# Amicus Curiae Brief — Holder v. Humanitarian Law Project

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0518%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 561 U.S. 1

## Text

; Supreme Court, U.S.
\\ FILED
Nos. 08-1398 & 098 NOV 2 3 2009

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ERIC H. HOLDER, JR., Arrorney GENERAL, et al.,

Petitioners,
v.
HUMANITARIAN LAW PROJECT, et ad.,
Respondents.

HUMANITARIAN LAW PROJECT, et al.,

Cross-Petitioners,

Vv.
ERIC H. HOLDER, JR., ArrorNEY GENERAL, et al.,
Respondents.

On WRITs OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES Court OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

—
——

BRIEF FOR ACADEMIC RESEARCHERS AND THE CITIZEN
Mepis Law Project as Auici CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENTs/CROSS-PETITIONERS

SipDNEY S. ROSDEITCHER Burt NEUBORNE
1285 Avenue of the Americas Counsel of Record
New York, NY 10019-6064 ELIZABETH GOITEIN
(212) 373-3000 EMILY BERMAN
Davip UDELL
THE BRENNAN CENTER FOR

‘
U
w

Justice at NYU ScuHovut or Law
161 Avenue of the Americas

12th Floor
New York. NY 10013
(212) 998-6730

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

aq” oe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE ...............c:cecceeceeeenees 1

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF
TET siininsscnngenindensieltninmeedtbiiendeninicindieiebiaainceie 7

TE acritesicchineicciiiehineidealasibciniaidniiebrcniceaaasiisigiarseiacensienats 10

IT.

ITT.

THE MATERIAL SUPPORT STATUTE IS
UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND
COULD CHILL PROTECTED SPEECH... 10

THE APPLICATION OF THE STATUTE TO
PURE SPEECH THAT HAS NEITHER THE
PURPOSE NOR EFFECT OF AIDING
TERRORIST GROUPS’ UNLAWFUL
ACTIVITIES VIOLATES THE FIRST AND
FIFTH AMENDMENTS .....................cccee eee 24

THE COURT SHOULD READ THE
MATERIAL SUPPORT STATUTE, WHEN
APPLIED TO PURE SPEECH, TO
REQUIRE BOTH A SPECIFIC INTENT TO
FURTHER AN UNLAWFUL END AND A
LIKELIHOOD OF HARM ........00000........02.... 28

IID ides sic canldincididnabiaistinipsaieiincheiiammiaiieddiamennte 33

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Abuelhawa v. United States,

Se i caeesnnneneiien 32
Almendarez-Torres v. United States,

ES EER Ee a a Ne 28
Aptheker v. Secretary of State,

EE A Re nO CRE RR OO 30
Baggett v. Bullitt,

a casssnbusenonsanel 11
Brandenburg v. Ohio,

I sas sl accacadbuceseelasas 24
Bridges v. California,

I aes 24
City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Pub. Co.,

ns aieiacioaibiintls dabei’ 11
Crowell v. Benson,

EEE ISI ee RA BS DRI i nF 28
Dennis v. United States,

I a 24, 25
Edward J. DeBartolo v. Fla. Gulf Coast Bldg. &

Constr. Trades Council, 485 U.S. 568 (1988)..... 28
Elfbrandt v. Russell,

RR cee RCI FE ONT 25, 33
Foti v. City of Menlo Park,

146 F.3d 629 (9th Cir. 1998) ........... AEM OeIe eeE A 11

Grayned v. City of Rockford,
a sais cic aleeinceeialo nal 11

-iii-

Herndon v. Lowry,

Se a 2 ace nasennniobamninmananna 23, 24
Humanitarian Law Project v. Mukasey,

552 F.3d 916 (9th Cir. 2009) ..............00.... 11, 25, 30
Keyishian v. Board of Regents,

Nee ie caaltl 11
Lorillard v. Pons,

EPR A a EER te nd ONE ee 32
NAACP v. Button,

i ad gibi 11
Public Citizen v. U.S. Dep’t of Justice,

a caehdbiisacinibapenaionind 28
Scales v. United States,

AR Re Sense nae passim
Smith v. Goguen,

REET EAR TE REE et IO EA 11, 23
Texas v. Johnson,

ET RR A a a 24
United States v. Del. & Hudson Co.,

a. scsisipaiticiticbmenpiiicnaah 29
United States v. O’Brien,

SO cesapemnenianeienni 26, 27
United States v. Robel,

gs GENIE aL een meee ane wae ee 30, 33
United States v. Thirty-Seven Photographs,

Ne ct sdenbbdiushdamiaia 28

Yates v. United States,
ee ce saieuinesnneninmennens 29, 31

-1V-

Statutes & Legislative Material

iss cictreaticndanonnamuminnsecioniion 1,16
ies diese sibiaiynabemnnienneigneilininn 1
i so scsi esimsiadomienennds 19, 32
I is scceicintineceenbionnsninentneneiels 21
Ce ii snticcnnnsknsnsestiounanacaeernen 20, 33
ERE ae a Fo 29
H.R. Rep. No. 104-518 (1996) (Conf. Rep.), as
reprinted in 1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 944 .............0.008 32

Other Authorities

American Society of News Editors’ Statement of
EN A SES ER RS Bu Rie aver Ne 8 No aCe 13

Associated Press Managing Editors,
Statement of Ethical Principles..................0....... 13

H. Russell Bernard, Research Methods in
Anthropology: Qualitative and Quaniitative

Approaches (4** ed. 2006) ...................:eccesecceeceeees 12
Andrea Elliott, A Call to Jihad Answered in America,

N.Y. Times, Juiy 12, 2008, at Al. ........................ 17
Clifford Geertz, The Interpretation of Cultures

A eS ee a 12

Michael Genzuk, A Rinthotis of Ethnographic
Research (Occasional Paper Series, Center for
Multilingual, Multicultural Research, Rossier
School of Education, University of Southern
California, 2003), available at

-V-

http://www.rcf.usc.edu/~genzuk/Ethnographic_

STII siccissinccnicninesevintsninmaniguiaiimmemmaamaaa 12
Hearst Newspapers:
Statement of Professional Principles ................. 13

Inside the Jihad: Coverage by Michael Moss and
Sauad Mekhennet, N.Y. Times, available at
http://topics.nytimes.com/topics/news/
internationalseries/insidethejihad/index.html.. 15

Mousa Abu Marzook, Hamas Speaks,
L.A. Times, Jan. 6, 2009, at Al5......................... 17

