Opinion

Twin City Fire Insurance Co v. Glenn O. Hawbaker Inc

  • 118 F.4th 567
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Oct 3, 2024
Status
Published
Cited by
11 cases
Authority
More cited than 64.1%

“The language ‘based upon, arising from, or in any way related to’ is sweeping in scope; the phrase ‘arising from’ requires only but- for causation (not proximate causation), and the phrase ‘in any way related to’ seems to permit an even looser connection between a claim.”

How later courts described this case

  • “The language ‘based upon, arising from, or in any way related to’ is sweeping in scope; the phrase ‘arising from’ requires only but- for causation (not proximate causation), and the phrase ‘in any way related to’ seems to permit an even looser connection between a claim.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

_______________________

No. 24-1102

_______________________

TWIN CITY FIRE INSURANCE CO.

v.

GLENN O. HAWBAKER, INC.; DANIEL HAWBAKER;

PATRICK HAWBAKER; D. MICHAEL HAWBAKER,

Appellants

_______________________

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Pennsylvania

District Court No. 4:22-cv-01485

Chief District Judge: Honorable Matthew W. Brann

__________________________

Submitted Under Third Circuit L.A.R. 34.1(a)

September 20, 2024

Before: RESTREPO, McKEE, and SMITH, Circuit Judges

(Filed: October 3, 2024)

Lauren Anthony

Jonathan H. Rudd

McNees Wallace & Nurick

100 Pine Street

P.O. Box 1166

Harrisburg, PA 17101

Counsel for Appellants

Robert L. Ebby

Ronald P. Schiller

Hangley Aronchick Segal Pudlin & Schiller

One Logan Square

18th & Cherry Streets, 27th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Appellee

__________________________

OPINION OF THE COURT

__________________________

SMITH, Circuit Judge.

Over the course of several years, Glenn O. Hawbaker,

Inc. (“GOH”), carried out an unlawful scheme that involved,

inter alia, underpaying some of its employees. When two

class-action lawsuits against GOH followed, the company

sought coverage under an insurance policy that it held with

Twin City Fire Insurance Company (“Twin City”). But Twin

City denied coverage and initiated this case, asking the District

2

Court to declare that Twin City did not have a duty to provide

coverage. GOH and its Board of Directors (collectively

referred to as “Appellants”) responded by raising

counterclaims that alleged a breach of contract and asked the

District Court to declare that certain claims in those class

actions were indeed covered under the policy.

In August 2023, the District Court granted Twin City’s

motion to dismiss Appellants’ counterclaims. And in

December 2023, the District Court granted Twin City’s motion

for judgment on the pleadings with respect to its request for a

declaratory judgment. In reaching those decisions, the District

Court concluded that the claims in question were not covered

under the policy because they fell within a policy exclusion that

applies to claims that are “based upon, aris[e] from, or [are] in

any way related to any . . . Wage and Hour Violation.” App.

at 105A (boldface type omitted). Appellants challenge both of

those decisions in this appeal. For the reasons that follow, the

District Court correctly concluded that the claims in question

are not covered under the policy. Accordingly, we will affirm

the District Court’s judgment.

I. Background

GOH is a Pennsylvania corporation whose work

includes construction and paving for “both private and public

sector customers.”1 Many of GOH’s jobs have been public-

works projects that are governed by the Pennsylvania

Prevailing Wage Act (“PWA”), 43 Pa. Stat. §§ 165-1–165-17,

1

Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc., https://www.goh-inc.com (last

visited Oct. 2, 2024).

3

and/or the Davis-Bacon Act (“DBA”), 40 U.S.C. §§ 3141-48.

“A contract is subject to the [PWA] if it is for a

public[-]work[s] project in excess of $25,000.” W. Chester

Univ. of Pa. v. Browne, 71 A.3d 1064, 1068 (Pa. Commw. Ct.

2013). The DBA, meanwhile, applies to a public-works

project where the amount of federal funding is greater than

$2,000. 40 U.S.C. § 3142(a); United States ex rel. Int’l Bhd.

of Elec. Workers Loc. Union No. 98 v. Fairfield Co., 5 F.4th

315, 323 n.1 (3d Cir. 2021) [hereinafter IBEW Loc. No. 98].

These statutes require a company awarded a qualifying public-

works contract to pay a prevailing minimum wage (“prevailing

wage”) to its employees for their work on that project. See

Commonwealth v. Goodco Mech., Inc., 291 A.3d 378, 387 (Pa.

Super. Ct. 2023) (discussing the PWA); IBEW Loc. No. 98, 5

F.4th at 323 (discussing the DBA).2 The prevailing wage

comprises (1) an hourly base rate of pay, and (2) fringe

benefits, which can include, inter alia, employer contributions

to the employees’ pension or health-insurance fund. See W.

