# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Davis v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_0348%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1956
- **Citation:** 350 U.S. 965

## Text

Page
Opinions Below ............-.+eeeeeeeeeeeseeeeees 1
ci ns vanscbns ae nnesceesnseeseeeeeaan 1
Question Presented ...........-++eeeeeeeeeeeeereee 2
Statutes Involved .......... cece ccc ccccecsecccces 2
Ne acaccceasee eaunonnFNeneicseantpaee 4
Reasons for Granting the Writ .............++++++- 9
RR gc ook cas cans vnc cesnccesineessonceseses 33
Appendix ........ ee cece cece eee eee e eet e eee eens la
CITATIONS
CasEs:

Alison v. United States, 344 U.S. 167 ............. 25
Anderson v. United States, 11 F. 2d 938 .......... 14

Anktell Lumber & Coal Co. v. United States, 1 F.
Supp. 724 ........ cece cece este eee e tee eeeses 29

Beretta v. Commissioner, 141 F. 2d 452, cert. denied
Es Srey ere ee 15
M. E. Blatt Co. v. United States, 305 U.S. 267...... 28
Byers v. Commissioner, 199 F. 2d 273 ............ 29
Capital Estates v. Commissioner, 138 F. 2d 156.... 12

Chettanooga Sav. Bank v. Brewer, 17 F. 2d 79, cert.
denied, 274 U.S. 751 ....... 2... sees eee eee eee 29
Jack M. Chesbro, 21 T.C. 123, aff’d, 225 F. 2d 674.. 26
Choate v. Commissioner, 129 F. 2d 684 ........... 12
Christopher v. Burnet, 55 F. 2d 527 ..........---. 29
Clark v. United States, 211 F. 2d 100 ............ 14, 20
Commissioner v. Estate of Bedford, 325 U.S. 283... 13
Commissioner v. Court Holding Co., 324 U.S. 331... 14
Commissioner v. Glenshaw Glass Co., 348 U.S. 426 12
Commissioner v. Goldwyn, 175 F. 2d 641 .......... 12
Commissioner. v. Jacobson, 336 U.S. 28 ........... 12
Commissioner v. Munter, 331 U.S. 210 ........... 13, 28
Commissioner v. Wheeler, 324 U.S. 542 ........... 13

Commissioner v. Wilcox, 327 U.S. 404........ 17, 18, 24

ii

Index Continued

Page

Currier v. United States, 166 F. 2d 346
11, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27

Davis v. United States, 160 U.S. 469 ............ a Ww
D. W. Dawkins, 14 T.C.M. 684 ...............45. 30, 31
Doyle v. Mitchell Brothers Co., 247 U.S. 179 ....... 14
Edwards v. Douglas, 269 U.S. 204 ................ 15
Faris v. Helvering, 71 F. 2d 610, cert. denied, 293
ee ea ca beh ses hadscavenctescinass 15
Faweus Machine Co. v. United States, 282 U.S. 375 14
Freuler v. Helvering, 291 U.S. 35 .............45. 19
P. Garvan, Ine. v. Eaton, 20 F. 2d 422 ............ 29
Gleckman v. United States, 80 F. 2d 394 .......... 11, 20
Hadley v. Commissioner, 36 F. 2d 543 ............ 29
Healy v. Commissioner, 345 U.S. 278 ............. 17
Helvering v. Canfield, 291 U.S. 163 ............... 15
Helvering v. Griffiths, 318 U.S. 371 ............... 12
Helvering v. Horst, 311 U.S. 112 ..............45. 18
Helvering v. Mitchell, 303 U.S. 391 ............... 10
Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121 ......... 6, 10, 32
Jackson v. Commissioner, 172 F. 2d 605.......... 12, 15
Jones v. Dawson, 148 F. 2d 87 .............0008. 13, 15
Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223 ................ 33
Kasper v. United States, 225 F. 2d 275............ 32
Klein v. Board of Supervisors, 282 U.S. 19........ 22
Lawrence v. Commissioner, 143 F. 2d 456......... 15

Leland v. Commissioner, 50 F. 2d 523, cert. denied
EE Ce inc kin beck ukee wae bbandeceacesn

Lincoln Nat. Bank v. Burnet, 63 F. 2d 131 ......... 23
Lynch v. Hornby, 247 U.S. 339 ..... 6... ee eee eee es 23
McCaughn v. MeCahan, 39 F. 2d 3 ............... 15
Bennett E. Meyers, 21 T.C. 331 .................- 30

Moline Properties v. Commissioner, 319 U.S. 436
11, 14, 21, 23
National Carbide Corp. v. Commissioner, 336 U.S.

SR cia iwahanns hea deahestesce nus 11, 14, 21, 22, 23
National Investors Corp. v. Hoey, 144 F. 2d 466.... 22
Palmer v. Commissioner, 302 U.S. 63 ............ 12, 13

Paramount-Richards Theatres v. Commissioner,
8 RRS Serer eer eee ree

Michael Potson, 22 T.C. 912 ................00055 30

Estate of Putnam v. Commissioner, 324 U.S. 393. .13, 23

Index Continued iii

Page

Regensburg v. Commissioner, 144 F. 2d 41, cert.
denied, 323 U.S. 783 ........... ee esses eee eeees
Estgte of Rogers v. Commissioner, 320 U.S. 410.... 18
Rutkin v. United States, 343 U.S. 130
11, 12, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21
13

Mbield Co., 3 TC. TER .n.n cn cancccccencscscessess

Smith v. United States, 348 U.S. 147 ...........-- 10
Spies v. United States, 317 Se ca 04 tA cease A 10, 27
Texas v. Florida, 306 U.S. 398 ...........-0. ee ee 31

United Mercantile Agencies, Inc., 23 T.C. No. 139. .30, 31
United States v. Augustine, 185 F. 2d 407

11, 23, 25, 26, 27

10

United States v. Augustine, 189 F. 2d 587 .........
United States v. Bruswitz, 219 F. 2d 59, cert. denied,

Re TE, GES ok kan ckcnenn6Gs ser abineessases exe
United States v. Iozia, 104 F. Supp. 846 .......... 26
United States v. Johnson, 319 U.S. 503 ........... 10
United States v. Joliet & Chicago R. Co., 315 U.S.

BR. Sle Ces OME EL A A KASS Kise pea 14, 22
United States v. Lewis, 340 U.S. 590 ............ 17, 19
United States v. E. Regensburg & Sons, 221 F. 2d

336, cert. denied, October 10, 1955 ............-: 29

United States v. Schenck, 126 F. 2d 702, cert. denied
sub. nom. Moskowitz v. United States, 316 U.S.

ON 6 os a FONG CAG AN hawt AOE ES ARR ONS R EO KERDND 11
United States v. Smith, 206 F. 2d 905............ 11, 27
Wiese v. Commissioner, 93 F. 2d 921, cert. denied,

be ag reer eer yer tery ers Tt 29
F. A. Wilson, 5 T. C. M. 647, aff’d on another issue,

163 F. 2d 680, cert. denied, 332 U.S. 842......... 31

SratutsEs:

Internal Revenue Code of 1939:

iv Index Continued

Page

Internal Revenue Code of 1954:
Sec. 316(a) ..... 2. cece eee cece eee tener ee eees 12
ie I in Ken kone ba sends ee et nnues oo cegge 10

MISCELLANEOUS:

Rothwacks, Taxability of Corporate Receipts Di-
verted by Officer-Stockholders, 7 N.Y.U. Ann.
Tax Inst. 577 (1949) ......-- eee e eee eee eens 27

Rudick, ‘‘Dividends’’ and ‘‘Earnings or Profits”’
Unaer the Income Tax Law: Corporate Non-
Liquidating Distributions, 89 U. of Pa. L. Rev.
865, 887 (1941) ...... cece cece rece eee eet eees 14

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1955

Poncet Davis, Petitioner,
-

Unirep States oF AMERICA, Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW
The memorandum opinion of the District Court
(Appendix, infra, pp. 10a-13a) is not officially re-
ported. The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appen-
dix, infra, pp. 1a-9a) is not yet officially reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
on October 13, 1955. The time to petition for certio-
rari was extended to December 12, 1955, by an order of
Mr. Justice Reed dated November 5, 1955. The juris-
diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.,
Section 1254.

