# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sylvanus v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1003%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1952
- **Citation:** 342 U.S. 943

## Text

[ DEC 31 195)

Fomen ES

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1951.

No. 507

ALFRED SYLVANUS, ARCADIA NATIONAL
INSURANCE COMPANY anv VOYLE

CLARK JOHNSON,
Petitioners,
vs.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT
THEREOF.

Rocrer SHERMAN,
Henry F. Tenney,
S. AsHLey GuTHRIE,
120 So. La Salle Street,
Chicago 3, Illinois,
Attorneys for Petitioners.
S. AsHiey GuTHRIE,
Of Counsel.

THE GUNTHORP-WARREN PRINTING COMPANY,

INDEX.

A.
PAGE
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit ......... 1-21
Summary Statement of Matters Involved............ 2-13
ee ee en eee 2-3

The Basic Question of Federal Law Involved: Is
This Prosecution Barred By The McCarran Act
Delegating Exclusive Right of Regulation of the
Insurance Business to the States, and Providing
That No Act of Congress Not Specifically Re-
lating to Insurance Shall Invalidate, Impair or
Supersede a State Law Exercising That Right? 3-5

ON Wc ss ea aatga wana toa gwbus ek 6

The Insurance Policies and Advertising; the Com-
prehensive Nature of the Provisions of the State
Law Relating Thereto; and the Supervision by
State Authorities Under That Law ........... 8-11

Questions of Federal Law Involved in Determin-

. ing the Sufficiency of the Conspiracy Count... .11-13

The Basis on Which the Jurisdiction of This Court
et TR Se AS ET ERPS PRUE Wie a WOE A ABs Lo A 13-14

Reasons Relied on for Allowance of the Writ of Cer-
hci i aba hie ois Rom ebid RAa ca ON wes ak 17-21
1, The Question of Construction of the McCarran
BE bc iaSAK Tes ATED Wiis isaac Lakeaeeks 17-18
2. Conflict Between the Decision in the Instant
Case and the Decision of the Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit Construing the McCar-
WIE TI a asc ko eeies 99 CRE RESETRl cee 18-19

il

3. Question of Construction of the Statute Relat-
ing to Conspiracies as to Sufficiency of the
Overt Acts Charged and the Application of the
Statute of Limitations Thereto...............

4. The Conflict in the Decisions of the Circuit
Courts of Appeal With Respect to the Obliga-
tion of a Policyholder to-Read His Policy in
Order to Determine the Conditions and Limita-
RN aN ae haat ticle erin ie BS > bale 20-21

Brief in Support of Petition for Writ of Certiorari. . 22-40
Opinion of the Court of Appeals (incorporated by ref-

erence to pages 919 to 936 of the Reeord).......... 22
INNER sin cu ca wawtivtieweecedionses 22-23
I ead whe kicin us en ise se yee'a an 6 oe 24-40

I. The Motion to Dismiss the Indictment Should
Have Been Sustained Because This Prosecution
Is Barred by the McCarran Act.............. 24-35

A. The Scheme to Defraud, Charged in the In-
dictment, Involves Only the Issuance of In-
surance Policies and Advertising Matter
Subject to Regulations Imposed by State
Law; Under the McCarran Act the Mail
Fraud Statute Cannot Be Construed to
Cover That Scheme, Beeause, if so Con-
strued, It Would Invalidate, Impair, or Su-
persede the State Law................... 24-27

B. A Conviction Under the Mail Fraud Statute
Necessarily Involves an Assumption of Fed-
eral Jurisdiction Over the Conduct of an In-
surance Business in Illinois, and Thus Ren-
ders Ineffective the Regulations Imposed by
State Law Relating Thereto............. 28-30

ee

C. The McCarran Act Is Not Restricted in Its
Operation to Statutes Passed Under the
Commerce Clause; by Its Terms, It Excludes
from Application of All Acts of Congress
(Not Expressly Relating to Insurance) Mat-
ters Connected With a State-Reeulated In-
ge er ere

D. The Question of Federal Law Involved in
Construction of the MeCarran Act Has Not
Been, But Should Be, Decided by This
Court; and the Conflict Between the Deci-
sions of the Cireuit Courts of Appeal Should
FREE ee S|

II. None of the Supposed Overt Acts Set Forth in
the Conspiracy Count Is Sufficient to Sustain the
Charge of Conspiracy and the Motions to Dis-
miss or for Aecquittal on That Count Should
eee rere,

III. The District Court and the Court of Appeals
Should Have Held That It Was the Duty of the
Insured to Read His Policy in Order to Ascer-
tain the Conditions Contained Therein, and the
Jurors Should Have Been Instructed Accord-

ES SO er ee
Appendices 1, 2 and 3........................... i-XXVii
(following p. 40)

Appendix 1:
Excerpts from Tllinois Insurance Code of 1937 (Ch.

ng | AER eater pale a rele ng a eR A a i-vii
Appendix 2:
Synopsis of Insurance Policies in Suit........ Vill-xiii

Appendix 3:
We PO sso s Steels Ove veeecKedds ok XiV-XXvii

, a

D.
TaBLe oF AUTHORITIES.

ee SS rrr 29
Bowers v. Washington Times Co., 65 Fed. (2) 200....

ERTL ULE ETT CC ere TT ee eee 15, 20, 38, 39
Brady v. U.S., 24 Fed. (2) 399 (404-5) (C. A.8)....... 36
Connecticut Light and Power Co. v. Federal Power

Commission, 324 U. S. 515 (528).................. 34
Ex Parte Collett, 337 U. S. 55 (61).................. 32
Fiswick v. U. S., 329 U. S. 211 (216-7).............. 13, 37
Helvering v. City Bank Farmers Tr. Co., 296 U. S. 8&5

oo Ee ery ie Sen RRA SSL ai ie 32
Hendrey v. U. S., 233 Fed. 5 (8) (C. C. A. 6)........ . 30, 36
Jerome v. U. S., 318 Ill. 101 (105).................. 19, 30
Krulewitch v. U. S., 336 U. S. 440 (445-6)............ 37
Mutual Benefit Health and Accident Association v.

Blaylock, 87 A. L. R. 679 (Miss.)................. xix

North Little Rock Trans. Co. v. Casualty Reciprocal
Exchange, 181 Fed. (2) 174 (Cer. Den. 340 U. S. 823)

upd LON e eS eee eed Ons uae bee eed bees 5, 14, 18, 19, 34
O’Hara v. U. S., 129 Fed. 551 (C. C. A. 6)........... 29, 30
Panhandle Eastern Pipeline Company v. Public Service

Commtenstin, 308 0. BH. G00... onc ccc cccccccccccce 34
Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U. 8. 408.. 33
Reilly v. Pinkus, 338 U. S. 269 (276)................. 39
U. S. v. Britton, 108 U. S. 199 (204-5)................ 35
U.S. v. Cohen, 145 Fed. (2) 82 (C. C. A. 2).......... 13
U. S. v. MeLaughlin, 169 Fed. 302 (307), (D. C. D,

DUE sa asi aledesinclucsescnvcameuerbcaden te 36

Vv

U.S. v. Rosenblum, 176 Fed. (2) 321 (332) (C.C. A.7) 37
U. S. v. Southeastern Underwriters Assn., 322 U. S.

WE k4e oe FA CA Wed Shek Re wabheen’ tedoixcasken ates. 19, 31
Worthington v. U. S., 64 Fed. (2) 936 (941) (C. C.
Ded ac aus Keenec cxeudacauhiaaked bn tateates el. 28
E.

TABLE or STaTUTEs.
Petns. Appen-

Brief dices
Illinois Insurance Code of 1937: °
Sec. 4 (Classes of Insurance)............. i
Sec. 132 (Examinations).................. i
Sec. 141 (Exclusive Agency Contracts).... ii
Sec. 143 (Policy Forms—Life, Accident and

SEE hia Sanda ceed dee en ckaieeexdae’ 8,9,26 ii
Sec. 149 (Misrepresentation Prohibited). . .9, 26 iii
Sec. 254 (Scope of Article)................ ili
Sec. 261 (Documents to be Delivered to the

EY nt 0655s VAN AC et Cha oka Ka we iii
Sec. 267 (Subscription Requirements—Sur-

NE a eee es Pog a he ee iv
Sec. 268 (Guarantee Fund)............... iv
See. 355 (Accident and Health Policies—

i GS rcin we scaseh delet « 26 Vv
See. 356(1)(d) and (f) (Form and Content

Oe Ses 6555 Sas hase ecaGbhs va takacss v
See. 357(4) and (5) (Standard Provisions) . vi
Sec. 401 (General Powers of Director)..... 27 vi
See. 407 (Court Review of Orders and Deci-

Pee Be ae ee ee RD Vii
Sec. 446 (Penalties)...................0.. 27 vii

Sec. 371 (formerly Sec. 88), Title 18, U. S. C.
(Conspiring to Commit Offense Against
PO Diss Kian sk¥aadidcaevenieus cc 2, 35

i ae

Petns, Appen-

vi
Brief
Sees. 1011-5, Title 15, U.S. C. (MeCarran Act) .4, 17-19
22, 25
See. 1254(a), Title 28, U.S. C. (Issuance of Writs
INE bead incdiciin ae hy Heebnwiiedviwn 13, 22
See. 1541 (formerly Sec. 388), Title 18, U. S.C.
(Using Mails to Promote Frauds)........... 2, 28
Sec. 3282, Title 18 U. S. C. (Statute of Limita-
Ne Ree io itek hh ais ac ceudecwe’s 37
See. 3731, Title 18 U. S. C. (Right of Appeal to
ET ey Oren i)

.

dices

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1951.

