# Appendix — White v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_0542%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1956
- **Citation:** 351 U.S. 939

## Text

Docket Entries la

APPENDIX A.
Relevant Portions of Record on Appeal.

Docket No. 44257.
THE TAX COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

HENRY P. WHITE and NANCY A. WHITE,
AMENDED CAPTION: “HENRY P. WHITE, and ESTATE OF
NANCY A. WHITE, DECEASED, T. LEO SULLIVAN,
ADMINISTRATOR, C. T. A.,”

Petitioners,
v.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,
Respondent.
See order of February 3, 1955.

DOCKET ENTRIES.

1952
Sept. 18—Petition received and filed. Taxpayers notified.
Fee paid.
Sept. 19—Copy of petition served on General Counsel.
Sept. 18—Request for Circuit hearing in Cleveland, Ohio,
filed by taxpayers. 10/2/52 Granted.
Nov. 12—Answer filed by General Counsel.
Nov. 18—Copy of answer served on taxpayers, Cleveland,
Ohio.
1953

Sept. 17—Hearing set November 9, 1953, Cleveland, Onio.
Nov. 11—Hearing had before Judge Opper, on merits.
Briefs due January 11, 1954. Replies due Feb-
ruary 10, 1954.

Nov. 23—Transcript of hearing 11/11/53 filed.

1954

Jan. 11—Brief filed by taxpayers. 1/12/54 Copy served.
Jan. 11—Brief filed by General Counsel. 1/12/54 Copy
served.

2a Petition

Feb. 11—Reply brief filed by taxpayers. Copy served.

Oct. 19—Findings of fact and opinion filed, Judge, Opper.
Decision will be entered for the respondent.
Copy served.

Oct. 19—Decision entered, Opper, Judge, Div. 14.

Dec. 1—Entry of appearance of Edgar S. Byers as coun-
sel filed.

Dec. 16—Motion to withdraw as counsel William Patrick
Clyne filed. 12/17/54 Granted.

1955

Jan. 18—Petition for review by U. S. Court of Appeals,
Sixth Circuit, filed by taxpayers.

Jan. 19—Proof of service filed.

Jan. 21—Designation of contents of record with acknowl-
edgment of service thereon filed by petitioners.

Feb. 2—Motion to substitute personal representative for
petitioner Nancy A. White, deceased, filed by
taxpayers.

Feb. 3—Order, amending caption to read, Henry P.
White, and Estate of Nancy A. White, Deceased,
T. Leo Sullivan, Administrator, C. T. A., en-
tered.

PETITION.
(Filed September 18, 1952.)

The above-named petitioners hereby petition for a
redetermination of the deficiency set forth by the Com-
missioner of Internal Revenue in his notice of deficiency
(CLEVELAND IRA:90D) dated June 24, 1952, and as a
basis of their proceeding allege as follows:

1. The petitioners are individuals, husband and wife,
with residence at 2688 Landon Road, Shaker Heights,
Ohio. The returns for the period involved were filed with
the Collector of Internal Revenue for the 18th District of
Ohio.

MILI LITE LA ETI ILE IS GOOLE OLLIE SIE I ieee

Petition 3a

2. The notice of the deficiencies (a copy of which is
attached hereto and marked “Exhibit A”) was mailed to
the petitioners on June 24th, 1952.

3. The deficiencies as determined by the Commis-

sioner are in income taxes for the calendar years 1948
and 1949 in the following amounts:

Year Deficiency
1948 $ 1,088.51
1949 10,014.28

making a total of $11,102.79, all of which is in controversy,
and in addition thereto, the amount of $7,671.05 for the
taxable year of 1948, previously overpaid by the petition-
ers is also in controversy.

4. The determination of tax set forth in said notice
of deficiency is based upon the following errors:

(a) The Commissioner erred in the disallowance of
losses sustained and deducted by the petitioners in the
amount of $18,624.82 in their income tax return for the
calendar year 1948.

(b) The Commissioner erred in failing to order a
refund of income taxes paid by the petitioners as a result
of the overstatement of taxable income in the amount of
$14,414.40 in their 1948 income tax return.

(c) The Commissioner erred in failing to order a re-
fund of taxes paid by the petitioners as a result of the
understatement by the petitioners on their 1948 Declara-
tion of Estimated Tax on their 1948 income tax return in
the amount of $1,092.07.

(d) The Commissioner erred in the disallowance of
losses sustained and deducted by the petitioners in the
amount of $18,521.02 in their income tax return for the
calendar year 1949.

5. The facts upon which the petitioners rely as a
basis of this proceeding are as follows:

(a) That the petitioners’ business is engineering and
as such employ subordinates, and purchase materials and
supplies necessary and essential to its conduct.

a SOM ALLE RGR SDL LRTI OSORNO

da Petition

(b) That all of the deductions claimed and disallowed
for the years 1948 and 1949, were in connection with the
operation of their engineering business.

(c) That the petitioners understated their estimated
tax paid in their 1948 income tax return in the amount of
$1,092.07.

(d) That the losses sustained and deducted in their
income tax return for the year of 1948 in the amount of
$18,624.82, and for the year 1949 in the amount of $18,-
521.02, were ordinary and necessary business losses in-
curred in the operation of their business.

(e) That the petitioners in filing their income tax
return for the year of 1948, overstated their taxable in-
come in the sum of $14,414.40 and paid the tax thereon
as a result of an arithmetical error in the preparation and
filing of the return.

Wuenreror:g, the petitioners pray that this Court may
hear the proceeding and determine that there is no de-
ficiency in income tax due for the years 1948 and 1949;
and that the petitioners are entitled to a refund for the
calendar year 1948 in the amount of $7,671.05; and that
the Court may grant such other and further relief as the
nature of this case warrants.

Wruu1aM Patrick CLyve,
Counsel for the Petitioners.

Henry W. Rosewater,
Certified Public Accountant.

(Verification omitted.)

_ a

-_

Exhibit A to Petition Sa

EXHIBIT “A.”
U. S. TREASURY DEPARTMENT
Office of Internal Revenue Agent in Charge

404 Hanna Building
Cleveland 15, Ohio

Internal Revenue Service
CLEVELAND
IRA: 90D

Jun 24 1952

REGISTERED
Mr. Henry P. White and
Mrs. Nancy A. White, Husband and Wife
2688 Landon Road
Shaker Heights
Cleveland, Ohio

Dear Mr. and Mrs. White:

You are advised that the determination of your in-
come tax liability for the taxable year(s) ended December
31, 1948 and 1949, discloses a deficiency of $11,102.79,
as shown in the statement attached.

In accordance with the provisions of existing internal
revenue laws, notice is hereby given of the deficiency or
deficiencies mentioned.

Within 90 days from the date of the mailing of this
letter you may file a petition with The Tax Court of the
United States, at its principal address, WasHINcToN 4,
D. C., for a redetermination of the deficiency. In counting
the 90 days you may not exclude any day unless the 90th
day is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday in the District
of Columbia, in which event that day is not counted as
the 90th day. Otherwise Saturdays, Sundays, and legal
holidays are to be counted in computing the 90-day period.

Should you not desire to file a petition, you are re-
quested to execute the enclosed form and forward it to
this office for the attention of IRA: 90D. The signing and
filing of this form will expedite the closing of your re-
turn(s) by permitting an early assessment of the de-

~~ Exhibit A to Petition

ficiency or deficiencies, and will prevent the accumulation
of interest, since the interest period terminates 30 days
after receipt of the form, or on the date of assessment, or
on the date of payment, whichever is earlier.

Very truly yours,
Joun B. Dunuap,
Commissioner,
By (Signed) R. C. Cake
Internal Revenue Agent in Charge
Enclosures:
Statement
Form 1276
Agreement Form
MEC: nmh

STATEMENT

CLEVELAND
IRA: 90D

In re: Mr. Henry P. White and
Mrs. Nancy A. White, Husband and Wife
2688 Landon Road
Shaker Heights
Cleveland, Ohio

Tax Liability for the Taxable Year Ended December
31, 1948 and the Taxable Year Ended December 31, 1949

Income Tax
Year Deficiency
1948 $ 1,088.51
1949 10,014.28
Total $11,102.79

In making this determination of your income tax
liability, careful consideration has been given to the re-
port of examination dated May 10, 1951, to your protest
dated September 20, 1951, and to the statements made at
the conference held on October 18, 1951.

a

Exhibit A to Petition Ja

On March 19, 1951 you filed a claim for refund on
Form 843 for the taxable year ended December 31, 1948
in the amount of $7,671.05 based on the contention that
you made an “arithmetical error on page 2 of return” in
the amount of $14,414.40 and you further contend that
the amount of estimated tax as having been paid and
shown on page 1 of the return was understated in the
amount of $1,092.07.

Investigation discloses that both contentions are cor-
rect. However, another adjustment has been made result-
ing in a deficiency of income tax; therefore, your claim for
refund of income tax will be disallowed.

If a petition to The Tax Court of the United States is
filed against the deficiency proposed herein, the issues
set forth in your claim for refund for the taxable year
ended December 31, 1948 should be made a part of the
petition to be considered by The Tax Court in any re-
determination of your tax liability. If a petition is not
filed, the claim for refund will be disallowed and official
notice will be issued by registered mail in accordance with
section 3772 of the Internal Revenue Code.

A copy of the statutory notice of deficiency, together
with a copy of this statement, has been mailed to your
representative, Mr. David H. Shook, Terminal Tower
Building, Cleveland 13, Ohio, in accordance with the au-
thority contained in the power of attorney executed by
you and on file with this office.

ADJUSTMENTS TO NET INCOME
Taxable Year Ended December 31, 1948

Net income as disclosed by return $46,192.72
Unallowable deductions and additional income:

(a) Business loss ; 18,624.82
Total $64,817.54
Nontaxable income and additional deductions:

(b) Arithmetical error 14,414.40
Net income adjusted $50,403.14

me

ba Exhibit A to Petition

EXPLANATION OF ADJUSTMENTS

(a) Under Schedule C of your return for 1948 you
claimed a deduction for expenses of $18,624.82 incurred in
the operation of an alleged business of “Ordnance En-
gineer.” It is held that such expenses were not ordinary
and necessary expenses of carrying on a trade or business
deductible under section 23(a)(1)(A) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and furthermore, said amount is not de-

ductible in accordance with section 24 of the Internal
Revenue Code.

(b) On page 2 of your 1948 income tax return, you
made an arithmetical error of $14,414.40 in reportable
income. Net income is reduced $14,414.40 to correct the
error made.

COMPUTATION OF TAX
Taxable Year Ended December 31, 1948

Alternative tax:
Net income adjusted $50,403.14
Less: Exemption 2,400.00
Net income subject to tentative tax $48,003.14
One-half of net income $24,001.57
Tentative tax on $24,001.57 $ 9,560.93
Less: Partially tax exempt interest 11.25
Balance of tentative tax $ 9,549.68
Tax reduction: $68.00 plus 12% of

$9,149.68 1,165.96
Partial tax on one-half of net income $ 8,383.72
Total normal tax and surtax

(2 x $8,383.72) $16,767.44

—

Exhibit A to Petition 9a
Less: Income tax payments to a
foreign country $ 119.40
Income tax paid at source
on tax free covenant bond
interest 39.62 159.02
Income tax liability $16,608.42

Less: Tax paid on account of dec-
laration of estimated

tax $11,092.07
Tax assess on return 4,427.84 $15,519.91
Deficiency of income tax $ 1,088.51
ADJUSTMENT TO NET INCOME
Taxable Year Ended December 31, 1949
Net income as disclosed by return $60,675.33
Unallowable deductions and addi-
tional income:
(b) Business loss 18,521.02
Net income adjusted $79,196.35

EXPLANATION OF ADJUSTMENTS

(a) Under Schedule C of your return for 1949 you
claimed a deduction for expenses of $18,521.02 incurred in
the operation of an alleged business of “Ordnance En-
gineer.” It is held that such expenses were not ordinary
and necessary expenses of carrying on a trade or business
deductible under section 23(a)(1)(A) of the Internal
Revenue Code, and, furthermore, said amount is not
deductible in accordance with section 24 of the Internal
Revenue Code.

