# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pons v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_0060%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1955
- **Citation:** 350 U.S. 830

## Text

JUN 16 195

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

FRANCISCO BALLESTER PONS,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT

Jack WassERMAN,
Warner Bldg.,
Washington 4, D. C.;
Ortanvo J. ANTONSANTI,
San Juan, Puerto Rico,

Attorneys for Petitioner.
Davip Car.iner,

Of Counsel.

———. — ——

PY ONE 2052510505 Se eet Des See ae
bc a gee OO SOE Fr DRG Bran sat 8 tok

- seamen, NEES EE San ane ee ice YS Se

Reasons for Granting the Writ... —s™

sch gy ge ESE ER es POR Ue a ye eS

csi CREE ET TE eRe
Crratrons

Cases:

Statutes and Treaties:

Immigration Act of 1924:

Section 13 (c), 43 Stat. 161-162, 8 U.S.C. 213(c¢)
Section 28(c), 43 Stat. 168, 59 Stat. 551, 8 U.S.C.
PNR i ecg ce ihe en Bay seer ae ann

a OE eee Pp IAT Se NEE ae Pe

— 2264-0

i

a
OH 6 7 bo DD pe

D> > RD ano on | ~

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1955

No.—

FRANCISCO BALLESTER PON S,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT

The petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the First Circuit which affirmed a judgment of the Dis-
trict Court of Puerto Rico denying naturalization to peti-
tioner upon the ground that he is ineligible for citizenship.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, set forth in the Ap-
pendix, infra, is reported at 220 F. 2d 399. The opinion of
the District Court (R. 77-85) is reported in 119 F. Supp.
629.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
March 22, 1955. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U, S. C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

Questions Presented

1. Whether the Spanish Treaty of 1902 (33 Stat. 2105)
granting nationals of Spain exemption from military serv-
ice and ‘‘all obligatory official functions whatsoever’’ has
been superseded by the Immigration and Nationality Act
of 1952.

2. Whether petitioner became ineligible for American
citizenship under the Immigration and Nationality Act of
1952 which provides that nothing in its naturalization pro-
visions shall be applied ‘‘in contravention of the provisions
of any treaty’’ (66 Stat. 272; 8 U. S. C. 1489) by reason of

claiming draft exemption in 1944 under the Spanish Treaty
of 1902.

3. Whether the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952
which denies to aliens ineligible for citizenship the right
to travel and reside in all parts of the United States and
would confine such ineligible aliens to the territorial limits
of Puerto Rico, Alaska, or Hawaii, is inconsistent with and
superseded the Spanish Treaty of 1902 which grants na-
tionals of Spain the right to travel and reside in all parts of
the United States on terms equal to that of nationals of the
most favored nation.

4. Whether Congress intended to respect and abide by
the provisions of existing treaties when it enacted the Immi-
gration and Nationality Act of 1952.

5. Whether petitioner is eligible to American citizenship
under the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 or
whether he is permanently barred from citizenship notwith-
standing the Spanish Treaty of 1902.

Statutes and Treaties

The Treaty of Friendship and General Relations between
the United States and Spain, signed at Madrid July 3,

3

1902 and proclaimed April 20, 1903 (33 Stat. 2105; 2 Malloy
1701) provides in part:
** ArTICLE IT

There shall be a full, entire and reciprocal liberty
of Commerce and navigation between the citizens and
subjects of the two High Contracting Parties, who shall
have reciprocally the right, on conforming to the laws
of the country, to enter, travel and reside in all parts
of their respective territories, saving aiways the right
of expulsion which each Government reserves to itself,
and they shall enjoy in this respect, for the protection
of their persons and their property, the same treat-
ment and the same rights as the citizens or subjects
of the country or the citizens or subjects of the most
favored Nation.

* They can freely exercise their industry or their busi-
ness, as well wholesale as retail, without being sub-
jected as to their persons or their property, to any
taxes, general or local, imposts or conditions whatso-
ever, other or more onerous than those which are im-
posed or may be imposed upon the citizens or subjects
of the country or the citizens or subjects of the most
favored Nation.

It is, however, understood that these provisions are
not intended to annul or prevent, or constitute any ex-
ception from the laws, ordinances and special regula-
tions respecting taxation, commerce, health, police, and
public security, in force or hereafter made in the re-
spective countries and applying to foreigners in gen-
eral.

4

ARTICLE V

The citizens or subjects of each of the High Con-
tracting Parties shall be exempt in the territories of
the other from all compulsory military service, by land
or sea, and from all pecuniary contributions in lieu of
such, as well as from all obligatory official functions
whatsoever. ’’

Section 303(a) of Title 50, Appendix, United States Code,

pertaining to exemption of neutral aliens from military
service, reads in part as follows:

‘*Persons liable for training and service; number;
term status after completion of term; pay; allowances;
and benefits; place of employment

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this Act, every
male citizen of the United States, and every other male
person residing in the United States, who is between
the ages of nineteen and forty-five, at the time fixed for
his registration, or who attains the age of nineteen after
having been required to register pursuant to section 2
of this Act, shall be liable for training and service in
the land or naval forces of the United States ; Provided,
That any citizen or subject of a neutral country shall
be relieved from liability for training and service under
this Act if, prior to his induction into the land or naval
forces, he has made application to be relieved from such
liability in the manner prescribed by and in accordance
with rules and regulations prescribed by the President,
but any person who makes such application shall there-
after be debarred from becoming a citizen of the United
wees

Section 316(a) of Title 50, Appendix, United States Code,

relating to the suspension of laws conflicting with the

5

Selective Training and Service Act of 1940, and the expira-
tion of the Act reads as follows:

‘Suspension of conflicting laws; expiration of Act;
appropriations.

(a) Except as provided in this Act, all laws and
parts of laws in conflict with the provisions of this
Act are hereby suspended to the extent of such con-
flict for the period in which this Act shall be in force

® @ @99

Section 101(a)(19) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act (66 Stat. 169; 8 U.S.C. 1101-a-19) provides:

‘The term ‘ineligible to citizenship,’ when used in
reference to any individual, means, notwithstanding
the provisions of any treaty relating to military serv-
ice, an individual who is, or was at any time, perma-
nently barred from becoming a citizen of the United
States under section 3(a) of the Selective Training
and Service Act of 1940, as amended (54 Stat. 885; 55
Stat. 844), or under section 4(a) of the Selective Serv-
ice Act of 1948, as amended (62 Stat. 605; 65 Stat.
76) or under any section of this Act, or any other Act,
or under any law amendatory of, supplementary to,
or in substitution for, any of such sections or Acts.’’

Section 212(a)(22) of the Immigration and Nationality
Act, effective December 24, 1952, (66 Stat. 184; 8 U.S.C.
1182(a)(22)) provides that the following are ineligible for
visas and inadmissible to the United States:

‘“‘Aliens who are ineligible to citizenship, except
aliens seeking to enter as nonimmigrants .. .’?!

