# Petition for A Writ of Certiorari — Barkey Importing Co. v. Iravani Mottaghi (No. 1089)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_1281%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for A Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1956

## Text

FILED

Nia 19

JOHN J. FEY, C

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
Oocrosrr Term 1956
nc 1089
BARKEY IMPORTING CO.,
Petitioner,

V.

M. SHAFI IRAVANI MOTTAGHI

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

Ismpor J. KRESEL,
Attorney for Petitioner,
15 Broad Street,
New York 5, New York.

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

Orrmnions BeLow

JURISDICTION

Questions PRESENTED .

SraTEMENT
(A) The Basic Facts.
The Settlement

(B) The Causes of Action
First Cause of Action
Second Cause of Action
Third Cause of Action
Fourth Cause of Action.
Sixth Cause of Action.
Tenth Cause of Action
Fifth Cause of Action
Seventh and Eighth Causes of Action

The Counterclaim

(O) The Decision of the Court of Appeals

Basis ror FEpERaL JURISDICTION

Reasons ror Grantine THE Writ.

Conciusions

PAGE
2
2
3
3
3
6
8
8

—
o

ii

Taste or Cases.

Barnsdall Refining Corp. v. Birnamwood Oil Co., 32 F.
Supp. 308, 313 (D. C. E. D. Wisconsin)
Bulky v. Kaolin Products Co., Inc., 187 App. Div.
(N. v.) 103, 108

Coffin v. The President etc. Hydraulic Co., 136 N. Y.
655 yi)
Farley v. Hill, 150 U. S. 572 17

Gideon v. Hinds, 238 F. 140 (2 Cir.) 21
Gindorff v. Prince, 189 F. 2d 897 (2 Cir.) 0... 20

Harding v. Federal Nat. Bank, 31 F. 2d 914, 917
(1 Cir.)
Historical Pub. Co. v. Jones Bros. Pub. Co., 231 Fed.
638, 644 (3 Cir.)

Libbey-Owens-Ford Glass Co. v. Sylvania Indust.
Corp., 154 F. 2d 814, 816 (2 Cir.) 20

Lindheimer v. Illinois Telephone Co., 292 U. S. 151
176

Patent & Licensing Corp. v. Olsen, 188 F. 2d 522, 525
(2 Cir.) 20

New York Life v. Graham, 92 F. 2d 377, 380 (9 Cir.). 20
Snell Isle, Incorporated v. Commissioner, 90 F. 2d

?

481, 482 (5 Cir.), Cert. den. 302 U. S. 734. 22
Summa v. Masterson, 215 App. Div. IN. V.] 159. E. 17
Tisdale v. R. Co., 116 N. V. 416, 419 20
United States v. U. S. Gypsum, 333 U. S. 364, 395

(1948) 20, 23

AUTHORITIES.
32 C. J. S. $774, p. 700 22

Wigmore on Evidence, Second Edition, Vol. 2,
$1064, p. 536 19

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term 1956

No.

Barxsy Importine Co.,
Petitioner,
v.

M. Swarr IRAva NI Morracar

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

To TRR HonoraBLe THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND THE Asso-
CUTE JUSTICES OF THE SupREME Court oF THE UNITED
Srares.

Your petitioner, Barkey Importing Co., respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari be issued out of and under the
seal of this Court to review the decision of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, rendered on March
29, 1957, as amended on April 29, 1957 and May 15, 1957,
which reversed a judgment of the United States District
Court in favor of petitioner, the defendant below, on an
admitted counterclaim for $139,723.31 and remanded the
same for further proceedings; the said Court of Appeals
also reversed the action of the District Court in dismissing
nine of ten causes of action of respondent’s amended com-
plaint on the merits, directed the entry of judgment for

. —
2

the respondent on four of those causes of action and
remanded the other five causes of action to the District
Court for further proceedings. The Court affirmed the
action of the District Court in dismissing the ninth cause
of action on the merits.

Opinions Below.

The opinion of the district court is reported in 134 F.
Supp. 719.*

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, as well as the
amendments thereto have not yet been officially reported.
The original opinion appears in the record (V-391-430)**
as do the amendments (V-452-453, VI-4).

Jurisdiction.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Second
Cireuit was filed on March 29, 1957 ; petition for rehearing
denied, opinion amended by opinion filed on April 29, 1957.
On May 15, 1957 an order was made by that Court staying
the mandate for thirty (30) days pending the filing of
this petition for certiorari, and at the same time the original
opinion was again amended. The final judgment as
amended is dated May 15, 1947.

Jurisdiction to review this case upon writ of certiorari
is conferred upon this Court by 28 U. S. C. §1254(1).

* Inasmuch as nine additional copies of the record as printed
for the use of the Court of Appeals have been filed pursuant to
Rule 21(4), the opinion of the District Court is not appended to
this Petition. Rule 23 (Ii). However, in view of the length of
said opinion, for the convenience of the Court nine additional
copies are filed herewith.

** References to the certified record will be to volume and
page.

3

Questions Presented.

1. Whether a Court of Appeals has the power to
reverse, set aside and remand a judgment in favor of the
defendant on a counterclaim, that had been admitted in
the plaintiff’s pleadings, his brief submitted to the trial
court and in his oral testimony.

2. Whether a Court of Appeals has the power to permit
a party for the first time to contest in that Court, a counter-
claim conceded at the trial.

3. Whether a Court of Appeals may set aside the
findings of fact of a District Court without holding that
such findings are ‘‘clearly erroneous’’.

