Opinion

George Ridenour v. Darrell Carman

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Mar 15, 2013
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge Frank G. Clement, Jr.
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 29.2%

Holding that, “a co-employee who, while acting within the course of his employment, causes an injury through his negligence is not ‘some person other than the employer.’”

How later courts described this case

  • Holding that, “a co-employee who, while acting within the course of his employment, causes an injury through his negligence is not ‘some person other than the employer.’”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

November 8, 2012 Session

GEORGE RIDENOUR v. DARRELL CARMAN ET AL.

Appeal from the Circuit Court for Trousdale County

No. 4061P261 John Wooten, Judge

No. M2012-00801-COA-R3-CV - Filed March 15, 2013

The plaintiff, an employee of a real estate and auction company, sustained serious injuries

while assisting the managing broker of the company to move cattle panels on the managing

broker’s personal farm. The plaintiff filed a claim for workers’ compensation benefits against

the real estate and auction company and its insurer. The plaintiff also filed a common law tort

action against the managing broker and the broker’s son, who was called to assist after the

injury occurred. The workers’ compensation action was settled. Pursuant to the court-

approved settlement agreement, the employee released and discharged the real estate and

auction company and its insurer, as well as their subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, directors,

employees, agents and representatives “from any and all further liability and indemnity,

under the terms and provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Law of the State of

Tennessee, at common law or otherwise . . . .” After the workers’ compensation action was

settled, the managing broker and his son filed a joint motion for summary judgment to

dismiss the plaintiff’s tort claims on the grounds they were afforded immunity under the

Workers’ Compensation Law, specifically Tennessee Code Annotated § 50-6-108(a), and

that the plaintiff gave the defendants a full release in the workers’ compensation settlement

agreement. The trial court summarily dismissed all claims against the defendants on both the

statutory ground and the release. We affirm the dismissal of the tort claims against the

employer’s managing broker. However, we reverse the dismissal of the claims against the

managing broker’s son because the son was not an affiliate, officer, director, employee, agent

or representative of the employer when the plaintiff sustained his injuries and he does not

come within the terms of the release. Therefore, the plaintiff’s claims against the son are

reinstated and remanded for further proceedings.

Tenn R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court

Affirmed in part; Reversed in part and Remanded

F RANK G. C LEMENT, J R., J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which P ATRICIA J.

C OTTRELL, P.J., M.S., and A NDY D. B ENNETT, J., joined.

Rocky McElhaney and Taylor C. Sutherland, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellant, George

Ridenour.

Steven A. Dix, Murfreesboro, Tennessee, and Betty Lou Taylor, Hartsville, Tennessee , for

the appellees, Darrell Carman and Chad Carman.

OPINION

George Ridenour (“Plaintiff”) was an employee of the Lafayette, Tennessee office of

Gene Carman Real Estate and Auction, LLC (“the Auction Company”) when the events that

gave rise to this action occurred. As an employee of the Auction Company, Plaintiff’s duties

consisted of, inter alia, building and posting large signs advertising auctions and working on

various farms and other pieces of property owned by Darrell Carman, the managing broker

at the Lafayette Office of the Auction Company. Plaintiff’s farm duties included looking

after livestock, mending fences, and performing miscellaneous other farm services as

requested by Darrell Carman. All of Plaintiff’s wages were paid by the Auction Company,

even when he was working for Darrell Carman on farms personally owned by Darrell

Carman and Mr. Carman’s wife. Plaintiff received no compensation from Darrell Carman.

