# Exception — Alabama v. North Carolina

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0522%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Exception
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 560 U.S. 330

## Text

No. | a

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United

eu

STATE OF ALABAMA, STATE OF FLORIDA, STATE OF
TENNESSEE, COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, AND THE
SOUTHEAST INTERSTATE LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE
WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA,
Defendant.

On Exceptions to the Preliminary and Second
Reports of the Special Master

EXCEPTIONS BY PLAINTIFFS TO THE
PRELIMINARY AND SECOND REPORTS OF
THE SPECIAL MASTER AND BRIEF
IN SUPPORT OF EXCEPTIONS

TROY KING CARTER G. PHILLIPS*
ATTORNEY GENERAL VIRGINIA A. SEITZ

ALABAMA KRISTIN GRAHAM KOEHLER
BILL MCCOLLUM ANGELA M. XENAKIS
ATTORNEY GENERAL HL ROGERS

FLORIDA SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP
ROBERT E. COOPER JR. 1501 K Street, N.W.
ATTORNEY GENERAL Washington, D.C. 20005

TENNESSEE (202) 736-8000
WILLIAM C. MIMS
ATTORNEY GENERAL

VIRGINIA

Counsel for Plaintiffs

June 24, 2009 * Counsel of Record

[Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover]

VVILSON-EPES PRINTING CO.,INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

HENRY W. JONES JR.

JORDAN PRICE WALL GRAY
JONES & CARLTON

P.O. Box 10669

Raleigh, N.C. 27605

(919) 828-2501

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

—

No. 132, Original

STATE OF ALABAMA, S'TATE OF FLORIDA, STATE OF
TENNESSEE, COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, AND THE
SOUTHEAST INTERSTATE LOW-LEVEL RADIOACTIVE
WASTE MANAGEMENT COMMISSION,
Plaintiffs,
V.

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA,
Defendant.

EXCEPTIONS BY PLAINTIFFS TO THE
PRELIMINARY AND SECOND REPORTS OF
THE SPECIAL MASTER AND BRIEF
IN SUPPORT OF EXCEPTIONS

Plaintiffs except to the following conclusions of the
Special Master:

1. Article 7(F) of the Southeast Interstate Low-
Level Radioactive Waste Management Compact (the
“Compact”), which states that the Commission may
“sanction| |” “[ajny party state which fails to comply
with the provisions ...or... fulfill the obligations” of
“this compact,” Goes not give the Commission the
authority to level monetary sanctions against a party
State when it fails to comply with the Compact. Pre-
liminary Report 15-25.

2. Even if North Carolina violated the Compact,
it was not subject to the sanctions authority of the
Commission because it withdrew from the Compact

2

before sanctions were imposed. Preliminary Report
25-29.

3. North Carolina did not waive its right to con-
test the legality of the sanctions proceedings even
though it attended and refused to participate in the
hearing. Preliminary Report 29-30.

4. Even though the Compact expressly provides
that the Commission is “the judge of the [party
States’] compliance with the conditions and require-
ments of this compact,” Art. 7(C), the Commission’s
determination that North Carolina breached the
Compact is neither conclusive nor entitled to any
deference from the Court. Second Report 19-20.

5. While it is undisputed that North Carolina
ceased taking any steps to license a facility in De-
cember 1997, more than 18 months before it with-
drew from the Compact, North Carolina, as a matter
of law, did not breach its duty under the Compact to
“take appropriate steps to ensure that an application
for a license to construct and operate a facility... is
filed.” Art. 5(C). Second Report 10-24.

6. The implied duty of good faith and fair dealing
does not apply to interstate compacts and North
Carolina did not withdraw from the Compact in bad
faith. Second Report 29-35.

-

7. North Carolina did not repudiate the Compact
when it informed the Commission that it would take
no further steps to license a facility. Second Report
24-28.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....................ccsceseeeeess
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF THE

A.The Southeast Interstate Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Management Com-

[. THE COMMISSION'S SANCTIONS
ORDER SHOULD BE ENFORCED.............

A. The Compact Authorizes The Commis-

B. North Carolina Cannot Escape Sanc-
tions For Its Conduct As A Compact
Member By Withdrawing From The
SIN iinlussveissbiicpadnaananicobdsanjiiiadaddeiiiaipainabiiiee

lil. NORTH CAROLINA BREACHED THE
SITTINGS Tk pninsasscboossnsisatnketvenseibinabaistanesstesntenes

A. The Commission’s Determination That
North Carolina Breached The Compact
Is Conclusive Or, In The Alternative,
Entitiod To Deferemce ............0.0...0.0000.0.0s0

B. North Carolina Breached The Compact
By Failing To Take “Appropriate Steps”
To Fulfill Its Obligations As Host State ..

(1)

14
17

17

17

30

ul
TABLE OF CONTENTS -— continued

Page

C. North Carolina Breached Its Implied

Covenant Of Good Faith And Fair Deal-
ET ccssnnsidtanaimpiicsintinstenioimaamamanaaeaadumatins 41

D. North Carolina Repudiated The Con-
CFACE ........-errerrrrersersscersorecsorecccrecessenesesscscees 48

Il. THE PLAINTIFFS ARE ENTITLED TO
IIIT sinvicssnscnisvidecechinniamaiseesdniicanietliiainidade 51
TIENT conseussnidesendinsinemsmainteiabaiianialibesinamidaisaaaataia 53

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A: Omnibus Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Interstate Compact Consent Act, Pub.
L. No. 99-240, tit. II, 99 Stat. 1859 (1986)....... la

APPENDIX B: Southeast Interstate Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Management Compact,
Pub. L. No. 99-240, tit. Ll, § 223, 99 Stat. 1871
CIPI ciacovccsaccsoseccinnineconnenvebeebbianudeaieniinealaaaaal 3a

lll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Beebe v. Wash. Metro. Area Transit Auth..,
129 F.3d 1283 (D.C. Cir. 1997)................. 32, 44

Bohne v. Computer Assocs. Intl, Inc., 445
F. Supp. 2d 177 (D. Mass. 2006), rev'd on
other grounds, 541 F.3d 141 (ist Cir.
ESET EI Ceo Oe 45
Commercial Ins. Co. of Newark, N.J. v.
Gonzalez, 512 F.2d 1307 (ist Cir. 1975).... 33
Cooper Distrib. Co. v. Amana Refrigeration,

Inc., 63 F.3d 262 (3rd Cir. 1995)................ 36
Dolan v. United States Postal Ser., 546

RTE IRS A ee ae 37
Entergy Ark., Inc. v. Nebraska, 358 F.3d

EE EP CE a 45
Fid. Fed. Bank, FSB v. Durga MA Corp.,

386 F.3d 1306 (9th Cir. 2004)................04.. 30
Franconia Assocs. v. United States, 536

ERT 31, 37

Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, 548 U.S. 557 (2006)... = 27
Herb’s Welding, Inc. v. Gray, 470 U.S. 414

a ccnsumouaan 19
K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281

ES SET ESS 20
Kansas v. Colorado, 533 U.S. 1 (2001)......... 32
Mkt. Street Assocs. Ltd. P’ship v. Frey, 941

F.2d GES C7thy Cir. 1901) .......00ccesce.ces0000.0000. 43

Mobil Oil Exploration & Producing Se.,
Inc. v. United States, 530 U.S. 604
ESSER 2 48, 52
NLRB vy. Granite State Joint Bd., Textile
Workers Union of Am., Local 1029, 409
ESE RATT a OT 24
New Jersey v. New York, 523 U.S. 767
ac ssdceenoace 26

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued
Page

Oklahoma v. New Mexico, 501 U.S. 221
ESTE eR 22 2 ETON er ee 44

Old Town Trolley Tours of Wash., Inc. v.

Wash. Metro. Area Transit Comm’n, 129
ae re Cs Gs BIO cccccnscccoccccnscccsiecess 28

Organic Cow, LLC v. Ne. Dairy Compact

Comm'n, 164 F. Supp. 2d 412 (D. Vt.

2001), vacated on other grounds sub nom.

$35 F.3d 66 (2d Cir. 2003) .......ccccccccccvesos0s0 28
Randolph v. New England Mut. Life Ins.

Co., 526 F.2d 1383 (6th Cir. 1975)............ 45, 46
Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16

SEUIT sinsheinssesinict inal initia dicen tainatlinaaninatinn 21
Superior Bus. Assistance Corp. v. United

States, 461 F.2d 1036 (10th Cir. 1972)...... 33
Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554

SEIT siassectcsehitiipi.dtpcibindatisenianaiaie 21, 22, 26, 29

Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S. 124 (1987)... 45
Tymshare, Inc. v. Covell, 727 F.2d 1145

OR ii erated 44, 46
United Roasters, Inc. v. Colgate-Palmolive

Co., 649 F.2d 985 (4th Cir. 1981) .......0.00... 45
U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514

RGR Noe tan nPUee oon enn STEM 27
U.S. Dep't of Energy v. Ohio, 503 U.S. 607

(RE SEESIRSRE RES eevee eee rere erent nmr e tere wen 18, 19
United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S.

ETF en ot Se es ae ee nT 25
United Steelworkers of Am. v. Am. Mfg.

A 5 Ge Wek Ce OR icccescccnicctnccsseicerncces 30

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Low-Level Radioactive Waste Policy Act.
Pub. L. No. 96-573, 94 Stat. 3347 (1980) .. 4

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued
Page
Omnibus Low-Level Radioactive Waste In-
terstate Compact Consent Act, Pub. L.
No. 99-240, tit. II, 99 Stat. 1859 (1986)..... 4
Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radioac-
tive Waste Management Compact, Pub.
L. No. 99-240, tit. II, § 223, 99 Stat. 1871
RESIS Se Oe Acct eRe MeN Ps passim
Rocky Mountain Interstate Low-Level Ra-
dioactive Waste Management Compact,
Pub. L. No. 99-240, tit. IL, § 226, 99 Stat.
ET Ee i Ae 22
Northeast Interstate Low-Level Radioac-
tive Waste Management Compact, Pub.
L. No. 99-240, tit. IL, § 227, 99 Stat. 1909

SSIS Ee ee eR 22, 23
Fe a istccinttsinsitsindininsntnnninvnes 23
iad ie smeicbeielaciodh 23

§ ZOZ1(A)(Z) ...cecececcecccssscecececessceeees 32
i seinen 32

1987 N.C. Sess. Laws ch. 1086 ..................... 38
ERS Cre 7

1999 N.C. Sess. Laws ch. 357 ....................... 12
es Ts Hs Te iiricdetheniceainciminitenseacaneia 7
§ 104G-4 (repealed 2000) passim
cds olagieinadeieedial 7

10 CPR. pt. Gli.ceecccececececccecccscsasesosesesesscesecnees 32
SET eles 9 RCN ae in 33
EE Eee eee 33

SCHOLARLY AUTHORITIES

1 E. Allan Farnsworth, Farnsworth on
Copsntrenstn COG. GE. BED ..ccccccceseccceccceccceess: 47

2 KE. Allan Farnsworth, Farnsworth on
Contracts (3d. ed. 2004) ....0.....0.0.0. ccc ccc eeee. 42, 50

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — continued

Page
2A Norman J. Singer & J.D. Singer, Suth-
erland Statutes and. Statutory Construc-
EE RAST NRT TED 19
9 Arthur Linton Corbin, Corbin on Con-
tracts (Interim ed. 2002) .................... 48, 49, 51
12 Arthur Linton Corbin, Corbin on Con-
tract (Interim ed. 2002).............c...ccccccceseees 53

11 Samuel Williston & Richard A. Lord, A
Treatise on the Law of Contracts (4th ed.
ESAS AR cease ee a 27, 35

23 Samuel Williston & Richard A. Lord, A
Treatise on the Law of Contracts (4th ed.

SN icant sstaatikich iiniacdeadiedshiaaanoennasemadasimmdiens 31, 42
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Black’s Law Dictionary (7th ed. 1999).......... 19

Restatement (Second) of Contracts (1981) passim
Restatement (Third) of Restitution & Un-

just Enrichment (T.D. No. 1, 2001)............ 47
Restatement (Third) of Restitution & Un-
just Enrichment (T.D. No. 3, 2004)............ 47

Katherine Ling, Low-Level Waste Emerges
as Hurdle for New Nuclear Reactors, N.Y.
Times, March 16, 2009, available at
http://www.nytimes.com/allbusiness/
16greenwire-lowlevel-waste-emerges-as-
hurdle-for-new-react-10146.html?
INNES cciacinsiiticionnbinnieniidatatnedbiniaiindinanmins 5

PLAINTIFFS’ BRIEF IN
SUPPORT OF EXCEPTIONS TO THE
PRELIMINARY AND SECOND REPORTS OF
THE SPECIAL MASTER

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY
OF THE CASE

This case involves a lawsuit brought by several
States and the Southeast Interstate Low-Level Ra-
dioactive Waste Management Commission (the
“Commission”) against the State of North Carolina
for its failure to fulfill its obligations under the
Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste
Management Compact (the “Compact”) to license a
waste disposal facility.

