# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hard v. Civil Aeronautics Board (No. 734)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386419_0076%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1957

## Text

Offic: R
ot , COURT
guPREME

u rame Comt, U
F.w.in. BD

JAN 20 1958

7

IN THE

=

~~ $upreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1957.

no. 34

CHARLES R. HARD,
Petitiouver,

vs.

CIVIL AERONAUTICS BOARD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIROUIT.

GerorceE F. ARCHER,
5500 Cicero Avenue,
Chicago 38, Illinois,
Attorney for Petitioner.

JOHN T. FEY, Clerk

, PAGE
a oi is cud soscavycavysdiecsstal 1, 25
RES NR a ee ee Eee te . 2
IS WINNS nino cece ccccctsnccses secceees 2
Statutes and Regulations .......................... 3
ee SE: gc uS as Sccunsiweavuwade ceace 4
ME Spi cu sive cake we bkathoaee ns Gos 4o~deuk 7
Reasons Relied upon for the Writ of Certiorari...... 8

I. The Court of Appeals Below has Decided a Fed-
eral Question in a Way in Conflict With Appli-

cable Decisions of this Court .................. 8
A. The Suspension Order is Penal .......... 8
B. Penalty Powers Cannot Be Implied ........ 9
1. Administrative Practice ............... 9
see Weweb axe 10
3. Administrative Discretion .............. 11

4. Specific Remedial Finding Is in Any
es POUT TTT ETE TET CLT Eee 11

C. If a Penal Power Is Implied It Runs Afoul
I goa vaca guaiwercactineeecs 14

D. Analogous Statutes Rebut the Assumption
£, bE rere er ere ee 18

II. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Below as
Rendered Is in Conflict With the Decision of the
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit on the
EE cca so wh area a dienecaseeses ree |

III. The Court of Appeals Has Decided an Important
Question of Federal Law Which Has Not Been,
But Should Be, Settled by This Court .......... 23

I Orr Ne oes oe rere et TEP n 24

il

TaBLe oF AUTHORITIES.

Cases.

Alexiou v. McGrath (D. C. D. C.), 101 F. Supp. 421.. 14
American Airlines v. North American, 351 U.S. 79.... 10
Anderson v. McKay, 211 F. 2d 798 (C. A. D. C.)...... 4
Re Aughenbaugh, 125 F. 2d 887 (C. A. 3)............ 14
Bulger v. Benson, 262 Fed. 929 (C. A. 9)............ 19
Boston Sand Company v. U. S., 278 U.S. 41.......... 18
Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U. 8. 135 ...............0.06. 16
Brown, Airman Certif. 1 CAB 666 ................ 20
Brown v. Civil Aeronautics Authority, 112 F. 2d 737

CR Se ROP Wn Oe EO 66s hates ode eenvavasdece 20, 21
Campbell v. Galeno, 281 U. S. 599 ..:............... 9,19
Champlin Refining Co. v. Corporation Commission, 286

Sa EP 56 boas an Kea FA ee RR 22
Connally v. General Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385.... 22
Cummings v. Missouri, 4 Wall. 277 .................. 8
Dent v. West Virginia, 129 U.S. 114 .......... ere 16
Dimick y. Schiedt, 293 U. S. 474 .......... :
District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U. S. 63 .......... 18
Estate of Sanford v. Commissioner of Internal Reve-

TEE ns wh coda bdeod caueecaesenesutwes 9
Federal Trade Commission v. Cement Institute, 333

Se EE ete te east aven Ueauabereakamnesoin 17, 32
Hagger Co. v. Helvering, 308 U. S. 389 .............. 10
Heitmuller v. Berkow, 165 F. 2d 961 (C. A.D. C.).... 8
Bee ee Se | PPP rer eer re rere 8, 13
Huntington v. Attrill, 146 U.S. 657....-.............. 8

I. C. C. v. Louisville & Nashville Ry. Co., 227 U.S. 88.. 14

wr

iil

Keppel v. Tiffin Savings Bank, 197 U. S. 556 pavenues , 9
Kwock Jan Fat v. White, 253 U.S. 455......--...++- 14
Lee v. C. A. B., 225 F. 2d 950 (C. A. as eee 5, 8
Lockwood vy. District of Columbia, 24 App. D. C. 569.. 16
McGrath v. Kristensen, 340 U. 5S. P<. ciedacmap new 11
Norwegian Nitrogen Products Co. v. U. S., 288 U. S.

De sen sanhakiey sonew enh oanense enna es 14, 31
Order of Railway Conductors v. owen, 152 F. 2d 325,

aff'd 329 U.S. 520 2.2... eee eee leew reece eee eees 9
Porter v. Montgomery, 163 F. 2d 211 (C. a haeeeee .
Reilly v. Pinkus, 338 U. S. 269 ....-.--. Peerye rr ys sy. | 14
Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. ow 16
Shaughnessy v. Accardi, 349 i. & Bearer rrr 16
Social Security Board v. Nierotko, 327 iS eer 10
L. P. Stuart & Bro. v. Bowles, 322 U. S. 398........-. srl
Tiffany v. National Bank of Missouri, 18 Wall. 409.... 9
United Air Lines v. C. A. B., 198 F. 2d 100 (C. A.7).. 11
U.S. v. Abilene Ry. 265 U. S. 294 ...-. +++ ss see rere 14
U.S. ex rel., Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 960.... 15;
U.S. v. C. 1. O., 335 U. S. 106 .....------ Las kw eee 18 |
U. S. v. E. I. duPont de Nemours and Co., 353 U. S.

etree: Jiganiicpinsdeniaa seas ae |
U.S. v. Two Hundred Barrels‘of Whiskey, 95 U. 8.571 9
Stine x. Cilhen, MOTD. DW oa iene. ey
Wilson v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 244 F. 2d 773 (C. |

