# Amicus Curiae Brief — United Student Aid Funds, Inc. v. Espinosa

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0455%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2010
- **Citation:** 559 U.S. 260

## Text

-

(3) FILED

No. 08-1134 APR 1 3 2009

OFFICE OF THE C
SUPREME COURT US

In the Supreme Court
of the United States

UNITED STUDENT AID FUNDS, INC.,

Petitioner,
Vv.

FRANCISCO J. ESPINOSA,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit

Brief of the States of Oregon, Alaska, Hawaii,
Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, Ohio, Tennessee,
Utah, Washington and Wyoming

JOHN R. KROGER

Attorney General of Oregon

MARY H. WILLIAMS

Deputy Attorney General

* JEROME LIDZ

Solicitor General

CAROLYN G. WADE

Assistant Attorney General
400 Justice Building
Salem, Oregon 97301-4096
Phone: (503) 378-4402
Counsel for State of
Oregon

*C ounsel of Record

A
WiL.SON-EPES PRINTINGCO INC — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON.DC 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Section 523(a)(8) of the Bankruptcy Code provides
that student loans are nondischargeable unless there
is an affirmative showing by the debtor that repay-
ment of the loan would impose an undue hardship. In
turn, Rule 7001(6) of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy
Procedure (“Bankruptcy Rule”) provides that an ac-
tion to determine the dischargeability of a debt must
be brought by way of an adversary proceeding (a
separate proceeding within a bankruptcy case that is
litigated directly between the debtor and the other
party). Finally, Bankruptcy Rule 7004 provides that
an adversary proceeding is to be initiated by the ser-
vice of a summons and complaint on the defendant
party. The questions presented are:

1. Where a debtor ignores the requirements of
Bankruptcy Rules 7001(6) and 7004 and purports to
discharge a student debt by inclusion of language in a
Chapter 13 plan, has the debtor satisfied the re-
quirements of Mullane v. Cent. Hanover Bank &
Trust Co.,, 339 U.S. 306 (1950) — that due process re-
quires that a party must provide “notice reasonably
calculated, under all the circumstances, to apprise
interested parties of the pendency of the action and
afford them an opportunity to present their objec-
tions?”

2. If the debtor has failed to satisfy those due
process requirements by failing to initiate an adver-
sary proceeding and to serve the student loan creditor
with a summons and complaint, is the plan confirma-
tion order void in that respect, is the order void, or
may the bankruptcy court nevertheless presume that

the party agrees with the proposed action such that it
can be bound by res judicata to an order approving
that action?

3. Does the bankruptcy court have authority to
approve a plan that provides for actions that the
Bankruptcy Rules state must be taken by adversary
action?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
he GB. | ne i
STATEMENT OF AMICI INTEREST................00........ l
I sn ss cacslbieemsnniesctinnnaecannisonanieis 3
RSE ES ER AEA OD So er eo 5
I. Bankruptcy’s unique nature demands a

consistent application of the rules...................... 6
II. The decision below conflicts with holdings of this
Couart G50 Gtiner CIPCUIES. ..............000..eeccceescsccese00- 12

III. The Ninth Circuit erred in its ruling on the
REALE BERR ke Ne ln een ee eo NER RR Ok 16

A. Where the Bankruptcy Code and Rules
prescribe the procedure for discharge of a
student loan, the bankruptcy court cannot
approve a plan that ignores the procedure. .... 17

B. Where the Bankruptcy Code or Rules
prescribe a particular form of notice, denial of
that notice violates due process......................... 18

nT ivitcisncnasp-coocosnawnsuiallinsntiassuesnenantveibaiinisedecoibiiin ae

itl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases Cited

Andersen v. UNIPAC-NEBHELP (In re Anderson),

ee Be Ee ls ID scsesiccscevenccccscecesesesces 14
Banks v. Sallie Mae Servicing Corp.,

299 F.3d 296 (4th Cir. 2002) .................c.cceceeeee 17, 20
Black v. Educational Credit Mgmt. Corp.,

GED Fe Fe CF Oee CP, BOG) occ ccccsccccccccscccsscessosscsceses 3
Bruning v. United States,

Nee acne sila nadindnememaniiniinens 11
Cen-Pen Corp. v. Hanson,

ee ee SN A BD issn vcscsccsccscnsccscoensessses 15,18

City of New York v. New York,
New Haven & Hartford R.R.,
is in ccd cnliondsiinsaaredabeasascanenh 20

Educ. Credit. Mgmt. Corp. v. Mersmann (In re
Mersmann),

EE CIID Bo conccsecccncononsovecdnnnccconson 14, 17, 20
In re Bateman,

Se ee 0 ED Gal, BED cv cvcccccccccencccccccccsccosties 15
In re Brawders,

Fe ee Cn Ge BED ncccccecsccccccncsescccscscscsoees 15
In re Enewally,

ee ee ee I FE, ID ons cc ciicccccccccscaccceccccscacces 15

In re Espinosa,
553 F.3d 1193 (9th Cir. 2008).......... 4. 33. 33. 38, 38

In re Foster,

BAD Fe SHS Geis Cie. BOGS) occcccccevcccsoccscsscccsecccccess 11
In re Hanson,

SOT FBG SSB C7 tha Cir. BOOB) ...cccccccccccevsescocccccccvevess 13
In re Jones,

SSO F.3S 1304 (10s Cir. BOOS) .......cecccccscsccccscesscons 18
In re Mansaray-Ruffin,