4. Whether a Court of Appeals may, by reversing a
final finding in favor of a defendant, reinstate tentative
findings against him, from which he had no right of appeal;
direct that judgment be entered thereon and thus cast the

party into judgment with no right of appeal.

5. Whether a Court of Appeals may take a written
exhibit, offered without qualification by a plaintiff, give
effect to the part thereof favorable to such party while
refusing to take cognizance of part of the same exhibit
harmful to the party offering the same.

Statement.

(A) The Basic Facts.
This is a contract action by M. Shafi Iravani Mottaghi
(hereinafter Travani), a citizen of Iran, against Barkey

Importing Co. Inc., a New York corporation (hereinafter
BIC).

4

The amended complaint contained ten causes of action,
The answer put in issue its material allegations. It also
pleaded, among other defenses, an agreement of settle
ment and a counterclaim in two counts.

Trial of the action began on October 4, 1954, before
Noonan, D. J. and a jury. After eight days of trial, the
jury, at the request of counsel for both sides, was dis-
missed, and the trial then was continued before the Trial
Judge alone for five additional court days.

In addition to oral testimony offered by each side,
there were received in evidence approximately 200 exhibits,
Upon the conclusion of the trial, briefs were submitted to
the Court by each of the parties.

The Trial Court wrote an opinion of 84 pages that
included its findings of fact and conclusions of law (134
F. Supp. 719-802). In it, the Court ultimately found against
the plaintiff on each of his ten causes of action, and in
favor of the defendant on the latter’s counterclaim as
admitted by the plaintiff. Consequently, the trial resulted
in a judgment for BIC not only dismissing the plaintiff's
ten causes of action but, granting a judgment for
$139,723.31 on the defendant’s counterclaim.

The action arises out of a number of carpet wool trans-
actions between the plaintiff and the defendant. Iravani
was an importer and exporter of various commodities. His
place of business was in Teheran, Iran, while BIC was an
importer of carpet wools located in New York City.

Travani did business on a large scale. The transactions
that gave rise to this controversy were his first efforts in
the export of wool (I-3). In New York City, he was rep-
resented by one Randolph Valensi, a broker or agent for
various exporters of wool and other commodities to the
United States. Valensi had been Iravani’s agent since
February of 1947 or 1948—about two or three years before
Iravani’s first transaction with BIC.

—

Iravani entered into four written contracts with BIC
to sell to the latter wool to be shipped by plaintiff from Iran.
The first three contracts were made in New York City
through Iravani’s agent, while the fourth was made with
Iravani personally at Teheran through BIC’s agent, one
Kitching, who died before the trial.

The first contract, dated December 8, 1949, provided for
350 tons of greasy white wool at a price of 60¢ per net
pound clean basis (i. e., the pounds yielded after scouring
and removal of impurities in the United States) (I-45).
The second contract, dated April 17, 1950, provided for 300
tons of white wool at 70¢ per clean pound (I-5). The third
contract, dated April 21, 1950, provided for 100 tons of
cream wool, or second white, at 60¢ per clean pound (I-6).
The fourth contract, dated June 30, 1950, provided for 200
tons of white wool at 85¢ and 200 tons of cream wool at 75¢.
This fourth contract was by its terms made contingent upon
performance by Iravani of his obligations under the first
three contracts (I-6-7).

Each of the written contracts contained the seller’s
estimate of the yield. This was necessary, because the
amount eventually to be paid was to be calculated on a per
net pound clean basis i. e., the pounds yielded after the
scouring and removal in the United States of impurities in
the wool as shipped.

BIC opened a letter of credit in connection with the first
contract. In connection with the second contract, a letter
of credit was opened but was made unavailable until the
first credit had been fully utilized (I-10).

Caught in a rising market, Iravani succeeded in gaining
concessions from BIC, among them, the deletion of the
restrictive clause on the second letter of credit on June 19,
1950, and the opening of a letter of credit applicable to the
fourth contract on or about October 9, 1950 (I-11, 66).

6

Although the first contract required shipment not later
than February 15, 1950, Iravani made his first partial ship-
ment against said contract on April 7th, 1950. Even before
this date, BIC, because of Iravani’s defaults, early in 1950,
sent Valensi and Kitching, at its own expense, to Teheran,
in order to hasten shipments of the wool. In spite of this,
on July 7, 1950, after his return to this country, Valensi
informed Iravani that although the first contract was then
seven months old, BIC had received only 75 tons of off-
grade wools and was in default with its customers (I-27).
Included among said wools were quantities of colored
wools. On or about August 18, 1950, BIC contracted with
Iravani to purchase colored wools at a price of 42 cents
(I-14).

After the first shipment Iravani refused to accept pay-
ments of 60 cents per pound for white wool. Consequently,
he held back on forwarding his invoices. The Lemsterkirk,
for example, sailed on May 21, 1950. Iravani drew three
invoices against said shipment, one dated July 6th, at 60
cents; one dated July 6th at 70 cents; and one dated
December 5th, 1950 at 60 cents (III- 205, 219, 257).

The Settlement: Iravani arrived in the United States
on January 28, 1951. At that time, the Bankers Trust Co.
presented to BIC two drafts drawn by Iravani totalling
approximately $430,000 (III-209, 230). According to BIC’s
allocation of Iravani’s shipments, there was insufficient
credit in his favor to pay said drafts. In addition, confu-
sion had been engendered by Iravani’s delays in shipping
and by the several special agreements and modifications
of Iravani’s obligations to perform. The condition was
such as to amply justify the District Court’s findings that
the disputes between the parties which are the subjects of
the early causes of action developed before or shortly after
Travani’s arrival, so that the existing situation required
some sort of settlement (I-107).