Plaintiffs take exceptions to a number of the rec-
ommendations made in the Special Master’s Prelimi-
nary and Second Reports.

In Part I, Plaintiffs show that the Special Master
wrongly recommended that this Court find that the
Commission lacked authority to impose monetary
sanctions on North Carolina. The Compact provides
that “[a]ny party state which fails to comply with the
provisions of this compact or to fulfill the obligations
incurred by becoming a party state... may be subject
to sanctions by the Commission, including suspension
of its rights under this compact and revocation of its
status as a party state.” Art. 7(F). By its plain terms,
this provision includes monetary sanctions. Indeed,
this Court has held that the term “sanctions” is broad
enough to embrace monetary penalties. The Special
Master’s conclusion that the phrase “including sus-
pension ... and revocation” in Article 7(F) limits the
Commission's sanctioning authority to only those two
remedies is incorrect. “Including” is a term of expan-

2

sion, not limitation. That is how the Commission
read the Compact, and that reading is correct.

The Special Master’s conclusion that the Commis-
sion lost authority to sanction North Carolina for
misconduct committed while a Compact member once
North Carolina withdrew from the Compact is
equally wrong. The Compact’s sanctions provision
expressly provides: “Rights and obligations incurred
by being declared a party state to this compact shall
continue until the effective date of the sanction im-
posed or as provided in the resolution of the Commis-
sion imposing the sanction.” Art. 7(F). Thus, by its
terms, the Compact provides that the Commission
may enforce sanctions against a former party State
for the State’s acts while a member of the Compact.

In Part II, Plaintiffs show that the Special Master’s
conclusion that North Carolina did not breach the
Compact is wrong as a matter of law. Significantly,
the Compact expressly states that the Commission “is
the judge” of the party States’ compliance with its
conditions and requirements. In 1998, the Commis-
sion made an authoritative determination that North
Carolina breached the Compact when it ceased licens-
ing activities and refused to develop and operate a
waste disposal facility for the region. That determi-
nation, made pursuant to an express and unambigu-
ous delegation of authority, is conclusive. In reaching
his contrary conclusion, the Special Master failed
even to address the plain language of the Compact.

At the very least, the Court should defer to the
Commission’s fully-supported determination that
North Carolina breached the Compact. It is undis-
puted that for approximately a year and a half be-
tween the time that North Carolina ceased licensing
activities in December 1997 and the time that it
withdrew from the Compact in July 1999, North

3

Carolina failed to take any further steps to license a
facility. That refusal constituted nonperformance of
North Carolina’s most fundamental obligation as a
host State and was a total breach of the Compact.

North Carolina also breached the implied covenant
of good faith and fair dealing when it withdrew from
the Compact. North Carolina induced the other party
States to invest eleven years and $80 million! in its
licensing effort, and then walked away. It cited the
Plaintiffs’ failure to provide it with further funds as
the sole reason, despite the Compact’s clear state-
ment that the host State is responsible for the cost of
licensing and building the facility. Withdrawal in
these circumstances left the States with nothing to
show for the enormous investment of time and money
they had made in reliance on North Carolina’s good
faith performance.

In addition, North Carolina repudiated the Com-
pact when it informed the Commission that it would
no longer take any steps to license a facility and then
instructed the North Carolina Authority to initiate a
shutdown of the project. The Special Master did not
even address North Carolina’s clear statements of
repudiation.

North Carolina committed a total breach and repu-
diation of the Compact by refusing to render the very
performance that it agreed to exchange for the other
States’ performance, defeating the essential purpose
of the Compact and depriving the other States of the
benefit of their bargain. For these reasons, Plaintiffs
are entitled to the enforcement of the sanctions order,
or, in the alternative, restitution of the $80 million

‘ Acting on behalf of the party States, the Commission pro
vided North Carolina with $ 79,917,546.89. For ease of refer-
ence, Plaintiffs refer to this amount as $80 million throughout.

4

benefit they conferred on North Carolina in reliance
on the Compact, plus interest.

JURISDICTION

In June 2002, four of the member States of the
Compact and the Commission filed a motion for leave
to file a Bill of Complaint, which the Court granted.
This Court’s jurisdiction over this controversy be-

tween various States is both original and exclusive.
See U.S. Const. art. IIT, § 2, cl. 2; 28 U.S.C. § 1251(a).

The Special Master filed his Preliminary and Sec-
ond Reports with this Court on April 2, 2009. On
April 27, 2009, the Court received these Reports and
ordered them filed.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Southeast Interstate Low-Level Ra-
dioactive Waste Management Compact

In 1980, Congress enacted the Low-Level Radioac-
tive Waste Policy Act, which was subsequently
amended by the Omnibus Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Interstate Compact Consent Act, which rati-
fied the Southeast Interstate Low Level Radioactive
Waste Management Compact (“Compact”). See Pub.
L. No. 96-573, 94 Stat. 3347 (1980); Pub. L. No. 99-
240, tit. II, 99 Stat. 1859 (1986). In these Acts, Con-
gress declared that it is primarily the responsibility
of the States to dispose of low-level radioactive waste
and encouraged the States to form regional interstate
compacts to develop disposal facilities in an efficient
and effective manner.

The States formed the Compact “for the purpose of
providing the instrument and framework for a coop-
erative effort [and for] provid[ing] sufficient facilities
for the proper management of low-level radioactive

5

waste generated in the region.” Art 1.2. The Com-
pact, which ts both a contract among the member
States and a federal law, was formally adopted by
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Caro-
lina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia, and
consented to by Congress on January 15, 1986.
Plaintiffs’ Statement of Undisputed Material Facts
(“Undisputed Facts”) 447, 8. The Compact created
the Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Management Commission (“Commission”)
consisting of two voting members from each party
State. Art. 4(A).

The Compact requires that each party State take a
turn at siting and operating a regional facility within
its borders. Art. 5(A). Specifically, the Compact
requires each State to serve as a “host State” for up to
20 years, or until it has disposed of 32,000,000 cubic
feet of low-level radioactive waste. Art. 5(E). By
rotating the obligation to provide a regional waste
disposal facility among the States, the Compact
“limit[s] the number of facilities required to effec-
tively and efficiently manage low-level waste gener-
ated in the region,” while “distribut[ing] the costs,
benefits and obligations of successful low-level radio-

* As discussed infra, that purpose has not been met and the
management of low-level radioactive waste continues to be a
growing public health problem across the country. Few facilities
exist to store the material and on-site storage is becoming over-
run and increasingly dangerous. See Katherine Ling, Low-Level
Waste Emerges as Hurdle for New Nuclear Reactors, N.Y. Times,
Mar. 16, 2009, available at http://www.nytimes.com/allbusiness/
l6greenwire-lowlevel-waste-emerges-as-hurdle-for-new-react-
10146. htm!?pagewanted=1. North Carolina's refusal to fulfill its
obligations under the Compact thus, not only breached the
contract with the other Compact States but exposed all of the
states to serious health hazards by delaying the creation of a
disposal facility for more than two decades.

6

active waste management equitably among the party
states.” Art. 1.

The Compact imposes specific duties on the host
State. It mandates that “[eJach party state desig-
nated as a host State for a regional facility shall take
appropriate steps to ensure that an application for a
license to construct and operate a facility of the des-
ignated type is filed with and issued by the appropri-
ate authority.” Art. 5(C). The Compact also declares
that “|hjost states are responsible for the availability,
the subsequent post closure observation and mainte-
nance, and the extended institutional control of their
regional facilities.” Art. 3(C); cf. Art. 4(K).

Under the Compact, the first regional disposal facil-
ity was the facility previously built and licensed in
Barnwell County, South Carolina, which was to serve
as the regional facility until December 31, 1992. Art.
7(H). The Compact authorized the Commission to
develop and implement procedures and criteria to
identify a host State for the development of a second
regional disposal facility. Art. 4(E)(6). The Compact
expressly states, however, that “[t]he Commission is
not responsible for any costs associated with,” inter
alia, “the creation of any facility.” Art. 4(K).

The Commission also has certain powers related to
the enforcement of the Compact. For example, the
Compact expressly provides that “the Commission is
the judge of the qualifications of the party states and
of its members and of their compliance with the con-
ditions and requirements of th[e] compact.” Art. 7(C).
The Commission may also “sanction[ ]” a noncompli-
ant state, “including suspension of its rights under
this compact and revocation of its status as a party
state.” Art. 7(F).

7
B. The Present Controversy

In September 1986, by a two-thirds majority vote,
the Commission selected North Carolina as the sec-
ond host State. Undisputed Facts { 17. Thereafter,
the North Carolina General Assembly enacted a law
establishing a siting authority, the North Carolina
Low-Level Waste Management Authority (the “Au-
thority”). N.C. Gen. Stat. § 104G, 1987 N.C. Sess.
Laws ch. 850 (App. 29-58).

In its enabling statute, North Carolina recognized
and accepted its obligation under the Compact to
“site, finance, [and] build” a facility to receive the
region’s low-level radioactive waste for disposal. N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 104G-4 (repealed 2000) (App. 34). The
North Carolina statute further provided that the
State would be repaid for its expenses from revenues
generated by the facility, once operational. See id.
§ 104G-15(a) (App. 45) (expressing intent that costs
will ultimately be borne by generators served by the
facility “established under this Chapter”); id. § 104G-
15(b)(2), (5), & (8) (App. 45). Pursuant to its obliga-
tion, North Carolina appropriated funds from the
General Assembly and began the site-selection proc-
ess. Undisputed Facts 4 18.

Thereafter, North Carolina requested that the
Commission provide financial assistance. Although

* Unless otherwise indicated, Appendix pages 1-470 are at-
tached to Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of Motion for
Summary Judgment; Appendix pages 471-514 are attached to
Plaintiffs’ Opposition to Defendant North Carolina's Motion for
Summary Judgment; Appendix pages 515-57 are attached to
Plaintiffs’ Brief in Opposition to Defendant North Carolina's
Motion and Supplemental Brief for Summary Judgment; and
Appendix pages 559-69 are attached to Plaintiffs’ Reply to
Defendant North Carolina's Opposition to Plaintiffs’ Supple
mental Brief for Summary Judgment.

8

not obligated to do so, the Commission, on behalf of
the party States, began providing funds to North
Carolina in 1988 to assist with the development of a
facility. Undisputed Facts 99 20-21; Feb. 9, 1988,
Resolution (App. 63-65). All parties were fully aware
at this time that the Commission had no obligation to
provide funds. Undisputed Facts | 21; see also Mar.
28, 1988, Gov. Martin letter to Hodes (App. 69) (“I
have been informed that the Southeast Compact has
established a Host State Assistance Fund to as-
sist...with financial costs....” However, “the
(North Carolina] Authority is responsible for siting,
financing, building, .. . operating, . . . and closing this
regional facility.”).

Indeed, the Authority made a series of requests for
funding in specific amounts, each time with the un-
derstanding that the Commission was not obligated
to provide it, and that the Commission could refuse to
grant the Authority's funding requests. See
McMillan Dep. at 40:13-:17 (App. 470). Over the next
eleven years, the Commission provided approxi-
mately $80 million to North Carolina to assist it in
fulfilling its responsibility to site and license the
project. The funds were generated through “sur-
charges on all users of [the Barnwell regional dis-
posal] facility’ and “represent[ed] the financial com-
mitments of all party states,” as defined by the Com-
pact. Art. 4(H)(2) & (2){b).

