stay in bankruptcy). To prevent recoupment from

undermining the fundamental protections of bankruptcy, we

have carefully tempered its application by considering its

equitability in each case and rejecting the assertion that a

statutory scheme alone may establish a broad right to

recoupment. In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975

F.3d at 938–40. A sweeping right to recoupment of pre-

filing overpayments from present SSDI benefits entitlements

would remove such protection and expand recoupment in

contravention of the “fresh start” purpose of the Bankruptcy

Code. See In re Blendheim, 803 F.3d at 485.

We reject a sweeping right to recoupment of discharged

Social Security overpayments as inconsistent with the

Bankruptcy Code and the Social Security Act. Equitable

recoupment only comports with the Bankruptcy Code if it is

10

SSA does not argue that setoff applies to the overpayment in this case.

Rather, SSA asserts that “only recoupment from benefits payments both

applies to Cooper’s case and is consistent with the discharge injunction.”

COOPER V. SSA 31

equitable under the logical relationship test. In re Gardens

Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 934. Under that test,

SSA’s ability to recoup a pre-filing overpayment of benefits

is a fact-specific inquiry that demands consideration of the

equities in each case.

***

Appropriate consideration of the equities in Cooper’s

case reveals that recoupment was not permissible here.

Although limited legal and factual relationships existed

between the overpayment and Cooper’s present benefits

entitlement, recoupment undermined the fundamental

purpose of the Bankruptcy Code and deprived an innocent

beneficiary of his income in violation of the fundamental

purpose of the Social Security Act. The logical relationship

between the overpayment and subsequent adjustment was

not sufficient to overcome these inequities.

A. Factual & Legal Relationships

As the BAP recognized, some factual relationship exists

between Cooper’s pre-petition overpayment and his post-

petition entitlement because they arose from the same

disabling condition during the same disability period. See In

re Madigan, 270 B.R. at 760–61 (noting factual connection

where countervailing obligations arose from the same

disability claim separated by an intervening bankruptcy

petition). Social Security regulations requiring beneficiaries

to provide periodic updates as to their disabling condition

may weaken the factual connection, see 20 C.F.R.

§ 416.989, but in this case, the record does not indicate

whether Cooper updated SSA regarding a change in his

qualifying disability between 2017 and 2023. Thus, it is not

entirely clear whether Cooper’s present entitlement to

benefits is based on a different version of his disability than

32 COOPER V. SSA

his past entitlement. Similarly, SSA’s payment of monthly

benefits based on the individual’s circumstances at the end

of the previous month does not disrupt the factual connection

in this case because the overpayment and entitlement arose

during the same disability period. See U.S. SOC. SEC.

ADMIN., PUBL’N NO. 05-10029, DISABILITY BENEFITS 9

(2025) (explaining benefits are paid in the month after they

are due). That is, because SSA must consider prior

overpayments in calculating benefits, Cooper’s 2023

monthly benefits calculation would still include the 2019

overpayment under the same disability period. See 42

U.S.C. § 404(a)(1).

Similarly, although the legal relationship between the

pre-petition overpayment and the post-petition entitlement is

somewhat tenuous, the overpayment and present entitlement

arose from the same statutory scheme and the same Trust

Fund. As discussed above, the statutory scheme governing

SSDI benefits requires SSA to consider workers’

compensation payments and prior benefits overpayments to

determine a beneficiary’s correct monthly payment. 42

U.S.C. § 424a(a)(2)(B); 20 C.F.R. § 404.408. As we

explained when applying recoupment in In re TLC Hosps.,

Inc., such a statutory requirement suggests that Congress

intended some connection between prior overpayments and

future benefits entitlements. 224 F.3d at 1013 (quoting

Consumer Health Servs. of Am., Inc., 108 F.3d at 395).

Unlike the Medicare statute at issue in In re TLC

Hospitals, Inc., however, the statutory scheme governing

Social Security benefits does not contemplate a continuous

system of estimated payments and subsequent

reimbursements. Compare 42 U.S.C. § 424a(a) (“If for any

month prior to the month in which an individual attains

retirement age . . . (1) such individual is entitled to benefits

COOPER V. SSA 33

under section 423 of this title, and (2) such individual is

entitled for such month to – (A) periodic [workers’

compensation] benefits . . . (B) . . . the total of his benefits

under section 423 of this title for such month . . . shall be

reduced (but not below zero) by the amount by which . . . .”)

with 42 U.S.C. § 1395g(a) (“The Secretary shall periodically

determine the amount which should be paid under this part

to each provider of services with respect to the services

furnished by it, and the provider of services shall be paid, at

such time or times as the Secretary believes appropriate (but

not less often than monthly) and prior to audit . . . the

amounts so determined, with necessary adjustments on

account of previously made overpayments or

underpayments . . . .”).

