Opinion

Berte v. Saul

Court
District Court, E.D. New York
Filed
Apr 3, 2023
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 26.7%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

eee ee ee

SANTA E. BERTE, :

Plaintiff, :

: MEMORANDUM & ORDER

Vv. : 20-CV-2889 (WFK)

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, :

Defendant. :

ee eee

WILLIAM F. KUNTZ, II, United States District Judge:

Santa E. Berte (“Plaintiff”) brings this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) alleging the

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (the “Commissioner” or “Defendant’’)

improperly denied Plaintiff's application for Social Security Disability Insurance (“SSDI”)

benefits. Plaintiff and Defendant both move for judgment on the pleadings under Rule 12(c) of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. ECF Nos. 24, 25. For the reasons set forth below,

Defendant’s motion is DENIED, and the Court REMANDS this action to the Social Security

Administration for further proceedings.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On April 17, 2017, Plaintiff filed a claim for SSDI benefits, alleging a disability onset

date of November 12, 2016. Administrative Record (“Tr.”), ECF No. 23, at 155-56. On July 19,

2017, the state agency denied Plaintiffs claim. Jd. at 88-95. On August 18, 2017, Plaintiff

requested a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). Id. at 96-98. On February 5, □

2019, Plaintiff appeared for a hearing with her attorney and a Spanish translator before ALJ

Mark Solomon. /d. at 32-53. On April 8, 2019, ALJ Solomon issued a decision denying

Plaintiff's claim. /d. at 9-31. Plaintiff timely requested Appeals Council review of ALJ

Solomon’s decision. On May 12, 2020, the Council denied Plaintiff's request for review. Id. at

1-8. The Commissioner took no further action. Therefore, the Court has jurisdiction pursuant to

42 U.S.C. § 405(g) to review the Commissioner’s final decision. It does so now.

1 .

FACTS

The evidence in this case is undisputed, and the Court adopts Defendant’s factual

recitation. Def. Mem., ECF No. 25, at 5-20.

DISCUSSION

| I. Legal Standards

a. Standard of Review

When a claimant challenges a denial of disability benefits by the Social Security

Administration (“SSA”), the Court’s function is not to evaluate de novo whether the claimant has

a disability but rather to determine “whether the correct legal standards were applied and whether

substantial evidence supports the decision.” Butts v. Barnhart, 388 F.3d 377, 384 (2d Cir. 2004);

see also 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Substantial evidence is “more than a mere scintilla”—it is “such

relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.”

Burgess v. Astrue, 537 F.3d 117, 127 (2d Cir. 2008) (internal quotation omitted). The reviewing

court must examine the entire record, weighing the evidence on both sides to ensure the claim

“has been fairly evaluated.” Brown v. Apfel, 174 F.3d 59, 62 (2d Cir. 1999) (quoting Grey v.

Heckler, 721 F.2d 41, 46 (2d Cir. 1983)).

The Commissioner, not the courts, “weigh[s] the conflicting evidence in the record” and

resolves such conflicts. Clark v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 143 F.3d 115,118 (2d Cir. 1998). “While

the ALJ need not resolve every conflict in the record, the crucial factors in any determination

must be set forth with sufficient specificity to enable the reviewing court to decide whether the

determination is supported by substantial evidence.” Calzada y. Astrue, 753 F. Supp. 2d 250,

268-69 (S.D.N.Y. 2010) (Sullivan, J.) (internal quotation and alterations omitted). To fulfill this

burden, the ALJ must “adequately explain his reasoning in making the findings on which his

ultimate decision rests” and must “address all pertinent evidence.” Kane v. Astrue, 942 F. Supp.

2d 301, 305 (E.D.N.Y. 2013) (Kuntz, J.) (quoting Calzada, 753 F. Supp. 2d at 269).

b, Determination of Disability

To be eligible for SSI benefits, an individual must be “aged, blind, or disabled” as

defined in 42 U.S.C. § 1382c and, inter alia, meet the resource and income limits specified in the

Act. For SSI purposes, disability is defined as the “inability to engage in any substantial gainful

activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be

expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period

of not less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(A). The impairment in question must be

of “such severity that [the claimant] is not only unable to do his previous work but cannot,

considering his age, education, and work experience, engage in any other kind of substantial

gainful work which exists in the national economy.” Id. § 1382c(a)(3)(B).

