# Opposition Brief — Chemical Bank & Trust Co. v. Group of Institutional Investors

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1095%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1952
- **Citation:** 343 U.S. 982

## Text

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Octosper Term 1951

Nos. 524, 525, 526, 527 and 528

a ee
CuemicaL Banx & Trust Company, as Trustee under the
Indenture dated as of December 1, 1926 securing Missouri
Pacific Secured Serial Bonds; ALLEGHANY CORPORATION;
Missouri Paciric RarLroap Company 514% Srcurep SERIAL
BonpHoLvers CoMMITTEE; JoHN V. Farwe t, III, et al.,
Independent Directors of the Missouri Pacific Railroad

Company; and Missourr Pactric Rattroap Company,
Petitioners,

v.

Group or LNsTITUTIONAL INvEsToRS HoLpING First AND
RerunpiInG MortcGace 5% Bonps or Missourt Paciric Rait-
roAD CoMPANy, et al.,
Respondents.
——E ae

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITIONS FOR WRITS OF
CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
EIGHTH CIRCUIT

This brief is filed in opposition to the petitions in the
above entitled causes for writs of certiorari to review the
judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
affirming the order of the United States District Court for
the Eastern Judicial District of Missouri, Eastern Division,
approving the Plan.

2

Opinions Below

Court of Appeals—State of Texas v. Group of Insti-
tutional Investors, et al., 191 F. 2d 265 (8th Cir.
1951); (Tr. 14-36).

District Court—/n re Missouri Pacific R. Co., 93 F.
Supp. 832 (K.D. Mo. 1950); (R. 915-945).

Commission—Missourit Pacific Railroad Company
Reorganization, 275 I.C.C. 59, 203 (1949); (Vol.

LII, pp. 28461-28760).

Jurisdiction

All of the petitioners invoke the jurisdiction of this
Court under Section 1254 of the Judicial Code (28
U.S.C.A. $1254). Some of the petitioners also rely on
Section 24¢ of the Bankruptey Act (11 U.S.C.A. $47;
Serial Trustee’s Petition, p. 5, Alleghany Petition, p. 3,
Debtor’s Petition, p. 2). The motion of the Independent
Directors contains no citation to any statute or decision

which indicates that the jurisdiction of this Court ean be
invoked by such a motion.

Preliminary Statement

The petitions contain a brief summary of the history
of these proceedings. These summary statements serve to
emphasize an outstanding fact. On March 31st of this
year these proceedings will have been pending for nineteen
years. During this long period the creditors in this reor-
ganization have been enjoined from enforcing their claims.
Junior creditors holding claims of approximately
$120,000,000 in principal amount have received no interest
whatever on their claims since the inception of these
proceedings. With a single important exception—the
New Orleans First Mortgage bondholders—the senior
ereditors whose claims are dealt with in the Plan have

SANCRR MEE MERLE LIES ERLE EIS LEIEL ELLIS ORE LBM LLL NE PD
= nee ~ — -_ 7

ee

i

7-7"

3

received interest during these proceedings at an average
rate far below the rates of interest to be borne by the new
securities allocated to them under the Plan. This situation
has prevailed notwithstanding the high level of earnings
during the war years, which the petitioners emphasize.
Such a situation certainly was not foreseen by this Court
when it rendered the first of its important decisions con-
struing Section 77. Continental Illinois National Bank
é Trust Co. v. Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railway
Company, 294 U. S. 648 (1935). It is inconceivable that
Congress should have intended such a result. This long
delay ought not to be ignored in considering the argu-
ments which urge this Court to postpone consideration
of the petitions or to adopt a construction of Section 208
which would prevent this Court from settling promptly
the questions which the petitioners say are of sufficient
importance to merit review by this Court. (See Point I,
p. 8, infra; Independent Directors Pet., pp. 31-32, Debt-
or’s Pet., pp. 2-3, 26-33.)

A. The Petitioners

The petitioners* may he conveniently classified as
follows:

(i) Those who object to the treatment of the New Or-
leans capital stock—the Serial Trustee and the Serial Com-
mittee (Causes Nos. 524 and 526);

(ii) Those who object to the treatment of the Missouri
Pacifie equity—Alleghany and the Debtor, which is control-
led by Alleghany through ownership of a large block of
common stock (Vol. LII, p. 28480; Causes Nos. 525 and

* Other petitions for certiorari in this proceeding were filed by the
State of Texas (Cause No. 416) and Morris, et al. (Cause No. 415)
in November 1951. This Court denied these petitions on January 2
and 28, 1952, respectively.

4

528). The Independent Directors fall into this group also
(Cause No. 527).*

The Plan deals with thirteen classes of creditors.t Rep-
resentatives of only one of these classes, holders of the
Serial Bonds, have filed petitions seeking review of the
judgment below (Causes Nos. 415, 524 and 526). The Court
below correctly stated: ‘‘None of the preceding plans of
reorganization received such general measure of accep-
tance by creditors’’ (Tr. 18; In re Missouri Pacific R. Co.,
50 F. Supp. 936, 943 (E.D. Mo. 1943); Wright v. Group of
Institutional Investors, 163 F. 2d 1022 (8th Cir., 1947)).
But as the Court below noted, ‘‘It is unlikely that all the
other creditors are entirely satisfied with [the Plan] as
the claims of only one of the classes, the New Orleans
First Mortgage Bonds, are to be satisfied in full in cash
or its equivalent. All the rest must submit to substantial
adjustments’”’ (Tr. 18). Appendix A, page 33, infra, indi-
cates how far short the Plan falls of providing satisfaction
of the claims of System creditors in a realistic sense.

B. The questions presented by the petitions

The principal contentions of the petitioners are that

(i) all proceedings for approval of the Plan are sus-
pended by the provisions of Section 208(a)(5) because of
the pendency of the proceeding before the Commission
under Section 208(a)(1)** (Independent Directors Pet.,
pp. 9-10 and Motion, pp. 25-32; Debtor’s Pet., pp. 26-33).

* However, these dissident directors, being a minority, do not speak
for the Debtor. Nor do they have any authority under Section 77(p)
to represent security holders of any class. As a minority of directors,
they have no interest in this reorganization which is entitled to the
protection of the courts or the Commission. Section 77(e) required
the District Court to hear only “parties in interest”.

¢ Exclusive of holders of Cairo and Thebes Railroad Company 4%
First Mortgage Bonds (all of which were acquired by the Trustee on
December 1, 1950) and equipment obligations.

** The pertinent provisions of Section 208 are set forth in Appendix
C (p. 38, infra).

PETER IIE EA PRIN ENG te Ta i AB A OETA hate

eo ee

5

(ii) the findings of the Commission as to earning power,
value and capitalization are not supported by the weight
of the evidence (Alleghany Pet., pp. 30-38; Serial Trustee
Pet., p. 10; Serial Committee Pet., pp. 5-12: Independent
Directors Pet., pp. 16-18, 20-23; Debtor’s Pet., pp. 13-24,
37-43). Certain of the petitioners assert that the Commis-
sion’s action in making these findings was abitrary and
failed to conform with legal standards. Others assert
that the District Court and the Court below were casual
in their review of the Commission’s findings. However,
their petitions reveal only a disagreement with the Com-
mission as to the weight of the evidence.

(iii) the consolidation provided for in the Plan is not
authorized by Section 77 (Independent Directors Pet., pp.
10-13; Serial Committee Pet., pp. 18-19).

(iv) the Commission unlawfully limited the capitaliza-
tion of the New Orleans by physical value factors (Serial
Trustee Pet., pp. 6-11).

(v) the Commission failed to comply with the require-
ments of Section 208(b) in disposing of surplus cash
(Independent Directors Pet., pp. 18-20).

(vi) certain provisions of the Plan relating to the elee-
tion of the first board of directors are unlawful (Inde-
pendent Directors Pet., pp. 14-16).

This Court, in the Western Pacific, Milwaukee and
Denver cases* supplied important and necessary interpre-
tations of Section 77. At the time of these decisions a
large part of the railroad mileage of the United States

* Ecker v. Western Pacific R. Corp., 318 U. S. 448 (1943) ; Group
of Institutional Investors v. C hicago, Milwaukee, Si. Pau! & Pacific
R. Co., 318 U. S. 523 (1943) ; R.F.C. v. Denver & R.G. W.R. Co.,
328 U.S. 495 (1946).

