# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — McCoach v. Griffin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43086415_1024%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1942
- **Citation:** 316 U.S. 683

## Text

INDEX
Subject Index

Petition for Writ of Certiorari
Summary Statement of the Matter Involved _
Questions Presented
Jurisdiction ae Be Pe
Reasons Relied on for Allowance of the Writ __.
Conclusion
Prayer for Writ

Brief in Support of Petition for Writ of Certiorari
Prior Opinions of Courts
Grounds for Jurisdiction
Statement of the Case
Specifications of Error

Argument
Point A
Point B
Point C
Conclusion

Page

oo woonanare =

wo NS St oe ope
~~ J Oh © SCS SCS 6

li Table of Cases Cited

Page

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Dunken, 266 U.S. 399 ...... 27
Alexander v. Missouri State Life Ins. Co., 68 Fed.

SMS TA Ate at edi F nay a ak Sale Wie 7,17

American Nat. Ins. Co. v. Coates, 246 S. W. 356 | 12, 22
American Nat. Ins. Co. v. Smith, 13 S. W. (2d) 720 19

Automobile Mortgage Co. v. Ayub, 266 S. W. 134 24
Brammer v. Wilder, 57 S. W. (2d) 571 ...... .6, 10, 15
Cheeves v. Anders, 87 Tex. 287, 28 S. W. 274 ... 6,14, 15
Cheney v. Coffey, 113 S. W. (2d) 162... ..12, 22
Chicago, R. I. & P. Ry. Co. v. Thompson, 100 Tex.

185, 97 S. W. 459 20
Dug 1 v. Lewis, 14 S. W. 1024, 79 Tex. 246 25
Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64 5, 16
Fidelity Mutual Life Assn. v. Harris, 94 Tex. 25, 57

S. W. 635 13, 19, 21
Fidelity Union Trust Co. v. Field, 311 U.S. 169 16
Griffin v. MeCoach, 313 U. S. 498 6
Grovey v. Townsend, 295 U.S.45 7,16
Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Mfg. Co., 313 U. S.

aS oor 6
Layne-Western Co. v. Buchanan Cian Mo., 85 Fed.

(2d) 334 7,17
Merrielles v. State Bank of Keokuk, 24 8S. W. 564 23
Moore v. Illinois Cent. R. Co., 312 U.S. 630 a
New England Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Mitchell, 118

Fed. (2d) 414. 7,17
New York Life Ins. Co. v. English, 95 Tex. 391, 67

S. W. 884 19

Pendleton v. Great Southern Life Ins. Co., 273 Pac.
1007 ; 27

Table of Cases Cited—Continued iii

Page
Ryan & Company v. M. K. T. Railway Co., 65 Tex.
SBIR TEA SAID 2 AEE Ot eae Tan a ae i a 23
Seiders v. Merchants Life Assn. of the U. S., 93 Tex.
194, 548. W. 753 ...... 19
Shoemaker v. American National Ins. Co., 30 S. W.
(2d) 539; 48S. W. (2d) 612 ............. 6, 8, 11, 18

St. Regis Candies, Inc. v. Hovas, 83 S. W. (2d) 429 12, 22
Vandenbark vy. Owens-Illinois Glass Co., 311 U. S.

538 Bee ea Gre te, PA ts Shige Shc es 7,16
Wade v. Travis aie Texas, 174 U.S.499 ._.. 7,16
Walker v. Goetz, 218 S.W.569 .................... 24
J. R. Watkins Co. v. McMullan, 6 S. W. 823 ...... 25
Yoder v. Nu-Enamel Corp., 117 Fed. (2d) 488 .... 7,17

Judicial Code, See. 240(a) [28 U.S. C. A. 347(a)] . 5,10
Restatement of the Law of Conflicts of Laws, Sec.

322 ae ear) ee
Revised Civil Statutes of Texas, 1925, Art. 5048 6, 10, 14
Stromberg Conflict of Laws, page 214............. 25
Texas Law Review, 163 (Vol.10) ............... 21
University of Chicago Law Review, Vol. 9, p.141 .. 26

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1941

WANG oo iscscreace,

JOHN D. McCoacH, TRUSTEE,
Petitioner,
Vv.

J. ROB GRIFFIN, Administrator of the Estate of
Robert D. Gordon, Deceased.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNIT-
ED STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorables the Chief Justice and the Associate Jus-
tices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

YOUR PETITIONER respectfully submits his petition
for a writ of certiorari directed to the record of the pro-
ceedings in the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-
cuit, to bring such record here for revision and review of
the decision of that court in the above entitled matter.

SUMMARY STATEMENT OF THE MATTER
INVOLVED

This action was brought in the United States District
Court for the Northern District of Texas by Mrs. Fannie

2

V. Gordon, individually, and as next friend of her two
minor children, against The Prudential Insurance Company
of America, seeking to recover upon a policy of life insur-
ance issued on the life of Robert D. Gordon. (R. 1.)

