# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bondholders v. Leigh R. Powell, Jr.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0980%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1952
- **Citation:** 342 U.S. 921

## Text

ee al

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1951

BONDHOLDERS, INC., Peririoner,
versus

LEGH R. POWELL, JR., and HENRY W. ANDERSON,
as Recetvers or SEABOARD AIR LINE RAILWAY
COMPANY, and SEABOARD AIR LINE RAIL-
ROAD COMPANY, Responvents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

To the Honorable The Supreme Court of the United States:

Petitioner, Bondholders, Inc., prays that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, entered in the
above-entitled case on June 1, 1951.

OPINIONS BELOW
The order of the Distriet Court (R. 1) is not reported.
The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cir-
euit (R. 275) is reported in 190 F. (2d) 74.

SE etek tae eee ee ne kee eee ney

—

eins BeaviP RSE Ati s.

BAS Et

Ste OES Dasa REEL Nes LACT GA a adv

2 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
on June 1, 1951 (R. 287). A petition for rehearing filed on
June 30, 1951 (R. 288) was denied on July 11, 1951 (R.
292). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S. C., see. 1254 (1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the receivership court has the right to treat
a reorganization plan in equity as though it were a reor-
ganization plan under the Bankruptcy statutes, making it
inflexible after the date of consummation, and therefore re-
fusing distribution of any part of unexpected additional
assets coming into the hands of the receivers to creditors
not included in distribution of securities in the original
plan of reorganization?

2. Whether proceeds from sale of additional assets ac-
quired by debtor railroad while operating in equity receiv-
ership should be distributed to unsatisfied creditors on a
basis consistent with the Plan of Reorganization, where
such assets were not sold in the original judicial sale con-
summating the eit pamesiansl but were reserved for the
receivership estate?

3. Whether in a railroad reorganization in equity,
when an erroneous estimate of future earnings produces
insufficient capitalization to include in satisfaction of
claims certain creditors holding junior bonds, unexpected
earnings of the debtor, expressly reserved for future dis-
tribution by the Court, may be distributed solely to senior
bondholders whose claims have already been satisfied by
receipt of new securities determined to be the ‘‘equitable
equivalent’’ of the rights surrendered?

—E7_7_

LeGH R. PowELL, JR., et al., RESPONDENTS 3

STATEMENT

The Seaboard Air Line Railway Company (hereinaf-
ter referred to as the Old Company) was placed in equity
receivership on December 23, 1930, in the District Courts
of the United States for the Eastern District of Virginia
and the Southern District of Florida, and was operated in
receivership until July 31, 1946, when substantially all its
properties were delivered after judicial sale to the newly
organized Seaboard Air Line Railroad Company (herein-
after referred to as the New Company), which has since
operated the railroad.

The corporate structure of the Old Company was ex-
ceedingly complicated and adverse economic conditions
prevented adoption of a practical reorganization plan until
a special master was appointed in 1939. Finally, on July
20, 1943, his report with proposed plan was submitted, and
approved with modifications on December 10, 1943; Guar-
anty Trust Co. v. Seaboard Air Line Ry. Co., 53 F. Supp.
672, affirmed, Badenhausen v. Guaranty Trust Co., 4 Cir.,
145 F. (2d) 40.

The reorganization presented two main questions “* (1)
what could be a proper reduced capitalization for the re-
organized company, and (2) what allocation of the new
securities should be made among the numerous classes of
secured ereditors.’’ (53 F. Supp. at p. 677.)

The capitalization of the New Company was fixed at
$185,000,000.00 divided into general mortgage bonds, in-
come mortgage bonds, preferred stock and common stock.
In addition the New Company assumed payment of $11,-
870,000.00 of Receiver’s Certificates, making a total ecapi-
talization of $196,870,000.00. That figure was arrived at by
estimating the probable future earnings of the several lines
comprising the railroad system, and was not based on the
value of the mortgaged property. The probable future earn-

me a

4 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

ings were predicted in 1948 at sufficient to cover fixed an-
nual charges of $6,808,500.00 (53 F. Supp. at p. 679). That
capitalization was subsequently approved by the Interstate
Commerce Commission (257 I. C. C. 683, 257 1. C. C. 837)
but not without comment that the capitalization was actu-
ally less than the cash value of the railroad property. (257
I. C. C. 696).

Contemporaneously the allocation of the securities of
the New Company to the creditors of the Old Company
was determined. There were ten underlying mortgages upon
divisional lines of the system, and four general system
mortgages, as well as receiver’s obligations and other se-
cured debts.’ Those highest in priority secured by mort-
gages on the most profitable and valuable lines were fully
paid. Securities were allocated to the others in accordance
with formulas based on respective segregated earnings,
3 freight business and value of plant of the separate divi-
: sions. In conformity with the expressions of this Court in
: the cases of Ecker v. Western Pac. R. Corp., 318 U.S.
4 448, 63S. Ct. 692, 87 L. Ed. 892; and Group of Inst. In
) -vestors v. Chicago, M. St. P. & P. R. Co., 318 U. 8. 523,
: 63 S. Ct. 727, 87 L. Hd. 959 (hereinafter referred to as the
Milwaukee case), both the special master and the District
Court adhered to the prineiple that ‘‘a prior lien must be
fully and fairly compensated in value in what is received
therefor in new securities before subordinate liens can
participate’’ (53 F. Supp. 681). When the face value of a
claim was equalled by the par value of new securities allo-
cated to it, that claim was considered satisfied for the pur-
pose of passing to the next claim; and the District Court
modified the special master’s proposed plan in those in-
stances where it seemed that ‘‘excessive amounts of par

:
i
2

Vacca

aa ues ee

' The total secured indebtedness of the Seaboard, principal and inter-
est, in the hands of the public at the time the plan was approved was
$340,251,484.64 (53 F. Supp. 677).

Phew ictharcueniie rin ca corne tions.

