Opinion

State ex rel. Lewis v. Ohio Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys.

  • 2025 Ohio 525
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Feb 18, 2025
Status
Published
On the bench
Boggs
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 34.0%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Lewis v. Ohio Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys., 2025-Ohio-525.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Bret E. Lewis, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 23AP-80

The Ohio Public Employees : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Retirement System,

:

Respondent.

:

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on February 18, 2025

On brief: Hanna Rasnick Evanchan Palmisano Hobson &

Fox, LLC, and Scott M. Kolligian, for relator.

On brief: Dave Yost, Attorney General, Samuel A.

Peppers, III, and Lisa A. Reid, for respondent.

IN MANDAMUS

BOGGS, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, Bret E. Lewis, seeks a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, the

Ohio Public Employees Retirement System (“OPERS”), to vacate its order that denied his

request for disability benefits and to enter an order granting said benefits. For the following

reasons, we deny his request for a writ of mandamus.

{¶ 2} Pursuant to Civ.R. 53 and Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of Appeals,

this matter was referred to a magistrate. The magistrate considered the action on its merits

and issued a decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, which is appended

hereto. The magistrate concluded that Lewis did not establish that he was entitled to a writ

of mandamus through clear and convincing evidence that he had a clear legal right to the

No. 23AP-80 2

requested relief, that there was a clear legal duty for OPERS to provide that relief, and that

there was a lack of an adequate remedy in the ordinary course of the law.

{¶ 3} No objections have been filed to the magistrate’s decision. “If no timely

objections are filed, the court may adopt a magistrate’s decision unless the court determines

that there is an error of law or other defect evident on the face of the decision.” Civ.R.

53(D)(4)(c).

{¶ 4} Upon review, we find no error in the magistrate’s findings of fact or

conclusions of law. Therefore, we adopt the magistrate’s decision, including the findings of

fact and the conclusions of law therein, as our own and conclude that Lewis has failed to

establish a right to a writ of mandamus.

Petition for writ of mandamus denied.

BEATTY BLUNT and MENTEL, JJ., concur.

No. 23AP-80 3

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

State ex rel. Bret E. Lewis, :

Relator, :

v. : No. 23AP-80

The Ohio Public Employees : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

Retirement System,

:

Respondent.

:

M A G I S T R A T E’ S D E C I S I O N

Rendered on October 21, 2024

Hanna Rasnick Evanchan Palmisano Hobson & Fox, LLC,

Scott M. Kolligian, for relator.

Dave Yost, Attorney General, Samuel A. Peppers, III, and

Lisa A. Reid, for respondent.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 5} Relator, Bret E. Lewis, has filed this original action requesting that this court

issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, The Ohio Public Employees Retirement

System (“OPERS”), to vacate its order that denied his request for disability benefits, and to

enter an order granting said benefits.

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 6} 1. In August 2020, relator contracted COVID-19, while employed by his

employer, Central Ohio Transit Authority (“COTA”), as a bus operator.

No. 23AP-80 4

{¶ 7} 2. COTA participates in the OPERS retirement system.

{¶ 8} 3. In a February 24, 2021, report, Shengyi Mao, M.D., reported the following

with regard to relator: has not worked since September 9, 2020; fatigue; brain fog; backed

out of his driveway and hit a fence in December, which he has never done before; work has

not allowed adjustments to his schedule and duties; constantly tired; forgets things;

occasional joint pain; tightness in the chest; gets tired easily; gets tired vacuuming; walks

about 2 miles per day but used to do 5 to 10 miles; more anger; loss of appetite; and trouble

sleeping.

{¶ 9} 4. In an April 6, 2021, progress note, Dr. Mao reported the following with

regard to relator: fatigue; brain fog; long-haul COVID symptoms; lack of focus; eating

better; and going to park daily.

{¶ 10} 5. In a June 18, 2021, report, Dr. Mao reported the following with regard to

relator: mood changes; some walking for exercise; fatigue; brain fog; long-haul COVID

symptoms; lack of focus; stiffness; walks everyday but feels exhausted; grocery shopping

completely wears him out; and hypertension is worse in mornings.

{¶ 11} 6. Relator attempted to return to work in August 2021.

