Opinion

Carden v. Aetna Life Insurance

  • 559 F.3d 256
  • 46 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1458
  • 2009 U.S. App. LEXIS 5122
  • 2009 WL 635419
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Filed
Mar 11, 2009
Status
Published
Author
Niemeyer
On the bench
Niemeyer, Michael, Smith, Eastern, Virginia
Cited by
44 cases
Authority
More cited than 87.4%

recognizing that, under Glenn, courts “must consider the administrator’s conflict of interest as only ‘one factor among many’ in determining the reasonableness of the administrator’s decision exercising discretionary authority’ ” (quoting Glenn, 128 S.Ct. at 2351)

How later courts described this case

  • recognizing that, under Glenn, courts “must consider the administrator’s conflict of interest as only ‘one factor among many’ in determining the reasonableness of the administrator’s decision exercising discretionary authority’ ” (quoting Glenn, 128 S.Ct. at 2351)
  • recognizing that, under Glenn, “a conflict of interest becomes just one of the ‘several different, often case-specific, factors’ to be weighed together in determining whether the administrator abused its discretion” (quoting Glenn, 128 S.Ct. at 2351)
  • holding that insurer’s decision to offset plaintiff’s settlement from asbestosis against his LTD benefits for vertigo was reasonable because the conditions were comorbid and both contributed to his disability
  • explaining that the “application of [the contra proferentem] rule to curb discretion given an administrator by a plan” is “now foreclose[d]”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

LARRY CARDEN, 

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.  No. 07-2165

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of South Carolina, at Greenville.

R. Bryan Harwell, District Judge.

(6:05-cv-02053-RBH)

Argued: December 3, 2008

Decided: March 11, 2009

Before NIEMEYER and MICHAEL, Circuit Judges,

and Rebecca Beach SMITH, United States District Judge

for the Eastern District of Virginia, sitting by designation.

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge Niemeyer wrote the

opinion, in which Judge Michael and Judge Smith joined.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Robert Edward Hoskins, FOSTER LAW FIRM,

L.L.P., Greenville, South Carolina, for Appellant. Thomas

Edward Vanderbloemen, GALLIVAN, WHITE & BOYD,

2 CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

P.A., Greenville, South Carolina, for Appellee. ON BRIEF:

Jennifer E. Johnsen, Nicole J. Buntin, GALLIVAN, WHITE

& BOYD, P.A., Greenville, South Carolina, for Appellee.

OPINION

NIEMEYER, Circuit Judge:

In paying Larry Carden monthly benefits under a long-term

disability plan governed by the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974 ("ERISA"), Aetna Life Insurance Com-

pany, the insurer and administrator of the plan, offset work-

ers’ compensation benefits that Carden received for an illness

unrelated to his disability. Aetna relied on its reading of the

plan’s offset provisions and the plan language giving it discre-

tion to interpret the plan.

The district court concluded that Aetna’s determination was

consistent with the language of the plan and that therefore its

interpretation was not unreasonable. It accordingly concluded

that "Aetna is entitled to offset Plaintiff’s long-term disability

benefits by the workers’ compensation benefits which he

received."

Challenging Aetna’s reading of the plan, especially in light

of Aetna’s financial conflict of interest, Carden appealed. For

the reasons that follow, we affirm.

I

Larry Carden, a power plant operator for Duke Energy Cor-

poration since 1966, began experiencing symptoms of epi-

sodic vertigo (causing imbalance and dizziness) in 1982. In

April 1997, he ceased working as a result of this condition

and made a claim under Duke Energy’s long-term disability

plan. Aetna, which administered and paid benefits under the

CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE 3

plan, accepted Carden’s application and began paying Carden

monthly disability benefits.

Unbeknownst to Aetna, Carden made a workers’ compen-

sation claim against Duke Energy a few months later, in

August 1997, alleging that he was suffering from asbestosis

"as a direct and proximate result of his employment" with

Duke Energy. Although Duke Energy contested the claim,

asserting that Carden had not been "exposed to the hazards of

asbestos," it ultimately entered into a settlement agreement

with Carden in May 1999 for a lump sum payment of

$53,248, of which $39,936 was allocated to Carden’s "alleged

permanent impairment" and $13,312 to attorneys fees. Duke

Energy also agreed to pay future medical expenses relating to

asbestosis.

