# Respondents Brief — Afanzi v. Holder, (2008) (No. 906)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0439%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2008

## Text

Supteme Court, U.S.
FILED

AUG 26 2009

OFFICE OF THE ='"": §<

-—-a me +

No. 08-906

Hu the Supreme Court of the CAnited States

JOSEPH AFANWI, PETITIONER
Vv.

ERIC H. HOLDER, JR., ATIORNEY GENERAL

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT

ELENA KAGAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
TONY WEST
Assistant Attorney General
DONALD E, KEENER
ERICA B. MILES
Attorneys
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Fifth Amendment affords an alien a
right to relief based on the ineffective assistance of pri-
vately retained counsel in the course of seeking judicial
review of a final order of removal entered by the Board
of Immigration Appeals.

2. Whether the Board of Immigration Appeals has
jurisdiction to reopen proceedings to afford relief from
his counsel’s failure to file a timely petition for review
with the court of appeals of the Board’s final order of
removal.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EE 55 occu eed n ens enceeeccyneeusesecegeepeds 1
En en ere ee ee ere i
ee ee err rr Tre rey Tree 2
iin xn 6g Ok BG 5 ROS TUEG ES CONS EEK CED AEE CONROE i)
6 ok oud GUWCOECAREVERME CAMO EA CREO AON KES 16
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Alcala v. Holder, 563 F.3d 1009 (9th Cir. 2009)... 2.2... 14
Aris v. Mukasey, 517 F.3d 595 (2d Cir. 2008) .......... 13
Castaneda-Suarez v. INS, 993 F.2d 142
POTS Ee eC ee eT ye Ee eee TT 13
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722 (1991) ......... 10, 11
Compean, In re:
251. & N. Dec. 1 (Att’y Gen. 2009) ......... 6, 10, 14, 16
24 1. & N. Dec. 710 (Att’y Gen.), vacated,
251. & N. Dec. 1 (Att’y Gen. 2009)................ 6
Dakane v. United States Att’y Gen., 399 F.3d 1269
ee ce hed en banks 6 ue oh oO 8b wee 13
Denko v. INS, 351 F.3d 717 (6th Cir. 2003) ............ 13

Fadiga v. Attorney Gen., 488 F.3d 142 (3d Cir. 2007) .... 18
Fong Yue Ting v. United States, 149 U.S. 698 (1893) .... 12
Gjondrekaj v. Mukasey, 269 Fed. Appx. 106

a, Oe ae ae. cae a ue ene 16
INS vy. Lopez-Mendoza, 468 U.S. 1032 (1981) .......... 12
Kucana v. Holder, cert. granted, No. 08-911

SE Swe eek dk oye eek when euees nee see c ven 15
Link v. Wabash R.R., 370 U.S. 626 (1962) ............. 11

(111)

IV

Cases

Continued: Page

Lozada, In re, 19 1. & N. Dee. 637 (B.1.A. 1988),

review denied, 857 F.2d 10 (1st Cir. 1988) ............ 6
BE Set Cees SO Cs SED Ck. ccvcdveseccccens 12
Magala v. Gonzales, 434 F.3d 523 (7th Cir. 2005) 2... .. 12
Mai v. Gonzales, 473 F.3d 162 (5th Cir. 2006) .......... 13
Mojsilovic v. 1NS, 156 F.3d 743 (7th Cir. 1998)... 2.2... 13
Murray v. Carrier, 477 US. 478 (1986) 2.2... ee ee eee 11
Negqusie v. Holder, 1298S. Ct. 1159 (2009) .............. 12
Nehad v. Mukasey, 535 F.3d 962 (9th Cir. 2008) ........ 13
Rafiyev v. Mukasey, 536 F.3d 853 (8th Cir. 2008) ....... 13
Sanchez v. Keisler, 505 F.3d 641 (7th Cir. 2007) ........ 13
Tangy v. Ashcroft, 354 F.3d 1192 (10th Cir. 2003) ........ 13
Zeru Vv. Gonzales, 503 F.3d 59 (1st Cir. 2007) ........... 13

Constitution, convention, statutes and regulations:

St Es cw ek ce nen ee 608 ees 9,10, 12, 13
I ck ee Cone eewe 12, 13

Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel,

Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment,

adopted Dee. 10, 1984, 8. Treaty Doc. No. 20,

100th Cong., 2d Sess. (1988), 1465 U.N.T.S. 85........ 2
Foreign Affairs Relations Authorization Act,

KF iseal Years 1998 and 1999, Pub. L. No. 105-277,

Div. G, Subdiv. B, § 2242, 112 Stat. 2681-822

Pe EE bcc pee ct vevecdececaensesseenee 3
Immigration and Nationality Act,

8 U.S.C. 1151 et seq.:

Dee SRPOIUOED cc ecce ns sccccccncesccenes 2

Vv

Statutes and regulations—Continued:

8 U.S.C. 1158(b)CIMA) ........------
8 USC. 1IZ2iaXIXB) ............-.
8 U.S.C. 1229a(b)(4)(A) .............
8 U.S.C. 1231(b)(3)(A) .......-..----
8 U.S.C. 1252(a)(2)(B)ii) ... 2... ee
S UBL). TERA) oe cccceescises
DUI NED os vv ewe cenduceess
PE 5 cbc ekcceustcudeewnr
Be OP NE 6 oie ON Ve eAete esd cnneanenes

8 C.F.R.:

TEED vi ccc eceebeesvuneusen
ee ee ee
Section 1008.1(d)(SMili) ... cee eee
Sections 1208.16-1208.18 ..............
Section 1IZOB.1G(eNS) ....cccccccccccces

Jn the Supreme Court of the Cited States

No. 08-906
JOSEPH AFANWI, PETITIONER
vz.
ERIC H. HOLDER, JR., ATTORNEY GENERAL

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 3a-22a)
is reported at 526 F.3d 788. The decision of the Board
of Immigration Appeals denying petitioner’s motion to
reopen (Pet. App. 28a-25a) is unreported. Earlier deci-
sions of the Board of Immigration Appeals (Pet. App.
26a, 27a-29a) and the immigration judge (Pet. App. 30a-
71a) are unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 19, 2008. A petition for rehearing was denied on
August 19, 2008 (Pet. App. la-2a). On October 27, 2008,
the Chief Justice extended the time within which to file
a petition for a writ of certiorari to and including Janu-
ary 16, 2009, and the petition was filed on that date.

(1)

2

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. The Immigration and Nationality Aet (INA) de-
fines a “refugee” as an alien who is unwilling or unable
to return to his or her country of origin “because of per-
secution or a well-founded fear of persecution on account
of race, religion, nationality, membership in a partic-
ular social group, or political opinion.” 8 U.S.C.
1101(a)(42)(A). If the “Secretary of Homeland Security
or the Attorney General determines” that an alien is a
refugee, the Secretary or the Attorney General “may,”
in his or her discretion, “grant asylum” in the United
States. 8 U.S.C. 1158(b)(1)(A). In addition to the dis-
cretionary relief of asylum, mandatory withholding of an
alicn’s removal from the United States is available “if
the Attorney General decides that the alien’s life or free-
dom would be threatened in [the country of removal]
because of the alien’s race, religion, nationality, mem-
bership in a particular social group, or political opinion.”
8 U.S.C. 1231(b)(8)(A). An applicant bears the burden
of establishing that he or she is a refugee eligible for
asylum or that his or her life or freedom would be
threatened so as to warrant withholding of removal.
8 C.F. R. 208.13(a), 208.16(b).

A person who is present in the United States and
fears torture if removed to a particular country may
obtain protection under the Convention Against Torture
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or
Punishment (CAT), adopted Dec. 10, 1984, S. Treaty
Doc. No. 20, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. (1988), 1465 U.N.T-.S.
85. The CAT has been implemented through Depart-
ment of Justice regulations. See 8 C.F.R. 1208.16-

3

1208.18; see also Foreign Relations Authorization Act,
Fiscal Years 1998 and 1999, Pub. L. No. 105-277, Div. G,
Subdiv. B, § 2242, 112 Stat. 2681-822 (8 U.S.C. 1231
note). To obtain protection under the CAT, an alien
must demonstrate that it is more likely than not that he
or she would be tortured in the country of removal.
8 C.F.R. 1208.16(¢)(3).