{¶ 12} 7. In an August 23, 2021, progress note, Dr. Mao indicated the following with

regard to relator: hypertension and blood pressure has been great; started back at work at

the beginning of August and has been working eight- to nine-hour shifts five days per week,

which he gets through okay but feels pretty exhausted at the end of the day; first day back

at job, he missed a passenger; not sure if he has improvement in fatigue/brain fog; work is

going okay; mood is better; sleep is poor; walking 11,000-15,000 steps per day; and some

pushups/weights daily.

{¶ 13} 8. In a September 27, 2021, progress note, Dr. Mao indicated the following

with regard to relator: his tests indicated anxiety/depression; he was threatened by

coworkers; he did not feel safe at work; gets exhausted easily; and working eight-hour days

was difficult.

{¶ 14} 9. In a November 29, 2021, progress note, Dr. Mao indicated the following

with regard to relator: still struggling with fatigue; got tired after five hours of work; wants

to be seen at the long-haul COVID clinic; and is working eight to nine hours per day.

No. 23AP-80 5

{¶ 15} 10. A December 13, 2021, a physical-therapy evaluation indicated the

following with regard to relator: extreme fatigue and brain fog; heart racing/pounding,

which is getting better; tried returning to work for 8-hour days for 1-1/2 months, but then

had to sleep for 14 hours when he returned from work; and he feels like he has about 2-4

hours per day to get everyday activities accomplished but then needs a 3-6-hour nap.

{¶ 16} 11. Relator initially saw Harrison L. Jackson, M.D., at the Ohio State

University (“OSU”) Post-COVID Recovery Clinic, beginning in December 2021. These

records indicated the following with regard to relator: meets criteria for post-acute COVID-

19 syndrome; fatigue, difficulty concentrating, myalgias, hypertension, and joint pain; post-

acute COVID syndrome can cause chronic fatigue, but there can be comorbid conditions

that coronavirus has made worse or triggered; and most suspicious about relator’s

untreated depression and obstructive sleep apnea.

{¶ 17} 12. Dr. Mao’s January 3, 2022, progress note indicates the following with

regard to relator: no change in level of fatigue; has a four-hour window in which he can do

things; does 10 pushups per day and has started home physical therapy; averages 1,700

steps per day; relator thought 10,000-15,000 steps per day that he took when he returned

to work were too many; sleeping better; mood is the same; and very agitated about work.

{¶ 18} 13. On February 2, 2022, relator filed a disability benefit application with

OPERS.

{¶ 19} 14. On February 16, 2022, Dr. Mao completed a report of physician form, in

which he indicated that relator was incapable of performing his job as a COTA bus operator

due to COVID long-haul, and he became permanently disabled on December 28, 2021. He

also listed other conditions as hypertension, GERD, depression, and PTSD. Dr. Mao stated

relator’s symptoms include fatigue, brain fog, and shortness of breath. His residual

symptoms may be permanent.

{¶ 20} 15. On May 26, 2022, Robert Ferguson, M.D., from Commonwealth

Medicine, issued a report, in which he found the following: (1) relator has significant

depression and obstructive sleep apnea, which are both commonly associated with

subjective complaints of fatigue and cognitive difficulties; (2) relator demonstrated normal

exercise capacity for his age; (3) Dr. Jackson’s December 2021 evaluation in the OSU Post-

COVID Recovery Clinic concluded that although his symptoms could be due to long-haul

No. 23AP-80 6

COVID, he was concerned about untreated depression and obstructive sleep apnea as the

cause; (4) COVID-19 infection is not the primary cause of relator’s current complaints of

shortness of breath, fatigue, or cognitive difficulties, and, therefore, he is not disabled on

the basis of long COVID syndrome; and (5) it is not likely that any of his symptoms that are

due to his prior COVID infection will significantly improve at this point.

{¶ 21} 16. On June 13, 2022, OPERS issued a letter denying relator’s application.

Relator appealed.

{¶ 22} 17. On June 24, 2022, relator requested that a copy of his claim file be sent to

his physician and attorney. On July 12, 2022, OPERS mailed the claim file to his attorney;

however, only the first 24 pages were full-page copies, while the remaining 232 pages were

magnified images of the top-left quadrant of the copied pages.

{¶ 23} 18. Relator requested another copy of his claim file, and OPERS mailed a

second copy, dated July 19, 2022. This version contained 144 pages, containing duplicate

records and missing several treatment notes that were relied upon by Dr. Ferguson.