Reo

ALFRED SYLVANUS, ARCADIA NATIONAL
INSURANCE COMPANY axnp VOYLE
CLARK JOHNSON,

Petitioners,
vs.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
_ Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable Chief Justice and Associate Justices of
the Supreme Court of the United States:

Alfred Sylvanus, Areadia National Insurance Company
and Voyle Clark Johnson, defendants in the trial court, and
Petitioners here, pray that a writ of certiorari be issued
by this Court for review of judgments (R. 938-939) entered
in this ease on December 1, 1951, by the Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit.*

*The opinion of the Court of Appeals appears at pp. 919-37 of
the Record.

Summary STATEMENT or Matters INVOLVED.
The Nature of the Case.

The judgments of the Court of Appeals, sought to be
reviewed, affirm a judgment of the United States District
Court for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Divi-
sion, entered on the verdict of a jury finding the Petitioners
guilty: (1) of using the mails to execute a scheme to
defraud by issuance of allegedly deceptive accident and
sickness insurance policies, and by circulation and publica-
tion of allegedly misleading advertising matter relating
thereto; and (2) of a conspiracy to commit the same offense.
Sylvanus was sentenced to 3 years; the Insurance Company
was fined $10,000; and Johnson was sentenced to 18 months.

The statutes under which the defendants were convicted
are, so far as material, as follows:

‘‘Whoever, having devised or intending to devise
any scheme or artifice to defraud, or for obtaining
money or property by means of false or fraudulent pre-
tenses, representations, or promises * * * shall
for the purpose of executing such scheme or artifice or
attempting so to do, place, or cause to be placed, any
letter, postal card, package, writing, circular, pamphlet,
or advertisement * * * in any post office * * *
or authorized depository for mail matter, * * * or
shall take or receive any such therefrom * * *- shall
be fined not more than $10,000, or imprisoned not more
than five years, or both.’

See. 1341 (formerly 338), Title 18, U. S. C.

‘If two or more persons conspire either to com-
mit any offense against the United States, cr to defraud
the United States in any manner or for any purpose,
and one or more of such parties do any act to effect the
object of the conspiracy, each of the parties to such
conspiracy shall be fined not more than $10,000, or im-
prisoned not more than two years, or both.’’

See. 371 (formerly 88), Title 18, U.S. C.

a ee ee TN

3

The offense charged has two elements:

(1) The existence of a scheme to defraud by issu-
ance of the fraudulent policies and advertising matter ;
and

(2) The use of (or conspiracy to use) the mails
to execute the scheme.

While the use, or contemplated use, of the mails is what
gives the Federal Court jurisdiction, the conviction depends
on the existence of the fraudulent scheme which is to be
executed by their use—in this case, on an adjudication by
the Federal Court that the insurance policies and adver-
tising matter are deceptive and misleading, so that their
issuance and publication would constitute a fraud.

The Basic Question of Federal Law Involved: Is This
Prosecution Barred by the McCarran Act Delegating Ex-
clusive Right of Regulation of the Insurance Busimess
to the States, and Providing That No Act of Congress Not
Specifically Relating to Insurance Shall Invalidate, Im-
pair or Supersede a State Law Exercising That Right?

The insurance policies and advertising matter on which
the prosecution is based, were issued and published in the
conduct of an insurance business regulated by a statute of
Illinois, known as ‘‘The Illinois Insurance Code,’’ the mate-
rial provisions of which are set forth in Appendix 1, at-
tached hereto. That statute prescribes the form of insur-
ance policies to be issued; requires their approval by the
State Department of Insurance before issuance; prohibits
misleading statements in advertising; and prescribes penal-
ties for its violation.

The insurar -e policies in suit were specifically approved
in form and substance by the State Insurance Department
(R. 171-2) and were issued pursuant to state authority.

The purpose and effect of the prosecution were thus to

4

convict the defendants, under the Federal statutes relating
to mail fraud and conspiracy, for acts done in the conduct
of an insurance business wholly regulated by state law.
The result was, as we contend, to nullify and to supersede
that law and the regulations imposed thereby, insofar as
they relate to the insurance policies and advertising matter
in suit.

By Act passed in 1945, known as ‘*The MeCarran Act”
(Sees. 1011-1015, Title 15 U. S. C.), Congress declared that
regulation of the insurance business by the states is in the
public interest and that ‘‘no act of Congress not specifically
relating to the business of insurance’’ shall be construed
to invalidate, impair or supersede any law enacted by any
state for the purpose of regulating the business of insur-
ance.’’

The McCarran Act, so far as material, reads as follows:

‘“‘An Act to express the intent of Congress with
reference to the regulation of the business of insurance.
[Laws of 79th Congress, 1st Session; Public Law 15.]

‘‘See. 1—Congress declares that the continued regu-
lation and taxation by the several States of the busi-
ness of insurance is in the public interest, and that
silence on the part of Congress shall not be construed
to impose any barrier to the regulations or taxation
of such business by the several States. [Sec. 1011,
Title 15 U. S. C.]

See. 2—(a) The business of insurance, and every
person engaged therein, shall be subject to the
laws of the several States which relate to the regula-
tion or taxation of such business.

(b) No act of Congress shall be construed to in-
validate, impair, or supersede any law enacted by
any State for the purpose of regulating the business
of insurance, or which imposes a fee or tax upon such
business, unless such Act specifically relates to the
business of insurance. * * * [See. 1012, Title 15,

ey”

~YT

pA I 1 On Ade WSN i A RRA Di HPN ANION M PSNR Ne EBB ASAT ve NES HL

5

The basie question in this case is whether, in view of the
McCarran Act, this prosecution under the mail fraud and
conspiracy statutes, or a similar prosecution under any
Federal statute, not by its terms relating to the conduct of
an insurance business, can be maintained—. e., whether or
not the MeCarran Act leaves to the states the right to
regulate and control the conduct of an insurance business,
and excepts from the application of every Federal statute
(not expressly relating to insurance) all matters pertain-
ing to an insurance business over which the state, by appro-
priate legislation, has assumed jurisdiction.

This question was raised in the District Court on motion
{o dismiss the indictment, which was overruled (R. 25, 27).

If the motion to dismiss had prevailed, the Government
would have had the right to appeal directly to the Supreme
Court (See. 3731, Title 18 U. 8. C.). The defendants have
no corresponding right of appeal, but the question of statu-
tory construction involved is important and, we submit,
should be passed upon by this Court. It relates to the method
of regulation of, and the power to regulate, the business of
all insurance companies throughout the country that
sell insurance policies by mail and by public advttising,
rather than by personal solicitation.

The decision of this Court is further called for because
of the conflict in principle between the decision of the Court
of Appeals of the Seventh Cireuit here sought to be re-
viewed, and the decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Kighth Cireuit in North Little Rock Trans. Co. v. Casualty
Reciprocal Exchange, 181 Fed. (2) 174 (Cer. Den. 340
U. S. 823), holding that the McCarran Act barred a suit
to enforce the provisions of the Sherman Act (otherwise
clearly applicable) for acts done in the conduct of an in-
surance business which was regulated by the Arkansas
law, and therefore, by virtue of the McCarran Act, subject
to exclusive state jurisdiction.

; =

The Parties.

Arcadia Mutual Casualty Company was organized in
1938 by Petitioner, Alfred Sylvanus, and a group of asso-
ciates. Sylvanus had been general agent of Minnesota
Mutual Life Insurance Company. His associates were
mostly school teachers and had not been theretofore con-
nected with the insurance business (R. 159).