2. a. Petitioner, a native and citizen of Cameroon,
entered the United States in July 2002 as a non-immi-
grant visitor with authorization to remain in the United
States until January 23, 2008. Pet. App. 4a, 3la. On
January 20, 2003, petitioner filed an application for asy-
lum, withholding of removal, and CAT protection with
the former Immigration and Naturalization Service
(INS). /d. at 4a. An asylum officer referred petitioner's
application to an immigration judge (1.J). /d. at 4a, 60a.
On March 11, 2003, the INS initiated removal proceed-
ings by filing a Notice to Appear, alleging that petitioner
was removable under 8 U.S.C. 1227(a)(1)(B) for remain-
ing in the United States longer than permitted. Pet.
App. 4a-5a, 3la.

b. On July 22, 2004, the IJ denied petitioner’s appli-
cation for asylum, withholding of removal, and CAT pro-
tection on account of petitioner’s lack of credibility. Pet.
App. 30a-7la. The IJ found that there were significant
discrepancies between petitioner's original and amended
affidavits and inconsistencies between petitioner’s ac-
count of mistreatment and his mother’s affidavit. /d. at
62a-63a. In addition, the IJ determined that petitioner’s
testimony was improbable and uncorroborated, and that
the corroborating evidence that petitioner did provide
was inconsistent, of little evidentiary value, and lacking
in detail. /d. at 64a-67a. The IJ thus found that peti-
tioner failed to prove that he had been arrested and

4

harmed, or that he had escaped from prison and was
wanted by governmental authorities in Cameroon. /d.
at 68a. The IJ also found that petitioner’s claims of
country-wide persecution in Cameroon were not reason-
able. Jd. at 69a. Accordingly, the IJ denied petitioner’s
asylum-related claims and, for similar reasons, his
claims for withholding of removal under the INA and
the CAT. /d. at 67a-71a.

3. a. Petitioner appealed the I.J’s decision to the
Board of Immigration Appeals (Board). See Pet. App.
27a. Petitioner’s counsel, Daniel M. Fisher-Owens, later
filed a notice of appearance with the Board, listing his
address as follows:

Berliner Corcoran & Rowe, L.L.P.

1101 17th St. NW, Suite 1100

Washington, DC 20036

Admin. R. 143 (A.R.). Thereafter, the Board issued a
briefing schedule and mailed it to the following address:

Daniel M. Fisher-Owens
1101 17th Street NW

Suite 1100

Washington, DC 20036-0000

A.R. 141-142. On June 23, 2005, petitioner filed his brief
with the Board, including a copy of the briefing sched-
ule. A.R. 115-117.

b. On November 29, 2005, the Board dismissed peti-
tioner’s appeal. Pet. App. 27a-29a. The Board con-
cluded that the IJ did not err “in her conclusion that
[petitioner had] not presented sufficient evidence or
sufficiently credible testimony in support of the claim.”
Id. at 29a. The Board served its decision on petitioner’s
counsel at the same address it had used to serve the
briefing schedule. /d. at 5a, 10a nn.14 & 15. Petitioner

5

did not file a timely petition for judicial review of the
Board’s November 29, 2005 decision. /d. at 5a.

¢. On January 12, 2006, petitioner filed a motion
with the Board requesting that it reissue its November
29, 2005 decision. A.R. 89; Pet. App. 5a. In his motion,
petitioner observed that the Board’s decision had been
mailed to his attorney, but that the address omitted his
attorney's law firm’s name. /d. at 5a, 10a & n.14. Peti-
tioner argued that the incomplete address “could have
delayed delivery” of the Board’s decision, id. at 5a, but
he noted he could not confirm that fact, because counsel
had transferred offices and did not routinely check his
mail between the time the order was mailed and January
6, 2006. A.R. 91; see Pet. App. 9a-10a. Petitioner ar-
gued that it would “be unfair to penalize [him] for coun-
sel’s failing,” and requested that the Board use its “dis-
cretionary and equitable powers to rescind and reissue”
its prior decision. A.R. 93; see Pet. App. 10a-11a.