When Aetna first learned of Carden’s workers’ compensa-

tion settlement in late 2004, it notified Carden by letter dated

December 7, 2004, that the workers’ compensation award was

"other income" under the plan that needed to be offset against

his disability benefits. Aetna set out a schedule, under which

Carden would repay the $39,936 through a $665.60 reduction

in his monthly disability checks for 60 months, and explained

that it was making the adjustment "[s]ince you have received

disability benefits in excess of your entitlement." When Car-

den appealed the decision, Aetna affirmed, explaining to Car-

den’s attorney:

Our interpretation of the plan is Worker’s compensa-

tion benefits Mr. Carden received is [sic] considered

as "other income" as described on page 9 in the cov-

erage summary. Therefore, we feel it should be off-

set or reduce his monthly [long-term disability]

payments.

Carden commenced this action under ERISA, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1132, challenging Aetna’s interpretation of the plan, and the

parties thereafter entered into a stipulation of the material

4 CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

facts and the issue to be decided. They agreed that there are

no facts in dispute and that "the basis for Mr. Carden’s dis-

ability claim with [Aetna] [by reason of vertigo] and the phys-

ical basis for his Workers’ Compensation claim [asbestosis]

are different." They stipulated to the "administrative record"

and to the plan documents and language. They agreed that

Aetna is a fiduciary as defined by ERISA and that it had dis-

cretionary authority to interpret the plan under plan language

that read, "Aetna shall have discretionary authority to: deter-

mine whether and to what extent employees and beneficiaries

are entitled to benefits; and construe any disputed or doubtful

terms of this policy." They also agreed that because of

Aetna’s role in evaluating and paying claims, "the ‘modified

abuse of discretion standard’ as interpreted and applied by the

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals and this Court is applicable

for this matter."* Finally, they agreed that the case turned

entirely on the proper interpretation of the plan language,

articulating the issue as follows:

The parties agree that the substantive issue to be

resolved is whether [Aetna], under the specific lan-

guage of the plan documents . . . is entitled to offset

worker’s compensation benefits recovered by Mr.

Carden against the monthly disability benefits being

paid by [Aetna] to Mr. Carden when the physical

basis for the disability benefits being paid by [Aetna]

[i.e., vertigo] is different than the physical basis

which gave rise to the worker’s compensation award

[i.e., asbestosis].

The district court found that Aetna’s interpretation of the

plan was reasonable and was supported by substantial evi-

dence, resulting from a deliberate, principled reasoning pro-

*After this stipulation was agreed to, the Fourth Circuit altered the stan-

dard of review in light of Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Glenn, ___

U.S. ___, 128 S. Ct. 2343 (2008). See Champion v. Black & Decker (U.S.)

Inc., 550 F.3d 353, 359 (4th Cir. 2008).

CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE 5

cess. Accordingly, it entered a judgment on November 5,

2007, declaring, "Aetna is entitled to offset Plaintiff’s long-

term disability benefits by the workers’ compensation benefits

which he received based on his asbestosis." From that judg-

ment, Carden appeals.

II

The plan in this case provides long-term disability benefits

to employees, and, because Carden suffers from vertigo, he

has been receiving disability benefits since 1997. There is no

dispute about whether the benefits are payable and their

amount. Rather, the issue here is whether Aetna, functioning

under a conflict of interest, acted reasonably in construing the

plan’s language to provide for an offset against those benefits

in the amount that Carden received in 1999 as a lump-sum

payment for his permanent impairment caused by asbestosis.