Souad Mekhennet, Michael Moss, Eric Schmitt,
Elaine Sciolino, & Margot Williams, Ragtag
Insurgency Gains a Lifeline From Al Qaeda, N.Y.

eG, Pelet 0, Ts GIRS sinsssiiciorestenteinane 15
Serena Nanda & Richard L. Warms, Cultural

Anthropology (9th ed. 2006).................:ccccceecee eee 12
‘New’ al Qaeda Tape May Contain Old Clip of bin

Laden, CNN.com, July 15, 2007 ......................... 17

Press Release, U.S. Dep’t of Defense, Detainee
Convicted of Terrorism Charge At Military
Commission Trial (Nov. 3, 2008), available at
http://www.defenselink.mil/releases/release.aspx?
PO cv cesnccsincnscinsansssesmsntubianonamamemaies 18

Reuters, Handbook of Journalism (2008), available
at http://handbook.reuters.com/extensions/

docs/pdf/handbookofjournalism pdf .................... 13
Society of Professional Journalists,
CE Gr Be CR asrnenncc cosccccesnencasntscccanmemnaall 13

Adrian Vermeule, Saving Constructions,
OE Came. Bn, i. BU Ue GI e Poses ceneseceseccsaninissbblincenniant 29

-Vi-
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary of the

English Language (19938) ...............cccccccesccccsessoees 21

Ahmed Yousef, Engage With Hamas; We Earned Our
Support, Wash. Post, June 20, 2007, at Al9...... 18

Ahmed Yousef, What Hamas Wants, N.Y. Times,
ee cccncceunesessccccoece 18

Mahmoud al-Zahar, No Peace Without Hamas, Wash.
I EE ED cacccccccccaccsccccncoscsescece 18

eRe
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE!

Amici are academic researchers and a professional
association representing the interests of journalists
who work in fields requiring professional contact
with a wide variety of foreign groups, some of which
have been or may be designated as foreign terrorist
organizations by the United States government
pursuant to 8 U.S.C. § 1189(a)(1). Sustained verbal
communication with, or concerning, such groups is
often essential to the successful performance of these
researchers’ and journalists’ professional
responsibilities, which in turn enhances public
understanding on issues of vital international
importance. If this Court endorses the government’s
position concerning the broad reach and
constitutionality of 18 U.S.C. § 2339B, which
criminalizes the provision of “material support or
resources” to proscribed groups, these individuals
will be forced to carry out their professional
activities in a climate of fear and uncertainty
because, given the statute’s vague and amorphous
prohibitions, it is impossible to predict whether a
given well-intentioned communication might be
construed by the government as falling within the
statutory prohibition.

' The parties have consented to the filing of this brief. No
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part, and
no counsel! or party made a monetary contribution intended to
fund the preparation or submission of this brief. No person
other than Amici Curiae or their counsel made a monetary
contribution to its preparation or submission.

~~ -

Amici urge the Court to provide effective and
constitutionally adequate protection for speakers
whose professional duties require them_ to
communicate with, or about, proscribed groups for
purely lawful purposes. Such protection could be
provided by construing the ban on “material support
or resources’ to apply only to communications that
are (1) intended to advance the proscribed groups’
unlawful activities; and (2) likely to have such an
effect. If the Court finds that the statute’s text
resists such a _ saving construction, it should
invalidate the statute’s application to the speech at
issue in this case as violative of the First and Fifth
Amendments to the United States Constitution.

Amici include the following:

Lori Allen is Lecturer in Contemporary Middle
Eastern Politics and Society in the Department of
Middle Eastern Studies, University of Cambridge,
UK. She is currently an Academy Scholar at the
Harvard Academy for International and Area
Studies, where she is writing a book about human
rights and the politics of suffering in Palestinian
nationalism entitled Victims of Politics: Human
Rights Contradictions and the Paradox of Palestine.
In addition to a number of articles published in
Middle East Report, recent publications include
articles in Cultural Anthropology, American
Ethnologist, and Arab Studies Journal. Her research
has been supported by grants and fellowships from
Brown University, the United States Institute of
Peace, the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation,
the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship

x

Foundation, the Social Science Research Council, and
the British Academy, among others.

Danny Hoffman is an Assistant Professor of
Anthropology at the University of Washington in
Seattle. Dr. Hoffman’s ethnographic research
focuses on youth and contemporary’ militia
movements in Sierra Leone and Liberia. His work
has been published in European and American
journals devoted to African Studies, Anthropology,
Cultural Studies and Political Science. In 2006, Dr.
Hoffman served as an expert witness for the United
Nations war crimes tribunal in Sierra Leone
following fieldwork with that country’s Civil Defense
Forces militia.

Louis Kriesberg is Professor Emeritus of
Sociology, Maxwell Professor Emeritus of Social
Conflict Studies, and founding director of the
Program on the Analysis and Resolution of Conflicts
(1986—1994), all at Syracuse University. In addition
to over 125 book chapters and articles, his published
books include: Conflict Transformation and
Peacebuilding (co-ed., 2009); Constructive Conflicts
(1998, 2003, 2007); International Conflict Resolution
(1992); Timing the De-Escalation of International
Conflicts (co-ed., 1991); Intractable Conflicts and
Their Transformation (co-ed., 1989); Social Conflicts
(1973, 1982); Social Inequality (1979); Mothers in
Poverty (1970); Social Processes in International
Relations (ed., 1968); and Research in Social
Movements, Conflicts and Change (ed., Vols. 1-14,
1978-1992). He was President of the Society for the
Study of Social Problems (1983—1984), and he

~~

lectures, consults, and provides training regarding
conflict resolution, security issues, and peace
studies.

Carolyn Nordstrom is Professor of Anthropology
at the University of Notre Dame. Her principle
areas of interest are political violence and peace,
transnational extra-legal economies, and
globalization. She has conducted extensive in-site
fieldwork in war zones worldwide, with long-term
interests in Southern Africa and South Asia. Her
books include: Global Outlaws: Crime, Money, and
Power in the Contemporary World (2007); Shadows
of War: Violence, Power and _ International
Profiteering in the 218 Century (2004); A Different
Kind of War Story (1997); and the edited volumes:
Fieldwork Under Fire: Contemporary Stories of
Violence and Survival (1996); and The Paths to
Domination, Resistance, and Terror (1992). She has
authored dozens of scholarly articles, won several
teaching awards, and has recently been awarded
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur and John
Simon Guggenheim Fellowships.

