Opinion

Catherine M. Love v. Doris Lakins Woods

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Nov 4, 2010
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge J. Steven Stafford
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.3%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

September 21, 2010 Session

CATHERINE M. LOVE, as next friend and natural mother of Savannah Love, a

minor child and daughter of Rex Bryan Peterson, deceased, ET. AL.

v.

DORIS LAKINS WOODS

Direct Appeal from the Circuit Court for Blount County

No. L16199 William D. Young, Judge

No. E2009-02385-COA-R3-CV - FILED NOVEMBER 4, 2010

This case arises from the trial court’s denial of Plaintiff/Appellants’ motion to enforce a

settlement agreement. Appellants, the surviving children of decedent, filed a wrongful death

claim against the Appellee herein, the driver of a car involved in the accident that killed

decedent. During negotiations, Appellee/Defendant’s attorney proposed a settlement in the

amount of Appellee’s insurance policy limit, which Appellee’s attorney misstated to be

$100,000, when, in fact, the policy limit was $50,000. The trial court denied Appellants’

motion to enforce the $100,000 settlement finding that the settlement was not enforceable,

as it failed to contain certain material terms of the agreement. We conclude that the trial court

failed to determine whether an agency relationship existed between the Appellee’s attorney

and the insurance company and also whether the insurance company is required to be a party

to this litigation. Vacated and remanded.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3. Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Vacated and

Remanded

J. S TEVEN S TAFFORD, J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which D AVID R. F ARMER, J.,

and H OLLY M. K IRBY, J., joined.

Christopher T. Cain, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the appellants, Catherine M. Love, Rex Bryan

Peterson and Michael Corey Peterson.

Jon M. Cope, Mary Jo Mann, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the appellee, Doris Lankins Woods.

OPINION

On December 1, 2007, Rex Peterson was killed when the motorcycle he was operating

was struck by an automobile driven by the Appellee, Doris Lakins Woods. Mr. Peterson was

survived by three children: Rex Bryan Peterson, an adult; Michael Corey Peterson, an adult;

and Savannah Love, a minor.

On May 2, 2008, Catherine M. Love, as next friend and natural mother of Savannah

Love, Rex Bryan Peterson, and Michael Corey Peterson (together “Plaintiffs,” or

“Appellants”) filed a wrongful death suit against Ms. Woods. The complaint alleged that

Ms. Woods was guilty of common law negligence, and negligence per se in her operation of

the automobile, and that this negligence was the proximate cause of Mr. Peterson’s death.

On June 13, 2008, Ms. Woods filed an answer to the complaint, wherein she denied any

liability, and asserted comparative negligence on the part of Appellants’ decedent, and

another motorcycle driver.

In an Affidavit that was made part of the appellate record, Appellants’ attorney,

Christopher T. Cain, averred, in relevant part, that:

2. In November of 2008, I was informed by Mary Jo Mann

(“Mann”), counsel for the Defendant and Defendant’s insurer

(Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company (“Farmers”))

that Defendant’s policy limits were $100,000. I was not

provided either the Policy or its Declarations Page.

3. On or about February 8, 2009, Mann, on behalf of Farmers,

offered the $100,000 policy limits in settlement of the captioned

matter, exclusive of the property damage claim. This offer was

accepted and confirmed by the undersigned by letter dated

February 9, 2009.

4. On February 9, 2009, Mann, on behalf of Farmers, wrote “to

confirm, in principal, that we have agreed to settle the Peterson

wrongful death for policy limits of $100,000.” .... This letter

reflects an open copy to Chris Rucker (“Rucker”), an adjuster

for Farmers.

5. On or about March 18, 2009, I was informed (first by

Rucker, then by Mann), that the limits of the Policy were

$50,000, rather than $100,000. I was also told by Mann that

Farmers was not going to pay the $100,000 and would only pay

$50,000. Shortly thereafter, for the first time, I was provided the

-2-

Declarations Page for the Policy, which reflected policy limits

of $50,000.