GOO Fe Be GTS Cae. BB) ci cccccccccnccecsessccscnccccecccs 15
In re Metzger,

346 B.R. 806 (Bankr. N.D. Cal. 2006) ...........0.0..... 20
In re Repp,

307 B.R. 144 (Othe Cir. BAP BODGE).......ccccccccccccccscses 13
In re Ruehle,

412 F.3d 679 (6th Cir. 2004)...........0.0000000000000.. 19, 20
Mullane v. Cent. Hanover Bank &

Trust Co.,

Me I vic ccsicecnachssininiaiieabiimenies i, 5, 13, 19, 22
Shaw v. Aurgroup Financial Credit Union,

fe £ og 1s | Ere en nos 18
Tennessee Student Assistance Corp. v. Hood,

gk BR | eee re 12, 13, 17, 24
Whelton v. Educ. Credit Mgmt. Corp.,

GBS Fe TD Ce Coa. Be in vnc scdccccdecncccctcccoceoccses 17

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions
af Ge FF RS OF RS eer ae 16
UR UBS. FB ID oes ccesinecesnsichscesustsnaneuiicnsanianaaeea 23

Nee a. ces nscnscsmescounesionnniees 19
a cana cnncnennsscccecsvsecnessasestes 1
ss raaninisisasnmeonooneses i, 12
aici sscosascsenessacsessiensessess 17
Nees csssvensnaceeansasecsssindeacnses 17
os ansncssiiansnbeusibenssodenes 18
ao cs cacsnsasnneseuioncosonens 17
ss ssiuibuekvasbatosenssonaes 11
a ssapseeotodeuvecees 1
il son ssccnsnsnceanescsecodcusscconsoceness 13
I Se MIE vcs nctvncscnscosessssasesecsssscnenscence 19
I ss nasensnccccoonensecsoeses 2,14
I ccc ccccnncncscccecscecescees i, 5, 13
Ne. . scunwncdsecussdcaccnevcesenes i, 5
Et) 4
I on sc ncosncesasnusicesucseesecscsceseces 4
es eunsucesenivsnccosssios 1
Teen cs emeesnneseconenenens 15
ss sccencvoswencscasessecesscocnccecses 4
Other Authorities

Prot. Scott F. Norberg,
Chapter 13 Project: Little Paid to Unsecureds,
26 Amer. Bank. Inst. J. 1 (March 2007) ......0..0..000.0..... 0... 10

vi

STATEMENT OF AMICI INTEREST

The Amici states are parties that appear as se-
cured and unsecured creditors in bankruptcy cases.
They may enforce student loans and, as such, are di-
rectly affected by the Ninth Circuit’s holding. The
logic of the analysis below, though, extends far be-
yond student’ loans to any discharge exception in
Chapter 13 which, since the 2005 amendments to the
Bankruptcy Code, now include, inter alia, those aris-
ing from late or non-filed tax returns, from taxes a
debtor sought to fraudulently evade, from debts that
the debtor failed to timely schedule, from domestic
support obligations, from drunk driving judgments,
and from criminal sentences.

Those debts are excepted from discharge under
Sections 523 and 1328(a) without need for action by
the creditor. Taken together, the Bankruptcy Code
and Rules provide that the determination of whether
a particular debt falls into those exceptions must be
made by a separate proceeding, directed at and nam-
ing a specific creditor, in a complaint with allegations
sufficient to satisfy Bankruptcy Rule 9011, and
served by means of a summons. That is a distinctive
method of proceeding from that used to confirm a
plan and provides notice with far greater force and
clarity to creditors that the debtor is seeking to dis-
charge their debt.

The Ninth’s Circuit’s analysis, though, which
countenances debtors’ actions that flout those provi-
sions of the Bankruptcy Code and the Rules, creates a
chaotic process in Chapter 13 that lays traps for the
unwary, requires prudent parties to incur unneces-

2

sary costs, and burdens courts with the need to re-
view plans multiple times. This process — often re-
ferred to as “discharge by declaration” or “discharge
by ambush” — is antithetical to a debtor’s obligation to
deal equitably with its creditors when it seeks the
enormous equitable benefit of a discharge.

Similarly, to the extent that the Amici states ap-
pear as secured creditors, they are also concerned
with attempts by debtors to use Chapter 13 plans to
invalidate security interests, even though Bank-
ruptcy Rule 7001(2) provides that actions to “deter-
mine the extent, priority, and validity” of liens must
also be brought by adversary proceedings. The Ninth
Circuit’s analysis would equally allow such plans to
trump the provisions of the Code and the Rules. The
Amici states have an interest in this case to ensure
that their liens — for taxes, for costs of environmental
cleanups, and for a myriad of other purposes — are not
lost when debtors ignore the rules.