1 As interpreted by the Immigration Service, entry includes a coming
from Puerto Rico to continental United States, 8 U. S. C. 1182 (d)(7).
Compare Alcantra y. Boyd, (C.A. 9, May 10, 1955) 23 L. w. 2609.
Nonimmigrants include various classes of visitors 8 U. S. C. 1101 (a) (15).

6

Section 315 of the Immigration and Nationality Act effec-
tive December 24, 1952 (66 Stat. 242; 8 U.S.C. 1426) pro-
vides in part:

‘‘(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 405
(b) any alien who applies or has applied for exemption
or discharge from training or service in the Armed
Forces or in the National Security Training Corps of
the United States on the ground that he is an alien, and
is or was relieved or discharged from such training ©
or service on such ground, shall be permanently in-
eligible to become a citizen of the United States.

(b) The records of the Selective Service System or
of the National Military Establishment shall be con-
clusive as to whether an alien was relieved or dis-
charged from such liability for training or service
because he was an alien.’’

Section 357 of the Immigration and Nationality Act, ef-
fective December 24, 1952 (66 Stat. 272; 8 U.S.C. 1489)
provides in part:

‘*Nothing in this title chall be applied in contraven-
tion of the provisions of any treaty or convention to
which the United States is a party and which has been
ratified by the Senate upon the effective date of this
title...”

Section 405(b) of the Immigration and Nationality Act,
effective December 24, 1952 (66 Stat. 280; 8 U.S.C. 1101
footnote) provides:

‘‘Except as otherwise specifically provided in title
IIT any petition for naturalization heretofore filed
which may be pending at the time this Act shall take
effect shall be heard and determined in accordance with

7

the requirements of law in effect when such petition
was filed.’’

Section 13(c) of the Immigration Act of 1924 (43 Stat.
161-162; 8 U.S.C. 213 c) provided in part:

“No alien ineligible to citizenship shall be admitted
to the United States unless such alien (1) is admissible
as a nonquota immigrant under the provisions of sub-
division (b) [a returning resident] (d) [a minister or
professor] or (e) [a student] of section eer

Section 28(c) of the Immigration Act of 1924, as amended
October 29, 1945 (43 Stat. 168 ; 59 Stat. 551; 8 U.S.C. 224 c)
provided :

‘“‘The term ‘ineligible to citizenship’ when used in
reference to any individual, includes an individual who
is debarred from becoming a citizen of the United
States under sections 703 and 706 of this title, or sec-
tion 303(a) of Appendix to Title 50, or under any law
amendatory of, supplementary to, or in substitution
for any such sections. . . , ”’

Statement

The petitioner is a native of Spain and is married to
an American citizen. He entered the United States for
permanent residence at San Juan Puerto Rico on December
26, 1934, has a continuous residence in the United States
of seventeen years and is a respected member of the com-
munity in Puerto Rico. (R. 77). After receiving an order
to report for a pre-induction physical examination in 1944,
the appellant advised his draft board on November 1, 1944,
that he desired to invoke the Spanish Treaty of 1902 grant-
ing him exemption from military service (R. 4, 78).

The Spanish Treaty granted nationals of Spain exemp-

tion ‘from all compulsory military service by land or
sea, * * * as well as from all obligatory official functions
whatsoever’? (Art. V, supra, p. 4) and accorded them
the right to reside in all parts of the United States on the
same conditions as the citizens of the most favored nations.
(Art. II, supra, p. 3)

Beginning with the enactment of the Selective Training
and Service Act of 1940 (50 App. U.S.C. 303-a), the
Spanish Embassy on October 14, 1940 contended that under
the Spanish Treaty, its nationals were automatically
exempt from military service. These protests have con-
tinued through to its most recent note to our State De-
partment on May 18, 1955 which states in part:

*“When the Spanish Embassy secured the relief
from military service in the United States of the
Spanish nationals, whose cases are now pending, this
was done on the basis of a treaty and of the neutral
status of Spain at that time.* * * The Spanish subjects
who are now penalized by immigration restrictions as
a result of their former exemption from military serv-
ice in the United States, obtained this relief through
the action of their Embassy in Washington, which in-
structed them to claim it.’’

On November 2, 1944, petitioner subscribed to DSS Form
301, an application by a neutral alien for relief from mili-
tary service (R. 27).

Petitioner submitted evidence (R. 32) that in 1944, he
was a reservist in the Spanish Army and that under Span-
ish law his citizenship would be lost by foreign military
service without permission from the King? (thus render-

? Article 20 of the Spanish Civil Laws of 1889 provides that Spanish
nationality is lost “by entering the Armed Services of a foreign power
without the permission of the King (Constitution I, 2; Civil Code 23).”
Flournoy and Hudson, Nationality Laws, page 538.

9

ing him stateless). He testified that his purpose in claim-
ing exemption was due to the fact that he was ‘subject to
the Army regulations and subject to being called at any
time by the Spanish Army .. . and was not through with
[his] oath with the Spanish Army.’’ He asserted that he
“could not swear to another nation’? when he ‘‘was on
duty’’ to his own (R. 19, 20, 28) ; that he was forbidden to
enlist in our Army (R. 57-58) and that he did not under-
stand that he would be barred from becoming an American
since ‘‘the treaty between Spain and the United States
was still in force’. (R. 28). However, he was told that
he had to sign DSS Form 301 in order to secure exemption
(R. 57). If he had not been in the reserve forces of the
Spanish Army, he would not have invoked the treaty. (R.
58). Petitioner was granted exemption by his draft board
in 1944 and on December 16, 1952, he filed a petition seek-
ing naturalization as an American citizen (R. 2).

Upon these facts, the District Court held (R. 77) that
petitioner was permanently barred from American citizen-
ship pursuant to 50 App. U.S.C. 303 (a) and 8 U.S.C. 1426.

The Court of Appeals affirmed. It acknowledged that
the Selective Training and Service Act ceased to apply
after 1947 but asserted that thereafter and until 1952, the
Immigration Act of 1924 was applicable. The Court of
Appeals found that petitioner was ineligible for citizenship
under the 1952 Act as well as under pre-existing law upon
the ground that no inconsistency existed between the Span-
ish Treaty of 1902 and these laws and if such inconsistency
was presented, that these later laws prevailed over the
treaty. (Appendix, infra, pp. 19, 20).

Reasons for Granting the Writ

1. The United States has executed reciprocal military
exemption treaties with ten countries. In addition to that

—

10

with Spain, we have such treaties with Argentina (10 Stat.
1005, 1009), China (63 Stat. Pt. II), Costa Rica (10 Stat.
916, 921), Ireland (Dept. of State Treaties and Other Int ‘l
Act Series, 2155), Italy (63 Stat. Pt. II), Paraguay (12
Stat. 1091, 1096) Switzerland (11 Stat. 587, 595) and
Yugoslavia (22 Stat. 963, 964). During World War II
many of the nationals of these countries, including ap-
proximately 30 Spanish nationals residing in Puerto Rico
and about 40 in continental United States, claimed draft
exemption pursuant to these treaties. The Spanish Treaty
of 1902, in the broadest terms of any of these treaties, as-
serts that the nationals covered thereby shall be exempt
from all military service and from “‘all obligatory official
functions whatsoever’’. Moreover, it grants citizens of
Spain the right to ‘‘travel and reside in all parts’’ of the
United States upon terms equal to that of citizens of the
most favored nations.

