Opinion

Manley v. Automobile Insurance Co. of Hartford

  • 169 S.W.3d 207
  • 2005 Tenn. App. LEXIS 237
  • 2005 WL 941180
Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Apr 22, 2005
Status
Published
Author
Farmer
On the bench
Judge David R. Farmer
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 48.3%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

March 3, 2005 Session

CLAY MANLEY v. THE AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE COMPANY OF

HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT

Direct Appeal from the Circuit Court for Davidson County

No. 00C-624 Carol Soloman, Judge

No. M2003-02654-COA-R3-CV - Filed April 22, 2005

This appeal arises from a claim for homeowner’s insurance benefits. In 1998, a tornado damaged

a home in East Nashville. The owner of the home held an insurance policy that provided coverage

for guaranteed replacement cost above the policy limit, once repairs had been completed. After the

insurer had paid the owner the actual cash value of the damage, the owner sold the home to the

plaintiff for $80,000. Along with the sale, the owner assigned to the plaintiff the rights to any claims

or proceeds under the insurance policy. The plaintiff, without making any repairs, began a process

of attempting to collect supplemental proceeds under the policy. After the insurer failed to respond

to the plaintiff’s demand for an appraisal, the plaintiff submitted two sworn statements in proof of

loss, claiming a total of $405,072.93 in replacement costs. The insurer rejected the plaintiff’s proofs

of loss, and this suit followed. Following a jury trial, the trial court entered judgment in favor of the

plaintiff for $405,072.93, in addition to $35,000 in damages for bad faith. Because we find that the

judgment entered by the trial court was the product of an inconsistent jury verdict, we vacate and

remand.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Vacated; and

Remanded

DAVID R. FARMER , J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which ALAN E. HIGHERS, J. and HOLLY

M. KIRBY , J., joined.

Arthur E. McClellan, Gallatin, Tennessee, for the appellant, The Automobile Insurance Company

of Hartford, Connecticut.

John R. Jacobson and William D. Martin, Nashville, Tennessee, and Taylor A. Cates, Memphis,

Tennessee, for the appellee, Clay Manley.

OPINION

I. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On April 16, 1998, a tornado passed through Nashville, Tennessee damaging a home owned

by Robert and Mary Faye Holt (collectively the “Holts”), located at 1715 Eastland Avenue in East

Nashville. The Holts maintained a homeowners’ insurance policy (the “Policy”) for their residence

(the “Property”) with the Appellant, The Automobile Insurance Company of Hartford, Connecticut

(“Hartford”). Although the Policy provided a coverage limit of $93,000 for the “dwelling,” the

Policy also contained a “Home Replacement Cost Guarantee” endorsement,1 which allowed the

insured to recover the full amount required to repair or replace the loss, once repairs were completed.

Soon after the tornado struck, the Holts retained a public insurance adjuster, Phil Breeden

& Associates (“Breeden”), to assist them in the preparation and presentation of their claim to

Hartford. By letter dated April 27, 1998, Breeden notified Hartford that the Holts had retained

Breeden and requested that Hartford direct further correspondence directly to him. Included with

the letter was a “Notice of Loss,” accompanied by a “Public Adjusters Notice and Loss Payable

Endorsement.”2 On July 23, 1998, in what represented the actual cash value payment of the Holts’

loss, Hartford issued two checks to the Holts. One check in the amount of $15,149.59 represented

the personal property loss, and a check in the amount of $34,544.07 represented the damage to the

dwelling. Hartford did not obtain a full release under the policy as a condition for these payments.

Although Hartford issued a $34,544.07 check for the depreciated value of the property damage,

Breeden stated in his testimony that he and Hartford negotiated replacement costs of $40,946.40.

In its letter which accompanied the actual cash value payment to the Holts, Hartford stated that

depreciation was recoverable upon completion of repairs and presentation of receipts. Besides

replacing windows and covering the damaged roof with a tarp, the Holts never made any substantial

repairs to the Property.

1

In a letter attached to the Policy, the Holts’ local insurance agent explained the “Home Replacement Cost

Guarantee” as follows:

You have chosen to insure your home for its full replacement costs. You’re covered if your home is

completely destroyed by any covered loss (even if the cost to rebuild is greater than the amount of

Coverage A shown on your policy). For more information and your obligations, please refer to this

endorsement in your policy.