On October 1, 1945, Arcadia Mutual Casualty Company
combined with another company to form Arcadia Life &
Casualty Company under Article XVI of the Illinois Insur- -
ance Code (R. 399-400). On December 1, 1946, the articles
of incorporation of the last-named company were amended
and the name was changed to Arcadia National Insurance
Company, defendant and Petitioner here (R. 400, 401).

Alfred Sylvanus was president of each of the insurance
companies mentioned (R. 170).

The Company always maintained the required reserves
and its financial condition was uniformly approved in the
reports of examination of the Illinois Insurance Depart-
ment (R. 768, 773, 775-6, 790-1, 807, 825).

Petitioner, Voyle Clark Johnson, became connected with
the other defendants through execution on February 24,
1944, of the agency contract with Arcadia Mutual Casualty
Company, whereby he became agent for sales of the ‘‘Se-
curity’’ or limited coverage policy (R. 458-468). Johnson
operated his agency under the name of ‘‘United States
Insurance Agency.’’

The Alleged Scheme to Defraud.

The supposed ‘‘scheme to defraud’’ was alleged (R. 2-3) :
to have been to induce prospective policyholders to buy
one or the other of two sickness or accident policies, known
as the ‘‘Security Policy,’’ offering limited coverage and

SUITES SOAS RO iG Wie. Se OT ey REE SL DPT ATI I EME AGEN IOS IN ILS ENS EEN: p *
‘we it i a e EMEC ET

7

the ‘‘American Sentinel Policy,’’ offering comprehensive
coverage.

The policies are set forth at page 469 of the record and
are summarized in Appendix 2, attached.

The premium on each policy was $1.00 per month, or
$11.00 per year. With two exceptions, all the policies in-
volved in this suit were of the Security Policy type.

The policies were advertised by circulars and published
advertisements, each offering to submit the policy adver-
tised for examination. The policies were issued only on
application to the Insurance Company by the policyholder.
There was no personal solicitation.

The device by which it is alleged the fraud was to be
completed, comprised two elements:

(1) The circulation or publication of advertisements
(each asking prospects to send for the policies for ex-
amination) which were alleged to emphasize maximum
benefits payable but to omit reference to qualifying
limitations and exceptions that might reduce the bene-

fits or result in denial of claims on the policies; and

(2) The issuance of the policies, which (although
approved by the State as to both form and substance)
were alleged to have been ‘‘cunningly worded’’ and
composed ‘‘in an ambiguous manner,’”’ and otherwise
to have been arranged and worded so as to mislead the
policyholders or prospects to whom they were ten- .
dered (R. 8-10, 172).

Of the 22 policyholders testifying, only 7 identified any
advertising seen before purchase of the policy.

The charge of fraud rests primarily, therefore, on the
alleged deceptive character of the state-approved policies.
There is no contention that claims were not paid in accord-
ance with the policy provisions, or that anyone profited by
the supposed fraud. The evidence shows that the sup-
porters of the enterprise were continually putting money

a ELL LOF REE PLAS PIE ING DF ie Be et EPS EOD ION eer pee. - - e . “ _—_——

8

into it through purchase of guaranty certificates (payable
only from earned surplus after reserves for policyholders
had been fully provided for) so that the Company should
be adequately financed (R. 825). No money was withdrawn
to pay those certificates. They were never paid (R. 185).

When the conviction of the Petitioners in this case made
it impracticable for the defendant Insurance Company to
carry on its business, arrangements were made with another
company to take over outstanding policy liabilities so that
no policyholder would suffer any loss (R. 48).

The Insurance Policies and Advertising; the Comprehensive
Nature of the Provisions of the State Law Relating
Thereto; and the Supervision by State Authorities Under
That Law.

The material provisions of the Illinois Insuranee Code
regulating the conduct of the insurance business in Illinois
are set forth in Appendix 1, hereto attached.

Section 143, of the Illinois Code, relating to issuance of
insurance policies of the class here involved, is as follows
(Ch. 73, Il. R. S. Par. 755) :

**(1) No company transacting the kind or kinds of
business enumerated in Class 1 of section 4 shall issue
or deliver in this State a policy or certificate of insur-
ance, * * * or use an application blank, in this
State until the form and content of such policy, certifi-
eate, * * * or application blank has been filed with
and approved by the Director. Jt shall be the duty
of the Director to withhold approval of any such policy,
certificate * * * or application blank fiied with him
if it violates any provisions of this Code, contains in-
consistent, ambiguous or misleading clauses, or con-
tains exceptions and conditions that unreasonably or
deceptively affect the risk purported to be assumed in
the general coverage of the policy. In all other cases

’
RELA LL OIE EEL OT ET EL TES LOE ICC NRE ENE I A BAS AE Bee stam ee TMD MOR OE Maar a
al “=

9

the Director shall give his approval. Failure of the
Director to act within thirty days after submission
shall constitute approval. * * *”

[Italics are ours here and elsewhere unless other-
wise stated. |

The insurance policies issued in the instant case (R.
469; summarized Appendix 2 attached) which were al-
leged to be so ‘‘cunningly worded’’ as to be in them-
selves a fraud (R. 8)—and upon which the conviction
rests—were all submitted to and approved by the Illinois
Insurance Department, as required by the above-quoted
section of the state statute (R. 171-2). In fact, the origi-
nal Security Policy issued in 1939 was drawn by an inde-
pendent actuary from forms in use by other companies, as
suggested by the Illinois Department of Insurance (R.
171).

Section 149 of the Illinois Insurance Code relating to
advertising matter, reads as follows (Ch. 73, Ill. R. S. Par.
761):

**(1) Nocompany * * * and no officer, director,
agent, clerk or employee thereof * * * or any other
person, shall make, issue or circulate * * * any
* * * illustration, cireular, or verbal or written
statement of any sort misrepresenting the terms of any
policy issued or to be issued by it or any other company
or the benefits or advantages promised thereby * * *.

**(4) Any * * * person who violates any of the
provisions of this section * * * shall be required to
pay a penalty of not less than one hundred dollars,
nor more than one thousand dollars. * * *,’’

All advertising matter circulated or published and here
involved was subject to the foregoing statute, and if it
was misleading, it was the duty of the state authorities so
to find, and to prosecute the offenders for publishing it.

That the State Insurance Department was mindful of
that duty is evidenced by its letter of November 27, 1940,

_ —_— NT NEEL L INE LOGE LEVITON OE NEN IE ETN TN RNR IA LEY a NO SORBELES SO SEI eR N RSE

=

approving certain samples of advertising matter submitted,
and concluding with the admonition that the Department
was not ‘‘waiving any of its duties with respect to the en-
forcement of the provisions of the Illinois Insurance Code
concerning advertising which misrepresents the terms of the
policies advertised’’ (R. 764-5).

In many instances, the advertising matter thereafter cir-
culated and published differed from the samples referred
to in the last-mentioned letter from the State Department,
in that the advertising did not characterize certain acci-
dents for which benefits were payable as ‘‘publiec carrier
accidents’’ or refer specifically to minimum as well as to
maximum benefits payable.

10

The advertisements did, however, as suggested by the
Illinois Insurance Department, refer the reader to the
policies advertised for information as to specif~ 'imita-
tions, and tendered the policies for examination before their
final acceptance. Most of the so-called ‘‘puffing’’ state-
ments to which objection was made in the course of the
trial were in the circular letters approved (R. 760-764).

A detailed review of the advertising matter is not ealled
for here. A summary of the advertising with particular
reference to the comments thereon in the opinion of the
Court of Appeals, is set forth in Appendix 3 attached.

Despite close supervision of the business for the entire
period up to the return of the indictment, the State De-
partment of Insurance made no complaint as to the ad-
vertising.

From 1941, through 1948, the Illinois Insurance Depart-
ment made periodic examinations of the business of the
defendant Insurance Company and of its predecessor com-
panies, and filed exhaustive reports covering every phase
of that business, with extensive comments and suggestions
thereon (R. 767-842).

AEM PII AAP NO BE GEM RAN Lyla ZOE SE MEY ket LE LEA LON TEE BELO SLIT CLOTS OSB PREIS Petes May — _#
a Sewer ort a

11

Notwithstanding the admitted duty of the Department
of Insurance to review the advertising matter, there is no
adverse comment thereon in any report. The last report,
filed on November 22, 1948, after return of this indictment,
comments favorably on the Company’s reserves and opera-
tions and concludes with the statement that ‘‘policy claims
appear to be paid promptly and in accordance with policy
provisions’’ (R. 825).

It is thus a fair inference that the advertising matter, as
well as the insurance policies, was approved by the State
authorities. But whether approved or not, the advertising,
as well as all other phases of the business, was admittedly
subject to state supervision and control.