WP) een eee *
| iit acai devi

6

was in the hands of trustees and receivers. The clarifi-
eation of Section 77 which the above cited decisions fur-
nished greatly facilitated the return of the properties of
the major roads in bankruptey and receivership to their
owners. The Missouri Pacific System is the only im-
portant exception.t

Each of the prior plans in this reorganization has heen
hotly contested by numerous parties. Almost every con-
ceivable objection to those plans was raised. Both the
District Court and the Commission have devoted a great
deal of thoughtful consideration to the probleis of this
reorganization. The opinions of the District Court and
the reports of the Commission reveal an understanding of
and adherence to the requirements of Section 77 and the
principles laid down in the above cited decisions of this
Court.* The return of the two prior plans to the Commis-
sion for reconsideration and revision indicates an anxious
desire on the part of the Court below, the District Cou
and the Commission to protect the private rights «
security holders as fully as is consistent with the publ
interest and to insure that no creditor or stockholder shall

+ At the end of 1943 the operated steam railroad mileage in receiver-
ship and trusteeship was 64,887. At the end of 1950 this mileage had
been reduced to 12,223, of which 9,793 miles, or more than 75%, was
operated by the Trustee of the debtors comprising the Missouri Pacific
System (58th and 65th Annual Reports of the Interstate Commerce
Commission—1944, 1951—-App. E).

* The two prior opinions of the District Court are reported in 39 F.
Supp. 436 (E.D. Mo. 1941) and 64 F. Supp. 64 (E.D. Mo. 1945)
[1941 R. 2328; 1946 R. 1080]. The opinion of the District Court
returning the 1940 Plan is reported in 50 F. Supp. 936 (E.D. Mo.
1943) [1946 R. pp. 111-124]. The prior reports of the Commission
are reported in 239 I.C.C. 7 (1940) and 257 I.C.C. 479 (1944) [1941
R. pp. 295-473; 1946 R. pp. 646-853]. In 1947, prior to the enact-
ment of Section 208, the Court below requested the views of the Com-
mission as to the advisability of returning the 1944 Plan in the light
of changed conditions. Following the Commission’s recommendation,
it returned the plan to the Commission. Wright v. Group of Institu-
tional Investors, 163 F. 2d 1022 (8th Cir. 1947) [R. 1].

7

forfeit anything of value. This record is entirely incon-
sistent with the charges of arbitrary action by the Commis-
sion and casual review by the District Court* and the
Court below.

None of the questions presented by the petitioners are
comparable in importance with the type of question dealt
with in the three decisions of this Court above cited. In
large part the questions presented by the petitions have to
do with the application of the principles laid down in those
decisions to the particular facts of this case. Indeed some
of the petitioners by their emphasis on physical values and
book values seek indirectly to obtain a modification of the
rule which makes earning power the primary test of value.
Other questions are presented for the purpose of obtaining
another trial of the facts. These are not the type of ques-
tions which this Court will consider.

* Judge Moore, by whose order the Plan was approved, has had a
wide experience in Section 77 reorganizations. In addition to the
Missouri Pacific he also supervised administration of the Frisco and
Cotton Belt estates. In re St. Louis-San Francisco Ry. Co., 59 F.
Supp. 417 (E. D. Mo. 1945), aff'd sub nom. Brooks v. St. Louis-San
Francisco Ry. Co., 153 F. 2d 312 (8th Cir., 1946); Jn re St. Louis
Southwestern Ry. Co., 53 F. Supp. 914 (E. D. Mo. 1944), aff'd with
modification, sub nom. St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. Henwood,
157 I. 2d 337 (8th Cir., 1946) cert. den. 330 U. S. 836 (1949). The
Frisco plan was confirmed on November 15, 1945 (see Jn re St.
Louis-San Francisco Ry. Co., 68 F. Supp. 921 (E. D. Mo. 1946).
In cooperation with the Commission, Judge Moore dismissed the
Cotton Belt proceedings upon completion of an arrangement with
creditors which avoided the need for reorganization. Moody's Man-
ual of Investments, Railroads, 1951, p. 886; St. Louis Southwestern
Railway Company Securities, 267 1.C.C. 392 (1947).

ARGUMENT
POINT |

The contention that proceedings for approval of the
Plan are suspended because of the pendency of the
Section 208(a)(1) proceeding does not present a ques-
tion which merits review by this Court.

The Debtor and the Independent Directors assert that
all proceedings relating to the Plan in this reorganization
are suspended because of the pendency of the Section
208(a)(1) proceeding before the Commission (Debtor’s
Pet., pp. 26-33; Independent Directors Pet., p. 9; Indepen-
dent Directors Motion, pp. 25-32).

The Independent Directors have sought to raise the
issue by annexing to their petition a motion asking this
Court to vacate the judgment below because it was entered
after the filing of the Section 208(a)(1) petition (Inde-
pendent Directors Motion, pp. 25-32). In the alternative
their motion requests that consideration of all petitions
for certiorari be deferred pending disposition by the

- Commission of the Section 208(a)(1) proceeding. This
motion is apparently intended to avoid the requirements
of the certiorari procedure. If the construction of Section
208(a)(5) involves a question which merits the consider-
ation of this Court, it can be dealt with by granting cer-
tiorari for the specific purpose of deciding that question.

We contend that the wording and history of Section 208
plainly negatives the contentions of the Debtor and the
Independent Directors and that aecordingly the entry of
the judgment below was not in conflict with Section 208.
There is no important question for this Court’s con-
sideration.

PLEIN EE SRNODE OV EAL OE ILE ION, LEE ITLL LIE ITIE BILE SLO IIR LORE SNE ttl

9

Section 208(a)(5) provides as follows:

**(5) each petition filed under the provisions of
paragraph (1) or paragraph (3) of this subsec-
tion (a) shall be filed with the court before which
is pending the plan which is the subject of the peti-
tion and such petition shall be referred by the
court to the Commission. Upon the filing of such
petition with the court all further proceedings for
confirmation of the plan shall be suspended pend-
ing disposition of the petition by the Commission
and certification of its action thereon to the court.’’

It is evident from the language of the Senate Committee
report*-on this legislation that the basic purpose of Sec-
tion 208 is to give the Commission an opportunity to
review a plan in the light of changed conditions prior to
final confirmation.

The time limitations governing the filing of a petition

| under Section 208(a)(1) are explicitly tied in with the
| confirmation procedure of Section 77. Thus Section
208(a)(1) permits the filing of a petition by any party
at any time more than 18 months after the Commission’s
approval of a plan

‘*but before any order confirming the plan shall
have been entered, or, such an order having been
entered, if an appeal from said order is pending
on said date in a circuit court of appeals or the
matter is pending in the Supreme Court on a
petition to review any order of a cireuit court of
appeals dealing with said order of confirmation or
the time within which to make such appeal or to
file such petition has not expired * * *.’? (Emphasis
supplied.)

Suinilar language relating to confirmation is contained in
Section 208(a)(2) and (3).

* The text of Senate Report 897, in so far as pertinent to the argu-
ment of this brief, is set forth in Appendix B (p. 34, infra).

. IEEE 4 ‘ SEED SOA See

10

In the first three paragraphs of Section 208(a) the
terms ‘‘order confirming’’, ‘‘order of confirmation’’ and
‘‘confirmation’’ are used seven times and in each instance
there can be no doubt that Congress was referring to
confirmation or an order of confirmation in the sense in
which it is used in Section 77(e). The use of the term
‘fapproval’’ on four oceasions and ‘‘consummated’’ on
three other occasions in Section 208(a) leaves little room
for doubt that Congress was perfectly well aware of the
separate and distinct procedures for approval and con-
firmation laid down in Section 77(e) and of the established
terminology employed in railroad reorganizations.

There is no reason for supposing that in using the
phrase ‘‘ proceedings for confirmation of the plan’’ in Sec-
tion 208(a)(5), Congress meant anything other than the
usual proceedings directly related to confirmation in its
strict sense.* Section 208 was enacted as a part of Public
Law 478 (approved April 9, 1948) and constituted Section
3 thereof. Section 2 thereof (commonly called the ‘‘ Mahaf-
_ fie Act’’+) permits a carrier in reorganization under Sec-
tion 77, with the permission of the District Court, to file
a ‘*Mahaffie Act’? plan with the Commission. Section 2
provides that ‘‘upon granting of such permission, such
proceeding [under Section 77] so far as it relates to a
plan of reorganization, shall be suspended * * *.,”?
(Emphasis supplied.) Plainly, Congress knew how to
phrase a provision which would suspend all proceedings
relating to a plan when it so intended. In Section 208
Congress intended only to stay the hand of the court in
exercising its function of confirmation. The procedures
developed and the language used in Section 208 precisely
effect that intention.

