Opinion

Bluni v. Saul

Court
District Court, E.D. New York
Filed
Feb 10, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 26.6%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

-----------------------------X

DAVID BLUNI,

Plaintiff,

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

v.

1:20-cv-02984 (KAM)

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant.

-----------------------------X

KIYO A. MATSUMOTO, United States District Judge:

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g) and 1383(c)(3),

Plaintiff David Bluni appeals the final decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security (“Defendant” or “Commissioner”),

finding him not disabled within the meaning of the Social Security

Act (“Act”) and therefore not eligible for disability insurance

benefits (“DIB”) and Supplemental Security Income (“SSI”).

Presently before the Court are Plaintiff’s motion for judgment on

the pleadings, vacating the final decision of the Commissioner and

remanding for further proceedings, (ECF No. 18, Plaintiff’s Motion

for Judgment on the Pleadings), and Defendant’s cross-motion for

judgment on the pleadings, (ECF No. 20, Defendant’s Cross-Motion

for Judgment on the Pleadings and in Opposition to Plaintiff’s

Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings). For the reasons stated

below, Plaintiff’s motion is granted, Defendant’s motion is

denied, and the case is remanded for further proceedings consistent

with this Memorandum and Order.

BACKGROUND

On June 24, 2016, Plaintiff filed applications for DIB

and SSI, alleging disability since May 27, 2016. (ECF Nos. 9 ‒

9-10, together, Administrative Transcript (“Tr.”), at 13.)

Plaintiff claimed that he was disabled due to sequalae from

bladder cancer, gastroesophageal reflux disorder, and

musculoskeletal pain. (Id. at 314.) His applications were denied

on November 4, 2016. (Id. at 13.)

On November 10, 2016, Plaintiff filed a written request

for a hearing before an administrative law judge. (Id.)

Administrative Law Judge Dina R. Loewy (“ALJ”) held two hearings

by video, on October 8, 2018 and May 21, 2019, during which

Plaintiff appeared and testified. (Id.) Plaintiff was

represented by attorneys William Aronin, Esq. at the first

hearing, and by Amy Shenstone, Esq. at the second hearing. (Id.

at 38, 75.) Dawn Blythe, a vocational expert, appeared at the

May 21, 2019 hearing and offered opinion testimony. (Id. at 77.)

In a decision dated August 8, 2019, the ALJ determined that

Plaintiff was not disabled, and Plaintiff appealed her decision

to the Appeals Council. (Id. at 26.) On May 1, 2020, the Appeals

Council denied review of the ALJ’s decision, rendering it the

final decision of the Commissioner. (Id. at 1.)

Plaintiff initiated the instant action on July 6, 2020,

represented by new counsel, Christopher James Bowes. (ECF No. 1,

Complaint (“Compl.”).) On July 9, 2020, the Court issued a

scheduling order. (ECF No. 5, Scheduling Order.) On December

29, 2020, Defendant filed the Administrative Transcript. (Tr.)

On August 3, 2021, Plaintiff filed his notice of motion

and memorandum of law in support of his motion for judgment on

the pleadings. (ECF Nos. 18 and 19.) On August 3, 2021, Defendant

filed the cross-motion and memorandum of law in support of

Defendant’s cross-motion for judgment on the pleadings and in

opposition to Plaintiff’s motion. (ECF No. 20 and 21.) That same

day, Plaintiff filed a reply in further support of his motion for

judgment on the pleadings. (ECF No. 22).

LEGAL STANDARD

Unsuccessful claimants for disability benefits under

the Act may bring an action in federal district court seeking

judicial review of the Commissioner’s denial of benefits “within

sixty days after the mailing . . . of notice of such decision or

within such further time as the Commissioner of Social Security

may allow.” 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g), 1383(c)(3). “A district court

may set aside the Commissioner’s determination that a claimant is

not disabled only if the factual findings are not supported by

substantial evidence or if the decision is based on legal error.”

Burgess v. Astrue, 537 F.3d 117, 127 (2d Cir. 2008) (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted); see also 42 U.S.C. §

405(g). “Substantial evidence is more than a mere scintilla,”

and must be relevant evidence that a “reasonable mind might accept

as adequate to support a conclusion.” Halloran v. Barnhart, 362

F.3d 28, 31 (2d Cir. 2004) (citing Richardson v. Perales, 420 U.S.

