Opinion

Schmidt v. Saul, Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, E.D. New York
Filed
May 16, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 26.7%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

--------------------------------------X

JAMES MATTHEW SCHMIDT,

Plaintiff,

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

-against-

20-CV-3594(KAM)

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant.

--------------------------------------X

KIYO A. MATSUMOTO, United States District Judge:

Plaintiff James Schmidt (“plaintiff”) appeals the final

decision of the Commissioner of Social Security (“defendant” or

the “Commissioner”) finding him not disabled within the meaning of

the Social Security Act (the “Act”) and not entitled to disability

insurance benefits under Title II of the Act. Plaintiff and the

Commissioner have cross moved for judgment on the pleadings. For

the reasons herein, plaintiff’s motion is GRANTED, the

Commissioner’s motion is DENIED, and the case is REMANDED for

further proceedings consistent with this Memorandum and Order.

Background

The parties have filed a joint stipulation of relevant

facts, which the court has reviewed and incorporates by reference.

(See generally ECF No. 19-1, Joint Stipulation of Facts (“Stip.”).)

Here, the court briefly recounts the facts relevant to the instant

motions.

Plaintiff was born in 1965 and was a firefighter for the

New York City Fire Department. (Stip. at 1.) He filed an

application for disability insurance benefits on May 31, 2016.

(ECF Nos. 21‒21-1, together, Administrative Transcript (“Tr.”), at

10.) Plaintiff alleged disability beginning on February 23, 2012

due to gastroesophageal reflux disease (“GERD”), Barrett’s

esophagus, chronic sinusitis, sleep apnea, asthma, high blood

pressure, high cholesterol, herniation and bulging discs in the

spine, and right shoulder injury. (Id. at 36‒37, 229.)

The ALJ determined that plaintiff had the following

impairments that severely limited his ability to perform basic

work activities: degenerative disc disease of the cervical and

lumbar spines, shoulder disorder, knee disorder, GERD, asthma,

deviated septum with chronic sinusitis, and obstructive sleep

apnea. (Id. at 13.) The ALJ concluded that plaintiff’s coronary

artery disease, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia were non-severe

impairments. (Id.)

Standard of Review

A claimant must be “disabled” within the meaning of the

Act to receive benefits. See 42 U.S.C. §§ 423(a), (d). A claimant

qualifies as disabled when he is unable to “engage in any

substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically

determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected

to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last

for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” Id. §

423(d)(1)(A); Shaw v. Chater, 221 F.3d 126, 131–32 (2d Cir. 2000).

The impairment must be of “such severity” that the claimant is

unable to do his previous work or engage in any other kind of

substantial gainful work. 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(2)(A).

The regulations promulgated by the Commissioner set

forth a five-step sequential evaluation process for determining

whether a claimant meets the Act’s definition of disabled. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520. The Commissioner’s process is essentially as

follows:

[I]f the Commissioner determines (1) that the claimant

is not working, (2) that he has a ‘severe impairment,’

(3) that the impairment is not one [listed in Appendix

1 of the regulations] that conclusively requires a

determination of disability, and (4) that the claimant

is not capable of continuing in his prior type of work,

the Commissioner must find him disabled if (5) there is

not another type of work the claimant can do.

Burgess v. Astrue, 537 F.3d 117, 120 (2d Cir. 2008) (quoting Green-

Younger v. Barnhart, 335 F.3d 99, 106 (2d Cir. 2003)); accord 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4). During this five-step process, the

Commissioner must consider whether “the combined effect of all of

[a claimant’s] impairments,” including those that are not severe,

would be of sufficient severity to establish eligibility for Social

Security benefits. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1523(c).

“The claimant has the general burden of proving . . .

his or her case at steps one through four of the sequential five-

step framework established in the SSA regulations.” Burgess, 537

F.3d at 128 (internal quotation marks and citations omitted).

“However, because a hearing on disability benefits is a

nonadversarial proceeding, the ALJ generally has an affirmative

obligation to develop the administrative record.” Id. (internal

quotation marks and alteration, and citations omitted). “The

burden falls upon the Commissioner at the fifth step of the

disability evaluation process to prove that the claimant, if unable

to perform [his] past relevant work [and considering his residual

functional capacity, age, education, and work experience], is able

to engage in gainful employment within the national economy.”

Sobolewski v. Apfel, 985 F. Supp. 300, 310 (E.D.N.Y. 1997).

