Opinion

Vaglica v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, E.D. New York
Filed
Sep 26, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 26.7%

claimant’s current condition not relevant because she “was required to demonstrate that she was disabled as of the date on which she was last insured” and “[a]ny new impairments are not relevant”

How later courts described this case

  • claimant’s current condition not relevant because she “was required to demonstrate that she was disabled as of the date on which she was last insured” and “[a]ny new impairments are not relevant”
  • “regardless of the seriousness of his present disability, unless [Plaintiff] became disabled before, [his date last insured], he cannot be entitled to benefits.”
  • holding that “lack of supporting evidence” on a matter can “constitute substantial evidence supporting the denial of benefits.”
  • denying benefits where “at best the evidence show[ed] that [Plaintiff] experienced progressively worsening symptoms that eventually became disabling” after his date last insured

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

-------------------------------------------------------------------X

MAURIZIO DOMENICO VAGLICA,

For Online Publication Only

Plaintiff,

ORDER

-against- 20-CV-05876 (JMA)

COMMISSIONER OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY

ADMINISTRATION,

Defendant.

-------------------------------------------------------------------X

APPEARANCES

Charles E. Binder, Esq.

485 Madison Avenue, Suite 501

New York, NY 10022

Attorney for Plaintiff

Jennifer E. Whalen

Social Security Administration

601 East 12th St., Room 965

Kansas City, MO 64106-2898

Attorney for Defendant

AZRACK, United States District Judge:

Plaintiff Maurizio Domenico Vaglica (“Plaintiff” or “Vaglica”) seeks review and reversal

of the final decision by the Commissioner of Social Security (the “Commissioner”) denying his

application for disability insurance benefits (“DIB”) under Title II of the Social Security Act (the

“Act”). Before the Court are the parties’ cross-motions for judgment on the pleadings. (ECF Nos.

17, 19.) For the reasons discussed herein, Plaintiff’s motion for judgment on the pleadings is

DENIED, the Commissioner’s cross-motion is GRANTED.

I. BACKGROUND

A. Procedural History

Plaintiff was born in 1974 and was 27 at the onset of his alleged disability. (Tr. 134-

135)1 He possesses a high school education and his past employment includes work as a

firefighter and contractor. (Tr. 51.)2

Plaintiff filed his application for Social Security Disability benefits (“SSD”) on April 12,

2017, alleging a disability onset date of January 29, 2002 due to lumbar spine impairment,

herniated discs with severe back pain, bilateral knee impairments, and multiple joint arthritis. (Tr.

82, 135-136, 146, 160.)

Following the denial of his application, on August 22, 2017 (Tr. 85-96), Plaintiff requested

a hearing and was represented by counsel at an administrative hearing on July 16, 2019 before ALJ

Brian J. Crawley (“ALJ Crawley”). (Tr. 20-54.)

In a decision dated October 22, 2019 (the “Decision”), ALJ Crawley denied Plaintiff’s

claim. (Tr. 7-19.) ALJ Crawley followed the five-step process pursuant to 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(a) and 416.920 and determined that Plaintiff was not disabled within the meaning of

the Act on or before his date last insured. (Id.) Thereafter, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s

request for review on October 6, 2020 at which point the Decision became the final decision of the

Commissioner. (Tr. 1–6.) This appeal followed. (See ECF No. 1.)

A. Relevant Medical Evidence

1. Relevant Medical Evidence Before Last Date Insured

On January 29, 2002, Plaintiff reported to the Winthrop University Hospital emergency

room following a fall down 10 stairs. (Tr. 345.) A physical examination indicated various tender

points, including joint tenderness, tenderness and valgus pressure in the right knee, tenderness on

1 “Tr.” refers to the sequential numbering of the Administrative Record provided on the bottom right corner of the

page, not the numbers produced by this District’s Electronic Case Filing System.

the top of the right shoulder, diffuse tenderness in the lumbar spine. (Id.) X-rays of the lumbar

spine and knee were interpreted as “normal.” (Tr. 353.) Plaintiff was discharged the same day

with a reported knee sprain and lower back pain. (Tr. 349.)