* Legal terms in a statute are presumed to have been used in their
legal sense. 2 Sutherland, Statutory Construction, pp. 438-39 (3rd
ed., 1943), and cases there cited.

+ Interstate Commerce Act, Sec. 20b (49 U.S.C.A. §20b).

LEE E EERE EI EASES. IRE LL MOOIE SE AE i OE LE SE SEIS LP SLE SIE, 8s OIE EEE ODE PAIN FRE

_—_

11

The issues sought to be raised in this Court involve
approval of the Plan, not confirmation.* There can be
no ‘‘collision’’ between this Court’s action in approval
proceedings and the Commission’s actions under Section
208. If certiorari is granted, it will be to determine an
important question of law arising out of the record which
was before the Commission when it certified the Plan and
the record in the District Court in the proceedings
for approval of the Plan. The function of approval is
assigned by Section 77(e) to the courts. None of the
issues raised in the approval proceedings is or can prop-
erly be before the Commission in the Section 208(a) (1)
proceedings.

The function of the Commission in the Section 208(a) (1)
proceeding is to appraise events which have transpired
since its certification of the Plan in order to determine
whether reexamination or revision of the Plan is necessary.

If the Commission finds that reexamination and revi-
sion are unnecessary, any action taken by this Court on
the petitions will be neither ‘‘unseemly’’ nor a ‘‘waste
of time and energies’’ of the Court—indeed the progress
of the Plan toward consummation will in that event be
materially expedited. If the Commission finds that the
Plan should be reexamined and revised, it should have
the benefit of this Court’s determination of any issue
which merits review for its guidance in the subsequent
Section 208(b) proceeding. For example, each of the

* After entry of the approval order, the Plan was submitted to
security holders for acceptance or rejection pursuant to Section 77.
The Plan was rejected by only three of the 17 classes to which it was
submitted, viz., the Missouri Pacific preferred stockholders (Class 2),
the holders of the New Orleans publicly-held capital stock (Class 3)
and the Serial bondholders (Class 19). Rejection of the Plan by these
classes rendered it necessary for the District Court to reexamine the
Plan. Confirmation hearings were held in June 1951 and briefs filed.
Those proceedings, being “for confirmation’’, are suspended pending
determination of the Section 208 proceeding.

ete BELL LEG EOS A GE RAED AIO DERE RE LLG TASTIER IT La ROT A ED

12

plans heretofore issued in this reorganization has provided
for consolidation of the debtors. It is urged that this
provision is unlawful. The courts below have held that
the Commission has power to authorize a consolidation
under Section 77 (R. 937-39; Tr. 21-25). In view of the
Commission’s repeated findings that such consolidation
is in the public interest, there can be no real doubt that
any new or modified plan which the Commission may
hereafter approve, if the Plan is returned, will provide
for consolidation. Thus, if this Court is of the opinion
that an important question is presented by this conten-
tion (or any of the other contentions of the petitioners),
any future deliberations of the Commission and the Dis-
trict Court will be substantially aided, not hindered, by
the grant of the writ and prompt determination of the
issue.

To us it seems obvious that the Debtor and the Inde-
pendent Directors are urging a strained construction of
the plain language of Section 208 which is inconsistent
with the intention of Congress and which would convert
that legislation into an instrument to hinder and delay
creditors. It is most unlikely that any of the lower
Federal courts will adopt such an interpretation of this
legislation should the question ever again arise. Thus
there is no need for a pronouncement of this Court on
the matter. It would also seem prudent to permit the
Commission and the lower Federal courts to acquire some
experience in the administration of this new law before
this Court undertakes to interpret it. Such experience
should be of invaluable aid to this Court.

PLY MSE RE LM ER RCP ERE AUN EAR

RPA PIN SOE RS ES. SME NRE Er apt TER
. ad a Bob

—

13

POINT II

The findings of the Commission as to maximum
permissible capitalization should not be reviewed by

this Court.

This Court will not grant certiorari ‘‘merely to review the
evidence or inferences drawn from it’? (General Pictures
Co. v. Electric Co., 304 U. S. 175, 178 (1938), United States
v. O’Donnell, 303 U. S. 501, 508 (1938) ): nor will it disturb
the concurrent findings of the courts below unless they
are shown to be ‘‘clearly erroneous’’. Faulkner vy. Gibbs,
338 U.S. 267, 268 (1949), Williams Co. v. Shoe Machinery
Corp., 316 U. S. 364, 367 (1942), Allen v. Trust Company,
326 U. S. 630, 636 (1946), Robertson and Kirkham, Juris-
diction of the Supreme Court of the United States (1951),
pp. 657-59. The ‘‘two court’? rule operates as well upon
consideration of applications for certiorari as in the deci-
sion of eases on the merits. Robertson and Kirkham,
Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United States
(1951), pp. 659-661."

Some of the petitioners pay lip service to the rules which
control court review of the findings of the Commission
concerning matters which are affected with the public
interest (e.g., Alleghany Pet., p. 29, question 1). But upon
analysis it will be found that the questions which the
petitioners raise as to the findings pertain only to the —
weight of the evidence. The Missouri Pacific equity inter-
ests question the Commission’s findings as to maximum
permissible capitalization of the System and component
debtors. It is asserted that in determining capitalization
the Commission gave undue weight to past earnings,

*The Court of Appeals decisions cited on pages 36-37 of the
Alleghany Petition are, of course, not in conflict with the “two court”
rule.

aa rr a a eer

14

improperly computed physical values and generally
ignored evidence of the improved condition of the System
and of the area it serves. These parties emphasize the
high earnings of the System since 1941, the substantial
increase in physical values and other favorable facts
which the record discloses. They overlook the opinions
of this Court which suggest caution in the use of statistics
which reflect transitory conditions such as war. Milwaukee
ease, 318 U. S. 523, 542-544; Western Pacific ease, 318
U. S. 448, 506-509. They completely ignore the adverse
factors which have affected railroads since 1945, such as
the growing losses of rail traffic to competitive forms of
transportation and the spiralling cost of labor and
materials.

Of necessity the determination of capitalization and
earning power requires the weighing of many complex
factors. It involves knowledge of the national transporta-
tion economy, of traffic sources and potentialities, of the
effect of economic developments on railroad traffie and
revenues, and of trends in earnings and costs of operation.
It involves an attempt to foresee the future. It vitally
concerns the public interest. The appraisal of these factors
has been entrusted to the Commission and, if legal stand-
ards are followed, its findings are given conclusory effect
by Congress and this Court. Section 77: Ecker v. Western
Pacific R. Corp., 318 U. S. 448, 468-77 (1943); Group of
Institutional Investors v. Chicago, Milwaukee, St. P. &
P. R. Co., 318 U. 8. 523, 538-42 (1943).

The wisdom of committing this determination to an
expert administrative agency, equipped to deal with the
mass of evidence that inevitably accompanies a railroad
reorganization, cannot be doubted. At the time of issuance
of the Plan, this proceeding had been pending for over
16 years. The Commission and the District Court had
dealt with testimony, exhibits, orders, financial statements

15

and otier pertinent data comprehending thousands of
printed pages of record.*

The petitioners invite this Court to review this enormous
record and, in effect, ‘‘to try the case de novo.’’ Such an
invitation is ordinarily declined. Timken Roller Bearing
Co. v. U. 8., 341 U.S. 593, 596-7 (1951). It should be in
this case. None of the three principal contentions of the
Missouri Pacific equity interests demonstrates error in the
Commission’s findings.

1. The contention that the Commission, in making its
findings as to earning power, relied on a “depression fore-

cast” and ignored war earnings and recent favorable
developments.

Alleghany complains that the forecast of earnings made
by the Commission was ‘‘preponderantly based’’ on the
so-called ‘‘normal year’’ forecast of the Trustee which was
‘prepared and presented to the Commission in the depth
of the world’s worst depression’’. It is argued that the
Commission ignored the changes in the fundamental
character of the Systeim’s traffic, changes in economic con-
ditions, economic improvements in the Southwest and ‘‘all
the other undisputed evidence in the record as to the pres-
ent and probable future increased earning capacity of the
System’’ (Alleghany Pet., pp. 14-24, 34-35; see also Inde-
pendent Directors Pet., pp. 16-18 and Debtor’s Pet., pp.
16-24, 37-41). It is claimed that the Commission in 1948

* The printed record before this Court constitutes over 4500 pages
of testimony, reports, orders and exhibits. The printed record in the
District Court (only a fraction of which is included in the printed
record before this Court) immediately prior to the issuance of the
Plan consisted of over 28,000 pages of petitions and orders dealing
with the administration of the debtors’ estates, reports and financial
statements of the debtors. The printed record in the District Court
is transmitted to, and forms part of the record before, the Commis-
sion. Hundreds of additional pages of testimony bearing on develop-
ments since 1949 are now under consideration by the Commission
in the pending Section 208 (a)(1) proceeding.

