# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pacific Atlantic Steamship Co. v. Holliday

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1537%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1953
- **Citation:** 345 U.S. 922

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1952

No. 580

PACIFIC ATLANTIC STEAMSHIP (%¢ Ke
Petitioner,
vs.

FLORENCE G. HOLLIDAY, as ADMINISTRATRIX OF ‘THE

Esrare or CLinton Houtuway, Deceasep

~
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
THIRD CIRCUIT.

J Tuomas E. Byrng, J R.,
Counsel for Petitioner.

‘eal

INDEX
Susgect Inpex

Page
Petition for writ of certiorari..................... 1
Summary statement of the matter involved..... 2
WI et ee a 3
RUS tT Pataca» rn en a 4
\ Geen Seenenied ... 2... ec... 4
Reasons relied upon for allowance of the writ. __ 4

Without evidence to suppport it a Court is

not free to find that a delay in obtaining

medical attention was a legally responsi-

ble cause of a death which occurred
eighteen days later..................... 7
I yee ea 11

TaBLE or Cases CiTEep

Baltimore and Carolina Line vy. Redwood, 295 U.S.
EEE IEE oo Cn nt ae ene 6, 11
Bauer v. Clark, 161 F. 2nd 397, 332 U.S. 889. 6

\ Brady v. Southern Railway Company, 320 U.S.
ee ere a et 6, 9,11

Commercial Molasses Corporation v. New York Tank
Barge Corporation, 314U.S.104........... 8,11

Cortes v. Baltimore Insular Line, Incorporated, 287
a a es 5
De Zon v. American President Lines, 318 U.S. 660... 6, 11

District of Columbia v. Vignau, 144 F. 2nd 641, 323
Me ar ee 11

Echenrode v. Pennsylvania Railroad Company, 335
ARMS SEES eS ina 11
Galloway v. United States, 319 U.S.372..... 9
Henry Cross Company v. Simmons, 96 F. 2nd 482. _ 11

Holliday, etc. v. Pacific Atlantic Steamship Company,

99 F. Supp. 173,197 F.2nd610......

Troquois, The,194U.S.240.........0.....0000~2~~7

Lilienthals Tobacco v. United States, 97 U.S. 237. __-

—6261

ii INDEX
Page
Pennsylvania Railroad Company v. Chamberlain, 288
fa Rigapber CURR C7 A Neo tea eG eer ar ae re 11
Spain v. Powell, 90 F. 2nd 580.................. 11
Western and Atlantic Railroad v. Hughes, 278 U. S.
rec ee haven e a acs tik eat ie ol tus 9
SratTuTEs anD OrHER AuTHorITIEs CITED
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, (United States
Code Annotated, Title 45, Section 90)............ 5

Jones Act, (United States Code Annotated, Title 46,
RR eae a i A eh ae ee ea 5
United States Code Annotated:
Title 28:

RS lo, ee vc vardoud ceases
ccs co ie ga eee ae xe

ST II © 5 ro FS hic cc wids a eae ead oy
pe ae ens

3
3
4)
4)

-_ BREE AAD HADI SE Nano OR RM Ce a adetanatiadienie a

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1952

No. 580

PACIFIC ATLANTIC STEAMSHIP CO.,

Petitioner,

vs.

FLORENCE G. HOLLIDAY, as ApMInisTRaTRIX OF THE
Estate or Cuinton Houumay, Drcrasep

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
THIRD CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice, and the Associate
Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Pacific Atlantic Steamship Co. respectfully prays that a
writ of certiorari may issue out of this Court to review the
judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit entered June 27, 1952. By that judgment
the Court of Appeals reversed the judgment of the United
States District Court for the District of Delaware and re-
manded the case to the District Court with directions to
enter judgment in favor of the respondent and against the
petitioner upon the question of liability and to determine
the amount of the damages.

PY AE SE PRE that 8s

. VERSO ned sti SARA ROIS oli nnn

Summary Statement of Matter Involved

The present case was instituted as a suit in Admiralty.
It sought to recover damages for the alleged wrongful
death of one Clinton Holliday who had been the cook em-
ployed on board the petitioner’s vessel ‘‘Peter Kerr’’.