Chester Univ. of Pa., 71 A.3d at 1068-69 (discussing the

PWA); Amaya v. Power Design, Inc., 833 F.3d 440, 443 & n.3

(4th Cir. 2016) (discussing the DBA).

2

The prevailing-wage rates vary by locality and are set by

Pennsylvania’s Department of Labor and Industry (in the case

of the PWA), Goodco Mech., Inc., 291 A.3d at 387, or the

federal Department of Labor (in the case of the DBA), IBEW

Loc. No. 98, 5 F.4th at 323.

4

A. GOH’s unlawful scheme and the class-action

lawsuits that followed

In 2021, “the Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General

(OAG) filed a criminal complaint against [GOH], charging

[GOH] with four counts of theft by failure to make required

disposition of funds received in violation of [18 Pa. Cons. Stat.

Ann. § 3927(a)].” Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc. v. Dep’t of

Transp., 304 A.3d 1067, 1070 (Pa. 2023). Those charges

stemmed from allegations that, from 2015 to 2018, GOH

repeatedly violated the PWA and DBA by misappropriating

about $20.7 million in fringe-benefit payments owed to its

prevailing-wage employees. A few months after the criminal

complaint issued, GOH and the OAG entered into a written

plea agreement. As part of that agreement, GOH agreed to

plead no contest to the four charges and pay about $20.7

million in restitution to the victims.

Not surprisingly, in the months after the OAG brought

the criminal charges against GOH, two follow-on, class-action

complaints were filed by victims of GOH’s misappropriation.

The class-action complaint filed first in time was King v. Glenn

O. Hawbaker, Inc., brought in the Court of Common Pleas for

Centre County, Pennsylvania. It named only GOH as a

defendant. Next came Packer v. Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc.,

filed in the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of

Pennsylvania. In this case, the putative class named not only

GOH, but also GOH’s Board of Directors and the Plan

Administrator of GOH’s retirement plan.

The two class-action complaints included lengthy,

substantially similar background sections detailing GOH’s

5

scheme to misappropriate its prevailing-wage employees’

fringe benefits. As a general matter, that scheme had two

components. First, “[i]nstead of putting all of the prevailing

wage workers’ retirement benefit funds into the account[s] of

the worker[s] who actually earned [them], GOH stole that

money and used it to pay for all GOH’s employees’,

executives’, and owners’ retirement benefits.” App. at 244A

(King complaint) (emphasis added); see id. at 292A (Packer

complaint). GOH did so by putting “that money into one big,

unallocated account,” and then, “[j]ust prior to the end of the

first quarter of the following year, . . . spread[ing] out [that

money] across all GOH employees’, executives’, and owners’

retirement accounts.” Id. at 243A, 291A. Second, GOH paid

only a fraction of the required amount of health and welfare

benefits to its prevailing-wage employees, “stealing the rest to

pay for the health and welfare benefits of . . . [its] non-

prevailing[-]wage employees and executives.” Id. at 245A,

292A. It is further alleged that GOH hid its underfunding of

prevailing-wage employees’ health and welfare benefits “by

reporting to government agencies that it was paying well in

excess of what was required by law, using an hourly health and

welfare figure that was based on grossly inflated costs and

nonqualifying expenses.” Id. at 245A, 292A-93A.

Based on GOH’s scheme, the King complaint raised the

following claims: (1) breach of contract for not timely paying

its prevailing-wage employees all the wages and benefits they

had earned; (2) breach of contract for misappropriating

retirement accounts; and (3) violating Pennsylvania’s Wage

6

Payment and Collection Law, 43 Pa. Stat. §§ 260.1–260.13.3

The breach-of-contract claim for misappropriating retirement

accounts was undergirded by an allegation that GOH’s failure

to timely deposit the correct amount into the accounts of its

prevailing-wage employees “deprived and continues to deprive

[them] of interest, earnings and investment returns that

otherwise would have been received in the absence of [GOH’s]

scheme and breach of contract.” App. at 258A-59A.

As for the Packer complaint, that pleading raised the

following claims under the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001-1461:

(1) GOH and the Plan Administrator breached their fiduciary

duties by, inter alia, making untimely and incorrect

contributions to the prevailing-wage employees’ 401(k)

3

As the District Court noted, the King complaint also raised,

in the alternative, “quasi-contractual claims for restitution and

unjust enrichment.” Twin City Fire Ins. Co. v. Glenn O.

Hawbaker, Inc., No. 4:22-cv-01485, 2023 WL 5652011, at *2

n.15 (M.D. Pa. Aug. 31, 2023); see Khawaja v. RE/MAX

Cent., 151 A.3d 626, 633 (Pa. Super. Ct. 2016) (“A claim

sounding in breach of contract may be pleaded alternatively

with a claim of unjust enrichment if the claims are raised in

separate counts of a complaint.”); see also Wilson Area Sch.

