# Petition for Rehearing — Caudle v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386419_0113%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Rehearing
- **Published:** January 1, 1958
- **Citation:** 356 U.S. 921

## Text

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, = i
Respondent.

Of Order Denying Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

INDEX.

CG SII 6 ik doc ainv a cdecadhsvrnssenesesss 2

Reasons for granting rchearing and issuing the wiit.. 3

Placing the issues in proper context .............. 3
I. The silent prosecutor ...............00e000% 4
Bs UE I I cok cccccscaacaces’s ety 5
Be I I ED bcc da ckncccdcadacharencees 7
BU a Re GE I nc a needing qeescesceeces 10
Vs Re Ge ED bc vdiacscccccvcciccess 11
VI. The Plimsoll line of due process ............ 13
CPE cs inka shee ehekhaceuueeans es eu ewodene sun 13
Cases Cited.
Avery v. Georgia, 345 U.S. 559, 562, 97 L. ed. 1244, 73
Per re Pern er rr Ey Pere en Pere 6
Brown y. United States, 245 I°. 2d 549, 555 (8 CLC. A.,
Ey re Ere Tie hy ren eee ene ee B)
Fikes v. Alabama, 352 U. S. 191, 199 (1957), 1 L. ed.
bt ie Sr 2s S| Serer EEE PT Sree ee 13

U. S. v. Shotwell Manufacturing Company, 58-1 U. S.
T. C., Paragraph 9257 (C. C. H. Advance Sheets—
U. S. Tax Cases—February 12, 1958).............. 10

No. 738.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

OCTOBER TERM, 1957.

T. LAMAR CAUDLE,
Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR REHEARING
Of Order Denying Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

To the Honorable Earl Warren, the Chief Justice of the
United States, and the Associate Justices of the Su-
preme Court of the United States:

Petitioner prays that this Court grant a rehearing of
its order of March 31, 1958, denying his petition for certio-
rari, and that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-
ment of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in the
above entitled case, as prayed for in the petition filed on
January 23, 1958.

a on

1. Whether the Fifth Amendmeat will permit a federal
trial judge to conceal from the defendants before, during
and after said trial that said judge is severely depressed
mentally so tha: psychiatric care is necessary and, further,
that the condition of said judge is serious enough to war-
rant the administration of electric shock treatments, that
a hypnotic drug, Paraldehyde, is administered instead in
increasing doses throughout the trial, that the judge him-
self is fearful that ‘‘something has gone wrong with his
brain’’ and that the drug ‘‘may have affected his men-
- tality’’; petitioner urging that a judge in such a condition
has a duty to warn the parties_of his condition so that the
parties, if they desire, may challenge his competency to
serve as trial judge in one of the most controversial trials
of a decade.

2. Whether the Fifth Amendment will permit a federal
court to place upon a defendant in a criminal trial the
burden of proving that two jurors who acted dishonestly
in failing to answer truthfully material questions pro-
pounded by the trial judge on voir dire (also did addi-
tional dishonest acts which were prejudicial to petitioner),
the falseness of said jurors’ original answers having been
proved.

3. Whether the Fifth Amendment and concepts of funda-
mental fairness will permit the admission into evidence of
portions ef a defendant’s files when such files were ob-
tained from the defendant after the indictment naming
him defendant had already been drafted, this fact being
known to the prosecutor and concealed from this peti-
tioner. The material obtained was prejudicial to the
petitioner in view « the construction placed thereon by
the prosecution.

4. Whether a successor judge who succeeds to the duties
of a trial judge upon the suicide of the trial judge has not,

t

— vo

as a matter of law, abused his discretion in (1) failing to
grant a new trial in a case where vital motions remain un-
decided after » trial of 37 days, 72 witnesses, and 200 ex-
hibits and (2) in the alternative, whether, upon deciding
to render a decision in the case, failed to rule on vital
motions expressly reserved by the now-deceased trial
judge.

5. Whether, if no one error be sufficient to justify t?.-
grarting of this petition, the cumulative effect of the many
errors denies petitioner due process of law and deprives
him of his constitutional right vo a fair and impartial trial.

—_—

REASCNS FOR GRANTING REHEARING AND
ISSUING THE WRIT.

PLACING THE ISSUES IN PROPER CONTEXT.