Congressional awareness of the provisions of these
treaties is demonstrated in section 357 of the Immigration
and Nationality Act of 1952 (8 U.S.C. 1489) which provides
that nothing in the nationality title (title III) of the Act
‘*shall be applied in contravention of the provisions of any
treaty’’.

The Court below, relying upon Moser v. United States,
341 U.S. 41 (1951) found the Spanish Treaty consistent
with our immigration and nationality laws. Four basic
distinctions are presented by persons invoking the Span-
ish Treaty from those who relied upon the Swiss Treaty.

a. The Spanish Treaty unlike the Swiss Treaty provides
that citizens of Spain are to be exempt from ‘“‘all obligatory
official functions whatsoever’’. We submit that under this
provision, Spanish nationals were not obliged to register,
serve or claim draft exemption under any of the Selective
Service Acts, and that they were entitled to draft exemp-

11

tion without the restriction of ineligibility of citizenship.
If a Spanish national was exempt from military service
under the treaty, ‘‘his act in applying for relief from a
non-existent duty could not create the bar against natural-
ization’? McGrath v. K ristensen, 340 U.S. 162, 172, (1950).

b. This Court found that the Swiss Treaty was consistent
with our 1940 Selective Training and Service laws and with
the imposition of citizenship ineligibility in view of the
express exclusion of political rights from the Swiss Treaty.
341 U.S. at 45,46. The Spanish Treaty does not specifically
exclude political rights.

c. Unlike the situation presented in the Moser case, Con-
gress provided since 1952 that in determining eligibility for
citizenship, treaty provisions were to be respected (8
U.S.C. 1489).

d. Finally, it should be observed that the Government,
in the Moser case, specifically recognized that the signatory
powers did not contemplate “conditions on exemption from
military service which would render that grant nugatory”’.
‘And so, it may be assumed * * * that denial of any * * *
specifically granted rights as a consequence of freedom
from military service would be in contravention of the
treaty’’. (Gov’t Brief, Mose: v. United States, pp. 31-33).
Here, if petitioner is ineligible for citizenship, he is denied
rights specifically granted ty the Spanish Treaty. The
treaty grants him the right te travel and reside in all parts
of the United States. If he is ineligible for citizenship,
contrary to the treaty provsions, petitioner may not in
view of the present administrative interpretation of the
Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1182-d-7 and
8 U.S.C. 1182-a-22) leave Puerto Rico and come to conti-
nental United States. Here is a clear inconsistency with
the treaty as acknowledged by the Government in its Moser
Brief. This restriction affecs some 30 Spanish nationals
in Puerto Rico. It likewise affects many other treaty na-

12

tionals who have been denied the right to travel lawfully
between continental United States and our territories.

Treaty rights are to be liberally construed. Chew Heong
v. United States, 112 U.S. 536 (1884). Of course, Congress
may by a later enactment abrogate a treaty provided that
such purpose has been clearly expressed. Cook v. United
States, 288 U.S. 102 (1933); Cheung Sum Shee v. Nagle,
268 U.S. 336 (1925). The importance of our treaty obliga-
tions, as it affects internatienal rights not only of foreign
nationals but also the privileges and liabilities of our own
citizens residing abroad can not be minimized. If the
United States has abrogated treaty rights by the enact-
ment of the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, then
our nationals may no longer be free from foreign military
service in many foreign lands. ~

The violation of treaty rights by the present administra-
tive interpretation of the Immigration and Nationality Act
of 1952 has been the subject of protests by the Spanish
Government. Objection has been taken specifically to the
restrictions imposed upon Spanish nationals in Puerto Rico
who are denied freedom of travel from that island. In
response to these protests, our State Department replied
on August 26, 1953:

‘‘The Attorney General has ruled that until such
time as the issue is resolved by the Courts, the Depart-
ment of Justice will take the position, in the adminis-
tration of Section 315 of the Act, that nationals of
treaty countries who were discharged from military
service on treaty grounds prior to the enactment of
that Act are barred from United States citizenship.’’

The instant case presents for the first time the important
question as to whether or not the Spanish Treaty and our
Tmnigration and Nationality Act of 1952 are consistent.
More important is the interrelation of treaty rights with

13

the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 and the issue
as to whether Congress has by statutory enactment cur-
tailed those treaty rights. Resolution of these important
questions which affect our own citizens as well as numerous
individuals residing in continental United States and in our
territories can only be effected by Supreme Court review.

2. The Court of Appeals recognized that the Immigration
and Nationality Act of 1952 contained two conflicting provi-
sions. Section 357 (8 U. S. C. 1489) provides that nothing
in the nationality sections of the law shall be applied in con-
travention of any treaty. However, section 101 (a) (19)

[8 U. S. C. 1101 (a) (19)] defines the term ‘‘ineligidle to ——-

citizenship’’ notwithstanding treaty provisions. Nowhere
in section 315 of the 1952 Act (8 U.S.C. 1426), the naturali-
zation section under which the Court below denied peti-
tioner citizenship, is the expression ‘‘ineligible to citizen-
ship’’ utilized. It is only utilized in the immigration section
(8 U. S. C, 1182-a-22) excluding ‘‘aliens who are ineligible
to citizenship’’. Nevertheless the Court of Appeals trans-
posed this imimgration definition into the naturalization
provisions of the law and thereby nullified section 357. To
determine the proper scope of these various sections in our
immigration and nationality laws it is appropriate that this
Court grant certiorari.

3. It is clear that petitioner’s right to naturalization is
to be controlled by the Immigration and Nationality Act of
1952. Although he filed his petition for naturalization on
December 16, 1952, prior to the effective date of the 1952
Act, section 405 (b) of the new act specifically requires the
application of its provisions to those who are alleged to be
ineligible to become a citizen of the United States. This
construction conforms to the rationale of Shomberg v.
United States, 348 U. S. 540 (1955). The Court below, how-
ever, erroneously applied the Immigration Act of 1924 (8
U. S. C. 224-c) which was inapplicable not only because it

14

q

‘

related solely to immigration and not to naturalization but |
also because it had been repealed by the 1952 Act. (66 Stat. |
279). Certiorari is appropriate herein to authoritatively |

settle the proper relationship of section 405(b) of the say-
ings clause of the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952

(66 Stat. 280) to section 315 (66 Stat. 242, 8 U. S. C. 1426),

Conclusion

In view of the importance of the questions presented as it

affects treaty rights and the proper construction of the

Immigration and Nationality Act, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that a writ of certiorari should issue to review the
judgment below.
Jack WASSERMAN,
Warner Bldg.,
Washington 4, D. C.
Or.anpo J. ANTONSANTI,
San Juan, Puerto Rico,
Attorneys for Petitioner.

