# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Lehigh Valley RR Co. v. Martin, State Tax Comr. of New Jersey, et al.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43086415_0422%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1940
- **Citation:** 313 U.S. 568

## Text

Court, Us

THE MAR 26 194]
Supreme Court ea tt Y States: 0900

No. 63 = fap 1940.

LenicH VauiEy Ramroap Company,
(Plaintiff-Appellee in the Court Below),

Petitioner,
v.
J. H. THAYER MARTIN, State Tax Commissioner of the

State of New Jersey, e¢ al.,
(Defendants-Appellants in the Court Below),

Respondents.

(And 17 Other Cases as Listed on Inside Cover.)

PETITION AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI.

Maximmian M. Stauiman,

Counsel for Petitioners,
810 Broad Street,

Newark, N. J.

Maurice Bower Savt,
RicHarp W. Barrett,
JacoB ARONSON,
Herpert A. TayY.Lor,
Doveias Swirt,

Of Counsel.

Arthur W. Cross, Inc., Law Printers, 71-73 Clinton St., Newark, N. J., U. S. A.

POLIS OPS FPS I TTS SFE EPR AIT

(Cases continued from Front Cover)

Years
(1934) (1935) (1936)
C. C. A. numbers

D. L. d W. R. R. Co. vs. Martin, et als. 7349 7357 7365
Erie R. R. Co. vs. Martin, et als............. 7350 7358 7366

Lehigh Valley R. R. Co. vs. Martin, et
als, 7351 7359 7367

N.J.@N.Y.R.R. Co. vs. Martin, et als. 7352 7360 7368
New York Central R. R. Co. vs. Martin,

et als. 7353 7361 7369
N. Y. & Long Branch R. R. Co. vs. Mar-
tin, et als 7354 7362 7370

INDEX.

Peririon ror Writ or CERTIORARI

Summary Statement or Marrer INVOLvEb..................

THe Questions PresENTED

Reasons RELIED ON FOR THE ALLOWANCE OF THE Waits

PRAYER

CERTIFICATION

Brier 1n Support or Peririon ror Waits or Czrtt-
ORARI

Opinions of the Courts Below

Jurisdiction
Statement of the Case
Specification of Errors to be Urged

Summary of Argument

ARGUMENT:

I. A tax valuation of railroad property made with
entire disregard of the earnings of the prop-
erty and resulting in grossly excessive
values violates the due process clause of the
14th Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States .

II. The Judgment of the Court of Appeals is in
conflict with applicable Decisions of this
Court and of another Circuit Court of
Appeals

PAGE

nonnowk f, we eH

o Oo 6 6& ©

10

10

21

ii

III. The instant cases are sharply distinguishable
from the case of Nashville, etc. R. Co. v.
Browning, 302 U.S. 362

IV. Section 265 of the Judicial Code (USCA 379)
does not apply to these cases

V. The suits are not against the State of New
Jersey within the purview of the Eleventh
Amendment

VI. The ir es are not res judicata

Conclusion

PAGE

31

—

iii

TABLE oF Caszs.

PAGE
Bailey v. Megan, 102 Fed. 2nd, 651 6, 21, 22
Central Railroad Company, etc. v. Martin, 114 N. J.

L. 69 .... 4, 9, 10, 31
Central R. R. v. State Board of Assessors, 49 N. J.

is Bccasiines 28
Cleveland, C. C. & St. L. Ry. Co. v. Backus, 154 U. 8.

439 13, 15
Continental Iil. Nat. Bank, etc. v. Chicago, I. R. & P.

Ry. Co., 294 U. S. 648, 671 12, 23
Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 352................ 33
Ex parte Young, 209 U. S. 123, 130 29
Franklin County v. Nashville, etc., Ry. Co., 12 Lea

(Tenn.) 521 14

Great Northern Ry. Co. v. Weeks, 297 U. 8. 135,
4, 6, 13, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 31

In re Walker Grain Co., 294 Fed. 951 25
Iowa-Des Mowmes Bank v. Bennett, 284 U. 8. 239,
245-47 29
Looney v. Crane, 245 U. 8. 178 29
Mississippi, etc. Com. v. Ill. Cent. Ry. Co., 203 U. 8.
335 27

Nashville, etc, Ry. Co. v. Browning, 319 U. 8. 362,
4,5, 11, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25

Pacific T. d T. Co., 2 Fed. (2nd) 151 26
Pittsburgh, etc. Ry. Co. v. Backus, 154 U. S. 421,430 14
Prentis v. Atlantic Coast Line, 211 U.S. 210................ 27
Rawley v. Chicago, etc. R. Co., 293 U. 8. 102.............. 5 31
Reagan v. Farmers Loan & T. Co., 154 U. S. 362, 399..

28, 29, 30
Smyth v. Ames, 169 U. S. 566, 547 15

Southern Ry. Co. v. Kentucky, 274 U.S. 76, 81............ 15

iv
PAGE

Southern Ry Co. v. Greensboro, etc. Co.,202U.8.543 27
State Board, etc. v. Central R. Co., etc., 48 N. J. L.