Carden contends that the plan, in addressing "Lump Sum

Payments From Workers’ Compensation," provides that such

a lump-sum payment may be set off against disability benefits

only when the lump-sum payment is for the same "disability"

for which long-term disability benefits are paid. While Carden

claims that the plan provisions are unambiguous in this

regard, he argues that if the plan language is ambiguous, it

must be interpreted "in favor of [him] and against the insurer"

because of Aetna’s conflict of interest, citing to a line of cases

represented by Carolina Care Plan, Inc. v. McKenzie, 467

F.3d 383 (4th Cir. 2006). In Carolina Care Plan, we said,

"When an ERISA plan vests discretion in an administrator

who also insures the plan, reasonable exercise of that discre-

tion requires that the administrator construe plan ambiguities

against the party who drafted the plan." 467 F.3d at 389

(emphasis added).

Since we decided Carolina Care Plan and the other cases

on which it relies, the Supreme Court decided Metropolitan

Life Insurance Co. v. Glenn, ___ U.S. ___, 128 S. Ct. 2343

6 CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

(2008), altering several aspects of judicial review of ERISA

plan determinations. See Champion, 550 F.3d at 357-59. In

Glenn, the Court held that judicial review of an ERISA plan

administrator’s decision is "under a de novo standard unless

the plan provides to the contrary." Glenn, 128 S. Ct. at 2348

(citations and internal quotation marks omitted). But when the

plan language grants the administrator discretionary authority,

review is conducted under the familiar abuse-of-discretion

standard. Id.; Champion, 550 F.3d at 358.

Of especial importance here, the Glenn Court also held that

the administrator’s conflict of interest did not change the stan-

dard of review from the deferential review, normally applied

in the review of discretionary decisions, to a de novo review,

or some other hybrid standard. Glenn, 128 S. Ct. at 2350;

Champion, 550 F.3d at 358. Indeed, the Court stated more

broadly that the conflict of interest should not lead to "special

burden-of-proof rules, or other special procedural or evidenti-

ary rules, focused narrowly upon the evaluator/payor con-

flict." Glenn, 128 S. Ct. at 2351. Rather, a conflict of interest

becomes just one of the "several different, often case-specific,

factors" to be weighed together in determining whether the

administrator abused its discretion. Id.

The Glenn Court found a conflict when the plan adminis-

trator serves in the dual role of evaluating claims for benefits

and paying the claims. Glenn, 128 S. Ct. at 2346, 2348-50.

Specifically, it held that an insurance company, which served

as both administrator with discretionary authority to deter-

mine claims and insurer with responsibility of paying the

claims, functioned under a conflict of interest. Id. at 2349-50.

Inasmuch as Aetna serves both as administrator of the plan

with discretionary authority to determine entitlement to bene-

fits and to construe disputed terms and as insurer of the plan

with responsibility for paying benefits, it has a conflict of

interest, as defined by Glenn.

CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE 7

Carden maintains that because of this conflict of interest

the plan language must be interpreted in his favor, thus bar-

ring Aetna from offsetting his asbestosis settlement against

his long-term disability benefits for vertigo. Carden would

have us reach this conclusion despite the plan’s language stat-

ing that "Aetna shall have discretionary authority to . . . con-

strue any disputed or doubtful terms of this policy."

Before Glenn, we had indeed developed a rule whereby

ambiguities in ERISA plans were construed against the drafter

whenever a conflict of interest existed. See Carolina Care

Plan, 467 F.3d at 389; Bynum v. Cigna Healthcare of N.C.,

Inc., 287 F.3d 305, 313-14 (4th Cir. 2002); Bailey v. Blue

Cross & Blue Shield of Va., 67 F.3d 53, 58 (4th Cir. 1995);

Doe v. Group Hospitalization & Med. Servs., 3 F.3d 80, 88-89

(4th Cir. 1993). In those cases, we applied this "contra profer-

entem" rule even when the plan language gave discretion to

the plan administrator to interpret disputed or doubtful terms.

But Glenn now forecloses our application of that rule to

curb the discretion given an administrator by a plan, ruling

that it is not "necessary or desirable for courts to create spe-

cial burden-of-proof rules, or other special procedural or evi-

dentiary rules, focused narrowly upon the evaluator/payor

conflict." 128 S. Ct. at 2351. Indeed, the Court rejected the

very idea of applying hard and fast rules for the review of

ERISA determinations, calling them "formulas that will fal-

sif[y] the actual process of judging" and "instrument[s] of

futile casuistry." Id. at 2352 (alterations in original) (citation

and internal quotation marks omitted). Rather, under the

Glenn review structure, we must consider the administrator’s

conflict of interest as only "one factor among many" in deter-

mining the reasonableness of the administrator’s decision

exercising discretionary authority. Id. at 2351.