Dist. v. Skepton, 895 A.2d 1250, 1254 (Pa. 2006) (“[T]he

doctrine of unjust enrichment contemplates that ‘[a] person

who has been unjustly enriched at the expense of another must

make restitution to the other.’” (second alteration in original)

(quoting Binns v. First Nat’l Bank of Cal., Pa., 80 A.2d 768,

775 (Pa. 1951))).

7

accounts; and (2) GOH and the Board of Directors breached

their fiduciary duties by not monitoring the Plan Administrator

to ensure that the Plan Administrator was adequately

performing its duties.

B. GOH’s insurance policy with Twin City

Faced with the two class-action lawsuits, GOH sought

coverage under an insurance policy (“the Policy”) that it held

with Twin City. As discussed below, the relevant provisions

of the Policy are set forth in two sections — (1) the “Common

Terms and Conditions” (“CTC”) that generally apply under the

Policy, and (2) the pertinent coverage section, titled “Fiduciary

Liability Coverage Part” (“FLC”).

Under the CTC, Twin City generally bears the “duty to

defend Claims covered under the Policy, even if such Claim[s]

[are] groundless, false or fraudulent.” App. at 86A (boldface

type omitted). However, that duty is not triggered with respect

to claims that “involve allegations, in whole or in part, of a

Wage and Hour Violation.” Id. (boldface type omitted). The

Policy defines “Wage and Hour Violation” as

any actual or alleged violation of the duties and

responsibilities that are imposed upon an Insured

by any federal, state or local law or regulation

anywhere in the world, including but not limited

to the Fair Labor Standards Act [“FLSA”] or any

similar law (except the Equal Pay Act), which

govern wage, hour and payroll practices. Such

practices include but are not limited to: (1) the

calculation and payment of wages, overtime

8

wages, minimum wages and prevailing wage

rates; (2) the calculation and payment[] of

benefits; (3) the classification of any person or

organization for wage and hour purposes;

(4) reimbursing business expenses; (5) the use of

child labor; or (6) garnishments, withholdings

and other deductions from wages.

Id. at 83A-84A (boldface type omitted).

Under the FLC, “[t]he Insurer shall pay Loss on behalf

of the Insureds resulting from a Fiduciary Claim first made

against the Insureds . . . for a Wrongful Act by the Insureds or

by any person for whose Wrongful Acts the Insureds are

legally responsible.” Id. at 101A (boldface type omitted).4

4

“Insureds” include any “Insured Entity,” “Insured Person,” or

“Insured Plan.” App. at 104A (boldface type omitted).

“Insured Person” means any “Manager,” “Employee,” or

“natural person who was, is or shall become trustee of an

Insured Plan, or the member of any committee which oversees

the administration or investments of an Insured Plan, while in

such person’s capacity as a trustee or committee member.” Id.

at 103A (boldface type omitted). “Wrongful Act” is defined,

in pertinent part, as “any actual or alleged”:

(1) error, misstatement, misleading statement,

act, omission, neglect or breach of duty

constituting a violation of any responsibilities,

obligations or duties imposed upon fiduciaries of

an Insured Plan by ERISA or any similar law;

9

However, certain situations are specifically excluded from that

coverage provision. One of those situations is when the Loss

is “in connection with any Claim based upon, arising from, or

in any way related to any . . . Wage and Hour Violation.” Id.

at 105A (emphasis added and boldface type omitted). Under

the Policy, “Loss means Defense Costs and Damages.” Id. at

82A (boldface type omitted).

C. The District Court proceedings

GOH, contending the Policy covered the two class-

action lawsuits, asked Twin City to fulfill its duty to defend.

Twin City refused, denied coverage, and then initiated a

lawsuit in the District Court against Appellants (GOH and its

Board of Directors). Twin City’s amended complaint, which

is the operative pleading here, sought a declaratory judgment

that “Twin City does not have a duty to provide any coverage,

including any defense, in connection with the [two class

actions in question].” Id. at 72A. Appellants’ answer to that

pleading included counterclaims, which alleged a breach of

contract and asked the District Court to declare “that there are

claims asserted in the King Class Action and/or the Packer

. . . (4) error, misstatement, misleading

statement, act, omission, neglect or breach of

duty . . . in the administration of an Insured Plan;

. . . or (6) matter claimed against an Insured due

to such Insured acting in the capacity of a

fiduciary of an Insured Plan.

Id. at 104A-05A (boldface type omitted).

10

Class Action against [Appellants] that are covered pursuant to

the terms of the . . . Policy.” Id. at 357A.