389, 401 (1971)) (internal quotation marks omitted). If there is

substantial evidence in the record to support the Commissioner’s

factual findings, those findings must be upheld. 42 U.S.C. §

405(g). Inquiry into legal error requires the court to ask whether

“the claimant has had a full hearing under the [Commissioner’s]

regulations and in accordance with the beneficent purposes of the

[Social Security] Act.” Moran v. Astrue, 569 F.3d 108, 112 (2d

Cir. 2009) (citation omitted). The reviewing court does not have

the authority to conduct a de novo review, and may not substitute

its own judgment for that of the ALJ, even when it might have

justifiably reached a different result. Cage v. Comm'r of Soc.

Sec., 692 F.3d 118, 122 (2d Cir. 2012).

To receive disability benefits, a claimant must be

“disabled” within the meaning of the Act. See 42 U.S.C. §§ 423(a),

(d). A claimant is disabled under the Act when he is unable to

“engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any

medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be

expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected

to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” Id.

§ 423(d)(1)(A). The impairment must be of “such severity” that

the claimant is unable to do his previous work or engage in any

other kind of substantial gainful work. Id. § 423(d)(2)(A). “The

Commissioner must consider the following in determining a

claimant’s entitlement to benefits: ‘(1) the objective medical

facts [and clinical findings]; (2) diagnoses or medical opinions

based on such facts; (3) subjective evidence of pain or disability

. . . ; and (4) the claimant’s educational background, age, and

work experience.’” Balodis v. Leavitt, 704 F. Supp. 2d 255, 262

(E.D.N.Y. 2001) (quoting Brown v. Apfel, 174 F.3d 59, 62 (2d Cir.

1999) (alterations in original)).

Pursuant to regulations promulgated by the

Commissioner, a five-step sequential evaluation process is used

to determine whether the claimant’s condition meets the Act’s

definition of disability. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. This process

can be summarized as follows:

[I]f the Commissioner determines (1) that the claimant

is not working, (2) that he has a ‘severe impairment,’

(3) that the impairment is not one [listed in Appendix

1 of the regulations] that conclusively requires a

determination of disability, and (4) that the claimant

is not capable of continuing in his prior type of work,

the Commissioner must find him disabled if (5) there is

not another type of work the claimant can do.

Burgess, 537 F.3d at 120 (internal quotation marks and citation

omitted); see also 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4).

During this five-step process, the Commissioner must

consider whether the combined effect of any such impairment would

be of sufficient severity to establish eligibility for Social

Security benefits. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1523(c). Further, if the

Commissioner does find a combination of impairments, the combined

impact of the impairments, including those that are not severe (as

defined by the regulations), will be considered in the

determination process. 20 C.F.R. § 416.945(a)(2). At steps one

through four of the sequential five-step framework, the claimant

bears the “general burden of proving . . . disability.” Burgess,

537 F.3d at 128. At step five, the burden shifts from the claimant

to the Commissioner, requiring that the Commissioner show that, in

light of the claimant’s residual functional capacity, age,

education, and work experience, the claimant is “able to engage in

gainful employment within the national economy.” Sobolewski v.

Apfel, 985 F. Supp. 300, 310 (E.D.N.Y. 1997).

DISCUSSION

I. The ALJ’s Disability Determination

Using the five-step sequential process described above,

the ALJ determined at step one that Plaintiff had not engaged in

substantial gainful activity since May 27, 2016, the alleged onset

date. (Tr. at 16.)

At step two, the ALJ found that Plaintiff suffered from

the following severe impairments: status post bladder cancer,

obesity, post-traumatic stress disorder (“PTSD”), a major

depressive disorder, and a panic disorder. (Id.) The ALJ found

that Plaintiff’s impairments “significantly limit [his] ability to

perform basic work activities.” (Id.)

At step three, the ALJ determined that through the date

last insured, Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination

of impairments that equaled the severity of listed impairments

under 20 C.F.R. Part 404 Subpart P, Appendix 1 (20 C.F.R. §§

404.1520(d), 404.1525, 404.1526). (Tr. at 16.) First, the ALJ

determined that Plaintiff’s mental impairments, considered singly

and in combination, did not equal in severity to the impairments

set forth in Listing Sections 12.04 (Depressive, Bipolar and

Related Disorders), 12.06 (Anxiety Related Disorders), and 12.15

(Trauma and Stressor Related Disorders). (Id.) According to the

ALJ, although Plaintiff’s mental impairments satisfied the various

“A” criteria of the aforementioned listings, they failed to meet

the “B” and “C” criteria. (Id. at 16‒18.) To satisfy the “B”

criteria, Plaintiff’s mental impairments must result in at least

one extreme or two marked limitations in the following areas of

mental functioning: (1) understanding, remembering, or applying

information; (2) interacting with others; (3) concentrating,

persisting, or maintaining pace; and (4) adapting or managing

oneself. (Id.) Based on her review of Plaintiff’s medical

records, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff had a moderate

limitation in each of the four areas of mental functioning. (Id.)