Oi FO ay TT

ou ae

ete a bh Sen

LeGH R. POWELL, JR., et al., RESPONDENTS 5

value of new securities’? had been allocated to senior liens
(53 F. Supp. at p. 689). When all securities had been al-
located in accordance with the plan some 47% of the
general system mortgage known as the Refunding mortgage
was unsatisfied by par value of new securities, and there
were no securities left to apply to the general mortgage
known as the Adjustment mortgage, which constituted a
lien immediately junior to the Refunding mortgage (53 F.
Supp. at p. 680). The reason for this was the insufficient
base of estimated annual income on which an insufficient
amount of new securities were predicated. Unsecured
claims and preferred and common stockholders were like-
wise eliminated from participation in the new securities.

To consummate the equity reorganization a judicial
sale of the railroad properties was necessary. In order to
provide a proportionate cash payment for creditors who
refused to accept new securities, further hearings were
held in 1945 and a cash value or upset price for the whole
railroad property was fixed at $52,000,000.00. The cash
share to be distributed to each lien was determined there-
from, Guaranty Trust Co. v. Seaboard Air Line Ry. Co., 60
F. Supp. 607. In recognition of the insufficient estimate of
future annual income and the resulting insufficiency of new
securities, the decree on that sale reserved for future dis-
tribution all income earned between the date of that sale
and such date as delivery might be made. (R. 188.) To com-
plete the mechanics of consummating the reorganization,
the creditors’ Reorganization Committee entered into a
Reorganization Agreement with the New Company on May
25, 1945, wherein the Committee agreed to purchase the
railroad for the new company at the foreclosure sale and
to transfer to the new company all property purchased by
the Committee; to bid at all sales and to pay the purchase
price as far as possible by the use of deposited bonds, de-

ee peat

a) a SS eee ee

6 BoNnDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

posited with the Committee by the holders under the vari-
ous mortgages. The New Company agreed to pay the
balance of the purchase price if any were needed, to assume
certain liabilities of the insolvent, and to issue to the Re-
organization Committee the new securities to be distributed
under the plan. The sale was held May 51, 1945, and the
properties transferred on July 31, 1946, the New Company
then beginning operation. The new securities were delivered
to the creditors’ Reorganization Committee for distribution.

The receivership was not terminated, however, and the
present controversy arose out of two subsequent judicial
sales and transfers of assets to the New Company.

On March 28, 1947, Order 442A of the District Court
directed the sale and transfer by the receivers to the Re-
organization Committee, and through it to the New Com-
pany, of assets in the sum of $10,045,270.66, consisting of
the earnings of the receivers in the operation of the Sea-
hoard at their own risk between May 31, 1945, when the
foreclosure sale took place, and July 31, 1946, when the
settlement between the Old Company and the New Company
took place in accordance with the plan. (R. 251.)

On October 25, 1950, Order 451A in sr’ scantially
identical terms directed the sale and transfer of assets in
the sum of $6,338,838.77, consisting of tax refunds resulting
from carrying back losses in 1947 and 1950 on excess profits
taxes paid by the receivers in 1943 and 1944. (R. 11.) All
assets coming into the hands of the receivers after the
original sale date had been specifically reserved to the
receivership for the benefit of creditors. (R. 188.) 60 F.
Supp. at p. 616.)

Meanwhile time had proved the originally predicted
earning power of the railroad was grossly underestimated
by the master, the district court and the Court of Appeals.
Instead of $7,000,000.00 the annual earnings have averaged

P

i al

Lecu R. Power, Jr., et al., RESPONDENTS 7

$17,954,608.00 since 1941 and have never fallen under $10,-
357,631.00. (1947.)

Bondholders, Inc., a corporation whose stockholders
are holders of a majority of the remaining outstanding
bonds issued under the general system mortgage known as
the Adjustment mortgage, made objection (in accordance
with Notice Order 450) (R. 48) to the final sale and trans-
fer under Order 451A, this $6,000,000.00 being all remain-
ing assets in the hands of the receivers except a sum
reserved for payment of final costs. (R. 3.) The grounds
for the objection were: (1) no real consideration was being
paid by the New Company for the fund to be transferred
to it, (2) no further satisfaction was to be paid to creditors
either in accordance with the plan or in any other manner,
and (3) time had proved the Adjustment mortgage was
inequitably eliminated from participation in the new se-
curities in 1945 and should receive some payment from
final assets which had been reserved for creditors. (R. 50.)

The proposed Order 451A, as in the case of Order
442A where $10,000,000.00 was transferred, provided that
the $6,000,000.00 in cash assets was to be ‘‘paid’’ for by
the use of deposited bonds held by the Reorganization
Committee as far as possible, any excess to be paid by the
New Company. The New Company also agreed to assume
future adjudicated liabilities of the receivers declared pay-
able by order of the court. (R. 30.) Your petitioner’s ob-
jections were overruled (R. 79) and Order 451A signed
October 25, 1950.

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Cireuit affirmed
the judgment of the District Court, filing its opinion on
June 1, 1951. Its conclusions with reference to the objec-
tions made may be summarized as follows:

1. The $16,000,000.00 in funds transferred under
Orders 442A and 451A were paid for ‘‘by crediting the

BAM NM at a Sal aRE AA ad as rane renvareememmamas

— ——

& BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

amount of the purchase upon the unpaid indebtedness of
the Old Company represented by bonds on deposit with the
Reorganization Committee and bonds in the hands of bond-
holders entitled to participate in the Plan who had failed
to deposit their securities.’”

2. To afford any portion of payment to claims not
satisfied in the original distribution under the Plan would
require a substantial modification of the Plan, which should
not be done unless there is a showing of substantial in-
justice.

3. Holders of Adjustment bonds have not pursued
their rights unceasingly throughout the years of litigation
and cannot now complain; specifically since the Adjustment
mortgage trustee did not participate in the receivership
litigation, and no appeal was taken by appellant from Order
442A, under which the first $10,000,000.00 of additional
assets was transferred.

SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS TO BE URGED

The Court of Appeals erred:

1. In holding that ‘‘ecrediting’’ purchase price on de-
posited bonds for which cash and new securities had already
been issued was a sufficient consideration for the funds
transferred, although no additional satisfaction is to be
furnished creditors.

