Opinion

Ianazzi v. Saul

Court
District Court, E.D. New York
Filed
Sep 22, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 26.7%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

--------------------------------------X

DEBRA A. IANAZZI,

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Plaintiff,

20-CV-04366(KAM)

-against-

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant.

--------------------------------------X

KIYO A. MATSUMOTO, United States District Judge:

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), Plaintiff Debra A.

Ianazzi (“Plaintiff”) appeals the final decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security (“Defendant” or the

“Commissioner”) finding Plaintiff not eligible for disability

insurance benefits (“DIB”) under Title II of the Social Security

Act (the “Act”).

Presently before the Court are the parties’ cross

motions for judgment on the pleadings. (See ECF Nos. 13,

Plaintiff’s Notice of Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings; 15,

Defendant’s Cross Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings.) For the

reasons stated below, Plaintiff’s motion is GRANTED, Defendant’s

cross motion is DENIED, and the case is remanded for further

proceedings consistent with this Memorandum and Order.

BACKGROUND

The parties have submitted a joint stipulation of

relevant facts, which the Court has reviewed and incorporates by

reference in its entirety. (See generally ECF No. 17, Joint

Stipulation of Relevant Facts (“Joint Stip.”).)

Plaintiff filed an application for DIB on November 14,

2016, alleging disability beginning on August 6, 2015. (See ECF

No. 18, Administrative Transcript (“Tr.”) at 21.) On May 5, 2017,

the Social Security Administration (“SSA”) denied Plaintiff’s

claim, concluding that the relevant medical evidence “did not show

any conditions of a nature that would prevent [Plaintiff] from

working.” (Id. at 97-101.) On May 16, 2017, Plaintiff filed a

request for a hearing before an administrative law judge, (see id.

at 109-10), which was held before Administrative Law Judge Andrew

S. Weiss (the “ALJ”) on July 3, 2019 in Central Islip, New York.

(See id. at 129‒35.) A medical expert, Elizabeth Atkins, M.D.,

testified at the hearing. (See id. at 21.) A vocational expert,

Yaakov Taitz, Ph.D., also testified. (See id.) In a decision

dated July 16, 2019, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was not

disabled within the meaning of the Act. (See id. at 21-31.)

Plaintiff requested a review of the ALJ’s decision with the Appeals

Council, and the Appeals Council denied review on August 4, 2020,

rendering the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the

Commissioner. (See id. at 1‒3.)

Plaintiff initiated the instant action on September 17,

2020, (see ECF No. 1, Complaint (“Compl.”)), and the Court issued

a scheduling order on September 28, 2020. (See ECF No. 5,

Scheduling Order.) The entire set of both parties’ motion papers

was filed on October 7, 2021. (See ECF Nos. 14, Plaintiff’s

Memorandum of Law in Support of Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on

the Pleadings; 15, Defendant’s Memorandum of Law in Support of

Defendant’s Cross Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings and in

Opposition to Plaintiff’s Motion; 16, Plaintiff’s Reply Memorandum

of Law in Support of Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the

Pleadings.)

LEGAL STANDARD

To receive disability benefits, a claimant must be

“disabled” within the meaning of the Act, and insured for

disability benefits.1 See 42 U.S.C. § 423(a), (d). A claimant

qualifies as disabled when she is unable to “engage in any

substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically

determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected

to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last

for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” Id. §

423(d)(1)(A). The impairment must be of “such severity” that the

claimant is unable to do her previous work or engage in any other

1 Plaintiff’s last insured date is December 31, 2020. (See Tr. at 200.)

kind of substantial gainful work which exists in the national

economy. Id. § 423(d)(2)(A). “The Commissioner must consider the

following in determining a claimant’s entitlement to benefits:

‘(1) the objective medical facts [and clinical findings]; (2)

diagnoses or medical opinions based on such facts; (3) subjective

evidence of pain or disability . . . ; and (4) the claimant’s

educational background, age, and work experience.’” Balodis v.

Leavitt, 704 F. Supp. 2d 255, 262 (E.D.N.Y. 2001) (quoting Brown

v. Apfel, 174 F.3d 59, 62 (2d Cir. 1999) (alterations in

original)).