2

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner could be convicted of attempted
evasion of income tax on distributions from his wholly
owned corporation where the Government offered no
evidence that the corporation had any current or accu-
mulated earnings or profits in the years when the
distributions occurred.

STATUTES INVOLVED
Internal Revenue Code of 1939:

Sec. 22. Gross INCOME.

(a) General Definition. —‘‘Gross income”’
includes gains, profits, and income derived
from salaries, wages, or compensation for per-
sonal service * * * of whatever kind and in what-
ever form paid, or from professions, vocations,
trades, businesses, commerce, or sales, or deal-
ings in property, whether real or personal, grow-
ing out of the ownership or use of or interest in
such property; also from interest, rent, dividends,
securities, or the transaction of any business car-
ried on for gain or profit, or gains or profits and
ineome derived from any source whatever. * * *

* * * * *

(e) Distributions by Corporations.—Distribu-
tions by corporations shall be taxable to the share-
holders as provided in section 115.

* * * * *

(26 U.S.C. 1946 ed., Sec. 22.)

Sec. 115. DisTRIBUTIONS BY CORPORATIONS.

(a) Definition of Dividend—The term **divi-
dend’’ when used in this chapter * * * means any

3

distribution made by a corporation to its share-
holders, whether in money or in other property,
(1) out of its earnings or profits accumulated
after February 28, 1913, or (2) out of the earnings
or profits of the taxable year (computed as of the
close of the taxable year without diminution by
reason of any distributions made during the tax-
able year), without regard to the amount of the
earnings and profits at the time the distribution
was made. * * *

(b) Source of Distributions.—For the purposes
of this chapter every distribution is made out of
earnings or profits to the extent thereof, and from
the most recently accumulated earnings or
profits. * * *

* * * * 7

(d) Other Distributions from Capital—If any
distribution made by a corporation to its share-
holders is not out of increase in value of property
accrued before March 1, 1913, and is not a divi-
dend, then the amount of such distribution shall
be applied against and reduce the adjusted basis
of the stock provided in section 113, and if in ex-
cess of such basis, such excess shall be taxable in
the same manner as a gain from the sale or ex-
change of property. * * *

*”

* * > *

(26 U.S.C. 1946 ed., See. 115.)

Src. 145. PENALTIES.
* * * * *

(b) Failure to Collect and Pay Over Tax, or
Attempt to Defeat or Evade Tax.—Any person
required under this chapter to collect, account for,
and pay over any tax imposed by this chapter, who
willfully fails to collect or truthfully account for

4

and pay over such tax, and any person who will-
fully attempts in any manner to evade or defeat
any tax imposed by this chapter or the payment
thereof, shall, in addition to other penalties pro-
vided by law, be guilty of a felony and, upon con-
viction thereof, be fined not more than $10,000, or
imprisoned for not more than five years, or both,
together with costs of prosecution.

* * * * *

(26 U.S.C, 1946 ed., See. 145.)

STATEMENT

On April 23, 1952, petitioner was indicted in four
counts in the Northern District of Ohio for willfully
attempting to evade his income taxes for the years 1945
through 1948. He was charged with having omitted
an aggregate income of $867,864.26 on which taxes of
$738,249.16 were allegedly due. The net income and
resulting taxes, as reported by petitioner and as re-
vised by respondent, were as follows:

Reported Revised
Year Net Income Tax Net Income Tax
1945 $53,037.58 $29,549.29 $240,601.72 $199,605.62
1946 53,312.63 26,770.50 665,194.62 549,842.99
1947 46,211.66 21,861.78 93,704.03 57,510.63
1948 10,403.85 1,885.47 31,329.61 11,356.96

After a jury trial petitioner was found guilty on all
four counts. He was sentenced to imprisonment for
five years on each count, the terms to run concurrently,
and he was fined $10,000 on each count, or a total of
$40,000. (R. 5a-Ta, 9a, 13a-14a, 223a-226a; 4b-9b,
222b-228b. )"

—-—

1‘*R’? designates references to the Appendix filed in the court
below by petitioner or respondent, as the case may be.

oO

The relevant evidence may be summarized as fol-
lows:

Robbins Tire & Rubber Company, Ine., is an Ala-
bama corporation engaged in producing and selling
rubber products. It files its returns on the accrual
basis. During the years involved petitioner was presi-
dent, treasurer, and sole stockholder of the corporation.
Its plant was located in Tuscumbia, Alabama, and its
head office in Akron, Ohio. That office was occupied
by petitioner and several clerical employees, including
a bookkeeper. The plant usually sent copies of in-
voices and remittance statements to the Akron office,
where sales and collections were entered on the books.
In the years 1945 through 1948 six customers of the
corporation sent their checks directly to the Akron
office in accordance with instructions from that office.
Neither the sales to these customers nor their checks
were reflected in the corporate books. The checks
totalled $187,564.14 in 1945, $611,881.99 in 1946,
$47,492.37 in 1947, and $20,925.76 in 1948. They were
all payable to the corporation and endorsed in the
name of the corporation. Practically all these checks
were cashed by employees of the corporation at two
banks in Akron. The cash was either delivered to pe-
titioner or placed in the office safe. Petitioner never
instructed the employees to conceal any sales or re-
ceipts. (R. 15a-16a, 21a-24a, 26a-27a, 29a-3la, 35a,
38a-39a, 49a-50a, 61a-68a, 72a-73a, 76a, 78a-79a, 81a-87a,
91a-92a, 95a-98a, 104a-105a, 120a, 123a-126a, 132a-134a,
136a-142a, 146a; 10b, 15b-16b, 19b-22b, 39b-63b, 69b-
124b, 129b-132b, 136b-138b, 142b-145b, 147b-149b, 151b-
154b, 156b-163b, 167b-169b, 176b-181b, 185b-207b,
214b-216b.)

6

Of the unrecorded checks aggregating $867,864.26,
one check for $467.14 was deposited on May 16, 1945,
in the bank account of petitioner’s wife. (R. 24b-25b.)°
Two other checks, making a total of $1,142.10, were
deposited in petitioner’s personal account on January
24, 1945. (R. 64b-66b, 213b-214b.)* On March 31, 1945,
petitioner made a gift of $100,000 to his wife. He duly
filed a gift tax return on March 15, 1946, and paid a
vift tax of $8,595. (R. 99a-100a; 154b-155b, 235b-
236b.)* On February 12, 1945, petitioner purchased
a treasurer’s check in the amount of $40,000. On Sep-

2In its summary of the evidence the Court of Appeals broadly
declared that ‘‘proceeds from the customers’’ of the corporation
‘‘were deposited’? in her account. (Appendix, infra, p. 3a.)
This generality suggests much more than the evidence reveals.
Apart from the one check for $467.14, the Government at most
tried to establish that between August 13, 1945, and January 12,
1946, four other checks totalling $5,989.09 were deposited to the
wife’s credit. The attempted proof turned out to be rather
inadequate. (R. 25b-30b, 36b-38b.)

3The Court of Appeals erroneously intimated that large sums
found their way into petitioner's personal account. (Appendix,
infra, p. 3a.)