As the result of Glenn, whenever a plan administrator

employs its interpretive discretion to construe an ambiguous

provision in favor of its financial interest, that fact may be

8 CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

considered as a factor weighing against the reasonableness of

its decision. Conversely, when the administrator exercises its

interpretive discretion to construe an ambiguous provision

against its financial interest, that fact may be considered as a

factor weighing in favor of the reasonableness of the decision.

But this factor—in either case—is only considered with all of

the other factors that may be brought to bear in determining

whether the administrator abused his discretion. See Glenn,

128 S. Ct. at 2351. The weight accorded to this factor will, of

course, depend largely on the plan’s language and on consid-

eration of other relevant factors. In Booth v. Wal-Mart Stores,

Inc. Associates Health & Welfare Plan, 201 F.3d 335 (4th Cir.

2000), we identified eight nonexclusive factors that guide our

ERISA abuse-of-discretion review:

(1) the language of the plan; (2) the purposes and

goals of the plan; (3) the adequacy of the materials

considered to make the decision and the degree to

which they support it; (4) whether the fiduciary’s

interpretation was consistent with other provisions in

the plan and with earlier interpretations of the plan;

(5) whether the decisionmaking process was rea-

soned and principled; (6) whether the decision was

consistent with the procedural and substantive

requirements of ERISA; (7) any external standard

relevant to the exercise of discretion; and (8) the

fiduciary’s motives and any conflict of interest it

may have.

Id. at 342-43 (footnote omitted).

The adjustment to our ERISA jurisprudence in light of

Glenn is necessitated also by Glenn’s reemphasis on resolving

ERISA questions such as these under principles of trust law,

analogizing the plan administrator to a trustee. See Glenn, 128

S. Ct. at 2347. The Court thus reaffirmed its holding in Fire-

stone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 111 (1989),

that courts are to apply trust-law principles to ERISA determi-

CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE 9

nations. Among the principles of trust law reiterated by Fire-

stone are those that "[a] trustee may be given power to

construe disputed or doubtful terms, and in such circum-

stances the trustee’s interpretation will not be disturbed if rea-

sonable." 489 U.S. at 111 (citing G. Bogert & G. Bogert, Law

of Trusts and Trustees § 559, at 169-171 (2d rev. ed. 1980)).

We now turn to our review of Aetna’s interpretation of the

plan, beginning with consideration of the plan’s language.

The key sections of the plan are three unnumbered sections,

labeled by plain-language descriptions as follows: (1) "Other

Income Benefits—This section outlines income benefits

which you may receive from other sources while disabled and

which will be considered as an offset to payments you receive

under this plan"; (2) "Other Income Benefits Which Do Not

Reduce Benefits"; and (3) "How Aetna Determines Other

Income Benefits." Thus, sections (1) and (2) (our numbering)

list the income from other sources that will and will not

reduce Carden’s long-term disability benefits. Aetna applied

section (1) to Carden, which provides in part that offsets will

be made for the following sources of "other income benefits":

Disability, retirement, or unemployment benefits

required or provided for under any law of a govern-

ment. Examples are:

Unemployment compensation benefits.

Temporary or permanent, partial or total

disability benefits under any state or federal

workers’ compensation law or any like law,

which are meant to compensate the worker

for any one or more of the following: loss

of past or future wages; impaired earning

capacity; lessened ability to compete in the

open labor market; any degree of perma-

nent impairment; and any degree of loss of

bodily function or capacity.

10 CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

Statutory disability benefits.

Benefits under the Federal Social Security

Act, the Railroad Retirement Act, the Can-

ada Pension Plan, and the Quebec Pension

Plan.

Veterans’ benefits.

(Emphasis added). Because Carden received workers’ com-

pensation benefits in the amount of $39,936 as "compensation

for Employee-Plaintiff’s alleged permanent impairment,"

(emphasis added), Aetna applied this income as an offset.