On March 27, 2009, Appellants filed a motion and memorandum to enforce

settlement, seeking to enforce the alleged settlement in the amount of $100,000. The

February 9, 2009, letter from Mann, which is referenced in paragraph four of Mr. Cain’s

Affidavit, supra, was attached to the motion to enforce settlement. This letter provides, in

pertinent part, as follows:

This letter is to confirm, in principal, that we have agreed to

settle the Peterson wrongful death for policy limits of $100,000.

* * *

As I have mentioned, because Savannah Love is a minor, the

settlement will have to be court approved. I will gladly prepare

the necessary documents once you provide me with the

information as to how the settlement proceeds are to be divided.

Please keep in mind that [] T.C.A. §34-1-101, et seq. requires

the appointment of a guardian and posting of a bond if the

amount paid to the minor exceeds $10,000. Your clients may

want to consider placing, at least, some of the minor’s proceeds

in an annuity which will pay out after Savannah reaches 18 to

avoid this additional administrative procedure. I will gladly

discuss this with you in more detail and Tennessee Farmers

would be able to provide an annuity.

In their motion to enforce settlement, Appellants contend that any mistake as to the

policy limit was unilateral on the part of Appellee’s counsel or insurer. Because Farmers

drafted the policy at issue and at least two of its agents (i.e., Appellee’s attorney and adjuster)

reviewed (or should have reviewed) the matter before offering $100,000 in settlement of

Appellants’ claims, Appellants contend that Farmers / Appellee should bear the mistake and

settlement should be enforced for $100,000. On May 7, 2009, Ms. Woods filed a response

to Appellants’ motion to enforce settlement, wherein she argued, in relevant part, as follows:

After limited discovery, [Ms. Woods’] counsel obtained

authority from Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company

(“Tennessee Farmers”), [Ms. Woods’] insurer, to offer

the...policy limits to Plaintiffs for a full and complete settlement.

-3-

Shortly thereafter, in late January or February, 2009, [Ms.

Woods’] counsel called Plaintiffs’ counsel and left a voicemail

stating that they were prepared to offer the policy limits, but

mistakenly stated them to be one hundred thousand dollars....

Subsequently, counsel had a telephone conference wherein

plaintiffs’ counsel accepted the policy limits offer and he raised

the issue that his client’s property damage claim was still

unresolved and needed to be addressed.

[Ms. Woods’ attorney] sent a letter to Plaintiffs’ counsel,

dated February 9, 2009, memorializing the conversation

regarding settlement stating specifically “this letter is to confirm

in principle, that we have agreed to settle the Peterson wrongful

death for policy limits of $100,000.” Moreover, the letter itself

detailed several material terms that still needed to be agreed

upon before a final settlement could be reached. These

included: the terms by which the settlement was to be divided

between the three separate Plaintiffs had not been discussed or

agreed upon; the terms of the annuity for Savannah had not even

been discussed, much less finalized; and the terms by which a

legal guardian for Savannah was to be appointed had not been

finalized. Further, neither the letter nor the telephone messages

had finalized, or even discussed, the timetable for the

disbursement of the settlement. Furthermore, and as stated in

the letter, due to a minor being involved, any settlement

agreement must first be approved by the Court before becoming

valid.

Finally, [Ms. Woods’] counsel’s letter clearly established

that the Defendant had no intention to be bound until the

execution of a written formal contract stating, “I will gladly

prepare the necessary documents once you provide me with the

information as to how the settlement proceeds are to be

divided.”

(citations to record omitted) (emphasis in original).

The motion to enforce settlement was heard by the trial court on May 11, 2009. There

is no transcript of this proceeding in the appellate record. On June 16, 2009, the court

entered an order, denying Appellants’ motion to enforce the $100,000 settlement. The trial

-4-

court’s May 28, 2009, memorandum letter is incorporated, by reference, into the June 16 th

order. The court’s memorandum provides, in relevant part, as follows:

On February 8, 2009, Counsel for Tennessee Farmers

Mutual Insurance Company offered to settle the case for the

insurance company’s policy limits, which Counsel for

Tennessee Farmers was informed to be $100,000. Thereafter,

on March 18, 2009, Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance

Company advised Counsel for Defendant that the limits were

$50,000.00 rather than $100,000.00. Plaintiffs argue that the

mistake was a mutual mistake and that the Court should enforce

a settlement of $100,000.00.