In summary, the Home Replacement Cost Guarantee provided that Hartford would pay no more than the actual

cash value of the damage, which represents the depreciated value of the property, until actual repair or replacement was

complete. Once repair was complete, Hartford would pay no more than the smaller of the following: (1) the replacement

cost, without deduction for depreciation of all or part of the dwelling with the same type of construction and like kind

and quality materials at the same location; or (2) the amount actually and necessarily spent to repair or replace the

damaged building.

2

The “Public Adjusters Notice” served to notify Hartford that Breeden was representing the Holts and requested

Hartford to direct all correspondence to Breeden, rather than the Holts. The “Loss Payable Endorsement” directed

Hartford to include Breeden’s name on all payments issued in conjunction with the claim.

-2-

During the summer of 1998, the Appellee, Clay Manley (“Mr. Manley”), approached Mr.

Holt and spoke with him about representing the Holts with their insurance claim on the Property.

At the time, Mr. Manley was a principal in Howarth, Keys & Manley, Inc. (“HKM”), a firm of public

insurance adjusters. Mr. Holt informed Mr. Manley that the Holts were not interested in his services

because the Holts had retained Breeden to assist them with their claim. At some point thereafter,

the Holts contacted a real estate agent about selling the Property. Mr. Manley then expressed interest

in purchasing the Property, and Mr. Holt quoted him a selling price of $60,000. After reviewing the

Policy and discovering that it provided guaranteed replacement cost coverage, Mr. Manley offered

Mr. Holt $80,000 for the Property. On August 12, 1998, Mr. Manley and the Holts entered into an

“as is” contract for the sale of the Property with a purchase price of $80,000. In a separate document

(the “Assignment”) executed along with the sale, the Holts assigned to Manley their rights and

interests to any claims or proceeds under the Policy. Closing took place on August 28, 1998, and

the Holts conveyed the Property by warranty deed to Mr. Manley.

Shortly after he purchased the Property, Mr. Manley enlisted HKM to represent him in

making a supplemental claim on the Policy. By letter dated September 1, 1998 and an attached

“appraisal notice,” HKM notified Hartford that Mr. Manley was “invok[ing] the appraisal provision

of the policy.”3 In the September 1, 1998 letter, HKM also made the following request:

Your insured has requested that I immediately ask you to issue payment for the

amount, which you have offered them on this loss, which represents the undisputed

portion of the claim. Please forward payment directly to your insured immediately,

inasmuch as they need the funds to continue to mitigate their damages and to pay for

some of the numerous expenses they have incurred since the date of the loss.

This letter marks the first correspondence between Mr. Manley and Hartford related to the Property.

Prior to this point in time, the parties had not communicated regarding the Property, and,

consequently, there had been no disputes regarding any amount of loss. Hartford apparently neither

acknowledged Mr. Manley’s demand to invoke the “appraisal provision” of the Policy, nor did it

“issue payment for the amount, . . . which represent[ed] the undisputed portion of the claim.”

3

The “appraisal provision” of the Policy provides as follows:

If you and we fail to agree on the amount of loss, either one can demand that the amount of loss be set

by appraisal. If either makes a written demand for appraisal, each shall select a competent,

independent appraiser and notify the other of the appraiser’s identity within 20 days of receipt of the

written demand. The two appraisers shall then select a competent, impartial umpire. If the two

appraisers are unable to agree upon an umpire within 15 days, you or we can ask a judge of a court

of record in the state where the residence premises is located to select an umpire. The appraisers shall

then set the amount of loss. If the appraisers submit a written report of an agreement to us, the amount

agreed upon shall be the amount of loss. If the appraisers fail to agree within a reasonable time, they

shall submit their differences to the umpire. W ritten agreement signed by any of two of the three shall

set the amount of loss. Each appraiser shall be paid by the party selecting the appraiser. Other

expenses of the appraisal and the compensation of the umpire shall be paid equally by you and us.

