Opinion

Raymour & Flanigan v. WCAB (Obeid)

Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 16, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Leadbetter
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.1%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Raymour & Flanigan, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 371 C.D. 2020

: ARGUED: March 15, 2021

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Obeid), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE ELLEN CEISLER, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION BY

SENIOR JUDGE LEADBETTER FILED: August 16, 2021

Raymour & Flanigan, Employer, petitions for review from the order of

the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board reversing in part and affirming in part the

order of the Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ), with the effect of reinstating

Claimant Lamis Obeid’s indemnity benefits. The issue involved, which is of first

impression, is one of statutory and regulatory construction: whether Employer,

which had filed a notice of temporary compensation payable paying indemnity

benefits, was at the time it filed a medical-only notice of compensation payable in

order to stop paying indemnity benefits also required to file a notice stopping

temporary compensation payable and a notice of compensation denial. We do not

believe a notice stopping temporary compensation payable and notice of

compensation denial are necessary when a medical-only notice of compensation

payable is issued, and therefore reverse.

The facts as found by the WCJ are as follows. (WCJ Decision Findings

of Fact “F.F.” Nos. 1-7.) In September 2018, Claimant was employed by Employer

as a home furnishing consultant earning an average weekly wage of $874.92. On

September 14, 2018, Claimant reported that the previous day she had suffered an

injury to her coccyx/sacrum when she slipped off a chair while attempting to sit. On

October 1, 2018, Employer’s workers’ compensation administrator issued a notice

of temporary compensation payable describing Claimant’s work injury as an

inflammation of her coccyx/sacrum and providing her with total disability benefits

at a rate of $583.28 per week. On October 17, 2018, the administrator issued a

medical-only notice of compensation payable.1 In November 2018, Claimant filed

a penalty petition seeking penalties on the basis of a violation of the Workers’

Compensation Act2 (Act) and seeking judgment on the pleadings and reinstatement

of total temporary disability benefits. The WCJ found that under Section 121.17(d)

of the workers’ compensation regulations, 34 Pa. Code § 121.17(d), there was no

requirement to file a notice stopping temporary compensation payable if, during the

temporary period, the employer or insurer decided to issue a notice of compensation

payable (WCJ Decision F.F. No. 7) and concluded that Claimant failed to prove that

Employer violated the provisions of the Act or its regulations (WCJ Decision

Conclusion of Law “C.L.” No. 2). Thus, the WCJ dismissed the penalty petition for

lack of proof. (WCJ C.L. No. 3.)

Claimant appealed the WCJ’s decision to the Board. The Board framed

the issue as follows:

1

The medical-only notice of compensation payable explains that Claimant was approximately

eight to nine months pregnant. (Reproduced Record “R.R.” at p. 5a.)

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§ 1-1041.4; 2501-2710.

2

At the core of this appeal is whether the [notice of

temporary compensation payable] issued on October 1,

2018[,] which provided payment of medical expenses and

ongoing disability benefits, converted by operation of law

to a[] [notice of compensation payable]; or whether the

[medical-only notice of compensation payable] issued on

October 17, 2018, properly stopped the payment of wages

and accepted liability only for payment of medical

expenses.

(Board Op. & Order at pp. 2-3.)

The Board stated that the proper procedure for Employer to stop

payment of indemnity benefits pursuant to the notice of temporary compensation

payable under Section 406.1(d)(5)(ii) of the Act,3 77 P.S. § 717.1(d)(5)(ii), would

have required Employer to “provide notice to Claimant that its payment of temporary

compensation was not an admission of liability and that Claimant must file a claim

petition to establish [Employer’s] liability for indemnity payments.” (Id. at pp. 4-

5.) In the Board’s view, accepting that Section 121.17(d) of the regulations, 34 Pa.

Code § 121.17(d), was “at best[] confusing as to whether [Employer] should issue a

[n]otice [s]topping [temporary compensation payable] and a [notice of

compensation] [d]enial” or a medical[-]only notice of compensation payable, “in this

particular situation” “the proper method to stop indemnity payments pursuant to a

[n]otice of [t]emporary [c]ompensation [p]ayable is to issue a [n]otice [s]topping

[t]emporary [c]ompensation . . . and a [n]otice of [w]orkers’ [c]ompensation [d]enial

. . . within [five] days of the last payment and within the [ninety]-day temporary

compensation payable period.” (Id. at pp. 5-6.) These forms, the Board states,

provide the required notice to Claimant and comply with Section 406.1(d)(5)(ii) of

the Act and Section 121.7(d)(1) of the regulations. (Id. at p. 6.) Then, Employer

3

Section 406.1(d)(5)(ii), added by Act of February 8, 1972, P.L. 25, No. 12, § 3, 77 P.S. §

717.1(d)(5)(ii).