And even if the policies and advertising were mislead-
ing and fraudulent, the offense was one for the state
authorities to pass on and to punish. Whether or not
the Petitioners had issued deceptive policies or advertising
and if so, what their punishment should be therefor,
were for the state authorities to determine. The fed-
eral statute, and the penalty imposed thereby for the
fraud committed, could not be substituted for the state
statute, and for the penalty imposed thereby, without im-
pairing and superseding the state statute.

If, as we contend, the McCarran Act should be construed
to prohibit that result, then the judgment below cannot
stand.

Questions of Federal Law Involved in Determining the
Sufficiency of the Conspiracy Count.

The indictment has 18 counts. The first count charges
that the three Petitioners jointly devised a scheme to
defraud policyholders, or prospective policyholders by issu-
ance of deceptive insurance policies and advertising matter
and in execution of the scheme, Petitioners sent or received

—— AIK, LIEBE NE EERE EI ASTOR EE IR SM On tes et et

ARRON TRS ANS De ARADI ata et Nant me

12 7

through the mails a communication to or from the supposed
victim. Each of the next 16 counts adopts the allegations of
the first count as to the scheme and alleges a different
mailing (R. 2-16).

The 18th Count also adopts the first count by reference
and charges that the joinder between the parties to devise

the scheme is also a conspiracy separately punishable (R.
16-19).

The indictment was returned on September 10, 1948.
Fifteen so-called overt acts are charged, all of which, ex-
cept the last four, were committed more than three years
before the return of the indictment. The supposed overt
acts referred to (R. 17-19) are thus summarized:

(1-2) On October 14, 1938, the incorporation of

Arcadia Mutual Casualty Company and election of
Sylvanus as director.

(3) On October 14, 1940, approval by the State of
the Security Policy, Form L-102.

(4) On May 1, 1942, opening of insurance com-
pany office at 221 North La Salle Street, Chicago.

(5) On December 18, 1943, purchase of $1,091 in
guaranty fund certificates by defendant Voyle Clark
Johnson.

(6) On December 18, 1943, purchase of $860 in
guaranty fund certificates by defendant Sylvanus.

(7-8) On February 24, 1944, execution of agency
contract with defendant Johnson and receipt of pre-
miums by him thereafter.

(9-11) On December 29, 1944, and again on March
29, 1945, and again on April 23, 1945, the purchase
by Johnson of guaranty fund certificates, totaling
$19,909.

(12) On October 1, 1945, incorporation of Arcadia
Life and Casualty Company by Sylvanus.

(13) On October 1, 1945, election of Sylvanus as
a director in that company.

PURER MULIS STARE AEE HERI LNB OR CTR TET A Ae dre ee Den ato ute Kaan _-s

13

(14) On January 1, 1947, incorporation of defend-
ant Arcadia National Insurance Company.

(15) On January 1, 1947, election of Sylvanus as a
director in that company.

None of the alleged overt acts is sufficient to support a
conspiracy charge, because none commits the supposed
conspirator to the criminal act alleged to have been con-
templated. But if the 3-year statute of limitations applies,
none but the last four acts could be considered in any
event, and each of them is insufficient to constitute an
‘‘overt act’’.

The Court of Appeals held, citing U. S. v. Cohen, 145
Fed. 2d 82 (CCA 2) that the Statute of Limitations did
not bar prosecution on the Conspiracy Count, even if there
was no allegation of a sufficient overt act occurring within
3 years before the indictment (R. 931).

That holding is contrary to the decision of this Court in
Fiswick v. U. S., 329 U. S. 211 (216-7).

The decision of this question is important because the
Judge charged the jury that if a conspiracy was estab-
lished and the jury found ‘‘beyond any reasonable doubt
that any of the overt acts described in the indictment took
place either prior to or during said defendants’ connection
with the conspiracy’’ the jury must find the defendants
guilty (R. 371).

A separate motion was made to dismiss the conspiracy
count (R. 155, 269-270) so that the point was properly
raised.

Tue Basis oN WHICH THE JURISDICTION OF THIS CouRT
Rests.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United
States in this case is derived from Section 1254 (a), Title
28, U. S. Code, conferring jurisdiction on this Court to

a Se ee

14

issue writs of certiorari to review decisions of the United
States Courts of Appeal.

The decision sought to be reviewed rests wholly on fed-
eral law, and the questions raised are as to the correct con-
struction of the federal statutes involved.

Statements of the questions presented and of the reasons
why writ of certiorari should be issued are set forth in the
next two subdivisions of this petition.

Tue Questions PRESENTED.

1. The first question presented is whether or not, under
a correct construction and application of the McCarran Act
(Sec. 1011-1015, Title 15, U. S. C.) this prosecution under
the Acts of Congress, relating to mail frauds and con-
spiracies (Secs. 1341 and 371, formerly Secs. 338 and 88,
Title 18, U. S. C.) can be maintained, in view of the fact
that the fraudulent scheme charged involves only the is-
suance of insurance policies and the circulation of ad-
vertising matter in the conduct of an insurance business
regulated by Illinois law.

As a corollary, a question is raised as to which of the
following conflicting decisions as to construction and appli-
cation of the McCarran Act is correct:

(a) The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Cireuit (R. 920-1), in the instant case, hold-
ing that the McCarran Act does not remove from
purview of a general federal statute (in this case the
statute relating to mail fraud and conspiracy) passed
pursuant to constitutional authority, acts performed
in the conduct of a state-regulated insurance business ;
or

(b) The contrary decision of the Court of Ap-
peals for the Eighth Cireuit in North Little Rock
Trans. Co. v. Casualty Reciprocal Exchange, 181 Fed.
(2) 174 (Cer. Den. 340 U. 8. 823) holding that the
McCarran Act was a bar to a suit to enforce the penal

15

provisions of a general federal statute (in that case the
Sherman Act—also passed purusant to constitutional
authority) for acts in the conduct of an insurance
business that would otherwise have been a violation
of that Act.

The question as to the construction and application of
the McCarran Act was raised in the District Court by mo-
tion to strike the indictment (R. 25) and by motions for ac-
quittal at the close of the Government’s evidence and at the
close of all the evidence (R. 155-7; 269-70); and in the
Court of Appeals on appeal from the judgment of convic-
tion (R. 876).

2. The second question involved is as to whether or
not, under a correct construction of the federal statute, re-
lating to conspiracies, (Sec. 371, formerly Sec. 88, Title
18, U. S. C.) and of the applicable statute of limitations
(Sec. 3282, Title 15, U. S. C.), the alleged overt acts set
forth in the conspiracy count are sufficient to sustain a
prosecution under that statute. This question was raised
in the District Court on the motion to dismiss the con-
spiracy count at the close of the Government’s evidence
(R. 155) and at the close of all the evidence (R. 270) on
the ground that a conspiracy was not shown.

3. The third question raised is as to which of the fol-
lowing conflicting decisions is correct:

(a) The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit in the instant case (R. 936) that it is
not the duty of an insured to read his policy in order
to ascertain the conditions contained therein, even
though the advertising complained of tenders the pol-
icy to him for examination before acceptance, and
refers to the policy for the specific limitations and
conditions affecting the iasurance; or

(b) The decision of the Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia in Bowers v. Washington Times
Co., 65 Fed. (2) 200, applying a contrary principle in
a civil suit to recover the maximum benefit advertised.

16

The question as to the duty of the insured to read his
policy and as to the extent to which he was bound by the
policy provisions was raised on motions for acquittal at
the close of the Government’s evidence and at the close
of all the evidence (R. 155-7; 269-70), and also by instrue-
tion tendered and refused that it is the duty of the insured
to read his policy of insurance, to ascertain the conditions
therein contained, and if such policy is unsatisfactory, to
object thereto at the time (R. 273).

The question was raised in the Court of Appeals on
appeal from the judgment of conviction (R. 876-7; 883).

LUA LON AID INO OIL AIN POE REET AN ORNL ANS ent Ram AS gta pg

se ay OS ACR RAGA ENED INA BERS LEED cb GEE hai AINE ILNE 0 ENSUE By aOR Gi

17

Reasons RELIED ON FoR ALLOWANCE OF THE Writ oF
CERTIORARI.

We submit that a writ of certiorari should be granted
in this case for the following reasons:

1. The Question of Construction of the McCarran Act.

The decision of the Court of Appeals rests on a con-
struction of the MeCarran Act. The opinion admits that
the right to determine what policies may be issued, what
advertising may be published and circulated, whether or
not the policies or advertising are misleading, and what the
punishment shall be if they are misleading, are all exelu-

_ sively with the state (R. 920-1).