Petitioner’s conviction represents the fulfillment of the
1952 campaign promise to ‘‘clean up the mess in Washing-
ton.’? And the political overtones of this trial cannot be
ignored by this court. Since little of the evidence in this
record is competent 23 .o this petitioner, the conspiracy
statute was invoked with its latent dangers to individual
freedom. The trial was scheduled to begin two months be-
fore the National Party Conventions met to select presi-
dential candidates. The jurors retired to their jury room
less than one month before one of the conventions assem-
bled. In the politically superheated air of St. Louis adverse
publicity concerning defendants was circulated by all the
organs of mass communication. This trial was ‘‘to deter-
mine the future course of the scandal investigations.’’
From reading the reams of publicity in this record, one
could almost assume that the jurors had a public duty to
convict.

Into this maelstrom petitioner .:as thrown. The follow-
ing facts were forgotten: As Assistant Attorney General,

pas eee

petitioner had administrative discretion to prosecute or to
decline prosecution. The maligned ‘‘health policy,’’ insti-
tuted by his predecessors, was one standard to guide these
decisions. Petitioner’s decision based on the opinions of
eminent psychiatrists, met the approval of his subordinates.
Federal Judge Harper, describing the case as ‘*the most
complicated medical problem of any case that I ever had
before me,’’ gave judicia! recognition to the correctness of
petitioner’s decision. And though the Court of Appeals
stated that petitioner received ‘‘substantial profits,’’ even
that court cannot alter the facts admitted by the govern-
ment—petitioner did not receive one cent.

I. The Silent Prosecutor.

On November 22, 1955, the government prosecutor
drafted the indictment naming petitioner as defendant. The
following day, petitioner turned over his private files to
government agents not knowing that his indictment had
been drawn. Portions of these files were admitted into
evidence over the timely objections of petitioner. The
(‘ourt of Appeals, though the issue was raised before them
at length, failed to discuss the use of this evidence.

Petitioner was familiar with the ordinary practice of
government prosecutors before grand juries. This knowl-
edge, relied upon by the government to prove that peti-
tioner was adequately appraised of his rights, actually
worked to his disadvantage for petitioner was familiar
with the duty of the prosecutor to warn potential defend-
ants as to their status before the grand jury. Mistakenly,
petitioner understandably felt that he could rely upon
the government to treat him fairly.

Unknown to defendant he became a potential defendant
possibly as early as November 18, 1955. There is no ques-
tion however about the date of the drafting of the indict-
ment, November 22. On that date petitioner, for all prac-

ae, eae
tical purposes, was no longer a potential defendant. When
we consider the power of the government before a grand
jury, we must realize that petitioner was on that date an
actual defendant.

As the prosecutor well knew, once the petitioner was
informed as to his status, the government would lose all
chance of procuring these papers. Therefore, the prose-
cutor decided to conceal the fact from the petitioner. Con-
cealing this vital fact as to petitioner’s status amounts to
obtaining his papers by the misrepresentation of a ma-
terial fact. ‘

Constitutional rights can only be exercised by a person
cognizant of his peril. Once his indictment was drafted,
his status was radically altered. His danger was greatly
increased. In such a situation petitioner was at the mercy
of his government. No quarter was given. The fact re-
mained concealed. The over-zealous prosecutor who re-
mained silent was Wyllis Neweomb whose actions before
another federal grand jury came ‘‘perilously close to be-
ing a fraud on the jurisdiction of this court’’. Brown v.
United States, 245 F. 2d 549, 553 (8 C. C. A., 1957).

Surely the government with its limitless resources owes
the simple ethics of fundamentzl fairness to those citizens
whom it would prosecute. The Eighth Circuit failed to
discuss this matter. Surely the admission of this tainted
evidence condones the actions of a prosecutor whose con-
duct poses a new and substantial question directly affecting
the administration of criminal justice in the federal courts.

II. The Silent Jurors.

The Court of Appeals has decreed the unique rule that
even after petitioner has proved that jurors who sit in
judgment upon him have testified falsely as to their politi-
cal affiliations, the petitioner must further bear the burden

dni

of proving additional acts of dishonesty by these jurors
before he may show prejudice.