Aetna relied on the specific language in section (1) that pro-

vides offsets of income from "permanent . . . disability bene-

fits under any state . . . workers’ compensation law . . . which

are meant to compensate the worker for any one or more of

the following: . . . any degree of permanent impairment; and

any degree of loss of bodily function or capacity." (Emphasis

added).

Aetna then applied section (3), which explains how to off-

set a disability benefit that is paid in a "lump sum payment."

Section (3) provides in relevant part:

Lump Sum Payments From Workers’ Compensa-

tion:

That part of the lump sum payment that is for dis-

ability will be counted, even if it is not specifically

apportioned or identified as such. This will be done

if it is or is not the result of a compromise, settle-

ment, award or judgment. . . . This amount will be

broken down to a period of time equal to the lesser

of: (a) the remaining benefit duration; and (b) 60

months.

(Emphasis added).

CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE 11

Carden argues that the "for disability" language in section

(3) refers to the same disability for which he is receiving dis-

ability benefits because that is the only relevant disability.

Because he is receiving disability benefits for vertigo, he con-

tends, the lump sum payment for asbestosis is not "for [his]

disability." Therefore, the term "disability" used in these sec-

tions of the plan refers to his vertigo disability. The plan lan-

guage, he argues, does not authorize Aetna to offset the lump

sum workers’ compensation settlement he received for asbes-

tosis. He argues further that because asbestosis does not nec-

essarily disable its victims, the "for disability" language in

section (3) cannot be referring to his asbestosis settlement.

While Carden attempts to demonstrate why the plan does

not provide for offsets with respect to disability benefits

involving two different medical conditions, the plan likewise

does not provide that disability from one medical condition

cannot be set off against the disability benefits provided by

another condition. It is silent on the matter. But taking into

account the comprehensive list of other sources of income

included in section (1), it is reasonable to conclude that Aetna

has the authority to include offsets from any disabilities

related to any permanent impairment or any loss of bodily

function or capacity.

This conclusion appears to be consistent with the plan’s

design, which is to assure an income stream for the disabled

employee during the period of disability rather than an inde-

pendent benefit quantified by a specific disability. This is

demonstrated by plan provisions requiring most sources of

collateral income paid to the employee during disability be

applied to reduce the disability benefit so long as the overall

income stream remains constant. Thus, the plan provides that

the administrator may require proof from the employee "of

income you receive from any occupation for compensation or

profit," and it specifically offsets income from pensions, other

retirement benefits, and unemployment benefits.

12 CARDEN v. AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

Carden finally directs us to the definition of "disability"

under North Carolina’s workers’ compensation law, which

governed his asbestosis settlement. But this effort to apply a

meaning different from that given in the plan will not succeed

in overruling the plan’s language. See Smith v. Cont’l Cas.

Co., 369 F.3d 412, 419-20 (4th Cir. 2004) (declining to adopt

Social Security disability definitions in connection with

ERISA determinations); Elliott v. Sara Lee Corp., 190 F.3d

601, 607 (4th Cir. 1999) (same).

Considering the Booth factors, we conclude that Aetna’s

interpretation of the plan was a reasonable one, if not the best

one, and was consistent with the purposes stated in the plan.

The plan makes clear that its purpose is to ensure sufficient

support, with a specified level of "continuing income" from a

variety of income sources, for employees who are "unable to

work due to illness or injury." The settlement Carden received

from Duke Energy for asbestosis provided him with $39,936,

net of attorneys fees and future medical expenses related to

asbestos, so that the full amount of $39,936 could be included

as part of the specified level of continuing income for his sup-

port.

In sum, Booth factors (1) (language of the plan), (2) (pur-

poses and goals of the plan), and (4) (consistency with other

terms in the plan) strongly evidence the reasonableness of

Aetna’s interpretation. While we also consider Booth factor

(8) (Aetna’s conflict of interest), when we consider all of the

relevant factors and weigh them together, as required by

Glenn, 128 S. Ct. at 2351, we conclude that Aetna did not

abuse its discretion.

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court is

AFFIRMED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.