BW YD occ case cncnavat sna Sodne sew cenes sates oes 7,31

F. W. Woolworth Co. v. U. S., 91 F. 2d 973 (C. A. 2).. 10

iv

Statutes.
Section 2, Civil Acron. Act. of 1938, 49 Ug S. C. 402,-
Or I ris ee 12, 22, 25, 26, 27, 31, 33
Section 201(b), Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U. S. C.
TD soe cocks cae cocctaeeese. eS 4, 34
Section 301, Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U.S. C. 451,
ke Ray NE pe rer aA SNES 4, 34
Section 401(h), Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U.S. C.
rey I Gd 6 op cey ki vice teckel 13, 34
Section 601(b), Civil Aerda_Act of 1938, 49 U.S. C.
RO I I a i ee he oe ae 12
Section 602(b), Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U. S. ©.
ee DS arenes 11
Section 609, Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U. S. C. 559,
oso s ee kes 3,4, 22, 27, 29, 31, 35
Section 702, Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U.S. C. 582,
SC aio wae yuu oy i ocak tte 5, 15, 29, 35
Section 901, Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U. S. C. 621,
ER See MEA eee 3, 13, 17, 18, 23, 35
Section 903, Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U. S.C. 623,
I SE ak re ss 5 oh yas he ed 13, 17, 23, 36
Section 1006, Civil Aeron. Act of 1938, 49 U. S. C.
ae Neate ORCA OR Wn ck te ieee aes 2
re es I ok ioe hw oh hk vk 2
Be es We a I oo So kik va ccs coos 2
OO. GA 8 oi ccs... 19
Re ee Be ee ee i ID wh haw oka veneicei ced 19
49 U. 8. C. A. 312, 49 Stat. 555 .................... 19

49 U.S. C. See. WRN hoes iis uk Grasaees ocak 2

v

Regulations.
Civil Air — Section 21.16, 14 C. F. R. 21.16..
ck, pAb Gepe heen sia Rae see eesesoomase 13, 37
Civil Air Regulations, Section 21.24(d), 14 C. F. R.
WEBAIAD ooo c ss civesecageccncnscccsovceccccce 16, 37

Civil Air Regulations, Section 21.41, 14 C. F. R. 21.41.13, 38
Civil Air Regulations, Section 21.42, 14 ©. F. R. 21.42.13, 38
Civil Air Regulations, Section 40.301, 14 C. F.

apc lauds neeescepsdasessacceesereseose ak 39
Civil Air Regulations, Section 40.302, 14 C. F. R.

eek ake se df PONT EP TTT TET E LL 13, 14, 39
Civil Air Regulations, Section 60.12, 14 C. F. R. 60.12. .

ee egg e ated na seteeesowonceres 6, 10, 39

(. A. B. Rules of Practice in Aireraft Accident In-
quiries, Section ge 26, 14 C. F. R. 301.1, 303.2, 303.13,

993.14 and 303.22. .......--eeeeeeteeeeeeseees 15, 40, 41
Other.
Aviation Week, Jan. 16, 1956, Clark, ‘‘ Airlines face
first major pilot shortage’’ ....--+-+--+++sser0% 14
Fortune Magazine, February 14, 1956, p. 91 ‘*The Air-
lines Flight from Reality’® ...-..---+++-s++se005: 14
Speech by Senator MeCarran, 83 Cong. Rec. 6634. ... 23

92 F. Fe 9079 (Nov. 14, 1957) ©... -- eee eee eee 12, 13

IN THE

‘Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1957.

Pe

CHARLES R. HARD,
Petitioner,
ve

CIVIL AERONAUTICS BOARD,
Respondent.’

t

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

Petitioner, Charles R. Hard, prays that a Writ of Cer-
tiorari issued to review the opinion and judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
decided in the above-captioned case on October 8, 1957 by
which that court affirmed an order entered by the Respond-
ent suspending Petitioner’s Airline Transport Pilot’s
Rating.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The Initial Decision of the Civil Aeronautics Board
Hearing Examiner was issued (orally) on April 28, 1996.
(R. 33.) The Order of the Respondent, Civil Aeronautics
Board, was issued February 6, 1957. (R. 48.) These De-
cisions are not officially reported. They are in the Ap-

&
2

pendix for Petitioner printed for use of the Court below,
which is filed herein as the transcript of the Record and
referred to as ‘*R’’. This Order was stayed by the Re.
spondent Board on February 19, 1957. This Order was
stayed by the Court of Appeals below pending determina-
tion for review by that Court on March 11, 1957. The
judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered October 8,
1957. The opinion is at 248 F. 2d 761 and appended hereto
(infra p. 25). The execution and a stay of mandate of the
judgment was stayed pending review on certiorari by Jus-
tice Clark December 17, 1957.

JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered Oc.
tober 8, 1957 and is included in the record as transmitted
to this Court. The basis of jurisdiction in the court be-
low was Section 1006, Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938, 52
Stat. 973, 980; 49 U. S. C. A. 646. This Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari is filed within the time prescribed in
298 U. S. C. Section 2101(c) as further extended to Janv-
ary 21, 1958 by order of this court dated December 20, 1997.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U. S. ¢.
1254(1) and 49 U. S. C. 646(f).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

In a proceeding under Section 609 of the Civil Acro-
nauties Act of 1938 as amended, 52 Stat. 1011, 49 U.S. ©.
See. 559 (referred to herein as the Act), Respondent, Civil
Aeronauties Board, issued an order suspending Petition-
er’s Airline Transport Pilot Rating Certificate for a period
of six (6) months (allowing credit for the sixty (60) days
which had already been served as ” result of an earlier
‘‘omergency’’ suspension). There was no finding, nor was
it contended, that Petitioner was in any way unqualified to_

3

hold such rating. The six (6) months suspension having
been ordered because the Respondent Board determined
that disciplinary action was called for and the sanction
"was imposed to provide a sufficient deterrent against Pe-
titioner and other pilots from violating Civil Air Regula-
tions. The Court of Appeals affirmed the Respondent
Board’s order. :