The Court holds, however, that if coupled with the issu-
ance of the policies and advertising, there is a use of the
mails, the Federal Court may determine independently and
without regard to state jurisdiction whether or not the
policies and advertising are fraudulent and whether or not
the issuer thereof should be punished (R. 921).

The reason give by the Court is that Congress has power
under the Constitution to regulate the mails, and hence a
statute enacted in exercise of that power should not be
limited in its operation because of jurisdiction of the state
over the subject matter of the fraud (R. 921).

The reason stated ignores both the wording and the
intent of the McCarran Act.

Every valid act of Congress is passed in the exercise
of some Constitutional power. If Congress so desires, it
may extend that power over the conduct of a state-regu-
lated insurance business. But the MeCarran Act declares,
that unless Congress, in a statute exercising its consti-

SV Oe Oa 9 Re PP ne POL FDL a LI LAN ih et a IN b DADO A ANSE SIDE a Sith

18

tutional power, sets forth that the statute shall apply to
the conduct of an insurance business, it will not be extended
to that business.

The title of the McCarran Act is ‘‘ An act to express the
intent of Congress with reference to the regulation of
the business of insurance.’’ The inention expressed is that
the regulation shall be left wholly to the states, and thus
to except from the purview of any federal statute not made
expressly applicable to the insurance business, all matters
pertaining to the conduct of that business that are subject
to state regulation.

The statute relating to mail frauds does not, by its terms,
apply to the acts performed in the conduct of an insur-
ance business, and hence under a literal construction of
the McCarran Act, could not be construed to cover those
acts.

In holding to the contrary, the Court of Appeals held, in
effect, that, despite the McCarran Act no one carrying on
an insurance business can rely on the state law regulating
that business, or on the directives of the state authorities

. acting thereunder, for determination of what policies or

advertising he may issue or circulate.

The question of federal law raised is important and has
not been determined by this Court. It is in the public in-
terest that it be determined.

2. Conflict Between the Decision in the Instant Case
and the Decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit Construing the McCarran Act.

The construction of the ‘MeCarran Act in the instant
case is based on a principle contrary to that on which the
decision was based in North Little Rock Transp. Co. v. Cas-
ualty Reciprocal Exchange, 181 Fed. (2) 174. In that case,
North Little Rock Transportation Co. sued the Casualty
Reciprocal Exchange for triple damages under the Sher-

19

man Act. The defendants had clearly engaged in a com-
bination in restraint of interstate commerce within the
meaning of the Sherman Act and the principle laid down
in U. S. v. Southeastern Underwriters Assn., 322 U. S. 533,
holding insurance to be interstate commerce.

The defense was that the conduct complained of was reg-
ulated by the laws of Arkansas, ‘‘and that because of the
Act of March 9, 1945 * * * 15 U. S. C. A. Sees. 1011-1015,
known as the McCarran Act, the Sherman Act did not ap-
ply to the insurance business so far as it is regulated by
the state.’’

In sustaining that defense, the Court said (181 Fed.
(2d), at p. 176):

‘‘The purpose of the McCarran Act was to permit
the States to continue the regulation of the business
of insurance, unhampered, to the extent provided by
the Act, by federal legislation relating to interstate
commerce.”’

The same principle would apply to ‘‘federal legislation”’
relating to use of the mails. But the Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit refused to follow that principle
here.

There is, therefore, a conflict between the decision of
the Circuit Court of Appeals in the instant case and the
decision of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals in the
North Inttle Rock Transportation Co. ease, on substantially
the same question of construction of the McCarran Act,
and for that reason, this Court should grant the writ.

This is another reason for granting a writ of certiorari.

As the Court said in Jerome v. U. S., 318 U. S. 101 (102)
in stating the reason for granting a writ where the ques-
tion was whether the word ‘‘felony’’ as used in Act of
Congress applied to a State, as well as to a federal offense:

‘‘We granted a petition for a writ of certiorari be-
cause of the importance of the problem in the adminis-
tration of justice and because of the diversity of views

20

which have developed as respects the meaning of :
felony. ’’

3. Question of Construction of the Statute Relating to i
Conspiracies as to Sufficiency of the Overt Acts Charged —
and the Application of the Statute of Limitations Thereto. ~

This question has been fully stated at pages 11-13 and 15, @
ante. We contend that none of the overt acts is sufficient to _
commit the actor to the perpetration of the contemplated
crime of using the mails to execute the fraudulent scheme
so that he could not withdraw and be innocent. And
this is particularly true if only the acts within the three-
year period prior to the indictment are considered.

In view of the tendency to use the conspiracy statute
as a means of charging the same offense a second time,
and of relieving the prosecution from the necessity of ad-
hering to rules of evidence in proving it, the question raised
is important and should be passed upon.

4. The Conflict in the Decisions of the Circuit Courts of
Appeals With Respect to the Obligation of a Policyholder
to Read His Policy in Order to Determine the Conditions
and Limitations Thereof.

This question is also stated at pages 15-16, ante.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals in the case at bar
holds that there is no conflict in principle between this case
and Bowers v. Washington Times, 65 Fed. (2) 200, decided
by the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, be-
cause, as the opinion states, the last-mentioned case was a
civil case (R. 936).

The distinction is not sound because in both cases the
question was whether the prospective policyholder can rely
on the advertising to the exclusion of the policy, notwith-
standing the fact that the advertising refers the reader to
the policy for a specific ‘statement of the limitations and
conditions attached to payment of the risk. The adver-

PN TE EUAN JEN BR Na NN NE HOF RES at Ne

21

tising in the Washington Times case was similar to that
most complained of in the instant case, in that it stated
the maximum benefit payable without stating the limita-
tions and conditions under which the policyholder would
receive it, and thus left the policyholder to read the policy
itself for determination of what those limitations were. The
decision in the Washington Times case that the policy-
holder was bound by the policy, at least insofar as it was
supplementary to and not in conflict with the advertising
(which was true in every instance in the case at bar) was
based on a principle exactly contrary to that applied here,
where the jury was instructed that a policyholder was
not even required to read his policy.

The conflict in decisions on this point is an additional
reason why this Court should grant this petition for a writ
of certiorari.

For the reasons above stated Petitioners pray that a
writ of certiorari be issued by this Court for review of the
judgments entered in this case on December 1, 1951, by
the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Aurrep Sytvanus, Arcapra Nationau In-
SURANCE Company, and VoyLe CLarK
JOHNSON,

Petitioners,
By Rocrer SHerman,
Henry F. Tenney,
S. Asuiey Guturm,
Attorneys for Petitioners.

S. Asuitey GuTnrie,
Of Counsel.

22

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is not yet reported.
It is set forth in full at pages 919 to 937 of the Record.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under Section
1254(a), Title 28, United States Code, conferring jurisdic-
tion on this Court to issue writs of certiorari to review
decisions of the United States Circuit Court of Appeals.

The essential points of the case have been sufficiently
stated in the foregoing petition for writ of certiorari and
in the appendices hereto.

SPECIFICATION oF ERRors.

We rely here on the following assignment of error:

1. The Court of Appeals erred in sustaining the action
of the trial Court in overruling the defendants’ motion
to dismiss the indictment, made on the following ground:
The conduct of the insurance business in Illinois, is regu-
lated exclusively by state law. Under the McCarran Act
(Sees. 1011-1015, Title 15, U. S. Code), the laws of Congress
on which this prosecution is based, do not apply to the
acts alleged in the indictment. (R. 25.)

2. The Court of Appeals erred in sustaining the action
of the trial Court in not granting defendants’ motions for
acquittal at the end of the Government’s evidencé and at
the end of all the evidence. The motions should have been
granted because:

(a) The evidence did not show that the defendants
had any fraudulent or criminal intent.

TEER PRER SCR ERNIE ERENT Be ORR R te te A OR OR eae Oot ROSANA SMR ge a5 aah ey aero Sag

BE este ent A Re ”

<a

OOS

Pe

#

SL BS a URNS Be

23

(b) The insurance policies complained of are not
ambiguous or misleading. They were prepared by an
independent actuary and are in form and substance
as specified and approved under the Illinois law.

(c) The advertisements published or circulated in
connection with the issuance of the policies did not
make the issuance of the policies fraudulent. The ad-
vertisements were substantially in form approved by
the State Department of Insurance, but in any event
they did not misstate any material fact. They tendered
and referred to the policies for the specific provisions
thereof with promise of refund if the policies were
unsatisfactory.

