# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Scott v. Union Producing Co. (No. 340)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386420_0395%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1959

## Text

—

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Octosper Term — 1959

J. Virew Scott, eT aL aND Paut J. Roaers, ef Au,
Appellants,
v.

Union Propucine Company, ET AL,
Appellees.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT

AUG 24
JAMES & BROWNING,

Joun C. WHITE
838-842 Transportation Bldg.
Washington 6, D. C.
Joun H. Dittmar
Milam Building
San Antonio, Texas
Austin C. Witson
M. W. Parse, Jr.
Bank of the Southwest Bldg.
Houston 2, Texas
Of Counsel:
FuLpricut, Crooker, Freeman, Bates
& JAWORSKI
8th Floor Bank of the Southwest Bldg.
Houston 2, Texas
Morrison, Ditrmar, DAHLGREN & Kaine
Milam Building
San Antonio, Texas

SORG PRINTING COMPANY OF TEXAS, HOUSTON, TEXAS

Sat TSC Ray, reer

TEC AREY as Seen

SHES TE AT

a aa

iiieemed SP eer eae

= a ABA SE te Few wie ae —_ —e

|

INDEX

Opinions Below

SEE STE ESA aL

nee SUID certitiescnesiennnetirtinneicintiteniiitiesieneumntnenesennesnnsnenenonees

STRATE TE ESO nr ee

Mmmm Theme mene Wi assis cc cecncccnencsecescssncosscnssccns

I a a cshebiniansenetion

SIUIIITTE 1 cissocieidicsseneschdachitietceiniacatiinahitisilaaiehanestineeaneacinnsacanannsinn

IE OF seateieniciesientiniseiniiiensinininaiaaniainapinienepinianannn
CITATIONS

Cases

Archer County, et al, v. Webb, et all, ........ | A
ST TE, Tie a. i isietinrennnsiioninstcstescesnseeierticennnenennen

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315............ccccccccssssscsscscossessesece

City of Chicago v. Fieldcrest Dairies, Inc., 316 U.S. 168........
Cowling v. Deep Vein Coal Co., 183 F. 2d 652...........cessesseeees

Erie Railroad v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64............ccssessssssereeseeeees
Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232............ccccssscssccssrscsscsssseosscee

LeBlane v. Haynesville Mercantile Co., Inc., 88 So. 2d 377....
Louisiana Power & Light Company v. Thibodeaux, 3 L. Ed.
SST ssusesibcidisddeancnectibedaihainlesetedechbciueaeainhiatenitaiaisitesmsnnicelenmiints

Manufacturers Casualty Insurance Company v. Coker, 219
ic ID Me eiiesicbieareientssiiaeptntechatbinsnbinsiniininsatiadiaiesansiiiniainibineninaiaaiotionion

Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312 U.S. 496..

Sellers v. Breidenbach, 300 S.W. 2d 178...........ccccccscsssesssesseesees
Southland Royalty Co. v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 249
EE ee

POORER EEE E EEE EEEE ESET EE EE EEEE SESE EEEEESES SEES ORES EEE EEES ESSE ED

— ee ee ee Ee A ER. eS. oe MOR a

2
8
as San ee at etenats oa

28 AY EEA RETOLD TE REOLDI TELIA

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octosper Term — 1959
BN aleiadiaiaicsins

J. Virem Scort, et au anp Paut J. Rocers, eT Au,
Appellants,
v.

Union Propuctne Company, ET AL,
Appellees.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT

Benjamin Clayton, R. S. Nixon, Nueces Royalty Com-
pany, a partnership, Paul J. Rogers, J. Virgil Scott and
Erwin W. Smith pray that a writ of certiorari issue to re-
view the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit entered in the above-entitled cause
on May 21, 1959.

OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the District Court may be
found at page 214 of the record, and the opinion of the
Court of Appeals is included herein as Appendix A, infra.

A petition for rehearing was denied by the Court of
Appeals without opinion.

aay

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
May 21, 1959. A petition for rehearing was denied on July
20, 1959. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C., See. 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1, Whether the Court of Appeals committed reversible
error in affirming a judgment by the District Court grant-
ing a summary judgment to respondents, and in holding
that as a matter of local law of the State of Texas, term
mineral interests owned by petitioners and expiring by
the terms thereof on October 25, 1955 in the absence of
production of minerals, terminated and reverted to re-
spondents on that date notwithstanding compliance with
a lease provision covering all mineral interests here in-
volved defining production to include the payment of shut-
in royalties on a shut-in gas well.