2190 F. (2d) 74, 78. ‘In each instance payment for the assets trans-
ferred was made by crediting the amount of the purchase price upon
the unpaid indebtedness of the Old Company represented by bonds on
deposit with the Reorganization Committee and bonds in the hands of
bondholders entitled to participate in the Plan who had failed to deposit
their securities. Appropriate amount representing the distributive share
of each bond was endorsed on the deposited bonds or added to the
amount to be paid in cash by the New Company to the non-assenting
bondholders upon the final consummation of the Plan. In other words,
the transfer of these assets was made and the purchase price was paid
in the same way that the sale of the railroad property was made under
the decree of foreclosure; and the share of the participating bond-
holders in the assets of the debtor was correspondingly increased.”

a

LeGH R. PowELL, Jr., ef al., RESPONDENTS 9

2. In holding that bonds deposited, and for which cash
and new securities have been issued of a par value equal
to the face value of such claims, are not satisfied and may
continue to be re-used for further ‘‘purchase’’ of debtor’s
assets without additional distribution to creditors.

3. In failing to require respondents to continue to ap-
ply to all creditors the equitable rule of satisfaction set
up in the Plan, such that when each senior claim is satisfied
by allocation of securities equalling the claim at par then
satisfaction should be extended to the next most senior lien
in order of priority.

4. In failing to require uniform treatment of all credi-
tors on a basis consistent with the Plan, so that creditors
should continue to be satisfied and receive distribution of
the proceeds of the successive sales of the debtor’s assets.

5. In holding that in a receivership proceeding in
equity a claimant whose claim has been treated through-
out, and which has been the subject of consideration, argu-
ment, and previous appeals, and which has not been
previously satisfied because of insufficient assets, is barred
from participation in new assets as they subsequently be-
come available for payment of debts.

6. In holding that payment of wholly unsatisfied claims
as new assets become available will require modification of
the reorganization Plan.

7. In holding that bonds deposited in return for cash
and new securities remain of force as against the debtor :
so as to prevent distribution of additional assets to other
unsatisfied creditors.

8. In failing to recognize that the vast earnings of the
New Company exceed the predicted earnings by such a wide
margin that petitioner and other creditors were inequitably
excluded from participation in new securities or cash pay-
ment, and in failing to require the receivership court to

10 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

direct distribution of the remaining assets of the debtor
Old Company to previously unsatisfied creditors on a fair
and equitable basis.

9. In failing to make any provisions whatever for
the payment of unsatisfied lien creditors, including peti-
tioner, although large sums reserved at the first sale to
the receivers for the creditors are available for part pay-
ment.

10. In holding that setting up of new ‘‘distributive
share’’ allowances for dissenting bondholders, who have
not yet deposited their bonds but who may ask for the
securities or cash distributive share reserved for them,
constitutes any real consideration for the transfer of $6,-
000,000.00 of the debtor’s assets.

11. In holding, in effect, that a bookkeeping transaction
whereby credits are given on old bonds long since sur-
rendered in exchange for new securities, and setting up a
cash reserve of $300,000.00 to pay distributive shares for
dissenters who may come in at this late date in the re-
organization, constitutes adequate consideration in equity
for the transfer of $6,000,000.00 of the debtor’s assets.

12. In holding that some $22,500,000.00 in Adjustment
bonds, called in by the old Seaboard in exchange for other
securities more than 20 years ago, constitute an asset in
the hands of the new Seaboard.

13. In failing to distinguish clearly between payment
of claims and satisfaction of claims in equity, thereby ap-
plying a rule of equitable satisfaction to claims upon the
original foreclosure sale, but requiring full payment of
claims in the second and third sales of debtor’s property.

4
Z
2
4

Lan eee vee

Ea RT Oe ae eee
EMes

so Bs taht Ag. bane BISA Rites

j
4

14. In treating a reorganization plan in equity as
though it were a reorganization plan under the Bankruptcy
statutes, making it inflexible after the date of consummation
and thereafter refusing distribution of any part of unex-

——

LecH R. PowELL, JR., et al., RESPONDENTS 11

pected additional assets coming into the hands of the re-
ceivers to creditors not included in distribution of securities
in the original plan of reorganization.

15. In holding that cash payment from additional as-
sets, in part payment of previously unsatisfied bonds, will
upset or disturb in any manner a plan of reorganization
executed more than five years ago.

16. In affirming the order of the District Court, Order
451A.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. This petition to the Supreme Court represents the
last opportunity that this Court, or any other, shall have
to mitigate what time has proved was a monumental in-
equity in the reorganization of the Seaboard Air Line Rail-
way Company. More than $100,000,000.00 in claims against
the old Seaboard remain unsatisfied in any degree at this
date. Yet since the consummation of the reorganization
plan in 1946 and the issuance of cash and securities to ered-
itors allowed to participate, more than $10,000,000.00 of
additional assets have been passed to the new Seaboard
without consideration or any further satisfaction of ered-
itors; and Order 451A of the District Court, appealed from
and affirmed by the Court of Appeals, transfers from the
receivers an additional $6,000,000.00, the final fund that will
ever be available for payment of unsatisfied creditors. This
transfer is equally without consideration or any further
satisfaction of unsatisfied creditors.

The senior unsatisfied claim is that of the general sys-
tem mortgage known as the Adjustment mortgage, totaling
some $5,000,900.00 principal and interest still outstanding
and in the hands of the public. The majority of the outstand-
ing bonds still in existence issued under that mortgage are
held by Petitioner, whose 29 individual stockholders formed
the Petitioner corporation to act in their behalf.

