Opinion

Westport Ins v. PA Natl Mutual

  • 117 F.4th 653
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Sep 18, 2024
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Private Civil Diversity
Cited by
5 cases
Authority
More cited than 51.7%

noting that an erroneous jury instruction is reversible only if it affected the outcome of the case

How later courts described this case

  • noting that an erroneous jury instruction is reversible only if it affected the outcome of the case

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 1 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

____________ FILED

September 18, 2024

No. 23-20282

Lyle W. Cayce

____________ Clerk

Westport Insurance Corporation, On Its Own Behalf and

Assignee of Houstoun, Woodward, Eason, Gentle,

Tomforde and Anderson, Incorporated, doing business as

Insurance Alliance,

Plaintiff—Appellant/Cross-Appellee,

versus

Pennsylvania National Mutual Casualty Insurance

Company, doing business as Penn National Insurance,

Defendant—Appellee/Cross-Appellant.

______________________________

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas

USDC No. 4:16-CV-1947

______________________________

Before Higginbotham, Stewart, and Higginson, Circuit Judges.

Carl E. Stewart, Circuit Judge:

This is a dispute between a primary insurer, Appellant Westport

Insurance Corporation (“Westport”), and an excess insurer, Appellee

Pennsylvania National Mutual Casualty Insurance Company (“Penn

National”). This case concerns liability for a judgment against their mutual

insured: Insurance Alliance (“IA”), an insurance agency. In 2008, Lake

Texoma Highport LLC (“Highport”) sued IA for failing to procure the

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 2 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

requested insurance coverage to protect its marina, which was damaged

during heavy rainfall destroying much of Highport’s property. IA had a

primary insurance policy with Westport and a policy that provided excess

coverage with Penn National. As the primary insurer, Westport controlled

the defense in the Highport suit. Throughout the underlying litigation,

Highport and Westport engaged in multiple settlement discussions, spanning

from 2009 through 2010, in which Westport rejected five settlement

demands offered. In 2012, a jury found IA liable for breach of contract in

failing to procure the requested insurance coverage for Highport’s marina.

Nearly four years later, Westport and Penn National each sued the

other in IA’s name as its subrogee, seeking to recover the portion of the

excess judgment it paid on the insured’s behalf. Westport sued Penn

National for breach of the excess insurance policy. Penn National

countersued Westport for violating its Stowers1 duty to accept one of the five

settlement offers within the primary insurance policy limits. At summary

judgment, the district court determined that Penn National breached its

duties to defend and to indemnify. After a five-day jury trial, a jury found that

Westport failed to act as an ordinarily prudent insurance company when it

did not accept any of Highport’s settlement demands.

We agree that Penn National breached its duties under the excess

insurance policy. We also agree that Westport’s Stowers duty was triggered

by Highport’s offers and that Westport violated this duty. The district

court’s judgment is AFFIRMED.

_____________________

1

G.A. Stowers Furniture Co. v. Am. Indem. Co., 15 S.W.2d 544 (Tex. Comm’n App.

1929) [hereinafter Stowers].

2

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 3 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

I.

A. Factual Background: The Highport Suit2

In 2007, Highport retained IA to procure blanket insurance for its

marina located in North Texas on Lake Texoma. IA engaged CRC Insurance

Services (“CRC”), an insurance intermediary, which in turn used its

affiliate, Bowood, to obtain a policy for Highport from Lloyd’s of London.

However, the policy obtained from Lloyd’s did not provide blanket coverage.

After suffering extensive flood damage to its marina in 2007, Highport

discovered that it did not have the blanket coverage as it had requested. This

gave rise to disputes among Highport, IA, CRC, Bowood, and Lloyd’s over

responsibility for Highport’s losses. On April 4, 2008, Highport filed a

lawsuit against IA and Lloyd’s in Texas state court for their failure to provide

the requested coverage.

IA was also insured. IA purchased a primary Insurance Industry

Professional Liability Policy from Westport (“Westport Policy”) with a

coverage period of June 1, 2007 to June 1, 2008. IA purchased an Agent’s

Umbrella Liability Policy (“Penn National Policy”) that provided excess

coverage for various underlying insurance policies, including the Westport

Policy from Penn National, with a coverage period of June 1, 2007 to June 1,

2008. The Westport Policy had a $5 million limit of liability per claim, and

the Penn National Policy carried a $15 million limit total. The Westport

Policy also required Westport to assume IA’s defense in cases such as the

underlying Highport litigation. Throughout the underlying litigation,

Highport and Westport engaged in multiple settlement discussions in which

_____________________

2

Over the span of fifty-one pages, the magistrate judge “recounts, in painful detail,

the loss that gave rise to IA’s claim, the course of litigation, the communications among IA,

Westport, Penn National, the underlying plaintiff, and others, and their actions.” We

highlight the most relevant events here.

3

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 4 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Westport rejected all five settlement demands offered in May 2009,

September 2009, May 2010, July 2010, and November 2010. A jury

ultimately found IA liable for breach of contract in failing to procure the

requested insurance coverage for Highport’s marina and awarded Highport

nearly $13.7 million.

On February 5, 2009, IA filed a third-party complaint against CRC

and Bowood in the Eastern District of Texas. On February 23, 2009, CRC

wrote IA to proclaim that should IA refuse to promptly withdraw the

February 5, 2009 demand letter and dismiss its third-party complaint against

CRC, CRC would treat such refusal as a continuing breach of IA’s obligations

to CRC under the Brokerage Agreement “to indemnify and hold CRC

harmless from any claim asserted against CRC in following the instructions

of the” insured. Moreover, CRC intended the letter to constitute “notice

and demand under the Brokerage Agreement that [IA] indemnify CRC, and

hold CRC harmless from and against any and all claims which have been or

may be asserted against CRC in respect of the insurance policy and

transaction made the basis of this captioned lawsuit.” On March 3, 2009,

Rick Oldenettel, IA’s trial attorney, wrote a letter to James Redeker,

Westport’s claim handler and corporate representative, regarding the CRC

indemnity claim. In the letter, Oldenettel confessed that counsel had

“determined [the third-party complaint] was necessary, because at this point

in time, [IA was] not sure whether the error interjected in the policy between

CRC and Southern Cross,3 or between Southern Cross and Bowood, or

Bowood and the underwriters in London.” He continued that “[IA does] not

_____________________

3

Third-party Defendant CRC Insurance Services lnc.—acting individually and/or

through its agent/affiliated entity/division Southern Cross Underwriters (a/k/a Southern

Cross Underwriters, Inc.) and d/b/a CRC of Texas, Inc. and/or CRC Insurance Services

of Texas, lnc. (hereafter collectively referred to as “CRC”)—is an Alabama corporation

doing business in Texas.

4

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 5 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

believe the indemnity paragraph to be applicable under the facts of this case,

and with [Westport’s] permission will politely decline [the] same.” That

same day, Oldenettel responded to CRC stating that “[IA] rejects, in total,

all of [CRC’s] demands, allegations and contentions contained in [the] letter

of February 23, 2009. The notice letter and the Third-Party Petition will not

be withdrawn, and [IA] intend[s] to proceed with [its] claims as stated.” In

response to IA’s third-party complaint against CRC and Bowood, Highport

filed a second amended complaint asserting claims against CRC and Bowood

as third-party defendants on April 3, 2009.

On May 15, 2009—five days before the scheduled mediation and

slightly more than one year after the filing of the Highport lawsuit—

Oldenettel drafted a letter to Westport and IA stating that, although an initial

exchange of documents by some of the parties had occurred, his opinion was

that the mediation was “extremely premature” because no discovery had

taken place. In the May 15, 2009 pre-mediation analysis letter to Redeker and

Westport, Oldenettel again proclaimed that “[w]e do not believe the

indemnity paragraph to be applicable under the facts of this case” and further

acknowledged that CRC “raised the spectre [sic] of Arbitration per the

contract with [IA].”

On May 20, 2009, IA, CRC, Bowood, and Highport attended their

first mediation. Westport did not attend. Highport delivered a written offer

to IA at the mediation for $2 million with Highport’s “full & complete

release of any and all claims arising out of the placement of coverage at issue

in the pending suit.” The offer was intended to comply with the Stowers

doctrine but expired at 11:30 p.m., forty-five minutes after it was made.