3. The evidence does not sustain the conviction of any
of the defendants for the conspiracy charged in the
eighteenth count and the separate motions to dismiss or
for acquittal on that count made at the close of the Gov-
ernment’s evidence, and at the close of all the evidence
should have been granted, because:

(a) The ‘‘conspiracy’’ set forth in the eighteenth
count is the same as the ‘‘scheme to defraud’’ set
forth in the earlier,counts. The conspiracy count can-
not stand, if the other counts fall.

(b) The overt acts charged and relied on do not
bea: any proxima‘ relation to attainment of the ob-
ject of the couspiracy and do not sustain conviction
on the conspiracy count.

4. The Court of Appeals erred in sustaining the rftl-
ing of the trial Court that a prospective policyholder was
not required to read his policy to determine the terms and
conditions thereof, and was not bound by what the policy
would have disclosed by reading it, and in refusing a ten-
dered instruction to the jury to that effect.

Aca ioee
a tit, tk ale ema a on oe Pee REESE SCR ESE EEO SHR OS AN A TARE Rp nt Rane meena REECE

24

I.

THE MOTION TO DISMISS THE INDICTMENT
SHOULD HAVE BEEN SUSTAINED BECAUSE
THIS PROSECUTION IS BARRED BY THE McCAR-
RAN ACT.

A.

Tue Scueme to Derraup, CHarcep 1x THE INDICTMENT,
Invotves ONLY THE IssvaNcrE or INSURANCE PoLictEs AND
Apvertisinc Matrer Sussect to RrGuLations IMPOSED
BY State Law; Unpver tue McCarran Act THe MalL
Fraup Statute Cannor Be Consrrurep to Cover THAT
Scuemr, Because, Ir So Construep, Ir Wovutp Invatt-
DATE, IMPAIR, OR SUPERSEDE THE STATE Law.

The ground on which the Court holds that the MeCarran
Act does not bar this prosecution is thus stated in the
opinion (R. 921):

‘“* * * it cannot be properly said that this indict-
ment has to do with the regulation of insurance busi-
ness in Illinois. Rather it has to do with the question
of whether defendants have used the mails in pursu-
ance of a scheme so to manipulate their authorized
regulated business in Illinois as to result in fraudulent
deception of its prospective policy holders. The charge
is not that the corporate charter should be ignored
or that the administrative officers of Illinois may not
perform their statutory duties and supervise and
regulate the company’s insurance business in Illinois,
but goes to the use of the mails, over which the Con-
gress has, by the Constitution, paramount power and
authority.’’ (Italics are ours here and elsewhere un-
less otherwise stated)

We submit that the ground stated is not sound, and that
the decision based on it should not be adhered to.

;
| 25

It is true that Congress has power to control the mails,
and may exercise that power along with other constitu-
tional powers, so as to control a state-regulated insurance
business, provided Congress expressly elects to do so. But
Congress, by the McCarran Act (Title 15, Sec. 1011-2, U. S.
Code, Mar. 9, 1945) has elected not to do so. Instead, it
has provided that a general statute shall not be extended
to apply to a state-regulated insurance business, unless
the intention so to extend it is specifically set forth in the
statute.

The McCarran Act provides:

(1) That ‘‘the continued regulation and taxation
by the several states of the business of insurance is
in the public interest, * * *;’’

(2) That ‘‘the business of insurance and every
person engaged therein shall be subject to the laws of
the several states’’; and

(3) That ‘‘no act of Congress shall be construed
to invalidate, impair or supersede any law enacted by
any state for the purpose of regulating the business
of insurance, * * * unless such Act specifically relates
to the business of insurance: * * *

The McCarran Act thus creates an exception to every
general statute theretofore or thereafter passed by Con-
gress (whether in exercise of its power to control the
mails, or in the exercise of its power to control interstate
commerce, as in the Sherman Act, or in the exercise of
any other power), removing from the purview of such

RAAT

26

statute all matters pertaining to the conduct of a state-
regulated insurance business, unless the intent that the
statute shall apply to that business is expressly stated
therein.

The words, ‘‘invalidate,’’ ‘‘impair,’’ and ““supersede,”? —
are thus defined in Webster’s Dictionary:

Invalidate—to render invalid or null; to weaken or |
destroy the force of. :

Impair—* * * to diminish in quantity, value or
strength.

Supersede—to cause to be set aside, forced out of
use * * * to take the place, room, or position of;
to replace.

By use of the three words, the McCarran Act provided
that no federal statute (unless stated to be applicable to
the insurance business) should be extended in its appli-
cation so as to weaken, or lessen the value of, or take the
place of, any provision of ‘‘any law enacted by any state :
for the purpose of regulating the business of insurance.’’ _

The Illinois Insurance Code is a state law enacted ‘‘for
the purpose of regulating the business of insurance,’’ and _
is directly within the exception created by the McCarran
Act to the application of all general federal statutes.

The Illinois Code requires policies and advertising to
conform to specified standards, and provides penalties for
non-conformance with those standards. The pertinent
provisions of the Code are set forth in Appendix 1, at-
tached hereto.

Section 143 of the Illinois Insurance Code (Ch. 73, Ill. R.
S., Par. 967), prohibiting the issuance of any policy not
approved by the State Insurance Department, or contain-
ing any misleading statement or unfair condition, and
Section 149 of the Code (Ch. 73, Ill. R. S., Par. 761) pro-

ae fees Sa RY Oy tis ee

SPR Shs 3
a ae

9
:
3

VERIO EMRE

27

hibiting circulation of misleading advertising and provid-
ing penalties therefor, are set forth at pages 8 and 9, ante.

Section 401 (Ch. 73, Ill. R. S., Par. 1013) provides for
supervision and periodic examinations of the conduct of
the business by the Director of Insurance; and Section 446
(Ch. 73, Ill. R. S., Par. 1058) provides penalties for any
violation of the law for which no other specific penalty
is provided in the Code.

The statute relating to mail frauds cannot, under the
McCarran Act, be extended so as to weaken the force of,
or to render inapplicable, or to take the place of, any of
the foregoing regulations of The Illinois Insurance Code
with respect to policies and advertising, and with respect
to the penalties prescribed for violation of those regula-
tions.

This is so, whether or not the Illinois law has been vio-
lated or whether or not the Federal Court deems the pen-
alty prescribed by the state law to be inadequate.

If the Illinois law has not been violated, then a convic-
tion under the federal statute would result in substitution
of the federal regulation for the state regulation and in
the imposition of a punishment by the Federal Court for
acts that are authorized under the state law. And if the
Illinois law has been violated, such conviction would result
in an imposition of a federal penalty for the violation,
in place of or in addition to the state penalty, and would
constitute a like assertion by the Federal Court of juris-
diction over a transaction which the McCarran Act de-
clares, as a matter of public policy, is left wholly to the
control and jurisdiction of the states. In either event, the
force of the Illinois law, relating to the conduct of an in-
surance business, is destroyed and that law is impaired
and superseded by the federal statute.

28

B.

A Conviction UNvER THE Matin Fraup Statute NECESSARILY

InvoLves An ASSUMPTION OF FEDERAL JURISDICTION OVER

THE Conpuct or An InsuRANcE Business 1n ILLINOIS,
AND Tuus ReENpvers INEFFECTIVE THE REGULATIONS IM-
POSED BY StaTE Law ReEuatinc THERETO.

It is said, in answer to the foregoing argument, that the
conviction under the federal statute is for use of the mails
and not for the fraudulent scheme.

That is not true under any fair analysis of the issues.

The crime defined in the mail fraud statute comprises
two elements: (1) the devising of ‘‘a scheme or artifice
to defraud, or for obtaining money or property by means
of false or fraudulent promises’’; and (2) the use of the
mails to execute the scheme (Sec. 1341, formerly Sec. 338,
Title 18, U. S. C.).

While it has been said that the use of the mails is ‘‘the
gist of the offense,’’ in the sense that it gives the Federal
Court jurisdiction, the scheme or artifice to defraud is the
essential element, the very basis of the crime.

As said by the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-
cuit, in Worthington v. U. S., 64 Fed. (2) 936 (941):

“‘In a mail fraud action such as the one we are
considering, a fraudulent scheme is an essential ele-
ment of the crime. While federal authority is exer-
cised because of the use of the mails by the wrong-
doer, the wrong—namely, the fraudulent scheme—is
an essential and often is the only controverted issue
involved.’’

The scheme to defraud, charged in the indictment, con-
sists of (1) the issuance of insurance policies alleged to
have been ‘‘composed in an ambiguous and confusing man-
ner’’ and to be ‘‘cunningly worded, arranged and set up,”’

ne a eee

Pe ad het ee ee

Lb
.
Fa
iy
a
+
on
‘
i
in
:.
sy
:
Ee
is
be
ly
%
-s

— - -
29

so as to be in themselves misleading and fraudulent; and
(2) the circulation of misleading advertisements with re-
spect to those policies (R. 5-10).