} no AED LE BN PETE BIE See? AB _ Ie

12 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

Petitioner has been unable to find another instance in
any major reorganization of a carrier or public utility
where a bona fide secured creditor was wholly excluded
from participation in the new company, unless paid in cash.
The exclusion of the Adjustment mortgage was explained
on the ground that the prospective earnings available for
fixed charges of the new Seaboard would be only about $7,-
000,000.00 annually, and could not support a capitalization
broad enough to include this junior secured claim. Through-
out the years representatives of the Adjustment claim have
consistently asserted the position that the earning predic-
tion was too low,’ although an inactive Trustee forced the
protection of the Adjustment mortgage claim upon indi-
vidual bondholders. However justifiable the prediction of
a $7,000,000.00 ‘annual income might have been in 1945, the
actual new Seaboard income has averaged $14,000,000.00
* * * twice the prediction, while the income of both old
and new Seaboard over the ten years 1941-51 averaged
more than $17,000,000.00. Comparatively junior creditors
who thought they were surrendering their claims in re-
turn for stock with a predicted market value of 10 to 15
(58 F. Supp. 681, 60 F. Supp. 613) today find their stock
at 65. Indeed they find themselves the owners of a $400,-
000,000.00 railroad rapidly paying out its mortgage debt;
while their compatriot holders of Adjustment bonds, with
a mortgage over the same original assets, have nothing.
Nevertheless, to that company by the device of a bookkeep-
ing ‘‘sale’’ Petitioner sees the last $6,000,000.00 of the
debtor’s assets pass, with no further satisfaction offered
to creditors,’ and in the very wake of a previous transfer
of $10,000,000.00 under Order 442A.

3 See, Guaranty Trust Co. v. Seaboard Air Line Ry. Co., 53 F. Supp.

672; Badenhausen v. Guaranty Trust Co. of N. Y., 4 Cir., 145 F. (2d)
40; Blackford v. Powell, 4 Cir., 141 F. (2d) 302.

‘For Judge Learned Hand’s cogent evaluation of such “sales” see,
In re Lake’s Laundry, 2 Cir., 79 F. (2d) 326.

LEGH R. POWELL, JRk., ef al., RESPONDENTS 13

2. The result of the holding below is contrary to the
rule established by this Court in the Milwaukee case:

‘It is sufficient that each security holder in the
order of his priority receives from that which is avail-
able for the satisfaction of his claim the equitable
equivalent of the rights surrendered. That requires a
comparison of the new securities allotted to him with
the old securities which he exchanges to determine
whether the new are the equitable equivalent of the
old. But that determination cannot be made by the use
of any mathematical formula. Whether in a given case
) senior creditors have been made whole or received ‘full

compensatory treatment’ rests in the informed judg-

ment of the Commission and the District Court on

consideration of all relevant facts. (318 U. S. 523, at
| p. 565. Emphasis supplied.)

\ On the original foreclosure sale, this rule was followed
by the courts who saw to it that the ‘‘equitable equivalent”’
was furnished to each secured creditor for the claims sur-
rendered. Securities were allotted on the basis of the earn-
ing value of the property covered by the mortgage, then
when the face value of a claim was equalled by the par value
of new securities allotted to it (with common stock at
$100), that claim was considered satisfied for the purpose
of passing to the next claim. (R. 123.) Because of the too-
low capitalization, the Adjustment mortgage was not
reached. Some 53% of the face value of the claim of the
Refunding mortgage, immediately senior to the Adjust-
ment mortgage and on the same properties, was satisfied.
Its actual satisfaction for all purposes of equity, however,

ay EEE wagner

was complete, for the Refunding holders surrendered up

their bonds to be ‘feaneelled’* and accepted the new se-

5 Group of Inst. Investors v. Chicago, M. St. P. & P. R. Co., 318
U. S. 523, 63 S. Ct. 727, 87 L. Ed. 959.

A eA Te Na RE REIT BENT VR ANE AM OLE ST

14 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

curities, even though they represented only 53% of thei
¢laim at par."

Order 451A, however, contains no recognition of the
equitable satisfaction of those claims which participated
in the new securities. As in the case of Order 442A, the
debtor’s funds are to be passed in an apparently ‘legal’
manner, for in legal contemplation the Reorganization Com.
mittee was the holder of the old bonds deposited with it by
thousands of individual bondholders. The consideration in
the ‘‘sale’’ is provided by the Reorganization Committee
merely crediting against the face value of those old bonds
the **purchase price’? of the debtor’s assets. (R. 26.) But
to allow the Committee in an equity proceeding to ‘‘pur-
chase’’ assets specifically reserved for the receivership (R.
188) by using bonds which have already been satisfied by
receipt of their ‘‘equitable equivalent’’ in new securities,
is to fly directly in the face of the rule of the Milwaukee
case.’ If a given claim was satisfied in the original sale and
distribution of securities, so as to permit passing to the
next claim in order of priority, then such claim is satis-
fied for all purposes in equity in this receivership. The rea-
soning of the Court below (R. 282, 285) that Petitioner can-
not be offered any satisfaction because the Refunding mort-
gage immediately senior to the Adjustment mortgage has
not been paid in full, simply does not meet the require-
ments of equity, nor the rule set out by this Court in the

6 On the consummation of the plan and issue and distribution of the
new securities as provided in the plan, ‘the existing capital stock,
mortgage bonds, notes and debentures of Subsidiaries affected by the
plan * * * shall be relinquished and surrendered to the Reorgani-
zation Committee and cancelled and the respective mortgages or other
evidences of indebtedness shall be released of record and cancelled.”
Plan of Reorganization. See also Deposit Agreement, Sec. 18 (R. 161).

7 See also, Ecker v. Western Pac. R. Corp., 318 U. S. 448, 63 S. Ct.
692, 87 L. Ed. 892; Insurance Group Committee v. Denver & R. G. W.
R. Co., 329 U. S. 607, 67 S. Ct. 583, 91 L. Ed. 951; Northern Pacific
R. Co. v. Boyd, 228 U. S. 482, 33 S. Ct. 554, 57 L. Ed. 931; Reconstruc-
tion Finance Corporation v. Denver & R. G. W. R. Co., 328 U. S. 495,
66 S. Ct. 1282, 1384, 90 L. Ed. 1400.