Neither IA nor Westport made a counteroffer in response to the $2 million

demand before the window expired. At midnight on May 20, 2009, Lloyd’s

reached a settlement agreement with Highport for $5.25 million. On May 21,

2009, Oldenettel sent Redeker a post-mediation analysis letter. In the letter,

5

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 6 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

he explained that “[the May 20, 2009] Stower’s letter [was] premature as

there ha[d] not been an adequate opportunity to obtain discovery and

evaluate the merits of everyone’s respective positions. Furthermore, a forty-

five-minute window of opportunity on a Stower’s letter is laughable.”

On September 22, 2009, Highport sent IA a Stowers demand for

settlement in the amount of $2.2 million in exchange for a release of any and

all claims against IA related to the Highport litigation. The offer stated that

it would remain open for fifteen days. Westport rejected the demand. While

Westport controlled IA’s defense, Penn National was not notified of the suit

until 2010, “about two years after the Highport litigation began.” On March

15, 2010, Penn National sent a letter to Westport “demanding [it] resolve

this case within [its policy] limits immediately.”

On May 12, 2010, six days ahead of a second mediation, Highport

drafted a letter to IA offering to release any and all of Highport’s claims

against IA in exchange for $4.9 million. The letter was self-identified as a

Stowers demand. On May 18, 2010, a second mediation was held. At

mediation, Highport demanded $5.9 million but IA, CRC, and Bowood

countered with a joint offer of $2.1 million. The second mediation was

ultimately unsuccessful. In a letter dated May 24, 2010, Penn National wrote

Westport about the $4.9 million Stowers demand. Penn National requested

“Westport settle these cases at its own expense. In the Highport matter,

Westport should resolve this case either for the $4.9 million demanded in

Highport’s May 13, 2010 letter or in any agreement for [a] lesser amount that

[it] may negotiate.”

On July 7, 2010, IA, CRC, and Bowood proposed a collective $1.8

million settlement to Highport with IA contributing $1.1 million and CRC

and Bowood’s contributing a total of $700,000. On July 24, 2010, Highport

proposed a counteroffer of $3.6 million (“July 2010 counteroffer”),

6

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 7 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

indicating that it was the least Highport would accept, but IA and Westport

rejected it. The next settlement action was at the end of October 2010 when

the defendants agreed to increase the combined offer to $2.1 million.

Highport declined the offer, notifying IA that it was “sticking with [its] $3.6

million demand,” (“November 2010 counteroffer”). According to IA,

Westport always maintained that the Highport action could be resolved for

far less than its policy limits and that it was unwilling to tender these policy

limits. On September 13, 2010, CRC filed a third-party demand against IA

for breach of the Brokerage Agreement in an arbitration proceeding before

the American Arbitration Association.

In November 2011, in advance of a court-ordered third mediation,

Highport floated a demand of $25 million with IA’s portion at almost $15

million. Redeker characterized the demand as “ridiculous given the facts of

this case.” At the mediation on November 9, 2011, Highport started with the

$25 million demand and lowered it to $23 million, which received no offers

and effectively ended the mediation. In a letter dated February 10, 2012, IA’s

counsel attested that Westport had passed on several opportunities to settle

within its policy limits based on its belief that a lower settlement could be

reached. IA urged Westport to resolve the case as promptly as possible

because “it seem[ed] to be clear that [IA was] exposed to a jury verdict and

ultimately a judgment in a much larger amount.”

After several rounds of failed settlement offers, the Highport trial

began on April 17, 2012, and the jury ultimately found in favor of Highport.

On June 20, 2012, the state trial court entered a final judgment against IA and

awarded damages in the amount of $8,738,598, representing the jury’s

determination of the amount of property and business-interruption coverage

that would have been provided by the requested policy less the amount

available under the policy obtained. The court also awarded interest, court

7

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 8 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

costs, and attorneys’ fees—totaling $13.7 million against IA. Westport

appealed.

To prevent the seizure of IA’s assets during the appellate process, a

supersedeas bond was needed. IA contended that Westport was obligated to

procure a bond sufficient to cover the entire judgment. In a letter dated July

24, 2012, IA asserted that it was “crystal clear” that it was “Westport’s

obligation to procure a bond sufficient to supersede the entire judgment” and

then to seek reimbursement for any premium “attributable to any portion of

the judgment which exceed[ed] Westport’s liability.” IA opined that it was

“unlikely that anyone other than Westport ha[d] responsibility for payment

of the judgment” due to Westport’s repeated rejections of offers to settle

within the Westport Policy limits. During this time, Highport filed a petition

for a writ of garnishment to seize IA’s assets. Westport requested Penn

National to bond the portion of the judgment above Westport’s limits. Penn

National refused. Penn National’s response echoed IA’s interpretation of

Westport’s duty to procure a bond for the entire amount of the judgment.

During this period of deliberation, IA as principal and Liberty Mutual

Insurance Company as surety obtained a supersedeas bond in favor of

Highport in the amount of $11,257,861 on August 7, 2012, so as to avoid the

seizure of IA’s assets. Afterwards, IA requested that both Westport and Penn

National reimburse it for the bond. Westport responded to IA that it was

“willing to withdraw its argument on the bond, to reimburse IA for the bond

premium and substitute itself or one of its affiliated entities as the principal.”

Westport further requested “that, in the event the [] judgment is upheld on

appeal, Westport and Penn National agree that Westport will pay to Highport

the remainder of its policy limits . . . and Penn National will fund the rest.”

With that information, IA inquired with Penn National about whether it

would pay the remainder of the judgment if Westport’s policy was exhausted

after an appeal. Penn National responded that “[it] will continue to honor its

8

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 9 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

obligations to [IA] under the Penn National policy.” On December 17, 2012,

IA as principal and North American Specialty Insurance Company

(“NASIC”) as surety obtained a substitute supersedeas bond in favor of

Highport in the same amount. The court accepted the bond, and it was filed.

Westport agreed to indemnify NASIC for amounts in excess of Westport’s

policy limits. According to Redeker, Westport posted the supersedeas bond

for the entire amount of the judgment, rather than in the amount of its

remaining aggregate limit, on assurances from Penn National to IA.

On November 18, 2014, the Texas Court of Appeals affirmed the state

trial court’s judgment. See Ins. All. v. Lake Texoma Highport, LLC, 452

S.W.3d 57 (Tex. App.—Dallas 2014 [5th Dist.], pet. denied). On January 15,

2016, the Supreme Court of Texas denied rehearing. On January 20, 2016,

the Texas Court of Appeals issued a mandate affirming the state trial court’s

judgment. On January 21, 2016, Highport demanded that IA pay the full

amount of the judgment or face collection.

On January 28, 2016, IA, Westport, and NASIC entered into a

memorandum of understanding (“MOU”) with Highport that required

NASIC to pay Highport the amount of the judgment not disputed

($9,936,492.65) and to deposit the bond’s balance ($1,321,368.35) into the

state court’s registry until all remaining issues were resolved. Penn National

declined to participate in the MOU negotiations. On February 17, 2016,

Westport then reimbursed NASIC for the undisputed amount

($9,936,492.65). On June 6, 2016, the state trial court determined the balance

due to Highport to be $1,697,820.48, as of May 31, 2016, and released the

funds ($1,321,368.35) in the court registry to Highport. Westport reimbursed

NASIC for the amount released from the court registry. On June 13, 2016,

Penn National paid the remaining amount of that balance ($379,885.78) to

Highport.

9

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 10 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

B. Procedural History

On March 24, 2016,4 Westport brought this suit in IA’s name, as its

subrogee, to recover for Penn National’s breach of the excess insurance

policy, and Penn National counterclaimed in IA’s name, as its subrogee,

under the Stowers doctrine. Westport sued Penn National for breach of the

excess insurance policy and to cover its contribution of the jury award against

IA. It argued that it had to pay $7.7 million over its $5 million policy limits to

prevent enforcement of the excess judgment against IA because Penn

National deflected its obligation to pay under its $15 million excess insurance

policy after exhaustion of the primary policy. Penn National pleaded that

Westport breached its Stowers duty by failing to accept the five settlement

demands from Highport.

Before trial, Westport and Penn National filed competing motions for

summary judgment. The district court referred the matter to the magistrate

judge, who adjudicated the parties’ competing motions and made

recommendations in an eighty-four-page Memorandum and

Recommendation. In a brief opinion, the district court adopted the

magistrate judge’s recommendations in full. The district court granted in

part and denied in part Westport’s Stowers and breach-of-contract motions

and granted Penn National’s motion for partial summary judgment on

Westport’s claims for breach of contract and promissory estoppel.