LET OS ETE! IT MIE PTE NTE GAARA ET 5 IED PL ID RENE ORR

16

merely revised the Trustee’s ‘‘normal year’’ forecast to
reflect expected increases in citrus and chemical traffic, and
in so doing ‘‘arbitrarily’’ reduced Mr. Neff’s estimate by
over $1,000,000 (Alleghany Pet., pp. 18, 23, 34; Debtor’s
Pet., pp. 37-38). The Comission has specifically stated
that its ‘‘determinations of a normal year’s earnings for
each of the three principal debtors and for the system
are not the result of mere additions of prospective earn-
ings from citrous and chemical traffic to the trustee’s
normal-year forecasts’’ (Vol. LI, p. 28655). In arriv-
ing at its forecast of normal year earnings, the Commis-
sion considered the earnings data for the five-year period
(1937-1941) immediately preceding the entry of the United
States into World War II and the seven-year period (1942-
1948) which includes the war years and the three years
immediately following the war (Vol. LII, pp. 28541-28542).
It also considered extensive testimony and exhibits regard-
ing recent developments in the Southwestern territory,
including the chemical and citrus growth, increases in popu-
lation in the System territory, increases in income pay-
ments, wages and salaries and other statistics which tend
to indicate that the Southwestern territory has had a
greater proportion of growth in business and agricultural
activity than the rest of the United States (Vol. LI, pp.
28534-28541, 28655, 28667; Tr. 33-4). The Commission con-
cluded that the average annual yolume of traffic and oper-
ating revenues in the future will be larger than the average
for the five or ten vears immediately preceding the war.
The Commission commented:

‘However, in that event, the cost of labor and ima-
terials will also be on a higher level. So far as
recent experience indicates, these costs have repre-
sented a considerably greater proportionate in-
crease than have the revenues. The resulting earn-
ings available for interest have not been commen-
surate with the increased traffic veiume. In the

zt SILI gas oer ages atten _
OPN LON EAT BRET LR Te Nee SE SRI DNR RN ENR eR Se ee

17

event of a business depression (‘industrial contrac-
tion’) both operating revenues and costs will doubt-
less suffer a serious decline but past experience has
shown that the traffic volume and revenues will de-
crease in a greater degree proportionally than will
expenses’’ (Vol. LII, p. 28542).

The District Court, having considered the entire rec-
ord, found that the Commission’s findings and conclu-
sions were supported by the evidence (R. 949, 919).

The charge that the Plan is based on a ‘‘depression
formula’’ for earnings is controverted by the record. In
1940 the Commission’s estimate of the System’s normal
year earnings at about $22,000,000 was substantially in
excess of actual System earnings during the 1930’s. Only
in the first two years of that period did System earnings
equal or exceed $22,000,000 (1941 R. Vol. II, pp. 331-335;
Vol. LIT, p. 28542). The Commission’s forecast of
$25,450,000 exceeds by over $14,000,000 the average annual
earnings for the period 1932-1940. It is $10,000,000 in
excess of the highest annual earnings in that period. The
new capitalization cannot be serviced adequately with
income available for interest of $25,450,000. Such earn-
ings will provide nothing for the new common stock,
Class B, and will amount to less than 5% on the capi-
talization represented by the new common stock, Class
A.* As the inflation of prices continues, an increasing pro-
portion of earnings will be required for replacement of
plant and equipment. Only in periods of relatively high

* Under the Plan the total annual charges through the dividend on
the new preferred stock will amount to $21,362,252, exclusive of capital
expenditures fund and sinking funds (R. 28638). Out of the normal
year earnings of $25,450,000, there will remain, after payment of the
preferred stock dividend, $4,087,252. Sinking fund requirements of
the Plan and the need for substantial expenditures for replacements
and improvements will prevent the distribution by way of dividends
of a large portion, if not all, of this balance of earnings in the normal
year.

ae OCR E LE RE MIE LIT TE EB OS PII eA ABS EK ISSR NR ea a

18

earnings can the holders of new Class A and Class B com-
mon stocks expect to receive dividends. It is plain that
the new capitalization was not predicated on earnings of
the 1930’s.

2. The contention that the Commission failed to accord
proper weight to improvements.

Alleghany and the Debtor urge that the vast improve-
ments in System properties, especially the dieselization
program, have been accorded insufficient recognition (Alle-
ghany Pet., pp. 13-14, 17-18; Debtor’s Pet., pp. 20-22).
They emphasize the dollar amount of expenditures for
additions and betterments, but fail to show that increased
earnings will result.

It is apparent from the Commission repurts that the
Commission was fully aware of the improvements that had
been and were being made in the physical plant of the
System and of the economies of operation to be realized
therefrom. The Commission found that the probable
normal year income deternined by it ‘‘sufficiently reflects
any economies of operation resulting from improvements
made to the debtor’s properties since 1944’’ (Vol. LII,
pp. 28545, 28542-45, 28555, 28511, 28667).

Prior to the issuance of the Plan in December, 1949, the
Commission also had before it the petitions filed, and
orders entered, in the District Court in the years 1948
and 1949 reflecting the further progress of the Trustee’s
program for dieselization and other extensive additions
and betterments.

The mere statement of the dollar expenditures for
improvements gives this Court no basis for appraising
their effect on earning power.* <A considerable portion of

* As the Commission has stated, railroad property “must be properly
maintained and replacement spending does not necessarily result in
increased net earnings. Such expenditures are often required to pre-
serve earnings, particularly in view of competitive conditions” (Vol.

LII, p. 28545).

IETS NA BES RAR LL A RST IT IER LOIS SOREN. TAB: SE NTO PRONE IE EH CO ENS Y areee me ceanereet ee

19

such expenditures is required for necessary replacements
to insure effective and safe operation.* Substantial
amounts have gone into the extensive program of dieseli-
zation. That has been a vital necessity to maintain the
competitive position of the System. Spiralling costs of
labor and materials have added millions of dollars to the
cost of improvements. A very substantial proportion of
the cost of improvements is not reflected in increased
earning power. ‘This is clearly an area in which the
expert judgment of the Commission is required.

3. The contention that reproduction cost was improp-
erly computed.

Among the elements of value considered by the Com-
mission was reproduction cost (Vol. LI, pp. 23510-13;
28553; 28667-68)**.

Alleghany and the Debtor urge that the Commission
should have adopted a multiplier of 227 (or more) in com-

* Alleghany specifically refers to “installation of heavier rails,
shorter and permanent steel bridges and creosoted ties and bridge
material and grade reductions” (Alleghany Pet., p. 14). In the
Denver case this Court took note of the fact that “Railroads, even in
reorganizations, must make additions to take care of public needs or to
lower operating costs” (328 U. S., at p. 515).

** Alleghany offers the unique suggestion that (alsent a showing
that a railroad has had an opportunity through fair rates to earn a
proper return) its value for reorganization cannot be fixed at less than
its reproduction cost less depreciation. (Alleghany Pet., pp. 38-46).
Not a single reorganization case is cited in direct support of this
contention. This Court has thoroughly discussed the proper basis for
determining reorganization value and has distinguished value for rate
making purposes from reorganization value. (\Jilzeuukee case, 318
U.S. at pp. 539-40; H’estern Pacific case, 318 U.S. at pp. 482-3.)
Even if value for rate making purposes were controlling, Alleghany has
failed to demonstrate error. The notion that rates must yield a fair
return on reproduction cost has been repudiated by this Court. Federal
Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U. S. 591 (1944) ;
Federal Power Commission v. Pipeline Co., 315 U. S. 575 (1942) ;
See also Robert L. Hale “Utility Regulation In The Light Of The
Hope Natural Gas Case”, 44 Col. L. Rev. 488, 496 (1944) ; Robert
Swaine “A Decade of Railroad Reorganization under Section 77 of the
Federal Bankruptcy Act”, 56 Harv. L. Rev. 1193, 1196 (1943).

. NS 8 tye on -

€
3
fi
5

“tient OA Ee BNR

sc Oe a ORI oe RT ioe ees ’ _
Baveiesctrs SPAS ES I a EE

20

puting reproduction cost (Alleghany Pet., pp. 8-11, 33-34;
Debtor’s Pet., pp. 41-42). This was the ‘‘spot’’ multiplier
for 1946 (Vol. LII, p. 28668), based on the then current
actual costs of construction (R. 156-7). The multiplier of
175 used by the Commission is a ‘‘ period price multiplier’’,
which reflects construction cost trends (Vol. LII, pp. 28510-
11, 28668; R. 468-69).