10a Exhibit A to Petition

COMPUTATION OF TAX

Taxable Year Ended December 31, 1949

Alternative tax:
Net income adjusted
Minus: Net capital gain

Ordinary net income
Less: Exemption

Net income subject to tentative tax
One-half of net income
Tentative tax on $32,773.77
Tax reduction:
$68.00 plus 12% of $14,562.96

Partial tax on one-half of net income
Partial tax on total income
(2 x $13,147.40)
Plus 50% of net capital gain
($11,248.81)

Alternative tax
Total normal tax and surtax
Less: Income tax payments to a
foreign country
Income tax paid at source on
tax free covenant bond
interest

$122.13

175.03

Income tax liability
Income tax liability disclosed by
return

Deficiency of income tax

$79,196.35
11,248.81

$67,947.54
2,400.00

$65,547.54
32,773.77
$14,962.96

1,815.56

$13,147.40
$26,294.80

5,624.40

$31,919.20
$31,919.20

297.16

$31,622.04

21,607.76

$10,014.28

ANSWER.
(Filed November 12, 1952.)

Comes Now the Commissioner of Internal Revenue,
by his attorney, Cuartes W. Davis, Chief Counsel, Bureau
of Internal Revenue, and for answer to the petition filed
herein, admits and denies, as follows:

1 and 2. Admits the allegations contained in para-
graphs 1 and 2 of the petition.

3. Admits that the deficiencies as determined by the

Commissioner are in income taxes for the calendar years
1948 and 1949 in the following amounts:

Year Deficiency
1948 $ 1,088.51
1949 10,014.28

making a total of $11,102.79, all of which is in controversy;
denies the remaining allegations contained in paragraph 3
of the petition.

4. (a) to (d), inclusive. Denies that, in the deter-
mination of the deficiency herein, the respondent erred
in the manner and form as alleged in subparagraphs (a)
to (d), inclusive, of paragraph 4 of the petition.

5. (a) and (b). Denies the allegations of fact con-
tained in subparagraphs (a) and (b) of paragraph 5 of
the petition.

5. (c). Admits the allegations of fact contained in
subparagraph (c) of paragraph 5 of the petition.

5. (d) and (e). Denies the allegations of fact con-
tained in subparagraphs (d) and (e) of paragraph 5 of the
petition.

Denies generally each and every allegation contained
in the petition not hereinbefore specifically admitted,
qualified, or denied.

12a Appearances
WHEREFORE, it is prayed that petitioners’ appeal be
denied and that the respondent’s determination be in all
respects approved.
Cuartes W. Davis,
Chief Counsel,
Bureau of Internal Revenue,
Counsel for Respondent.

Of Counsel:
Tuos. F. CALLAHAN,

District Counsel,
| James F. Kennepy, Jr.,
) Special Attorney,

Bureau of Internal Revenue.

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE TAX COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES.

November 11, 1953—10: 30 a.m.
(Met pursuant to notice.)
BErore:
| HonoraB_Le CLARENCE V. Oppsr, Judge.
APPEARANCES:
Wri1aM Patrick Criyne, Ese.,
NBC Building, Cleveland, Ohio, appearing for
the Petitioners.
James F. Kennepy, Jr., Ese.,
1017 Euclid Building, Cleveland, Ohio,
(Honorasce Eart HEmMAN,
Chief Counsel, Bureau of Internal Revenue) , ap-
pearing for the Respondent.

Petitioners’ Opening Statement 13a

(3) The Court: Docket No. 44257, Henry P. and
Nancy A. White.

State your appearances for the record, please.

Mr. Clyne: William Patrick Clyne for the Petitioners.

Mr. Kennedy: James F. Kennedy, Jr., for the Re-
spondent.

The Court: Before we go any further, I didn’t ask
you a few minutes ago, what is your estimate of the time
in this case?

Mr. Clyne: Two and a half to three hours.

The Court: Does that include cross examination?

Mr. Kennedy: Yes, your Honor.

The Court: You say you have no witnesses?

Mr. Kennedy: I have no witnesses.

The Court: Proceed, please.

Openinc STATEMENT ON BEHALF OF THE PETITIONERS.

Mr. Clyne: If the Court please, Petitioner in this case,
particularly Henry P. White, is a graduate engineer and
licensed in Ohio and in Maryland and who since 1936 was
operating a research laboratory in Cleveland in late years
in Maryland.

The principal part of the engineering field that Mr.
White’s activities related to related to guns and ammuni-
tion (4) and kindred or associated engineering products.
Mr. White holds himself out for use and hire to both
Governmental Agencies and private industry and has
served them both.

In addition to the personal service that he has ren-
dered directly for hire to both industry and Government,
he has published works that are the keystone of identifica-
tion in ballistics. In the conduct of this business, he has
a number of employees who aid and assist in the research
and the performance of the services rendered to anyone
who has a right to the information that his laboratory
produces.

The issues involved in the case are simple. The same
issue presents itself in both years. We believe and will
prove that all of the expenses that have been disallowed

a i a a a nail OO ORG OF PLEO OT Re IF OTT

a

l4a Petitioners’ Opening Statement

: by the Commissioner are ordinary and necessary expenses
and should have been allowed under the Revenue Act. The
disallowance and the contention of the Government was
that these were not expenses such as were contemplated
by the Statute. I believe that the Government as well will
agree that the mathematical amounts involved in the dis-
allowance in both years are accurate and that they repre-
sent expenditures made by Petitioners in the conduct of
their business during the years that are involved. This
will simplify the proof, if the Court will permit us to treat
the issue of usefulness and deductibility of these amounts
both years as one issue.

The Court: I’m not sure I understand your sugges-
tion. (5) Do you want the witnesses to testify at the same
time about both years?

Mr. Clyne: Your Honor, the disallowance on the
basis—the contention of the Government, turning it
around in simple words, is that they have disallowed this
on the basis that it was a hobby and not a useful business
purpose, We contend that it is and has been and the
reason for the disallowance that the Government dis-
allowed these items as a deduction was the same reason in
both years and we propose, if the court will permit us, to
prove out our case as to the usefulness and business pur-
pose of this laboratory on a broad basis, rather than par-
ticularize it for each year, because the same work was
conducted by the laboratory in broad general terms in
both years that are involved in this case.

The Court: Well, I’m afraid I still don’t follow what
it is that you are asking about; but is it a fact that that is
something that will arise as the proceeding goes along?

Mr. Clyne: Yes, sir.

The Court: Rather than something I have to rule on
now?

Mr. Clyne: Yes, your Honor.

The Court: Now, coming to your Assignments of
Error, your Assignment of Error “c’”—well, first of all,
(6) Assignment of Error “b” determined the failing to

PO LEG CE CLT LI ION IEG FEF ICU LE DIOL DELS 6 PE PFS ———————

_—

Petitioners’ Opening Statement 15a
order a refund. Is that by way of stating the claim of
overpayment?

Mr. Clyne: Yes, your Honor.

Mr. Kennedy: Your Honor, the Statutory Notice says
that they are entitled to that over statement, because the
deficiency was not refunded. The usual instructions in the
Statutory Notice make it a part and include it, so I believe
he was following the instructions. That has nothing to do
with the issue of returns. It is just that the payment was
held up because an ultimate deficiency was determined.

The Court: These taxes are for other years?

Mr. Clyne: It’s one year.

Mr. Kennedy: It’s an arithmetical mistake, the re-
fund is based on.

The Court: What about the next one, the $1,092.07?

Mr. Kennedy: That again is the $1,092.07. The Statu-
tory Notice indicates such: “You further contend that the
amount of estimated tax having been paid as shown on
Page 1 of th. return was under-stated in the amount of
$1,092.07. Investigation discloses that both contentions
are correct. However, another adjustment has been made
resulting in a deficiency of income tax. Therefore, your
claim for refund has been denied.”

The Court: You say something was understated?

(7) Mr. Kennedy: Apparently on Page 1 of his in-
come tax return, he understated the payments he made on
the estimated tax. He actually paid more than that.

The Court: You mean the installments paid are
greater than the income tax?

Mr. Kennedy: That is correct, your Honor.

The Court: I understand between you gentlemen
there is no dispute as to Assignments of Error “b” and “c”,
that being conceded by the Respondent, as I understand.

Mr. Kennedy: That’s correct, your Honor. They will
be conceded by the Respondent. Assignments 4-b and 4-c
are factually correct.

The Court: 4-b and 4-c, so that leaves only “a” and
“d”, which relate to the deductions that Mr. Clyne has
been referring to.

—_— — — — a
en one ——

s
8
4
%
#
¥
4
4
;

Ae.

Paw Samnisss

Respondent’s Opening Statement; C. H. Goddard, Direct

Mr, Kennedy: That’s correct, your Honor.
Mr. Clyne: That’s right, your Honor.

The Court: That concludes your statement?
Mr. Clyne: Yes, your Honor,

The Court: Do you have anything?

OpeNING STATEMENT ON BEHALF OF THE RESPONDENT.

Mr. Kennedy: I think, your Honor, Mr. Clyne has
accurately stated what the issues are, except what the
Government contends. We do not exactly contend that
this man’s operations are a hobby, nor that it does not
serve a useful (8) purpose. We think that the evidence
the Petitioner will put on will show it did serve a useful
purpose. We do say, however, that the business was not
operated for a profit and therefore the losses cannot be
allowed; and secondly, that notwithstanding the first con-
tention, the expenses were not ordinary and necessary to
produce an income, the gross income which was reported
for these years for these activities under Section 24, under
which this latter contention is being made. It is covered in
the Statutory Notice.

I think more argument would be better saved for the
brief, however.

The Court: Well, it’s a matter of getting the issues
clarified, so both sides will know how to proceed with the
case.
Proceed.

Mr. Clyne: Call Calvin Goddard.

Whereupon, Catvin H. Gopparp called as a witness
for and on behalf of the Petitioners, having been first duly
sworn, was examined and testified as follows:

The Clerk: Have a seat, please, and state your name
and address, please.

Drrect ExaMINATION by Mr. Clyne.

(9) Q. Will you state your name, please? A. Calvin
H. Goddard.

_

Calvin H. Goddard, Direct Examination lia

Q. And your address, please? A. 3533 Quebec Street,
N. W., Washington, D. C.

Q. What is your present connection with the Govern-
ment, Colonel? A. I am a Colonel presently commissioned
in the Medical Corps in charge of the preparation of the
history of the U. S. Medical Department in World War II.

Q. When was your association with the Army, when
did it commence? A. I was commissioned a First Lieu-
tenant in 1915, went on active duty in 1916.

Q. You are a graduate medic, are you not? A. Yes.

Q. When you went into the service in 1916, what
service were you connected with? A. I was in the Medical
Corps at that time.

Q. How many years did you stay in the Medical
Corps, Doctor? A. Until 1920. I resigned in June, 1920.

Q. And immediately after that, what work did you
do? A. I became a medical administrator. I was for some
years assistant director of Johns Hopkins Hospital in
Baltimore and of the Cornell Clinic in New York City.

(10) Q. Following that, what service did you have?
A Following that I resigned from Cornell and indulged
a desire I had always had to go into experimental work in
small arms.

Q. And where did you engage in that? A. I joined
with three others to form what we designated the Bureau
of Forensic Ballistics in New York City.