Under the decision here, creditors must assume
debtors will include unlawful provisions in their plan
and fail to provide legally-required notice thereof, so
that they must devote their efforts to ferreting out
those provisions and forcing debtors to rewrite their
plans. At best, the decision places substantial unnec-
essary costs and burdens on ail parties in the case as
well as the courts. At worst, those who do not antici-
pate the debtor’s violations will lose rights Congress
intended them to retain. Moreover, since the costs of
administering the student loan system are not per-
sonally apportioned but, rather, are imposed equally

3

on all student debtors,' those added costs will be
spread onto borrowers who do play by the rules. The
costs for protecting other debts and secured interests
from frivolous plan provisions will similarly fall
squarely on taxpayers of the Amici states.

Those costs will be increased even further by vir-
tue of the Ninth Circuit’s final ruling in the case —
namely, that bankruptcy courts may not act sua
sponte to bar confirmation of abusive plans and to po-
lice the actions of debtors and their counsel. The out-
break of “discharge by ambush” cases a decade ago
was contained not only by the heightened diligence of
creditors, but also by stern warnings by bankruptcy
courts that inclusion of such provisions was improper
and sanctionable. The Ninth Circuit’s holdings,
though, if left standing, will engender a new explo-
sion of these cases, recreating the burden, costs, and
uncertainty that occurred before. That is particularly
true in light of the broad venue provisions of the Code
which allow debtors to obtain favorable rulings
merely by changing their residence. In an era of un-
precedented budget shortfalls, the Amici states are
deeply concerned that they not be forced to shoulder
unnecessary costs to protect themselves from debtors
who refuse to abide by the Code and Bankruptcy
Rules.

STATEMENT OF CASE
In 1988-89, Mr. Espinosa obtained various gov-

—

' See Black v. Educational Credit Mgmt. Corp., 459
F.3d 796, 800-01 (7th Cir. 2006) (upholding imposition of
collection costs as uniform percentage of debt owed).

4

ernment guaranteed student loans. In 1992, he filed a
Chapter 13 case that listed his student loans as his
only debts, proposed to pay only the principal, and
stated any unpaid amounts (i.e., the prepetition and
postpetition interest) would be discharged. He did not
file an adversary proceeding to seek discharge of his
debts, and his plan did not assert that payment of the
interest would be an “undue hardship.” Instead of
serving an officer, managing or general agent, or
other agent authorized to receive service of process
with a summons and complaint as required by Bank-
ruptcy Rule 7004(a) and (b)(3), Mr. Espinosa mailed a
copy of his plan to a post office box used to receive
payments on his loans.

The lender filed a proof of claim that was not ob-
jected to. It was later notified that the plan amount
differed from its claim. It did not object to payment of
that different amount. The standard discharge order
was entered in 1997, providing that any debt for a
student loan was excepted from discharge. In 2000,
the Education Department began collection efforts
and caused his income tax refunds to be intercepted.
Three years later, in 2003, Espinosa filed a motion
alleging that those actions violated the discharge in-
junction. The lender recalled the loans from the Edu-
cation Department and moved, under Fed. R. Civ. P.
60(b)(4), for relief from the confirmation order. The
bankruptcy court ruled for Espinosa, but the district
court reversed, holding that the confirmation order
was void for lack of due process. On further appeal,
the Ninth Circuit remanded to the bankruptcy court
to indicate if its original discharge order (which con-
tradicted the plan terms) had been a clerical error,

5

and, upon being informed that the order was in error,
the Ninth Circuit reversed the District Court and, en-
tered the order at issue here. In re Espinosa, 553
F.3d 1193 (Sth Cir. 2008)

ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit's analysis reduces to a few
propositions. First, despite Bankruptcy Rule 7001(6),
which requires an adversary proceeding and a show-
ing of undue hardship to discharge a student loan
debt, a debtor’s plan may provide that the debt will be
discharged and no such proof will be required. Sec-
ond, despite the requirement in Bankruptcy Rule
7004 that an adversary proceeding must be brought
by means of a complaint and summons served upon
specified parties at a specified address, the debtor
may mail a copy of the plan to a different address and
without naming those specific parties. Third, the
creditor has no right to assume that legal require-
ments for notice will be complied with so as to limit
its involvement in the case in accordance with those
requirements. And fourth, violation of the Rules has
no relevance to the question of whether due process
has been accorded to litigants such that Mullane has
been satisfied. Instead, the Ninth Circuit assumes
that Mullane prescribes some generic degree of notice
that is adequate, even if that form of notice violates a
rule or statute. Thus, under its view, if that general
level of notice is provided, it is irrelevant that the
creditor would have expected something better and
could have been misled by its absence.

That analysis, the Amici states submit, violates
the basic holding of Mullane that due process must be

6

decided after an analysis of all of the circumstances.
Those circumstances surely include the fact that
creditors have been told what notice they are to re-
ceive and are entitled to rely thereon. That fact is
true in any civil proceeding; it is critical in the unique
scenario posed by bankruptcy proceedings.

I. Bankruptcy’s unique nature demands a con-
sistent application of the rules.

Bankruptcy is quantitatively — and, in turn, qualli-
tatively — different from any other form of litigation
in federal court. Bankruptcy filings are far greater
than all other federal cases combined — and the ratio
has increased dramatically during the twenty years
since Mr. Espinosa received his loans. In 1988, when
he took out the loans, there were 549,612 nonbusi-
ness bankruptcies. By 1992, when he filed his peti-
tion, that number had soared to 900,874, and by
1997, when he received a discharge, the number had
grown by another 50 percent to 1,350,118. From 1998
to 2004, the number varied between a low of
1,217,972 in 2000 and a high of 1,625,208 in 2003.
After Congress amended the Code in April 2005,
620,000 petitions were filed in October 2005 alone to
avoid the effective date of the new act, resulting in an

* All filing rates taken from charts maintained by
American Bankruptcy Institute:
http://www.abiworld.org/AM/AM'Template.cfm’?Section=Ho
me&TEMPLATE=/CM/Content Dis-

play. cfm&CONTEN'TID=56822. All websites cited herein
were viewed on April 7, 2009.