The questions presented are (1) whether under Sec-
tion 609 of the Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938, Congress
intended to empower the Board to suspend the airman cer-
tificate of a qualified pilot purely as a deterrent sanction
for penal purposes, and (2) whether a long standing prac-
tice and custom of the Board is sufficient to justify the
exercise of such penalty power under Section 609 of the
Act, particularly when the Respondent Board had earlier
issued its Accident Investigation Report on the same in-
cident upon which the penalty is based, and (3) whether
the Board can, under Section 609 of the Act, entertain
an appeal couched in remedial terms when the pilot has
been examined and found qualified and then after the
Board has already considered the record of an ex parte
proceeding based upon the same incident of the appeal,
but without due process safeguards, enter a penal sanc-
tion which punishment exceeds in time loss the $1,000 per

violation limit of Section 901 of the Act.
4

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS.

The pertinent provisions of the Civil Aeronautics Act of
1938 are Sections 2, 201(b), 301, 401(h), 601(b), 609, 901
and 903(b), together with Civil Air Regulations Sections
21.16, 21.24(d), 21.41, 21.42, 60.12, 40.301, 40.302; Part 301.1,
303.2, 303.13, 303.14, 303.22, all of which are set out in the
Appendix hereto, so far as material here.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

On February 7, 1956 Petitioner Charles R. Hard, while
captain-in-command of Eastern Air Lines Trip 156, a Mar-
tin 404 type passenger aircraft, engaged in air commerce
between Evansville, Indiana and Owensboro, Kentucky
was involved in a landing accident at Owensboro seriously
damaging the aircraft but causing no personal injuries.
He was immediately removed from flight status by his em-
ployer Eastern Air Lines and was subsequently physically
examined and otherwise checked by them. On March 3
and March 4 Petitioner Hard passed the authorized profs
ciency examinations given by Eastern Air Lines Check
Pilot W. B. Poe and Civil Aeronautics Administration
Safety Agent Wm. FE. Feast. Hard was then returned to
flight status said, on March 7 commanded a regularly sched-
uled Eastern Air Line trip to Charlotte, North Carolina
from Chicago, Illinois. On March 8 the Administrator
of Aeronautics (referred to herein as the Administrator,
see Section 201(b) and 301 of the Act) alleging authority
under the emergency clause of Section 609 of the Act...
suspended Petitioner’s Air Line Pilot Transport Rating
(referred to herein and in the decision below as an A.T.R )
for thirty (30) days (thereafter renewing for an addi-
tional thirty (30) days) on the grounds (although Peti-
tioner was not informed of these grounds until the 13th)
that the Owensboro incident disclosed facts which re-
vealed Petitioner lacked competency and judgment neces-
sary of a holder of an A.T.R. On March 16, the Adminis.
trator alleging jurisdiction under Section 609 of the Act
filed a Complaint’ with the Civil Aeronautics Board re-
questing that Petitioner’s A.T.R. be revoked or suspended
for lack of qualification. :

1. The Act does not empower the Administrator to so file.
but this has been the practice in most of these proceedings. * (14
(. F. R. 301.1.)

5

Meanwhile, on March 22 and 23, the Board through its
Bureau of Safety Investigation held an inquiry and public
hearings regarding the Owensboro accident and took sworn
testimony of the Petitioner and twenty-two other witnesses
pursuant to statutory authority Section 702(a) of the Act.
(Reorg. Plan No. IV 1940 52 Stat. 1012, 49 U.S. C. A. 581,
582, infra p. 35).

A Motion to Dismiss the Administrator’s Complaint was
filed on the grounds that the Administrator had miscon-
ceived his action and was seeking the suspension or revo-
cation as a penalty and not for remedial purposes as the
Petitioner was tested, fully examined by the Administrator
and had successfully demonstrated that he did lack quali-
fication to retain his A.T.R. TLis Motion was denied by
a Board Hearing Examiner on the grounds that it con-
stituted a defense. The Petitioner’s Motion to Certify this
question to the Board was denied and on April 26, the Ex-
aminer held a hearing on the merits. The Examiner con-
cluded that the ‘‘emergency”’’ suspension was in the public
interest but found no violation of any rule, regulation, or
statuie and that the ‘‘emergency’’ suspension be terminated
effective May 7 (the date which the second suspension
period would have expired in any event). Petitioner ayain
resumed his status as an airline pilot with Eastern Air
Lines. The Administrator appealed? the Examiner's deci-
sion to the Board requesting that Respondent Hard’s A.T.R.
be revoked because of lack of qualification. The Petitioner
herein opposed this appeal and requested that the Initial

‘Decision of the Examiner be sustained and his findings
with a single factual exception and conclusions be adopted.
On July 10 the Civil Aeronautics Board released its Acci-

——-—

29 The Act does not empower the Administrator to appeal.
This has also been a practice of the Board, but see Lee v. C. A.
B., 225 F. 950 (C. A. D. C. 1955) which held that the Adminis-
trator lacked standing to petition the Court of Appeals for review
of a Board order. -

o j

dent Investigation Report on the March 22, 23 hearings
and inquiry finding that the ‘‘probable cause’’ of the acci-
dent was due to an improper landing approach by the Pe-
titidner. On February 6, 1957 the Civil Aeronautics Board
issued the order herein reversing the Examiner finding
Hard guilty of violating Civil Air Regulation 60.12 (App.
p. 39) and suspending Petitioner’s A.T.R. for six months
but allowing credit for sixty (60) days which he had al.
ready been suspended as a result of the emergency action.
This suspa@dgion was because the Board determined that
disciplinary action was called for and the Board must
impose a sanction by a substantial suspension of Hard’s
rating to provide a sufficient deterrent against Hard and
other pilots from taking similar risks.