The allocation of the burden of proof is often decisive.
In this case the burden is impossible to sustain unless
petitioner is fortunate enough to receive a confession from
the silent jurors to additional acts. Should this case go
unreversed, jurors may remain silent on voir dire with no
prejudice attached to their actions. And defendants will
ponder the value of challenges when they know that
this court permits jurors to conceal material facts.

The courts below advance the following argument to
justify their position: ‘‘. . . this court has no right to
assume that in this trial jurors of Republican affiliation
would be prejudicial to these defendants . . .’’ Would
those lower courts also assume no prejudice even though
certain jurors concealed their Republican affiliations from
the questions of the trial judge? And yet that is what the
court says even though any juror who admitted political
affiliation and activity was struck by either the defendants
or the governments.

To force petitioner to prove additional dishonest acts
on the part of these jurors misplaces the burden. In a
similar situation this court said: ‘‘ . . . The Court below
affirmed, however, because petitioner had failed to prove
some particular act . . . and the State argues that it is
petitioner’s burden to fill this ‘factual vacuum.’ We can-
not agree. If there is a ‘vacuum’ it is one which the State
must fill,’’ Avery v. Georgia, 345 U. S. 559, 562, 97 L. ed.
1244, 73 S. Ct. 891.

Surely this Court will require as high a standard of
conduct in the federal courts as Avery demands of the
states. Because those jurors were silent petitioner was
deprived of his righi to challenge.

=

Ill. The Silent Judge.

Although the right to challenge jurors is valuable, it is
no more precious than the right to challenge the compe-
tency of the judge who shall hear your case. This right,
however, is also useless without having adequate facts
upon which to base a timely challenge. If these facts are
locked within the bosom of the court, petitioner is helpless.

During this long, arduous trial, the late Rubey Hulen
was a desperately ill man. His bodily ills posed no danger
to the administration of criminal justice. Such cannot be
said of his menta! ills.

This subject is distasteful to petitioner because Rubey
Hulen may no longer defend himself. Yet petitioner is
in extremis. Plain words must be used.

Judge Hulen was under the care of a doctor and a
psychiatrist during this trial. The fact of his illness and
its nature were not revealed to petitioner until six months
after the judge's death. The information, in the form of
affidavits, was presented to the successor judge the day
before sentence was passed. Consequently the questions
there raised have never been fully explored.

The following excerpts from the affidavits of the two
doctors are eloquent: :

The Psychiatrist:

‘*. . . Approximately three weeks before the begin-
ning of the trial of the Connelly-Caudle case Judge
Hulen again consulted me saying that he had a fe-
currence of his inability to sleep and was again in a
depressed mind. I renewed the medication but dur-
ing the course of time more and more medication was
required for him to get adequate rest. He was taking
Paraldehyde, a liquid sedative, that carries with it

=

some odor that is discharged through the lungs. As
the trial progressed it was necessary for the judge to
take more and more of this medication and the amount
that he was taking begzn to worry him, first, because
he feared it would effect his mental capacity, . . . He
construed to be in a state of melancholy and had he
not been in daily sessions in the Court which required
his constant presence, I would have considered pre-
scribing electric shock treatments for him, which, in
my opinion, would have calmed him down and reduced
his depression substantially and permitted him to do
his work comfortably in a normai manner. However,
electro therapy involves temporary loss of memory
. . . Therefore, he was continued on the liquid medica-
tion in rather heavy doses in an attempt to tide him
over until the pressure of this trial abated... .

After the trial was completed it was concluded be-
tween Dr. Kountz and myself that Judge Hulen should
be hospitalized and a date was set for him to enter
Barnes Hospital . . . He was scheduled to enter the
hospital on the day that the fatal builet was in-
flicted . ..

It is my professional opinion that during the period
that covered the trial of this case that Judge Hulen’s
emotional state was such as to make him somewhat
indecisive and perhaps his medication would have im-
paired his judgment to some degree on one day or
another during that period. . .”’

