# Petition — Blakney v. Montana

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40835006_2674%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1981
- **Citation:** 451 U.S. 1013

## Text

—_

ie en: ee. a ee a”

lens

v *

APR 7 1980

ICE OF THE CLERK
OF PREME COURT, US.

SUPREME COURT a —

79-6366

———

OF THE UNITED STATES
LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY,

Peticioner,

STATE OF MONTANA,

Respondent.

| eT eT

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI, TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED

IN FORMA PAUPERIS

x

Petitioner, LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY, moves the Court
for an Order permitting him to proceed in this Court
in forma pauperis with his Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari to the Supreme Court of the State of Montana
from the judgment of said Supreme Court of the State of
Montana entered in this cause on December 13, 1979, with
rehearing denied on January 10, 1980.

Petitioner's motion is made pursuant to the provi-
sions of Title 28, United States Code, Section 1915, and
Rule 53 of the Rules of the United States Supreme Court
and in support of his Motion, the affidavit of Petitioner

is attached hereto.

SMITH, CONNOR & VAN VALKENBURG
Attorneys for Petitioner

Joyvin P. Connor
0 North Higgins
Missoula, Montana 59801

Oo On oO oO fF WO ND —

©O ®W W Mm MW ND NW MW ND NW NO YO DMO eee eee st st os dc
ae oe ~:~ ee: ee ~ :

lens

RECEIVED

APR 7 1980

SUPREME COURT OFFICE OF THE CLERK’
SUPREME COURT, U.S.

OF THE UNITED STATES

€9-6366

No.

LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY,
Petitioner,

STATE OF MONTANA,

Respondent.

Pn) | ee) |

AFFIDAVIT OF LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY
United States of America )
District of Montana oe

LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY, being first duly sworn, deposes
and says: |

1. That he is a citizen of the United States and
the Petitioner in the above-entitled action;

2. That he desires to petition for a Writ of Certiorari
diredted to the Supreme Court of the State of Montana to
review the judgment of that Court entered on December 13,
1979 (with rehearing denied on January 10, 1980) pursuant to
28 U.S.C., £8 1257(3) but that due to his indigency, he is
unable to pay the costs of such proceeding or give security
therefor;

3. That since May 22, 1978 Petitioner has been
incarcerated in the Montana State Prison and has had no
employment or source of income since that time and further,
that Petitioner has no assets of any kind except nominal
funds provided for toilet and personal needs at the prison;

4. That Petitioner believes he is entitled to the
redress — by his Petition for Writ of Certiorari and
that such Petition presents substantial federal questions.

5. That the nature of the questions to be presented

by Petition for Writ of Certiorari are as follows:

o on oO nO & © PD =

a «= & at «& «& «& «
N Oo nO &® WOW YO + O

27
28

31
32

A. Whether the Supreme Court of Montana denied™y

Petitioner his right to due process of law as guaranteed him
by the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States by ruling that the trial court committed
harmless error beyond a reasonable doubt in requiring
petitioner to prove his confession involuntary.

B. Whether the Supreme Court of Montana, by affirming
the trial court ruling that the State had met its heavy
burden of showing waiver of right to counsel, effectively
ignored Petitioner's right to counsel and right against self
incrimination as guaranteed him by the Fifth, Sixth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution
when the only evidence of waiver was the inconsistent testi-
mony of the interrogating officers.

Affiant contends that the Supreme Court of the State
of Montana erred in holding that none of affiant's federally
protected rights were violated in the above matters.

WHEREFORE, affiant prays that he be granted leave
to proceed in this Court on his Petition for Writ of
Certiorari in forma pauperis.

sas. yor K firhprnscy
anh Blakney LED Sty

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this 974 day of

Wate L , 1980.

(NOTARIAL SEAL) Montana. Residing at Der Laake
Montana. My commission expires

7) @i 74 .

o oa vn ong ss. @® np =

a ww wiht” ww aw ae a
vu qQogwgas @n s+ ©

31
32

RECEIVED

APR 7 1980

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
= Tae SUPREME COURT, U.S.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES — :

OO

NO. 80-
_479-6§366 —
LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY,

Petitioner,

-VS.-

STATE OF MONTANA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF MONTANA

JOHN P. CONNOR, JR.

SMITH, CONNOR, & VAN VALKENBURG
240 North Higgins

Missoula, Montana 59801]

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

o on oa ££ 8 HD —

NR A BR RO me me wm mm mw we let
oOo po + Oo Oo WOan v:oOomo an s&s. WO HO + O

25

31
32

INDEX

Page No.
ee toe a a a a a ee a a eS
Citation to Opinion Below. . . «+. + «+ «© © © © © © © © © » 1
Se RS OS ee a er ee er a ee 1
Questions Presented for Review. . . . + + © «© © © © © © # « 1
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved. .... . 2
Statement of the Case ...+++++e++see © © © © © @ © » 2
How the Federal Questions Were Raised and Decided Below. . 8
Reasons for Granting the Writ .....++e«¢+ee«#e-e«e-ee- Il

I. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO CONSIDER
WHETHER THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT DENIED
PETITIONER'S RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS OF LAW AS
GUARANTEED HIM BY THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO
THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES BY RULING
THAT THE TRIAL COURT COMMITTED HARMLESS ERROR
BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT IN REQUIRING PETITIONER
TO PROVE HIS CONFESSION INVOLUNTARY . .....-.- Ill

II. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO DETERMINE
WHETHER THE SUPREME COURT OF MONTANA, BY
AFFIRMING THE TRIAL COURT RULING THAT THE STATE
HAD MET ITS HEAVY BURDEN OF SHOWING WAIVER OR
RIGHT TO COUNSEL, EFFECTIVELY IGNORED PETITIONER'S
RIGHT TO COUNSEL AND RIGHT AGAINST SELF-
INCRIMINATION AS GUARANTEED HIM BY THE FIFTH,
SIXTH AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION, WHEN THE ONLY EVIDENCE OF
WAIVER PRESENTED WAS THE CONFLICTING TESTIMONY
OF THE INTERROGATING OFFICERS . .-.+ +++ + + 16

CSR ><.) 4) 6 4 ee ane 6 * 6. eee. eo 6 8 ee 8 6 +) eee
Appendices:

Appendix A, Opinion of the Supreme Court of Montana,
December 13, 1979, and Order denying
Rehearing, January 10, 1980, State
of Montana v. Larry Lynn Blakney . .. . A-l

Appendix B, Findings of Fact; Conclusions of Law;
and Order Denying Motions to Suppress
Evidence and for Change of Venue,
November 21, 1977, Stat2 of Montana
v. Larry Lynn Blakney. .....+-.-+-+ - Bel

Appendix C Constitutional and Statutory Provisions . C-l

o On Oo oO fF WO NH =

+’ &¢ & o& 2@& &« of @
Nn oO oO Ff} WO HO + O

27
28

31

AUTHORITIES CITED

SUPREME COURT CASES:

Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S. 387 (1977). . . .16, 18,

Brookhart v. Janis, 384 U.S. 1 (1966). .......
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967), .....
Fahy v. Connecticut, 375 U.S. 85 (1963). .-. .. .13,

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60 (1942).

Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964)... s£.
Lego v. Twomey, 404 U.S. 477 (1972). .... . 9, 12,
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). ..... 8,

North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979). . ei =

Payne v. Arkansas, 356 U.S. 560 (1958)

LOWER FEDERAL COURT CASES:

Rogers v. United States, 330 F.2d 535 (5th Cir.

1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 916 (1965).

United States v. Massey, 550 F.2d 300 (5th Cir.#

nee 6 656 0% ie @ & % ek eee

United States v. Nick, 604 F.2d 1199 (9th Cir. 1979)

United States v. Priest, 409 F.2d 491 (5th Cir.

1969) . «

United States v. Rodgriguez-Gastelum, 569 F.2d 482

Se ae! SOUS? «6 0’ eae 6 we eS 6 ele eee

STATE COURT CASES:

Loomis v. State, 551 S.W.2d 546 (Ark. 1977).

People v. Cunningham, N.E.2d _—, 48 Law Week
weer URE. SOGR sc 3 0 ee ee ee 8 Be

State v. Blakney, Mont. _—_s_, 605 P.2d 1096 .
C2975). 2 2 we 0 2 ow 0 o whe OB IO, Bb, 19, 16;

ii

17

-13

-15

-17

-18

-17

-17

-18

-18

18

o on oom a +. WO HD —

OQ © © © HO HW HW HW NW DW WW MW BD ss me wee me me me ee let
me =~ 0 © @OoOneiwnarth ones = 60600 f8N OO Hh & WO WD = CO

Len

State v. Grimstead, Mont. , 598 P.2da 198

State v. Smith, 164 Mont. 334, 523 P.2d 1395 (1974).

ee eees 6% & 8 werk te: oS wa be

State v. Stone, 397 A.2d 989 (Me. 1979).

State v. White, 146 Mont. 21, 515 P.2d 76 (1973)

Witt v. State, 342 So.2d 497 (Fla. 1977)..

STATUTES:

Rev.

Codes of Montana, 1947 8 95-1805.

-14

-12

-18

-12
.18

—— a

i} APR 7 1980
IN THE THE CLERK
OF Ee COURT, US.|
2 SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED sTaT ee
3] b NO. 80-
4 | LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY, v4 9 Pe 63 6 G
5 Petitioner,
6 -vs-
; STATE OF MONTANA,
8 Respondent.
9
10
11 PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF MONTANA
12
13
14 Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
15 the judgment of the Supreme Court of Montana entered December 13,
16 | 1979, rehearing denied January 10, 1980.
17
CITATION TO OPINION BELOW
18
19 The opinion of the Supreme Court of Montana, reported
20 at Mont. , 605 P.2d 1093 (1979) is set out in Appendix
21'| A, infra, together with the court's order denying rehearing.
22 JURISDICTION
23
24 The judgment of the Supreme Court of Montana was entered
25 | On December 13, 1979. On January 10. 1980 that court denied
26 | 3 timely rehearing petition. (See Appendix A-16). Jurisdiction
97 | Of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3),
28 petitioner having asserted below and asserting here a deprivation
29 of rights secured by the Constitution of the United States.
30 QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
31
32 1. Whether the Supreme Court of Montana denied petitioner's
lens

o on oc a fF @O ND =

a i a 2 at «it ~al
Nn Oo nO ff @©8© NYO = OC

27
28

31

right to due process of law as guaranteed him by the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States by ruling
that the trial court committed harmless error beyond a

reasonable doubt in requiring petitioner to prove his confession

involuntary.

2. Whether the Supreme Court of Montana, by affirming
the trial court ruling that the state had met its heavy burden
of showing waiver of right to counsel, effectively ignored
petitioner's right to counsel and right against self-incrimi-
nation as guaranteed him by the Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth
Amendements to the United States Constitution when the only
evidence of waiver presented was the conflicting testimony of
the interrogating officers.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
* PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Fifth, Sixth, and Fourteenth
Amendments to the Constitution of the United States and
various sections of the Montana Code Annotated as set forth in

Appendix C, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The nude body of Ann Thibodeau was found in the Clark
Fork River near the downtown area of Missoula, Montana on the
evening of June ll, 1977. A pathological examination determined
that death resulted from strangulation aggravated by ingestion
of water into the lungs.

Petitioner Larry Lynn Blakney was at the scene where the
body was discovered and was requested to accompany officers to
the Missoula City Police Station at approximately 10:30 that
evening, June 1l, for the purpose of giving a statement. The
police interrogation of petitioner commenced at approximately

11:00 - 11:30 p.m. (Tr. Vol. I, p.18). The petitioner, then

=-2-=

o on Oo OD fF WO ND =

si~& @& @& w@& ot wt @ ot
vn oOo on s+ © HO + OC

27
28

len

18 years of age, was formally interrogated for approximately
1 1/2 hours on that night and the early morning hours of June
12, 1977. Although several family members were present in the
police station during this time period, the interrogation was
conducted by two city policemen, Officers Ibsen and Weaver,
absent the presence of any relative or friend of the petitioner.
This isolated type of interview was apparently requested by
the police officers to permit a more uninhibited exchange.
(Tr. Vol. I, p. 72). A tape recording of the first interview
was made and subsequently transcribed. The explanaticn of
rights given by the officers took place before the reccrder was
turned on (Tr. Vol. I, p. 80) so that the transcription of the
statement reflects only that petitioner had signed a waiver of
rights. (State's Exhibit 25). During the course of this
first statement, petitioner admitted some confusion to the
police officers (State's Exhibit 25) and indicated that he was
unable to understand certain words contained in the waiver of
rights. (Tr. Vol. I, pgs. 25, 80). Following the recorded
interrogation, petitioner was taken to his home by the inter-
rogating officers where a search of his car was conducted
pursuant to a consent to search. The officers were then
shown the interior of his home and broke off contact with him
at approximately 2:00 a.m. on June 12, 1977. (Tr. Vol. IV, p.
356). Arrangements were made at that time for petitioner to
come into the police station later that morning, at approximately
9:00 or 9:30 a.m. for a second interview. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 84).
This second interview with petitioner commenced at
approximately 9:30 a.m. and lasted for a period of 2 - 2 1/2
hours. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 91). The interrogation was also
conducted by Officers Ibsen and Weaver in the police interrogation
room. Only petitioner and the two officers were present. This

interrogation was not transcribed or taped, and a waiver of rights

@3=

- en 82 86 2 & -&.