On February 13, 2006, the Board denied petitioner’s
motion to reissue its November 29, 2005 decision be-
cause the decision had been mailed to the address previ-
ously provided by counsel and there was no error attrib-
utable to the Board in serving the decision. Pet. App.
26a.

d. On February 27, 2006, petitioner—acting through
new counsel—filed a motion to reopen with the Board,
claiming that he received ineffective assistance of coun-
sel due to his prior attorney’s failure to file a timely peti-
tion for review of the Board’s November 29, 2005 deci-
sion, and also arguing that new evidence relating to his
asylum claim warranted reopening of his proceedings.
A.R. 6; Pet. App. 5a, 23a.

The Board denied petitioner’s motion to reopen on
May 12, 2006. Pet. App. 23a-25a. With respect to peti-

6

tioner’s claim of ineffective assistance of counsel, the
Board found that it lacked jurisdiction over a claim
based on “any ineffective assistance the [alien] received
subsequent to the final order of the Board and in con-
nection with an appeal of the Board’s decision.” Jd. at
24a. The Board observed that petitioner had attempted
to comply with the procedural requirements under /n re
Lozada, 19 1. & N. Dec. 637 (B.1.A.), review denied, 857
F.2d 10 (ist Cir. 1988), but found that it could review
due process claims only as they pertained to “proceed-
ings before the Immigration Judge or the Board” itself.'
Pet. App. 24a. With respect to petitioner’s request to
reopen the proceeding on the basis of new evidence, the

' In Lozada, the Board held that an alien’s motion to reopen based

on the alleged ineffective assistance of counsel should be evaluated in
light of the following three requirements: (1) the motion should be
“supported by an affidavit” from the alien setting forth, among other
things, “the agreement that was entered into with former counsel with
respect to the actions to be taken * * * and what counsel did or did
notrepresent to the [alien] in this regard”; (2) the “former counsel must
be informed of the allegations [leveled against him] and allowed the op-
portunity to respond”; and (3) the motion should reflect “whether a
complaint has been filed with appropriate disciplinary authorities” with
respect to any violation of counsel's “ethical or legal responsibilities” or
an explanation for why one was not filed. See /n re Lozada, 191. & N.
Dec. at 639. The Lozadu factors would have been partially superseded
on a prospective basis by Attorney General Mukasey’s initial decision
earlier this year in Jn re Compean, 24 1. & N. Dee. 710, 741-742 (2009)
(prescribing new filing requirements with respect to alien's motions ad-
dressing counsel's deficient performance, but providing that the Lozada
factors would continue to apply to motions filed before the Attorney
General's decision). On reconsideration, however, Attorney General
Mukasey’s opinion in Compean was vacated, and in a new opinion At-
torney General Holder ordered the initiation of a Department of Justice
rulemaking to evaluate whether the Lozada administrative framework
for considering claims based on allegedly deficient performance by
counsel should be revised. Jn re Compean, 25 1. & N. Dec. 1, 3 (2009).

7

Board found that, although the evidence was new and
previously unavailable, it failed to remedy “the short-
comings of [petitioner’s] claim, such as his lack of credi-
bility, and further failled] to establish that he is prima
facie eligible for relief.” /bid. Accordingly, the Board
denied petitioner’s motion Lo reopen. Jd. at 25a.

4. On February 27, 2006, petitioner filed a petition
for review in the court of appeals, seeking review of the
Board’s November 29, 2005 denial of his applications for
asylum, withholding of removal, and CAT protection.
Pet. App. 6a. He later filed a “corrected” petition for
review, also secking review of the Board’s February 13,
2006 denial of his motion to rescind and reissue. /bid.
He further amended his petition for review on June 8,
2006, to request review of the third Board decision (de-
nying his motion to reopen). /bid. The court of appeals
denied the petition for review of all three Board deci-
sions on May 19, 2008. /d. at 3a-22a.

a. With respect to the Board’s November 29, 2005
denial of petitioner’s applications for asylum, withhold-
ing of removal, and CAT protection, the court of appeals
held that it lacked jurisdiction because the petition for
judicial review had not been filed within the 30-day pe-
riod allowed by 8 U.S.C. 1252(b)(1). Pet. App. 9a-10a.

