# Appendix — Keys v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43086415_1060%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1942
- **Citation:** 316 U.S. 694

## Text

21

APPENDIX A.

United States of America, Plaintiff, vs. George H. Keys,
Defendant. No. 15,108.

INDICTMENT.

The grand jurors of the United States of America,
duly and legally chosen, selected, summoned and drawn
from the body of the Western District of Missouri, and
duly and legally empanelled, sworn and charged to in-
quire of and concerning crimes and offenses against the
United States of America in the Western District of Mis-
souri, upon their oaths present and charge that at Kan-
sas City, Jackson County, Missouri in the Western Divi-
sion of the Western District of Missouri, and on or about
the 4th day of June 1940, one George H. Keys did then
and there wilfully and feloniously transmit in interstate
commerce by the means of the Post Office establishment
of the United States a certain communication addressed
to Aluminum Association, 903 American Bank Building,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, an association then and there
engaged in promoting the manu- (fol. 2) facture, dis-
tribution and sale to the public of aluminum for various
purposes, and in particular for cooking utensils, with
the willful and felonious intent then and there and there-
by to extort from the addressee, the said Aluminum As-
sociation, money and other things of value, the said com-
munication then and there containing a threat to injure
the reputation of the said addressee unless money and
other things of value should be paid over to the said
George H. Keys, the said injury to the reputation of the
addressee contemplated as aforesaid being embraced by a
threat in said communication contained that the said
George H. Keys would distribute a pamphlet to the pub-
lic to the effect that the use of aluminum cooking uten-

22

sils is harmful and is a causative factor in diabetes and
other diseases;

Contrary to the form of the statute in such cases made
and provided, and against the peace and dignity of the —
United States of America.

Richard H. Musser |
Assistant United States |
Attorney.

A True Bill;
W. B. Hodge,

Foreman of the grand
jury.

i
t
3
i
i
'
|
'
;
|
4
'
&
L3

and

ade
the

ates

‘and

ee ee ET ADICTS

PU NS A a CEN

23

APPENDIX B.

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS.
EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

No. 12,069.—November Term, A. D. 1941.

Georce H. Keys,
Appellant,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellee.

Appeal from the District Court of the United States for
the Western District of Missouri.

{March 2, 1942.]

Mr. C. W. Prince (Mr. William R. Ross was with
him on the brief) for Appellant.

Mr. Charles F. Lamkin, Jr., Assistant United States
Attorney (Honorable Maurice M. Milligan, United States
Attorney was with him on the brief) for Appellee.

Before Stone, Thomas and Johnsen, Circuit Judges.

Thomas, Circuit Judge, delivered the opinion of the
court,

The appellant was convicted under an indictment
which charges a violation of Sec. 408d(c), U. S. C., 18
U.S. C. A., Sec. 408d(c), which provides:

“Whoever, with intent to extort from any per-
son, firm, association, or corporation, any money or
other thing of value, shall transmit in interstate
commerce by any means whatsoever any communica-

:
x
3
a 4
‘s
2
&

DT Rs SSO aS oe ba RE Ee

SSG ROS eae

24

tion containing any threat to injure the property or
reputation of the addressee or of another. . .shall
be fined. . .”

The indictment recites that:

“| .on or about the 4th day of June 1940,
one George H. Keys did then and there wilfully and
feloniously transmit in interstate commerce by the
means of the Post Office establishment of the United
States a certain communication addressed to Alumi-
num Association, 903 American Bank Building, Pitts-
burgh, Pennsylvania, an association then and there
engaged in promoting the manufacture, distribu-
tion and sale to the public of aluminum for various
purposes, and in particular for cooking utensils, with
the willful and felonious intent then and there and
thereby to extort from the addressee, the said Alumi-
num Association, money and other things of value,
the said communication then and there containing a
threat to injure the reputation of the said addressee
unless money and other things of value should be
paid over to the said George H. Keys, the said in-
jury to the reputation of the addressee contemplated
as aforesaid being embraced by a threat in said com-
munication contained that the said George H. Keys
would distribute a pamphlet to the public to the ef-
fect that the use of aluminum cooking utensils is
harmful and is a causative factor in diabetes and

other diseases.”