“The Commissioner must consider the following in

determining a claimant’s entitlement to benefits: ‘(1) the

objective medical facts [and clinical findings]; (2) diagnoses or

medical opinions based on such facts; (3) subjective evidence of

pain or disability . . . ; and (4) the claimant’s educational

background, age, and work experience.’” Balodis v. Leavitt, 704

F. Supp. 2d 255, 262 (E.D.N.Y. 2001) (quoting Brown v. Apfel, 174

F.3d 59, 62 (2d Cir. 1999)) (alterations in original).

Unsuccessful claimants for disability benefits may bring

an action in federal court seeking judicial review of the

Commissioner’s denial of their benefits. 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g),

1383(c)(3). The reviewing court does not have the authority to

conduct a de novo review and may not substitute its own judgment

for that of the ALJ, even when it might have justifiably reached

a different result. Cage v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 692 F.3d 118,

122 (2d Cir. 2012). Rather, “[a] district court may set aside the

Commissioner’s determination that a claimant is not disabled only

if the factual findings are not supported by substantial evidence

or if the decision is based on legal error.” Burgess, 537 F.3d at

127 (internal quotation marks omitted) (quoting Shaw, 221 F.3d at

131). “The substantial evidence standard means once an ALJ finds

facts, [the court] can reject those facts ‘only if a reasonable

factfinder would have to conclude otherwise.’” Brault v. Soc.

Sec. Admin., Comm’r, 683 F.3d 443, 448 (2d Cir. 2012) (citations

omitted).

Inquiry into legal error requires the court to ask

whether “the claimant has had a full hearing under the

[Commissioner’s] regulations and in accordance with the beneficent

purposes of the [Social Security] Act.” Moran v. Astrue, 569 F.3d

108, 112 (2d Cir. 2009) (second alteration in original) (internal

quotation marks omitted) (quoting Cruz v. Sullivan, 912 F.2d 8, 11

(2d Cir. 1990)).

Discussion

I. The ALJ’s Decision

The ALJ analyzed plaintiff’s application using the five-

step sequential evaluation process, as mandated by the Act’s

implementing regulations. At step one, the ALJ found that

plaintiff had not engaged in substantial gainful activity since

February 23, 2012, the alleged onset date. (Tr. at 12.) At step

two, the ALJ determined that plaintiff had the following severe

impairments: degenerative disc disease of the cervical and lumbar

spines, shoulder disorder, knee disorder, GERD, asthma, deviated

septum with chronic sinusitis, and obstructive sleep apnea. (Id.

at 13.) The ALJ concluded that plaintiff’s coronary artery

disease, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia are non-severe

impairments that do not significantly limit his ability to perform

basic work activities. (Id.) The ALJ found that the coronary

heart disease had only required routine, minimal monitoring by

plaintiff’s cardiologist, and hypertension and hyperlipidemia had

been controlled with medications generally and were asymptomatic.

(Id.)

At step three, the ALJ determined that plaintiff’s

impairments, considered singly or in combination, did not meet or

medically equal the severity of the listed impairments in Part

404, Subpart P, Appendix 1 (20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(d), 404.1525,

and 404.1526). (Tr. at 14.) Specifically, the ALJ found that

plaintiff’s impairments did not meet the criteria of Listings 1.02,

1.04, 3.03, and 8.04. (Id.) First, she determined that

plaintiff’s knee and shoulder injuries did not qualify under

Listing 1.02 because there was no evidence that plaintiff’s knee

injury resulted in an inability to ambulate effectively or that

his shoulder injury prevented him from performing fine and gross

movements effectively. (Id.) Second, the ALJ concluded that

Listing 1.04 was not met because there was no evidence in

plaintiff’s medical record of nerve root compression, spinal

arachnoiditis, or lumbar spinal stenosis resulting in

pseudoclaudication. (Id. at 15.) The ALJ also considered Listing

3.03 and found that Plaintiff’s asthma did not qualify because

there was no evidence of a FEV1 score less than or equal to the

value in Table VI-B for plaintiff’s age, gender, and height without

shoes, and no evidence of exacerbations or complications requiring

three hospitalizations within a 12-month period and at least 30

days apart. (Id.) Finally, the ALJ determined that plaintiff’s

chronic sinusitis did not qualify under Listing 8.04 because there

was no evidence of extensive fungating or ulcerating skin lesions.

(Id.)

At step four, the ALJ concluded that plaintiff was unable

to perform any of his past relevant work as a firefighter. (Id.

at 22.) The ALJ determined that plaintiff had the residual

functional capacity (“RFC”) to perform light work,1 with the

following limitations: no more than occasionally pushing or

pulling; no more than occasionally climbing ramps or stairs; never

climbing ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; no more than occasionally

balancing or stooping; never kneeling, crouching, or crawling; no

more than frequently reaching; no more than occasionally reaching

overhead; no more than frequently handling and fingering; avoiding

concentrated exposure to temperature extremes, wetness, and

humidity; avoiding even moderate exposure to pulmonary irritants

(such as fumes, odors, dust or gases); and avoiding any exposure

to hazardous machinery, unprotected heights, and operational

control of moving machinery. (Id.)

