# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad v. Leary

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1810%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1953
- **Citation:** 346 U.S. 856

## Text

Subject Index.

PETITION

Opinions below

Jurisdiction

Statement of matter involved

Statement of the case

Statutes involved

Questions presented

Reasons relied on for allowance of the writ

BriEF
Argument

I. The evidence in this case was not sufficient as a
matter of law to warrant a finding that there was
a violation of Sections 1 and 9 of the Safety Ap-
pliance Act

II. If there was a violation of the Safety Appli-
ance Act, the evidence was not sufficient to war-
rant submitting the case to the jury on the
question of proximate cause

III. The trial judge erred in failing to charge the
jury as requested as to the difference between
legal condition and legal causation

IV. The trial judge erred in refusing to admit evi-
dence offered by the petitioner that the respond-
ent is receiving a disability payment to the cost
of which the petitioner contributed

Conclusion

onmnnrnnwns WS FF KF

—
oOo 2

10

14

19

21
22

Table of Authorities Cited.

CasEs.
Brady v. Southern Railway Co., 320 U.S. 476; 88 L.
Ed. 239 14, 20
Brady v. Terminal Railroad Assn., 303 U.S. 10 13
Brumberger v. Burke, 56 F. (2d) 54 20

Coray v. Southern Pacific Co. (Utah), 185 P. (2d) 962 12
Coray v. Southern Pacific Co., 335 U.S. 520

11, 12, 13, 15, 20
Davis v. Wolfe, 263 U.S. 239 13, 15, 16, 20
Detroit City Gas Co. v. Syme, 109 F. (2d) 366 20
Fairport, Painesville & Eastern Railroad Co. v. Mere-

dith, 292 U.S. 589; 79 L. Ed. 1446 12
Great Northern Railway Co. v. Wiles, 240 U.S. 444; 60

L. Ed. 732 16
Hetrick v. Reading Co., 39 F. Supp. 22 21
Lang v. New York Central Railroad Co., 255 U.S.

455 18, 20
Leuisville & Nashville Railroad Co. v. Layton, 243

U.S. 617 13
McCalmont v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 283 F. 736 18
McCarthy v. Palmer, 113 F. (2d) 721 21
Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Co. v. Kellogg, 94 U.S.

469 14
O’Donnell v. Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co., 338

U.S. 384 13

Reetz v. Chicago & Erie Railroad Co., 46 F. (2d) 50 16,20

Southwestern Brewery & Ice Co. v. Schmidt, 226 U.S.
162 22

Spokane & Inland Empire Railroad Co. v. Campbell,

241 U.S. 497 12,17
St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad Co. v. Conarty,
238 U.S. 243 18, 20
SraTures.
Carriers Taxing Act, 45 U.S.C. Sec. 263 ae
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. Sees.
51-60 2,17
Railroad Retirement Act of 1937, 45 U.S.C. Sec. 228a
et seq. 9, 21
Safety Appliance Act, 45 U.S.C. Sees. 1, 9 2 et seq.
Safety Appliance Act, 45 U.S.C. Sec. 11 7, 10, 11, 13
28 U.S.C. Sec. 1254 2
TEXTBOOK.
Restatement of the Law of Torts, Sec. 430, Comment
(d) 18

Restatement of the Law of Torts, Sec. 431, Comment
(a) 18

Supreme Court of the United States.

Octoser Term, 1953.

No.

THE NEW YORK, NEW HAVEN AND HARTFORD
RAILROAD COMPANY,
Petitioner,
v.
JOHN W. LEARY,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIRST CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable the Chief Justice and Associate Justices
of the Supreme Court of the United States:

The petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to
review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the First Circuit, entered in the above-entitled action
on May 14, 1953.

Opinions Below.

The opinion of the District Court (R. 111-113) is unre-
ported. The opinion of the Court of Appeals (R. 119-131)
is reported in 204 F’. (2d) 461.

2
Jurisdiction.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
Sec. 1254.

Statement of Matter Involved.

This is an action brought under the provisions of the
and the Safety Appliance Act, 45 U.S.C. Sees. 1 and 9, to
recover for personal injuries sustained at Madison, Con-
necticut, on September 13, 1946. The action was begun in
the United States District Court for the Southern District
of New York, and was transferred to the United States
District Court for the District of Massachusetts by order
of the United States District Court for the Southern Dis-
trict of New York by an order dated October 18, 1951 (R.
1). The case was tried before Judge Wyzanski and a jury
on June 30, July 1 and July 2, 1952. On July 2 the peti-
tioner presented a motion for a directed verdict, which was
denied, and the jury returned a verdict for the respondent
in the amount of $84,000 (R. 14, 15). Judgment was en-
tered on July 2 in the above amount and costs were taxed
at $38.50.

Before the case was submitted to the jury, respondent’s
counsel waived all counts except those under the Safety
Appliance Act, and the case was submitted only on the
issues of the violation of the Safety Appliance Act, causa-
tion and damages (R. 91).

During the cross-examination of the respondent the peti-
tioner offered to prove that the respondent was receiving
a disability pension to the cost of which the petitioner had
contributed. The Court refused to admit the testimony (R.
66-68).

a a epee ee ANN ete ote ae ee te ee ee Ce ONT Ey) tar See ep Ge RRP eR

3

Before the Court instructed the jury, the petitioner filed
requests for instructions (R. 17-21). After the Court had
instructed the jury, the petitioner objected to part of the
charge (R. 101) and to certain omissions from the charge
(R. 102), which objections were overruled.

On July 11, 1952, the petitioner filed a motion for judg-
ment notwithstanding verdict and motion for a new trial.
The motion was denied on July 21, 1952 (R. 16). The peti-
tioner filed notice of appeal on August 19, 1952 (R. 114),
and was granted an enlargement of time for docketing ap-
peal until November 17, 1952 (R. 118).

The Court of Appeals for the First Circuit affirmed the
judgment of the District Court on May 14, 1953.

Statement of the Case.

The respondent, John W. Leary, brought this action to
recover for injuries sustained between Clinton and Madi-
son, Connecticut, on September 12, 1946, at about 3.30 a.m.
The respondent was the conductor-on a passenger train
which had left Boston en route to New York City at 11.45
p.m. on September 11, 1946 (R. 22). The train consisted
of either seven (R. 23) or eight (R. 106, Ex. 14A) cars at
the time of the accident and had proceeded uneventfully
until shortly after it had passed the station at Clinton, Con-
necticut (R. 56). At that time the engineer, whose name
was Geary, told the fireman, Scanlon, that he thought the
brakes were sticking, and asked Scanlon to look back and
see whether he could see fire flying (R. 74). At the trial
Scanlon was unable to remember whether he did, in fact,
see fire flying, but testified that the term is used to indi-
cate sparks caused by friction of the brakes against the
wheels, which might be seen in the dark if the brakes were
rubbing on the wheels (R. 75). The train involuntarily

4

came to a stop without the engineer’s applying the air, be-
cause the brakes were sticking, at an unscheduled stop be-
tween Madison and Clinton, Connecticut. It does not ap-
pear that any member of the crew was aware at the time
the train stopped that the front part of the locomotive was
resting on a bridge or trestle over a highway described as
Bishop Street. This was an open trestle bridge without
any railing along the right of way. Photographs of the
bridge were introduced in evidence and appear in the Rec-
ord on pages 104, 105, 108, 109 and 110.

Prior to the-stopping of the train Mr. Leary was riding
in the head coach (R. 24). He heard the brakes go on in
emergency, and the train came to an unscheduled stop. He
got up and got his electric lantern, and went outside and
stepped down to the ground on the engineer’s side or right-
hand side of the train (R. 25). The train was headed in a
westerly direction, and the side on which he got out was the
northerly side of the train. He met the engineer walking
back from the engine. The engineer had a lighted torch in
one hand and told him that there was a bad air leak, and
they then walked back together toward the rear of the
train to find it (R. 26). They found a broken air hose on
the head end of the head sleeper. The engineer had
brought back a spare hose with him, but it was not the right
type and Leary said that he would go back to the engine and
get another one (R. 27). In walking back toward the en-
gine Leary went on the opposite side of the train, which
would be the southerly side next to Track 2, or the east-
bound main line (R. 28). He testified that the reason he
went on that side was because the walking was better, as
he had noticed on walking down the other side there was
considerable loose ballast. On Track 2 side he could walk
on the ties and the footing was firmer. When he got to the
locomotive he climbed up on the rear end of the tender to

5

see if there was a spare hose in a tool box at the rear of the
tender (R. 30, 58). Not finding one there, he climbed down
on the northerly side of the train and went forward to the
gangway of the locomotive. He had some conversation
with the fireman, who was still on the engine, and the fire-
man handed him a hose—the type he was looking for.
Leary then decided to walk around the front of the engine
and go back on the Track 2 side rather than on the side
where he then was, as he felt the walking would be better
(R. 30, 60). He took a few steps toward the front of the
engine and walked off into space. He testified that the
weather was clear, but there was a ground fog and it was
dark. There was no artificial light in the vicinity, except
a glare that came from the ash pan of the engine. He did
not know before he fell that any part of the locomotive
was on the bridge and did not know he was near any bridge
(R. 47). He knew that the train had gone past Clinton but
did not know exactly where it was (R. 52). He knew that
there were open trestle bridges between Clinton and Madi-
son and knew that there was a bridge of this type some-
where beyond Clinton; at the time he fell he had with him
an electric hand lantern with a bulb in the bottom (R. 62) ; he
had to watch his step and be very careful; he was looking
down to see where each foot was going, as he was walking
along; he was watching the tank and could not see any dis-
tance in front; he had his lantern in his right hand but did
not see any portion of the buttress; the first thing he knew
his foot went right off, and he landed standing straight up
(R. 65).

Scanlon was still on the engine when Leary fell, and he
heard him crying for help and went to his assistance (R.
80). He did not know that the front of the engine was on
the bridge (R. 75), and did not know it was there until he

got down from the engine and started forward with a

a

6

flashlight and saw the edge of the abutment just as he got
to it (R. 81). He went forward about 8 feet before he
reached the abutment, and, realizing that Mr. Leary had
fallen, he got other members of the train crew, who carried
Leary back and put him on the train.

Statutes Involved.

The pertinent sections of the Safety Appliance Act (45
U.S.C.) are as follows:

‘“Sxo. 1. Driving-wheel brakes and appliances for
operating train-brake system.

“Jt shall be unlawful for any common carrier en-
gaged in interstate commerce by railroad to use on its
line any locomotive engine in moving interstate traffic
not equipped with a power driving-wheel brake and ap-
pliances for operating the train-brake system, or to
run any train in such traffic that has not a sufficient
number of cars in it so equipped with power or train
brakes that the engineer on the locomotive drawing
such train can control its speed without requiring
brakemen to use the common hand brake for that pur-

pose.

‘“Szo. 9. Number of cars to be operated with power
or train brakes; increase of number.

‘“Whenever, as provided in sections 1-7 of this title,
any train is operated with power or train brakes not
less than 50 per centum of the cars in such train shall
have their brakes used and operated by the engineer
of the locomotive drawing such train; and all power-
braked cars in such train which are associated together
with said 50 per centum shall have their brakes so used

7

and operated; and, to more fully carry into effect the
objects of said sections, the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission may, from time to time, after full hearing, in-
crease the minimum percentage of cars in any train
required to be operated with power or train brakes
which must have their brakes used and operated as
aforesaid; and failure to comply with any such re-
quirement of the said Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion shall be subject to the like penalty as failure to
comply with any requirement of this section.

[The following section is included only for purposes
of comparison. ]

Src, 11. Safety appliances required for each car;
when hand brakes may be omitted.

‘‘Tt shall be unlawful for any common carrier sub-
ject to the provisions of sections 1-16 of this title to
haul, or permit to be hauled or used on its line, any
car subject to the provisions of said sections not
equipped with appliances provided for in sections 11-
16 of this title, to wit: All cars must be equipped with
secure sill steps and efficient hand brakes; all cars re-
quiring secure ladders and secure running boards shall
be equipped with such ladders and runijing boards, and
all cars having ladders shall also be equipped with se-
cure handholds or grab irons on their roofs at the
tops of such ladders: Provided, That in the loading and
hauling of long commodities, requiring more than one
car, the hand brakes may be omitted on all save one of
the cars while they are thus combined for such pur-

pose.’’

8

Questions Presented.

1. Was the evidence sufficient as a matter of law to pre-
sent a question for the jury as to violation of the provisions
of the Safety Appliance Act?

2. If there was a violation of the Safety Appliance Act,
pt dl arya to present a
question for the jury as to whether the violation was the
proximate cause of the respondent’s injuries?

3. If there was a jury issue on the question of causation,
was there error in the failure of the trial judge to charge
as requested'as to the difference between legal condition
and legal causation?

4. Did the trial judge commit error in refusing to admit
evidence offered by the petitioner that the respondent is
receiving disability payments to the cost of which the peti-
tioner contributed?

Reasons Relied on for Allowance of the Writ.

1. The case involves the application of Sections 1 and 9
of the Safety Appliance Act in circumstances which have
not been previously considered by this Court. It is sub-
mitted that the standard applied to those sections by the
Court of Appeals was error.

2. The Court of Appeals erred in holding that the re-
spondent had made out a question for the jury on the ques-
tion of proximate cause.

3. The Court of Appeals erred in holding that the jury
was adequately instructed on the question of proximate
cause.

4, The Court of Appeals erred in holding that there was
no prejudicial error in refusing to allow petitioner to offer
evidence that respondent was receiving disability pension

9

from the United States Government under the Railroad

Retirement Act. This is a matter not previously deter-
mined by this Court.