{¶ 24} 19. Relator notified OPERS of the above issues with the claim file and

requested an extension of time. OPERS mailed a third copy of the claim file to relator’s

attorney, which was received by relator’s attorney on August 17, 2022. This third copy

suffered from the same defects as the second copy.

{¶ 25} 20. OPERS denied relator’s requests for extension of time so that it could

obtain an accurate copy of the claim file. On September 14, 2022, relator requested a fourth

copy of the claim file and an extension of time to submit arguments in support of his

disability application. OPERS denied the extension and sent a cover letter to relator

indicating a copy of the claim file was enclosed with it, but the file was not enclosed.

{¶ 26} 21. After OPERS filed its evidentiary record in the present mandamus action,

relator identified, in his April 21, 2023, motion to strike, the following pertinent records

that were not included in OPERS’s copies sent to him: (1) a February 21, 2022, letter from

OSUP General IM Peds Grandview to OPERS informing OPERS that it was unable to

comply with a request due to missing information in an authorization; (2) a blank OSU

Physicians, Inc., authorization to release medical information form; (3) A CIOX Health

cover letter to OPERS regarding confidential information; (4) a February 21, 2022, CIOX

Health document showing records from OSUP General IM Peds Grandview were shipped

No. 23AP-80 7

to OPERS; (5) a CIOX Health invoice for records from OSUP General IM Peds Grandview

to UMass Disability Community; (6) 129 pages of medical records from OSU Wexner

Medical Center; (7) a June 9, 2022, OPERS board recommendation by Commonwealth

Medicine that relator’s application be disapproved; (8) a June 12, 2022, OPERS board

recommendation by Maurice Mast, M.D., OPERS’s medical consultant, that relator’s

application be disapproved; (9) a June 13, 2022, denial letter from OPERS to COTA ; (10)

a June 17, 2022, letter to relator informing him that his disability benefits appeal request

form was not properly completed; (11) a four-page OPERS release of account information

authorization form; and (12) two cover letters to Dr. Shengyi and two cover letters to

relator’s attorney relating to requested information enclosures.

{¶ 27} 22. In support of his appeal, on September 19, 2022, relator submitted a

September 19, 2022, report of physician, including progress notes up to August 23, 2022,

completed by Dr. Mao; pulmonary rehabilitation progress notes dated April 14 through

August 25, 2022; and the mental health records from Mark A. Fletcher, M.D., Ph.D., dated

May 10 through August 18, 2022.

{¶ 28} 23. Dr. Ferguson recommended in an October 3, 2022, medical disability

recommendation that OPERS deny disability, finding the following with regard to relator:

(1) although relator complains of brain fog, the record does not suggest relator had any

difficulties with the cognitive parts of his job when he returned to work in August 2021; (2)

although relator complains of shortness breath, he was walking up to 15,000 steps per day

according to Dr. Mao’s August 23, 2021, note; (3) fatigue remains a major complaint; (4)

relator completed pulmonary rehabilitation and achieved 75 percent of his stated goals; (5)

relator’s oxygen saturation and good performance on his 6-minute walk test suggests his

exercise capacity is sufficient to perform the essential duties of his job as a bus operator; (6)

he has obstructive sleep apnea, depression, and PTSD as significant contributing causes for

his ongoing fatigue; (7) relator’s prior COVID infection is not the primary cause of his

ongoing symptoms; (8) he is not disabled on the basis of long-haul COVID syndrome; and

(9) the additional medical record information was reviewed and did not cause any change

of opinion.

{¶ 29} 24. On October 11, 2022, OPERS issued a letter denying relator’s appeal and

denying his request for disability benefits.

No. 23AP-80 8

{¶ 30} 25. On February 2, 2022, relator filed a petition for writ of mandamus.

Conclusions of Law and Discussion:

{¶ 31} The magistrate recommends that this court deny relator’s request for a writ

of mandamus.

{¶ 32} To prevail on his mandamus claim, relator must establish, by clear and

convincing evidence: (1) a clear legal right to the requested relief; (2) a clear legal duty on

the part of OPERS to provide that relief; and (3) the lack of an adequate remedy in the

ordinary course of the law. State ex rel. Domhoff v. Ohio Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys. Bd.,

140 Ohio St.3d 284, 2014-Ohio-3688, ¶ 13. This requires that relator demonstrate that

OPERS abused its discretion by making a decision that was not supported by some

evidence. State ex rel. Willer v. Ohio Pub. Emps. Retirement Sys., 10th Dist. No. 20AP- 316,

2021-Ohio-4575, ¶ 12. An abuse of discretion occurs when a decision is unreasonable,

arbitrary, or unconscionable. State ex rel. Ewart v. State Teachers Ret. Sys. Bd. of Ohio,

10th Dist. No. 20AP-21, 2020-Ohio-4147, ¶ 24.