INTRODUCTION .*

This is a case of first impression and this petition is
sought because the issues presented have a significant
impact upon air commerce as well as raising important
questions of administrative law. ‘

The issue here is solely a cuestion of statutory construc-
tion. The facts of this incident that were tried before the
Respondent Civil Aeronautecs Board were uncontested on
appeal so that full emphasis and consideration could be
given to the jurisdictional question which has significance
to all holders of Civil Aeronautics Administration issued
certificates.

The court below-in-a dramatic effort to avoid the clear
punitive nature of the order herein has-needlessly intro-
duced a new concept of suspensions which it considered
necessary for the protection of an undefined ‘‘gray zone’’.
_ (Op. below, infra p. 28.) In so doing, it has missed the
historic importance of a properly conducted flight exam-
ination, overlooked the congressional mandate resting the
prime responsibility for the highest possible degree of air
safety upon the air carriers, and failed to recognize that a
‘ suspension order for deterrent purposes has been declared
punitive, not only by the coarts but by the Respondent
Board itself.

We are aware of neither statute nor case authority which
condones punitive power in an administrative agency un-
less the language of the endowing statute expressly au-
thorizes it, a fact that is emphasized by the scarcity of
cited cases in the decision below and its related case, Wil-
son v. Civil Aeronautics Board, 244 F. 2d 773 (C. A. D. C.,
1957) Cert. denied 78 S. Ct. 119, November 12, 1957, which
termed a Board suspension order a ‘‘disciplinary action.”’

are the author’s.unless otherwise indicated.

° All italics herein

“REASONS REL IED UPON FOR THE WRIT OF
CRETORAR.

I. ®

THE COURT OF APPEALS BELOW HAS DECIDED A
~ FEDERAL QUESTION IN A WAY IN CONFLICT WITH
APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

A. The Suspension Order Is Penal.

Neither the Civil Aeronautics Board Hearing Examiner
nor the Respondent itself found Petitioner unqualified
in any respect nor considered grounding him as necessary
in order to protect the public. The Board by ‘‘making
an example of Hard in order to deter him and other air
line pilots from jeopardizing the safety of travelers by
air’’ (Op. below, trfra p. 27) concluded that a six-month
disciplinary suspension was necessary. The phrases ‘‘suf-
ficient deterrent,’’ ‘‘disciplinary action,’’ ‘‘sanection’’ and
‘*ultimate sanction,”’ were employed by the Board to de-
scribe its action. (R. 64.; The cases are clear that an
order with this purpose renders the action penal. Cum-
mings v. Missouri, 4 Wall. 277, ged 0°" a" v. Attrill,
146 U: S. 657, 668; Helwig v. U. S., 188 U. S. 605, 611;
Porter v. Montgomery, 163 F. 2d 211, 215 we A. 3);
Heitmuller v. Berkow, 165 F. 2d 961, 963, 964 (C. A. D. C.);
Lee v. C. A. B., 225 F. 2d 950, 953, in which Judge Pret-
tyman, in discussing a complaint similar to the one herein,
observed that ‘‘Any reading of the complaint shows the
action prayed is purely punitive.’’ In this respect the
complaints in the two cases are identical.

9

B. Penal Powers Cannot Be Implied.

It has long been held that a punitive power cannot be
implied from general remedial terms of a statute. Tiffany
v. Nattonal Bank of Missouri, 18 Wall. 409, 410; U. S. v.
Two Hundred Barrels of Whiskey, 95 U. S. 571, 575, 576;
Keppel v. Tiffin Savings Bank, 197 U. S. 356, 362, 373;
Campbell v. Galeno, 281 U.S. 599; Wallace v. Cutten, 298
U. 8. 229, 237.

1. Administrative Practice.

The Respondent Board urged below (Op. below, infra p.
31) that an administrative practice whereby it had“ sus-
pended more than 4,000 airmen for violations of rules ard
without finding that they lacked competence or qualification
to fly’” should have great weight in statutory interpre-
tation.

Although the precise rule as to the effect of ‘‘long’’
eyntinued administrative practice is something less than
clear (see 73 L. Ed. 322; 84 L. Fa. 28), it is certain
that to be given any effect at all it must have been a
ruling which can reasonably be held to have decided
the point in ‘issue. Estate of Sanford v. Commissioner of
Internal Revenue, 308 U. S. 39; Anderson v. McKay, 211
F, 2d 798, 805 (C. A. D. C.); Order of Railway Conductors
v. Swan, 152 F. 2d 325, 329 aff’d. 329 U. S. 520; F. W.

1. Ineife x, we have been unable to loca: this plethora
of 4000 cases} The printed reports of the Board ({ and 13 ©. A. &.
Reports) do not remotely approach this figure. Inasmuch as the
Respondent Board has this information peculiarly within its own
knowledge, we suggest it would be helpful to know in how many
of these cases the violating pilots were represented by counsel
and how many involved an airline transport pilot rating of a
scheduled airline pilot (where certainly the public interest must
loom considerably higher than a student flying after school from
a neighboring filing lot), in how many the issue of penal jurisdic-
tion was raised and argued to the Board and in how many the
suspension order caused 2 ‘loss in excess of $1000 per violation.

10

Woolworth Company v. United States, 91 F. 2d 973, 976.

It was not until very recently that the Respondent Board
for the first time specifically held that a complaint alleging
that the pilot ‘thad operated the aircraft in a careless

manner so as to endanger the life and property of others”

in violation of certain Civil Air Regulations (14 C. F. R.
- 60.12 infra p. 39) was punitive, stating:

‘“We are inclined to the view, and hold, that suspen- |

sions imposed merely to prevent and deter violations,
and where requalification in one or more respects is
not involved are punitive in the constitutional sense,
and are a type of ‘penalty’ from which immunity is
provided by Section 1004(i).’? Brubaker and Olsen,
CAB Dockets SR-2168, 2169, August 2, 1954.