Davin Car.iner, Esq.,
Of Counsel.

Be ay Sif FE same SF

= es ee eee ee a Sie Stay a

=

oat, wep bldg» Tadd Tee et ee

eS ee aes: satin oe ihre dtestriet

ahi ab rt Lies 24

Laat wn
eee a Fre eta ia “f

me hens Belidster: Por: 8 1 ta hore Tx Sable.
See ee strom bokhaS Bpasitahs sited feed wit dike
a ag TOR, be enieret nia Sieiacs
Mirkesce at San J
{eat he LIST aud 29°
Netw coptinanues

dist : co Coare al a? apes

15

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT

No, 4865
FRANCISCO BALLESTER PONS, Appellant,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Appellee

Before Macruper, Chief Judge, and Maris and Woopsury,
Circuit Judges

Oprnton or THE Court—March 22, 1955
Macrupver, Chief Judge:

We are quite satisfied that the district court correctly
denied appellant’s application for naturalization filed De-
cember 16, 1952, which is the subject matter of this appeal.
That court ruled that appellant was, under the applicable
Acts of Congress, forever barred from obtaining American
citizenship by reason of having, as a resident alien and a
citizen or subject of a neutral country, applied for and ob-
tained exemption from military service under the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940, as amended. 54 Stat. 885,
55 Stat. 844.

Francisco Ballester Pons was born in Spain in 1908. He
became from birth a Spanish subject and has remained such.
On December 26, 1934, he entered the United States for per-
manent residence at San Juan, Puerto Rico. After visits
to Spain in 1935 and 1936.he returned to Puerto Rico, where
he has been continuously residing ever since. As stated
by the district court, all of appellant’s interests, business

16

and social, ‘‘are in Puerto Rico, where he has entered the
community whole-heartedly and is now a respectable and
respected member thereof.’’

On January 17, 1929, Ballester obtained from the Spanish
Consul at Santo Domingo an identification card showing
that he was a member of the Spanish Army Reserve. Under
Spanish law, male Spanish nationals living in certain coun-
tries of Spanish origin could, by registration and money
payment, plus the making of an annual report, be exempt
from Spanish military service unless the outbreak of war
required total Spanish mobilization. Appellant complied
with this procedure for the required period of eighteen
years, after which, in 1947, he was absolutely discharged
from any further obligation to give military service to
Spain. The bearing of the facts recited in this paragraph
will become apparent subsequently.

A Treaty of Friendship and Genera) Relations between
the United States and Spain, signed at Madrid J uly 3, 1902,
and proclaimed April 20, 1903 (33 Stat. 2105) provides in
part as follows:

“Article IT

There shall be a full, entire and reciprocal liberty of
commerce and navigation between the citizens and sub-
jects of the two High Contracting Parties, who shall
have reciprocally the right, on conforming to the laws }
of the country, to enter, travel and reside in all parts
of their respective territories, saving always the right
of expulsion which each Government reserves to itself,
and they shall enjoy in this respect, for the protection
of their persons and their property, the same treatment
and the same rights as the citizens or subjects of the
country or the citizens or subjects of the most favored
Nation.

They can freely exercise their industry or their busi-

17

ness, as well wholesale as retail, without being subjected
as to their persons or iheir property, to any taxes,
general or local, imposts or conditions whatsoever,
other or more onerous than those which are imposed
or may be imposed upon the citizens or subjects of the
country or the citizens or subjects of the most favored
Nation.

It is, however, understood that these provisions are
not intended to annul or prevent, or constitute any ex-
ception from the laws, ordinances and special regula-
tions respecting taxation, commerce, health, police, and
public security, in force or hereafter made in the re-
spective countries and applying to foreigners in
general.

Article V

The citizens or subjects of each of the High Contract-
ing Parties shall be exempt in the territories of the

other from all compulsory military service, by land or
sea, and from all pecuniary contributions in lieu of
such, as well as from all obligatory official functions
whatsoever. . . .”’

The treaty exemption in Art. V is from ‘‘compulsory
military service,’’ which leaves open and unprescribed the
procedure by which a person called to service may manifest
his unwillingness to serve—if such is his state of mind—
and thus obtain his release from any military obligation.
As applied to a given individual, Art. V is not ‘‘automatic’’
in the sense that the alien, if he is unwilling to render
military service, may simply ignore a summons to service,
or ignore the procedure, set up or authorized by legislative
enactment, whereby the alien may claim his exemption from
compulsory military service by making a declaration to the
proper authorities of his unwillingness to serve.

EE

18

Therefore, entirely consistent with the exemption con-
tained in Art. V of the treaty, § 3(a) of the Selective Train-
ing and Service Act of 1940 (55 Stat. 845) provided as
follows:

**See. 3. (a) Except as otherwise provided in this
Act, every male citizen of the United States, and every
other male person residing in the United States, who is
between the ages of twenty and forty-five at the time
fixed for his registration, or who attains the age of
twenty after having been required to register pursuant
to section 2 of this Act, shall be liable for training and
service in the land or naval forces of the United States:
Provided, That any citizen or subject of a neutral
country shall be relieved from liability for training and
service under this Act if, prior to his induction into
the land or naval forces, he has made application to be
relieved from such liability in the manner prescribed
by and in accordance with rules and regulations pre-
scribed by the President, but any person who makes
such application shall thereafter be debarred from be-
coming a citizen of the United States: Provided fur-
ther, That no citizen or subject of any country who
has been or who may hereafter be proclaimed by the
President to be an alien enemy of the United States
shall be inducted for training and service under this
Act unless he is acceptable to the land or naval forces.”’

This statutory provision, it may be noted, enabled any
neutral alien who was unwilling to render military service
to the United States to be relieved from this liability,
whether or not the alien was also covered by a treaty
exemption as in Art. V of the treaty with Spain. Of course,
this was a matter within the discretion of Congress; and
the fact that the statutory provision for exemption was

ee

19

broader than that required by treaty in no way derogates
from the conclusion that the Spanish alien’s right under
Art. V of the treaty was fully protected under §3(a), as
amended, of the Selective Training and Service Act. The
clause in the first proviso of § 3(a), that any person who
made application to be relieved from such military service,
in accordance with regulations prescribed by the President,
“shall thereafter be debarred from becoming a citizen of
the United States’’, is not in conflict with Art. V of the
treaty, for nothing in Art. V, and indeed nothing in the
whole treaty, purports to impose any limitation upon the
power of the respective countries to formulate the condi-
tions of eligibility for naturalization. As the Supreme
Court stated in reference to a similar provision of the
treaty with Switzerland: ‘‘That the statute unquestion-
ably imposed a condition on exemption not found in the
Treaty does not mean they are inconsistent. Not doubting
that a treaty may be modified by a subsequent act of Con-
gress, it is not necesary to invoke such authority here, for
we find in this congressionally imposed limitation on citizen-
ship nothing inconsistent with the purposes and subject
matter of the Treaty. The Treaty makes no provsion re- —
specting citizenship.’’ Moser v. United States, 341 U. S.
41, 45 (1951).