Q. What was the nature of the work you were at-
tempting to do in that laboratory? A. We were attempt-
ing to develop instruments and techniques whereby it
would be possible to identify positively a given bullet or
empty cartridge case to the weapon that had fired it.

Q. How many years were you engaged in research
with that? A. I did some research in it before I went to
New York on my own about a year and while I was in
Baltimore and then the three of us, the four of us worked
together from 1924 to the end of 1926. Then I worked on
alone after that.

Q. Did you devise such a method? A. We did.

ELLIO POLLE LLL OT IO LT ET

18a Calvin H. Goddard, Direct Examination

Q. What was the method that you used that finally
came into existence? A. Well, we applied an instrument
which had long been known, called the comparison micro-
scope. We applied this instrument (11) to the study of
fired bullets and cartridge cases. That gave us immedi-
ately the means of making these identifications.

Q. And is that system used now in the world? A.
Throughout the civilized world, yes.

Q. And that ull came as a result of your research that
you and your associates did in New York? A. Yes, sir.

Q. When was it first used, was it in the Valentine
murders in Chicago? A. No, we had been using it since
the spring of 1925. The Valentine murders were in Febru-
ary, 1929.

Q. And is that, for instance, the same method that is
used by, let’s say, the Federal Bureau of Investigation and
all large and small police departments in the United States?
A. It is.

Q. Would you tell us, if you could, please, after you
had devised this method by which shells and bullets were
identified, what return, if any, did you get from trade or
business or Government agencies for your method? A.
What return?

Q. Yes, in money. A. None.

Q. Now, following your period of research and the
development and spreading of the use of this method that
you had devised, (12) where did you next work? A. Well,
as I said, we started applying this instrument in the spring
of 1925 and scientific advance travels relatively slowly, so
it was probably some time in 1927, I think, before Prose-
cutors began to become interested in employing me as a
consultant on cases involving firearms and after a be-
ginning had been made, the work increased very rapidly
and this Valentine day affair in Chicago to which you have
referred brought it so prominently in the public eye, that
from that time on it was a complete success scientifically
and police departments undertook to instruct specialists in
using the comparison microscope and the other equipment

DP POLINA SORES LE NOLIN RIE OI ELLE IL NO NL GG GEE ELE OBL N Ke dl

Calvin H. Goddard, Direct Examination 19a

that goes with it and all major police departments now have
arms identification laboratories throughout the world, so
as I say, the Valentine day affair was the one that really put
it on the map.

Q. Did you after that become associated with any
school? A. Yes, a very wealthy man in Chicago who had
been foreman of the Coroners Jury investigating the
Valentine day massacre was so impressed by this new de-
velopment in police procedure that he asked me if I would
set up a laboratory in Chicago to render service without
charge to all police agencies in the Chicago Area, service in
any cases involving firearms, and that was to be his con-
tribution to society, and I suggested that if he wanted to do
that much, why not establish a complete (13) crime de-
tection laboratory patterned on those which had been in
existence overseas for generations.

He had never heard of such a thing, but he thought the
idea was good and he sent me to Europe and I spent sev-
eral months visiting the outstanding police laboratories and
medical legal institutes in 13 West European Countries,
and when I returned, based on the information I had
brought together, he put up the money to establish the
scientific crime detection laboratory of Chicago, first in
affiliation with and then absorbed by Northwestern Uni-
versity of Chicago as a function of its Law Department.

Q. And did you have an assignment on the teaching
staff, and if so, what were you on the teaching staff? A.
From 1930 until my resignation some years later, I was
professor of police science of the law faculty of North-
Western University.

Q. Isn’t it a fact that during the time you were a
professor at Northwestern in that Division, that the lie
detector that is commonly used in the United States was
developed and perfected? A. In a measure; yes, sir. I
engaged Leonarde Keeler, the developer of the lie de-
tector, for my staff in the crime laboratory in the summer
of 1930, and he was with me as long as I was there.

he. ety P et, pete > CODE A OER EE EO NPE LE DIOL AM AA MLE

(ATCO ALENT Ee RR mt ty a

20a Calvin H. Goddard, Direct Examination

(16) By Mr. Clyne:

Q. Are you familiar with the nature of the work that
is being done by the H. P. White Laboratory by Mr. White
and his associates? A. I am familiar with the general
nature of their operations, probably with not all of their
activities.

Q. From your experience as it is identified with arms
and ammunition, what is your opinion as to the need and
necessity for a privately-operated laboratory in America
today? A. I think there is a need for such a laboratory.

Q. Would you tell us why? A. Because most of the
advance in small arms research over the years with which
I have been familiar with it has resulted from the individ-
ual efforts, of you might say, dedicated persons who became
convinced that they had a new and good idea, and that it
should be developed, ordinarily from a patriotic stand-
point, for the benefit of the nation. But in periods be-
tween wars nations are not especially interested in ord-
nance development, at least they have not been in the
past and these individuals receive very little encourage-
ment. They are not offered the facilities of ordnance estab-
lishments for testing and improving design. The commer-
cial manufacturers are ordinarily not interested, unless the
design involves something which can be made more cheap-
ly than of current models, or something which they feel
they might take (17) over and sell to a Government.

So, the individual is left to his own resources to carry
out all the engineering steps in connection with the de-
velopment of his ideas and unless his resources are very,
very great, he is not able to carry the idea forward.

Given an organization, such as the White Laboratory,
a man with modest resources aided by the engineering
know-how of White and his associates could readily per-
fect something that might be of extreme value nationally
or, commercially.

So, I feel that the laboratory does fill a spot which did
not previously exist.

Q. Do I understand you correctly that were I to man-
ufacture a gun or a shell and wished to avail myself of the

Pk Gets EE ALS BACILLI SLI ILE DEIIC NE EGIY SOILD LIDLEP AGEL LES IED = |

Calvin H. Goddard, Direct Examination 21a

services of the engineering departments of the recognized
large or small manufacturer of arms or munitions, that
they do not aid or assist private individuals, unless it had
some gain to themselves beyond just being compensated
for their time? A. That’s my general reaction to the ex-
periences I have had or experiences others have had who
have been interested in ordnance development.

Q. Isn’t it a fact that most of the inventive genius of
Americans who have invented arms and munitions who
were not part of the big group, that they have been almost
compelled to sell their inventions to foreign nations be-
cause of the (18) unwillingness of Americans to absorb
them? A. Many such instances exist, yes.

Q. Now, in the current market, I am talking about as
of now, in the development in the last five or six years,
has there been any activity from a group known as Self-
Loaders? A. Well, you mean by that people who already
load their own ammunition?

Q. That is correct. A. Those people have been active
for three-quarters of a century, but they have been un-
usually active in the past few years by reason of the pro-
hibitive, almost prohibitive cost of ammunition, the small
arms ammunition if you buy it over the counter these
days. A man that is not wealthy can’t afford to keep in
practice.

Q. Coming back to the time you were professor at
Northwestern University in charge of that division that
related to crime detection, did you have a library of guns?
A. We had about 2,000, as I recall.

Q. Did that represent one of each type of gun, or more
than one in each classification? A. We tried to get one of
_ every make and model and calibre in every length of barrel
in which it was made.

Q. Did you also have shells? A. We had thousands of
loaded cartridges, empty primed cartridge cases and the
separate bullets as a reference library.

(19) Q. Is that a necessary adjunct to rendering a
service such as you were doing at Northwestern or White
does? A. It’s very definitely necessary for crime detection

as ONLI RT ITN ee SI Wi, cet ate Ba) te pid ees oaks Mi ed

7 ai erin

2b
Testimony of Henry P. White..................20.- 3b

CITATIONS
Cases:

Cheney v. Commissioner, 22 B.T.A. 672...........+.. 5
Coffey v. Commissioner, 141 F. 2d 204................ 5
Ewing v. Commissioner, 213 F. 2d 438.............. 5
Helvering v. Nat. Grocery Co., 304 US. 282........ 5
Morton v. Commissioner, 174 F. 2d 302.............. 5
Thacher v. Lowe, 288 Fed. 994..........++0seeeeeee. 5
United States v. Gypsum Co., 333 US. 364, rehearing
PN Ee. ae GE ci ehasdadsdcvdenricphcenserver 5
Wright-Bernet v. Commissioner, 172 F. 2d 343........ 5

Statute:

Internal Revenue Code of 1939, Sec. 23 (26 USC.
SE OR TO, BP veh cd news chisecstodcecosecosiios 11

(ut)

In the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

No. 12, 445

Henry P. Wuire, anp Estate or Nancy A. Wuite,
DECEASED, T. Leo SULLIVAN, ADMINISTRATOR, C. T. A.,
PETITIONERS “a

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE, RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW OF THE DECISION OF THE TAX
COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT AND APPENDICES

COUNTER STATEMENT OF FACTS

The taxpayers in their statement of facts (Br. 1-9)
have ignored the findings of fact made by the Tax Court
and have instead attempted to summarize the testimony
presented to the Tax Court. For this reason, the Com-
missioner deems it necessary to submit a counterstate-
ment of the facts.

The Tax Court made findings of fact (R. 65a-69a) '
which may be summarized as follows:

In 1934, Henry P. White was graduated from Cornell
University with a degree in engineering and was li-

Record references are to the Appendix of taxpayers’ brief.
(1)

2

censed as a mechanical engineer by the States of Ohio
and Maryland. He sold automobiles for the remainder
of 1934 and was employed by a bank in Cleveland in
1935. In 1935 he became the beneficiary under a trust
of approximately two million dollars. (R. 65a-66a.)

In 1936, he opened a ballistics laboratory in Cleve-
land, Ohio, specializing in guns and ammunition re-
search. He employed others to assist him in such work.
The laboratory was operated under White’s direct
supervision until he went into the armed forces; while
he was absent from the laboratory and in the armed
forces, the laboratory was operated under the supervi-
sion of his first assistant. On his return from the serv-
ice, White again assumed the direction and management
of the laboratory and it has continued under his super-
vision through the years in question. The laboratory is
now located at Bel Air, Maryland, in proximity to Army
and Navy Proving Grounds. (R. 66a.)

Operation of the laboratory included research and
preparation for the publication of two books concerning
pistol and revolver cartridges. One of these books was
published in 1948 and the other in 1950; income from
the sales of the first book did not exceed $500 during the
taxable years. No attempt was made during the taxa-
ble years, to segregate expenditure*properly attributa-
ble to producing the copyrighted publications and lab-
oratory research library data, although most of the en-
deavors of White and his associates were connected
with such activities. (R. 66a.)

White devoted about one-half of his time to the pres-
ervation and conservation of his estate during 1948 and
1949. The general manager of the laboratory also spent
one-half of his time on White’s personal affairs. White

—
3

used an arbitrary method of allocating the general man-
ager’s salary according to the time which was spent on
the laboratory affairs and White’s personal affairs.
(R. 66a.)

The joint income tax returns filed by White and his

wife reported income and expenses ca to the op-
eration of the laboratory as follows rv

1948 1949
Income $ 730.10 $ 2,502.26
Expenses $19,354.92 $21,023.28
(less administration of
investments
Net Loss $18,624.82 $18,521.02

Of the $730.10 income received from the operation of
the laboratory in 1948, $625 was acquired in fees for
writing articles for the National Rifle Association.
(R. 68a.)

The laboratory served and benefited a limited number
of persons and organizations, but was not capable of
producing income in amounts sufficient to offset the
usual expenses. White has never made a profit from
the operation of the laboratory; rather its operations
have resulted in losses in each of the 17 years from its
inception in 1936 to the time of the trial in 1953. The
joint income tax return filed by White and his wife for
the year 1951 disclosed a loss of $33,369 from the lab-
oratory operations. (R. 68a-69a.)