7

The correspondence in November and December of
1950 indicates that Iravani was urged to come here speci-
fically to settle ‘‘all pending accounts including unfinished
contracts’’ (Barkey’s cable of November 22nd at I-91; see
also I-68, 93 and III- 268).

On March 8, 1951, Iravani’s agent, Valensi, drew a
memorandum of a conference at which Valensi, Iravani
and Barkey had been present, wherein he reported Mr.
Barkey stating: ‘‘that he and Mr. Iravani had arrived at
a final settlement concerning their old business’’. This
memorandum was offered in evidence by Iravani (I-120,
150) and is quoted at length (post p. 16).

On March 14, 1951, Valensi wrote to Iravani in
respect of the 142 bales consignment (Third Cause of

Action), stating: ‘‘We are now given to understand that
you have arrived at a final settlement with Barkey Import-
ing Company, in which is included this accounting’’ (I-57,
58).

As to the terms of the settlement, the District Court
found as follows in respect of BIC’s testimony thereon.

„Barkey testified as to the terms of the settle-
ment agreement that Iravani was to ship 150 tons of
white wool at $1.10 per pound, the half-and-half
agreement was to be set aside, Iravani was to get
billed values* less 5% for wool in fulfilling his second
formal contract, and the fourth formal contract was
to be cancelled’’ (I-140).

And in respect of Iravani’s testimony, the Dictrict
Court found (I-140):

* * The term ‘‘billed values meant that on all future shipments
with the shipment on the Steel Artisan, which arrived
February 4th, 1951, other than shipments on account of the 150
tons arrangement, Iravani was to be paid at the rate per pound
which BIC received from the mills to which it sold he particular
wool in question less 5%.

—

8

„He was to ship 150 tons of white wool at $1.25,
the half-and-half agreement and the four formal
contracts as amended were to remain in effect as far
as already executed and be cancelled to the extent
that he still owed wool under them and the 395 ton
consignment arrangement remained valid with prices
at 95% of Barkey’s prices.

The Court of Appeals not only accepted Iravani’s ver-
sion of the settlement, but, indeed, went a step further to
include in the settlement agreement an alleged additional
contract of joint venture between the parties which Iravani
had never claimed to have been part of the settlement
(V-405, 419, 422). It refused to credit the documentary
proof that Iravani himself had offered.

The Court of Appeals also found that at the time Ira-
vani arrived in New York, i. e., prior to the settlement, he
had shipped 850 tons against the four written contracts
which called for a ictal of 1,140 tons (V-404). Thus, prior

to the settlement, BIC had the right to receive 290 tons at
prices of 70 cents and 85 cents. As the Court of Appeals
decided the case, the position of BIC following the settle-
ment, was that it had the right to receive 150 tons of white
wool at $1.25 and to continue to remain obligated on claims
that had theretofore accrued in Iravani's favor.

(B) The Causes of Action.

Note: The District Court found that the first, second,
third and fourth causes of action were released and dis-
charged by the agreement of settlement made by the parties.

First Cause of Action: The first cause of action is based
on a separate agreement, distinct from the four written
contracts, which may be referred to as the color-averaging
agreement. This agreement purportedly made about August

9

23, 1950, related to portions of the shipments aboard
three specific ships, two of which had already arrived in
New York City (Lemsterkirk had arrived July 17, 1950;
Designer had arrived July 20th; and the third, Lindekirk
had sailed August 5, 1950). The agreement provided for
invoicing said portions at sixty cents per pound, being the
average between sqventy cents for white, and forty two
cents for colored wools (I-15). Although the agreement was
made about August 23, 1950 nothing further was heard with
respect to same until three invoices covering the balance
of wools on said three ships arrived in January of 1951.
At the same time Iravani deiivered a fourth invoice cover-
ing wools on the Laagkirk, a ship that was not included in
the color-averaging agreement. All of the invoices were
dated December 5, 1950 and billed the wools at the rate of
60 cents. There was no allocation as between white and
colored wools, and there was nothing to indicate that they
were indeed drawn pursuant to the color-averaging agree-
ment (III-205, 207, 209, 211).

When these particular wools were delivered to it months
earlier, BIC had charged them off against wools due under
the first written contract and had credited Iravani there-
for at 60 cents. In making its allocations to contracts,
BIC proceeded to allocate chronologically, i.e., against the
first written contract until fully performed. It did so
because it was utterly impossible to do otherwise. In the
first place Iravani consistently was late in his invoicing.
In the second place he withheld documents. In the third
place his shipments were forwarded with incomplete or
untintelligible documentation (I-44; III. 183, 186, 187, 188,
190, 204, 259).

The gravamen of the first cause of action is Iravani’s
claim that he was entitled to 70 cents per pound on the white
wools covered by the four invoices. The District Court

10

disallowed the claim on the fourth invoice relating to the
S. S. Leagkirk and the Court of Appeals also rejected the
claim. However, the District Court tentatively found that
Iravani was entitled to ten cents per pound on the three
other invoices, unless his claim therefor had been exting-
uished by a subsequent settlement. Concluding ultimately
that the settlement agreement did extinguish the claim,
the District Court held for BIC on this cause of action
(V-412).

Second Cause of Action: The second cause of action is
predicated upon a second special agreement between the
parties to give financial assistance to Iravani. The corre-
spondence in early August of 1950 evidences a price-aver-
aging agreement whereby Iravani was authorized to invoice
half of a shipment at 60 cents and the other half at 70
cents, contingent, however, upon Iravani delivering the
balance of wool due to BIC under the old contracts by
shipping them by the first available steamer from Khor-
ramshah (I-12).