E/E zz a a ee oe Seer ae ee oe ee oe ee
o n "= 9 @BewH#sH4oeewnisew#=-s 6

25

lens

form was signed by petitioner prior to its commencement.
Arrangements were also made during this second interrogation
for petitioner to contact police officers the following day,
June 13th, to arrange for the taking of a polygraph examination.
Although there is inconsistency throughout relative to a
request by petitioner for counsel, it is conceded by Officers
Ibsen and Weaver and found by the court, that some type of
request was made during the interrogation of June 12th,

Sunday morning. (Tr. Vol. IV, p. 380; Vol. II, Pp. 327;

Vol. V, p. 613).

Petitioner reported to the police interrogation room on
the evening of Monday, June 13th, to undergo a polygraph
examination conducted by Cascade County Deputy Sheriff Sand.

The examination commenced at approximately 9:00 p.m. and

was conducted in the presence of four police officers, including
the examiner. (Tr. Vol. IV, p. 442). Petitioner's uncle had
accompanied him to the police station but was not permitted to
be present during the examination. The entire examination
procedure took approximately one hour. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 151).
Following this, results of the examination were discussed with
petitioner and he was advised that the test disclosed untruth-
fulness. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 154). Ibsen and Weaver then
immediately began another interrogation of petitioner (Tr. Vol. i,
p. 104-5) and during the course of this third interrogation,
occurring from approximately 10:00 p.m. until midnight (Tr. Vol.
I, p. 151; Vol. V, p. 546) in the police interrogation room,

he admitted having killed Ann Thibodeau. The petitioner had

no family members present and was not represented by counsel.
(Tr. Vol. I, p. 110). Although the record is again unclear on
this aspect, it is conceded by both Officers Ibsen and Weaver,
as well as by petitioner, that some type of request for counsel,

(Tr. Vol. II, p. 285), was made by petitioner during some point

-4-

o on Oo oO f& WO WD =

Se ee a ¢
NO GMD S&. O© YB + OC

27
28

lens

in the Monday night interrogation. The district court also
found in its Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law that
petitioner brought up the matter of counsel on Monday night
before confessing. There are substantial discrepancies in the
testimony relative to this matter which will be noted later.
In any event, the third interrogation was not taped or
transcribed. (Tr. Vol. II, p. 276).

That interrogation was followed by a fourth, conducted
in the same room. Present for this interrogation were
petitioner, Officer Ibsen and Officer Scott Graham who had
replaced Weaver at Weaver's request because he felt emotionally
drained. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 106). There was no appreciable break
taken between the third and fourth interrogations. A “rights
form" was read to petitioner by Officer Graham and the interview
was tape recorded and later transcribed. Petitioner was then
formally placed under arrest for deliberate homicide at
approximately 1:30 a.m. on the morning of June 14, 1977. (Tr.
Vol. V, p. 632).

A further statement was given by petitioner on the night
of June 15, 1977. This statement, which was also recorded and
transcribed, was delivered in the Missoula County Jail in
the presence of three police officers and petitioner's mother.
(See State's Exhibit 28). It essentially repudiates the earlier
confession.

An information was filed by leave of court on August 1,
1977 charging petitioner with the offense of deliberate homicide.
Following several procedural delays not germane to the instant
consideration, a motion to suppress the confessions or admissions
of petitioner was filed.

During the suppression hearing, the interrogating officers
were called by both petitioner and the state. Their testimony

relative to petitioner's request for counsel and alleged waiver

=S-

o oO nN OO OD fF WO WD =

“a o@& @&@ @ & & &
vn Oo Of f&® 8 DH + CO

27
28

31

ten

of that request varied considerably. During direct examination
by petitioner, Officer Ibsen testified that after petitioner
had given a statement on Monday night, June 13th, admitting
having killed the victim, but before his taped confession to
that effect, he said that “he thought he wanted an attorney.”
At that point according to Ibsen, questioning stopped and did
not begin again until petitioner began offering information.
(Tr. Vol. I, pgs. 59-62). No recording was made of this
statement. Later, during direct examination by the state,
Officer Ibsen testified that the statement was a definite
request for an attorney (Vol. II, p. 286) but that petitioner
verbally repudiated that request after being examined about
it by Officer Weaver, and that no further request for counsel
was made. (Tr. Vol. II, p. 289).

Officer Weaver, on the other hand, testified during
the suppression hearing when called by petitioner that petition-
er stated "maybe I should see a lawyer" which triggered in his
mind the possibility that he may have wanted "to exercise
his rights", but that the interrogation was unilaterally contin-
ued by petitioner when he began talking again. (Tr. Vol. I, pgs.
107-10). Contrary to Ibsen's testimony, Weaver stated at this
point in the suppression hearing that the assertion was made

before any admission or confession was given by petitioner on

Monday night. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 1027). Then, however, during
direct examination by the state some nine days later, Officer
Weaver remembers two assertions of right to counsel being made
by petitioner, the first during the Sunday morning interrogation
and the second on Monday night. (Tr. Vol. II, pgs. 327-28).

By now though, he remembers only the particulars of the Sunday
morning assertion and, contrary to his earlier testimony, not
the one made Monday night. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 328). Officer

Weaver recollects that on both occasions, petitioner made the”
-

-6-

o ON OO OD fF WO DPD —

oS WH DH AH &@& @ @ tt ohlUK tl Kl eK lClC eK ll
on + 8S CO oeneonnermUcmClUcmhDmUCOhOUCsNOMC*TCiCOW]

25

lens

assertion, paused, and then simply began offering information
again. In cross-examination, Weaver claimed that in describing
the incident relative to counsel on direct some days earlier,
he had been referring to the Sunday morning episode, (Tr. Vol.
II, p. 337), despite the fact that during that earlier
examination counsel had prefaced his inquiry by stating, "At

any time subsequent to completing the polygraph examination... ."

(Tr. Vol. I, p. 107), the polygraph occuring only on Monday
night. (emphasis added).

The petitioner testified during the suppression hearing
that he requested an attorney before making his admission on
Monday night. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 193).

The court thereafter denied petitioner's motion to
suppress and entered findings of fact and conclusions of law
to that effect on November 21, 1977. See Appendix B.

Trial commenced April 3, 1978. During trial, held
some five months after the suppression hearing, substantial
changes occurred in the officers' testimony relative to how and
when assertion of the right to counsel was made. Now Officer
Ibsen recollects that a request for counsel was made on Sunday
morning, and even remembers the point during the interview when
the request was made. (Tr. Vol. V, p. 613). No mention is made
of a Monday night request. Officer Weaver recollects now that
an assertion (less direct than that remembered by Ibsen) was
made Sunday morning, during the second interrogation, but that

no assertion whatever was made Monday night, totally contrary

to his earlier testimony. Both officers do, however, remember
that no matter how the request was phrased, it was, in effect,
repudiated by petitioner when he began talking with no prompting
from the officers.

A verdict of guilty to the charge of deliberate homicide

was returned on April 11, 1978 and judgment was entered on

o Fe

o oN OO oO fF. Oo ND —

a” th a a. ct ab aft oe
“~ @& @G@ St @ Ws ©

27
28

31
32

May 22, 1978 sentencing petitioner to forty years in the
Montana State’ Prison.

The case was submitted on appeal September 13, 1979
with a decision issuing December 13, 1979. Petitioner's
request for rehearing was denied January 10, 1980.

HOW THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS
WERE RAISED AND DECIDED BELOW

ISSUE NO. l.

Petitioner's motion to suppress the confessions or
admissions filed with the trial court provided, in part:

"The State has the burden of proving the
Defendant waived his constitutional rights
knowingly, intelligently and voluntarily.

The State. . .cannot constitutionally shift
the burden of proof to the Defendant to show
how his rights were violated, rather the
State must affirmatively show the Defendant's
rights were not violated. Further, the facts
stated in this motion shift the burden to the
State."

Motion to Suppress, p. 5.

At the outset of the suppression hearing, petitioner
argued thatthe state had the burden of proving the confessions
were voluntarily given, despite the provisions of Section
95-1805, Revised Codes of Montana, 1947 (now 46-13-301 MCA)
which provided in pertinent part:

"(a) A defendant may move to suppress as

evidence any confession given by him on the
ground that it was not voluntary.

x* * &

"(f) The burden of proving that a confession
or admission was involuntary shall be on the
defendant."

Petitioner cited to the court Miranda v. Arizona, 384

U.S. 436 (1966). The state maintained that the above-quoted

statute placed the burden on petitioner to show involuntariness.

The record demonstrates the following scenario prior to the

o ON OO OD fF WO DPD —

=. Oe a a oe ee ee eee eee eee eee
eo yn =~ OO 8 @aey¥e@awsrs:onr = ©

25

31

lens

t

trial court ruling for the state:

(1) Defense counsel objects to proceeding
~ with the burden of showing the confessions
involuntary, citing authority. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 1).

(2) The state rebuts the argument by stating

that under "the Montana Code the burden is upon
the defense" to show the confessions were involun-
tary. (Tr. Vol. I, p. 2).

(3) Defense counsel then again argues its same

position to which the state responds by encourag-

ing an interpretation on the court that the

defense bears the burden in the suppression

hearing, while the state may bear the burden in

trial. (Tr. Vol. I, pgs. 4-5).

(4) The court agrees with the interpretation

just articulated by the state. (Tr. Vol. I, p.5).

On appeal petitioner challenged the ruling of the trial

court as being violative of petitioner's constitutional right

to due process of law as guaranteed him by the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. State v. Blakney,

605 P.2d 1098 (1979). The Montana Supreme Court held that
the statute requiring a defendant to carry the burden of proof
in a suppression hearing was indeed unconstitutional, as had

been alleged by petitioner, on the basis of Lego v. Twomey,

404 U.S. 477 (1972). The court also held that the trial court
erred in relying on this statute and requiring petitioner
to prove the confessions involuntary but that such error
constituted harmless error beyond a reasonable doubt. In so
holding, the court stated:

"However, we find here that even though the

trial court's ruling did shift the burden,

the ruling can be sustained as harmless error.

The error here is federal constitutional error.

oe ¢ @

"In determining the existence of harmless
constitutional error, the appellate court
considering the question has the task of
applying the harmless beyond a reasonable
doubt test. (citing authority).

“Applying this standard to the instant case,
we find the error was harmless beyond a

-9-

oo OW NCCOHUlUOlUCUCMRDULUCOUlUCNDTC

—_ —_A
—

31
32

reasonable doubt."

Blakney, 605 P.2d at 1099, 1100.

ISSUE NO. II.

In his motion to suppress, petitioner also argued that
the confessions of petitioner were

"not voluntarily made and. . .obtained in
violation of the Defeneant's Constitutional
rights as guaranteed »y the Fourth, Fifth,
Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution and Article II,

§ 17, 8 23, 8 24 and § 25 of the 1972 Montana
Constitwutsoni... ss."

Motion to Suppress, p. l.

Petitioner further argued that

"(The Defendant requested an attorney during
the interrogation session of Monday evening,
June 13, 1977, prior to giving any statements].
The police either ignored or refused to grant
the Defendant's request and proceeded with the
interrogation process. The Defendant's right
to counsel as guaranteed by the Sixth and
Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution and Article II, 8 17 and 6 24 of
the 1972 Montana Constitution was thereby
denied, as the police knew or should have known
that upon the Defendant's request all question-
ing and interrogation must stop."

Motion to Suppress, pgs. 4-5.

In denying petitioner's motion to suppress, the trial
court, in its findings of fact and conclusions of law, held
the confessions to have been voluntarily made, that in fact
no effective assertion of right to counsel was ever made by
petitioner and that, in any event, he knowingly and intelligent-
ly waived his right to counsel. The court did find, however,
that petitioner had requested an attorney on two occasions
during the various interrogations. Appendix B, infra.

The confessions were introduced during the trial over
the objections of counsel for petitioner. (Tr. Vol. V. p. 594).
On appeal petitioner argued that the ruling relative to

assertion and waiver of right to counsel amounted to a denial

-10-

o on Oo oO fF WO WD —

> & 62 a at et ae. ae
NO a fF} @©O© HB $+ OC

27
28

lens

of petitioner's right to counsel and against self-incrimination
in derogation of the guarantees afforded him by the Fifth,
Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution. State v. Blakney, 605 P.2d 1096 (1979).

In ruling on the question of whether the state had met
what the Montana Supreme Court recognized as its heavy burden
of showing waiver of right to counsel once such right is
asserted, the court held first of all that the petitioner had
made an effective assertion of right to counsel and that the
trial court erred in ruling otherwise, but that petitioner
waived this right and the trial court had found correctly on
that matter. In this regard the court stated:

"Given this standard and the District Court's
findings of fact, the District Court did not

err in holding appellant waived his right to
counsel,"

x * *

"These facts. . .and the express statement by

appellant that he did not want a lawyer -

represent a waiver of the right to counsel '

on the part of appellant."
Blakney, 605 P.2d at 1098.