During this same period, North Carolina experi-
enced a series of project delays and cost increases.
Undisputed Facts $9 25, 29, 35. Consequently, in
June 1992, the South Carolina Legislature voted to
allow the Barnwell facility to remain open until Janu-
ary 1, 1996. Id. 4 30. By December 1994, due to
additional delays, the North Carolina facility was not
projected to open until 1998. Jd. 4 36. Throughout

9

this period, North Carolina received the benefits of
Compact membership, such as the ability to dispose
of its waste at the facility in South Carolina.

As time passed South Carolina seriously doubted
that North Carolina would ever open the second re-
gional facility, and in July 1995, lawfully withdrew
from the Compact. /d. § 40. On January 5, 1996,
Commission Chairman Hodes wrote to North Caro-
lina Governor Hunt to explain that the Commission
had contributed $55 million to North Carolina in
furtherance of the waste facility project, but that
additional Commission funds would eventually be
unavailable because South Carolina’s withdrawal
meant that the Commission would no longer be able
to collect the surcharges imposed at Barnwell.
Chairman Hodes encouraged Governor Hunt to begin
considering alternative funding sources, consistent
with North Carolina’s obligations under the Compact.
Id. 9 42; see Jan. 5, 1996, Hodes letter to Hunt (App.
215).

Governor Hunt responded that he “would not rec-
ommend” that North Carolina appropriate the funds
necessary to continue the project. Apr. 8, 1996, Hunt
letter to Hodes (App. 224). Chairman Hodes sent
several subsequent letters to Governor Hunt remind-
ing him that, by law, the designated host State is
responsible for siting, licensing, building and operat-
ing the facility, and that this responsibili:y includes
providing the necessary funding. See, e.g., Apr. 25,
1996, Hodes letter to Hunt (App. 225-26); May 10,
1996, Hodes letter to Hunt (App. 227).

On June 14, 1996, Governor Hunt informed the
Commission that “North Carolina is not prepared to
assume a greater portion of the project costs. If the
Commission is not willing or able to continue funding
the North Carolina licensing effort, it simply will not

10

be able to proceed.” June 14, 1996, Hunt letter to
Hodes (App. 236); Undisputed Facts | 44. Governor
Hunt did not address the Commission’s position or
the Compact language stating that the Commission is
“not responsible for any costs associated with... the
creation of any facility.” Art. 4(K).

The Commission then organized a Task Force for
Facility Funding (the “Task Force”), which included
representatives from North Carolina, to study the
issue and make recommendations for funding alter-
natives. Undisputed Facts { 48. A group of regional
waste generators developed a draft Memorandum of
Understanding (“MOU”), which incorporated the
Task Force’s funding recommendations. Id. ¥ 52.

The Commission transmitted the draft MOU to
Governor Hunt in August 1997. Undisputed Facts
| 52; Sturgeon Mem. & Draft MOU (App. 289-304).
Under the proposed MOU, the Commission would
have expended the remainder of its funds, up to $22.5
million, and generators would have provided loans for
the $7-9 Million projected shortfall in funds required
to complete the licensing phase of the project. Draft
MOU 3 (App. 294). Upon transmission of the pro-
posed MOU, the Commission asked the North Caro-
lina Authority either to endorse the proposal or to
propose an alternative method of funding. Undis-
puted Facts §| 53; Aug. 29, 1997, Hodes letter to Cor-
gan (App. 308).

By December 1, 1997, North Carolina had neither
endorsed the MOU nor proposed any other funding
plan. Undisputed Facts 4 54. Instead, the North
Carolina Authority notified the Commission of the
Authority's decision to “commence the orderly shut-
down of the project,” pending the Commission’s re-
versal of its position regarding funding or different
instructions from the North Carolina Legislature.

11

See Dec. 19, 1997, Corgan letter to Hodes (App. 319);
Undisputed Facts 4] 55. Thus, North Carolina condi-
tioned its continued performance on more funding
from the Commission, a demand that contradicted
the express terms of the Compact. See Art. 4(K).

The Commission notified the North Carolina Au-
thority in January 1998, and again in April 1999,
that it had determined the shutdown constituted a
breach of the Compact by North Carolina. Undis-
puted Facts 44] 56-57. North Carolina took no action
in response and, by its own admission, “did not [after
December 1997] take additional steps to site, charac-
terize, and, ultimately, license a waste disposal facil-
ity.”* North Carolina’s Admissions § 11; Undisputed
Facts § 9 57-58.

On June 21, 1999, the Commissioners of the States
of Florida and Tennessee filed with the Commission a
Sanctions Complaint against North Carolina. Undis-
puted Facts § 58. The Sanctions Complaint alleged
that

|b]y its actions to cease all activities in pursuit of
a license to build the second regional low-level
radioactive waste (LLRW) disposal facility for
the Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Compact (Compact), the State of North
Carolina has failed to fulfill its obligations . . . to
provide a disposal facility for the Southeast re-

gion.

* Indeed, the Authority ceased operation prior to any licensing
determination. See Def. Mot. Summ. J. at 7 (“Ultimately, no
license was issued because, at the time the Commission stopped
providing funding support for the Authority's efforts in 1997, the
DRP had not yet determined that the site could be safely li-
censed.”).

12

Sanctions Compl. (App. 325). The Sanctions Com-
plaint requested, inter alia, return of the $80 million
in funds the Commission, on behalf of the party
States, had provided to North Carolina to assist in
the licensing and development of the disposal facility,
plus interest from the date North Carolina ceased
activities to develop the facility. Undisputed Facts
{| 58; Sanctions Compl. (App. 327).

On July 26, 1999, North Carolina purported to ex-
ercise its rights under Article 7(G) of the Compact to
withdraw from the Compact. Undisputed Facts 9 59;
1999 N.C. Sess. Laws ch. 357. North Carolina
claimed that it “had no option but to” withdraw as a
result of the Commission’s breach of the Compact (by
terminating supplemental funding as of December 1,
1997). Dec. 1, 1999, Easley letter to Hodes (App.
339).

In August 1999, the Commission initiated a formal
inquiry into the Sanctions Complaint filed against
North Carolina. Undisputed Facts 4 60. The North
Carolina Attorney General asserted that, having
withdrawn from the Compact, North Carolina was no
longer subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction. 7d.
“| 62; see Dec. 1, 1999, Easley letter to Hodes (App.
340). The Attorney General also informed Chairman
Hodes that North Carolina would not participate in
the sanctions proceeding. Dec. 1, 1999, Easley letter
to Hodes (App. 340).

The Commission held a Sanctions Hearing on De-
cember 8, 1999 presided over by retired D.C. Superior
Court Judge Curtis VanKann. Undisputed Facts
{| 63; Sanctions Hr’g Tr. (App. 341-98). The Commis-
sion heard testimony and received documentary evi-
dence from the States of Florida and Tennessee.
Sanctions Hr’g Tr. 16-72 (App. 347-61). All Commis-
sioners were permitted to ask questions and make

13

comments. Jd. at 1-144 (App. 344-79). Comments
also were received from members of the public. Jd. at
7-8, 97-98 (App. 345, 368). In addition, North Caro-
lina had a representative from its Office of the Attor-
ney General present at the hearing and was provided
the opportunity to offer testimony or other evidence
on its behalf. North Carolina declined to exercise its
right to participate in the hearing.

By a unanimous vote of those participating, the
Commission determined, pursuant to Article 7(C) of
the Compact, that North Carolina had “failed to com-
ply with the provisions of the Compact and failed to
fulfill the obligations incurred by becoming a party
state to th[e] Compact.” Undisputed Facts § 64; Dec.
9, 1999, Sanctions Res. (App. 412). Consequently, the
Commission voted to require North Carolina to repay
the approximately $80 million in funds it had re-
ceived from the party States via the Commission,
plus interest. Sanctions Res. (App. 412). The Com-
mission also determined that according to its author-
ity under Article 7(F), it had the authority to level
sanctions against North Carolina even after it had
withdrawn from the Compact. 7/d.; see also Art. 7(F)
(“Rights and obligations incurred by being declared a
party state to this compact shall continue until the
effective date of the sanction imposed or as provided
in the resolution of the Commission imposing the
sanction.”). The Commissioners unanimously adopt-
ed a resolution directing the Commission to work
with outside counsel to represent the party States in
court against North Carolina, in the event that North
Carolina failed to comply with sanctions. Undisputed
Facts § 64; Dec. 9, 1999, Sanctions Res. (App. 412).
North Carolina did not comply.

14
C. Judicial Proceedin-~<-

After this Court denied an initial motion for leave
to file a bill of complaint naming only the Commis-
sion as plaintiff, four member States of the Compact
and the Commission filed a motion for leave to file a
Bill of Complaint in June 2002. This Court granted
that motion; the Bill of Complaint was deemed filed;
and North Carolina was ordered to respond to the
Complaint.

North Carolina filed a motion to dismiss the Com-
mission as a party, arguing that North Carolina’s
sovereign immunity barred the Commission’s claims.
The Supreme Court referred this matter to the Spe-
cial Master.

Before the Special Master, Plaintiffs filed a motion
for summary judgment, seeking enforcement of the
Commission’s sanctions order. North Carolina filed a
motion to dismiss the Bill of Complaint, arguing that
the Compact did not authorize the Commission to
impose monetary sanctions; that North Carolina was
no longer subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction;
and that the only remedies available to Plaintiffs
were those provided in the Compact.

In June 2006, the Special Master issued a Prelimi-
nary Report, recommending that North Carolina’s
motion to dismiss the Commission be denied, that
Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment be denied,
and that North Carolina’s motion to dismiss the Bill
of Complaint be granted in part and denied in part.

With respect to North Carolina’s motion to dismiss
the Commission, the Special Master recommended
that the Commission be allowed to participate in the
action because it asserts the same claims and seeks
the same relief as the Plaintiff States. Preliminary

15

Report 13 (citing Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605
(1983)).

As to Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment, the
Special Master recommended that the motion “be
denied because the Compact does not authorize the
Commission to impose monetary sanctions against
member States, and because North Carolina with-
drew from the Compact prior to the imposition of
sanctions.” Jd. at 14. The Special Master noted,
however, that “[djenial of Plaintiffs’ mo-
tion... merely means chat the Commission’s sanc-
tions order should not be summarily enforced. It does
not mean that North Carolina faces no potential li-
ability as a matter of law with respect to the Plain-
tiffs’ other claims” for breach of contract and the
common law. 7d. at 14-135.

As to North Carolina’s motion to dismiss the Bill of
Complaint, the Special Master recommended that the
motion be granted with respect to the Plaintiffs’ re-
quest that the sanctions order be enforced. /d. at 38.
With respect to the remainder of the Bill of Com-
plaint, the Special Master recommended that North
Carolina’s motion be denied. Jd. The Special Master
rejected North Carolina’s argument that the remedies
provided in the Compact are the exclusive remedies
available for breach of the Compact. Id. at 33-36.
Accordingly, he found that “further proceedings
[were] necessary to determine whether North Caro-
lina in fact breached its obligations under the Com-
pact.” Jd. at 36.

The parties did not seek this Court’s immediate re-
view of the Preliminary Report. Instead, they en-
gaged in discovery, which eventually was suspended
in order to file cross-motions for summary judgment.
Plaintiffs moved for summary judgment with respect
to the Breach of Compact count on the grounds that

16

North Carolina breached the Compact and that
Plaintiffs are entitled to restitution of the $80 million
the States provided North Carolina in reliance on the
Compact, plus interest. North Carolina moved for
summary judgment on all of Plaintiffs’ claims.

In his Second Report, the Special Master recom-
mended that this Court find that North Carolina did
not breach the Compact. According to the Special
Master, the Compact’s requirement that a host State
take “appropriate steps” to license a facility is am-
biguous; and, under the Compact as modified by the
parties’ course of performance, North Carolina took
the appropriate steps required by the Compact. Sec-
ond Report 10-28. The Special Master also decided
that North Carolina’s withdrawal did not violate its
implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. He
concluded that (i) the covenant of good faith, read
into all contracts, probably should not be read into
interstate compacts, and (ii) if it were, North Caro-
lina’s decision to cease performance when the Com-
mission ceased paying did not breach that duty. IJd.
at 29-35. Thus, the Special Master recommended
that this Court deny Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary
Judgment on Breach of Contract and grant North
Carolina’s Motion for Summary Judgment on that
count.§

The Special Master filed both his Preliminary and
Second Reports with this Court. He noted that the
remaining claims were alternatives to Plaintiffs’
breach of contract claims, which would not be liti-

6In addition, the Special Master recommended that North
Carolina's Motion for Summary Judgment on Unjust Enrich-
ment, Promissory Estoppel, and Money Had and Received be
denied as requiring further briefing and argument and, poten-
tially, further discovery. See Second Report 41.

