Opinion

S. Brown v. WCAB (Main Line Hospitals, Inc.)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 17, 2021
Status
Unpublished
On the bench
Wojcik
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.1%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Sherese Brown, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 646 C.D. 2020

: Submitted: December 11, 2020

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Main Line Hospitals, Inc.), :

:

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE J. ANDREW CROMPTON, Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION

BY JUDGE WOJCIK FILED: August 17, 2021

Sherese Brown (Claimant) petitions for review of the orders of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) affirming the decision of a

workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) that denied Claimant’s claim petition alleging

a partially disabling June 22, 2015 work-related injury (Claim Petition 1), and

granted Claimant’s claim petition alleging a totally and partially disabling

November 30, 2016 work-related injury (Claim Petition 2) for the closed period of

November 30, 2016, to January 27, 2017, pursuant to the provisions of the

Workers’ Compensation Act (Act).1 We affirm.

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2710.

Claimant filed Claim Petition 1 and Claim Petition 2 on April 5, 2018.

In Claim Petition 1, Claimant alleged that she suffered an injury in the nature of a

lumbar injury with broad-based disc protrusion at L4-5, in the scope and course of

her employment as a patient care technician for Main Line Hospitals, Inc.

(Employer), while assisting a patient who had suffered a stroke. With respect to

this injury, on July 10, 2015, Employer issued a Form LIBC-501, Notice of

Temporary Compensation Payable (NTCP),2 acknowledging that Claimant

2

Section 406.1(d)(1)-(2), (4)-(6) of the Act, added by the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L.

25, 77 P.S. §717.1(d) (1)-(2), (4)-(6), states, in relevant part:

(d)(1) In any instance where an employer is uncertain whether a

claim is compensable under this act or is uncertain of the extent of

its liability under this act, the employer may initiate compensation

payments without prejudice and without admitting liability

pursuant to a[n NTCP] as prescribed by the [Department of Labor

and Industry (department)].

(2) The [NTCP] shall be sent to the claimant and a copy filed with

the department and shall notify the claimant that the payment of

temporary compensation is not an admission of liability of the

employer with respect to the injury which is the subject of the

[NTCP]. The department shall, upon receipt of a[n NTCP], send a

notice to the claimant informing the claimant that:

(i) the payment of temporary compensation and the claimant’s

acceptance of that compensation does not mean the claimant’s

employer is accepting responsibility for the injury or that a

compensation claim has been filed or commenced;

(ii) the payment of temporary compensation entitles the claimant to

a maximum of ninety (90) days of compensation; and

(iii) the claimant may need to file a claim petition in a timely

fashion[,] enter into an agreement with his employer or receive a

notice of compensation payable [(NCP)] from his employer to

ensure continuation of compensation payments.

(Footnote continued on next page…)

2

sustained a work-related injury in the nature of a low back strain on June 22, 2015.

Beginning on June 23, 2015, Employer paid Claimant weekly compensation

benefits of $575.07. However, on August 21, 2015, Employer issued a Form

LIBC-502, Notice Stopping Temporary Compensation (Notice Stopping NTCP),

and a Form LIBC-496, Notice of Compensation Denial (NCD), within the 90-day

period required by Section 406.1 of the Act, in which Employer denied that

(continued…)

***

(4) Payments of temporary compensation may continue until such

time as the employer decides to controvert the claim.

(5)(i) If the employer ceases making payments pursuant to a[n

NTCP], a notice in the form prescribed by the department shall be

sent to the claimant and a copy filed with the department, but in no

event shall this notice be sent or filed later than five (5) days after

the last payment.

(ii) This notice shall advise the claimant, that if the employer is

ceasing payment of temporary compensation, that the payment of

temporary compensation was not an admission of liability of the

employer with respect to the injury subject to the [NTCP], and the

employe must file a claim to establish the liability of the employer.

(iii) If the employer ceases making payments pursuant to a

[NTCP], after complying with this clause, the employer and

employe retain all the rights, defenses and obligations with regard

to the claim subject to the [NTCP], and the payment of temporary

compensation may not be used to support a claim for

compensation . . . .

(6) If the employer does not file a notice under paragraph (5)

within the ninety-day period during which temporary

compensation is paid or payable, the employer shall be deemed to

have admitted liability and the [NTCP] shall be converted to a[n

NCP].

3

Claimant sustained a work-related low back strain on June 22, 2015. In Claim

Petition 1, Claimant sought temporary partial disability benefits for the period of

June 22, 2015, to July 13, 2015, in which she worked in a light-duty position with

Employer and her wages were reduced from $19.50 per hour to $15.00 per hour.