Thus the Montana Supreme Court accepted without question

and indeed without discussion, the substantially conflicting
testimony of the interrogating officers, the only testimony

offered by the state in support of its constitutionally

required heavy burden of proof regarding waiver.
ie

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO CONSIDER
WHETHER THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT DENIED PETITION-
ER'S RIGHT TO DUE PROCESS OF LAW AS GUARANTEED

HIM BY THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION
OF THE UNITED STATES BY RULING THAT THE TRIAL
COURT COMMITTED HARMLESS ERROR BEYOND A REASONABLE
DOUBT IN REQUIRING PETITIONER TO PROVE HIS
CONFESSION INVOLUNTARY.

It is well settled, and has been for the past several

@jj-

o On OO OD fF O WD =

> - 2 a Be Oat ot at -a- wt at ae we ae ae
ow £&£ 2H = & 6 8 x4 OO CG &F& GS we a SS

28

lens

years, that the state has the burden of proving a confession

voluntary. Lego v. Twomey, 404 U.S. 477 (1972). Although

the Montana statute, Section 95-1805, R.C.M., 1947,

required the defendant to prove involuntariness, the Montana
Supreme Court had effectively ignored the directives of this
statute by holding, in earlier cases, that the burden rested

with the State to show voluntariness. See State v. Smith,

164 Mont. 334, 523 P.2d 1395 (1974); State v. White, 146 Mont.

21, 515 P.2d 76 (1973). The question of whether 8 95-1805,
R.C.M., 1947, was constitutionally acceptable was never directly
addressed by the earlier decisions, however, and apparently
did not become an issue until raised in the instant case. As
noted earlier, the question of the application of this statute
became an issue early on when petitioner argued during the
suppression hearing that the state had the burden of proving
that the confessions were in fact voluntarily made, citing
authority to support such position. The state argued that the
statute in question placed the burden instead upon petitioner
to show that the confessions were involuntarily given. (Tr.
Vol. I, pgs. 2-5). In ruling consistent with the state's
argument the trial court stated:

"Well it appears to me that what you

(county attorney) say is true, Mr.

Volinkaty, at the trial, if they wish

to introduce this at the trial, the

burden is on the state to prove voluntar-

iness; however, this is a Motion to Suppress

and I think that, since it is your Motion,

you should proceed at this time."
Tr. Vol. I, p. 5.

The Montana Supreme Court in holding that the trial

court erred in requiring petitioner to carry the burden of

proof, also determined that the error was "federal constitution-

al error" citing Lego v. Twomey, 404 U.S. 477 (1972) and

Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964). The court, however,

~12@

+

then proceeded to a determination that such error constituted

2 | harmless error beyond a reasonable doubt, citing Chapman v.

3 ] California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967).

4 In relying on Chapman, the Montana court glosses over

5 | the real significance of the case since Chapman actually

6 | provides rather narrow strictures in allowing a determination

7 | of harmless error beyond a reasonable doubt. In quoting

8 | favorably from the earlier decision of Fahy v. Connecticut,

9 | 375 U.S. 85 (1963), the Court in Chapman states:

10 "We prefer the approach of this Court in
deciding what was harmless error in our

11 recent case of Fahy v. Connecticut, ...
There we said 'the question is whether there

12 is a reasonable possibility that evidence
complained of might have contributed to

13 the conviction.'"

14 | 386 U.S. at 25.

15 In utilizing the Fahy star lard, this Court further

16 | stated, addressing its consideration to the evidentiary

17 | particulars of Chapman:

18 "And though the case in which this occurred
presented a reasonably strong 'circumstatial

19 web of evidence’ against petitioner, ...
it was also a case in which, absent constit-

20 utionally forbidden comments, honest fair-
minded jurors might very well have brought in

21 not-guilty verdicts.”

22 | 386 U.S. at 26.

23 The Court in Chapman also recognizes that certain

24 | constitutional rights are "so basic to a fair trial that

25 | their infraction can never be treated as harmless error."
26 | 386 U.S. at 23. Examples of such rights noted by the Court
27 | are right to counsel and right against the use of a coerced

28 | confession. In this regard the Court cites Payne v. Arkansas,

29 | 356 U.S. 560 (1958). In Payne, the Court found that petitioner's
30 | confession had been coerced and in response to the state's
31 | argument that despite the confession, there existed sufficient

32 | evidence to convict, the Court stated:

-~13-

tens

o oO nN Oo at ff O WD —

+ @ 26 2 at 28 #4 @&
Nn oO a f& © YO = Oo

27
28

31

tens

"And in these circumstances this Court has
uniformally held that even though there may
have been sufficient evidence, apart from the
coerced confession, to support a judgment of
conviction, the admission in evidence, over
objection of the coerced confession vitiates
the judgment because it violates the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment."

356 U.S. at 568.

The rationale for this holding, and for the narrow
construction given to the application of harmless error beyond
a reasonable doubt in Chapman was apparently overlooked by
the Montana courts. If an appellate court is permitted to
speculate as to the probable outcome of a case where a
constitutional right has been ignored, and decide the case
on the basis of such speculation, the result is to render the
constitutional guarantee meaningless and to vitiate the
substance of such guarantee.

In Montana the rule has long been that the question of
voluntariness of a confession is a matter within the sound
discretion of the trial court and its decision will not be
reversed on appeal unless clearly against the weight of the
evidence. The Montana court cited this rule in deciding
petitioner's case when it quotes approvingly from the case

of State v. Grimstead, Mont. , 598 P.2d 198 (1979) &

However, the court then proceeded to speculate as to what the
trial court might have done were it to have utilized a correct
constitutional standard. To simply conclude, as does the
Montana Supreme Court, that the federal constitutional error
was harmless because the evidence was so substantial that the
trial court would have ruled the same way utilizing a proper
standard, can only be styled cavalier in its disregard of the
essence of constitutional protections. The type of speculation
indulged by the Montana Supreme Court should be purely

academic. The point, of course, is that the trial court's

-14-

—s

discretion was moved by adherence to an unconstitutional

2] standard and, as such, it should have been reversed.
3 In support of the tack it took, the Montana Supreme
4 Court places heavy reliance on Rogers v. United States, 330
5 | F.2d 535 (5th Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 916. The
6 | Montana court quotes the following from Rogers:
7 ". . «(T]he burden of producing evidence

is never crucial unless certain necessary
8 facts in a case are not aired. Here all

of the salient facts were aired. ...
9 330 F.2d at 543."
10 | Blakney, 605 P.2d at 1100.
11 In relying on the reasoning of this case, the Montana
12 | Supreme Court overlooked two salient factual distinctions
13 | between Rogers and the instant case. The first is that
14 | although the trial judge ruled in Rogers that the defendant
15 | had the burden of proof in the suppression hearing, he
16 | withdrew that ruling following the hearing and ruled that,
17 | even giving the defendant the benefit of the doubt, he would
18 | not have suppressed the evidence. More importantly, the second
19 | distinction is that Rogers was decided prior to this Court's
20 | decision in Lego v. Twomey, 404 U.S. 477 (1972).
21 Petitioner submits that the Montana Supreme Court's
22 | decision on this issue constitutes acquiesence in a trial
23 | court ruling the effect of which was to place an involuntary

24 | confession before the jury. The confession was presumptively
25 involuntary when the suppression proceeding began and it emerged
26 | involuntary since petitioner was required to prove it so. In

27 | utilizing the standard of Fahy v. Connecticut, 375 U.S. 85

28 (1963), there is certainly little doubt that the admission of
29 the confessions, the essence of the state's evidence against
30 | petitioner, resulted in a “reasonable possibility [the confessions)

31 | might have contributed to the conviction." 375 U.S. at 172.

-15-

lens

Il.

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO DETERMINE
WHETHER THE SUPREME COURT OF MONTANA, BY AFFIRM-
ING THE TRIAL COURT RULING THAT THE STATE HAD MET
ITS HEAVY BURDEN OF SHOWING WAIVER OF RIGHT TO
COUNSEL, EFFECTIVELY, IGNORED PETITIONER'S RIGHT

TO COUNSEL AND RIGHT AGAINST SELF-INCRIMINATION

AS GUARANTEED HIM BY THE FIFTH, SIXTH AND FOUR-
TEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED STATES CONSITUTION,
WHEN THE ONLY EVIDENCE OF WAIVER PRESENTED WAS THE
CONFLICTING TESTIMONY OF THE INTERROGATING “OFFICERS.

It is well settled that courts indulge in every reasonable

o on OO GD F&F O@ WDB —

presumption against waiver of the right to counsel. Brookhart

10 | v. Janis, 384 U.S. 1 (1966); Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S.
11 | 60 (1942). It is equally well settled that when the state
12 | asserts waiver of the right to counsel, it bears a heavy burden
13 | of showing such waiver. North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S.
14 | 369 (1979); Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S. 387 (1977); Miranda v.
15 | Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). Indeed, the Montana Supreme
16 | Court recognizes the requirement that the state bears a heavy
17 | burden with the following explicit language from State v.
18 | Blakney:
19 "In so doing, we recognize that a waiver
of the right to counsel cannot be presumed
20 and that the State bears a heavy burden to
show waiver. . .." (citations omitted)
21
605 P.2d at 1097,
22
23 The Montana court, in reaching its conclusion that the

24 | trial cote did not err in ruling that petitioner waived his

25 | right to counsel, directed brief attention to the question

26 | of utilizing a per se rule relative to whether one can waive

27 | the right to counsel after making the assertion. In a definite,
28 | albeit cursory holding, the court rejected the per se concept.
29 | Blakney, 605 P.2d at 1097. The issue is worthy of discussion
30 | here, however, since the instant case involves a recognition by
31 | the Montana Supreme Court that petitioner made two effective

32 | assertions of right to counsel during the interrogation process.

-16-

len

o oO Nn OO oO fF @O WD —

—= «£& @& & &@& @& = o@
vn Oo Gf f& © YB + O

27
28

31

ten

There is a divergence of authority among various states
and judicial circuits relative to the question of whether a
defendant who has invoked a right to counsel may subsequently
waive such right without having consulted counsel. This Court
has never squarely addressed the issue although the concept of
a per se rule was rejected by the Court in a case questioning
the admissibility of inculpatory statements made in the absence

of explicit waiver of the right to counsel. North Carolina v.

Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979). However, this case neither in-
volved an issue of assertion of the right to counsel nor
waiver once assertion has been made.

The per se position as it applies to the facts of the
instant case, has been supported in the fifth circuit as

evidenced by the court's decisions in United States v. Massey,

550 F.2d 300 (5th Cir. 1977) and United States v. Priest,

409 F.2d 491 (Sth Cir. 1969). The essence of these decisions
is clearly demonstrated in the following language from United

States v. Priest:

"Once warnings have been given the subsequent
procedure is clear. If the individual indicates
in any manner, at any time prior to or during
questions, that he wishes to remain silent, the
interrogation must cease."

409 F.2d at 493.
This view is construed as too narrow by the ninth

circuit, sitting en banc, in United States v. Rodriguez-

Gastelum, 569 F.2d 482 (9th Cir. 1978), saying.a

". +» «per se rule, however disguised, would

serve only to handcuff our law enforcement

officers in the performance of their duties

and to imprison the suspect in his alleged

constitutional privileges."
569 F.2d at 488.

It is interesting to note, however, that even after this

decision, the ninth circuit doesn't appear completely comfort-

able with the Rodriguez-Gastelum rule, as it would seem from

-l?~-

o on op Ga &=® @O©@ WP =

aie géiéwesisA #£#A &
Nn oO GC f= © HB + SO

27
28

31

lene

the following language in the subsequent case of United States

v. Nick, 604 F.2d 1199 (9th Cir. 1979);

"But for United States v. Rodriquez-
Gastelum, 569 F.2d 482 (Sth Cir. en

banc 1978), we may have decided that

the Government fell short of sustain-
ing its heavy burden, But fidelity to
Rodgriguez-Gastelum requires us to
Support the district court on the waiver
point."