The ALJ determined that Plaintiff had a moderate limitation in

understanding, remembering, or applying information, based on the

January 27, 2017 report of Dr. Victoria Nichols, Plaintiff’s

psychologist, which stated that Plaintiff has an average IQ and

normal recent and remote memories, and Plaintiff’s August 10, 2016

Adult Function Report, in which he noted that he did not need help

or reminders to care for his personal needs or to take medication.

(Id.) The ALJ determined that Plaintiff had a moderate limitation

in interacting with others, reasoning that although Plaintiff’s

medical records noted that Plaintiff isolated himself socially,

Plaintiff stated in the Adult Function Report that he spent time

with others three times a week and had no problem getting along

with family, friends, neighbors, or others. (Id.) As for the

third area of mental functioning, concentrating, persisting, or

maintaining pace, the ALJ also found a moderate limitation, noting

that though Dr. Nichols reported Plaintiff having distractible

attention and poor concentration on January 27, 2017, Plaintiff

stated in the Adult Function Report that he could follow written

and oral instructions, which indicated that he had sufficient

attention and concentration. (Id.) Finally, the ALJ determined

that Plaintiff had a moderate limitation in adapting or managing

oneself, having observed that Plaintiff consistently tested as

having good to fair insight, judgment, and impulse control. (Id.)

The ALJ concluded that Plaintiff’s mental impairments did not

satisfy the “C” criteria of Listing Sections 12.04, 12.06, and

12.15, reasoning, “there is no evidence that [Plaintiff] has a

serious and persistent mental disorder of two or more years with

evidence of both: (1) mental health treatment, mental health

therapy, psychosocial support, or a highly structured setting that

is ongoing and that diminishes the symptoms and signs of a mental

disorder; and (2) a minimal capacity to adapt to changes to [his]

environment or to demands that are not already part of [his] daily

life.” (Id. at 17‒18.)

Next, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s bladder cancer

was not equal in severity to the criteria of Listing Section 13.22

(Urinary Bladder Carcinoma) because there was no evidence of

carcinoma that infiltrated beyond the bladder wall, was recurrent

after total cystectomy, was inoperable or unresectable, with

metastases to or beyond the regional lymph nodes, or of small-cell

(oat-cell) carcinoma. (Id. at 18.) The ALJ noted that Plaintiff’s

bladder cancer had not recurred since October 2016. (Id.)

At step four of the five-step sequential evaluation

process, the ALJ found that plaintiff had the residual functional

capacity (“RFC”) to perform medium work,1 with the following

conditions: (1) occasionally climbing ramps or stairs; (2) never

climbing ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; (3) occasionally balancing;

(4) frequently stooping; (5) occasionally kneeling; (6) frequently

crouching; (7) never crawling; (8) avoiding concentrated exposure

to extreme temperatures, wetness, and humidity; (9) avoiding even

moderate exposure to irritants such as fumes, odors, dusts, gases,

and poorly ventilated areas; (10) avoiding all exposure to

hazardous machinery, unprotected heights, and operational control

of moving machinery; (11) simple, routine tasks; (12) low stress

jobs defined as only occasional decision-making and only

occasional changes in the work setting; (13) no conveyor belt work;

and (14) only occasional interaction with the public or co-workers

and supervisors. (Id.)

1 The Court notes that though the ALJ cites to 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1567(b) and

416.967(b) for the definition of medium work, medium work is defined under 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1567(c) and 416.967(c), as “work [that] involves lifting no more

than 50 pounds at a time with frequent lifting or carrying of objects weighing

up to 25 pounds.” “If someone can do medium work, . . . he or she can also do

sedentary and light work,” and light work “requires a good deal of walking or

standing, or . . . sitting most of the time with some pushing and pulling of

arm or leg controls.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1567(b)-(c), 416.967(b)-(c).

In determining that Plaintiff had the RFC to perform

medium work, with the aforementioned conditions, the ALJ relied on

Plaintiff’s hearing testimony and medical records that included,

among others, pharmacy records, hospital records, and treatment

records from Drs. Nichols (psychologist), Anthony Conciatori

(psychiatrist), Brian Mignola (primary care provider), David Puro

(psychologist), and Plaintiff’s treating urologist, Dr.