7

annual total or more than 2 million cases.* After
dropping dramatically the following year (to just un-
der 600,000 cases), the numbers have grown each
succeeding year — to more than 800,000 in 2007, over
1 million in 2008, and a projected total of perhaps as
many as 1.4 to 1.6 million in 2009.4

By contrast, in 1992, there were 66,875 federal
criminal and 229,850 federal civil cases for a total of
296,725 filings,° less than a third of the 900,000 plus
bankruptcy filings. By 1997, other federal filings had
risen only to 322,390, compared to 1.35 million bank-
ruptcy filings — a 4.1 to 1 ratio. Those other filings
varied little in succeeding years, averaging abeut
340,000 cases a year from 2004 to 2008. Even with an
initial slowing after the 2005 amendments. bank-
ruptcy cases during that period averaged about 1.2
million or about three and half times the rest of fed-
eral cases. As filings soar again this year, the ratio
should move back above the 4 to 1 mark. Chapter 13

* See ht*p://www. abiworld. org/ AM/Template. cfm Sec-

TENTID= 42631.
* See Appendix 1 for 2006- 08 statistics. See

http://www.creditslips.
entry. html#more for predictions by Professor Robert Law-
less for 2009 filings.

° See http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/cfjs92_. pdf p.
12 (criminal filings) and
http://www.ilectlaw.com/fles/jud09 htm (civil filings).
(Criminal statistics are for calendar year 1992; the civil
statistics are for FY 93, beginning October 1992).

8

cases typically have comprised about 30 percent of all
consumer cases.® Thus, except for the exceptional
year of 2006, Chapter 13 cases alone have equaled (or
substantially exceeded) the total of the rest of the
federal civil system during this entire period.

The reality is that bankruptcy, at least on the con-
sumer debtor side, is a high volume, highly standard-
ized practice that uses software packages, form plead-
ings, standard plans, “no look” fee approvals, and the
like to handle the wholesale business of processing
hundreds of thousands of petitions each year. In that
regard, while the federal courts obviously handle
many complex, multi-party cases, most civil litigation
still involves only two-party disputes raising a finite
number of related issues. Bankruptcy cases, by con-
trast, inevitably involve unrelated claims by many
different parties against the debtor. The debtor (or
trustee), in turn, must analyze a wide variety of state
law and Code-created claims against creditors and
third parties, contest liens of those parties, and de-
fend challenges to the claimed exemptions. Further,
in filings under Chapters 11, 12, and 13, debtors have
broad leeway to propose plan terms and creditors
may vote on and/or object to those proposed plans.
And, finally, the debtor and his creditors may litigate
his right to a general discharge, or whether specific
debts may be discharged. That multitude of proceed-
ings, moreover, takes place on a highly compressed

" See http://www _ abiworld.org/AM/AMTemplate.
ctm?Section=Home& TEMPLATK=/CM/ContentDisplay.cf
m.

9

schedule compared to normal federal litigation.’

This cacophony of actions could result in chaos in
the absence of the carefully-orchestrated provisions of
the Code and the Rules which set procedural mecha-
nisms for different types of actions, with snecific no-
tice, timing, and objection provisions for each. Those
clearly spelled out rules give all parties the informa-
tion they need to navigate the complex waters of
bankruptcy litigation without running aground. If
those provisions can be ignored, however, creditors
wil] be left unsure as to what they must do to retain
their rights and be forced to incur added costs to liti-
gate issues the Code and Rules have already settled.

Creditors, though, should have a right to reccive
the notice due to them under the Rules and to gauge
their actions accordingly. That truism undoubtedly
applies even when a defendant is involved in only one
case with a single other party, but the need for rules
to be followed increases geometrically where a single
defendant, such as the student loan creditors — or a
tax authority of the Amici states — may be faced with
literally thousands or tens of thousands of cases in a

‘ Plans must be filed no later than 15 days after the
petition date. Bankruptcy Rule 3015(a). The confirmation
hearing currently must be at least 20 days after the Sec-
tion 341 meeting of creditors, which in turn, under Bank-
r ptey Rule 2003(a) is to be held between 20 and 50 days
after the case is filed. Section 1324(b). Thus, if the plan is
filed on the L5th day, the plan confirmation hearing could
be as early as the 40th day of the case. Before 2005, there
was no minimum period set between the petition date and
the confirmation hearing.

10

single year.® To cope with those filings in an economi-
cally realistic fashion, creditors must set up auto-
mated systems to handle their cases, delegate much
of the work to paralegals, and train secretarial staff
as to which matters must be brought to counsel’s at-
tention and which do not require further action. In
making those case-handling judgments, creditors
have a right to gauge their actions in accordance with
the clear terms of the Code and the Rules.