The insurance company answered by a Bill of Inter-
pleader, which was allowed. The Bill of Interpleader named
as cross defendants John D. McCoach, Trustee, John D.
MecCoach, Max I. Brenwasser, George B. Cody, Nathan
Schweiger, Alfred D. Leonard, Frederick W. Mead, and
Julius A. Bates. These parties answered, asking that the
proceeds be awarded John D. McCoach, Trustee, who was
named beneficiary in the policy. (R. 1, 2.)

Subsequently J. Rob Griffin was appointed administra-
tor with will annexed of the estate of Robert D. Gordon,
and was substituted in the cause as plaintiff. (R. 2.)

John D. McCoach, Trustee, and the other cross defend-
ants were citizens of the State of New York; the plaintiff
and the decedent were citizens of the State of Texas.

Gordon had dealings in New York with the cross defend-
ants who formed the Middletown-Tex Oil Syndicate for the
purpose of dealing with Gordon. (R. 2.) The Middletown-
Tex Oil Syndicate was a common law association composed
of McCoach and the other cross defendants. (R. 2.) Gordon
procured a life insurance policy, payable to the association.
(R. 2.) Some two years later this association ceased to do
business due to financial reverses, and the seven members
of that association formed a new association called the
“Protection Syndicate.” (R. 2.) McCoach was the Trustee
of that association. The insurance policy was changed by
:

ns

Gordon to designate the Protection Syndicate and its indi-

Se i

3

vidual members as beneficiaries in place of the Middle-
town-Tex Oil Syndicate. (R. 3.)

The original policy was a term policy with the privilege
of conversion into an ordinary life policy at the expiration
of seven years. At that time Gordon converted the term
policy into a new policy, with the individual members of
the Protection Syndicate as beneficiaries. (R. 3.)

From the inception of Gordon’s relations with the cross
defendants he had borrowed money from them, and they
had invested money in his oil enterprises in the State of
Texas. (R. 3.) The policy of insurance was procured by
Gordon to protect the loans and the investments these indi-
viduals and the association they comprised had made. (R.
17.) The premiums were paid by the association at Gor-
don’s request upon his agreement to repay. However,
neither the premiums nor any other loans or advancements
were ever repaid by Gordon. (R. 2, 3.)

The loans and advancements made to Gordon exceeded
ihe amount of the insurance policy. (R. 18.)

In 1934 Gordon agreed to relinquish his right to change
the beneficiary and to receive disability payments and all
other rights under the policy to the individual beneficiaries
upon the association’s agreement to pay to Gordon one-
eighth of the proceeds of the policy received during his life
time, and one-eighth of the proceeds of the policy to his
wife at his death. (R. 4.) In surrendering these rights the
last change of beneficiary was made, naming John D. Mc-
Coach, Trustee, as beneficiary. The naming of one indi-
vidual rather than all was made at the suggestion of the
insurance company, and McCoach was Trustee for the bene-
fit of the former beneficiaries. (R. 5, 6.)

4

Subsequently three of the original members of the asso-
ciation assigned their interest in the policy. Two of these
assignments were made for cash considerations, and the
third was made by Alfred D. Leonard to his son, Leroy F.
Leonard. There was no monetary consideration for the
assignment from the elder to the younger Leonard, but it
was made because the elder Leonard was unable to continue
to pay his share of the premiums on the policy. (R. 6.)

None of assignees knew Gordon, never made any loans
or advancements to him and never had any business deal-
ings with him except to pay part of the premiums of the
policy. None of the assignees were related to Gordon by
blood or marriage. (R. 7.) The assignors admittedly had an
insurable interest. (R. 7.)

In the District Court the insurance company was dis-
charged with its fees and costs, and the controversy over
the funds was decided in favor of McCoach, Trustee. (R.
1, 19.) An appeal was taken limited to the amount that
would go to the assignees. (R. 7.) The case was submitted
on appeal to the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, and the
judgment of the lower court in favor of McCoach, Trustee,
was affirmed. A writ of certiorari was granted by this
court, and on June 2, 1941 the cause was remanded for
determination of the law of Texas, as applied to the cireum-
stances of this case (313 U.S. 498.)

After reargument the Circuit Court on November 15,
1941 reversed the judgment of the lower court and the
cause was remanded with directions to enter judgment in
favor of J. Rob Griffin. (R. 25.) Motion for rehearing was
filed on the 6th day of December, 1941, which motion was
thereafter overruled by the Circuit Court of Appeals with-

4

5

out written opinion on the 30th day of December, 1941.
(R. 25, 28.) The time for filing this application was ex-
tended until April 15, 1942 by an order of this court dated
March 27, 1942. (R. 28.)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In determining the applicable state law under the
doctrine of Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U. S. 64,
are the lower courts bound by the latest pronouncement of
the highest court of the state in which they sit, or can they
rely upon pronouncement of such courts which have later
been expressly overruled?

2. In determining the applicable state rules involving a
conflict of laws question, can the lower courts ignore the
local conflict of laws rule and apply the internal rule?