_____________________

4

Westport filed this insurance action in the Middle District of Pennsylvania against

Penn National. On July 1, 2016, the Middle District of Pennsylvania granted Penn

National’s motion to transfer the venue and transferred the case to the Southern District

of Texas. After the case was transferred, the parties underwent months of filing amended

pleadings and stipulations—omitting claims, supplementing allegations, and adding

requests for declaratory judgment. In January 2018, after a period of discovery, the parties

each filed motions targeting the other’s expert testimony, as well as pending dispositive

motions. On April 18, 2018, the parties unsuccessfully attempted mediation.

10

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 11 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

In its Stowers motion, Westport argued that, as a matter of law, four of

Highport’s settlement offers did not trigger its Stowers duty to settle: (1) the

first challenged offer was the self-described $2 million Stowers demand

presented at the end of the first mediation in May 2009; (2) the second

challenged offer was the self-described $4.9 million Stowers demand

presented in advance of the second mediation in May 2010; and (3) the third

and (4) fourth challenged offers were the $3.6 million counteroffers orally

presented in July 2010 and November 2010 as collective offers to IA, CRC,

and Bowood.5 Granting in part Westport’s Stowers motion, the district court

determined that “the May 2010 $4.9 million demand was not within the

Westport Policy aggregate limit” and “as a matter of law, Westport’s Stowers

duty was not triggered at that time.” Denying in part Westport’s Stowers

motion, the court determined that the “circumstances of the May 2009 $2

million demand are such that a reasonable jury could find that an ordinarily

prudent insurer would have accepted it in light of the likelihood and degree

of Westport’s potential exposure to an excess judgment.” Lastly, the court

determined that “the course of communications and continuing settlement

efforts, could allow a reasonable jury to find that the terms and conditions

were clear with regard to the oral $3.6 million settlement demands of July and

November 2010.”

Granting in part Westport’s breach-of-contract motion, the district

court concluded that Penn National breached its duty to defend in February

_____________________

5

During trial, Westport challenged the September 2009 demand, arguing that it

was not a valid Stowers demand because it did not fully release IA or eliminate the risk of

further liability. This argument was not asserted in its summary judgment motion. At

summary judgment, the court agreed that the May 2010 demand could not provide a basis

for liability. After trial, the court also determined that the May 2009 demand was not a valid

Stowers demand.

11

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 12 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

2016 and breached its duty to indemnify in June 2016.6 The district court

stated that “regarding [the] duty to defend, the Penn National Policy stated

that the transfer of defense would occur when the underlying limits of

insurance were ‘used up’ in the payment of judgments or settlements.”

Thus, the court determined that Penn National’s duty to defend was

triggered on February 17, 2016, “when [Westport] reimbursed NASIC for

the payment to Highport in the amount of $9,936,492.65, an amount clearly

in excess of Westport’s remaining policy limits” and which exhausted the

Westport Policy. As such, the court determined that “Penn National

breached [its] duty [to defend] by failing to assume IA’s defense” because

“according to the summary judgment evidence, Penn National did nothing

to assist in the transfer of defense after receiving Westport’s notification of

exhaustion.” The district court was unpersuaded by “[a]ll of Penn

National’s complaints regarding what Westport did not do in order to

transfer the defense.” Moreover, it held that Penn National’s duty to

indemnify was triggered on June 6, 2016 when “Westport reimbursed

NASIC $1,321,368.35 for the amount released from the court’s registry.

Penn National was responsible for the payment of that amount because its

duty to indemnify was applicable.” Although Penn National paid

$379,885.78 to Highport on IA’s behalf to complete the fulfillment of IA’s

obligation on the judgment of $1,697,820.48, the district court noted that

Penn National did not pay the total amount ($1,321,368.35) released from the

court’s registry at that time and had not reimbursed Westport.

At a November 29, 2022 pretrial conference, Penn National averred

that Westport’s violation of the Stowers doctrine was a defense and thus Penn

National was “entitled to excuse [its] performance based on the doctrine.”

_____________________

6

The district court denied Westport’s breach-of-contract motion as to Penn

National’s duty to indemnify before June 2016.

12

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 13 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Westport contended that Texas caselaw does not support the notion that “a

primary carrier’s Stowers violation excuses an excess carrier’s obligation to

pay under [its] own policy. It’s not a defense to [excess carriers’]

obligation[s] to their insured to pay the insured’s excess liability.” The

district court concluded that Penn National’s use of the Stowers doctrine was

proper in this sense because the court viewed the use of “defense” as a

practical term rather than a legal term.

On December 5, 2022, a five-day jury trial commenced between

Westport and Penn National. At the close of trial, the jury returned its verdict

in favor of Penn National, finding that Westport had breached its Stowers

duty on four separate occasions—in May 2009, September 2009, July 2010,

and November 2010. The district court subsequently set aside the May 2009

demand as being unsupported by admitted evidence at trial. Still, the court

entered judgment against Westport as to the September 2009, July 2010, and

November 2010 demands. After the trial, Westport filed a Rule 50(b) motion

for judgment as a matter of law and a Rule 59(a) motion for a new trial. The

district court denied Westport’s motions. Westport and Penn National

appealed. We ordered that Westport’s opposed motion to strike portions of

Penn National’s reply brief be carried with the case on February 28, 2024.

II.

We review the denial of a motion for judgment as a matter of law “de

novo, using the same analysis as the district court.” United States v. Hodge,

933 F.3d 468, 473 (5th Cir. 2019). We reverse the district court’s ruling only

if “there is no legally sufficient evidentiary basis for a reasonable jury to have

found for [the nonmovant.]” Id. (quoting Flowers v. S. Reg’l Physician Servs.

Inc., 247 F.3d 229, 235 (5th Cir. 2001)); Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods.,

Inc., 530 U.S. 133, 149 (2000) (quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(a)). When a

party challenges the denial of a motion for judgment as a matter of law

13

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 14 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

following a jury trial, this court is “especially deferential” to the jury’s

verdict. Olibas v. Barclay, 838 F.3d 442, 448 (5th Cir. 2016) (citation

omitted). We are “wary of upsetting jury verdicts” and “courts may grant

judgments as a matter of law only if the facts and inferences point so strongly

and overwhelmingly in the movant’s favor that reasonable jurors could not

reach a contrary conclusion.” SEC v. Life Partners Holdings, Inc., 854 F.3d

765, 785 (5th Cir. 2017) (internal quotations omitted).

“The jury’s findings of fact are reviewed on the whole record and are

affirmed if supported by substantial evidence.” Hunnicutt v. Wright, 986 F.2d

119, 122 (5th Cir. 1993). This court must “credit the non-moving party’s

evidence and disregard all evidence favorable to the moving party that the

jury is not required to believe.” Abraham v. Alpha Chi Omega, 708 F.3d 614,

620 (5th Cir. 2013) (cleaned up). Moreover, we must “draw[] all reasonable

inferences and resolv[e] all credibility determinations in the light most

favorable to the non-moving party.” Flowers, 247 F.3d at 235 (citation

omitted). We review a district court’s denial of a motion for a new trial for

abuse of discretion. Fornesa v. Fifth Third Mortg. Co., 897 F.3d 624, 627 (5th

Cir. 2018). We reverse “only when there is an absolute absence of evidence

to support the jury’s verdict.” Wantou v. WalMart Stores Tex., L.L.C., 23

F.4th 422, 431 (5th Cir. 2022) (internal quotation marks and citation

omitted).

“Jury instructions are reviewed for abuse of discretion.” Janvey v.

Dillon Gage, Inc. of Dall., 856 F.3d 377, 388 (5th Cir. 2017). “A district court

by definition abuses its discretion when it makes an error of law.” Id. Thus,

when a challenged jury instruction hinges on a question of law, review is de

novo. GE Cap. Com., Inc. v. Worthington Nat. Bank, 754 F.3d 297, 302 (5th

Cir. 2014). This court reviews whether the district court’s charge is a correct

statement of the law and whether it clearly instructs jurors as to the principles

of law applicable to the factual issues confronting them. United States v.

14

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 15 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Laury, 985 F.2d 1293, 1300 (5th Cir. 1993). However, an erroneous jury

instruction is reversible only if it “affected the outcome of the case.” Mid-

Continent Cas. Co. v. Petroleum Sols., Inc., 917 F.3d 352, 357 (5th Cir. 2019)

(citation omitted).

III.

A. Westport’s Breach-of-Contract Claims & Penn National’s Duties

Damages resulting from Penn National’s breach of its duties to

indemnify and defend are at issue in this litigation. At summary judgment,

the district court held that Penn National breached its duty to defend IA on

February 17, 2016 and breached its duty to indemnify IA on June 6, 2016.