Mary Ellen O'Connell holds the Robert and
Marion Short Chair in Law and is Research
Professor of International Dispute Resolution—Kroc
Institute for Peace Studies at the University of Notre
Dame. Professor O'Connell chairs the Use of Force
Committee of the International Law Association.
She came to Notre Dame from The Ohio State
University, where she held a joint appointment in
the law school and the Mershon Center for
International Security Studies. She has also taught

-5-

for the United States Department of Defense at the
George C. Marshall European Center for Security
Studies in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany and
the Johns Hopkins University Nitze School for
Advanced International Studies in Bologna, Italy.
She is the author of, among other’ works,
International Law and the Use of Force, Cases and
Materials (2d ed. 2009); The Power and Purpose of
International Law (2008); and = Redefining
Sovereignty: The Use of Force After the Cold War
(with M. Bothe and N. Ronzitti, 2005).

William Reno is an Associate Professor of Political
Science at Northwestern University. He studies the
organization and behavior of insurgent groups in
Sub-Saharan Africa, and has conducted recent field
research in Sudan and Somalia. He is the author of
the books Corruption and State Politics in Sierra
Leone (1995) and Warlord Politics and African States
(1999). In addition, he is the author of multiple
articles and book chapters on the subject of
collapsing states and warfare in post-state societies.

Robert A. Rubinstein is Professor of Anthropology
and International Relations at the Maxwell School of
Syracuse University, where from 1994-2005 he
directed the Program on the Analysis and Resolution
of Conflicts. His research focuses on the dynamics of
peacekeeping, stability operations, post-conflict
reconstruction, and conflict management. He is the
author of Peacekeeping Under Fire: Culture and
Intervention (2008), and co-editor of the collections
The Social Dynamics of Peace and Conflict: Culture
in International Security (1988) and Peace and War:

-6-

Cross-Cultural Perspectives (1986). In addition, he
has published 100 journal articles and _ book
chapters, and has authored or edited eight books.
His work has been supported by numerous
foundations, including the Ford Foundation,
National Science Foundation, the John and Flora
Hewlett Foundation, the United States Institute of
Peace, and the Wenner-Gren Foundation for
Anthropological Research.

Robert D. Sloane is Associate Professor of Law at
the Boston University School of Law. His current
research focuses on the laws of war and the use and
limits of criminal law concepts in international law.
He has published in the fields of public international
law, human rights, international criminal law,
asylum law, and international arbitration. As a
practitioner, he worked for the International
Committee of Lawyers for Tibet (now known as Tibet
Justice Center), in which capacity he led fact-finding
missions to Nepal, India, and Tibet, wrote
submissions for the U.N. Commission on Human
Rights and human rights treaty bodies, represented
asylum seekers, and published several reports and
law journal articles on human nights.

The Citizen Media Law Project (“CMLP’”)
provides legal assistance, education, and resources
for individuals and organizations involved in online
and citizen media. CMLP is jointly affiliated with
Harvard University’s Berkman Center for Internet
& Society, a research center founded to explore
cyberspace, share in its study, and help pioneer its
development; and the Center for Citizen Media, an
initiative to enhance and expand grassroots media.

a 2

CMLP is an unincorporated association hosted at
Harvard Law School, a non-profit educational
institution. CMLP has previously appeared as
amicus curiae in several cases concerning legal
issues of importance to the media.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF
ARGUMENT

The world has’ become increasingly and
irreversibly globalized. In nearly every aspect of
public hfe—our environment, our economy, our
communications, our security—actions and events in
far-flung places may have significant impact on the
lives of Americans, and vice versa. A crisis in Wall
Street banks spurs precipitous drops in European
and Asian financial markets and bankruptcy in
Iceland. Hatred and incitement in Afghanistan
leads to murderous attacks in New York. The razing
of South American’ rain forests and _ the
industrialization of developing nations combine with
the West's own pollution to increase carbon
emissions and lead to ever more devastating
hurricane seasons on the American. Gulf Coast.
Deterioration of nuclear security in the former
Soviet Union raises concerns within this country
over nuclear proliferation and bombs in the hands of
non-state actors.

In the face of these varied and daunting
transnational challenges, it has never been more
important for the members of our self-governing
society to have access to information about the
events, entities, and persons that are shaping those

=~

challenges. Only a well-informed public can engage
in reasoned debates about foreign relations, national
security policy, climate change legislation, or
financial regulation. This means learning not only
about the views and actions of foreign leaders, but
also about those of their opponents—whether those
opponents are the youth of Iran pressing for a more
open society, or extremist religious fanatics pressing
for a more oppressive one.

Academic researchers and journalists play a
crucial role in the _ collection, analysis, and
dissemination of this vital information. Only with
the facts and perspectives that their work provides
can we understand the forces at play in remote and
unfamiliar places. In providing this information,
they not only enrich public discourse; they facilitate
the development of more effective national policy,
foreign policy, and counterterrorism efforts. They
must therefore be permitted to travel, to interact
responsibly with people from all sectors of society,
and to report freely on what they discover without
the specter of criminal prosecution hanging over
their heads.

The outcome of this case will affect the ability of
researchers and journalists to do their vital work. In
furtherance of their professional duties, Amici and
their colleagues must communicate with or about
groups that are or may become designated foreign
terrorist organizations. Absent a narrowing
construction, the statute provides insufficient clarity

2 In the case of orgamizational Amicus, the communication is on
the part of the organization's members and beneficiaries.

oa

for these individuals to ascertain with confidence
whether a given communication could be construed
us falling within the statute’s prohibition. If this
Court upholds the vague and extremely broad terms
of the statute, many researchers and journalists will
feel compelled to err on the side of caution,
restricting their lawful communications and diluting
the public discourse. Moreover, significant potential
exists for the government to exploit the statute's
vagueness to target disfavored scholarship or
reporting. This combined risk of self-censorship and
selective application of the statute cannot be squared
with the dictates of the First and Fifth Amendments
to the U.S. Constitution.

Even aside from the statute’s unconstitutional
vagueness, applying it to pure speech that has
neither the purpose nor likely effect of furthering a
designated terrorist group’s unlawful ends would
run afoul of the First and Fifth Amendments. This
Court has acknowledged that the government may
not curtail pure speech unless there is a close causal
nexus between the speech and an extremely serious
harm the government is empowered to prevent. No
plausible nexus has been posited between pure
speech, of the kind in which Respondents/Cross-
Petitioners and Amict engage, and the ability of
terrorist groups to do harm. Moreover, where an
individual associates with a group that engages in
both lawful and unlawful activities, such association
cannot be punished absent a specific intent on the
part of the individual to further the group’s unlawful
aims. A contrary holding would offend the First and
Fifth Amendments and threaten the very basis of
Amici’s academic and journalistic pursuits.