At the trial the libellant (here respondent) alleged and
sought to prove that Holliday had sustained an injury to
his foot and ankle during the course of his employment on
board the vessel and that infection from that injury caused
his death on February 18, 1942.

As the opinion of the District Court indicates (R. 122,
124) the primary charge of negligence against the peti-
tioner had to do with alleged negligent failure to furnish a
place of work which was reasonably safe. This issue was
decided in favor of the petitioner by the District Court and
the Court of Appeals did not disturb that finding.

A subsidiary allegation of negligence against the peti-
tioner at trial was that it had failed to furnish proper and
adequate medical attention after the injury. The factual
background of this facet of the case can be briefly stated.

Shortly after the injury the vessel called at Port Eliza-
beth, South Africa. The testimony showed that a doctor
who was dead at the time of trial had come aboard, ex-
amined Holliday, prescribed treatment for him and indi-
cated that it was safe for him to proceed with the vessel
to Capetown. At the time of trial the claim advanced was
that the officers of the vessel had been negligent when they
did not put Holliday ashore for hospitalization when the
ship was at Port Elizabeth. The District Court found that
issue in favor of the petitioner and again its finding was
not disturbed by the Court of Appeals.

The vessel left Port Elizabeth for Capetown late in the
afternoon of February 5th. It arrived in the roadstead
off Capetown about 7 P. M. on February 7th. (Opinion

> a

— ore Fan amor rs RRERA A NEM. E I

of C.A. p. 5, R. 157.) South Africa was then at war
with the Axis powers and the vessel anchored in the road-
stead overnight. It docked shortly after 8 o’clock the next
morning and the Captain immediately sent for a doctor to
attend Holliday. When that doctor arrived on board the
vessel shortly after noon of February 8th he ordered Holli-
day taken ashore to a hospital. He remained there as a
patient until his death on February 18th.

The cause of death was cardiac failure, secondary to
septicemia, and nephratis (R. 114).

Although it had only the record before it, the Court of
Appeals chose to hear the matter de novo. It accepted the
testimony of the witness Cooper which had been rejected
by the trial Judge who had seen and heard Cooper testify.
The Court of Appeals rejected the testimony of two ship’s
officers which had been accepted by the trial Judge. In
order to fasten liability upon the petitioner the Court of
Appeals held that the delay of approximately 15 hours
between the time the vessel arrived in the roadstead off
Capetown on February 7th and the time the doctor actually
saw and administered to Holliday was negligence. It fur-
ther ‘‘coneluded’”’ that the delay was a ‘legally responsible
cause of death’’.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered June
27, 1952. The time within which the petitioner might file a
petition for rehearing was enlarged and a petition for re-
hearing was filed August 11, 1952. On December 31, 1952
an order was entered by Mr. Justice Burton enlarging the
time within which this petition could be filed to and in-
cluding January 31, 1953. The jurisdiction of this Court
to entertain this petition, grant the same, and review the
judgment of the Cour of Appeals is provided by Title 28,
U.S. Code, § 1254(1) and § 2101(e).

4

Opinion Below

The opinion of Judge Rodney of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Delaware and his findings of
fact and conclusions of law appear beginning at p. 121
of the record in this case. The opinion is reported 99
F. Supp. 173.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, written by Judge
Hastie, is reported 197 F. 2(d) 610 (R. 156).

Question Presented

May a Court of Appeals, hearing an Admiralty suit as a
trial de novo, make its own finding of fact which it incor-
rectly designates as a conclusion where there is literally no
evidence in the record to support it?

Reasons Relied upon for Allowance of the Writ

The question which this Court is asked to review is of
immense practical importance in the proper and orderly
administration of justice in the Federal Courts. With equal
justice under law we have no quarrel. We do quarrel with
the proposition that a Federal Appellate Court is free to
enunciate its own notions of what may represent a socially
desirable result in a given set of circumstances without
regard to legal principles which time and time again this
Court and other Courts have said represent the sine qua non
for a judicial determination.