Penn National does not appeal this determination.

Westport argues that Penn National cannot rely on the Stowers

doctrine to relieve it of its contractual duties or as a defense to Westport’s

breach-of-contract claims. Penn National contends that its breaches, which

occurred more than five years after Westport’s breach of its Stowers duty,

caused no damage to IA because Westport’s negligence caused all of IA’s

damages. Further, it maintains that the district court “did not recognize

Stowers as a breach-of-contract defense.” Westport has the better argument

here.

At the September 13, 2022 pretrial conference, Penn National

conceded that it “owed a duty to indemnify and to defend as of [the

aforementioned dates]” and that it failed to do so. However, it emphasized

that its “breach of the contract [should], therefore, [be] excused” because of

asserted “policy defenses.” Namely, Penn National averred, at the

November 29, 2022 pretrial conference, that Westport’s violation of the

Stowers doctrine was a defense and thus Penn National was “entitled to

excuse [its] performance based on the doctrine.” Westport contended that

Texas caselaw does not support the notion that “a primary carrier’s Stowers

15

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 16 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

violation excuses an excess carrier’s obligation to pay under [its] own policy.

It’s not a defense to [excess carriers’] obligation[s] to their insured to pay the

insured’s excess liability.”

In response, the district court explained that this issue “would be

resolved by the jury answering the Stowers question” because “it [was] all

going to come out in the wash.” The district court reasoned that if there was

a Stowers breach, then the damages that Westport owed Penn National for

violating the doctrine would amount to the share of the excess judgment

beyond the Westport policy limits less the portion of the excess judgment

Westport had already paid on the insured’s behalf. In the alternative, if the

jury found no Stowers breach, then Penn National would owe Westport the

portion of the judgment in excess of the Westport policy limits. The district

court concluded that Penn National’s use of the Stowers doctrine was proper

in this sense because the court viewed the use of “defense” as a practical

term rather than a legal term. Moreover, after trial, the district court held:

While it is true that this [c]ourt previously found that Penn

National breached its duties to defend and indemnify (Doc.

No. 122 at 72, 73), these breaches occurred more than five

years after the jury found that Westport violated its Stowers

duty. A finding that Penn National subsequently breached its

duties to defend and indemnify IA has no impact on this case.

We disagree. The district court erred when it made Westport’s ability

to recover from Penn National conditional, concluding that “[i]f the Stowers

claim is unsuccessful, Westport would be entitled to recover from Penn

National the entire amount of the judgment in excess of Westport’s

remaining policy limits less the amount paid by Penn National.” We hold that

Westport was entitled to recover the entire amount of the judgment in excess

due to Penn National’s breach of its duties to indemnify and defend IA under

the excess insurance policy.

16

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 17 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Put otherwise, once the district court determined that Penn National

had breached the contract, it should have required Penn National to pay the

excess judgment (i.e., the amount owed above Westport’s remaining

aggregate policy limit). Then, the court could have proceeded to trial on Penn

National’s Stowers claim and, if and when the jury found that Westport had

breached its Stowers duty, Westport would have had to pay back the amount

it had just received from Penn National.

However, to the extent that the district court erred in recognizing

Stowers as a breach-of-contract defense, the error was harmless because this

evidence of Penn National’s contract breach—which occurred years after the

Stowers breach—was never presented to the jury. “The harmless error

doctrine applies to the review of evidentiary rulings.” Heinsohn v. Carabin &

Shaw, P.C., 832 F.3d 224, 233 (5th Cir. 2016) (quoting Nunez v. Allstate Ins.

Co., 604 F.3d 840, 844 (5th Cir. 2010)). We apply a deferential abuse of

discretion standard when reviewing a district court’s evidentiary rulings.

Williams v. Manitowoc Cranes, L.L.C., 898 F.3d 607, 615 (5th Cir. 2018). “A

district court abuses its discretion when its ruling is based on an erroneous

view of the law or a clearly erroneous assessment of the evidence.” Heinsohn,

832 F.3d at 233 (quoting Nunez, 604 F.3d at 844. However, “even if a district

court has abused its discretion, [this court] will not reverse unless the error

affected ‘the substantial rights of the parties.’” Heinsohn, 832 F.3d at 233

(quoting Nunez, 604 F.3d at 844); see Fed. R. Evid. 103. As such “[t]he

party asserting the error has the burden of proving that the error was

prejudicial,” Williams, 898 F.3d at 615 (citation omitted).

At the November 29, 2022 pretrial hearing, the district court

concluded that the only issues outstanding for Westport’s breach-of-contract

claim were damages and applicable defenses. Further, because damages were

ascertainable, the district court requested that the parties stipulate to

damages and have the court decide the contract defenses, along with

17

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 18 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Westport’s unclean hands defense, as a matter of law after trial, so that only

the Stowers negligence questions would be submitted to the jury. On the first

day of trial, the parties stipulated to the damage model and calculations, as

reflected in Exhibit 156, and agreed to submit defenses to the court for

determination after the trial. At the conclusion of the trial, the district court

requested that the parties submit a joint letter outlining their views on the

remaining issues to be decided, namely (1) whether Penn National acted with

unclean hands; (2) whether any of Penn National’s policy defenses applied;

and (3) the parties’ claims to recover their respective attorney’s fees.

Here, the district court’s error was harmless because, “after a

‘thorough examination of the record,’ [we are] able to ‘conclude beyond a

reasonable doubt that the jury verdict would have been the same absent the

error.’” United States v. Cessa, 785 F.3d 165, 186 (5th Cir. 2015) (quoting

United States v. Skilling, 638 F.3d 480, 482 (5th Cir. 2011)). Practically

speaking, the district court was correct to note that when the jury found that

Westport had breached its Stowers duty, the amount above the primary

insurance policy was thus the responsibility of Westport—not Penn

National. After trial, the district court recognized Penn National’s breach

and Westport’s breach and determined that “the ultimate outcome of this

lawsuit will determine which company has to pay the amount of a final

judgment entered against their mutual insured [IA].” As follows, the amount

that Penn National already paid was now reimbursable; and no additional

damages were owed to Westport.

Notably, Westport concedes that Stowers is a “right to

reimbursement” limited “to the amount the insured has paid.” Seguros

Tepeyac, S. A. v. Bostrom, 347 F.2d 168, 178 (5th Cir. 1965). Likewise,

Westport agrees that “Penn [National] stands in the shoes of IA only with

respect to the tiny fraction of the excess judgment it paid—not the $7.7

million at issue in the breach-of-contract claim”—albeit to make the

18

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 19 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

argument that Penn National lacks standing to assert a Stowers claim.

Consequently, that is why the district court’s final judgment only allows for

Penn National to recover damages from Westport in the sum of

$379,885.78—the amount that Penn National indemnified NASIC.

Our review of the record shows that a reasonable jury could have

found that Westport breached its Stowers duty based on the evidence

presented at trial. Notwithstanding what Penn National owed because of its

breach, Westport was required—due to its own breach—to reimburse Penn

National for the amount that it had indemnified NASIC. The jury’s

considerations were void of any mention of Stowers as an excuse for the

contractual breach because the district court had assessed Penn National’s

breach at summary judgment and had also decided that Penn National could

not offer evidence or argument at trial that it had complied with its

contractual obligations and had not breached its contract. Thus, the jury’s

findings were not harmfully influenced so as to affect Westport’s substantial

rights. Heinsohn, 832 F.3d at 233; Williams, 898 F.3d at 615. Under the facts

of this case, any error was harmless because on this record the jury would

have found that Westport breached its Stowers duty and that Penn National’s

payments of the share of the excess judgment were reimbursable. See Skilling,

638 F.3d at 482.

B. Penn National’s Stowers claim

1. Standing

Although it concedes that an excess insurer, such as Penn National,

has standing to assert Stowers to the extent that it paid the excess judgment

against the insured and thereby became the insured’s subrogee, Westport

reasons that because Penn National “did not pay $7.7 million of the excess

liability [it] was never subrogated to the insured’s rights as to that amount;

19

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 20 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

instead, Westport was.” According to Westport, Penn National lacked

standing to assert a Stowers defense. We are unpersuaded.