‘The Court of Appeals stated : ‘‘It appears also that during the
tax years in question, appellant made a gift to his wife of
$100,000 in cash, although at that time he had less than $1,200
in his bank account.’’ (Appendix, infra, p. 3a.) The gift was
made in early 1945—at the outset of the four-year period for
which petitioner was indicted. It does not shed the slightest light
on petitioner’s income for nine months in 1945 or on his income
for the years 1946-1948. Moreover, in so far as the first three
months of 1945 are concerned, the Government made no effort
to fix petitioner’s net worth as of the beginning of that period.
In fact, no phase of the prosecution was based on the so-called |
net worth method. Cf. Holland v. United States, 348 U. S. 121
(1954).

7

tember 8, 1945, he sent the check to one Charles U.
Bay. The Government called an executive assistant
of Bay to testify about the transaction to which the
check related. The witness indicated that he knew
nothing about it. (R. 67b-69b, 112b, 125b-127b, 229b-
230b.) On March 11, 1946, petitioner purchased a
treasurer’s check in the amount of $70,000. On the
following day he sent the check to American Trust
Company in connection with a purchase of stock in
Pacific Rubber & Tire Manufacturing Company. (R.
117b, 231b-235b.)°

The Government treated all the unrecorded pro-
ceeds of the corporation as unreported income of peti-
tioner. In its bill of particulars the Government
stated that the ‘‘additional income’”’ attributed to peti-
tioner ‘‘represents proceeds of sales’’ by the corpora-
tion ‘personally appropriated by him.’’ It did not
offer any proof that the corporation had any current
or accumulated earnings or profits during the vears
1945-1948. The Government also treated the same
proceeds as additional gross receipts of the corpora-
tion. Petitioner was indicted, as officer of the cor-

’ With respect to this transaction the Court of Appeals ex-
pansively indicated that large amounts of customers’ checks ‘‘were
used’? by petitioner ‘‘to purchase stock in his own name.”’
(Appendix, infra, p. 3a.) As noted above, petitioner made
only one payment on such stock. It consisted of a check obtained
toward the beginning of the second year involved in the ‘ndict-
ment. There was no proof of stock purchases in 1945, 1947, and
1948. Nor was there any proof that petitioner’s net worth at the
start of 1945 was insufficient to cover the one check obtained in
early 1946.

®In the case of the corporation the Government reduced the
unrecorded proceeds by amounts representing reimbursements for
excise taxes paid by the corporation.

8

poration, in the Northern District of Alabama with
respect to taxes of the corporation for its fiscal year
1945. The trial court, over the objection of petitioner,
instructed the jury to disregard the testimony relating
to the Alabama indictment and the Government’s in-
clusion of the proceeds in the corporation’s receipts.
(R. 9a, 122a-131a, 135a-142a, 146a, 169a-170a, 177a-
178a, 198a.)

The trial court charged the jury that the proceeds
in question were ‘‘received, in the first instance,”’’ by
the corporation. ‘‘Money received by a corporation is
not income to an individual unless the corporate funds
are in some way transferred or diverted to an indi-
vidual and become property over which he exercises
dominion and control and treats as his own to the ex-
clusion of any interest therein by the corporation.”
The court further charged, ‘If you find that the De-
fendant, as the sole owner of the Robbins Tire & Rub-
ber Company, diverted funds of that corporation to
himself personally and exercised control and dominion
over the funds and treated them as his own, that would
constitute taxable income that he was required by law
to include in his tax return.’”’ The trial court then
stated, ‘‘Income received from any source constitutes
taxable income when its recipient has such control over
it that, as a practical matter, he derives readily realiz-
able economic value from it. That occurs when cash is
received by an individual in a manner which allows
him freedom to dispose of it or use it at will. Such in-
come is taxable in the yearly period during which it
is received.’’ (R. 208a-209a.)

Petitioner urged that he ‘‘could not have taxable
income as an individual unless and until the Govern-

9

ment proved that there were profits of the corpora-
tion.’’? He requested the trial court to charge that the
Government was obliged to establish ‘‘an earned sur-
plus or profits available for distribution”’ to him; and
that there had ‘‘been a failure of proof’’ in this respect.
The trial court refused to so charge. Petitioner moved
for a judgment of acquittal and for a new trial because
of this failure of proof. The trial court denied both
motions on the ground that such proof was unneces-
sary. It ruled that under section 115(b) of the Inter-
nal Revenue Code of 1939 the funds received by peti-
tioner were presumed to derive from corporate earn-
ings or profits, and hence they ‘‘eonstituted a con-
structive dividend as a matter of law.”” “If proper
entries,’’ the court said, ‘‘had been made upon the cor-
poration’s books showing the sales to customers, the
receipt of payments for those sales and the distribu-
tion of $850,000 to the defendant, the court would be
required to hold as a matter of law that the distribu-
tions were from earnings and therefore taxable in-
come.’’ The applicable principle is the same, the court
concluded, ‘‘where the sole owner of the corporation
conceals the distribution of corporate profits to him-
self.” (R. 214a-216a, 219a-220a, 238a-247a; Appen-
dix, infra, pp. 10a-13a.) The Court of Appeals disap-
proved this ruling as a ‘“‘misconstruction of law,”’ but
affirmed the judgment as nevertheless ‘‘sound.’’ (Ap-
pendix, infra, p. 9a.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
Petitioner was tried and convicted under section
145(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1939. Sec-
‘ tion 145(b) provides that ‘“‘any person who willfully
attempts in any manner to evade or defeat’’ his income

10

tax is “guilty of a felony.’” Needless to say, this penal
sanction is ‘“‘enforced by the criminal process in the
familiar manner.’’ Spies v. United States, 317 U. S.
492, 495 (1943). The ‘‘settled standards of the erimi-
nal law’ apply no less to prosecutions for attempted
tax evasion than to “‘prosecutions for other crimes.”
Holland v. United States, supra, at 138. ‘‘Unlike civil
actions for the recovery of deficiencies, where the de-
terminations of the Commissioner have prima facie
validity, the prosecution must always prove the crimi-
nal charge beyond a reasonable doubt.’” Id. at 126.
And from beginning to end that burden of proof ex-
tends to ‘‘every element of the offense’’ without ex-
ception. Jd. at 138. See also Helvering v. Mitchell,
303 U. S. 391, 397 (1938) ; Davis v. United States, 160
U. S. 469, 487 (1895).

As this Court has succinctly stated, the crime con-
demned and punished in section 145(b) ‘‘is the wilful
attempt to evade the payment of what was due to the
revenue.”’ United States v. Johnson, 319 U_ 8S. 503,
515 (1943). In other words, ‘‘an underste ement of
taxable income” is ‘‘one of the elements co« the crime
of tax evasion.’’ Smith v. United States, 348 U.S. 147,
154 (1954). See also Holland v. United States, supra,
at 137. The Government, therefore, ‘‘has the burden
of proving that income tax was due from the accused
for the year involved.’’? United States v. Augustine,
189 F. 2d 587, 589 (3d Cir. 1951). If it fails or refuses
to carry this burden, it has not established the alleged
erime. And so the Government must prove not only a

T'The same criminal sanction is imposed by section 7201 of the |
Internal Revenue Code of 1954. Hence the significant problem
presented here involves the 1954 Code as well as the 1939 Code.

11

willful effort to defraud, but also an obligation to pay
more tax than the tax returned. See further Gleckman
v. United States, 80 F. 2d 394, 399 (8th Cir. 1935) ;
United States v. Schenck, 126 F. 2d 702, 705 (2d Cir.
1942), cert. denied sub nom. Moskowitz v. United
States, 316 U. S. 705 (1942) ; United States v. Smith,
206 F. 2d 905, 911 (3d Cir. 1953).