1. District Court’s August 2023 decision

dismissing Appellants’ counterclaims

Twin City moved to dismiss Appellants’ counterclaims

pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6).

Appellants opposed that motion, arguing that neither Count 2

in the King complaint (the breach-of-contract claim for

misappropriating retirement accounts), nor the two ERISA

counts in the Packer complaint fell within the Policy’s

exclusions pertaining to Wage and Hour Violations.5 The

District Court subsequently held oral argument on Twin City’s

motion. Thereafter, in August 2023, the District Court issued

a thorough 31-page opinion and an accompanying order

granting that motion.

As mentioned earlier, Twin City does not have a duty to

defend covered claims if they “involve allegations, in whole or

in part, of a Wage and Hour Violation.” Id. at 86A (boldface

type omitted). Furthermore, a claim is not covered — that is,

Twin City does not have a duty to pay “Loss” (defense costs

and damages) — if that claim is “based upon, aris[es] from, or

[is] in any way related to any . . . Wage and Hour Violation.”

5

GOH acknowledged that Counts 1 and 3 in the King

complaint “involve claims for wage and hour violations.”

App. at 383A. Although the King complaint was not brought

against GOH’s Board of Directors, they, too, acknowledged

that this complaint “does include claims for wages.” Id. at

429A.

11

Id. at 105A (emphasis added and boldface type omitted).

Although the District Court determined that a violation of

ERISA “or any similar law” does not fall within the definition

of “Wage and Hour Violation,” see Twin City Fire Ins. Co. v.

Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc., No. 4:22-cv-01485, 2023 WL

5652011, at *8 (M.D. Pa. Aug. 31, 2023) [hereinafter Twin

City I], that court concluded that the two Packer claims and

Count 2 of the King complaint (collectively referred to as “the

Disputed Claims”) are not covered claims because they “arise

out of other violations that are unambiguously Wage and Hour

Violations, such as the failure to pay wages,” id. at *12; see id.

at *10 (stating that “Pennsylvania law is well settled that

‘arising out of’ requires [only] ‘but for’ causation”).

2. District Court’s December 2023

decision granting judgment on the

pleadings in favor of Twin City

After the District Court issued its August 2023 decision,

Twin City moved for judgment on the pleadings with respect

to its declaratory-judgment claim. Appellants opposed that

motion and moved for reconsideration of the District Court’s

August 2023 decision. In December 2023, the District Court

granted Twin City’s motion, denied Appellants’

reconsideration motion as moot,6 and directed the District

6

The District Court noted Appellants’ acknowledgement “that,

‘[s]hould th[at] Court reject all of GOH’s arguments opposing

the motion for judgment on the pleadings and enter judgment

in favor of Twin City on Twin City’s affirmative claims . . .

there would be nothing for the Court to reconsider.’” Twin

City Fire Ins. Co. v. Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc., No. 4:22-cv-

12

Court Clerk to close the case. In doing so, the District Court

rejected Appellants’ argument “that there are claims for which

they seek coverage that are not related to the alleged scheme to

underpay prevailing[-]wage employees.” Twin City Fire Ins.

Co. v. Glenn O. Hawbaker, Inc., No. 4:22-cv-01485, 2023 WL

8791175, at *2 (M.D. Pa. Dec. 19, 2023) [hereinafter Twin

City II]; see id. at *3.

Appellants then timely filed this appeal, seeking review

of the District Court’s August 2023 and December 2023

decisions.

II. Jurisdiction and Standard of Review

The District Court had diversity jurisdiction over this

case, see 28 U.S.C. § 1332(a)(1),7 and we have appellate

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

A motion for judgment on the pleadings is analyzed

under the same standard as a motion to dismiss filed pursuant

01485, 2023 WL 8791175, at *4 n.38 (M.D. Pa. Dec. 19, 2023)

(first alteration and ellipsis in original) (quoting Appellants’

reply in support of their motion for reconsideration).

7

There is complete diversity amongst the parties (Twin City is

a citizen of Connecticut and Indiana, and none of Appellants is

a citizen of either of those states), and the matter in controversy

is greater than $75,000. Although Appellants assert that the

District Court also had jurisdiction pursuant to the Declaratory

Judgment Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2201, they are mistaken. See Allen

v. DeBello, 861 F.3d 433, 444 (3d Cir. 2017) (“The

13

to Rule 12(b)(6). Vitamin Energy, LLC v. Evanston Ins. Co.,

22 F.4th 386, 392 n.6 (3d Cir. 2022). In reviewing either

motion, a district court must accept as true the well-pleaded

allegations in the pleading of the non-moving party and draw

all reasonable inferences in that party’s favor. See Zimmerman

v. Corbett, 873 F.3d 414, 417-18 (3d Cir. 2017) (addressing a

motion for judgment on the pleadings); McTernan v. City of

York, 577 F.3d 521, 526 (3d Cir. 2009) (addressing a motion

to dismiss). “We exercise plenary review over rulings on

motions to dismiss, and over rulings on motions for judgments

on the pleadings.” In re Majestic Star Casino, LLC, 716 F.3d

736, 747 (3d Cir. 2013) (citations omitted).8

Declaratory Judgment Act does not . . . provide an independent

basis for subject-matter jurisdiction; it merely defines a

remedy.”).