The Doctor: ~

‘«. . . after the trial was over I was concerned about
his depressed state of mind, and in consultation with
Dr. Haddock, agreed that the judge should be hospital-
lized and should, if possible, be persuaded to take
electric shock treatments to relieve his tension. . . .
He was already fearful that something had gone wrong
with his mind and that possibly the liquid medication

a poe

given him by Dr. Haddock had already done injury
to him. . . °. On the Sunday before Saturday that he
was to enter the hospital, I went by Judge Hulen’s
home to invite him to accompany me on a visit out
to my farm. He said he could not go for he was hav-
ing difficulty in preparing an opinion in the Connelly-
Caudle case. He stated that he was having great
difficulty in concentrating and bringing his pencil down
to the paper to write the opinion that was expected
of him and complained that the medication had in
some way affected his mentality. . . .”’ =

In the ordinary case facts such as these might not prove
decisive. But one of the largest issues in the trial before
Judge Hulen was the mental health of the taxpayer Sachs.
Thousands of words of medical testimony described min-
utely his fits of depression and his suicidal tendencies.
Deep in his leather chair, Judge Hulen listened . . . lis-
tened to symptoms quite like his own. Unknown to every-
one else in that courtroom, Judge Hulen was listening
to a partial analysis of his own condition. His heart and
brain must have recoiled throughout that agonizing task.

Judge Hulen could have mentioned his desperate mental
plight to counsel. Yet he remained silent. The muffled re-
port of a pistol brought him peace.

It is obvious that had ecither the government or peti-
tioner known of the Judge’s condition, serious consideration
would have been given to challenging his competency to
sit in this controversial trial. Perhaps then Rubey Hulen
would be alive today. No one can sey with certainty what
effect his illness had upon his discretion and judicial tem-
perament. And to say that the printed record is ample
protection of petitioner’s rights is to beg the question.
Sitting in judgment is difficult enough with a sound mind.
And to force petitioner to prove, in the face of these affi-
davits, that the illness of the judge prejudiced him is again

—

imposing an impossible burden. Surely the Constitution
guarantees this defendant the right to be heard by a
judge in full possession of his mental facultica.

IV. The Unhearing Judge.

Petitioner feels justified in raising this issue because of
certain statements made by the Successor Judge, Gunnar
Nordbye, in U. S. v. Shotwell Manufacturing Company, re-
ceived after the Petition for Certiorari was filed. The case
is cited in 58-1 U. S. T. C., Paragraph 9257 (C. C. H. Ad-
vance Sheets—U. S. Tax Cases—Febrnary 12, 1958). Pe-
titioner would like to adopt as his own argument the fol-
lowing words by Nordbye, J.:

‘c¢. | , But, just because his (trial judge) fact-find-
ing is based on his estimates of the witnesses, of their
reliability as reporters of what they saw and heard,
it is his duty, while listening to and watching them
to form attitudes toward them. He must do his best
to ascertain their motives, their biases, their dominat-
ing passions and interests, for only so can he jucse
of the accuracy of their narrations. He must also
shrewdly observe the stratagems of the opposing
lawyers, perceive their efforts to sway him by appeal
to his predelictions. He must cannily penetrate
through the surface of their remarks to their real
purposes and motives . . . If the judge did net form
judgments of the actors in those courthouse dramas

called trials, he could never render decisions. Frank,
J.—In Re Linahan, 138 F. 2d 650, 653.’ ”

To quote these words by the late Jerome Frank after
attempting to rule on a cold record of 37 days, 72 wit-
nesses and 200 exhibits shatters the faith of petitioner.

— yo

V. The Silent Schwimmer.

From October 26, 1949, the date the petitioner first met
Harry I. Schwimmer unti! he left Washington he never
conferred with him alone.

The suspicion against the petitioner is engendered be-
cause of the efforts of Schwimmer to sell petitioner a frac-
tional mineral interest for $750.00, the title to which was
recorded in petitioner’s name without his knowledge in the
State of Oklahoma.

Insulted by this familiarity Schwimmer was severely
rebuked and condemned. An apology admitting his error
and the promise that he would correct the mistake he per-
sonally made seemed sufficient in the judgment of the peti-
tioner. No gift was offered, only an effort to sell, which
was not acceptable.

Many promises were made by Schwimmer resulting from
many long distance telephone calls demanding a deed to
sign to sever title from petitioner’s name, his continued
illness and confinement to his home because of angina pec-
toris, his acceptance of full responsibility for his mistaken
efforts to sell petitioner and the fact that his introduction
to the petitioner stemmed under the highest auspices an
attorney could have, confused and confounded the peti-
tioner no end until the day he ‘received the long songht
deed to sign in April, 1951, which was promptly executed
by the petitioner and his wife, air mailed within 40 minutes
from its reception where title has vested from that time
until now in the name of Schwimmer and his wife.