Recently, this Court in l'nited States v. E. I, DuPont
de Nemours and Co., 353 U. S. 586, 590, rejected an ar-
gument that a 35-year administrative practice by the Fed-
eral Trade Commission would be persuasive as to the in-
tent of Congress observing that as the question was being
decided by it for the first time the Court had the duty to
reconcile administrative interpretations with policies laid
down by Congress.

If the interpretation of the statute does not impose the
results of any specialized departmental knowledge or ex-
perience, administrative practice will not be preserved
upon the courts. Hagger Co. v. Helvering, 308 U.S. 389,

298: Social Security Board v. Nierotko, 327 U.S. 358, 369.

We conclude, therefore, that penal power cannot he
created by Respondent’s administrative practice.

2. The Public Interest. a

Nor ean punishment authority be implied under the
‘‘publie interest’? provision of the Act for in American
Airlines vy. North American, 351 U. S. 79, this Court in

11

treating with the phrase ‘‘the interest of the public’’ under

Section 411 (49 U. S. C. 491) of the Act stated at 85:
“‘The Section is not concerned with punishment of
wrongdoing or protection of injured competitors but

rather with protection of the public interest.’’ (Italics
supplied.)

To the same effect is United Air Lines v. C.A.B., 198
F. 2d 100, 105 (C. A. 7).

3. Administrative Discretion.

The penal power can hardly stem from what is often
termed an administrative agency’s broad discretionary
powers. We are aware of no authority which gives a
government administrative official discretionary power to
penalize without specifically so stating in the enabling
statute.’ In any event, the exercise of discretionary au-
thority does not permit errors of law. McGrath v. Kristen-
sen, 340 U. S. 162.

4. Specific Remedial Finding Is, in any event, Necessary.

We submit that such error of law exists for in L. P.
Steuart & Bro. v. Bowles, 322 U. S. 398, this Court held
that such penal power will not be implied stating at 404:

‘‘We agree that it is for Congress to prescribe the
penalties for the laws which it writes. It would tran-
scend both the judicial and the administrative function
to make additions to those which Congress has placed
behind a statute. (Citing cases.) Hence we would
have no difficulty in agreeing with petitioner’s conten-
tion if the issue were whether a suspension order could

1. Note that the draftsmen of the Act granted discretionary
power by the simple expedient of so stating, e. g. Sec. 602(b) of
the Act, ‘‘Provided, That the Authority (Board) may, in its
discretion, prohibit or restrict the issuance of airman certificates
to aliens, or may make such issuance dependent on the terms of
reciprocal agreements entered into with foreign governments."

12

be used as a means of punishment of an offender. But |”
that statement of the question is a distortion of the is- |
sue presented on this record.”’

The Court did sustain the suspension order, which pre-
vented an oil distributor from obtaining his share of war-
time rationed oil, upon the specific remedial finding that it
furthered the equitable allocation of oil as required by the
statute.

We siiggest that the court below in making the statement
(Op. below, infra p. 28.) ‘‘* * * (W)hether the Board’s
order has salutary effect is beside the mark for all the
agency can do is strive for * otection of the public travel-
ling by aircraft’’ overlooks the air carrier’s prime respons-
ibility in|the safety field (Section 2b, Section 601b of the
Act), and ignores requirement of Steuart, supra, as well
as the philosophy underlying administrative agencies, that
the expert body must make a specific finding demonstrating
that its order is remedial and in fact regulates ‘‘air com-
merce in such manner as to best promote its development.”
(Section 2(e) of the Act.)

Capt. Hard is a senior airline pilot, 44, who two years
ago, had over 10,000 hours or some 185,000 miles including
about 1,443 instrument hours in the air without incident or
reprimand of any sort whatsoever.

It may well be considered that ‘‘making an example of
Hard”’ by levelling a ‘‘substantial suspension’’ because he
‘‘took a risk’? with not only his own life but with those of
fellow ‘‘erew members” and ‘‘his passengers’? might have
an effect on his brother pilots other than deterrence. For
it is these n.en who are asked every hour of the day
and in every corner of the globe to shoulder public safety
in an air age rapidly becoming ever more complex’ with
faster and more powerful planes flown through congested

Safety in 22 F. R. 9079 (Nov. 14, 1957).

13

airways and on to airports that were built at a time when
today’s norm would have been considered boldly experi-
mental. Safety is with these men. This is hardly the
time to cultivate a blind spot to administrative optics for
that will only result in a carte blanche authority to hinge
all blame and sanctien upon the individual air man. Salu-
tary effect is not beside the mark. It is the basic issue.

The suspension order cannot be termed non-penal by con-
cluding that a ‘‘substantial suspension”’ fc. deterrent pur-
poses will best protect the public, when there is a similar,
if not, greater deterrence in a civil penalty imposed after a
judicial hearing with the right to a trial by jury as con-
templated by Sections 901 and 903 of the Act. (Cf. 401(h)
of the Act.) Deterrence cannot be the jurisdictional
divider. For in a deterrence sanction the remedial effects,
if any,! flow from the imposition of the punishment (Helwig
y. U. S., 188 U. S. 605, 611) whereas punishment involved
in a truly remedial order (i. e., one which is used to correct
an existing deficiency) is purely incidental. This ‘ong
standing distinction has been overlooked by the court below.

Moreover, the grounding of an experienced airman for
any period” whatsoever will tend to make him less
qualified—at least temporarily for flying in scheduled air
commerce is a profession whose skills must be constantly
exercised in order to maintain the highest degree of skill
possible. This fact is well recognized by the Board in its
own regulations which in several instances require recent
flying experience in order to obtain and maintain an airline
transport pilot rating. (14 C. F. R. 21.16, 21.41, 21.42, 40.301,
40.302, infra pp. 37, 38.) These are, of course, very mini-
mum requirements; the air carriers are free to increase
them and often do. In fact the Respondent has recently
inaugurated hearings to increase this amount. See 22
Federal Register 9079 (Nov. 14, 1957.)