604 F.2d at 1201.

See also: People v. Cunningham, N.E.2d , 48 Law

Week 2537 (N.Y. 1980); State v. Stone, 397 A.2d 989 (Me. 1979);

Witt v. State, 342 So.2d 497 (Fla. 1977); Loomis v. State,

551 S.W.2d 546 (Ark. 1977).

The Montana Supreme Court's flat rejection of the per
se concept ignores the fact that the instant case presents
the most cogent set of circumstances that might be advanced
in support of such rule. Here the only evidence offered by
the state in support of its heavy burden of showing waiver
was the testimony of the interrogating officers. The Montana
Supreme Court placed repeated emphasis on the recollections
of those officers in concluding that petitioner effectively
waived his rights. Blakney, 605 P,2d at 1098. The court's
decision refers to the specific recollections of the very

same officers who couldn't even recall the days on which the

assertions of right to counsel were made but ironically could
recollect with detailed clarity the scenario on one or both
occasions (depending on which version one reads of their
testimony) regarding how and when waiver supposedly occurred.
If any plausible argument can be advanced in support of the
so-called per se rule it is that its adoption would eliminate
the type of situation which occurred in the instant case; the
substantial difficulty and prejudicial effects of assessing

the credibility of contradictory, conflicting and impeachable

-18-

1 | testimony relating to waiver.
2 Favorable determination of this issue need not rest on
3 | adoption of the per se rule, however, since the record contains
4 | ample evidence of the fact that the interrogation process
5 | resulted in anything but an intelligent, understanding re-
6 | jection of petitioner's right to counsel. It is also clear
7 | that the only evidence offered by the state in support of its
8 | heavy burden is fraught with inconsistencies and riddled with
9 | multiple contradictory explanations of when the assertion was
10 | made. Such evidence woul’ hardly seem acceptable to this
|
11 | Court on the basis of the standard established in Brewer v.
12 | Williams, 430 U.S. 387 (1977):
13 "The District Court and the Court of Appeals
were also correct in the understanding of the
14 proper standard to be applied in determining
the question of waiver as a matter of Federal
15 Constitutional Law - that it was incumbent upon
the State to prove ‘an intentional relinquish-
16 ment or abandonment of a known right or privi-
lege.'" (citations omitted).
17
430 U.S. at 403.
18
19 Petitioner submits that the Montana Supreme Court gave

20 | short shrift to the essence of petitioner's constitutional
21 guarantees against self-incrimination and right to counsel
22 | in reaching its decision on this matter. The court paid

23 | little heed to the weight and nature of the evidence and

24 | simply issued a conclusion. This type of decision seems to

25 | be what this Court was contemplating when it stated:

26 "The Court of Appeals did not hold, nor do we,
that under the circumstances of this case

27 Williams could not, without notice to counsel,
have waived his rights under the Sixth and

28 Fourteenth Amendments. It only held, as do
we, that he did not. The crime of which

29 Williams was convicted was senseless and
brutal, calling for swift and energetic action

30 by the police. ... No mission of law
enforcement officials is more important.

31 Yet, ‘'[(djisinterested zeal for the public
good does not assure either wisdom or right

32 in the method it pursues.' Although we do

-19-

ten

o oO Nn OO GD & @O@ WD =

as @=+§ #& #6 @ «@& @ «
Nn Oo GT ff. @© DB + Oo

27
28

ten

not lightly affirm the issuance of a writ of
habeas corpus in this case, so clear a violation
of the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments as here
occurred cannot be condoned. The pressures on
state executive and judicial officers charged
with the administration of the criminal law
are great, especially when the crime is murder
and the victim a small child. But it is pre-
cisely the predictability of those pressures
that makes imperative a resolute loyality to
the guarantees that the Constitution extends
to us all."

Brewer, 430 U.S. at 405-6.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is submitted that the

Montana Supreme Court has, in State v. Blakney, supra,

decided significant federal questions contrary to applicable

decisions of this Court and petitioner therefore requests

that a petition for a writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

n P. Connor, Jr.
ITH, CONNOR & VAN VALKEN
240 N. Higgins

Missoula, Montana 59801

Attorneys for Petitioner

-20-

STATE vy. BLAKNEY

Mont. 1093

Cite as, Moat, 605 P26 1003

STATE of Montana, Plaintiff
and Respondent,

v.

Larry L. BLAKNEY, Defendant
and Appellant.

No. 14534,

Supreme Court of Montana.
Submitted Sept. 13, 1979.
Decided Dee. 13, 1979.
Rehearing Denied Jan. 10, 1920,

Defendant was convicted in the Fourth
District Court, Missoula County, Jack L.
Green, J., of deliberate homicide, and he
appealed. The Supreme Court, Harrison,
J., held that: (1) trial court's finding that
defendant's confession was voluntary did
not clearly contravene the weight of the
evidence; (2) defendant waived his right to
counsel during interrogation by police offi-
cers; (3) trial court did not err in requiring
defendant to present his evidence first at
suppression hearing; (4) trial court erred in
requiring defendant to prove that his con-
fession was involuntary at suppression
hearing; however, such error was harmless;
and (5) evidence, including defendant's con-
feasion, when viewed in a light most favor-
able to the State, sustained defendant's con-
viction.

Judgment affirmed.

Sheehy, J., dissented and filed opinion.

Shea, J., dissented and filed Opinion.

1. Criminal Law @=519(1)

In determining the voluntariness of a
confession, the totality of circumstances
surrounding the confession is considered
with no single fact being dispositive of the
issue.

2. Criminal Law @=532

When youthful defendant questioned
voluntariness of confession tw deliberate
homicide, court was required tw consider
following circumstances: accused's age; his
education; his knowledge as to both sub-

Se ee ce ee eee

stance of the charge, if any had been filed,
and nature of his rights to consult with
attorney and remain silent; whether he
was held incommunicado or allowed to con-
sult with relatives, friends or an attorney;
whether he was interrogated before or af-
ler formal charges had been filed; methods
used in interrogation; length of interroga-
tions; whether accused refused to voluntar-
ily give statements on prior occasions;
whether he repudiated an extrajudicial
statement at later date; his mental capaci-
ty; visibility of nude pictures of murder
victim during interrogation; use of poly-
graph examinations; accused's previous e<-
perience with criminal justice system; and
his experience in the adult world.

3. Criminal Law @>531(3)

In prosecution for deliberate homicide,
trial court's finding at suppression hearing
that defendant voluntarily confessed to the
crime did not clearly contravene the weight
of the evidence,

4. Criminal Law > 412.2(5) .

Defendant, who while being interroga-
ted by police in regard to a murder stated
“maybe I should have an attorney” effec-
tively asserted his right to counsel, U.S.C.
A.Const. Amend. 6.

5. Criminal Law @412.2(5)

Defendant may waive his right to
counsel after making an effective assertion
of the right; however, waiver of such right
to counsel cannot be presumed and state
bears the heavy burden to show waiver on
the part of defendant. U.S.C.A.Const.
Amend. 6.

6. Criminal Law > 412.2(5)
Defendant, who while being interrogs-
ted by police effectively asserted his right

* to counsel and, after being advised by police

that he could have counsel if he wished,
continued answering questions, voluntarily
abandoned his right to counsel and unilater-
ally resumed the interrogation without
prompting by interviewing officers. U.S.C.
A.Const. Amend. 6.

Appendix A - l

1094 Mont.

7. Criminal Law @=412.2(5)

Defendant, who asserted his right to .
counsel during interrogation hy pulice and,
when police stopped questioning him and
began to leave the room, resumed talking to
police and, when reminded of his request
for counsel, stated that he did not want a
lawyer, waived his right to counsel, particu-
larly in view of fact that he had asserted
and voluntarily abandoned his right to
counsel in an interview 30-hours curlier,
following which he was not detained and
was free to consult with family members or
an attorney if he wished, and that prior to
the later interrogation he again received his
Miranda warnings and signed a waiver.
U.S.C.A.Const. Amend. 6.

8. Criminal Law’ @531(3)

State must prove voluntariness of a
confession at a suppression hearing by a
preponderance of the evidence. MCA 46-
13-301(4).

9. Criminal Law @1141(1)
Error by the trial court cannot be pre-
sumed but must be shown by the record.

10. Criminal Law e532

At hearing to suppress confession on
ground that it was involuntary, trial court
did not err in requiring defendant to
present his evidence first; however, such
procedure could not be recommended as
standard practice at suppression hearings;
such procedures should be employed only
when necessary to establish prima facie
case of constitutional infringement by state.

11. Criminal Law @=394.6(1)

If a prima facie case of constitutional
infringement by state is presented by party
requesting suppression of evidence to trial
court's satisfaction in prehearing ducumen-
tation, state should be required to initiate
suppression hearing proceedings.

12. Criminal Law @=531(1), 1168(1)

At hearings to suppress confession on
ground that it was involuntary, trial court
erred in requiring defendant to prove his
confession involuntary; however, such error
was harmless, even though trial court's rul-
ing improperly shifted the burden of proof

605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

to defendant, inasmuch as Supreme Court
was convinced beyond a reasonable doubt
that trial court would have reached the
same result regardless of the improper plac-
ing of the burden of proof on defendant.

13. Criminal Law @ 1162

While not all errors of constitutional
magnitude call for reversal, before a feder-
al constitutional error can be held harmless,
the court must be ab’c to declare a belief
that it was harmless beyond a reasonable
doubt. °

14. Criminal Law ¢ 1162

In determining the existence of harm-
less constitutional error, appellate Gort
considering the question has task of apply-
ing the harmless beyond a reasonable doubt
lest.

15. Homicide e250

In prosecution for deliberate homicide,
evidence, including defendant's confession,
when viewed in the light most favorable to
the state, sustained defendant's conviction.

Smith, Connor & Van Valkenburg, Mis-
soula, John P. Connor, Jr., argued, Missoula,
for defendant and appcilant.

Mike Greely, Atty. Gen., Helena, Mary B.
Troland, Asst. Atty. Gen., Helena, Robert L.
Deschamps III, County Atty., argued, Mis-
soula, for plaintiff and respondent.

HARRISON, Justice.

Defendant-appellant was arrested on the
charge of deliberate homicide on June 14,
1977, after police had obtained a confession,
the product of several interrogations. Ap-
pellant thereafter moved to suppress the
confession because it was involuntary. The

District Court, however, found the confes-

sion voluntary, denied the motion and set
trial in the matter. Appellant was convict-
ed of the charge and sentenced to forty
years in the Montana state prison. From
this conviction he appeals.

Al approximately 9:00 p. m. on Saturday,
June 11, 1977, police found the body of Ann
Thitxxleau in the Clark Fork River near the

STATE v. BLAKNEY

Mont.

1095

Cite as, Mont, 605 P24 1083

downtown area of Missoula, Montana. Ms.
Thibodeau had apparently been strangled
and thrown into the river, her death result-
ing from strangulation aggravated by the
ingestion of water into the lungs. On in-
vestigation police learned that Ms. Thibo-
deau spent the evening of June 10, 1977,
with appellant and several other young peo-
ple. During the evening, they drove around
Missoula in appellant's car, stopping at vari-
ous times to pick up some hidden beer, to
“park,” and to check on some parties.

As the night progressed, appellant took
his passengers home, dropping off the last
one except Ann Thibodeau shortly before
midnight. At trial, as well as when first
interviewed by the police, appellant testi-
fied he then took Ms. Thibodeau home. In
a confession made to Missoula police, how-
ever, appellant stated he and Ms. Thibodeau
parked by a bridge near the Clark Fork
River after dropping off the last of their
companions. Appellant suid he became an-
gry with Ms. Thibodeau for being unfaith-
ful to,his brother, whom she had been dat-
ing, and suddenly strangled her. Thinking
she was dead, he dragged her from his car
and slid her off the bridge into. the river,

Officers questioned appellant concerning
Ms. Thibodeau'’s death on four occasions:
Saturday, June 11, at 11:00 p. in. for ap
proximately one and one-half hours; Sun-
day, June 12, at 9:30 a. m. for approximate-
ly two and one-half hours; Monday, June
13, at 10:00 p. m. for approximately two
hours; and Tuesday, June 14, at 12:10 a. m.
for approximately one and one-half hours,
In addition to these interrogations, appel-
lant consented to a search of his car and a
polygraph examination. Officers conducted
the car search after the first interrogation
at approximately 1:00 a m. on Sunday,
June 12. The search revealed ap liant's
car had been recently cleaned. The poly-
graph examination was conducted on Mon-
day, June 13, between the secon! and third
questioning sessions. The examination in-
dicated some untruthfulness in ajjpellant’s
prior statements. Appellant confessed dur-
ing the third interview. The fourth inter-
view consisted of a taping of essentially the
same confession.

A -

Prior to cach interview, appellant was
advised of his rights and signed waivers
respecting his rights. During the inter-
views, pictures of the nude body of the
victim were exposed on the table of the
interrogation room. The interviews were
conducted with only appellant and the in-
terviewing officers present in the room.
Members of appellant's family were present
in the hall outside the interview room. Ap-
pellant was not confined between inter-
views.

Appellant was 18 years of age at the time
of the interviews, At the suppression hear-
ing, two expert witnesses testified appel-
lant had a learning disability and probably
could not understand his rights as presented
on the waiver forms used by the police.
There was additional testimony that appel-
lant had an IQ of 94, had completed the
eighth grade, had passed most of the high
school equivalency exam, had taken vo-tech
classes in Butte, and had worked in his
father's business.

Discrepancies exist as to whether appel-
lant made a request for counsel. It is
agreed that appellant brought up the sub-
ject of counsel during at least one of the
questioning sessions, The testimony con-
flicts, however, as to when appellant men-
tioned an attorney, what appellant said
about wanting an attorney, and the conduct
of the interviewers and appellant after the
mentioning of counsel.

Appellant states he requested counsel and
one was not provided. One of the « fficers
questioning appellant recalled that appel-
lant asked him if he thought he should talk
with a lawyer and the officer responded
that it was up to appellant. Both question-
ing officers agree that appellant voluntarily
resumed the interview after the mentioning
of counsel. No counsel was provided for
the appellant during the interrogation proc-
ess.