LEGH R. POWELL, JR., et al., RESPONDENTS 15

Milwaukee case. The mortgages ahead of the Refundings
were not paid in full either; but they were ‘‘satisfied’’ with
new securities and the Refunding mortgage was reached
in the distribution. (R. 123-4.) The same rule must continue
to apply on this third ‘‘sale’’ of assets, and some satisfac-
tion be afforded to the Adjustment mortgage. If there re-
mained any equity in the Refunding mortgage after the
first sale, that equity was most certainly wiped out by its
use in the ‘‘purchase’’ of $10,000,000.00 in assets under
Order 442A. That equity is the only conceivable purchasing
power which remained in the hands of the Reorganization
Committee after the original foreclosure sale, when all the
new Seaboard securities were issued and distributed.

This is an equity receivership. The decisions of the
courts below treat this equity proceeding as though it were
a plan under Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act, or old
Section 77, which became fixed and inflexible on the con-
summation date in 1946. In an equity receivership no cred-
itor’s right to participate is barred while there are assets
to pay him. The reorganization proceeded in conformity
with the Milwaukee case through the original foreclosure
sale, and consummation of the plan; but on the second and
third sales it departed therefrom, with the result that al-
ready-satisfied stockholders of the new Seaboard are to
be unjustly enriched at the expense of fellow creditors of
the old Seaboard. Some of these creditors may receive at
least part satisfaction if the rule of the Milwaukee case
is uniformly applied.

3. The result of the decisions below is to perpetuate an
error of the past. Neither the District Court nor the Court
of Appeals made recognition of the fact that the 1943 un-
derestimate of the new Seaboard earnings and the result-
ing low capitalization worked a great inequity upon Pe-
titioner and other unsatisfied creditors, although admitting

Sette Wis Lag Ea Bit aaNet ak cate ath us Case

es taeeies als aaestie,

LR oe IRS ee ae

16 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

earnings ‘‘exceedec) expectations’’. (R. 285.) Recognition
of this inequity would necessarily require furnishing some
sort of satisfaction to the Adjustment claim from present
funds. Petitioner believes this Court, in its supervisory ea-
pacity, should give judicial recognition to that inequity.
Krom an eighteen-page opinion the Court of Appeals
quoted a one-sentence comment on this point, although
discussion of it comprised the great bulk of Petitioner's
oral and printed argument.

4. The faith of the general public in bond issues of
public companies, carriers, and utilities, requires that this
issue be heard by the Supreme Court.

These bonds, first issued in 1909 to mature in 1949 with
$25,000,000.00 eventually sold, and secured by the same
properties securing the Refunding issue, are in a true sense
representative of all bonds that may be caught up in re-
organizations. Their elimination from participation in the
new company was a very serious affair. Elimination from
participation in an additional $16,000,000.00 of additional
assets seems almost unjustifiable to the public holder. Sta-
bility of the very system of bond financing requires protec-
tion for the bond investor and payment from the security

8 “With regard to the contention that the present large System earn-
ing justified some recognition of the Adjustment 5’s, it is sufficient to
say that there is certainly no evidence before the court from which it
can be found that the Adjustment 5’s have a legal or equitable claim
to any accumulated income as there is not a sufficient amount thereof
to satisfy the claim of the Refunding 4’s, and indeed no mortgage
foreclosure proceeding asking impounding of income has been filed by
the trustee of the Adjustment 5’s.” (R. 279) (53 F. Supp. 681).

As on several points in the opinion, the Court here adhered to the
legal theory that the Refunding claim has a remaining unpaid cash
value, without reference to its value in equity after its surrender in
return for new securities. The free interchanging of the words “paid”
and “satisfied” makes for obscurity throughout. (R. 285.) The comment
concerning impounding of income is an aside, of course, and furnishes no
illumination. The income of the old Seaboard has been impounded for
all creditors by the Courts since 1930. Several of the mortgages which
were satisfied in the plan were not foreclosed. The lien of the Adjust-
ment mortgage is identical in all respects to the Refunding, being only
immediately junior. (R. 104.)

LEGH R. PowELL, Jr., et al., RESPONDENTS 17

available for satisfaction of the bond. All other secured
claims in this reorganization, and in any reorganization
of this type that Petitioner has found, have received some
satisfaction or payment.

The holders of the Seaboard First & Consolidated
Mortgage bonds, executed and first issued in 1915, and
junior to the Adjustment mortgage, probably received more
satisfaction out-of-proportion to the priority of their lien
than any other creditors. While that mortgage was a first
lien on only 408 miles of track, some $65,000,000.00 of the
Refunding 4’s were deposited as collateral with its Trus-
tee. The result was that it claimed a larger portion of com-
mon stock of the new Seaboard than any other bond, yet
the common stock has proved the most valuable issue be-
cause of the low capitalization of the new company.

It is difficult to reconcile the inequity which allows the
Adjustment bondholder, standing between the Refunding
holders and the First & Consolidated holders, to receive no
stock, while they received some 56% of all common stock.
Then he sees an additional $16,000,000.00 go to swell the
value of that stock, while a small part of that would equi-
tably satisfy his claim. This is the view of the matter which
the public sees, and the public interest in the protection of
investments is a compelling reason why the writ should be
granted.

5. The interests of Adjustment bondholders and other
creditors not permitted to participate in the original dis-
tribution of securities have not been adequately safe-
guarded in this reorganization. While millions of dollars
were being spent in costs and fees, including the costs of
various protective committees,’ the Adjustment mortgage

®See the critical comment of the Interstate Commerce Commission
concerning “excessive” fees and reorganization costs, 261 I. C. C. 723;
and the lengthy opinion of the District Court on that matter, Guaranty
Trust Co. v. Seaboard Air Line Ry. Co., 68 F. Supp. 304.

18 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

trustee was inactive (R. 169) and various individual bond-
holders were forced to support the Adjustment claim, it
having only sporadic representation."”© This has worked a
double inequity upon Petitioner, as evidenced by the com-
ments of the Court of Appeals in its opinion below (R.
279); although the Court admitted its power in equity to
remedy the situation. (R. 286.)

Petitioner believes that the courts below, motivated by
an entirely earnest desire to see this lengthy litigation ter-
minated, have erred in holding that to offer satisfaction to
Petitioner in any form will ‘‘upset’’ or require modifica-
tion of the plan of reorganization, and will delay its con-
summation. (R. 78, 80, 282.)