On the morning of November 12, 2007, Plaintiff went to one of Darrell Carman’s

farms to assist Mr. Carman in moving several pieces of metal wire fencing, known as cattle

panels, from one of Mr. Carman’s farms to another. The two men loaded the panels on a

trailer behind Mr. Carman’s truck, but the panels were longer than the trailer so Mr. Carman

tied a large steel fence post to the bed of the trailer to support the portion of the panels that

extended beyond the trailer. The two men then drove to Mr. Carman’s second farm. When

Plaintiff began unloading the panels, one end of the steel post suddenly broke loose and

struck Plaintiff in the head. The impact immediately caused Plaintiff to be dazed, confused

and concussed, so Mr. Carman helped Plaintiff to his feet and back into the truck. While

Plaintiff rested on the seat with his body half-in and half-out of the truck, Mr. Carman

proceeded to unload the rest of the cattle panels. Shortly thereafter, Mr. Carman instructed

Plaintiff to pull the truck forward, while Mr. Carman waited outside the truck. Plaintiff

accidentally drove the truck through a fence and crashed into another one of Mr. Carman’s

trucks parked nearby. Darrell Carman then called his son Chad Carman, who lived 200 yards

away, to help him separate the two wrecked trucks and take Plaintiff home. Neither Darrell

nor Chad Carman offered to render any medical care to Plaintiff or call for medical

assistance. Instead, they drove Plaintiff to his home, carried him inside and left him in the

kitchen alone, without alerting any of Plaintiff’s family members about Plaintiff’s condition.

When Plaintiff’s wife discovered Plaintiff, she immediately took him to the emergency room

at the Trousdale Medical Center. From there, Plaintiff was life-flighted to Vanderbilt

University Medical Center where he was diagnosed with a closed head injury and mild

-2-

traumatic brain injury. Over the next three years, Plaintiff received extensive medical care

from various medical providers including a neurosurgeon, a neurologist, a neuropsychologist

and a psychiatrist and was further diagnosed with depression, post traumatic stress disorder

and back pain.

Plaintiff initiated a claim for workers’ compensation benefits against the Auction

Company and its workers’ compensation insurance carrier, Benchmark Insurance, on

November 19, 2007; the claim was accepted as compensable by the Auction Company and

Benchmark Insurance. While the claim was pending, the Auction Company and Benchmark

Insurance paid $48,397.91 for Plaintiff’s medical care and $59,177.66 to Plaintiff for

temporary disability benefits. When Plaintiff reached maximum medical recovery, the parties

agreed to a settlement. On July 26, 2011, an Order Approving Final Settlement was entered

in the Trousdale County Chancery Court (“Settlement Order”), resolving Plaintiff’s workers’

compensation claim. Pursuant to the Settlement Order, Plaintiff received a lump sum

payment of $75,000, including $15,000 in attorney’s fees, $1,770.01 in medical

reimbursements, and $58,229.01 for permanent impairment.1 The Settlement Order also

provided the following release:

It is accordingly considered by the Court and so ORDERED, ADJUDGED

AND DECREED that the settlement set forth above be, and the same is

hereby, in all things, approved by this Court, and that the Employer and the

Insurer, their parents, subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, directors, employees,

agents, representatives, successors, and assigns, be, and are hereby, forever

remised, released and discharged from any and all further liability and

indemnity, under the terms and provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Law

of the State of Tennessee, at common law or otherwise, except as stated in

Paragraph 3 above, to the Employee, the Employee’s administrators, executors,

heirs, dependents and assigns, as a result of or in any way connected with or

growing out of the Employee’s alleged injuries of November 12, 2007, and any

other workers’ compensation claims which the Employee possesses against the

Employer and/or Insurer. This Order supersedes and supplants any Orders the

Tennessee Department of Labor may have issued with respect to the subject

injury.

(Hereafter, “the Release”).

On November 12, 2008, while the workers’ compensation claim was pending,

Plaintiff filed this tort action against Darrell Carman and Chad Carman (collectively,

1

Plaintiff’s future medical benefits as they pertain to this injury remain open for his lifetime.

-3-

“Defendants”) in the Trousdale County Circuit Court. Plaintiff alleged that Darrell Carman

was reckless, grossly negligent, or negligent in improperly loading the cattle panels. Plaintiff

also alleged that both Darrell and Chad Carman were reckless, grossly negligent, or negligent

in failing to render aid or call for medical assistance, which aggravated the injuries. Plaintiff

sought $1,000,000 in compensatory damages and $500,000 in punitive damages. Defendants

filed their answers, after which the tort action remained dormant until the resolution of the

workers’ compensation claims.