To evaluate a disability claim, the Commissioner must apply the five-step sequential

process set forth in 20 C.F.R. § 416.920. See McIntyre v. Colvin, 758 F.3d 146, 150 (2d Cir.

2014). First, the Commissioner must determine whether the claimant is engaged in “substantial

gainful activity.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(@). If not, the second step is to determine whether

the claimant has a “severe medically determinable physical or mental impairment.” Id.

§ 416.920(a)(4)(ii). Ifthe claimant has such an impairment, the third step is to determine

whether the impairment or combination of impairments meets or equals one of the listings in

Appendix 1 of the regulations. Jd. § 416.920(a)(4)(iii). If the claimant’s impairment does not

match any of the listings, the fourth step requires the Commissioner to determine whether the

claimant’s residual functional capacity (“RFC”) allows the claimant to perform their past

relevant work. Jd. § 416.920(a)(4)(iv). Ifthe claimant cannot perform past relevant work, the □

3 .

fifth and final step is to determine whether the claimant can perform any job based on his or her

RFC and other vocational considerations, such as work experience, age, and education. Jd.

§ 416.920(a)(4)(v). The claimant bears the burden of proving the first four steps, then the burden

shifts to the Commissioner at the fifth step. Rosa v. Callahan, 168 F.3d 72, 77-78 (2d Cir.

1999).

In making a disability determination, “[t]he ALJ will consider all of the available medical □

evidence, including a claimant’s statements, treating physician’s reports, and other medical

professional reports.” Fontanarosa v. Colvin, 13-CV-3285, 2014 WL 4273321, at *12 .

(E.D.N.Y. Aug. 28, 2014) (Brodie, J.) (internal citation omitted). When evaluating the

persuasiveness of a medical opinion, the ALJ will consider five factors: (1) supportability; (2)

consistency; (3) relationship with the claimant; (4) specialization; and (5) other factors, including

“evidence showing a medical source has familiarity with the other evidence in the claim or an

understanding of [the SSA] disability program's policies and evidentiary requirements.” 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520c(c). “Using these factors, the most important of which are supportability and

consistency, the ALJ must articulate ‘how persuasive [he] find|s] all of the medical opinions and

all of the prior administrative medical findings in [the claimant’s] case record.’” Aviles-Guzman

v. Comm □□ of Soc. Sec., 19-CV-5043 (PKC), 2021 WL 663979, at *9 (E.D.N.Y. Feb. 18, 2021)

(Chen, J.) (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(b)). An ALJ is specifically required to “explain how

[he or she] considered the supportability and consistency factors” for a medical opinion. 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c (b)(2), 416.920c(b)(2).

II. ALJ Solomon’s Decision

a. ALJ’s Conclusions

ALJ Solomon found (1) Plaintiff met the insured status requirements of the SSA through

September 30, 2020; (2) Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial gainful activity since November

12, 2016, the alleged disability onset date; (3) Plaintiff had severe impairments of diabetes

mellitus and depression; (4) Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of impairments

meeting or medically equaling the severity of a listed impairment; and (5) Plaintiff had the RFC

to perform medium work as defined in 20 C.F.R § 404.1567(c), except that Plaintiff must avoid

working at unprotected heights and is limited to unskilled work with no contact with the general

public. Tr. at 20-30.

ALJ Solomon found while Plaintiff's medically determinable impairments could

reasonably be expected to cause her alleged symptoms, her statements concerning the intensity,

persistence, and limiting effects of her symptoms are inconsistent because “the record fails to

document that she is unable to perform work at the medium exertional level with the additional

restrictions included in the residual functional capacity above.” Tr. at 23.

ALJ Solomon also found most of the medical opinions in Plaintiffs record unpersuasive.