Petitioner has not asked to have any securities issued
to Adjustment holders at this late date, or for any modi-
fication of the plan. The plan has, in fact, been executed
for all practical purposes since 1946, when the securities
were issued and the new Seaboard began operation. Few,
if any, bondholders depositing late have demanded cash
distributive shares, because of the higher value of the new
securities since the beginning; and only $300,000.00 cash re-
serve has been set up to pay possible late dissenters. (R.
66.) There will be little or no actual distribution to any
creditors, satisfied or unsatisfied. The transfer of $6,000,-
000.00 in assets to the new Seaboard is a bookkeeping trans-
action, whereby credits are charged back to old deposited
bonds (R. 6.) There will be no new consideration passed
by the new Seaboard, but merely a swelling of its treasury
by $6,000,000.00. Under Order 442A, more than $10,000,-
000.00 has already been passed, with no distribution to ered-

itors of any category (R. 250, 254).
10 The District Court gives a summary of the Adjustment 5’s repre-
sentation during the reorganization at 53 F. Supp. 672, 680. Blackford

v. Powell, 4 Cir., 141 F. (2d) 302, was also an abortive attempt at
appeal by individual holders.

| ema

LeEGH R. POWELL, JR., et al., RESPONDENTS 19

Because of the apparent stigma borne by any who
proposed modification of the plan, on this occasion the Pe-
titioner offered several simple methods whereby the Ad-
justment claim may be partly satisfied by a cash payment
to holders, in a proportion similar to cash distributive
shares offered to holders of similar lens. (R. 282.) Such
payment from the cash fund transferred can affect in no
way the plan, which has long since been executed. It can-
not be said that those who participated in the securities
issued under the plan relied upon the additional $10,000,-
000.00 and $6,000,000.00 funds from the receivership, which
did not come into the receivers’ hands until 1947 and 1950."
The Respondents did not even work out the new distribu-
tive shares based on these funds until after the ‘‘sale’’
under Order 451 (R. 67); and little, if any, of the small
fund reserved for dissenters will ever be paid out. (R. 67.)

The new Seaboard has specifically contracted with the
reorganization committee to pay any part of the purchase
price of the $6,000,000.00 fund ‘‘not payable by the use of
deposited bonds’? (R. 5, 30), and provision for satisfaction
of the Adjustment 5’s will not delay the closing of the re-
ceivership, nor affect distribution of remaining securities
to late depositers who may come in.

In a record as voluminous as that of this railroad re-
organization, it is all too easy to find justification for the
elimination of individual claims. Where the representation
of a claim has not been continuous throughout, the omis-
sion of many protective procedural steps is unavoidable.
Following execution of the plan of reorganization in 1946,

11 An important feature of both receivers’ applications 442 and 451
is the admission in each that the new assets there dealt with had “not
heretofore been sold or disposed of, and which under the provisions of
paragraph 18.14 of the Final Decree is to be dealt with as the Courts

may direct.” (Application 442, par. II; Application 451, Introd. par.)
(R. 237, R. 10.)

—

20 BONDHOLDERS, INC., PETITIONER, v.

all protective representation for minority creditors appar-
rently disappeared.

In the present litigation concerning Order 451A, Pe-
titioner found itself an outsider, being required to prove
that receivership funds should not go to previously satis-
fied creditors. The burden should have been upon the new
Seaboard, which was the ‘‘purchaser’’, to prove its right
to receive the large fund from the receivers while paying
no new consideration, nor making further satisfaction to
creditors.

In such circumstances, Petitioner believes it all the
more incumbent upon the courts that they exercise their
admitted powers in equity to safeguard the interests of
minority creditors, and that this Court should exercise its
supervisory power to that end.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,
: FRANK B. GARY, JR.,
‘ Columbia, S. C.,
3 AUBREY R. BOWLES, JR.,
: Richmond, Va.,
3 PAUL A. COOPER,
: Columbia, S. C.,
FRANK K. SLOAN,
5 Columbia, S. C.,
, Attorneys for Petitioner.
i October 8, 1951.

ie Se Me Uc ea,
_ eer ae a rae ae i
NOV 27 1951

Supreme Court of the Anited States:
No. 413

BONDHOLDERS, INC.,
Petitioner,
vs.

LEGH R. POWELL, Jr. and HENRY W. ANDERSON,
as Receivers of SEABOARD AIR LINE RAILWAY
COMPANY, and SEABOARD AIR LINE RAILROAD
COMPANY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION.

James B. McDonovueu, JR.,
Seaboard Air Line Railroad

Building,
Norfolk, Virginia,

Counsel for Respondents.

Haroutp J. GALLAGHER,
15 Broad Street,
New York, N. Y.,

Lreonarp D. ADKINS,
15 Broad Street,
New York, N. Y.,

W. R. C. Cocke,
Citizens Bank Building,
Norfolk, Virginia,

Of Counsel.

, an anee

INDEX.

Opinions BrELow

JURISDICTION ....----.

QuESTIONS PRESENTED ...........

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..............-.

Preliminary Statement

Previous adjudications of the status of the
Adjustment Bonds .........

The status of the Petitioner and of the Adjust-
ment Bonds held by it............... is

Statements and contentions of the Petitioner........

I on os sine corccnauticbamniins

The petition does not present any basis for
granting certiorari .......................--

There is no merit in Petitioner’s contentions......

I i eeiicincnnct

TaBLE oF Cases AND AUTHORITIES CITED.

CasEs.

Badenhausen v. Guaranty Trust Company of New
York, 145 F. 2d 40 (1944), 323 U. S. 797 (1945)......

Badenhausen v. Glazebrook, 148 F. 2d 450 (1945),
326 U. S. 733 (1945)

Blackford v. Powell, 151 F. 2d 392 (1945), 327 U.S.
778 (1946) Si ee

Bondholders, Inc. v. Powell, 190 F. 2d 74 (1951)........

Guaranty Trust Company of New York v. Seaboard
Air Line Railway Company, 53 F. Supp. 672 (1943)

Guaranty Trust Co. v. Seaboard Air Line Railway
ig, ew MPG FO I iss rcitcitiiiecickcosntarsntenecsnmiinsicinesine

Seaboard Air Line Railway Receivership, 261 I. C. C.
fern

OrHeR AUTHORITIES.