The problem which this case presents occurs daily in
the United States Courts. This Court has said that in order
to sustain an award in favor of a party upon whom the
law casts the burden of proof there must be evidence which
must support the conclusion in favor of that party. Here,
there is not one jot of evidence and a Court of Appeals has
substituted what it is pleased to call its own ‘‘proper con-
clusion’’ in place of evidence,

5

The case which the petitioner must here present is devoid
of emotional appeal. This is not a ‘*big’’. case as cases are
measured by the amount of the potential verdict. If the
importance of cases is to be measured by the importance of
the fundamental nature of the legal principle involved then
this is a case which is important in the over-all judicial
picture. If the Court of Appeals is free to make a finding
without evidence to support it when it sits as a Court which
hears a case de novo, then any Court, District or Circuit, is
free to substitute its own view for the result which would
be demanded by the application of what had heretofore been
regarded as fundamental principles.

It is upon this basis that we state that the present case is
important and that it merits review by this Court.

I

This is an action founded upon the Jones Act, 46 U. S.
C. A. 688. It is that Statute which incorporates into the
Maritime law of master and servant the principles of the
Federal Employers’ Liability Act, 45 U.S. C. A. 90, et seq.
and makes applicable to seamen the same rights as those
enjoyed by employees of railroads engaged in interstate
commerce. As she was free to do, respondent chose to insti-
tute the action in Admiralty rather than upon the law side
of the District Court, as the Jones Act would permit her to
do. The action could be maintained at all only by reason
of the remedy the Jones Act affords because the unmodified
Maritime law gives no right of action to recover damages
for death. Cortes v. Baltimore Insular Line, Inc., 287 U.S.
367 @ 371.

It is a fundamental legal principle that the party who
seeks to recover because of an alleged default on the part
of his adversary must carry the burden of proof. The
burden of proof in its primary sense rests upon the party

6

who asserts the affirmative of an issue.’ If the party hav-
ing the burden of proof fails to sustain it or comes forward
with proof which with equal validity will support either one
of two inconsistent inferences, then the verdict must go
against the party upon whom the law casts the burden of
persuasion. Baltimore and Carolina Line v. Redwood, 295
U.S. 264; Brady v. So. Ry. Co., 320 U.S. 476; Pa. R. Co. v.
Chamberlain, 288 U. S. 333.

Hearing the case de novo, the Circuit Court substituted
its own findings for those of the District Judge. The evi-
dence showed only that the respondent’s vessel had anchored
in the roadstead off Capetown at 8:05 P. M. on February
ith. The only evidence in the original record as to why
the vessel did not proceed into the Harbor that night was
the testimony of the vessel’s Second Officer that it was ‘‘too
latetogoin . . .?? (R. 255). The Cireuit Court held that
this delay constituted negligence without any evidence be-
fore it as to the reasons why the vessel did not proceed
into the Harbor and obtain medical attention for Mr. Holli-
day that night. In support of its conclusion that there had
been negligence, the Court of Appeals cites only one case,
The Iroquois, 194 U. S. 240. That ease stands only for
the proposition that the Master of a vessel owes a duty to
obtain medical attention for an injured seaman. It does
not stand for the proposition that mere failure or delay
itself constitutes negligence. There must be evidence to
support the Cireuit Court’s conclusion of negligence, De
Zon v. American President Lines, 318 U. S. 660.

When this petitioner requested the Circuit Court to grant
rehearing and assigned among its reasons this ‘‘conclusion
of negligence’’, the present respondent obtained affidavits
from South Africa which would, if they qualified as evidence,
lave supported the decision of the Court of Appeals. It is

' Bauer v. Clark, 161 F, 2(d) 397, cert. denied, 332 U.S. 889,

Se te

—

important to bear in mind that these were ex parte affidavits
and were not in the record when the Court of Appeals
reached its conclusion. We submit that they cannot sup-
port the holding of the Court of Appeals.

It is a fundamental concept of Anglo-Saxon jurisprudence
that ex parte evidence is not admissible. Correctly speak-
ing, the affidavits are not evidence at all. No opportunity
f was afforded the petitioner to cross-examine the witnesses
| and apply those tests which have always been considered
) necessary to afford proper safeguards before evidence is
| received.
| Our statement above that the Court of Appeals reached
its conclusior. on this point from a record which contained
no evidence to support its conclusion is tacitly admitted by

7

the respondent. If there had been evidence to support the :
conclusion ‘‘negligence’’ of the Court below it would have :
been unnecessary for the respondent to have obtained the é

affidavits in South Africa which she filed only in opposition
to this petitioner’s request for rehearing.