On June 19, 2006, Plaintiff was seen by P. Leo Varriale, M.D. (“Dr. Varriale”), a board-

certified orthopedist, for treatment of recent muscle spasms and lower back pain. Dr. Varriale

prescribed Plaintiff pain medication (Vicodin) and corticosteroids (Medrol) and recommended

daily exercise. (Tr. 240-44.) Dr. Varriale’s records during the relevant time period primarily

document treatment of lower back pain but do not contain a diagnosis. (Tr. 240-46.) At a

September 26, 2007 visit, Dr. Varriale performed a physical examination, which revealed a

positive right straight leg raise test and lumbar spine tenderness. (Tr. 241.) Dr. Varriale opined

that Plaintiff was totally disabled from regular duties or work. (Tr. 241.) On December 15, 2007,

two weeks prior to the date last insured, Plaintiff continued to report back pain radiating down his

right lower extremity to the toes, with numbness. (Tr. 240.) Plaintiff continued on Vicodin and

Dr. Varriale reaffirmed his opinion that Plaintiff was totally disabled from work. [Cite]

2. Relevant Medical Evidence After Last Date Insured

In 2008, Dr. Varriale treated Plaintiff on three occasions and remarked that Plaintiff’s

condition was “status quo.” (Tr. 237-39.) Plaintiff continued to report lower back pain with

radiating down to his toes and numbness. (Tr. 239.) On December 1, 2008 Plaintiff reported no

change in his symptoms when seen. (Tr. 237.) Dr. Varriale again opined Plaintiff was disabled

from work. (Id.) On June 8, 2009, Plaintiff reported lower back pain with radicular symptoms

down his right lower extremity to his toes, as well as numbness and tingling in his foot. (Tr. 235.)

A physical examination revealed unchanged findings from his prior visit. Dr. Varriale diagnosed

lumbar herniated nucleus pulposus. (Id.) On June 7, 2010, Plaintiff was seen for follow up of

chronic lower back pain. (Tr. 234.) A physical examination revealed a positive straight leg raise

test, spasm, and decreased range of motion. (Id.) In 2010, Dr. Varriale continued to prescribe

Plaintiff Vicodin and added the pain medication Roxicodone. (Id.)

On July 22, 2015, an MRI scan was performed on Plaintiff’s lumbar spine and right

shoulder. (Tr. 369, 372.) Another MRI performed on September 16, 2015 indicated mild-to-

moderate osteoarthritis and tendinosis of the right shoulder, and “mild” degenerative changes of

the thoracic spine without disc herniation, spinal stenosis, or nerve root compression. (Tr. 220).

On August 17, 2015, Plaintiff was seen for follow up of pain in the lower back, thoracic

spine, right shoulder, and right knee. (Tr. 288.) An MRI of the right shoulder on September 16,

2015, demonstrated moderate glenohumeral joint osteoarthritis with 10 mm full-thickness glenoid

cartilage defect and marginal spurring, a degenerated labrum with a nondisplaced superior labral

tear, small joint effusion and synovitis with a 5 mm intra-articular loose body, mild supraspinatus

and infraspinatus tendinosis with articular surface fraying, and mild-to-moderate

acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis. (Tr. 218-219.)

On March 9, 2017, Dr. Varriale completed a “Lumbar Spine Impairment Questionnaire.”

(Tr. 355-62.) Dr. Varriale indicated Plaintiff was under his case for lumbar spine herniated disc,

bilateral knee osteoarthritis, and bilateral shoulder impingement, demonstrated by clinical findings

of limited range of motion, tenderness, muscle spasm, and a positive straight leg raising test. (Tr.

356-57.) He stated that the diagnoses were supported by an MRI of the lumbar spine that showed

multiple disc herniations. (Tr. 357.) In the questionnaire, Dr. Varriale opined that as of 2002

Plaintiff could sit for one hour and stand/walk for one hour in an eight-hour workday; that he must

get up and move around every 10 minutes; and he can lift/carry up to five pounds occasionally.

(Tr. 358-60.) Dr. Varriale further opined that Plaintiff experienced constant pain and was

incapable of even low stress work. (Id.) Dr. Varriale retired in 2017.

In October 2017, Alan Nelson, M.D. (“Dr. Nelson”) became Plaintiff’s treating physician.

(Tr. 334.) At that visit, Plaintiff reported to Dr. Nelson that he had “pain in multiple sites,” “thinks

he had concussions in the past from football but never diagnosed.” (Id.) Plaintiff informed Dr.

Nelson that he was on Oxycodone for pain and unable to work. (Id.) Dr. Nelson recommended

that Plaintiff “wean off oxycodone” and “lose weight.” (Id.)

On November 20, 2018, Plaintiff reported to Dr. Nelson, that on November 16, 2018, he

“fell down a flight of stairs” which affected his right arm, right shoulder, and both knees. (Tr. 332-

33.) Dr. Nelson opined that “its my feeling that currently and in the past [Plaintiff] cannot work.”

Dr. Nelson recommended the Plaintiff “try to lose weight,” and also ordered new MRIs “since

Plaintiff’s last MRIs’” were three years old. (Id.)

