# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Edwards v. Velvac, Inc. (No. 1005)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_1284%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1956

## Text

MAY 15 1957

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1956

No. 1005

Lronarp C. Epwarps,
Petitioner
v.

Vexvac, Inc. and WaLLErR Carson
Respor:dents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

J. Preston SweckKer
Counsel for Petitioner

Of Counsel:
Wiu.iaM L. Marais
Swecker & Marais

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co. - RE 7.6002 - WASHINGTON 1, D. C.

PIE YP TNE AE ETS NON * way vem

INDEX

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Questions Presented
Rules and Statutes Involved
Statement of the Case

Argument

Conclusion

Appendix

Opinion of District Court, dated October 30, 1956
Notice of Appeal to Court of Appeals
Motion to Dismiss Appeal
Decision of Court of Appeals dated February 25,

1957
Motion to Reinstate Appeal
Decision of Court of Appeals dated March 27,

1957

Index of Decisions

Ackermann v. United States, 340 U.S. 1938, 197...........
Callaway v. Wolcott, 90 Cal. App. 753, 266 Pac, 574....
Commercial Credit Corp. v. United States (C.A. 8),

175 F. (2d) 905
Hill v. Hawes, 320 U.S. 520
Klapprott v. United States, 335 U.S. 601
Lewith v. Remke, 217 Cal. 563, 20 Pac. (2d) 687..........
Moore’s Federal Practice (2d Ed.), Vol. 7, page 14...
Perrin et al v. Aluminum Co. of America (C.A. 9),

197 F. (2d) 254
Stenzel v. Kronick, 201 Cal, 26, 255 Pac. 199_...............
-Tozer v. Charles A. Krause Milling Co. (C.A. 3),
189 F. (2d) 242 at

DARK PAGE BLEED TrRy

ae

INDEX (Continued )

PAGE

United States y, Wissahickon Tool Works, Ine. (C.A,
ET ici 5
Vieino y. Amador, 71 Cal. App. 604, 236 Pac. 369... 6

NOS PL
PEE LIE DRE LEI TRS NEF EROS .

Me toe: now

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1956

No.

Leonarp C. Epwarps,
Petitioner
v.

Vexvac, Inc. and WaLLER Carson
Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Leonard C. Edwards, prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgments of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, entered
on February 25, 1957 and on March 27, 1957, in Appeal
No. 11960, in said Court.

OPINIONS BELOW

Neither the Opinion of the District Court nor the
Judgments of the Court of Appeals have been reported.
They have been included in the record certified to this
Court and are included in the Appendix hereto, that of
the District Court at page 9, and of the Court of Ap-
peals at pages 17 and 18.

RR eRe OAR Se NRRL ARERR ee

jt

> DARK PAGE BLEED Typo),

9
=

- PAP Se ew ees LRA BER TE mn NOM
-

3

:

I

7

x

-

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the District Court was entered on
March 12, 1956. A timely appeal was filed therefrom to
the Court of Appeals, which appeal, by Order dated Feb-
ruary 25, 1957, was dismissed. A timely Motion was filed
thereafter for reinstatement of the appeal, or for that |
Court to state grounds for dismissal, which Motion was
denied on March 27, 1957.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under US.
Code, Title 28, Section 1254(1), and under Rule 19(1)(b)
of the Rules of the Supreme Court.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

; 1. Is a denial by the District Court of a motion under
‘ Rule 60(b), F.R.C.P., to vacate a final judgment, based
on (1) inadvertence or excusable neglect, appealable, and
should such decision be reviewed by the Court of Appeals?

2. Was the Court of Appeals justified in dismissing
timely appeal from decision of District Court denying
motion under Rule 60(b)(1) to vacate final judgment,
which motion was filed within period provided by Rule,
and in refusing to specify reasons for decision?

3. Is relief afforded under Rule 60(b)(1) where the
mistake, inadvertence, surprise or excusable neglect oc-
curred after the final judgment was entered, in perfect-
ing appeal?