In order to sustain a conviction on any of the substantive
counts, or on the conspiracy count, the indictment must
charge, and the evidence must prove, the existence of this
fraudulent scheme, namely, that the policies and the ad-
vertising relating .to them, issued or contemplated, were
fraudulent and misleading. Otherwise there would be no
scheme to defraud that could be executed by the use of
the mails or with respect to which any conspiracy could
exist.

The question as to whether a fraudulent scheme was
eharged and proved was the principal issue in this case.
It is the issue to which all the evidence, argument and the
review on appeal were directed. If (because of the Mc-
Carran Act) the mail fraud statute does not extend to
that scheme, the indictment does not state a case.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals cites Badders v.
U.S., 240 U. S. 391 and O’Hara v. U. S., 129 Fed. 551 (C.
A. 6), on the proposition that a prosecution under the
mail fraud statute may be maintained even though the
scheme charged relates to transactions regulated or for-
bidden by state law (R. 921).

Neither case is in point.

- There is no question but that (in the absence of a statute
like the McCarran Act taking the transaction in question
out of the purview of general federal statutes) one may be
punished under the federal law for performing an act in
a transaction that is also subject to state law, and for
which he may also be punished under the state law.

But it has long been recognized that it is contrary to
sound public policy to extend a federal statute to matters

RRA UNAS Reh OAL DES ENS 2B SONA

30

primarily subject to state jurisdiction, if such construction
of the federal statute can be avoided.

Jerome v. U. S., 318 U.S. 101 (105).

And in Hendrey v. U. S., 233 Fed. 5 (7-8) (C. C. A. 6),
decided by the same Court that decided the O’Hara case,
the Court reluctantly held that the fact that the alleged
fraudulent scheme was subject to regulation by, and was
an offense punishable under, the state banking laws, was
not a defense against a prosecution under the mail fraud
statute. The Court stated that the liability to double
punishment might well be against sound publie policy, but
that only Congress could remedy that situation. As to
this, the Court said (pp. 7-8) :

‘“* * * the practical effect of this situation is to call
upon the laws or courts of the United States to punish
citizens of a state for violating the laws of that state
** *. If it be true, as it is sometimes thought, that
there was no deliberate intent to extend so far the
federal criminal jurisdiction, restriction can come
only from Congress.’’

The McCarran Act supplies the restriction from Con-
gress suggested in the above quotation, necessary to pre-
vent conviction under a general federal statute for acts
in the conduct of an insurance business subject to state
law, and for which the action is punishable under the state
law if any intent to mislead or defraud a prospective
policy holder is shown. As Congress declares in the Me-
Carran Act, ‘‘it is in the public interest’? to leave the con-
trol of the insurance business to the states.

If the Illinois law is not severe enough, that gives no
right to the federal court to interfere. It is a matter to
be addressed to the legislature for correction.

ae

C.

THe McCarran Act Is Nor Restrictep 1x Its Operation
ro Starutres Passep Unper THE ComMERcE CLAUSE; BY
Irs Terms It Exciupes rrom Application oF ALL ACTS
oF Concress (Not Expressty Retatinc to Insurance)
Matrers ConnecTEp WitH a SrTaTE-REGULATED INsUR-
ANCE BUSINESS.

Be ee

PELE AM ee

It was argued by the Government in the District Court
that the ‘‘ Acts of Congress’’ which the McCarran Act de-
elares shall not apply to the insurance business are in-
tended to include only Acts of Congress enacted under the
commerce clause of the Constitution.

is, Beh

There is no warrant in the statute for such restrictive
interpretation.

The necessity for legislation to prevent federal contr.
_ of the insurance business became apparent when this Court
held, in U. S. v. Southeastern Underwriters, 322 U. 8. 533,
_ that transactions across State lines in the conduct of an in-
surance business were interstate commerce and were there-
fore subject to the criminal provisions of the Sherman
Act, even though the conduct of the business was subject
to state regulation and control.

The effect of the McCarran Act was to remove from
the purview of both the criminal and civil provisions of
the Sherman Act, all fransactions connected with a state-
3 regulated insurance business; but the McCarran Act was
not limited in its application to the Sherman Act, or other
acts passed under the commerce clause.

| An act of Congress passed under a constitutional grant
of authority to regulate the mails, or under any other
constitutional grant, may interfere with the conduct of an
insurance business to the same extent as an act of Con-
gress passed under constitutional grant of authority to
regulate interstate commerce. A criminal prosecution un-

ae i
ak Cea

eer

32

der the mail fraud statute is as effective in nullifying and
superseding the state law as is a similar prosecution under
the Sherman Act.

The statutory language is clear and it is neither neces-
sary nor proper to go into the legislative history or to
the debates in Congress to determine its meaning or to
engraft on the act a purpose or restriction not expressed
in it.

‘*The short answer is that there is no need to refer

to the legislative history where the statutory language
is clear.’’

Ex Parte Collett, 337 U. S. 55 (61).

See also Helvering vy. City Bank Farmers Tr. Co., 296
U.S. 85 (89).

The legislative history, however, supports the conclu-
sion that the McCarran Act is intended to prevent inter-
ference of all acts of Congress with state regulation of
the insurance business.

As stated by the House Committee on Judiciary in its
report recommending passage of the bill:

‘*Already many insurance companies have refused,
** * to comply with * * * State regulations, on the
ground that to do so, when such laws may subse-
quently be held unconstitutional in keeping with the
precedent-smashing decision in the Southeastern Un-
derwriters case, will subject insurance executives to
both civil and criminal prosecutions * * *,

The committee has therefore given immediate con-
sideration to S. 340, together with a similar measure,
H. R. 1973, so that the several States may know that
Congress desires to protect the continued regulation
and taxation of the business of insurance by the sev-
eral States, and thus enables insurance companies to
comply with State laws.’’ U. S. Code Congressional
Service, 1945, p. 671.

Pe ali ARR SLI ” seit Pie ita " sea
«

33

There is nothing in the report indicating an intent to
restrict the meaning of ‘‘Acts of Congress,’’ which Sec-
tion 1012 declares are not to interfere with state insurance
regulations, to Acts of Congress enacted under the com-
merce clause.

The McCarran Act made no distinction, but provided
that ‘‘no Act of Congress’’ (unless it expressly relates to
insurance) should be extended so as to apply directly or
indirectly to any transaction involved in the conduct of a
state-regulated insurance business.

D.

Tue Question or FeperaL Law Invo.vep 1x Construction
or THE McCarran Act Has Nor Breen, Bur Suovtp Be,
Decipep sy Tus Court; anp THE Conruict BETWEEN
THE Decisions or THE Circuit Courts or APPEAL SHOULD
Be ReEso.vep.

The McCarran Act first came before this Court for con-
struction in Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin, 328
U. S. 408 in which the Prudential Insurance Company
attacked the validity of a South Carolina statute regulat-
ing the conduct of the business of insurance and imposing
a tax on this business in South Carolina, even though the
transaction extended across state lines. The Court sus-
tained the South Carolina statute; held the MeCarran
Act constitutional; and further held that the effect of the
act was to confer power on the state to regulate and tax
insurance transactions even though interstate in character.

The only other case involving construction of the Me-
Carran Act, here important, is North Little Rock Trans.
Co. v. Casualty Reciprocal Exchange, 181 Fed. (2) 174,
abstracted at pages 18-19, ante. In that case, the Court
held the McCarran Act was effective to remove insurance
transactions from the purview of the Sherman Act and

fo 8 on team yee 6 nee a

34

to bar a suit under that act for treble damages for injury
done to the plaintiff by combination between insurance
underwriters permitted under the state law.

The question at issue in the last-cited case is not essen-
tially different from that in the case a bar—if we substi-
tute ‘‘mail fraud statute’ for the ‘‘Sherman Act.’? But
the decisions are exactly contrary.

The decision in the North Little Rock Trans. case is more
in line with the principles applied by this Court in eon-
struing similar statutes.

Thus in Connecticut Light and Power Co. v. Federal
Power Commission, 324 U. 8. 015, this Court reversed a
decision of the Court of Appeals holding accounting prac-
tices of the defendant utility subject to the jurisdiction
of the Federal Power Commission, despite a statutory
exemption of State regulated utilities from the Act there
in question. As to this, the Court said (pp. 528, 532):

‘“‘It is hard for us to believe that Congress meant
us to read ‘shall have jurisdiction’ where it had eare-
fully written ‘but shall not have jurisdiction.’ The
command ‘thou shalt not’ is usually rendered as to
forbid and we think here it was employed without
subtlety or contortion and in its usual sense. * * *
‘Where a federal agency is authorized to invoke an
overriding federal power except in certain prescribed
situations and then to leave the problem to tradi-
tional state control, the existence of federal authority
to act should appear affirmatively and not rest on
inference alone’.’’