{¶ 33} In mandamus, courts will not second-guess the medical expertise of the

doctor whose report is under review. State ex rel. Smith v. Ohio Pub. Emps. Retirement

Sys., 10th Dist. No. 14AP-1060, 2016-Ohio-2731 (magistrate's decision), citing State ex rel.

Young v. Indus. Comm., 79 Ohio St.3d 484, 1997-Ohio-162 (1997). The evaluation of the

weight and credibility of the evidence before it rests exclusively with OPERS. Id., citing

State ex rel. Thomas v. Indus. Comm., 42 Ohio St.3d 31, 33 (1989), citing State ex rel.

Burley v. Coil Packing, Inc., 31 Ohio St.3d 18 (1987).

{¶ 34} The retirement system board, not physicians, makes the ultimate decisions

regarding disability, and a physician’s opinion is not conclusive. See State ex rel. Sanderlin

v. State Teachers Retirement Sys., 10th Dist. No. 21AP-210, 2022-Ohio-2032 (regarding

State Teachers Retirement System of Ohio), citing State ex rel. Hulls v. State Teachers

Retirement Bd., 113 Ohio St.3d 438, 2007-Ohio-2337, ¶ 26. The retirement system board

is not required to accept the views of any particular doctor favored by the claimant, or give

greater weight to the claimant’s treating physicians. Id., citing State ex rel. Pipoly v. State

Teachers Retirement Sys., 95 Ohio St.3d 327, 2002-Ohio-2219, ¶ 24. Ultimately, the

existence of contrary evidence is immaterial if there is evidence in support of the retirement

No. 23AP-80 9

system board’s findings of fact. Sanderlin, citing State ex rel. Kolcinko v. Ohio Police & Fire

Pension Fund, 131 Ohio St.3d 111, 2012-Ohio-46, ¶ 9. Even in the case of an independent

examination at the retirement system board’s request, the board is permitted to accept the

findings presented in the medical reports yet still reject their ultimate conclusions. Id.,

quoting State ex rel. Joyce v. State Teachers Retirement Sys. of Ohio, 10th Dist. No. 20AP-

507, 2021-Ohio-4279 (magistrate’s decision), quoting State ex rel. Wegman v. Ohio Police

& Fire Pension Fund, 155 Ohio St.3d 223, 2018-Ohio-4243, ¶ 16.

{¶ 35} R.C. 145.27 and Ohio Adm.Code 145-1-61 address access to medical records

and individual case information. R.C. 145.27, entitled “Access to records; match with public

assistance recipients,” provides, generally, that copies of medical reports or

recommendations must be made available to the personal physician, attorney, or

authorized agent of the individual concerned upon written release from the individual or

the individual’s agent. R.C. 145.27(B). Ohio Adm.Code 145-1-61, entitled “Release of names,

addresses and individual case information and maintenance of records,” provides,

generally, that individual case information and medical reports and recommendations may

be released to a third party upon written authorization of the member or benefit recipient.

{¶ 36} The general procedure for disability benefits is set forth in the Ohio Revised

Code and Ohio Administrative Code. Ohio Adm.Code 145-2-22(H), entitled “Receipt of

disability benefits,” provides, in pertinent part, that information obtained regarding the

disabling condition becomes part of the disability record that is available for review by the

medical examiner and medical consultant. Pursuant to R.C. 145.35, in order for an OPERS

member to be granted disability benefits, OPERS’s examining physician must determine

the member is entitled to benefits, OPERS’s medical consultant must concur with the

examining physician’s determination, and the OPERS board must concur with the medical

consultant. Ohio Adm.Code 145-2-21(B)(1) requires the OPERS member to submit a

report of a physician and any supporting reports to determine his disabling condition. After

the medical records are submitted to the examining physician and the OPERS medical

consultant and a determination of disability is made, the member may appeal any denial of

benefits under Ohio Adm.Code 145-2-23 and must submit additional objective, current

medical evidence that has not been considered previously by OPERS.