Karanikolas. (Id. at 18-24.) The ALJ reasoned that although

Plaintiff’s “medically determinable impairments could reasonably

be expected to cause the alleged symptoms,” Plaintiff’s

“statements concerning the intensity, persistence and limiting

effects of these symptoms are not entirely consistent with the

medical evidence and other evidence in the record . . . .” (Id.

at 21.)

With regards to the physical impairments, the ALJ

determined that Plaintiff’s testimony that he is unable to work

and that it is difficult him to go out due to urinary pain and

frequency is not supported by his treatment records, which stated

that his urinary symptoms improved with medication and that he

reported feeling well and denied experiencing dysuria to his

urologist. (Id.) The ALJ noted that Plaintiff’s “overall physical

examinations have remained primarily benign since his two bladder

surgeries” and that his bladder cancer has not recurred since

October 2016. (Id.) The ALJ also noted the inconsistencies

between Plaintiff’s reports to his mental health professionals and

primary care provider, and what he reported his urologist, with

regards to the intensity and limiting effects of his urinary

symptoms. (Id.)

The ALJ gave little weight to Dr. Mignola’s August 2,

2016 opinion that Plaintiff could never perform exertional

activities or postural functions, reasoning that the opinion was

rendered two months after Plaintiff’s first resection surgery,

Plaintiff’s overall physical health has improved since, and his

bladder cancer has not recurred. (Id. at 22.) In addition, the

ALJ noted that Plaintiff would have had to perform at least some

exertional and postural functions to attend his hospital visits

and undergo procedures. (Id. at 22.)

The ALJ similarly afforded little weight to Dr.

Mignola’s November 8, 2018 opinion that Plaintiff was 100% disabled

and that his symptoms made it impossible for him to work, reasoning

that Dr. Mignola’s treatment notes demonstrated that Plaintiff’s

physical examinations were overall benign, with the exception of

his urinary symptoms, which had improved with medication. (Id.)

She also noted that Plaintiff’s bladder cancer is in remission and

there was no indication of Plaintiff’s obesity limiting his

physical functioning. (Id.) Finally, the ALJ gave little weight

to Dr. Mignola’s April 30, 2019 opinion that Plaintiff was either

completely disabled or limited to sitting for an hour and standing

and/or walking for 15 minutes, and was unable to perform any

postural functions, having found that the opinion was inconsistent

with Dr. Mignola’s own treatment records, as well as the treatment

records of Plaintiff’s urologist. (Id. at 23.) For these reasons,

the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was capable of performing work-

related physical activities.

As for Plaintiff’s mental impairments, the ALJ found

that despite continuous reports by Plaintiff of symptoms of PTSD,

panic, depression, and variable mood, Plaintiff’s mental status

examinations “show[ed] fairly benign results” and that Plaintiff

reported more than once that medication helped stabilize his mood.

(Id. at 22.) The ALJ gave little weight to Dr. Puro’s October 26,

2018 opinion that Dr. Conciatori should raise Plaintiff’s level of

disability to one hundred percent, reasoning that the opinion was

“not based on any objective evidence,” but a desire to increase

the amount of Plaintiff’s worker’s compensation benefit. (Id. at

23.) The ALJ likewise afforded little weight to Dr. Puro’s

opinions that Plaintiff was disabled and had poor to no ability to

perform work-related mental activities, and concluded that such

opinions were based not on Dr. Puro’s objective assessment of

Plaintiff’s mental functioning but Plaintiff’s subjective

complaints regarding his symptoms. (Id.) She also added that any

disability determination was reserved to the Commissioner. (Id.)

Similarly, the ALJ afforded little weight to Dr.

Nichols’ July 31, 2017 and May 26, 2017 opinions that Plaintiff

was unable to work, reasoning that such opinions were based on

Plaintiff’s self-reporting and not on formal mental status

examinations by Dr. Nichols. (Id.) The ALJ also noted that

Plaintiff’s psychological symptoms were caused by stressors

related to his life events and were not “independent psychological

symptoms.” (Id.) The ALJ gave little weight to Dr. Conciatori’s

opinion that Plaintiff was psychiatrically disabled and had poor

to no ability to perform various work-related mental activities,

reasoning that the results of Plaintiff’s mental health

examinations were benign overall, other than his variable mood,

Plaintiff was given a Global Assessment of Functioning (“GAF”)2

score of 60, his psychological symptoms improved with medication,

and Plaintiff mainly complained of stressors related to family,

financial, and medical issues. (Id.)