36 Amer. Jur. Mortgages, Sections 287 et seq.............

AE EY OPIN, FAL ROME EOE LEM SEEM i

PAGE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States
No. 413

BonpHo.pers, Inc.,
Petitioner,

vs.

Leocu R. Powett, Jr. and Henry W. Anverson, as Receivers
of SeaBoarp Amr Line Rartway Company, and SEaBoaRD

Ar Line Ramroap Company,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT.

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION.

Opinions Below.

There was no reported opinion by the District Court.
The order of the District Court which the Petitioner sought
to have reversed by the Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit was an order numbered Order No. 451 A, filed
October 26, 1950 (R. 1) in the constituent and consolidated
proceedings in which receivers (hereinafter called the
Seaboard Receivers) had been appointed for Seaboard Air
Line Railway Company (hereinafter called the Old Com-

pany).

we ee

2

Order No. 451 A is entitled and was entered in both the
United States District Court for the Eastern District of
Virginia and in the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida (the ancillary receivership
Court), in which those proceedings (hereinafter referred
to as the receivership proceedings) were pending (R. 1-10).

The appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit was from Order No. 451 A as entered in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia
(hereinafter called the Virginia Court) (R. 275). Although
there was no opinion by the Virginia Court, except Order
No. 451 A itself, the views of the Virginia Court with
respect to the contentions of the Petitioner are set forth in
the transcript of the proceedings before that Court, upon
which Order No. 451 A was entered (R. 54-81).

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit (R. 275) is reported as Bondholders, Inc. v. Powell,
et al., 190 F. 2d 74 (June 1, 1951).

Jurisdiction.

Petitioner seeks to have the judgment of the Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reviewed by this Court by
writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S. C. 1254 (1).

Questions Presented.

None of the ‘‘Questions Presented’’, as stated in the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari (P. 2), is in fact involved
in these proceedings, as will appear from our statement of
the case. Even if those questions, or any of them, were
involved, they would form no basis for granting the Petition.

The only question here presented is whether the
Virginia Court, in entering Order No. 451 A providing

3

for the sale of certain property remaining in the hands

of the Seaboard Receivers (consisting largely of refunds
of Federal income taxes for prior years when the rail-—
road was operated by the Seaboard Receivers) and the =
distribution of the proceeds of such sale was proceeding in ©
accordance with the legal and equitable rights of the bond-
holders of the Old Company and with the earlier decisions =
in the receivership proceedings. The Respondents will 4
show that that question must be answered in the affirmative
and that, in any event, nothing is presented that warrants —
a review by this Court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

Preliminary Statement.

The Seaboard reorganization was carried out through
receivership proceedings in equity. A Reorganization Plan
(R. 139) providing for the distribution of new securities
among the holders of a large number of different bond
issues was approved by the Reorganization Courts (the
Virginia Court and the United States District Court for
the Southern District of Florida) in 1943 (R. 129). That
Plan excluded the Adjustment Mortgage 5% Bonds due
October 1, 1949 of the Old Company (hereinafter called the
Adjustment Bonds), and the stock of the Old Company.
The Adjustment Bonds were secured by a lien on all the
property subject to the Seaboard Air Line Railway Refund-
ing Mortgage (hereinafter called the Refunding Mortgage),
junior to the lien of the Refunding Mortgage, but were not |
secured by any other lien.

A Final Decree of Foreclosure and Sale (hereinafter
called the Final Decree) was entered in the receivership
proceedings in 1945 (R. 164). It directed the sale of all the
property of the Old Company (with certain exceptions) and

4
the distribution of the proceeds of sale among the bonds
secured by mortgage liens on the property sold (R. 183).
The Final Decree found that all the property sold was sub-
ject to the lien of one or more of the mortgages (R. 179).
The mortgagees under all of the mortgages foreclosed by
the Final Decree (other than the Adjustment Mortgage)
had impounded the income from the respective mortgaged
properties (R. 120-121). There were no proceedings for
foreclosure of the Adjustment Mortgage and no order
impounding income in its favor was taken by the mort-
gagee. Decrees pro confesso were taken against the Trustee ?
under the Adjustment Mortgage (R. 169-173).

The total claim of the bonds outstanding under the
Refunding Mortgage (hereinafter called the Refunding
Bonds) at the date of the Final Decree was approximately
$168,000,000 (R. 182). The amount allocated to the Refund-
ing Bonds (including such pledged bonds) out of the pro-
ceeds of the sale pursuant to the Final Decree was about
$21,500,000, leaving a deficiency of more than $146,000,000.

The major exceptions from the property sold pursuant
to the Final Decree were (a) earnings of the property
between the date of sale and the date of delivery to the
purchaser (R. 188-191) and (b) certain claims for refund
of taxes (R. 195). The earnings were excluded because
of income tax problems in connection therewith. The tax
claims were excluded because of doubt whether they could )
be effectively assigned.

In 1947 (after the consummation of the reorganization)
the Reorganization Courts entered Order No. 442 A (R. 258),
which provided for the sale of property in the hands of the
Seaboard Receivers representing earnings from the opera-
tion by the Seaboard Receivers of the property sold pur-
suant to the Final Decree between the date of sale and the
date of delivery. The proceeds of that sale were approxi-

Sie Oe BOR Sa SRR Be

see LE PN ORT APRA PSL Mw

mately $10,000,000, and Order No. 442 A directed that those
proceeds be distributed among the bonds secured by the
foreclosed mortgages in the same proportions as the pro-
ceeds of sale of the property sold pursuant to the Final
Decree (Par. 7, R. 254). No appeal was taken from Order
No. 442 A and it is now res judicata. The Petition dis-
cusses it as if it were still open to attack. There is no
difference between the questions decided by Order No. 442 A
and the questions decided by Order No. 451 A, which is the
subject of this litigation.