1 Light work “involves lifting no more than 20 pounds at a time with frequent

lifting or carrying of objects weighing up to 10 pounds. Even though the weight

lifted may be very little, a job is in this category when it requires a good

deal of walking or standing, or when it involves sitting most of the time with

some pushing and pulling of arm or leg controls. To be considered capable of

performing a full or wide range of light work, you must have the ability to do

substantially all of these activities. If someone can do light work, we

determine that he or she can also do sedentary work, unless there are additional

limiting factors such as loss of fine dexterity or inability to sit for long

periods of time.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567(b).

At step five, the ALJ concluded that there were jobs

that existed in significant numbers in the national economy that

plaintiff could perform despite his restrictions. (Id. at 23–24.)

The vocational expert testified at the January 3, 2019 hearing

before the ALJ that plaintiff could perform the requirements of

representative occupations such as price marker, furniture rental

sales representative, and cashier. (Id.) Accordingly, the ALJ

found that plaintiff was not “disabled” and not entitled to

disability benefits under the Act. (Id. at 28.)

I. The ALJ Did Not Consider Plaintiff’s Non-Severe Impairments

in the RFC Determination

“An ALJ’s failure to account for an impairment in the

RFC analysis is grounds for remand.” Davila v. Comm’r of Soc.

Sec., No. 16-cv-4774(KAM), 2018 WL 5017748, at *5 (E.D.N.Y. Oct.

16, 2018). See Parker-Grose v. Astrue, 462 F. App’x. 16, 18 (2d

Cir. 2012) (“Furthermore, even if this Court concluded that

substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s finding that [plaintiff’s]

mental impairment was nonsevere, it would still be necessary to

remand this case for further consideration because the ALJ failed

to [take into] account [plaintiff’s] mental limitations when

determining her RFC. A RFC determination must account for

limitations imposed by both severe and nonsevere impairments.”);

accord Schmidt v. Colvin, No. 15-cv-2692(MKB), 2016 WL 4435218, at

*13 (E.D.N.Y. Aug. 19, 2016) (“Where an ALJ fails to account for

any functional limitations associated with the [non-severe]

impairments in determining the claimant’s RFC, a court must remand

for further administrative proceedings.”) (alteration in original)

(internal quotation marks and citations omitted).

Although the ALJ’s finding that plaintiff’s coronary

artery disease, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia were not severe

was supported by the record, the ALJ failed to explain how these

non-severe impairments informed her determination of plaintiff’s

RFC. In fact, there is no mention of any of these conditions in

the ALJ’s step four analysis. (Tr. at 15‒22.) The ALJ’s failure

to consider plaintiff’s non-severe impairments in determining his

RFC was legal error and remand is warranted for this reason. On

remand, the ALJ should consider whether additional medical opinion

evidence regarding the functional limitations caused by the non-

severe impairments is warranted.

II. The ALJ’s Insufficient Credibility Determination and

Explanation

The Court also finds that the ALJ, in characterizing

plaintiff’s treatment as “routine and conservative,” did not

consider whether his treatment can be attributed to other reasons

and not be indicative of the severity of his conditions. Indeed,

plaintiff testified during the hearing that he is unwilling to

receive surgery for his degenerative disc disease due to potential

adverse effects and that he was first diagnosed with high blood

pressure after his septoplasty in 2014. (Id. at 1086‒87.)

Furthermore, plaintiff’s medical record indicates that though

epidural steroid injections and physical therapy helped improve

his movement, they did not improve his pain levels. (Id. at 664.)

Social Security Ruling 16-3P states, “We will not find

an individual’s symptoms inconsistent with the evidence in the

record [based on the frequency or extent of the treatment sought

not being comparable to the degree of his subjective complaints or

if he fails to follow the prescribed treatment] without considering

possible reasons he . . . may not comply with treatment or seek

treatment consistent with the degree of his . . . complaints.”

SSR 16-3P, 2017 WL 5180304 (Oct. 25, 2017). Here, the ALJ did not

consider the reasons presented by plaintiff for not pursuing a

more aggressive treatment regime and instead merely noted the

“conservative” treatment. (Tr. at 21.) On remand, the ALJ should

consider the reasons plaintiff may not seek treatment consistent

with the degree of his complaints prior to determining that the

alleged intensity and persistence of his symptoms are inconsistent

with the overall evidence of the record.