&
i
3
=
s
oa
hs
4
'S
ba

RULES AND STATUTES INVOLVED
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

“RULE 60. RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT OR
ORDER

“(b) Mistakes; Tnadvertence; Excusable Neglect;
Newly Discovered Evidence; Fraud, ete. On Motion
and upon such terms as are just, the court may re-

| a PER RE SESE RN i Say ea aie» ee Ee eae

3

lieve a party or his legal representative from a final
judgment, order, or proceeding for the following rea-
sons: (1) mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable
neglect; ....”

U.S. Code, Title 28, Section 1291:
“$1291. Final Decisions of district courts

“The courts of appeals shall have jurisdiction of
appeals from all final decisions of the district courts
of the United States, the District Court for the Ter-
ritory of Alaska, the United States District Court
for the District of the Canal Zone, and the District
Court of the Virgin Islands, except where a direct
review may be had in the Supreme Court.”

California Code of Civil Procedure, Deering, 1937:

“Relief from judgment taken by mistake, etc. The
court may, upon such terms as may be just, relieve
a party or his legal representative from a judgment,
order, or other proceeding taken against him through
his mistake, inadvertence, surprise or excusable
neglect. Application for such relief must be accom-
panied by a copy of the answer or other pleading
proposed to be filed therein, otherwise the application
shall not be granted, and must be made within a
reasonable time, in no case exceeding six months,
after such judgment, order or proceeding was taken.”

.STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was filed in the District Court for the
Eastern District of Wisconsin, for infringement by the
Respondents of a United States patent issued to the Peti-
tioner. After trial, the District Court, on March 12, 1956,
entered an Order and Judgment dismissing the Complaint
herein. A Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit was filed on April 12, 1956. On
Motion made in the Court of Appeals, that Court entered
an Order on August 14, 1956, dismissing the appeal as
not timely filed.

a

+

On August 23, 1956, the Petitioner filed a Motion
the District Court to vacate, under Rule 60 of the Fed.
eral Rules of Civil Procedure, amend and reinstate the
District Court’s Final Order and Opinion. On October 30,
1956, the District Court entered an Order denying that
Motion (Appendix, infra, page 9).

The Motion had been predicated on both Sections (a)
and (b) of Rule 60, asking a clarification of the opinion
under Section (a) and to be relieved from the Judgment
73 under Section (b). Only Section (b) was involved in the
appeal to the Court of Appeals and it is only that por-
tion of the Motion which is material here.

Accompanying the Motion, affidavits (Appendix, infra,
pages 19 and 20) were filed in the District Court, estab-
lishing that the trial attorney had prepared a timely No-
tice of Appeal from the Judgment of March 12, 1956, which
was transmitted to the associate attorney in Milwaukee for
service and filing, but at the time that Notice reached the
office of the Milwaukee attorney, within the limit of time
for the filing of the same, he was then engaged in the
trial of another case, so that the Notice of Appeal did
not come to his personal attention until after the close
of business on the last day for filing the same, and he
failed to file the Notice until the following day, one day
late.

A timely Notice of Appeal (Appendix, infra, page 16)
from the decision of the District Court denying the Mo-
tion to Vacate, to the Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit. This appeal was dismissed by the Court of
Appeals (Appendix, infra, page 17).

The Petitioner filed a Motion (Appendix, infra, page
18) to reinstate that appeal or to state the grounds for
dismissal, which Motion was denied without explanation
(Appendix, infra, page 18).

=
ELENA TILLER IC ETN RHA aL EF LORRI —

5

ARGUMENT

The Decision of the District Court of October 30, 1956,
denied the Motion to Vacate the Judgment of March 12,
1956, upon an interpretation of Rule 60(b)(1), which ap-
pears to be in conflict with all applicable decisions and
with the plain import and meaning of the Rule.

It is well established that the Decision of a District
Court on a Motion to Vacate a Judgment under Rule
60(b) is a final decision under Section 1291 of U.S. Code,
Title 28. Under that provision of the Statute, the Court
of Appeals had jurisdiction of the appeal, timely filed,
from the decision of the District Court on the Motion un-
der Rule 60(b), dated October 30, 1956, This Court has
heretofore recognized that such decisions are appealable
and subject to review on appeal:

Ackermann v. United States, 340 U.S. 193
Klapprott v. United States, 335 U.S. 601

Likewise, other Courts of Appeals have reviewed, as
final decisions, orders granting or denying a motion un-
der Rule 60(b):