Under Texas law, an excess insurer “may bring an equitable

subrogation action against the primary carrier” to enforce the primary

insurer’s Stowers duty. Am. Centennial Ins. Co. v. Canal Ins. Co., 843 S.W.2d

480, 483 (Tex. 1992). “Equitable subrogation is the legal fiction through

which a person or entity, the subrogee, is substituted . . . to the rights and

remedies of another by virtue of having fulfilled an obligation for which the

other was responsible.” Am. Ins. Co. v. Assicurazioni Generali SpA, 228 F.3d

409, 2000 WL 1056143, at *3 (5th Cir. 2000) (unpublished). The burden is

on the excess insurer to prove that the primary insurer violated its duty. Id.

In any case of subrogation, the excess insurer cannot recover more from the

third party than what it paid. Associated Int’l Ins. Co. v. Scottsdale Ins. Co., 862

F.3d 508, 510 (5th Cir. 2017) (applying Texas law). “When an insurer pays

out on its insured’s loss, it becomes a ‘pro tanto owner’ of the cause of

action.” Concierge Nursing Ctrs., Inc. v. Antex Roofing, Inc., 433 S.W.3d 37, 45

(Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.] 2013, pet. denied) (quoting Thoreson v.

Thompson, 431 S.W.2d 341, 347 (Tex. 1968)).

Here, Penn National is subrogated to IA’s Stowers rights. As the

district court indicated, Penn National paid $379,885.78 to Highport on IA’s

behalf to complete the fulfillment of IA’s obligation on the balance the

district court determined was due to Highport in July 2016. The district court

held that “[b]y virtue of having fulfilled an obligation for which IA was

responsible, Penn National was substituted to IA’s rights under the Stowers

doctrine.” As the district court presented, “[n]o legal authority supports the

idea that an excess insurer must pay the entire amount of a judgment in

excess of the primary insurer’s policy limits in order to be equitably

subrogated to an insured’s Stowers claim.” Specifically, the district court

20

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 21 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

highlighted that such a legal holding “would severely undermine both the

Stowers doctrine and the purpose of equitable subrogation.” We agree.

Westport would have us adopt its conclusion that “an excess insurer

obtains standing to assert Stowers by” first paying the entire amount of the

judgment and then seeking reimbursement. But such a holding would

undermine the protections that the Stowers doctrine affords insureds.

Because no Texas court has ruled on this issue in the Stowers context, we

must make an Erie guess. Am. Guarantee & Liab. Ins. Co. v. ACE Am. Ins. Co.,

990 F.3d 842, 848 (5th Cir. 2021) (citing Ironshore Eur. DAC v. Schiff Hardin,

L.L.P., 912 F.3d 759, 764 (5th Cir. 2019)). The Stowers doctrine encourages

the prompt settlement of claims, while simultaneously protecting insureds

from having to pay any money out of their own pockets, and aims to protect

insureds against the risk of jury verdicts resulting in judgments in excess of

their policy limits. Thus, according to Texas caselaw, Penn National has

standing to bring a Stowers claim in the instant case and its contentions to the

contrary are meritless.

2. Stowers Prerequisites

Westport contends that, as a matter of law, none of the Highport

settlement demands7 meet the Stowers prerequisites, namely (1) the demands

do not “propose to release the insured fully in exchange for a stated sum of

money,” Trinity Universal Ins. Co. v. Bleeker, 966 S.W.2d 489, 491 (Tex.

1998); (2) the demands do not constitute “an unconditional offer to settle

within policy limits,” State Farm Lloyds Ins. Co. v. Maldonado, 963 S.W.2d

38, 41 (Tex. 1998); and (3) the terms of the demands are not “clear and

_____________________

7

Particularly, Westport pinpoints the September 2009 demand and the July and

November 2010 demands. The district court determined at summary judgment that the

May 2010 demand could not provide a basis for liability and at the close of trial that the

May 2009 demand did not provide a reasonable opportunity to settle as a matter of law.

21

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 22 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

undisputed,” Rocor Int’l, Inc. v. Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburg, 77

S.W.3d 253, 263 (Tex. 2002).

a. The CRC Indemnity Claim

Westport argues that it was entitled to judgment as a matter of law on

Penn National’s Stowers claim because the Highport settlement demands did

not provide for settlement and release of the CRC indemnity claim. Westport

maintains on appeal that it declined to accept the September 2009, July 2010,

and November 2010 demands because it believed that the offers, if accepted,

left IA exposed to further indemnity liability for the very same incident the

proposed settlement was supposed to resolve.

Specifically, Westport complains that the September 2009 demand

created exposure for IA because “it would have remained at risk for any

additional amount Highport recovered from CRC, without the protection of

the one-satisfaction rule or any control over the amount of that settlement.”

In response, Penn National accuses Westport of crafting this argument as an

ex-post justification for its failure to settle the Highport litigation within

primary policy limits. Penn National contends that at the time the September

2009 demand was tendered, Westport had no concerns about the CRC

indemnity claim as illustrated by the comments proffered by Westport’s

appointed counsel, Oldenettel, in which he communicated to IA that he did

not believe a potential indemnity claim “to be applicable under the facts of

this case.” Moreover, Penn National maintains that an actual, formal

demand for indemnity by CRC was not filed until September 13, 2010—well

after four of the five settlement demands were offered.

Under Texas law, the Stowers duty requires an insurer “to exercise

ordinary care in the settlement of claims to protect its insureds against

judgments in excess of policy limits.” Am. Physicians Ins. Exch. v. Garcia, 876

S.W.2d 842, 843 n.2 (Tex. 1994) (citing Stowers, 15 S.W.2d 544). The Stowers

22

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 23 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

duty is activated by a settlement demand when: (1) the claim against the

insured is within the scope of coverage, (2) there is a demand within policy

limits, and (3) the terms of the demand are such that an ordinarily prudent

insurer would accept it, considering the likelihood and degree of the

insured’s potential exposure to an excess judgment.” Tex. Farmers Ins. Co. v.

Soriano, 881 S.W.2d 312, 314 (Tex. 1994). For Stowers to apply in this case,

Highport’s settlement offers must have met the three aforementioned

Stowers prerequisites, in addition to “clearly stat[ing] a sum certain,” and

being “unconditional.” Soriano, 881 S.W.2d at 314; Rocor Int’l, 77 S.W.3d at

263; Danner v. Iowa Mut. Ins. Co., 340 F.2d 427, 429–30 (5th Cir. 1964)

(applying Texas law).

In its order denying Westport’s Rule 50(b) motion, the district court

rejected Westport’s argument that the September 2009, July 2010, and

November 2010 settlement offers did not address the risk of future liability

that IA faced from an indemnity claim against CRC. Specifically, the court

reasoned that at the time Highport made the September 2009 Stowers

demand, CRC had not asserted a claim against IA. Indeed, CRC never made

such a claim, but instead IA brought a third-party claim against CRC and

CRC filed an answer. Only then, in that answer, did CRC reference the

indemnity provision as a defense to IA’s claims against it. The district court

denied Westport’s Rule 50(b) motion regarding the July and November 2010

demands on a similar ground. Further, the district court explained that any

indemnity claim asserted by CRC would arise out of a separate and distinct

contract dispute. That dispute concerned whether the Brokerage Agreement

between CRC and IA did in fact indemnify CRC against liability, not whether

IA (acting as Lloyd’s insurance agent) failed to procure the requested

insurance coverage to protect Highport’s marina in violation of Lloyd’s

insurance contract with Highport. The district court reasoned that a full

release under Stowers does not require “the release of potential, unasserted,

23

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 24 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

and distinct claims made by third parties” like CRC. We agree. We cannot

square Texas Supreme Court precedent interpreting Stowers with the

desired-for holding that an insurer may characterize a settlement demand—

that does not overtly consider separate and distinct contract disputes—as not

amounting to a full and complete release for the insured. We shall not

immunize primary insurers from exposure to liability under Stowers for

simply invoking claims that would have arisen out of separate and distinct

contract disputes.

Westport argues that Danner v. Mutual Insurance Company squarely

addresses Stowers in the context of indemnity liability not released by the

settlement demand. 340 F.2d at 430. We disagree. The instant case is unlike

Danner. In Danner, Kurt Burmester was injured in a collision with an engine

operated by the Houston Belt and Terminal Railway Company (“Belt”)

while driving an automobile owned by, D. D. Danner and J. W. Maxcey, a

partnership d/b/a Danner Marine Guard Service (“Danner”). Id. at 428. At

the trial, Danner and Belt were held jointly and severally liable to Burmester

for his injuries. Id. Danner carried liability insurance with Iowa Mutual. Id.

While the case was pending on appeal, Danner’s and Burmester’s lawyers—

without Belt’s—arrived at a proposed settlement of $62,000, to be paid by

Danner in return for a covenant not to sue. Id. However, Iowa Mutual refused

to accept the settlement on the ground that the offer was conditional. Id. The

district court ultimately concluded that Burmester’s offer was not a valid

Stowers demand. Id. at 428–29.