2. Where a case involving the precise issue on which
the courts below based their decisions is now pending be-
fore the Supreme Court of Texas, and where that court
has never passed upon the precise issue, should the judg-
ment of the Court of Appeals be vacated and the cause
remanded to await the state court’s declaration of the local
law on the controlling issue.

STATEMENT

This is an interpleader suit brought by the mineral les-
see, Union Producing Company, a Delaware corporation,
against those persons asserting mineral and royalty inter-
ests in a tract of land located in the Rio Grande Valley
in Texas. The only controversy is between the petitioners
and the respondents, all of whom are citizens of the State
of Texas, the question being whether the interests of the

term mineral owners (petitioners) have terminated and
reverted to respondents.

Petitioners claim under deeds (R. 26, 29) executed in
1935 conveying fractional interests in the minerals for a
stated term of years and so long thereafter as oil, gas or
other minerals are produced from the property. Such deeds
further provide that it will not be necessary for the grantees
to join in the execution of any lease, and as found by the
District Court, (R. 222) all parties construed the deeds
as reserving to the grantors, under whom respondents
claim, the exclusive right to lease all of the minerals. In
1949, respondents executed an oil and gas lease (Supp.
R. 1) purporting to lease all of the minerals, including peti-
tioners’ interests therein, which lease included what is com-
monly termed a shut-in gas well clause (Supp. R. 10). This
clause provides that where gas is discovered but not mar-
keted, the lessee may pay a stated sum, and upon such pay-
ment, it will be considered that gas is being produced from
the premises. A well was drilled; gas was discovered; the
gas was not marketed pending the laying of gathering lines
prior to the date specified for the termination of peti-
tioners’ interests (R. 18) and shut-in gas royalties were
paid to petitioners and tendered to respondents within the
period provided for in the lease (R. 125, 129, 183). Gas and
condensate have been produced and marketed continuously
since early April, 1956 (R. 19).

Under these facts the District Court granted a summary
judgment to respondents relying upon the dictum in a case
decided by an intermediate appellate court of this state
which is readily distinguishable, and holding that the peti-

1 Sellers v. Breidenbach, 300 S.W. 2d 178 (Tex. Civ. App. 1957).
While the case did involve a shut-in gas well, the lease did not
have a shut-in royalty clause, and there consequently was no
provision in the lease defining production to include such pay-
ments (R. 135).

WA RSet parenre em EP, MNT eh asker TI A ae RS Car Prt

- LILLE ONE a NPA he RMB

4

tioners’ interests had terminated on the ground that the
lease provision defining production to include the payment
of shut-in royalties did not inure to petitioners’ benefit.
The Court of Appeals affirmed summarily without even dis-
cussing two closely analogous cases decided by the Supreme
Court of Texas? which held that lease provisions defining
production to include production from pooled units consti-
tute a modification of the term interests, and that conse-
quently, such lease definitions do inure to the benefit of the ,
term interest owners. |

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The oil and gas industry is, of course, a most im-
portant segment of the economy of this state. Conveyances
of fractional interests in minerals for stated terms and so
long thereafter as minerals are produced are becoming in-
creasingly prevalent, and are, in turn, a significant part of
our oil and gas industry. Petitioners respectfully submit
that the decision of the Court of Appeals is in conflict with
the local law as declared by the highest court of the state
in the Spradley and Southland decisions, supra, in closely
analogous cases. While distinguishable from the instant
case since the set of circumstances defined by the leases as
production differ from those herein involved, the rationale
of those decisions — that the lease definitions inure to the
benefit of term interest owners — is clear. Purely as a mat- '
ter of forecasting the decision of the Supreme Court of
Texas on the precise issue here involved, petitioners sub-
mit that the Court of Appeals erred. However, no forecast
by the federal courts on this important issue of local law
is necessary since the precise issue on which both the Dis-

2 Spradley v. Finley, 302 S.W. 2d 409 (Tex. Sup. 1957) ; South-
land Royalty Co. v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 249 S.W. 2d

914 (Tex. Sup. 1952).