-3-

Having received no response from Hartford, on October 6, 1998, HKM submitted two Sworn

Statements in Proof of Loss (“Proof(s) of Loss”) to Hartford, one for physical property damage and

another for loss of rental use. In the Proof of Loss for the “Dwelling and APS only,” Mr. Manley

attested that the Property had sustained damage in the amount of $383,472.93. Attached to the Proof

of Loss for the Property, HKM included an itemized, room-by-room estimate of the damage,

prepared by an adjuster who did not work for HKM. In the Proof of Loss submitted for loss of rental

use, Mr. Manley claimed the loss of the fair rental value of the Property for one year in the estimated

amount of $21,600. Interestingly, on October 6, 1998, in addition to submitting the two Proofs of

Loss, Mr. Manley entered into an agreement that granted HKM an option to purchase the Property

for the sum of ten ($10) dollars. However, just prior to the trial in this case, on April 21, 2003, Mr.

Manley sold the Property to Michael L. Lajoie for $110,000. Throughout the time he owned the

Property during the course of this dispute, Mr. Manley never made repairs to the Property.

On December 3, 1998, Hartford notified Mr. Manley in writing that it was rejecting both

Proofs of Loss because they failed to comply with the terms and conditions of the Policy, in as much

as the Proofs of Loss were not sworn to by the named insureds, i.e. the Holts. Hartford further

asserted that it had “fully compromised and settled” the claim by paying the Holts the sum of

$34,644.07. Additionally, the letter noted that Mr. Manley had misstated the amount of coverage

under the Policy, and Mr. Manley was not the owner of the Property on the date of the loss in

question.

On December 3, 1998, the same day that Hartford rejected Mr. Manley’s Proofs of Loss,

Hartford mailed, by certified mail with return receipt requested, a letter addressed to the Holts at

their former address, 1715 Eastland Avenue. In this letter, Hartford invited the Holts to file a

supplemental claim and return the attached blank Proof of Loss in accordance with the terms and

conditions of the Policy. On March 3, 1999, after the Holts had not returned a completed Proof of

Loss, Hartford mailed another letter, also by certified mail with return receipt requested, addressed

to the Holts at the 1715 Eastland Avenue address. In this second letter, Hartford informed the Holts

that they had failed to comply with the conditions provided under the Policy for filing a supplemental

claim, and, therefore, Hartford was taking the position that “any and all supplemental claims you

may have had . . . are herein denied.” The record reflects signed return receipts for both of these

letters, however, neither of the signatures are legible, and the printed name below the signatures

appears to read “P. Potter.”

After voluntarily dismissing the initial action brought in chancery court, Mr. Manley filed

a second complaint against Hartford in Davidson County Circuit Court on March 1, 2000. In his

complaint, Mr. Manley sought to enforce the arbitration and appraisal provision of the policy and

averred that Hartford’s refusal to participate in the appraisal process was in bad faith. Hartford

subsequently filed its answer denying that it owed any obligation to Mr. Manley under the Policy.

After the trial court denied Mr. Manley’s motion for partial summary judgment, Mr. Manley filed

his Rule 56.05 Motion For Entry of Findings. On December 17, 2002, the trial court entered an

order granting in part Mr. Manley’s motion. In that order, which purportedly narrowed the issues

for trial, the trial court entered the following findings:

-4-

1. Defendant did not settle this claim upon its payment to the original insureds,

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Holt;

2. The amount set forth in Plaintiff’s Proofs of Loss ($405, 072.93) is

determined to be an accurate estimate of the amount of loss[;]

3. The primary issues remaining in this case are (1) whether Mr. Manley is the

proper party to bring a supplemental claim against the policy at issue in this

case . . .; and (2) if Mr. Manley is determined to be the proper party, the

timing of the payment [Hartford] must make to Mr. Manley.

Subsequently, Hartford filed a motion to alter or amend, asserting that the foregoing order was totally

erroneous in that it set forth findings that were never discussed. By agreed order entered February

24, 2003, a jury trial was set for June 16, 2003, and the issues raised in Hartford’s motion to alter

or amend were to be resolved by mutual agreement. However, if counsel for the parties were unable

to resolve the dispute, the agreed order provided that each would submit opposing briefs on the

disputed issues prior to the pre-trial conference, set for June 5, 2003, and the matter would be

resolved by the trial court at the pre-trial conference.