Wherefore the petitioner prays that this petition be
granted and that a writ of certiorari issue.

PAUL F. PERKINS,
Attorney for Petitioner.

Nore. W. Deertne,

Caries W. Bartiert,

Joun O. Parker,

Exy, Bartiett, THompson & Brown,
Of Counsel.

10

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI.

The facts are stated in the petition filed herewith.

Argument.
I.

THE EVIDENCE,IN THIS CASE WAS NOT SUFFICIENT AS A MATTER
OF LAW TO WARRANT A FINDING THAT THERE WAS A VIO-
LATION OF Sections 1 AND 9 oF THE Sarety APPLIANCE AcT.

The petitioner submits that the only sections of the
Safety Appliance Act which are applicable to air brake
equipment are Sections 1 and 9. These sections are set
forth in the petition. Petitioner’s position is not that the
provisions of these sections are not mandatory, but rather
that the mandate was not violated. It is a different man-
date from that found in Section 11. Section 1 is specific as
to power-brake equipment on locomotives and requires that
there must be a sufficient number of cars equipped with
power or train brakes so that the ‘‘engineer on the locomo-
tive drawing such train can control its speed without re-
quiring brakemen to use the common hand brake for that
purpose.’’ It is to be noted that Section 1 is not even spe-
cific as to the number of cars to be equipped, provided that
the engineer can control its speed without requiring brake-
men to use hand brakes. Section 9, which is a later enact-
ment, specifies that not less than 50 per cent of the cars
shall have their brakes used and operated by the engineer,
and that the brakes on the cars which are associated to-
gether shall be so used and operated, and the Interstate

11

Commerce Commission is given authority to increase the
percentage of cars so used and operated. :

Although there was no evidence at the trial of any Inter-
state Commerce Commission orders, it is understood that
the percentage of cars has been increased by the Interstate
Commerce Commission as permitted by Section 9 to 85 per
cent.

It seems clear from the statute and from the order of the
Commission that the most that is required is to have brakes
on 85 per cent of the cars that can be controlled from the
engine, so that the train can be brought to a stop without
the use of hand brakes. There is no question that the en-
gine and cars were equipped as required by the statute.
From the very nature of the air-brake system, if there is a
leakage of air the train will stop without the necessity of
using hand brakes. It is clear that the underlying purpose
of the sections relating to air brakes is to prevent accidents
caused by inability to bring trains to a stop, and also to
prevent accidents to employees from the necessity of hay-
ing to use hand brakes while the train is in motion.

Sections 1 and 9 do not contain other mandatory provi-
sions such as are found in Section 11 of the Act: ‘‘ All cars
must be equipped with .. . efficient hand brakes.. .’’
While Section 11 does impose an absolute duty to have effi-
cient hand brakes, the language of the sections relating to
air brakes contains no such provision nor any other stand-
ard, but merely requires that the brakes must be sufficient
to bring the train to a stop without the use of hand brakes.

The Court below felt that it was bound by Coray
v. Southern Pacific Co., 335 U.S. 520, in its interpretations
of the sections of the statute.

We are therefore faced at the outset with the necessity
of distinguishing that case. It is true that in the Coray
case the train had stopped because of a defect in the air-

12

brake system and was run into by a motor car following
on the same track, and this Court stated that the air had
escaped because of a violation of the Federal Safety Appli-
ance Act. The Court did not refer to the particular section
of the statute that was claimed to have been violated, and
nothing more appears as to the alleged violation other than
that the threads on a valve were so badly worn that a nut
became disconnected. The question of violation does not
appear to have been argued in this Court, although an ex-
amination of the record indicates that the question was
raised in the trial Court. The trial judge, however, di-
rected a verdict for the defendant on the question of
causation, and the Utah Supreme Court sustained the di-
rected verdict on that issue alone after asserting that there
had been a violation of the Act.

Coray v. Southern Pacific Co. (Utah), 185 P.
(2d) 963.

It is therefore submitted that the question of violation of
the statute was not fully considered by any of the three
Courts that passed upon the Coray case. The cases cited by
this Court in the Coray opinion in support of the statement
that the Act ‘‘commands railroads not to run trains with
defective brakes’’ do not appear to support that proposition
as to air brakes. Only two of the cases cited involve the
question of air brakes. In the first, Fairport, Painesville &
Eastern Railroad Co. v. Meredith, 292 U.S. 589, 597; 79 L.
Ed. 1446, 1451, the train was not able to stop at a crossing,
because the air brakes were not hooked up at all. The other,
Spokane & Inland Empire Railroad Co. v. Campbell, 241
U.S. 497, involved a collision of trains, and there was evi-
dence that, when the engineer applied his air brakes, they
failed to work, and he was unable te stop the train. The
other czses cited arose under other sections of the statute

13

where the provisions undoubtedly were mandatory, and the
mandate was not that found either in Section 1 or 9.

Brady v. Terminal Railroad Assn., 303 U.S. 10
(defective grab-iron).

Louisville € Nashville Railroad Co, v. Layton,
243 U.S. 617 (defective coupler).

Davis v. Wolfe, 263 U.S. 239 (defective grab-
ifon).

It is submitted that, since the question of interpretation
of Sections 1 and 9 was not squarely raised before this Court
in the Coray case, the statement by the Court that there was
a violation is not binding on all future cases where there is
a stopping of a train due to any air-hose defect. It is ap-
parent that the Court was applying to the facts in that case
the standard set up for hand brakes in Section 11 of the Act,
which is not to be found in either Section 1 or Section 9 of
the Act relating to air brakes.

In O’Donnell v. Elgin, Joliet € Eastern Railway Co., 338
U.S. 384, a case involving Section 2 of the Act, a similar dis-
tinction was pointed cut by Mr. Justice Burton (dissenting)
at page 394:

‘*We do not agree that the Safety Appliance Acts
contain a mandatory requirement that cars used in mov-
ing interstate traffic must be equipped with couplers
that ‘will remain coupled until set free by some pur-
poseful act of control.’ Congress might have so legis-
lated, as it did in the section which required cars to be
equipped with ‘efficient hand brakes; . . .’ However, it
did not do so.’

It is respectfully submitted that on the facts in this case
the Court of Appeals erred in holding that the defect in the

14

air hose was a violation of Sections 1 and 9 of the Safety
Appliance Act, and should have held as a matter of law that
there was no violation of the applicable sections of the
Safety Appliance Act.

Il.

Ir THERE WAS A VIOLATION OF THE SaFeTy APPLIANCE ACT,_THE-
EVIDENCE WAS NOT SUFFICIENT TO WARRANT SUBMITTING THE
——
CASE TO THE JURY ON THE QUESTION OF PROXIMATE CAUSE.

It is the petitioner’s contention that, even if a violation of
the Safety Appliance Act could have been found, the viola-
tion was a mere condition and was not the proximate cause
of the respondent’s injuries.

Even where violation of a duty is established, the trial
Court should direct a:verdict for the petitioner if the evi-
dence is not sufficient as a matter of law to establish that the
violation is the proximate cause of the injury.

Brady v. Southern Railway Co. (1943), 320 U.S.
476, 483; 88 L. Ed. 239, 245.

This Court in the case just cited adopted the language
from Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Co. v. Kellogg, 94 U.S.
469, 475, as follows:

‘But it is generally held, that, in order to warrant a
finding that negligence, or an act not amounting to
wanton wrong, is the proximate cause of an injury, it
must appear that the injury was the natural and prob-
able consequence of the negligence or wrongful act, and
that it ought to have been foreseen in the light of the
attending circumstances.’’

en sag falc atet

15

In Davis v. Wolfe (1923), 263 U.S. 239, 243, this Court
said, after reviewing four of its earlier opinions involving
the Safety Appliance Act:

‘*The rule clearly deducible from these four cases is
that, on the one hand, an employee cannot recover under
the Safety Appliance Acts if the failure to comply with
its requirements is not a proximate cause of the acci-
dent which results in his injury, but merely creates an
incidental condition or situation in which the accident,
otherwise caused, results in such injury; and, on the
other hand, he can recover if the failure to comply with
the requirements of the act is a proximate cause of the
accident, resulting in injury to him while in the dis-
charge of his duty, although not engaged in an opera-
tion in which the safety appliances are specifically de-
signed to furnish him protection.’’ (Emphasis added.)

It is the petitioner’s contention that the case at bar falls
within the first part of the rule of Davis v. Wolfe, and that
the breakdown of the train was merely a condition and not
the proximate cause of the accident.

Davis v. Wolfe is cited in Coray v. Southern Pacific Co.,
335 U.S. 520, 523, after the Court says ‘‘. . . petitioner was
entitled to recover if this defective equipment was the sole
or a contributory proximate cause of the decedent employ-
ee’s death.’’ (Emphasis added.)

Although in the Coray case this Court held that the ques-
tion of causation was for the jury, it is here submitted that
the case at bar is distinguishable from that case on its facts.
The Court of Appeals recognized the distinction, but never-
theless held that the situation in the case at bar presented a
question for the jury.

In Coray the accident was direct and almost immediate
following the stopping of the train. As this Court said, ‘all

16

of these circumstances were inseparably related to one an-
other in time and space”’ (p. 524).

In the instant case there was not only an intervening lapse
of time and space, but an entirely independent situation
which was the cause of the accident. It is undisputed that
there was an open and unguarded bridge or opening on the
petitioner’s right of way, and that the respondent fell into
it. Whether or not this constituted negligence on the part
of the railroad is not material, in view of the fact that the
respondent has chosen to rely entirely upon a violation of
the Safety Appliance Act as the cause of the injuries. In
any event, an accident may be caused by an act or a situation
which is not due to negligence on the part of anyone. The
existence of this unguarded opening, together with Leary’s
failure to observe it, was the cause of the accident, rather
than the remote condition which brought the train to a stop.
While it is true that Leary’s contributory negligence as such
would not bar recovery, nevertheless, if his conduct, whether
negligent or not, could be found to be the sole cause of the
accident, of course he could not recover.

Great Northern Railway Co. v. Wiles, 240 U.S.
444; 60 L. Ed. 732.

The case at bar is very similar to Reetz v. Chicago & Erie
Prairoad Co. (6 Cir. 1931), 46 F. (2d) 50.

There a train parted due to breaking of couplers and
draw bars. The plaintiff’s decedent took his lantern and
started to walk to the forward part of the train to find the
trouble and get the train under way. Unknown to him the
train had stopped over an unguarded bridge, and he fell to
the way below. One of the bases of liability asserted was
violation of the Safety Appliance Act. The Court, applying
the.rule of Davis v. Wolfe, 263 U.S. 239, held that violation

17

of the statute was not the proximate cause of the accident,
and sustained the directed verdict.
At page 51 the Court said:

‘‘Reetz’s fall had no direct relation to the defective
draw bar. It was not the instrumentality which caused
his death, even though, because of its failure, the condi-
tion was created whereby Reetz happened to be at the
place where he was injured.’’

The Court then points out the difference between collision
and non-collision cases involving safety violations as follows

(p. 52) :

‘*A careful consideration of the noncollision cases .. .
leads us to the conclusiun that at least in those cases
_where there has been a failure of a required appli-
ance, there is liability only where the failure of the
appliance not only creates a condition under which, or
an incidental situation in which the employee is injured,
but where the defective appliance is itself an efficient
cause of or the instrumentality through which the in-
jury is directly brought about. Here the incidental
situation existed, but the defective appliance bore no
other relation to the injury.”’

In some of the cases a great deal of emphasis is put on the
wording of the Federal Employers’ Liability Act ‘‘in whole
or in part.’’? The words ‘‘in part’? really add nothing to the
common-law concept of causation. Even though it is true
that the negligence or violation of duty does not have to be
the sole cause, it still has to be a cause of the injury, and a
mere condition still is not acause. Thus, as the Court points
out in Spokane ¢ Inland Empire Railroad Co. v. Campbell,
241 U.S. 497, the contributory negligence of the plaintiff, not

18

being a bar.to the action, although a cause, does not bar re-
covery where the defendant’s violation of duty is also a
cause. But it is perfectly clear that the defendant’s viola-
tion of duty still has to be a cause and nothing less.

See Restatement of the Law of Torts, Sec. 430,
Comment (d).

Other cases where recovery has been denied as a matter
of law for lack of causation between violation and injury
are:

Lang v. New York Central Railroad Co. (1921),
255 U.S. 455.

St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad Co. v. Con-
arty (1915), 238 U.S. 243.

McCalmont v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co. (6th
Cir. 1922), 283 F. 736.

In each of the foregoing cases it is clear that the accident
would not have occurred if there had not been a violation of
the statute, yet the Courts held that the violation was a mere
condition and not a cause of the accident.

These cases illustrate the proposition that, in order to
satisfy the requirement of legal cause, the plaintiff must
show something more than failure of duty preceding an ac-
cident. The failure of duty must be a substantial factor in
bringing about the end result, something more than the so-
called ‘‘if, but for’’ cause.

See Restatement of the Law of Torts, Sec. 431,
Comment (a).

The petitioner submits that, on the evidence most favor-
able to the respondent in this case, the breakdown of the
train was a mere condition, and that the trial judge should
haye direcied a verdict for the petitioner because the re-
spondent failed to prove as a matter of law that any failure

aaa naan

19

of duty arising out of the violation of the Safety Appliance
Act caused his injuries, and that the Court of Appeals should
have reversed the ruling of the trial judge.

III.