Subsequent to the taxable years White made an in-
vestment of $300,000 for the construction of a new lab-
oratory in Maryland. In determining whether his new
enterprise would be profitable, he did not take into ac-
count any amount for interest on that investment or for

4

the value of his own services. He had no real expecta-
tion of any net income for years subsequent to the tax-
able years. (R. 69a.)

White did not operate the laboratory as a business or
with the intention of making a profit during the years
1948 and 1949. The claimed expenditures were neither
ordinary and necessary expenses of carrying on a trade

or business nor losses within the meaning of Section 24
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939. (R. 69a.)

These findings of fact were filed together with the Tax
Court’s opinion on October 19, 1954. (R. 65a.) The Tax
Court’s decision was entered on the same day. (R. 72a.)

ARGUMENT

Was the Ballistics Laboratory Owned by the Taxpayer, Henry
P. White, Operated During the Taxable Years With the In-
tention of Making a Profit So as to Enable the Taxpayers to
Deduct Expenditures in Excess of Income Incurred in Its
Operation as Ordinary and Necessary Expenses of Trade
Or Business Or as Losses Incurred in a Transaction Entered

The taxpayers are claiming deductions from gross
income for amounts purportedly representing expendi-
tures incurred in the operation of the ballistics labora-
tory owned by Henry P. White, during the taxable
years, 1948 and 1949. There is no dispute that the
amounts claimed were actually spent by the taxpayers.
The only question is whether these amounts represented
expenses incurred by the taxpayers in the operation of a
trade or business or whether they can be considered to
represent losses incurred in a transaction entered into
by the taxpayers for profit within the meaning of Sec-

—
5

tion 23 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 ( Appen-
dix A, infra).

It is clear that the criterion for determining whether
or not an expenditure was incurred in the operation of
a trade or business is that the enterprise must have been
entered into with the intention of profiting from its op-
eration. Helvering vy. Nat. Grocery Co., 304 U.S. 282,
289, fn. 5; Thacher v. Lowe, 288 Fed. 994 (S.D.N.Y.);
Cf. Ewing vy. Commissioner, 213 F.2d 438 (C.A. 2d).
It is also clear that an incidental expectation or hope of
profit from the enterprise is not sufficient to cause the
undertaking to be considered a ‘‘trade or business”’
within the meaning of the statute. Cheney v. Commis-
sioner, 22 B.T.A. 672. Rather, the intention to profit
must be the primary and dominant purpose of the tax-
payers’ endeavor. Coffey v. Commissioner, 141 F.2d 204
(C.A. 5th), and Ewing v. Commissioner, supra. Whether
the requisite profit intention is present id a question of
fact which is primarily a determination to be made by
the lower court to which Congress has given the respon-
sibility of making findings of fact. Morton v. Commis-
sioner, 174 F.2d 302, 303 (C_A. 2d), certiorari denied,
338 U.S. 828. And such findings are not to be disturbed
by an appellate court unless they are found by the ap-
pellate court to be clearly erroneous.’ United States v.
Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395, rehearing denied, 333
U.S. 869; Morton v. Commissioner, supra, and Wright-
Bernet v. Commissioner, 172 F.2d 343 (C.A. 6th). The
instant case must be considered with these principles
in mind.

The Tax Court found that Henry P. White *‘did not
operate the ballistics laboratory as a business or with

2 See also Section 7482(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954.

6

the intent of making a profit during the taxable years
1948 and 1949.”” (R. 69a.) The taxpayers’ contention
is that the only evidence supporting that finding by the
Tax Court is that Henry P. White is a wealthy man
and that the business had never made a profit. (Br. 11.)
The Commissioner, however, submits that the evidence
is compelling to support the Tax Court’s finding and
that its decision must therefore be affirmed.

Henry P. White commenced the operation of his bal-
listies laboratory in 1936, shortly after he had inherited
a substantial amount of money. Although he had re-
ceived a degree in engineering in 1934 and was licensed
as a mechanical engineer in two states, he apparently
did not utilize this training during the remainder of
1934 and 1935. (R. 42a-45a.) The record is devoid of
any evidence that White had any knowledge of or train-
ing in the field of ballistics. Previous to receiving his
inheritance, White had been working as an automobile
salesman and later in a bank. (R. 44a.) His earnings
were small and he had been receiving financial assist-
ance from his family. (R. 43a.) From these facts, it
may reasonably be inferred, that once his financial prob-
lems were eliminated (as a result of his inheritance)
and it was no longer necessary for him to concern him-
self with the tasks of supporting himself and his family
he turned his attention to a subject which interested
him for reasons entirely apart from economic motiva-
tions. His entrance into the field of ballistics and am-
munition research can be thus explained.

Moreover, the manner in which the laboratory was
operated from its inception to the time of the Tax Court
hearing is evidence of the fact that the laboratory was
not being operated as a true business or with the inten-

7

tion of making a profit. This is graphically illustrated
by the testimony of E. W. Kronbach, one of the taxpay-
ers’ witnesses. Mr. Kronbach testified that for work
performed for his company by the laboratory in 1940
or 1941, although time and labor were involved, his com-
pany was billed only for the instruments installed. He
further testified that his company paid ‘‘comparatively
little’? for the work and that the laboratory ‘‘didn’t
make much money on it.’’* (Appendix B, infra.) Fur-
thermore, a large part of the time of certain of the lab-
oratory ‘‘employees’’ was spent handling the personal
affairs of Mr. White. Indeed, during the taxable years,
White himself used one-half of his time in managing
his personal matters. (R. 48a, 59a-60a.) And no rec-
ords were maintained showing the exact amount of time
that was used by White’s chief laboratory assistant in
attending to White’s personal affairs. (R. 60a.) But
rather, the arbitrary amount of one-half of the salary
paid to this assistant was allocated to laboratory work
for the purposes of the claimed deductions. (R. 60a.)
Arbitrary allocations of expenses to the personal affairs
and claimed ‘‘business’’ affairs of Mr. White indicate
that it was not of extreme importance to White whether
a profit was in fact being realized from the operation of
the laboratory.‘

3 Similarly, only a “nominal amount” was received for work
performed by the laboratory for the Treasury Department.
(R. 53a.)

*It should also be noted that no deductions for depreciation on
the property occupied by the laboratory was claimed by the tax-
payer for the taxable years. (Exs. 4 and 5). On brief (p. 24) the
taxpayers state that the Commissioner should not complain be-
cause claimed deductions were kept to a minimum. The taxpayers
fail to realize, however, that this merely furnishes another indica-
tion that White was unconcerned with whether the laboratory was

8

Although the financial success of the enterprise is not
the only factor to be considered in determining whether
a profit motive existed, it is certainly most relevant
whether losses were being realized and whether a rea-
sonable man could conduct the undertaking with a real
expectation of profit. Thacher v. Lowe, supra; Morton
y. Commissioner, supra. The evidence on this point, too,
sustains the Tax Court’s finding that the laboratory op-
eration was not a ‘“‘trade or business’”’ within the mean-
ing of Section 23 of the Code. From 1936, when the lab-
oratory was founded, and continuing for each year until
1953, when the hearing before the Tax Court was held,
the laboratory’s expenses exceeded its income and a loss
was realized. (R. 68a-69a.) Moreover, the amounts of
the losses rather than decreasing, as the laboratory be-
came older, increased. (Testimony of White, Appen-
dix B, infra.) The claimed amounts for deductions for
the taxable years, 1948 and 1949, were $19,354.92 and
$21,023.28, respectively, as contrasted with gross income
in those years in the amounts of $730.10 and $2,502.26,
respectively. (R. 67a-68a.) And the loss from the oper-
ation of the laboratory in 1951 was $33,369.98. (Testi-
mony of White, Appendix B, infra.)

In view of such a long history of increasing losses
from 1936 until the taxable years, it would require more
{han optimism to engage, in good faith, in the operation
of such an enterprise during the taxable years with the
intention of making a profit.

In disallowing the claimed deductions, the Commis-

producing a profit or loss. Such lack of interest in the financial
success of the laboratory is also shown by White’s statement that
he was “not concerned enough with my immediate operating
figures” to be able to predict whether the laboratory would operate
at a profit for the year 1953. (R. 57a.)

=—_—
9

sioner has not made a determination that the laboratory
operated by White has not served a useful purpose. On
the contrary, all of the evidence in the record points to
the fact that the undertaking was a meritorious one and
satisfied a need existing in the arms and ammunition
making industries. But this case cannot turn on the rel-
ative merits or demerits of the taxpayers’ undertaking.
The sole question is whether the Tax Court’s finding
that the undertaking was not a trade or business or a
transaction entered into for profit has support in the
evidence. And in this connection it must be remembered
that the burden of proof in the Tax Court was on the
taxpayers. That they did not satisfy this burden is clear
from the record and was so stated by the court below.
(R. 70a.)

It is true that Mr. White testified that he intended
to make a profit from the operation of his laboratory
when he first engaged in the undertaking. (R. 40a, 41a.)
And the taxpayers contend that this testimony is uncon-
tradicted and that no question as to credibility is raised.
The Commissioner presented no witnesses in the Tax
Court, but he did cross-examine the taxpayers’ wit-
nesses. And the assertion of the deficiency itself chal-
lenges White’s self-serving statement that he estab-
lished the laboratory with the intention of making a
profit.” In the circumstances, the Tax Court, as the
trier of fact, was entitled not to believe and apparently
did not believe the statements of Mr. White. Cf. Hel-
vering v. Nat. Grocery Co., supra, p. 295.

5 In this connection it should be noted that White did not testify
that he operated the laboratory with the intent to make a profit
during the taxable years.

ay
10

As shown above, there is ample evidence in the record
to support the Tax Court’s findings of fact. The burden
of proving that the laboratory was operated during the
taxable years with the intent to make a profit was on
the taxpayers. The evidence introduced by the taxpay-
ers was not sufficient to overcome the presumption of
correctness which attached to the Commissioner’s de-
termination that the laboratory was not operated with
a profit motive and the decision of the Tax Court must,
therefore, be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

H. Brian HOLLAND,
Assistant Attorney General.
Euuis N. SLACK,
Marvin W. WEINSTEIN,
Special Assistants to the
Attorney General.

11

APPENDIX A

Internal Revenue Code of 1939:

Sec. 23. Depuctions rrom Gross Income.

In computing net income there shall be allowed as deduc-
tions:
(a) [as amended by Sec. 121, Revenue Act of 1942,
c. 619, 56 Stat. 798] Expenses.—

(1) Trade or business expenses.—

(e) Losses by Individuals.—In the case of an indi-
vidual, losses sustained during the taxable year and not
compensated for by insurance or otherwise—

(1) if incurred in trade or business; or

(2) if incurred in any transaction entered into for
profit, though not connected with the trade or busi-
ness; or

(26 U.S.C. 1952 ed., Sec. 23.)

TESTIMONY OF CALVIN H. GODDARD 1b

Testimony of Calvin H. Goddard
(Tr. 20]

Cross EXAMINATION
By Mr. Kennepy:

[Tr. 22-23]

Q. Did you have as much investment in your laboratory
as Mr. White has in his?

A. No, I should say I have personally about $10,000 and
what White had, I don’t know. He was the fellow into whose
good will I bought.

Q. Did you need a laboratory as extensive as Mr. White’s
in order to do the work that the Bureau of Forensic Bal-
listies was set up to do?

A. No, we didn’t, because you see, White’s work is in a
different field, a collateral field. White’s resources put him
in a position to do all this computation work in criminal
cases, which he does not do.

I have frequently been requested since I went back on
active duty many years ago to take criminal cases and I will
not, because I feel that my military status would make it
very embarrassing for me to go into such an enterprise and
on many occasions I have tried to get the White Company
to accept a criminal case and they won’t do it.

They have the resources, they have a comparison micro-
scope and have the photographie equipment, but they pre-
fer to do developmental work in the field of small arms, de-
veloping a new type of cartridge or improving on an old
type or testing a new type of weapon to determine whether
the pressures developed by the load are within normal lim-
its and safe limits and so forth.