At the pre-trial conference, counsel for Hartford stated to the trial court that the issues raised

in its motion to alter or amend, including the issue of damages, had not been resolved. The trial

court, however, refused to entertain argument on these issues and ordered that the amount of

damages was set at $405,072.93. Just prior to trial, Hartford filed several motions, all of which were

denied by the trial court as being untimely filed.4

Following a two day jury trial, the jury returned its “Jury Verdict Form,” which responded

to a set of special interrogatories as follows:

QUESTION 1: Was the Automobile Insurance Company required to pay Clay

Manley’s supplemental claim?

Yes X No

If your answer to Question 1 is “No,” then you have found for the Automobile

Insurance Company and you should sign this form on the last page and return it to the

court. If your answer to Question 1 is “Yes,” then please answer Question 2.

4

It appears from the record that counsel for Hartford sent three motions by Federal Express overnight delivery

on June 12, 2003. However, the motions were not delivered and filed until the day of trial, June 16, 2003, after the trial

had begun. Therefore, the motions were not before the court when counsel attempted to argue the motions immediately

prior to trial.

-5-

QUESTION 2: Was the Automobile Insurance Company required to pay Clay

Manley the amount set forth in the proof of loss before the repairs were made to the

property or were they allowed to wait until after the repairs had been completed to

pay the cost of repairs?

Required to pay BEFORE repairs were made to property

X Required to pay only AFTER the repairs were completed

If your answer to Question 2 is “Before,” then you should skip directly to

Question 4. If your answer to Question 2 is “After,” please answer Question 3.

QUESTION 3: Did the Automobile Insurance Company waive any right it may have

had to require Mr. Manley to make repairs to the property before it paid the claim?

Yes No X

If your answer to Question 3 is “No,” then you have found for the Automobile

Insurance Company, and you should sign this form on the last page and return it to

the court. (emphasis added). If your answer to Question 3 is “Yes,” please answer

Question 4.

QUESTION 4: Did the Automobile Insurance Company engage in unfair or

deceptive acts or practices toward Clay Manley by refusing to pay for the cost of

repairs?

Yes X No

If your answer to Question 4 is “No,” then please skip directly to Question 7.

If your answer to Question 4 is “Yes,” then please answer Question 5.

QUESTION 5: Did Clay Manley suffer damages as a result of the Automobile

Insurance Company’s unfair or deceptive acts or practices?

Yes No X

If your answer to Question 5 is “No,” then skip directly to Question 7. If your

answer to Question 5 is “Yes,” then please answer Question 6.

QUESTION 6: What amount, if any, is Clay Manley entitled to recover from the

Automobile Insurance Company as damages resulting from the Automobile

Insurance Company’s unfair or deceptive acts or practices?

ANSWER: $

-6-

Please answer Question 7.

QUESTION 7: Was the Automobile Insurance Company’s failure to pay Clay

Manley for his loss done in bad faith?

Yes X No

If your answer to Question 7 is “No,” you should sign this form on the last

page and return it to the court. If your answer to Question 7 is “Yes,” then please

answer Question 8.

QUESTION 8: Did the Automobile Insurance Company’s failure to pay cause

additional expense, loss, or injury, including attorney fees upon Clay Manley?

Yes X No

If your answer to Question 8 is “No,” then you should sign this form on the

last page and return it to the court. If your answer to Question 8 is “Yes,” then please

answer Question 9.

QUESTION 9: What amount, if any, is Clay Manley entitled to recover from the

Automobile Insurance Company as damages for their bad-faith refusal to pay the

amount of Mr. Manley’s loss? This amount cannot exceed 25% of the amount of

loss, which is $101,268.23.

ANSWER: $ 35,000.00

On July 2, 2003, the trial court entered an order awarding Mr. Manley $405,072.93 in

damages for Hartford’s breach of contract and $35,000 in damages for bad faith. Subsequently, the

trial court awarded Mr. Manley $185,558.56 in prejudgment interest and $2,918.75 in discretionary

costs. Hartford filed a motion for new trial on July 31, 2003 and an amended motion for new trial

on September 17, 2003. The trial court denied both motions, and Hartford timely filed its notice of

appeal.