- 10.

Accordingly, Amici urge the Court to resolve the
constitutional infirmities of the statute through a
narrowing construction that allows speech to be
penalized only where it has the purpose and likely
effect of furthering the illegal activities of designated
terrorist groups. The lower courts’ assessment that
such a narrowing construction is unnecessary was
based on a misreading of Scales v. United States, 367
U.S. 203 (1961), which in fact provides strong
support for such an approach here. If such a
narrowing construction 1s deemed impossible, the
Court should declare the statute unconstitutional as
applied to speech that lacks the purpose and likely
effect of advancing a proscribed group’s unlawful
ends.

ARGUMENT

I. THE MATERIAL SUPPORT STATUTE IS
UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND
COULD CHILL PROTECTED SPEECH

Respondents/Cross-Petitioners challenge several
provisions of the material support statute as being
unconstitutionally vague, while the United States
argues that these provisions provide tolerably fair
notice of the statute’s scope. The courts below split
the difference, holding that certain terms give fair
notice, and certain terms do not. Parsing each
challenged prohibited category and sub-category, the
courts distinguished particularly amorphous
categories like “service,” “training,” and “expert
advice” based on “specialized knowledge” from
marginally less amorphous’ categories like

«tts

“personnel” and “expert advice” based on “scientific”
or “technical” knowledge, and enjoined the United
States from enforcing the more amorphous
categories against Respondents/Cross-Petitioners’
proposed speech. See Humanitarian Law Project v.
Mukasey, 552 F.3d 916, 927-31 (9th Cir. 2009).

With respect, however, the lower courts did not
sufficiently heed their own exhortation regarding
how First Amendment considerations should affect
the void-for-vagueness analysis. When, as here, a
statute may touch on protected speech,’ it must do
more than “clearly delineate the conduct [it]
proscribe[s],” Humanitarian Law Project, 552 F.3d at
928; it must do so “with narrow specificity.” Foti v.
City of Menlo Park, 146 F.3d 629, 638-39 (Sth Cir.
1998) (citing NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 432-33
(1963)). The purpose of this heightened specificity
requirement is twofold: (1) to avoid the risk of
widespread self-censorship caused by uncertainty
and fear; and (2) to prevent the United States from
exercising virtually unfettered discretion over which
speech should be prosecuted. See Grayned v. City of
Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108-09 (1972); see also
Keytshian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589, 603-04
(1967) (self-censorship); Baggett v. Bullitt, 377 U.S.
360, 372 (1964) (same); Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S.
566, 575 (1974) (prosecutorial discretion); cf. City of
Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Pub. Co., 486 U.S. 750,

3 The First Amendment vagueness doctrine is triggered
whenever “a statute's literal scope .. . is capable of reaching
expression sheltered by the First Amendment” Smith v.
Goguen, 415 U.S. 566, 573 (1974).

it.

757 (1988) (parallel dangers in_ standardless
licensing scheme).

These risks clearly are present here. As a
threshold matter, scholars in many disciplines must
be able to communicate with the subjects of their
study in order to perform responsible research.
Anthropology is a primary example. The discipline
of anthropology is aimed at illuminating other
cultures, ranging from small, geographically distinct
units (such as a particular tribe) to broader cultural
phenomena (such as war itself). See generally
Serena Nanda & Richard L. Warms, Cultural
Anthropology (9th ed. 2006). The primary vehicle for
achieving this aim is ethnographic research, or
fieldwork involving the collection of primary data.
And while there are many tools that may be involved
in such research, one of the most important tools is
direct personal observation of—and _ extended
interactive interviews with—members of the culture
being studied. See H. Russell Bernard, Research
Methods in_ Anthropology: Qualitative and
Quantitative Approaches 342, 347, 368-69 (4t ed.
2006); Michael Genzuk, A Synthesis of Ethnographic
Research (Occasional Paper Series, Center for
Multilingual, Multicultural Research, Rossier School
of Education, University of Southern California,
2003), available at http://www-rcf.usc.edu/
~genzuk/Ethnographic_Research.html. It is, indeed,
a longstanding and fundamental tenet of
anthropology that direct, sustained contact is vital to
gaining a full and accurate understanding of the
culture in question. See Clifford Geertz, The
Interpretation of Cultures 22 (1973)

-13-

(“Anthropologists don’t study villages .. . they study
un villages.”) (emphasis in original).

Journalists similarly must be able to
communicate with the persons and groups about
whom they report. The competent, ethical practice
of journalism requires reporters to make every effort
to ensure that “news content is accurate, free from
bias and in context, and that all sides are presented
fairly.” American Society of News. Editors’
Statement of Principles, Art. IV. This means
making efforts to “[t]alk to sources on all sides of a
deal, dispute, negotiation or conflict.” Reuters,
Handbook of Journalism 3 (2008), available at
http://handbook.reuters.com/extensions/docs/pdf/
handbookofjournalism.pdf. When a story paints an
individual in a negative light or deals with
controversial issues, this principle is especially
important. See, e.g., Hearst Newspapers: Statement
of Professional Principles (“We must make a
particular effort to seek comment from those
portrayed in a critical manner.”’); Society of
Professional Journalists, Code of Ethics (1996)
(“Journalists should .. . [diligently seek out subjects
of news stories to give them the opportunity to
respond to allegations of wrongdoing.”); Associated
Press Managing Editors, Statement of Ethical
Principles (“The mewspaper should strive for
impartial treatment of issues and dispassionate
handling of controversial subjects.”).

Accordingly, in order to study or report
competently on terrorism or terrorist groups,
academic researchers and journalists must be able to

o 86.

communicate with those groups or their members.
There can be no serious question regarding the
importance of this work. Among other things, a rich
understanding of the phenomenon of modern
terrorism is vital to our own government's ability to
develop effective responses to the terrorist threat. If
the Court were to uphold the statutory terms at
issue in this case, however, Amici would be left to
guess whether activities like the following could
conceivably fall within the statute’s ambit:

Amici include an anthropologist who studies
peacekeeping missions and the effect of both
internal and external culture on the missions’
success. In order to determine how local culture
affects any given peacekeeping mission, this
researcher engages in in-depth interviews and
“participant observation” of the local population,
ranging from those who support the mission to
those who may engage in armed opposition as
part of an_ organized _ insurgency. In
communicating his findings through scholarly
writings, he routinely presents the views of the
people and groups whom he has studied. This
individual's work has been of direct benefit to the
U.S. government and he has been invited to the
U.S. Army War College as a “distinguished
visitor.” Yet if the armed insurgents whom he
studies were to be classified as foreign terrorist
organizations by the U.S. government, could his
extended interactions with them and _ his
presentation of their views be construed by the
government as the provision of a “service” or
“personne|”?