Unsuccessful claimants for disability benefits under

the Act may bring an action in federal district court seeking

judicial review of the Commissioner’s denial of benefits “within

sixty days after the mailing . . . of notice of such decision or

within such further time as the Commissioner of Social Security

may allow.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). “A district court may set aside

the Commissioner’s determination that a claimant is not disabled

only if the factual findings are not supported by substantial

evidence or if the decision is based on legal error.” Burgess v.

Astrue, 537 F.3d 117, 127 (2d Cir. 2008) (internal quotation marks

and citation omitted); see also 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). “Substantial

evidence is more than a mere scintilla,” and must be relevant

evidence that “a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to

support a conclusion.” Halloran v. Barnhart, 362 F.3d 28, 31 (2d

Cir. 2004) (citing Richardson v. Perales, 420 U.S. 389, 401 (1971)

(internal quotation marks omitted)).

If there is substantial evidence in the record to

support the Commissioner’s factual findings, those findings must

be upheld. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Inquiry into legal error

requires the court to ask whether “the claimant has had a full

hearing under the [Commissioner’s] regulations and in accordance

with the beneficent purposes of the [Social Security] Act.” Moran

v. Astrue, 569 F.3d 108, 112 (2d Cir. 2009) (citation omitted).

The reviewing court does not have the authority to conduct a de

novo review, and may not substitute its own judgment for that of

the ALJ, even when it might have justifiably reached a different

result. See Cage v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 692 F.3d 118, 122 (2d

Cir. 2012).

Pursuant to regulations promulgated by the

Commissioner, a five-step sequential evaluation process is used

to determine whether the claimant’s condition meets the Act’s

definition of disability. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. This process

is essentially as follows:

[I]f the Commissioner determines (1) that the claimant

is not working, (2) that he has a “severe impairment,”

(3) that the impairment is not one [listed in Appendix

1 of the regulations] that conclusively requires a

determination of disability, and (4) that the claimant

is not capable of continuing in his prior type of work,

the Commissioner must find him disabled if (5) there is

not another type of work the claimant can do.

Burgess, 537 F.3d at 120 (internal quotation marks and citation

omitted); see also 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4).

During this five-step process, the Commissioner must

consider whether the combined effect of all of the claimant’s

impairments, including those that are not severe (as defined by

the regulations), would be of sufficient severity to establish

eligibility for Social Security benefits. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1523,

404.1545(a)(2). At steps one through four of the sequential five-

step framework, the claimant bears the burden of proving her

disability. See Burgess, 537 F3.d at 128. At step five, the

burden shifts from the claimant to the Commissioner, requiring

that the Commissioner show that, in light of the claimant’s

residual functional capacity (“RFC”), age, education, and work

experience, the claimant is “able to engage in gainful employment

within the national economy.” Sobolewski v. Apfel, 985 F. Supp.

300, 310 (E.D.N.Y. 1997).

Lastly, federal regulations explicitly authorize a

court, upon reviewing decisions of the Commissioner, to order

further proceedings when appropriate. “The court shall have power

to enter, upon the pleadings and transcript of the record, a

judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security, with or without remanding the

cause for a rehearing.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Remand is warranted

where “there are gaps in the administrative record or the ALJ has

applied an improper legal standard.” Rosa v. Callahan, 168 F.3d

72, 82-83 (2d Cir. 1999) (quoting Pratts v. Chater, 94 F.3d 34,

39 (2d Cir. 1996) (internal quotation marks omitted)). Remand is

particularly appropriate where further findings or explanation

will clarify the rationale for the ALJ’s decision. Pratts, 94

F.3d at 39. If, however, the record before the court provides

“persuasive proof of disability and a remand for further

evidentiary proceedings would serve no purpose,” the court may

reverse and remand solely for the calculation and payment of

benefits. See, e.g., Parker v. Harris, 626 F.2d 225, 235 (2d Cir.

1980); Kane v. Astrue, 942 F. Supp. 2d 301, 314 (E.D.N.Y. 2013).

DISCUSSION

I. The ALJ’s Disability Determination

The ALJ analyzed Plaintiff’s application using the five-

step sequential evaluation process, as mandated by the Act’s

implementing regulations. At step one, the ALJ determined that

Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial gainful activity since

August 6, 2015, the alleged onset date of her disability. (Tr. at

23.) At step two, the ALJ found that Plaintiff suffered from

degenerative disc disease at the lumbar spine, status post fusion,

that severely limited her ability to perform basic work activities.