17

gated if this Court rejected his recommendations on
the claims for sanctions and breach of contract. Id. at
48-49.

On April 27, 2009, the Court received and ordered
filed the Reports of the Special Master, and ordered
the Parties to file Exceptions.

ARGUMENT

I. THE COMMISSION’S SANCTIONS ORDER
SHOULD BE ENFORCED.

A. The Compact Authorizes The Commis-
sion To Impose The Sanction Of Restitu-
tion.

The Compact provides:

Any party state which fails to comply with the
provisions of this compact or to fulfill the obliga-
tions incurred by becoming a party state to this
compact may be subject to sanctions by the Com-
mission, including suspension of its rights under
this compact and revocation of its status as a
party state.

Art. 7(F) (emphasis added).

After a formal evidentiary hearing - at which
North Carolina was in attendance but refused to
participate -- the Commission determined that North
Carolina had “failed to comply with the provisions of
the Compact and failed to fulfill the obligations in-
curred by becoming a party to th{[e] Compact.” Dec. 9,
1999 Sanctions Res. (App. 412); Undisputed Facts
{ 64. The Commission made this determination pur-
suant to its authority as “the judge of [the party
States’] compliance with the conditions and require.
ments of this compact.” Art. 7(C). As set forth in

18

detail infra at LL.A, this determination of breach is
conclusive or, at the very least, entitled to deference. ®

Following the Commission’s determination of
breach, it imposed a monetary sanction. In doing so,
it necessarily interpreted the Compact to give it this
authority. This interpretation’is reasonable and is,
indeed, the best reading of the Compact language.
Pursuant to this Court’s precedent, ordinary usage,
and the specific context, the term “sanctions” includes
monetary sanctions; and thus, the Commission’s
sanction’s order should be given effect by this Court.
See U.S. Dep't of Energy v. Ohio, 503 U.S. 607, 621
(1992).

Instead, the Special Master decided that the Com-
pact clause providing that sanctions “includ[e] sus-
pension of [a State’s] rights under this compact and
revocation of its status as a party state” was intended
to dramatically narrow the Commission’s authority to
impose sanctions. He disregarded the Commission’s
reading of this Compact provision and read the clause
de novo to indicate that the Commission could sus-
pend or expel members, but could not fine a member
or impose other monetary sanctions. Thus, the Spe-
cial Master concluded that the sole sanction that the
Commission could impose on a host State that
breaches its obligations and then withdraws is expul-
sion. But this “sanction” gives that State precisely
what it wants — to avoid its obligation to host a waste
disposal facility. Preliminary Report 28.

The Special Master gave four reasons for his con-
clusion. Each lacks merit.

— — — _ ——

* The Commission “is the judge” of the party States’ compli-
ance with the Compact, Art. 7(C), and thus is entitled to deter-
mine whether a party state has breached the Compact. See
infra atlbA.

19

First, the Special Master asserted that “including,”
in the Compact, actually means “limited to” and,
therefore, the “sanctions” available do not include
monetary awards. But, application of this Court’s
precedent, scholarly consensus, and common sense
lead to the conclusion that the term “including” here
does not limit the sanctions to those listed or preclude
monetary sanctions. A sanction is “[a] penalty or
coercive measure that results from failure to comply
with a law, rule, or order.” Black’s Law Dictionary
1341 (7th ed. 1999). This Court has stated that when
a sovereign submits itself to “sanctions,” it is thereby
subject to monetary sanctions of one variety or an-
other: “As a general matter, the meaning of ‘sanction’
is spacious enough to cover... punitive fines... .”
U.S. Dep’t of Energy, 503 U.S. at 621. Moreover,
“(w]hen ‘include’ is utilized, it is generally improper
to conclude that entities not specifically enumerated
are excluded.” 2A Norman J. Singer & J.D. Singer,
Sutherland Statutes and Statutory Construction
§ 47.23 (7th ed. 2004). This is because “the word
“includes” is usually a term of enlargement, and not
of limitation.” Jd. at § 47.7. As this Court recognized
in Herb’s Welding, Inc. v. Gray, 470 U.S. 414, 423 n.9
(1985). “[b]y use of the term ‘including’ Congress
indicated that the specifically mentioned [items] are
not exclusive.” Therefore, the “including” clause
should not be construed to limit the imposition of
other appropriate sanctions.

‘The Special Master also failed to give weight to the
entirety of the sanctions provision. The Compact’s
sanctions provision concludes: “Rights and obliga-
tions incurred by being declared a party state to this
compact shall continue until the effective date of the
sanction imposed or as provided in the resolution of
the Commission imposing the sanction.” Art. 7(F).

20

The Compact thus necessarily authorizes some sanc-
tion that can be applied to a party state that ceases to
be a party after the sanction is imposed. This provi-
sion is meaningless if one accepts the Special Mas-
ter’s reading that sanctions are limited to suspension
or revocation of a party State’s membership status;
neither of these sanctions would be relevant to a
State that has already withdrawn.

As a whole, Article 7(F) is best read to authorize
the Commission to assess monetary sanctions against
the Defendant. See K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc., 486
U. S. 281, 291 (1988) (“In ascertaining the plain
meaning of [a] statute, the court must look to the
particular statutory language at issue, as well as the
language and design of the statute as a whole.”)

Second, the Special Master concluded that the
Compact must contain a “clear statement” that au-
thorizes monetary sanctions against a State. Ini-
tially, as explained above, the Compact does clearly
provide for monetary sanctions. But even if it did
not, it is inappropriate to impose a clear-statement
rule on the interpretation of a contract among co-
equal sovereign states.

The Special Master pointed to Article 3, which
reads, in part: “The rights granted to the party states
by this compact are additional to the rights enjoyed
by sovereign states, and nothing in this compact shall
be construed to infringe upon, limit, or abridge those
rights.” The Special Master then contended that in
light of this provision, the Court should read an im-
plied clear-statement rule into the Compact — i.e., a
rule that without a “clear statement,” monetary sanc-
tions are not allowed. Preliminary Report 18. For
several reasons, this reading is incorrect.

21

Article 3 neither states nor implies a clear-
statement rule. And “courts have no power to substi-
tute their own notions” in place of the text of the
Compact. Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554, 568
(1983) (quotation marks omitted). Additionally, im-
posing a clear-statement rule would run afoul of an-
other Compact provision, Article 9, which provides:
“The provisions of this compact shall be liberally
construed to give effect to the purposes thereof.”
Finally, the Special Master’s interpretation of Article
3 appears to be based on a special solicitude for
states’ rights, which is — at most — appropriate when
states contract with private parties; it is not, how-
ever, appropriate when states contract with coequal
sovereigns.

Third, the Special Master sought to narrow the
Commission’s sanctions power by comparing the
Southeast Compact’s language with that of other
compacts. He noted that other compacts use the
words “fines” or “sum,” and that those words author-
ize the relevant compact commission to impose mone-
tary sanctions. The Special Master contended that
the express reference to monetary sanctions in other
compacts means that the absence of such a reference
in the Southeast Compact indicates that such sanc-
tions were excluded. Preliminary Report 22.

The general presumption, that such differences,
when found within a single federal statute, are sig-
nificant, does not apply here. See Russello v. United
States, 464 U.S. 16, 23 (1983). Congress authorized
independent regional negotiation of low-level radioac-
tive waste compacts. And, each compact was negoti-
ated independently. There is no evidence in this
record that any compact negotiators were informed
about either the negotiation or text of the other com-
pacts. There is simply no basis for any interpretation

22

of the language of the Southeast Compact by compar-
ing it to the text of other regional Compacts.’

In any event, the comparison of the regional Com-
pacts’ sanctions language yields conflicting results.
For example, the Southeast Compact and the North-
east Compact are the only compacts that generally
authorize “sanctions.” Northeast Interstate Low-
Level Radioactive Waste Management Compact, Pub.
L. No. 99-240, tit. II, § 227, Art. ITV(D(14), 99 Stat.
1909, 1915 (1986). The Rocky Mountain Compact
does not authorize sanctions generally; it allows only
exclusion. Rocky Mountain Interstate Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Management Compact, Pub. L.
No. 99-240, tit. II, § 226, Art. VIII(e), 99 Stat. 1902,
1909 (1986). Under the Special Master’s reasoning,
the absence of the term “sanctions” in the Rocky
Mountain Compact and its inclusion in the others
would mean that the Rocky Mountain Compact gen-
erally forbids sanctions. And, the Southeast Compact
and Northeast Compact’s broader provision — their
general authorization of sanctions — should mean
that these compacts authorize sanctions beyond ex-
clusion. But, the Special Master ignored those com-
parisons. In sum, this interpretation by comparing
sanctions clauses is an arbitrary methodology that
should not be used, particularly when it does violence
to the plain language of the Compact.

7In Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. at 565, this Court cited the
text of contemporaneously negotiated compacts to support its
reading. But, here, the undisputed record shows that the party
States were not aware of the language of other interstate low-
level radioactive waste compacts when they negotiated the
Southeast Compact. See Setser Dep. Tr. at 14-15 (App. 498)
(Testimony by Mr. Setser, the 30(b)(6) deponent for the Com-
mission and onc of the initial drafters of the Compact).

23

Fourth and finally, the Special Master expressed
concern that Plaintiffs’ interpretation would allow the
Commission to issue sanctions without limitation.
Preliminary Report 18. But, general laws authoriz-
ing remedies and penalties routinely do so without
express limits on the amount or types of relief. See,
e.g., 42 U.S.C. § 1983; id. § 2000e-5(g)(1). Courts
regularly interpret such laws, limiting damages to
compensatory damages or reasonable punitive dam-
ages, and allowing some injunctions and not others.
We are aware of no authority that the absence of an
express limit on damages or penalties renders simple
monetary fines wholly unavailable. In fact, the Spe-
cial Master cited the Northeast Compact as an exam-
ple of a Compact that provides for damages, see Pre-
liminary Report 22, even though it lacks any express
limit on damages. Northeast Compact, § 227, Art.
[V(D(14), 99 Stat. at 1915.

The Compact should be read to authorize the sanc-
tions that the Commission voted to impose.

B. North Carolina Cannot Escape Sanc-
tions For Its Conduct As A Compact
Member By Withdrawing From The
Compact.

The Special Master's conclusion that North Caro-
lina may evade sanctions by withdrawing on the eve
of its sanctions hearing is mistaken and contrary to
both the Compact’s text and the Commission’s deter-
mination, which is entitled to deference. See supra at
18; infra at 28-30.

As noted, Article 7(F), the Compact’s sanction pro-
vision, specifies: “Rights and obligations incurred by
being declared a party state to this compact shall
continue until the effective date of the sanction im-
posed or as provided in the resolution of the Commis-

24

sion imposing the sanction.” Thus, the Compact text
provides a straightforward answer to the question
whether withdrawal prevents the Commission from
imposing sanctions. Apart from noting Plaintiffs’
reliance on this provision, the Special Master did not
even mention this text, let alone explain why it does
not govern resolution of this question. Instead, he
concluded that North Carolina may render the Com-
pact a nullity by allowing the host State to immunize
itself from any sanction simply by withdrawing.

The Special Master’s Report suggested two reasons
for his recommendation. First, he implied, without
explicitly saying, that the Southeast Compact, unlike
other Compacts, does not “authorize imposition of
sanctions on States even after they have withdrawn.”
Preliminary Report 26. Here, he is simply wrong;
Article 7(F) of the Southeast Compact does provide
such an authorization.

Next, the Special Master cited other Compacts that
include limits on withdrawal to indicate that the
Southeast Compact does not limit withdrawal. From
this he concluded that a state has unlimited discre-
tion to withdraw to escape a sanctions ruling. Pre-
liminary Report 26-27 (citing Central Midwest Inter-
state Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management
Compact, Pub. L. No. 99-240, Art. VIII(d), 99 Stat.
1880, 1891 (1986) and Midwest Interstate Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Management Compact, Pub. L. 99-
240, Art. VIII(e), 99 Stat. 1892, 1900 (1986)). The
Special Master’s premise does not support his conclu-
sion. Plaintiffs agree that North Carolina can with-
draw from the Compact. But, North Carolina’s with-
drawal does not relieve it of previously incurred obli-
gations, including sanctions obligations, arising out of
its status as a party for conduct that occurred while it
was a party. See NLRB vy. Granite State Joint Bd.,

25

Textile Workers Union of Am., Local 1029, 409 U.S.
213, 216 (1972) (“[T]he law which normally is re-
flected in our free institutions [is] the right of the
individual to join or to resign from associations, as he
sees fit subject of course to any financial obligations
due and owing the group with which he was associ-
ated.”) (quotation marks omitted).