Particularly relevant here, ALJ Solomon deemed the opinions of Plaintiffs treating physician Dr.

Juan Cortes, D.O., and internal medicine consultative examiner Allen Meisel, M.D.

unpersuasive. Tr. at 24-25.

Dr. Cortes diagnosed Plaintiff with neuropathy, arthritis, depression, diabetes, and back

pain, and concluded Plaintiff was restricted to lifting or carrying no more than ten pounds

occasionally and could never reach overhead, handle, finger, feel, push, or pull bilaterally,

although she could occasionally reach in other directions, Jd. at 366-68. However, ALJ

Solomon found Dr. Cortes’s opinion that Plaintiff “is unable to perform even sedentary work due

to neuropathy, diabetes, back pain and dizziness unpersuasive.” Jd. at 24. According to ALJ

.

Solomon, Dr. Cortes’s opinion was unsupported by the doctor’s treatment notes and was

insufficiently supported by “limited diagnostic testing in the record as a whole.” Jd. at 25.

Plaintiff also received a consultative examination from Dr. Meisel on May 22, 2017, who

concluded Plaintiff “has moderate limitations to standing, walking, climbing stairs, bending and

kneeling.” Jd. at 224. ALJ Solomon found Dr. Meisel’s opinion “unpersuasive as to the

moderate limitations because the term itself is vague.” /d. at 25. ALJ Solomon determined Dr.

Meisel’s opinion “lacked support in the record,” and also found the record itself “lack[ed] any

diagnostic evidence to provide an etiology for the claimant’s back complaints.” Jd.

b. ALJ's Failure to Develop the Record

Before assessing whether the ALJ’s decision is supported by substantial evidence, this

Court must first determine whether the ALJ fully developed the record in Plaintiff's case. The

Second Circuit has explained “it is the well-established rule in our circuit ‘that the social security

_ ALJ, unlike a judge in a trial, must on behalf of all claimants . . . affirmatively develop the record

in light of the essentially non-adversarial nature of a benefits proceeding.’” Moran v. Astrue,

569 F.3d 108, 112 (2d Cir. 2009) (citation omitted). This duty applies even when a claimant is

‘represented by counsel. Jd. “Whether the ALJ has discharged this duty is a threshold question

that must be addressed by the reviewing court before deciding whether the Commissioner’s final

decision is supported by substantial evidence pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).” Bealer v.

Berryhill, 18-CV-10483 (VSB) (XHP), 2019 WL 13131904, at *11 (S.D.N.Y. Dec. 23, 2019)

(Parker, M.J.), report and recommendation adopted sub nom. Bealer v. Saul, 18-CV-10483

(VSB) (KHP), 2020 WL 12949468 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 2, 2020) (Broderick, J.).

Plaintiff argues ALJ Solomon erred by failing to develop the record. In particular,

Plaintiff argues ALJ Solomon erred by “focus[ing] on what he found to be inconsistent” without

making ‘“‘any effort to clarify the record.” Pl. Mem. at 22. This Court agrees. Since ALJ

Solomon relied on the lack of diagnostic testing in Plaintiff's medical records to find her not

disabled, he should have more fully developed the record with respect to the diagnostic tests

listed in Plaintiffs medical records.

Plaintiff's medical records indicate Dr. Cortes ordered nerve testing on Plaintiff in

August 2017, November 2017, and October 2018. See Tr. at 405-06 (listing “AUTONOMIC

NERV FUNCTION TEST” under “PROCEDURES” for August 10, 2017 appointment); id. at

428 (listing “Nerve Conduction Study” under “ORDERS/LABS” for November 16, 2017

appointment); id. at 516 (listing “AUTONOMIC NERV FUNCTION TEST” under

“PROCEDURES” for October 11, 2018 appointment). Dr. Cortes’s notes from Plaintiff's

appointment on August 10, 2017, which indicate Dr. Cortes ordered nerve testing, reveal

Plaintiff was due for a “follow up in 1 week for test results.” Jd. at 406. However, the record is

silent as to those test results. Notes from Plaintiff's next recorded appointment with Dr. Cortes,

on September 14, 2017, also do not contain the results of Plaintiff's nerve function tests. Nor

does the remainder of the record include these test results. Indeed, results from the nerve

conduction study ordered by Dr. Cortes in October 2017 are similarly absent from the record.