Defendant argues that the offer tendered on February 9,

2009 was conditioned upon several material terms that still

needed to be agreed upon before a final settlement could be

reached. Counsel for Defendant offered to prepare necessary

documents to complete the settlement when Plaintiffs furnished

the information requested. Prior to this information being

furnished to Counsel for Defendant, Defendant discovered the

policy limits to be only $50,000.00 and informed Plaintiffs’

Counsel of that fact.

The Court has read with great interest the briefs filed by

respective Counsel and has concluded that the “settlement

agreement” is unenforceable inasmuch as it was incomplete as

to several material terms and conditions, the subject of which

was involved in the settlement negotiations when the $50,000.00

policy limits were discovered.

Accordingly, the Court most respectfully overrules

Plaintiffs’ Motion to Enforce Settlement and dismisses same.

On June 15, 2009, Appellants filed a renewed motion and memorandum to enforce

settlement.1 As stated in the renewed motion, the purpose thereof was to:

1

It appears that the Appellants’ renewed motion and memorandum to enforce settlement was filed

one day prior to the entry of the June 16, 2009 order, denying the initial motion to enforce settlement. From

our reading of the record, and from the parties’ statements in their respective appellate briefs, we infer that

(continued...)

-5-

(1) supplement the factual record to address the Court’s

misapprehension that requested information was not provided

prior to Farmers discovering its error as to policy limits; (2)

clarify that Plaintiffs’ position that the mistake as to policy

limits was Defendant’s unilaterally, and, even if it was a “mutual

mistake,” Defendant should bear the burden of the mistake as to

the policy limits; and (3) reiterate that the settlement agreement

was not a “contract to make a contract” and that no material

terms were missing at the time Farmer discovered the mistake.

Attached to the Appellants’ renewed motion were several letters that passed between

Appellants’ counsel and Appellee’s counsel: (1) letter dated February 9, 2009, from

Appellants’ counsel, stating that “[t]his letter will confirm that we have settled the wrongful

death portion of the claim for $100,000.00, your client’s policy limits.” The letter further

states that the settlement check should be made payable jointly to the Appellants and their

attorney, and gives the applicable tax identification number. The letter further indicates that

the property damage claim still needs to be addressed; (2) letter dated February 23, 2009,

from Appellants’ counsel, which letter primarily concerns the property damage portion of the

settlement. Concerning the settlement for the minor child, the February 23, 2009, letter

indicates that Appellants’ attorney has spoken to the child’s mother and that the mother “has

an interest in placing [the child’s] proceeds in an annuity which would pay out after [the

child] reaches the age of 18. In that light, and as you offered, please provide me with the

information on same using proceeds of $20,000.00 to fund the annuity;” and (3) letter dated

March 3, 2009, from Appellee’s counsel, which letter acknowledges receipt of the

information regarding the property damage claim.

On September 10, 2009, Appellee filed a response to Appellants’ renewed motion to

enforce settlement, arguing, in pertinent part, that, “[w]hen the mutual mistake [concerning

the policy limits] came to light [i.e., March 18, 2009], there were specific and material terms

of the settlement that were still pending.” These terms allegedly included: (1) the division

of proceeds among three plaintiffs; (2) establishment or not of a guardianship for the minor;

(3) the preparation of the settlement documents necessary for obtaining court approval; (4)

the terms and conditions of a structured settlement for the minor; (5) the preparation of

documents setting up a structured settlement for the minor, including a qualified Assignment;

1

(...continued)

the premature filing of the renewed motion to enforce settlement arose from the fact that the trial court orally

denied the initial motion from the bench, and then entered a memorandum letter on May 28, 2009. It is not

fatal to Appellants’ renewed motion that it was filed one day prior to the entry of the order on the first

motion; however, we note the discrepancy in the filing dates to avoid any confusion in the Opinion.

-6-

and (6) actually obtaining court approval for the minor’s claim.