On Weilnesday, June 15, 1977, appellant
called police officers and family members to
the Missoula County jail where he was be-
ing held and repudiated the statements he
had made on the 13th and 14th, stating he

3

1096 Mont.

saw someone else murder Ms. Thibodeau,
At the suppression hearing and trial, appel-
lant withdrew this repudiation and re-
turned to his original story of dropping off
the victim at her home about midnight.

Appellant raises three issucs on appeal:
1. Did the District Court err in failing

to grant the motion to suppress appellant's
confession?

2. Does ‘section 46-13-301(4), MCA, re-
quiring a defendant on a motion to suppress
to prove that a confession was involuntary,
constitute a denial of due process in viola-
tion of the United States and Montana Con-
stitutions?

3. Did the State present sufficient evi-
dence during the trial to support a guilty
verdict on the charge of deliberate homi-
cide?

(1,2) To resolve the first issue present-
ed here, we must decide if the District
Court erred in finding appellant's confes-
sion voluntary and if appellant was uncon-
stitutionally denied his right to counsel. To
determine the first aspect of this issue, the
voluntariness of the confession, we must
consider the “totality of circumstances” sur-
rounding the confession with no single fact
being dispositive of the issue. State v. Gri-
mestad (1979), Mont., 598 P.2d 198, 202, 36
St.Rep. 1245, 1251; State v. Lenon (1977),
Mont., 570 P.2d 901, 906, 34 St.Rep. 1153,
1157. When, as here, a youthful defendant
questions the voluntarincss of « confession,
the circumstances the Court must consider
include:

ee 1) age of the accused: 2) edu-
cation of the accused; 3) knowledge of
the accused as to both the substance of
the charge, if any has been filed, and the
nature of his rights to consult with an
attorney and remain silent; 4) whether
the accused is held incommunicado or al-
lowed to consult with relatives, friends or
an attorney; 5) whether the accused was
interrogated before or after formal
charges had been filed; 6) methods used
in interrogation; 7) length of interroga-
tions; 8) whether vel non the accused
refused to voluntarily give statements on

A -

605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

prior occasions; and 9) whether the ac-
cused has repudiated an extra judicial
statement at a later date. ine
West v. United States (5th Cir, 1968), 399
F.2d 467, 469, cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1102,
89 S.Ct. 903, 21 L.Ed.2d 795.

We should also consider the mental ca-
pacity of the defendant, Smallwood y,
Warden, Maryland Penitentiary (4th Cir,
1966), 367 F.2d 945, cert. denied, 386 U.S.
1022, 87 S.Ct. 1374, 18 L.Ed.2d 460; the
visibility of nude pictures of a murder vic.
tim during the defendant's interrogation,
People v. Roberts (1966), 3 Mich.App. 605,
143 N.W.2d 182, 185; the use of polygraph
examinations, Keiper v. Cupp (9th Cir,
1975), 509 F.2d 238, 241: a» defendant's pre-
vious experience with the criminal justice
system, United States vy, Glasgow (9th Cir.
1971), 451 F.2d 557, 558; and, a defendant's
experience in the adult world, United
States v. Hilliker (9th Cir. 1970), 436 F.2d
101, 102-03, cert. denied, 401 U.S. 958, 91
S.Ct. 987, 28 L.Ed.2d 242 and West v. Unit-
ed States, supra. These are all factors
courts have taken into account in deciding
if a young person voluntarily confessed.

One additional rule aids us in deciding
this case. We stated in Grimestad :

“. . . The issue of voluntariness of
@ confession is largely a factual determi-
nation, addressed to the discretion of the
trial court The trial court's
judgment as to voluntariness of a confes-
sion will not be reversed on appeal unless
it is clearly against the weight of the
evidence.” 598 P.2d at 202, quoted from
State v. Lenon, 570 P.2d at 906.

[3] The trial court here reviewed the
evidence and determined appellant volun-
tarily confessed. In considering almost ev-
ery one of the factors listed above as rele.
vant in determining the voluntariness of
appellant's confession, evidence exists sup-
porting the holding of the District Court.

Ayyellant was 18, legally an adult. He
had passed most of his high school equiva-
leney examination and attended vo-tech
school. Appellant's IQ is 94, within the
normal adult range. The trial judge found
that appellant demonstrated an under-

4

STATE v, BLAKNEY

Mont. 1097

Cite as, Moat, 605 F.2d 1003

standing of the English language during his
courtroom testimony. Appellant had
worked in his father's business. Appellant
had prior experience with the criminal jus-
tice system, having previously been advised
of his rights in connection with juvenile
matters. The four interrogation sessions
lasted only about two hours each and were
spread out over several days. Between ses-
sions, appellant went home, free to consult
with family members and move about as he
pleased. The District Court found that the
polygraph procedure did not intimidate ap-
pellant. Appellant stated at the suppres-
sion hearing that he did not pay much at-
tention to the pictures of the victim left
exposed on a table during the questioning.
Appellant repudiated his confession, placing
blame for the murder on someone else, but
later returned to his original story of drop-
ping off the victim at her home.

Although some evidence to the contrary
exists, the above facts show the decision of
the District Court does not clearly contra-
vene the weight of the evidence. We must,
therefore, affirm the District Court's ruling
on the voluntariness of appellant's confes-
sion.

[4] Speaking to the second aspect of this
issue, whether appellant was unconastitu-
tionally denied his right to counsel during
the interrogation process, the District Court
concluded:

“That the defendant never made an ef-

fective assertion of counsel and in any

event thereafter knowingly and intelli-
gently waived the presence of counsel by

spontaneously stating he did not want a

lawyer and resuming talking to the po

lice.”
This conclusion raises two questions fur con-
sideration on appeal: (1) Did appellant ef-
fectively assert his right to an attorney?
and, (2) if s0, did appellant thereafter waive
his right to counsel?

In Miranda, the Court stated:

“Prior to any questioning, the person

must be warned that he has a right to

remain silent, that any slatement{s) he
does make may be used as evidence
against him, and that he hus « right to

A

5

the presence of an attorney, either re-
tained or appointed. The defendant may
waive effectuation of these rights, pro-
vided the waiver is made voluntarily,
knowingly and intelligently. Jf, however,
he indicates in any manner and at any
stage of the process that he wishes to
consult with an attorney before speaking
there can be no questioning.” (Emphasis
added.) Miranda v. Arizona (1966), 384
U.S. 436, 444-45, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 1612, 16
L.Ed.2d 694.

Although the witnesses at the suppression
hearing gave conflicting testimony concern-
ing the language used by appellant in al-
legedly asserting his right to counsel, the
trial court found that uppellant “brought
up the subject of an attorney” twice, on the
second occasion stating, “maybe I should
have an attorney.” This language brings
appellant's assertion within the “indicates
in any manner” language set out in Miran-
da as the requirement for an effective as-
sertion of the right to counsel, Thus, the
District Court erroncously concluded that
appellant did not effectively assert his right
to counsel.

[5] We must decide, therefore, if the
District Court also erred in concluding that
appellant waived his right to counsel after
an effective assertion of the right. Al-
though the United States Supreme Court
has not yet ruled on the issuc, see Brewer v.
Williams (1977), 430 U.S. 387, 405-06, 97
S.Ct. 1232, 51 L.Ed.2d 424, several of the
circuit courts have held a defendant can
validly waive the right to counsel after
making a request for counsel. United
States v. Rodriguez-Gastelum (9th Cir.
1978), 569 F.2d 482, cert. denied, 436 U.S.
919, 98 S.Ct. 2266, 56 L.Ed.2d 760; United
States v. Hodge (5th Cir. 1973), 487 F.2d
945. We hold that this view correctly inter-
prets the situation in Montana and adopt
this rule. In so doing, we recognize that a
waiver of the right to counsel cannot be
presumed and that the State bears a heavy
burden to show waiver. North Carolina v.
Butler (1979), —-— U.S. ——, 9% S.Ct. 1756,
60 L.Ed.2d 286, 292.

1098 Mont. 605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

e

[6,7] Given this standard and the Dis-
trict Court's findings of fact, the District
Court did not err in holding appellant
waived his right to counsel. The District
Court found that the first assertion of the
right was made on Sunday morning. After
being. advised by the police that he could
have counsel if he wished, appellant contin-
ued answering questions. Thus, appellant
voluntarily abandoned his right to counsel
at this point and unilaterally resumed the
interview without prompting by the inter-
viewing officers. The Sunday interview
terminated around noon with no incrimina-
ting statements being made by appellant.

The next interrogation session did not
begin until Monday evening. Between the
interviews more than 30 hours elapsed, in-
cluding a full business day in which appel-
lant was not detained and was free to con-
sult with family members or an attorney if
he wished. Prior to the Monday interroga-
tion, appellant again received his Miranda
warnings and signed a waiver. During the
questioning session, appellant again assert-
ed his right to counsel. With this, the
officers stopped questioning appellant and
began to leave the room. Appellant re-
sumed talking to the police and they re-
minded him he had just said he wanted an
attorney. Appellant then stated he did not
want a lawyer and the interrogation contin-
ued.

These facts—particularly the more than
30-hour time span between the first aaser-
tion of the right to counsel and any inculpa-
tory statement, the rereading of his Miran-
da warnings and the signing of a waiver
before any incriminating statement, and
the express statement by appellant that he
did not want a lawyer—represent a waiver
of the right to counsel on the part of appel-
lant. .

[8] The law on the second issue raised
by appellant is clear. Recent Montana and
United States Supreme Court decisions in-
validate section 46-13-301(4), MCA. Lego
v. Twomey (1972), 404 U.S. 477, 92 S.CL
619, 30 L.Ed.2d 618; State v. Smith (1974),
164 Mont. 334, 338, 523 P.2d 1395, 1397.
The State must prove the voluntarinvas of a

A -

confession at a suppression hearing by a
preponderance of the evidence. If the trial
court applied section 46—-13-—301(4) and re-
quired appellant to prove the confession
involuntary, it erred.

(®11) Error by the trial court cannot be
presumed but must be shown by the record.
State v, Struight (1959), 136 Mont. 255, 264-
65, 347 P.2d 482. Reviewing the record of
the suppression hearing, the trial judge
heard arguments by the prosecuting attor-
ney that, while at the trial the State must
prove voluntariness, the burden to show the
police violated appellant's rights rested on
appellant at the suppression hearing. Re-
sponding to this argument, the judge stat-
ed, “Well, it appears to me that what you
say is true. Mr. Volinkaty [appellant's at-
torney], at the trial, if they wish to intro-
duce this at trial, the burden is on the State
to prove voluntariness; howcver, this is a
motion to suppress and I think that, since it
is your motion, you should proceed at this
time.”

This record presents the possibility of two
errors by the District Court. First, the trial
judge could have erred in requiring the
appellant to go forward with the evidence.
The federal courts have considered this
question on several occasions. Speaking to
this issue in a case involving the suppres-
sion of wiretap evidence, the Fifth Circuit
Court stated:

“(b) Burdens of proof in suppression

hearings. \t is well established that the

burdens of production and persvasion
generally rest upon the movant in a sup-
pression hearing. (Citations omitted.)

Concededly, in some well-defined situa-

tions the ultimate burden of persuasion

may shift to the government upon an
initial showing of certain facts by the
defendant. For example, if a defendant
produces evidence that he was arrested or
subjected to a search without a warrant,
the burden shifts to the government to
justify the warrantless arrest or search.

[Citation omitted.) Or if a defendant
* shows that a confession was obtained

while he was under custodial interroga-

tion, the government then has the burden

6

A a te

STATE v. BLAKNEY

Mont.

1099

Cite as, Moat, 605 F.2d 1083

of proving that the defendant voluntarily
waived his privilege against self-incrimi-
nation even in those situations,
the defendant must first discharge his
initial burden of producing some evidence
on specific factual allegations sufficient
to make a prima facie showing of illegali-
ty.” United States v. Dela Fuente (5th
Cir. 1977), 548 F.2d 528, 533-534, cert.
denied, 431 U.S. 932, 97 S.Ct. 2640, 53
L.Ed.2d 249 and 434 U.S. 954, 98 S.Ct.
479, 54 L.Ed.2d 312.

In United States v. Crocker (10th Cir.
1975), 510 F.2d 1129, the trial court denied
appellant's motion to suppress a confession.
On appeal, the appellant contended the trial
court at the suppression hearing improperly
required her to assume the burden of proof
and of going forward with the evidence.
The Circuit Court responded to this argu-
ment, saying:

“It is fundamental on a motion to sup-

press there must be ‘a foundation in fact

for the legal result." Rogers v. Rich-

mond, 365 U.S. 534, 546, 81 S.Ct. 735, 742,

5 L.Ed.2d 760 (1961). Logic dictates that

4 pre-trial Motion to Suppress filed by an

accused docs in fact cast the burden upon

the movant to present facts necessary to
sustain his position. [Citation omitted.]”

Crocker, 510 F.2d at 1135.