III. The ALJ’s RFC Determination Is Not Supported by Substantial

Evidence

Finally, the Court finds that the ALJ’s RFC

determination is not supported by substantial evidence.

“Substantial evidence is more than a mere scintilla,” and must be

relevant evidence that a “reasonable mind might accept as adequate

to support a conclusion.” Halloran v. Barnhart, 362 F.3d 28, 31

(2d Cir. 2004) (internal quotation marks omitted) (citing

Richardson v. Perales, 420 U.S. 389, 401 (1971)). If there is

substantial evidence in the record to support the Commissioner’s

factual findings, those findings must be upheld. 42 U.S.C. §

405(g).

Medical records alone cannot provide substantial

evidence for an RFC determination; rather, an “ALJ’s RFC

determination must be supported by a medical opinion in the record

at that time.” Pearson v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-cv-

3030(AMD), 2021 WL 3373132, at *4 (E.D.N.Y. Aug. 3, 2021) (emphasis

added). Here, the ALJ evaluated the opinions of Dr. Gelin, a

consultative examiner, Dr. Gonzalez-Mendez, a non-examining

expert, Dr. Ghavami, plaintiff’s treating cardiologist, and Dr.

Alicandri, plaintiff’s treating internist. (Tr. 19–21.)

The ALJ found Dr. Gelin, Dr. Ghavami, and Dr. Alicandri

to be unpersuasive. (Id.) She gave “little weight” to the opinion

of Dr. Gelin, the consultative examiner, because his opinion that

plaintiff had no limitation was not supported by his examination

report, which “identified a limited and painful range of motion of

the neck, mild-to-moderate pain on lumbar flexion, mild upper

extremity weakness, and decreased grip strength of both hands,”

and inconsistent with the treating records. (Id. at 19.)

The ALJ gave “very little weight” to the opinion of Dr.

Ghavami, plaintiff’s treating cardiologist. (Tr. at 20–21.)

According to the ALJ, Dr. Ghavami opined on conditions outside of

his area of specialty, such as plaintiff’s orthopedic problems and

anxiety, and his assessments as to plaintiff’s functional

limitations, namely, being able to walk only one to two blocks

without rest or severe pain and being off task twenty-five percent

or more of the workday, were mere restatements of plaintiff’s

subjective beliefs. (Id.) Furthermore, the ALJ concluded that

Dr. Ghavami’s opinion was not consistent with the record. (Id.)

The ALJ also gave “very little weight” to the opinion of

Dr. Alicandri, plaintiff’s treating internist, that plaintiff had

the following limitations: sitting less than two hours total and

standing and/or walking less than two hours total in an eight-hour

workday; rarely lifting and/or carrying up to 20 pounds; never

climbing ladders and rarely performing other postural activities;

avoiding nearly all exposure to environmental conditions; and

being off task twenty-five percent or more of the workday and

absent more than four days per month. (Id.) In weighing Dr.

Alicandri’s opinion, the ALJ noted that the extreme functional

limitations identified by Dr. Alicandri are “grossly inconsistent

with the objective evidence of record.” (Id. at 21.)

In contrast, the ALJ gave “significant weight” to the

opinion of a non-examining state medical consultant, Dr. Gonzalez-

Mendez, that a single decisionmaker’s2 assessment that plaintiff

retained the ability to perform a reduced range of light work was

reasonable. (Id. at 19‒20.) In giving significant weight to Dr.

Gonzalez-Mendez’s opinion, the ALJ reasoned that it was “supported

by the record.” (Id.) Notably, Dr. Gaonzalez-Mendez’s singe-page

medical evaluation was based entirely on his review of plaintiff’s

medical record available at the time (which did not include

Exhibits 11F to 22F of the Administrative Transcript) and the

single decisionmaker’s Disability Determination Explanation. (Id.

at 36‒46; 535.) Therefore, though acknowledging the extent and

the length of the treating relationships between plaintiff and

Drs. Ghavami and Alicandri, seven and fourteen years,

respectively, at the time of her decision, the ALJ conformed her

findings exclusively to a non-examining expert.

2 Sigle decision-makers are “non-physician disability examiners who may make

the initial disability determination in most cases without requiring the

signature of a medical consultant.” Rivera v. Comm’r Soc. Sec., 394 F. Supp.

3d 486, 494‒95 (S.D.N.Y. 2019).

Under the “treating physician rule,”3 the medical opinion

of a treating source as to the nature and severity of a claimant’s

impairments is entitled to “controlling weight,” where the opinion

is “well-supported by medically acceptable clinical and laboratory

diagnostic techniques and is not inconsistent with the other

substantial evidence in [the] case record.” Cichocki v. Astrue,

534 F. App’x 71, 74 (2d Cir. 2013) (internal quotation marks

omitted) (quoting 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2)).