3

would be able to issue a medical-only notice of compensation payable in order to

accept liability for the payment of medical expenses only.4 (Id.)

The Board held that under its interpretation of Section 406.1(d)(5)-(6)

of the Act and Section 121.17(d) of the regulations, the notice of temporary

compensation payable converted to a notice of compensation payable by operation

of law and the “converted [notice of compensation payable]” was now the

4

It should be noted that this issue has arisen before the Board on at least two prior occasions.

(See Bd. Op. at p. 6 n.6). In 2019, after the relevant procedural history of this case, the Department

of Labor & Industry, Bureau of Workers’ Compensation, issued a new, alternate version of the

Notice of Compensation Payable, Form LIBC-495B (see R.R. at pp. 137a-38a), which “provides

the critical cautions and advisories to a claimant as required by Section 406.1(d)(5) of the Act,

otherwise traditionally served by the Notice Stopping Temporary Compensation . . . and Notice of

. . . Compensation Denial . . . where payment of temporary compensation has ceased,” see 7 West's

Pa. Prac., Workers’ Comp. § 13:88.60 (3d ed.; Sept. 2020 update).

Language in Form LIBC-495B reads as follows:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE: Payment of temporary compensation

has stopped. The payment of temporary compensation was not an

admission of liability of the employer with respect to the injury

described in the previously-issued Notice of Temporary

Compensation Payable. The employee must file a petition to

establish additional liability of the employer not set forth in this

Notice of Compensation Payable. The payment of temporary

compensation may not be used to support a claim for benefits in a

future proceeding.

[R.R. at p. 138a (emphasis in original).] A version of Form LIBC-495 that includes the “medical-

only” checkbox but not the above language is still used by the Board. 7 West’s Pa. Prac. Workers’

Comp. § 13.88.60 (3d ed.; Sept. 2020 update); (R.R. at pp. 135a-36a.) One treatise has stated that

“as the expanded cautionary language refers to the fact that the ‘payment of temporary

compensation was not an admission of liability,’ it is expected that the Form LIBC-495B would

only legitimately be issued in a medical-only context.” Id. The regulations do not specifically

refer to Form LIBC-495B, and it is not clear to the Court whether the notice therein would suffice

under the interpretation of Section 406.1(d) proffered by the Board in the instant case.

4

“controlling Bureau document.”5 (Id. at pp. 6 and 9.) Thus, the Board held that

Employer had violated the Act (id. at pp. 7 and 9) and ordered reinstatement of

indemnity benefits as of October 10, 2018, or as of such date as indemnity payments

were stopped6 (id. at p. 9). It is from the Board’s order granting continuing

indemnity benefits that Employer petitions for review.

On appeal,7 Employer raises the following issue:

Whether the Board committed an error of law by

unilaterally ordering the retroactive reinstatement of

ongoing disability benefits in violation of the procedural

regime established by Section 406.1 of the Act and the

Bureau Regulation promulgated thereunder.

(Employer’s Br. at p. 5.)

5

Although not explicitly stated, the determining factor for the conversion would have been

the failure to file the required notifications within the ninety-day temporary compensation payable

period. “If the employer does not file a notice under paragraph (5) within the ninety-day period

during which temporary compensation is paid or payable, the employer shall be deemed to have

admitted liability and the notice of temporary compensation payable shall be converted to a notice

of compensation payable.” Section 406.1(d)(6) of the Act, 77 P.S. § 717.1(d)(6). Of note, on the

date the penalty petition was filed, November 20, 2018 (see R.R. at p. 7a), ninety days had not

elapsed from the date of the injury, September 13, 2018.

6

The Board noted as follows:

October 10, 2018[,] is alleged by Claimant to be the last date for

which [she] received indemnity benefits. There was no evidence

submitted to support what date [Employer] paid indemnity benefits

through; however, [Employer] is obligated to reimburse [C]laimant

from what ever [sic] date it ceased paying benefits and reinstate

Claimant’s benefits until such time as [Employer] establishes a

suspension or termination of benefits.