The Commission was of the opinion that the use of a
‘‘spot multiplier’’ is not ‘‘proper in determining capital-
ization’’ in reorganization (Vol. LII, pp. 28667-68; see
also R. 921).”

Alleghany’s contention merely indicates a disagreement
with the Commission and the Bureau of Valuation as to
the weight to be given to current construction costs in
determining reorganization value (Tr. 30). This is a field
in which the Commission’s conclusions are binding. Alle-
ghany has failed to show that, in reaching its conclusions,
the Commission has disregarded legal standards.**

In general, the petitioners have emphasized all the
favorable factors which may influence earnings, partic-
ularly as reflected in the high earnings during and since
World War LI. In the Milwaukee case this Court indi-
cated that war earnings are an unreliable criterion of

* This position is quite understandable. As appears from the
Alleghany petition (p. 8), the weighted average cost index for the
Southwestern area (Region VIII) has equalled 227 in only 4 years in
the 35-year period 1915-1949. Indeed the multiplier of 175 used by
the Commission has been equalled in only 12 years during that period,
four of which were in the inflated 1920s and the remainder of which
were in the World War II and the post-war period.

** If there is any substance to the argument (Alleghany Pet., pp.
10-11) that the Commission in Ex parte 175 (Increased Freight
Rates, 1951, 281 1.C.C. 557 (1951)) has belatedly recognized the
inadequacy of its valuation figures, the Commission will have an
opportunity to reconsider in the light of changed conditions its valu-
ation of the debtors’ properties in the pending Section 208 proceeding.
The Bureau of Valuation filed a new valuation report in those pro-
ceedings in November, 1951.

21

earning capacity (318 U. S. at p. 543). In this case, in
Rutland Railroad Company Reorganization, 267 1.C.C.
153 (1947) and in its Sixth Supplemental Report in the
Florida East Coast Railway Company Reorganization
(decided October 25, 1951), the Commission has properly
expressed its doubts that the high earnings in the post-

: war years are a fair guide to probable future earnings
: (Vol. LU, pp. 28560, 28534). The Commission, unlike
; the appellants, recognized the adverse as well as the
favorable factors which may influence earnings. The
increasing competition from other forms of transporta-
; tion,t increasing costs of operation and the vulnerability
: of the System to floods and frosts have been considered

by the Commission (Vol. LII, pp. 28560, 28655; 1946 R.
Vol. Il, p. 712; 1941 R. Vol. IIT, pp. 807-815, 1101; Vol.
*% IV, pp. 1494-5). These, together with the past perform-
ance of the System,* have been weighed against all of
the favorable factors to which the petitioners refer.

: The record ainply supports the Commission’s conelu-
sions with respect to the earning capacity and the capital-
ization of the System and its constituent debtors (Vol.
LIT, pp. 28501-64, 28656-68; R. 919; Tr. 25-27). The
arguments of the petitioners merely indicate disagreement
as to the weight te be accorded to certain factors and the
conclusions to be drawn from the evidence as a whole
(Tr. 30). This is an entirely insufficient reason for this
Court to review the findings of the Commission or of the
Courts below.

ne See ae =.

+R. 845-47; In its recent Annual Reports, the Commission has
stressed the diversion of traffic from rail to competitive forms of
i transportation (Sixty-Third Annual Report, pp. 3-4; Sixty-Fourth
; Annual Report, pp. 1-3, 20; Sixty-Fifth Annual Report, pp. 2-4).
é * 1941 R. Vol. IT, p. 333; Vol. LIT, p. 28542: See p. 17, supra.

Sols RT bln ee

SSAA? rage pr ncaeees

22

POINT Ill

In considering the petitions this Court should ignore
the evidence as to changed conditions which was sub-
mitted to the Commission in the Section 208(a) (1)
proceedings and to the District Court in the hearings
on confirmation.

Not only do Alleghany and the Debtor invite this Court
to review the findings of the Commission and the District
Court on the extensive record before this Court—they
also ask this Court to test those findings in the light of
evidence which was not before the Commission when it
certified the Plan or before the District Court in the
approval proceedings. Alleghany, the Debtor, the Inde-
pendent Directors and the Serial Committee rely exten-
sively on evidence introduced at the confirmation hear-
ings (held in June 1951) and at the Commission hearings
in the pending Section 208(a)(1) proceeding (Alleghany
Pet., pp. 3-29; Independent Directors Pet., pp. 20-23;
Debtor’s Pet., pp. 24, 39-40, 47-58; Serial Committee Pet.,
pp. 5, 7, 9, 11). The necessity for this Court to test a
plan for changed conditions* in an approval proceeding
has been eliminated by the procedures established by
Section 208. Indeed it is wrong to ask this Court to
appraise such evidence in the absence of any supporting
record and without the benefit of the findings of the
Commission or the District Court. The futility of at-
tempting to draw any conclusions from these references
to evidence introduced at the Section 208 and confirma-
tion hearings may he readily demonstrated:

1. Certain of the petitioners emphasize that
reported System earnings available for interest in
1950 were $45,595,589, or approximately $5,000,000

* Ecker v. Western Pacific R. Corp., 318 U. S. 448, 506-509 (1943).

Tar LP SELIM EE ELS TOOLS FGI Le RL TPE IN RIEL ERE OR 3 ER

23

in excess of comparable earnings in 1948 (Alleghany
Pet., pp. 16, 35; Debtor’s Pet., p. 40; Independent
Directors Pet., p. 21). At the recent Commission
hearings evidence was introduced indicating that
reported 1950 earnings contained a large item of
non-recurring income attributable to prior years.
There was also evidence tending to show that earn-
ings have heen declining since 1948.

2. Alleghany emphasizes testimony (introduced
at the confirmation hearings) that annual savings
in operating expenses of approximately $13,000,000
will result in 1951 from the Trustee’s program of
dieselization (Alleghany Pet., p. 34). Other evi-
dence introduced at these hearings plainly demon-
strated that savings from dieselization effected in
the period 1948-1951 are more than offset by
increases in wages and the cost of materials in that
same period.

3. The Debtor seeks to demonstrate the improved
earning power of the System by quoting at length
from the testimony of T. C. Davis (Debtor’s Pet.,
Appendix B, pp. 47-58). The figures contained in
this testimony were accepted subject to verification.
None of the cross-examination of this witness bear-
ing upon his experience and qualifications is printed
in the Debtor’s petition. This Court does not have
the benefit of the Commission’s appraisal of this
witness’ testimony. Such testimony has no place in
a petition before this Court.

In offering the foregoing examples we do not seek to
demonstrate in this Court that there have been no changes
in conditions since 1949. That is an issue now pending
for determination before the Commission. The examples
are merely offered to show that in the absence of the

RI EMP TS tS RII BR ORE ERE EL ING iy IE FTP EN ERTS RTC IIRL He Tn UE aR ete PEROT XE pea oes ;

24

record of proceedings in the confirmation and Section
208 proceedings, this Court cannot possibly evaluate and
should not consider any part of the evidence introduced in
those proceedings which is relied upon by the petitioners.
It was the intention of Congress in enacting Section
208(a)(1) that before final confirmation the courts might
have the Commission’s expert appraisal of changes, facts
and developments occurring after certification of the plan.
Thereby this Court was to a large extent relieved of the
difficult task of weighing the effect of such changes. This
Court will not now attempt to pass judgment on the issue
of changed conditions which is before the Commission in
the Section 208(a)(1) proceeding and before the District
_ Court in the confirmation proceeding.

POINT IV

The contention that the consolidation proposed in
the Plan is unlawful does not present an important
question. No conflict of decisions is presented.

The Independent Directors and the Serial Committee
contend that the Commission lacked power under Section
77 to provide for the consolidation of the debtors into a
single reorganized company.

The authorities are perfectly clear that the Commission
may provide for such consolidation. In re Chicago, Rock
Island & Pacific Ry. Co., 168 F. 2d 587 (7th Cir., 1948),
cert. den. sub nom. Texas v. Brown, 335 U. S. 855 (1948);
In re Florida East Coast Railway Company, 81 F. Supp.
926 (S. D. Fla. 1949), aff’d sub nom. Atlantic Coast Line
R. Co. v. St. Joe Paper Co., 179 F. 2d 538 (5th Cir., 1950),
eert. den. 339 U. S. 929 (1950); see also Callaway v.
Benton, 336 U. S. 1382 (1949); and see Tr. 24 and cases

25

there cited. No decision cited by the Independent Direc-
tors is in conflict with these cases.