That is particularly true when a third salient real-
ity of Chapter 13 cases is considered, namely, the fact
that, despite the array of potential litigation relative
to any given filing, these are usually low-dollar cases.
In FY 2007, for instance, the payments made through
Chapter 13 cases totaled some $2.8 billion for secured
claims, $390 million for debtors’ counsel, $300 million
for priority debt, and $257 million for the trustees, for
a total of about $3.75 billion - leaving only $1.35 bil-
lion for all unsecured creditors.’ Divided by the

—

* As noted by the defendant, the federal student loan
programs service more than $500 biliion of loans. The de-
fendant here received notice of 24,411 bankruptcies in
2008 alone. U.S. DEPT. OF EDUC., FINANCIAL AND
PERFORMANCE QUARTERLY UPDATE, Issue 2008-2,
at 7 (Sept. 30, 2008).

® See
http://www.usdoj.gov/ust/eo/private trustee/library/chapte
r13/docs/ch13ar07-AARpt.xls; FY-2007 Chapter 13 Trustee
Audited Annual Reports. The total was even less before
the 2005 amendments — see Prof. Scott F. Norberg, Chap-
ter 13 Project: Little Patd to Unsecureds, 26 Amer. Bank.
Inst. J. 1 (March 2007) (ess than 20% of receipts went to

11

roughly 300,000 Chapter 13 cases filed in 2007, that
resulted in an average payout to unsecured creditors
of little more than $4,500 per case. When potential
recoveries are so small, unsecured creditors like the
student lenders here must judge carefully how much
to spend on reviewing and litigating plan terms,
knowing that their real hope of payment comes from
collecting nondischargeable debts after the plan is
finished and competing obligations are discharged.

Finally, it is important to consider how Chapter
13 plans will be structured if a debtor knows that it
must comply with the law. The Chapter 13 discharge
in Section 1328 excepts certain debts (including stu-
dent loans) from discharge. Further, it is well settled
that interest accruing on non-dischargeable debts
(such as was the case here) is also excepted from the
discharge. Bruning v. United States, 376 U.S. 358,
360 (1964); In re Foster, 319 F.3d 495, 497-98 (9th
Cir. 2003). If a debtor knows it cannot discharge such
debts through plan provisions, it not only has no in-
centive to discriminate against those debts, it has a
positive incentive to give them preferential treatment.
Courts differ on whether such treatment is allowed;
the point is simply that, if the debtor knows he can
discharge the debt only by filing an adversary com-
plaint, he has every reason to pay as much as possible
on such debts under its plan, since each dollar not
paid on a nondischargeable debt is a one that he must
pay later. Accordingly, a creditor that does not want
to waste money in Chapter 13 cases or run up costs

unsecured creditors).

12

for those who are paying their debts, can rely on
those built-in incentives to ensure that it will receive
as much under the plan as it is legally entitled to. It
can, then, direct its limited resources to higher-
priority issues, such as defending actual undue hard-
ship adversary actions.

On the other hand, if debtors are free to ignore
both the substantive and procedural requirements of
the Code and the Rules, then they have every reason
to underpay disfavored creditors or seek to discharge
debts improperly through plan provisions. Thus, until
creditors are alerted by decisions such as the one be-
low, debtors can obtain substantial and unwarranted
benefits from those who make the mistake of relying
on the rule they have read. And, while creditors with
many cases presumably will learn to adapt to a new
regimen based on this altered version of the Rules
(albeit at substantial, unnecessary cost and burden to
all parties), occasional creditors may not learn until
too late that they were foolish to have assumed that
the Rules applied to debtors too. That is not a state of
affairs that this Court should tolerate; the Amici
states urge the Court to take certiorari on this case in
order to reverse the decision below.

Il. The decision below conflicts with holdings of
this Court and other circuits.

In Tennessee Student Assistance Corp. v. Hood,
541 U.S. 440, 449-452 (2004), this Court described the
student loan discharge provisions, noting that Section
523(a)(8) is “self-executing;” that the debtor must “af-
firmatively secure[{] a hardship determination” to dis-
charge a student loan debt; that creditors are given

13

“greater procedural protection” before such debts can
be discharged even though creditors are not generaliy
entitled to personal service prior to the entry of the
discharge; and that an adversary proceeding must be
filed to discharge the debt. This Court did, to be sure,
state that “absent Rule 7001(6), a debtor could pro-
ceed by motion, . . . which would raise no constitu-
tional concern,” 541 U.S. at 453 (emphasis added),
but that does not mean, as the Ninth Circuit stated
that it would be “wrong and dangerous” to allow Con-
gress to define what is required for due process if it
chooses to do so. Espinosa, 553 F.3d at 1204. The re-
ality is that Rule 7001(6) does exist and it does im-
pose positive obligations on a debtor — obligations
that cannot be disregarded in evaluating the rights of
the creditor. The suggestion that Hood allows courts
to disregard the effect of Rule 7001(6) was rightfully
rejected out of hand by Jn re Hanson, 397 F.3d 482,
487 (7th Cir. 2005). Correcting the Ninth Circuit’s
misreading of Hood is itself sufficient reason to grant
certiorari.