(Board Op. & Order at p. 6 n.5.)

7

Because only issues of statutory and regulatory construction are before us, our review is

plenary. Steele v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Findlay Twp.), 155 A.3d 1173, 1176 n.8 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2017).

5

An explanation of the relevant statutory and regulatory provisions and

their significance to this case is appropriate at this juncture. Section 406.1 of the Act

provides the relevant statutory scheme for an employer’s response to an injury,

including notices of compensation payable and temporary notices of compensation

payable. In pertinent part, Section 406.1(a) states:

(a) The employer and insurer shall promptly investigate

each injury . . . and shall proceed promptly to commence

the payment of compensation due . . . pursuant to . . . a

notice of compensation payable . . . or pursuant to a notice

of temporary compensation payable as set forth in

subsection (d), on forms prescribed by the [D]epartment

and furnished by the insurer. The first installment of

compensation shall be paid not later than the twenty-first

day after the employer has notice or knowledge of the

employe[e]’s disability . . . .

77 P.S. § 717.1(a). With regard to notices of temporary compensation payable,

Section 406.1(d) provides as follows:

(d) (1) In any instance where an employer is uncertain

whether a claim is compensable under this [A]ct or is

uncertain of the extent of its liability . . . , the employer

may initiate compensation payments without prejudice

and without admitting liability pursuant to a notice of

temporary compensation payable as prescribed by the

[D]epartment.

....

(5) (i) If the employer ceases making payments

pursuant to a notice of temporary compensation

payable, a notice in the form prescribed by the

[D]epartment shall be sent to the claimant and a

copy filed with the [D]epartment, but in no event

shall this notice be sent or filed later than five (5)

days after the last payment.

6

(ii) This notice shall advise the claimant, that if the

employer is ceasing payment of temporary

compensation, that the payment of temporary

compensation was not an admission of liability of

the employer with respect to the injury subject to the

notice of temporary compensation payable, and the

employe[e] must file a claim to establish the

liability of the employer.

(iii) If the employer ceases making payments

pursuant to a notice of temporary compensation

payable, after complying with this clause, the

employer and employe[e] retain all the rights,

defenses and obligations with regard to the claim

subject to the notice of temporary compensation

payable, and the payment of temporary

compensation may not be used to support a claim

for compensation.

(iv) Payment of temporary compensation shall be

considered compensation for purposes of tolling the

statute of limitations under section 315.

(6) If the employer does not file a notice under paragraph

(5) within the ninety-day period during which temporary

compensation is paid or payable, the employer shall be

deemed to have admitted liability and the notice of

temporary compensation payable shall be converted to a

notice of compensation payable.

77 P.S. § 717.1(d)(1) and (5)-(6) (emphasis added).

Section 121.17(d) of the Bureau’s regulations provides that if

temporary payments are stopped, an employer must do one of the following: file

both a notice stopping temporary compensation, identified by the regulations as

Form LIBC-502, and a notice of compensation denial, Form LIBC-496; or file a

notice of compensation payable, Form LIBC-495; or file an agreement for

compensation for disability or permanent injury, Form LIBC-336. 34 Pa. Code §

121.17(d)(1)-(3). Employer filed the version of the notice of compensation payable,

7

Form LIBC-495, used at the time of the operative facts, identified as being “REV

03-16.” (R.R. at p. 7a.) Form LIBC-495, REV 03-16, included a check box, which

was checked by Employer, stating: “Check only if compensation for medical

treatment (medical only, no loss of wages) will be paid subject to the . . . Act . . . .”

[Id. (emphasis in original).] By filing such a notice of compensation payable, albeit

medical only, Employer here clearly complied with the regulation.

Employer contends that the Board’s interpretation of the statutory

scheme to require that an employer send a notice stating that it is stopping temporary

compensation; that it is not admitting liability; and that the claimant must file a claim

petition to obtain benefits in the future in addition to its medical only notice of

compensation payable is illogical and incorrect as a matter of law. (Employer’s Br.

at p. 16.) Employer cites City of Philadelphia v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Brown), 830 A.2d 649 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003), and Waldameer Park, Inc. v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Morrison), 819 A.2d 164 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2003), for the proposition that the acknowledgment of compensability accomplished

by a medical-only notice of compensation payable is sufficient to meet Employer’s

obligations under Section 406.1. In Waldameer Park, a claimant was injured in the

course of her employment at an amusement park and submitted a claim petition, not

in order to obtain benefits, but to satisfy the limitations period in Section 315 of the