Here the Court of Appeals plainly departed from
this hornbook principle which governs prosecutions
for attempted tax evasion. While the court agreed
that the Government must show ‘‘the existence of a
tax liability in excess of that reported’? (Appendix,
infra, p. 5a), it proceeded to sustain the convic-
tion though no such liability was shown. This
grave and startling error warrants expeditious
review by this Court for several reasons. The
decision below derives from a serious misapplica-
tion of this Court’s opinion in Rutkin v. United States,
343 U. S. 130 (1952). It is in conflict with this Court’s
decisions in Moline Properties v. Commissioner, 319
U. S. 436 (1943), and National Carbide Corp. v. Com-
missioner, 336 U. S. 422 (1949). It is equally at odds
with the decisions of other Courts of Appeals in Cur-
rier v. United States, 166 F. 2d 346 (1st Cir. 1948), and
United States v. Augustine, 185 F. 2d 407 (3d Cir.
1950). And it raises a significant question in the en-
forcement of section 145(b) which radiates far beyond
this immediate case.

1. Section 22(a) of the 1939 Code defines ‘‘gross in-
come” as including income from “dividends.” Sec-
tion 22(e) significantly adds that ‘‘Distributions by
corporations shall be taxable to the shareholders as
provided in section 115.’’ As the courts have repeat-
edly recognized, section 115 ‘‘qualifies the generality

12

of §22(a).’’ It defines the tax status of ‘‘distributions
by corporations.’” Cf. Helvering v. Griffiths, 318 U. 8.
371, 394 (1943). See further Palmer v. Commissioner,
302 U. S. 63, 69 (1937) ; Choate v. Commissioner, 129
F. 2d 684, 689 (2d Cir. 1942) ; Capital Estates v. Com-
missioner, 138 F. 2d 156, 157 (3d Cir. 1943). In short,
while section 22(a) generally embraces ‘‘income de-
rived from any source whatever,’” a distribution from
a corporation to its shareholders is not income except
as section 115 so provides. A corporate distribution is
includible in gross income under section 22(a) only if
it is income under section 115. See Commissioner V.
Goldwyn, 175 F. 2d 641, 643 (9th Cir. 1949) ; Jackson
v. Commissioner, 172 F. 2d 605, 606 (7th Cir. 1949).

For present purposes we need only consider sub-
sections (a), (b), and (d) of section 115.° Subsection
(a) defines a dividend as ‘‘any distribution made by a
corporation to its shareholders, whether in money or
in other property, (1) out of its earnings or profits
accumulated after February 28, 1913, or (2) out of
the earnings or profits of the taxable year.’’ Subsec-
tion (b) states that ‘‘every distribution is made out of
earnings or profits to the extent thereof, and from
the most recently accumulated earnings or profits.”’
Subsection (d) provides that if a distribution ‘‘is not
a dividend,”’ then the amount of the distribution ‘‘shall
be applied against and reduce the adjusted basis of
the stock’’; and if the amount of the distribution ex-

8 See Commissioner v. Jacobson, 336 U. S. 28 (1949) ; Rutkin
v. United States, supra; Commissioner v. Glenshaw Glass Co., 348
U. S. 426 (1955).

® These provisions are now contained in sections 301(c) (1) (2)
(3) and 316(a) of the 1954 Code.

13

ceeds that basis, the excess is ‘‘taxable in the same
manner as a gain from the sale or exchange of prop-
erty.’”°

Obviously, under section 115 a distribution from cor-
poration to stockholder is a dividend, taxable as ordi-
nary income, only if the distribution is out of earnings
or profits. That is why the term ‘‘earnings or profits”’
has ‘‘long been in the revenue acts.”’ Commissioner
v. Wheeler, 324 U. S. 542, 545 (1945). In the words
of Mr. Justice Reed, dividend income is ‘‘the earnings
of a corporation’’ which “‘pass into the earnings of its
stockholder.”’ Estate of Putnam v. Commissioner,
324 U. S. 393, 400 (1945). See also Commissioner v.
Estate of Bedford, 325 U. S. 283, 290-291 (1945) ;
Commissioner v. Munter, 331 U. S. 210, 211, 214-215
(1947). If the corporation has no earned surplus, the
stockholder has no dividend income. To borrow the
apt language of Mr. Justice Stone, the “bare fact”’
that a transaction ‘‘has resulted in a distribution of
some of the corporate assets to stockholders, gives rise
to no inference that the distribution is a dividend
within the meaning of § 115.’’ At the very least it
must appear that ‘‘the transaction is in purpose or
effect used as an implement for the distribution of
corporate earnings to stockholders.”’ Palmer v. Com-
missioner, supra, at 69-70. See further Jones v. Daw-
son, 148 F. 2d 87, 91 (10th Cir. 1945). By the same
token, if the Government seeks a conviction on the

10 Ag section 115(d) indicates, if there are no earnings or profits,
a distribution is at most a capital gain after the stockholder re-
covers the basis of his shares. See, e.g., Shield Co., 2 T.C. 763
(1943). Here the Government treated the distributions as ordinary
income.

14

basis of an unreported distribution, it must prove be-
yond a reasonable doubt that the corporation had
earnings or profits in the year of distribution. For
otherwise it fails to establish that the stockholder
understated any income obtained from the corpora-
tion.

Here the Government made no effort to show that
the corporation had an earned surplus for the years
1945-1948. It merely set out to prove that distribu-
tions were made, and then it chose to rest. Hence the
Government conspicuously failed to confirm its charge
that the distributions were income to petitioner. Since
the unrecorded proceeds derived from sales by the cor-
poration, they were, of course, includible in its gross
receipts. United States v. Joliet & Chicago R. Co.,
315 U. S. 44 (1942); Moline Properties v. Commis-
sioner, supra; Commissioner v. Court Holding Co., 324
U. S. 331 (1945) ; National Carbide Corp. v. Commis-
sioner, supra. But it scarcely follows that the corpora-
tion had earnings or profits in each of the years in-
volved. Proof of gross receipts is quite different from
proof of an earned surplus. See Doyle v. Mitchell
Brothers Co., 247 U. S. 179, 184 (1918); Anderson v.
United States, 11 F. 2d 938, 940 (7th Cir. 1926) ; Clark
v. United States, 211 F. 2d 100, 102 (8th Cir. 1954).”

11 Even net income is considerably different from an earned
surplus. For example, in computing the surplus for any year
allowance must be made for income taxes, excess profits taxes, and
other liabilities which are not deductible in computing net income.
See, e.g., Faweus Machine Co. v. United States, 282 U.S. 375, 378
(1931); and see generally Rudick, ‘‘Dividends’’ and ‘‘ Earnings
or Profits’? Under the Income Tax Law: Corporate Non-Liqui-
dating Distributions, 89 U. of Pa. L. Rev. 865, 887 (1941).

15

In so far as the present record is concerned, the cor-
poration may well have had a deficit in one or more
years. The record reveals no more than certain gross
receipts from certain customers.

The trial court was not unaware of the Government’s
complete lack of proof of earnings or profits. It
bravely sought to pardon the deficiency on the basis of
section 115(b) of the Code. (Appendix, infra, p.
10a.) However, as the Court of Appeals frankly
confessed, this excuse is no excuse at all. (Appendix,
infra, p. 9a.) Section 115(b) does not come into play
unless a corporation has earnings or profits to dis-
tribute. If earnings or profits are available, then sec-
tion 115(b) attributes the distribution to that source
“to the extent thereof.’’ See Helvering v. Canfield, 291
U. S. 163 (1934) ; McCaughn v. McCahan, 39 F. 2d 3
(3d Cir. 1930) ; Leland v. Commissioner, 50 F. 2d 523
(Ist Cir. 1931), cert. denied, 284 U. S. 656 (1931);
Faris v. Helvering, 71 F. 2d 610 (9th Cir. 1934), cert.
denied, 293 U. S. 544 (1934) ; Beretta v. Commissioner,
141 F. 2d 452 (5th Cir. 1944), cert. denied,323 U.S. 720
(1944) ; Lawrence Vv. Commissioner, 143 F. 2d 456 (9th
Cir. 1944); Jones v. Dawson, supra; Jackson v. Com-
missioner, supra. Cf. Edwards v. Douglas, 269 U.S.
204 (1925). Here, however, there was not the barest
proof of earnings or profits to which section 115(b)
might apply. Not even the corporate income tax re-
turns were offered in evidence.