The MRIs dated indicated partial tears of the anterior and medial ligaments. (Tr. 497-99.)

MRI scan of the cervical spine showed multiple disc bulges and herniations impinging on nerve

roots. (Tr. 495-96.) Lumbar spine imaging indicated a bulging disc at L4-5 with a tear impinging

upon the L4 and LS nerve roots. (Tr. 493.) An MRI scan of the thoracic spine displayed some

straightening of the normal spinal curvature due to muscle spasm, but no disc bulges or stenosis.

(Tr. 492.)

Dr. Nelson opined on June 5, 2019 that since 2002, Plaintiff has been disabled due to

musculoskeletal and neuropathic problems that have significantly worsened since then despite

physical therapy and that he has obstructive sleep apnea. (Exhibit 11F [Tr ref?].) Dr. Nelson

further opined that Plaintiff can sit and stand/walk for 0-1 hour and cannot sit continuously; can

never carry any weight; is in constant pain that would interfere with his attention and

concentration; cannot perform even low stress work. [Cite]

B. The Decision

In a decision dated October 22, 2019 (the “Decision”), ALJ Crawley found that Plaintiff

was not disabled under the Act and thus denied Plaintiff’s claims. (Tr. 12-15.) Following the five-

step process set forth above, ALJ Crawley determined that Plaintiff had met the insured status

requirements of the Act but had no medically determinable impairments through the date last

insured. (Tr. 12-15.)

II. LEGAL STANDARDS

A. Social Security Disability Standard

Under the Act, “disability” is defined as “inability to engage in any substantial gainful

activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be

expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period

of not less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). An individual is disabled when his

“physical or mental impairment or impairments are of such severity that he is not only unable to

do his previous work but cannot, considering his age, education, and work experience, engage in

any other kind of substantial gainful work which exists in the national economy . . . .” 42 U.S.C.

§ 423(d)(2)(A).

The Commissioner’s regulations set out a five-step sequential analysis by which an

administrative law judge (or “ALJ”) determines disability. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920.

The analysis is summarized as follows:

[I]f the Commissioner determines (1) that the claimant is not working, (2) that he

has a “severe impairment,” (3) that the impairment is not one [listed in Appendix 1

of the regulations] that conclusively requires a determination of disability, and

(4) that the claimant is not capable of continuing in his prior type of work, the

Commissioner must find his disabled if (5) there is not another type of work the

claimant can do.

Burgess v. Astrue, 537 F.3d 117, 120 (2d Cir. 2008) (quoting Green-Younger v. Barnhart, 335

F.3d 99, 106 (2d Cir. 2003)). At step four, the Commissioner determines the claimant’s RFC

before deciding if the claimant can continue in his prior type of work. 20 C.F.R.

§§ 404.1520(a)(4)(iv), 416.920(a)(4)(iv). The claimant bears the burden at the first four steps; but

at step five, the Commissioner must demonstrate that “there is work in the national economy that

the claimant can do.” Poupore v. Astrue, 566 F.3d 303, 306 (2d Cir. 2009).

B. Scope of Review

In reviewing a denial of disability benefits by the Social Security Administration (“SSA”),

it is not the function of the Court to review the record de novo, but to determine whether the ALJ’s

conclusions “are supported by substantial evidence in the record as a whole, or are based on an

erroneous legal standard.” Schaal v. Apfel, 134 F.3d 496, 501 (2d Cir. 1998) (quoting Beauvior

v. Chater, 104 F.3d 1432, 1433 (2d Cir. 1997)). Substantial evidence is “more than a mere scintilla.

It means such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a

conclusion.” Perez v. Chater, 77 F.3d 41, 46 (2d Cir. 1996) (quoting Richardson v. Perales, 402

U.S. 389, 401 (1971)). “To determine whether the findings are supported by substantial evidence,

the reviewing court is required to examine the entire record, including contradictory evidence and

evidence from which conflicting inferences can be drawn.” Snell v. Apfel, 177 F.3d 128, 132 (2d

Cir. 1999) (quoting Mongeur v. Heckler, 722 F.2d 1033, 1038 (2d Cir. 1984) (per curiam)). Thus,

the Court will not look at the record in “isolation but rather will view it in light of other evidence

that detracts from it.” State of New York ex rel. Bodnar v. Sec. of Health and Human Servs., 903

F.2d 122, 126 (2d Cir. 1990). An ALJ’s decision is sufficient if it is supported by “adequate

findings . . . having rational probative force.” Veino v. Barnhart, 312 F.3d 578, 586 (2d Cir. 2002).