II. ISSUES

On appeal, Hartford raises twelve issues:

(1) Whether the trial court erred in not entering a judgment in favor of

[Hartford];

(2) Whether the trial court erred in entering a judgment against [Hartford] for

statutory bad faith;

-7-

(3) Whether the trial court erred in determining general damages as a matter of

law and entering a judgment thereon;

(4) Whether the trial court’s misconduct during the trial demands a new trial;

(5) Whether the trial court erred in not hearing and not granting [Hartford’s] Rule

56 motion for summary judgment;

(6) Whether the trial court erred in denying [Hartford’s] motion for a dismissal

at the conclusion of Manley’s case in chief and at the end of the trial;

(7) Whether the trial court erred in granting Manley’s motion to dismiss

[Hartford’s] counter complaint;

(8) Whether the trial court erred in not permitting [Hartford] to amend its

affirmative defenses;

(9) Whether the trial court erred in not permitting [Hartford] to use party

depositions, party interrogatories and photographs in its case in chief;

(10) Whether the trial court erred in ruling Phil Breeden was not an indispensable

party and/or in failing to dismiss;

(11) Whether the trial court erred in ruling, as a matter of law, that no

settlement/accord and satisfaction took place and in failing to charge that

defense; and

(12) Whether the trial court erred in instructing the jury.

III. DISCUSSION

At the outset of its argument that the trial court erred in not entering judgment in its favor,

Hartford contests the validity of the Assignment between the Holts and Mr. Manley. In this case,

the Policy contained an anti-assignment clause, which prohibited the assignment of the Policy

without the consent of Hartford. Hartford essentially concedes that, despite an anti-assignment

provision, Tennessee law allows for an insured to assign the cause of action or proceeds payable

under an insurance policy, where the underlying loss that gives rise to the insurer’s liability has

previously occurred. See Ford v. Robertson, 739 S.W.2d 3, 5 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1987). However,

Hartford argues that, although the proceeds of the contract may be assignable, the contractual duties

and conditions between the insurer, Hartford, and the named insureds, the Holts, are not assignable.

Hartford contends that, despite the Assignment, the duty of the insured to meet the conditions for

coverage continued. Thus, in this case, Hartford argues that, because the Holts failed to file a

-8-

supplemental claim or comply with the conditions for further payment, such as completing repairs,

Hartford was not under a duty to pay either the Holts or Mr. Manley.

We believe it is fairly well-settled that, in Tennessee, an insured may assign an insurance

policy after a loss has occurred, despite an anti-assignment clause purportedly prohibiting

assignments without the consent of the insurer. Zaharius v. Vassis, 789 S.W.2d 906, 910 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 1989); Ford, 739 S.W.2d at 5; Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Brown, 160 S.W.2d 434, 437–38 (Tenn.

Ct. App. 1941). However, the assignee of the policy “stands in the shoes” of the assignor and

receives nothing more than what the assignor held. See Zaharius, 789 S.W.2d at 910–11. Although,

in this case, the Assignment was valid, Mr. Manley was still bound to meet the conditions for

coverage that existed under the Policy.

Turning now to the judgment entered on the jury verdict, it is necessary to detail some of the

events that transpired while the jury was deliberating. During its deliberations, the jury twice

announced that it was deadlocked, apparently as a result of “Question 3” of the verdict form. Over

Hartford’s objection and request for a mistrial, the trial court instructed the jury to proceed with the

rest of the special interrogatories and return to “Question 3” later. Accordingly, the record reflects

that the jury proceeded to answer the remaining questions, which involved Mr. Manley’s Tennessee

Consumer Protection Act and bad faith claims. In looking at the verdict form, the instruction which

follows “Question 3” clearly states that a “No” answer should lead to a finding for Hartford. The

instruction further provides that, if the jury answered “No” to “Question 3,” then it should sign the

form and return it to the court without answering the remaining questions. Here, the jury answered

“No” to “Question 3.” However, guided by the trial court’s instructions, the jury proceeded to

answer the remaining questions and, in doing so, we believe, reached an inconsistent verdict.