THE TRIAL JUDGE ERRED IN FAILING TO CHARGE THE JURY AS
REQUESTED AS TO THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN LEGAL CONDITION
AND LEGAL CAUSATION,

If there was a question for the jury on the issue of causa-
tion, instructions should have been given on the meaning
of legal causation as distinguished from legal condition. The
petitioner does not contend that, so far as the judge’s charge
went, it was not correct, but it fell short of giving the jury
any of the basic principles of legal causation. To tell a
group of laymen that they must be satisfied in their own
minds that there was ‘‘some kind of connection of a causal
nature between the failure of the brakes and the injury
which occurred”’ is wholly inadequate. The petitioner sub-
mits that in a case of this kind it is entitled to have the jury
instructed, not as to ‘‘some kind of connection,’’ but as to
what kind of connection it is proper for them to find. As
the charge was left, the jury could find, and obviously did
find, that the mere stopping of the train due to the leaking
of air was the cause of respondent’s injuries. In the absence
of any instruction as to the difference between legal cause
and legal condition they were free to assume that the “but
for’’ cause was an adequate ground for satisfying the re-
quirements as to causation in the case. ‘‘If the train had
not stopped, the plaintiff would not have been hurt”’ is prob-
ably as far as the jury ever went.

Many of the cases cited in the preceding section of this
brief illustrate the distinction as a matter of law between
legal cause and legal condition. In most of those cases a

20

verdict was directed because the Courts held as a matter of
law the failure of duty was a mere condition and not a
cause.

Brady v. Southern Railway Co. (1943), 320 U.S.
476.

Lang v. New York Central Railroad Co. (1921),
255 U.S. 455.

St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad Co. v. Con-
arty (1915), 238 U.S. 243.

Reetz v. Chicago & Erie Railroad Co., 46 F. (2d)
50.

In other cases the necessity for applying the distinction
by adequate instructions to the jury is recognized where
there is a question of fact for the jury.

Davis v. Wolfe (1923), 263 U.S. 239, 243.
Brumberger v. Burke, 56 F. (2d) 54, 56.

Even in Coray v. Southern Pacific Co., 335 U.S. 520, this
Court recognizes that proximate cause is the necessary basis
for recovery.

In Detroit City Gas Co. v. Syme (6 Cir. 1940), 109 F. (2d)
366, speaking of the charge in the trial Court, the Court of
Appeals said (p. 369) :

‘‘Tt fails to distinguish between efficient and ineffi-
cient causes ; between remote and immediate causes ; be-
tween circwmstances that are causes and those that are
mere conditions; and fails to admit of the possibility
of an efficient intervening cause which, notwithstanding
other causes, may come to be in some circumstances, the
sole efficient cause of the accident, and so its proximate
cause.’’ (Emphasis added.)

21

The language of the Court in the case just cited may be
used to describe the charge in the instant case. The peti-
tioner was entitled at least to have the jury instructed as to
the difference between legal cause and legal condition.

It is submitted that the failure of the trial judge to charge
as requested was prejudicial error, and the Court of Appeals
should have reversed for that reason.

IV.

THE TRIAL JUDGE ERRED IN REFUSING TO ADMIT EVIDENCE
OFFERED BY THE PETITIONER THAT THE RESPONDENT IS RE-
CEIVING A DISABILITY PAYMENT TO THE COST OF WHICH THE
PETITIONER CONTRIBUTED.

It is petitioner’s contention that it was entitled to put in
evidence in mitigation of damages the facts (1) that Leary
was receiving a pension based on his disability under the
provisions of the Railroad Retirement Act of 1937 (45
U.S.C. Sec. 228a et seq.), and (2) that the petitioner had
contributed to the cost of this pension under the provisions
of the Carriers Taxing Act (45 U.S.C. Sec. 263).

A similar question was raised in the case of McCarthy v.
Palmer (2d Cir. 1940), 113 F. (2d) 721. There the Court
overruled the defendant’s contention on the ground that the
trial judge had found as a fact that the plaintiff was not
totally and permanently disabled.

That case, therefore, is not a precedent in the present situ-
ation, and the language, by implication, indicates that, if
the disability were proved, the defendant would have been
entitled to the benefit at least of the amount paid in by it for
the plaintiff ’s pension.

In Hetrick v. Reading Co., 39 F. Supp. 22 (1941), the Dis-
trict Court of New Jersey, after reviewing the McCarthy
case, ruled that the defendant was not entitled to set up its
payments in mitigation of damages.

22

We do not believe that the precise question has been
passed upon by this Court.

It is submitted that in principle evidence should be ad-
mitted to show at least the extent of the petitioner’s contri-
bution to the disability payments. The petitioner is to some
extent paying twice for the same disability. The situation
is not the same as that where the injured person gets bene-
fits from an insurance policy for which he alone has paid the
premiums, or where he gets compensation from a collateral
_ source. In this case the petitioner has contributed toward
whatever annuity the respondent is receiving. This fact
relates the situation to the familiar principle that a plaintiff
cannot set up as an element of damage anything as to which
he has received compensation from defendant.

Southwestern Brewery & Ice Co. v. Schmidt, 226
U.S. 162, 169.

Conclusion.

For the reasons stated in the petition and in this brief the
application for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

PAUL F. PERKINS,
Attorney for Petitioner.

Noe. W. DEERING,
Cuar.es W. Bartuert,
Joun O. Parker,
Exy, Barruerr, THompson & Brown,
Of Counsel.

THE NEW YORK, NEW HAVEN AND HARTFORD
RAILROAD COMPANY,
Petitioner,
vs.
JOHN W. LEARY,
Respondent,

—_ =

BRIEF ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT IN OP-
POSITION TO THE PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI.

ne
——

O’NEILL, HIGGINS & LATTO,
Attorneys for Respondent,
No, 369 Lexington Avenue, —
Borough of Manhattan,
City of New York.

Tomas J. O’Nem1,
Joun V. Hisers,
Of Counsel.

Hicaina & Hicerns, Inc., Law Printsrs, 48 New CuHameurs St., N. Y.

a.

INDEX

— ~o—=
PAGE
Opinions of the Courts Below.........cccsssccsssessssessscgesseeeeees 1
Summary and Short Reply to Petition... cesses 1
Ghatembaiank: OF Uk Oa iecicsicaieenetctessiioetcinsisnesnjnnscaventnatins 6
ATgUMeNt .....csscsocsrcecsorerersessssnenereerenencsencenenenssssnenenensnansaranseenens 12
Points:

I—AIl the evidence therein established that

this defendant’s train had a defective air-
brake-hose that ‘‘burst’’, and this caused
this express train to make a sudden unsched-
uled and unintended stop in an unguarded
and very dangerous place on a dark-
foggy night, on a trestle-bridge over a
highway on defendant’s right-of-way; and
this defective air-brake-hose indisputably
was a violation of the United States
‘Safety Appliance Act’’ which ‘‘result-
ed’? in immediate, unexpected and un-
known dangerous hazards, and plaintiff’s
injuries.

However, the District Judge left this
question of ‘‘causation’’ to the jury as a
question of fact (R. 94-95).

Sophistical contentions and the intro-
duction of dialectic subtleties in this
Court is not permissible to overturn or
avoid the established fact of defendant’s
causal neglect (Coray v. So. Pac. R. Co.,
385 U. S. 520),—even though it is claimed

i
INDEX—(Continued)

PAGE

that the injury resulted only in part from
the defendant’s neglect—or that defend-
ant’s negligence was merely ‘‘contribu-
tory’’ (Coray case, supra). 2

All of the facts and circumstances of.
this ‘“‘bursting’’ of the air-brake-hose,—
stopping this express train in this very
dangerous place, and plaintiff’s injuries,
‘‘were all inseparably related to one an-
other in time and space’’. (Coray case,
supra.) 12

II—The Court’s charge to the jury on ‘‘causa-
ation’’ was adequate, complete, and indeed
replete (R. 93, 94, 95, 99, 100). The
‘*record’’ presents no question reviewable
here as to ‘‘legal causation’’;—there was
no objection to the charge as required
by Rule 51 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure; nor any petitioner’s request
for instruction on any such question,
and no exception to the Court’s charge
on causation, which charge petitioner now
seeks to review in this Court 24

I1I—Neither the petitioner’s answer herein, nor
this appeal record, PRESENTS its claim
here relating to alleged payments from

the Government to the plaintiff under the

Railroad Retirement Act; and in any

event this claim is herein viterly unsound

and without merit

iii

INDEX—(Continued)

PAGE
Concitusion—The application for a writ of
certiorari should be denied fina! ae
PBS: -cikicicc.contsncnicimonnidaiindinsicensnaianonebeicabain 44
United States Code, Title 26 sichohscbesaaimeh hipaa. ae
United States Code, Title 28, Rules of Civil Pro-
WII sa sonstaincasinspseoctetnadsccheliaacnsnibanihitciencivebdicabsiai 46
United States Code, Title 45, Chapter 9...cscss-. 48
United States Code, Title 45, Chapter 1.0... 48
United States Code, Title 45, Chapter 2.0.0.0... 50

~~

a

AUTHORITIES CITED

ey Caen
Affolder v. New York, Chicago & St. L. Railroad Co.,
339 U. S. 96 17
Bailey v. Central Vermont Railway, Inc., 319 U. S.
350: at page 354 . 21
Blair v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co., 323 U. S.

- 600 « lies 3
Brabham v. Baltimore & O. R. Co0., 220 BF. 85 ....ccsssenees 42
Brady v. Terminal Railroad Association, 303 U. S.

MD in 19
Brown v. New York Central R. R., 53 F. (2d) 490 Mies 21
Briggs v. N. Y. C. @ H. H. R. R. Co.,72 N. Y. 26 sahaleieos 42

Carter vy. Atlanta & St. Andrews Bay Railway Co.,
338 U. S., 430... jeacnipeidiiieaaaednsesniniise 15, 19

iv
INDEX—(Continued)

PAGE

Chicago, Great W. R. R. v. Peeler, 140 F. (2d) 865... 38
Coray v. Southern Pacific Co., 335 U. S. 520 ......13, 14, 17,
32, 36

Eglsaer v. Scandrett, LBL F. (2d) 562.....cssesseereressensnes 20
Hetrick v. Reading Co., 39 F. Supp. 22....svsvsssssssersnes 42, 43

Kress, S. H. Co. v. Bullock Shoe Co., 56 F. (2d) 713... 42

McCarthy v. Palmer, 29 Fed. Supp. 585... 42, 43
Myers v. Reading Co., 331 U. S. 477 pone

New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad Co, v.
Zermani, 200 F. 2d 240... is oiecbciea 30, 31
Northern Pacific Ry Co. v. Reynolds, 68 F. Supp. 492 40

O’Donnell v. Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Railway Co., 338
U. S. 384 .. ee paiva Bee? «|

St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. Ferguson, 182 F.
(2d) B49 cree 18

Terry v. Jewett, 78 N. Y. 338 ‘ 42

Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163 16

a a
7 vo

V

INDEX—(Continued)
STATUTES
—_—o—
PAGE
Carriers Taxing Act (26 U. S. C. Int. Rev. Code,

See, 1500, et seq.) ceccccccccccsecoses sainiiapiincnisiciceubbanndawsiaies 5, 40
Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U. S. C., See.

201, et seq. dees cussesansuactaginesoonaisonestbsonasnsasenentasteacboces 41
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, Title 45, See.

1AR sinseopsausdhsaepioaansioscnsabelnis ; ; 21, 39, 42
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

ech oe ORCL LOT: 4, 22, 23, 29, 30, 31, 34, 36

FORME si nscrmbaiiantcuiecumannin ce 5, 6, 38

BRM DD. wirenibsoninunsibmuiniomtnisicien GL es 5, 38
Interstate Commerce Commission ..ccccrerrccssssssecccsssssssss..., 42
Public Service Commission ooicccccccrsrvcccsssesssssscooooccss, 42
Railroad Retirement Act of 1937 (45 U. 8. C., See.

TR, OU DOU icici 5, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43
Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act, 45 U. S.C,

Sec. 351, ef s€q. cece donsntinibh 40
Railway Labor Act, 45 U. S. C., Sec. 351, et sequin... 40
COCtM BOOWED AOE Socvcicsincsscosectasiariebiictaacs 40
Safety Appliance Act .....0.0 1, 2, 4, 14, 22, 23, 27, 32,

33, 34, 36
Title 26, U. S. C. Sec, 1530 39, 40

a OO

Supreme Court of the United States

Tue New York, New Haven anp Hartrorp
RatLroap Company,
Petitioner,

Vs.

Joun W. Leary,
Respondent.

~~ wv
a as

BRIEF ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENT IN OP-
POSITION TO THE PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI.

eo

Opinions of the Courts Below

The opinion of the District Court (Wyzanski, J.) (R.
111-113) is not reported. The opinion of the Court of
Appeals (R. 119-131) is reported in 204 F, 2d 461.

Summary and Short Reply to Petition

The petitioner, in its brief in support of its petition
for a writ of certiorari, contends (Argument I, p. 10)
that although this respondent’s verdict was based upon
the petitioner’s violation of the Safety Appliance Act
(in that the air-brake-hose on its express train in question

2

‘‘burst’’ and suddenly stopped the train in a very danger-
ous place at night—where there were no lights and it was
foggy and very dark—with the engine partly over its
short trestle over a public highway, which all led directly
to the respondent, the conductor of the train, being
severely injured while attempting in this dangerous situa-
tion to have the ‘‘burst’’ air-brake-hose replaced) the
Safety Appliance Act was not violated, and that the pro-
visions of Sections 1 and 9 of the Safety Appliance Act
are not mandatory.

This amazing suggestion or contention of the peti-
tioner is utterly unsound and contrary to the record and
all of the relevant decisions of this Court.