8

The District Court’s denial of Appellants’ motion to

reconsider the dismissal of their counterclaims is mentioned

only in passing in Appellants’ opening brief. As a result, we

deem any challenge to that ruling forfeited. See Geness v. Cox,

902 F.3d 344, 355 (3d Cir. 2018) (“[I]t is ‘well settled that a

passing reference to an issue will not suffice to bring that issue

before this court.’” (quoting Kach v. Hose, 589 F.3d 626, 642

(3d Cir. 2009))). But even if we were to determine that they

have indeed preserved a challenge to that ruling, we would

conclude that they have not demonstrated that reconsideration

was warranted. See generally Lazaridis v. Wehmer, 591 F.3d

666, 669 (3d Cir. 2010) (per curiam) (indicating that a motion

for reconsideration has merit only if the movant shows that

14

III. Discussion

A. Standards for determining whether an

insurance claim is covered

The District Court stated, and the parties agree, that

Pennsylvania’s substantive law governs in this diversity

action.9 Under Pennsylvania law, “[a] court’s first step in a

declaratory judgment action concerning insurance coverage is

to determine the scope of the policy’s coverage.” Gen.

Accident Ins. Co. of Am. v. Allen, 692 A.2d 1089, 1095 (Pa.

1997) [hereinafter Allen]. In making that determination, “[t]he

(1) there has been “an intervening change in controlling law,”

(2) there is new evidence that bears on the district court’s

underlying decision, or (3) there is a “need to correct clear error

of law or prevent manifest injustice”). In view of all this, we

need not address Twin City’s argument that Appellants’

motion for reconsideration was untimely.

9

We see no reason for another state’s law to apply. The Policy

does not contain a choice-of-law provision, and there is

nothing in Pennsylvania’s choice-of-law principles that points

to applying another state’s substantive law in this case. See

McDonald v. Whitewater Challengers, Inc., 116 A.3d 99, 106-

07 (Pa. Super. Ct. 2015) (discussing Pennsylvania’s choice-of-

law framework in contract cases); see also SodexoMAGIC,

LLC v. Drexel Univ., 24 F.4th 183, 204 (3d Cir. 2022) (“In

exercising diversity jurisdiction, a federal court employs the

choice-of-law principles of its forum state to determine which

substantive law governs . . . .”).

15

policy must be read as a whole and construed in accordance

with the plain meaning of terms.” Am. Auto. Ins. Co. v.

Murray, 658 F.3d 311, 320 (3d Cir. 2011) (applying

Pennsylvania law). “[I]f possible, a court should interpret the

policy so as to avoid ambiguities and give effect to all of its

provisions.” Id. at 321 (quoting Med. Protective Co. v.

Watkins, 198 F.3d 100, 103 (3d Cir. 1999)). That said, “if the

contract’s [provisions] are reasonably susceptible to more than

one interpretation, then they must be regarded as ambiguous.”

Id. An ambiguous provision “must be construed against the

insurer and in favor of the insured.” Id. (quoting Med.

Protective Co., 198 F.3d at 104).

Once a court determines the scope of coverage, it then

“examine[s] the complaint in the underlying action to ascertain

if it triggers coverage.” Allen, 692 A.2d at 1095. “Whether a

claim is ‘potentially covered is answered by comparing the

four corners of the insurance contract to the four corners of the

complaint.’” Erie Ins. Exch. v. Moore, 228 A.3d 258, 265 (Pa.

2020) (quoting Am. & Foreign Ins. Co. v. Jerry’s Sport Ctr.,

Inc., 2 A.3d 526, 541 (Pa. 2010)). “[I]f any doubt or ambiguity

exists, it must be resolved in favor of coverage.” Id.

B. The District Court correctly concluded that

the Disputed Claims are not covered under

the Policy

Recall that the CTC defines “Wage and Hour Violation”

as “any actual or alleged violation of the duties and

responsibilities that are imposed upon an Insured by any

federal, state or local law or regulation . . . , including but not

limited to the [FLSA] or any similar law (except the Equal Pay

16

Act), which govern wage, hour and payroll practices.” App. at

83A (boldface type omitted). Although such “practices” are

defined to include, inter alia, “the calculation and payment[] of

benefits,” id. at 84A, that part of the definition seems to be in

tension with the FLC, which generally covers violations of

ERISA — a statute that established a regulatory scheme

governing employee benefits, see Estate of Kensinger v. URL

Pharma, Inc., 674 F.3d 131, 135 (3d Cir. 2012).