In June and July of 1950, Iravani in Iran delivered four
invoices at 70 cents to Kitching, BIC’s representative, and
BIC paid the amounts as invoiced.

Though performance by BIC of the price-averaging
agreement was subject to the condition precedent that
Iravani must first complete the first and second contract
by the first available steamer, he failed to do so. Also,
said agreement required Iravani to invoice at 60 cents
in respect of half of all future shipments. This in
effect, he likewise failed to do. While he did invoice at
60 cents in respect of the four invoices covered by the first
cause of action, he proceeded to demand 70 cents thereon.

Now, if Iravani had performed said price-averaging
agreement, both the first and second written contracts

=

11

would have been fulfilled and the accounting would have
evened itself out. Iravani failed to perform and BIC has
been penalized because of such failure.

The District Court tentatively allowed additional credit
to Iravani on three of the four invoices and denied recovery
on the Designer invoice, holding that it had not been suffi-
ciently identified. It concluded ultimately that said claim
was extinguished by the subsequent settlement. The Court
of Appeals reversed said finding on the ground that the
claim was not embraced within the settlement, and granted
additional credit at the rate of ten cents per pound on the
three invoices and on the fourth as well (V-413).

In respect of the fourth invoice (Steel Designer, dated
July 6, 1950), the Court of Appeals relied upon a letter of
BIC to Kitching dated June 7th, which long antedated the
price-averaging agreement and also antedated the deletion
of the restrictive clause from the second letter of credit.

Third Cause of Action: Iravani’s claim is based upon
another special agreement which involved a consignment
of 142 bales to be sold for his account and for which he
was to be credited at the market price on the day of arrival,
provided that he completed the written contracts (1-53-54).
BIC credited him thereon at 85 cents for white wool. The
District Court found the market price for white wool on
the arrival date to be 91 cents, and tentatively granted
Iravani additional credit at the rate of 6 cents per pound.
However, the District Court made a specific finding that
Valensi’s letter of March 14, 1951 (1-57) pointed to the
disposition of said claim in the settlement (I-58). The
Court of Appeals reversed, and granted Iravani additional
credit in the amount tentatively found by the District Court
(V-414).

12

Fourth Cause of Action: This cause of action is based
upon the half-and-half agreement of September 25, 1950.
Under it Iravani was authorized to allocate his future
shipments, half against his written contracts and half to
be sold for his account at market (I-38).

In a letter dated November 23, 1950, Iravani stated that
he was invoicing, pursuant to the half-and-half agreement,
wool on two earlier shipments (i. e., SS. Lissekirk and S8.
Lindekirk notwithstanding the fact that both had been
expressly excluded from that agreement (Exh. 115, I-38)
and he urged that said agreement covered all previous
shipments (I-44).

The four invoices drawn pursuant to the half-and-half
agreement included the two that had been excluded. Both
Courts disallowed additional credit thereon.

In respect of the two remaining invoices (SS. Designer
and SS. Artisan) the District Court tentatively found addi-
tional credit in the sum of $73,017.94, but finally held that

it was wiped out by the settlement agreement. BIC had
contended at the trial that the limit of Iravani’s claim
should be $54,643.77. The Court of Appeals reversed the
District Court’s finding as to the settlement, and directed
the entry of judgment in the amount tentatively found by
the District Court.

Note: Because the Sixth and Tenth causes of action are
closely related to the settlement agreement, we beg leave
to interrupt the chronological order of discussing the causes
of action in order to consider the Sixth and Tenth causes
at this point.

Sixth Cause of Action: This cause of action is founded
on Iravani's claim that 395 tons of wool were shipped to
BIC on a consignment basis. BIC contended that the ship-
ments were delivered and applied against Iravani’s con-

13

tractual obligations as modified by the settlement agree-
ment reached early in 1951. This is the same settlement
that we have referred to at length at pages 6-8 hereof.

BIC, in performing the settlement agreement, paid
Iravani $388,833.94 more than he would have received had
he been held strictly accountable to his written contracts
(II- 275). However, Iravani asserts that he was entitled
te best January prices regardless of BIC’s billed prices,
as provided in the settlement agreement; and thus, is
entitled to an additional $107,152.67 (III. 283).

The District Court, without directly ruling on Iravani’s
contention that there was a consignment, assumed, only
for the purpose of its decision, that the contentions of
Iravani were correct.

The Court concluded that the consignment could not
exceed 375 tons, since Iravani had claimed 395 tons but had
later admitted to delivering 20 tons less (I-116). Then, since
a totai of 619 tons had been delivered commencing with the
Steel Artisan (III- 274), and since 148 tons thereof were
applied to the 150-ton phase of the settlement at $1.10, that
left remaining 471 tons. Deducting therefrom 375 tons of
alleged consignment wools, BIC would have had 96 tons
that it could do with as it chose.

The District Court proceeded to analyze Iravani’s itemi-
zation (III- 283) and concluded that Iravani had received
“best January prices on all wools except at the very
most, 72 tons (I-118).

The Court of Appeals did not accept the foregoing
conclusion, even though it concurred with the District Court
on the elimination from Iravani’s claim those items in
which he demanded additional credit based on $1.55 as the

alleged price of cream wool, as against $1.35 actually
credited.

—

14

Tenth Cause of Action: In this cause of action Iravani
claimed that the settlement agreement which allegedly
required delivery of 150 tons of white wool at $1.25 was
subsequently modified, in June of 1951, to provide for 120
tons at a total price of $150,000. According to BIC it
received virtually the entire 150 tons and paid therefor at
the rate of $1.10. Included in said 150 tons are the 70 tons
which Iravani allegedly applied to the joint venture.