1. We assume arguendo that such deterrence is necessary in
order to require pilots to fly safely.

Pe

14

The Board’s order herein (R. 65) provided for an appro-
priate flight check to be given by the Administrator after
the serving of the suspension penalty. Under the regula-
tions (14 C. F. R. 40.302(b)) Petitioner would normally
be due for such check anyhow, but this inclusion by
the Board is significant for it emphasizes the necessity of
recent flying time in order to maintain proficiency. The
fairness is something else again, after a substantial lay off
a pilot might well have difficulty regaining his touch.
Furthermore, to ground an experienced pilot not only
renders him less qualified but necessarily means a less
experienced pilot must take his place. Highly trained
pilots are presently in short,supply? and this at a stage in
which air commerce is constantly expanding.

The significance of all this is simply that in this heedless
expediency to usurp penal power for the Board, air com-
merce is being hindered rather than developed. It is,
therefore, of special importance that this court accept this
case in order to correct the Board’s statutory deviation.

C. If a Penal Power Is Implied It Runs Afoul of Due
Process.

Consideration by tribunal of information which has not
been formally introduced as evidence and subject to cross-
examination and particularly an ex parte and informal
exploration by those in charge, deprives the accused
of due process. J. C. C. v. Louisville & Nashville
Ry. Co., 227 U. S. 88; Kwock Jan Fat v. White, 253 U. 8.
455; U.S. v. Abilene Ry., 265 U. S. 294; Norwegian Nitrogen
Products Co. v. U. S., 288 U. S. 294; Reilly v. Pinkus, 338
U. S. 269, 275; Re Aughenbaugh, 125 F. 2d 887 (C. A. 3);
Aleziou v. McGrath (D. C. D. C.), 101 F. Supp. 421.

2 See Clark ‘‘Airlines Face First Major Pilot Shortage’

Aviation Week Jan. 16, 1956. ‘‘The Airlines Flight from |
Reality,’’ Fortune Magazine Feb. 1956 p. 91.

15

In United States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S.
960, this Court held that the Petitioner’s allegation of pre-
judgment by the Board of Immigration Appeals—a Board
subordinate to the Attorney General—because of the lat-
ter’s public distribution of a list announcing his intention
to deport certain ‘‘ unsavory characters’’, including Accardi,
would require an independent hearing in the District Court
on such issue. Justice Clark stated at 268:

‘If petitioner can prove the allegation he should re-
ceive a new hearing before the Board without the bur-
den of the previous proscription by the list. After the
recall or cancellation of the list, the Board must rule
out any consideration thereof and, in arriving at its
decision, exercise its own independent discretion, after
a fair hearing, which is nothing more than what the
Regulations accord the petitioner as a right.”’

On May 22 and 23, 1956, the Respondent Board, pursuant
- to its statutory authority’ conducted public hearings before

~ a Civil Aeronautics Board Hearing Officer, Thomas K. Mc-
Dill and a panel of two other Board Officials in a proceeding
entitled ‘‘In the Matter of: An Accident Involving an Atr-
craft of U. S. Registry N445A, Eastern Airlines, Inc., Mar-
tin 404, which occurred at Owensboro, Kentucky on-Feb-
ruary 17, 1956.’’ Some twenty-three witnesses, including
Petitioner, were examined under oath. The normal rules
of evidence such as objections and the. right to cross-
examine are not part of this procedure. (See 14 C. F. R.
303.10, 303.13, 303.14, infra p. 39 and note that Sections
4, 5, 7, 8 and 10 of the Administrative Procedures Act are
expressly inapplicable.) :

On July 5, 1956, the Respondent Board adopted the *‘ Ac-

1. The Board has a statutory duty to ‘‘Investigate such acci-
dents and report the facts, conditions and circumstances relaiing
to each accident and the probable cause thereof."" (Reorg. Plan
No. IV 52 Stat. 1012 1940, Section 702(a) (2), Civil Aeronautics
Act 49 U.S. C. A. 581, 582(a).) infra p. 35.

16

cident Investigation Report’’ which determined the ‘‘prob- [.

able cause’’ of the Owensboro accident:
‘‘The Board determines that the probable cause of this
accident was an improperly executed final approach,
(by the pilot) resulting in a stall, during a steep, left
turn at an altitude too low to permit recovery.’’

This report was publicly released on July 12, 1956, while §
the Initial Decision herein of Board Hearing Examiner, H.
G. Moorhead, which imposed no sanction and found no vio-
lations on the part of Petitioner Hard, was pending upon
appeal and a decision was being awaited by the Board. The
finding was never recalled, cancelled, or overruled and,
therefore, remained as a Board precedent. And the prece-
dent resulting from the ex parte proceeding of the Accident
Investigation Inquiry controlled—for the Board’s final
order on the appeal was adverse to Petitioner to the tune
of a six month suspension.

This is a serious penalty action which can deprive the
pilot of his professional rank for a time, if not forever.’
If fair administration of justice requires an opportunity
for the accused in a penalty proceeding to have his rights
determined by a tribunal which had not already made up
its mind based upon information dehors the record and not
obtained through due process channels, then we should be
able to safely assume that the Board’s penalty procedure
would not receive this Court’s blessing. Due process de-
mands more. Cf. Bridges v. Wixon, 326 U. S. 135, 154.
And see Lockwood v. District of Columbia, 24 App. D. C. 569
(1905), to the effect that statutes imposing restrictions upon
occupations are to be construed strictly. Cf. Dent v. W.
Virginia, 129 U. S. 114; Schware v. Board of Bar Ex-
aminers, 353 U. S. 232, fn. 5, p. 239.

1. There is no limit to the sanctions possible under Section 609,
a fact that is embraced by 14 C. F. R. 21-24(d) (infra p. 37)
\\Sehich authorizes revocation as legitimate sanction.