It is suggested by appellant that the bar to naturalization
contained in the proviso of §3(a) was inconsistent with
certain other provisions of the treaty with Spain. We do
not think that this was so. But we do not stop to labor
the point, for even if it were so, it is prefectly well-settled
that provisions of a subsequent Act of Congress may, for
purposes of domestic law, supersede inconsistent provi-
sions of a prior treaty with a foreign country. See Head
Money Cases, 112 U. S. 580, 597-99 (1884) ; Pigeon River Co.

—

20

v. Charles W. Cox, Ltd., 291 U. S. 138, 160 (1934) ; Clark y.
Allen, 331 U. 8. 503, 508-09 (1947).

Appellant duly registered under the Selective Training
and Service Act of 1940. On October 21, 1944, he was di-
rected by his draft board to report for pre-induction physi-
cal examination.

The administrative regulation which had been issued
under authority of §3(a) of the Act required a neutral
alien, seeking to be relieved from military service, to exe-
cute DSS Form 301 (Application by Alien for Relief from
Military Service), which application form read in part as
follows: ‘‘I do hereby make application to be relieved from
liability for training and service in the land or naval forces
of the United States, under the Selective Training and
Service Act of 1940, as amended, in acordance with the Act
of Congress, approved Deember 20, 1941. I understand that
the making of this application to be relieved from such lia-
bility will debar me from becoming a citizen of the United
States. I have not filed a declaration of intention to become
a citizen of the United States.”’

It appears that in 1942 appellant’s brother, Jaime Bal-
lester Pons, upon receiving a notice to report for induction,
had sought to claim automatie exemption from service by
virtue of Art. V of the treaty with Spain. The draft board,
however, insisted that Jaime wotld have to execute DSS
Form 301 if he wished to be relieved from military duty.
Thereupon Jaime communicated with the Spanish Ambas-
sador to the United States seeking support for his claim that
it was unnecessary for him to execute DSS Form 301 in view
of Art. V of the treaty. However, on January 5, 1943, the
Spanish Ambassador advised Jaime to execute DSS Form
301, which he did.

When appellant received his notice to report for _pre-
induction examination, he at first sought unsuccessfully, as

=a

21

had his brother, to invoke the treaty without executing DSS
Form 301. However, he was informed by the draft board
that he would either have to make application for relief
under DSS Form 301 or else prepare for induction. On
November 2, 1944, appellant executed DSS Form 301 and
was placed by his draft board in category IV-C (Neutral
aliens requesting relief from training and service) ; a little
over one year later he was reclassified IV-A (Over the age
of liability for military service). The question is whether
the alien in thus applying to be relieved of liability to
military service rendered himself ineligible for subsequent
naturalization.

Appellant’s main reliance is upon Moser v. United States,
341 U.S. 41 (1951). In that case the resident alien was
exempted from compulsory military service by a provision
of the treaty with Switzerland. When the draft board
classified him I-A (Available for military service), the alien
sought the aid of the Swiss Legation in securing his defer-
ment in accordance with the treaty. The Swiss Legation
protested to the Department of State that the declaration
required of applicants in filing DSS Form 301 was incon-
sistent with the treaty right of Swiss citizens. The State
Department, assuring the Swiss Legation that the United
States had no intention of abrogating treaty rights, negoti-
ated an agreement with Selective Service Headquarters
upon a Revised Form 301 which omitted the waiver declara-
tion, though a footnote of the Revised Form did quote the
pertinent provisions of § 3(a). The Swiss Legation for-
warded to the alien a copy of this Revised DSS Form 301
which it requested him to execute. The letter of the Swiss
Legation assured the alien that ‘‘through filing of DSS
Form 301, revised, you will not waive your right to apply
for American citizenship papers.”? Under these cireum-
stances the alien signed the Revised Form 301, and his draft

a
22

board reclassified him IV-C. A finding of the district court,
accepted by the court of appeals and by the Supreme Court,
was to the effect ‘‘that petitioner signed the application for
exemption believing that he was not thereby precluded from
citizenship, and that had he known claiming exemption
would debar him from citizenship, he would not have
claimed it, but would have elected to serve in the armed
forces.’’

The Supreme Court held as a matter of law that § 3(a)
of the Act ‘imposed a valid condition on the claim of a
neutral alien for exemption; petitioner had a choice of
exemption and no citizenship, or no exemption and citizen-
ship.’’ (341 U.S. at 46) It could hardly be suggested that
this alternative was an unconscionable one, applicable as
it was not to aliens who were only temporary sojourners
in the United States, but only to resident aliens ‘‘who
sought the advantages of our life and the protection of our
flag.’’ McGrath v. Kristensen, 340 U.S. 162, 175-76 (1950).
But the Supreme Court read into § 3(a) the implication
that the bar to naturalization would not operate until the
alien had made an intelligent choice between the alterna.
tives presented, well knowing the legal effect of what he
did. For that reason, in order not to “‘entrap’’ the alien,
the Court held that he had not waived his right to apply
for future naturalization by having executed the Revised
DSS Form 301. ‘Petitioner did not knowingly and in-
tentionally waive his rights to citizenship. In fact, because
of the misleading circumstances of this case, he never had
an opportunity to make an intelligent election between the
diametrically opposed courses required as a matter of strict
law. Considering all the circumstances of the case, we
think that to bar petitioner, nothing else than an intelligent
waiver is required by elementary fairness.” (341 U.S. at 47)

The case at bar presents a significantly different picture

23

from that in Moser v. United States. No misrepresenta-
tions were made to Francisco Ballester Pons; he was never
deceived as to the legal effect of applying for relief from
military duty by executing DSS Form 301. In asking to be
so relieved, his only purpose, as his testimony showed, was
to avoid possible penalties under the Spanish law for enter-
ing the military service of the United States when he was
still under a conditional commitment to military service in
Spain in his capacity as a member of the Spanish Army
Reserve. The district court found, upon ample evidence,
that when appellant came to execute DSS Form 301, he
was ‘‘perfectly aware of the fact that by signing the form
he was forever debarring himself from American citizen-
ship.’’ The fact that this was the only way he could avoid
the obligation to report for induction did not constitute
such ‘‘duress’”’ as would negative ‘‘an intelligent election”’’
on his part; it was of the essence of the alternatives law-
fully presented to him that he ‘‘had a choice of exemption
and no citizenship, or no exemption and citizenship.’’ We
shall say no more in elaboration upon the inapplicability
of Moser v. United States to the case at bar, since the point
has been so fully and convincingly discussed in the opinion
of the district court. 119 F. Supp. 629.