The petitioner then contends further in its argument
(II, p. 14) that if there was a violation of the Safety
Appliance Act,—the evidence was not sufficient to war-
rant submitting the case to the jury on the question of
proximate cause.

We will hereinafter call attention to the parts of the
record which will demonstrate that the violation of the
Safety Appliance Act suddenly stopped this defendant’s
express train in the very dangerous place as aforesaid, and
this stoppage in and of itself caused the respondent, in
accordance with his duty as conductor of the train, to do
all he reasonably could to have this train start again and
proceed to its destination, and while so doing he was very
severely injured;—and that the petitioner is liable be-
cause, in the language of Mr. Justice Black, ‘‘the negli-
gence of the employer may be determined by viewing its
conduct as a whole. And especially is this true * * *
where the several elements from which negligence might
be inferred are so closely interwoven as to form a single

* (All italics and emphasis herein are Respondent’s).

3

pattern, and where each imparts character to the others.”
(Blair v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Co., 323 U.S. 600).

This justifies respondent’s counsel at this point to
herein immediately call attention to the District Trial
Judge’s opinion (R. 111-113), and especially to where the
Court said:

‘‘With regard to the issue of causation, I point
out that once the train had stopped due to a de-
fective braking mechanism, a defective hose, it
became incumbent upon the conductor, the plain-
tiff in this case, in accordance with his obligation
under his employment contract, to go back and get
a second hose (the first hose not being satisfac-
tory). Having procured the second hose he had
two choices as to which side of the train he should
use in proceeding backward with the hose. Which-
ever choice he took the jury might easily have
thought presented elements of danger. On the one
side was the track on which a train might be go-
ing in an opposite direction from the direction in
which the conductor’s train was going; on the
other side was uncertainty, with the possibility of
a bridge or a bank without a sufficient safeguard
or protection. For reasons which the jury thought
adequate, the plaintiff chose to go on the side on
which there was no other track, As he proceeded
he slipped and fell. It is not without relevance
that a man who went to the rescue of the plaintiff
started and slipped in the same direction,—thus
fully supporting any inference the jury may have
drawn that the protection was inadequate and that
the fall was not due to the carelessness of the
plaintiff, if that carelessness may under any cir-
cumstances be thought to be relevant in a case

4

arising under a statute which does not open up
the possibility of the defense of contributory negli-
gence or the defense of the assumption of risk. In
short, it seems to me, within the language of Mr.
Justice Black in the case already referred to, the
plaintiff proved enough to permit a jury to make
an inference that violation of the Federal Safety
Appliance Act was in law the adequate cause of
the damages sustained.’’

It is not essential to add anything more to the ques-
tion of ‘‘causation’’ raised by the petitioner than to pre-
sent the above quotation,—which conclusively shows that
the petitioner’s violation of the Act was not only a prozi-
mate cause or one of the causes, but in fact the funda-
mental, basic, initial and continuing cause of plaintiff’s
injuries,

The petitioner took no exception to the Court’s charge
and made no request to instruct the jury upon the ques-
tion of causation, as required by Rule 51 of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure, even when the Trial Judge in
effect suggested that petitioner might possibly desire to
make some requests (R. 102). If the petitioner desired
any further charge upon the matter of causation, then,
under the aforesaid Rule 51, petitioner was obliged to
make a request and objection before the jury retired to
consider its verdict, ‘‘ stating distinctly the matter to which
he objects and the grounds of his objection * * *”?,

+ a
as

We believe that it will be found that the defendant’s
Point IV is obviously without any merit whatever.

The Court of Appeals opinion herein (204 F. 2d 461)
in Subdivision 5, states at page 467:

5

‘*Appellant’s final contention is likewise with-
out merit. There was no prejudicial error in re-
fusing to allow defendant to show that plaintiff
was receiving disability pension from the United
States Government under the Railroad Retirement
Act which should be considered in mitigation of
damages.”’

The opinion then goes on in detail, in this Subdivision
5 and Subdivision 6, to demonstrate how baseless this
claim is.

In addition to all of the above on this question, we
call the attention of the Court to the fact that this al-
leged defense was not pleaded (R. 12-14). See Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure, General Rules of Pleading,
Rule 8 (c) and 13. Under these rules petitioner was
obliged to plead any alleged payment or set-off in reduc-
tion of damages.

The petitioner’s contention is that it was entitled to
put in evidence, in mitigation of damages, the fact that
Leary was receiving a pension based on a disability
under the provisions of the Railroad Retirement Act of
1937 (45 U. S. C., Sec. 228a, et seq.), and that petitioner
had contributed to the cost of this pension under the
provisions of the Carriers. Taxing Act, (26 U. S. C., Int.
Rev. Code, See. 1500, et seq.).

Respondent contends that neither the petitioner’s an-
swer herein (R. 12-14) nor the appeal record presents its
claim, and in any event this claim is utterly unsound and
without merit. |

This contention of: the petitioner was so obviously
without any foundation or merit that the District Judge
did not even refer to it,—probably because it was not in
any way presented. (See Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

6

cedure, General Rules of Pleading, Rule 8 (ec), which re-
quires a defendant to set forth any alleged payments or
set-off in reduction of damages.) Having failed to so
plead, the petitioner could not put in any evidence to
establish any alleged set-off, and certainly cannot now
raise the question upon this appeal. Also see Rule 13,
same Rules.

As a matter of fact and law the petitioner made no
such payments to the respondent (R. 66-68).

Therefore, obviously, this petitioner’s last argument
is demonstrably without any merit whatever.

Statement of the Case

The plaintiff was the conductor on defendant’s express
passenger train which left Boston for New York at 11:45
p. m. on September 12, 1946 (R. 22). The train consisted
of either seven or eight cars (R. 22, 106; Ex. 14a), at the
time it made this unscheduled and unintended stop shortly
after the train passed the railroad station at Clinton,
Connecticut (R. 56).

At that time Geary, the engineer, told the fireman,
Scanlon, that he thought the brakes were ‘¢sticking’’, and
asked Scanlon to look back and see whether he could see
‘‘fire flying’’, which term he used to indicate sparks caused
by friction of the brakes against the wheels (R. 74).

The train involuntarily came to 4 stop without the
engineer applying the air, because ‘‘of a defective air-
brake-hose and the brakes sticking’’—and the train there-
fore made an unscheduled and unintended stop.

As stated in petitioner’s brief (p. 5), of course the
plaintiff, Leary, was unaware at the time the train stopped

that the front part of the locomotive ‘was resting on @

7

bridge or trestle over a highway described as Bishop
Street. This was an open-sided trestle bridge without
any railing along the right of way. (Photographs of the
bridge were introduced in evidence and appear in the
Record on pages 104, 105, 108, 109 and 110.) |

Before the train stopped, the plaintiff, Leary, was rid-
ing in the head coach immediately to the rear of the bag-
gage car. He heard the brakes go on hard im emergency,
and the train came to this unscheduled sudden stop (R.
24-25).

At the trial it was conceded that this unintended, un-
scheduled stoppage of this express train was caused by the
air-brake-hose bursting, which caused the compressed air
to go on in emergency and stop it (R. 84; also Exs. 14A
and 14B, R. 106-107).

Then the ‘plaintiff got his electric lantern and “‘went
out’? and met the engineer coming up from the engine,
heading back to the rear end of the train from the engine.
The engineer had a regular engine ‘‘torch’’ which burns
kerosene—in a sort of an open flame (R. 25).

From Boston to New York is called westbound and
the engineer’s side of that train was on its right, or the
right-hand side—the north side—of the train. At this
point there were two tracks, one westbound from Boston
and one eastbound toward Boston (R. 26).

The engineer told Leary he had a bad air leak so they
went towards the rear to find it. They walked back on
the same side—the engineer’s side (R. 26).

When they got back they heard the air escaping from
the other side and the brakeman went in and opened the
trap. They then went from one side to the other (R. 26).

The air hose was on the head end of the head sleeper.

8

‘‘So we went over and found the broken air
hose * * * the engineer had a hose, I can’t quite
remember, either that or he went back to the
engine to get a hose, but when he come down, him
and the brakeman was taking the old hose off,
which is screwed into a train pipe or water pipe,
and I happened to notice the hose he brought
down, instead of being a regulation air hose, it is
a spreader, it has a coupler on both ends, One
end of the air hose has threads on it that you screw
into the train line.

‘*T said, ‘The air hose is no good, I will go back
and get another one while you are taking that one
off’.

(The difference is) ‘‘the regular hose that would
go on the train has a coupler on one end of it
that couples with the air hose on the next car. On
the other end it has threads that screw into the
train line that lets the air pass through.

‘‘T went up to the engine. I took the one he
brought down, the spreader, and I went up to the
engine to get the regulation air hose,

‘When I got up to the head end of the baggage
car, the tool box was on the right hand side of the
engine so I climbed between the tank of the engine
and head of the head baggage car and I got down
and the fireman stuck his head out of the gangway
and he said, ‘What do you want, Jack’ and I said,
‘T have to have another hose.’ He said, ‘I got ©
one up here’ and I said, ‘All right’ so I walked up,
to the gangway of the engine and he handed me
one hose and I handed him the other.

‘‘Q. Before you go any further I want to ask

9

you this: when you left the place where they took
off the hose to go back toward the engine did you
go back on the same side you had come down on?
A. No, I went up on track 2 side on account of the
bad walking on the engineer’s side.

‘‘Q. Tell us now what you mean, what you no-
ticed about the bad walking on the engineer’s side
when you were walking down from the engine to
the place opposite where the hose was broken. A.
Well, there was a lot of loose ballast there. The
track—there was a lot of that spread all around.
In other words the track looked as though there
had been new work done and it wasn’t properly
trimmed,

* * * . . * * bd

‘‘When a track is properly trimmed there is a

space to walk. There is a space on the other side.

~The rock baiiast is, what they call the shoulder of
it, is up there and over here is clear ground.

‘There was a lot of loose rock ballast and it
was hard walking. That is why I walked up on
track 2 side, I walked up on the ties, it was better
walking, more level, solid footing.

“Q, Was there solid footing on that side? A.
On track 2?

‘<Q, On the place where you came down? A
No, bad walking.’”? (R. 26-28.)

After he got the hose he started to walk around the
head of the engine so as to go back track 2, and ‘‘I prob-
ably took half a dozen steps, I don’t know, and I just
walked right into space’ (R. 30).

Plaintiff then said that, when he ‘‘went off’’, the place
where he landed (as he knows now) was in the middle of

10

the street (R. 34). There was an underpass going under-
neath the tracks, and there were no lights or illumination
around there at all in the way of lamps, lampposts, elec-
trical or otherwise (R. 34).

It was a dark night with a lot of ground fog. You
could see the ground, but it hung above the ground.

You could not see the front of the locomotive, and be-
fore he was hurt he did not know whether or not any part
of the locomotive was over the highway or on this bridge,
and when he was walking just before he was hurt he did
not know he was near any bridge (R. 34).

He landed on his feet and went backwards. He did
not know where he was sving (R. 34).

‘“‘Q. And finally did you lay down or roll over
or just what was your position? A. I fell back-
wards on my—I was sitting down when I come
to,’? (R. 35.)

He tried to get off the street, but couldn’t.

Scanlon, the fireman, heard the ‘‘ery for help” (R,
80), and ‘‘I went down the gangway on the engineer’s
side and ran towards the direction of the ery * * * I got
over to the edge of the bridge and I stopped myself im
time. Looked down and saw Leary on the street below’’
(R. 81): :

““Q, Then were « u asked this question and did
you give this answer. (Reading):

«<Q. You say you got over to the edge of the
bridge and stopped yourself in time. What do you
mean by that? A. I went over towards the bridge
abutment there, too, and I just caught myself on
the edge.’ ** , Pe

‘“‘A, That’s right.

11

“‘Q. That’s true, isn’t it? A. That’s right.

““Q. And that is what you meant, just caught
yourself on the edge or you yourself would be over;
is that right? A. That’s right.’’ (R. 81-82.)

Also see the following comment of the Court on this
fact (R. 112):

‘‘It is not without relevance that a man who
went to the rescue of the plaintiff started and
slipped in the same direction,—thus fully support-
ing any inference the jury may have drawn that
the protection was inadequate and that the fall
was not due to the carelessness of the plaintiff,
if that carelessness may under any circumstances
be thought to be relevant in a case arising under
a statute which does not open up the possibility
of the defense of contributory negligence or the
‘defense of the assumption of risk. In short, it
seems to me, within the language of Mr. Justice
Black in the case already referred to, the plaintiff
proved enough to permit a jury to make an infer-
ence that violation of the Federal Safety Appli-
ance Act was im law the adequate cause of the
damages sustained,’’

The air brakes of the train when coupled together
constituted one continuous unit. A defect or breakage
of one hose on one car put all the brakes in the entire
train line in emergency and made them all inoperative.
Ic was not a question of only one air hose and one brake
on one car becoming inoperative—the brakes on every
car in the continuous line went into emergency and they
were all inoperative.

Finally, the engineer and brakeman made a cradle out
of their arms and carried him over the bank, and lifted
him into the head coach (R. 36).

ARGUMENT

All the evidence herein established that this defend-
ant’s train had a defective air-brake-hose that “burst”,
and this caused this express train to make a sudden,
unscheduled and unintended stop in an unguarded and
very dangerous place on a dark-foggy night, on a trestle-
bridge over a highway on defendant’s right-of-way; and
this defective air-brake-hose INDISPUTABLY was a
violation of the United States “Safety Appliance Act”
which “resulted” in immediate, unexpected and unknown
dangerous hazards, and plaintiff’s injuries.