The renewed motion to enforce settlement was heard on September 11, 2009.2 At the

end of the hearing, the court denied the motion from the bench. Thereafter, the parties

entered into a joint petition for approval of the minor child’s portion of the settlement. This

petition specifically preserves the Appellants’ right to appeal the trial court’s denial of the

motion to enforce settlement in the amount of $100,000. In relevant part, the joint petition

provides for “full and final settlement and satisfaction” of all claims, in the amount of

$50,000. The petition goes on to outline the proposed disbursement of the settlement funds.

Based upon their agreement, the parties requested that the court approve and ratify the

minor’s portion of the settlement, as required by Tenn. Code Ann. §34-1-101, et seq.

A Final Order was entered on November 12, 2009, which order denies Appellants’

renewed motion to enforce settlement, preserves Appellants’ right to appeal the issue of

denial of the motion to enforce the $100,000 settlement, and adopts the $50,000 settlement

reached by the parties as set out in their joint petition, supra, pending the instant appeal.

Concerning the minor child’s portion of the settlement, the trial court specifically found that

the $50,000 settlement was “fair, reasonable, prudent, and in the [child’s] best interest,

[pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 34-1-101 et seq.]. Having preserved the right to appeal,

Appellants bring the following issue for our review:

Whether the Circuit Court erred in denying Plaintiffs’ Motion

and Renewed Motion to Enforce Settlement Agreement in the

face of an unequivocal settlement offer of $100,000 and

Plaintiffs’ unequivocal acceptance of same?

It is well settled that “[t]he resolution of disputes by agreement of the parties is to be

encouraged.” Harbour v. Brown, 732 S.W.2d 598, 599 (Tenn. 1987). “The purpose of

compromise is to avoid trial of sharply disputed issues and to dispense with wasteful

litigation.” 15A C.J.S. Compromise & Settlement § 1 (2002). It is well established that “[a]

compromise and settlement agreement is merely a contract between the parties to litigation

and, as such, issues of enforceability of a settlement agreement are governed by contract

law.” Envtl. Abatement, Inc. v. Astrum R.E. Corp., 27 S.W.3d 530, 539 (Tenn. Ct. App.

2000); see also Bennecker v. Fickeissen, No. E2004-02129-COA-R3-CV, 2005 WL

3017609 (Tenn. Ct. App. Nov. 10, 2005); O'Mary v. Protech Builders, Inc., No.

E2000-02539-COA-R3-CV, 2001 WL 648924 (Tenn. Ct. App. May 12, 2001); Moxham v.

Crafton, No. M2000-00803-COA-R3-CV, 2001 WL 468669 (Tenn. Ct. App. May 4, 2001).

“[A] consent judgment does not represent the reasoned decision of the court but is merely the

2

There is no transcript of the September 11 hearing in the appellate record.

-7-

agreement of the parties, made a matter of record by the court.” Harbour, 732 S.W.2d at

599-600 (citing Van Donselaar v. Van Donselaar, 249 Iowa 504, 87 N.W.2d 311, 314 (Iowa

1958)). However, “[a] compromise is the law between the parties and a judicially-entered

settlement agreement that becomes part of the stipulation that ends the litigation has the force

and effect of a judicial decree.” 15A C.J.S. Compromise & Settlement § 33 (2002); see also

Moxham, 2001 WL 468669, at *6 (“We note that a settlement agreement signed by all the

parties may be enforceable like other contracts, but it does not become the judgment of the

court until it receives the approval of the trial judge.”). Thus, it is well settled that the courts

of this state retain the inherent power to enforce settlement agreements. See Bennecker, 2005

WL 3017609, at *3.

We note, at the outset, that this appeal arises from the denial of a motion to enforce

a settlement agreement, as opposed to a breach of contract action. As set out in 15A Am. Jur.

2d Compromise and Settlement § 49 (2010):

When a party fails to comply with its obligations under a

settlement agreement, the opposing party may seek in equity to

enforce the terms of the agreement. The decision whether to

enforce a settlement is one committed to the court's discretion.