United States v. Wissahickon Tool Works, Inc.
(C.A. 2), 200 F. (2d) 936
Tozer v. Charles A. Krause Milling Co., (C.A.3),
189 F. (2d) 242
Commercial Credit Corp. v. United States (C.A.
8), 175 F. (2d) 905
Perrin et al v. Aluminum Co. of America,
(C.A. 9), 197 F. (2d) 254
Because the Court of Appeals failed and refused to
state any reasons for dismissal of the appeal, it is not
definitely known on what basis this appeal was dis-
missed, but it is clear from all authorities that the mat-
ter was appealable and Petitioner should have had an
opportunity for review by the Court of Appeals.

Such action by the Court of Appeals appears to bring

OIC RIO ILE BER TREE I OE NT GS ST ELLIE, SII PG A

6

this case within the provisions of Rule 19(1)(b) of the
Rules of the Supreme Court:

“(b) Where a court of appeals .. . has decided a
federal question in a way in conflict with applicable
decisions of this court; or has so far departed from
the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings,

- as to call for an exercise of this court’s power
of supervision.”

This Court has heretofore held that where there has
been delay in the filing of the appeal due to neglect, the
judgment should be vacated and reinstated so as to revive
the right of appeal. Hill y. Hawes, 320 U.S. 520. That
case involved neglect on the part of the Clerk in failing
to notify the attorney of the entry of judgment, and it
was not excusable neglect of the parties, but the principle
of thus vacating and reinstating the appeal for excusable
neglect is thus established.

The precise issue raised by the decision of the Dis-
trict Court with respect to the interpretation of Rule
60(b)(1) has not previously been determined by any Fed-
eral Court in reported cases. However, substantially the
identical language, as appears in the Rule, was used in
the California Statute, Section 473. The California
Courts have uniformly held that such language is appli-
cable to inadvertence or excusable neglect in perfecting
appeals. Callaway v. Wolcott, 90 Cal. App. 753, 266 Pac.
574; Stenzel v. Kronick, 201 Cal. 26, 255 Pace. 199; Vicino
v. Amador, 71 Cal. App. 604, 236 Pac. 369; Lewith v.
Remke, 217 Cal. 563, 20 Pac. (2d) 687).

Inasmuch as Rule 60(b), especially subdivision (1)
thereof, was based on Section 473 of the California Code
of Civil Procedure (Moore’s Federal Practice, Second
Edition, Vol. 7, p. 14), the California decisions interpret-
ing the similar language of that Statute may be referred
to for a proper interpretation of the language of the
Federal Rule adopted in conformity thereto.

, ¢ : - eS ees

7

Therefore, it appears that the District Court has com-
mitted an egregious error in interpreting Rule 60(b),
that the matter is fundamental and apparently of first
impression in this Court, and should be determined.

In any event, the Court of Appeals was in error in
dismissing the appeal because the matter was properly
appealable under the Statute, since the Decision of the
District Court was a Final Decision.

The Motion to Dismiss had raised the issue of timeli-
ness of the Motion under Rule 60(b), but inasmuch as
the record shows that the Motion was filed on August 23,
1956, to vacate a Final Judgment entered March 12, 1956,
it was well within the one year limitation applicable to
motions under Rule 60(b). Ackermann v. United States,
340 U.S. 193, 197.

The only other matter raised by the Motion to Dismiss
in the Court of Appeals was that the Court of Appeals
had already adjudicated the Petitioner’s rights by dis-
missing the previous appeal as not timely filed. The dis-
missal of the previous appeal was on the ground that the
Court of Appeals did not have jurisdiction, and without
jurisdiction the matter was not before the Court of Ap-
peals for determination of the merits of the appeal. Con-
sequently, the Court of Appeals could not and did not
adjudicate the rights of the Petitioner with respect to
the Motion under Rule 60(b).

Petitioner’s rights have suffered greviously in this
matter. Through inadvertence or excusable neglect of
his counsel, he was denied review of the decision of the
District Court on his cause of action. When he petitioned
under the Rule to correct that error, his petition was
denied, on a question of law. The Court of Appeals has
refused to review that decision. It is submitted that
such action was without justification.