Even absent the conflict with Hood, the Ninth
Circuit’s ruling puts it squarely in conflict with five
other Circuits, as well as this Court’s holding in Mul-
lane. The Ninth Circuit openly conceded that it had
placed itself on the opposite side of all of its sister cir-
cuits, as well as the District Court in this case, and
the Ninth Circuit Bankruptcy Appellate Panel in Jn
re Repp, 307 B.R. 144 (9th Cir. BAP 2004), reversed
by Espinosa, 553 F.3d at 1204, n. 6. Its decision to
give debtors who live in — or move to'® — the largest

' [Inder the venue provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 1408, a

14

circuit in the country a preferable position vis-a-vis
discharging their student loans compared to those in
those other circuits, creates the sort of split that calls
for resolution by this Court.

The cases in the other circuits involved the same
fact pattern as here — a Chapter 13 debtor who used
plan language to discharge a debt, ignoring the Rule
stating that he must bring an adversary action to de-
termine undue hardship. In each case, the creditor
did not object to the plan or appeal from confirmation,
but sought to collect the debt after the plan ended
and was met by the contention that the confirmed
plan was res judicata of the issue. In each case, the
Circuit Court held, contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s
ruling here, the orders were void due to the debtor’s
violation of due process. Indeed, although the Tenth
Circuit had initia.:y relied on res judicata principles
to uphold “discharge by declaration” in Andersen v.
UNIPAC-NEBHELP (In re Anderson), 179 F.3d 1253
(10th Cir. 1999), it eventually overruled Andersen in
its en banc decision in Educ. Credit. Mgmt. Corp. v.
Mersmann (In re Mersmann), 505 F.3d 1033 (2007),
when it considered the due process issues the Ninth
Circuit rejected in this case.

Further, the same issue has also arisen with re-
spect to whether liens can be invalidated through
plan provisions, rather than adversary proceedings as
required by Bankruptcy Rule 7001(2). See In re Man-

case may be brought wherever a debtor is currently dom!-
ciled, regardless of where the debt was incurred or the
lender located.

15

saray-Ruffin, 530 F.3d 230, 35-36 (3rd Cir. 2008); In
re Bateman, 331 F.3d 821, 830-833 (llth Cir. 2003);
Cen-Pen Corp. v. Hanson, 58 F.3d 89 (4th Cir. 1995),
all holding that liens cannot be invalidated through
plan provisions. Indeed, see In re Brawders, 503 F.3d
856, 859-870 (9th Cir. 2007) (affirming decision by
Bankruptcy Appellate Panel) and Jn re Enewally, 368
F.3d 165, 1173 (9th Cir. 2004), both of which appear
to endorse the same concept. Thus, the Ninth Circuit
is in conflict with itself on these issues, and its stu-
dent loan analysis sets up conflicts with this line of
decisions as well.

In short, the Ninth Circuit has created uncer-
tainty where the Bankruptcy Rules prescribe a
bright-line requirement, leaving parties to grapple
with an amorphous balancing process despite the fact
that Congress has prescribed the proper process with
complete clarity. Under the Rules, the result is sim-
ple — either a summons and cumplaint are properly
served on a proper party, or they are not. But under
the Ninth Circuit’s approach, courts must decide
whether some other, lesser form of notice is adequate
under the circumstances of each particular case. In-
deed, if its approach is correct, why would it not
equally allow parties to disregard the provisions of
Fed. R. Civ. Proc. 4 when they commence an ordinary
civil action? If one can ignore the duty to serve a
complaint and summons yet still bind a party to a de-
fault judgment in bankruptcy by mailing some docu-
ment to the other party, why should that same result
not obtain in other litigation? The suggestion would
be absurd outside of bankruptcy; it is no less so in
bankruptcy.

16

If anything, it is more necessary in light of the
complex, multi-faceted bankruptcy process. The
Ninth Circuit’s opinion imposes added costs and bur-
dens with no countervailing benefits. Indeed, by gra-
tuitously reviving an abuse that was largely elimi-
nated through the vigilance of creditors and courts,
the Ninth Circuit has made handling of bankruptcy
matters more difficult than necessary. Those difficul-
ties will increase in light of the new discharge excep-
tions in Chapter 13 discharge, giving debtors greater
incentives te evade the Rules. It is critical that certio-
rari is granted here so that the Court may bring the
law in the Ninth Circuit back into conformity with
that of the other Circuit Courts and restore the con-

stitutionally mandated “uniform” law of bankruptcy.
U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 4.

Ill. The Ninth Circuit erred in its ruling on the
merits.

It is also important for this Court to grant certio-
rari because of the Ninth Circuit's plain error in its
rulings on the merits. The discussion below merely
touches on the problems with the Ninth Circuit’s ru]
ing that must be corrected. Specifically, the decision
below erred in not finding that the confirmation order
was void for lack of due process in two separate, but
related aspects. The Ninth Circuit’s rejection of these
arguments further illustrates the split among the
Circuit Courts on these issues.

17

A. Where the Bankruptcy Code and Rules
prescribe the procedure for discharge of a
student loan, the bankruptcy court can-
not approve a plan that ignores the pro-
cedure.