At step five of the sequential evaluation process, the

ALJ found that, based on Plaintiff’s age, education, work

experience, and RFC, he would not be able to return to his past

2 “The Global Assessment of Functioning (GAF) Scale (DSM—IV Axis V) ranks

psychological, social, and occupational functioning on a hypothetical

continuum of mental health-illness.” Pollard v. Halter, 377 F.3d 183, 186

n.1 (2d Cir. 2004). Courts in this Circuit have recognized that “the utility

of this metric is debatable, particularly after its exclusion from the fifth

edition of the DIAGNOSTIC AND STATISTICAL MANUAL OF MENTAL DISORDERS.” Berry

v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 14-cv-3977(KPF), 2015 WL 4557374, at *3 n.10

(S.D.N.Y. July 29, 2015)

relevant work as a commercial cleaner, which is too physically

demanding. (Id. at 24.) The ALJ took the vocational expert’s

testimony into account in arriving at this conclusion. (Id.) In

addition, the ALJ determined that there are jobs that exist in

significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff can

perform (20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1569, 404.1569a). (Id. at 25.) At the

May 21, 2019 hearing, the vocational expert testified that

Plaintiff would be able to perform the requirements of

representative occupations such as Photocopy Machine Operator,

Mail Clerk, and Page. (Id.) Thus, the ALJ concluded that

Plaintiff was not disabled within the meaning of the Act, as

defined in 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(g). (Id. at 26.)

II. The ALJ’s Assessment of Opinion Evidence

Under the treating physician rule, the opinion of a

claimant’s treating physician as to “the nature and severity of

the [claimant’s] impairment is given ‘controlling weight’ if the

opinion is ‘well-supported by medically acceptable clinical and

laboratory diagnostic techniques and is not inconsistent with the

other substantial evidence in [the] case record.’” Greek v.

Colvin, 802 F.3d 370, 375 (2d Cir. 2015) (citing Burgess, 537 F.3d

at 128; 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2)).3 An ALJ who does not accord

3 In 2017, new regulations were issued that changed the standard for

evaluating medical opinion evidence for claims filed on or after March 27,

2017. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c. However, because Plaintiff filed his claims

on June 24, 2016, the previous regulations, including the treating physician

rule, still apply.

controlling weight to a treating physician’s medical opinion must

explicitly consider the following non-exclusive Burgess factors in

determining how much weight to give to the opinion: (1) the

frequency, length, nature, and extent of treatment; (2) the amount

of medical evidence supporting the opinion; (3) the consistency of

the opinion with the remaining medical evidence; and (4) whether

the physician is a specialist. Estrella v. Berryhill, 925 F.3d

90, 95‒96 (2d Cir. 2019) (citation omitted); see 20 C.F.R. §

404.1527(c)(2); see also Coard Adukpo v. Berryhill, No. 19-cv-

2709(BMC), 2020 WL 3410333, at *1 (E.D.N.Y. Jun. 22, 2020). “The

ALJ must then ‘comprehensively set forth [her] reasons for the

weight assigned to a treating physician’s opinion.’” Cichocki v.

Astrue, 534 F. App’x. 71, 75 (2d Cir. 2013) (citing Burgess, 537

F.3d at 129).

However, “a treating physician's conclusion that a

claimant is disabled is not entitled to controlling weight, as

this determination is reserved to the Commissioner.” Quiles v.

Saul, 19-cv-11181(KNF), 2021 WL 848197, at *9 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 5,

2021). “[W]hen an ALJ discounts a treating physician’s opinion

that a claimant is disabled, the ALJ is obligated to give good

reasons for doing so.” Id.

Plaintiff contends that the ALJ improperly rejected the

opinions of his treating psychologist, Dr. Puro, and psychiatrist,

Dr. Conciatori. (ECF No. 19, Plaintiff’s Memorandum of Law in

Support of Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings (“Pl.

Mem.”), at 11‒12.) The Court discusses each of their opinions in

turn.

The ALJ’s Consideration of Dr. Puro’s Opinions

The Court finds that the ALJ reasonably afforded little

weight to Dr. Puro’s October 26, 2018 opinion that Dr. Conciatori

should raise Plaintiff’s level of disability from eighty-five to

one hundred percent, having found that Dr. Puro’s own notes, which

stated, “contact Dr. Conciatori-raise disability to 100%-causing

problem with $,” (Tr. at 1007), indicated that such opinion was

based not on Dr. Puro’s assessment of Plaintiff’s mental

functioning but rather his “feeling that the level of disability

should be raised so as not to interfere with [Plaintiff’s] worker’s

compensation benefit amounts.” (Id. at 21, 23.) However, the

Court concludes that the ALJ did not provide good reasons for

discounting Dr. Puro’s September 21, 2018 opinion that Plaintiff

was permanently and totally disabled. All that the ALJ gave as

the basis for her decision was her conclusory statement that Dr.