Affirming the district court, this court determined that the offer did

not unconditionally protect Danner and Iowa Mutual “fully . . . against

further liability to [Belt] in the event that [Belt] secured a judgment of

indemnity from [Danner], including direct liability, or any costs, expenses or

attorneys’ fees expended in resisting such claims even in the event same

turned out to be without merit.’” Id. at 429–30.

24

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 25 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Danner is dissimilar to this case. Westport hangs its proverbial hat on

our language acknowledging, pursuant to the facts of that case, the possibility

of one co-defendant obtaining a judgment of indemnity against another co-

defendant. But Danner involved the potential for a claim of common law

indemnity, not the enforcement of a contractual indemnity clause. Id. at 428,

430. Here, however, CRC and IA negotiated such a contractual indemnity

clause as part of the Brokerage Agreement.

In Danner, a finding of joint and several liability at trial allowed

Burmester to collect his damage award, $173,396.05, from any one of the joint

tortfeasors—Belt or Danner. 340 F.2d at 428. The trial court provided for

contribution and denied indemnity. Id.8 Contribution is applicable where

defendants are jointly and severally liable. Under the contribution doctrine,

a defendant who is subject to a judgment can raise a contribution claim

against a liable co-defendant, if he compensates the plaintiff for more than his

share of responsibility. Equitable indemnity, too, governs the allocation of

damages among multiple tortfeasors who are jointly and severally liable.

“Under the common law doctrine of indemnity, the tortfeasor who is entitled

to indemnity receives total reimbursement from another tortfeasor for

damages paid to plaintiff . . . shifting total responsibility for a tort from one

party to another.” B & B Auto Supply, Sand Pit, & Trucking Co. v. C. Freight

Lines, Inc., 603 S.W.2d 814, 816–17 (Tex. 1980). Thus, in Danner, the parties

_____________________

8

Because there was no mention of a contract between Belt and Danner, implied

contractual indemnity was off the table. At most, the defendants could have pursued

common law indemnity. Still, according to the Texas Supreme Court, “[u]nder the

common law, as a general rule, joint tortfeasors have no right of indemnity among

themselves. That rule rests on considerations of public policy, it being against the policy of

the law to adjust equities between wrongdoers[.]” Austin Rd. Co. v. Pope, 216 S.W.2d 563,

564–65 (Tex. 1949).

25

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 26 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

would have been seeking contribution or common law indemnity and not

enforcing a contract dispute.9

Unlike Danner, our case involves a negotiated contractual indemnity

clause, not the doctrine of common law indemnity. Contractual indemnity

under an insurance contract is separate and distinct from indemnity

principles governing apportionment of fault between joint tortfeasors. Tri-

State Oil Tool Indus., Inc. v. Delta Marine Drilling Co., 410 F.2d 178, 181 (5th

Cir. 1969). A party asserting equitable indemnity is not asserting that a

contractual right to indemnity exists; rather, such a party is asserting that,

given the special nature of the case’s circumstances, equity demands that one

party indemnify the other. Id. Westport cites no case that extends Danner’s

holdings about equitable indemnity obligations among jointly liable

tortfeasors to negotiated contractual indemnity agreements among insurance

companies. This court rejects Westport’s invitation to expand Texas law in

its effort to overturn the findings of a jury.

Moreover, we have stated that “[u]nder the Stowers doctrine, the

requirement for an unconditional settlement offer generally refers to a release

of the causes of action asserted in the underlying litigation, in this case, the

personal injury claims by the [injured] plaintiffs.” Assicurazioni Generali,

2000 WL 1056143, at *3. The operative terms here are “release of causes of

_____________________

9

The equitable remedies of contribution and indemnity, among co-tortfeasors,

often go hand-and-hand. Historically, Texas has either through common law or by statute

allowed tortfeasors to receive contribution from co-tortfeasors. See Duncan v. Cessna

Aircraft Co., 665 S.W.2d 414, 426–27 (Tex. 1984). Occasionally, Texas courts have

analyzed when one tortfeasor is entitled to indemnity over and against another tortfeasor

pursuant to non-contractual (or equitable) indemnity. See Gen. Motors Corp. v. Simmons,

558 S.W.2d 855, 859 (Tex. 1977); Austin Rd. Co., 216 S.W.2d at 565. Relevant here, since

the 1964 Danner case, Texas has since abolished the common law doctrine of indemnity

between negligent joint tortfeasors. Cypress Creek Util. Serv. Co. v. Muller, 640 S.W.2d 860,

864 (Tex. 1982); B & B Auto Supply, 603 S.W.2d at 816–17.

26

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 27 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

action asserted in the underlying litigation” and “by the [injured] plaintiffs.”

Id. The CRC indemnity claim neither stems from a cause of action asserted

in the underlying litigation, nor a claim asserted by the plaintiffs. The record

establishes that CRC’s February 23, 2009 demand letter made no mention of

any claims asserted by Highport.

The third-party complaint filed by IA did not give rise to any

obligation on Highport’s part to resolve the contract dispute between IA and

CRC. Westport complains that the September 2009 demand, in particular,

did not release Highport’s claims against CRC, in which Highport sought

recovery for the same damages it sought from IA based on the same coverage

defect. Such an argument suggests that to qualify as a full release of liability,

the September 2009 demand was required to release CRC so that CRC would

have released its claim against IA for indemnification of any such damages.

Notably, IA brought CRC into the litigation as a third-party defendant on

February 5, 2009. It was not until April 3, 2009 that Highport asserted claims

against CRC—in line with IA’s expressed desire. Thus, importing an

obligation on Highport to resolve the indemnity dispute between IA and CRC

would be incongruous. But, again, CRC and IA’s contractual indemnity

dispute was separate from a determination and allocation of fault amongst the

co-defendants in the Highport suit. CRC was not required to dismiss the

CRC claim so that IA could not be pursued for indemnification without first

determining which parties were at fault. Even IA’s counsel, Oldenettel,

admitted that CRC’s presence in the litigation as a third-party defendant

“was necessary” because IA was unsure where the alleged error was

interjected in the supply chain of the insurance procurement.

In addition, Westport complains that “Highport’s arbitration award

against CRC exceeded Westport’s primary policy limits, independent of IA’s

own liability to Highport.” But this further supports the district court’s

reasoning that the CRC indemnity claim arises out of a separate and distinct

27

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 28 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

contract dispute. Here, CRC was not a co-insured under the Westport policy;

rather CRC was to be the indemnified party under its Brokerage Agreement

with IA. Thus, Westport’s argument that the CRC claim had to be released

by Highport to perfect Highport’s Stowers demand is unpersuasive.

Lastly, we acknowledge that analyzing the context in which a full and

complete release of liability is structured proves to be complicated by factors

such as multiple plaintiffs pursuing settlements against a single insured,10

settlement offers that do not release all insureds,11 unique settlement

structures,12 and medical care providers filing liens on settlements for

hospitalization costs.13 However, none of these factors are present here.

Texas Supreme Court precedent does not support Westport’s

argument that the September 2009 demand was not a valid Stowers

demand. See Garcia, 876 S.W.2d at 848. As the Texas Supreme Court stated

in Garcia, “[w]e start with the proposition that an insurer has no duty to

settle a claim that is not covered under its policy.” 876 S.W.2d at 848. If

insurers are not required under their Stowers duty to incorporate claims not

covered under their policies in their settlement calculus, then they are also

not permitted to absorb unrelated claims not covered under their policies to

prevent a Stowers duty from triggering. See St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v.

Convalescent Servs., Inc., 193 F.3d 340, 340 n.5 (5th Cir. 1999) (“Stowers does

not extend or create coverage when an insurer negligently handles a claim

against its insured that is not covered in the first instance.”); id. at 345

_____________________

10

Soriano, 881 S.W.2d at 315; Am. Guarantee, 990 F.3d at 842.

11

See OneBeacon Ins. Co. v. T. Wade Welch & Assocs., 841 F.3d 669 (5th Cir. 2016)

(applying Texas law).

12

Assicurazioni Generali, 2000 WL 1056143, at *3.

13

Bleeker, 966 S.W.2d at 489.