The court gocs on to state:

“While the defendant must first present
* evidence in support of his motion to sup-

press which satisfies his burden of chal-

lenging the legality of the confession, we
have recognized that the Government
must then carry the countervailing bur-
den of proving a waiver of the constitu-
tional privilege against self-incrimina-

tion.” 510 F.2d at 1135.

See also United States v. Polizzi (9th Cir.
1974), 500 F.2d 856, 910, cert. denied, 419
U.S. 1120, 95 S.Ct. 802, 42 L.Bu.2d 820.

These cases indicate a trial judge can
properly require a party moving for the
suppression of evidence to initiate suppres-
sion hearing proceedings. The rationale for
such @ procedure is the requirement that
the movant establish a prima facie case that
& constitutional infringement has occurred.

A -

Once this has been accomplished, the ulti-
mate burden of proving the propriety of the
state's action shifts to the state. Thus the
Distriet Court here did not err in requiring
appellant to present his evidence first at the
suppression hearing.

Although allowable, we do not recom-
mend this procedure as standard practice at
suppression hearings. The District Courts
should employ this procedure only when
necessary to establish a prima facie case of
infringement by the State. If a prima facie
case is presente! by the party requesting
the suppression of evidence to the trial
court's satisfaction through prehearing doc-
umentation, the State should be required to
initiate the suppression hearing proceed-
ings. This procedure will clearly place the
burden of proof on the State as required by
Lego and Smith.

(12-14) The second possible error
presented here is whether there wus an
improper burden of proof put on appellant
at the suppression hearing. The above ex-
cerpt from the hearing transcript c'carly
shows the trial judge applied the incorrect
standard at the suppression hearing. After
hearing the State's argument that appellant
was required to prove the confession invol-
untary, the judge stated he thought that
what the prosecuting attorney said was
true and required appellant to proceed. As
noted above, we find that this required
appellant to assume the obligation of going
forward with the evidence. It also shifted
the burden of proof to appellant.

However, we find here that even though
the trial court's ruling did shift the burden,
the ruling can be sustained as harmless
error. The error here is federal constitu-
tional errur. Lego v. Twomey, supra;
Jackson v. Denno (1964), 378 U.S. 368, 84
S.Ct. 1774, 12 L.Ed.2d 908. While not all
errors of constitutional magnitude cai! for
reversal, “. before a federal con-
stitutional error can be held harmless, the
court must be able to declare a belicf that it
was harmicss beyond a reasonable doubt.”
Chapman v. Culifornia (1967), 386 U.S. 18,
24, 87 S.Ct. R24, RAR, 17 L.Edd.2d 705.

7

1100 Mont.

In determining the existence of harmless
constitutional error, the appellate court con-
sidering the question has the task of apply-
ing the harmless beyond a reasonable doubt
test. Chapman, 386 U.S, at 24, 87 S.Ct. 824;
. se also Harrington v. California (1969), 395
U.S, 250, 89 S.Ct. 1726, 23 L.Bul.2d 284:
Schneble v, Florida (1972), 405 U.S, 427, 92
S.Ct. 1056, 31 L.Ed.2d 340,

Applying this standard to the instant
case, we find the error was harmless beyond
& reasonable doubt. We are aided in our
decision by the rationale expressed in Rog-
ers v, United States (Sth Cir. 1964), 330 F.2d
535, cert. denied, 379 U.S. 916, 85 S.Ct. 265,
13 L.Ed.2d 186. Rogers is another case
holding no error exists in requiring a de-
Gy/endant to initiate suppression hearing pro-
ceedings. 330 F.2d at 542 In so holding,
the court stated:

aF The burden of producing evi-

dence is never crucial unless certain nec-

essary facts in a case are not aired. Here
all the salient facts were aired. Few
were even in dispute, The defendant,
therefore, "was not prejudiced by the or-
der in which the evidence was presented,

And the district judge allowed defend-

ant's counsel to examine all of the wit-

nesses as hostile. There is no prejudicial

errer in the record.” 330 F.2d at 543.

(Emphasis added.)

As in Rogers, the trial judge heard all the
salient facts at the suppression hearing.
The trial court heard leatimony from eleven
witnesses including appellant, appellant's
father, the officers who interviewed appel-
lant, the polygraph examiner, a clinical pay-
chologist, and a learning disabilities special.
ist, The trial judge allowed appellant's at-
torney to examine witneuses as adverse in
appellant's initial presentation, At the con-
clusion of the appellant's initial presenta-
tion, the State introduced evidence of vol-
untariness through its own witnesses.
When the State rested, the trial court gave
appellant the opportunity to present rebut
tal testimony. Throughout the proceedings,
both sides conducted extensive direet, cross,
redirect, and recroas examination of the
witnesses. In addition to the witnens Wwati-

A

605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

mony, the trial judge had the benefit of
briefs from appellant and the State on the
voluntariness question’

After considering all this testimony and
the briefs of counsel, the trial judge found
the confession voluntary. Given the exten-
sive nature of the proceedings and the full
right of appellant to present his case on this
issue, we are convinced beyond a reasonable
doubt the trial judge would have reached
the sarne result regardless of the improper
placing of the burden of proof on Appellant
Any error thus constitutes harmless error
and does not warrant returning the case to
the trial court,

{15} Appellant's arguments concerning
the third issue lack merit, Regarding the
sufficiency of evidence to support a guilty
verdict, this Court has said:

“On appeal we examine the evidence to

determine whether the verdict is sup-

ported by substantial evidence. In doing
so, we view the evidence in the light most
favorable to the State.” State v. Mersea!

(1975), 167 Mont. 412, 415, 588 P.2d 1366,

1368,

Beyond the confession, the State present.
ed evidence that placed appellant with the
victim about three blocks from the scene of
the murder near the probable time of the
murder, Appellant could not explain his
whereabouts at the time the murder proba-
bly occurred. Appellant had told his broth-
er, “I think they're going to get me for the
murder” before the police even questioned
him about the homicide. And, appellant
had borrowed his brother's shoes the morn-
ing after the murder because his own were
wet, even though every witness who was
with appellant and the victim on the night
of the murder agreed that appellant had
not walked near any water, This evidence,
when viewed in the light most favorable to
the State, as we must do when the State
prevails at the trial level, sufficiently sup
porta appellant's conviction on the charge of
deliberate homicide.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the
judgment of the District Court.

HASWELL, C. J, and DALY, J., concur,

STATE v. BLAKNEY

Mont. 1101

Clie as, Mont, 605 P24 1093

SHEEHY, Justice, dissenting:

This is the kind of case that is guarantiod
to add gray hairs to an alrewly graying
judge's head, The record discloses a strong
possibility that defendant Larry Lynn Blak-
ney is guilty of deliberate homicide in the
murder of Ann Thibodeau, But the record
also discloses a strong possibility that the
confession uttered by Larry Lynn Blakney
was involuntary, was obtained with indicia
of coercion, and the District Court put the
burden of proof with respect to voluntari-
ness upon the wrong party at the suppres-
sion hearing. Reversal means further ex-
pense to the county and a possible loss of a
conviction. Affirmance means that Blak.
ney's constitutional rights must be ex-
plained away, and places our approval on
the procedure that led to the confession,
Therefore, | come down on the side of re-
versal,

The circumstances surrounding the von-
feasion need some further elaboration, The
body of Ann Thibodeau was found at ap
proximately 9:00 p, m. on Saturday, June
11, 1977 in the Clark Fork River, near
downtown Missoula. Blukney, ut the offi-
cer's request, went to the Missoula police
station at 10:30 p, m. that evening, He was
interrogated beginning at approximately
11:30 p. m. for one and one-half hours,
Following the interrogation, which was reo
cordgd, Blakney was taken to hiy home by
interrogating officers, where his car was
searched pursuant to his consent They
also were shown the interior of Blakney's
home, They broke off contact with him at
2:00 a. m. on the morning of June 12, 1977,
Arrangements were made at that time for
Blakney to come into the police station that
morning at approximately 9:45 a. m. for a
second interview,

This second interview on June 12, 1977,
lasted approximately two to two and one.
half hours, Again the interrogation was
conducted in the police interrogation room
in the presence of two police officurs, At
this interrogation arrangements were made
for Blakney to take a polygraph oxamina-
tion on the following day ata time to be
agreed upon. Although the testimony of

_——

A -

the officers is inconsistent about the mat-
Ler, it is conceded by the two officers and it
was found by the trial court that some type
of request for an attorney was made by
Blakney during the interrogation of June
12,

On Monday, June 13, 1977, Blakney went
to the police interrogation room to undergo
the polygraph examination. It was con-
ducted by a Cascade County deputy, The
examination commenced at approximately
9:15 p. m. and was conducted in the pres-
ence of four police officers, including the
polygraph examiner, Since Blakney's fa-
ther had gone on vacation the previous day,
his uncle came to the police station with
him. When the polygraph examination be-
gan, the uncle was seated at an open door
outside the interrogation room and was able
to hear the first few questions of the poly-
kraph examination, The examiner shook
his head in the negative, said something to
another police officer, who then suggested
to the uncle that he remove himself, or go
upstairs to got a soft drink or something,
The uncle did this, and when he attempted
to return to the interrogation room, found
the door to the basement, through which he
had come, lovked. He waited there until
the polygraph interrogation was completed
at which time an officer came out to the
uncle to tell him that the hoy “was confens-
ing.” During the polygraph examination,
the young defendant was seated facing the
wall, and on the table near him were spread
out parts of the police file, but particularly
a doven or wo pictures of the nude hody of
Ann Thiboxleau. When the polygraph ex-
aminer had finished his examination, he
removed the chart from the machine, and
placed the defendant behind him, showed to
the defendant, the polygraph chart record.
ing of a “known lie", The examiner then
went on to state hy showing other “highs”
in the chart, that Hlakney was lying. Blak.
ney testified that the polygraph examiner
said “well, I've got some daughters of my
own, T woukln't want the same thing to
happen to them as what happened to Ann.”
Hlukney also testified that the examiner
told him that the examiner would take the
polygraph text and flash it up on a big

1102 | Mont.

screen in front of the jury and would show
the jury the places where the examiner
maintained that Blakney lied.

The testimony of the polygraph examiner
in this regard is as follows:
"Q. After Larry came over and you re-
viewed the results, did you make any
statements to Larry at that time? A.
Yes, I did. I told him I thought it would
probably be best if he leveled with the
authorities and told them what happened,
“Q. Are you married? A. Yes,
“Q. Do you have any children? A. Yes.
“Q. And are they boys or girls? A. |
have two boys, one 19 and one 16,
“Q. No girls? A. No.
“Q. Did you make a statement to Larry
at that time that you had a couple of
daughters and you didn’t want this hap-
pening to them? A. Okay, To clarify
what I am talking about—and talking
about marriage—on my first marriage, |
have two sons by my first marriage, On
my secbnd marriage, | have two daugh-
ters, stepdaughters, and that's true.
"Q. Did you make a statement to that
effect, that you knew he was lying and
that you didn't want this to happen to
your daughters? A, I'm not going to
say that I made that statement, I hon-
estly don't remember,
“Q. Can you honestly say that you did
not make the statement? A. No. I
wouldn't honestly say that,
“Q. Did you make any other statements
to him? A. Yes, I did. Before we first
started the exam, when we went over the
advisement of rights, and also the waiver
of rights on the bottom, made it very
plain to Larry, and asked him if he knew
that this was being done voluntarily on
his part, and that the polygraph results
cannot be used against him in the State
of Montana.
“Q. Did you make a statement to Larry
after the teat was concluded of something
to the effect that you were going to put
the results of the test on a screen and
have it shown to a jury and he would be
found guilty of deliberate homicide? A.
No.

-

A -

605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

“Q. Did you make any statement that
was similar to that? A. To the best of
my knowledge, no.

“Q. Did you make any other statement,
other than possibly one about the daugh-
ters, concerning either the use of the
results or Larry's involvement in the
crime? A. Yes, I probably did, because
in most cases, I'll tell you them that, if it
is stipulated that the results can be used,
but only if his attorney and the prosecut-
ing attorneys will stipulate it, that the
results can be used,”

Immediately following this, the two offi-
cers who originally interrogated Blukney
came buck into the room, Blakney testified
that they told him they knew that he did it
and that he ought to tell everything, At
this point, Blakney testified that he again
requested an attorney, The officers testi-
fied that he made such a request but that
then he went on talking and 80 nothing
further was done about it, Blakney testi-
fied that he assumed that because they
continued interrogating him that he was
not going to get an attorney at that Lime,

At this point, according to the testimony
of the officers, Blakney, who was concerned
about what a confession would mean to
members of his family, was assured that it
was a good thing for him to do and that the
family would understand, With that, Blak-
ney confessed to the murder, Later he
gave a further confession Uhat was taped or
recorded,

The evidence concerning the actual con-
feasion reveals a very emotional scene, It
is this evidence and testimony that leads me
to conclude that Blakney probably coinmit-
ted the murder, But the testimony in evi-
dence leading up to the confession also
forces me to conclude that his constitutional
rights against sclf-incrimination and his
right to counsel were overridden,

Of course, if the first real confession was
unconstitutionally brought about, then the
second confession is likewise inadmissible.
In any event, in consiklering the voluntart
neas of a confession, its truth or falsity le
not to be considered. State v. White (1965),

10

STATE v. BLAKNEY Mont. 1103
te a8, Mont, 605 P24 1083

146 Mont. 226, 405 P.2d 761; cert. den. 384
U.S. 1023, 86 S.Ct. 1955, 16 L.Ed.2d 1026.
Where a confession is given in the absence
of counsel, the underlying test of admissi-
bility of confession is whether it is given
voluntarily, and with the defendant's free
will, State v. Lucero (1968), 151 Mont. 531,
445 P.2d 731; State v. Noble (1963), 142
Mont. 284, 394 P.2d 504.