Neither the Compact’s text nor settled legal princi-
ples support the Special Master’s recommendation
that North Carolina is permitted to ese#pe sanctions
for its conduct as a member by withdrawing. Nor
would such an outcome further the purposes of the
Compact. Art. 9. If a party state can simply walk
away from the consequences of misbehavior as a
member there is little incentive to act for the good of
the region. Instead, there is every incentive to take
what the Compact offers, violate the Compact until
the other members decline to tolerate it, and then
abandon the shared enterprise without consequence.
Any such Compact “would, indeed, have been mad-
ness” and that is reason enough not to interpret the
Compact to permit this result. United States v. Win-
star Corp., 518 U.S. 839, 910 (1996) (plurality opin-
ion).

Il. NORTH CAROLINA BREACHED THE
COMPACT.

A. The Commission’s Determination That
North Carolina Breached The Compact
Is Conclusive Or, In The Alternative,
Entitled To Deference.

The Compact expressly and unequivocally provides
that “[t]he Commission ts the judge of [the party
States’] compliance with the conditions amd require-
ments of this compact.” Art. 7(C) (emphasis added).
In January 1998, and again, in April 1998 — before

26

North Carolina’s withdrawal — the Commission exer-
cised this authority and determined that North Caro-
lina breached the Compact when, after soliciting $80
million to fulfill its Compact obligations, it ceased
performance and refused to fulfill its obligation as
host State to develop and operate a regional waste
disposal facility. See Jan. 12, 1998, Hodes letter to
Corgan (Joint Supp. Fact Br. App. 55) (“It is the
stated position of the Commission that this consti-
tutes a breach of the compact law by the State of
North Carolina, which is obligated to proceed with
the funding and the establishment of the facility.”);
see also Apr. 26, 1999, Hodes letter to Hunt (App.
323). The Commission reiterated this determination
after North Carolina withdrew from the Compact.
Dec. 9, 1999 Sanctions Res. (App. 412) (“North Caro-
lina failed to comply with the provisions of the Com-
pact and failed to fulfill the obligations incurred by
becoming a party state to this Compact.”). Under the
Compact, as agreed to by North Carolina, the Com-
mission’s determination of breach is conclusive.

When faced with a dispute arising from an inter-
state compact, this Court looks first and foremost to
the language of the compact. New Jersey v. New
York, 523 U.S. 767, 811 (1998). The express terms of
the compact are determinative. Jd. Where the com-
pact’s terms specify the extent and limits of the
Court’s role in adjudicating disputes arising out of
the compact, those terms are controlling. Texas, 462
U.S. at 567-68 (“The question for decision, therefore,
is what role the .. . Compact leaves to this Court.”).

Here, the express terms of the Compact are clear:
Congress and the party States vested the Commis-
sion with the sole power to “judge” whether a party
State breached the Compact. Art. 7(C). Thus, under
the Compact, any court addressing a claim that in-

27

volves the question whether a party State has
breached the Compact should accept the Commis-
sion’s judgment of breach or non-breach. Cf. Hamdan
v. Rumsfeld, 548 U.S. 557, 623 (2006) (“[C]omplete
deference is owed [a] determination” made by the
President under a statute granting him authority to
make such a determination.); U.S. Term Limits, Inc.
v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779, 804 (1995) (Art. I, § 5, cl. 1
of the Constitution, which provides that “{e]ach
House shai be the Judge of the Elections, Returns
and Qualifications of its own-Members,” gives Con-
gress “the final say.”) (emphasis added).

This concept has deep roots in the common law of
contracts. See 11 Samuel Williston & Richard A.
Lord, A Treatise on the Law of Contracts, § 31:5, at
298-99, 303-05 (4th ed. 1999) (“[T]he courts properly
and steadfastly reiterate the well-established princi-
ple that it is not the function of the judiciary to
change the obligations of a contract which the parties
have seen fit to make... . Thus, when interpreting a
contract, a court may not delete contractual provi-
sions ... even if the resulting contract would be eco-
nomically more efficient or advantageous to one or
both parties, or more fair or equitable than the
agreement the parties were satisfied to make.”). This
Court should enforce the Compact’s express agree-
ment and statutory mandate that the Commission is
the “judge” of breach.

In his decision, the Special] Master never addressed
the explicit language of Article 7(C). Instead, he
erroneously implied that the question of the Commis-
sion’s authority to judge breach was determined in
the Preliminary Report. See Second Report 19. In
fact, the Preliminary Report analyzed only Article
7(F) and the Commission's authority to sanction
party States — not Article 7(C) and the Commission's

28

authority to determine breach, whether enforceable
through sanctions or through a claim for breach of
Compact in the courts. The question whether the
Commission has authority to sanction party States is
wholly independent of the question whether the
Commission has the authority conclusively to deter-
mine a member’s breach. The latter authority arises
from Article 7(C) of the Compact — a part of the
agreement never addressed in either the Preliminary
or Second Report.

If, however, this Court concludes that a court ad-
dressing a claim of breach must engage in some re-
view of the Commission’s judgment, that review
should be highly deferential. The D.C. Circuit has
held that the actions of an interstate compact com-
mission, when reviewable at all, should be reviewed
under the Administrative Procedure Act’s (“APA's”)
deferential arbitrary-and-capricious standard. See
Old Town Trolley Tours of Wash., Inc. v. Wash.
Metro. Area Transit Comm'n, 129 F.3d 201, 204 (D.C.
Cir. 1997) (“[O]ur review should not be de novo. That
would deprive the Commission’s judgment of impor-
tance and would, in effect, place the court in the posi-
tion of the licensing authority.”); see also Organic
Cow, LLC v. Ne. Dairy Compact Comm'n, 164 F.
Supp. 2d 412, 423-25 (D. Vt. 2001) (applying the arbi-
trary-and-capricious standard of review to the deci-
sion of an interstate compact commission), vacated on
other grounds sub nom. 335 F.3d 66 (2d Cir. 2003).
This was so, the court reasoned, not because an inter-
state compact commission is a federal agency subject
to the APA, but because the APA’s codification of the
arbitrary-and-capricious standard “merely restated
the present law as to the scope of judicial review.”
Old Town Trolley, 129 F.3d at 205 (“[F]ederal judicial
review of agency action according to the standards

2Y
just quoted is so commonplace that... it would have

been natural to assume that courts would treat
Commission decisions in the same manner.”).

In Old Town Trolley, the compact at issue was si-
lent as to the arbiter of disputes, and the D.C. Circuit
nonetheless applied a deferential standard of review.
Here, the Compact expressly provides that the Com-
mission “is the judge . . . of [party States’] compliance
with the conditions and requirements of this com-
pact.” Art. 7(C). Accordingly, the Commission’s de-
termination, if reviewable at all, should be set aside
only if arbitrary or capricious. And, far from arbi-
trary or capricious, the Commission’s determination
that North Carolina breached the Compact is, as
shown infra, correct.

The Special Master was concerned that deference to
the Commission’s decision would be inconsistent with
this Court’s original jurisdiction. See Second Report
19-20. The opposite is true. This Court has empha-
sized the need to enforce compacts by their express
terms. See supra at 26. Indeed, in Texas, the Court
limited its deference to the compact commission be-
cause of the specific terms of the compact at issue —
not because of any concern about the nature of its
original jurisdiction. See 462 U.S. at 568 & n.14
(original jurisdiction did not “militate against New
Mexico’s theory” of deference, rather the compact
expressly provided that the commission’s determina-
tions “shall not be conclusive in any court”) (emphasis
added). Here, the Compact’s express terms state that
the Commission “is the judge” of whether a party has
complied with the terms of the Compact.

This Court routinely upholds deferential review
when commanded by statute and/or contract without
any negative implication for the dignity of its juris-
diction. For example, when parties to a contract

30

agree to submit their disputes to arbitration, judicial
review of the arbitrator’s award is strictly limited.
See, e.g., United Steelworkers of Am. v. Am. Mfg. Co.,
363 U.S. 564, 567-58 (1960) (“The function of the
court is very limited when the parties have agreed to
submit all questions of contract interpretation to the
arbitrator.”).

Here, the parties agreed that the Commission
would be the arbiter of their differences concerning
breach.® A reviewing court’s role, therefore, is limited
by statute and contract, just as in arbitration. The
Commission’s determination that North Carolina
breached the Compact should be accepted and af-
firmed by this Court.

B. North Carolina Breached The Compact
By Failing To Take “Appropriate Steps”
To Fulfill Its Obligations As Host State.

As host State, North Carolina was required to “take
appropriate steps to ensure that an application for a
license to construct and operate a facility of the des-

* The Special Master asserted that the Commission was bi-
ased against North Carolina in determining breach. See Second
Report 19. That accusation is incorrect and without basis in the
record. North Carolina assisted in creating the process for
determining breach, both during the original Compact negotia-
tions and in chairing the Committee that created the Adminis-
trative Sanctions Procedure. Undisputed Facts 9 63. North
Carolina knew the membership of the Commission and its role
as the arbiter of breach. ‘The hearing was presided over by
retired Judge VanKann. North Carolina was also given the
opportunity to participate in the Commission's determination
and never raised bias as an issue until long after the Commis-
sion’s determination, id., thus, forfeiting this claim. See Fid.
Fed. Bank, FSB v. Durga MA Corp., 386 F.3d 1306, 1313 (9th
Cir. 2004) (party's failure to object to partiality of an arbiter
with a known conflict until after the arbiter’s determination
waives the party's ability to challenge) (collecting cases).

31

ignated type [was] filed with and issued by the ap-
propriate authority.” Art. 5(C). North Carolina as-
sumed this duty when it was designated as host State
in 1986, and that duty remained in force at least until
North Carolina withdrew from the Compact in July
1999.

The Special Master recognized, however, that
North Carolina’s “efforts to complete the licensing
process essentially ceased at the end of 1997.” Sec-
ond Report 18. Indeed, in December 1997, North
Carolina voted to shut down the waste facility pro-
ject, and, by its own admission, refused to take fur-
ther steps to license a facility. See North Carolina
Admissions § 11 (after December 1997, “the Author-
ity did not thereafter take additional steps to site,
characterize, and, ultimately, license a waste disposal
facility.”) (emphasis added); Undisputed Facts ¥ 56;
see also Second Report 10 (“The parties do not dis-
pute that North Carolina did not take additional
steps to pursue a license for a waste facility [from
December 1997 until it withdrew}.”).

That fact — that as of December 1997, North Caro-
lina refused to pursue the license to build the re-
gional low-level radioactive waste disposal facility —
necessarily means that North Carolina breached its
Compact obligation to take “appropriate steps” to-
wards licensing. As a matter of law, North Carolina’s
failure to do so constituted non-performance of its
express duty under Article 5(C). See Franconia As-
socs. v. United States, 536 U.S. 129, 142-43 (2002)
(“Failure by the promisor to perform at the time indi-
cated for performance in the contract establishes an
immediate breach.”); see also Restatement (Second) of
Contracts § 235(2) (1981) (“When performance of a
duty under a contract is due any non-performance is a
breach.”) (emphasis added); 23 Williston & Lord,

32

supra, § 63:1, at 436 (“(Wjhen performance is due,
anything short of full performance is a breach.”).9
The Commission, therefore, is entitled to a judgment
of breach.

The Special Master declined to adopt this straight-
forward interpretation of North Carolina’s obligation
to take “appropriate steps.” Instead, he found the
term ambiguous and, by examining the parties’
course of performance, ultimately concluded appro-
priate steps included doing nothing towards licensing
a facility. The Speciai Master's analysis is wrong for
several reasons, as set forth below. Indeed, it is hard
to imagine how a party who ceases performance alto-
gether could be taking “appropriate steps” towards
fulfilling its obligations as the host State.