28

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 29 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

(“While recognizing the expansive language in Stowers regarding an

insurer’s duty to the insured, we cannot square the Texas Supreme Court’s

recent precedent interpreting Stowers with a holding that the insurer has a

duty to consider claims that are excluded from coverage when making its

determination of whether a settlement is reasonable.”). In St. Paul Fire &

Marine, we said as much in holding that “[an insurer] had no duty to take into

consideration [its insured’s] potential exposure to punitive damages during

settlement negotiations regarding covered claims.” 193 F.3d at 343.14

What was true for punitive damages in St. Paul Fire & Marine is true

here for indemnity clauses in separate contracts with third parties. See id. In

other words, the Brokerage Agreement’s clause requiring IA to “indemnify

and hold CRC harmless from any claim asserted against CRC in following the

instructions of the” insured was irrelevant for purposes of Westport

satisfying its Stowers duty.

Thus, we conclude that the district court did not err in holding that

Highport’s September 2009 letter demanding policy limits in exchange for a

full release of its claims against the IA was a valid Stowers demand which

Westport rejected.

b. Terms of the Demands

Westport argues that the July and November 2010 demands failed to

provide “any terms of any kind other than a dollar amount” and made “no

_____________________

14

St. Paul insured CSI against damages arising from its negligence, but the

insurance policy specifically excluded coverage for punitive damages. 193 F.3d at 341. St.

Paul defended CSI in the underlying state lawsuit. Id. After rejecting the Stowers settlement

demands, the jury found CSI liable for negligence and gross negligence and awarded the

plaintiff, Schultz, $380,000 in actual damages and $850,000 in punitive damages. Id. St.

Paul paid the actual damages award on behalf of CSI but refused to pay the punitive

damages award based on an exclusion in the policy. Id.

29

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 30 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

mention of any release.” However, the record belies its assertion. The

dispositive issue before us is whether a common understanding of Highport’s

2010 counteroffers included the release of IA from any future liability.

Redeker’s testimony and other evidence resolves this issue. He

testified to common practices and his understanding of the CRC indemnity

claim. When considering whether to accept Highport’s offers, Redeker

admitted that Westport was not concerned with any future liability stemming

from the CRC indemnity claim. At trial, Redeker made no mention of any

belief that the mediator’s proposed settlement agreement lacked a full and

unconditional release. He further testified that, in the calculus of his

settlement decision-making, the mediator’s proposed settlement agreement

amounted to “a global release . . . tak[ing] care of the indemnity claim that

[was] being made by CRC against our insured [IA]. This would end this case

for [IA].” Specifically, the first paragraph of the mediator’s proposed

settlement agreement stated:

For and in consideration of the settlement, mutual release, and

dismissal of any and all claims, either pending or which could

be asserted in the future, in any forum or jurisdiction

whatsoever, arising out of the events and actions made the

subject of the captioned cause of action, including cross-

actions, third-party actions, or other indemnity claims, the

parties hereto and their insurers agree and bind themselves to

the following terms.

Correspondingly, the magistrate judge’s memorandum and

recommendation, which the district court acknowledged and adopted,

correctly advised that “the course of communications and continuing

settlement efforts, could allow a reasonable jury to find that the terms and

conditions were clear with regard to the oral $3.6 million settlement demands

of July and November 2010.” As was the case in Assicurazioni Generali, this

language “tends to suggest that no potential liability on the part of [the

30

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 31 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

insurer] or the insured would remain upon acceptance of the offer.” 2000

WL 1056143, at *3. To that end, the jury was instructed that it could:

[C]onsider all of the relevant circumstances at the time,

including but not limited to the likelihood and degree of [IA’s]

potential exposure to a judgment in excess of Westport’s policy

limits, the likelihood of obtaining a full release of the

Highport’s claims against [IA], the clarity of the settlement

demand, the position of the insured regarding settlement, and

whether the demand is unconditional.

On appeal, Westport continues to argue that the July and November

2010 demands did not propose a full and unconditional release. However, we

agree with the district court’s assessment that “there was legally sufficient

evidence to support the conclusion that the July and November 2010

demands were extensions of the [mediator’s proposed settlement

agreement] (from 2009 and 2010) and carried with them the same terms and

conditions as the [proposal].” Westport’s explanation of its understanding

of Highport’s demand at trial belies its current argument that the July and

November 2010 demands lack clear and undisputed terms and do not

propose a full and unconditional release.

We thus conclude that the district court did not err in holding that

Highport’s July and November 2010 demands in exchange for a full release

of its claims against the IA were valid Stowers demands which Westport

rejected.

c. May 2009 demand

On cross appeal, Penn National contends that the May 2009 demand

was within the scope of coverage and that the terms of the settlement demand

were such that an ordinarily prudent insurer would accept it. Penn National

maintains that it introduced ample evidence at trial supporting the jury’s

finding that Westport breached its Stowers duty as to the May 2009 demand.

31

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 32 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

It contends that, as a result, the district court erred in setting aside the jury’s

verdict on this question. We hold that the evidence underlying the district

court’s legal conclusions support its determination.

At summary judgment, the magistrate judge summarily acknowledged

that:

The Fifth Circuit has not set a minimum threshold for finding

the amount of time given to respond to be reasonable as a

matter of law but, rather, considers the reasonableness of the

amount of time within the context of the demand. In

Assicurazioni Generali, the Fifth Circuit considered whether a

demand presented during an afternoon recess six days into a

trial that was set to expire just under twenty-three hours later

provided a reasonable opportunity to settle. See [Assicurazioni

Generali, 2000 WL 1056143, at *1–2] . . . The Fifth Circuit

determined that whether the insurer acted reasonably in not

accepting the plaintiffs’ offer was a fact question not amenable

to summary judgment. Id. at *6.

Additionally, the Supreme Court of Texas has elaborated that the ultimate

Stowers issue is “whether the claimant’s demand was reasonable under the

circumstances, such that an ordinarily prudent insurer would accept it.”

Garcia, 876 S.W.2d at 849. In Assicurazioni Generali, this court interpreted

“reasonable opportunity” to have both substantive and procedural

components; “the former refer[s] to the reasonableness of the terms of the

offer, and the latter concern[s] the amount of time to either accept or reject

the offer given the consequences of the decision.” 2000 WL 1056143, at *5.

Westport averred that four aspects of the circumstances surrounding

negotiations and mediation demonstrated that it did not have a reasonable

opportunity to settle on May 20, 2009: namely, (1) the Highport lawsuit was

in the preliminary stages; (2) very little discovery had taken place; (3) IA had

not had the opportunity to evaluate the merits of the parties’ positions; and

(4) the time limit for a decision was forty-five minutes.

32

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 33 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

Although reasonableness is a fact question, the district court

determined that the evidence adduced at trial did not support the jury’s

conclusion. Specifically, it held that there was no legally sufficient evidence

that Westport acted unreasonably in not accepting the May 2009 offer.

Because, as Westport averred, IA had not had the opportunity to evaluate the

merits of the parties’ positions and there was a forty-five-minute time limit

for IA to reach a decision, we agree.

C. Jury Charge

1. Correct Statement of the Law

Westport challenges the district court’s jury instructions. The jury

charge instructed the jurors on the requisite Stowers elements, stating that:

To prevail on its respective claims, Penn National must prove

by a preponderance of the evidence each of the following [three

elements]:

(1) The settlement demand was within the policy limits of the

Westport Insurance Policy insuring [IA];

(2) The settlement demand fully released [IA]; and

(3) An ordinarily prudent insurer would have accepted the

demand.

It also stated that “[a]ll three elements must be proven as to each date [of a

settlement offer] for [the jury] to find that the burden of proof was satisfied

as to that question.” In a subsequent explanatory paragraph, the charge

further directed the jury that:

When considering these [three elements], you should consider

all of the relevant circumstances at the time, including but not

limited to the likelihood and degree of [IA’s] potential exposure

to a judgment in excess of Westport’s policy limits, the

likelihood of obtaining a full release of the Highport’s claims

against [IA], the clarity of the settlement demand, the position

33

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 34 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

of the insured regarding settlement, and whether the demand

is unconditional.

Westport argues that the district court—at Penn National’s urging—

erred by changing the language in the explanatory paragraph from instructing

the jury to consider “the likelihood of obtaining a full release of the claims

against IA” to instructing the jury to consider “the likelihood of obtaining a

full release of Highport’s claims against IA.” “We review challenges to jury

instructions for abuse of discretion and afford the trial court great latitude in

the framing and structure of jury instructions.” Eastman Chem. Co. v.