When Congress by amendment in 1941 of § 3(a) of the
Selective Training and Service Act provided that ‘‘any
person who makes such application shall thereafter be
barred from becoming a citizen of the United States’’, it
omitted to make a corresponding amendment of the sub-
stantive provisions of the Nationality Act of 1940 (54
Stat. 1137) prescribing the conditions of eligibility for
naturalization. And § 3(a), along with the other sections of
the Selective Training and Service Act of 1940, as amended,
became inuperative and ceased to apply on the indicated
date in 1947, as provided in the Act of June 29, 1946 (60

24

Stat. 342). But meanwhile, on October 29, 1945 (59 Stat,
551), Congress had amended § 28(c) of the Immigration Act
of 1924 (43 Stat. 168) so as to include within the term
‘‘ineligible to citizenship’’ persons debarred from citizen.
ship under § 3(a) of the Selective Training and Service Act
of 1940, as amended; and it has uniformly been held that
in so doing Congress intended to continue in effect the dis-
qualification to naturalization in § 3(a) of the Selective
Training and Service Act. See Benzian v. Godwin, 168 F. 2d
952, 956-7 (C.A. 2d, 1948), cert. denied 335 U.S. 886 (1948),
If the matter were otherwise doubtful, it was set at rest
by provisions of the Immigration and Nationality Act of
1952 (66 Stat. 163), which became effective December 24,
1952 (66 Stat. 281). Appellant had filed his petition for
naturalization on the preceding December 16, 1952, on which
date he was ineligible to citizenship by virtue of the amended
§ 28(c) of the Immigration Act of 1924, as above stated.
The Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 repealed the
Immigration Act of 1924 (66 Stat. 279). But § 405(b) of
the Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat. 280) pro-
vides that any petition for naturalization pending on the
effective date of the Act shall be determined in accordance
with the requirements of law in effect when such petition
was filed, except as otherwise specifically provided in Title
III. Turning then to Title IIT of the Act, § 315 thereunder,
captioned ‘‘Alien Relieved from Training and Service in
the Armed Forces of the United States because of Alienage
Barred from Citizenship’’, provides as follows (66 Stat.
242):
**See. 315. (a) Notwithstanding the provisions of
section 405(b), any alien who applies or has applied

for exemption or discharge from training or service in
the Armed Forces or in the National Security Training

25

Corps of the United States on the ground that he is an
alien, and is or was relieved or discharged from such
training or service on such ground, shall be permanently
ineligible to become a citizen of the United States.

(b) The records of the Selective Service System or
of the National Military Establishment shall be con-
clusive as to whether an alien was relieved or dis-
charged from such liability for training or service be-
cause he was an alien.’’

This section would seem clearly enough to constitute an
absolute bar to citizenship, even for a person who had
petitioned for naturalization prior to the effective date of
the Act, and regardless of whether exemption from military
service was sought and obtained under the regulations pre-
scribed by the President pursuant to § 3(a) of the Selective
Training and Service Act, as amended, or by virtue of an
exemption contained in a treaty. In this respect the bar of
§ 315(a) of the Immigration and Nationality Act is wider
than that of § 3(a) of the Selective Training and Service
Act, and would have precluded appellant even if he had not
executed DSS Form 301 in claiming the exemption. It is
true that § 357 of the Immigration and Nationality Act
provides (66 Stat. 272) that nothing in Title ITI ‘‘shall be
applied in contravention of the provisions of any treaty
or convention to which the United States is a party and
which has been ratified by the Senate upon the effective
date of this Title’’. But as pointed out earlier in this
opinion, excluding from eligibility to citizenship resident
aliens who have chosen not to render military service to
the United States is not inconsistent with the treaty provi-
sions. Furthermore, in this connection the government calls
our attention to 4 101(a)(19) of the Immigration and
Nationality Act (66 Stat. 169), which provides as follows:

26

‘*(19) The term ‘ineligible to citizenship,’ when used
in reference to any individual, means, notwithstandi
the provisions of any treaty relating to military servi
an individual who is, or was at any time, permanentl
debarred from becoming a citizen of the United States
under section 3(a) of the Selective Training and Servs
ice Act of 1940, as amended (54 Stat. 885; 55 Stat. 844
or under section 4(a) of the Selective Service Act of
1948, as amended (62 Stat. 605; 65 Stat. 76), or under
any section of this Act, or any other Act, or under any
law amendatory of, supplementary to, or in substitutiog
for, any of such sections or Acts.’’ [Italics added.] |

The judgment of the District Court is affirmed.

(2264-0)

FFE EE OEE Re SR ETS ~ ee

851323—55 (1)

Pago
SS WOW 5 i ivenmn cen cquicnncanubenadnniens 1
i in cicic Wiuiw dv wadininun katie eniuche gies 1
= @uestion presented - . .-......-.-----.------------ 2
- Statutes and treaty provision involved -__----------- 2
I ios i ac nalain own amd aleomire mesicion maine 5
I ies n ices lamcom o-nieacslang ie sce pein tie 9
SAS EES RES oes PARR AC Moca Caan ES 13
a CITATIONS
' Cases:
a International Longshoremen’s Union v. Boyd, 347
es Oe ark in hs cease 10
Moser v. United States, 341 U.S. 41__---- 9,11, 12,13
a Shomberg v. United States, 348 U.S. 540___----- 10
_ Statutes and Treaty:
Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, 66
Stat. 163 (8 U. S. C. 1101, et seq.):
Section 101 (a) (19) (8 U. S. C. 1101)__---- 3,11
Section 315 (8 U. S. C. 1426)___------ 3, 5,10, 12
Section 357 (8 U. S. C. 1489)__--_-------- 4,10
NN OE Chis i. os te tnddicvncuenmene 4
Nationality Act of 1940 (8 U.S. C. 710 (b))_--- 5
Selective Training and Service Act of 1940,
Section 3 (a), as amended, 54 Stat. 885 (50
U. S. C. App. [1946 ed.] 303 (a)), which was
repealed in 1947 (60 Stat. 342)____-_.--_---- 2,5
Treaty between the United States and Spain of
Friendship and General Relations signed July
3, 1902, and prociaimed April 20, 1903 (33
ct: SIGH), Actithe Vso niidcsicinGiemn de 4,12

nthe Supreme Cour ofthe Whated States

Octoser TERM, 1955

No. 157

FRANCISCO BALLESTER PONS, PETITIONER
v.

Unttep States oF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Pet. 15-
26, R. 87-98) is reported at 220 F. 2d 399. The
opinion of the district court. (R. 77-85) is re-
ported at 119 F'. Supp. 629.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was
rendered on March 22, 1955. The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on June 16, 1955.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U. S.C. 1254 (1).

» (1b.

2
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner, a Spanish national who
sought and was granted exemption from mili-
tary service as a neutral alien, is debarred from
citizenship under section 315 (a) of the Immigra-
tion and Nationality Act of 1952.