The appellant’s contention in this are (1) that
the evidence is insufficient to establish intent and threat
and (2) that the indictment is insufficient.

The first contention is without merit. The ques-
tion presented was raised in the lower court by objec-
tion to the admission of evidence and by motion for a di-
rected verdict. The government introduced in evidence
a “communication” consisting of a letter addressed to
Aluminum Association, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and a

Sas
bpd, ae

2,

SOR late nis

7S fel eer % ects
Dy Nee ok re AR
isk: Aes eo ee pera

cs Fast cos Aa

25

pamphlet. The defendant testified in his own behalf and
admitted that he sent both documents. These papers!
contain sufficient statements to warrant the jury in find-
ing both intent and a threat.

The second contention is more serious. The alleged
defect in the indictment is that it does not embody a
copy of the “communication” including the letter and
pamphlet. It is pointed out that the indictment does not
show the date of the letter nor state the name of the
author, and that the charge that it contains a threat is a
conclusion of the pleader.

The indictment was not assailed in the trial court
by motion for a bill of particulars or otherwise; but where
an indictment is challenged for the omission of an essen-

l(a) The letter: Geo. H. Keys
3406 Indiana Ave.
ALUMINUM ASSOCIATION Kansas City, Mo.
903 American Bank Bldg. June 4, 1940

Pittsburg, Penna.
Attention: Secretary
Dear Sir:

We are very familiar with all of your underhand politics and
detrimental activity. I’m enclosing a reminder of the true status
of ALUMINUM.

These articles should sell very quickly and in great quantity
at $1.50 Per M. F.O.B. Chicago and Kansas City. They are on
very good paper, well laid out and contain some very helpful and
valuable information.

I expect to get under way next week in a trial distribution
for checking territory activity after saturation. As you have so
successfully locked my mail up, I will now be free to take up this
educational activity. The many - - many sick people will ap-
preciate this information very much, especially the diabetics as
they are greatly helped.

Now gentlemen it all sums up to this. If you think you
would rather have me in the food business you can open up the
NATUR-FOOD mails. If you would rather have me devote my
time to the writing of literature, health lessons and educational
work @long these lines, why - - - just leave your dirty work as
is and keep the NATUR-FOOD mail stopped.

26

tial element of the crime the objection may be asserted
in this court for the first time. Harris v. United States,
8 Cir., 104 F. 2d 41, 43; Nicholson v. United States, 8
Cir., 79 F. 2d 387; Dropps v. United States, 8 Cir., 34 F,
2d 15.

The essentials of the crime defined in the statute
are (1) an intent to extort money; (2) the transmission ;
in interstate commerce of a communication (3) contain- iz
ing a threat to injure the property or reputation of the
addressee or another.

: The indictment attempts to charge these essentials
‘ by pleading that the defendant (1) “with the willful and
felonious intent. . .thereby to extort from the addressee, —
the said Aluminum Association, money. . .(2) did ai
4 transmit in interstate commerce by means of the Post
Office establishment of the United States. . .a certain [-
communication addressed to the Aluminum Association [|
(3) containing a threat to injure the reputation of the .
said addressee unless money. . .should be paid over :
to” the defendant,---“the said injury to the reputation of

CU ea

If you are in sympathy with the TRU-SCIENCE educational
work, I am sure Miss Randall will appreciate your contribution
very much as it will go to help so many people. Address all
contributions to TRU-SCIENCE. Make all checks payable to
Miss Thelma Randall.

Yours very truly,
Geo. H. Keys.

Appellant testified that Miss Thelma Randall is his assistant.
(b) The pamphlet enclosed with the foregoing letter is set out
in the record. It is too long to be copied in full. It is headed:
Are there Dangers in the use of Aluminum Cooking Utensils?. .
Congress should Investigate the Aluminum Association and the
American Medical Ass’n. Help the Cause! Buy these pamphlets
for your relatives and friends. Pass them on. 5c each - - 80c per
100 Published by Tru-Science Reliance Bldg. Kansas City, Mis-
souri. A National Movement.