146, 376 5 : 11,13
State of Illimois v. Illinois Central Railroad, 27 Til.

64, 68 13
United N. J. R. R. Co. v. State Board, 101 N. J. L. 30 33
Wells Fargo & Co. v. Taylor, 254 U. S. 175, 182.......... 25
West v. Chesapeake & P. Tel. Co., 295 U. S. 662, 672 12
Western Union T. Co. v. Myatt, 98 Fed. 335................ 27
Worcester Trust Co. v. Riley, 302 U. S. 292................ 29, 30

SraturEs.

Judicial Code, Section 240, as last amended by Act
of June 7, 1934, 48 Stat. at L. 926, 28 U. S. C. See.

347 9
Section 265 (USCA See. 379)....... 10, 25
Constitution of New Jersey, Article IV, Sec. VI,
Par. 12 (1 N. J. Comp. Stat. LXXXYVI).....000..... 10
General Tax Act, P. L. 1919, pp. 847, 859 (N. J. Rev.
St. 1937, Sec. 54:4-1) 11
Railroad Tax Act, P. L. 1884, p. 142, 1888, p. 269
(N. J. Rev. St. 1937, Sec. 54:22-1) 11

N. J. Rev. St. 1937, Sec. 54:28... 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. ...., Octoper Term, 1940.

Lexie Vauuey Rarroap Company,
(Plaintiff-Appellee in the Court Below),

Petitioner,
Vv.

J. H. Tsayer Martin, State Tax Commissioner of
the State of New Jersey, et al.,
(Defendants-Appellants in the Court Below),
| Respondents.

(And 17 Other Cases as Listed on Inside Cover.)

PETITION FOR WRITS OF CERTIORARI.

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and Associate Justices
of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Your petitioners respectfully pray that writs of certi- iii
orari may issue to review decrees of the United States Cir- rf
cuit Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in the cases
listed on the cover. The decrees were filed November 27,
1940 (rehearing deuied January 24, 1941), and reversed ai
judgments of the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of New Jersey which had held certain tax assessments
for the years 1934, 1935, and 1936 to be arbitrary, unlawful,
excessive, and unconstitutional, and had enjoined defend-

2

ants (State Tax Commissioner, Treasurer, and Attorney
General, of New Jersey) from enforcing collection of more
than seventy per cent of the taxes levied thereon, without
prejudice to any right to revalue and tax the property
according to law. As the cases were argued together and
disposed of by one opinion of the court below, only one peti-
tion is filed.

Summary Statement of the Matters Involved.

For each of the tax years 1934, 1935 and 1936, the rail-
road properties in New Jersey operated by the several
petitioners were assessed at valuations which the peti-
tioners claimed to be arbitrary and grossly excessive.

The State Tax Commissioner valued the railroad lands
of petitioners, located in the State of New Jersey, on the
basis of the value of non-railroad contiguous lands and all
railroad improvements (grading, fill, rails, ties, bridges,
signals, structures, etc., etc.) on the basis of estimated
original costs less physical depreciation. No consideration
whatsoever was accorded other elements of value, such as
earnings. Having exhausted their administrative remedies
without avail, the petitioners filed suits in the United States
District Court, alleging that the valuations, on which the
taxes were computed, were arbitrarily and improperly
made and grossly excessive, thus depriving petitioners of
their property in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment

(a) Since these proceedings were instituted the following com-
panies have been placed in the hands of trustees under section 77
of the bankruptcy act:

Erie Railroad Company, and
New Jersey & New York Railroad Company; also
New York, Susquehanna & Western Railroad Company,

and
Central Railroad Company of New Jersey (parties to the
proceedings below, but not to this present petition).

3

and constituting an undue burden on interstate commerce.
The petitioners prayed for injunctions against the threat-
ened enforcement of such percentage of taxes predicated
on these valuations as was found to be excessive and illegal.

Evidence introduced by the petitioners, including testi-
mony of fact and expert witnesses and complete statistical
and other data in the form of exhibits, showed the true
value of the properties to be one-third to one-half of the
assessments for the years in question (R. I,* 37, 50 et seq.).
The defendants did not produce any evidence (other than
the assessments themselves) purporting to show the value
of the several properties or purporting to support the
assessed valuations.

The District Court filed findings of fact (R. I, 83); and
conclusions of law (R. I, 89), in connection with its opinion
(R. I, 13), holding that the assessment valuations were
arbitrarily made in disregard of the earnings of the respec-
tive railroad properties; and that they ‘‘are arbitrary,
capricious, basically unsound, and so grossly excessive as
to amount to constructive fraud’’, and constitute a denial
of due process of law (R. I, 91). The District Court also
held that the plaintiffs (petitioners) were entitled to injune-
tions with respect to 30% of the taxes levied, pending cor-
rection of the assessments on a lawful basis.