5

trict Court and the Court of Appeals based their decisions
is now pending in the Supreme Court of Texas. In the case
of Archer County, et al, v. Webb, et al, the State District
Court of Crockett County, Texas, entered summary judg-
ment in favor of term royalty owners whose interests were
to expire in the absence of production, holding that such in-
terests were extended by virtue of a lease provision defining
production to include the payment of royalties on a shut-
in gas well. The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Judicial
District sitting at El Paso, Texas, reversed on the basis
of the opinion of the Court of Appeals in the instant case,
and a motion for rehearing was denied on July 15, 1959.
The opinion of the Court of Civil Appeals is reported in
snintieas S.W. 2d ......... Due to basie factual similarities, the
decision by the Supreme Court of Texas should doubtlessly

be controlling of this case. As shown by the certificate of

the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas (Appendix B,
infra., page ....) a writ of error has been applied for, and
action by that court on the application is expected momen-
tarily.

Unless this petition for a writ of certiorari is granted,
petitioners’ interests will be irretrievably lost even though
the Supreme Court of Texas, whose decisions control in
cases of this kind, Erie Railroad v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64,
82 L. Ed. 1188, 58 S. Ct. 817 (1937), declares the rule in
Texas, as it is in Louisiana,’ to be that term interests are
extended by the payment of shut-in royalties pursuant to
the lease provision. It is evident that in that event, a serious
injustice will have been done to petitioners, and their inter-
ests will have terminated solely because of the fortuitous

* LeBlane v. Haynesville Mercantile Co., Inc., 88 So. 24 377, (La.
Sup. 195....).

—_—

6

combination of the incorporation of Union Producing Com-
pany in Delaware, the Texas citizenship of the claimants
to the mineral interests, and the election of Union Produc-
ing Company, which actually has no interest in the outcome
of the litigation, to file this suit in the federal court rather
than in the state court. Petitioners respectfully submit that
no such contrariety should be encouraged by a premature
decision of the federal courts when an opportunity to insure
unanimity is presented by a case pending in the highest
court of the state.

Since the Court’s decision in Vandenbark v. Owens-Illinois
Glass Co., 311 U.S. 538, 85 L. Ed. 327, 61 S. Ct. 347 (1941),
it is settled that in cases governed by local law, decisions
of the highest court of the state announced subsequent to
the judgment of the District Court but prior to the entry
of a final judgment in the federal courts, must be followed.
This Court has vacated judgments of courts of appeal and
remanded cases to those courts for reconsideration in the
light of subsequent state decisions. Huddleston v. Dwyer,
322 U.S. 232, 88 L. Ed 1246 ...... ts Ee (1943). Numerous
other decisions have announced the desirability of staying
actions in the federal courts pending decisions by the state
courts where local law is decisive. City of Chicago v. Field-
crest Dairies, Inc., 316 U.S. 168, 86 L. Ed. 1355, 62 S. Ct. 786
(1941) ; Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312
U.S. 496, 85 L. Ed. 971, 61 S. Ct. 643 (1940); Burford v. Sun
Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 87 L. Ed. 1424, 63 S. Ct. 265 (1942);
Manufacturers Casualty Insurance Company v. Coker, 219
F. 2d 631 (4th Cir. 1955); Cowling v. Deep Vein Coal Co.,
183 F’. 2d 652 (7th Cir. 1950). This is particularly true where
a suit is already pending in the state court. Arkansas v.
Texas, 346 U.S. 368, 98 L. Ed. 80, 74 S. Ct. 109 (1953).

a FEELIN SRS PORE ORT AM AA wee F

a

7

As was observed by the Court in the recent case of Louisi-
ana Power & Light Company v. Thibodeauz, 3 L. Ed. 1058
(1959) :

“We have increasingly recognized the wisdom of
staying actions in the federal courts pending deter-

mination by a state court of decisive issues of state
BBWS 2s”

The Court has also stated in Thompson v. Magnolia
Petroleum Co., 309 U.S. 478, 84 L. Ed. 876, 60 S. Ct. 628
(1939) :

“ ... Unless the matter is referred to the state courts,
upon subsequent decision by the Supreme Court of
Illinois, it may appear that rights in local property of
parties to this proceeding have — by the accident of

federal jurisdiction — been determined contrary to the
law of the state which in such matters is supreme.”