In Claim Petition 2, Claimant alleged that she suffered an injury in the

nature of a sprain of ligaments of the lumbar spine, strain of a muscle and tendon

of the lower back, and lumbar radiculopathy at the left L4-5 nerve root in the

course and scope of her employment with Employer, while caring for a patient.

With respect to this injury, on December 14, 2016, Employer issued an NCD,

denying that Claimant sustained a low back strain or tear during the course and

scope of her employment on November 30, 2016. In Claim Petition 2, Claimant

sought partial disability benefits for the period of November 30, 2016, and

ongoing. Employer filed answers to the claim petitions denying the material

allegations raised therein and hearings before the WCJ ensued.

In support of the claim petitions, Claimant testified and presented the

records and reports of Mark Brown, D.C.; Christine Stallkamp, M.D.; Marc

Belitsky, D.C.; and Kurt Maharay, D.C.; and the physical therapy notes of Bryn

Mawr Rehab.

On June 25, 2019, the WCJ issued a decision disposing of the claim

petitions in which he made the following relevant findings of fact. In general, the

WCJ found all of Claimant’s testimony to be credible. Reproduced Record (R.R.)

at 179a-180a. However, “[n]otwithstanding [C]laimant’s personal credibility, her

testimony is given limited weight as to the medical issues (i.e., diagnosis,

causation, disability).” Id. at 180a (emphasis in original). The WCJ noted that

Employer “has denied that either of these injuries occurred and [that its] initial

4

payment of temporary compensation on the claimed June 2015 injury cannot be

deemed an admission of liability,” citing Section 406.1(d)(5)(iii) of the Act. Id.

Specifically, with respect to the June 22, 2015 injury, the WCJ found

credible Claimant’s testimony that she sustained back pain while lifting a patient.

R.R. at 180a. “However, no contemporaneous medical evidence was presented to

establish the diagnosis, extent of treatment, or disability.” Id. The first medical

records that Claimant submitted in support were those of Dr. Brown, covering the

period of January 29, 2016, through May 25, 2016, which the WCJ did not find to

be “competent, credible or convincing as to the effect of the June 22, 2015 incident

and the key issues of diagnosis, causation and disability.” Id. Specifically, the

WCJ found that “[t]his period of treatment commences seven months after the

work incident and many months after [C]laimant had, by her own admission, been

released to full duty and discharged by the panel physician.” Id. The WCJ

determined that “[t]he records are handwritten, sketchy, and virtually illegible,”

and that he could “discern no clear opinion as to diagnosis, causal relationship or

disability.” Id.

The WCJ also explained:

It is important to note that [C]laimant’s [Claim Petition

1] alleges a disc protrusion at L4-5 caused by this injury.

She is not alleging a simple lumbar strain/sprain.

Claimant submitted the report of an [magnetic resonance

imaging (MRI)] taken on February 17, 2016, which does

indicate a broad-based protrusion eccentric to the right at

L4-5. As noted above, Dr. Brown’s comments about the

MRI are indecipherable. There is no evidence that Dr.

Belitsky ever saw the MRI or was even aware of it.

Claimant’s final treating chiropractor, Dr. Maharay,

makes mention of the MRI and says he requested it, but

apparently never followed up to obtain it. While both Dr.

Belitsky and Dr. Maharay discuss the history of the June

5

2015 claimed injury, neither of them provides any clear-

cut opinion as to its impact, or any opinion as to a

diagnosis or disability stemming from it. There is no

indication that they saw or considered the medical

records contemporaneous to the June 2015 incident.

Their periods of treatment were chronologically far

removed from the incident: Belitsky’s ran from

December 2016, to January 2017; Maharay’s from

October 2017, to March 2018. There are also large gaps

in time between the various courses of treatment . . . .

R.R. at 180a. The WCJ determined that “[a]ll of this makes causation very

tenuous, considering that there is no initial opinion connecting the disc at L4-5 to

the work injury causally, or to [C]laimant’s symptoms.” Id. at 181a.

With respect to the November 30, 2016 injury, the WCJ found

credible “[C]laimant’s testimony that she experienced back pain while helping a

patient.” R.R. at 181a. The WCJ also found credible Dr. Stallkamp’s records “to

establish that [C]laimant suffered a lumbar strain due to that incident.” Id. The

WCJ “accepted as competent and credible” the December 5, 2016 physical therapy

note of Bryn Mawr Rehab “to establish that [C]laimant had lifting restrictions of

ten pounds and that this would prevent her from performing her regular job.” Id.

The WCJ also accepted the December 7, 2016 physical therapy note as “competent

and credible to establish that [C]laimant was still not ready to return to unrestricted

work at that point.” Id.