“An ALJ who refuses to accord controlling weight to the

medical opinion of a treating physician must consider various

factors to determine how much weight to give to the opinion,

including: (i) the frequency of examination and the length, nature

and extent of the treatment relationship; (ii) the evidence in

support of the treating physician’s opinion; (iii) the consistency

of the opinion with the record as a whole; (iv) whether the opinion

is from a specialist; and (v) other factors brought to the Social

Security Administration’s attention that tend to support or

contradict the opinion.” Id. (internal quotation marks omitted)

(quoting Halloran, 362 F.3d at 32). “The ALJ must then

‘comprehensively set forth [her] reasons for the weight assigned

3 In 2017, new regulations were issued that changed the standard for evaluating

medical opinion evidence for claims filed on or after March 27, 2017. See 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520c. However, because Plaintiff filed his claim on May 31, 2016,

the previous regulations, including the treating physician rule, still apply.

See Conetta v. Berryhill, 365 F. Supp. 3d 383, 395 n.5 (S.D.N.Y. 2019).

to a treating physician’s opinion.’” Id. (quoting Burgess, 537

F.3d at 129).

“Even where a non-examining opinion is properly

afforded some weight, it, alone, cannot be considered substantial

evidence.” Avila v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 20-cv-

1360(ER), 2021 WL 3774317, at *20 (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 9, 2021), report

and recommendation adopted, 2021 WL 3774188 (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 25,

2021). Here, the ALJ conformed her findings exclusively to the

opinion of a non-examining expert who did not have the benefit of

plaintiff’s entire medical record at the time his opinion was

rendered. See Jones v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 10-cv-5831(RJD),

2012 WL 3637450, at *3 (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 22, 2012) (remanding after

court determined a non-examining physician’s opinion that the ALJ

had relied on was not substantial evidence given the physician had

access to limited treatment records).

In addition to Dr. Gonzalez-Mendez’s opinion, the ALJ

based her RFC determination on what she viewed as Plaintiff’s

“routine and conservative” treatment and his ability to perform

daily activities, such as house chores, driving, and walking his

dog. (Tr. 21.) Though evidence of daily functioning can certainly

inform an RFC determination, it must be supported by an adequate

medical opinion. See Pearson, 2021 WL 3373132, at *4. In

addition, the ALJ’s determination that plaintiff’s treatment was

“routine and conservative” was an impermissible substitution of

her opinion for that of medical experts. See Shaw, 221 F.3d at

134‒35 (“Neither the trial judge nor the ALJ is permitted to

substitute [her] own expertise or view of the medical proof for

the treating physician’s opinion. Essentially, the ALJ and trial

court imposed their notion that the severity of a physical

impairment directly correlates with the intrusiveness of the

medical treatment ordered.”) (internal citation omitted).

Furthermore, even if the ALJ is correct in her classification of

Plaintiff’s treatment as “routine and conservative,” such

treatment does not constitute substantial evidence for the RFC.

Kirby v. Saul, No. 20-cv-02270(FB), 2021 WL 4197264, at *3

(E.D.N.Y. Sept. 15, 2021) (“[N]either [plaintiff’s] ability to

perform personal tasks—like showering, getting dressed, and going

to doctor’s appointments—her ‘conservative’ treatment choices, nor

her decision to return to work after a period of disability amounts

to substantial evidence.”).

In sum, none of the treating physicians’ opinions

support the ALJ’s RFC determination, and the opinion of a non-

examining physician who did not have plaintiff’s complete medical

record, plaintiff’s “conservative” treatment, and his daily

functioning do not constitute substantial evidence. Accordingly,

there is no substantial evidence to support the ALJ’s RFC

determination, and remand is necessary. Pearson, 2021 WL 3373132,

at *4 (“[A]n ALJ’s RFC determination must be supported by a medical

opinion in the record at that time.”); Avila, 2021 WL 3774317, at

*20 (“Even where a non-examining opinion is properly afforded some

weight, it, alone, cannot be considered substantial evidence.”);

Kirby, 2021 WL 4197264, at *3 (remanding after finding evidence of

conservative treatment and basic daily functioning cannot

constitute substantial evidence).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, plaintiff’s motion for

judgment on the pleadings is GRANTED, defendant’s motion for

judgment on the pleadings in DENIED, and this case is REMANDED for

further proceedings consistent with this Memorandum and Order.

The Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment remanding this

case, and to close the case.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: May 16, 2022

Brooklyn, New York

__________/s/_______________

HON. KIYO A. MATSUMOTO

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.