b. The court also denied the petition for review re-
garding petitioner’s motion to rescind and reissue the
Board’s November 29, 2005 decision, concluding that
“the decision to rescind and reissue an order of removal
is properly left to the discretion of the [Board].” Pet.
App. lla. The court deferred to the Board’s decision to
deny the motion, because petitioner had not established
that the Board was at fault for his failure to receive in a
timely way the decision denying his asylum-related
claims. /bid.

ra

ec. Turning to the Board’s denial of petitioner’s mo-
tion to reopen, the court of appeals affirmed the Board’s
decision on al] grounds. Pet. App. lla-2la. First, the
court concluded that, because “the new evidence” peti-
tioner presented in support of reopening did not “create
a well-founded fear of persecution,” the Board did not
abuse its discretion in denying the motion on the basis
of new evidence. /d. at 12a.

Next, the court affirmed the Board’s determination
that it lacked jurisdiction over petitioner's claim that he
received ineffective assistance of counsel as a result of
counsel’s failure to file a petition for review within the
30-day period allowed by 8 U.S.C. 1252(b)(1). Pet. App.
13a-15a. The court recognized that there is “no settled
or uniform view,” and that the Board itself had “issued
contradictory opinions on the subject.” /d. at 18a. But
the court determined that the Board lacked jurisdiction
under the governing regulations “over an ineffective
assistance claim arising out of an alien’s counsel’s failure
to file a timely petition for review with the court of
appeals,” 7d. at 14a, because such an action occurs “be-
fore |the] court, not before the Board,” id. at 15a, and
the Board’s jurisdiction is limited by regulation to a re-
view of questions or issues “in appeals from decisions
of immigration judges.” /d. at 14a (quoting 8 C.F.R.
1003.1(d)(3)Gi)).

Finally, the court of appeals addressed petilioner’s
claim of ineffective assistance of counsel based on coun-
sel’s failure to file a timely petition for review. Pet. App.
15a-21la. The court concluded that the Constitution does
not “guarantee[| effective assistance of counsel to an
alien in removal proceedings.” /d. at 15a-16a. The court
reasoned that while aliens have a statutory privilege
under 8 U.S.C. 1362 to retained counsel in administra-

9

tive removal proceedings, and enjoy a Fifth Amendment
right to due process in those proceedings, the Fifth
Amendment does not entitle aliens to a remedy for the
ineffectiveness of their retained counsel, because due
process is violated only by wrongful actions of the fed-
eral government or an individual engaging in “state ac-
tion.” Pet. App. 16a-19a. The court held that, because
petitioner’s counsel was a private actor and his alleged
ineffectiveness was a purely private act, petitioner had
not been deprived of his Fifth Amendment rights. /d. at
20a-2la. The court therefore dismissed the petition for
review “with respect to |petitioner’s] claim of ineffective
assistance of counsel.” /d. at 21a.

DISCUSSION

Petitioner renews his claim (Pet. 17-28) that he has
a constitutional entitlement to relief based on the as-
sertedly deficient performance of his privately retained
counsel in failing to file a timely petition for judicial re-
view of a final order of removal. Petitioner also renews
his claim (Pet. 28-29) that the Board had jurisdiction to
grant relief based on his counsel’s failure—after the
Board had already issued a final order of removal—to
file a timely petition for review with the court of appeals.
The court of appeals correctly held that there is no con-
stitutional right to effective performance by privately
retained counsel in removal proceedings, including on
judicial review. But the court erroneously affirmed the
Board’s conclusion that the Board lacks the power to
reopen removal proceedings in order to remedy an attor-
ney’s failure to file a timely petition for review of a final
order of removal. The Attorney General has since made
clear that the Board does have that authority. See /7 re
Compean, 25 1. & N. Dec. 1, 3 (2009). Accordingly, the

10

court of appeals’ judgment should be vacated and the
case remanded for further consideration in light of the
Attorney General’s decision in Compean that the Board
has jurisdiction to provide petitioner with appropriate
relief. The court of appeals may then in turn remand to
allow the Board to decide in the first instance whether
petitioner should be afforded an administrative remedy
for the ineffective assistance of counsel he alleges. Be-
cause that course could render the constitutional issue
moot, and because the case law in the courts of appeals
on the constitutional question is still developing, this
Court’s review of the constitutional question is unwar-
ranted.