(Id.)

At step three, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff did not

have an impairment or combination of impairments that met or

medically equaled the severity of any listed impairment under 20

C.F.R. Part 404 Subpart P, Appendix 1 (20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(d),

404.1525, and 404.1526). (Id. at 23.) In so deciding, the ALJ

gave “[s]pecific consideration . . . to the applicable sections of

1.00 Musculoskeletal System of the listed requirements.” (Id. at

24.) In addition, the ALJ noted that no treating, examining, or

non-examining medical source documented findings or rendered an

opinion that Plaintiff’s impairments, individually or in

combination, met or medically equaled the requirements of any

listed impairment. (Id.)

At step four, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had the RFC

to perform less than the full range of light work as defined in 20

C.F.R. § 404.1567(b), with the following limitations: (1) lifting

and/or carrying up to 10 pounds frequently and up to 20 pounds on

occasion; (2) sitting for six hours in an eight-hour workday,

alternating to a standing position for five minutes every hour;

(3) standing and/or walking for six hours in an eight-hour workday,

alternating to a sitting position for five minutes every hour; (4)

never climbing scaffolds or ramps; (5) frequently climbing stairs;

and (6) frequently stooping, kneeling, crouching, and crawling.

(Id.)

The ALJ considered the objective medical evidence,

medical opinion evidence, and Plaintiff’s symptoms and concluded

that, though Plaintiff’s medically determinable impairments could

reasonably be expected to cause the alleged symptoms, Plaintiff’s

statements regarding the intensity, persistence, and limiting

effects of these symptoms were not entirely consistent with the

medical evidence and Plaintiff’s own reports of her daily

activities. (Id. at 28-29.) The ALJ also determined that the

record does not contain medically supported opinions from treating

or examining physicians that indicate that Plaintiff was disabled

during the relevant time period. (Id. at 28.)

Having determined Plaintiff’s RFC, the ALJ found, based

on Plaintiff’s age, education, work experience, and RFC, that

Plaintiff was capable of performing her past relevant work as

generally performed in the national economy. (Id. at 29.) The

vocational expert classified Plaintiff’s past relevant work as a

dental receptionist, “a semi-skilled work generally performed with

sedentary exertion,” and testified that Plaintiff’s postural

limitations and need to alternate between sitting and standing

would not preclude her from working as a dental receptionist.

(Id.) Accordingly, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was not

disabled from August 6, 2015 to the date of the decision. (Id. at

30.)

II. The ALJ’s Assessment of Opinion Evidence

A. The Treating Physician Rule Applies

The SSA adopted new regulations effective March 27,

2017, revising the standard for evaluating medical opinion

evidence and effectively abolishing the treating physician rule.

See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c. Because Plaintiff filed her claim on

November 14, 2016, the prior regulations, including the treating

physician rule, still apply. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527. Under the

treating physician rule, the opinion of a claimant’s treating

physician2 as to “the nature and severity of the [claimant’s]

impairment is given controlling weight so long as it is well-

supported by medically acceptable clinical and laboratory

diagnostic techniques and is not inconsistent with the other

substantial evidence in [the] case record.” Greek v. Colvin, 802

F.3d 370, 375 (2d Cir. 2015) (citing Burgess, 537 F.3d at 128

(internal quotation marks omitted)).

An ALJ who does not accord controlling weight to a

treating physician’s medical opinion must consider the following

non-exclusive Burgess factors in determining how much weight to

give to the opinion: (1) the frequency, length, nature, and extent

of treatment; (2) the amount of medical evidence supporting the

opinion; (3) the consistency of the opinion with the remaining

2 A treating physician is an “acceptable medical source” with whom Plaintiff

“has, or has had, an ongoing treatment relationship.” See 20 C.F.R. §

404.1527(a)(2).

medical evidence; and (4) whether the physician is a

specialist. Estrella v. Berryhill, 925 F.3d 90, 95‒96 (2d Cir.

2019) (citation omitted); see 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2). “The

ALJ must then ‘comprehensively set forth his reasons for the weight

assigned to a treating physician’s opinion.’” Cichocki v. Astrue,

534 F. App’x. 71, 75 (2d Cir. 2013) (citing Burgess, 537 F.3d at

129). “The failure to provide good reasons for not crediting the

opinion of a claimant’s treating physician is a ground for remand.”