. *

One major U.S. daily newspaper published a
series of articles about jihadists, aiming to
“examine how they are working to expand the
reach of radical Islam.” Inside the Jihad:
Coverage by Michael Moss and Sauad Mekhennet,
N.Y. Times, available at http://
topics.nytimes.com/topics/news/international/
series/insidethejihad/index.html. An article in
the series focused on a foundering militant group,
currently designated by the U.S. government as a
foreign terrorist organization, that reached out to
Al Qaeda for support and resources. See Souad
Mekhennet, Michael Moss, Eric Schmitt, Elaine
Sciolino, & Margot Williams, Ragtag Insurgency
Gains a Lifeline From Al Qaeda, N.Y. Times, July
1, 2008, at Al. This reporting required
significant contact with the militants, and it
included stories from inside the organization
regarding members’ motivations, activities, and
political views. The online version of the story
included a link to audio clips from an interview
with the militant group's leader, Abdelmalck
Droukdal. Could the government deem the airing
of this interview, and the presentation of the
group’s views, to be a “service” provided to the
organization?

Amici include an anthropologist who does
intensive field research in conflict zones. He has
studied the Civil Defense Forces (CDF) and the
Revolutionary United Front (RUF) in Sierra
Leone and Liberians United for Reconciliation
and Democracy (LURD) in Liberia, among other
groups. As an integral part of his research, he
has spent extended periods of time with the

~—' *

combatants he has studied, including living with
them on occasion in order to maximize his
observational opportunities. His work has
resulted in important insights on why some
groups target civilians for attack, and he served
as an expert witness for the United Nations at
the Special Court in Sierra Leone. Yet the groups
of greatest interest to his work include those that
arguably meet the government’s definition of
foreign terrorist organizations and are likely
candidates for designation under 8 U.S.C. §
1189(a)(1). Could he run afoul of the “personnel”
or “service” provisions of the material support
statute by virtue of his extended and close
interactions with them?

Media associations regularly organize
international newsgathering trips to countries of
interest. These trips permit the associations
members to extend the reach of _ their
international coverage beyond what otherwise
would be possible, thus enriching their reporting
to the public. The association arranges a series of
interview sessions in the destination country
including interviews with the nation’s leadership.
Trips to Cuba and Venezuela have included
meetings or press conferences with Fidel Castro
and Hugo Chavez, respectively. Should such an
excursion be arranged in Lebanon, and should
the participants interview, write about, and quote
members of Hezbollah, would they be exposing
themselves to criminal liability for knowingly
providing a “service” to Hezbollah?

aes

Amici include an anthropologist who developed
one of the first contemporary ethnographies of
war. She spent years on the front lines of various
conflicts, conducting extensive interviews with
members of groups such as the LTTE (the “Tamil
Tigers”), the Irish Republican Army (IRA), and
the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO).
Her research has enabled her to predict
accurately the course of a wide range of
contemporary armed conflicts—an ability of
obvious and significant public value. But this
ability is the result of close and continuous
interaction with groups that include designated
foreign terrorist organizations, and she is deeply
concerned about the possible effect of the
material support statute on her future work.

Media outlets regularly post or broadcast
documents and videos produced and distributed
by designated foreign terrorist organizations.
See, eg., Andrea Elliott, A Call to Jihad
Answered itn America, N.Y. Times, July 12, 2009,
at Al (link to propaganda film by a Somali terror
sect on onlime version of article), available at
http://www .nytimes.com/2009/07/12/us/12somalis.
html; ‘New’ al Qaeda Tape May Contain Old Clip
of bin Laden, CNN.com, July 15, 2007 (story
about Osama bin Laden videotape includes link
to the video), available at http://www.cnn.com/
2007/WORLD/meast/07/14/bin.laden.video/index.
html#cnnSTCVideo. U.S. newspapers also
occasionally publish opinion pieces of
informational value to the public written by
representatives of designated foreign terrorist
organizations. See, e.g., Mousa Abu Marzook.

a

Hamas Speaks, L.A. Times, Jan. 6, 2009, at Al5
(Deputy of the Political Bureau of Hamas):
Mahmoud al-Zahar, No Peace Without Hamas,
Wash. Post, Apr. 17, 2008, at A23 (a founder of
Hamas); Ahmed Yousef, What Hamas Wants,
N.Y. Times, June 20, 2007, at A19 (political
adviser to Prime Minister Ismail Haniya); Ahmed
Yousef, Engage With Hamas; We Earned Our
Support, Wash. Post, June 20, 2007, at Allg
(same). In light of the fact that the government
has successfully prosecuted at least one Al Qaeda
member under the material support statute for
creating and disseminating a _ propagandist
videotape, see Press Release, U.S. Dep't of
Defense, Detainee Convicted of Terrorism Charge
At Military Commission Trial (Nov. 3, 2008),

_avatlable at http://www.defenselink.mil/releases/

release.aspx?releaseid=12329, can journalists be
confident that they may broadcast clips of such

. videos or otherwise provide a forum in which

terrorist groups air their views without risking
criminal prosecution”?

Amici include an anthropologist who studies the
manner in which ordinary Palestinians respond
to the pervasive, ongoing violence that surrounds
them. As part of her research, she has walked
alongside marchers in_ so-called “martyr
funerals,” public events honoring those who have
died in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, including
suicide bombers. By walking alongside the
marchers, rather than simply observing from
afar, she is able to engage in frank conversation
with the participants and to overhear their
conversations with one another. As a result, she

-19-

has learned that there is a deep wave of cynicism
and apathy about the conflict among the general
population. This information is of clear value in
shaping our countrys own approach to the
conflict. Yet to the extent some of these funerals
may be organized by Hamas or other designated
terrorist groups, could the government decide
that she is providing “personnel” by virtue of
walking alongside the marchers?

The limitations that Congress has added to the
statute do little to allay the concerns of the
individuals or groups engaged in these or similar
activities because those’ limitations provide
inadequate assistance in determining the statute’s
scope. The knowledge requirement added by
Congress‘ sheds light on the statute’s substantive
terms, such as “service,” only if it is interpreted to
require a specific intent to further the terrorist
organizations illegal aims (see Part III, infra). As
for Congress's instruction that the statute should not
be construed to apply to speech protected by the

‘ This provision states:

To violate this paragraph, a person must have knowledge
that the orgamization is aé_ designated _ terrovist
organization (as defined in subsection (g)(6)), that the
organization has engaged or engages in terrorist activity
(as defined in section 212(a)(3)(B) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act), or that the organization has engaged or
engages in terrorism (as defined in section 140(d) (2) of
the Foreign Helatioms Authorization Act, Fiscal Years
1988 and 1989).