‘The report of a Congressional committee in 1946 (R.
1075-76; Independent Directors Pet., p. 11) eriticizing the
construction placed on Section 77(f) by the Commission
and the courts in this and other proceedings, leads to a
conclusion opposite to that drawn by the Independent
Directors. The fact that the matter was called to the
attention of Congress and that it failed to act on the
suggestions of the Congressional committee indicates that
Congress is quite satisfied with the interpretation which
the Commission and the courts have placed upon Section
77(f). Keystone Mining Co. v. Gray, 120 F. 2d 1 (3rd
Cir., 1941).

No party representing creditors or stockholders (other
than the Serial Committee) complains of the consolidation.
The Serial Committee represents only a fraction of the
Serial Bonds. Neither Morris, et al. (Cause No. 415), nor
the Serial Trustee (Cause No. 524), both of whom rep-
resent the interests of Serial bondholders, seeks to raise
the issue. Obviously no question of general importance
is presented.

POINT V

The contention that the Commission unlawfully
limited the capitalization of the New Orleans by phys-
ical value factors does not present an important
question.

The Serial Trustee contends that the Commission arbi-
trarily limited the valuation of the New Orleans by phys-
ical factors in disregard of its earnings. This argument
is substantially the same as the argument advanced by

REF SEED RET VV EGR LS LTV Bie TN SE prairie 4 . AREH IAHR Ip aE Sy

|

26

Morris, e¢ al. in their Petition 415 which has heretofore
been considered and denied by this Court. This Court
is respectfully referred to Point I of the joint brief of the
Group, the General Mortgage Committee and the Con-
vertible Trustee in opposition to Petition 415.

Alleghany and the Debtor contend that the Commission
has dealt inconsistently with physical factors of the Mis-
souri Pacific and the New Orleans. They urge that phys-
ical values have been permitted to limit capitalization and
value in the case of the New Orleans, and have been given
insufficient weight in valuing the Missouri Pacific (Alle- |
ghany Pet., pp. 46-48; Debtor’s Pet., p. 20). As we have
shown in Point I of our opposing brief in Cause No. 415,
physical values did not operate to limit the value of the
New Orleans. With respect to the Missouri Pacific, earn-
ing power clearly would not support a capitalization based |
on reproduction cost.

POINT VI

The contentions concerning the provision of the
Plan dealing with the selection of the first Board |

of Directors present no important question.

The Independent Directors complain of the pre-edure
for designation of the initial Board of Directors -« the
reorganized company (Independent Directors Pet., pp.
14-16). Much of their statement concerning this subject
is mere assertion without reference to the record.

Section U of the Plan permits certain of the mortgage
trustees and bondholders’ representatives to designate
the initial Board of Directors, one-third of whom shall
serve for one year, one-third for two years and the re-
maining one-third for three years. The classification and

LLIN PLIST SAE S IRE COLELLO ELIE ERIE GLE SNOT SLES NOTRE I ty et Ce
. . P as TES ee See

27

tenure of the first Board is determined by the reor-
ganization managers subject to court approval. Seven
members of the initial Board must be residents of the
territory served by the System, and all must be approved
by the District Court (Vol. LII, pp. 28603-12, 28676-79,
28753-54).

Section 77(b)(5) provides that a plan of reorganization
“‘shall provide adequate means for the execution of the
plan * * *’’ which may include any appropriate ‘‘pro-
visions not inconsistent with this section.’ Section U
was included in the Plan in recognition of the desirability
of insuring ‘‘a degree of stability of management in the
early years of the reorganized company’’ (Vol. LII, p.
28611). The Independent Directors cite no authority for
their contention that such provision is unlawful. They
fail utterly to demonstrate that the fairness of the Plan
is in any way affected.

The Commission ‘has experience in’ the matter of
etarting the new companies off when reorganized’’ (Tr.
39) and the periods of the initial directorships ‘‘are very
short in the life expectancy of the new company’’ (Tr. 36).
It is clearly in the public interest that the reorganized
company shall be assured of a stable management in the
period immediately following consummation of the Plan.
The determination of how such stability can be insured
is a matter for the judgment of the Commission and the
District Court. The requirement that all initial Directors
must be approved by the District Court constitutes ade-
quate protection against improper selections (Tr. 36).

The Independent Directors have failed to show an
abuse of discretion by the Commission or to demonstrate
the importance of the question they seek to raise. Nor
have they shown that they represent any parties who will
be entitled to vote the new common or preferred stock.

_ ——e ELSI TTL PTDL PRIETO TE SENIN TBR SRG ta

28

A showing that rights personal to a petitioner are injured
or in danger of injury is jurisdictional. Tyler v. Judges
of the Court of Registration, 179 U. S. 405, 406-7 (1900) ;
Robertson and Kirkham, Jurisdiction of the Supreme
Court of the United States (1951), Sec. 297, 298 and cases
therein cited.

POINT VII

The contention that the Commission has made im-
proper use of the cash balances of the debtors presents
no important question.

The contentions of the Independent Directors with
respect to the use of surplus cash are stated in such
general terms that it is difficult to understand what their
specific objections to the Plan are. We infer from the
statements made at pages 18-20 of their petition that the
‘*new reorganization principle’’ which they find in Section
208(b) makes it mandatory for the Commission to include
in a plan specific provision for the retirement of debt at
a discount with surplus cash.

They point to the substantial cash balances of Missouri
Pacific and the System at the end of 1948 and imply that
all such amounts in excess of ‘‘liberal working funds’’
were available for purchase of debt at a discount (Inde-
pendent Directors Pet., p. 18).

Section 208(b) does not establish any ‘‘new reorganiza-
tion principle’’ with respect to the use of surplus cash.
The portion of Section 208(b) quoted by the Independent
Directors enumerates some of the factors which the Com-
mission is to consider if a plan is returned at the conclu-
sion of a Section 208(a) proceeding. There is not a
word in Section 208(b) that requires the Commission to
make provision in a plan for retirement of debt at a dis-
count.

LE PUNT RI ASE PLES INI NY AORN AIRE RN Pie RET NCR ROOM REICH ———

29

The Commission was fully aware of the proceedings in
Congress which resulted in this legislation,* and of the
changes, facts and developments emphasized in Section
208(b), when its Fourth and Fifth Supplemental Reports
were issued. It gave extensive consideration to the debt
reduction, including substantial purchases of System debt
at a discount, which had been accomplished since the issu-
ance of the 1944 Plan (Vol. LI, pp. 28471-77, 28576).
This is reflected in the improved treatment of security
holders provided in the Plan. Its discussion of cash
reserves and cash requirements of the System (Vol. LII,
pp. 28521-26; 28575-80), to which the Independent Diree-
tors fail to refer, makes clear the equitable reasons for
the allocation of cash to seniors and the necessity of
maintaining cash balances for working capital, reserves
and Plan requirements. The District Court found that
the Plan made proper use of available cash (R. 942; See
also Tr. 35).

The arguinent of the Independent Directors is based
on a misapprehension of Section 208(b), of the provisions
of the Plan and of the facts in the record. Plainly, no
important question is presented.**

* Section 208 became law on April 9, 1948, more than twenty
months prior to the certification of the Plan. Section A of the Plan
permits tne Trustee to continue his debt retirement program, includ-
ing the purchase of System obligations at a discount (Vol. LIT, pp.
28689-91 ).

** Likewise the assertions of Alleghany and the Serial Committee
as to increases since December 31, 1947 in the value of investments,
in net quick assets, in net worth, and other book values, present no
question for this Court to consider. (Alleghany Pet., p. 13; Serial
Committee Pet., pp. 5-6, 8-9.) They are not based on facts of record
before this Court and no attempt has been made to correlate the
claimed increases with earning power. The last paragraph of Sec-
tion 77(e) deals with the valuation of “property used in railroad
operation”. Nothing in that paragraph required the Commission to
base its valuation of the properties on book values.

SPER ENS EG is RTT DF, He TRO IE ety HNL ATINET RG RON ek he SOR a EY

30

CONCLUSION

The petitions should be denied for the reason that
they fail to present a conflict of decisions or an impor-
tant question which should be reviewed by this Court.
The motion of the Independent Directors (i) in so far
as it requests that the judgment of the Court below be
set aside, should be denied because it fails to comply
with Section 1254 of the Judicial Code (28 U.S.C.A.
§1254) and because the entry of the judgment of the
Court below was not enjoined by Section 208(a) (5)
and (ii) in so far as it requests postponement of con-
sideration of the petitions, should be denied because
no useful purpose would be served thereby and because
such a postponement could result in a further long
delay of these proceedings.