The work, as I say, although collateral, is not identical,
and in the erime laboratory it doesn’t need all the equip-
ment that they have.

2b TESTIMONY OF E. W. KRONBACH

Testimony of E. W. Kronbach
(Tr. 40]

Cross EXAMINATION

By Mr. Kennepy:

Q. Mr. Kronbach, when was this work done for you by
White, what year was that, if you know?

A. As I recall, it was late 1940 or early 1941, we put this
in.

Q. Do you recall what you paid Mr. White for the service?

A. We paid comparatively little. I don’t recall what the
instrument was, but I know this, that they came over every
time we called them to re-adjust or make a change here and
there. I think a good deal of that time, I think none of that
time was paid for. I know they never billed us and the only
thing they billed us was the original instruments, I think.
We bought one in 1941 and one a short time later.

Q. Do you know whether those instruments were billed to
you, to the White Company, or what?

A. I wouldn’t know that. I know they didn’t make much
money on it.

Mr. Kenwepy: That’s all.
Mr. Ciyxe: That’s all, thank you very much.

TESTIMONY OF HENRY P. WHITE 3b
Testimony of Henry P. White
{Tr. 71]
Cross EXAMINATION

By Mr. Kennepy:

[Tr. 76-81}

Q. In 1938 you actually received the corpus of this?

A. In 1939.

Q. Half or the full corpus?

A. Half the corpus.

Q. Mr. White, you have never made a profit, have you,
from this operation of the laboratory?

A. No, sir.

Q. Do you have any recollection of the amounts of re-
sources that you had between 1938 and the present time?

A. No, sir; I don’t have my figures at hand, I’m sorry.

Q. You do have such figures?

A. I do not have them.

Q. I mean, you do have them someplace?

A. Well, I rather imagine back in some file box, we've
got them.

Q. Would about $5,000 be the amount of loss in 193817

A. I’m sorry, I can’t answer that, I really don’t have any
recollection of it.

Q. In the years 1948 and 1949, the tax returns, Exhibits
4 and 5, your losses were approximately $18,000?

A. Yes, sir, between $18,000 and eighteen-five.

Q. For each year, were your losses earlier than 1948 less
or greater than that amount, that is, 1947 and earlier years?

A. My recollection was that they were less, but how much
less they were, I don’t recall.

Q. According to Exhibit 5, which is your joint income tax
return of you and your wife for the year 1948, you had gross
income from the operation of the H. P. White Company of

oe

4b TESTIMONY OF HENRY P. WHITE

$730.10. Now, do you recall from what source or sources
that $730.10 was made up?

A. I’m just trying to remember back now.

Q. Well, perhaps—let me again refresh your recol-
lection—

A. Thank y ”.

Q. My recoris show here that from the Franklin Stone
Ware Velocity Test Cartridges you received $24, do you
recall that?

A. Vaguely.

Q. Would you know how much time was spent by that by
either you or Mr. Munhall or some other employee of yours
that made the test? If you don’t remember specifically from
your experience, would you be able to recall how much—

A. As I recall that particular job, I rather imagine it
took up in the neighborhood of three hours to perform that
particular test.

Q. I also have a record you received $25 from the Liberty
Mutual Insurance Company for the preparation of a report
whether a rifle was faulty and caused an injury to a hunter,
that was in 1948.

A. No, I don’t recall. They frequently call us and ask our
opinion on that as to the probability of their liability under
some particular insurance clause or something like that.

Q. Would that require the service of either you or Mr.
Munhall? :

A. Yes, it would.

Q. About how long would it take you to undertake such
a test?

A. Well, that particular item there, I don’t imagine
probably wasn’t even testing. I don’t recall a particular
item itself. It most likely was a conference.

Q. A conference which might have taken an hour or less?

A. Probably met for a couple hours or something like
that.

Q. It says, ‘Preparation of report.’’ You wrote a report
on it?

A. Well, I don’t recall it.

Q. Well, how long do your reports on such a matter take?

=

TESTIMONY OF HENRY P. WHITE 5b

A. Well, that kind of question is like asking how long is
the tail of a dog? You don’t know.

Q. It was only $25, you know.

A. Well, it evidently was.

Q. Then you received $14.90 from the sale of surplus cart-
ridges. I don’t suppose you would remember that.

A. Well, we would have quite a surplus of collectible ma-
terial that we were endeavoring to realize money on, so that
we wouldn’t have to care for them. They were of no fur-
ther use to us, so we sold them.

Q. Then my records show that you received $7 from the
Cleveland Skating Club for preparation of special blanks
for some ice review.

. Yes, I recall that.

How long did it take to prepare the blanks?

. About half an hour.

Did you prepare them?

No.

Did Mr. Munhall prepare them?

. Either him or one of the assistants.

. I see. You have $10 for consultation on whether your
services would be valuable to a murder trial. Do you recall
that?

A. No, I don’t. Mr. Munhall took most of the legal phase
of the work. I have qualified, of course, before the State of
Ohio, as an expert in the line of mechanical engineering. He
has handled most of the identification work.

Q. Then I have a fee here that says, $16.20 for sale of
surplus books You were selling books on occasions?

Q. Yes, I have. I have mentioned earlier in the testimony
we acquired a tremendous mass of material immediately
following the war, one of the largest bulk of it, some 5 tons
of it, as a matter of fact, including books and cartridges and
pertinent mechanical portions of guns, we purchased from
a chap on the West Coast and we catalogued that stuff and
we incorporated into our reference collection what was
needed and what was not needed we disposed of as the oc-
casion would permit. We didn’t catalogue it for general
sale, because frankly, it would bave been too long, a tedious

O>Oororear

6b TESTIMONY OF HENRY P. WHITE

job, but when some people of associated interest would come
in and there was a surplus, we would say, ‘*Take what you
want,’’ and it was that kind of a transaction.

(Tr. 91-93]

Q. What is its source of income?

A. Primarily the source of ineome is from its annual sub-
scriptions. I believe it’s $5 a year now. Maybe it’s four,
but I believe it’s $5 a year now. Of course, they have a good
many life members and they are the only ones entitled to a
vote at the annual meeting. It is very similar to other na-
tional organizations encompassing other lines of endeavor.

Q. That $5 fee, what cost does that defray for the Ameri-
can Rifle Association, does that entitle the member to a
magazine?

A. It entitles him to a magazine, it entitles him to a con-
sideration of questions he might send to their technical
department regarding his weapons or ammunition or closely
allied items. It also entitles him to a certain amount of
information about gun and game laws and so on, some of
the finer interpretations thereof. It entitles him to partici-
pate in a great many of their actual target matches and it
also entitles him, and this is a vague benefit and one which
I am not entirely in sympathy with, through the Director of
Civilian Marksmanship of the United States Army, mem-
bers, and only members alone of the National Rifle Associa-
tion may purchase through the Director of Civilian Marks-
manship rifles and components for the purpose of promot-
ing marksmanship in the United States.

Q. $5 is used for the purpose of defraying costs of mem-
bership?

A. Yes.

Q. You don’t know if they have any trust funds set up?

A. They have several trust funds set up.

Q. Without going into the details, do you happen to know
the amount of the total assets of the association?

A. No, I don’t know that, I know the director of that
association.

——
TESTIMONY OF HENRY P. WHITE 7b

Q. Do you know whether they would be able to purchase
your organization and pay back your investment?

A. Well, as I say, I don’t know. There has been no
amount mentioned.

. . . . .
(Tr. 102]
RECROSS-EXAMIN ATION.
By Mr. Kewwepy:
. . . . .
(Tr. 104-106]

Q. Do you recall what your returns were in 1950 from the
operation of the H. P. White Company?

A. No, sir; I do not.

Q. Would about $20,000 be close to that loss?

A. I don’t recall the figures. The figures are entirely
out of my head.

Q. But you did have a loss?

A. Yes, sir; we did.

Q. About the same as the amount you lost in 1948 and
19497

A. I don’t recall.

Q. Do you recall what your loss was in 1951?

A. No, I don’t.

The Crerx: Offered for identification Exhibit D.

(Thereupon, the document above referred to was marked
Respondent's Exhibit D.)

Q. I show you, Mr. White, what has been marked as Re-
spondent’s Exhibit D, and I ask you if you can identify that.
Is that your joint income tax return for the year 1951?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. I call your attention to Schedule C on Page 2 of that
return, entitled, ‘‘Profit or Loss from Business or Profes-
sion,’’ and I ask you to read the resultant figure.

A. Where is that?

Q. Schedule C.

SSSR PLOT VET IC

8b TESTIMONY OF HENRY P. WHITE

A. Net profit or loss, Line 4, less Line 5, close parentheses
$33,369.98.

Q. That was loss for that year, is that correct?

A. Lassume that it was, I am not too very good at figures.

Q. Well, that figure of $33,000 is in parentheses.

A. May I ask, may I consult my counsel about this? I
don’t know what losses you are talking about, sir.

Mr. Ciyne: May I take it?

The Witness: Yes, surely.

Mr. Ciyne: There are your losses, that $33,000 figure.
Will you state your loss for counsel?

The Witness: $33,369.98.

By Mr. Kennepy:

Q. That was the loss on the operation of the H. P. White
Company for the year 1951, was it not?

A. Yes, that was incurred due to the fact that we were
getting ready to move to Bel Air.

Q. Just one more question, Mr. White. You have testi-
fied you are doing better this year, in 19531

A. Yes.

Q. You do have records, don’t you?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. You don’t wish to put any of those records in to show
how much better you are doing?

A. No, I don’t. I believe we have taken in about twice
as much as we did last year, but I think we have done maybe
even a little bit better than that, I don’t know.

Q. Do you have those records with you?

A. No, I do not.

Q. Didn’t you think they might be helpful in this trial?

A. Well, frankly, to be frank with you, I do deal with
mathematies all the time, but I’m afraid these tax matters
rather confuse me. Perhaps I should have brought them.
If I should have and haven’t, I’m awfully sorry.

WU. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE. 1958 s3eee8 i208

APR 9 1956

B. WILLEY, Clerk

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955.

No. . > ae

HENRY P. WHITE, and
ESTATE OF NANCY A. WHITE, deceased,
T. LEO SULLIVAN, ADMINISTRATOR, c.t.a.,

Petitioners,
Vv .

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit.

Tuomas V. Koyxkxka,
Frep D. Kipper,

1144 Union Commerce Building,
Cleveland 14, Ohio,
Epcar S. Byers,

701 N. B. C. Building,
Cleveland 14, Ohio,

Counsel for Petitioners.
April 5, 1956.