STATUTES AND TREATY PROVISICNW INVOLVED

Section 3 (a) of the Selective Training and
Service Act of 1940, 54 Stat. 885, as amended (50
U. S. C. App. [1946 ed.] 303 (a)), which was
repealed in 1947 (60 Stat. 342), provided in
pertinent part:

Except as otherwise provided in this
Act, every male citizen of the United
States, and every other male person resid-
ing in the United States, who is between
the ages of nineteen and forty-five, at the
time fixed for his registration, * * * shall
be liable for training and service in the
land or naval forces of the United States:
Provided, That any citizen or subject of a
neutral country shall be relieved from
liability for training and service under
this Act if, prior to his induction into the
land or naval forces, he has made applica-
tion to be relieved from such liability in
the manner prescribed by and in accord-
ance with rules and regulations prescribed
by the President, but any person who
makes such application shall thereafter be
debarred from becoming a citizen of the
United States: * * *,

eNO NAM Me ce a PET AOE VRE MEET IR

3
The Immigration and Nationality Act 6f 1952, 66
Stat. 163 (8 U.S. ©. 1101, et séq.), provides ih perti-
nent part:

Section 101 (a) (19) (8 U.S. €. 1101) : TEES Ce

The term ‘‘ineligible to citizenship,’’
when used in reference to any individual,
means, notwithstanding the provisions of
any treaty relating to military service, an
individual who is, or was at any time, per-
manently debarred from becoming a citi-
zen of the United States under section 3
(a) of the Selective Training and Service
Act of 1940, as amended (54 Stat. 885; 55
Stat. 844), or under section 4 (a) of the
Selective Service Act of 1948, as amended
(62 Stat. 605; 65 Stat. 76), or under any
section of this Act, or any other Act, or
under any law ameridatory of, sipplemen-
tary to, or in substitution for, any of such
sections or Acts.

* * * * *

Section 315 (8 U.S. ©. 1426):

(a) Notwithstanding the provisions of
section 405 (b), any alien who applies or
has applied for exemption or discharge
from training or service in the Armed
Forces or in the National Security Train-
ing Corps of the United States on the
ground that he is an alien, and is or was
relieved or discharged from such training
or service on such ground, shall be per-
manently ineligible to become a citizen of
the United States.

cm

4

(b) The records of the Selective Service
System or of the National Military Estab-
lishment shall be conclusive as to whether

an alien was relieved or discharged from
such liability for training or service be-
cause he was an alien.
Section 357 (8 U. 8. C. 1489) :

Nothing in this title shall be applied in
contravention of the provisions of any
treaty or convention to which the United
States is a party and which has been rati-
fied by the Senate upon the effective date
of this title: * * *

Section 405 (b) of the Act [66 Stat. 280]:
” * * 2 >

Except as otherwise specifically provided
in title III, any petition for naturalization
heretofore filed which may be pending at the
time this Act shall take effect shall be heard
and determined in accordance with the re-
quirements of law in effect when such peti-
tion was filed.

- Article V of the Treaty between the United
States and Spain of Friendship and General Re-
lations signed July 3, 1902, and proclaimed April
20, 1903 (33 Stat. 2105), provides in pertinent —

part:
The citizens or subjects of each of the
High Contracting Parties shall be exempt
in the territories of the other from all com-
pulsory military service, by land or sea,
and from all pecuniary contributions in

—

lieu of such, as well as from all obligatory
official functions whatsoever.

STATEMENT ;

~ Petitioner, a 47-year-old merchant, presently
residing in Puerto Rico, was admitted to Puerto
Rico for permanent residence in December 1934
(R. 2,3). On December 16, 1952, he filed a petition
for naturalization in the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Puerto Rico alleg-
ing that in February 1938 he had married a
native-born American citizen and claiming the
exemptions granted to spouses of United States
citizens under the general provisions of the
Nationality Act of 1940 (8 U. S. CG. 710 (b))
(R. 2, 8).

~ “he Immigration and Naturalization Service
objected to the granting of the petition on the
ground that petitioner was ineligible for citizen-
ship, having incurred such disability under Sec-
tion 315 of the Immigration and Nationality Act
of 1952 (supra, pp. 3-4) and under Section 3 (a)
of the Selective Training and Service Act of 1940,
as amended (supra, p. 2) by applying for and
being granted exemption from military service
in the armed forces of the United States as a
neutral alien (R. 9, see also R. 61).

- It was shown at the hearings that petitioner
and his brother, Jaime, also an alien resident of
Puerto Rico, were members of the Spanish Army

Reserve (R. 63-64)? In 1942, when petitioner's
brother was called for service under the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940, the Spanish
consul advised them that, in view of the 1902
Treaty between the United States and Spain, as
members of the Spanish reserve they could not
be compelled to serve in the United States Army
and did not have to execute D. S. S. Form 301, in
order to claim exemption from such service (R.
64). Thereupon the brothers went to the draft
board and explained their position on the draft
question. The Selective Service board granted
petitioner’s brother a deferment until he could
receive advice from the Spanish Ambassador in
Washington (R. 64). The Spanish Ambassador
wired that his efforts to secure automatie exemp-
tion for Jaime were unsuccessful and that he
should fill out the necessary forms (R. 42-47;
R. 64-65). The brother thereupon signed D. 8S. 8.
Form 301 and was released from military service
(R. 66).

When petitioner was called for military service
in 1944, he sought automatic exemption on the
basis of the 1902 treaty (R. 45). The draft
board advised him either to sign D. S. S. Form
301 or prepare to be inducted, and refused any

1This reserve consisted of all male Spanish nationals
living in countries of Spanish origin who by registration,
money payments and annual reporting were exempt from

Spanish military service, except in the event of total Span-
ish mobilization (Ex. III, R. 15-22, 20, 35-41).

9
defermént to permit petitioner to consult the
Spanish Ambassador (R. 68-69, 70-71). There-
upon on November 2, 1944, petitioner. executed
and filed with the board the standard D. 8. 8.
Form 301 (R. 71), which contained the following
statement (Ex. No. 1, R. 30-31, 30) :

I do hereby make application to be ré-
lieved from liability for training and serv-
ice in the land or naval forces of the
United States, under The Selective Train-
ing and Service Act of 1940, as amended,
in accordance with the Act of Congress,

“approved December 20, 1941. I under-

stand that the making of this application
to be relieved from such liability will debar
me from becoming a citizen of the United
States. I have not filed a declaration of
intention to become a citizen of the United
States.