The application of the Court’s statement in the Thomp-
son case to the instant case is abundantly clear. If the writ
is denied petitioners will have lost their interests although
in the Archer County case, the Supreme Court of Texas
may, and petitioners submit that said court will by virtue
of its earlier analogous decisions, declare erroneous the
forecast of the local law by the Court of Appeals in this
ease. The delicate federal-state relationship is hardly
prompted by such a result which can be easily averted by
the simple expedient of postponing a final judgment in this
case,

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully submit that the only common-
sense approach to the problem dictates that (1) this case be
reversed, (2) the judgment of the Court of Appeals be
vacated, and (3) the Court of Appeals be instructed to defer

onermmrsod

further consideration until the impending decision in the
Archer County case by the Supreme Court of Texas has
been made.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun C. Wuite
838-842 Transportation Bldg.
Washington 6, D. C.

Joun H. Ditrrmar
Milam Building
San Antonio, Texas

Austin C. Witsonx

M. W. Parse, Jr.
Bank of the Southwest Bldg.
Houston 2, Texas

wre STIN Cc. Was

Attorneys for Petitioners
Of Counsel:

Fvusricut, Crooker, Freeman, Bates
& Jaworski
8th Floor Bank of the Southwest Bldg.
Houston 2, Texas

Morrison, Dittmar, DanicrRen & Karne
Milam Building
San Antonio, Texas

we Bete ee ar 2 ee

9
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Copies of the above and foregoing petition for a writ of
certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Cireuit have been served upon all counsel for respond-
ents and Mr. W. S. Stovall, by placing copies of same
properly addressed and stamped in the United States mail
on this the 4. day of August, 1959.

Avstix C. Witson

Page.
Bae Stas iy

PEELE LOLS LIU GER MII ve NES 388

FEAL ON OREN oie

me eorge

APPENDIX A
In THE

United States Court of Appeals

For Tee Firtx Circuit

No. 17495

J. Vireit Scott, et au and Paut J. Rocers, er Au.,
Appellants,

Ve

Union Propucine Company, ET AL.,
Appellees.

APPEALS FROM THE Unitep Srates District Court
FOR THE SouTHERN District or Texas.

(May 21, 1959.)

Before HUTCHESON, Chief Judge, and TUTTLE and
BROWN, Circuit Judges.

HUTCHESON, Chief Judge: These are appeals from a
summary judgment entered on motions filed in an inter-
pleader action brought by Union Producing Co., lessee in
an oil and gas lease, to have determined and declared the
owners of mineral interests subject to the lease and the pro-

Le
a SPEDE Te ea kk ences ae

=

ee

PEED R SGT PR OS OOO LEI LES RIOR

Ef

CRM Q ten Kein aha eee

Se

A-2

portions of royalties and payments thereunder to which,
as such owners, they are entitled. It presents for decision
here the single question whether the district judge erred
in holding, on the authority of Sellers v. Breidenbach, 300
SW (2) 178,! that the fractional mineral interests acquired
by appellants under term mineral deeds had terminated,
and the interests had reverted to the grantors.

Because the undisputed and controlling facts are fully
and correctly set out and the law is as fully and correctly
declared in the thoughtful opinion? of the district judge,
we shall not undertake to present and discuss the theories
and arguments of appellants and appellees in opposition
and in support, but, referring with agreement and approval
to the district judge’s analysis of the law and the facts
and contenting ourselves with adopting his thorough going
opinion as our own, we affirm the judgment upon the con-
siderations and for the reasons stated by him.

We add only a reference to the recent opinion of the
Supreme Court of Texas in Midwest Oil v. Winsauer, ........
, pane (4-15-59), a case dealing with a temporary cessa-
tion of production without fault on the part of the operator
after production had been begun within the term.

There, distinguishing the Sellers and Holchak cases, the
Supreme Court expressly approved the principle upon
which they were decided, that term clauses in mineral deeds
are analogous to and must be given the same effect as
similar term clauses in term mineral leases. Saying:

Rar LT

1 Cf. Freeman v. Magnolia, 141 Texas 274, Morrison v. Swaim,
220 S.W(2) 493; Clark v. Holchak, 152 Tex. 26; and Holchak v.
Clark, 284 SW(2 2 ) 399.