Greek, 802 F.3d at 375 (quoting Burgess, 537 F.3d at 129-30

(internal quotation marks omitted)).

An ALJ’s failure to explicitly apply the Burgess factors

in determining how much weight to accord the opinions of treating

physicians is a procedural error. See Kennedy v. Comm’r of Soc.

Sec., No. 19-cv-01740(KAM), 2021 WL 848784, at *5 (E.D.N.Y. Mar.

5, 2021) (citing Estrella, 925 F.3d at 96). Where the ALJ

“procedurally err[s], the question becomes whether a searching

review of the record . . . assures the court . . . that the

substance of the . . . rule was not traversed-i.e., whether the

record otherwise provides ‘good reasons’ for assigning ‘[some]

weight’ to [the treating physicians’] opinion[s].” See id.

(quoting Estrella, 925 F.3d at 96). If, upon “a searching review

of the record,” the Court is assured that the substance of the

treating physician rule was not traversed, it will affirm. See

Estrella, 925 F.3d at 96.

B. The ALJ Did Not Traverse the Treating Physician Rule

in Weighing Dr. Tarleton’s Opinion.

In the instant case, Plaintiff’s treating orthopedic

surgeon, Dr. Andrew Tarleton, opined, in a spinal medical source

statement dated June 24, 2019, that Plaintiff’s lumbar spine

impairment prevented her from sitting longer than 10 minutes and

standing or walking for over 10 minutes, and that Plaintiff, in

addition to taking regular scheduled breaks, would need to rest

lying down or reclining in a supine position for more than four

hours in an eight-hour workday to relieve pain or fatigue. (Tr.

at 557.) In addition, Dr. Tarleton indicated that Plaintiff could

not lift and carry any weight in a competitive work situation,

could rarely or never grasp, turn, and twist objects with her

hands, rarely or never use her fingers for fine manipulation, and

rarely or never use her arms for lateral and overhead reaching.

(Id.) Dr. Tarleton also opined that Plaintiff’s symptoms were of

such severity that she would be “off task,” or not be able to

sustain attention and concentration for even simple work tasks,

for 25 percent or more of a typical workday, and that Plaintiff

would need to take unscheduled breaks at least once every half

hour for 30 minutes to an hour. (Id. at 558.) Finally, Dr.

Tarleton indicated that Plaintiff’s condition would produce “good

days” and “bad days,” and that she would likely be absent from

work more than four times a month due to her impairments or

treatment. (Id.)

The ALJ assigned “limited weight” to Dr. Tarleton’s

opinion, having found “the highly restrictive capacity” suggested

by Dr. Tarleton not persuasive because it “conflict[ed] with

[Plaintiff’s] reported activities of daily living,” Dr. Tarleton’s

own treatment notes regarding the improvement of Plaintiff’s

symptoms, the clinical reports of Dr. Syeda Asad, the consultative

examiner, recent diagnostic evidence, and the hearing testimony of

Dr. Elizabeth Atkins, the medical expert. (Id. at 27‒29.) In

according less than controlling weight to Dr. Tarleton’s opinion,

the ALJ failed to explicitly weigh all the Burgess factors,

specifically the frequency, length, nature, and extent of Dr.

Tarleton’s treatment of Plaintiff. Nowhere is it stated in the

ALJ’s decision, for example, that Dr. Tarleton began treating

Plaintiff in January 2019, seeing her monthly or as needed, and

that as of the date of the decision, July 16, 2019, Dr. Tarleton

had last treated Plaintiff on June 19, 2019.