According to Iravani, BIC accepted only 80 tons of the
alleged 120, and refused to accept 40 tons thereof. The
Tenth Cause of Action seeks recovery for damages
measured by the difference between approximately $1.15
as the contract price and the resale price received by
Iravani after BIC’s alleged default, totaling $15,400.

The District Court found that the claimed modification
was not borne out by the preponderance of the credible
evidence. The Court of Appeals stated: Although we do
not find this decision unwarranted, we think that it ought
to be left open for further consideration in the light of
further proceedings after remand on the other phases of
the settlement and on an over-all allocation’’ (V-426-7).

Fifth Cause of Action: In this cause of action, Iravani
claims that a 292 bale shipment aboard the Steel Artisan,
arriving in February 1951 was sent to BIC upon its oral
agreement to sell the same as Iravani's agent (II-157-8).
The agency was denied by BIC.

When Iravani arrived in New York in January, 1951,
he represented to BIC that he had entered into a contract
with Bijarchi (the shipper) for the purchase of said 292
bales; that he had paid a down payment thereon; and that
the balance was to be paid against documents (I-80).

The Court of Appeals found that Bijarchi shipped the
goods and sent the bills of lading to Murad, but this time
not for Iravani’s account (V-416).

15

Prior to shipment, the bales had been marked for Bar-
key Importing Co. (I-81). Iravani neglected to reveal to
BIC that his check to Bijarchi’s agent for approximately
$2,000 had been returned by Iravani’s bank with a note:
“‘Refer to Drawer! (I-85).

There was a title dispute between Iravani and Murad
who held the documents. In the meantime, BIC obtained
possession of the 292 bales by posting with the steamship
company a letter of guaranty from his bank which indemni-
fied the steamship company for parting with possession
without receiving the bill of lading.

BIC sold the goods and credited Iravani therefor at
the sale price, less 5%, pursuant to the ‘‘billed price’’ phase
of the settlement (Pro Forma Account #12, III- 236). When
it became apparent, however, that Iravani was not and
could not deliver the documents, BIC eliminated the credit
(Final Account #12, III- 238). Thereafter, after Iravani
had commenced his lawsuit, BIC was required to protect
itself and purchased the documents from the then holder
thereof (I-82-84).

Iravani claims the price realized by BIC on the sale
of the wool, less the price paid by it for the documents, on
the theory that as consignee and as Iravani’s agent, BIC
was required to account for the proceeds of the sale; was
estopped from denying the principal’s title to the goods;
and was at no time permitted to purchase the documents
for its own account.

The District Court made no express finding as to either
the consignment or the agency, but examined the legal con-
sequences of Iravani’s claim on the hypothesis that an
agency relationship existed; and determined that the
failure by Iravani to reveal the fact of the dishonoured
check constituted such a fraud as to debar him from
recovery. The Court of Appeals clearly overlooked the

— —
16

genesis of the relationship and it decided the issue as
though the agency had been established and as though the
issue were purely one of law (Footnote V-407).

Seventh and Eighth Causes of Action: These causes of
action are based upon a claim by Iravani, denied by BIC,
that in February 1951 the parties entered into a joint
venture agreement to buy and sell wool with profits and
losses to be shared equally.

These causes of action, as well as the reversal of the
first four, depend to a great measure upon the effect tobe
given to a memorandum made by Iravani's agent, Valensi,
of a conference between himself and Mr. Barkey at which
Iravani was present. This exhibit, dated March 8, 1951,
was offered in evidence by Iravani (Ex. 270; I-120-121).
Its pertinent parts are as follows:

„This morning Jack Barkey called me by phone
and subsequently I interviewed him in the presence
of Mr. Iravani (emphasis supplied) at his office con-
cerning future business between Barkey and Iravani.

““(1) It was stated by Mr. Barkey that he and
Mr. Iravani had arrived at a final settlement con-
cerning their old business (emphasis supplied) and
that although Mr. Barkey had felt that the settle-
ment was not very favorable to himself, under the
circumstances it was the best that could be expected.“

4. In reply to my inquiry concerning the modus
operandi in which Mr. Barkey and Mr. Iravani would
conduct their business Mr. Barkey indicated that it
would probably (emphasis supplied) assume the
form of a profit sharing venture.“

This exhibit is most important because of the effect
which the Court of Appeals gave to it. The court ignored |

17

paragraph 1“ with respect to the settlement although it
is definite and clear, and accepted the indefinite paragraph
*4’? as the main prop in determining that the parties had
entered into a joint venture.

The Court of Appeals thus construed a prospective
and possible profit sharing arrangement as a present and
actual contract of joint venture, and this although the
parties did not agree upon, or even consider the normal
and usual terms of a joint venture agreement such as: (a)
its duration, (b) the total of capital contribution; (e) the
name; (d) place of doing business; (e) mechanics of
handling funds; (f) books to be kept; (g) time to divide
profits and share losses; (h) interest of the parties in the
event of death or early termination.

The District Court found that there was no joint ven-
ture because, among other things, it could not ‘‘overlook

the prior dealings, misunderstandings and hard feelings
that had arisen between the parties.“ (I-136). Such deci-
sion was in line with prior decisions both Federal and
New York State, Farley v. Hill, 150 U. S. 572; Summa
v. Masterson, 215 App. Div. [N. V.] 159, 162. However,
the Court of Appeals came to a contrary conclusion.

Note: The ninth cause of action was affirmed (V-430).