The District Court recognized this tension, see Twin

City I, 2023 WL 5652011, at *12 (agreeing with Appellants

“that the definition of Wage and Hour Violation conflicts with

the Policy’s Fiduciary Liability coverage”), and it determined

that the definition of “Wage and Hour Violation” does not

include “alleged violations of ERISA or any similar law,” id.

at *8. In doing so, the District Court did not explicitly state

that it was construing an ambiguous provision in favor of the

insured. However, it appears that the District Court was indeed

construing the definition of Wage and Hour Violation in that

manner. Neither Appellants nor Twin City objects to that

construction on appeal, and we see no reason to interpret the

Policy differently.

Because (1) the definition of Wage and Hour Violation

does not include violations of ERISA or a similar law, and

(2) the Disputed Claims alleged violations of ERISA or a

similar law, the CTC’s Wage-and-Hour-Violation exception to

Twin City’s duty to defend does not apply to those claims. But

that does not end the matter. For Twin City’s duty to defend

to be triggered, the claims in question must be covered under

the Policy. And whether those claims are covered is

determined by looking to the FLC, which provides coverage

17

for “Fiduciary Claims,” see App. at 102A-03A (defining that

term), so long as those claims are not “based upon, aris[e] from,

or [are] in any way related to any . . . Wage and Hour

Violation,” id. at 105A (boldface type omitted). The pivotal

question we confront, then, is whether the Disputed Claims are

based upon, arise from, or are in any way related to a Wage and

Hour Violation.

Both the Packer and King complaints detailed at length

GOH’s scheme to underpay its prevailing-wage employees by,

in essence, distributing the fringe-benefit portion of their

prevailing wages to all GOH employees. These allegations of

wage underpayment undergird Counts 1 and 3 of the King

complaint (hereinafter “the King Wage Claims”),10 and

Appellants have conceded that those two counts “involve

claims for wage and hour violations.” Id. at 383A; see

Appellants’ Opening Br. 24; Appellants’ Reply Br. 12.

Nevertheless, Appellants have argued that the King Wage

Claims are entirely separate from the Disputed Claims, for the

latter “go[] to the ‘timing’ of the contribution made to the

employees’ individual retirement accounts.” App. at 462A.

The District Court rejected this argument, stating that “[t]he

10

See App. at 257A (alleging that GOH “breached its contract

with Plaintiff and the Class by not paying them timely for all

wages and fringe benefits earned, owed and promised on jobs

covered by the PWA or the DBA”) (Count 1); id. at 261A

(alleging that GOH violated Pennsylvania’s Wage Payment

and Collection Law by “willfully fail[ing] to pay timely all

wages and fringe benefits earned by and owed to Plaintiff and

the Class”) (Count 3).

18

Underlying Class Actions do not allege separate schemes of

untimely payments in which one is entirely unrelated to the

alleged scheme of underpayments.” Twin City II, 2023 WL

8791175, at *3; see id. (“[T]he scheme of untimely benefits

payments was part and parcel of the scheme to underpay

employees.”).

We agree with the District Court. The language “based

upon, arising from, or in any way related to” is sweeping in

scope; the phrase “arising from” requires only but-for

causation (not proximate causation),11 and the phrase “in any

way related to” seems to permit an even looser connection

between a claim and a Wage and Hour Violation. See USA

Gymnastics v. Liberty Ins. Underwriters, Inc., 27 F.4th 499,

524 (7th Cir. 2022) (per curiam) (stating that the phrase “‘in

any way related to’ cannot be limited to just causal

relationships in [the] policy”); see also HR Acquisition I Corp.

11

“The phrase ‘arising out of,’ when used in a Pennsylvania

insurance exclusion, unambiguously requires ‘but for’

causation.” Gen. Refractories Co. v. First State Ins. Co., 855

F.3d 152, 155 (3d Cir. 2017) (emphasis added); see id. at 159-

60 (collecting cases from the Pennsylvania state courts).

Although the exclusion here uses the phrase “arising from,”

neither the District Court nor any of the parties have taken the

position that the two phrases are distinguishable, and we see no

semantic reason to distinguish them. See Spirtas Co. v. Fed.

Ins. Co., 521 F.3d 833, 836 (8th Cir. 2008) (“[I]n the insurance

context[,] courts appear to be unanimous in interpreting the

phrase ‘arising out of’ synonymously with the term ‘arising

from’ . . . .” (collecting cases)).