However, the District Judge left this question of
“causation” to the jury as a question of fact (R. 94-95).

Sophistical contentions and the introduction of dia-
lectic subtleties in this Court is not permissible to. over-
turn or avoid the established fact of defendant’s causal
neglect (Coray v. So. Pac. R. Co., 335 U. S. 520),—
even though it is claimed that the injury resulted only
in part from the defendant’s neglect—or that defendant's
negligence was merely “contributory” (Coray case,
supra).

All of the facts and circumstances of this “bursting”
of the air-brake-hose,—stopping this express train in
this very dangerous place, and plaintiff's injuries, .“‘were
all inseparably related to one another iu; time and space”.
(Coray case, supra.)

It is very clear that the Act commands a railroad
company not to operate an interstate railroad train, such
as the one involved herein, with defective power-brakes.

13

It is also undeniable that the abrupt and unexpected
stoppage of this train, due to its defective air-brakes,
sureiy resulted in immediate, unexpected and unknown
dangers to the train crew.

The provisions of this Act with reference to power
train brakes apply not only to cases where the injury is
the direct and immediate result of failure to stop the trai,
but also where the injury results from thus causing these
unexpected and unknown hazards which result im em-
ployee’s injuries—as they frequently do. (See quotations
in this brief, pages 14 to 22, from Coray v. Southern Pacific
Co., 335 U. S. 520, and other cases et seq.)

When the air-brake-hose burst on this night, about
3:40 a. m., where it was very dark, with a ground fog,
and the front of the engine was ona rather short trestle-
bridge over a highway which crossed underneath, and the
location of this engine on the trestle-bridge was not ob-
servable by the plaintiff or any member of the train crew
(R. 75, 104-105, 108-110), it then became the duty of the
train crew, and particularly the conductor, to see that this
express train, and particularly its air-brake-hose and
apparatus, were repaired and placed in such condition as
to continue the trip as soon as possible; and plaintiff
therefore proceeded to do his work properly—the details
of which are set forth in the statement of facts in this
brief. While doing so, and in endeavoring to get back
with a new air-brake-hose to the place where the old
brake-hose had broken, he fell onto the highway under-
neath and received ‘his injuries. So it will be seen that
the fundamental, initial and continuous cause of plain-
tiff’s injuries was a result of said violation.

No better or more complete reply and answer to the
appellant’s various contentions herein on the issue of
the injuries being a result ‘‘in whole or in part”? of de-

14

fendant’s violation of the Safety Appliance Act cou!d be
made than that set forth in the stenographic record of
the hearing on the motion for a new trial herein, in which
Wyzanski, D. J., directed himself to that specific ques-
tion (R, 112):

Of course, Judge Wyzanski’s decision is in complete
accordance with the following decisions of the United
States Supreme Court:

In Coray v. Southern Pacific Co., 335 U. 8. 520 (decided
January 3, 1949), Mr. Justice Black, writing for the Court,
said at page 521:

‘“The train unexpectedly stopped just before the
crash occurred because the air in its brake lines
escaped, thereby locking the brakes. The air had
escaped because of a violation of the Federal
Safety Appliance Act in that the threads on a
valve were so badly worn that a nut became dis-
connected.’’

And at page 522:

‘‘First, We cannot agree with the State Su-
preme Court’s holding that although the railroad
ran its train with defective brakes it thereby ‘vio-
lated no duty owing’ to the decedent. That court
said that the object of the Safety Appliance Act
‘insofar as brakes might be concerned, is not to.
protect employees from standing, but from moving
trains’.

‘“‘We do not view the Act’s purpose so nar-
rowly. It commands railroads not to run trains
with defective brakes. An abrupt or wnexpected
stop due to bad brakes might be equally dangerous
to employees and others as a failure to stop a train

15

because of bad brakes. And this Act, fairly inter-
preted, must be held to protect all who need pro-
tection from dangerous results due to maintenance
or operation of congressionally prohibited defec-
tive appliances. Fairport, P. & E. R. Co. v. Mere-
dith, 292 U. S. 589, 597. Liability of a railroad
under the Safety Appliance Act for injuries in-
flicted as a result of the Act’s violation follows
from the unlawful use of prohibited defective equip-
ment ‘not from the position the employee may be
in or the work which he may be doing at the mo-
ment when he is injured.’ Brady v. Terminal R.
Assn., 303 U. S. 10, 16; Lowisville & N. R. Co. v.
Layton, 243 U. 8S. 617, 621.”’

In Carter v. Atlanta & St. Andrews Bay Railway Co.,
338 U. S. 430 (decided December 19, 1949), the Court said
at page 434:

‘In this situation the test of causal relation
stated in the Employers’ Liability Act is applic-
able, the violation of the Appliance Act supplying
the wrongful act necessary to ground liability
under the F. E. L. A. See Moore v. Chesapeake &
Ohio R. Co., 291 U. S. 205, 216 (1934) ; O’Donnell
v. Elgin, Joliet & Eastern R. Co., supra; Coray
vy. Southern Pacific Co., 335 U. 8S. 520 (1949).
Sometimes that violation is described as ‘negli-
gence per se’, H. R. Rep. No. 1386, 60th Cong.,
1st Sess., p. 6; San Antonio & A. P. R. Co, v. Wag-
mer, 241 U. S. 476, 484 (1916); but we have made
clear in the O’Donneli case that that term is a con-
fusing label for what is simply a violation of an
absolute duty.

**Once the violation is established, only causal
relation is in issue. And Congress has directed

16

liability if the injury resulted ‘in whole or in part’
from defendant’s negligence or its violation of the
Safety Appliance Act, We made clear in Coray
vy. Southern Pacific Co., supra, 335 U. S. at 523,
that if the jury determines that the defendant’s
breach is ‘a contributory proximate cause’ of in-
jury, it may find for the plaintiff. See also Union
Pacific R. Co. v. Hadley, 246 U. 8. 330, 333 (1918) ;
Spokane & I. E. R. Co. v. Campbell, 241 U. 8. 497,
510 (1916).”’

In Urie v. Thompson, 337 U. S. 163 (decided May 31,
1949), the Court said at page 189:

‘For where §1 ‘refers to ‘‘any defect or in-
sufficiency, due to its negligence, in its cars, engines,
appliances”’, ete., it clearly is the legislative intent
to treat a violation of thc Safety Appliance Act
as ‘‘negligence’’—what is sometimes called neg-
ligence per se.’ San Antonio & A. P. R. Co. v.
Wagner, 241 U. S. 476, 484.

“In this view the Safety Appliance Acts, to-
gether with the Boiler Inspection Act, are sub-
stantively if not in form amendments to the Fed-
eral Employers’ Liability Act. They dispense, for |
the purposes of employees’ suits, with the neces- —
sity of proving that violations of the safety stat-
utes constitute negligence; and making proof of
such violations is effective to show negligence as
a matter of law. Thus taken, as has been the con-
sistent practice, the Boiler Inspection and Safety
Appliance Acts cannot be regarded as statutes
wholly separate from and independent of the Fed-
eral Employers’ Liability Act. They are rather

supplemental to it, having the purpose and effect

17

of facilitating employee recovery, not of restrict-
ing such recovery or making it impossible.’’

See also O’Donnell v. Elgin, Joliet € Eastern Railway
Co., 338 U. S. 384; Affolder v. New York, Chicago & St.
L. Railroad Co., 339 U. S. 96; Myers v. Reading Co., 331
U. S. 477.

The Supreme Court in Coray v. Southern Pacific Co.,
335 U. S. 520 (decided January 3, 1949), said at page 523:

‘‘In this case where undisputed evidence estab-
lished that the train suddenly stopped because of
defective air-brake appliances, petitioner was en-
titled to recover if this delective equipment was
the sole or a contributory proximate cause of the
decedent emplovee’s death. Davis v. Wolfe, 263
U. S. 239, 243; Spokane & I. E. R. Co. v. Campbell,
941 U. S. 497, 509, 510.”’

And at page 524:

‘The language selected by Congress to fix lia-
bility in cases of this kind is simple and direct.
Consideration of its meaning by the introduction
of dialectical subtleties can serve no useful inter-
pretative purpose. The statute declares that rail-
roads shall be responsible for their employees’
deaths resulting in whole or in part from defec-
tive appliances such as were here maintained. 49
U. 8. Cc. $51. And to make its purpose crystal
clear, Congress has also provided that ‘no such
employee * * * shall be held to have been guilty
of contributory negligence in any case’ where a
violation of the Safety Appliance Act, such as
the one here, ‘contributed to the * * * death of
such employee.’ 45 U. S. C. $53. Congress has

18

thus for its own reasons imposed extraordinary
safety obligations upon railroads and has com-
manded that if a breach of these obligations con-
tributes in part to an employee’s death, the rail-
road must pay damages. These air-brakes were
defective; for this reason alone the train suddenly
and unexpectedly stopped; a motor track car fol-
lowing at about the same rate of speed and op-
erated by an employee looking in another direc-
tion crashed into the train; all of these circum-
stances were inseparably related to one another
in time and space. The jury could have found
that decedent’s death resulted from any or all of
the foregoing circumstances.”’

In St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. Ferguson, 182 F.
(2d) 949 (decided June 23, 1950), the Circuit Court for the
Eighth Circuit said at page 952:

‘‘And as to causal relationship, the court in
such a case equally has no right to direct a ver-
dict on legalistic refinements between remote and
immediate causation. Cf. Carter v. Atlanta & St.
Andrews Bay Ry. Co., supra, 338 U. S. 430; 70 S.
Ct. at pages 228 and 229. The Federal Employers’
Liability Act, 45 U. S. ©. A., See. 51, et seq., which
is the vehicle of suit for injury from a violation
of a Safety Appliance Act, gives the employee a
recovery right, even though the violation has been
only ‘in part’ responsible for the injury. 45 U.S.
C. A., Sec. 51. The causal question therefore too
must be allowed to go to the jury in every case
where there is probative evidence from which it
would be rationally possible for any one to be
persuaded that the violation has been ‘a contrib-
utory proximate cause’ of the injury. Coray v.
Southern Pacific R. Co., 335 U. S. 520, 523, 69 S.

19

Ct. 275, 277, 93 L. Ed, 208. The choice between
the conflicting theories of causation, each of which
is a rational possibility on some probative fact
or facts, is one which the jury alone is entitled to
make. Ellis v. Union Pacific R. Co., 329 U. S. 649,
653, 67 S. Ct. 598, 600, 91 L. Ed. 572.”

In Carter v. Atlanta & St. Andrews Bay Railway Co.,
338 U. S. 430 (decided December 19, 1949), the Court said
at page 434:

‘‘Once the violation is established, only causal
relation is in issue. And Congress has directed
liability if the injury resulted ‘in whole or in part’
from defendant’s negligence or its violation of
the Safety Appliance Act. We made clear in
Coray v. Southern Pacific Co., supra, 335 U. S.
at 523, that if the jury determines that the de-
fendant’s breach is ‘a contributory proximate
cause’ of injury, it may find for the plaintiff. See
also Union Pacific R. Co. v. Hadley, 246 U. S. 330,
333 (1918); Spokane & I. E. R. Co. v. Campbell,
241 U. S. 497, 510 (1916).”’

In Brady v. Terminal Railroad Association, 303 U. S.
10 (decided January 31, 1938), the Court said at page 15:

‘“The statute has been liberally construed ‘so
as ta give a right of recovery for every injury
the proximate cause of which was a failure to
comply with a requirement of the Act.’ Swinson
v. Chicago, St. P.. M. € O. Ry. Co., 294 U. 8. 529,
531. In Davis v. Wolfe, 263 U. S. 239, 243, re-
viewing the earlier cases, the Court held that one
can recover ‘if the failure to comply with the re-
quirements of the act is a proximate cause of the

20

accident, resulting in injury to him while in the dis-
charge of his duty, although not engaged in an
operation in which the safety appliances are specif-
ically designed to furnish him protection.’ ”’

The Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cireuit in
Eglsaer v. Scandrett, 151 F, (2d) 962 (decided October
25, 1945), devoted its entire opinion to an analysis of the
most recent decisions of the Supreme Court with refer-
ence to the doctrine of proximate cause, which at one
point in a quotation in its opinion it describes as ‘‘ap-
proximate cause’. The opinion is extremely interesting
because it makes a complete analysis of the authorities
and also the textbook writings on this question. The
judge writing the opinion himself stated at page 565:-

‘‘Perhaps the reconciliation of the earlier ac-
cepted, sometimes called the old-fashioned idea,
of ‘proximate cause’ as the direct or efficient cause
of the accident (as would be the district court’s
illustration of a shock from a defective electric bell
ringer causing injuries and death) in cases where
this statute applies, and the conception of prox-
imate cause which now obtains, is to be found
in the enlarging phrase of the statute. It pro-
vides that if the railroad’s negligence ‘in part’
results in the injuries or death, liability arises.
Under the old concept of proximate cause, that
cause must have been direct, the complete, the
responsible, the efficient cause of the injury. Con-
tributing and remotely related causes were not
sufficient. Now, if the negligence of the railroad
has ‘causal relation’—if the injury or death re-
sulted ‘in part’ from defendants’ negligence, there
is liability.

21

‘“‘The words ‘in part’ have enlarged the field
or scope of proximate causes—in these railroad
injury cases. These words suggest that there
may be a plurality of causes, each of which is
sufficien‘’ to permit a jury to assess a liability.
If a cause may create liability, even though it be
but a partial cause, it would seem that such partial
cause may be-a producer of a later cause. For
instance, the cause may be the first acting cause
which sets in motion the second cause which was
the immediate, the direct cause of the accident.
Such a rule found some support in Wisconsin be-
fore the statute in question was passed. In Stef-
anowski v. Chain Belt Co., 129 Wis. 484, 109 N. W.
532, 533, 7 L. R. A., N. S., 955.”?