9. Aside from its erroneous theory of a ‘‘construc-
tive dividend’”’ under section 115(b), the trial court re-
lied on this Court’s decision in Rutkin v. United States,
supra. Indeed, its charge to the jury on the alleged
omission of income was essentially a mere echo of this

16

Court’s language in that case. Compare 343 U.S. at
137, with R. 208a-209a." See also R. 168a-169a. The
Court of Appeals regarded section 115 as irrelevant
and fully relied on the Rutkin decision. It held that,
whether or not the corporation ‘‘had sufficient surplus
to cover a dividend distribution,” the withdrawn cash
was taxable to petitioner under section 22(a). In be-
half of this conclusion the court quoted the Rutkin
opinion and borrowed a good deal of its language.
The cash was income to petitioner, said the court, be-
cause “he exercised command, control, and dominion”’
over it. He obtained the cash ‘‘as his own”’ and treated
it “‘as his own.” (Appendix, supra, pp. 5a-Ta.) This
conclusion, we submit, reflects an egregious misconcep-
tion of the Rutkin case.

The Rutkin opinion dealt with a prosecution for
attempted evasion of income tax on $250,000. At the
trial the defendant contended that he had been one of
several stockholders of a corporation; that the stock-
holders had sold their shares; that the $250,000 repre-
sented his portion of the sales proceeds; and that the
capital gains tax had been paid. The jury, however,
found that the defendant ‘‘was neither a stockholder
of record nor a beneficial owner of any of the stock
of the company at any time.’’ His alleged claim to the
eash was ‘‘false and fraudulent”, and it was illegally
gotten ‘‘by extortion.”? 343 U. S. at 132-136. In the
context of these findings the issue before the Court
was whether money unlawfully obtained by extortion
was taxable income within section 22(a) of the 1939
Code.

12 See p. 8, supra.

17

This question inevitably focused on Commissioner V.
Wilcox, 327 U. S. 404 (1946), where the Court decided
that embezzled money was not a taxable gain. On that
oceasion the Court declared that ‘‘a taxable gain’’ re-
quires the co-existence of two factors: (1) ‘the pres-
ence of a claim of right to the alleged gain,’’ and (2)
“the absence of a definite, unconditional obligation to
repay or return that which would otherwise constitute
a gain.”? Unless there is ‘‘some bona fide legal or
equitable claim,’’ the Court stated, ‘‘even though it be
contingent or contested in nature, the taxpayer cannot
be said to have received any gain or profit within the
reach of (22(a).’’ Hence the embezzled funds were
not income, for an embezzler obtains possession ‘‘with-
out any semblance of a bona fide claim of right.”’ In
terms of tax liability, the Court particularly indicated,
it is unimportant that the embezzler controls and en-
joys his loot. Id. at 408-409. Cf. United States v.
Lewis, 340 U. S. 590 (1951); Healy v. Commissioner,
345 U. S. 278 (1953).

In the Rutkin case the Court took a different ap-
proach to the same problem. While it apparently re-
garded embezzlers and extortioners as birds of a
feather, it held that proceeds of extortion, unlike pro-
ceeds of embezzlement, are taxable gain. Under the
Rutkin decision the governing consideration in apply-
ing section 22(a) is not whether the taxpayer asserts
a bona fide claim of right to what he receives, but
whether he exercises beneficial dominion and control
over what he receives as if he had a claim of right. In
the words of Mr. Justice Burton, ‘‘An unlawful gain,
as well as a lawful one, constitutes taxable income
when its recipient has such control over it that, as a

18

practical matter, he derives readily realizable economic
value from it.’”’ ‘‘That occurs when cash, as here, is
delivered by its owner to the taxpayer in a manner
which allows the recipient freedom to dispose of it at
will, even though it may have been obtained by fraud
and his freedom to use it may be assailable by someone
with a better title to it.” 343 U. S. at 187. See further
Mr. Justice Burton’s dissenting opinion in Commis-
sioner v. Wilcox, supra, at 413.

We need not pause to consider whether the Wilcox
and Rutkin decisions are adequately reconcilable. Cf.
United States v. Bruswitz, 219 F. 2d 59, 61 (2d Cir.
1955), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 9138 (1955). The core of
the matter is that nothing in the Ruthin opinion justi-
fies the decision below. To apply it here is to misapply
it. The essence of the Rutkin opinion is that it equates
dominion and control with a claim of right if what
is received is otherwise a gain. Just as a gain may be
realized under a claim of right, so may it be realized
by exercising dominion and control without a claim
of right. See generally Helvering v. Horst, 311 U.S.
112, 115 (1940). But this is not to say that whenever
eash is received—with or without a claim of right—it
necessarily constitutes a gain, regardless of the source
from which it derives and the context of its acquisition.

“Tn law also the right answer usually depends on
putting the rigat question.’’ Estate of Rogers v. Com-
missioner, 320 U. 8. 410, 413 (1943). Here the ques-
tion is not whether the taxpayer exercised dominion
and control over cash which was otherwise income
under section 22(a). The question, rather, is whether
the Government has shown that the withdrawals from

19

the corporation were income to begin with. And ‘‘the
right answer’’ to ‘‘the right question’’ is given by
section 115, which the Court of Appeals wholly ig-
nored," and not by section 22(a), which it erroneously
invoked." Any distribution of cash from a corporation
to a stockholder affords him ‘‘ecommand, control, and
dominion’? over the cash. But under section 115(a)
the distribution is ordinary income to him only if the
corporation has commensurate earnings or profits.
Or to put the matter somewhat differently, section
115(a) excludes from ordinary income under section
22(a) any corporate distribution which is not covered
by earnings or profits. See p. 12, supra. Otherwise
section 115(a) is quite meaningless; and so is section
92(e), which declares that ‘distributions by corpora-
tions” are ‘‘taxable to the shareholders as provided in
section 115.’ Here, of course, the Government meticu-
lously refrained from showing any earnings or profits.”

13 Tn its charge to the jury the trial court did pretty much the
same. It quoted section 22(a), but omitted to mention the word
‘‘dividends”’ contained in that provision. (R. 208a.)

14 Compare Freuler v. Helvering, 291 U.S. 35 (1934), where the
Government similarly tried to tax receipts, acquired under a
mistaken claim of right, as income under section 22(a), though
the status of the receipts was governed by other provisions. See
United States v. Lewis, supra, at 591.

13 At one point the Court of Appeals utterly misconceives the
nature of our-.contention, We are arguing, the court says, that
‘‘sinee there is no proof’’ of an earned surplus, petitioner ‘‘is only
a holder of the cash for the benefit of the corporation.”’ (Appendix,
infra, p. 5a.) It is difficult for us to understand how the court
arrived at this view of our position. We are saying, rather, that
even if distributions were made for petitioner ’s own benefit, they
were not shown to be income because there was no evidence of an
earned surplus.