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 17-28) that his privately
retained lawyer’s failure to file atimely petition for re-
view of his order of removal deprived him of due process
in violation of the Fifth Amendment. Further review of
that claim on the merits is unwarranted, but this case
should be remanded for an opportunity to permit the
Board to consider whether, in light of the ineffective
assistance of counsel petitioner alleges, the Board
should exercise its discretion to grant petitioner’s mo-
tion to reopen.

a. The court of appeals correctly held that the Fifth
Amendment does not confer a right to effective assis-
tance by privately retained counsel in immigration pro-
ceedings. As this Court has explained, when the govern-
ment is not constitutionally required to furnish counsel
in the relevant proceedings, the errors of privately re-
tained counsel are not imputed to the government. See
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 752-754 (1991).
When “|t]here is no constitutional right to an attorney”
furnished by the government in a particular kind of pro-
ceeding, a client “cannot claim constitutionally ineffec-

11

tive assistance of counsel in such proceedings”; in that
situation, the attorney performs in a private capacity
as the client’s agent, not a state actor, and the client
therefore must “‘bear the risk of attorney error.’” /d.
at 752-753 (quoting Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478, 488
(1986)). In “our system of representative litigation . . .
each party is deemed bound by the acts of his lawyer-
agent.” Jd. at 753 (quoting Link v. Wabash R.R., 370
U.S. 626, 634 (1962)).

As petitioner implicitly concedes by relying on “the
statutory and regulatory policy of encouraging and facil-
itating aliens in retaining counsel” (Pet. 27), there is no
constitutional right to appointed counsel in immigration
proceedings. Rather, Congress has provided as a statu-
tory matter that an alien shall have the “privilege” of
being represented by counsel! of the alien’s choice “at no
expense to the Government.” 8 U.S.C. 1229a(b)(4)(A),
1362; ef. 28 U.S.C. 1654 (parallel provision providing
that a party may appear through counsel in any court of
the United States). Accordingly, when an alien has in-
voked that privilege and retained a lawyer to represent
him in removal proceedings or in filing a petition for
review, counsel’s actions are not those of the govern-
ment, but are instead attributed to the client.

Petitioner contends (Pet. 26) that the “state action”
that is needed to find a due process violation in this con-
text arises from the government’s reliance on the re-
moval order at the end of the proceeding. But that con-
tention proves too much, because it would preclude the
government from relying on any civil court order with-
out exposing itself to the risk of collateral litigation
about asserted malpractice on the part of opposing coun-
sel. And petitioner’s attempt (Pet. 19-20) to distinguish
removal proceedings from other civil litigation fails. He

12

argues that, because a removal proceeding threatens to
impose such a great. loss on an alien, it is “harely distin-
guishable from criminal condemnation” and thus trig-
gers a Fifth Amendment right to the effective assistance
of counsel analogous to that available in the criminal
context. Pet. 19 (quoting M.L.B. v. S.L.J7., 519 U.S. 102,
119 (1996)). This Court, however, has resisted calls to
view immigration proceedings as equivalent lo criminal
trials. See JNS v. Lopez-Mendoza, 468 U.S. 1032, 1038
(1984) (“Consistent with the civil nature of the |immigra-
tion] proceeding, various protections that apply in the
context of a criminal trial do not apply in a deportation
hearing.”); see also Negusie v. Holder, 129 8. Ct. 1159,
1169 (2009) (Sealia, J., concurring) (“This Court has long
understood that an ‘order of deportation is not a punish-
ment for crime.’”) (quoting Fong Yue Ting v. United
States, 149 U.S. 698, 730 (1893)). And if petitioner is
correct that immigration proceedings should be treated
like criminal] proceedings with respect to issues of legal
representation, the Constitution would require the gov-
ernment to furnish counsel to those facing removal pro-
ceedings. In the absence of any requirement of that
kind, petitioner’s claim—concerning only privately re-
tained counsel—has no apparent basis.

b. Petitioner correctly explains (Pet. 11-13) that
there is disagreement in the courts of appeals about
whether aliens in immigration proceedings have a Due
Process Clause entitlement to effective performance by
their privately retained counsel. Like the Fourth Cir-
cuit in this case, the Seventh Circuit and the Eighth Cir-
cuit. have held there is no such constitutional right. See
Magala v. Gonzales, 434 F.3d 523, 525-526 (7th Cir.