The text of the pamphlet, fairly summarized in the in-
dictment, is “to the effect that the use of aluminum cooking
utensils is harmful and is a causative factor in diabetes and other
diseases.”

wea a i reco: eo Nee ans
Pea eke a at Ae Peg a8

27

the addressee contemplated as aforesaid being embraced
by a threat in said communication contained that the
said George H. Keys would distribute a pamphlet to the
public to the effect that the use of aluminum cooking
utensils is harmful and is a causative factor in diabetes
and other diseases.”’

In Cochran and Sayre v. United States, 157 U. S.
286, 290, the Supreme Court said that the “‘true test” of
an indictment is, “not whether it might possibly have
been made more certain, but [1] whether it contains
every element of the offence intended to be charged,
and [2] sufficiently apprises the defendant of what he
must be prepared to meet, and, [3] in case any other
proceedings are taken against him for a similar offence,
whether the record shows with accuracy to what extent
he may plead a former acquittal or conviction.”

In Hagner v. United States, 285 U. S. 427, 431, 52
S. C. R. 417, the Court said: “The rigor of old common
law rules of criminal pleading has yielded, in modern
practice, to the general principle that formal defects, not
prejudicial, will be disregarded.” And Sec. 556, Title 18
U.S. C. A. (Sec. 1025, Revised Statutes) provides:

“No indictment found and presented by a grand
jury in any district or other court of the United
States shall be deemed insufficient, nor shall the
trial, judgment, or other proceeding thereon be af-
fected by reason of any defect or imperfection in mat-
ter of form only, which shall not tend to the preju-
dice of the defendant. . .”

In Hagner v. United States, supra, the Court said:

“This section was enacted to the end that, while
the accused must be afforded full protection, the guilty
shall not escape through mere imperfections of plead-
ing.

* * * * * * * *

“It, of course, is not the intent of Section 1025
to dispense with the rule which requires that the es-

‘
‘
:

28

sential elements of an offense must be alleged; but
it authorizes the courts to disregard merely loose or
inartificial forms of averment. Upon a proceeding
after verdict at least, no prejudice being shown, it
is enough that the necessary facts appear in any form,
or by fair construction can be found within the terms
of the indictment.”

Under these rules most of appellant’s criticism of the
indictment fail for want of substance. All the elements
of the offense are charged; and, in so far as the present
trial is involved, no prejudice is shown. The appellant
admitted the sending of the letter, prepared for trial, and
offered evidence in an attempt to explain the contents of
the letter in such a way as to demonstrate his innocence.
The only problem is whether the failure to set out a copy
of the letter and pamphlet in haec verba is a defect of
substance or of form only. At common law an indictment
for sending a threatening letter, or for forgery or libel,
was required to be set out in haec verba. Bradlaugh v.
The Queen, L. R. 32, B. D. 618; and the federal courts
have in some instances followed or repeated the rule.
United States v. Noelke, C. C. N. Y., 1 Fed. 426, 433;
Wilson v. United States, 2 Cir., 275 Fed. 307, 312. In these
cases it was held or stated obiter that a failure to set
out a literal copy of the document is a defect of substance
and not of form. The more modern view, we think, is
to the contrary. In United States v. Goldsmith, 2 Cir.,
68 F. 2d 5, 7, (cert. den., 291 U. S. 681), the defendant
was charged with uttering a forged instrument under
Sec. 28 of the Criminal Code (18 U. S. C. A. Sec.
72), and the indictment did not set out in full the instru-
ment alleged to have been uttered as a forgery. This was
urged as a fatal defect. The court held, in a well-reasoned |
opinion, that “the defect in pleading was one which could |
be cured by verdict.” We agree with the result; and we
perceive no reason why the rule is not applicable to a
threatening letter as well as a forgery. In the instant
case all the necessary facts can be found by fair construc-

29

tion within the terms of the indictment. See also Sparks
v. United States, 6 Cir., 50 F. 2d 61, 63; Nicholson v.
United States, 8 Cir., 79 F. 2d 387, 389; and compare
Corbett v. United States, 8 Cir., 89 F. 2d 124, 127; Hewitt
v. United States, 8 Cir., 110 F. 2d 1, 5; Muench v. United
States, 8 Cir., 96 F. 2d 332, 335; Kane v. United States,
8 Cir., 120 F. 2d 990, 992.