Act, 77 P.S. § 602, and to assure her entitlement to future medical coverage and

future loss of wages arising out of her injury. 819 A.2d at 166-67. The employer

contested the claim despite one of the employer’s co-owners assisting the claimant

in obtaining treatment. Id. at 166. This Court held the contest unreasonable,

justifying attorneys’ fees, stating that the proper course of action would have been

for the employer to issue a medical-only notice of compensation payable, which

8

would allow the employer to challenge future medical bills or unwarranted wage

loss benefits without forcing the claimant to file a petition to preserve her rights. Id.

at 170; see also City of Phila., 830 A.2d at 653-54 (citing Waldameer Park where a

claimant sought only medical benefits).

Employer also cites Church v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Cook), 135 A.3d 1153 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2016), in which this Court upheld the Board’s

finding that when a medical-only notice of compensation payable was issued, a

claim was appropriately deemed admitted but suspended as to indemnity payments,

permitting a claimant to file a reinstatement petition rather than a claim should he or

she once again be disabled by the work injury. Id. at 1162. Employer argues that

where no loss of wages occurs, and it has formally acknowledged compensability

through the filing of a medical-only notice of compensation payable, “it must

necessarily circle back to the [initial] claims administration [procedure] laid out in

Section 406.1(a) of the Act,” which does not require multiple notices, “because the

issuance of a Notice of Compensation Payable Form LIBC-495 (medical only) under

Section 406.1(a) of the Act constitutes an admission of liability for related medical

costs and any future loss of wages . . . .” (Employer’s Br. at pp. 21-22) (emphasis

in the original). Employer thus argues that the Board misapprehends the derivation

and character of a medical-only notice of compensation payable as described in

Waldemeer Park and Church. (Id. at p. 26.) Employer argues that Section 121.17(d)

of the regulations correctly construes Section 406.1(a) of the Act by not requiring a

separate notice stopping temporary compensation payable.

Claimant responds that the Board correctly held that it was bound to

interpret Section 121.17(d) of the regulations consistent with Section 406.1(d)(5)-

(6) of the Act. See Popowsky v. Pa. Pub. Util. Comm’n, 910 A.2d 38, 52 (Pa. 2006)

9

[“[R]egulations must be consistent with the statute under which they were

promulgated” (internal quotations omitted)] and Stanish v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal

Bd. (James J. Anderson Constr. Co.), 11 A.3d 569, 575 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2010)

[“[A]lthough an interpretation of a statute by an administrative agency is entitled to

great weight, the interpretation may be disregarded if the interpretation is clearly

erroneous or inconsistent with the statute under which the regulation is promulgated”

(internal quotations omitted)]. Further, Claimant argues that where a conflict may

be perceived between a statute and a regulation promulgated thereunder, the statute

must prevail and the regulation cannot be enforced. See N. Area Pers. Care Home

Adm’rs Ass’n v. Dep’t of Pub. Welfare, 899 A.2d 1182, 1189 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006).

We agree with Employer that the Board erred in applying Section

406.1(d)(5)(i)-(ii) in this circumstance. That Section requires that when an employer

ceases making payments pursuant to a notice of temporary compensation payable, it

must send a notice advising a claimant (1) that the payment of temporary

compensation did not constitute an admission and (2) that the employee must file a

claim to establish liability of the employer. However, in the case where a medical-

only notice of compensation payable is filed, the first statement—that the temporary

compensation does not constitute an admission—is legally incorrect, as the

employer is acknowledging the injury. See Waldameer Park. Further, the second

statement—that an employee must file a claim to establish liability—is equally

untrue. See Church. Accordingly, we believe that Section 406.1(d)(5) is simply

inapplicable here, and that Section 121.17(d) of the Bureau’s regulations properly

requires that an employer either comply with Section 406.1(d)(5) or file a notice of

compensation payable, of which a medical-only notice is one variety.

10

The only remaining function of the notices, suggested by Claimant at

oral argument, is to notify a pro se claimant of the fact that indemnity benefits have

ceased. To the extent that the checkbox on the medical-only notice of compensation

payable informed Claimant that only compensation for medical treatment, and not

loss of wages, would be paid (R.R. at p. 6a), it would seem that this purpose was

accomplished by that notice alone. Moreover, the additional notices the Board

would require—a notice stopping temporary compensation and a notice of

compensation denial—state as follows:

The payment of temporary compensation does not mean

that your employer assumed responsibility for your injury.