20

The reason for the Court of Appeals’ confusion is
not obscure. The court misread the Rutkin opinion as
holding that any receipt of cash is ipso facto taxable
income if the recipient controls the cash as his own. In
this connection we cannot do better than quote what
the Court of Appeals itself said. ‘If appellant had
been doing business as an individual,” the court stated,
‘and retained a million dollars of receipts from his
customers, as his own, using the cash for personal
investments and expenditures, and concealing from
the government, through false bookkeeping entries and
fraudulent income tax returns, the fact that he had
received and kept as his personal property such a huge
sum, there is no doubt that he would be accountable
for that money as income which is required to be

reflected in his income tax return.’ (Appendix, infra,
pp. 6a-Ta.)

According to the Court of Appeals, then, even where
a business is individually owned, the withdrawal of
proceeds creates taxable income if the proprietor as-
sumes dominion over them. The question whether the
business has produced a profit is deemed entirely
immaterial. We need not labor the point that this
doctrine is as erroneous as it is novel. “Of course.
gross income and not gross receipts is the foundation
of income-tax liability, for it is only earnings, profits
and gains which the statute subjects to tax.” Clark
v. United States, supra, at 102. The mere acquisition
of cash does not ‘‘in and of itself, suffice to establish
that income tax was due on account of it.’ Gleckman
v. United States, supra, at 399. Since the Court of
Appeals was so seriously confused with resnect to with-
drawals from an individual business, it easily erred

a

21

with respect to withdrawals from a corporate enter-
prise. In holding that the existence of earnings or
profits was immaterial, the Court of Appeals plainly
misapplied the Rutkin opinion.

3. The Court of Appeals sought to bolster its strange
understanding of the Rutkin case by ignoring the cor-
porate entity of Robbins Tire & Rubber Company,
Ine. And so one error quickly led to another. ‘*What
appellant did,’”’ the court said, ‘twas to take funds,
individually, from his wholly owned corporation, which
he completely dominated and controlled. In other
words, he merely took the funds from himself under
a different name.’’ (Appendix, infra, p. Ta.) In
short, the court viewed the tax consequences as if the
amounts withdrawn were proceeds of sales made by
petitioner rather than distributions from the co pora-
tion which made the sales. As a result, the decision
below ineseapably conflicts with this Court’s decisions
in Moline Properties v. Commissioner, supra, and
National Carbide Corp. v. Commissioner, supra,

In these familiar cases the Court held that ‘‘a cor-
poration formed or operated for business purposes”’
is a taxpayer separate and apart from its stockholders.
‘‘“Complete ownership of the corporation, and the con-
trol primarily dependent upon such ownership,’’ the
Court emphasized, are irrelevant ‘“‘in determining
taxabilitv.”’ 336 U.S. at 429. As long as the corpora-
tion ‘‘earries on business activity,’’ it makes ‘‘no dif-
ference taxwise’’ that ‘‘the owner retains direction of

16 Tmmediately before these observations the Court of Appeals
appraised the case as if petitioner had been doing business as an
individual. See quotation at p. 20, supra.

an eS a oes Se

22

its affairs down to the minutest detail, provides all of its
assets and takes all of its profits.’’ Jd. at 431-432. ‘‘Un-
doubtedly the great majority of corporations owned
by sole stockholders are ‘dummies’ in the sense that
their policies and day-to-day activities are determined
not as decisions of the corporation but by their owners
acting individually.’”’ Nevertheless a wholly owned
corporation which serves a business purpose must be
recognized as a tax entity. Jd. at 433. Whatever
interest the stockholder has in the assets of the corpora-
tion is ‘‘strictly derivative in origin.’’ United States
v. Joliet & Chicago R. Co., supra, at 48. As Mr. Justice
Holmes so felicitously stated, ‘‘The corporation is a
person and its ownership is a nonconductor that makes
it impossible to attribute an interest in its propertv
to its members.’’ Klein v. Board of Supervisors, 282
U. S. 19, 24 (1930). See also Learned Hand. J.. in
National Investors Corp. v. Hoey, 144 F. 2d 466, 467-
468 (2d Cir. 1944).

Here, needless to add, the corporation was ‘‘formed”’
and ‘‘operated for business purposes.’’ And, as even
the trial judge conceded, the ‘‘income’’ represented by
the checks ‘‘was received in the first instance’’ by the
corporation. (R. 208a.) Nor does the Government
contend otherwise, for it has included the proceeds in
the gross receipts of the corporation. See p. 7, supra;
and decisions cited at p. 14, supra. Of course, the
Government had no choice in the matter, in view of
the many decisions ‘‘requiring that income be taxed
to those who earn it.’? National Carbide Corp. v.
Commissioner, supra, at 436. Since the corporation
was the taxpayer in regard to the proceeds, it is no
less true that the amounts withdrawn by petitioner

23

him by reason of his status-as.stockholder.. See Lynch
v. Hornby, 247 U. S. 339, 343 (1918) ; Estate of Put-
nam v. Commissioner, supra, at 399-400. Hence once
more they cannot be attributed to him as dividend in-
come because there is no evidence that the corporation
had earnings or profits. Unless the withdrawn amounts
are treated as distributions from the corporation, this
Court’s decisions in the Moline Properties and National
Carbide cases are being quietly ignored.

4. In holding that proof of earnings or profits was
unnecessary, the Court of Appeals came into further
conflict with decisions of the First and Third Circuits
in Currier v. United States, supra, and United States
v. Augustine, supra.

The Currier ease similarly involved a defendant who
was sole stockholder, president, and treasurer of a
corporation engaged in business.” The corporation
received numerous checks which were not recorded
on its books. All were endorsed in the name of the
corporation and deposited in the stockholder’s per-
sonal account. They totalled $83,496.11 in 1943 and
$21,095.88 in 1944. The Government carefully estab-
lished that the corporate earnings and profits were
$26,017.00 in 1943 and $10,404.45 in 1944. Both the
corporation and the stockholder were indicted for
attempted income tax evasion with respect to the two
vears. However, while the corporation was charged
with deliberately excluding income equal to the unre-
corded receipts, the stockholder was charged with

17 The defendant’s wife was record owner of 25 percent of the
stock, but the District Court found that he was beneficial owner
of all the shares. See 166 F. 2d at 348.

24

willfully omitting income equal to the earned surplus
available for distribution." The indictment expressly
described the lesser amounts imputed to the stock-
holder as ‘‘ Dividends.’””

In its brief the Government carefully explained that
the ‘‘diverted funds were properly treated as taxable
dividends’’ to the stockholder ‘‘under Section 115 of
the Code.’? The amounts designated as ‘‘ Dividends”’
were ‘‘arrived at by treating the diverted corporate
sales receipts as constructive dividends to Currier, to
the extent permitted by the amount of corporate sur-
plus available for distribution as dividends.’’ This
treatment, the Government stated, ‘‘is in accord with
well recognized civil tax procedure, controlling here
insofar as the determination of income is concerned.’””
The First Circuit approved the Government’s analysis,
which was precisely the same as our own. It upheld
the conviction on the ground that the stockholder
‘*received a constructive dividend which he was under
no obligation to repay.’™ The court found ‘‘no incon-
sistency’’ in treating the entire sales proceeds as in-
come of the corporation and treating ‘‘only part of the
money”’ as ‘‘a taxable dividend’’ to the stockholder,
‘*since dividends are only taxable if paid out of earn-
ings and profits. Any further amounts he received

18 See Brief for the United States, pp. 2-6, Currier v. United
States, supra.
19 Jd. at 5, 11-12.

20 Td. at 7, 12.
21 The stockholder argued that the withdrawals were not taxable
because they were embezzled funds within the holding of Commis-
sioner Vv. Wilcox, supra. The District Court rejected this argument
(70 F. Supp. 219, 220-221 (D. Mass. 1947)), and the First Circuit
briefly agreed. 166 F. 2d at 348.