There were also involved certain special defenses inter-
posed by defendants, upon which the District Court ruled
(R. I, 89) that

(a) the actions instituted by plaintiffs were not brought
to restrain proceedings in a state court within the mean-
ing of section 265 of the Judicial Code (28 USCA 379) ;

*The transcript is contained in four volumes, and in each
instance where reference is made to the Record the volume is
indicated by Roman numeral.

4

(b) the actions are not against the State of New Jersey
within the purview of the Eleventh Amendment to the
Constitution ;

(c) the issues were not res adjudicata by reason of a
judgment of the state court in an action involving assess-
ments for an earlier year.

The Circuit Court of Appeals, Third Circuit, reversed
the judgments of the District Court and remanded with
instructions to dismiss the complaints on the ground that
the case of Nashville, etc. Ry. Co. v. Browning, 319 U. S.
362, had in effect overruled the earlier decision in Great
Northern Ry. Co. v. Weeks, 297 U. S. 135, and thereby
closed the doors of the Federal Courts to any grievance
founded on arbitrary and excessive tax assessments. The
Circuit Court of Appeals on the collateral issues mentioned
above further held that these suits were barred by Section
265 of the Judicial Code because their purpose was to
restrain proceedings in a state court; that the suits were
in effect against the State of New Jersey and therefore pro-
hibited by the Eleventh Amendment; and that the issues
were res adjudicata because the New Jersey Supreme
Court in Central Railroad Company etc. vs. Martin, 114
N. J. L. 69 (a case involving alleged excessive assessments
for 1933), had adjudicated similar issues relating to the
valuations for that year adversely to the petitioners.

The Questions Presented Are:

1. Does the valuation of railroad property without
regard to its earning power, resulting in excessive assess-
ments, constitute arbitrary valuation and a denial of due
process of law?

5

2. When state officials have valued and taxed railroad
property in an alleged arbitrary manner at excessive
amounts and serve notice on the owner of intention to
obtain an order from a judge to sell such property for
such taxes, prior to a judicial inquest as to their validity,
are such contemplated or threatened steps within the mean-
ing of Section 265 of the Judicial Code, providing that
injunction shall not issue to stay proceedings in a state
court?

3. Is a suit against administrative officers to prevent
the sale of railroad property for taxes based on alleged
arbitrary and excessive valuations a suit against a state
and so prohibited by the Eleventh Amendment to the
Constitution?

4. Where a state court has held that a complainant has
failed to prove allegations of excessive assessments of rail-
road property for a particular year, does such judgment
sustain a plea of res judicata in subsequent actions insti-
tuted in a Federal Court by the same parties with respect
to assessments in different amounts for later years?

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

1. These cases present important open questions of
law, and the issues are of such a grave and serious charac-
ter as to justify the consideration and judgment of this
court.

2. The Circuit Court of Appeals has erred in constru-
ing the opinion of this Court in Nashville, etc. Ry. Co. v.
Browning, 310 U. 8S. 362, as having in effect overruled the

: et

6

earlier opinion of this Court in Great Northern Ry. Co. v.
Weeks, 297 U. S. 135.

3. The Circuit Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
has ruled in conflict with the decision of this Court in Great
Northern Ry. Co. v. Weeks, 297 U. 8. 135, and in conflict
with the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit in the case of Bailey v. Megan, 102 Fed.
(2d) 651, in holding that the excessive valuation of railroad
property for taxation resulting from a total disregard of
earnings as a valuation factor does not constitute a denial
of due process of law under the Fourteenth Amendment.

4. The Circuit Court of Appeals has ruled in conflict
with applicable decisions of this Court in holding that these
suits (a) seek to enjoin proceedings in a state court;
(b) are suits against the State of New Jersey; and (c)
present issues which have been ee fully adjudi-
cated against the petitioner. .

Prayer.

Wherefore, your petitioners respectfully pray that this
Court issue writs of certiorari, directed to the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, requiring that
Court to certify and to send to this Court for its
review and determination, on a day certain to be named
therein, a full and complete transcript of the records
in the cases on its docket which are entitled as set
forth above and numbered 7349-7354 inclusive, 7357-7362
inclusive, and 7365-7370 inclusive, October Term, 1940, re-
spectively; that upon such review and determination, the

opinion and decrees of the said Court of Appeals filed in
|

the above entitled cases may be reversed by this Honorable

Court.

7

LenicH Vauuey Rartroap Company

DetawarE, LACKAWANNA AND WESTERN RariRoaD
ComPany

Err Rarroap ComPpANy

New Jersey & New York Rarroap Company

New York Centrau Ramroap Company

New York & Lone B

a/
‘

Counsel.

8

Certification.

I hereby certify that I am a member of the Bar of the
Supreme Court of the United States; that I am Counsel
for the petitioners in the above entitled cause; that the
foregoing petition has been prepared in accordance with
the request of the petitioners; that the allegations in said
petition are true to the best of my knowledge and belief ;
that said petition is not made for the purpose of delay or
prolongation of litigation and is, in my opinion, well
founded in law and in fact, and should be granted.

Maximiian M. Stratum

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43086415_0422%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