Under the circumstances here involved, it is respect-
fully submitted that in all fairness to the Petitioner, the

Soest
See ;
Bee + a . i ARIE PRT EE) PSO LOS Ge REP

8

Court of Appeals should have, at least, stated its reasons
for dismissing the appeal, not only as an aid to the
Petitioner, but for the benefit of this Court in determin.
ing the present question, Consequently, the provision of
Rule 19(1)(b) of this Court would indicate that the Court
would be justified in exercising its power of supervision
in the interest of accomplishing justice to the Petitioner
and in affording Petitioner an opportunity to present and
to have determined by the Appellate Court the question
of compliance with a reasonable interpretation of Rule

60(b).

iia i a

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Preston Swecker
Counsel for Petitioner

LASER thon SB) Willa ale :

i
s
|
|

Of Counsel:
WuuiamM L. Martuis
Swecker & Maruis

RS at

9
APPENDIX

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

Civil Action No. 5764

LEONARD C. EDWARDS,
d/b/as Edwards Air Hose Bracket Company,
Sapulpa, Oklahoma,
Plaintiff,
v.

VELVAC, INC., and WALLER CARSON
3530 West Pierce Street

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Defendants.

OPINION

Plaintiff has filed with this court a motion to vacate,
amend and reinstate its final order and opinion of March
12, 1956 (reported at 140 F. Supp. 936). He relies on
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 60(a) relating to
Clerical Mistakes, and Rule 60(b) providing for relief
from Mistakes; Inadvertence; Excusable Neglect; Newly
Discovered Evidence; Fraud, ete., and asks that the find-
ings of fact contained in the opinion be amended in two

respects :

“1. State whether the ‘triangular bracket, old in the
art’, referred to on page 8 of the Court’s Opinion, is
the same as the hose bracket for tractors referred to
in the depositions described on page 4 of that same
Opinion; and

2. State whether the ‘aggregation’, referred to in

the last paragraph on 8 of the Court’s Opinion,
is the aggregation of the triangular bracket referred

to in the depositions, with a spring, which the Court

10

also found to be old in the art, according to the para-
graph next before the last on page 8 of the Court's
pinion.”

It should be emphasized at the outset that this is not
a case where the moving party has not had his day in
court. After issue was joined, the matter was fully pre-
tried, and after the provisions of the pre-trial order had
been complied with, the matter was called up for trial.
No suggestion has been made in this case that in the two
days afforded for trial, both sides did not have adequate
opportunity to present all their proofs. After all of the
evidence was in, substantial time was allowed for the
filing of briefs. After careful study of the transcript of
testimony and the briefs submitted, this court filed a
written twenty-page opinion which stands as the findings
of fact and conclusions of law in this case, and ordered
dismissal of the action on its merits. On the same day,
copies of the opinion and order of this court were mailed
to the attorneys for the parties pursuant to Rule 77(d)
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. No issue is
raised that the notices so mailed were not promptly re-
ceived by the parties.

We believe it reasonable to infer both from his failure
to avail himself of his rights to move within the time
limits of appropriate rules for a new trial or amendment
of the judgment, and from his subsequent course of
action, that plaintiff determined to seek his further relief
in the Court of Appeals and not in the trial court.

In prosecuting his appeal, however, plaintiff-appellant
did not file his notice of appeal with the District Court
until April 12, 1956, which was one day late in comply-
ing with the provisions of Rule 73(a). In this respect
it should be observed that no application was made to
the trial court for enlargement of the thirty-day period
upon the sole ground allowable under that rule, towit,
upon a showing of “excusable neglect based on a failure
of a party to learn of the entry of the judgment.”

EE

11

On or about July 31, 1956, defendants filed a motion be-
fore the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit to dismiss the appeal herein on the ground that
the notice of appeal was not filed within the time fixed
by Rule 73(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,
that is, within thirty days from the entry of the final
order dismissing the plaintiff’s action. By answer of
August 9, 1956, with supporting affidavit of August 7,
1956, presented before that court, the plaintiff opposed
the defendants’ motion to dismiss the appeal. The sup-
porting affidavit set forth the reason for the late filing
of the notice of appeal, it being occasioned by the fact
that plaintiff’s Milwaukee counsel was engaged in a jury
trial on April 11, 1956, and plaintiff’s Washington D. C.
counsel’s air mail letter of April 9, 1956, with notice of
appeal enclosure did not come to his personal attention
until after the close of the working day on April 11, 1956.
The Milwaukee attorney thereupon filed it on the morning
of April 12, 1956, thirty-one days after the final order of
this court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Circuit in its Mandate dated August 14, 1956, dismissed
the plaintiff’s appeal as not timely made, it not appear-
ing that the plaintiff had applied for or obtained an ex-
tension of time.