The Counterclaim: The answer of BIC to the amended
complaint set up a counterclaim in the amount of $177,039.86
for money laid out and expended for Iravani and for ser-
vices (III-21-22, 28-37). The final amendment to Iravani’s
complaint, admitted that BIC was entitled to $133,736.14
for moneys that BIC generally advanced for Iravani’s
account, which could not be allocated to any of the causes

ok action alleged in the plaintiff’s complaint (III-51). At
the trial Iravani testified that he only challenged one item
of $1,010.41 out of payments by BIC for his account of

18

$1,161,000 (III-84). Later in the trial Iravani’s counsel
withdrew the denial to the nine items of the counterclaim
set forth at III-28 (III-181-2). In the brief submitted by
Travani’s counsel at the conclusion of the case, they
admitted that there was due to BIO $139,724.71, but on
BIC’s claim for only $139,723.31, judgment was awarded
in that amount (I-151).

The Court of Appeals conceded that the plaintiff had
made the admissions in his final amended complaint and
in his brief (V-428), nevertheless it called attention to the
fact that the counterclaim was contested on the appeal; held
that the Court was not bound by a party’s admission
(V-429) ; and reversed and remanded (V-430).

(C) The Decision of the Court of Appeals.

To summarize the decision of the Court of Appeals, we
find that the first four causes of action were reversed and
the District Court was directed to enter judgment in favor
of Iravani; with respect to the fifth, sixth, seventh, eighth
and tenth causes of action and the counterclaim, the judg-
ment in favor of BIC was reversed and remanded. The
ninth cause of action was affirmed (V-430).

Basis for Federal Jurisdiction.

The basis for Federal jurisdiction in the first instance
is diversity of citizenship between the parties, the respond-
ent being a citizen of the Kingdom of Iran and the peti-
tioner a corporation organized and existing by virtue of
the laws of the State of New York.

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

The petitioner is not seeking certiorari merely because
there was a reversal of a judgment in its favor. Certiorari

19

is sought because the reversal was so erronious that the
decision, until corrected, will create a chaotic condition at
least in the Second Circuit. This decision is not only in
conflict with the decisions of other circuits and of the State
of New York on the same matter, but the Court of Appeals
has so far departed from the accepted and usual course of
judicial proceedings, as also to call for the exercise of this
Court’s power of supervision pursuant to Rule 19(b) of
the Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
States.

1. The Court of Appeals presumed that it had the
power to disregard the admissions of a party and thus
reversed and remanded a judgment in favor of BIC on a
counterclaim that had been admitted in Iravani’s plead-
ings, his brief to the trial court and in his oral testimony
(III-51, 84, 181-2).

The Court concluded that it was not bound by such
admissions because ‘‘a party’s admissions are only evi-
dence and not necessarily the truth’’ (V-429).

Professor Wigmore clearly demonstrated the effect to
be given to such admissions when he wrote (Vol. 2 Wigmore
on Evidence, Second Edition 51064 p. 536):

„The pleadings in a cause are, for the purposes
of use in that suit, not mere ordinary admissions, but
judicial admissions; i. e. they are not a means of evi-
dence, but a waiver of all controversy (so far as the
opponent may desire to take advantage of them) and
therefore a limitation of the issues. Neither party
may dispute beyond these limits. Thus, any refer-
ence that may be made to them, where the one party
desires to avail himself of the other’s pleading, is
not a process of using evidence, but an invocation
of the right to confine the issues and to insist on
treating as established the facts admitted in the
pleadings.’’

See also Tisdale v. R. Co., 116 N. Y. 416, 419; New York Life
v. Graham, 92 F. 2d 377, 380 (9 Cir.) ; Historical Pub. Co.
v. Jones Bros. Pub. Co., 231 Fed. 638, 644 (3 Cir.), and
Coffin v. The President etc. Hydraulic Co., 136 N. V. 655, 657.

2. The Court of Appeals also erred with respect to the
counterclaim, when it presumed that it had the power to
permit Iravani to contest the counterclaim for the first time
in that Court (V-428). Permitting a party to raise a con-
tention not raised before the trial court, for the first time
on appeal, is not only contrary to the rules laid down gen-
erally by appellate courts, but it has been so decided by the
Court of Appeals for the Second Cirenit. Patent & Licens-
ing Corp. v. Olsen, 188 F. 2d 522, 525 (2 Cir.); Libbey-
Owens-Ford Glass Co. v. Sylvania Indust. Corp., 154 F. 2d
814, 816 (2 Cir.).

3. The Court of Appeals (V-406-7) called attention to
the fact that pursuant to Rule 52(a) Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, the ‘‘findings of fact shall not be set aside unless
clearly erroneous’’. The Court then defined the meaning of
‘*clearly erroneous’’ under the decisions of this Court in
United States v. U. S. Gypsum, 333 U. S. 364, 395 (1948);
and of the Second Circuit in Gindorff v. Prince, 189 F. 2d
897 (2 Cir.).

Having defined its powers, the Court of Appeals never,
in any instance in its thirty page opinion, says that the
findings of fact by the District Court were „clearly erron-
eous’’. Thus with respect to the first four causes of action
the Court held that it disagreed with the conclusion of the
District Court that such causes of action were discharged
by the settlement agreement (V-412, 414, 415); fifth cause
of action, remanded to determine whether the wool was
sent on consignment (V-417); sixth cause of action, “we
disagree with the district court’? (V-421); seventh and
eighth causes of actions, ‘‘Iravani has sustained his burden

_

21

of proof“ (V-424); and with respect to the tenth cause of
action, the District Court rejected the claim of Iravani of
an oral modification of the settlement that required him to
furnish 150 tons of white wool at $1.25 per pound to 120
tons at $1.15 per pound of which Barkey accepted only 80
tons. The District Court held (V-426), We do not believe
that that has been borne out by the preponderance of the
credible evidence in this case’’, Far from holding that such
finding was ‘‘clearly erroneous’’ the Court of Appeals held
(V-426), ‘‘although we do not find this decision unwar-
ranted, we think that it ought to be left open for further
consideration in the light of further proceedings after
remand of the other phases of the settlement and on an
over-all allocation’’.