No. 23AP-80 10

{¶ 37} In the present case, relator first argues that OPERS deprived him of due

process of law by failing to transfer to him evidence upon which it relied in denying his

disability application. In support, relator contends the following: a member of OPERS has

a protected property interest in his or her disability or retirement benefits and, thus, has

the right to procedural due process; procedural due process includes the medical advisors’

recommendations and board’s decisions being available to the member and an indication

of reliance of examination reports, citing State ex rel. Cydrus v. Ohio Pub. Emps.

Retirement Sys., 127 Ohio St.3d 257, 2010-Ohio-5770; a party is entitled to know the issues

on which the decision will turn and to be apprised of the factual material on which the

agency relies for decision so that the party may rebut it; relator was entitled to know what

evidence OPERS relied upon in determining whether he meets the criteria to be awarded a

disability benefit; R.C. 145.27(B) and Ohio Adm.Code 145-1-61 require the release of

individual case information with a written authorization; although the certified record

contains correspondence from OPERS to relator’s counsel dated June 28, 2022, neither

relator nor his counsel received a copy of his file or that cover letter; OPERS’s first July 12,

2022, transmission of the record contains 232 of 256 pages that were zoomed-in images of

one-quarter of the pages; OPERS’s second July 19, 2022, transmission of the record

contained duplicate medical records and was missing several treatment notes that were

relied upon by Dr. Ferguson; OPERS’s third August 17, 2022, transmission of the record

suffered from the same defects as the second transmission of the record; OPERS’s fourth

attempted transmission of the record was comprised of a cover letter with no attached

records; and, thus, at no point during the application and appeals process did relator ever

receive a copy of the evidence contained in the certified records before this court.

{¶ 38} Relator cites the Supreme Court of Ohio’s decision in Cydrus, to support his

due-process argument. The court in Cydrus addressed due process in the context of OPERS

proceedings. The court found: (1) OPERS does not have any duty based on procedural due

process to identify the evidence it relied upon and to explain its reasons for denying

disability-retirement benefits; and (2) the following factors established the requisite due

process: (a) after the retirement board initially decided to terminate the member’s

disability-retirement benefits, the board notified the member of its decision and the

availability of appeal; (b) the member was given the opportunity to submit to the board

No. 23AP-80 11

additional objective medical evidence in support of her appeal, and the member did so by

providing a doctor’s report; (c) after the retirement board denied the member’s appeal and

upheld its decision terminating her benefits, the member was able to challenge the decision

in mandamus; and (d) the medical advisors’ recommendations and the board’s decisions

were available to the member and indicated reliance on the examination reports by two

doctors. Relator in the present case contends that his due process was violated by OPERS’s

failure to comport with the due-process requirement described in (d).

{¶ 39} The magistrate finds Cydrus does not aid relator’s due-process claim. At the

outset, relator’s assertion that he was entitled to know what evidence OPERS relied upon

in determining his disability application is meritless. As explained in Cydrus, OPERS does

not have any duty to identify the evidence it relied upon and to explain its reasons for

denying disability benefits. Also consistent with Cydrus, OPERS notified relator of its

decision and the availability of appeal, and he was given the opportunity to submit to

OPERS additional objective medical evidence in support of his appeal, and he did so by

providing Dr. Mao’s progress notes, pulmonary rehabilitation progress notes, and mental

health records from Dr. Fletcher. Furthermore, after OPERS denied his appeal and upheld

its decision denying benefits, relator was able to challenge the decision in the present

mandamus case. Importantly, in his April 21, 2023, motion to strike, although relator

claimed that he did not receive the one-page recommendation forms from Drs. Ferguson

and Mast in the file copies OPERS delivered to him, he does not allege that he did not have

copies of Dr. Ferguson’s full recommendation or that he was unaware of the doctors’

recommendations. Relator’s sole claim on this issue is that the recommendation forms were

not included in the file copies sent to him from OPERS. It is clear from relator’s motion to

strike that he had possession of Dr. Ferguson’s full reports recommending that disability

be disapproved.