First, in the context in which it was used, the term
“appropriate steps’ is not ambiguous. It means pro-
ceeding through the steps required to hcense a waste
disposal facility. The meaning of this Compact provi-
sion is informed by the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as
amended by the Low-Level Radioactive Waste Policy
Amendments Act of 1985, and fully set out in the
United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission
(“NRC”) regulations. See 10 C.F.R. pt. 61.'° The laws

* Federal common-law contract principles govern the interpre-
tation and enforcement of interstate compacts. E.g., Kansas v
Colorado, 533 US. 1, 10-14 (2001) (relying on common-law
contract rules); Beebe v. Wash Metro. Area Transit Auth., 129
F.3d 1283, 1288-90 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (interstate compact is fed-
eral law and its interpretation and application are governed by
federal common law).

'° Under the Act, compacting states must site and hcense fa-
cilities as set out in the NRC regulations for licensing the dis.
posal of radioactive waste. See 42 U.S.C. § 202l1d(b)\(3); td
§ 2021(d)(2); see also Art. 6{(A)(2). The NRC regulations deta.)
the steps necessary to lheense and construct a low-level radioac

33
and regulations lay out appropriate steps towards
licensure of a low-level radioactive waste facility.

“(When parties contract with reference to an in-
dustry whose terms are defined by an active supervis-
ing agency. .., it is to be assumed in the absence of
evidence to the contrary, that they have that termi-
nology in mind.” Commercial Ins. Co. of Newark,
N.J. v. Gonzalez, 512 F.2d 1307, 1310 (1st Cir. 1975);
see also Superior Bus. Assistance Corp. v. United
States, 461 F.2d 1036, 1039 (10th Cir. 1972) (same)
(citing Keck v. United States, 172 U.S. 434 (1899)).
And, in fact, the record demonstrates that North
Carolina understood “appropriate steps” to mean
exactly what NRC regulations require. Immediately
following its designation as the next host State,
North Carolina identified the steps it would take,
including: (1) selection of a proposed site from which
data would be collected and analyzed to determine if
the site characteristics met the requirements of the
regulations; (2) acquisition of land; (3) selection of an
operator; (4) performance of any technical improve-
ments to the site required by the regulator; (5) ob-
taining licenses for the facility and achieving stan-
dards for the operation of the facility as required by
the regulator; (6) operation of the facility; (7) decom-
missioning of the site; and (8) perpetual care of the
site. See Subcommittee Report on the Roles of the
State and Private Sector in a Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Disposa! Facility (App. 516-18); see also North
Carolina Licensing Work Plan, May 31, 1996 (App.
229-33) (“The objective of the Plan is to guide activi-
ties necessary to... makeca... licensing decision.”).

tive waste facility. See 10 C.F.R. § 61.10; rd. §§ 61.11-.16. These
regulations give specific content to the phrase “approprmate
steps.”

34

However, in December 1997, North Carolina sent
the Commission a letter notifying it of the State’s
intention to “commence the orderly shutdown of the
project.” Dec. 19, 1997 Corgan letter to Hodes (App.
319). As noted, it is undisputed that over the next 19
months, while still a member of the Compact and the
designated host State, North Carolina failed to take
any steps, let alone “appropriate steps,” towards
obtaining or issuing a license to operate a low-level
radioactive waste disposal facility. See supra at 31.
It simply repudiated the Compact and did so while
insisting that it was the other party States who were
in the wrong by not providing North Carolina with
more money.

The Special Master noted that North Carolina en-
gaged in certain minimal activities from December
1997 to July 1999, and appears to have considered
these to be “appropriate steps.” For example, the
Special Master stated that North Carolina “con-
tinue[d] to fund the Authority for several years,
maintain[ed] the project’s records, and preserve[d]
the work done to date.” Second Report 18. But North
Carolina funded the Authority after December 1997
only in order to oversee “the orderly shutdown of the
project.” Dec. 19, 1997 Corgan letter to Hodes (App.
319). These activities thus were not steps towards
licensing and did not fulfill the State’s obligations
under Article 5(C).

The Second Report also incorrectly suggests that
North Carolina somehow discharged its duty to take
“appropriate steps” by seeking alternative funding
after December 1997. See Second Report 28, 36. The
record does not support this conclusion. ‘There is no
evidence that North Carolina made any funding pro-
posal, no evidence that the North Carolina Authority
sought anv loans, no evidence of any requests for

35

appropriations from North Carolina’s General As-
sembly, and no evidence that North Carolina sought
federal funds. To the contrary, the record reveals
only that North Carolina rejected a funding proposal]
made by the Commission. In light of this, the Second
Report was more accurate when it stated, in another
context, that after December 1997, all that North
Carolina did was “hope that alternative funding could
be secured.” Jd. at 27 (emphasis added). Hoping is
not an appropriate step.

Finally, the Special Master asserted that the par-
ties’ course of performance should be used in inter-
preting the term “appropriate steps.” Jd. at 23-28.
He noted that North Carolina had received funding to
assist its licensing of a facility; from this, he divined
that North Carolina was required to take steps to-
wards licensing a facility only so long as the funding
continued — 1.e., that it was appropriate for North
Carolina to cease concrete steps towards licensing
once the party States no longer provided a source of
funding. He stated that “the obligation [to take ‘ap-
propriate steps’ to secure a license] is properly con-
strued to be more akin to a promise to use reasonable
efforts than a promise to build a facility no matter
what the cost.” Jd. at 21. And, he found that, in light
of the cessation of funding, it was appropriate for
North Carolina simply “to fund the Authority and
preserve the project until it withdrew.” Jd. at 28.
This view suffers from numerous flaws and would
deprive the “appropriate steps” requirement of all
meaning.

First, although the parties’ course of performance
can assist in interpreting an ambiguous contract, it
cannot be used to contradict the unambiguous terms
of the agreement. 11 Williston & Lord, supra, § 31:4,
at 274-78 (“While the court may also look to course of

36

performance ... primary importance should be placed
upon the words of the contract....If the language
used by the parties is plain, complete, and unambigu-
ous, the intention of the parties must be gathered
from that language, and from that language
alone ....”) (emphasis added; footnotes omitted); see
also Cooper Distrib. Co. v. Amana Refrigeration, Inc.,
63 F.3d 262, 279 (3rd Cir. 1995) (Alito, J.) (“While
extrinsic evidence, such as the course of performance
evidence ...may be admissible to supplement or
explain the terms of the agreement, it cannot be used
to contradict unambiguous terms.”) (alterations and
quotation marks omitted).

The Compact is not ambiguous with respect to who
bears the responsibility for funding a low-level radio-
active waste facility. Significantly, it expressly states
that the Commission is not “responsible for any costs
associated with... the creation of any facility.” Art.
4(K); see Preliminary Report 20 (citing Art. 4(K))
(“[T]he Compact was drafted on the apparent as-
sumption that a State (such as North Carolina) des-
ignated as a host State would bear the costs of build-
ing its own disposal facility and would not receive
funding from the Commission.”); cf. N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 104G-4 (repealed 2000) (App. 34) (the Authority is
responsible to “site, finance, [and] build” a facility to
reccive the region’s low-level radioactive waste for
disposal.). In light of the Compact’s clear allocation
of funding responsibility, it was error for the Special
Master to find that North Carolina’s obligation to
take appropriate steps towards licensing was condi-
tioned upon the continued provision of funding.

Second, the Special Master concluded that North
Carolina’s sovereign status supported his view that
the term “appropriate steps” should bs interpreted by
the parties’ course of performance. Second Report 23

37

(citing Art. 3). He cited no authority in support of
this proposition. Regardless of any sovereign status,
however, course of performance is not applicable to
unambiguous contract terms. Just as when the fed-
eral government waives its immunity and enters a
contract, North Carolina is subject to the ordinary
principles of contract law and interpretation; these
rules do not change because a State is a contracting
party. Cf. Franconia Assocs., 536 U.S. at 141 (“Once
the United States waives its immunity and does
business with its citizens, it does so much as a party
never cloaked with immunity.”). This is particularly
true where, as here, both contracting parties are
sovereigns and the contract at issue is a Compact.
All party States made the same promise to each
other — to fund the licensing of a low-level radioactive
waste facility when it came their turn to be the host
State. Finally, as explained supra at 35-36, even if
resort to the parties’ course of performance is permis-
sible, it cannot be used to contradict the Compact’s
explicit provisions making clear that funding is ex-
clusively the responsibility of the host State.

Third, the Special Master used the parties’ course
of performance to give the term “appropriate steps” a
meaning that makes no sense in context. See Dolan
v. United States Postal Serv., 546 U.S. 481, 486
(2006) (“[i]Jnterpretation of a word or phrase depends
upon reading the whole statutory text, considering
the purpose and context of the statute”). The Com-
pact’s essential purpose is to provide for the coopera-
tive establishment of low-level radioactive waste
disposal facilities. To accomplish this, each host
State was responsible for funding the licensure of a
facility. The “appropriate steps” necessary to achieve
this purpose are evident, and North Carolina cannot
reasonably be said to have fulfilled its obligation to

38

take such steps merely by “preserv[ing] the project
until it withdrew.” Second Report 28. North Caro-
lina had a duty to continue to fund the licensing proc-
ess and take steps, t.e.. move forward towards licens-
ing.

Ultimately, however, the parties’ course of per-
formance does not support the Special Master’s deci-
sion that North Carolina took appropriate steps un-
der the Compact. It was North Carolina — not the
Commission — who bore the responsibility of funding
the siting and licensing of the facility. It is undis-
puted that shortly after entering the Compact and
becoming the host State, North Carolina enacted into
law its clear understanding that it would fund the
facility. N.C. Gen Stat. § 104G-4 (repealed 2000)
(App. 34) (The Authority is “to site, finance, build,
lease or operate, oversee, monitor and close {the re-
gional] facility.”) (emphasis added). To that end, the
North Carolina Authority’s Legal and Finance Com-
mittees immediately identified funding mechanisms,
including state appropriations, revenue bonds, pri-
vate loans, and federal public assistance bonds. See
Dec. 7, 1987 and Jan. 11, 1988 Minutes of North
Carolina Authority's Legal and Finance Committee
Meeting (App. 519-20 & 523-24). And, North Caro-
lina began appropriating funds.'! See 1987 N.C.

'' The Compact parties’ understanding was that each host
State, in turn, would fund the siting, hcensing, and construction
of a facility upfront and later use the fees and surcharges levied
on users of the completed facility to repay the state for those
expenditures, and then fund other state initiatives. See Nov. 17,
1988 Report to the Joint Legislative Commission on Govern.
ment Operations by the NC Authority (App. 528) (“It is the
understanding of the [North Carolina] Authority that all money
expended for the planning, developing, licensing, regulating,
constructing, operating and closing this disposal facility well be
paid for by the operation of the facility and that al! appropriated

39

Sess. Laws ch. 1086 (appropriating funds for “Low
Level Radioactive Waste Management Site Develop-
ment”) (App. 60).

Moreover, each time it requested funds from the
Commission, North Carolina recognized that the
Commission had no legal obligation to make those
payments.!2 In fact, Governor Hunt told his constitu-
ents as much only six months before North Carolina
stopped performing. May 19, 1997, Hunt letter to
Rimmler (App. 275) (“The Compact law... does not
provide a funding mechanism for the host state.
Indeed, that law requires the state which is currently
developing a site for use by the Compact members to
bear the full burden of the cost.”). On these undis-
puted facts, the parties’ course of performance does
not support the conclusion that the Commission was
responsible for funding the facility or that North
Carolina’s obligation to take appropriate steps to
provide a facility were conditioned on Commission
funding. The record conclusively demonstrates just
the opposite — that these were North Carolina's obli-
gations.

The Special Master placed particular reliance on
the February 1988 Commission resolution establish-
ing the Host State Assistance Fund as a significant
indication that costs were relevant in determining
whether North Carolina took “appropriate steps.”

money from the General Assembly will be repaid from this reve-
nue.’) (emphasis added).