The Bankruptcy Rules state that an adversary
proceeding is the exclusive procedure for determining
the dischargeability of a debt in bankruptcy court.
Bankruptcy Rule 7001(6). Hood, 541 U.S. at 449-452.
Under Section 1322(b)(11), a Chapter 13 plan may
contain any provision “not inconsistent with this ti-
tle.” Similarly, Section 1325(a)(1) provides that the
court “shall confirm a plan if — (1) the plan complies
with the provisions of this chapter and with the other
applicable provisions of this title; . . . fand] (3) the
plan has been proposed in good faith and not by any
means forbidden by law.” Thus, Congress has thrice
stated that plans must only contain lawful provisions
and that courts may only confirm lawful plans.

Based on those provisions, and as set out in more
detail in Petitioner’s brief, other Circuits have held
that the Bankruptcy Court lacks the authority to
grant a discharge of student loan debt through the
plan process. See Whelton v. Educ. Credit Mgmt.
Corp., 432 F.3d 150, 154-55, 156, n.2 (2nd Cir. 2005)
(using plan process makes discharge provision “void
ab initio”), Banks v. Sallie Mae Servicing Corp., 299
F.3d 296, 300 (4th Cir. 2002). Section 1325 does not
issue mere hortatory admonishments to the debtor;
rather, it imposes requirements the plan must satisfy
to be confirmed. Mersmann, 505 F.3d at 1048, 1049
(“§ 1325(aX1)... permits the confirmation of a plan

18

only if it is consistent with the rest of the Code;”
“bankruptcy court lacks authority to confirm” plan
that does not use adversary proceeding); Hanson, 397
F.3d at 487 (“Failure to comply with the Code has
been said to render the plan and any confirming or-
der ‘nugatory.”). See also Shaw v. Aurgroup Finan-
cial Credit Union, 552 F.3d 447, 455-58 (6th Cir.
2009); In re Jones, 530 F.3d 1284, 1289-90 (10th Cir.
2008), both holding requirements of Section 1325(a)
are mandatory. Even if this position is in dispute,
that simply creates further conflicts that this Court
should resolve. That is particularly true where the
Ninth Circuit ended its discussion with the conclu-
sion that bankruptcy courts not only could confirm
plans that violated the Code — but they were barred
from refusing to do so. Espinosa, 533 F.3d at 1205
(reversing prior decisions denying confirmation of
such pians). Such a clear conflict cries out to be re-
solved by this Court.

B. Where the Bankruptcy Code or Rules pre-
scribe a particular form of notice, denial
of that notice violates due process.

An adversary proceeding is commenced by filing a
complaint that must, under Bankruptcy Rule 7008
show “that the [debtor]! is entitled to relief” and the
specific relief sought. Thus, unlike a debtor’s bare
demand in a plan for a discharge, a complaint must
show the alleged hardship, name the lender, set out
the desired relief, and be served by summons on a
high-level official or person designated to receive ser-
vice. Those measures bring home to the creditor in a
clear and direct fashion that its specific interests are

19

being challenged and that it must look to those inter-
ests or suffer a default. By comparison, the debtor
need not even serve a full Chapter 13 plan on credi-
tors, only a summary thereof. Bankruptcy Rule
3015(d). Indeed, Section 521(e)(3) now states that a
plan is provided to a creditor only if it requests the
plan and pays for the copy it receives.

In short, the notice requirements for an adversary
proceeding are far more exacting than the notice re-
quired for confirmation of a Chapter 13 plan. Never-
theless, because USA Funds received some “notice”
that a plan was filed, and could have inquired into
the effect of the proposed plan on its claim, the Ninth
Circuit held that it had received all the notice that it
was due on the discharge issue. That conclusion is in-
correct both practically and legally. As a practical
matter, large creditors, like USA Funds, receive “tidal
waves of mail... . The quantity ‘of notice’ that is is-
sued by the bankruptcy system is so overwhelming
that it is necessary to have clear rules in order for
creditors to know what notices to notice as opposed to
the notices that are deafening legal background noise.
The Code and the Rules set forth those clear stan-
dards and it is up to the courts to ensure that the
lines are not blurred.” Jn re Ruehle, 412 F.3d 679,
682-83 (6th Cir. 2004).

As a legal matter, this Court has stated that due
process requires “notice reasonably calculated, under
all the circumstances, to apprise interested parties of
the pendency of the action and afford them an oppor-
tunity to present their objections.” Mullane v. Central
Hanover Bank & Trust, 339 U.S. 306, 314 (1950)

20

(emphasis added). The other Circuits have concluded
that, at a minimum, that means that parties must
receive the notice they have been promised. See, e.g.,
Banks, 299 F.3d at 303 (“due process generally enti-
tles a party to receive the notice specified before an
order binding the party will be afforded preclusive
effect”); Ruehle, 412 F.3d at 684-85 (parties are “enti-
tled to the prescribed level of notice for the process to
be due”); Mersmann, 503 F.3d at 1049 (“creditor has 2
right to assume that he will receive all of the notices
required by statute before his claim is forever
barred.”).