Without Evidence to Support It A Court Is Not Free to
Find That a Delay in Obtaining Medical Attention Was a
Legally Responsible Cause of a Death Which Occurred 18
Days Later

In this, the principal reason advanced by petitioner, we
rely entirely upon those portions of the testimony to which
the Court below referred in its opinion. We will use them to
demonstrate the completely fallacious result which that
Court reached.

Writing for the Court of Appeals, Judge Hastie holds
that, in the light of the chronology of events, it is proper to
conclude that if Mr. Holliday had been hospitalized and
treated on the night of February 7th rather than at noon on
February 8th, there was a likelihood that his life might have

FY RNA INTE NG LET GN AO ID IAT PL TD IY ET SOMO, GS eee

—? |

al pe OS ye ie Pee ee . Ee ee AS ns

8

been saved. No evidence supports that statement. Mr.
Holliday survived in a hospital under proper medical atten-
tion for 18 days before he died. The physician who treated
him said not a word about any ill effects caused by the delay
in treatment. It must be remembered, as the attending doce-
tor testified, that modern treatment by penicillin was not
then available. If the decedent was to lose his life in any
event it does not establish causal connection or, if you please,
‘fa legally responsible cause of death’’ to say that he should
have been treated earlier. The law cast the burden of proof
upon this respondent. The delay may or may not have been
a factor in contributing to the death. The infection was al-
ready present and it has been judicially determined by two
Courts that the original infection was not something for
which this petitioner was responsible. The evidence here
will support inconsistent inferences. The fact of delay is
admitted. The effect of delay is left entirely to speculation
and the Court of Appeals chose to ignore fundamental legal
concepts and decisions by this Court in order to reach a
result which would cast the loss upon the party best able to
bear it. That is not justice under law. It is, rather, the
perversion of the judicial process.

The law as to burden of proof has been stated many times
by this and other Courts.

‘*Wherever the burden rests, he who undertakes to
carry it must do more than create a doubt which the
trier of fact is unable to resolve.’’?

If damages are recoverable ‘‘under the Jones Act only for
negligence’’ then the burden of proof rested upon this re-
spondent (libellant below) because the burden of proof in
Civil cases lies with the party who asserts the affirmative of

2 Commercial Molasses Corp. v. New York Tank Barge Corp., 314 U.S,
104 @ 112 and cases there cited.

—

9

the issue.* This applies to causation as fully as it does to
negligence or any other necessary element of respondent’s
case.*

Thus the law cast upon the respondent the burden of prov-
ing by competent evidence that there was causal connection
between the delay in treatment and the death 18 days later.
We do not here make the so-called ‘‘scintilla’’ of evidence
argument. This Court has said, ‘‘The weight of the evi-
dence under the Employers’ Liability Act must be more than
a scintilla before the case may be properly left to the dis-
cretion of the trier of fact . . .’’* In our case the Court
vf Appeals did not have a scintilla of evidence to support
its conclusion of causal connection between the delay and the
death. We suggest that if a jury had been the trier of fact
in the case at bar, a motion for a directed verdict would have
had to be granted in order to conserve judicial time and save
the mischance of speculation over a legally unfounded claim.®

Mr. Holliday was ill on February 7th when the ship
anchored overnight in the roadstead off Capetown. Two

EARLE ALOE ESO LE LE SES AINE SNE IE MI IP RIE IIT EY II

Courts have held that this Petitioner is not legally respon- i
sible for his condition as it then existed. About noon on :
February 8th he was treated by a physician who directed y
that he be hospitalized. The testimony of the attending :

physician was taken by commission. This doctor testified
that Holliday should have been hospitalized in Port Eliza-
beth three days earlier. Whether that be the correct view
or not makes no difference because Holliday was seen and
treated by a competent doctor at Port Elizabeth on Febru-
ary 5th. This physician instructed the ship’s officers that
it was safe for Holliday to proceed with the ship to Cape-

SRS Ag ERO NS Pick nee RRA
SPREE INE ‘- SNS

3 Lilienthals Tobacco v. U.S., 97 U.S. 237.

* Brady v. Southern Ry. Co., 320 U.S. 476.