Shortly thereafter, and on August 23, 1956, the plain-
tiff filed with this court his motion to vacate, amend and
reinstate, hereinbefore described.

The conclusion is inescapable that the plaintiff has now
turned to this District Court in a last desperate effort to
qualify his case for review before the Court of Appeals.
It is obviously his purpose and hope by means of the
motion before us to persuade this court to vacate the
order, make certain “clarifying amendments” to the find-
ings of fact contained in the opinion and then enter a
new order of dismissal. Since the net result of this whole
operation proposed by plaintiff is, admittedly and at best,

went aciig MEANS OEY EA ASR tit to tcsigs ats

B50 ERAN ia ain coon MAILE

12

a correction of alleged clerical errors, we can only con-
clude that he assumes that a new thirty-day period will
commence to run as of the date of the re-entered order
within which he may take his appeal.

We recognize that the plaintiff finds himself in a dif.
ficult and embarrasing plight, and while we would ordi-
narily be sympathetic, that plight does not justify a
warped and distorted application of Rules 60(a) or 60(b)
or any rule of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

It is apparent from plaintiff's opening memorandum
filed shortly after the motion that he regards the mat-
ters, wherein he asks for amendment or clarification, as
clerical mistakes or errors arising from oversight or omis-
sion from which relief can be had under the following
rule, 60(a): ;

“(a) CLERICAL MISTAKES. Clerical mistakes in
judgments, orders or other parts of the record and
errors therein arising from oversight or omission may
be corrected by the court at any time of its own
initiative or on the motion of any party and after
such notice, if any, as the court orders. During the
pendency of an appeal, such mistakes may be so cor-
rected before the appeal is docketed in the appellate
court, and thereafter while the appeal is pending may
be so corrected with leave of the appellate court.”

It is diffieult to treat seriously plaintiff’s motion for
“clarifying amendments” to the findings of fact. Counsel
himself apparently recognizes the insubstantiality of his
position by having accorded it only the most passing ref-
erence in his memoranda and oral argument. The only
references made by him in his two memoranda are the
following:

First Memorandum (Concluding Paragraph) :

“While doing so, it is respectfully suggested that the
meaning of the Court’s Opinion would be clarified in
the two particulars mentioned on page 8 thereof, if
it be made clear that the triangular bracket, old in

PELIINGAOR DS HIRE TRING NOIR UR

13

the art, is the same hose bracket referred to in the
depositions, and also in the holding with respect to
‘aggregation’, that it is the hose bracket which the
Court found to be old according to the depositions,
combined with the spring which the Court also found
to be old. These points would clarify the meaning,
it is submitted, which the Court apparently intended.”
(Underlining ours.)

Second Memorandum (Concluding Paragraphs) :

“While the motion refers to the amendment of the
Findings of Fact, this is not a motion under Rule 59
for major changes in the Findings of Fact. It is a
motion under Rule 60(a) for the correction of clerical
mistakes, merely the identification of the parts re-
ferred to, which it is quite apparent the Court evi-
dently intended, (Underlining ours)

That sort of mistake can be corrected at any time.
There is no limitation thereon according to the Rule.
The Court would be justified, it is believed, in with-
drawing the Judgment and Findings of Fact to cor-
rect such formal errors for clarification.”

Where the intention of the court is “evident” and “ap-
parent” as is here acknowledged by counsel, no grounds
exist for amendment under Rule 60(a). The motion for
relief in respect to Rule 60(a) is denied.