Puro did not perform an objective assessment of Plaintiff’s mental

ability but overly relied on Plaintiff’s subjective complaints

regarding his symptoms. (Id. at 23.)

Additionally, the Court finds that the ALJ, in

concluding that Dr. Puro’s opinions on the nature and severity of

Plaintiff’s mental impairments, or his diagnoses, are not entitled

to controlling weight, erred by failing to consider many of the

Burgess factors, such as the frequency, nature, and extent of Dr.

Puro’s treating relationship with Plaintiff. “An ALJ's failure to

‘explicitly’ apply the Burgess factors when assigning weight [to

a treating physician’s opinion] is a procedural error.” Estrella,

925 F.3d at 96 (citing Selian v. Astrue, 708 F.3d 409, 419-20 (2d

Cir. 2013)). See Day v. Astrue, No. 09-cv-00131(DRH), 2011 WL

1467652, at *15 (E.D.N.Y. Apr. 18, 2011) (“[F]ailure to follow the

treating physician rule is a failure to apply the proper legal

standard and is grounds for reversal.”).

In Dr. Puro’s September 21, 2018 assessment of

Plaintiff’s ability to perform work-related mental abilities, he

opined that Plaintiff is “severely depressed, anxious and

agitated,” and that his psychological symptoms interfere with his

cognitive functioning. (Tr. at 832‒33.) He determined that, other

than maintaining his personal appearance, Plaintiff has poor to

zero ability to perform the activities requisite to adjusting to

a job, such as, among others, following work rules, understanding,

remembering, and carrying out job instructions, relating to co-

workers, dealing with the public, using judgment, interacting with

supervisor(s), functioning independently, and maintaining

attention/concentration. (Id.) These opinions are also

consistent with Dr. Puro’s treatment records from September 5,

2018 to May 1, 2019, in which he repeated noted that Plaintiff is

severely depressed, anxious, and agitated, has difficulty focusing

and concentrating, suffers from PTSD, has flashbacks of 9/11, has

trouble functioning day to day, and is socially isolated and

withdrawn. (Id. at 837‒41, 980‒1010.)

The ALJ arrived at an RFC inconsistent with the diagnoses

of Dr. Puro, Plaintiff’s treating psychologist, finding Plaintiff

capable of performing medium work that involves “simple, routine

tasks” and “low stress,” with “only occasional decision-making .

. . changes in the work setting . . . interaction with the public

or co-workers and supervisors.” (Id. at 18.) Though the ALJ made

note of Dr. Puro’s diagnoses, (Id. at 21), she did not analyze

them using the Burgess factors nor provided good reasons for not

according them controlling weight. In fact, nowhere in the ALJ’s

decision does it mention how much weight she accorded Dr. Puro’s

diagnoses. And the ALJ did not provide any basis for her decision

to give greater weight to Dr. Conciatori’s mental status

examinations of Plaintiff than Dr. Puro’s diagnoses, nor did she

proffer scientific support for her conclusion that Plaintiff’s

psychological symptoms are less serious because they “stemmed form

his worry about his financial, family and physical health

stressors.” (Id. at 22.)

Additionally, the Court finds that the ALJ cherry-picked

parts of Plaintiff’s medical records that supported her

conclusion, while ignoring the portions of the records that did

not further corroborate her findings. The Court is cognizant that

an ALJ may “only credit portions of a medical source opinion, or

weigh different parts of the opinion differently,” however, the

ALJ must always “provid[e] sound reasons for the discrepancy.”

Destina v. Berryhill, 17-cv-2382(ADS), 2018 WL 4964103, at *6

(E.D.N.Y. Oct. 15, 2018). Here, the ALJ, in concluding that

Plaintiff’s medical impairments are not as severe as Plaintiff

suggested, noted that “[o]ne of his treating mental health

providers noted that the claimant experienced moderate levels of

anxiety and stress” and that Plaintiff was assessed a GAF score of

60. (Tr. at 22.) It appears that the ALJ relied on the May 26,

2017 opinion of Dr. Nichols, who treated Plaintiff from December

2016 to May 2017, (Id. at 694-714), but did not provide any reasons

for her reliance on Dr. Nichols’ opinion over the diagnoses of Dr.

Puro. See Clarke v. Colvin, No. 15-cv-354, 2017 WL 1215362, at *9

(S.D.N.Y. Apr. 3, 2017) (“[A]n ALJ may not ‘pick and choose

evidence which favors a finding that the claimant is not

disabled.’”) (citing Rodriguez v. Astrue, No. 07-cv-534, 2009 WL

637154, at *25 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 9, 2009)). Finally, the ALJ

acknowledged that a GAF score is a “snapshot assessment” and does

“not represent [Plaintiff’s] overall functioning over any

significant period of time” but did not explain why she then

accorded more weight to a GAF score indicating only moderate mental

limitations over Plaintiff’s treating psychologist’s diagnoses

finding him severely impaired.