Illustrative of its confusion, upon reading its verdict in open court and after answering “No” to

“Question 3,” the jury foreperson asked the trial court, “do I continue,” to which the trial court

responded, “Yes.”

In the case of Concrete Spaces, Inc. v. Sender, 2 S.W.3d 901 (Tenn. 1999), the Tennessee

Supreme Court restated the law regarding defective verdicts:

Tennessee law is well-established that litigants are entitled to have their rights

settled by a consistent and intelligible verdict and that verdicts that are inconsistent

and irreconcilable cannot stand. See Milliken v. Smith, 218 Tenn. 665, 668, 405

S.W.2d 475, 476 (1966); Alabama Highway Express, Inc. v. Luster, 51 Tenn.App.

691, 696, 371 S.W.2d 182, 183 (1963); Penley v. Glover, 30 Tenn.App. 289, 292,

205 S.W.2d 757, 759 (1947). Where a judgment is based upon inconsistent findings

by a jury it is the duty of the appellate court to reverse and remand the case for a new

trial. [See McInturff v. White, 565 S.W.2d 478, 482]; Berry v. Foster, 199 Tenn. 352,

356, 287 S.W.2d 16, 18 (1955); Penley, 30 Tenn.App. at 292, 205 S.W.2d at 759.

A new trial is also warranted when verdict forms are composed in such a

faulty fashion that they do not address each of the plaintiffs’ theories of recovery and

-9-

do not allow the jury to adequately respond to each claim. Well-settled law requires

courts to construe the terms of a verdict in a manner that upholds the jury’s findings,

if it is able to do so. See Briscoe v. Allison, 200 Tenn. 115, 125–26, 290 S.W.2d 864,

868 (1956). Even if a verdict is defective in form, it is to be enforced if it sufficiently

defines an issue in such a way as to enable the court to intelligently articulate a

judgment. See Arcata Graphics Co. v. Heidelberg Harris, Inc., 874 S.W.2d 15, 22,

27 (Tenn. App.1993).

Id. at 911.

After reviewing the verdict in this case, we can see no way that the trial court could have

intelligently articulated a judgment therefrom. Although Question “2” involves the interpretation

of the insurance policy and is, therefore, a question of law, State ex rel. Pope v. U.S. Fire Ins. Co.,

145 S.W.3d 529, 533 (Tenn. 2004), we believe that the jury correctly decided Question “2” in favor

of Hartford. The insurance policy at issue here provides a “Home Replacement Cost Guarantee,”

but the Policy is clear that the insurer is not under a duty to pay until after repairs have been

completed. In this case, it is undisputed that Mr. Manley never made the first repair, and the jury

reflected this finding in its verdict. Additionally, in answering “No” to Question “3,” the jury found

that Hartford had not waived any right it may have had to require Mr. Manley to make repairs before

it paid the claim. This finding is supported by the record as well, as there is nothing in the record

to suggest otherwise. Therefore, we believe that, at the point the jury answered “No” to “Question

3,” its job was finished. However, because the jury was instructed to complete the remaining

interrogatories, it reached an internally inconsistent result. In the remainder of its verdict, the jury

found that Hartford had engaged in unfair or deceptive practices by refusing to pay for the cost of

repairs, but Mr. Manley had suffered no damages as a result. Finally, the jury found that, despite its

finding that Hartford was not obligated to pay until after Mr. Manley had completed repairs,

Hartford’s failure to pay was done in bad faith. The jury then awarded Mr. Manley $35,000 in bad

faith damages. Here, the jury’s findings — that Hartford was, on one hand, not required to pay the

loss but, at the same time, acting in bad faith in failing to pay — are irreconcilable.

We do not believe that, in rendering a judgment for Mr. Manley, the trial court intended to

ignore the jury’s findings with regard to its answer to “Question 3.” Rather, from a review of the

record, it is apparent that there was considerable confusion among all parties throughout the course

of this trial, which led to the inconsistent verdict. As such, we are of the opinion that the verdict

from which the trial court entered its judgment was fatally defective, and the trial court’s judgment

rendered thereupon is likewise invalid. Accordingly, we vacate the judgment of the trial court and

remand this matter for a new trial.