‘2 See MacMillan, Executive Director of North Carolina Low-
level Radioactive Waste Management Authority, Dep. Tr. at
40:13-:17 (App. 470) (Question (by Ms. Kochler): “Was it your
understanding that [the Commission] wlas) obligated to make
lfunds requested by the Authority] available ..” Answer (by
Mr. MacMillan): “Well, I knew that at any time they could say
no”)

40

Second Report 25. Passed two years after contract
formation and stating that the fund is “necessary and
appropriate” for the construction of the facility, the
resolution cannot bear this weight. In fact, the reso-
lution clearly states that the Commission is not obli-
gated to provide financial assistance. Resolution,
Feb. 9, 1988 (“[T]he Commission, although not obli-
gated to do so under the Compact,” provides this
funding.) (App. 63). Furthermore, North Carolina
specifically recognized at the time it requested this
funding that the resolution’s language did not alter
the meaning of the Compact. See N.C. Gen Stat.
§ 104G-4 (repealed 2000) (App. 34).'° Finally, over
subsequent years, the Commission reiterated, and
North Carolina agreed, that North Carolina — not the
Commission or the party States — had a duty to fund
the facility.

‘8 This resolution provided only an initial sum of $200,000 for
assistance to any state designated as the next host State for
planning, administrative, and other pre-operational costs, i.e., a
small fraction of the total cost of the facility that North Carolina
voluntarily undertook to finance, license, and operate. See Dec.
7, 1987 Minutes of North Carolina Low-Level Radioactive Waste
Management Authority's Legal and Finance Committee Meeting
(App. 519) (“[T)he Southeast Compact Commission has budgeted
$200,000 per year for utilization of the next host State to par-
tially off-set pre-operational costs.”) (emphasis added). It thus
cannot be viewed as altering the parties’ understanding of North
Carolina's fundamental obligation to finance the project under
the Compact. See Resolution, Feb. 9, 1988 (App. 63). To be sure,
the 1998 resolution stated that certain funding was both “ap.
propriate” and “necessary.” However, this language applied to
the small amount of “seed” money provided for by the actual
resolution. None of the parties ever understood that this was a
statement applying to all funding by the Commission over the
entire eleven-year period. In fact, North Carolina continued to
reiterate, long after this resolution, that it - and not the Com
mission — had the responsibility to fund the facility.

4)

The Special Master read North Carolina's obliga-
tions out of the Compact, viewing the Compact as
aspirational, rather than treating it as a federal stat-
ute and contract. He opined that “each of the partici-
pating States hoped to receive the benefit of being
able to dispose of waste at a facility outside its bor-
ders, while avoiding the burdens of being the State
selected to host the waste disposal facility.” Second
Report 13. He claimed, further, that the Compact
was “designed to maximize the participating States’
ability to extricate themselves from the arrangement
if they had the misfortune of being chosen as the host
State” and that “[u]nder such a regime, it would be
surprising indeed if a facility were actually con-
structed without significant assistance from the
States not selected as hosts or from the Commission,
drawing on other sources of revenue.” Jd. at 14. This
ineffectual reading of the Compact and the commit-
ments it involved cannot be reconciled with the facts:
The Compact is a federal statute, and Congress in-
tended to address — not avoid — the problem of low-
level radioactive waste disposal when it authorized
and then enacted into law these regional waste dis-
posal compacts. Once chosen as a host State, North
Carolina was obligated by the Compact, at a mini-
mum, to take “appropriate steps to ensure that [a]
license to construct and operate a facility... [wal]s
filed with and issued by the appropriate authority.’
Art. 5(C). This it did not do.

C. North Carolina Breached Its Implied
Covenant Of Good Faith And Fair Deal-

ing.
Independently, North Carolina breached the Com-
pact when, after inducing the other party States to

invest more than eleven years and almost $80 million
in the development of a regiona! waste disposal facil-

42

ity, it ceased performing based on the Commission’s
denial of funding and then withdrew from the Com-
pact on the eve of the sanctions hearing. In these
circumstances, North Carolina’s withdrawal breached
its implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing.

“Every contract imposes upon each party a duty of
good faith and fair dealing in its performance and
enforcement.” Restatement (Second) of Contracts
§ 205 (emphasis added). The duty of good faith and
fair dealing “is based on fundamenta! notions of fair-
ness.” 2 E. Allan Farnsworth, Farnsworth on Con-
tracts, § 7.17, at 355-56 (3d ed. 2004) (citing U.C.C.
§ 1-304). It requires of each party “faithfulness to an
agreed common purpose and consistency with the
justified expectations of the other party.” Restatement
(Second) of Contracts § 205, emt. a. While “[a] com-
plete catalogue of types of bad faith is impossible,”
commonly recognized examples include “evasion of
the spirit of the bargain,” “lack of diligence,” and
“willful rendering of imperfect performance.” Id.
§ 205, emt. d. Failure to perform im good faith is a
breach. 23 Williston & Lord, supra, § 63:21, at 497-
98 (“the failure to perform a duty when performance
is due is a breach,...as, for example, is the case
where there is a breach of the duties of good faith and
fair dealing’).

To be sure, North Carolina could withdraw from
the Compact; it simply could not do so in bad faith.
North Carolina’s withdrawal from the Compact, in
this instance, was the epitome of bad faith and unfair
dealing. As noted above, North Carolina sought and
obtained almost $80 million to assist it in fulfilling its
Compact obligations and, ultimately, to produce a
waste disposal facility. While doing so, North Caro-
lina repeatedly reaffirmed its commitment to com-
plete a facility. See, eg., N.C. Governor's Press Re-

43

lease (Nov. 8, 1989) (App. 75), (“The task of siting and
operating a low-level radioactive waste disposal facil-
ity is a commitment the State of North Carolina has
made and one which | am personally committed to
keeping.”); Oct. 25, 1990, Gov. Martin letter to
Campbell (App. 92), (“North Carolina remains com-
mitted to fulfilling its obligations to the Compact to
serve as the next host state.”); Apr. 4, 1991, Gov.
Martin letter to Hodes (App. 102), (“North Carolina
expresses its continued highest level of commitment
to the timely establishment of the... facility”) (em-
phases added).

But, when the party States ceased providing fund-
ing, North Carolina refused to perform, claiming that
this cessation eliminated its duty to do so. North
Carolina made this claim in the face of unambiguous
Compact language stating that the Commission is not
responsible for funding the host State’s facility. Fi-
nally, with a sanctions complaint pending against it,
North Carolina withdrew from the Compact seeking
to escape accountability. This opportunistic conduct
is Inconsistent with the Compact and with the State’s
duty of good faith and fair dealing; it also undermines
the stability of Compacts and the predictability of
contractual relations. See, e.g., Mkt. Streei Assocs.
Ltd. P’ship v. Frey, 941 F.2d 588, 595 (7th Cir. 199]
(“The office of the doctrine of good faith is to forbid
the kinds of opportunistic behavior that a mutually
dependent, cooperative relationship might enable in
the absence of a rule.”).

The Special Master determined that the duty of
good faith and fair dealing does not apply here. First,
he cited considerations of federalism, stating that
‘judicial imposition of compact terms beyond those
for which the States have expressly bargained poses
risks similar to those inherent in interpreting am-

44

biguous federal statutes to impose obligations on
States in areas... in which the States have exercised
‘traditional and primary power.” Second Report 30
(quoting Solid Waste Agency of N. Cook County v.
U.S. Army Corps of Eng’rs, 531 U.S. 159, 174 (2001)).

But, this solicitude for North Carolina ignores that
its contractual partners are also sovereigns. When
States contract with fellow States, federal common-
law contract principles apply. Oklahoma v. New
Mexico, 501 U.S. 221, 245 (1991) (Rehnquist, C.J.,
concurring 1n part and dissenting in part) (an inter-
state compact “remains a contract which is subject to
normal rules of enforcement and construction”); see
also Beebe v. Wash. Metro. Area Transit Auth., 129
F.3d 1283, 1288-90 (D.C. Cir. 1997) Gnterstate com-
pact is federal law whose interpretation is governed
by federal common law). The implied duty of good
faith is such a principle. In Tymshare, Inc. v. Covell
727 F.2d 1145, 1153 (D.C. Cir. 1984), then-Judge
Scalia explained that the modern expression of “good
faith” is a surrogate for the long-standing common-
law principle that there are “implied obligation|[s] or
limitation[s]” in a contract. See id. at 1152 ‘citing
Wood v. Lucy, Lady Duff-Gordon, 118 N.E. 214, 214
(N.Y. 1917)). When sovereigns contract, each is enti-
tled to the benefit of normal contract-law principles.

The Special Master also wrongly believed that if he
were to read a duty of good faith into the Compact,
that would limit North Carolina’s express right to
withdraw. Second Report 31. While the Compact
states that “any party state may withdraw from this
compact,” Art. 7(G), it does not authorize a State to
withdraw in bad faith or for any reason whatsoever,
no matter how arbitrary or unreasonable and no
matter whether the State’s withdrawal would defeat
substantial and justified reliance interests of the

45

other party States.!14 The Compact cannot reasonably
be read to authorize this type of bad faith with-
drawal.!5

The structure of the Compact and the statements of
the contracting parties provide the best evidence of
the parties’ understanding of their mutual commit-
ments. Both confirm that the parties understood and
intended each party State to undertake its respective
responsibilities under the Compact in good faith. The
Tymshare court concluded that the appropriate ques-
tion is “whether it was reasonably understood by the

'‘¢ Many courts have recognized that an express right to ter-
minate a contract must be exercised consistently with the duty
of good faith and fair dealing, particularly where, as here, the
contractual relations among the parties “involve a special ele-
ment of reliance.” See, e.g., Bohne v. Computer Assocs. Int'l,
Inc., 445 F. Supp. 2d 177, 181 (D. Mass. 2006) (quotation marks
omitted) (collecting cases), rev'd on other grounds, 541 F.3d 141
(Ist Cir. 2008); United Roasters, Inc. v. Colgate Palmolive Co.,
649 F 2d 985, 989 (4th Cir. 1981) (“[wjhen termination is op-
pressive, when it would frustrate expectations reasonably held,
though unsecured by express contractual agreements and when
it will impose substantial losses upon the other party, applica-
tion of the [good-faith] principle may well be called for”);
Randolph v. New England Mut. Life Ins. Co., 526 F.2d 1383,
1386 (6th Cir. 1975) (duty of good faith applies to “the exercise
of a facially unrestricted termination clause’).

'* The Special Master attempted to distinguish Entergy Ar-
kansas, Inc. v. Nebraska, 358 F.3d 528, 547-48 (8th Cir. 2004),
where the Eighth Circuit held that the duty of good faith applied
to an interstate compact, by noting that there was an express
provision in the Compact obligating the States to act in good
faith. Second Report 31, n.3. However, in analyzing the issue,
the Eighth Circuit looked to the Restatement (Second) of Con-
tracts and cited this Court's reference to the Restatement in
another interstate compact case, Texas v. New Mexico, 482 U.S.
124, 129 (1987). The Restatement similarly compels application
of the good faith doctrine here. See Restatement (Second) of
Contracts § 205

46

parties to th[e] contract that there were at least cer-
tain purposes for which [an] expressly conferred
power... could not be employed.” 727 F.2d at 1153.
North Carolina has admitted that it understood that
the Compact required it to act in good faith. “The
obligation conferred on North Carolina under the
terms of the Compact was to work in good faith to
construct a facility, unless and until North Carolina
exercised its right to withdraw from the Compact and
forgo the benefits of membership.” Def. Reply to Mot.
to Dismiss at 19 (emphasis added).'® North Caro-
lina’s cessation of performance based on the Commis-
sion’s refusal to provide further funds followed by
withdrawal when sanctions were threatened consti-
tutes bad faith as a matter of law.

Regardless of the Special Master’s contrary view,
the “duty of good faith” applies to “the exercise of a
facially unrestricted termination clause,” Randolph
v. New England Mut. Life Ins. Co., 526 F.2d 1383,
1386 (6th Cir. 1975), unless the express language or
the structure of the contract requires another read-
ing. See Tymshare, 727 F.2d at 1154. Nothing in the

'* A contract can be written so “as to leave decisions abso-
lutely to the uncontrolled discretion of one of the parties.”
Tymshare, 727 F.2d at 1153. But “the trick 1s to tell when a
contract has been so drawn — and surely the mere recitation of
an express power is not always the test.” Jd. (emphasis in origi-
nal). “[T]o say that every expressly conferred contractual power
is of this nature is virtually to read the doctrine of good
faith... out of existence.” /d. at 1153-54 (emphasis added) If
the express terms of the Compact were enough to allow the
states unlimited discretion to withdraw, there would be no
implied duty of good faith. Jd. at 1153 (“|Wle must reject at the
outset the proposition... that as to acts and conduct authorized
by the express provisions of the contract, no covenant of good
faith and fair dealing can be implied which forbids such acts and
conduct.”) (internal quotation marks and alteration omitted).