The majority opinion tacitly concedes
that the evidence respecting voluntariness
is close, and that there is evidence which
would support either side of the issue. It is
further clear from the record, that the Dis-
trict Court assumed that it was bound by
the provisions of section 46-15-301(4),
MCA, that the “burden of proving that a
confession or admission was involuntary
shall be on the defendant.” This is the first
case where the Montana Supreme Court
directly invalidates that portion of section
46-13-301(4), MCA. This Court had, how-
ever, in State v. Smith (1974), 164 Mont.
334, 338, 523 P.2d 1395, stated that the rule
in Montana was that the state must prove
the voluntariness of a confession by a pre-
ponderance of the evidence. This rule was
also enunciated in State v. LaFreniere
(1973), 163 Mont. 21, 27, 515 P.2d 76,

The majority opinion conchutes that the
District Court did in fact apply an incorrect
standard by placing the burden of proof
upon Blakney to prove the involuntariness
of his confession. Having s0 concluded, the
majority goes further and determines that
the mistake of the District Court constitut-
ed harmless error beyond a reasonable
doubt. On that point, | must disassociate
myself from the majority.

I cannot agree with the majority that the
evidence of voluntariness was harmless he-
yond a reasonable doubt. | am not mental-
ly agile enough to make that aylloyistic
leap. In my opinion, when the District
Court concluded that Hiakney did not curry
his burden of proof, a burden he did not
have under @ correct version of the law, the
Distriet Court committed. error beyond! a
reasonable doubt.

To clarify my position, I find no particu-
lar significance or error in the fact that

A

Blakney was required to put his evidence on
first at the suppression hearing. The cor-
rect procedure at suppression hearings calls
for the defendant to put his case on first, at
least to establish a prima facie case of in-
voluntariness, because otherwise his motion
would be defeated if no evidence were jriv-
en on cither side, Once the prima facie
case has been established the burden of
persuasion shifts to the State to prove the
voluntary character of the confession.

I also want to make clear that I have
stated the rule in Montana that voluntari-
ness must be proved by the State by a
preponderance of the evidence, only because
the rule is starc decisis. | disagree with the
holding of this Court in State v. LaFreni-
ere, supra, which refused to adopt the stan-
dard of proof respecting voluntariness as
beyond a reasonable doubt. Our court was
following a decision in Lego v. Twomey
(1972), 404 U.S. 477, 92 S.Ct. 619, 30 L.Bd.2d
618, 626, 627. There, the United States
Supreme Court decided that proof beyond a
reasonable doubt of the voluntariness of a
confession was not constitutionally re-
quired. When the logic of the nine men in
Washington in reaching a decision docs not
hold water, and we are not bound by the
lecision, we should not follow it blindly.
The United States Supreme Court reached
the preponderance rule in such cases upon
the reasoning that “the purpose that a vol-
untariness hearing is designed to serve has
nothing whatever to do with improving the
reliability of jury verdicts " 404
U.S, at 486, 92 S.Ct. at 625. That reasoning
is demonstrably wrong; it is preciscly to
assure the reliability of the jury verdict
that suppression hearings are permitted
In fact, before the jury is permit'ed to hear
a confession, the trial court is first required
to determine that the confession is in fact
voluntary. Jackson v. Denno (1964), 378
US, 368, 84 S.C 1774, 12 LB Qt 908. In
Montana, hy statute, the issue of the adinis-
sibility of the confession is not to be sub-
mitted to the jury. Section 46-13-301(5),
MCA. When one considers that every ck-
ment of the crime must be proved beyond a
reasonable doubt (section 26-1-403(2),

ll

1104 Mont.

MCA) the catastrophic effect of permitting
& jury to hear a confession of the defend-
ant, the admissibility of which is deter-
mined on a basis less than beyond a reason-
able doubt, cannot be debated. California
has moved away from the United States
Supreme Court in this regard, and has held
that the privilege against self-incrimination
is 80 fundamental, and so highly regarded
judicially, that the reasonable doubt stan-
dard presents the greatest chance of ex-
cluding involuntary confessions. People vy.
Jimenes (1978), 21 Cal.3d 595, 147 Cal. Rptr.
172, 580 P.2d 672.

Persuasive to the California court was
the fact that once a confession is deter-
mined by the trial court to be voluntary and
therefore adminsible, the jury does not re-
determine the voluntariness issue, and the
appellate court is bound to accept the trial
court's resolution of conflicting evidence,
unless it is so improbable as to be entirely
unworthy of belief. Jimenez, supra, 147
Cal.Rptr, at 178, 580 P.2d at 678. The same
situation exists in Montana. Under our
code section above cited, the jury does not
determine the issue of adminsibility. On
appeal this Court has held invariably that
the District Court's decision as to admissi-
bility is practically inviolate. State y,
Smith (1974), 164 Mont. 334, 523 P.2d 1395;
State v. Chappell (1967), 149 Mont. 114, 423
,P.2d 47; State v, White (1965), 146 Mont.
226, 405 P.2d 761. Again, it offends my
syllogistic power to find consistency in a
rule which requires proof of clements of a
crime beyond a reasonable doubt but which
allows a confeasion, against the defendant's
constitutional right of no self-incrimination,
to be proved by a lesser standard,

Finally, it is my conclusion that Blakney
was denied his Miranda rights with respect
to counsel, The majority opinion finds that
he effectively asserted his right but that he
waived the same. It is true that the United
States Supreme Court has held that the
State bears a “heavy burden” to show waiv-
er of rigat to counsel. North Carvlina vy,
Butler (1979), 441 U.S. 369, 99 S.Ct. 1755,
GO L.Ed.2d 286,292 I am frank to stale
that I don't know what a “heavy burden” is
but I think it should be nothing less than

A -

605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 24 SERIES

beyond a reasonable doubt. Here again
that standard has not been met in this case.

I would reverse and remand, at least for
& proper hearing as to the voluntariness of
the confession.

SHEA, Justice, dissenting:

I would reverse the conviction. I cannot
in good conscience abide by the bald conclu-
sion of the trial court after a hearing on a
motion to suppress, that the confession was
voluntary and that defendant was not de-
nied his right to counsel.

I agree with the factual recitation and
conclusions reached by Justice Sheehy in his
dissent, although I am not convinced at this
time that we should adopt the California
standard that the State must prove beyond
& reasonable doubt that a confession is vol-
untury before it can be introduced against
him at trial. People v. Jimenez (1978), 2)
Cal.3d 595, 147 Cal.Rptr. 172, 580 P.2d 672.
I am not convinced, on the other hand, that
the present preponderance of the evidence
should be the proper standard. Rather, I
believe that the State should be required to
prove by clear and convincing evidence that
the defendant's confession was voluntary.
The standard of beyond a reasonable doubt
is Loo stern, and the standard of preponder-
ance of the evidence is too elusive or vapo-
rous. It is too flexible a standard by which
to judge something so fundamental as a
constitutional right.

Justice Sheehy dovs not agree, further-
more, that it was harmless error beyond a
reasonable doubt to require the defendant
to prove the involuntariness of the confes-
sion. Nor do I. Should a defendant chal-
lenge the voluntariness of his confession, it
is his duty to raise the issue by an appropri-
ale motion to suppress with specific oonten-
tions; but once those allegations are made
it is the duty of the State to proceet first
with its case to prove that the confession
was voluntary, Only if the State establish-
¢s & prima facie case of voluntariness by the
standard of clear and convincing evidence
should the defendant be required to come
forwant with his own evidence disputing

12

STATE

Cie aa, Mos.
the State's claim. That was not done here,
and regardless of the standard used, it is
clear that the trial court in effect placed
the burden on the defendant to prove that
the confession, was involuntary and to prove
that he was denied his right to counsel,
The record demonstrates that the trial
court was under the mistaken assumption it
was the defendant's duty to prove involun-
tariness of the confession and nonwaiver of
counsel rather than the duty of the State to
prove a voluntary confession and waiver of
counsel,

In setting forth the wide latitude to be
given a trial court in assessing and weigh-
ing the evidence, the majority refers to
Grimestad where we simply repeuted the
time worn rule which applies to Virtually all
factual determinations by a trial court.
The majority then proceeds to apply Gri-
mestad to this case by stating:

“The trial court here reviewed the evi-

dence and determined appellant voluntar-

ily confessed. In considering almost ev-
ery one of the factors listed above as
relevant in determining the voluntariness
of appellant's confession, evidence exists
Aupporting the holding of the District
Court.”
I do not dispute that evidence exists sup
porting the holding of the trial court, but if
* standard other than the virtually mean-
ingless one of preponderance of the evi-
dence (in the context of this casc) were
®pplied, the trial court would have been
required to find that the State did not
prove the confession voluntary and a waiver
of counsel by clear and convincing evidence.

The majority then proceeds to discuss the
evidence as to cach of the factors. The
essential problem is, however, that another
rial judge, if he was s0 inclined (let us say
if he had philosophical leaningy different
then those of the trial judge concerning the
Fight to counsel and obtaining confessions),
eould have taken the opposite position, and
soncluded, with adequate support in the
record, that the State did not prove that the
confession was voluntary and that the State
did not prove that defendant waived. his
Fight to counsel. This decision of the trial

008 P d—24

A -

BLAKNEY

Mont 1105
005 F.2d 1083

court would have looked just as good in
print, although not nearly as well accepted
by the public,

Viewed in the abstract, this deference
given to trial court decisions on the facts is
nice-sounding; it gives the distinct impres-
sion that the appellate court is not med-
dling in the factual determinations of the
trial court. I would also like to believe that
we could, with full assurance, give this kind
of deference to the trial court and its fact-
finding functions. “We refer to this rul:
constantly when we uphold a decision of the
trial court as to its factual determinations.

Aside from the improper stan:lard applied
in this case (it should be at least by clear
and convincing evidence), the problem in
this case is in applying this rule of defer-
ence to a situation where there is no indica-
tion that the trial court listened carefully to
the evidence, carefully evaluated the evi-
dence, and then came to the proper convlu-
sions by a cureful application of the law to
the facts as it perceived them to be. We
are giving only lip service to one's constitu-

_ tional rights if we do not require this of

trial courts in reviewing their rulings on
factual questions relating to alleged consti-
tutional violations.

How do we know, for example, that in
this case after the motion to suppress was
taken under advisement, if the trial court
took five minutes in considering the case
before reaching its decision, or whether it
took fifteen hours in considering the case
before it reached its decision? This is not
necessurily to say that a five minute consid-
eration would automatically be inadequate
or that a fifteen hour consideration would
be adequate, But, it can be safely stated
that, reguriless of the decision, if one knew
the trial court considered the case for fif-
wen hours before reaching its decision, it
would at least indicate that it had carefully
considered the case,

It goes without saying that when this
Court reviews decisions of a trial court, it is
helpful that we know how the trial court
perceived the facts if it is making a factual
determination, and how it applied the law
to the facts. It is most important when the

13

1106 Mont.

issue involves a claimed violation of a fun-
damental right such as is involved here.
Unfortunately, it is more often the case
than not, that this Court does not réceive
any meaningful insight as to how and why
a trial court reached a decision. The gener-
al rule seemingly applied by the trial courts
is that the less it says about the facts, and
how it applied the law to the facts, the
better its chance will be that its decision
will be upheld on appeal. That situation
exista in this case, but it is much more
serious. Here, the only findings of fact and
conclusions of law involved, are those pre-
pared by the County Attorney after the
trial court had reached its decision, and
which were then given to the trial court, to
sign. We perhaps get some insight as to
what the prosecutor perceived the facts to
be and the appropriate conclusions to draw
from those facts, but it adds absolutely
nothing to the legitimacy of the trial court's
decision.

Had it not been for the after-the-decision
suggestion of a law school intern then
working for the Missoula County Attorney,
there would not have been any findings and
conclusions entered in this case. This im-
portant revelation was first unearthed dur-
ing thé oral arguments before this Court.
The prosecutor explained the circumstances.