In view of the foregoing conclusion, it would generally be unnecessary for us to address the

remaining issues presented by Hartford, as they would be pretermitted. However, we feel it is

important to address the issue of damages in this case in order to clarify this issue for purposes of

remand. As previously mentioned, during the pre-trial conference, the trial court ruled that Hartford

would not be allowed to contest the amount of damages at trial. Although it is certainly not clear

-10-

from the record exactly how the trial court arrived at this determination, we will nevertheless make

an attempt to interpret the proceedings below.

In his complaint, Mr. Manley never actually sought general damages, but rather sought to

enforce the appraisal provision of the Policy. In October of 2000, he filed a motion for summary

judgment, which was denied on November 12, 2002. Two days later, Mr. Manley filed a motion that

sought the entry of undisputed facts, and a hearing on this motion for the entry of findings was

scheduled to be heard on December 6, 2002. Exactly what took place on December 6, 2002 is not

clear, as there is no transcript and the record reflects that the attorneys for the respective parties have

conflicting accounts as to what was determined in that “hearing.”5 Regardless, on December 17,

2002, the trial court entered an order, which, among other things, established that “[t]he amount set

forth in [Mr. Manley’s] Proofs of Loss ($405,072.93) [was] determined to be an accurate estimate

of the amount of loss.” Following the entry of this order, Hartford filed a motion to alter or amend

the order, arguing that the order was completely erroneous and set forth findings that had never been

discussed. Hartford’s motion was heard on February 7, 2003, and by an agreed order entered

February 24, 2003, it was established that, among other things:

the issues raised in [Hartford’s] Motion to Alter and Amend shall be discussed by the

parties in an effort to resolve the disputes. However, in the event the disputes cannot

be resolved by the mutual agreement of the parties, [the parties shall submit briefs to

the Court on all unresolved issues before the pre-trial conference]. All matters not

otherwise resolved by agreement shall be resolved and determined by the Court at the

Pre Trial Conference which is scheduled for the 5th day of June, 2003.

When counsel for the parties appeared at the pre-trial conference, it was clear that the parties had not

reached any agreement that settled the amount of damages. Notwithstanding Hartford’s position,

the trial court ruled that the amount of damages set forth in its December 17, 2002, order was the law

of the case, and damages were no longer at issue for purposes of the trial. At the pre-trial

conference, counsel for Hartford and the trial court had the following exchange regarding the issue

of damages:

THE COURT: . . . . So, it looks like from that order the issues are pretty clear. Do

you have any - - do you want to respond to that?

ATTORNEY: Well, damages is one of the issues. The damages was never resolved

and has not been resolved.

5

Counsel for Hartford insists that, although argument on Mr. Manley’s motion was scheduled for December

6, 2002, the argument did not occur. Rather, when the case was called, the trial judge asked both attorneys to retire to

her chambers. At that point, counsel for Hartford contends that the trial judge and the attorneys merely discussed the

future handling of the case, and there was no argument or ruling on M r. Manley’s motion for entry of findings.

-11-

THE COURT: Not the - - the amount is clear, it’s just if the damages are owed, if

that amount is owed.

ATTORNEY: No, ma’am, I disagree with that.

THE COURT: You can disagree all day long, that’s what the order says.

ATTORNEY: You’re ordering - -

THE COURT: That the jury will determine if they’re entitled to anything, and at what

value, is it before or after repair - - do they have to repair it to get it. But the amount

is not in dispute. It’s just are those the damages?

ATTORNEY: That’s my point, Your Honor, the amount is in dispute.

THE COURT: Well then, we’ll grant you an appeal at the end, but my judgment

stands. . . .

In his brief to this Court, Mr. Manley cites to Bard’s Apparel Mfg., Inc. v. Bituminous Fire

& Marine Ins. Co., 849 F.2d 245, 249 (6th Cir. 1988) for the proposition that, by refusing to

participate in the appraisal process throughout the course of this litigation, Hartford has waived its

right to contest the amount of the alleged loss. Bard’s Apparel and the other cases cited by Mr.