Plastipure, Inc., 775 F.3d 230, 240 (5th Cir. 2014). Under this standard, “[w]e

will reverse the district court’s decision only if the requested instruction (1)

was a substantially correct statement of the law, (2) was not substantially

covered in the charge as a whole, and (3) concerned an important point in the

trial such that the failure to instruct the jury on the issue seriously impaired

the defendant’s ability to present a given defense.” United States v. Wright,

634 F.3d 770, 775 (5th Cir. 2011) (internal quotation marks omitted) (quoting

Cooper Indus., Inc. v. Tarmac Roofing Sys., Inc., 276 F.3d 704, 714 (5th Cir.

2002)). We hold that Westport has failed to establish these elements and,

thus, has failed to show that the district court’s failure to implement its

requested instruction merits reversal.

Westport’s argument that the district court’s jury instructions failed

to feature “all claims against IA” as a focal point to the Stowers duty—

notwithstanding if those claims were asserted by other claimants or

co-defendants—misstates the Stowers duty’s scope. The Texas Supreme

Court has clarified that settlement offers must “clearly state a sum

34

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 35 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

certain,”15 be “unconditional,”16 and cannot “carry[] risks of further

liability.”17 Because any potential obligation IA owed to CRC did not bear on

Highport’s offers to IA, that obligation could not have invalidated Highport’s

Stowers-compliant offers, which were unconditional and did not carry any risk

of future liability. As such, we hold that the district court’s jury instructions

were correct statements of law.

Furthermore, Westport’s requested instruction was substantially

covered in the charge as a whole. This court has explained that “in

submitting [a Stowers question] for the jury’s decision, every factor entering

into its determination should be clearly and fairly presented.” Fid. & Cas. Co.

of N.Y. v. Robb, 267 F.2d 473, 476 (5th Cir. 1959). Notably, Westport’s

preferred jury instruction was still included in the elements that Penn

National was required to prove by a preponderance of the evidence. Even

Westport concedes this by arguing that the jury “might have read these

instructions to allow it to also consider the CRC claims” because the jury

instructions explicitly instructed the jurors that “[w]hen considering these

questions, you should consider all of the relevant circumstances at the

time[.]”Consequently, Westport has failed to demonstrate that failure to

instruct the jury on the CRC indemnity claim seriously impaired its ability to

present a given defense.

Westport argues that “[w]hether Highport’s settlement offers would

have released the CRC claims was relevant to the likelihood and degree of

IA’s potential exposure to an excess judgment.” Fortunately, Westport had

the opportunity to present these considerations at trial. Indeed, beginning

_____________________

15

Rocor Int’l, Inc., 77 S.W.3d at 263.

16

Danner, 340 F.2d at 429–30.

17

Id.

35

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 36 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

with its opening statements, Westport made clear throughout the trial its

view that “the resolution of CRC’s indemnity claim” was a relevant issue in

its settlement decision-making “that came into play with respect to the first

two demands.”

Still, both Penn National and the district court point to contradictory

evidence supporting the jury’s finding. For example, contemporaneous claim

notes between Redeker and Oldenettel—recorded five days before the first

mediation in May 2009—reveal that Westport did “not believe the

indemnity paragraph to be applicable under the facts of this case.” see Am.

Guarantee, 990 F.3d at 850. Moreover, the jury heard credible evidence that

it was over one year later, on September 13, 2010, when CRC actually

asserted a claim against IA, and it did so in a parallel arbitration between

Highport and CRC. In its third-party demand against IA for breach of the

Brokerage Agreement, CRC explained that “[a]s a result of [IA]’s wrongful

failure to comply with its obligations under the CRC Brokerage Agreement,”

it was forced “to file an Opposed Motion to Compel Arbitration, Motion to

Stay, and Motion to Stay Discovery against [IA] in the federal court lawsuit.”

Thus, dissimilar to Robb, the evidence of the CRC indemnity claim was not

“completely exclude[ed] from the jury’s consideration.” See 267 F.2d at 476.

Even if we concluded that the CRC indemnity claims were a relevant

consideration for Westport in making its settlement decisions, the jury

charge was a correct statement of law. Under the jury instructions, the jury

was free to include the CRC indemnity issue as one of the “relevant

circumstances” in the district court’s explicitly nonexhaustive list of relevant

considerations.

For these reasons, we conclude that the district court’s jury

instruction “substantially covered” Westport’s preferred instruction and

did not misstate the law. Wright, 634 F.3d at 775. Thus, the district court did

not err in instructing the jury. Moreover, even if the district court erred by

36

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 37 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

not listing the CRC indemnity issue as a relevant consideration in the Stowers

analysis, that error would be harmless here because the jury was free to

consider the heavily litigated CRC issue under the broad language of the

instructions.

2. Closing Arguments

Westport insists that Penn National’s closing arguments about the

jury instruction injected error into the jury’s verdict. Westport contends that

“during its closing arguments, Penn [National] repeatedly pointed to the

objected-to instruction and told the jury that it meant that the copious

evidence Westport had presented about the CRC indemnity issue was an

‘irrelevant’ ‘side show’ because under the [district court’s] jury instructions,

‘all that matters, and [the jury charge] states it expressly, is [whether the

settlement demand allows for] an unconditional release from the claims of

Highport . . . not CRC.” Westport avers that “Penn [National] later

reiterated this point, asserting again that under the jury charge, the jury was

to consider ‘the likelihood of obtaining a full release of the . . . the Highport

claims against [IA]. Not CRC’s.’”

We acknowledge that litigants may use their closing argument only

“to assist the jury in analyzing, evaluating and applying the evidence.”

United States v. Morris, 568 F.2d 396, 401 (5th Cir. 1978). Thus, it was

permissible for Penn National to utilize its closing argument to argue that the

evidence did not support Westport’s contention that the CRC indemnity

claim overwhelmingly factored into its failure to accept Highport’s

settlement demands. Still, “to the extent that the context could alter the

effect of an isolated remark, we must also consider the prejudicial effect of

the remarks taken together.” United States v. Smith, 814 F.3d 268, 276 (5th

Cir. 2016). Notably, Westport acknowledges that it still discussed the CRC

evidence in its opening and closing arguments. And the plain text of the jury

37

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 38 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

instruction does not state that the jury could not consider the CRC indemnity

issue. Hence, we hold that the jury was not improperly precluded from

considering the CRC indemnity claim when evaluating the reasonableness of

Westport’s settlement decisions.

Still, Westport complains that it “was unable to tell the jury that the

court’s instructions did not mean what Penn [National] said [they] meant, as

the trial court had ruled for [Penn National] on that very issue, on that very

basis.” Westport argues that it could not “have objected to Penn [National]’s

closing arguments, as they were entirely consistent with the trial court’s

(erroneous) ruling.” That argument is baseless. Notably, Westport does not

cite a ruling from the district court holding that it could not object,

presumably because no such ruling exists. Plainly put, the district court’s

decision to reword the jury instructions did not preclude consideration of the

CRC indemnity issue, nor did that decision bar Westport from raising an

objection to Penn National’s closing arguments. If Westport failed to

recognize the distinction between the district court’s instruction and Penn

National’s closing arguments about that instruction, that failure is

Westport’s alone. Because we are unpersuaded by Westport’s arguments,

we hold that the interest of substantial justice is not at stake in the instant

case and that the district court’s judgment does not warrant reversal. See

Shipman v. Cent. Gulf Lines, Inc., 709 F.2d 383, 388 (5th Cir. 1983) (citation

omitted) (holding that arguments that are not objected to are reviewed only

in “exceptional cases where the interest of substantial justice is at stake”);

see also Alaniz v. ZamoraQuezada, 591 F.3d 761, 778 (5th Cir. 2009)

(“Improper argument may be the basis for a new trial where no objection has

been raised only where the interest of substantial justice is at stake.”

(alteration adopted) (citation and quotation marks omitted)); Whitehead v.

Food Max of Miss., Inc., 163 F.3d 265, 276 (5th Cir. 1998) (reversing judgment

38

Case: 23-20282 Document: 125-1 Page: 39 Date Filed: 09/18/2024

No. 23-20282

based on improper closing argument where the appellant “fail[ed] to object

to almost all of the statements now challenged”).

Viewed in the light most favorable to the jury verdict, we hold that the

evidence was sufficient for the jury to find that “an ordinarily prudent insurer

would accept [the settlement demands], considering the likelihood and

degree of the insured’s potential exposure to an excess judgment.”

OneBeacon, 841 F.3d at 678 (quoting Garcia, 876 S.W.2d at 849).

IV.

The district court’s judgment is AFFIRMED. IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED that Appellant’s opposed motion to strike portions of

Appellees’ brief is DENIED.

39

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.