See also Brown v. New York Central R. R., 53 F. (2d)
490; Bailey v. Central Vermont Railway, Inc., 319 U. S.
300, at page 354:

There are opinions in cases decided many years be-
fore the cases cited and quoted in this brief which do not
recognize the recent development of the doctrine of causa-
tion under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act estab-
lished by the above recent line of decisions of the Su-
preme Court of the United States. These older decisions,
as far as they relate to the doctrine of causation, are
obsolete and, in effect, overruled by the decisions cited
by the respondent.

In this particular case the jury had the benefit of
a very clear, definite and informative charge of the Court
on the principles of law by which the jury were to be
guided in deciding the questions of defendant’s liability
herein.

Judge Wyzanski charged the jury, in part, as follows:
‘*The lawyers in the case have now agreed that

22

the only problems which have to be put to you arise
under the Federal Safety Appliance Act, That is
an Act of Congress which has been on the books
now for over half a century and has to do with
the duty which is imposed upon the owner and
operator of a railroad. A railroad is required, as
a matter of absolute duty, to have safe brakes and
appliances in connection with the braking mechan-
ism; that is to say, it is the absolute obligation of
the railroad to have its brakes in good order.
Liability flows if there is a violation of that abso-
lute duty and that violation is the cause, in whole
or in part, of an injury sustained by the plaintiff.’’
(R. 93 )

Of course, at the trial the petitioner did not, as
required by Rule 51 of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure, object to any of the above instructions or sug-
gest that they were in the slightest degree erroneous—
which petitioner’s counsel was obliged to do at the trial
if he wished to thereafter claim that it was erroneous.

Of course, no contention could have been sensibly
made that. any one of such instructions was erroneous.

The fact is, of course, that the petitioner was attempt-
ing to defend a very bad case against it and had no
defense as to its having violated the Safety Appliance
Act, and that the violation thereof was at least ‘‘in whole
or in part’’ the cause of plaintiff’s injury.

On the liability issue the defendant at the trial had
no evidence to refute plaintiff’s claim of liability.

There was no evidence upon which the petitioner could
claim that it had not violated the Safety Appliance Act
with reference to adequate power-brakes, and no one could
sensibly claim that as a matter of fact such failure and

23

violation of the Safety Appliance Act did not at least
‘‘in part’? result in plaintiff’s injury.

There was no merit in the defense then, and of. course
there is none now.

The record shows that the defendant at the trial made
no objection to the charge except as to the Court’s failure
to charge (R. 101-102) the defendant’s 22d and 23d re-
quests, which are as follows (R. 21):

‘*22. The evidence in this case does not war-
rant a finding that there was a violation of Sec-
tions 1 and 9 of the Federal Safety Appliance Act.

‘623. The evidence does not warrant a finding
that any violation of the Federal Safety Appliance
Act caused the plaintiff’s injuries.’’

This merely raised the legal question as to the cor-
rectness of petitioner’s claim that the evidence did not
warrant a finding that there was a violation of Sections 1
and 9 of the Federal Safety Appliance Act; and does not
warrant a finding that the violation of the Act, in whole
or in part, caused the plaintiff’s injuries,

We assume that the defendant’s counsel knew, or
should have known, of the provisions of Rule 51 relating
to the Court’s giving, or failure to give, the jury an
instruction.

No one can now urge that defendant complied with this
rule, and did not then take proper objections, and surely
did not state ‘‘distinctly the matter to which he objects
and the grounds of his (petitioner’s counsel’s) objection.’’

Applicable Rule 51 prevents any assignment now of
any such alleged error, and prohibits the petitioner from
claiming in this Court that the trial judge committed such

an error,

24

The Court’s charge to the jury on “causation” was
adequate, complete, and indeed replete (R. 93, 94, 95,
99, 100). The “record” presents no question reviewable
here as to “legal causation” ;—there was no objection
to the charge as required by Rule 51 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure; nor any petitioner’s request for in-
struction on any such question, and no exception to the
Court’s charge on causation, which charge petitioner
now seeks to review in this Court.

The District Judge below adequately, clearly and
correctly charged the law on the issue of ‘‘causation of
plaintiff’s injuries’? herein in the language of the Fed-
eral statute (R. 94-95), and clearly and correctly explained
the application of same to this particular case.

The Court (R. 93), after charging the jury upon the
necessity of the railroad company having its brakes in
good order, charged:

‘‘Liability flows if there is a violation of that
absolute duty and that violation is the cause, in
whole or im part, of an injury sustained by the
plaintiff. I shall go over that in somewhat more
detail in a minute.’’

And again the Court charged (R. 94-95) :

“The first issue having been disposed of, I
now come to what is the second issue and this
is a much more difficult issue. Now, if there was
a failure of the company to live up to its abso-
lute obligation with respect to tke braking mech-

— a eanamemanidimemmelia
25

anism, was that failure—to use the statutory lan-
guage—in whole or in part the cause of an ac-
cident suffered by Mr. Leary? In order to sat-
isfy this formula—‘in whole or in part’—it isn’t
necessary for the plaintiff to show that the cause
was exclusively and immediately and directly due
to some impact caused by the putting on of the
brake or the failure to put on the brake. It is
a question, ultimately, of fact as to whether the
«failure of the braking mechanism was a cause—
not necessarily immediately, but a cause of the
injury sustained. There must be a causal connec-
tion, however, It isn’t enough that a man was
on a train where the brakes were defective and he
got off the train and he was injured. You must
be satisfied in your own minds that there was some
kind of connection of a causal nature between the
failure of the brakes and the injury which oc-
curred.’’

And again (R. 95) the Court further said:

‘¢And here the second issue, as I have said to
you, is whether, if there was a defect m the brak-
ing mechanism, that defect was in whole or in part
the cause of the injury sustained. If you decide
that in the affirmative, you will then go on to the
question of damages. If you decide in the nega-
tive, that is the end of the case.’’

2 « * * & * . °

«‘Let’s assume, without indicating my own view
at all, that you have decided that there was a
defect in the brake or the hose attached thereto
and that defect was in whole or im part the cause
of the injury.” :

e & af * ” ° °.

26

The Court’s further charge appears on R. 95, “)6, 97
and 98, and then, as ‘he Court was about to final'y sub-
mit the case to the jury, the Court further said (R. 99):

‘J hope you will first find out how the injury
was sustained and whether or not there is a
violation of the Safety Appliance Act, and after
you have unanimity on that issue go to the next
one—if you have to go to the next one, which is
was the violation in whole or in part the cause
of the injury to the plaintiff, and seek wnanimity
on that. If you are unanimously for the plaintiff
on that, you go to the third issue. If you are
unanimously for the defendant, you fill in the form
which is called the Defendant’s Verdict, and don’t
put im any dollars or cents but just sign your
mame.”’

e * : * * * 2 * e

““If you, on the other hand, take the view as a
Jury that this is a case in which violation of the
Safety Appliance Act was in whole or im part
the cause of the injury, then you proceed to the
problem of damages.”

The District Judge’s last statement to the jury was
as follows (R. 100):

PE Oe i RETO ee ae eg en eS

‘The rules of law, which you are in honor
and good conscience bound to apply, state that
the plaintiff is entitled to prevail only if he per-
suades you that there was a violation of the
Safety Appliance Act; that violation was in whole
or in part the cause of the injury * * °.”

The above quotations from the Court’s charge show
that in seven different parts of the charge the Court
charged the jury that there must be a violation of the

27

afety Appliance Act, and not only that, but fu,ther that
vis vyplation must be in whole or in part the cause of
6 imjwry.

The respondent cannot understand how the Trial Judge
yuld have more completety and correctly charged the
iry on the question of the Safety Appliance Act vioia-
on, and more distinctly submitted to the jury as an
sue of fact, the determmation to be made by them, as
. whether or not it was the cause in whole or in part
’ plaintiff’s injury.

The record on appeal herein shows that this case was
ied for the defendant-petitioner by its attorney of
cord, Mr. Deering. The record suggests that a Mr.
artlett, an attorney, was present during the charge—
yssibly as an associate to Mr. Deering; as a consultant
* advisor.

Mr. Deering opened and closed the case to the jury,
d made requests to charge on other matters; and, fin-
ly, after it was agreed between counsel that defendant
uld deduct from the verdict afterwards (R. 101) the
sounts which it had specifically advanced and loaned

the plaintiff (presumably while it was endeavoring
settle with him before this suit was instituted), Mr.
irtlett, who was appearing either apparently as a
unsel or advisor to defendant’s trial counsel, said in
swer to the Court’s query:

“The Court: All right. Is there anything
else, Gentlemen?

“Mr, Bartlett: Well, your Honor, I don’t claim
to be an authority on causation, but I, as a jury-
man, would say, ‘Sure, there was a cause’, There
is no explanation what a condition is.
‘The Court: No explanation of what?

28

‘‘Mr. Bartlett: What is legal condition, and
what is legal causation.

‘““The Court: Do you want to define it for me?

“‘Mr, Bartlett: No, I don’t.’”’ (R. 102.)

The above occurred just before the jury was sent out
to deliberate, at the judge’s bench—of course, not in the
presence of the jury.

By what stretch of the imagination can this be called
an objection by a party? Apparently it was just Mr.
Bartlett expressing his opinion to the trial judge. One
might describe it as ‘‘just chatting’’, It certainly was
no objection to the Court’s charge, or request for in-
struction.

When the Court then questioned Mr. Bartlett, neither
Mr. Deering nor Mr. Bartlett made any request for an
instruction to the jury as to just what was the difference
between a legal ‘‘condition’’ and a legal ‘‘causation’’,
or suggest or make any request for any further instruc-
tion about causation.

It would seem to be rather childish to contend that
this was a compliance with Rule 51, which reads (in part)
as follows:

‘‘No party may assign as error the giving or
the failure to give an instruction unless he objects
thereto before the jury retires to consider its ver-
dict, stating distinctly the matter to which he ob-
jects and the grounds of his objection. Opportun-
ity shall be given to make the objection out of
the hearing of the jury.’’

The query would seem to arise: How could any
‘‘party’’, upon what occurred at the trial, now ‘‘assign as
error’”’ the giving or the failure to give an instruction

29

with reference to the difference between legal condition
and legal cause?

We suggest that it is not possible for any person
to make any sensible contention to establish this propo-
sition, because it clearly shows that the petitioner did
not object to any relevant part of the charge, and did not
make any request for any instruction whatever upon this
question.

Upon this record, the petitioner upon this proposition
has just ‘‘nothing’’ to present to this Court.

Mr. Bartlett’s first statement was very indefinite
and quite incomplete. He merely stated that there was
no explanation of what a condition is, and when the Court
said: ‘‘No explanation of what?’’ he merely replied:
‘What is legal condition, and what is legal causation.’’

Nothing was said whatever about how it could be’
applicable to this case. And when the Court said ‘‘Do
you want to define it for me?’’ Mr. Bartlett merely re-
plied: ‘‘No, 7 don’t.”’

This is precisely the point where, if he had any ob-
jection to the charge or ‘‘failure to give an instruction”’,
he should have then and there made a request to the
Court to instruct the jury and have stated in definite
language any request to charge, if he had one.

However, Mr. Bartlett said nothing further except
‘No, I don*t.’? In other words, he declined, or surely
failed, to make a request for an instruction.

We would like to know how any sensible and truthful
person could now say that he, or anybody representing
the petitioner, then complied with the very important

Rule 51,

30

In view of this record, we are amazed to find the fol-
lowing language in III of petitioner’s Argument on this
question (p. 19, Petitioner’s Brief) :

‘The trial judge erred in failing to charge the
jury as requested as to the difference between
legal condition and legal causation.”’

No ‘‘request to charge’’ was made to the trial judge.

This colloquy cannot possibly be construed to amount
to anything more than that a Mr. Bartlett—who did not
try the case, but was apparently advising and consulting
with Mr. Deering, the attorney of record—said in a dis-
cussion with the judge at the bench that possibly it might
be well if the judge had charged on the subject of con-
dition and causation, etc.

Under Rule 51, in order to claim a failure to instruct
or rule in that regard, a request for a charge or ruling
was required to be made to the trial judge with sufficient
clarity to explain to the trial court defendant’s position,
and to give the trial court the opportunity to consider
those questions and decide on rulings with reference
thereto. .