25

in excess of the corporation’s earnings and profits can
either be considered as return of capital or money
wrongfully taken, and th *s not taxable as dividends.”’
166 F. 2d at 348.”

In United States v. Augustine, supra, withdrawals
from a closely held corporation were again involved.
The Government treated as omitted income not the
full amount of the withdrawals, but a smaller sum
covered by earnings and profits. In the Government ’s
own words, ‘‘the theory”? of the prosecution was
‘‘hased on Section 115 of the Internal Revenue Code.”
The smaller amount ‘‘constituted taxable income to
the defendant on the basis that the defendant received
these moneys in the form of an undeclared or con-
structive dividend’’ from the corporation.* The con-
viction was again sustained under section 115(a) in
the light of the Government’s proof of an earned sur-
plus. ‘There was evidence from which the jury was
entitled to infer that the money received by the appel-
lant was a dividend.” 185 F. 2d at 407. Although
on rehearing the Third Circuit ‘‘reluctantly”’ reversed
the conviction because of ‘‘an undue restriction” in
eross-examination (189 F. 2d 587, 590-591), it spe-
cifically noted the Government’s claim that the with-

22'The First Cirenit also applied its analysis to the corporate
indictment and conviction. The corporation argued that the
withdrawal of the corporate funds constituted an embezzlement
loss deductible under section 23(f) of the 1939 Code. Cf. Alison
v. United States, 344 U.S. 167 (1952). The court answered, inter
alia, that ‘‘part of the money taken by Currier was a constructive
dividend. Certainly the corporation is entitled to no deduction
for dividends paid.’’ 166 F. 2d at 348.

28 Brief for the United States, pp. 2-3, 5-8, United States v.
Augustine, supra.

26

drawals were ‘“a constructive dividend.’’ At the same
time it approved the admission of testimony by a
revenue agent on the corporation’s earnings and profits
for the year off indictment. Jd. at 589-590. See also
United States v. Iozia, 104 F. Supp. 846 (S.D. N.Y.
1952).**

We respectfully submit that the decision below can-
not be reconciled with the decisions in the Currier and
Augustine cases. Unlike the Sixth Circuit in this case,
the First and Third Circuits considered it critically
significant ‘‘whether the corporation had sufficient
surplus to cover a dividend distribution.’’ See p. 16,
supra. In each case the conviction was sustained
because a surplus was shown to be available. If, how-
ever, the decision below is correct, then the First and
Third Cireuits. were sensitively concerned with irrele-
vancies. In pointing to the Currier and Augustine
decisions we are doing what the Government has al-
ready done. At the trial it stoutly maintained that
this case was akin to both those cases, ‘‘where you had
similar facts.’” (R. 165a.) The trial court agreed.
It referred approvingly to the Currier decision as
involving ‘‘momney received under circumstances similar
to those presented here,’’ which was deemed ‘‘in the
nature of a constructive dividend and taxable.”’ (R.
169a.)” The Government and trial court, however,

24 Cf. Jack M. Chesbro, 21 T.C. 123 (1953), aff’d, 225 F. 2d 674
(2d Cir. 1955), involving civil fraud under section 293(b) of the
1939 Code. There, also, unrecorded amounts withdrawn from a
closely held corporation were treated as dividends to the stock-
holders. See further cases cited at p. 30, infra.

25 In the Court of Appeals the Government conceded that in the
Currier ease the First Circuit was ‘‘concerned with the earnings,
profits or deductions’’ of the corporation from which withdrawals
were made. Brief of Appellee, pp. 44-45.

27

overlooked one vital detail. In the Currier case, as in
the Augustine case, the Government diligently showed
that the corporation had an earned surplus and the
withdrawn amounts were regarded as income only to
the extent that an earned surplus was proven. See
further Rothwacks, Taxability of Corporate Receipts
Diverted by Officer-Stockholders, 7 N.Y.U. Ann. Tax
Inst. 577 (1949).

5. The decision below presents an extremely im-
portant question in the administration of criminal
sanctions against taxpayers. Section 145(b) is the
most thorough coercive measure designed to assure
payment of the income tax. The ‘‘serious and inclu-
sive felony’’ which it defines is ‘‘the climax” of the
‘‘variety of sanctions” imposed by Congress. Spies
v. United States, supra, at 496-497. If the decision
below is permitted to stand, it will inevitably under-
mine basic principles of the criminal law which this
Court has painstakingly guarded and preserved in
prosecutions for tax evasion. Indeed, unless the deci-
sion below is reversed, it will similarly upset established
rules of tax law where only civil liabilities are involved.
For as we shall shortly indicate, the grave implications
with which this case is laden do not tolerate nice dis-
tinctions between criminal tax cases and civil tax cases.

As we have pointed out, before a defendant can be
convicted of tax evasion, the Government must prove
‘Can understatement of taxable income.’’** Apart from
the element of willful concealment, the crux of the
crime is omitted ‘‘income within the legal sense of that
term.’’ United States v. Smith, supra, at 910. Obviously,
‘‘the legal sense’? of income is exactly the same for

26 See p. 10, supra.

28

criminal purposes as for civil purposes. Unless a
receipt is income when a deficiency is asserted, it can-
not be income when evasion is charged. In criminal
cases, too, the Treasury ‘‘can add nothing to income
as defined by Congress,’’ though it may firmly feel
that the definition could be improved. Cf. M. E. Blatt
Co. v. United States, 305 U. S. 267, 279 (1938). The
one critical distinction between a charge of evasion
and an assertion of deficiency is that the Government
has the burden of proving that income was realized.
And in carrying that burden the Government must pro-
duce evidence which adequately spells out the receipt
of income as Congress has defined it. Undoubtedly,
not even the Government would candidly quarrel with
the elementary principles which we have just stated.
Yet in the present prosecution the Government has
blandly proceeded to do what these principles prohibit,
and the Court of Appeals has approved.

This case involves distributions from a corporation
to its sole stockholder. It has long been settled that
distributions to stockholders are not taxable as ordinary
income except as they are covered by an earned sur-
plus.” As tersely stated in Commissioner v. Munter,
supra, at 211, ‘‘dividends are taxable as income”’ to
the recipients ‘‘if the corporation paid them out of
its earnings and profits.’’ It is equally settled that
the same rule applies where corporate funds are in-
formally withdrawn by stockholders of a close corpo-
ration. <A corporate distribution to stockholders is no
more than a transfer of corporate assets to them,
and hence it makes no difference that a formal declara-

27 See p. 13, supra.

29

tion of dividend is lacking.* ‘‘The character of the
distribution”’ is ‘‘not changed by the manner in which
it was accomplished’’ or ‘‘by the personal motives’’
which prompted the distribution. Lincoln Nat. Bank
v. Burnet, 63 F. 2d 131, 133 (D. C. Cir. 1933).
Whether the distribution is formal or informal, its
taxability as ordinary income hinges on the presence
of an earned surplus.