13

2005); Rafiyev v. Mukasey, 536 F.3d 853, 861 (8th Cir.
2008). By contrast, a number of other circuits have sug-
gested or held that the Due Process Clause creates a
right to assistance by counsel that is sufficiently effec-
tive to prevent removal proceedings from being funda-
mentally unfair. See Zeru v. Gonzales, 503 F.3d 59, 72
(ist Cir. 2007); Aris v. Mukasey, 517 F.3d 595, 600-601
(2d Cir. 2008); Fadiga v. Attorney Gen., 488 F.3d 142,
155 (3d Cir. 2007); Denko v. INS, 351 F.3d 717, 723-724
(6th Cir. 2003); Nehad v. Mukasey, 535 F.3d 962, 967
(9th Cir. 2008); Tang v. Ashcroft, 354 F.3d 1192, 1196
(10th Cir. 2003); Dakane v. United States Att'y Gen., 399
F.3d 1269, 1273-1274 (11th Cir. 2005).°
Notwithstanding that disagreement among the
courts of appeals, this Court should not resolve the con-
stitutional question at this time. The recent decisions
of the Fourth and Eighth Circuits demonstrate that ju-
risprudence on the issue is still developing in the courts
of appeals.‘ Ard a recent Ninth Circuit decision “as-

* As petitioner notes (Pet. 13 n.1), other Seventh Circuit decisions do
contemplate that counsel in immigration proceedings “may be so inef-
fective as to have impinged upon the fundamental fairness of the pro
ceeding in violation of the fifth amendment due process clause.” Mojsi-
lovic v. INS, 156 F.3d 743, 748 (1998) (quoting Castaneda-Suarez v.
INS, 993 F.2d 142, 144 (7th Cir. 1993)). Petitioner also quotes (Pet. 13
n.1) the passing reference to the Fifth Amendment in Sanchez v. Keis-
ler, 505 F.3d 641, 647 (7th Cir. 2007), but the court's holding there was
that the alien “did not have the fair hearing to which the vnmagration
statutes entitle her.” /d. at 649 (emphasis added).

* The Fifth Circuit has not decided the constitutional question, but
has instead “repeatedly assumed without deciding that an alien’s claim
of ineffective assistance may implicate due process concerns under the
Fifth Amendment.” Mar v. Gonzales, 473 F.3d 162, 165 (2006).

* Other pending petitions for writs of certiorari challenge later deci-
sions by the Fourth Circuit that rely on the decision in this case. See

14

sume|d]” without deciding that aliens have “a constitu-
tional right to the assistance of counsel in immigration
proceedings.” Alcala v. Holder, 563 F.3d 1009, 1015 n.11
(2009) (expressing no opinion “on the effect of” the At-
torney General’s later-vacated opinion in Compean, dis-
cussed at note 1, supra). Furthermore, as discussed he-
low, there is no need to resolve the constitutional ques-
tion because petitioner may receive an administrative
remedy of exactly the kind he seeks: If the Board
grants petitioner’s motion to reopen based on his coun-
sel’s failure to file a petition for review, that administra-
tive decision would moot petitioner’s constitutional
claim.

2. Although the Constitution does not furnish a right
to effective assistance by privately retained counsel in
removal proceedings, the Attorney General has the au-
thority, in his oversight of the administrative removal
process, to afford relief to an alien in circumstances the
Attorney General deems appropriate as a matter of dis-
cretion, including circumstances attributable to errors
by counsel in such proceedings. ‘The Board has recog-
nized an administrative remedy for deficient perfor-
mance by counsel since at least 1988. And the Attorney
General has recently directed the initiation of a Depart-
ment of Justice rulemaking to consider whether, after
twenty years, the Lozada factors that govern the
Board’s administrative resolution of claims of ineffective
assistance (see note 1, supra) should be revised. VPeti-
tioner’s case continues to be governed by “the Lozada
framework and standards as established by the Board
before Compean,” In re Compean, 25 1. & N. Dec. at 3,

Massis v. Holder, petition for cert. pending, No. 08-1392 (filed May 8,
2009); Machado v. Holder, petition for cert. pending, No. 08-7721 (filed
Dec. 11, 2008).