Conversely, a remand for further proceedings is warranted in cases where the

Commissioner has failed to provide a full and fair hearing, to make sufficient findings, or to have

correctly applied the law and regulations. See Rosa v. Callahan, 168 F.3d 72, 82–83 (2d Cir.

1999); see also 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (“The court shall have power to enter, upon the pleadings and

transcript of the record, a judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security, with or without remanding the cause for a rehearing.”).

C. Analysis

Plaintiff challenges ALJ Crawley’s finding that he was not disabled under the Act.

Specifically, Plaintiff raises two arguments: (1) the ALJ failed to properly evaluate the medical

opinion evidence when determining Plaintiff had no severe medically determinable impairments

prior to the date last insured, and (2) the ALJ failed to properly evaluate Plaintiff’s testimony.

(ECF No. 18 at 14, 20.)3 Upon a review of the record, the Court finds that the ALJ properly

determined that Plaintiff was not disabled prior to his date last insured and therefore was not

eligible for benefits.

1. Substantial Evidence Supports the Decision

Substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s finding that Plaintiff was not disabled prior to his

last insured date.

Applying the five-step process, the ALJ found, at step one, that Plaintiff had not engaged

in substantial gainful activity since January 29, 2002. (Tr. 12.) The parties do not contest this

finding and it is supported by substantial evidence.

3 Because the Court affirms the ALJ’s Decision at the second step of the sequential evaluation process, it need not

address Plaintiff other contentions. Flanigan v. Colvin, 21 F. Supp. 3d 285, 301 (S.D.N.Y. 2014)(citing Rosario v.

Apfel, No. 97 CV 5759, 1999 WL 294727 at *5 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 19, 1999))(“[a] finding that a condition is not

severe means that the plaintiff is not disabled, and the Administrative Law Judge's inquiry stops at the second level

of the five-step sequential evaluation process.”)(emphasis added)

Step two of the sequential process required Plaintiff to prove that he had a severe medically

determinable impairment. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(ii). Before addressing the issue of severity,

the ALJ had to first determine whether Plaintiff had a medically determinable impairment at all.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1521. Because ALJ Crawley found that “[t]hrough the date last insured, there

were no medical signs or laboratory findings to substantiate the existence of a medically

determinable impairment,” he ended his analysis and found that Plaintiff was not disabled. (Tr.

12, 15.)

Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ improperly weighed the opinions of Dr. Varriale and Dr.

Nelson by substituting his lay judgment of the medical evidence is belied by the record. (ECF No.

18, Pl’s Mot. at 16.) As required by the regulations, the ALJ examined the record for any

diagnostic testing or clinical examinations that could support Plaintiff’s alleged limitations prior

to the date last insured of December 31, 2007. (Tr. 12-15.) Having found none, the ALJ afforded

little to no weight to the medical opinions given the lack of supportability and consistency. (Id.)

This is not an error.

An ALJ may afford less weight or none at all to medical opinions that are “temporally

remote from the Plaintiff’s date last insured and do not address the Plaintiff’s level of functioning

during the relevant time period.” Flanigan v. Colvin, 21 F. Supp. 3d 285, 304 (S.D.N.Y. 2014).

While the timing of a medical opinion, by itself, would not disqualify a claimant from being

considered for purposes of disability determination, David F. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-CV-

6479, 2021 WL 2985152, at *4 (W.D.N.Y. July 15, 2021), evidence of a claimant’s condition at a

later time is only relevant to the extent that it shed light on his condition as of the date he was last

insured. Moscatiello v. Apfel, 129 F. Supp. 2d 481, 489 (S.D.N.Y. 2001). Importantly, where

there is a “lack of supporting evidence on a matter where the claimant bears the burden of proof,”

the Second Circuit has recognized that such circumstances can “constitute substantial evidence

supporting the denial of benefits.” Reynolds v. Colvin, 570 F. App’x 45, 47 (2d Cir. 2014) (citing

Talavera v. Astrue, 679 F.3d 145, 153 (2d Cir. 2012)).

Here, the ALJ determined the medical opinions held minimal persuasion because they were

not supported by the overall record or based on any objective diagnostic techniques during the

relevant time period. (Tr. 14-15.) Specifically, ALJ Crawley found that there were no documented

examination findings or diagnostic results with specific limitations of range of motion during the

relevant time period. (Tr. 13.) ALJ Crawley also decided that much of Plaintiff’s evidence relied

on medical opinions and findings determined several years after the relevant time period. (Tr. 14-

15.) In this case, the medical opinions of Dr. Varriale and Dr. Nelson were written, in large part,

roughly a decade after Plaintiff’s insured status already expired. ALJ Crawley, in summarizing

the record, rightly determined that where “there are no medical signs or laboratory findings to

substantiate the existence of a medically determinable physical or mental impairment, the

individual must be found not disabled at step 2 of the sequential evaluation process (SSR 16-3p).”