18U.S.C. § 2339B(a)(1)

5 s

First Amendment,° this provision is scant solace to a
prospective speaker who is uncertain about whether
his or her speech falls outside the not-always-
obvious parameters of First Amendment protection.
These parameters are indeed contested by the
parties in this case, each of which is represented by
learned counsel. Academic researchers and
journalists who communicate with or about foreign
terrorist organizations cannot be expected to enjoy
any greater certainty.

Nor do Congress’s definitions of the statutory
terms at issue provide much assistance. When it
comes to support in the form of “personnel,” for
example, Congress has specified that this provision
applies to those who work “under thfe] terrorist
organization's direction or control or [who] organize,
manage, supervise, or otherwise direct the operation
of that organization,” and it has exempted speakers
operating “entirely independently” from _ the
organization.® But the specification is_ itself

> The proviso states: “Nothing in this section sha!! be construed
or applied so as to abridge the exercise of mnghts guaranteed
under the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States.” 18 U.S.C. § 2339BQ).

6 The provision states in full:

No person may be prosecuted under this section in
connection with the term “personne!” unless that person
has knowingly provided. attempted to provide, or
conspired to provide a foreign terrorist organization with
1 or more individuals (who may be or include himself) to
work under that terrorist organization’s direction or
control or to organize, manage, supervise, or otherwise
direct the operation of that organization. Individuals
who act entirely independently of the foreign terrorist

>] _
hopelessly vague, especially when applied to scholars
and reporters engaged in research and reporting
that entail substantial interaction with members of a
proscribed group. Does a newspaper act “entirely
independently” when it performs the work of editing
an op-ed submitted by a terrorist leader, if the leader
retains ultimate control over the content of the
piece? Does a- researcher act “entirely
independently” when she attends an event organized
by a terrorist group in order to observe and
interview its members, given that the event itself
takes place under the group's “direction or control’?
Moreover, since the “entirely independently”
limitation applies only to material support in the
form of “personnel,” any researcher or journalist who
acts “entirely independently” when _ providing
anything that could be deemed a “service” or “expert
advice or assistance’—including any “specialized
knowledge’—still risks criminal prosecution.

The government’s construction of the term
“service’ is even less illuminating. In the briefing
for this case, the government has pointed to the
definitions of “service” contained in Webster's
Dictionary: “[A]n act done for the benefit or at the
command of another” or “useful labor that does not
produce a tangible commodity.” Pet. at 17 (citing
Webster's Third New International Dictionary of the
English Language 2075 (1993)). These definitions
raise more questions than answers. If the leader of a

organization to advance its goals or objectives shall not
be considered to be working under the foreign terrorist
organization's direction and contro]

18 U.S.C. § 2339B(h)

terrorist group dictates the time and place at which
a journalist can meet him for an interview, is the act
of showing up at the appointed time and place “an
act done ... at the command of another’? If a
cultural anthropologist writes an article about a
lesser-known terrorist group and thus raises the
group’s profile, could the act of writing the article
constitute “useful labor’?

As the above examples show, it is impossible for
prospective speakers to know whether a broad range
of innocent communications with, or concerning, a
designated group will be deemed the provision of
material support. If the vague terms of the statute
are allowed to stand, some researchers and
journalists presumably will continue their work out
of a sense of public duty and professional integrity.
Without question, however, there will be others who
conclude that the risks are simply too great. Such a
result will not only harm the speakers themselves; it
will result in an impoverished public understanding
and discourse regarding some of the most important
issues of our day—including the issue of terrorism.

Equally troubling, the vagueness inherent in the
statute gives the United States virtually unfettered
discretion to target disfavored speech as_ the
provision of forbidden material support to a
proscribed group. For example, the government
could decide to construe the term “service” to include
a news outlet’s reporting of a terrorist leader's
views--but only where the government perceives
that the news outlet in question has given the
government's policies unfavorable coverage in the

past. Similarly, a scholar whose studies suggest that
dialogue with terrorist groups is an effective method
of deterring violence might be more likely, when
compared to a scholar whose studies reach the
opposite conclusion, to find her communications
targeted by a government intent on combating
terrorist groups through a controversial armed
conflict.

This Court has not hesitated to invalidate
statutes under analogous circumstances. In
Herndon v. Lowry, 301 U.S. 242 (1937), the Court
vacated the conviction of a Communist Party
organizer under a Georgia statute criminalizing the
act of inciting violent overthrow of the government.
The Court ruled that the statute was
unconstitutionally vague because it failed to
distinguish sufficiently between advocacy and
incitement, thus vesting prosecutors and the jury
with undue discretion to criminalize a broad swath
of speech. See Herndon, 301 U.S. at 261-64.
Similarly, in Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 (1974),
the Court struck down as unconstitutionally vague a
Massachusetts statute that forbade any person to
“treat[] contemptuously” the American flag—in large
part because “[s]tatutory language of such a
standardless sweep allows policemen, prosecutors,
and juries to pursue their personal predilections.”
Smith, 415 U.S. at 575.

None of the challenged categories in the material
support statute can survive analysis under Herndon
and Smith, or the dozens of Supreme Court cases
applying their teaching. In the end, the threat of

~ ” -

self-censorship and unfettered —_ prosecutorial
discretion to single out disfavored speech for
criminal prosecution combine to generate a _ toxic
speech climate that violates the First Amendment
vagueness doctrine.

Il. THE APPLICATION OF THE STATUTE TO
PURE SPEECH THAT HAS NEITHER THE
PURPOSE NOR EFFECT OF AIDING
TERRORIST GROUPS’ UNLAWFUL
ACTIVITIES VIOLATES THE FIRST AND
FIFTH AMENDMENTS

The key to modern free speech protection is the
shift from a willingness in the first quarter of the
20th century to suppress controversial speech merely
because it had a perceived tendency to lead to
harmful behavior, to the current requirement that
the government demonstrate a direct causal nexus
between the target speech and an extremely serious
harm that the government is empowered to prevent.
See, e.g., Herndon, 301 U.S. at 255-59; Bridges v.
California, 314 U.S. 252, 261-63 (1941): Dennis v.
United States, 341 U.S. 494, 526-27 (1951)
(Frankfurter, J., concurring); Brandenburg v. Ohio,
395 U.S. 444, 447-49 (1969); Texas v. Johnson, 491
U.S. 397, 409 (1989). While communication with the
predictable effect of advancing the unlawful ends of
a violent terrorist organization may be suppressed
because it poses a genuine threat of imminent and
serious harm, communication seeking to learn and
convey information about such a group, divert the
group from violence, or mitigate human suffering in
areas under the group's control cannot be suppressed

2.

because there is no causal nexus between such
innocent speech and a sufficiently serious harm.