_ ——_—__——

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OhIO-——-MAIN 1-5647

eka ne FMRI WELT IY A OIL AIOE,

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

PeTITION FoR Writ oF CERTIORARI ---------------
TI iin nc scecinin ene hind caiianeiiaealicaes

(i) Nature of the Laboratory --_----------

(ii) What the Laboratory Does ------------
—Basis of Decision Below __------------------
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT ---------------
I. Srxtn Circurr Is ms Conriict WitH ANOTHER

1. Sixth Circuit Imported Profit Test from Statute
Not Controlling Here ---------------------

2. Sixth Circuit’s Construction Gives Statute
Alarming Turn —-.--~--------------------

—(a) Decision, Not Statute, Lets Commis-
sioner Bar Venture if He Thinks it Is
TO CI an enn

I i ccnecscwcsdeninintneetodoaninanatenannniee
3. Sixth Circuit’s Decision Is Hostile to Reading
Given Statute in Other Circuits ______------

Il. Tuts Court’s Decisions LEAvE QuesTION UN-
I ee Ac a Le CSO

LE CEDAR Sie LLL ANC POET re

OL i ED il EG

APPENDIX:

Findings of Fact and Opinion of Tax Court ------ 21
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit _.__-------------------- 28
Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit _-_.------------------ 30
Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit Denying Rehearing -------- 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases.
Cecil v. Commissioner (4C. A., 1939), 100 F. 2d 896__ 15
Cecil, Cornelia (1938), 37 B. T. A. 904 ----------- 15
Deputy v. du Pont (1940), 308 U. S. a 17, 18

Doggett v. Burnet (App. D. C., 1933), 65 F. 2d 191__ 8, 9
Ewing v. Commissioner (2 C. A., 1954), 213 F. 2d 438 11
Higgins v. Commissioner (1941), 312 U. S. 212____12, 17

McDonald v. Commissioner (1944), 323 U.S. 57 ---- 17
Thacher v. Lowe (S. D. N. Y., 1922), 288 F. 994---10, 11
United States v. Pyne (1941), 313 U. S. 127 ------ 12, 17
Whitney v. Commissioner (3 C. A., 1934), 73 F. 2d

eee ae 16
Widener, Commissioner v. (3 C. A., 1929), 33 F. 2d

TN ceeieuienniednbinipanansnnatte 16
Wilmington Trust Co., Helvering v. (3 C. A., 1941),

194 98 156 2. nnn 18

Wilmington Trust Co. v. Helvering (1942), 316 U.S.
Ye aS aR art eatin ena en meena nen ne 18

Texts.
Froman, Principles of Economics, Revised Edition,
I cic otek tetnonntinnnitacmps 12
4 Mertens, Law of Federal Income Taxation (Zimet &
Diamond Revision) § 25.15 _____-_----------- 11
Paul, Taxation in the United States (p. 368) _------ 13
Statutes.
Internal Revenue Code of 1939:
ee CE 5 ee eeeaaeene 2, 3, 8, 10, 11, 15
NR TRIE. Shadcciia tenia doce mnie 11, 12
ae Eee SEARLES SAE. et he 13
Internal Revenue Code of 1954:
Sp Re Sees Peer 2, 3,8
a aR AE ERY es epee enna nee oe 11
I ig chine ce ccc papectahacenciatinienls eetieeninte 13
Revenue Act of 1926, Sec. 214(a)(1) _------------ 8
Be Se reece ee = 5
ee te actecceectinnecenciienteneiniannicnceenengantie 2

28 U. S. C. 2101(c) _----------- Wee ae 2

—

In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1955.
| eee

HENRY P. WHITE, and
ESTATE OF NANCY A. WHITE, deceased,
T. LEO SULLIVAN, ADMINISTRATOR, c-t.c.,

Petitioners,
v.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

To the Honorable Earl Warren, the Chief Justice of the
United States, and the Associate Justices of the
Supreme Court of the United States:

Petitioner, Henry P. White, and the Estate of Nancy

A. White, T. Leo Sullivan, administrator c.t.a., pray that

a writ of certiorari issue to the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Sixth Circuit to review the judgment entered

by that court in cause No. 12,445.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinions of the courts below may be found:

Opinion of the Tax Court, by Judge Opper, is reported
in 23 T. C. 94, and is printed in the appendix
hereto, page 21.

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit (Judges Martin, Miller and Stew-
art) is reported in 227 F. 2d 779, and is printed in
the appendix, page 28.

2

JURISDICTION.

The judgment presented for review is dated and was
entered December 16, 1955; petition for rehearing was de-
nied January 13, 1956.

This Court has jurisdiction to review under 28 U.S. C.
§ 1254(1) upon petition for certiorari filed within the 90
days prescribed by 28 U. S. C. § 2101(c).

QUESTION PRESENTED.

The question presented is:

Whether the Court of Appeals has established an er-
roneous standard for determining what is a “trade or
business” under § 23(a)(1)(A) of the Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1939 [a statute which continues as
§ 162(a) of the present Internal Revenue Code of
1954].

STATUTE INVOLVED.
Decision in this case turns upon the proper construc-
tion of a “trade or business” under § 23(a) (1) (A) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1939, which reads:

“SEC, 23. DEDUCTIONS FROM GROSS INCOME.

In computing net income there shall be allowed
as deductions:
(a) ExPEeNsEes.—
(1) Trape or Business ExPENSES.—

(A) In Generar.—All the ordinary and
necessary expenses paid or incurred during the
taxable year in carrying on any trade or busi-
ness, * * _ 1

\ ‘The same provision continues in the present Internal Reve-
nue Code of 1954, § 162(a), in the following form:

“There shall be allowed as a deduction all the ordinary
and necessary expenses paid or incurred during the taxable
year in carrying on any trade or business, * * *.”

OI ITS ae
; RA SRL TIE OOS GE AS PO: CB dll

3
STATEMENT OF CASE.

The taxpayer, Henry P. White (who, with his wife,
Nancy A. White, now deceased, filed the joint income tax
returns for the years 1948 and 1949, here in question)
operates, as an individual proprietor, a ballistics labora-
tory engaged in testing, research and development of fire-

—The Issue.

The courts below—because they applied an erroneous
standard—held the laboratory was not operated with “a
profit motive” and was not a “trade or business.”

Both courts so held on the ground there was no:

“reasonable possibility of the laboratory’s ever gen-
erating gross income sufficient to offset its expenses.”

(Court of Appeals, Appendix, p. 29; see also, Tax

Court, Appendix, p. 25.)

Both courts allowed deduction of the expenses of
operating the laboratory up to the extent of the income re-
ceived in each of the two years in question; they disallowed
all expenses incurred in excess of the income received in
those years.

Both courts thus made the success of the venture con-
trol the extent to which expenses shall be allowed under
§ 23(a) (1) (A) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939 [and
§162(a) of the present Code}.

This gives to an important statute, which affects sub-
stantially every business return filed, a strange and alarm-
ing turn.

—How Issue Arises.

To measure the mischief the decision below does to
the statute, and to gauge its consequences on the reading
of revenue laws, it will be useful to note what, in the Sixth
Circuit, no longer qualifies as a “trade or business.”

EIT OS ONT

“7

4
(i) Nature of the Laboratory.

The laboratory was established in Cleveland in 1936
by Henry P. White, then a young man of 27, two years out
of Cornell, where he had received his engineering degree
in 1934. (Tr. 54, 71, 76.)

During all of the intervening years the taxpayer has
continued the operation of the laboratory. He has en-
larged its facilities and services. In 1953, outgrowing the
Cleveland quarters, and for better access to army and navy
proving grounds and the New York and New England
arms manufacturing district, the taxpayer moved the
laboratory to Bel Air, Maryland, where it now is located.
(Tr. 53-54, 114.) The laboratory now is equipped to do
not only research and development in small arms and am-
munition, but also mechanical development, testing and
analysis not directly allied with the field for which the
laboratory was established. (Ex. 1, Tr. 52, 62.) )

(ii) What the Laboratory Does.

Whether the laboratory is a “trade or business,” the
taxpayer believes, must, under the statute, turn on what it |
does and not on anyone’s prophecy as to its “reasonable
possibility” of earning a profit.

These—and there is no dispute about this—are the
activities in which the laboratory engaged:

Published three technical books based on research
done by the laboratory. The books, although they
have enjoyed only limited sale because of their
specialized nature, are important contributions,
and are a source of continuing income. (Tr. 89.)
They are:

Catalog of Cartridge Manufacturers and Base
Marks, published in 1944, sold at $50 per vol-

FILED LATED Ad oie

5

ume to the armed forces and to law enforce-
ment agencies including the FBI. (Tr. 60, 94-
95.)

Center Fire Metric Pistol and Revolver Cartridges,
published in 1948, and publicly sold on a roy-
alty basis. (Ex. A, Tr. 85, 86, 89, 96.)

Center Fire American and British Pistol and Re-
volver Cartridges, published in 1950, most of
the work for which was done in 1947 and 1948,
and likewise publicly sold on a royalty basis.
(Ex. B, Tr. 86-87, 96.)

Published numerous magazine articles and technical
papers (Ex. 1, Tr. 52, 62, 87-88) for compensa-
tion. (Tr. 89.) The revenue from these sources
was $625 in 1948 (Tr. 81) and $825 in 1949. (Tr.
89.)

Held contracts with the Navy, involving both guns and
ammunition (Tr. 54, 61, 99, 102-103), and with
the Treasury in identification and evaluation of
seized illegal weapons (Tr. 54-55, 94). The lab-
oratory is, and since 1939 has been, designated
as a research laboratory by the Treasury under
§ 4(5) of the Federal Firearms Act, 15 U. S. C.
§ 904. (Ex. 2, Tr. 54, 55, 56, 63.)

Performed services for the National Rifle Association,
a national organization with 300,000 members.
(Tr. 20, 56, 91.)

Performed services for individuals and companies in
connection with litigation. (Tr. 57, 78, 80, 89.)

Rendered services to “hand loaders,” small arms
enthusiasts who prefer to load their own ammu-
nition for greater accuracy (Tr. 19-20, 28-30, 42-

SP AEGEIOO OA AP IS A PTD

6
45, 47-48, 61), of whom, it is estimated, there are
20,000 in the country. (Tr. 30.) This is a group
which appears to be growing in numbers (Tr.
28-29, 44, 61.)

Negotiated with the National Rifle Association for en-
larged services to its members in examination
and certification of arms akin to the work done
by Good Housekeeping magazine in connection
with its seal of approval. (Tr. 63-64, 101-102.)

Performed ballistics tests and analytical work for
private industry (Tr. 78, 81, 89), developed
highly useful tests of armor plate for tank manu-
facture (Tr. 36-37) and engaged in work for
Remington Arms Company. (Tr. 93.)

Solicited business. (Tr. 98-99, 111, Ex. 1, Tr. 52, 62.)

Negotiated with a sports magazine for purchase of the
laboratory's services. (Tr. 102.)

Prepared the lessons in firearms identification used
by the Institute of Applied Science in Chicago,
graduates of which staff 800 law enforcement
identification bureaus. (Tr. 49-51.)

Plainly, by all indicia, the laboratory is a “trade or

business.

But, it did not earn a profit.

It had income, $730.10 in 1948, and $2,502.26 in 1949.
But it did not—in the view of the courts below—have
enough income.

The courts below, therefore, allowed deduction of
expenses only to the extent of the income earned.

—Basis of Decision Below.

The Tax Court “commended” the taxpayer “for the
devotion of his time and effort in a worth-while endeavor”
(Appendix, p. 27) and for the services rendered “not
only to industrial producers but to local and even Federal
government.” (Appendix, p. 29.)

So did the Court of Appeals. (Appendix, p. 29.)

But both courts ruled the laboratory could not be a
“trade or business” because, in their view, it never could
be operated profitably.

The taxpayer did not share this belief. Before start-
ing the enterprise, the taxpayer consulted eminent and
qualified persons concerning the need for the services of
such a laboratory and to see “what business might be ex-
pected.” (Tr. 66.) He intended “to sell * * * services to
the public” (‘fr. 66)—and did, as has been seen—and
said he “went into this to make a profit.” (Tr. 68.) In
1953, confident of success, he established a vastly ex-
panded plant in Bel Air, Maryland, involving a capital
investment of $300,000. (Ex. 1, Tr. 52-53, 62, 114.) He
believed he would be in the black in 1954. (Tr. 100.)

Because the taxpayer did not in fact turn a profit,
and because the laboratory in the Tax Court's view “was
not capable of producing income in sufficient amount to
offset the usual expenses” (Appendix, p. 25), the Tax
Court held the taxpayer (Appendix, p. 27):

“could not in good faith reasonably have expected or

intended to operate his ballistics laboratory profit-

| ably.”
The Sixth Circuit agreed. It held the laboratory
offered no “reasonable possibility” of profit. (Appendix,
p. 29.)
This makes success the test.
The statute does not so provide.