Accordingly, the Court finds that the ALJ’s improper

discounting of Dr. Puro’s diagnoses without a sufficient

explanation warrants a remand. On remand, the ALJ is directed to

comprehensively weigh and apply the regulatory factors and

consider the record in its entirety to determine the weight of Dr.

Puro’s diagnoses. If the ALJ determines that the opinions of

Plaintiff’s treating physician are not entitled to controlling

weight, the ALJ “must nonetheless articulate a basis for the

alternative weight assigned.” Knight v. Comm’r, No. 18-cv-

2474(KAM), 2020 WL 3085778 at *7 (E.D.N.Y. June 10, 2020).

The ALJ’s Consideration of Dr. Conciatori’s Opinions

The Court finds that the ALJ offered good reasons for

giving little weight to Dr. Conciatori’s opinion finding Plaintiff

psychiatrically disabled, based on the inconsistencies between the

disability determination and Dr. Conciatori’s own reports of

mental status examinations that he conducted on Plaintiff, in which

he consistently found that Plaintiff “ma[de] fair eye contact,”

“show[ed] normal psychomotor status,” had “reactive/appropriate”

affect, “congruent” mood, “goal-oriented” thought process, and

good insight, judgment, and impulse control. (Tr. at 24, 715‒17,

719, 825‒30, 923‒41.) The ALJ also noted that Plaintiff cares for

his autistic son, “a task which requires greater physical and

mental functional abilities than [Plaintiff] is alleging,” and

that Dr. Conciatori’s treatment notes indicated that Plaintiff’s

psychological symptoms showed improvements with medication. (Id.

at 24.)

The Court next turns to Dr. Conciatori’s opinion

regarding the nature and severity of Plaintiff’s mental

impairments. In Dr. Conciatori’s September 26, 2018 medical

assessment of Plaintiff’s ability to perform work-related mental

activities, he opined that Plaintiff has poor concentration, poor

response to stress from environments, poor frustration tolerance,

a poor organizational skill set, and is irritable. (Id. at 834-

35.) Additionally, Dr. Conciatori determined that Plaintiff has

seriously limited ability to follow work rules, relate to co-

workers, use judgment, and understand, remember, and carry out

simple to detailed job instructions. (Id.) Finally, he opined

that Plaintiff has poor to no ability to deal with the public,

interact with supervisor(s), deal with work stresses, function

independently, maintain attention/concentration, behave in an

emotionally stable manner, relate predictably in social

situations, and demonstrate reliability. (Id.)

The Court finds that like her treatment of Dr. Puro’s

diagnoses, the ALJ, in deciding to afford little weight to Dr.

Conciatori’s opinion that Plaintiff had seriously limited to no

ability to perform a range of work-related mental abilities, erred

by failing to consider many of the Burgess factors, such as the

frequency, nature, and extent of Dr. Conciatori’s treating

relationship with Plaintiff. Nevertheless, the Court finds this

error not reversible, based on the sound reasons provided by the

ALJ for not according controlling weight to Dr. Conciatori’s

opinion, namely that it is inconsistent with his own treatment

notes stating that Plaintiff’s psychological symptoms have shown

improvements with medication and the results of his mental status

examinations on Plaintiff. Cf. Quiles, 2021 WL 848197, at *9 (“In

the absence of other good reasons for the weight assigned to the

treating physician’s opinion, failure to apply the Burgess factors

is grounds for remand.”).

Thus, because the ALJ set forth good reasons for the

respective weight she assigned to Dr. Conciatori’s opinions, the

Court finds that ALJ properly applied the treating physician rule.

III. Substantial Evidence Supports the ALJ's Findings that

Plaintiff Is Not Disabled Due to His Physical Impairments

In reviewing decisions of the ALJ, the Court must

determine whether substantial evidence supports her decision.

Jones ex rel. T.J. v. Astrue, No. 07–cv–4886, 2010 WL 1049283, at

*4 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 17, 2010). “Substantial evidence” is relevant

evidence which a “reasonable mind might accept as adequate to

support a conclusion.” Halloran, 362 F.3d at 31.