This Court has recognized an _ additional
requirement under the First and Fifth Amendments
when the government seeks to prosecute someone for
speech or association with a group that engages in
unlawful conduct: the person must have a specific
intent to further the group’s unlawful ends. See
Dennis, 341 U.S. at 499-50; Scales, 367 U.S. at 221-
24; Elfbrandt v. Russell, 384 U.S. 11, 15-16 (1966).
This requirement of specific intent is particularly
important where individuals seek to associate in
some manner with groups (like those at issue in this
case’) that engage in both lawful and unlawful
activities:

(Q]uasi-political parties or other groups that
may embrace both legal and illegal aims differ
from a technical conspiracy, which is defined
by its criminal purpose, so that all knowing
association with the conspiracy is a proper
subject for criminal proscription as far as First
Amendment liberties are concerned. If there
were a_ similar’ blanket prohibition of
association with a group having both legal and
illegal aims, there would indeed be a real
danger that legitimate political expression or
association would be impaired, but the
membership clause, as here construed .. . does
not make criminal all association with an
organization which has been shown to engage

’ The PKK and LTTE engage in both lawful and unlawful
pursuits. See Humanitarian Law Project, 552 F.3d at 921

- 26 -

in illegal advocacy. There must be clear proof
that a defendant ‘specifically intend[s] to
accomplish [the aims of the organization] by
resort to violence. Thus the member for
whom the organization is a vehicle for the
advancement of legitimate aims and policies
does not fall within the ban of the statute: he
lacks the requisite specific intent... .

Scales, 367 U.S. at 229-30 (emphasis in the original)
(citation omitted).

The United States seeks to avoid full First
Amendment review by mischaracterizing
Respondents/Cross-Petitioners’ speech as a form of
“conduct” subject to the less stringent standard of
review used in United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367
(1968), to measure the constitutionality of draft card
burning. The O'Brien test is triggered by
prohibitions on non-speech behavior _ that
incidentally affect expressive elements of the
conduct. See O’Brien, 391 U.S. at 376-77. But the
proposed communications of Respondents/Cross-
Petitioners are pure speech. The government cannot
transform them into conduct simply by labeling
them “support” or “resources” and asserting that
they will result in some concrete harm (here, aiding
terrorist groups). The speech/conduct distinction
does not turn on the effects of the communication.

Any other interpretation would threaten, not only
the provision of human rights counseling that
Respondents/Cross-Petitioners propose to undertake,
but the academic freedom and freedom of the press
upon which researchers and journalists in all areas

.~. »

of inquiry rely. If the provision of human rights
counseling can be characterized as “conduct” based
on its practical application, so, too, could academic
research that motivates an economic competitor of
the U.S. to change its policies, or investigative
reporting that leads to a decline in the stock market.

In any event, the material support statute, as
applied to the pure’ speech proposed _ by
Respondents/Cross-Petitioners (and the speech in
which Amici routinely engage), cannot satisfy even
the diluted review standard in O’Brien because it
does not further an “important or substantial
governmental interest,” and is far “greater than is
essential to the furtherance of” any such interest.
O’Brien, 391 U.S. at 377.

The government's only plausible interest in
limiting speech with, or about, proscribed groups is
to avoid advancing their lawless activities. The
government contends that providing resources of any
kind to terrorist groups—whatever the purpose—
frees up other resources for them to pursue their
illegal aims. But even if one were to accept that
providing tangible property or money to proscribed
groups for innocent purposes, like hospitals and
orphanages, could free up property or money for
illegal uses, that rationale does not carry over to
pure speech. Unlike money or weapons, information
is not fungible. Learning about non-violent
alternatives does not enhance the ability to make
bombs; nor does communication with a researcher or
journalist who seeks to expand the store of public
information about the group. The United States

+ F

accordingly has not identified any plausible
governmental interest, much less a compelling one,
that would justify censoring innocent speech
concerning, or with, a proscribed group.

Ill. THE COURT SHOULD READ THE
MATERIAL SUPPORT STATUTE, WHEN
APPLIED TO PURE SPEECH, TO
REQUIRE BOTH A SPECIFIC INTENT TO
FURTHER AN UNLAWFUL END AND A
LIKELIHOOD OF HARM

If possible, a statute should be construed to avoid
raising substantial constitutional issues. See
Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22, 62 (1932). This
canon of constitutional avoidance is often deployed to
narrow statutes in tension with the _ First
Amendment. See, e.g., Edward J. DeBartolo v. Fla.
Gulf Coast Bldg. & Constr. Trades Council, 485 U.S.
568, 575 (1988). For example, in order to avoid
serious First Amendment concerns, this Court
construed a federal statute allowing customs agents
to seize obscene materials to require “intervals of no
more than 14 days from seizure of the goods to the
institution of judicial proceedings for their forfeiture
and no longer than 60 days from the filing of the
action to final decision in the district court,” despite
the fact that the statute itself contains no time
limitations. United States v. Thirty-Seven
Photographs, 402 U.S. 363, 373-74 (1971). Judicial
application of the avoidance canon _ respects
Congress's equal commitment to constitutional
values, see Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523
U.S. 224, 238 (1998): Public Citizen v. U.S. Dep't of

- 29 -

Justice, 491 U.S. 440, 466 (1989), while leaving
Congress the option to enact a broader statute
subject to judicial review for constitutional
soundness.

Application of the avoidance canon is particularly
appropriate in this case. First, no doubt exists that
the prospect of criminalizing Respondents’/Cross-
Petitioners’ proposed speech triggers the canon.
Prior to the Court’s decision in United States v. Del.
& Hudson Co., 213 U.S. 366, 407-08 (1909), the
avoidance canon was applied only after a finding
that a statute was, in fact, unconstitutional. In the
modern era, however, the Court deploys the canon if
the statute’s application to proposed speech would
raise a serious constitutional issue. See Adrian
Vermeule, Saving Constructions, 85 Geo. L. J. 1945,
1949, 1958-59 (1997). As discussed in Parts I and II,
supra, significant constitutional concerns would be
raised if the statute's vague terms could be
interpreted to apply to pure speech that is not
intended or likely to further the unlawful aims of
designated organizations.

