# Brief of Respondent in Opposition to Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — May v. Ellis Trucking Co. (No. 160)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_1312%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief of Respondent in Opposition to Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1957

## Text

Office Supreme Court, U.S
Dy 3.40 2 DD

JUN 23 t3,

No, 4053. / S| JOHN T. FEY, Clerk

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES,

OCTOBER TERM, 1956/
: ' Z

CHARLIE E. MAY,
Petitioner,

VS.

ELLIS TRUCKING COMPANY, INC.,
Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to Review the Judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit.

BRIEF

Of Respondent in Opposition to the -
Petition for Certiorari.

L, E. GWINN,
725 Columbian Mutual io
Memphis, Tennessee,
Attorney for Respondent.

NELSON, NORVELL and FLOYD,
- 1001 Columbian Mutual Tower,
Memphis, Tennessee,
(Of Counsel).

Sr. Louis Law PRINT! 66 Co ANS North heen Street. CEntral 1-4477

INDEX -

-
& : ~ }?:
ri Bak

Opiaions below. / x
Jurisdiction

Statement of the case
Trial Jndge has discretionary power to order a new

trial

“

Cases Cited.

Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Yeatts, 4th Cirenit, 122
gee eer erer ser pice Ce ae ie

Dimick v. Scehiedt, 208 U.S. 474, 482-485... .

Fairmont Glassworks v. Cub Four Coal Co., 287 U.S.
iC Sa ac Dn Ge eM Pre WM aes ati Bey ada oe, « °

aN acca ate tad Octet ot ee rkac Rexen eas

Statutes Cited.

WARY; Sa, Oe AO i ca te eects
Oe a Pe ee eee

Textbook Cited.
Barron & Holtzoff, Federal Practice & Procedure, See.
SE Ds fe St at Bp at ata ede h Re SS Pe Oe oe SSE Oe allel :

Rules Cited.

to te

to

6

No, 1053,

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES,

OCTOBER TERM, 1956,

Z

CHARLIE E. MAY,
| Petitioner,

VS,

ELLIS TRUCKING COMPANY, INC..
Respondent.

’

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to Review the Judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit.

BRIEF

Of Respondent in Opposition to the
Petition for Certiorari.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the trial court overruling petitioner's
motion for a new trial appears at pages 102a-1l04da of the
Appendix in. this case.

The order of the court overruling the motion for a new
trial and directing a remittitur appears at page 105a_ of
the Appendix and is set out at pages 44 and 45 of the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari in this cause. :

The Court of Appeals ie uot render ad written opinion
In the case but rendered the following judgment, whieh is
setoout gut pace 45 of the Petition for Certhorari, and reads
its follows: : |

‘lu ou suit) for personal dujuries arising from an
witomobile accident, appellant was awarded) a jury
Verdict of 342.500, On imotion for a new trial, the

district court entered judgment for YOO without
obtaining the consent of appellant, concluding that in
View of the testimony on the’ extent of injury the
‘verdict was so excessive as to shock the conse hence of
the court.” There is nosquestion under these cireuin-
stances that the trial judge had the discretionary
power to order a new trial but the district court com
initted-error by reducing the verdict: without viving
appellant the option of either accepting a remittitur
orof having a new trial. Kennon v. Gilmer, 131 U.S
22, 24-30 (188): Dimick v. Schiedt, 2023 U. S. 414.
482-85 (1935). |

Upon reniand the district court will have the power
aes to erant or deny a new trial ter nerally or to
deny a new trialon the condition that appellant accept
i jndement fora lesser amount than the jury verdict.

The Judgment is set aside and the case-is renianded
to the district conrt for reconside ‘ration of the motion

fora new trigk

JURISDICTION.

Jurisdiction is apparently invoked by Petitioner under
United States Code Tithe 18, Section 1254 (1) and under the
provisions of Supreme Court Rule I (J) (bh).

Jurisdiction in the trial court was founded upon diver
sity of citizenship, Petitioner and Respondent being citi
aeons and domictled in different states and the amount. in
controversy exceeding, exclusive of interest and costs, the
smn of $3,000 (Tithe 28, US. Code, See. 1332)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The complaint filed in the United States Disfrier Cour
for the Western District of Peruessee alleged coriunon fas
and statutory Mieoliewece, mneluding a viedation of Meripbas
City Ordinamees. tel claire damages in thie sui oof
$75,000 (App Sad for personal iotiries. and property datn
ages inoan adelitional se separate str oF ROMO Ny
Ila). | |

Respondent answered, admitting the diversity of citizen
ship, alleging that Petitioner had a poliey of colliston tn
surance and setting out that he collected a claim there
under of $857.50, and denving all other allegations of the
complaina and asking that it be distnissed (App. PBas Pia).