Plaintiff's medical records also reference electromyography (EMG) tests ordered by Dr.

Jeffrey Lucido, DPM, at NYU Langone Brooklyn Podiatry Associates in October 2017. Tr. at

304 (noting “EMG WITH NCV” tests ordered for neuritis due to diabetes mellitus and acute left-

sided low back pain with left-sided sciatica). These same notes indicate Dr. Lucido also ordered

an MRI to identify “[s]oft tissue lesion on the dorsal aspect of left foot.” fd. Under the

“i[nstructions” portion of the appointment summary, Dr. Lucido directed Plaintiff to “[rJeturn in

2 weeks for MRI results.” Jd However, as with the autonomic nerve function and nerve

conduction tests ordered by Dr. Cortes and the EMG tests ordered by Dr. Lucido, the record does

not contain any MRI results.

In his decision denying Plaintiff's claim, ALJ Solomon repeatedly emphasized the lack of

diagnostic testing in Plaintiff's file to justify rejecting various physicians’ medical opinions. For

example, in finding Dr. Cortes’s medical opinion unpersuasive, ALJ Solomon explained “[tJhere

is limited diagnostic testing in the record as a whole other than Dr. Mittal’s 2019 noninvasive

peripheral arterial study to support [Dr. Cortes’s] diagnoses of arthropathy, neuropathy, back

pain, arthritis.” Jd. at 25. Similarly, in finding Dr. Meisel’s 2017 opinion “unpersuasive as to

the moderate limitations,” ALJ Solomon noted “[t]he record also lacks any diagnostic evidence

to provide an etiology for the claimant’s back complaints.” Id.

At the administrative hearing on Plaintiffs claim, the ALJ asked Plaintiff's counsel

whether there was any “diagnostic testing” related to Plaintiff's reported osteoarthritis in the

record. Jd. at 37. Plaintiff's counsel responded, “I only see it in the clinical notes, the

osteoarthritis. I didn’t see like an MRI, I don’t believe.” fd ALJ Solomon made no reference to

clinical testing related to Plaintiff's neuropathy symptoms during the hearing. Notably,

Defendant references the lack of diagnostic testing in Plaintiff's medical records to justify ALJ

Solomon’s decision: “Plaintiff never sought treatment from a specialist or underwent any

pertinent testing such as nerve conduction studies or electromyography (EMG).” Def. Mem. at

25.

Plaintiff argues that because “Dr. Cortes’s office visit notes did not contain any

diagnostic test results, while at the same time documenting the fact that the doctor ordered many

such tests, and the importance the ALJ and the Commissioner both place upon the lack of an

or Nerve Conduction Study, ALJ Solomon had an obligation to make further, specific

inquiry regarding the multiple Nerve Conduction Studies ordered by the doctor.” PI. Reply at 3.

The Court agrees. Since ALJ Solomon highlighted the purported inconsistencies between

the medical opinions in Plaintiff's record and the lack of diagnostic testing supporting those

opinions, the ALJ should have made greater efforts to fill in the gaps related to Plaintiff's nerve

conduction, EMG, and MRI tests. By failing to make further inquiry regarding the results of the

diagnostic tests listed in Plaintiff's medical records, ALJ Solomon did not fulfill his duty to

develop the record.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Defendant’s motion for judgment on the pleadings, ECF No.

25, is DENIED and Plaintiff's motion for judgment on the pleadings, ECF No. 24, is GRANTED

to the extent it seeks remand. The Court hereby REMANDS this action to the Social Security

Administration for further administrative proceedings, including a new decision, consistent with

this opinion. .

SQ-ORDERED. SS

ZION: WILLIAM F. KUNTZ. 11

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Dated: April 3, 2023

Brooklyn, New York

.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.