A party to a settlement seeking to redress a claimed breach, if

the court case already has been dismissed, may bring an

independent action for breach of contract; if the case has not

been dismissed, the party may move for enforcement. A court

has the power to enforce the terms of a settlement agreement if

the agreement either is incorporated into the court's final

judgment or provides expressly for continuing jurisdiction over

disputes arising out of the settlement. Summary enforcement of

a settlement may be permitted by statute, but is inappropriate

when there is a material dispute about the existence of a

settlement agreement.

(footnotes omitted).

In the instant case, there is an initial issue, which must be addressed, sua sponte,

before we can reach Appellants’ stated issue. Specifically, this Court questions whether

Appellee’s attorney, Mary Jo Mann, had the authority to bind Farmers’ to a settlement. This

inquiry also raises the issue of whether all necessary parties were before the trial court.

Agency

-8-

In support of their motion to enforce settlement, Appellants filed the affidavit of their

attorney, Christopher Cain. In his affidavit, Mr. Cain states that he “was informed by Mary

Jo Mann (“Mann”), counsel for Defendant and Defendant’s insurer...that Defendant’s

policy limits were $100,000.” (emphasis added). From this statement, it appears that

Appellants were proceeding under the assumption that Ms. Mann was, in fact, an agent for

Farmers, although they do not specifically state that Ms. Mann has the authority to enter the

settlement. This assumption, however, is disputed by Ms. Mann in her own affidavit, filed

in support of Appellee’s opposition to Appellants’ motion to enforce settlement. Therein,

Ms. Mann states that she “represent[s] Doris Lakin Woods, the defendant, in the above-

captioned matter.” There is no indication by Ms. Mann that she represents Farmers.

Consequently, in order for Ms. Mann to bind Farmers to a settlement, there would have to

be a finding of some agency relationship between Ms. Mann and Farmers. As discussed in

12 Samuel Williston, Treatise on the Law of Contracts § 35:11 (Richard A. Lord ed., 4th ed.

2010):

An agent has power to make contracts which will bind

his principal not only when actually authorized to do so by

express words or inference of fact, but also in cases where the

principal did not intend to confer such authority on the agent

but, nevertheless, held out to the public or to the person with

whom the agent dealt an appearance of authority.

Apparent authority, or ostensible authority, as it is also

termed, is that which, though not actually granted, the principal

permits the agent to exercise, or which he holds him out as

possessing.

Describing the distinction between actual or "real"

authority, either express or implied, on the one hand, and

apparent authority on the other, one court said:

"We recognize the distinction

betw een real and apparent

authority. Real authority exists

when the agent is expressly

authorized by the principal to act or

when the actual authority to act can

be implied from the facts. In

contrast, apparent authority arises

when the principal, through words

-9-

or conduct, leads a third person to

the reasonable belief that the agent

is authorized to act when, in fact,

he is not."

Id. (footnotes omitted).

From the appellate record, we are unable to determine the exact nature of the

relationship (if any) between Ms. Mann and the insurer.3 Although, in her affidavit, Ms.

Mann states that she “obtained settlement authority of policy limits from my client’s liability

insurance carrier, [Farmers],” this fact does not, ipso facto, conclusively establish that Ms.

Mann was acting as Farmers’ agent.

Various relationships can exist between an attorney, an insuror, and an insured. See

Givens v. Mullikin ex rel. Estate of McElwaney, 75 S.W.3d 383 (Tenn. 2002). When an

insurance company hires an attorney to represent its insured (which may or may not be the

situation in the instant appeal), the relationship of the insurer and the attorney is that of

principal to independent contractor. Givens, 75 S.W.3d at 393. While the rule is that a

principal is not generally liable for the tortious actions of an independent contractor, see, e.g.,

Hutchison v. Teeter, 687 S.W.2d 286, 287 (Tenn. 1985); Carr by Carr v. Carr, 726 S.W.2d

932, 933 (Tenn. Ct. App.1986), this rule is subject to many exceptions, and a

principal/independent contractor relationship does not, ipso facto, relieve the insurer of all

liability from the attorney’s acts or omissions. Givens, 75 S.W.3d at 394. For instance,