4. The petitioner concedes that the Supreme Court is
not primarily concerned with the correction of all errors of
a lower court. However, the determination of the Court of
Appeals, with respect to the first four causes of action was
not only erroneous, but it cast the petitioner into judgment
without the right of even one appeal.

As we have pointed out (pp. 8-12), the District Court
tentatively found in favor of Iravani on each of these causes
of action, but held that any claim of Iravani was discharged
by an agreement of settlement between the parties.

Since the result in the District Court was in favor of
BIC, it had no right to appeal from the tentative finding in
each cause of action in favor of Iravani. Lindheimer v.
Winois Telephone Co., 292 U. S. 151, 176; Gideon v. Hinds,
238 F. 140 (2 Cir.); Harding v. Federal Nat. Bank, 31 F.
20 914, 917 (1 Cir.). And now the Court of Appeals has
affirmed the District Court’s tentative findings in favor of
Iravani by holding that these claims were not discharged
by the settlement. Thus, BIC is cast in judgment with all
right of appeal gone.

The final result is startling when we realize aat in not
one instance did the Court of Appeals say that the prior
determination was ‘‘clearly erroneous’’; in at least one
instance (Fourth Cause of Action) the Court of Appeals
held that there was very little evidence on the claim
(V-415); and all of this came about because the Court
either by error, or for a reason that is not apparent in
the opinion, refused to give credence to Iravani’s own
exhibit that spelled out the settlement (Supra, p. 16).

The reversal of the District Court’s judgment on these
four causes of action becomes even more inexplicable when
we find that LIC is criticized for not having appealed from
the finding with respect to the Third Cause of Action
(V-414), when, as we have shown, it had no right of appeal.

5. The Court of Appeals gave effect to paragraph 4 of
Ex. 270, that was offered in evidence by Iravani, as its
main prop in reversing the District Court with respect to
the Seventh and Eighth Causes of Action (supra, pp. 16-17).
At the same time the Court disregarded paragraph 1 of the
same exhibit which proved the existence of the settlement
agreement, as found by the District Court, and disposed of
Causes of Action numbers One, Two, Three, Four and like-
wise affected Six and Ten.

By this strange separation of an exhibit offered by the
plaintiff, the Court of Appeals departed from the accepted
and usual course of judicial proceedings which require a
court to hold that a document must be considered in its
entirety, ‘‘the parts operating against the interest of the
party offering it as well as the parts in his favor’’ 32 C. J. .
§774, p. 700. See also Snell Isle, Incorporated v. Commis-
sioner, 90 F. 2d 481, 482 (5 Cir.), Cert. den. 302 U. 8.
734; Bulkly v. Kaolin Products Co., Inc., 187 App. Div.
(N. V.) 108, 108; Barnsdall Refining Corp. v. Birnamwood
Oil Co., 32 F. Supp. 308, 313 (D. C. E. D. Wisconsin).

Conclusions.

The ruling of the Court of Appeals creates an intolerable
condition in the Second Circuit. Until corrected, every trial
and appeal will be fraught with uncertainty in the following
respects :

1. No litigant will be able to rely on the admissions of
an opponent and will be obliged to be prepared to prove
all issues whether contested or not. By the same token
courts will be required to examine the truth and merits of
every admission, and pleadings will no longer define the
issues.

2. No party to an appeal can safely ignore issues not
raised in the trial court.

3. All rules relating to the effect to be given to docu-
mentary proof offered by a party will be destroyed.

4. Unless the clearly erroneous’’ doctrine laid down
by this Court in United States v. U. S. Gypsum, 333, U. S.
869, 895 is clearly defined and limited, appellate courts
will, as here, reverse matters merely because of disagree-
ment with the trial court and not because such determina-
tion was in fact either ‘clearly erroneous’’ or failing in
evidence to support it.

5. The Court of Appeals has not only rendered a deci-
sion in conflict with its own prior decision and with the
decisions of this Court and the Courts of Appeal of other
circuits, but has so far departed from the accepted and
usual course of judicial proceedings as also to call for the
exercise of this Court’s power of supervision pursuant to

24

Rule 19 of the Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the
United States, Title 28 U. S. C. A.

Dated: New York, June 13, 1957.

Ismor J. Kreset,
Ismor J. Kress,
Attorney for Petitioner,
15 Broad Street,
New York 5, New York.

Savi Gorpon,
HAROID I. Meyerson,
Irvine L. WErNseERceEr,

of counsel.

‘

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

Ocroser Term, A. D. 1956.

No. 1089.

BARKEY IMPORTING CO.,
Petitioner,
v.

M. SHAFI IRAVANI MOTTAGHI,
Respondent.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Tomas F. MEEHAN,
Counsel for the Respondent,
36 West 44th Street,
New York 36, N. Y.

Supreme Court of the United States

Ooroszn Tzrm, A. D. 1956.

No. 1089.

Barxey Importine Co.,

v.

M. Swart Inavaxtr Morra,

Respondent.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Respondent respectfully addresses himself to the five
questions (Petition, p. 3) presented by Petitioner and
refrains from a discussion of some inaccurate statements
of fact contained in the Petition, relying that the disposi-
tion of the points presented by the Petitioner will make
unnecessary the imposition upon the Court’s time that a
detailed consideration of the facts would cause.