After the Settlement Order was entered in the workers’ compensation case,

Defendants filed a joint Motion for Summary Judgment in the circuit court. They asserted

that Plaintiff elected the workers’ compensation claim as his exclusive remedy, and

furthermore that Plaintiff had released both Defendants from further liability under the

above-quoted Release provided in the Settlement Order. In response to the motion, Plaintiff

asserted that Chad Carman was not an employee, agent or representative of the Auction

Company, and that Darrell Carman was acting outside the course and scope of his

employment with the Auction Company when Plaintiff was injured. Thus, Plaintiff argued,

the Release did not apply to either Defendant, and the tort claims were proper under the

Workers’ Compensation Law provision for third party actions found at Tennessee Code

Annotated § 50-6-112(a).

Following a hearing held February 13, 2012, the trial court granted Defendants’

motion on both asserted grounds; thereafter, Plaintiff perfected this appeal.

A NALYSIS

A party is entitled to summary judgment only if the “pleadings, depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits . . . show that there is

no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment

as a matter of law.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04. A properly supported motion for summary

judgment must show that there are no genuine issues of material fact and that the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Staples v. CBL & Assocs., Inc., 15 S.W.3d

83, 88 (Tenn. 2000); McCarley v. W. Quality Food Serv., 960 S.W.2d 585, 588 (Tenn. 1998).

If the moving party makes a properly supported motion, then the nonmoving party is required

to produce evidence of specific facts establishing that genuine issues of material fact exist.

McCarley, 960 S.W.2d at 588; Byrd v. Hall, 847 S.W.2d 208, 215 (Tenn. 1993).

Summary judgments do not enjoy a presumption of correctness on appeal. BellSouth

Adver. & Publ'g Co. v. Johnson, 100 S.W.3d 202, 205 (Tenn. 2003). This court makes a fresh

determination that the requirements of Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56 have been satisfied. Hunter v.

Brown, 955 S.W.2d 49, 50-51 (Tenn. 1977). We consider the evidence in the light most

-4-

favorable to the non-moving party and resolve all inferences in that party’s favor. Stovall v.

Clarke, 113 S.W.3d 715, 721 (Tenn. 2003); Godfrey v. Ruiz, 90 S.W.3d 692, 695 (Tenn.

2002). When reviewing the evidence, we first determine whether factual disputes exist. If a

factual dispute exists, we then determine whether the fact is material to the claim or defense

upon which the summary judgment is predicated and whether the disputed fact creates a

genuine issue for trial. Byrd, 847 S.W.2d at 214.

C LAIMS A GAINST D ARRELL C ARMAN

Plaintiff alleges that Darrell Carman was reckless, grossly negligent, or negligent on

November 12, 2007, in improperly loading the cattle panels and, thereafter, in failing to

render aid or call for medical assistance, which aggravated Plaintiff’s injuries. Darrell

Carman insists that, as an employee of the Auction Company on November 12, 2007, he was

released from any further liability pursuant to the Settlement Order and thus, the trial court

did not err in summarily dismissing Plaintiff’s claims against him.2

A release is a contract and rules of construction applied to contracts are used in

construing a release. Richland Country Club, Inc. v. CRC Equities, Inc., 832 S.W.2d 554, 557

(Tenn. Ct. App. 1991) (citing Jackson v. Miller, 776 S.W.2d 115 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1989)). The

cardinal rule is to ascertain the intention of the parties. Id. (citing Bob Pearsall Motors, Inc.

v. Regal Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc. 521 S.W.2d 578 (Tenn. 1975). The Settlement Order states:

It is accordingly considered by the Court and so ORDERED, ADJUDGED

AND DECREED that . . . the Employer and the Insurer, their parents,

subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, directors, employees, agents, representatives,

successors, and assigns, be, and are hereby, forever remised, released and

discharged from any and all further liability and indemnity, under the terms

and provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Law of the State of Tennessee,

at common law or otherwise, except as stated in Paragraph 3 above, to the

Employee, the Employee’s administrators, executors, heirs, dependents and

assigns, as a result of or in any way connected with or growing out of the

Employee’s alleged injuries of November 12, 2007, and any other workers’