Nt OD Re nit nA ee

(Pitter em nee awe
.
;

8
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT.

The Court should grant the writ to restore to an
important revenue statute the meaning, language, con-
text, history and common sense demand.

I. SIXTH CIRCUIT IS IN CONFLICT WITH
ANOTHER CIRCUIT.

The command of the statute, § 23(a)(1)(A) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1939 (as well as of the present
statute, § 162(a) of the 1954 Code) is that “there shall be
allowed” as deductions in computing income subject to
tax:

“All the ordinary and necessary expenses paid or in-
curred during the taxable year in carrying on any
trade or business * * *.”

That is all there is.

The statute does not say expenses shall be allowed
only to the extent of the income earned, or only if there is
(Appendix, p. 29):

“reasonable possibility of * * * generating gross in-
come sufficient to offset * * * expenses.”

The condition the Sixth Circuit has read into the
statute is in conflict with the construction put upon the
statute by the Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-
bia in Doggett v. Burnet (App. D. C., 1933), 65 F. 2d 191.

The court in Doggett had before it § 214(a) (1) of the
Revenue Act of 1926. It read precisely as does the present
statute.’

2 The statute in Doggett, § 214(a) (1) of the Revenue Act of
1926, provided, as does the statute here in question (65 F. 2d
at 193):

“In computing net income there shall be allowed as deduc-
tions: (1) All the ordinary and necessary expenses paid
or incurred during the taxable year in carrying on any trade
or business, * * *.”

pe — a MG RGR a

>"

9

In Doggett, the taxpayer, while in England, became
interested (p. 192) “in the writings and teachings of Jo-
anna Southcott, a religious teacher and prophetess, who
died in 1814.” The taxpayer (p. 192):

“read the sixty-five works of Joanna Southcott which
were in the British library. The remaining works of
Joanna Southcott are supposed to be sealed in an ark
in the custody of the British Parliament, and her
followers believe that the ark will be opened by the
twenty-four bishops of the House of Lords. The ark
was to be opened in 1914, or whenever the nation’s
troubles demanded that it be opened.”

Miss Doggett returned to this country and undertook
the publication of the works of Joanna Southcott (p. 192):

“for the benefit, as she alleges, of the American people,
and also with the expectation of deriving a large profit
from the sale of the books after the ark is opened.”

She spent $38,000 on the task. But, as the court
noted (p. 192):

“The sale of the books has been limited, and about
200,000 are stored in San Diego.”

The Board of Tax Appeals denied to Miss Doggett
deduction of expenses incurred in the prosecution of the
work on the “reasonable possibility” of profit reading of
the statute the Sixth Circuit here has espoused. The
Board (p. 193):

“denied the deduction on the ground that appellant has
failed to show that the alleged business of publishing
and marketing the books of Joanna Southcott has
been profitable, or that there is prospect that it will
be profitable.”

The Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
reversed. It rejected the construction given the statute by

10

the Board—and here adopted by the Sixth Circuit. The
court said (p. 193):
“We think this is too severe a limitation to be placed

upon the determination of what constitutes a business
within legal contemplation.”

The court ruled (p. 193):

“to hold that the legal test of whether or not an occupa-
tion constitutes the doing of business, depends on
whether it is profitable or has prospects of being
profitable, is too restrictive an interpretation of the
revenue act.”

The “better test,” the court went on to say (p. 194):

“ss whether or not the person engaged in a legitimate

enterprise shows a willingness to invest time and
capital on the future outcome of the enterprise,
whether it be successful or unsuccessful.”

1. Sixth Circuit Imported Profit Test
from Statute Not Controlling Here.

It is easy to see how the Sixth Circuit fell into its
profit-test rendering of the statute.

The court quarried the profit-standard from another
statute.

And then it imported that standard into the statute
the court had before it.

The Sixth Circuit was led into this, taking from one
statute and adding to another, by the Tax Court. The Tax
Court, as its opinion shows, relied principally on Thacher
v. Lowe (S. D. N. Y., 1922), 288 F. 994.

But Thacher, as the opinion shows, turned on a dif-
ferent statute. It dealt with a statute which, unlike
present § 23(a) (1) (A), concerned, as the court pointed
out (p. 994):

-_

11
“ lawful business carried on for gain or profit.
The profit-standard which was in the statute the court
had before it in Thacher has its counterpart in § 23(e) (2)
of the 1939 Code (and § 165(c) (2) of the present Code)
which allows deduction, in the case of individuals, of
“losses”:

9993

“if incurred in any transaction entered into for profit
* * #”

The fact that Congress wrote the test of profit into
one statute is no ground for importing it, as both the Tax
Court and the Sixth Circuit here have done, into another
statute where Congress omitted it.

As is pointed out in 4 Mertens, Law of Federal Income
Taxation (Zimet & Diamond Revision) § 25.15:

“It is necessary but not easy to distinguish between
losses and business expenses. The necessity of such
distinction arises from the fact that the Code contains
separate provisions dealing with deductions for losses

and those dealing with deductions for business ex-
pences.”

The Sixth Circuit’s failure to discriminate between
statutes is evident from the fact that when the court, in
Note 1 of its opinion, quoted the statute it was construing
(Appendix, p. 28), it omitted entirely § 23(a) (1) (A)—
the statute which controlled the case before it—and quoted
instead § 23(e) dealing with losses in a “transaction en-
tered into for profit.”

The Sixth Circuit’s failure to discriminate is evident
also from its reliance not only on Thacher but on Ewing v.
Commissioner (2 C. A., 1954), 213 F. 2d 438, which like-
wise dealt, not with the statute here in question, but with

RAGE TE RAMEN: SAE TY

Oe eae supplied throughout the brief except as otherwise
noted.

12
§ 23(e) (2), allowing losses from a “transaction entered
into for profit.”

The Sixth Circuit has fed into the statute dealing with
the expenses allowed a “trade or business” a condition
Congress lodged in a different statute.

Such construction by osmosis this Court has con-
demned. Higgins v. Commissioner (1941), 312 U. S. 212,
217; United States v. Pyne (1941), 313 U. S. 127, 131.

2. Sixth Circuit’s Construction
Gives Statute Alarming Turn.

The “reasonable possibility” of profit test the Sixth
Circuit has written into the statute gives the statute an
alarming turn and almost certainly violates congressional
policy:

—(a) Decision, Not Statute, Lets Commissioner
Bar Venture if He Thinks It Too Costly.

Congress could not have intended to empower either
Commissioner or the courts to allow or disallow expenses
according to their belief concerning the “reasonable pos-
sibility” of profit in a “trade or business.”

The law, as written, leaves it, not to the Commissioner
or the courts, but to the taxpayer to say how long he shall
persevere in what to others may appear a fruitless effort.’
It is well to bear in mind, as is pointed out by Professor
Lewis A. Froman, Principles of Economics, Revised
Edition, 1946, that (p. 544):

4In the present case, for example, Col. Calvin H. Goddard
who organized the Bureau of Forensic Ballistics in New York in
1924 (Tr. 10) and the Crime Detection Laboratory at North-
western University in 1930 (Tr. 13) testified that after the Satur-
day Evening Post published two 10,000 word articles on his
laboratory in 1925 he expected to be overwhelmed by business.
(Tr. 24.) The revenue for the entire year following the publi-
cation turned out to be $50. (Tr. 24, 32.)

a 13

“it is the rule, rather than the exception, for a relatively
large number of businesses to operate at a loss each
year.”

Professor Froman points out, from a study of corpo-
rate returns as reported by the Treasury (p. 545) “For the
period 1922-29, which is usually considered to be one of
at least average, if not glowing, prosperity,” that (p. 545):

“approximately 40 per cent of all corporations reported
no net income during each of the years.” °
The statute does not demand success and the court

had no right to say it does.

—(b) Decision Short-Circuits

“Hobby Loss” Statute.

The Tax Court and the Sixth Circuit appear to have
treated the laboratory as if it were a hobby. Treating the
laboratory as a hobby, which it most surely is not, the
decision still would be wrong under the hobby loss statute
which Congress wrote into the law in the Revenue Act of
1943. It is § 130 of the 1939 Code (and § 270 of the pres-
ent Code). It says that if deductions exceed income by
more than $50,000 “for five consecutive taxable years” the
deductions “shall be allowed only to the extent of $50,000
plus the gross income * * *,.”

Of this statute Randolph E. Paul, in Taxation in the
United States, says (p. 368):

“One item of intense debate on the Senate floor was
a Committee ‘anti-hobby’ amendment, popularly
known as the ‘Marshall Field amendment,’ which
provided for a restriction on the deduction of losses
in a trade or business where the losses continued for
five consecutive years. Under this provision, as
finally enacted, loss deductions were restricted to

5 The italics are Professor Froman’s.

14

$50,000 a year where the taxpayer’s losses exceeded
that amount for the five years. The provision was not
effective for any taxable years beginning prior to
January 1, 1944. Democratic Senator Clark of Mis-
souri had been for this amendment because Marshall
Field had been ‘engaged in the activity of starting
newspapers and other publications around over the
country for the purpose of influencing and, as some of
us think, corrupting, the public mind, simply as a
device to reduce his income taxes.’ The Senator
changed sides when he learned from Senator Barkley
that the amendment would not apply to Field because
he had incorporated his newspaper enterprises, and
would apply principally to persons like his late father-
in-law who had lost money in the enterprise of im-
proving the breed of Guernsey cattle. Republican
Senator Danaher continued his floor fight for the
amendment in a debate which exhibited great learn-
ing on the subject of breeding cattle. Senator Barkley
warned that the amendment would affect oil operators
and others who had losses in the early years of opera-
tion of a risky business, and Democratic Senator El-
mer Thomas of Oklahoma feared for persons like
Henry Ford who had daringly experimented with soy-
beans. However, the Senate voted favorably on the
amendment 37 to 26.

Later, in the House debate on the conference re-
port Democratic Representative Cochran of Missouri
pointed out that the amendment put a penalty on
progress as well as science. ‘Great benefits accrue
from hobbies,’ said the Congressman, who went on to
cite cases in support of this generalization. In addition
to ‘fine beef and dairy cattle,’ the ‘finest breed of hogs,
chickens, and other agricultural products, the finest
thoroughbred horses in the world,’ there were Thomas
Edison and his hobbies; moreover, the Diesel engine
had originated in some hobby financing by Adolphus
Busch and a Mr. Sulzer of Switzerland.”

a

15

If the “hobby loss” statute controls, the decision be-
low is manifestly wrong because the taxpayer’s expenses’
did not exceed the limit fixed by the statute.

But if the “hobby loss” statute does not control, it is
itself a token of congressional policy which the decision at
hand frustrates.

In short, this statute visits on the individual whose
“trade or business” runs in the red by more than $50,000
for five years an additional penalty for his want of success.
Here the court has visited on this taxpayer the same

penalty but without allowing to the taxpayer the deduc-
tions the statute says he shall have.