19

v. Twin City Fire Ins. Co., 547 F.3d 1309, 1316 (11th Cir.

2008) (indicating that the phrase “in any way related to” sets a

“low standard”). GOH’s alleged scheme involved funneling

retirement funds owed to prevailing-wage employees into “one

big, unallocated account,” App. at 243A, 291A, and then later,

in an untimely fashion, distributing those funds to all GOH

employees. We cannot conclude that the first part of that

scheme (the underpayment of GOH’s prevailing-wage

employees’ wages) was unrelated to the second part (the

untimely disbursement of funds to all GOH employees).

C. Appellants’ various arguments attacking the

District Court’s judgment are unpersuasive

Appellants, in support of their argument that the

Disputed Claims are entirely separate from a Wage and Hour

Violation, point to “significant differences in legal theories,”

Appellants’ Opening Br. 23; see, e.g., id. at 24 (attempting to

distinguish the Disputed Claims by describing them as “classic

fiduciary liability claims”), and stress that the Disputed Claims

are not seeking (and cannot seek) to recover lost wages. But

these points do not control the analysis; rather, what matters is

whether the factual allegations undergirding the Disputed

Claims are in some way related to an alleged Wage and Hour

Violation. See Mut. Benefit Ins. Co. v. Haver, 725 A.2d 743,

745 (Pa. 1999) (“[T]he particular cause of action that a

complainant pleads is not determinative of whether coverage

has been triggered. Instead[,] it is necessary to look at the

factual allegations contained in the complaint.”). Appellants

also emphasize that some of the class members were overpaid

(to the extent that those employees’ claims hinged on the

timing, rather than the amount, of the retirement

20

disbursements). But that distinction does not control either.

As the District Court explained in its opinion granting Twin

City’s motion for judgment on the pleadings, “the scheme of

untimely benefits payments was part and parcel of the scheme

to underpay employees. That the scheme may have impacted

certain individuals differently, or perhaps even benefited

certain individuals, is not relevant to the inquiry.” Twin City

II, 2023 WL 8791175, at *3. We have found no authority that

contradicts that reasoning.

Although Appellants cite two cases in support of their

position that the Disputed Claims should be treated separately

from any Wage and Hour Violation, neither is on point. In one

case, Perdue Farms, Inc. v. Travelers Cas. & Sur. Co. of Am.,

448 F.3d 252 (4th Cir. 2006), the district court determined that

the insurer had a duty to indemnify the insured for both covered

claims (ERISA claims) and non-covered claims (wage and

hour claims) because the latter were “reasonably related” to the

former. Id. at 259. The Fourth Circuit reversed, but it did so

having concluded that Maryland law’s “reasonably related”

rule did not apply in the indemnification context. Id. at 260-

61. Accordingly, while Perdue Farms might show, as a general

matter, “that it is possible to separate non-covered wage and

hour claims from covered fiduciary liability claims,”

Appellants’ Opening Br. 37, that decision does not bear on the

pertinent question here: whether, under the Policy’s exclusion

provision, the Disputed Claims are “in any way related to” a

Wage and Hour Violation.

The other case cited by Appellants is Dobson v. Twin

City Fire Ins. Co., 590 F. App’x 687 (9th Cir. 2015) (per

curiam). There, in a short, non-precedential opinion, the Ninth

21

Circuit concluded that a breach-of-fiduciary-duty claim was

covered under the insurance policy in question, while certain

other claims were not. Id. at 688. Although Appellants argue

that Dobson supports “the general idea that it is possible to

separate covered fiduciary claims from other, non-covered

claims in underlying actions when making a coverage

determination,” Appellants’ Opening Br. 38, it contains no

analysis that might bear on the critical question of whether the

Disputed Claims are “in any way related to” a Wage and Hour

Violation.

Appellants also attack the District Court’s application

of the Policy’s “in any way related to” language, arguing that

“the District Court endorsed a relatedness inquiry with . . . the

potential for virtually any claim in any suit to be deemed

related to another.” Id. at 34; see id. at 48 (“[T]he District

Court interpreted the Policy in such a way that the Wage and

Hour Violation exclusion effectively swallows the affirmative

grant of coverage for ERISA claims as set forth in the [FLC]

. . . .”). But nothing in the District Court’s analysis suggests

that it endorsed such an all-encompassing relatedness analysis.

Rather, the District Court simply concluded that the

underpayment-of-wages part of GOH’s scheme was related to

the untimely-disbursement-of-retirement-contributions part of

the scheme. See, e.g., Twin City II, 2023 WL 8791175, at *3.