Second, the statute is amenable to a narrowing
construction, as demonstrated by this Court’s rulings
in Scales v. United States, 367 U.S. 203 (1961), and
Yates v. United States, 354 U.S. 298 (1957). The
statutory provision at issue in Scales made it a crime
to become a member of any group that advocated
violent overthrow of the U.S. government, “knowing
the purposes thereof’—1i.e., knowing that the group
espoused violent overthrow. 18 U.S.C. § 2385. The
Court construed the statute to apply only to active

- 30-

members possessing a specific intent to further the
organization’s illegal aims. See Scales, 367 U.S. at
221-24. Although the Court did not specify the
precise textual hook on which it hung this
interpretation, later cases confirmed that the key to
the Court’s narrowing construction was. the
knowledge requirement. See Aptheker v. Secretary of
State, 378 U.S. 500, 511 n.9 (1964); United States v.
Robel, 389 U.S. 258, 262 (1967). Thus, even though
the plain language of that provision required
knowledge only of the organization's illegal aims, the
Court construed the provision to require a specific
intent to further those aims.®

The Ninth Circuit panel below deemed Scales
distinguishable on the ground that “the statute in
Scales ... was silent with respect to requisite mens
rea,” while the material support statute “exposes one
to criminal liability only where the government
proves that the donor defendant acted with culpable
intent—knowledge.” Humanitarian Law Project,
552 F.3d at 926. In fact, the statute at issue in
Scales not only contained a knowledge requirement;
it contained a knowledge requirement very similar to
the one in the material support statute, L.e.,
knowledge of the organization’s illegal aims or
activities. The Court in Scales found that this

5 The Court in Scales was not called upon to address whether
membership could be criminalized absent any likelihood that
such membership would lead to a sufficiently serious harm.
See Scales, 367 U.S. at 230 n.21 (“As both sides appear to agree
that the ‘clear and present danger’ doctrine . reaches the
membership clause of the Smith Act, and since the petition for
certiorari tenders no issue as to the method of applying it here,
we do not consider either question.”)

. Pf

knowledge requirement could—and must—be read
to include a requirement of specific intent.

In addition to the specific intent requirement, a
statute restricting protected speech must be
construed, if possible, to apply only to speech that is
likely to cause to a particularly serious harm, given
that the statute otherwise would violate the First
Amendment. See Part II, supra. In Yates, the Court
considered a statutory provision making it a crime
“to knowingly or willfully advocate ... or teach”
violent overthrow of the U.S. government. Yates,
354 U.S. at 301 n.1. The Court acknowledged that
advocating merely the idea of forcible overthrow
would satisfy the “ordinary dictionary definitions” of
“advocate” and “teach.” Jd. at 319. It nonetheless
held that such advocacy, even “if engaged in with the
intent to accomplish overthrow,” was “too remote
from concrete action” to justify criminal sanction, id.
at 321, and it refused to “assume that Congress
chose to disregard a constitutional danger zone so
clearly marked.” Z/d. at 319. The Court therefore
construed the statute to apply only to “advocacy of
action, not ideas,” id. at 320, noting that such
advocacy is not constitutionally protected when the
audience is “of sufficient size and cohesiveness, is
sufficiently oriented toward action, and other
circumstances are such as reasonably to justify
apprehension that action will occur.” Jd. at 321.

The material support statute similarly should be
construed to apply to pure speech only where that
speech is likely to produce the concrete harm that
the statute is intended to prevent. The term

<i.

“material support” itself is readily interpreted to
incorporate such a limitation. In light of the clear
purpose of the statute—i.e., to “prevent and punish
acts of terrorism,” H.R. Rep. No. 104-518, at 1 (1996)
(Conf. Rep.), as reprinted in 1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 944,
944—“material support” may fairly -be construed as
support that is likely to enhance the designated
organization's ability to engage in terrorist acts.9

These constructions are plausible readings, not
only of the statutory language, but of congressional
intent. In 2004, Congress added a provision to the
material support statute limiting its scope to persons
who act with “knowledge that the organization is a.

designated terrorist organization .. . that the
organization has engaged or engages in terrorist
activity ... or that the organization has engaged or

engages in terrorism.” 18 U.S.C. § 2339B(a)(1).
Although this provision does not expressly require
specific intent to further the organizations’ unlawful
activities, Congress was presumptively aware that
the Court in Scales construed a_ substantially
equivalent provision to contain such a requirement.
See Abuelhawa v. United States, 129 S. Ct. 2102,
2106 (2009) (“[W]Je presume legislatures act with
case law in mind.”); Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575,
580 (1978) (“Congress is presumed to be aware of an
administrative or judicial interpretation of a
statute.”). Moreover, Congress at the same time

4 Amict do not argue that the Court must adopt such a
narrowing interpretation in all applications of the statute.
Rather, under the canon of constitutional avoidance, a
narrow ing construction need apply only in those contexts where
it is necessary to avoid serious constitutional concerns.

i

added a provision prohibiting any construction or
application of the statute that would abridge the
exercise of First Amendment rights. See 18 U.S.C. §
2339B(i). It did so against the backdrop of the
longstanding, well-settled case law cited in Part II,
supra, establishing both the “specific intent”
requirement and the requirement of a close causal
connection between the restricted speech and a
sufficiently serious harm.

CONCLUSION

Fifty years ago, confronted with a totalitarian
communist threat to the very existence of our
political and social order, this Court insisted on
distinguishing innocent speech from speech with the
purpose and effect of advancing imminent
lawlessness and violence. See, e.g., Elfbrandt, 384
U.S. at 11; Robel, 389 U.S. at 264 (“For almost two
centuries, our country has taken singular pride in
the democratic ideals enshrined in its Constitution,
and the most cherished of those ideals have found
expression in the First Amendment. It would indeed
be ironic if, in the name of national defense, we
would sanction the subversion of one of those
liberties.”). If we are to preserve scholarship and
journalism of extraordinary value to all of us in our
modern society, we can do no less_ today.
Accordingly, Amici urge the Court to rule in favor of
Respondents/Cross-Petitioners.

November 23, 2009

» 94

Respectfully submitted,

BURT NEUBORNE
Counsel of Record
ELIZABETH GOITEIN
EMILY BERMAN
DAVID UDELL

THE BRENNAN CENTER FOR
JUSTICE AT NYU SCHOOL OF
LAW

161 Avenue of the Americas,
12th Floor

New York, NY 10013
(212) 998-6730

SIDNEY S. ROSDEITCHER

1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10019-6064
(212) 373-3000

Attorneys for Amict Curtae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0518%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