3. Sixth Circuit’s Decision Is Hostile to
Reading Given Statute in Other Circuits.

The Sixth Circuit’s construction of the “trade or busi-
ness” provision of § 23(a) (1) (A) is also at odds, although
short of square conflict, with the reading given that statute
in the Third and Fourth Circuits. For example:

Cecil v. Commissioner (4 C. A., 1939), 100 F. 2d 896,
involved denial by the Board of Tax Appeals of
deduction for expenses incurred by the taxpayer
in operating her ancestral home, on a very large
estate in Buncombe County, North Carolina, as
a museum, because the Board, Cornelia Cecil
(1938), 37 B. T. A. 904, had found that (p. 914)
“all petitioner intended to do was to try to break
even.” The Fourth Circuit reversed. Although
the court did not wholly exclude the element of
profit, the court said (100 F. 2d at 901) “In de-
ciding the case on the view that the enterprise
could not as a matter of law be considered a
‘business’ unless the taxpayer intended and ex-

16

pected a net profit, we think the Board adopted
too narrow a concept of the word ‘profit? * **.” |
The court considered it enough that the taxpayer
put the property (p. 899) “to the use and enjoy-
ment of the public for compensation * * *.”
Whitney v. Commissioner (3 C. A., 1934), 73 F. 2d
589, and Commissioner v. Widener (3 C. A,
1929), 33 F. 2d 833, both held the operation of
racing stables, which never had shown a profit, |
;

constituted a “business.” In Whitney, rejecting
the conclusion of the Board of Tax Appeals that
(73 F. 2d at 592) “the pleasure in owning a
stable was the primary interest of the petitioner,”
the Third Circuit reversed, noting that, as here,
the enterprise (p. 591) “was run on a business
basis.”° In Widener the court affirmed the
Board’s holding that the operation of the stable
was a business even though (33 F. 2d at 833)
“petitioners were wealthy enough to afford a
hazardous occupation in which they found pleas-
ure despite discouraging losses.”

Plainly, unanimity of view on the meaning of “trade

or business” does not prevail in the circuits.

*The White Laboratory operated on regular hours, 8 a.m.
to 4:30 p.m. daily (Tr. 56-57), employed subordinates (Tr. 83-
84), used time cards (Tr. 57), maintained a cost system. (Tr.
57.) Except for the four years he was in military service when
the laboratory was operated by subordinates (Tr. 68) and except
for time required for personal matters, the taxpayer devoted all
of his time to the operation of the laboratory. (Tr. 66.)

"4 Al i a a i ee el ee PRP We 6° ass.

17

Il. THIS COURT’S DECISIONS LEAVE QUESTION
UNSETTLED.
This Court has four times had before it the question
of what is a “trade or business” under this statute.
The decisions leave the controlling test in doubt.
The cases in this Court where the question has arisen
| are:

j Deputy v. du Pont (1940), 308 U. S. 488, where five
Justices assumed, for purposes of decision, but
found it unnecessary to decide, that the tax-
payer’s activities in buying and selling stock to
aid his corporation constituted a “trade or busi-
ness”; two Justices concluded this was not a
“trade or business” and two Justices believed it
was a “trade or business.”

Higgins v. Commissioner (1941), 312 U.S. 212, where
the Court held that management of one’s own
investments is not a “trade or business.”

United States v. Pyne (1941), 313 U. S. 127, where
the Court reversed the Court of Claims for want
of adequate findings to show whether executors
in carrying on the affairs of an estate were or
were not engaged in a “trade or business.”

McDonald v. Commissioner (1944), 323 U. S. 57,
where the Court was unable to muster a ma-
jority for any one view. The Court divided as
follows:

Four Justices (Mr. Justice Frankfurter, Mr. Chief
Justice Stone, Mr. Justice Roberts, and Mr.
Justice Jackson) concluded that the taxpayer,
a judge, was engaged in a “trade or business”
within the meaning of the statute, but that he

PERE 18 M7, a LL AT IE OM IE COG CRETE BELG OTE A CBA DE 8 By

5

The laboratory served and benefited a limited
number of persons and organizations, but was
not capable of producing income in amounts suffi-
cient to offset the usual expenses. White has
never made a profit from the operation of the
laboratory; rather its operations have resulted
in losses in each of the 17 years from its inception
in 1936 to the time of the trial in 1953. The
joint income tax return filed by White and his
wife for the year 1951 disclosed a loss of $33,369
from the laboratory operations. (Pet. 25.)

Subsequent to the taxable vears White made
an investment of $300,000 fir the construction
of a new laboratory in Maryland. In determin-
ing whether his new enterprise would be profit-
able, he did not take into account any amount for
interest on that investment or for the value of his
own services. He had no real expectation of any
net income for years subsequent to the taxable
years. (Pet. 25.)

On these facts the Tax Court found that White
did not operate the laboratory as a business or
with the intention of making a profit during the
years 1948 and 1949. It concluded that the
claimed expenditures were neither ordinary and
necessary expenses of carrying on a trade or busi-
ness nor losses within the meaning of Section 23
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939. (Pet. 25.)
The Court of Appeals, in a per curiam opinion,
affirmed. (Pet. 28-30.)

?
are a |

SATIS ts

ge

6
ARGUMENT

There is no basis for further review of this
case. ‘The issue presented is one of fact and was
correctly decided by the Court of Appeals and
the Tax Court.

1. In order that an expenditure be incurred in
the operation of a trade or business, within the
meaning of the Code, it is necessary that the op-
eration be entered into with the primary intention
of profiting therefrom. Helvering V. Nat. Gro-
cery Co., 304 U. S. 282, 289 (fn. 5); Thacher v.
Lowe, 288 Fed. 994 (S. D. N. Y.); Coffey v. Com-
missioner, 141 F. 2d 204 (C. A. 5); Morton Vv.
Commissioner, 174 F. 2d 302, 303 (C. A. 2),
certiorari denied, 338 U. S. 828; cf. Ewing v.
Commissioner, 213 F. 2d 438 (C. A. 2). Whether
such an intention exists is a factual question to be
determined by the trier of fact. Coffey v. Com-
missioner, supra; Morton v. Commissioner, supra.
This test was applied in the instant ease by both
the Tax Court (Pet. 25-28) and the Court of
Appeals (Pet. 28-30). After a careful review of
the evidence each court below resolved this ques-
tion adversely to the taxpayers. This concurrent
finding is entitled to finality, in the absence of
unusual circumstances. Cf. Comstock v. Group
of Investors, 335 U. S. 211, 213-214; Allen v.
Trust Co., 326 U.S. 630, 636; Tennessee Coal Co.
vy. Muscoda Local, 321 U. 8. 590, 605.

2 There is no conflict with Doggett v. Burnet,
65 F. 2d 191 (App. D. C.). In the Doggett case

7

the Board of Tax Appeals (see 65 F. 2d 191, 193)
had taken the view that the claimed deductions
must be disallowed since the taxpayer had failed
to show that the enterprise was profitable or
would be profitable. This test the Court of Ap-
peals rejected as being too narrow, citing with
approval (p. 193) Judge Learned Hand’s state-
ment in Thacher vy. Lowe, supra, that ‘The test
appears to me to be only of his actual intention.”
The Court of Appeals stated (65 F. 2d 191, 194):

The proper test is not the reasonableness
of the taxpayer’s belief that a profit will
he realized, but whether it is entered into
and carried on in good faith and for the
purpose of making a profit, or in the belief
that a profit can be realized thereon,
* * *, [Emphasis supplied. ]

The holding below is plainly not in conflict with

this... On the contrary, the court below stated
(Pet. 29-30) :

‘In this connection, Chaloner vy. Helvering. 69 F. 2d 571
(C. A. D. C.), a later decision of the Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia Circuit, should be noted. In that
case, on the facts presented, the Court of Appeals applied
the same test and disallowed the deductions claimed by the
taxpayer since the necessary profit motive was not present.

The taxpayers admit (Pet. 15) that Ceci] v. Commissioner.
100 F, 2d 896 (C, ; a 4th) 4 Whitney Vv. Commissioner, 72 F.
2d 589 (C. A. 3d): and Commissioner v. Wide ner, 33 F, 2d
833 (C, A. 3d), relied on by them, fall “short of a square con-
flict.” The latter two of these cases were distinguished by
the court below on the ground that on the facts presented
in those cases “a profit motive could reasonably be found

to exist.” (Pet. 30.) In Cecil v. Commissions vr, supra, the

OE a A EI EAE

8

It is true, as the Tax Court took pains
tto point out, that the taxpayer through this
ballistics laboratory performed worthy
and useful services for private industry
and for the federal government. The es-
sential that was missing, however, was a
profit motive on the part of the taxpayer.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted,

Simon FE. Sosevorr,
Solicitor General.

Cuarves K. Rice,
Assistant Attorney General.
Lee A. JACKSON,
Marvin W. WEINSTEIN,
Attorneys.
May 1956.

Poe stair

“profitt motive” test was applied, as in the instant case, but
on the: facts present therein a different result was reached.
The taxpayers state (Pet. 17) that cases decided by this
Court. (Deputy v. du Pont, 308 U.S. 45%: McDonald vy. Com-
missiomer, 323 U.S. 57; United States v. Pyne.213 U.S. 127;
and [Higgins v. Commissioner, 312 U.S. 212) leave the defini-
tion of “trade or business” in doubt. These cases, however,
arise in completely different contexts from that of the in-
stant case and in none of them is doubt cast on the validity
of thee applicability of the “profit motive” test in cireum-
stancees such as are present here.

GO 5S GOVEONMENT PRINTING OF FICE 1996

Pope Sk 5 +g
"ay &'s
- Z & \

: e .
* :
- - 4 : et ee Se
4 A) fee in Ua- © ee ee ry ; ij
, 4 a" v= i ea Oe ‘«
. tenths + Se Te .
Fray BaF v42 as 13 :
a 4 A ‘: i See /
the of 1
In : y ‘ ' le ony
» 7 :
+ , . Fe m .
‘ os oe ie 4
2
.
pp. < DPE

HENRY P. WHITE, and
ESTATE OF NANCY A. WHITE, deceased,
T. LEO SULLIVAN, ADMINISTRATOR, c.t.c.,

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF
In Support of Petition for Writ of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit.

Tuomas V. Koyxxa,
Frep D. Kipper,
1144 Union Commerce
Cleveland 14, Ohio,

Encar S. Byers,

701 N. B. C. Building,
Cleveland 14, Ohio,

Counsel for Petitioners.
May 15, 1956.

—~_—oo ll I ~S=__=_=_=_=—=_=—=—=—=—=—=—==

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—MAIN 1-5647

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955.
No. 841.

HENRY P. WHITE, and
ESTATE OF NANCY A. WHITE, deceased,
T. LEO SULLIVAN, ADMINISTRATOR, c.t.a.

Petitioners,

v.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,
Respondent.

PETITIONERS’ REPLY BRIEF.

Respondent, resisting review, relies on the wrong
statute.

Quoting the “Statute Involved,” Respondent (p. 2)
sets forth § 23(e) and omits § 23(a).

Where a taxpayer claims a “trade or business” de-
duction under § 23(a)(1)(A)' it will not do to answer
with rules applicable to a different statute, § 23(e). (As
the Court will recall, § 23(a) (1) (A) allows “All the ordi-
nary and necessary expenses paid or incurred during the
taxable year in carrying on any trade or business;” the
only statutory reference to “profit” occurs in § 23(e) (2),
which Respondent quotes, and which allows, to an indi-
vidual, losses “incurred in any transaction entered into
for profit.”’)

Having launched the argument from an erroneous
premise and upon the wrong statute, Respondent says the

‘Internal Revenue Code of 1939; the same provision is in
the present Code, § 162 (a).

Qe eve re

I Eas a RS HES

case raises only an issue of fact. Respondent is in error.
¢ The facts are not in question. The case raises only the
question of law whether the court below has applied the
wrong standard in construing an important revenue
statute by reading into it the “profit” standard Congress
put into a different statute, but omitted from this.

The question is an important one.

The reports of the Courts of Appeals show contrariety
of view. (Pet., pp. 8-10, 15-16.) The decisions of this
Court leave the question unresolved. (Pet., pp. 17-18.)

The question should have the attention of this Court.

The writ should issue.

Respectfully submitted,
Tuomas V. KoykKka,
Frep D. Kipper,
1144 Union Commerce Building,
Cleveland 14, Ohio,
Epcar S. Byers,

701 N. B. C. Building,
Cleveland 14, Ohio,

Counsel for Petitioners.

May 15, 1956.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_0542%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