3. Where there is no express ruling by the state court
of the state in which the Federal Court sits on the point
involved, what rule governs the lower courts under the doc-
trine of Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins?

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this court is invoked and believed to
be sustained under Section 240 (a) Judicial Code [28 U.S.
C. A. 347 (a)] as amended by Act of Congress of February
13, 1925. ‘s

REASONS RELIED ON FOR ALLOWANCE OF
THE WRIT

(a) The Circuit Court of Appeals has decided an impor-
tant question of local law in a way in conflict with appli-
cable local statutes and decisions.

" OTT et

6

This involves an interpretation of Article 5048, Revised
Civil Statutes of Texas, 1925, and the decision of the Texas
Commission of Appeals (opinion adopted by the Supreme
Court) in Brammer v. Wilder, 57S. W. (2d) 571, wherein
it was specifically held that the rule laid down in Cheeves
v. Anders has been changed, Cheeves v. Anders being the
case principally relied upon by the Circuit Court of Appeals.

Further this involves inquiry as to whether the case of
Cheeves v. Anders and those following it have not been
overruled by the decision of the Commission of Appeals of
Texas (opinion adopted by the Supreme Court) in Shoe-
maker v. American National Ins, Co., 48S. W. (2d) 612.

(b) The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals is in
conflict with the decisions of this court in Griffin v. Me-
Coach, 313 U. S. 498, and Klaron Co. v. Stentor Electric
Mfg. Co., 313 U. S. 487, which holds that Federal Courts
in diversity of citizenship cases are governed by the con-
flict of laws rule of the courts of the state in which they
sit, rather than by the internal rule where a conflict of
laws question is presented.

(c! If petitioner be mistaken in the effect of the hold-
ing of the cases cited in (4), then the Circuit Court of
Appeals has decided an important question of federal law
which has not been but should be settled by this court, in
that by failing to take into consideration and discuss the
Texas conflict of laws rule, and applying without comment
its internal rule, it has in effect held that in cases involv-
ing a conflict of laws question, that the Federal Courts may
apply the internal rule of the state in which they sit rather

than its conflict of laws rule, even though the two rules be
different.

7

(d) The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals is in
conflict with the decisions of this court in Wade v. Travis
County, Texas, 174 U.S. 499; Grovey v. Townsend, 295 U.
S. 45; Vandenbark v. Owens-Ilinwis Glass Co., 311 U. S.
5388; and Moore v, Illinois Cent. R. Co., 312 U. S. 630, which
hold that Federal Courts should apply the latest pronounce-
ments of the highest state court even though such pro-
nouncement is in conflict with or overrules earlier holdings.

‘e} The decision of the Circuit Court establishes a rule
in conflict with the rule on the same matter established by
Circuit Courts for the Seventh and Eighth Circuits in
Alexander v. Missouri State Life Ins. Co., 68 F. (2d) a3
Layne-Western Co. v. Buchanan County, Mo., 85 F. (2d)
334; and Yoder v. Nu-Enamel Corporation, 117 F. (2d)
488, which hold that where decisions of a state court are
conflicting the most recent pronouncement must be accepted
by the Federal Courts as declaring the law of the state.

(f' The decision of the Circuit Court is in conflict with
the decision of Fourth Circuit in New England Mutual Life
Ins. Co. v. Mitchell, 118 F. (2d) 414 (cert. denied) which
holds that dicta in opinions of state courts is not binding on
the Federal Courts in determining the applicable state law.

(g) The Cirenit Court of Appeals has so far departed
from the accepted and usual judicial course of procedure,
as to call for the exercise of this court's power of super-
vision. Although the highest court of the State of Texas has
held that insofar as conflict of laws cases are concerned,
the publie poliey of the State of Texas is determined by
legislative enactment only, the Circuit Court of Appeals
has held that the public policy of the State of Texas results
from both legislative and judicial enactment relying on two

decisions neither of which are Texas cases.

nes fear

8

(h) The Circuit Court of Appeals has decided an impor-
tant question of local law in a way in conflict with applica-
ble local decisions, in that it has held that under the Texas
law insurance policies are not subject to assignment to
parties have no insurable interest in the life of the insured.
This is in conflict with the holding of the highest court of
the State of Texas in Shoemaker v. American National Ins.
Co., 48 S. W. (2d) 612.

(i) Likewise the Circuit Court of Appeals has errone-
ously held that the assignments were made to parties hay-
ing no insurable interest, and there is no finding to sus-
tain such a conclusion.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals erroneously
construes the legal effect of the agreed facts in this cause.
It applies to these facts rules drawn from superseded de-
cisions which have no application, and fails to follow the
rules and principles of the decisions of this court.

WHEREFORE, premises considered, your petitioner re-
spectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue under the
seal of this court directed to the Honorable Circuit Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the above cause, and
that the record be removed to this court, and that the de-
cree of the lower court be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

CARL B. CALLAWAY,
1902 Santa Fe Building,
Dallas, Texas,
Counsel for Petitioner.

FRANK C. BROOKS,
Dallas, Texas,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43086415_1024%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