17

Even had Congress specifically authorized this under-
taking, it would run contrary to the holding of Accardt v.
Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260, supra; for this Court remanded
‘ that case to the District Court for an independent
hearing on the allegation of pre-judgment. Now the
obstacles in proving pre-judgment by the Respondent
Board are really insurmountable and the entanglement
becomes apparent when we realize there is no appropriate
forum to independently determine this issue. A proper
hearing would of necessity require examination under
oath of the members of the Board who issued the order.
(Shaughnessy v. Accardi, 349 U. S. 280, 283.) This could
hardly be accomplished before the Board itself.

Federal Trade Commission v. Cement Insiitute, 333 U. S.
683 (Op. below infra p. 32) does not adeqnately offset
this claim of prejudgment as that case was not a penalty
proceeding. And in contrast to the Cement case, con-
gressional purpose here would be fulfilled by reversing
the decision below as Congress placed the remedial, in-
vestigative and economic functions in the Board and
avoided any possible infractions of due process by speci-.
fically providing that penalties for violations be processed
in the District Courts (Section 901, 903 of the Act.)

The decision below has special and important impact
on every airline pilot in the country for he is now in a
quandary as to whether~he is in jeopardy of having the
Cc. A. B. Accident Investigation Hearing' ultimately _in-
fluencing the Board to prejudge his case before it can hear
any penalty proceeding. It is Petitioner's position that
this is precisely what happened in this case.

Further, as a practica? result of the decision below, any
holder of a certificate issued by the Civil Aeronautics

1. The pilots themselves are, of course, desirous of having all
facts brought forth, that might prevent recurrence of an accident
or incident and are, therefore. prone to cooperate to the fullest
extent.

18

Administration becomes dependent upen the whim of the ;
Administrator for a statutory right to a trial by jury.
The certificate holder has been afforded a statutory right
to a jury trial, which is no longer his to demand. Nat-
urally, any seeming curtailment of a right to a jury trial
should be severely scrutinized. Dimick v. Schiedt, 298
U. S. 474; District of Columbia v. Colts, 282 U. S. 63.
It should be noted here that when civil penalties are
sought by the Administrator under Section 901, they stem
from the same type of alleged violation incidents that are
tried before the Board. There is no discernible rule,
reason or standard—written or otherwise—which is deter-
minative of whether a penalty complaiat for violation of
Civil Air Regulations is processed at home with the Board
or in the appropriate District Court. As to any particular
would-be violator, then, the jurisdictional classification
affirmed below is unreasonable and arbitrary in depriving
a jury trial in a violation proceeding. We submit that this

fact alone should warrant consideration of this case by
this Court. ¢

D. Analogous Statutes Rebut the Assumption of Penal
Power.

It is appropriate to examine other statutes in related
fields of Government activity in order to dispel any doubts
as to legislative intention and construction. See Boston
Sand Company v. U. S., 278 U. S. 41; United States v.
C. 1. O., 335 U.S. 106.

The most analogous law is that regulating the Mer-
chant: Marine and it will be noted that the language em-
powering the Coast Guard Commandant to suspend or
revoke certificates for violations is unequivocally clear.
It states that if the Commandant of the Coast Guard shall
find that a certificate holder is ‘‘incompetent or has been
guilty of misbehavior, negligence or unskillfulness, or has

a

49

endangered a life, or has willfully violated any of the
provisions of title 52 of the Revised Statutes or any of the
regulations issued thereunder, *** * he shall suspend or
revoke the license * * * of such. officer or holder of such
certificate * * *’? R. S. 4450; March 3, 1911, ¢. 231, or
See. 291, 36 Stat. 1167, as amendéd May 27, 1936, 49 Stat.
1381; 46 U. S. C. A. 239 (g).

The section pertaining to sea captains, who certainly are
akin to airline captains, reads:
‘*Licenses of captains * *** such license shall be sus-
pended or revoked upon satisfactory proof of bad con-
duct, intemperate habits, incapacity, inattention to his

duties, or the willful violation of any provision of this
chapter * * * applicable to him.’’ 46 U.S. C. A. 226.

Likewise, the Communications Act of 1934 empowers the
Federal Communications Commission to affirm, modify, sus-
peud, or revoke certificates in issue after notice of hearing
and the statute specifically enumerates a detailed descrip-
tion of violations such as ‘‘violating any Act, treaty or
conviction, * * * willfully damaging radio apparatus, trans-
mitting false or deceptive signals, * * * ete.’?’ 47 U.S.C. A.
303(m). See also, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15
U. S. C. 78s, 48 Stat. 898, and the Interstate Commerce
Act, Part IT, Sec. 212, 49 U.S. C. A. 312, 49 Stat. 555, which
specifically allow suspension where a licensee has willfully
failed to comply with the Act or regulations.

Incidentally, the principle of construing penal statutes
strictly has also been overlooked by the Court below. Camp-
bell v: Galeno, 281 U. S. 599; Bulger v. Benson, 262 Fed.
929 (C. A. 9, 1920). The latter case, involving marine
pilots, is identical on principle with this one and not un-
naturally provokes the thought that flying is to be treated
as a special phenomenon best avoided.

id

20

Il.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS BELOW AS
RENDERED IS IN CONFLICT WITH THE DECISION OF
THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
ON THE SAME MATTER.

The court below resorted to a rather unusual device in
rejecting Petitioner's contention that the order herein was
purely punitive stating (infra p. 28): ‘*What Hard
contends for would drive the Board into an area of
sharp black and white, leaving the gray zone unprotected
when, in the exercise of its discretion, a qualified airline
pilot’s behavior merits suspension rather than revocation
of rating.’’ This ‘‘gray zone*’ introduces a third concept
into what formetty was a simple remedial-penal dichotomy
of suspension orders properly divisible and adequately
protecting the public with the us¢ of an authorized examina-
tion. This new conception which ignores the effect and
importance of such duly authorized examination has wider
implications than may appear at first blush.