2 Union Producing Co. v. Scott, ........ F. Supp. ........ , June, 1958.

a

A-3

“We see no reason why the same general principles
of law governing the construction of oil and gas leases
containing habendum clauses providing the estate con-
veyed shall continue after the expiration of its primary
term so long as oil or gas is produced, should not be
applicable to the construction of a term royalty deed
containing the same or similar provisions. The ‘term
royalty’ in the case at bar is a determinable fee just
as is the lessee’s estate.”

SE Pe ee OED Ce Tee

and citing applicable cases, the Supreme Court held that
in the event of temporary cessation of production without
fault on the part of the operator, plaintiffs’ right to enjoy
the royalty “will continue in any event as long as the opera-
tor in good faith exercises diligence.”

Rejecting the claim that Holchak and Sellers had held
differently, the court stated:

“These cases are not in point. Neither of these cases
dealt with the question of cessation of production either
temporary or permanent. The question in the Holchak F
case, supra, was ‘whether or not there was paying pro-
duction from the land within six months after Dec. 10,
1945, i.e., on June 10, 1946’. The uncontradicted evi-
dence was that on or before June 10, 1946, there was no
production from the well situated on the premises
covered by the royalty deed. The same question was
involved in the Sellers case, supra. The court simply f
held there was no production whatever from the prem-
ises,”

REO EIE ORL IEE ETN LE ERIE TEIN FATE SE att es

In the light of this opinion, of the cases cited in it, and
of those cited by the district judge, we believe there is no
escape from his conclusion that the reliance of the mineral i
deeds claimants upon the shut-in gas well provision in the
oil and gas lease will not do, and that this is so for the
reason stated by him:

a ’ STARE ISR SLADE RT PO EE

A-4

“It is the mineral deed, not the lease, that should
have contained a provision securing to the term mineral
owners the benefit of a shut-in gas well provision.”

The judgment was right. It is AFFIRMED. 4
[Sear]
A true copy
Test:

/s/ Epwarpv W. WapswortH
Edward W. Wadsworth

Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
New Orleans, Louisiana
AUG 5 1959

A-5
JUDGMENT

Extract from the Minutes of May 21, 1959.

No. 17495

J. Vine Scort, er au., and Pauu J. Rocers, ev Au.,
v.

Union Propucine Company, ET AL.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the South-
ern District of Texas, and was argued by counsel;

Ox ConsiperaTion Wuenreor, It is now here ordered and
adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said Dis-
trict Court in this cause be, and the same is hereby, affirmed;

It is further ordered and adjudged that the appellants,
J. Virgil Scott, and others and the surety on their Cost
Bond herein, National Surety Corporation, and the appel-
lants Paul J. Rogers, and others and the surety on their
Cost Bond herein, Globe Indemnity Company of New York,
he condemned, in solido, to pay the costs of this cause in
this Court for which execution may be issued out of the
said District Court.

ENR LOPES 7S

APPENDIX B

‘
9 EE ALPERT

In THE

Supreme Court of Texas
No. A-7490

ArcHer County, TExas, ET AL.,
Vv.

C. R. Wess, Et A.

© GILES I LLEL GICLEE DELI ET POR MIE NT IE

From Crockett County, Eicuts District.

I, Geo. H. Temptrn, Clerk of the Supreme Court of Texas, ¢

do hereby certify that application on behalf of Archer :
County, Texas, et al, and application on behalf of C. R.
Webb, et al, for writs of error to the Court of Civil Appeals,
Eighth Supreme Judicial District, were received and filed
as numbered and styled above, on this 17th day of August,
1959.

Ixy Testimony WuereEor witness my hand and the seal of
the Supreme Court of Texas, at the City of Austin, this,
the 17th day of August, 1959.

Geo. H. Tempuiy, Clerk

By /s/ Jewett SEELIGER
Mrs. Jewell Seeliger, Deputy

[Seau]

— OMELET ETE ED BORER AERIN PLO ENE BY NOMA LE RESIN MR DG MD

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386420_0395%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