This same petitioner in another case, New York, New
Haven & Hartford Railroad Co. v. Zermani, decided by
the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
on December 8, 1952, 200 F. 2d 240 and certiorari denied
by the United States Supreme Court, Oct.’Term, 1952,
No. 582, March 16, 1958, .... U. 8. .... 97 L. ed. (Advance,
p. 591), raised this same proposition, and the Court of
Appeals decided that Rule 51 must be complied with, and
that it had not complied with it in that case. In that
case the Court of Appeals said (200 F. 2d 240, at 245):

31

‘“‘The purpose of Rule 51 is to require the
parties to enable the trial court to ‘clarify or
correct his statement before the jury retires.’
McDonald v. Jarka Corporation, 144 F. 2d 53, 54
(2d Cir. 1944). See Williams v. Powers, 135 F. 2d
153 (6 Cir. 1948); Alcare v. Jean Jordeau, 138 F.
2d 767 (3d Cir, 1943) and Blair vy. Cullom, 168 F.
2d 622 (2d Cir. 1948). Althongh defendant’s
counsel did not remain completely silent as in
Alaska Pacific Salmon Co: v. Reynolds Metals Co.,
163 F. 2d 643, 658 (2d Cir. 1947), yet it does not
appear that his objection was clearly stated. The
language in Rosenfeld v. Curtis Pub. Co., 163 F.
2d 660, 663 (2d Cir. 1947), seems appropriate here:

¢* * * Bot it seems to us it was for counsel
to realize that the judge had not recalled or re-
peated all of what had happened and to take
-such steps as were necessary to bring this home
to the judge. Such imprecision in asserting al-
leged error is destined to produce at the most
only confusion as to what is in counsel’s mind
and what is desired of the court. We do not think
a verdict justified on the evidence and by the
trial generally should be upset when counsel have
thus ‘failed to make their criticisms of the judge
clear to him at the time. Under the circumstances
the court’s refusal to add to the original charge
was not reversible error.’ ’’

Of course, in the Zermani case, immediately above
referred to, the record was much more favorable to the
petitioner than it is here. Here the petitioner has noth-
ing—nothing whatever—to indicate any attempt to com-
ply with Rule 51, or even that petitioner’s counsel was
aware of its existence, In any event he certainly did not

32

make any request for an instruction. At most it could
be considered only an informal discussion, or rather
merely a comment to the Court.

Upon the merits of this question, it is all-sufficient
to say—as in the Coray case, supra, and others cited
in this brief in our main argument—that the United States
Supreme Court has held that similar facts relating to
violation of the Safety Appliance Act did not merely
establish a condition, but did establish a violation of the
Safety Appliance Act which surely was at least ‘‘in part’’
a cause of the injury.

In the Coray case the appellant also made the claim
that the violation of the Act merely established a condi-
tion and not a cause, but it was held that the injury re-
sulted ‘“‘in whole or in part’? from the violation of the
Safety Appliance Act.

The opinion in the Coray case shows that the appellant
in that case raised the very same question as the peti-
tioner here, as to whether the violation of the Safety
Appliance Act merely caused conditions to exist which
in and of themselves could not be considered a legal cause
of injury. The Supreme Court rejected that contention
and analyzed and discussed it at length, 335 U. 8S. 520,
at page 524, and held that the injury, according to the
statute, ‘‘resulted in whole or in part’’ from the violation
of the Safety Appliance Act:

“The language selected by Congress to fix
liability in cases of this kind is simple and direct.
Consideration of its meaning by the introduction
of dialectical subtleties can serve no useful inter-
pretative purpose. The statute declares that rail-
roads shall be responsible for their employees’
death ‘resulting in whole or in part’ from defec-
tive appliances such as were here maintained. 45
U. 8.'C., Sec. 51. And to make its purpose crystal

33

clear, Congress has also provided that ‘no such
employee * * * shall be held to have been guilty
of contributory negligence in any case’ where
a violation of the Safety Appliance Act, such as
the one here, ‘contributed to the * * * death of
such employee.’ 45 U.S. C., Sec. 53. Congress
has thus for its own reasons imposed extraordi-
nary safety obligations upon railroads and has
commanded that if a breach of these obligations

contributes in part to an employee’s death, the _

railroad must pay damages. These air-brakes were
defective; for this reason alone the train suddenly
and unexpectedly stopped; a motor track car fol-
lowing at about the same rate of speed and op-
erated by an employee looking in another direction
erashed into the train; all of these circumstances
were inseparably related to one another in time
and space, The jury could have found that de-
cedent’s death resulted from any or all of the
foregoing circumstances.”’

The record, however, plainly shows that the trial judge
here (Wyzanski, J.) very accurately, definitely and fully
charged the jury upon the question of the defendant’s
liability for. the violation of the Safety Appliance Act,
and stated that the question submitted to them was whether
the failure of the braking mechanism was a cause of the
injury sustained, and stated that there must be a causal
connection, and stated: ‘‘It isn’t enough that a man was
on a train where the brakes were defective and he got
off the train and he was injured’’ (R. 95).

The plaintiff, from beginning to end, stated that the
defective air-brake-hose which broke produced this im-
mediate unscheduled stop, with the engine in a position
causing sudden and unexpected great dangers and haz-
ards to the train crew, who were immediately then oblig-

34

ed to do work in an endeavor to get the train started
again, and that this initial Safety Appliance Act viola-
tion, by continuous chain reaction, most certainly caused
the injury to this plaintiff.

Any layman could understand this Court’s precise and
definite language. :

Furthermore, the respondent desires to again assert
that when the Court thus correctly charged that it was
not necessary for the plaintiff to show that the cause
was exclusively and immediately and directly due to some
impact caused by putting on the brake or the failure to
put on the brake, and that it was a question ultimately
of fact as to whether the failure of the braking mechanism
was a cause, not necessarily immediate, but a cause of
the injury sustained, that this petitioner then did not
apparently even think of making any objection to that
part of the charge and said absolutely nothing; and it
stands as the unchallenged law of the case,

And we again assert that, if this Rule 51 is not dis-
regarded altogether, the question, as now suggested by
the petitioner, as to condition and cause, etc., is not pre-
sented by this appeal.

We suggest that it is entirely clear that the petitioner
cannot complain of the Court’s charge herein, or the
alleged failure of the Court to charge as petitioner now
suggests;—first, because the Court’s charge on ‘‘causa-
tion’? was entirely correct, and on this particular ques-
tion it was much more favorable to the petitioner than
it had any right to legally expect. It would seem that
the Court could and should have charged as matter of
law that there was a failure of the petitioner to live up
to its absolute obligation to supply brakes and braking
mechanisms and appliances appurtenant thereto which
were at all times in good order. Nevertheless, the Court

-_pseegeeat

35

merely said that the jury could find as matter of fact ©
that there was a failure of the petitioner to have its
train equipped with such adequate brakes. The Court
then submitted to the jury as a question of fact whether,
if there was a failure of the company to live up to its
obligation with respect to the braking mechanism,—‘‘ ‘* * *
was that failure—to use the statutory language—in whole or
in part the cause of am accident suffered by Mr, Leary?
In order to satisfy this formula— in whole or in part’—
it isn’t necessary for the plaintiff to show that the cause
was exclusively and immediately and directly due to
some impact caused by the putting on of the brake or
the failure to put on the brake. It is a question, ulti-
mately, of fact as to whether the failure of the braking
mechanism was a cause—not necessarily immediately,
but a cause of the injury sustained. There must be a
causal connection, however. It isn’t enough that a man
was on a train where the brakes were defective and he
got off the train and he was injured. You must be sat-
isfied in your own minds that there was some kind of
connection of a causal nature between the failure of the
brakes and the injury which occurred. I am not going
to make any observations as to what I think about this
matter for it is a matter of your own information. I
may tell you I am scrupulously avoiding coming in my
own mind to any conclusion on this question, It is a
Jury question, and it is a question on which the plain-
tiff has—as he has on the first and on the last issue—
the burden of proof. That is, the plaintiff must per-
suade you that his side of the story is right—not that
it is right beyond a reasonable doubt, but it probably
right.’’ (R. 94-95.)

To all of the above, as shown by the Record, the
petitioner made no objection and took no exception, and
made no request for instruction before the jury retired
to consider its verdict, and did not state at all, distinctly

36

or otherwise, as required by the aforesaid Rule 51—
‘¢ * * * stating distinctly the matter to which he objects
and the grounds of his objection. * * *.’’

Therefore, we contend that upon the record here the
petitioner cannot assign any alleged error in giving or
failing to give any further instruction on ‘“causation”’,
as is now suggested by the petitioner herein.

We respectfully suggest that this claim of alleged
error is not only obviously unsound, but is a matter
which cannot legally be presented to this Court on the
record in the District Court (R. 102).

The Record on Appeal herein (R, 111-113) contains 4
stenographic record of a hearing on petitioner’s motions
for judgment notwithstanding verdict and for a new trial,
and the opinion of the District Judge (Wyzanski, D. J.)
on said motions. This opinion clearly and convincingly
shows—indeed demonstrates—that the violation of the
Safety Appliance Act herein was the cause of plaintiff’s
injury—and, to use the language of Mr. Justice Black
in the Coray case, supra, the bursting of the air-hose,
the stoppage of the train, the defendant’s violation of
the Safety Appliance Act, and all of the circumstances
continuously leading up to plaintiff’s fall and injuries,
were “all * * * circumstances * * * inseparably related
to one another in time and space’’, and therefore was the
cause of plaintiff’s injuries (Coray v. So. Pac. Co., 3
U. S. 520, at 524).

Neither the petitioner’s answer herein, nor this appeal
record, PRESENTS its claim here relating to alleged pay-
ments from the Government to the plaintiff under the
Railroad Retirement Act; and in any event this claim
is herein utterly unsound and without merit.

As stated in our Summary above, the Court of Ap-
peals in this case (204 F. 2d 461, at 468) discusses and
correctly disposes of this wnpleaded and belated conten-
tion of the petitioner.

In the defendant’s answer (wherein it demanded judg-
ment dismissing the plaintiff’s complaint [R. 14]) there
is no plea of separate defense except that the defendant
made payments to the plaintiff totalling $3225 (which
the defendant had advanced to plaintiff before he insti-.
tuted suit and while it was endeavoring to settle with
him), and for which the plaintiff agreed that they were
entitled to make a reduction (R. 101), and it was agreed
at the trial that the defendant could deduct that amount
‘‘from the verdict afterwards’’, and defendant’s counsel
said it was not necessary to let the jury consider it (R.
101-102).

The defendant’s answer made no reference whatever
to any payments from the Railroad Retirement Fund,
and did not suggest any such set-off or partial or affirma-
tive defense. The only reference to the matter will be
found in the Record at pages 66-68.

38

The ‘‘answer’’ presented no claim of separate defense
that the defendant contributed to some Railroad Retire-
ment Fund, or that the plaintiff has received, or may
receive, or is entitled to receive, some sum as payment
of pension from the Railroad Retirement Fund; and it is
an idle and absurd gesture for the petitioner to herein
make the contention in this Court that the petitioner
is entitled to a reversal of this judgment and a new trial
because of anything set forth in its brief relating to the
Railroad Retirement Fund.

Under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, General
Rules of Pleading, Rule 8 (c), the defendant was obliged
to set forth ‘‘* * * payment * * * and any other matter
constituting an avoidance or affirmative defense’’.

Under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 13,
a set-off or recoupment is treated as a counterclaim and
must be pleaded (Chicago, Great W. R. R. v. Peeler, 140
F. (2d) 865).

Under these Rules of Civil Procedure, 8 (c) and 13 (a),
(b) and (c), the defendant was obliged to plead any al-
leged payments or set-off in reduction of damages, Hav-
ing failed to so plead, the defendant could not put in
any evidence to establish any alleged set-off, and cer-
tainly cannot now raise the question upon this application.

If the defendant had properly pleaded payments by
the defendant to any fund for the benefit of the plaintiff
as to which under the law it would be entitled to re-
coupment from the plaintiff, an entirely different propo-
sition would be presented, but no such situation exists
in this case either upon the facts or the law.

As a matter of fact and law, the defendant made no
such payments to the plaintiff (R. 66-68). At the most
it merely made some unspecified payment to the Govern-

39

ment which the Government received and collected as an
internal-revenue tax (Title 26, U. S. C., Sec. 1530)—not
for the benefit of the plaintiff, but solely from which a
fund could be established from moneys supplied by (1)
the plaintiff, (2) the defendant and its shippers and
a and (3) the general public and the Govern-
ment,

Under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act, Title 45,
Sec. 55, payments which a railroad employee might re-
ceive from the United States Government under the Rail-
road Retirement Act are not admissible or provable as
a defense, in mitigation of damage or otherwise, in an
action under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act for
damages for personal injuries.

Section 55 reads as follows:

‘Sec, 55. Contract, rule, regulation, or device
exempting from liability; set-off.

Any contract, rule, regulation. or device what-
soever, the purpose or intent of which shall be
to enable avy common carrier to exempt itself
fvom any liability created by this chapter, shall
to that extent be void: Provided, That in any
action brought against any such common carrier
under or by virtue of any of the provisions of
this chapter, such common carrier may set off
therein any sum it has contributed or paid to any
insurance, relief benefit, or indemnity that may
have been paid to the injured employee or the
person entitled thereto on account of the injury
or death for which said action was brought.’’

The Railroad Retirement Act does not constitute “‘any
insurance, relief benefit, or indemnity.”’

The Railroad Retirement Act is one of the legal pro-

| ORES ES eRe ana SRA RBR SOs ee

40

visions of the United States Government which consti-
tutes a part of the general plan of social legislation that
has been inaugurated and adopted by the United States
Government for the general welfare of the Union.

Payments to railroad employees under the Railroad
Retirement Act are made, instead of payments under the
Social Security Act, which applies to persons who are
not employed by common carriers or certain designated
affiliates.

Railroad’ employees are not entitled to Social Security
because they cannot be within the scope of both plans of
legislation as they are mutually exclusive.

Persons not employed by railroads are within the
coverage and protection of either the Social Security Act
or the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U. S. C.,
Sec. 201, et seg. No one would ever claim that Social
Security or other benefits should be deducted in mitiga-
tion of damages in personal injury suits. A railroad
employee is solely under the coverage and protection of
the Railroad Retirement Act of 1937, 45 U. S. C., Sec. 228a,
et seq., the Railway Labor Act, 45 U. S. C., Sec, 151, et
seq., the Carriers Taxing Act of 1937, 26 U. S. C., Int.
Rev. Code, Sec. 1500, et seqg., and the Railroad Unem-
ployment Insurance Act, 45 U.S. C., Sec. 351, et seq.
(See Northern Pacific Ry Co. v. Reynolds, 68 F. Supp.
492).