That conclusion hardly suggests that the Wage-and-Hour-

Violation exclusion would foreclose coverage on every ERISA

or similar claim. Furthermore, contrary to Appellants’

assertion, the District Court’s interpretation of the Policy does

22

not render the FLC’s coverage of ERISA claims and similar

claims illusory.12

Appellants also argue that the dismissal of its

counterclaims and the grant of judgment on the pleadings in

favor of Twin City were improper because “there are factual

issues that need to be resolved before a final coverage

determination can be made.” Appellants’ Opening Br. 38.

More specifically, Appellants assert that there are unresolved

12

Although the scope of the exclusion in this case is

undoubtedly broad, see supra pp. 19-20, one can readily think

of examples of fiduciary claims that would not fall within it.

Consider a scenario where a retirement fund’s plan

administrator invested the correct amounts on the employees’

behalf but allegedly did so in a way that enabled the plan

administrator to profit from those investments. Or a scenario

where the plan administrator, in investing the correct amounts,

allegedly failed to act with reasonable care to diversify the

employees’ investments. These scenarios, which involve

ERISA claims, see Edmonson v. Lincoln Nat’l Life Ins. Co.,

725 F.3d 406, 415 (3d Cir. 2013) (“ERISA’s duty of loyalty

bars a fiduciary from profiting even if no loss to the plan

occurs.”); Berkelhammer v. ADP TotalSource Grp., Inc., 74

F.4th 115, 117 n.1 (3d Cir. 2023) (noting that, under ERISA, a

fiduciary must “act[] with reasonable care to diversify

investments”), would not be “based on, aris[e] from, or [be]

any way related to” a Wage and Hour Violation (recall that the

definition of “Wage and Hour Violation,” construed in the

insured’s favor, does not include a violation of ERISA or a

similar law, see supra p. 17).

23

factual issues regarding (1) “the ‘relative legal exposure’ to

GOH from covered and non-covered claims,” id. at 39,

(2) what relief is being sought in Packer, and (3) differences

amongst the various class members (particularly, the fact that

some employees were overpaid). But none of these factual

issues need be resolved to decide the case before us.13 First,

since none of the claims in the King and Packer actions are

covered under the Policy (because each claim either involves a

Wage and Hour Violation or is in some way related to a Wage

and Hour Violation), there is no need to apportion liability

between covered and non-covered claims. See Twin City I,

2023 WL 5652011, at *11 (“[T]he relative exposure between

the fiduciary liability claims and the wage and hour claims is

irrelevant; none of the claims are covered so 100% of the legal

exposure is for uncovered claims.”). Second, the relief being

sought in Packer does not control the coverage analysis; as

mentioned earlier, what matters is whether the factual

allegations undergirding the Packer claims are in some way

related to a Wage and Hour Violation. See supra p. 20. And

third, as the District Court explained, “[t]hat [GOH’s] scheme

may have impacted certain individuals differently, or perhaps

13

“[T]o the extent there are undetermined facts that might

impact on coverage, the insurer has a duty to defend until the

‘claim is narrowed to one patently outside the policy

coverage,’ for example through discovery.” Erie Ins. Exch.,

228 A.3d at 265 (quoting Mace v. Atl. Refin. Mktg. Corp., 785

A.2d 491, 500 (Pa. 2001) (Saylor, J., dissenting)). But that

duty to defend was not triggered in this case, for the factual

issues cited by Appellants do not affect the coverage

determination.

24

even benefited certain individuals, is not relevant to the

[coverage] inquiry.” Twin City II, 2023 WL 8791175, at *3.

None of the other arguments presented in Appellants’

briefing is persuasive. For example, although Appellants

correctly note that an insurer has a duty to defend a claim that

is even potentially covered by the insurance policy in question,

see Erie Ins. Exch., 228 A.3d at 265 (explaining that an

insurer’s duty to defend “is triggered ‘if the factual allegations

of the complaint on its face encompass an injury that is actually

or potentially within the scope of the policy’” (emphasis

omitted) (quoting Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. Am. Nuclear

Insurers, 131 A.3d 445, 456 (Pa. 2015))), none of the Disputed

Claims is potentially covered. Indeed, as indicated above,

these claims are clearly excluded from coverage because they

are at least in some way related to a Wage and Hour Violation.

Nor is there merit to Appellants’ argument that “the District

Court essentially ignored the law on construing ambiguities

against the drafter by giving Twin City the benefit of its

ambiguous language.” Appellants’ Opening Br. 46. As

discussed earlier, the District Court construed the definition of

“Wage and Hour Violation” in Appellants’ favor (by

interpreting that provision so that it did not include alleged

violations of ERISA or any similar law), and we see no other

ambiguity in the relevant provisions of the Policy.

IV. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we will affirm the judgment

of the District Court.

25

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.