The Court finds that the ALJ set forth good reasons for

according less than controlling weight to Dr. Tarleton’s opinion

and thus did not traverse the substance of the treating physician

rule, despite failing to explicitly consider all the Burgess

factors. Dr. Tarleton’s February 4, 2019 treatment notes state

that the January 2019 MRI of Plaintiff’s lumbar spine indicated

small disc bulges and facet arthropathy at L3/4 and L4/5, minimal

retrolisthesis of L4, and mild bilateral neural foraminal

narrowing at L4/5. (Id. at 546.) In addition, Dr. Tarleton’s

physical examination of Plaintiff in January, February, and June

of 2019 showed that Plaintiff had a reduced range of motion of the

thoracic and lumbar spine in all planes, and a mildly antalgic

gait, and Dr. Tarleton noted Plaintiff’s complaints of reoccurring

lower back pain. (Id. at 546-48, 551‒53, 559‒61.) However, the

result of Plaintiff’s motor exam was 5/5, with light touch intact

throughout both lower extremities, each time Plaintiff was seen by

Dr. Tarleton, (id. at 547-48, 552‒53, 560‒61), and Dr. Asad, the

consultative examiner, indicated in his internal medicine

examination report that Plaintiff “appeared to be in no acute

distress,” had a normal stance and gait, used no assistive device,

had no trouble getting on and off the exam table, and was able to

rise from a chair without difficulty. (Id. at 519.) Furthermore,

the medical expert, Dr. Elizabeth Atkins, who reviewed Plaintiff’s

January 2019 MRI, as well as the MRIs from February, April, and

August of 2016, opined that Plaintiff’s MRIs “have remained

stable,” and noted that Plaintiff did not have any nerve root

compression. (Id. at 57‒58.) Based on the foregoing, the ALJ

determined that though Plaintiff’s lumbar spine impairment imposed

significant functional limitations, it did not hinder Plaintiff’s

physical function to the extent suggested by Dr. Tarleton.

Therefore, the Court concludes that substantial evidence in the

record supports the ALJ’s determination that Dr. Tarleton’s

opinion was not entitled to controlling weight.

Furthermore, Dr. Tarleton opined in his June 24, 2019

spinal medical source statement that Plaintiff could not lift and

carry any weight in a competitive work situation, could rarely or

never grasp, turn, and twist objects with her hands, rarely or

never use her fingers for fine manipulation, and rarely or never

use her arms for lateral and overhead reaching. (Id. at 557.)

Despite this, Dr. Tarleton’s January, February, and June 2019

treatment all indicate to the contrary that Plaintiff’s left and

right deltoids, biceps, triceps, wrist flexors, finger abductors,

and grasp strengths were 5/5, (id. at 547-48, 552‒53, 560‒61),

Plaintiff testified that her daily activities include “some

cooking” and “light housework,” (id. at 55), and the consultative

examiner, Dr. Asad, opined that Plaintiff’s hand and finger

dexterity was intact and that her grip strength was 5/5

bilaterally. (Id. at 520.) The Court is assured, therefore, upon

“a searching review of the record,” that the substance of the

treating physician rule was not traversed, and that the ALJ’s

decision to accord less than controlling weight to Dr. Tarleton’s

opinion regarding the limiting effects of Plaintiff’s lumbar spine

impairments is based on substantial evidence, namely, the

inconsistencies between Dr. Tarleton’s opinion and his own

treatment notes, opinion evidence and findings of the consultative

examiner and the medical expert, and Plaintiff’s reporting of daily

activities.

III. The ALJ’s RFC Determination is Not Supported by

Substantial Evidence.

“Because an RFC determination is a medical

determination, an ALJ who makes an RFC determination in the absence

of supporting expert medical opinion has improperly substituted

his own opinion for that of a physician.” Lao v. Comm’r of Soc.

Sec., No. 18-cv-7462(FB), 2020 WL 4194210, at *3 (E.D.N.Y. July

21, 2020) (quoting Hilsdorf v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 724 F. Supp.

2d 330, 347 (E.D.N.Y. 2010)). “An ALJ commits legal error when he

makes a [RFC] determination based on medical reports that do not

specifically explain the scope of claimant’s work-related

capabilities.” Van Dyne v. Saul, No. 20-cv-260(MKB), 2021 WL

1210460, at *15 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 31, 2021) (quoting Woodford v.

Apfel, 93 F. Supp. 2d 521, 529 (S.D.N.Y. 2000)). Further, though

the ALJ may “choose between properly submitted medical opinions,”

he may not “set his own expertise against that of physicians who

submitted opinions to him.” Meadors v. Astrue, 370 F. App’x 179,

183 (2d Cir. 2010) (summary order) (citation omitted).