First, it creates a conflict within the circuits, for here
Petitioner Hard was given a flight examination by his
Company (Eastern Air Lines) Check Pilot and by the Civil
Aeronautics Administration Safety Agent, William E.
Feast, and found qualified in all respects including judg-
ment. (R. 24-25.)

Brown vy. Civil Aeronautics Authority, 112 F. 2nd 737 Op.
Suppl. 119 F. 2d 172 involved an order by the Civil Aero-
nauties Authority (the title by which the Board was then
known) which suspended Brown’s pilot certificate for sixty
days ‘‘and thereafter until he shall have demonstrated
through a written examination that he is thoroughly famil-
iar with the pertinent Civil Air Regulations and local
traffic rules.’ The Authority had earlier found that
Pilot Brown had violated certain traffic regulations, and
misused an experimental aircraft and that these violations
rendered him a potential hazard to the flying public. Brown,
Airman Certif., 1 CAB 666, 669.

21

The Ninth Cireuit denied Petitioner’s request for a super-
sedeas without prejudice, until after the P sitioner had
offered to take the required examination or, unless the
Authority declined to examine Petitioner within five days,
stating at 112 F. 2d 737 “‘if the suspension for sixty days
was purely punitive the application might be granted but
the order also requires a written examination to ascertain
whether or not Petitioner shiould be allowed to fly at all. We
cannot make an order to jeopardize the safety of the public.
For that reason, it is clear that the Petitioner shall take
the proposed examination before his right to fly is re-
stored.’”’ Petitioner then took and passed the required ex-
aminations and his renewed petition for supersedeas was
granted. (Brown v. C. A. A., 119 F. 2d 172, 173.)

Although the case then became moot, it is clear authority
for the proposition that once pilots’ qualifications to fly had
been determined by a duly conducted examination then the
suspension order was ‘*‘ purely punitive’. The cases are in
clear conflict on this crucial issue.

Second, the holding below has special and important sig-
nificance to all holders of Civil Aeronautic Administration
issued airmen certificates inasmuch as apparently the regu-
lar examination given by the government Safety Agents
and the air carrier check pilots is no longer sufficient to
determine whether or not they are qualified to fly. If, as
the decision below states, this is a ‘‘gray zone’’ then several
thousand of pilots flying in air commerce who take periodic
examinations, now have a judicially imposed legal doubt
as to whether they are actually qualified to fly or whether
they are in the midst of this strange undefined ‘‘gray
zone’’. If these examinations cannot determine their de-
signed purpose, then there is little gain and much time and
money lost by requiring them.

Third, of even greater concern, to each certificate holder,
is the open invitation to administrative mischief. There

22

is no explicit penalty criterion in 609 (presumably there
must be a relationship to aeronautics, but aeronautical cer-
tificates should present no obstacle here) and if the examin-
ation has no meaningful effect than the authorities are free
to suspend or revoke, without regard to demonstrated quali-
fication and without the b-ndrance of a defined limitation
(e. g. Section 901 has a limit tion of $1,000 for each viola-
tion). In other words, the shy is the limit. See Connally
v. General Construction @o.,269 U. S. 385, 391; Champlin
Refining Co. v. Corporation Commission, 286 U. S. 210,
9240-43. Ard, as illustrated by this case, the use of the
emergency suspension power (R. 23, 29) ean be summarily
utilized without the benefit of a bill of particulars. — It is
difficult to perceive how this promotes, or -develops air
commerce as conceived by the framers of Section 2 of the
Act. Nor can this be said to encourage new airmen to come
into this field especially at this time when experienced
pilots are in acute supply.

>

8 «

IIT.

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS DECIDED AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH HAS NOT BEEN,
BUT SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THIS COURT.

Section 903(b) of the Act (49 U.S. C. A. 623(b)(1))
details the procedure in respect to civil penalties for viola-
tion of Title VI (the authority for promulgating Civil Air
Regulations). Paragraph (4) of that Section states:

‘*(4) .The Supreme Court of the United States, and
under its direction other courts of the United States, °

may prescribe rules regulating such proceedings in any
particular not provided by law.’

Reported cases of these decisions are rare and, so far as
we are aware, this Court has never had oceasion to pre-
scribe, or direct other courts to prescribe, such rules not
otherwise provided.by law.

The present atrophjcondition of Sections 9(1 and 903 is
a result of administrative legislation and is inconsistent
with the substantial body of law that must have been antic-
ipated by the Congress' in order to have induced it to pro-
vide this important provision. A glance at Titles V, VI
and VII (the only parts of the Act subject to the civil
penalties of Section 901) will demonstrate that this con-
gressional foresight could be predicated only upon antici-
pated judicial proceedings involving penalties for viola-
tions of the regulations prormulgated under Title VI.

This premise considered, it is respectfully urged that it
is of importance to the segment of the publie involved in
interstate and foreign air commerce that this Court con-
sider this case to determine in what cases the holders of
certificates issued by the Civil Aeronautics Administration
are entitled to judicial process and a trial by jury.

+ See speech by Senator MeCarran, 83 Cong. Ree. 66: 34 (May
9, 1938).

24

CONCLUSION.

That the order herein is primarily penal there can be no
‘doubt; proper perspective will manifest the clear fact that
Congress never intended the Respondent Board to have
punitive powers. And for good reason, as illustrated by
this case, such power not only deprives the accused airman
of due process but frustrates and hinders the development
of air commerce as contemplated by the Civil Aeronautics
Act of 1938.

This case, then, has significance to all Civil Aeronautics
Administration Certificate-holders and to air commerce in
general. It is submitted, therefore, that the Writ of Cer-
tiorari should be granted.

“ Respectfully submitted,
Grorce F. ARCHER,
5500 Cicero Avenue,
Chicago 38, Illinois,
Attorney for Petitioner.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386419_0076%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