And see also:

Panhandle Eastern Pipeline Company v. Public
Service Commission, 332 U. S. 507.

We submit that the question as to the construction of
the McCarran Act should be passed upon by this Court;

|
) 35

that under a proper construction of that act the issuance or
contemplated issuance of insurance policies and advertis-
ing matter, charged in the indictment to comprise a fraudu-
lent scheme, are excluded from the purview of the stat-
utes relating to mail frauds and conspiracies; and hence
that the motion to dismiss the indictment should have been
sustained.

It follows that the motions for acquittal should also
have been granted because of the insufficiency of the in-
dictment and because approval by state authorities of the
policies issued is conclusive, that their issuance was not
contrary to public policy and that they were neither un-
fair nor deceptive.

Il.

NONE OF THE SUPPOSED OVERT ACTS SET FORTH
IN THE CONSPIRACY COUNT IS SUFFICIENT TO
SUSTAIN THE CHARGE OF CONSPIRACY AND
THE MOTIONS TO DISMISS OR FOR ACQUIT-
TAL ON THAT COUNT SHOULD HAVE BEEN
GRANTED.

The act relating to conspiracies require, as a necessary
element of the offense, that one of the parties to the con-
spiracy ‘‘do any [an] act to effect the object of the con-
spiracy.’’ (Sec. 371, Title 18, U. S. C.)

The purpose of the requirement of an overt act is thus
stated:

‘‘The provision of the statute, that there must be
an act done to effect the object of the conspiracy,
merely affords a locus poenitentiae, so that before the
act is done either one or all of the parties may aban-
don their design, and thus avoid the penalty prescribed
by the statute.’’

U.S. v. Britton, 108 U.S. 199 (204-5).

36

The overt act must be some positive, active step ‘‘to
effect the object of the conspiracy.’’

U.S. v. McLaughlin, 169 Fed. 302 (307) (D. C. D.,
Minn.).

In practice, the only overt act that could so tend to
reflect the design to use the mails, is an actual use of the
mails. Hence, it is almost invariably a use of the mails
that is charged as an overt act in a count for conspiracy to
use the mails to defraud. For example, see Hendrey v.
U. S., 233 Fed. 5 (12) C. A. 6); Brady v. U. S., 24 Fed. (2)
399 (404-5) (C. A. 8).

The acts charged in the indictment here to be ‘‘overt
acts’’ (R. 17-18) are set forth at pages 12-13, ante. They
may be thus summarized:

Acts performed more than 3 years prior to the in-
dictment :

1-4: The organization of Arcadia Mutual Cas-
ualty Company; the appointment of Sylvanus as
director; the procuring of authorization to do
business; and the establishment of an office to do
business.

5-11: The entry of the company into the in-
surance business; the appointment of Johnson as
agent; the receipt of premiums; and the making of
subscriptions to the guaranty fund required by
statute to finance the business.

Acts performed less than 3 years prior to the in-
dictment :

12-15: The organization of the successor in-
surance companies and the appointment of Sy1-
vanus as officer and director.

None of the acts referred to could be classed as an irrev-
ocable step toward commission of the crime of using the
mails to defraud.

37

' But in any event, only the last four acts charged are
: within the three-year limitation period (Sec. 3282, Title 18,
; U. S. C.) and since they are insufficient, the entire count
falls.

4 Fiswick v. United States, 329 U. S. 211 (216-7).

4 The decision by the Court of Appeals in the instant case
_ (R. 931) that the three-year limitation does not apply, is
in conflict with the decision in the Fiswick case last cited.

The question was raised on separate motions for judg-
ment on the conspiracy count (R. 155, 269-270). The mo-
tions were overruled and the District Judge instructed the
jury that if they found that the defendants (Petitioners)
committed any of the acts charged, the jury should convict
them (R. 371).

The conspiracy charged in the 18th Count is hardly dis-
tinguishable from the substantive offense charged in each
of the other counts.

The use of a loose conspiracy count to relieve the prose-
cutor from restrictions imposed by the hearsay rule and
thus to procure a conviction, has been strongly condemned
as a threat to the fair administration of justice.

Krulewitch v. United States, 336 U. S. 440 (445-6).
U.S. v. Rosenblum, 176 Fed. (2) 321 (332) (C. C.
A. 7).

We submit that the Court should pass on the question
here raised and that the conspiracy count cannot stand.
; If that count and .the evidence offered under it had been
d excluded, the case presented would have been essentially
4 different, and there may have been no conviction on the
‘ other counts.

ERP ELA EME, ISTEP S RRR TSE IN. SG hse ™
x oy a eee, WPT PIM BO Re PAGE T E ARE IRS ren Ne SCR oR ren artnet

38

III.

THE DISTRICT COURT AND THE COURT OF AP-
PEALS SHOULD HAVE HELD THAT IT WAS THE
DUTY OF THE INSURED TO READ HIS POLICY
IN ORDER TO ASCERTAIN THE CONDITIONS
CONTAINED THEREIN, AND THE JURORS
SHOULD HAVE BEEN INSTRUCTED ACCORD-
INGLY.

The Government’s fundamental objection to the cireu-
lar letters and advertisements is that they state maximum
benefits without setting forth the conditions and limita-
tions that may reduce those benefits or affect the risks
covered.

But the advertisements or letters do not purport to in-
clude all terms of the policies. The reader is referred to
the policy for specification and amplification. The appli-
cant is bound by the limitations in the policy, and if the
policy fairly states them, there is no fraud.

Thus, in Bowers v. Washington Times Co., 65 Fed. (2)
200 (C. A. D. C.), the advertisement read as follows:

‘*One dollar provides protection for $10,000 to sub-
seribers of the Washington Times. * * * For loss of
life, $10,000. For loss of both eyes, $10,000. * * *
With other provisions.”’

The policy provided (as does the Security policy here)
that the maximum benefit (in that case $10,000) was to be
paid on the insured’s death only if caused by wrecking
of a railroad passenger car, steamship, ferry, street car,
elevated or subway car. Otherwise the indemnity for death
would be $500.

The insured was killed in an automobile accident. The
Court held that his beneficiary could recover only $500

ON OE Rye eee Re eh PROS

39

and that there was no fraud in the advertising or in the
policy. The Court said (p. 202):

‘*The advertisement sets out in a prominent man-
ner that the policy in question would contain other
provisions. The insured was thereby notified that he
should examine the policy in order to fully acquaint
himself with its terms.

It appears that the policy which was tendered to ap-
pellant after the death of decedent was of the stand-
ard type and form issued by the defendants in sneh
transactions and referred to in the receipt which de-
cedent received in his lifetime. There was no fraud
or concealment in the character of the policy, such as
to mislead any reasonably careful person.’’

The Court of Appeals in its opinion, in the instant ease,
refused to follow Bowers v. Washington Times Co. on the
ground that that was a civil case (R. 936).

The distinction is not valid.

The suit in the Bowers case was not for recovery on the
policy, but for recovery of the $10,000 indemnity advertised,
which was greater than the amount payable in the pol-
icy for the particular loss sustained. The plaintiff denied
(as here) that the insured did not have to read his policy,
but could rely on the advertising. The suit was based on
a fraud rather than on a contract. The question involved
is the same as that involved in the case at bar, and the
two decisions cannot be reconciled.

In view of the fact that the policies here had been ap-
proved by the State Department of Insurance, which had
sole jurisdiction over them, it cannot be properly con-
tended that they are deceptive or misleading or that their
issuance showed the actual intent to defraud, that is essen-
tial to a conviction.

Reilly v. Pinkus, 338 U. S. 269 (276).

The question presented is important, and the Court

40

should resolve the difference between the decisions thereon
by the Court of Appeals for the 7th Cireuit in this case,
and by the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
in Bowers v. Washington Times Co.

If this question is resolved in favor of the Court of Ap-
peals of the District of Columbia, it follows that the Dis-
trict Court erred in the instant case in not granting the
motion for acquittal and in any event, in refusing to give
to the jury the tendered instruction stating that it was the
duty of the insured to read his policy and if it was un-
satisfactory, to reject it (R. 273).

We submit that the Court should grant a writ of cer-
tiorari in this case and that the decision of the Court of
Appeals herein should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Rocer SHERMAN,
Henry F. Tenney.
S. Asuiey GutTurir,
Attorneys for Petitioners.
S. AsHLey GurTarir,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_1003%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