Your employer and you retain all rights, defenses and

obligations with regard to the claim. Further, the payment

of temporary compensation may not be used to support a

claim for benefits in a future proceeding.

WE HAVE DECIDED NOT TO ACCEPT LIABILITY

AND ATTACHED IS A NOTICE OF WORKERS’

COMPENSATION DENIAL. IF YOU BELIEVE YOU

SUFFERED A WORK-RELATED INJURY, YOU WILL

BE REQUIRED TO FILE A CLAIM PETITION WITH

THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION OFFICE OF

ADJUDICATION IN ORDER TO PROTECT YOUR

FUTURE RIGHTS.

You have three years from the date of injury, or discovery

of your condition, to file a Claim Petition for benefits.

Since time limits can vary depending on the facts of your

situation, you may wish to contact an attorney if you

believe you may have a claim.

Form LIBC-502. [R.R. at p. 144a (emphasis in original).]

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE: The employer/insurer has

decided to deny your workers’ compensation benefits.

You have the right to contest this denial by timely filing a

petition . . . .

11

Do not use this form to accept a medical-only claim . . .

.

The employer/insurer declines to pay workers’

compensation benefits to claimant because:

☐ 1. The employee did not suffer a work related

injury. . . .

☐ 2. The employee was not within the scope of

employment.

☐ 3. The employee was not employed by the

defendant.

☐ 4. The employee did not give notice of his/her

injury to the employer within 120 days . . . .

☐ 5. Other good cause; please explain fully in the

space below.

Form LIBC 496 [R.R. at pp. 139a-40a (emphasis in original).] Where a medical-

only notice of compensation payable has issued, these other notices contain

misstatements of the law and would serve primarily to confuse. It is doubtful that

it would be serving the humanitarian purposes of the Act, as suggested by Claimant,

to require an employer to misinform a claimant as to the status of his or her claim

and demand that a claimant expend the time and resources needed to file an

unnecessary claim petition in order to vindicate his or her rights.

When, as here, a provision of the Act does not address the situation at

hand and to apply it would not clearly serve the humanitarian purpose of the Act,

resort to principles of statutory construction is appropriate. See Hannaberry HVAC

v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Snyder), 834 A.2d 524, 533 (Pa. 2003). When the

words of a statute are not explicit, the intention of the General Assembly may be

ascertained by considering, among other matters, the occasion and necessity of the

statute; the circumstances under which it was enacted; the mischief to be remedied;

the object to be attained; the former law, if any, including other statutes upon the

same or similar subjects; the consequences of a particular interpretation; the

12

contemporaneous legislative history; and legislative and administrative

interpretations of such statute. Section 1921 of the Statutory Construction Act of

1972, 1 Pa.C.S. § 1921(c). Of those principles, we believe of primary applicability

to this matter are the objects to be attained by Section 406.1(d)(i)-(ii) and the

consequences of the Board’s proposed interpretation. Section 406.1(d)(i)-(ii) serves

to notify a claimant of the status of his or her claim and inform the claimant that his

or her claim has been denied by the employer and that liability must be established

by a claim petition. These objects are inappropriate here, where a claim has been

accepted by the employer and the claimant may establish rights to future

compensation by a reinstatement petition. With respect to the consequences of the

Board’s interpretation, we believe that it would lead to an absurd result—namely, a

misinformed claimant. See 1 Pa.C.S. § 1922(1) (fundamental presumption in

“ascertaining the intention of the General Assembly in the enactment of a statute” is

that “the General Assembly does not intend a result that is absurd, impossible of

execution or unreasonable”); Hannaberry, 834 A.2d at 531.

In light of the foregoing, we reverse the order of the Board insofar as it

orders reinstatement of indemnity benefits as of October 10, 2018, or as of such date

as indemnity payments were stopped.

_____________________________________

BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER,

President Judge Emerita

Judge Fizzano Cannon did not participate in the decision for this case.

13

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Raymour & Flanigan, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 371 C.D. 2020

:

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Obeid), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 16th day of August, 2021, the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board is REVERSED insofar as it reinstates indemnity

benefits as of October 10, 2018, or as of such date as indemnity payments were

stopped.

_____________________________________

BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER,

President Judge Emerita

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.