Petitioner, plaintiff below, thereafter songht and ob
tained leave to amend the complaint and increased the
demand for compensatory damages to $100,000.04 pp. Wa,
I6a, 17a). ae =

After a trial lasting several days the jury returned a
verdict. in favor of Petitioner and against the Respomdent,
Ellis Trucking Co. Ine.. and assessed personal injury dan.
ages ins the amount of $42500 and property damages oy
the sum of $1,100 (App. 88a), |

>
Respondent duly filed a motion for a new trial and ofa
consideration thereof the same was overruled except as to
grounds TH and [Vie which read as follows:
“TTT. The verdict of othe jury is excessive.’
“IV. The verdict of the jury Is SO EXCESSIVE AS te:
evince passion, prejudice or unacconntable eaprice on
the part of the jurv. ~

In sustajnine these eromnds ot the -miotion, the “oor
said: |

“A new trial will not be necessary in this case, but-

in the court's opinion the jury's appraisal of the dam

ages was so manifestly excessive that the eourt is

bound ino the Ontewest ol justice to order that the ex

vessive portion of it be remitted, This Was at Ione,
strous verdiet.” © * ° Certainly there was no rational
appraisal of-the evidence on the question of damages
in the light of what would be reasonable for the in
jury involved, ° °° ‘The forty-two thousand five
hundred dollar verdict wascso excessive. as to shock
the conscience of the court, ;

“Now the right of the court to revise a jury verdigt.
is a delicate one, and one this court is always slow to
exercise, but justice requires that course in this case.
We don’t know, and it would be speculative to say,
on what definite basis the jury arrived at such a ver-
dict, but it was certainly not on the evidence the court
heard during the trial. © ° * At any rate, it was so
excessive as to evince passion, prejudice and caprice
on the jury’s part, and the court's duty in the matter.
is very plain’? (App. L02a-103a). |
J The court regrets the necessity of saying so, but
under the evidence, that is, the substantial evidense in
the case, it is the court’s view that this verdict ‘should
be reduced to twenty-five thousand dollars. After this
reduction, it is still a very large verdict’ (App. 104a),

TRIAL JUDGE HAS DISURETIONARY POWER
TO ORDER A NEW TRIAL.

The Court of Appeais, in reversing the case, recognized
the established rule that the trial judge has the disere- |
tionary power to order a new trial, but held that it was
error to reduce the verdict ‘without giving appellant an
‘opportunity of either accepting a remittitur or. of having
anew trial. - Kennon v. Gilmer, 131 U.S. 22, 27-30; Dimick
v. Schiedt, 295 U.S. 474, 482-485."

It also held that upon remand the district court would
have the power either to grant a new trial generally or
of denying a new trial on condition that appellant accept

a judgment fora desser atmeouwat than the jury's verdiet. On
this potut, Wwe quoce Prous the decision of this Court 1h
Kennon v. Gilmer, 132 U.S. 22. whieh, after stating that it
had no authority. te pass upon any question of fact ine
volved in the consideration ot thre riotian Por at new trial.
held as follow ~;

Phe erronceus judeiment of the Supreme Court of
the Territory being reversed, the case will stand as if
no such judgment had been entered ; and that Court
will be ateljberty, in disposing of the motion for a new
trial, aceording to its view of the evidence either to
deny or to erant ao new trial generally) or to order
judgment for a less sum than the amount of the ver
dict. conditional ipou a remittitur by the plaintiff.”

Under Rule 50 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
the trial judge is authorized to grant a ew trial for any
of the reasons for whieh new trials had theretofore been
eranted in-actions at law, and for any of the reasons for
which new hearings had theretofore been eranted in suits
in equity ny the courts of the United States.

Under Rule 50 (d), the Court, of its own initiative, may
order a new trial for any reason for which it might: have
eranted a vew trial on motion of a party. and the order
shall specify the grounds therefor (Barron & Holtzoff,
Federal Practice & Procedure, See, 1202).

In fact, it is not only the power but the duty of the
judge who ix not satisfied with the verdict of a. jury, to
set the verdict aside and erant a new trial. Aetna Casualty
& Surety Co. v. Yeatts, 41h Cirenit, 122 BF. 2dejoo.

It is well settled that the cranting or refusing of a new
trial is a matter resting im the sound discretion of the trial
judge, and that his action thereon is not reviewable upon
appeal save if the most exceptional circumstances, Mont-
gomery Ward & Company v. Duncan, 311 U.S. 243; Fair-
mont Glassworks v. Cub Four Coal Co.* 287 U.S. 474. |

Hat the trial judge set aside the judgement and granted
ado onew trial, his action int so domme would tot have beeni
reviewable under the facts in this ease. but le reduced the
verdict instead of granting a rien trial, conditional pon a

remittitur bythe plaitiy,

It is clear of doubt that the respondent Was entitled to
anew trial, which petitioner contd have aveided by treat
ing the reduction made by the judge as a remattitur Fadil
ing io do that, he had no right to coriplain ofthe action
of the Court of Appeals ino remanding the case

No ground for’ cértiorari is set forth in the petition. The
lengthy petition (45 pages in length) fails to state a single
reason Why the writ of certiorari should be granted.

Its argument (pages 9-26) would be more appropriate
before a jury than the Supreme Court; moreover, it «i
rectly challenges the well-established remittitur practice
in Federal Courts (pages 21-22 of the Petition).

The Petition for Certiorari does not point out-any con
flict in decisions of the different circuits or any violation
of an applicable decision of this court, nor does it present
With accuracy, brevity and clearness whatever is essential
toa ready and adequate understanding ef the points. re-
quiring consideration as required by Rule 23 of this Court.

It is, therefore. respectfully submitted that the Petition
should be denied.
LL... GWINN,
725 Columbian Mutual Tower,
Memphis, Ternessee,
Attorney: for Respondent,

NELSON, NORVELL and FLOYD,
1001 Columbian Mutual Tower,
Memphis Tennessee,”
(OF Counsel).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_1312%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