In the instant case, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff

had the RFC to perform “less than the full range of light work” as

defined in 20 C.F.R. § 416.967(b)3. Specifically, the ALJ found

that Plaintiff can: (1) lift and/or carry up to 10 pounds

frequently and up to 20 pounds on occasion; (2) sit for six hours

in an eight-hour workday, alternating to a standing position for

five minutes every hour; (3) stand and/or walk for six hours in an

eight-hour workday, alternating to a sitting position for five

minutes every hour; (4) never climb scaffolds or ramps; (5)

frequently climb stairs; and (6) frequently stoop, kneel, crouch,

and crawl. (Tr. at 24.)

As previously discussed, the ALJ gave “limited weight”

to Dr. Tarleton’s opinion. (Id. at 27.) Though the ALJ may assign

less than controlling weight to a treating physician’s opinion, as

long as he sets forth good reasons for doing so, here, the ALJ, in

addition to assigning “limited weight” to Dr. Tarleton’s opinion,

did not adopt any source opinion. The ALJ’s RFC determination is

not supported by the opinion of Dr. Asad, the consultative

examiner, who found “moderate limitations for squatting, kneeling,

bending, walking, and standing for a long period of time,” but did

not specify the scope of Plaintiff’s work-related physical

3 20 C.F.R. § 416.967(b) defines light work as work that “involv[es] lifting no

more than 20 pounds at a time with frequent lifting or carrying of objects

weighing up to 10 pounds,” and “requir[ing] a good deal of walking or standing,

or when it involves sitting most of the time with some pushing and pulling of

arm or leg controls.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.967(b).

capabilities. (Id. at 520.) Specifically, though Dr. Asad opined

that Plaintiff has “moderate limitations” for squatting, kneeling

bending, walking, and standing for “a long period of time,” he did

opine as to for how many hours in an eight-hour workday Plaintiff

remained capable of performing those same activities. Further,

Dr. Asad did not indicate how much weight Plaintiff could lift

and/or carry, or whether Plaintiff could climb scaffolds, ramps,

or stairs, and stoop, crouch, or crawl.

Similarly, the ALJ’s RFC determination is not supported

by the opinion of the medical expert, Dr. Elizabeth Atkins. Dr.

Atkins testified that Plaintiff was being treated “fairly

conservatively with physical therapy and a TENS Unit” and that

Plaintiff’s latest MRI, performed in January 2019, showed no nerve

root impingement. (Id. at 57‒58.) Dr. Atkins opined, based on

her review of the portion of the record that was provided to her,

which did not include the spinal medical source statement of Dr.

Tarleton, that Plaintiff did not satisfy the criteria of Listing

1.04(a). (Id. at 58.) Because Dr. Atkins, like Dr. Asad, did not

specify the scope of Plaintiff’s work-related physical

capabilities, her opinion does not support the vocational

limitations the ALJ found as part of his RFC determination.

Thus, it appears that the ALJ improperly “interpreted

the raw medical evidence to arrive at the conclusion that Plaintiff

was physically capable of” performing less than the full range of

light work, without the support of any medical opinion. Santangelo

v. Saul, No. 18-cv-6199(CJS), 2019 WL 4409339, at *10 (W.D.N.Y.

Sept. 16, 2019) (finding that “[t]he only discussion of Plaintiff’s

ability to lift, stand, and walk is from her hearing testimony”

and “[t]he ALJ’s discussion of the medical records does not touch

on these physical requirements for light work”); see Van Dyne v.

Saul, No. 20-cv-260(MKB), 2021 WL 1210460, at *15 (E.D.N.Y. Mar.

31, 2021) (“Instead of developing the record, the ALJ concluded

based on the examination findings of normal extremity strength and

gait that there was no basis to conclude that Plaintiff cannot

lift and carry up to twenty pounds occasionally and up to ten

pounds frequently. The ALJ, however, is not permitted to

substitute his own lay opinion of the medical evidence for the

medical opinion of an acceptable medical source.” (citations

omitted)); Balaguer Perez v. Berryhill, No. 17-cv-3045(JMA), 2019

WL 1324949, at *6 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 25, 2019) (“Without a supporting

medical opinion of Plaintiff’s functional limitations, the ALJ’s

RFC determination that Plaintiff was capable of sedentary work

constituted an impermissible interpretation of bare medical

findings and is not supported by substantial evidence.” (internal

quotation marks and citations omitted)); Guarino v. Colvin, No.