15

but under those standards as well, he may be entitled to
administrative relief as a result of his attorney’s error.

In this case, the court of appeals disposed of peti-
tioner’s claim about his counsel’s performance by hold-
ing that there is no constitutional right to effective as-
sisLance of counsel. Pet. App. 2la. Yet, because the
court of appeals affirmed the Board’s determination that
the Board lacked jurisdiction to grant any relief based
on counsel’s failure to file a timely petition for review in
the court of appeals, 7d. at 13a-15a, petitioner never re-
ceived a decision on the merits from the Board about
whether he should be afforded administrative relief
from the final removal order because of counsel’s error.”

Petitioner contends (Pet. 28-29) that the court of ap
peals erred in concluding that the Board lacks jurisdic-
tion to reopen proceedings on the basis of an attorney’s
failure to file a timely petition for review in the court of
appeals. As petitioner notes (Pet. 14), other circuits
have stated that the Board may consider a motion to
reopen in such circumstances. And, as the court of ap-
peals noted, the Board “itself ha[d] issued contradictory
opinions” on the question. Pet. App. 13a. Since the
court’s decision in this case, however, the Attorney Gen-

* The question of the Board's jurisdiction to reopen proceedings on
the basis of an attorney's failure to file a timely petition for review in
the court of appeals is a purely legal question. Accordingly, the juris-
diction of the court of appeals (and therefore of this Court) to remand
to the Board to allow it to determine the extent of its discretion in this
case is not likely to be affected by any decision this Court renders in
Kucana v. Holder, cert. granted, No. 08-911 (Apr. 27, 2009). Regard-
less of whether 8 U.S.C. 1252(a)(2)B)(ii) generally precludes judicial
review of the denial of a motion to reopen immigration proceedings (the
issue in Kucana), the question whether the Board has jurisdiction un-
der the governing regulations to grant relief raises a “question|[ ] of law”
that would still be reviewable under 8 U.S.C. 1252(a)(2)(D).

16

eral has clarified that the Board does have discretion to
reopen proceedings on the basis of events that oceur
after the entry of a final order of removal, including the
failure by counsel to file a timely petition for review.
See /n re Compean, 25 1. & N. Dec. at 3; see also, e.g.,
Gjondrekaj v. Mukasey, 269 Fed. Appx. 106, 108 (2d Cir.
2008). In light of that clarification, it would be appropri-
ate for this Court to vacate the court of appeals’ decision
on question two and remand the case to that court to
allow the Board to adjudicate petitioner’s claim of inef-
fective assistance unencumbered by the Board’s previ-
ous conclusion that it lacked jurisdiction to address that
claim. Although the Board, because of that erroneous
jurisdictional ruling, did not address the merits of peti-
tioner’s underlying claim concerning counscl’s actions,
the Board did recognize that petitioner had “attempted
to abide by the procedural requirements established in”
Lozada. Pet. App. 24a. There thus appears to be some
prospect that the Board would entertain his claim on the
merits on remand and grant him relief from the harm he
suffered as a result of his lawyer's error.

CONCLUSION

With respect to question one, the petition for a writ
of certiorari should be denied. With respect to question
two, the judgment of the court of appeals should be va-
cated, and the case should be remanded to the court of
appeals for further consideration in light of the Attorney
General’s determination in /n re Compean, 25 1. & N.

17

Dec. 1, 3 (2009), that the Board has jurisdiction to grant
administrative relief in a case such as this.
Respectfully submitted.
ELENA KAGAN
Solicitor General
TONY WEST
Assistant Attorney General
DONALD E. KEENER

ERICA B. MILES
Attorneys

AUGUST 2009

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA43085015_0439%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