The taxes which provide the income for the railroad
retirement system are collected under the Railroad Re-
tirement Tax Act, Int. Rev. Code, Title 26, U. S. C., Secs.
1500-1538.

Under the provisions of that Act both the employer
and the employee now contribute equally at the rate of
644% of compensation up to $300 per month (see Title 26,
Secs. 1500, 1520). Under Section 1530 the taxes paid

ee ee ee ee ee a a a a ok a

= oOo

41

are paid to the Treasury of the United States as internal-
revenue collections,

Section 1530 (a) reads as follows:

**See. 1530. Collection and payment of taxes—
(a) Administration, The taxes imposed by this
subchapter shall be collected by the Bureau of
Internal Revenue and shall be paid into the Treas-
ury of the United States as internal-revenue col-
lections.’’

In addition to the taxes collected, Congress has appro-
priated an amount to be transferred to the retirement
account in annual installments, equal to (1) the combined
railroad and employees taxes that would have accrued
during periods of creditable military service from Sep-
tember, 1939, through June, 1948, if the employees had
remained in railroad service and earned $160 a month,
and (2) the actuarial value of additional benefits based
on creditable military service performed before 1937 (45
U. 8. C., Sees, 228¢ (m) ; 2280 (p).

The amount transferred from the Treasury during
1951-52 came to $770,662,000. This included $33,000,000
which represented the 1951-52 installment of the military
service appropriation. In addition, $78,889,000 was earned
on investments. In all, $849,551,000 was made available
to the retirement account during the year. After de-
ducting the $394,153,000 paid to railroad employees and
their families in benefits under the retirement and sur-
vivor programs, and the $6,331,000 spent for administer-
ing these programs, the excess of income over outgo for
the years was $449,067,000. This amount raised the total
reserve on June 30, 1952, to $2,868,969,000, Any part of
the reserve not immediately needed for benefit payments
or administrative expenses is invested in 3% Treasury
notes, and: the interest earned becomes a further source

ae eeeeeerreemeenesenenersseeternesncennetenenennenmnensnenninanemsnsinnesaaee

42

of income to the retirement account. (See Monthly Re-
view, Railroad Retirement Board, August, 1952, Vol. 13,
No. 8, pp. 147-148; Title 45, U. S. C., Sec. 2280).

The United States Government also makes fitting ap-
propriations for the administration expenses of the Rail-
road Retirement Board and the administration of the Act
(Title 45, U. S. C., Sec. 228p).

From the provisions of the Act it is clear that the
moneys paid under the Railroad Retirement Acts are
paid by the United States Government out of moneys
collected from the employee, the employer, and the gen-
eral public, and are not payments by the railroad, and
any contributions paid by the railroad are out of moneys -
collected by it from shippers and passengers in the course
of its operations, and estimated by the various Public
Service Commissions and the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission in the fixing of permissible rates by railroads,
and cannot be specifically ear-marked as any set-off or
payment or in mitigation or diminution of damages award.
able under the Federal Employers’ Liability Act.

It is generally established that a wrongdoer causing
a plaintiff damages is not entitled to have the damages
for which the wrongdoer is liable reduced by proving
that the plaintiff has received or will receive compen-
sation from a collateral source (Brabham v. Baltimore ¢
O. R. Co., 220 F. 35; 8S. H. Kress Co. v. Bullock Shoe Co.,
56 F. (2d) 713; Terry v. Jewett, 78 N. Y. 338; Briggs v.
N. Y. C. @ H. H.R. R. Co., 72 N. Y, 26; McCarthy vy,
Palmer, 29 F. Supp. 585),

The opinions rendered in Hetrick ~. Reading Co.
39 F. Supp. 22, and McCarthy v. Palmer, 113 F. (2d) 721
(cert. den. 311 U. 8. 680), contain a full and complete
analysis of the reasons why Railroad Retirement Act
payments cannot be proved in mitigation of damages in
Federal Employers’ Liability Act cases, in addition to

43

those set forth in this brief. Reference is made to those
opinions without reiteration here.

The petitioner, in its efforts to raise the question
of the Railroad Retirement Act payments, cites the
McCarthy and Hetrick cases, and makes the contention
that ‘‘We do not believe that the precise question has been
passed upon by this Court’’ (page 22, petitioner’s brief),
but completely fails to make any argument or legal
presentation in an effort to persuade this Court that the
trial court’s ruling was wrong or that the rulings in
the McCarthy and Hetrick cases were wrong. No cases
are cited in opposition. No argument is made in opposi-
tion, All that the point contains is the bald statement
that the proof should have been admitted.

If the petitioner cannot cite any authorities or pre-
sent any plausible argument to support its position, the
respondent submits that the question is not worthy of
consideration by this Court on this application.

CONCLUSION
The application for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted,

O’NEILL, HIGGINS & LATTO,
Attorneys for Respondent,
No. 369 Lexington Avenue,
Borough of Manhattan,
City of New York.

Tromas J. O'NEILL,
Joun V. Hicers,
Of Counsel.

—————

44

APPENDIX

FeperaL Statutes AND F'eperaL Ruue#s or Crvit Procepursz
CITED IN THIS BRIEF.

~~ ws
i ad

United States Code, Title 26.
“SUBCHAPTER B.—EMPLOYMENT BY CARRIERS

‘¢Parr I.—Tax on EMPLOYEES

**§ 1500. Bate of taz.

‘‘In addition to other taxes, there shall be levied, col.
lected, and paid upon the income of every employee a tax
equal to the following percentage of so much of the com-
pensation, paid to such employee after December 31, 1946,
for services rendered by him after such date, as is not in
excess of $300 for any calendar month:

‘*1, With respect to compensation paid during the
calendar years 1947 and 1948, the rate shall be 534 per
centum ;

‘*2. With respect to compensation paid during the
calendar years 1949, 1950, and 1951, the rate shall be 6
per centum;

‘*3. With respect to compensation paid after Decem-
ber 31, 1951, the rate shall be 614 per centum. (53 Stat.
179; July 31, 1946, ch. 709, § 3 (a), 60 Stat. 723.)

‘*Parr []7.—PDax on Emproyers

**§ 1520. Rate of taa.

‘‘TIn addition to other taxes, every employer shall pay an
excise tax, with respect to having individuals in his em-
ploy, equal to the following percentages of so much of the
compensation, paid by such employer after December 31,

45

1946, for services rendered to him after December 31, 1936,
as is, with respect to any employee for any calendar month,
not in excess of $300: Provided, however, That if an em-
ployee is paid compensation after December 31, 1946, by
more than one employer for services rendered during any
calendar month after 1936, the tax imposed by this section
shall apply to not more than $300 of the aggregate compen-
sation paid to such employee by all such employers after
December 31, 1946, for services rendered during such
month, and each employer other than a subordinate unit
of a national railway-labor-organization employer shall be
liable for that proportion of the tax with respect to such
compensation paid by all such employers which the com-
pensation paid by him after December 31, 1946, to the em-
ployee for services rendered during such month bears to
the total compensation paid by all such employers after
December 21, 1946, to such employee for services rendered
during such month; and in the event that the compensation
so paid by such employers to the employee for services ren-
dered during such month is less than $300, each subordi-
nate unit of a national railway-labor-organization employ-
er shall be liable for such proportion of any additional tax
as the compensation paid by such employer after Decem-
ber 31, 1946, to such employee for services rendered during
such month bears to the total compensation paid by all
such employers after December 31, 1946, to such employee
for services rendered during such month:

‘1, With respect to compensation paid during the
calendar years 1947 and 1948, the rate shall be 534 per
centum;

‘62. With respect to compensation paid during the
calendar years 1949, 1950, and 1951, the rate shall be 6
per centum;

46

‘*3. With respect to compensation paid after Decem-
ber 31, 1951, the rate shall be 614 per centum. (53 Stat.
180; July 31, 1946, ch. 709, § 3 (d), 60 Stat. 724.)”’

a © we * a * o =
‘‘Parr [V.—GeneraL Provisions

‘§ 1530. Collection and payment of tawes—(a) Adminis-
tration.

““The taxes imposed by this subchapter shall be col-
lected by the Bureau of Internal Revenue and shall be
paid into the Treasury of the United States as internal-
revenue collections.’’

[Subdivisions (b), (c) and (d) are not necessary for
this presentation, and are not copied. }

ahs
a

United States Code, Title 28, Rules of Civil Procedure.

‘Rute 8.—GeneraL RULES OF PLEADING

‘“‘(e) Affirmative defenses.

‘In pleading to a preceding pleading, a party shall set
forth affirmatively accord and satisfaction, arbitration and
award, assumption of risk, contributory negligence, dis-
charge in bankruptcy, duress, estoppel, failure of consid-
eration, fraud, illegality, injury by fellow servant, laches,
license, payment, release, res judicata, statute of frauds,
statute of limitations, waiver, and any other matter con-
stituting an avoidance or affirmative defense. When 2
party has mistakenly designated a defense as a counter-
claim or a counterclaim as a defense, the court on terms,
if justice so requires, shall treat the pleading as if there
had been a proper designation.”’

47

[Subdivisions (a), (b), (d), (e) and (f) are not neces-
sary for this presentation, and are not copied.]

‘“Rute 13.—CounrerctaIm AND Cross-CLaIM

““(a) Compulsory counterclaims,

‘‘A pleading shall state as a counterclaim any claim
which at the time of serving the pleading the pleader has
against any opposing party, if it arises out of the trans-
action or occurrence that is the subject matter of the oppos-
ing party’s claim and does not require for its adjudica-
tion the presence of third parties of whom the court cannot
acquire jurisdiction, except that such a claim need not be
so stated if at the time the action was commenced the claim
was the subject of another pending action.

‘“(b) Permissive counterclaims,

‘‘A pleading may state as a counterclaim any claim
against an opposing party not arising out of the transac-
tion or occurrence that is the subject matter of the oppos-
ing party’s claim.

‘*(e) Counterclaim exceeding opposing claim.

‘‘A counterclaim may or may not diminish or defeat
the recovery sought by the opposing party. It may claim
relief exceeding in amount or different in kind from that
sought in the pleading of the opposing party.”’

[Subdivisions (d) to (i), inclusive, are not necessary
for this presentation, and are not copied.]

Ss e « * ° : 9 *
‘Rute 51.—Insrrvuctions To Jury: OssEction
‘“‘At the close of the evidence or at such earlier time

during the trial as the court reasonably directs, any. party
may file written requests that the court instruct the jury

48

on the law as set forth in the requests. The court shall in-
form counsel of its proposed action upon the requests prior
to their arguments to the jury, but the court shall instruct
the jury after the arguments are completed. No party
may assign as error the giving or the failure to give an
instruction unless he objects thereto before the jury re-
tires to consider its verdict, stating distinctly the matter
to which he objects and the grounds of his objection. Op-
portunity shall be given to make the objection out of the
hearing of the jury.’’

~~
7Vv?

Unitec! States Code, Title 45, Chapter 9.
‘‘RAILROAD RETIREMENT ACT OF 1937

- o = * * * *
““§ 228p. Appropriation.

‘There is hereby authorized to be appropriated from
time to time such sums as may be necessary to provide for
the expenses of the Board in administering the provisions
of sections 228a to 228c-1, 228e-228h, 2281-228p, 228r, and
228s and former sections 215-228 of this title. (Aug. 29,
1935, ch. $12, § 16, as added June 24, 1937, ch. 382, part I,
§ 1, 50 Stat. 317.)”’

~~
ovr

United States Code, Title 45, Chapter 1.

“SAPETY APPLIANCES AND EQUIPMENT ON
RAILROAD ENGINES AND CARS, AND PROTEC-
TION OF EMPLOYEES AND TRAVELERS

““§ 1, Driving-wheel brakes and appliances for operating
train-brake system.

‘‘Tt shall be unlawful for any common carrier engaged
jn interstate commerce by railroad to use on its line any

49

locomotive engine in moving interstate traffic not equipped
with a power driving-wheel brake and appliances for oper-
ating the train-brake system, or to run any train in such
traffic that has not a sufficient number of cars in it so
eguipped with power or train brakes that the engineer on
the locomotive drawing such train can control its speed
without requiring brakemen to use the common hand brake
for that purpose, (Mar. 2, 1893, ch. 196, § 1, 27 Stat. 531.)

* . * . . * + *

“$9, Number of cars to be operated with power or train
brakes; mcrease of number.

‘*Whenever, as provided in sections 1-7 of this title, any
train is operated with power or train brakes not less than
50 per centum of the cars in such train shall have their
brakes used and operated by the engineer of the locomotive
drawing such train; and all power-braked cars in such
train which are associated together with said 50 per centum
shall have their brekes so used and operated; and, to more
fully carry into effect the objects of said sections, the In-
terstate Commerce Commission may, from time to time,
after full hearing, increase the minimum percentage of
cars in any train reqiired to be operated with power or
train brakes which must have their brakes used and oper-
ated as aforesaid; and tailure to comply with any such re-
quirement of the said Inierstate Commerce Commission
shall be subject to the like penalty as failure to comply
with any requirement of this section. (Mar. 2, 1903, ch.
976, § 2, 32 Stat. 943.)”’

50

United States Code, Title 45, Chapter 2.
“LIABILITY FOR INJURIES TO EMPLOYEES

**§ 51. Liability of common carriers by railroad, in mter-
state or foreign commerce, for mjuries to employees
from negligence; definition of employees.

‘‘Every common carrier by railroad while engaging in
commerce between any of the several States or Territories,
or between any of the States and Territories, or between
the Distri

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1810%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