The WCJ also “found credible and convincing” the December 9, 2016

opinion of Dr. Belitsky that Claimant is “unable to perform [her] work duties

today,” and that “[h]is history clearly relates [C]laimant’s lumbar pain to the

November 30, 2016 injury.” R.R. at 181a. The WCJ accepted Dr. Belitsky’s

December 12, 2016 release of Claimant to return to full duty as of December 15,

2016, “although she had exacerbations of her symptoms at various points.” Id.

6

The WCJ also accepted Dr. Belitsky’s January 26, 2017 Visit Notes stating that

Claimant “has had no pain for 1-2 weeks,” and that she had “no limitations at work

or in ADLs (activities of daily living),” and that Dr. Belitsky discharged Claimant

to a home exercise program. Id. The WCJ observed that “Claimant did not

specifically rebut this history. The WCJ can discern no residuals of the November

30, 2016 lumbar strain based on this note.” Id.

Finally, the WCJ found that “[t]he records of Dr. Maharay covering

the period from October 30, 2017, through March 28, 2018, do not convince the

WCJ that [C]laimant continued to have residuals of the November 30, 2016 injury

during that time.” R.R. at 181a. The WCJ explained that “[n]ine months had

passed from the time [C]laimant was discharged by Dr. Belitsky and from the time

[C]laimant left [Employer’s] employ to begin what she described as an easier job

as a phlebotomist.” Id. at 181a-182a. The WCJ noted that “Dr. Maharay g[ave] no

explanation for why [C]laimant would continue to suffer from a lumbar strain

sustained in November 2016-nearly one year before.” Id. at 182a.

Based on the foregoing, the WCJ found as fact: (1) Claimant did not

establish that she sustained a work-related disc protrusion on June 22, 2015; (2)

Claimant established that she sustained a work-related lumbar strain on November

30, 2016; (3) Claimant was disabled from her pre-injury job by the work-related

injury from November 30, 2016, through December 14, 2016, based on the

credible medical evidence; (4) Claimant is entitled to total disability benefits for

any full days of work that she lost between November 30, 2016, through December

15, 2016; (5) Claimant is entitled to partial disability benefits for any days during

that period on which she earned less than her pre-injury average weekly wage; and

(6) the credible evidence does not establish that Claimant has suffered any residual

7

impairment from the November 30, 2016 work-related injury beyond January 27,

2017, the last day that she saw Dr. Belitsky, so Employer is entitled to a

termination of benefits thereafter. R.R. at 182a-183a.

As a result, the WCJ concluded that Claimant failed to meet her

burden of proof with respect to Claim Petition 1 and met her burden of proof, in

part, with respect to Claim Petition 2. R.R. at 183a. Accordingly, the WCJ issued

an order: (1) denying and dismissing Claim Petition 1; (2) granting Claim Petition

2 in part; (3) directing Employer to pay temporary total disability benefits for the

full days of work lost between November 30, 2016, and December 14, 2016; (4)

directing Employer to pay partial disability benefits for any partial days of wage

loss between November 30, 2016, and December 14, 2016; (5) suspending wage

loss benefits on and after December 15, 2016; and (6) terminating medical and

wage loss benefits for the November 30, 2016 work-related injury on and after

January 27, 2017. Id. at 184a.

On July 8, 2019, Claimant appealed the WCJ’s decision to the Board.

On June 24, 2020, the Board issued Opinions and Orders affirming the WCJ’s

decision. Claimant then filed the instant petition for review in this Court.3

On appeal, Claimant first contends that the Board erred in affirming

the WCJ’s decision that denied and dismissed Claim Petition 1, alleging a work-

related injury in the nature of a broad-based disc protrusion at L4-5, because: (1)

Claimant’s unequivocal and unrebutted testimony, which was deemed credible by

the WCJ, established that she suffered a work-related low back injury on June 22,

3

Our scope of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights were

violated, whether an error of law was committed, and whether necessary findings of facts are

supported by substantial evidence. Berry v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (United

Minerals & Grain Corp.), 602 A.2d 415, 417 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1992).

8

2015; (2) Claimant’s credible testimony established that she had no lower back

problems prior to the work-related injury; (3) Claimant’s credible testimony

established that she experienced pain from a pull in her back 20 minutes after

moving a patient to a chair, and worked light duty from June 22, 2015, to July 13,

2015, as a result of the injury at a rate that was $4.50 less per hour; and (4)

Employer issued the NTCP acknowledging a lower back strain and sprain work-

related injury, and did not issue the Notice Stopping NTCP until August 21, 2015,

well after Claimant had returned to full duty.