This Court was questioning the prosecu-
tor as to whether the trial court had en-
tered a memorandum in support of its deci-
sion or had entered findings of fact and
‘conclusions of law. In reply, the prosecutor
revealed that after the trial court had taken
the suppression motion under advisement, it
later notified the County Attorney's office
that it had entered an order denying the
defendant's motion to suppress, or was
about to enter such an order. It was then
that the law student suggested to the prose-
cutor that it would be a good idea if the
prosecutor presented the trial court with
findings and conclusions in support of its
order, The prosecutor agreed that this was
& wise suggestion and, accordingly, prepar-
ed findings and conclusions and presented
them to the trial court for signature. The
trial court adopted verbatim the findings
and conclusions; indeed, the order in which

605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

the findings and conclusions appear is ex-
actly the same document presented by the
prosecutor, Thus, the only findings and
conclusions before this Court for review are
those prepared by and tailored by the prose-
culor,

The trial court had not requested pro-
posed findings and conclusions from either
side. ‘Presumably, therefore, if the trial
court did so at all, it was going to prepare
and enter its own. At least the defendant
would naturally believe this being that the
trial court requested no findings or conclu-
sions from either side. Counsel for defend-
ant at the hearing on the motion to sup-
press is not the same counsel as argued this
appeal, and | imagine it will come as quite a
revelation to him as to the background lead-
ing up to the tailored findings and conclu-
sions signed by the trial court.

The majority, of course, has carried the
day, but I would not give one ounce of
weight to findings and conclusions prepar-
ed, presented, and signed in this manner.
To conclude, as the majority has, that all
this deference should be given to the deci-
sion of the trial court in listening to, weigh-
ing and evaluation of the evidence, is an
exhultation of form over substance in the
highest degree.

Defendant did not have his fair day in
court on the motion to suppress because of
the trial court's erroncous ruling placing
the burden on the defendant. This error
was compounded by the strange devision-
making process used in this case. Where
the findings were tailored by the prosecutor
after the decision was made, and with no
opportunity for the defendant w partici-
pate, how can anyone in good conscience
believe that the trial court fairly received
and evaluated the evidence and applied the
law in a fair and even-handed manner’

Assuming that the revelations of the
prosceutor did not come to light during oral
arguments, and that this Court believet
that the findings and conclusions were
those of the trial court alone, if we had a
standard of review of questions of this na-
ture requiring the State to prove by clear

14

1107 mont. 605 PACIFIC REPORTER, 2d SERIES

and convincing evidence rather than by the
preponderance of the evidence, the evidence
would have required this Court to reverse
the District Court. By not adopting a more
stringent standard, we are only encourag-
ing trial courts to be as vague as possible in
reaching their decisions on questions involv-
ing fundamental constitutional rights.

A- 15

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MONTANA

No. 14534

STATE OF MONTANA,
Plaintiff and Respondent,
vs.
LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY,

Defendant and Appellant.

ORDER

PER CURIAM:
The petition for rehearing of defendant and appellant
is denied.

DATED this loth aay of January, 1980.

Chief Justice

Gg A SRE OR =.

Pil Justices

Mr. Justice Sheehy concurs in the denial of rehearing
although he does not agree with the decision itself as expressed

in the opinion herein.

Mr. Justice Daniel J. Shea would grant a rehearing.

FILED

VI 9550
A - 16 Sem a Kearneg

CLEA OF SUPREME COURT
STAY OF TAUWTANA

oo oN oO ao ®t &@ wD Be

ee ee ee ee ee eee ee
"-— 2 OO Ss £2 ae 6 8 & Ss

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT or
THE STATE OF MONTANA, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF -MISSOULA.

Cause No. 5067 /4 4

STATE, OF MONTANA, FILED NOV211977
Plaintife, LEA P. LaFRINIERE, Clerk
! ay Lriner (). Pe
vs. a

LARRY LYNN BLAKNEY,

Defendant, |
FINDINGS OF FACT; CONCLUSIONS OF LAW ;
AND ORDER DENYING MOTIONS TO SUPPRESS
EVIDENCE AND FOR CHANGE OF VENUE.
The defendant has filed a Motion to Suppress certain
evidence and for a Change of Venue. A hearing on the Motion
to Suppress was commenced on November 1, 1977 and continued
thereafter from time to time until November 15, 1977. at all
times the defendant was personally present and represented
by his counsel, Richard Volinkaty and Arthur B. Harr, with
the State being represented by Missoula County Attorney Robert
L. Deschamps III. The Court now being fully informed, makes
the following:
FINDINGS OF FACT
: de That. the defendant was interviewed by the police
three times with the last interview being preceeded by a poly-
graph examination. The first interview began at 11:23 p.m,
on June 11, 1977 and finished about 12:56 a.m. on June 12;
the second interview began at 9:51 a.m. on June 12 and ended
sometime between noon and 1:00 P-m.; the third and final in-
terview began at 9:20 P-m. on June 13 and finished around 10:45
P-m. on the same date.

2. That the defendant always had a close relative either |

with him or nearby during each of his interviews with the police,

APPENDIX B - 1

@ 7-02

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
1l
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

and on several occasions during breaks in the interviews, the
de fendant Privately consulted with these relatives.

3. That between each interview the defendant was allowed
to return home, with the time for the next interview session
being mutually agreed upon by the defendant and the interviewing
officers,

4. That the defendant was thoroughly instructed on his
"Miranda" rights prior to each interview and on each occasion,
after having any questions answered, he acknowledged he under-
stood his rights and Signed a written waiver of his rights.

5. That the defendant has an I.Q. of 94; has attended
high school and a vocational technical center; has passed four-
fifths of the grade equivalency diploma (G.E.D.) examination;
and has demonstrated an adequate adult command of the English
language during police interviews and in his courtroom testimony.

6. That a tape recording of the defendant's polygraph
examination clearly indicates that the defendant was not threat-
ened or intimidated by the procedures used,

7. That on two occasions the defendant brought up the
Subject of an attorney. The first occasion was during the
June 12 interview when the defendant asked the police if they
thought he should get an attorney, to which the police responded
that this decision was up to him. After receiving this advice
the defendant voluntarily resumed talking to the police.

The second occasion was after the POlygraph examination
on June 13 when the defendant stated "Maybe I should have an
attorney". With this, the Police stopped talking to the de-
fendant and began to leave the room, but before they were able

to leave the defendant resumed talking to them. at this point,

the defendant was reminded that he had Just indicated he wanted

3] 2" attorney, to which the defendant responded that he did not

32

# a + rt: a a sammy +. —

e\

gant a lawyer. With this the interview continued,

8. That the defendant was not in police custody for
a day and one-half between his first mention of an attorney
and his next interview, but during this time made no effort
to secure or consult with an attorney,

9. That no facts have been offered showing actual prej-
udice in the community against the defendant. .

From the foregoing findings of fact, the Cours now makes
its;

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. That the defendant was competent to understand his
constitutional rights and intelligently and knowingly waived
them,

2. That the statements made by the defenant were vol-
untary and were therefore not gained in violation of his con-
stitutional rights.

3. That the defendant never made an effective assertion
of counsel and in any event thereafter knowingly and intelligently
waived the presence of counsel by Spontaneously Stating he
did not want a lawyer and resuming talking to the police,

4. That the court cannot determine that there is ep
actual prejudice in the community against the defendant thereby

recluding him from having a fair trial.

From the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of :
law, the court now orders as follows:

l. The defendant's Motion to Suppress is denied.

2. The defendant's Motion for Change of Venue is denied,

subject to being renewed at the time of trial should the jury

election process reveal actual Prejudice against the defendant

_——_—< —— —- —_- — <a ee

co ont O@ oO fF BS WD KS

Se eesgeseeet ee &e ee we ee ee ee ee
_—— = eee PSS ECS ESTEE SES Be Ss

Precluding him from

having a fair trial in Missoula County.

io
Done this 2/ — aay of November, 1977,

21-1/87

Lf!

Disxgfict Judge

REVISED CODES OF MONTANA, 1947

95-1805. Motion to suppress confession or admission. (a) A defend-
ant may move to suppress as evidence any confession or admission given
by him on the ground that it was not voluntary.

(b) The motion shall be made before the trial unless for good cause
shown the court shall otherwise direct.

(c¢) The defendant shall give at least ten (10) days’ notice of such
motion to the attorney prosecuting or such other time as the court may
direct. The defendant shall serve a copy of the notice and motion upon
the attorney prosecuting.

(d) The motion shall be in writing and state facts showing wherein
the confession or admission was involuntary.

(e) If the allegations of the motion state facts which if true, show
that the confession or admission was not voluntarily made the court shall
conduct a hearing into the merits of the motion.

(f) The burden of proving that a confession or admission was in-
voluntary shall be on the defendant.

(g) The issue of the admissibility of the confession or admission shall
not be submitted to the jury. If the confession or admission is determined
to be admissible the circumstances surrounding the making of the con-
fession or admission may be submitted to the jury as bearing upon the
credibility or the weight to be given to the confession or admission.

(h) If the motion is granted the confession or admission shall not be
admissible in evidence against the movant at the trial of the case.

History: Ba. 06-1806 by See. 1, Oh. 196,
x. 1967.

APPENDIX C - 1

MONTANA CODE ANNOTATED

46-13-301. Motion to suppress confession or admission. (1) A
defendant may move to suppress as evidence any confession or admission
given by him on the ground that it was not voluntary. The motion shall be
in writing and state facts showing wherein the confession or admission was
involuntary.

(2) The motion shall be made before the trial unless for good cause
shown the court shall otherwise direct.

(3) The defendant shall give at least 10 days’ notice of such motion to the
attorney prosecuting or such other time as the court may direct. The defen-
dant shall serve a copy of the notice and motion upon the attorney prosecut-
ing.

(4) If the allegations of the motion state facts which, if true, show that
the confession or admission was not voluntarily made, the court shall conduct
a hearing into the merits of the motion. The burden of proving that a confes-
sion or admission was involuntary shall be on the defendant.

(5) The issue of the admissibility of the confession or admission shall not
be submitted to the jury. If the confession or admission is determined to be
admissible, the circumstances surrounding the making of the confession or
admission may be submitted to the jury as bearing upon the credibility or
the weight to be given to the confession or admission.

(6) If the motion is granted, the confession or admission shall not be
admissible in evidence against the movant at the trial of the case.

History: En. 95-1805 by Sec. 1, Ch. 196, L. 1967; R.C.M. 1947, 95-1805.

AMENDMENTS

TO THE

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES

AMENDMENT 5

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a grand jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the militia, when in actual
service in time of war or public danger, nor shall any person be subject for
the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law ; nor shall
private property be taken for public use without just compensation.

AMENDMENT 6

In all criminal prosecutions the accused shall enjoy the right toa speedy
and public trial, by an impartial jury of the state and district wherein the
crime shal] have been committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the ac.
cusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have com-
pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the
assistance of counsel for his defense.

AMENDMENT 14

1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to
the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the state
wherein they reside. No state shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor
shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law, nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

2. Representatives shall be apportioned among the several states accord-
ing to their respective numbers, counting the whole number of persons in
each state, including Indians not taxed. But when the right to vote at any
election for the choice of electors for president and vice-president of the
United States, representatives in congress, the executive and judicial officers
of a state, or the members of the legislature thereof, is denied to any of
the male inhabitants of such state, being twenty-one years of age, and
citizens of the United States, or in any way abridged, except for participa.

, tion in rebellion or other crime, the basis of representation therein shall be

“ reduced in the proportion which the number of such male citizens sball

“bear to the whole number of male citizens twenty-one years of age in such
state.

3. No person sball be a senator or representative in congress, or elector
of president and vice-president, or hold any office, civil or military, under
the United States, or under any state, who, having previously taken an oath
as a member of congress, or as an officer of the United States, or as a
member of any state legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any
state, to support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged
in insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to the
enemies thereof. But congress may, by a vote of two-thirds of each house,
remove such disability.

4. The validity of the public debt of the United States, authorized by
law, including debts incurred for payment of pensions and bounties for
services in suppressing insurrection or rebellion, shall not be questioned.
But neither the United States nor any state shall assume or pay any debt
or obligation incurred in aid of insurrection or rebellion against the United
States, or any claim for the loss or emancipation of any slave, but all such
debts, obligations, and claims sball be held illegal and void.

5. The congress shall have power to enforce, by appropriate legislation,
the provisions of this article.

oO

CONSTITUTION OF MONTANA

ARTICLE II

Section 17. Due process of law. No person shall be deprived of life,
liberty, or property without due process of law.

Section 23. Detention. No person shall be imprisoned for the purpose
of securing his testimony in any criminal proceeding longer than may be
necessary in order to take his deposition. If he can give security for his
appearance at the time of trial, he shall be discharged upon giving the same;
if he cannot give security, his deposition shall be taken in the manner pro-
vided by law, and in the presence of the accused and his counsel, or without
their presence, if they shall fail to attend the examination after reasonable
notice of the time and place thereof.

Section 24. Rights of the accused. In all criminal prosecutions the
accused shall have the right to appear and defend in person and by counsel;
to demand the nature and cause of the accusation; to meet the witnesses
against him face to face; to have process to compel the attendance of wit-
nesses in his behalf, and a speedy public trial by an impartial jury of the
county or district in which the offense is alleged to have been committed,
subject to the right of the state to have a change of venue for any of the
causes for which the defendant may obtain the same.

Section 25. Self-incrimination and double jeopardy. No person
shall be compelled to testify against himself in a criminal proceeding. No
person shall be again put in jeopardy for the same offense previously tried
in any jurisdiction.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40835006_2674%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