AS TO QUESTIONS 1 AND 2:

Petitioner had counterclaimed in its answer for
$177,039.86 (III-21). Respondent had not admitted this
counterclaim in its reply but in fact had denied it (III-43).
Yet Petitioner quotes Wigmore on judicial admissions’’
when in fact it has to deal with a judicial denial. It is true
that in another part of the complaint (III-51), Respondent
had declared, in the Wherefore Clause“ that as against

its claim of $420,537.05 he was deducting a credit due to
Petitioner of $133,736.14. But for the District Court to
say that that statement constituted proof of a counterclaim
can be shown very simply to be erroneous. For example,
Respondent had actually received from Petitioner, for
goods sold and delivered, more than $1,000,000 (See ITT-83),
If respondent had made the mistake of ssserting in the
‘‘Wherefore Clause that he should have received from
Petitioner the sum, say, of $1,420,537.05 but was giving
credit to Petitioner of $1,133,736.14 already paid, would
the District Court have given Petitioner judgment upon
an amended counterclaim for 51, 133, 736.147 And this,
despite that the counterclaim was specifically denied in
the pleading? Of course not.

Again, Petitioner cites the statement of Respondent's
attorney in the course of the trial (III- 181-2) that he with.
drew his denial of nine items in Exhibits I to IX. These
items add and subtract to a figure of $7913.79 due Peti-
tioner. This constituted a connecting of this $7913.79 as
part of the $133,736.14 which Respondent had credited
Petitioner with in the Wherefore Clause.“ The fact that
Petitioner admits making up his counterclaim of such items
as these is evidence to the contrary of what is intended.
It shows that a counterclaim cannot be founded upon money
which had been paid and should have been paid. Notice
that in that same statement at trial (III-181-2) Respond-
ent’s attorney again denied the counterclaim.

It is clear then that these credits to Petitioner by.
Respondent were mere manifestations of arithmetic, rather
than admissions, and certainly not judicial admissions”
of anything. And in the light of their proper analysis,
the Court of Appeals is shown to be eminently fair to Peti-
tioner in sending its counterclaim back to the District Court
for disposal with the entire case.

AS TO QUESTION 3:

The Petitioner uses the words clearly erroneous as
if they possess mystical power. But this Court, in the very
case cited by Petitioner, U. S. v. Gypsum Co., 333 U. S. 364
(1947) states at page 395: A finding is clearly erroneous’
when although there is evidence to support it, the review-
ing Court on the entire evidence is left with the definite
and firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.“
Can there be any doubt that the Court of Appeals thought
that a mistake had been committed? Indeed there can be
no doubt of mistake on the District Court’s part. The Dis-
trict Court’s decision was largely based upon its belief
that Respondent had lied in two important particulars.
Petitioner in its briefs to the Court of Appeals belabored
this alleged false testimony at great length and for many
pages. But the Court of Appeals showed that the District
Court (See Vol. V—p. 423 and also pp. 425-6.) had misun-
derstood Respondent’s testimony and that Respondent
had in fact not contradicted himself or the record. Here
then is conclusive proof of clearly erroneous’ find-
ings by the trial Court which are pervasive of the whole
record and not mere disagreements of opinion between two
Courts.

AS TO QUESTION 4:

The District Court had found for Respondent on his
first four causes of action. Then, in deciding the tenth
cause of action, the District Court found that Respondent
had disposed of those four claims by a settlement, and so
finally gave Petitioner judgment dismissing the same.
Though Petitioner did not formally appeal from the trial
Oourt's decision thereon, it argued the merits of those
four causes of action at length both in its briefs and
orally before the Court of Appeals. The opinion of the

4

latter Court shows that the merits of those four causes of
action were considered and acted upon by that Court (Vol.
V, pp. 409-415). Despite that Petitioner had full hearing,
therefore, on these four causes, it now complains it did not
have a hearing. And it compounds the pretense by con-
tending that it could not have appealed therefrom because
it was the victor therein; but that is not correct. The test
of whether they could have been appealed from is whether
the adverse findings therein would be res judicata. (See
N. T. Telephone Co. v. Maltbie, 291 U. S. 645-1933.) And,
of course, they are res judicata, obviously, since the issues
involved were fully litigated and incorporated in a final
judgment. -

AS TO QUESTION 5:

Petitioner contends that Exhibit 270 (I. 120-121) was
given effect to prove joint venture in favor of Respondent
but that its effect as proof that a settlement was entered
into was ignored. The Court of Appeals did not reverse
the District Court’s finding of a settlement. But it found
the District Court in error as to the terms of the settlement,
the terms testified to by the Petitioner having rightly been
found by the Court of Appeals to be inherently impossible.

But since Exhibit 270 did not mention the terms of the
settlement it refers to, it was given full credence by the |
Court of Appeals. This complaint by Petitioner is thus
completely baseless.

How then in the light of above can Petitioner seriously —
say that this is a case where the Court of Appeals has
so far departed from the accepted and usual course of
judicial proceedings as to call for the exercise of this
Court’s power of supervision pursuant to Rule 197 And

5

of course, no conflict has been shown either with other
circuits or with prior decisions of the Second Circuit.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that this case is
not a proper one for review by Certiorari in this Court
and that the petition for a writ of Certiorari should be
denied.

Dated June 17, 1957

Tsomas F. Meznan
Counsel for Respondent
36 West 44th St.
New York 36, N. Y.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_1281%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