Where the Medicare statute contemplated intentional

overpayments by authorizing advanced payments based on

estimated costs that were then adjusted to account for any

prior over- or underpayment, 42 U.S.C. § 1395g(a); 42

C.F.R. § 413.64(f), the Social Security Act requires SSA to

determine the appropriate payment amount before

disbursing funds to beneficiaries. 42 U.S.C. § 424a(a)(5).

This distinction is particularly evident in Cooper’s case, in

which SSA spent months determining the retroactive

benefits owed before disbursing any payment. Accordingly,

while a limited legal relationship exists because the

overpayment and present SSDI entitlement both arose under

the same statutory scheme, the Social Security Act does not

clearly evince Congress’s intent to establish every benefits

entitlement as a single transaction. As we have explained,

claims’ origin in the same statutory scheme is not alone

sufficient to establish a logical relationship, “and acceptance

of such a view would expand the concept of recoupment in

a way that would ‘undermine the fundamental purposes’ of

34 COOPER V. SSA

the Bankruptcy Code’s express limitations on setoffs.” In re

Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 940 (quoting

5 Collier on Bankruptcy ¶ 553.10 (Richard Levin & Henry

J. Sommer eds., 16th ed. 2019)).

Relatedly, a limited legal relationship exists between the

pre-petition overpayment and the ongoing entitlement

because they arose from the same Trust Fund. Mere genesis

in a common fund cannot establish a logical relationship

between countervailing claims. See id. at 938 (applying

recoupment based on common fund and “distinctive”

payment system of continuously hospital payments into

segregated funds and payments to hospitals out of segregated

funds). As we have noted, “the ‘logical relationship’

concept is not to be applied so loosely that multiple

occurrences in any continuous commercial relationship

would constitute one transaction.” In re TLC Hosps., Inc.,

224 F.3d at 1012. Even so, some logical relationship results

where the overpayment and present entitlement stem from

the same Trust Fund. See In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med.

Ctr., 975 F.3d at 937–38 (recognizing legal relationship

between countervailing obligations where both obligations

arose from the same Medi-Cal fund).

In the context of SSDI benefits, however, the common

fund supports only a weak legal relationship because SSDI

beneficiaries do not make ongoing payments into the Trust

Fund from which SSA draws their benefits. First,

beneficiaries necessarily receive benefits based on their prior

accrual of credits because individuals can only earn credits

by working. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.110, 404.130, 404.132;

42 U.S.C. § 415. The SSDI benefits program is premised on

the notion that beneficiaries are unable to work enough to

support themselves financially. See, e.g., 42 U.S.C. § 403(a)

(explaining maximum benefits); see also 20 C.F.R.

COOPER V. SSA 35

§ 404.1594(g) (“If the evidence shows that you are no longer

disabled, we will find that your disability ended in the

earliest of the following months. . . . (3) The month in which

you demonstrated your ability to engage in substantial

gainful activity (following completion of a trial work

period) . . . .”); Mathews, 429 U.S. at 186 n.6 (“Again, the

insurance program, unlike the public assistance provisions,

was not need based, but instead was designed to protect

against the specific economic hardships created by

involuntary, premature retirement.”). By the time a

beneficiary has qualified for SSDI benefits, he has already

accrued the required credits and made the required payments

into the fund. Therefore, the Trust Fund does not involve a

continuous stream of payments between Cooper and SSA.

Cooper’s payments toward the Trust Fund ceased when his

disability rendered him unable to work.

Second, distinct from the hospital and payment scheme

at issue in In re Gardens Regional Hospital and Medical

Center, Inc., workers who earn credits do not make

designated payments into the Trust Fund. See U.S. SOC. SEC.

ADMIN., PUBL’N NO. 05-10072, supra at 1–3; BARRY F.

HUSTON, CONG. RSCH. SERV., supra, at 1. Workers pay

social security taxes, which are invested in United States

government securities and deposited into the General Fund

of the Treasury, making the original tax revenue

“indistinguishable from revenues in the General Fund that

come from other sources.” BARRY F. HUSTON, CONG. RSCH.

SERV., supra, at 1. While Social Security income is

accounted for in trusts divided according to SSDI benefits

and retirement benefits, taxpayers do not allocate their

payments specifically to one trust or another. Id. at 3. Thus,

the overpayment and present entitlement are legally related

because they both arose from the Trust Fund, but no circular

36 COOPER V. SSA

payment scheme bolsters that relationship. This distinction

underscores the inequity of recoupment in Cooper’s case.