Other than the serious illness of the taxpayer Sachs as
disclosed by five long affidavits of eminent physicians of
St. Louis, none known to the petitioner, and relying upon
the Assistant Superintendent of St. Elizabeth Hospital and
his staff of senior psychiatrists to guide him and his staff,
as consultants, and Schwimmer’s unsuccessful efforts to

on

sell some kind of an interest to the petitioner, was the ex-
tent of knowledge that the petitioner had of Schwimmer’s
activities.

Not until 3 years 7 months and 21 days later was he ap-
prised to some extent of the activities of Schwimmer when
the petitioner was before the grand jury and 17 court trial
days when Schwimmer’s unethical practices were proven
by witnesses hundreds of miles removed from where the
petitioner lived. As to all of these activities, none ever
known to the petitioner, the silent Schwimmer has re-
mained silent.

His heart attack in the court room, Judge Hulen’s open
reluctance to grant Schwimmer a mistrial until a reputable
physician, appointed by him, swore under oath that to
force his presence further would probably result in Schwim-
mer’s death, left the petitioner in a hiatus state then as
he is now because of the silence of the only one who caused
the gross humiliation borne by him and his family.

The silence of this man, barely known to the petitioner,
his proven lies and silent activities, never explained by him
or by any person for him, and the lack of knowledge of all
until confronted with it during the trial, is a plague upon
the house of the petitioner.

His whereabouts have rot been known to the petitioner
since his stumbling departure in the aisle of the court room
before the public and the jury the day the mistrial was
granted.

This court should recognize the latent dangers all public
officials are plagued with by characters of this type whose
silent, unknown activities, if known, would have altered
the course taken by the petitioner.

To this very hour, having spawned the specter he alone
created, he remains silent wherever he is.

_— oe

VI. The Plimsoll Line of Due Process.

This tragic trial has been marked by the following un-
usual circumstances: a prosecutor silent as to material
facts; two jurors silent as to material facts; a judge silent
as to his serious mental illness; the broad sweep of the
conspiracy statute; the heart attack of defendant Schwim-
mer in the courtroom and his departure, leaving petitioner
with the burden of ezplaining away evidence incompetent
as to him and unknown to him prior to the trial; the ad-
mission of ambiguous, poisonous Exhibit 100J, a piece of
evidence that the trial judge refused to admit five times
before yielding on the sixth; the trial judge allowing peti-
tioner only two hours to argue his case before the jury after
37 days of trial; the express reservation of motions by the
trial judge; the successor judge failing to rule on these
motions; the death of petitioner’s chief counsel; the dis-
closures by the doctors of statements by the dead judge;
the successor judge ruling as an appellate court; the suc-
cessor judge seeing petitioner for the first time in passing
sentence; the appellate court stating several times that
petitioner received substantial profits when the government
admits he received nothing; the Court of Appeals failing
to mention the eminent psychiatrists and the federal judge
who supported petitioner’s honest decision not to prose-
cute because of the taxpayer’s health condition.

If there be a Plimsoll Liné of due process, surely peti-
tioner’s craft is heavily laden. Never have so many
strange happenings occurred during the course of a single
trial. Their cumulative effect cannot justly be ignored.
Fikes v. Alabama, 352 U. S. 191, 199 (1957), 1 L. ed. (2d)
246, 77 S. Ct. 281.

CONCLUSION.

Petitioner hereby formally adopts as his own and incor-
porates by reference the Petition for Rehearing filed by
Matthew Connelly.

ene, Wren

For the reasons co:.tained in this petition and in the peti-
tion filed by Mr. Connelly, petitioner prays this Court to
grant this Petition for Rehearing.

Respectfully submitted,

C. ARTHUR ANDERSON,
722 Chestnut Street,
St. Louis, Missouri,
WALTER M. HAYNES,
Winchester, Tennessee,
JOHN J. HOOKER,
1106 Nashville Trust Building,
Nashville 3, Tennessee,
By JOHN J. HOOKER,

Counsel for Petitioner.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386419_0113%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