This Court has explained:

As Innovative Spaces [v. Workmen’s

Compensation Appeal Board (DeAngelis), 646 A.2d 51

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1994),] provides, in a claim proceeding the

burden is on the claimant to establish a right to

compensation and prove all necessary elements to

support an award, including the burden to establish the

duration and extent of disability. Id. at 54; see also Inglis

House [v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board

(Reedy), 634 A.2d 592, 595 (Pa. 1993)]. However, it is a

fundamental principle of workers’ compensation law that

the WCJ is the final arbiter of witness credibility and

evidentiary weight. Hoang v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Howmet Aluminum Casting, Inc.), 51

A.3d 905, 909 n.7 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2012); Vols v.

Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Alperin, Inc.),

[637 A.2d 711, 714 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994)]. The WCJ may

accept or reject, in whole or in part, the testimony of any

witness. Id. Moreover, the WCJ’s fact-finding authority

includes the authority to draw reasonable inferences from

the evidence. General Electric Company v. Workmen’s

Compensation Appeal Board (Valsamaki), [593 A.2d

921, 924 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1991)] (“[I]t is clearly within the

[WCJ’s] fact-finding province to draw reasonable

inferences from the evidence.” (citing Oscar Mayer &

Company v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board

(Manzi), [442 A.2d 1238 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1982)])). A

WCJ’s credibility and evidentiary determinations are

9

binding on appeal unless made arbitrarily and

capriciously. Casne v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (STAT Couriers, Inc.), 962 A.2d 14, 19 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2008). The evidence, and the reasonable

inferences deducible therefrom, must be viewed in the

light most favorable to the prevailing party below. Glass

v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (City of

Philadelphia), 61 A.3d 318, 325 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2013).

Pennsylvania Uninsured Employers Guaranty Fund v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Bonner), 85 A.3d 1109, 1114-15 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014) (footnotes

omitted).

As outlined above, with respect to the June 22, 2015 injury in the

nature of a broad-based disc protrusion at L4-5, the WCJ found credible

Claimant’s testimony that she sustained back pain while lifting a patient;

“[h]owever, no contemporaneous medical evidence was presented to establish the

diagnosis, extent of treatment, or disability.” R.R. at 180a. As a result, the WCJ

determined that “[n]otwithstanding [C]laimant’s personal credibility, her testimony

is given limited weight as to the medical issues (i.e., diagnosis, causation,

disability).” Id. (emphasis in original).

In addition, after recounting all of the medical evidence that Claimant

submitted in support of her burden of proof, which the WCJ discounted, the WCJ

determined that “[a]ll of this makes causation very tenuous, considering that there

is no initial opinion connecting the disc at L4-5 to the work injury causally, or to

[C]laimant’s symptoms.” R.R. at 181a. We will not simply accede to Claimant’s

request to reweigh the evidence that she presented to the WCJ to sustain her

burden of demonstrating the causal connection between the June 22, 2015 work

incident and the broad-based disc protrusion at L4-5 injury that she allegedly

sustained, and for which she seeks partial disability benefits in Claim Petition 1.

10

Moreover, pursuant to Section 406.1 of the Act, the Notice Stopping

NTCP that Employer issued on August 21, 2015, well within the required 90-day

period, stated, in relevant part:

The payment of temporary compensation does not mean

that [Employer] assumed responsibility for your injury.

[Employer] and you retain all rights, defenses and

obligations with regard to the claim. Further, the

payment of temporary compensation may not be used to

support a claim for benefits in a future proceeding.

***

[X] WE HAVE DECIDED NOT TO ACCEPT

LIABILITY, AND ATTACHED IS A[N NCD]. IF YOU

BELIEVE YOU SUFFERED A WORK-RELATED

INJURY, YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO FILE A

CLAIM PETITION WITH THE WORKERS’

COMPENSATION OFFICE OF ADJUDICATION IN

ORDER TO PROTECT YOUR FUTURE RIGHTS.

Certified Record Item 22 at 5 (emphasis in original). As a result, Claimant may

not rely upon Employer’s issuance of the NTCP to sustain her burden of proof with

respect to Claim Petition 1, i.e., that she suffered an injury in the nature of a broad-

based disc protrusion at L4-5 on June 22, 2015, while in the course and scope of

her employment with Employer. See Section 406.1(d)(5)(iii) of the Act, 77 P.S.

§717.1(d)(5)(iii) (“[A]fter complying with this clause, the employer and employe

retain all the rights, defenses and obligations with regard to the claim subject to the

[NTCP], and the payment of temporary compensation may not be used to support a

claim for compensation . . . .”). In sum, contrary to Claimant’s assertion, the

Board did not err in affirming the WCJ’s decision denying Claim Petition 1 based

on Claimant’s failure to sustain her burden of proving her entitlement to temporary

partial disability benefits under the Act.