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ “ignored [Plaintiff’s]

complaints regarding frequency, urinary incontinence, and BCG

treatments.” (Pl. Mem. at 5.) As an initial matter, the Court

finds that the ALJ did not “fail[ ] to account for how Plaintiff’s

urinary frequency, urinary incontinence, and treatments with BCG

would interfere with his ability to hold a job.” (Id. at 6.)

Rather, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff’s urinary symptoms were

not as severe as Plaintiff alleged them to be, based on her review

of Plaintiff’s medical records, and that the BCG treatment regimen

was not so restrictive as to render Plaintiff unable to work. (Tr.

at 21.)

The Court finds that there is substantial evidence in

the record to support the ALJ’s determination that Plaintiff’s

statements concerning the intensity, persistence, and limiting

effects of his urinary symptoms “are not entirely consistent with

the medical evidence.” (Id.) Specifically, the Court finds that

Plaintiff’s testimony and Dr. Mignola’s November 8, 2018 opinion

that Plaintiff’s urinary frequency and incontinence, and “pain

from cancer” are so severe that he is prohibited from working, are

not supported by the treatment notes of his urologist, Dr.

Karanikolas. (Id. at 798‒801, 842‒65, 920.) Dr. Karanikolas

treatment notes from February 15, 2017 to October 4, 2018, indicate

that the results of Plaintiff’s cystoscopies were benign, showing

no evidence of recurrence of Plaintiff’s bladder cancer, and that

Plaintiff did not experience any major complications from BCG

treatment. (Id. at 798‒801, 842‒65.) Dr. Karanikolas did note

Plaintiff’s urinal frequency on July 26, 2017, but he attributed

it to Plaintiff’s water intake, which indicated that he did not

find the frequency troubling. (Id. at 862.) Furthermore, Dr.

Karanikolas’ treatment notes from February 28, 2018 state that

Plaintiff specifically denied experiencing dysuria, hematuria,

lower urinary tract symptoms, or fever or chills. (Id. at 850‒

52.) Moreover, although Plaintiff complained of suffering from

intermittent right flank pain, Dr. Karanikolas’ treatment notes

from March 14, 2018 indicate that the pain was resolved by then.

(Id.) Finally, as the ALJ noted, although Plaintiff testified

that he wears diapers all the time due to the severity of his

urinary incontinence, there was no mention of diapers anywhere in

Dr. Karanikolas’ treatment records. (Id. at 21.)

The Court also notes, as the ALJ did, the inconsistencies

between the treatment records of Drs. Mignola and Karanikolas with

regard to the severity of Plaintiff’s physical impairments. For

example, Dr. Mignola, Plaintiff’s primary care provider, stated in

his treatment notes dated September 5, 2017 that Plaintiff was

experiencing abdominal pain from BCG treatment. (Id. at 739.)

However, Dr. Karanikolas’ treatment records do not mention of any

abdominal pain or complications from Plaintiff’s August 2017 BCG

treatment, other than low grade temperature and passing of clots

after the second BCG instillation, which resolved after 24 hours.

(Id. at 856‒61.) Similarly, Dr. Mignola reported in his treatment

notes dated November 12, 2018 that Plaintiff was experiencing

“frequent urination and pressure,” penile pain, and acute, bloody,

and burning discharge that started months ago, but Dr. Karanikolas

noted no complications during Plaintiff’s October 4, 2018

cystoscopy visit, during which a “flexible cystoscope was used to

visualize the urethra and bladder.” (Tr. at 843.)

Based on the foregoing, the Court finds that there is

sufficient evidence in the record for “a reasonable mind [to]

accept as adequate to support” the conclusion that Plaintiff

possesses the RFC to perform medium work. Halloran, 362 F.3d at

31.

CONCLUSION

Federal regulations explicitly authorize a court, when

reviewing decisions of the Commissioner, to order further

proceedings when appropriate. “The court shall have power to

enter, upon the pleadings and transcript of the record, a judgment

affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the

Commissioner of Social Security, with or without remanding the

cause for a rehearing.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Remand is appropriate

where further findings or explanation will clarify the rationale

for the ALJ’s decision. Pratts v. Charter, 94 F.3d 34, 39 (2d

Cir. 1996)

For the reasons previously set forth, the Court grants

Plaintiff’s motion for judgment on the pleadings; denies

Defendant’s cross-motion for judgment on the pleadings; and

remands this case for further proceedings consistent with this

Memorandum and Order. The Clerk of Court is respectfully directed

to close this case and enter judgment in favor of Plaintiff. The

parties shall confer in an attempt to resolve Plaintiff’s request

for attorney’s fees.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: February 10, 2022

Brooklyn, New York

__________/s/_______________

HON. KIYO A. MATSUMOTO

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.