[Cite.] The Court agrees with ALJ Crawley’s well-reasoned Decision.

Plaintiff points to no specific objective diagnostic techniques indicating medically

determinable impairments prior to the date last insured. (Tr. 217-220, 486-99). Reliance on the

2015 and 2018 MRI scans is unpersuasive, because these MRIs were conducted more than a decade

after the alleged onset of his disability and were not consistent with the x-ray examinations

conducted in January 2002. (Id.) As other courts have reasoned, such “[a]fter-the-fact medical

assessments are inherently less credible indicators of a patient’s impairments than medical

assessments made during the relevant period.” Litwin v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 18-CV-00213,

2019 WL 6525626, at *5 (E.D.N.Y. Dec. 4, 2019) (internal citations omitted).

Indeed, Plaintiff claimed to be disabled as of January 29, 2002, the date of his emergency

room visit, but the ALJ noted that there was nothing in the medical records that substantiated this

finding. (Tr. 13.) Rather, the emergency room visit only resulted in a diagnosis of right knee

sprain and low back pain. (Tr. 13.) The x-rays taken of Plaintiff’s spine and right knee were

interpreted as “normal.” (Tr. 353.) Plaintiff was then discharged and provided a release allowing

him to return to work without restrictions in two to four days. (Tr. 349, 351.) Plaintiff only sought

further medical treatment approximately four years later and did not file the current application

until almost ten years after the expiration of his insured status.

Plaintiff’s cited caselaw is inapposite. Plaintiff’s citations primarily concern cases where

the ALJ wholly failed to discuss a medical opinion or neglected to consider the possibility of a

retrospective diagnosis. That is not the case here, nor does Plaintiff argue that the ALJ wholly

disregarded a medical opinion. As detailed in the Decision, ALJ Crawley summarized the medical

opinions and in applying the relevant regulations noted that the medical opinions were not

supported under the regulations. (Tr. 15.) “Social Security regulations require that when there is

no medically determinable impairment, that is, an impairment verified by medical signs or

laboratory findings, the application must be denied at step 2 of the sequential evaluation process

because there is no severe impairment.” Flanigan, 21 F. Supp. 3d at 303.

Contrary to Plaintiff’s insistence, in order to be considered “disabled” for purposes of the

Act, Plaintiff was required to present evidence of a disability before his last date insured on

December 31, 2007. Evidence after December 31, 2007 cannot serve as the basis for a finding of

disability because the Act required Plaintiff to be insured when his disability first began. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.131(a) (“you must have disability insured status in the quarter in which you become

disabled”). -Se-e -al-so- -A-rn-o-n-e -v-. -B-o-w-en-, 882 F.2d 34, 37-38 (2d Cir. 1989) (“regardless of the

seriousness of his present disability, unless [Plaintiff] became disabled before, [his date last

insured], he cannot be entitled to benefits.”) (citations omitted)); Behling v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec.,

369 F. App’x 292, 294 (2d Cir. 2010) (claimant’s current condition not relevant because she “was

required to demonstrate that she was disabled as of the date on which she was last insured” and

“[a]ny new impairments are not relevant”) (citations omitted)); Flanigan, 21 F. Supp. 3d at 302

(denying benefits where “at best the evidence show[ed] that [Plaintiff] experienced progressively

worsening symptoms that eventually became disabling” after his date last insured).

Plaintiff has not met this burden, because he points to no medical evidence supporting a

finding of a disability before his last date insured. Neither Dr. Varriale or Dr. Nelson’s medical

opinions offer insight into Plaintiff’s specific limitations during the relevant time period or are

based on objective evidence before the last date insured. (Tr. 355-359; 687-91.) In particular, Dr.

Nelson’s medical opinion was based on MRIs from November 2018, well-beyond the last date

insured. (Tr. 864.) Accordingly, ALJ Crawley’s conclusion that Plaintiff was not disabled is

supported by substantial evidence. See Reynolds, 570 F. App’x at 47 (holding that “lack of

supporting evidence” on a matter can “constitute substantial evidence supporting the denial of

benefits.”)

III. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court GRANTS the Commissioner’s motion for judgment

on the pleadings and DENIES Plaintiff’s motion for judgment on the pleadings. The Clerk of the

Court is ordered to close this case.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: September 26, 2022

Central Islip, New York

/s/ (JMA)

JOAN M. AZRACK

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.