2

Darrell Carman also insists that the undisputed facts establish he was acting in the course and scope

of his employment for the Auction Company when Plaintiff was injured and thus he is not “some person

other than the employer,” is required for tort liability under Tennessee Code Annotated § 5-6-112, “Third

Party Actions.” See Taylor v. Linville, 656 S.W.2d 368, 370 (Tenn. 1983) (Holding that, “a co-employee

who, while acting within the course of his employment, causes an injury through his negligence is not ‘some

person other than the employer.’”). Because we have determined the Release applies to Darrell Carman

regardless of whether he was acting in the course and scope of his employment, it is unnecessary to address

this second defense as it pertains to Darrell Carman.

-5-

compensation claims which the Employee possesses against the Employer

and/or Insurer. This Order supersedes and supplants any Orders the Tennessee

Department of Labor may have issued with respect to the subject injury.

The relevant provisions of the Release clearly and unambiguously state that the

Auction Company and its employees, agents, or representatives are forever released and

discharged from any and all further liability to Plaintiff, including common law claims, as

a result of or in any way connected with or growing out of Plaintiff’s alleged injuries of

November 12, 2007.3 It is undisputed that Darrell Carman was the managing broker and thus

an employee of the Auction Company when Plaintiff sustained the injuries at issue; therefore,

no reasonable interpretation of the foregoing Release permits any of Plaintiff’s claims against

Darrell Carman to survive. Accordingly, we affirm the summary dismissal of all claims

against Darrell Carman.

C LAIMS A GAINST C HAD C ARMAN

In support of his motion for summary judgment, Chad Carman submitted a sworn

affidavit regarding his relationship with the Auction Company. The two-sentence affidavit,

which was executed nearly four years after the incident at issue on September 20, 2011,

states:

1. My name is Chad Carman.

2. I am an agent of Gene Carman Real Estate and Auction, LLC.

FURTHER THIS AFFIANT SAITH NOT.

The affidavit is stated in the present tense, “I am an agent of Gene Carman Real Estate

and Auction, LLC.” What is significant is that it does not state, “I was an agent of the

Auction Company on November 12, 2007, when Plaintiff sustained his injuries.” Further, in

opposition to the motion for summary judgment, Plaintiff submitted Chad Carman’s

deposition testimony, in which Chad Carman unequivocally states that he was not an

employee, agent or representative of the Auction Company on November 12, 2007:

Q. Who were you working for at the time this happened?

A. For my dad part time and then for myself.

....

3

The only exception to the all encompassing release is the exception provided in paragraph 3 of the

Release, which does not pertain to Plaintiff’s claims against Darrell Carman.

-6-

Q. You were working for your father [on November 12, 2007]; is that correct?

A. I was not working for my father that day.

Q. So you were just helping out on the property?

A. Yes.

Q. You were not working?

A. No.

Q. You were not paid for that time?

A. No.

....

Q. When this happened you did not work for Gene Carman Auction & Real

Estate, LLC, correct?

A. I wasn’t working for them in that period of time, but I did work for them.

Q. But on the day this happened you were not working for them?

A. No.

Q. You weren’t their employee or agent at that time, correct?

A. No.

(Emphasis added).

As stated earlier, a release is a contract and rules of construction applied to contracts

are used in construing a release, Richland Country Club, Inc., 832 S.W.2d at 557, and the

cardinal rule is to ascertain the intention of the parties. Id. Moreover, a release that is

“confined to particular matters or causes operates to release only such claims as fairly come

within the terms of the release.” Cross v. Earls, 517 S.W.2d 751, 752 (Tenn. 1974). The

Release at issue here was confined to claims against the Auction Company, its insurer, and

their “parents, subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, directors, employees, agents, [and]

representatives.” On November 12, 2007, when Plaintiff sustained the injuries at issue, Chad

Carman was none of these. Therefore, Chad Carman does not come within the terms of the

Release. As a consequence, Chad Carman was not released from further liability for

Plaintiff’s injuries growing out of the November 12, 2007 incident. Therefore, Chad Carman

is not entitled to summary judgment based upon the Release.