Respectfully submitted,

CHarLes W. McConaueuy,
Morris D. Crawrorp, JR.,
Attorneys for Group of Institutional Investors
Holding First and Refunding Mortgage 5%
Bonds of Missouri Pacific Railroad Company.

CADWALADER, WICKERSHAM & TaFt,
14 Wall Street,
New York 5, N. Y.,
Of Counsel.

Sanroxp H. KE. Freunp,

Attorney for Protective Committee for the
Holders of General Mortgage Bonds of Mis-
sourt Pacific Railroad Company.

SHEARMAN & STERLING & Wricat,
20 Exchange Place,
New York 5, N. Y.,
Of Couwnsel.

SOP MLNS MART VINE EM PILE RTM HEN REALE T AMES EIE ESRI A TORE ANTE BE AS DYES EEN RE Tt rel a ORE

31

Wiiuiam P. Parmer,
Pur KE. Greee,
Attorneys for Bankers Trust Company, Succes-
sor Trustee under Missouri Pacific Railroad
Company Twentuy-Year 5 W% Convertible
Gold Bonds Indenture.
Root, BALLANTINE, Haran,
Bususy & PaLMrr,
31 Nassau Street,
New York 5, N. Y.,
Of Counsel.

Dated: February 15, 1952.

REESE NEEL GE ERIM AI FNL TR BE IE RS Te PEEP ITT NILE AE

’
*~

G Washes eon etaae ee

33

(Z1-L1zZgc “dd ‘{]J ‘JOA,) UoewuMsuods jo aut} dy) ye sed ye Jjas [LM Avy JeYI SozE[dtuaqUOd ULjg ayy
asnvsaq OO] 3& SeinSy JO UWNJOD pUOdas 9y} UI paphydul dv spuog aSvBj10W Jsiy SURIIIQ MON JO S1aPjOYy OF o]qQeNsst
(Sa}OU 3SN4} [v419}e[JOD 10) Y Saag ‘spuog a8eF}10W Jsiy MIU BY “JOYIVU , panssi-udy,, 9Yy} UL Papes} JOU SI 199}R|
24} ANvIIq “EY SSE[D ‘YDO}S UOWIWIOD MoU 3Y} JOJ pasn Udsaq dALY “Y SSEID ‘490}S UOWUOD Mau dy} 10} sUONLIOND ay]
‘UL[q PY} Ul pazyVoo][Y Ysed ay} apnyour Osje UWNjOS sty} UL SaINSy XY] “[S6] ‘Z [dy jo jeusnof yaas7g [eA 243
WOJ} UHL} S9d1Id piq div dAOge SoiNSy JO UUIMJOD PUOIIS 9Y} UL UAMOYS SaNjea JoyILUI IY “UT ay) Jo aJep aatpayo
ayy Jaye dvaysnay, ayy Aq (qq xipueddy ur pa}d.aye1 Apeasye you) sarjiundas jo suoiisinboe yoayor 0} puke suonesyqo
quaswidinba apnjoxo 0} paysn{pe usaq aaey pue ‘7¢ggz ‘d ‘qy] “JOA ‘q Xtpuaddy wos uaye} ore stureyd [v}0} OY,

‘yuasayIp AjpeuRjsqns aq jOU PpNHOm yNses ay} ‘sanyva C6] ‘TE Yose| IY} JO pvaysur pasn usvaq pey yep
JUIII1 B JO SU SINILA JOYAeW JT “MOTI J4NOD ay} UI Joatg INO 0} poxouUR BIqIyXa UL YIM [edUAp! St WqiyXe sty TL

Ose bIe 1Z78'76z$ bZb'E1Z'8Zr$ tn ore Gee * UOLILOD 0} JOLd SLUTETD [vIOL
o'¢o6 £69°99Z7'ZS | €¢ES‘F06 OI OfZ TZI‘¢E9l i Taree eg ec eee eRe eee © ewe eee Ss i eo 42015 potiojaig
Tez Z19°¢SS‘OFI 1p6‘80¢'Z9r gss‘¢9R‘ Z09 “ee ee Sie b. 60's 8.508 6 06 4°98 62626682 66% 66 6 199q [BIOL
ost O¢r'ZSt'S6 6£¢'6rr +l I 692'106'60Z ery ope te "sess juayeamby 40 yqaqy so1unf
Cl ZRUZO1'St $ Z09'6S8‘zS¢$ 682'196'Z6¢$ Sis S26: 6.8 wee 8664 OS 2 ODS os 606606166 6 8 618 sases}I0ly ISI
OL wey) Ts6l Te Ose =| TET) [eIOL, SoMNIIG Suysixgy JO sse[)
% jo uonI0g jo se yseD pue
paysiesuy, SaNLINIG MON
jo anyeA Joe

SANTIVA LAMAVW AO SISVE AHL NO
dalASILVS AUV SLSAYALNI GNV SWIVID WALSAS HOIHM OL LNALXT AHL ONIMOHS AVL

VW XIGNdddV

THIS PAGE BOUND VERTICAL IN BOOK

AE ONE SER FLED AE Aa

“——

34

APPENDIX B

Kixtracts from Senate Report No. 897 accompanying
H. R. 2298, 80th Congress, 2nd Session, 1948:

‘HXPLANATION OF BiLL BY PARAGRAPHS

* ” *

‘Section 3, also a Senate amendinent, consists of two
subsections, the former of which is divided into 5 para-
graphs. These will be considered ad seriatim.

‘‘Paragraph 3a (1) provides, in the case of plans of
reorganization hereatter approved by the Commission in
section 77 proceedings, that 18 months after the Commis-
sion has either certified a plan to a court or had disposed
of a like petition filed under this paragraph, any party
affected may file a petition and as a result it shall be the
duty of the Commission to report to the court any changes,
facts, or developments which have taken place since the
approval of the plan and which make it necessary or ex-
pedient for the Commission to examine or revise the plan.
It should be emphasized, however, that such a petition
cannot be entertained in those cases where an order con-
firming the plan has been entered, unless an appeal from
such an order is pending in the cireuit court of appeals,
or the matter is pending in the Supreme Court on a peti-
tion to review any order of a lower court dealing with the
order of confirmation, or the time to make such an appeal
or file such a petition has not expired. These same safe-
guards are also contained in subsequent paragraphs to
make certain that orderly court procedures cannot be dis-
placed or interfered with.

‘‘In the opinion of the committee, the need for this type
of reexamination and reconsideration is of the greatest
importance where bankruptcy proceedings are pending

+

Ee RE SN CAT A Raho a NS LO RIOT Pe

35

for many years, as they generally are in most railroad
eases. Evidence before the committee confirms the fact
that the financial condition of railroads in reorganization
proceedings changes considerably in the long periods
which elapse from the time the Commission approves
a plan until it is finally confirmed. There is no require-
ment here that the plan be changed or altered; that lies
within the discretion of the Commission. But Commission
representatives have testified that under existing section
77 procedures, it has no authority to volunteer advice to
the court that relevant facts and conditions which affect
the fairness or equitability of a reorganization plan have
changed. Witnesses representing some railroads and some
security holders have testified that this has resulted, in
many cases, in the consummation of some reorganizations
which have failed to render equity to certain classes of
security holders who had no remedy or recourse at law.
The committee believes that the law should be clarified
and the duty of the Commission made plain. This para-
graph, and the succeeding paragraphs of this section, are
intended to remedy this lack of liaison between courts and
the Commission.

‘Paragraph 3a (2) is substantially similar to the para-
graph above, but permits the court, instead of the Commis-
sion, to receive a petition and give consideration to
whether changes, facts, or developments have occurred
which make it necessary or expedient for the Commission
to reexamine, revise, or reconsider a plan. If the court
so finds, it may return the plan to the Commission for such
revision. ‘The same safeguards contained in paragraph
(1) to prevent improper action in those cases which have
achieved a legal status beyond which changes should not
be entertained are included in this paragraph.

36

‘‘Paragraph 3a (3) is a parallel provision to the two pre-
ceding paragraphs and merely provides that in certain
reorganization cases still pending the Commission must
report to the court any changes, facts, or developments
which have taken place since December 31, 1939, and which
were not provided for in the plan it approved. Again, the
safeguards contained in the two preceding paragraphs to
prevent disruption of legal proceedings already too far
advanced are included in this paragraph.