“when one directs, orders, or knowingly authorizes another to perform an act, then the

principal is liable for the harm proximately caused by those acts.” Id. at 395 (citing White

v. Revco Disc. Drug Ctrs., Inc., 33 S.W.3d 713, 723 (Tenn. 2000); Kinnard v. Rock City

Constr. Co., 39 Tenn. App. 547, 551, 286 S.W.2d 352, 354 (1955)). Moreover, “liability for

the directed or authorized acts of an agent may follow irrespective of whether other separate

agency relationships also exist.” Givens, 75 S.W.3d at 395. However, an insurer may not

be “held vicariously liable for the acts or omissions of its hired attorney based merely upon

the existence of the employment relationship alone.” Id. at 395-96.

In the case at bar, there is some indication that Farmers directed Ms. Mann to act on

its behalf in offering the $100,000 settlement. However, the appellate record does not

provide sufficient evidence from which to conclude the exact nature of Ms. Mann’s

relationship to Farmers regarding this settlement offer. Consequently, the question of Ms.

Mann’s agency must be resolved in order to determine whether Ms. Mann had the authority

3

It is well settled that this Court's review is limited to the appellate record and it is incumbent upon

the appellant to provide a record that is adequate for a meaningful review. Tenn. R. App. P. 24(b).

-10-

to bind Farmers to a settlement. If, upon remand, the trial court determines that an agency

relationship existed, so as to give Ms. Mann either the real or apparent authority to act on

behalf of Farmers, then, and only then, should the court address the questions of the extent

of that agency, whether the agreement was fully formed, and whether a mistake, mutual or

unilateral, should result in Farmers being bound by the purported $100,000 settlement.

Necessary Parties

The trial court must also determine whether Farmers is an indispensable party to this

suit. Appellants’ complaint, filed on May 2, 2008, is filed only against Ms. Woods. More

importantly, the motion to enforce settlement (and the renewed motion), which are the

subject of the instant appeal, are filed only against Ms. Woods. Although Appellants’ motion

specifically states that they are seeking “to enforce the terms of an agreement entered into

by and between Plaintiffs and the Defendant’s insurer, Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance

Company (“Farmers”), for the sum of $100,000,” Farmers is not a party to this suit.

Consequently, upon remand, the trial court must also address how Appellants can enforce an

alleged settlement against an unnamed defendant (i.e., Farmers), who is not a party to the

suit.

Tenn. R. Civ. P. 19.01 provides, in relevant part, as follows:

Persons to Be Joined if Feasible. — A person who is subject

to service of process shall be joined as a party if (1) in the

person's absence complete relief cannot be accorded among

those already parties, or (2) the person claims an interest relating

to the subject of the action and is so situated that the disposition

of the action in the person's absence may (i) as a practical matter

impair or impede the person's ability to protect that interest, or

(ii) leave any of the persons already parties subject to a

substantial risk of incurring double, multiple, or otherwise

inconsistent obligations by reasons of the claimed interest. If the

person has not been so joined, the court shall order that the

person be made a party. If the person properly should join as a

plaintiff but refuses to do so, he or she may be made a

defendant, or in a proper case, an involuntary plaintiff.

Failure to join Farmers in this suit, however, is not fatal to Appellants’ case, as Tenn.

R. Civ. P. 21 states:

Misjoinder of parties is not ground for dismissal of an action.

-11-

Parties may be dropped or added by order of the court on motion

of any party or of its own initiative at any stage of the action and

on such terms as are just. Any claim against a party may be

severed and proceeded with separately.

For the foregoing reasons, we vacate the order of the trial court, denying enforcement

of the alleged settlement agreement. We remand the matter to the trial court for such further

proceedings as may be necessary in light of this Opinion. Costs of this appeal are assessed

one-half to the Appellants, Catherine M. Love, as next friend and natural mother of Savannah

Love, a minor, Rex Bryan Peterson, Michael Corey Peterson, and their surety, and one-half

to the Appellee, Doris Lakins Woods, for which execution may enter if necessary.

_________________________________

J. STEVEN STAFFORD, JUDGE

-12-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.