B. Consideration of the Equities

The factual and legal connections supporting the logical

relationship between the overpayment and ongoing

entitlement to SSDI benefits do not make recoupment

equitable in this case. Cooper received a discharge of all his

debts in bankruptcy in 2020, nearly two years before he and

SSA learned of the overpayment. 11 This discharge resulted

in the closure of his bankruptcy case and included even the

unlisted overpayment debt because unlisted debts are

discharged in a no-asset Chapter 7 bankruptcy. See In re

Nielsen, 383 F.3d at 926–27. In the context of a disabled

debtor entitled to ongoing SSDI benefits, recoupment

violates our repeated warning that “courts should apply the

recoupment doctrine in bankruptcy cases only when ‘it

would be inequitable for the debtor to enjoy the benefits of

11

Significantly, we have not previously addressed recoupment in the

context of debtors who had already received a discharge and closed their

bankruptcy cases. Our previous recoupment precedents considered the

application of recoupment across the automatic stay that applies during

an open bankruptcy. See, e.g., In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr.,

975 F.3d at 932; In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1014. In that

context, we cautioned that “‘care should be taken’ in applying the

doctrine of recoupment in the bankruptcy context, given that ‘improper

application of the doctrine’” could undercut the Bankruptcy Code. In re

Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975 F.3d at 935 (quoting 5 Collier on

Bankruptcy ¶ 553.10[3] (Richard Levin & Henry J. Sommer eds., 16th

ed. 2019). We also suggested that recoupment is “scrutinized from the

perspective of its effect on the fundamental policies” of bankruptcy. Id.

The distinct timing of recoupment in this case emphasizes its inequity.

Cooper had received a full discharge of his debts, including the

overpayment debt, two years before either party became aware of the

overpayment.

COOPER V. SSA 37

that transaction without meeting its obligations.’” Newbery,

95 F.3d at 1403 (quoting In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at

1081 (cleaned up)); see also In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d

at 1014 (quoting Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1403; In re Univ. Med.

Ctr., 973 F.2d at 1081).

Equitable recoupment in this case deprives Cooper not

only of the fresh start intended by Chapter 7 bankruptcy, but

also of necessary living expenses to which he is indisputably

entitled in contravention of the express purpose of Title II

Social Security benefits. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.508(a)

(“Defeat the purpose of title II, for purposes of this subpart,

means defeat the purpose of benefits under this title, i.e., to

deprive a person of income required for ordinary and

necessary living expenses.”); Sherwood Partners, 394 F.3d

at 1203 (“It is generally agreed that chapter 7 of the

Bankruptcy Code, which governs liquidations, embodies

two ideals: (1) giving the individual debtor a fresh start, by

giving him a discharge of most of his debts; and

(2) equitably distributing a debtor’s assets among competing

creditors.”). Although this appeal presents an issue of first

impression in our Circuit, the Third Circuit held in Lee v.

Schweiker, 739 F.2d 870 (3d Cir. 1984), that recoupment of

old age benefits was impermissible in part because it would

undermine the benefits’ purpose of “provid[ing] income to

qualifying individuals.” 12 Id. at 876. As explained above,

12

The Third Circuit employs a logical relationship test that emphasizes

contractual and temporal relationships, while our logical relationship test

focuses on the factual and legal connections between countervailing

obligations. Thus, the Third Circuit in Lee v. Schweiker concluded that

SSA could not recoup a prior overpayment of social security benefits

because social security beneficiaries are not in a contractual relationship

with SSA and “the primary purpose of these statutes is to provide income

38 COOPER V. SSA

Congress enacted both the old age and SSDI benefits

provisions of the Social Security Act to protect vulnerable

individuals from income insecurity. See Mathews, 429 U.S.

at 185–86. Like the Third Circuit, we conclude that

recoupment of overpaid SSDI benefits from a bankruptcy

beneficiary inequitably contravenes the fundamental

purpose of Title II Social Security benefits.

The statutory schemes undergirding SSDI benefits and

Chapter 7 bankruptcy share an intent to preserve vulnerable

individuals’ income security. 20 C.F.R. § 404.508; see also

42 U.S.C. § 404(b)(1) (recognizing recoupment of SSDI

benefits is inappropriate where beneficiary “is without fault

[and] such adjustment or recovery would defeat the purpose

of this subchapter or would be against equity and good

conscience”); Burkart v. Coleman (In re Tippett), 542 F.3d

684, 689 (9th Cir. 2008) (discussing “fresh start” purpose of

Chapter 7 bankruptcy). Cooper filed for no-asset

bankruptcy, meaning that the second fundamental purpose

of Chapter 7—the equitable division of assets—had limited

application and his debts were quickly discharged. Chapter

7’s first fundamental purpose of providing a fresh start to

honest debtors, however, remained applicable to Cooper’s

case. So too did the Social Security Act’s foundational

purpose of providing income security to vulnerable

individuals, especially disabled individuals. See 20 C.F.R.

security to the recipients.” 739 F.2d at 876. Notwithstanding the Third

Circuit’s emphasis on contractual relationships under its logical

relationship test, we have stated our express agreement with the Third

Circuit’s “observation that courts should apply the recoupment doctrine

in bankruptcy cases only when ‘it would . . . be inequitable for the debtor

to enjoy the benefits of that transaction without meeting its obligations.’”

Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1403 (quoting In re Univ. Med. Ctr., 973 F.2d at

1081).

COOPER V. SSA 39

§ 404.508(a). Recoupment two years after Cooper’s

discharge and four years after the overpayment that gave rise

to his debt to SSA deprived Cooper of a fresh start and

denied him financially necessary SSDI benefits.

Additional equitable considerations further disfavor

recoupment. There is no evidence that Cooper engaged in

conduct that would make it inequitable for him to retain the

benefit of the overpayment. Both parties agree that the

overpayment occurred at least in part due to SSA’s own

processing error. Cooper’s attorney submitted his workers’

compensation information to SSA in 2019 during his appeal

of SSA’s denial of his 2017 application, and Cooper had no

reason to believe SSA was unaware of his workers’

compensation benefits until he received the notice from it in

2022, after the debt had been discharged. Thus, Cooper did

not deliberately mislead SSA regarding his workers’

compensation benefits, and SSA had the correct information

at the time that it improperly calculated Cooper’s retroactive

benefits award. Cooper’s failure to utilize the appeal

remedies contained in the Social Security Act also does not

constitute inequitable behavior. There is no requirement that

a debtor utilize administrative remedies before reopening a

bankruptcy proceeding based on a creditor’s alleged

violation of the discharge injunction. See 11 U.S.C.

§ 524(a)(2). Relatedly, SSA’s own POMS guidance

instructs that even absent notice in a no-asset bankruptcy,

“the bankruptcy judgment will be binding on SSA.” U.S.

SOC. SEC. ADMIN., GN 02215.230, supra. As the Second

Circuit held in a similar case, we decline the invitation “to

take away the unemployment insurance safety net from a

debtor in bankruptcy, who has not been accused of willful

wrongdoing in connection with the overpayment.” See In re

40 COOPER V. SSA

Malinowski, 156 F.3d at 135; see also Rowan, 747 F.2d at

1056 (emphasizing absence of fraud).

Recoupment was improper in this case because it was not

“inequitable for the debtor to enjoy the benefits of that

transaction without meeting [his] obligations.” See

Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1403 (quoting In re Univ. Med. Ctr.,

973 F.2d at 1081). Although taxpayers fund SSDI benefits

such that any overpayment becomes a public burden,

$73,112.90 is relatively insignificant to SSA given Cooper’s

individual circumstances. Unlike the commercial entities to

which we have previously applied recoupment, Cooper did

not earn the right to SSDI benefits by voluntarily entering a

contract to assume mutual payment obligations or providing

services as part of a business arrangement: he qualified and

is entitled to government aid because he earned enough

credits before suffering a disability that renders him unable

to work. See In re Gardens Reg’l Hosp. & Med. Ctr., 975

F.3d at 939; Newbery, 95 F.3d at 1402–03; see also Spraic

v. U.S. R.R. Ret. Bd., 735 F.2d 1208, 1212 (9th Cir. 1984)

(“[S]ocial security benefits ‘are not contractual . . . .’”

(quoting U.S. R.R. Ret. Bd. v. Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 174

(1980))). In accordance with the statutory structure of SSDI

benefits, Cooper accrued his entitlement to ongoing benefits

before the events of this case transpired. Moreover, as

SSA’s own definition of disability acknowledges, Cooper

cannot voluntarily cease his reliance on SSDI benefits. See

In re TLC Hosps., Inc., 224 F.3d at 1014 (“It is fair for HHS

to adjust for such overpayments . . . If a provider in

bankruptcy does not wish to be subject to Medicare’s system

of adjustments, it can cease providing Medicare services.”);

42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A) (defining disability in part as

“physical or mental impairment which can be expected to

result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last

COOPER V. SSA 41

for a continuous period of not less than 12 months”). The

limited factual and legal connections between the debt and

Cooper’s ongoing entitlement to SSDI benefits do not make

it equitable for SSA to defy the financial protection purposes

of Chapter 7 bankruptcy and SSDI benefits to recover an

overpayment that occurred in no small part because of SSA’s

own error.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE the decision

of the BAP and REMAND to the BAP with instructions to

remand to the bankruptcy court for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.