Appellant insists that prejudice results because he
may be exposed to a second prosecution for the same of-
fense, in which case upon a plea of double jeopardy he
could not identify the ‘‘ccommunication”’ upon which the
present charge is based for the reason that it is insuf-
ficiently described in the indictment. The indictment sets
out the date the letter was mailed, the name of the ad-
dressee and by reference the nature of its contents. It
does not state the date on which it was written, the place
where it was written nor the name of the person, if any,
who signed it. These are not essentials of the offense.
The crime was complete even though the letter bore no
date and the name of the author and the place where
it was written were unknown. There could in fact be
no confusion for any of the reasons assigned. It does
not appear that another letter of the same kind was at
any time sent or received. The fact that the defendant
upon reading the indictment recognized the letter re-
ferred to and made no objection to the description at the
time indicates the want of merit in his present criti-
cism. The date on which the indictment letter was sent,
the name of the addressee and the reference to its con-
tents in the indictment constitute a sufficient identifi-
cation. See Scheib v. United States, 7 Cir., 14 F. 2d 75,
77; Durland v. United States, 161 U. S. 306; State v. Stew-
art, 90 Mo. 507; Corbett v. United States, supra.

Other alleged defects in the indictment are argued,
but they are not substantial. It is claimed, for example,
that the indictment failed to charge that the pamphlet
which defendant threatened to distribute contained false
representations and that defendant knew them to be false.

30

These matters are not elements of the offense defined
in the statute. They are, therefore, immaterial. Warren
v. United States, 8 Cir., 183 F. 718; Rosen v. United
States, 161 U. S. 29; State v. McCabe, 135 Mo. 450.

Again, it is argued that an “injury”? means the vio-
lation of one’s legal rights; that there is no claim that
any legal right of the addressee, Aluminum Association,
was violated; that the statements in the letter and
pamphlet are true; that the defendant had a right to
distribute them; and that a threat to do something which
a person has a right to do is not a threat in a legal sense.
None of these alleged omissions constitutes defects open
to attack after verdict and in this court. None of them
is an essential element of the offense. In so far as they
relate to burden of proof the defendant’s rights could be
protected in the charge to the jury. The instructions of
the court are not set out in the transcript of record. In
such circumstances we presume that, if requested, the
court properly instructed upon all these matters and that
the jury found against defendant upon all of them. Hag-
ner v. United States, supra, at page 433.

AFFIRMED.

Inthe Supreme Court of the Anited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1941

No. 1217
GrorckE H. KEYS, PETITIONER

v.
Unrirep States oF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH
CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM: FOR THE UNITED STATES

The judgment of the circuit court of appeals
affirming the judgment of conviction was entered
March 2, 1942 (R. 64-65). <A petition for rehear-
ing (R. 65-68) was denied March 26, 1942 (R. 68).
Exeluding March 26, Sundays (March 29, April 5,
12, 19, 26), and holidays (April 18, a legal holiday
in Missouri, II Mo. Rev. Stat. (1939), see. 15313,
p. 3881, the State in which the suit was brought),
the thirty-day period prescribed by Rule XI of the
Rules in Criminal eases (292 U. S. 661, 666) for
filing a petition for writ of certiorari expired May
1, 1942. The petition for the writ was not filed

461900 4. (1)

2

until May 5, 1942. We are advised by the Clerk
that no order extending the time for filing was
made by a Justice of this Court. Accordingly, the
petition is out of time and should be dismissed for
want of jurisdiction.’

Respectfully submitted,
CHARLES Fany,
Solicitor General.
May 1942.

‘Compare Rust Land Co, v. Jackson, 250 U.S. 71, 76; To-

ledo Seale Co. v. Comp~ting Seale Co., 261 U.S. 399, 417
418; Hartford Accident Co. v. Bunn, 285 U.S. 169, 178.

U S GOVERNMENT PRIM TING Seerce 8

hia ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43086415_1060%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