* Brady v. Southern Ry. Co., 320 U.S. 476 @ 479; Western ¢ At-
lantic R.R. v. Hughes, 278 U.S. 496.

® Galloway v. U.S., 319 U.S. 372.

y
¢
ee ee ee |
PSP OLS RENT eae

10

town. Up to this point there was no negligence on the part
of the ship’s officers and both Courts below have so found.
If Dr. Shapiro (whose testimony appears at 113 to 121a)
had been asked for an opinion upon the effect of delay be-
tween 7 P. M. on February 7th and noon on February
Sth, there might have been some evidence to support the
Circuit Court’s conclusion. No such question was asked
and there is not a jot of evidence on the point. No
one can tell from this record whether the delay of about 15
hours was a ‘‘legally responsible cause of death’? (p. 6 of
C. A. opinion; R. 161) or not. It may have,been. It may
have played no part. The intervening period of 18 days
would certainly indicate that it would be difficult for any
professional medical witness to express an opinion on the
subject. Certainly there should have been evidence to sup-
port what the Court below calls ‘‘a proper conclusion’’. It
may or may not be a proper conclusion for a medical wit-
ness but the Court below has treated it as a conclusion of
law with no evidentiary basis to support it.

The testimony of Dr. Shapiro quotad by the Circuit Court
(slip opinion p. 5; R. 159) that there might have been a
virulent spread of infection during the three-day period
from February 5th to February 8th will not support a
conclusion that a 15-hour period of delay in treatment ac-
tually did cause death. The doctor’s opinion that he found
it ‘difficult to believe’’ that the infection spread so rapidly
in three days negates the possibility that the 15-hour delay
was vital.

The question of whether the 15-hour delay was crucial
or not under the circumstances of this case was a matter
concerning which evidence should and could have been pro-
duced. No evidence was produced. We simply do not
know whether the likelihood of arresting the infection was
decreased or not. Holliday did not die until the 18th day

ILL a ys oe ee hs BNE = _—

2 A RNB

11

after hospitalization. The tenuous conclusion of the Court
below finds no support in the record.

Since the case had to be remanded for the assessment of
damages in any event, we suggest that it would have
been the proper course to have remanded it so that testi-
mony on the point could have been introduced.

Conclusion

The decision of the Court below cannot be supported
from the evidence in this record. In entering judgment
against this Petitioner the Court below held contrary to
the following decisions by this Court as well as a longer
list of decisions by other Courts of Appeal.

Brady v. Southern Ry. Co., 320 U. 8. 476

Echenrode v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 335 U. 8. 329

DeZon v. American President Line, 318 U. 8. 660

Commercial Molasses Corp. v. New York Tank Barge
Corp., 314 U. S. 104

Pennsylvania R. Co. v. Chamberlain, 288 U. S. 333

Baltimore & Carolina Line vy. Redman, 295 U.S. 654

Henry Cross Co. v. Simmons, 96 F. (2) 482

Spain v. Powell, 90 F. (2) 580

District of Columbia v. Vignau, 144 F. (2) 641; cert.
den. 823 U. S. 781

The present case is a classic illustration of the rule that
judgment must go against the party who, having the bur-
den of persuasion, fails to introduce evidence to support
a finding essential to his recovery.

3s i ee at me ree 2 FRA, TRH es See BOP Ae PAY
SEO LN NENA CLE GRA TE I TERE AE MOINES NTR I OTN RTA

MEDELITE

SEBEL SATE FORE IPE

DPRALOE SE IA NCL ERENT ERE YD eres

PEER MESSRS iD:

CaN SE

TIMI S

ie rd

12

The decision of the Court below is wrong. It is impor-
tant that inferior Courts know that the rules of law apply
even to a hearing de novo before a Court of Appeals. The
writ should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Paciric ATLanTic Steamsuir Co.,
Petitioner.
By: THomas E. Byrne, Jr.,
Counsel for Petitioner.

(6261)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1537%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