In 1945, while being examined by the Immigra-
tion and Naturalization Service, petitionér testi-
fied that he understood when signing D. 8. 8.
Form 301 that he would thereafter be barred
forever from becoming a citizen of the United
States, that he fully- understood the implications
of his action and that his action was entirely
voluntary (R. 10-13). In another such examina-
tion on March 29, 1951, in answer to whether he
ever had or now has the desite to become a’ citi-
zen of the United States, petitioner said “Before
now, I have not had the desire, but you ask me
from now on, I would say yes” (R. 21). Ih

Avril 1953, petitioner filed a statement with the
Immigration and Naturalization Service claim-
ing that when the question was asked, he mistook
the examiner’s use of the word ‘‘desire’’ for
‘decide’, and he answered accordingly (R. 14).
At the preliminary hearing on the petition for
naturalization, the following testimony was elic-
ited from petitioner (R. 27-28) :
Q. Did you realize the full consequence
of your act in signing this form?
A. I did but in order to be on record I
accompanied a letter invoking the treaty
between Spain and the United States.

* * * * *

Q. Did you understand that the bar to
becoming an American citizen would not be
for a specified period of time but would
be forever?

A. I was not sure because I was think-
ing that the treaty between Spain and
United States was still in force and I had
no alternative. It was either sign or go
to the training camp.

Q. What was your purpose in making
this application for relief from military
service ?

A. The purpose was that I was under
Spanish regulations and I thought that I
could not swear to another nation when I
was on duty to my own.

At the hearing on the petition, petitioner testified
that he asked for relief from military service
(R. 70):

9

Because neither morally nor legally could
I break my oath to the Spanish Army
without suffering penalties and conse-
quences of this act. It would also em-

barrass my parents who were living in
Spain. And it would have brought dis-

honor and other consequences which I

- thought I should avoid.
In answer to the court’s question as to whether
at the time he executed D. S. S. Form »¢1 he
intended to become an American citizen, peti-
tioner said that at that time he was a Spanish
citizen subject to the law of his country and he
could. not serve two countries (R. 72-75).
.’ The trial court denied the petition for naturali-
zation (R. 85). It held that the instant case was
not governed by this Court’s decision in Moser v.
United States, 341 U. S. 41, and that both Section
3 (a) of the Selective Training and Service Act
of 1941 as amended, and Section 315 of the Na-
tionality Act of 1952 barred petitioner from citi-
zenship (R. 78-84).

On appeal, the Court of Appeals affirmed the
judgment denying the petition for naturalization
(R. 98).

ARGUMENT

The sole issue before this Court is whether
petitioner is debarred from citizenship under
Section 315 (a) of the Immigration and Na-

10

tionality Act of 1952.7 While the Court of Ap-
peals found petitioner ineligible both under the
1952 Act and prior statutes (see Pet. 23-25), we
agree with petitioner (Pet. 13-14) that it is un-
necessary to consider more than the 1952 Act in
view of the language of Section 315 (a):

Notwithstanding the provisions of section
405 (b), any alien who applies or has ap-
plied for exemption or discharge from
training or service in the Armed Forces or
in the National Security Training Corps of
the United States on the ground that he is
an alien, and is or was relieved or dis-
charged from such training or service on
such ground, shall be permanently ineligible
to become a citizen of the United States.

See Shomberg v. United States, 348 U. 8. 540.

Since petitioner sought and was granted exemp-
tion as a neutral alien, he is clearly debarred
from citizenship under the specific language of
Section 315.

Petitioner argues (Pet. 9-14) that Section
315 (a) does not apply to his case because Section
357, supra, p. 4, provides that ‘‘nothing in this

2 Petitioner seeks to inject into the case questions con-
cerning his right, as an alien, to travel to the United
States from Puerto Rico (Pet. 3, 11-12). That issué is
manifestly not here on petitioner’s application for admis-
sion to citizenship. Whether petitioner may properly be
excluded from the United States as a Spanish national
can be determined if he tries to enter continental United
States. International Longshoremen’s Union v. Boyd, 341
U. S. 222.

=

title shall-be applied-in contravention of the pro-
visions of any treaty or convention to which the
United States is a party”’, and that the Court of
Appeals erred in ruling that this general pro-
vision must be interpreted in the light of Section
“101 (a) (19) which specifically provides that the
term “‘ineligible to citizenship * * * means, not-
withstanding the provisions of any treaty relat-
ing to military service, an individual who is, or
was at any time, permanently debarred from be-
eoming a citizen of the United States under
section 3 (a) of the Selective Training and
Service Act of 1940, as amended * * *,? The
question of whether Section 315 overrules pro-
visions of prior treaties is not even reached since,
as the Court of Appeals also ruled (Pet. 25),
“excluding from eligibility to citizenship resident
aliens who have chosen not to render military
Service to the United States is not inconsistent
with the treaty provisions.’? This Court said in
Moser v. United States, 341 U. §, 41, 45, with
respect to the Treaty of 1850 between Switzerland
and the United States: |
That the statute unquestionably imposed
a condition on exemption not found in
the Treaty does not mean they are in-
consistent. * * * we find in this congres-
sionally imposed limitation on citizenship
nothing inconsistent with the purposes and
subject matter of the Treaty. The Treaty
makes no provision respecting citizenship.

12

In this respect, the Spanish treaty is like the
Swiss treaty. It grants the nationals of one
country the right to be free from military service
in the other. It does not deal with the right of
nationals of either country to become citizens of
the other. Here, as in Moser, there is no incon-
sistency between Section 315 which deals solely
with naturalization and Article V of the 1902
treaty which frees nationals from ‘‘compulsory
military service.’’*

Petitioner argues that Article V of the Spanish
treaty, by exempting Spanish nationals from com-
pulsory military service “as well as from all
obligatory official functions whatsoever’, in effect
placed them outside the coverage of the draft law
and made it unnecessary for them to claim draft
exemption. Section 315 (a), however, provides,
as a condition precedent to the creation of the
disability, merely that the exemption should be
claimed and received. It does not even specify
the manner in which the claim should be made.
The claim of exemption is clearly not an “‘obliga-
tory official function” from which petitioner was
excused under the treaty.

* For a more complete background, history and analysis
of the relationship between debarment from citizenship
as a consequence of a claim to exemption from military
service and treaties covering exemptions from military
service, we respectfully refer the Court to our brief in

Moser v. United States, October Term 1950, No. 301,
pp. 38-79.

13

Although it is true that the 1902 treaty here
involved, unlike the Swiss treaty, did not ex-
pressly exclude from its coverage political rights
(see Pet. 11), that difference is not significant.
As the government pointed out in its brief in
Moser v. United States, October Term 1950, No.
301, p. 33, this exclusion is properly implied even
if it is not express. Moreover, that distinction
has no bearing on the issue here involved.

Accordingly, it is clear that Section 315, by im-
posing a bar to citizenship as a consequence of
exemption from military service, did not contra-
vene any rights granted to petitioner under Arti-
cle V of the 1902 Spanish treaty. Since he know-
ingly claimed exemption, with full awareness of
the consequences, he is debarred from citizenship
under Section 315 (a).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

Smion E. Sosexorr,
; Solicitor General.
Warren Otyey ITI,
Assistant Attorney General.
BEatRIcE ROSENBERG,
Feticia Dusrovsky,

. Attorneys.
JULY 1955.

©. S. GOVERMENT PRINTING OFFICE: teE8

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386418_0060%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