That principle was stated by this Court in City of
New York v. New York, New Haven & Hartford R.R.,
344 U.S. 293 (1953) where it considered whether a
party could be bound by a confirmation order where it
knew of the case but had not been mailed notice of
the hearing on the plan as required under -he statute
and the rules. This Court rejected the argument that
knowledge of the case would put a party on inquiry
notice so that it would be obligated to take steps to
learn of the hearing, stating that “even creditors who
have knowledge of a reorganization have a right to
assume that the statutory ‘reasonable notice’ will be
viven them before their claims are forever barred.”
(Emphasis added). Courts continue to apply that rule
in Chapter 11 cases, even where they also find that
the different circumstances in Chapter 7 and 13 cases
can bind parties to mere inquiry notice. See In re
Metzger, 346 B.R. 806, 817-19 (Bankr. N.D. Cal.
2006), explaining the differences and noting the effect
of varying statutory provisions in the different chap-
ters. Thus, it is clear that there is no one single size

21

notice that satisfies all constitutional duties.

The same is true here — the creditors have been
told that they will receive a particular form of “rea-
sonable notice,” but the debtor provided a different,
lesser form of notice that it argues was “good
enough.” The Ninth Circuit decided that, because the
alternative service might have been adequate, in the
absence of any specified provisions in the statute or
Rule, that it was immaterial that it was not the ser-
vice that was required. That conclusion, though, ig-
nores the critical distinction between being given no
information and being given misleading information.
If nothing had been said about how undue hardship
would be decided, the creditor would have no alterna-
tive but to examine each paper it received with care
to determine if a discharge action was lurking within.
But, where a specific form of notice is specified, credi-
tors have a right to rely thereon and limit their moni-
toring efforts accordingly.

Put another way, if the Rules had said, “no action
can be taken to affect the discharge of any debt
unless the notice is sent in a blue envelope,” a credi-
tor could not be faulted for not reviewing documents
sent in white envelopes to determine if attempts were
being made to affect their debts. The result is no dif-
ferent here — the creditor is told explicitly what to ex-
pect, but the debtor used a different mode entirely.
The Ninth Circuit held that the lender was sophisti-
cated and it was “highly unlikely” that it was misled
by “customary bankruptcy procedure,” Espinosa, 553
F.3d at 1205 — a statement true only if is “customary”
for debtors to ignore the Code and the Rules.

9

eee

The Ninth Circuit’s basic error is its failure to ap-
ply Mullane’s requirement that due process requires
consideration of all the circumstances. In Mullane, a
trustee sought to settle its accounts where thousands
of parties were involved and it could not ascertain
names and addresses for many of them. The trustee
relied on state law that allowed publication notice for
all parties, but this Court held that such notice could
be used only for unknown creditors. Known creditors
were entitled to actual service even where there was
no reason to believe the trustee had done anything
wrong or that any party would sue. Moreover, this
was the only action involving the beneficiaries, not
one of thousands to which they must respond. Never-
theless, this Court made clear that due process was
not a mere gesture, but must be calculated by what a
person would do who truly wanted to communicate to
another.

Here, by contrast, the debtor is violating the
Rules, the plan takes away the creditor’s rights, the
debtor typically has a manageable number of credi-
tors to notify and knows their contact information,
while the creditor is dealing with a huge case load
that must be carefully managed. Under those circum-
stances, the debtor knows that creditors will justifia-
bly rely on the Rules to determine the efforts they
must make. Allowing debtors to exploit that reliance
dues not satisfy Mullane; it is the antithesis of Mul-
lane. Nor can it simply be assumed, as the Ninth Cir-
cuit held, that creditors actually agree that their
claims should be discharged so that it would be im-
proper for bankruptcy courts to challenge such provi-
sions sua sponte, despite their broad policing powers

23

under Section 105(a). By doing so, the Ninth Circuit
has reinvigorated the concept of discharge by am-
bush, while removing a powerful tool to alleviate the
problem. Under all of these circumstances, this is
plainly a decision that demands reversal.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN R. KROGER

Attorney General of Oregon

MARY H. WILLIAMS

Deputy Attorney Genera!

JEROME LIDZ

Solicitor General

CAROLYN G. WADE

Assistant Attorney General
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
State of Oregon

April 13, 2009

24
APPENDIX A
LIST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

State of Alaska
Wayne Anthony Ross
Attorney General of Alaska
P. O. Box 110300
Juneau, Alaska 99811

State of Hawaii
Mark J. Bennett
Attorney General of Hawaii
425 Queen Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

State of Michigan
Mike Cox
Attorney General of Michigan
P. O. Box 30212
525 W. Ottawa Street
Lansing, Michigan 48909-0212

State of Missouri
Chris Koster
Attorney General of Missouri
Supreme Ct. Bldg.
207 W. High Street
Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

25

State of Nevada
Catherine Cortez-Masto
Attorney General of Nevada
Old Supreme Court Bldg.
100 N. Carson Street
Carson City, Nevada 89701

State of Ohio
Richard Cordray
Attorney General of Ohio
30 East Broad Street, 17" Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43266-0410

State of Tennessee
Robert E. Cooper, Jr.
Attorney General and Reporter of Tennessee
P.O. Box 20207
Nashville, Tennessee 37202-0207

State of Utah
Mark L. Shurtleff
Attorney General of Utah
Utah State Capitol Suite #230
P.O. Box 142320
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2320

State of Washington
Rob McKenna
Attorney General of Washington
1125 Washington Street SE
P. O. Box 40100
Olympia, Washington 98504-0100

26

State of Wyoming
Bruce A. Salzburg
Attorney General of Wyoming
State Capitol Building
Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0455%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