Manley are clearly distinguishable from this case for a number of reasons. In Bard’s Apparel, the

insurer and the insured had spent months in open negotiations over the adjustment of the loss.

Bard’s Apparel, 849 F.2d at 249. It was only after the insured gave notice of its intention to file suit

that the insurer attempted to invoke the appraisal process. Id. In the policy at issue in Bard’s

Apparel, an appraisal was a condition precedent to filing suit. Id. (emphasis added). The Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit agreed with the district court and concluded that, under the

circumstances, the insurance company “not only waived its right to an appraisal as a condition

precedent to suit, but also waited an unreasonable length of time to the prejudice of Bard’s before

demanding an appraisal.” Id. (emphasis added). In the present case, the facts are completely reverse

to those in Bard’s Apparel. Here, the insured sought to invoke the appraisal provision at the outset

of his involvement with the insurer, long before there was any dispute or disagreement over the

amount of a loss. Moreover, the appraisal provision under the Policy in this case does not operate

as a condition precedent to suit. Therefore, we conclude that Bard’s Apparel and the other cases

cited by Mr. Manley are not applicable to the facts of this case.

After a thorough review of the record, we believe that the trial court erroneously set damages

as a matter of law in the amount estimated in Mr. Manley’s Proofs of Loss. The record reflects that

Hartford contested the trial court’s rulings on this matter, but, for some reason not wholly apparent

from the record, Hartford’s pleas were to no avail. The issue of damages in this case is a disputed,

factual issue that is material to the ultimate outcome of the case. Accordingly, we conclude that it

was error for the trial court to summarily determine that the amount of damages was not in dispute.

-12-

Finally, we wish to address the trial court’s ex parte communication with the jury. Because

of the trial court’s order setting damages, there was little evidence of damages presented at trial.6

The jury was instructed that the amount of damages had been set pursuant to the trial court’s

December 17, 2002 order. Evidently, this establishment of damages concerned the jury. During its

deliberations, the jury specifically asked the trial court to change its ruling, and the trial court and

the jury discussed the issue of damages outside the presence of the parties or their attorneys. During

the deliberations, the trial court stated for the record the following ex parte communication, which

took place between the trial court and the jury:

The jury asked me if the damage award is set in stone. And I said, Yes, it

was. And they said, Could you change it? I said, I’m the only person that can change

it. Anything is a possibility. Just resolve this case and then leave that to us. So, I

wanted you to know that I said that, which is really strange.

They came back and said they were hopelessly deadlocked. . . .

Certainly, ex parte communication between the trial court and the jury is not favored. Holt

v. Parton, No. E2000-02695-COA-R3-CV, 2001 WL 987230, at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 29, 2001)

(no perm. app. filed). As the Holt court explained, however, every ex parte communication between

the trial judge and the jury is not reversible error. Id. at *8 (citing Spencer v. A-1 Crane Servs., 880

S.W.2d 938, 941 (Tenn. 1994)). However, “reversal is required where a timely complaining party

shows specific prejudice or where, owing to the nature of the ex parte communication, the reviewing

court is unable to determine whether the action was actually harmless.” Id. (emphasis in original)

(quoting Spencer, 880 S.W.2d at 941). In this case, we cannot make a determination from the record

whether the jury was influenced by the trial court’s response to its question regarding changing the

amount of damages. Therefore, we are unable “to determine whether the action was actually

harmless.” Spencer, 880 S.W.2d at 942. Thus, taken in combination with the confusing nature of

the verdict form and the trial court’s instructions to complete the interrogatories despite a finding

that Hartford was not required to pay Mr. Manley, we conclude that the ex parte communications

constitute reversible error.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we vacate the judgment of the trial court and remand this matter

for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs of this appeal are taxed to the Appellee,

Clay Manley, for which execution may issue if necessary.

___________________________________

DAVID R. FARMER, JUDGE

6

Although the trial court’s order eliminated damages as a contested issue, on two separate occasions during trial,

witnesses testified indirectly that the replacement cost for the Property would fall in the range of approximately $30,000

to $41,000.

-13-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.