Paragraph 3a (4) is merely a procedural provision to
insure that if a plan is returned to the Commission in ac-
cordance with the provisions of section 3 of the bill, all of
the proceedings will he governed by subsection (d) of sec-
tion 77 of the Bankrutey Act, as amended.

‘*Paragraph 3a (5) is also a procedural provision to
make certain that petitions alleging new facts or develop-
ments must be filed with the court and referred to the
Commission. Such action apprises the court of the legal
action taken under the new law and suspends further
action by the court involving confirmation of the old
reorganization plan. The court, of course, retains custody
of the property and of the case pending action and report
by the Commission.

‘‘Subsection (b) of this section provides for a public
hearing in the event a plan is returned to the Commission.
It spells out the factors that the Commission must evaluate
and on which parties will offer evidence in reconsideration
of a plan. ‘The Commission, after such hearing and con-
sideration, may modify or refuse to modify the plan. If
the former, it certifies the modified plan to the court and
proceedings continue on the modified plan under section
77 as they did on the original plan. If the Commission
refuses to modify, it also transmits its order and the
transcript for court consideration. If the court finds the

37

Commission’s refusal to modify the plan is based on suf-
ficient findings and is supported by the record, the original
section 77 proceedings shall continue as if the plan had
never been returned to the Commission. If, however, the
court does not so find, it shall return the plan to the Com-
mission for further consideration, after which the Com-
mission shall again certify the plan to the court. The
entire procedure here is consistent with the authority and
dignity of a court considering hankruptey cases in which
equity is required to be done. It places upon the court
the authority to determine whether the facts support the
Commission’s decision and to that degree places a check
upon arbitrary and capricious action by administrative
bodies. The committee does not intend that the plan shall
become a foothal! between the Commission and the courts;
it believes that while courts will give due weight to the
facts as ascertained by the Commission, the Commission
will also respect the judgment of the courts, particularly
in view of the fact that in these cases the court has custody
of the property and is intimately familiar with the per-
tinent facts.”’

38

APPENDIX C

Section 3 of Public Law 478, Approved April 9, 1948
(62 Stat. 167; 11 U.S.C.A. §208), referred to in the
foregoing brief as “Section 208”.

**See. 3(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law—

‘*(1) with respect to any plan of reorganization or modi-
fied plan of reorganization approved by the Interstate
Commerce Commission under the provisions of section 77
of the Bankruptcy Act, as amended, subsequent to the effec-
tive date of this Act, it shall be the duty of the Commis-
sion, upon petition of any party to the proceeding filed at
any time more than eighteen months after certification by
the Commission to the court of the plan or of an order
disposing of a like petition, but before any order con-
firming the plan shall have been entered, or, such an order
having been entered, if an appeal from said order is pend-
ing on said date in a circuit court of appeals or the matter
is pending in the Supreme Court on a petition to review
any order of a circuit court of appeals dealing with said
order of confirmation or the time within which to make
such appeal or to file such petition has not expired, to
report to the court in which consideration of such plan is
then pending, any changes, facts, or developments which
have occurred since the approval of such plan by the Com-
mission, which were not provided for in the plan, and
which in the opinion of the Commission make it necessary
or expedient for the Commission to reexamine or recon-
sider and, if necessary, to revise such plan in order to
insure that such plan, if consummated and put into effect,
shall then, in the opinion of the Commission, be fair and
equitable and in the public interest and compatible with
the provisions of this section and section 77 of the Bank-

39

ruptey Act, as amended. Upon the filing of any such re-
port by the Commission with the court, the court shall
remand the plan to the Commission for such reexamina-
tion, reconsideration, and possible revision;

‘*(2) if, with respect to any plan of reorganization or
modified plan of reorganization approved by the Com-
mission subsequent to the effective date of this Act, the
court before which such plan is then pending, for approval
or confirmation, no order of confirmation having been
entered, or, such an order having been entered, if an
appeal from said order is pending on said date in a circuit
court of appeals or the matter is pending in the Supreme
Court on a petition to review any order of a cireuit court
of appeals dealing with said order of confirmation or the
time within which to make such appeal or to file such
petition has not expired, upon petition of any party to the
proceeding and either with or without a hearing, shall
find that changes, facts, or developments have occurred
since the approval of such plan by the Commission which
were not provided for in the plan and which make it nec-
essary or expedient, in the opinion of the court, that the
Commission reexamine and reconsider and revise such
plan in order to insure that the plan [if] consummated and
put into effect shall then, in the opinion of the court and
the Commission, be fair and equitable and in the public
interest and compatible with the provisions of this section,
and section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act, as amended, the
court shall return the plan to the Commission for such re-
examination, reconsideration and possible revision:

‘*(3) with respect to any plan of reorganization or modi-
fied plan of reorganization which, on the date of enact-
ment of this Act, is before any district court for approval
or confirmation, no order of confirmation having heen

40

entered, or, such order having been entered, if an appeal
from said order is pending in a circuit court of appeals
or the matter is pending in the Supreme Court on a
petition to review any order of a circuit court of appeals
dealing with said order of confirmation or the time within
which to make such an appeal or to file such petition has
not expired, it shall be the duty of the Commission, upon
petition of any party to the proceeding, to report to such
court any changes, facts, or developments which have oc-
curred since December 31, 1939, which were not provided
for in the plan and which, in the opinion of the Commis-
sion, make it necessary or expedient for the Commission
to reexamine or reconsider and, if necessary, to revise
such plan in order to insure that if consummated and put
into effect, such plan shall then, in the opinion of the Com-
mission, be fair and equitable and in the public interest
and compatible with the provisions of this section and sec-
tion 77 of the Bankruptey Act, as amended. Upon the
filing of any such report by the Commission with the court.
the court shall remand the plan to the Commission for
such reexamination, reconsideration, and possible revision:

**(4) in the event of the return of a plan to the Com-
mission pursuant to the provisions of this subsection (a),
the proceedings with respect thereto shall be governed by
the provisions of subsection (d) of section 77 of the Bank-
ruptey Act, as amended;

**(5) each petition filed under the provisions of para-
graph (1) or paragraph (3) of this subsection (a) shall
be filed with the court before which is pending the plan
which is the subject of the petition and such petition shall
be referred by the court to the Commission. Upon the
filing of such petition with the court all further proceed-
ings for confirmation of the plan shall be suspended pend-

4]

ing disposition of the petition by the Commission and
certification of its action thereon to the court.

‘“*(b) As to any plan so returned to the Commission by
the court, the Commission, upon further hearing at which
all parties may appear and submit evidence as to prospec-
tive earning power and other relevant facts, and upon
consideration of all changes, facts, and developments
which have occurred since the date of approval of the plan
by the Commission (or which have occurred since Decem-
ber 31, 1939, in the case of plans which on the date of
enactment of this Act were pending before, but had not
been confirmed by, the court by order which shall have
become final), including, without limitation, for such
period total railway operating revenues, operating
expenses and other charges, net earnings, the full effect
of amortization deductions on earnings of past and future
years, improvements to property, the effect of released
collateral through past or future payments of loans, cash
and net current assets, retirements and purchases of debt,
including retirements and purchases at a discount that
have been made or that can reasonably be made, adjust-
ment and reduction of interest rates on outstanding debt
that may be made, shall, in a supplemental report and
order, modify, or refuse to modify, any plan which it has
approved, stating the reasons for such modification or
for its refusal to modify the plan. The Commission, if it
modifies the plan, shall certify the modified plan to the
court, together with a transcript of the proceeding before
it and a copy of its report and order approving the modi-
fied plan. Thereafter procecdings upon the plan shall be
governed by the provisions of subsection (e) of section
77 of the Bankruptey Act, as amended, and of this section.
If the Commission refuses to modify the plan, it shall

42

transmit to the court a copy of its report and order,
together with a transcript of the proceedings before it.
Thereafter, if the court shall find that the refusal of the
Commission to modify the plan is based on sufficient find-
ings and is supported by the record, the proceeding upon
the plan shall continue as if the plan had not been returned
to the Commission; otherwise the court shall return the
plan to the Commission for further consideration. Upon
such consideration, the Commission shall again certify
the plan to the court with such modifications, if any, as
it may find necessary, and thereafter further proceedings
upon the plan shall be as provided in said subsection (e)
and in this section.”’

cath

VOLPI LIED NA DES BEIGE ELLE LE SS IR EEL ILE EI MOE LOL LDL EAGLE LINER REOI NE PIL INE sR Wt —
SIL REPOS IE SRD TATA RR IC a HET TS

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1095%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