The contention presented in plaintiff’s first memoran-
dum that Rule 60(b) had some application in this case
was completely unsupported in that this court was of-
fered no instance of “mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or
excusable neglect,” or anything of any nature either in
the form of affidavit or by reference to any portion of
the record before this court or the Court of Appeals to
justify the use of this rule. Several weeks later, how-
ever, on September 28, 1956, the plaintiff, in an apparent
attempt to supply grounds for the invocation of Rule
60(b) filed an affidavit relating to efforts of Washington
and local counsel to file the notice of appeal. This affi-
davit was substantially to the same effect as the affidavit

a Maan eh tr erences Sete tet ee

14

dated August 7, 1956, filed in the Court of Appeals, by
the plaintiff in Opposition to defendants’ motion for dis.
missal of the appeal.

It is apparent from the substantially more extended
treatment given on oral argument and written memoranda,
that the plaintiff places greater, if not total reliance on
this second contention that he is entitled to relief under
Rule 60 (b)(1) and (6). His position in this respect is
as devoid of merit as his first contention. Rule 60 (b) (1)
and (6) in the respects urged, provides that:

“... the court may relieve a party .. . from a final
judgment, order, or proceeding for the following rea-
Sons: (1) mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusa-
ble neglect; . . . or (6) any other reason justifying
relief from the operation of the judgment,”

It should be emphasized at the outset that the express
purpose of Rule 60(b) is to provide the court with the
means of relieving a party from the oppression of a final
judgment or order upon a proper showing. Plaintiff's
motion is in no wise in accord with this fundamental
purpose. While he does move that the final order be va-
cated and amended, he also asks that that identical final
order be reinstated. In other words, the burden of the
final order or judgment would still be in operation.

5 ADEE AAS SRO pb ON aR NOT at ait oe at

Plaintiff has specified but two respects in which he asks
for amendment of the findings of fact. He himself has
minimized them as “clerical errors” correctible under Rule
60(a), and we have accordingly dealt with them under such
section. The most favorable intendment under the con-
fused state of the pleadings that we ean give him is that
he also urges that these self-styled “clerical error” amend-
ments be made under Rule 60\b), if leave is denied under
Rule 60(a). Even if such relief were to be given, and the
final order were reinstated, the burden of that final order

BS” A TCE ST

15

rially unchanged. It would seem unnecessary to observe
that unless the purpose for which the rule was enacted
can be achieved, it should not be employed. The plain-
tiff does not and cannot point to any instance of mis-
take, inadvertence, surprise or excusable neglect, the hap-
pening of which resulted in the entry of the judgment from
which he asks relief. The only act or omission which is
urged as an instance of excusable neglect or inadvertence
is one which relates solely to an essential step in the ap-
peals procedure. While Rule 60(b)(1) does not expressly
say that a showing must be made that the final judgment,
order, or proceeding was entered because of mistake, in-
advertence, surprise, or excusable neglect, it appears to
us implicit under the rule. Since it clearly appears that
plaintiff does not in reality seek the relief to be afforded
by 60(b), and obviously cannot demonstrate a relevant
instance of excusable neglect, his motion in this respect
must be denied.

Rule 60(b) and its counterparts in state statutes, have
proven themselves to be valuable, equitable and humane
discretionary powers by which courts have been able to
relieve the oppressed from the burden of judgments un-
fairly, fraudulently or mistakenly entered. To use Rule
60(b) for the purpose of circumventing another rule, in
this case Rule 73(a), would be a perversion of the rule
and its purpose.

Whether the grant of the relief asked for here—vaca-
tion, amendment and reinstatement of the final order or
judgment—would in a meritorious case have the effect of
establishing new limits within which to file notice of ap-
peal was not presented and it not decided.

Plaintiff’s motion to vacate, amend and reinstate this
court’s final order of March 12, 1956, is denied.

Dated, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, this 30th day of October,
1956.

Rosert E. Texan
U. S. District Judge

BS IEE LER PORES DAI, PAIN OEE ID

16 :

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO COURT OF APPEALS

Notice is hereby given that Leonard C. Edwards, d/b/a
Edwards Air Hose Bracket Company, Plaintiff, hereby
appeals to the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
from the final Order of this Court, entered herein on
October 30, 1956, in the above-entitled action, denying
Plaintiff’s Motion to Vacate, Amend and Reinstate its
Final Order and Opinion of March 12, 1956.

MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

Appellees, Velvac, Ine. and Waller Carson, move the
court to dismiss the plaintiff-appellant’s appeal herein
from the order of this United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Wisconsin entered on October 30,
1956, denying plaintiff's motion to vacate, amend and
reinstate its final order of March 12, 1956, on the grounds
that plaintiff-appellant’s motion was not timely made and
that the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh
Cireuit as already adjudicated the plaintiff-appellant’s
rights when on October 14, 1956, it dismissed the plain-
tiff-appellant’s appeal from the United States District
Court’s final order which dismissed plaintiff's complaint
on the grounds that the plaintiff-appellant had not filed
its notice of appeal within time fixed by Rule 73(a) of
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Dated February 8, 1957.

cd A KAsiy

——

17

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago 10, Illinois
February 25, 1957

Before

Hon. F. RYAN DUFFY, CHIEF JUDGE
Hon. WALTER C. LINDLEY, CIRCUIT JUDGE

No. 11960

LEONARD C. EDWARDS, d/b/a
EDWARDS AIR HOSE BRACKET COMPANY,
Plaintiff-A ppellant
v.

VELVAC, INC., WALLER CARSON
and H, R. SALTER,
Defendants-A ppellees

~ Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Wisconsin.

On consideration of the motion of Velvac, Inc. and
Waller Carson, defendants and appellees, that the appeal
to this Court by Leonard C. Edwards, d/b/a Edwards
Air Hose Bracket Company, plaintiff and appellant, from
the order of the United States District Court entered on
October 30, 1956 be dismissed, the answer thereto of
plaintiff-appellant, and the briefs of counsel for the
parties, the Court being fully advised in the premises,

IT IS ORDERED, that said motion to dismiss said ap-
peal be, and the same hereby is, granted, and that said
appeal be, and the same hereby is, dismissed.

—_— —

ore ae

—

18

MOTION TO REINSTATE APPEAL OR STATE
THE GROUNDS FOR DISMISSAL

Now comes the Plaintiff-Appellant in the above-entitled
cause, and moves the Court for an Order to vacate the
Order dated February 25, 1957 and to reinstate this ap-
peal, which was ordered dismissed thereby, or to state
the grounds for dismissal of the appeal.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago 10, Illinois
March 27, 1957
Before

Hon. F. RYAN DUFFY, CHIEF JUDGE
Hon. WALTER C. LINDLEY, CIRCUIT JUDGE

No. 11960

LEONARD (. EDWARDS, d/b/a
EDWARDS AIR HOSE BRACKET COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant
v.

VELVAC, INC., WALLER CARSON
and H, R. SALTER,
Defendants-Appellees

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Wiconsin,

On March 12, 1956 the District Court for the Eastern
District of Wisconsin entered an order and judgment

. Spree pan
LIN / CURIE cial PINON MAIN NOP IMAP HOD ONLI IOS ‘

_—_7_

19

dismissing the complaint herein. A notice of appeal to
this Court was filed by plaintiff in the District Court on
April 12, 1956. On motion duly made this Court, on
August 14, 1956, entered an order dismissing the appeal
as not timely filed. On August 23, 1956 plaintiff-appellant
filed a motion in the District Court to vacate, amend and
reinstate the District Court’s final order and opinion, as-
serting that said motion was based upon Rules 60(a) and
60(b) Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. On October 30,
1956 the District Court entered an order denying the
motion to vacate, amend and reinstate. Plaintiff ap-
pealed to this Court from that order. On motion duly
made this Court, on February 25, 1957 entered an order
dismissing said appeal. On March 6, 1957 plaintiff-
appellant filed in this Court a “motion to reinstate appeal
or state the grounds for dismissal.” Plaintiff’s attorney
filed a brief supporting said motion. On October 13, 1957,
defendants-appellees filed an answer, which answer incor-
porated a citation of authorities. On March 14, 1957
plaintiff-appellant filed a motion for leave to file a reply
memorandum.

IT IS ORDERED:

1) Leave is granted for plaintiff to file the proffered
reply memorandum;

2) The motion of plaintiff-appellant to reinstate its
appeal or for this Court to state grounds for dismissal
be and the same is hereby denied.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_1284%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