-7-

We now turn our attention to Chad Carman’s assertion that Plaintiff’s common law

tort claims against him are barred because Plaintiff elected the workers’ compensation claim

as his exclusive remedy.

Workers’ compensation is a “unique concept in the law,” which operates to “provide

quick and efficient compensation to injured workers in exchange for immunizing employers

from tort liability and limiting their damages.” Curtis v. G.E. Capital Modular Space, 155

S.W.3d 877, 882 (Tenn. 2005) (internal citations omitted). Tennessee Code Annotated § 50-

6-108(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Law states “[t]he rights and remedies to an

employee subject to this chapter, on account of personal injury or death by accident, . . . shall

exclude all other rights and remedies of the employee, the employee’s personal

representative, dependents or next of kin, at common law or otherwise, on account of the

injury or death.” However, Tennessee Code Annotated § 50-6-108(a) “do[es] not shield

everyone in the work environment under all circumstances” from liability. Taylor v. Linville,

656 S.W.2d 368, 369 (Tenn. 1983).

Workers’ compensation is the injured employee’s exclusive remedy, unless a third

party, other than the employer, causes the injury. Davis v. Alexsis, Inc. 2 S.W.3d 228, 229

(Tenn. Ct. App. 1999) (citing McAlister v. Methodist Hosp., 550 S.W.2d 240, 242 (Tenn.

1977)). Tennessee Code Annotated § 50–6–112(a) expressly allows the injured worker to

recover against a third party under certain circumstances:

When the injury or death for which compensation is payable under this chapter

was caused under circumstances creating a legal liability against some person

other than the employer to pay damages, the injured worker, . . . shall have the

right to take compensation under this chapter, and the injured worker, . . . may

pursue the injured worker’s remedy by proper action in a court of competent

jurisdiction against the other person.

The action authorized by Tennessee Code Annotated § 50–6–112(a) is in tort. Davis,

2 S.W.3d at 229 (citing Plough, Inc. v. Premier Pneumatics, Inc., 660 S.W.2d 495 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 1983)). The policy for allowing suit against a responsible third party is that “since the

third party could not have been liable for workers’ compensation, he should be prepared to

make the injured person whole under normal tort principles.” Posey v. Union Carbide Corp.,

705 F.2d 833, 834 (6th Cir.1983).

Plaintiff alleges that Chad Carman was reckless, grossly negligent, or negligent on

November 12, 2007, when he came upon the scene of Plaintiff’s accident and failed to render

aid or call for medical assistance, and instead simply loaded Plaintiff into another truck and

drove him home, without taking any steps to advise anyone of Plaintiff’s condition.

-8-

Tennessee Code Annotated § 50–6–112(a) expressly allows an injured worker to pursue a

tort remedy when the injury was caused “under circumstances creating a legal liability

against some person other than the employer . . . .” See also Davis, 2 S.W.3d at 229. By his

own deposition testimony, Chad Carman was not an employee of the Auction Company at

the time of the incident, he was merely helping his father, thus, Plaintiff’s claims against

Chad Carman are claims against a third party, not the employer. As a consequence, the

Workers’ Compensation Law does not bar Plaintiff’s claim against Chad Carman. Davis, 2

S.W.3d at 229; see also McAlister, 550 S.W.2d at 242.

For the foregoing reasons, we find that Chad Carman failed to establish that he is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Therefore, we reverse the grant of summary judgment

to Chad Carman.

I N C ONCLUSION

The judgment of the trial court as to the claims against Darrell Carman is affirmed.

The judgment of the trial court as to the claims against Chad Carman is reversed and

Plaintiff’s claims against Chad Carman are reinstated and remanded for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion. Costs of appeal are assessed one-half against Plaintiff and one-

half against defendant Chad Carman.

______________________________

FRANK G. CLEMENT, JR., JUDGE

-9-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.