{¶ 40} In addition, the court in Cydrus did not make any finding that it is a violation

of due process for OPERS, during the pendency of proceedings, to fail to transfer to the

member the record of evidence upon which it relied in denying his disability application,

which is relator’s main argument herein. Indeed, relator fails to cite any authority to

support his argument, in this respect. On this issue, OPERS notes that the only substantive

medical evidence that relator claims was not included in any of the record copies that

No. 23AP-80 12

OPERS delivered to him is the OSU medical records, which were relator’s own medical

records. Given it is apparent that relator possessed or had access to the pertinent medical

records and Dr. Ferguson’s full recommendation report, he had a full and fair opportunity

to review the relevant evidence and challenge OPERS’s determinations in this matter.

Relator does not endeavor to explain how OPERS’s admitted failures to forward complete

and legible copies of the record hampered or prejudiced his ability to present arguments in

favor of his position. Therefore, the magistrate can find no due-process deprivation based

upon OPERS’s failure to provide a full copy of the record to relator.

{¶ 41} Relator next argues that OPERS abused its discretion when it issued an

unreasonable, arbitrary, and unconscionable decision finding that relator is capable of the

performance of his bus operator position. In support of this argument, relator asserts: the

medical evidence from Dr. Mao and the OSU Post-COVID Recovery Clinic supports the

conclusion that relator attempted to return to work for about 45 days, but he was exhausted

and fatigued by the end of the day, and COTA rejected his request to work only eight-hour

shifts with no overtime; he suffered from brain fog; he needed breaks to accomplish his

activities of daily living; he hit a fence while driving his personal vehicle in December 2020;

when he attempted to return to work in August 2021, he missed picking up a passenger; Dr.

Ferguson’s reports contain internal inconsistencies, in that Dr. Ferguson opined that

relator has no limitations, an unlimited ability to frequently lift or carry any amount of

weight throughout an eight-hour workday, and can sit, stand, walk, balance, climb, crawl,

and kneel without any limitations, yet he states in his recommendation that it is not likely

that any of his symptoms that are due to his prior COVID infection will show any further

improvement; and it is clear that Dr. Ferguson felt that relator was still struggling with

symptoms and limitations as a direct result of his long-haul COVID diagnosis, but he failed

to assign any limitations.

{¶ 42} Relator’s arguments are without merit. The gist of relator’s arguments is that

OPERS should have believed the medical evidence he presented over the evidence OPERS

relied upon. Relator asks this court to find Dr. Mao and the OSU Post-COVID Recovery

Clinic were more credible and persuasive than Drs. Ferguson and Mast. That is not the role

of this court in mandamus. Although relator’s medical evidence could support a disability

determination, if believed, OPERS instead found the recommendations of Drs. Ferguson

No. 23AP-80 13

and Mast more credible. To be sure, those recommendations, particularly Dr. Ferguson’s

full reports, support OPERS’s decision to deny relator disability benefits. Although the

medical evidence does support that relator suffered from brain fog and fatigue, Dr.

Ferguson believed that the record did not support that he had any difficulties with the

cognitive parts of his job when he returned to work in August 2021, he was walking up to

15,000 steps per day in August 2021, he completed pulmonary rehabilitation and achieved

75 percent of his stated goals, testing suggested that his exercise capacity is sufficient to

perform the essential duties of his job as a bus operator, and his primary cause of ongoing

fatigue was not COVID but several other health issues that contributed to his fatigue. Dr.

Ferguson’s opinions clearly could be relied upon by OPERS to support a denial of disability

benefits.

{¶ 43} Relator’s complaint that Dr. Ferguson’s reports contain internal

inconsistencies is unfounded. There is no inconsistency in Dr. Ferguson’s finding that

relator’s COVID symptoms may be permanent, yet he is not disabled by them. Merely

because relator may not see any further improvement in his COVID symptoms does not

mean he necessarily has work limitations. Relator may have some level of fatigue or brain

fog from COVID that may persist indefinitely, but that level may not be so severe as to

impact his lifting, carrying, sitting, standing, walking, balancing, climbing, crawling, and

kneeling. Importantly, Dr. Ferguson believed relator’s other health issues were contributing

causes to his fatigue. Therefore, the magistrate finds no inconsistency in Dr. Ferguson’s

findings.

{¶ 44} Accordingly, it is the magistrate’s recommendation that this court should

deny relator’s request for a writ of mandamus.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

THOMAS W. SCHOLL III

No. 23AP-80 14

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign as

error on appeal the court’s adoption of any factual finding or

legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as a

finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically objects

to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required by Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(b). A party may file written objections to the

magistrate’s decision within fourteen days of the filing of the

decision.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.