47

text or structure of the Compact suggests that the
party States have been relieved of their obligation to
act in good faith.

Indeed, reading the Compact to allow bad faith
withdrawals would render the contract illusory. On
this reading, party States can reap the benefits of
Compact membership and yet withdraw at any time
after being designated the host State and do so in bad
faith. This Court should not read the Compact cyni-
cally as the Special Master did — to render it self-
defeating. E.g., Restatement (Second) of Contracts
§ 76, cmt. d (“Words of promise do not constitute a
promise if they make performance entirely optional
with the purported promisor. Such words, often re-
ferred to as forming an illusory promise, do not con-
stitute consideration for a return promise.”) (citation
omitted). Instead, the Court shou!d enforce the con-
tracting parties’ duty of good faith and fair dealing
and find that bad faith withdrawals constitute a
Compact breach. See, e.g., 1 Farnsworth, supra,
§ 2.13, at 137 (courts “salvage! ] [an otherwise illu-
sory contract] by requiring that one of the parties
perform in good faith”).'7

‘7 Even if the Compact were illusory, the Plaintiff States
would be entitled to restitution of the benefit they conferred on
North Carolina in the mistaken belief that the parties had
entered imto u legally binding contract. See Restatement (Third)
of Restitution & Unjust Enrichment § 5(2) (T.D. No. 1, 2001)
(“[t}he mistake that will serve as the basis for rescission and
restitution... 1s a misapprehension of fact or law on the part of
the transferor, where (a) but for the mistake the transfer would
not have taken place; and (b) the transferor does not bear the
risk of the mistake”); id. § 31, cmt. a (T.D. No. 3, 2004) (“{I)f a
purported agreement proves after performance to be unenforce-
able because of a defect in contract formation - with the result
that the claimant has performed in the mistaken behef that a
contract exists when in fact it docs not — the resulting restitu-

48

D. North Carolina Repudiated The Con-
tract.

North Carolina also repudiated the contract. A re-
pudiation is “a statement by the obligor to the obligee
indicating that the obligor will commit a breach that
would of itself give the obligee a claim for damages
for total breach.” Restatement (Second) of Contracts
§ 250(a), see also Mobil Oil Exploration & Producing
Se., Inc. v. United States, 530 U.S. 604, 608 (2000)
(same); 9 Arthur Linton Corbin, Corbin on Contracts,
§ 959, at 759 (Interim ed. 2002) (repudiation occurs
when “the promisor makes a definite statement to the
promisee that he either will not or can not perform
his contract”); see also id., § 972, at 798.

North Carolina repudiated the Compact when it
flatly informed the Commission and the member
States that it would “commence the orderly shutdown
of the project” and thereafter ceased performing.
Dec. 19, 1997, Corgan letter to Hodes (App. 319). The
Special Master failed to mention or analyze North
Carolina’s repudiating statements.'*

By its terms, the Compact requires North Carolina
to “take appropriate steps to ensure that an applica-

tion claim is generally regarded as one for benefits conferred by
mustake.”).

'8 The Special Master appeared to misunderstand Plaintiffs’
repudiation argument, describing it as follows: because “North
Carolina took the position that it could not complete the licens
ing process on its own and decreased its expenditures from
approximately $2 million a year to approximately $440,000 a
year... North Carolina repudiated its obhgations under the
Compact.” Second Report 27. That is not Plaintiffs’ argument
Instead, Plaintiffs argue that North Carolina repudiated the
contract on December 19, 1997, when it informed Pla.ntiffs that
it would commence the orderly shutdown of the project and take
no steps to license a faciltty as required by the Compact

49

tion for a license to construct and operate a facility of
the designated type is filed with and issued by the
appropriate authority.” Art. 5(C). However, in a
letter dated December 19, 1997, addressed to Chair-
man Hodes of the Commission and copied to the
“Southeast Compact Member State Governors,”
Chairman Corgan of the North Carolina Authority
stated that the cessation of funding from the Com-
mission had “made further performance by the Au-
thority impossible” and left the Authority with “no
alternative but to commence the orderly shutdown of
the project.” Dec. 19, 1997 Letter (App. 317, 319).
On the same day, the Authority passed resolutions
directing the Authority’s contractors and staff “to
begin an orderly cessation of facility development
activities.” Dec. 19, 1997 Minutes of North Carolina
Authority Meeting (App. 322).

These statements constitute “a refusal to render
any further performance whatever under the con-
tract,” 9 Corbin supra, § 972, at 798, and, therefore,
constitute a classic repudiation. The repudiation is
underlined by North Carolina’s admission that it took
no steps to license or site a facility after December 19,
1997. See Second Report 10; see also Undisputed
Facts 4 55; Def. Statement of Material Facts Not in
Dispute 44] 67-70.!9

‘§ The Special Master also belheved that North Carolina did
not repudiate the contract because it did not “act in a way that
rendered it unable to perform under the Compact.” Second
Report 27. North Carolina's ability to perform does not preclude
a finding of repudiation. Repudiation occurs one of two ways:
when a party “cannot” perform or “will not” perform “at least
some of its obligations under the contract.” 2 Farnsworth, supra
§ 8.21, at 558. North Carolina, while able to perform, refused to
do so. That is a repudiation.

50

The Special Master seemed to believe that North
Carolina did not repudiate its obligations because it
stated it was willing to perform if the Commission
provided further funding. Second Report 27 (“North
Carolina did not state that it intended to breach the
Compact. To the contrary, North Carolina took the
position that it was not obligated under the Compact
to bear all of the costs associated with licensing a
facility.”); see also Def. North Carolina’s Opp’n to Pls.’
Mot. for Summ. J. at 15 (“Had the Commission pro-
vided further funding to North Carolina, the Author-
ity would have resumed the licensing process.”).

This conditional willingness to perform only if other
parties to the Compact forgo their rights under the
agreement does not alter North Carolina’s repudia-
tion. “[L]anguage that under a fair reading ‘amounts
to a statement of intention not to perform except on
conditions which go beyond the contract’ constitutes a
repudiation.” Restatement (Second) of Contracts
§ 250, cmt. 6 (quoting U.C.C. § 2-610, off. cmt. 2);
accord 2 Farnsworth, supra, § 8.21, at 562.

Under the express terms of the Compact, the Com-
mission “is not responsible for any costs associated
with ... the creation of any facility.” Art. 4(K). The
obligation to fund the facility was North Carolina’s,
which it recognized. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 104G-4 (re.
pealed 2000) (App. 34) (the Authority is responsible
to “site, finance, Jand] build” a facility to receive the
region's low-level radioactive waste for disposal.).
North arolina’s refusal to fulfill its obligations as
host State absent funding clearly “amountfed] to a
statement of intention not to perform except on condi-
tions which go beyond the contract” and therefore
“constitut([ed] a repudiation.” Restatement (Second) of
Contracts § 250 cmt. b (internal quotation omitted).

5]

Finally, North Carolina cannot avoid repudiation
by pointing to its efforts to “fund the authority for
several years, maintain the project’s records, and
preserve the work done to date,” Second Report 18, in
the “hope” that alternative funding could be secured.
This conduct is simply another aspect of North Caro-
lina’s conditional refusal to perform, seeking to ex-
tract from its contract partners funds that they were
not contractually required to provide.

North Carolina repudiated its Compact obligations
when it made a definite statement that it would not
take steps to site and license a facility, and made
good that threat.

lil. THE PLAINTIFFS ARE ENTITLED TO
RESTITUTION.

North Carolina’s breach of the Compact entitles the
party States to standard contractual remedies, in-
cluding restitution. 9 Corbin, supra, § 946, at 717
(“For every breach of contract, irrespective of its size
or kind, the law will give an immediate remedy.”).”°
When a breach of contract occurs, the non-breaching
party is entitled to restitution of any benefit he con-
ferred on the breaching party, and that is the relief
Plaintiffs seek. E.g., Restatement (Second) of Con-
tracts § 344, cmt. d (Restitution is the appropriate
contract remedy where, “instead of seeking to enforce
an agreement, [the injured party} claims relief on the

*° In the alternative, the States are entitled to damages. Re-
statement (Second) of Contracts § 236. cmt. a (“Every breach
gives risc to a claim for damages, and may give rise to other
remedies.”). Jd. § 347, cmt. a (“Contract damages are ordinarily
based on the injured party’s expectation interest and are in-
tended to give him the benefit of his bargain by awarding him a
sum of money that will, to the extent possible, put him in as
good a position as he would have been in had the contract been
performed.”).

52

ground that the other party has been unjustly en-
riched as a result of some benefit conferred under the
agreement.”).

The principles governing restitution as a remedy
for breach of contract are set forth in § 373 of the
Restatement (Second) of Contracts. See Mobil Oil,
530 U.S. at 608 (relying on § 373 for the “relevant
principles”). Subject to an exception not applicable
here, § 373 provides:

[Ojn a breach by non-performance that gives rise
to a claim for damages for total breach or on a
repudiation, the injured party is entitled to resti-
tution for any benefit that he has conferred on
the other party by way of part performance or re-
hlance.

Under § 373, the party States are entitled to resti-
tution because (1) North Carolina committed a breach
by non-performance that gave rise to a claim for dam-
ages for total breach and a repudiation; (2) North
Carolina received a benefit; (3) the benefit was con-
ferred by the party States; and (4) the benefit was
conferred by way of part performance “or reliance.”
See supra at II.B.

Critically, the Commission, acting on behalf of the
party States, did not provide funds in performance of
the Compact — neither the States nor the Commission
had a duty under the Compact to provide North Caro-
lina with funding. But the funds were provided in
reliance on the Compact and on North Carolina’s
representations thereunder. Put another way, the
Commission, on behalf of the Party States, would not
have provided funds absent North Carolina’s oblga-
tion and commitment to the other States to develop
and operate a regional facility as required by the
Compact. Plaintiffs were fully justified in that reli-

53

ance because North Carolina repeatedly affirmed
that it would develop and operate a regional facility
and otherwise fulfill its obligations under the Com-
pact. See supra, at 8, 42-43. An injured party is
entitled to restitution of benefits conferred in justifi-
able reliance on an agreement. Restatement (Second)
of Contracts § 370, cmt. a (restitution is appropriate
‘if the party seeking restitution relies on the contract
in some [way other than by performance]”).

Accordingly, the Plaintiffs are entitled to restitu-
tion of $80 million, plus interest. See, e.g., 12 Corbin,
supra, § 1108, at 29 (“If the plaintiff has made money
payments to the defendant and there is later a failure
of consideration therefore, involving a repudiation by
the defendant or any other breach going to the es-
sence of the contract, the plaintiff can maintain an
action for restitution of the money so paid to the de-
fendant, with interest.”).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should adopt
Plaintiffs’ exceptions and order the enforcement of
the sanctions order or, in the alternative, order North
Carolina to pay full restitution.

Respectfully submitted,

TROY KING CARTER G. PHILLIPS *

ATTORNEY GENERAL VIRGINIA A. SEITZ

OFFICE OF THE KRISTIN GRAHAM KOEHLER
ATTORNEY GENERAL ANGELA M. XENAKIS

Alabama State House HL ROGERS

11 South Union Street SIDLEY AUSTIN LLP

Third Floor 1501 K Street, N.W.

Montgomery, Al. 36130 Washington, D.C. 20005
(334) 242-7300 (202) 736-8000

BILL MCCOLLUM
ATTORNEY GENERAL
OFFICE OF THE

ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
PL-01, The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399
(850) 414-3300

WILLLAM C. MIMS
ATTORNEY GENERAL
OFFICE OF THE

ATTORNEY GENERAL
900 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 786-2071

54

ROBERT E. COOPER JR.
ATTORNEY GENERAL
OFFICE OF THE

ATTORNEY GENERAL
P.O. Box 20207
Nashville, TN 37202
(615) 741-3491

HENRY W. JONES JR.

JORDAN PRICE WALL GRAY

JONES & CARLTON
P.O. Box 10669
Raleigh, NC 27605
(919) 828-2501

Counsel for Plaintiffs

June 24, 2009

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0522%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