14-cv-00598(MAT), 2016 WL 690818, at *2 (W.D.N.Y. Feb. 22, 2016)

(“Here, the ALJ had no medical source opinions on which to rely in

formulating his RFC finding. As such, his RFC determination

constituted an impermissible interpretation of bare medical

findings.” (collecting cases)). On remand, the ALJ must identify

a medical opinion that supports the RFC determination described in

his decision or any new RFC determination.

IV. The ALJ’s Insufficient Credibility Determination and

Explanations

Furthermore, the Court finds that on remand, the ALJ

should further explain her credibility determinations. The

factors to be considered in assessing a claimant’s credibility

are: “(1) the claimant’s daily activities, (2) the duration,

location, frequency and intensity of the claimant’s pain, (3)

precipitating and aggravating factors, (4) the type, dosage,

effectiveness, and side effects of any medications that the

claimant takes, (5) any treatment, other than medication, that the

claimant has received, (6) any other measures that the claimant

employs to relieve the pain, and (7) other factors concerning the

claimant’s functional limitations and restrictions as a result of

the pain.” Calo v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-cv-3559(AMD), 2021

WL 3617478, at *4 (E.D.N.Y. Aug. 16, 2021) (citing 20 C.F.R. §

404.1529(c)(3)(i)-(vii)). Thus, though the Commissioner can

consider a claimant’s daily activities in assessing the intensity

and persistence of a claimant’s symptoms, “a claimant need not be

an invalid to be found disabled under the Social Security Act.”

Balsamo v. Chater, 142 F.3d 75, 81 (2d Cir. 1998) (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted). Moreover, ALJs must not

overinterpret a claimant’s ability to perform limited activities

of daily living “as evidence of the ability to maintain full-time,

competitive, remunerative work.” See Joseph Eugene F. v. Comm’r

of Soc. Sec., No. 20-cv-04356(GRJ), 2022 WL 355918, at *6 (Feb.

7, 2022).

Here, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s statements

concerning the intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of her

symptoms are not entirely consistent with the evidence in the

record. The ALJ’s determination was based, in part, on “the

relatively broad range of daily activities [Plaintiff] remain[ed]

capable of performing,” such as “personal care, tak[ing] walks for

exercise, prepar[ing] simple meals and cook[ing], . . . light

housework, light laundry, . . . driv[ing] and travel[ing]

independently, shop[ping] as needed, and socializ[ing] regularly.”

(Tr. at 28‒29.) The ALJ, however, did not properly take into

account Plaintiff’s limitations in performing these daily

activities. For example, Plaintiff testified at the hearing that

she would walk around her block once (and maybe twice, if she felt

up to it), which would take about ten minutes, (id. at 43), and

indicated in her Function Report, dated April 5, 2017, that she

“[could not] lift anything more than 5 lbs without causing back

pain.” (Id. at 207.) Furthermore, the ALJ failed to explain how

Plaintiff’s ability to engage in certain limited daily activities

demonstrated her ability to maintain a full-time job involving

less than the full range of light work.

The Court also finds that the ALJ, in characterizing

Plaintiff’s treatment as “conservative,” did not consider whether

the conservative nature of her treatment can be attributed to other

reasons, rather than an indication of the severity of her

conditions. (Id. at 29.) Social Security Ruling 16-3P states,

“We will not find an individual’s symptoms inconsistent with the

evidence in the record[, based on the frequency or extent of the

treatment sought not being comparable to the degree of her

subjective complaints,] without considering possible reasons [she]

. . . may not . . . seek treatment consistent with the degree of

[her] . . . complaints.” SSR 16-3P, 2017 WL 5180304 (Oct. 25,

2017). Here, the ALJ did not inquire into or consider Plaintiff’s

possible reasons for not pursuing a more aggressive treatment

regime and instead merely noted the “conservative” treatment. (Tr.

at 29.) On remand, the ALJ should consider the reasons Plaintiff

may not have sought treatment consistent with the degree of her

complaints prior to determining that the alleged intensity and

persistence of her symptoms are inconsistent with the overall

evidence of the record.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Plaintiff’s motion for

judgment on the pleadings is GRANTED, Defendant’s cross motion for

judgment on the pleadings is DENIED, and the case is REMANDED for

further proceedings consistent with this Memorandum and Order.

The Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment remanding this

case, and to close the case.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: September 22, 2022

Brooklyn, New York

__________/s/_______________

HON. KIYO A. MATSUMOTO

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.