In the present case the Government merely proved
that distributions were made to the sole stockholder.”
The conviction rests on the bare premise that corporate
distributions are necessarily ordinary income though
there is no proof of earnings or profits. This premise
was admirably summarized by the trial court. As he
so well phrased it, ‘“‘I think I understand what the
Government is required to prove. They must prove

28 See Chattanooga Sav. Bank v. Brewer, 17 F. 2d 79 (6th Cir.
1927), cert. denied, 274 U. S. 751 (1927); Hadley v. Commis-
sioner, 36 F. 2d 543 (D. C. Cir. 1929); Christopher v. Burnet,
55 F. 24 527 (D. C. Cir. 1931) ; Wiese v. Commissioner, 93 F. 2d
921 (8th Cir. 1938), cert. denied, 304 U.S. 562 (1938); Regens-
burg v. Commissioner, 144 F. 2d 41 (2d Cir. 1944), cert. denied,
393 U. S. 783 (1944); Paramount-Richards Theatres v. Commis-
sioner, 153 F. 2d 602 (5th Cir. 1946) ; Byers v. Commissioner, 199
F. 2d 273 (8th Cir. 1952); United States v. E. Regensburg &
Sons, 221 F. 2d 336 (2d Cir. 1955), cert. denied, October 10, 1955;
Anktell Lumber & Coal Co. v. United States, 1 F. Supp. 724
(Ct. Cls. 1932); P. Garvan, Inc. v. Eaton, 20 F. 2d 422 (D.
Conn. 1927). See also cases cited at p. 30, infra.

2° In its bill of particulars the Government referred to the dis-
tributions as moneys ‘‘appropriated’’ by him. See p. 7,
supra. Of course, any distribution to stockholders is an ‘‘appro-
priation’’ of corporate assets for their own purposes. The sole
objective of a distribution is to transfer dominion from the cor-
poration to the stockholders.

30

he got the money.’’ (R. 27a.)*° To the trial court, as
to the Court of Appeals, proof of earnings and profits
was entirely immaterial. And so the Government has
successfully devised a special definition of taxable
income for the purpose of criminal prosecution. Any
distribution from a close corporation to its stockholders
is regarded as taxable income, regardless of whether
the corporation has an earned surplus. Under cover
of this special definition the Government has conven-
iently killed two birds with one stone. The concept
of taxable income for criminal purposes is no longer
the same as for civil purposes. And the Government
no longer has the burden of proving that the defendant
realized income as Congress has defined it for civil

purposes.

We may put the same consequences a little differ-

ently. If the Government asserted a civil liability |
here, the withdrawals would not be taxable dividends
in the absence of earnings and profits. Again, if the
Government sought to impose a civil penalty for
‘fraud with intent to evade tax,’’ the answer would
again turn on the presence of earnings or profits. For
the penalty is 50 percent of the tax due on the allegedly
omitted income. Int. Rev. Code, § 293(b). See, e.9.,
Bennett E. Meyers, 21 T.C. 331 (1953); Michael Pot-
son, 22 T.C. 912 (1954); United Mercantile Agencies,
Inc., 23 T.C. No. 139 (1955); D. W. Dawkins, 14
T.C.M. 684 (1955). ‘‘We have held time and again,”’
the Tax Court has only recently said, that ‘the
diverted funds are taxable as income to the corpora-

%° Later the trial court stated along the same lines: ‘‘So we have
a situation here where the sole owner’’ of a corporation ‘‘received
very substantial sums of money.’’ (R. 167a.)

31

tion and are taxable as dividends to the extent of earn-
ings and profits to the officer-stockholders receiving
them.’’ United Mercantile Agencies, Inc., supra.
(Italics supplied.)*' Yet here the Government has done
criminally what presumably it cannot do civilly. The
withdrawals have been treated as income to the stock-
holder without any evidence of earnings in the cor-
poration.” The determinative consideration is the
stockholder’s exercise of ‘‘complete control’’ over what
he receives—no matter what its source may be. (Ap-
pendix, infra, p. 6a.) On the other hand, if this test
of taxability is correct, we fail to see how it can be
closely confined to criminal prosecutions. Certainly,
if it provides an adequate basis for sending a taxpayer
to jail, it is also a sufficient ground for sustaining a
deficiency against him. Hence—unless we are to have
diverse concepts of income for civil and criminal pur-
poses—the decision below inevitably imperils the
established rule that the taxability of a dividend rests
on corporate earnings or profits.

The threatening consequences of the decision below
hardly pause at this point. As Mr. Justice Frankfurter
once observed, ‘‘legal doctrines have, in an odd kind of
way, the faculty of self-generating extension.’’ Texas
vy. Florida, 306 U. S. 398, 434 (1939). Decisions do

31 Therefore, in D. W. Dawkins, supra, the Commissioner treated
withdrawals by the sole stockholder as dividend income to the
extent of available earnings, ‘‘and the excess as a return of
capital, taxable as long-term capital gain.’’ 14 T.C.M. at 689, 691.

82 In those civil cases where the burden of proof is on the Gov-
ernment, it must prove the existence of earnings or profits if it
seeks to tax corporate distributions as dividends. See, ¢.g., F. A.
Wilson, 5 T.C.M. 647 (1946), aff’d on another issue, 163 F. 2d
680 (9th Cir. 1947), cert. denied, 332 U. S. 842 (1947).

32

not linger very long in their original environment.
Here we need not be too imaginative in contemplating
the shape of things to come. Already the Court of
Appeals has indicated that even proceeds withdrawn
from an individually owned business constitute income,
though there is no proof that the business has earned
any income. Such large words as ‘“‘dominion’’ and
‘control’? are regarded as some magical incantation
which unerringly reveals income where none is proven
according to the criteria established by Congress.

The short of the matter is that the income tax
becomes a levy on receipts as distinguished from in-
come.” And since receipts customarily exceed profits,
the chance of conviction is appreciably increased. As
this Court has perceptively warned in an opinion by
Mr. Justice Clark, ‘‘bare figures have a way of acquir-
ing an existence of their own, independent of the
evidence which gave rise to them.’’ Holland v. United
States, supra, at 128. Judges, too, are not insusceptible
to persuasion when astronomical receipts are skillfully

33 In line with our analysis of its opinion the Court of Appeals
states: ‘‘Thus, evidence of unexplained funds or property in the
hands of a taxpayer establishes a prima facie case of understate-
ment of income, and it is then incumbent on him to overcome the
logical inferences to be drawn from such proof.’’ (Appendix,
infra, pp. Ta-8a.) We had supposed that in Holland v. United
States, supra, this Court had clearly settled the law differently.
‘‘Inereases in net worth standing alone,’’ the Court declared,
‘feanrot be assumed to be attributable to currently taxable
incorse.”’ The Government must produce ‘‘evidence supporting
the inference that the defendant’s net worth increases are
attributable to currently taxable income.’’ 348 U. S. at 137, 138.
It is not incumbent upon the defendant to explain the bulge in his
net worth, for ‘‘such a rule would tend to shift the burden of
proof.’’ Jd. at 128. See also Kasper v. United States, 225 F. 2d
275, 278 (9th Cir. 1955).

33

confused with taxable income. This very case provides
an illuminating example. The trial judge was con-
fronted by gross receipts of $867,864.26. He promptly
assumed that this formidable sum was taxable income
of ‘approximately $1,000,000.’ Next he easily in-
ferred that ‘“‘never in the history of this court has
there been a case where the evidence showed such
colossal fraud”? upon the revenue. In the light of this
emotional response he immediately imposed a sentence
of five years as fit punishment for the alleged crime.
(R. 226a.) Yet there was no evidence that the receipts
were income to petitioner, since there was no evidence
that there were earnings or profits in the corporation.

We have no desire to condone tax evasion or the
fraud which is ‘‘a contaminating component”’ of the
crime. Cf. Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U. 8. 223, 229
(1951). We do say, however, that before a taxpayer
can be pronounced guilty of this felony, the Govern-
ment must carry its burden of proof; and in carrying
its burden the Government must at least prove that the
taxpayer realized income which he failed to report.
The Court of Appeals has forsaken these basic prin-
ciples under the erroneous impression that it was
faithfully applying this Court’s decision in the Rutkin
ease. Only this Court can assure a prompt return to
the principles which the decision below would erode.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully urged that this petition for a writ
of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

RanpDoLPpH FE. Patt,
Counsel for Petitioner.

Louis EISENSTEIN,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_0348%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