11

Finally, Claimant contends that the Board erred in affirming the

WCJ’s decision granting Claim Petition 2 for a closed period, terminating her total

and partial disability benefits as of January 27, 2017. Claimant argues that Dr.

Belitsky’s records do not demonstrate that she was fully recovered from her

November 30, 2016 work-related injury as of January 27, 2017, but they do

demonstrate that she suffered from ongoing residual disability. Claimant asserts

that Dr. Belitsky merely opined that Claimant has reached “maximum chiropractic

improvement” as of January 27, 2017, which is qualitatively different from a full

recovery and does not support the termination of her benefits.

“[A] WCJ is authorized, when considering a claim petition, to award

compensation for a work-related injury and, in addition, to terminate benefits as of

the date the disability ceased, although a termination petition has not been filed, if

the claimant has not carried her burden of proof to establish a continuing

disability.” Ohm v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Caloric Corp.), 663

A.2d 883, 886 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1995). With respect to the termination of disability

benefits, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has explained that a medical expert is

not required to use the words “full recovery” to support such a termination:

We emphasize that the failure of the employer’s expert

to employ these “magic words” is not fatal to the

employer’s claim. Instead, the expert testimony must be

reviewed in its entirety to determine whether the

conclusions reached are sufficient to warrant termination

of benefits. See Callahan v. Workmen’s Compensation

Appeal Board (Bethlehem Steel Corp.), [571 A.2d 1108

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1990)] (physician need not say magic

words that claimant was “fully recovered”; sufficient

that physician testified to releasing claimant to work

without restrictions because work-related injury was

resolved).

12

Udvari v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (USAir, Inc.), 705 A.2d 1290,

1293 n.3 (Pa. 1997) (emphasis added).

Dr. Belitsky’s January 26, 2017 Visit Notes that Claimant submitted

to the WCJ in support of Claim Petition 2 states, in relevant part:

Subjective

Mid Back Pain: Initially VAS rated 3

The symptom was described as doing well. The

condition is aggravated by no limitations, and relief is

experienced with chiropractic care.

Patient has very favorable response to treatment. No

pain past 1-2 weeks. No limitations in [activities of

daily living] or work restrictions.

Lower Back Pain: Initially VAS rated 3

The symptom was described as no pain and doing well.

The condition is relieved by chiropractic care.

***

Neurological Examination

Myotome evaluation revealed no weakness in the lower

extremity.

Prognosis/Diagnosis

The cause of the patient’s condition was a work[-]related

injury. The patient has reached maximum chiropractic

improvement[.] The patient’s prognosis is excellent[.]

Diagnosis: S33.5XXA Sprain of ligaments of lumbar

spine, initial encounter – resolved S39.012A Strain of

muscle, fascia and tendon of lower back, init – resolved

M62.830 Muscle spasm of back – resolved M64.5 Low

back pain – resolved M99.03 Segmental and somatic

dysfunction of lumbar region[.]

Assessment

Diagnoses as of the examination on 1/26/2017:

S33.5XXA Sprain of ligaments of lumbar spine, initial

encounter

13

S39.012A Strain of muscle, facia and tendon of lower

back, init

M62.830 Muscle spasm of back

M54.5 Low back pain

M99.03 Segmental and somatic dysfunction of lumbar

region

The patient has responded favorably to treatment and has

reached [her] treatment goals. [She is] experiencing no

limitations in job responsibilities or [activities of daily

living]. [She has] also reached maximum [c]hiropractic

improvement with no limitations or permanent

impairments and therefore [she] will be released from

care.

R.R. at 50a-51a (emphasis added).

Based on the foregoing, and contrary to Claimant’s assertion, Dr.

Belitsky’s January 26, 2017 Visit Notes clearly supports the WCJ’s determination

that “[t]he evidence does not establish that [C]laimant suffered residuals of the

November 30, 2016 work injury beyond January 27, 2017, the last date she saw

Dr. Belitsky. Accordingly, [Employer] is entitled to a termination of benefits

thereafter.” R.R. at 183a. As a result, the Board did not err in affirming the WCJ’s

decision awarding Claimant disability benefits for a closed period and terminating

those benefits as of January 27, 2017.

Accordingly, the Board’s orders are affirmed.

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

14

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Sherese Brown, :

:

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 646 C.D. 2020

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Main Line Hospitals, Inc.), :

:

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 17th day of August, 2021, the orders of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board dated June 24, 2020, are AFFIRMED.

__________________________________

MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.