Order No. 451 A (to which the Petition relates) dis-
posed of property representing proceeds of tax refund
claims amounting to about $6,000,000. The purchase price
of that property was ordered distributed among the bonds
secured by the foreclosed mortgages in the same propor-
tions as the proceeds of sale of the property sold pursuant
to the Final Decree and to Order No. 442 A (Par. 9, R. 6).

The total amount distributable to the Refunding Bonds
out of the proceeds of sale of the property sold pursuant
to the Final Decree and the property sold pursuant to
Orders Nos. 442 A and 451 A was only about $28,000,000 (or
about $330 per $1,000 bond), as against a claim of more
than $168,000,000.

All of the property sold pursuant to the Final Decree
and to Orders Nos. 442 A and 451 A was purchased by the
Reorganization Committee, and by it transferred to the
New Company pursuant to the Reorganization Agreement
referred to below.

The reorganization was consummated in 1946. Under
the Reorganization Plan bonds and stocks were allotted to
the Refunding Bonds. The total face amount of the securi-
ties so allotted (taking common stock without par value
at $100 per share) was $90,000,000 tess than the aggre-

SAPS ERD E DREMEL i Se RAS To ee

oP IES ape

UU SS RA REA TRC OAS PUES REO AE EEE BRE EON a5
vn

6

gate claim of the Refunding Bonds.* In spite of the
‘‘unexpected earnings’’ stressed in the Petition, the pre-
ferred and common stock allocated to the Refunding Bonds
has never sold as high as $100 per share, so that the market
value of the securities allotted to them was less than their
claim by an amount substantially in excess of $90,000,000.

The bonds of the various issues deposited under the
Reorganization Plan were deposited with the Reorganiza-
tion Committee appointed by the Courts under a Deposit
Agreement which provided (R. 159):

‘‘All Deposited Securities shall remain in full
force and effect for all purposes, and shall not be
deemed to have been merged, satisfied, released or
discharged, and no right or lien shall be deemed
released or waived in respect of any such securities,
and any judgment upon any claims (including claims
and judgments for deficiencies), and all liens and
equities, shall remain unimpaired and may be
enforced by the Committee and its successors or
assigns until paid or satisfied in full, or expressly
released * * *.’’

Accordingly, the Deposited Securities were entitled to
receive any additional property to which they might become
entitled subsequent to the first sale under foreclosure. The
Reorganization Agreement between the Reorganization
Committee and the New Company, dated May 25, 1945,
specifically obligated the Reorganization Committee to bid,
using the Deposited Securities, not only for the property

* The figure of $90,000,000 is based on Appendix E to the order
of the Interstate Commerce Commission in Finance Docket No.
14,500 approving the issue of securities pursuant to the Reorgani-
zation Plan, Seaboard Air Line Railway Company Receivership, 261
I. C. C. 689, 732 (1946). The total principal amount of Refunding
Bonds dealt with under the Reorganization Plan was $85,265,000,
including Refunding Bonds pledged under another mortgage which
were treated in the same way as Refunding Bonds not so pledged.

ree)

ae

iS

offered for sale pursuant to the Final Decree but also
for any property ‘‘ * * * which may be offered for sale
at any sale pursuant to any supplemental or other
decree which may hereafter be entered providing for the
sale of such property’’ (R. 200). In consideration of that
obligation and of the further agreement of the Reorganiza-
tion Committee to transfer or cause to be transferred to
the New Company all of the property acquired at such
sales, the New Company agreed to issue to the Reorganiza-
tion Committee, or as it might direct, all of the securities
of the New Company issuable in accordance with the Plan
(R. 200), which were distributed to depositors.

This proceeding arose upon the ‘‘ Answer and Objection
to Application No. 451’’ (R. 50), filed by counsel on behalf
of Bondholders, Inc., a South Carolina corporation, as the
owner and holder of certain of the Adjustment Bonds (R.
50). Bondholders, Inc., is attempting to relitigate the ques-
tion of the status of the Adjustment Bonds in relation to the
other bond issues dealt with in the reorganization. That
question has already been conclusively settled against the
contentions of the Adjustment Bonds.

Previous Adjudications of the Status of the
_ Adjustment Bonds.

The Adjustment Bonds wee judicially determined to
have no value, and not to bz entitled to participate in the
Reorganization Plan, in the three proceedings referred to
below, in each of which certiorari has been denied by this
Court. There were two general appeals from the order
approving the Reorganization Plan in which the status of
the Adjustment Bonds was adjudicated, and a separate
proceeding on behalf of the Adjustment Bonds alone.

8

The Reorganization Plan was approved by orders of
the Reorganization Courts entered in December, 1943, in
the receivership proceedings that had been pending since
December 23, 1930 (R. 129-138, 141).

The Virginia Court, in approving the Reorganization
Plan, handed down a carefully considered opinion, written
by the same judge who signed Order No. 451 A, which is
reported as Guaranty Trust Company of New York v. Sea-
board Air Line Railway Company, et al., 53 F. Supp. 672
(December 15, 1943), in which he held that the Adjustment
Bonds had no value and were not entitled to participation
in the Reorganization Plan (53 F’. Supp. 672, at page 680).

The Reorganization Plan was attacked (although not
by the holders of the Adjustment Bonds) in an appeal from
the Virginia Court’s order approving the Reorganization
Plan, in which that order was affirmed in all respects with
an opinion by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals reported
as Badenhausen v. Guaranty Trust Co. of New York,
145 F. 2d 40 (August 2, 1944), and certiorari was denied by
this Court on January 8, 1945 (Badenhausen, et al. v.
Guaranty Trust Company, et al., 323 U.S. 797).

A similar appeal had been taken in the Fifth Circuit
from the order of the Florida Court approving and ratify-
ing the Reorganization Plan. That order was likewise
affirmed in all respects with an opinion by the Fifth Circuit
Court of Appeals reported as Badenhausen, et al. v. Glaze-
brook, et al., 148 F. 2d 450 (April 10, 1945), and certiorari
was denied by this Court on October 8, 1945 (Badenhausen,
et al. v. Glazebrook, et al., 326 U.S. 733).

On February 9, 1945, one H. J. Blackford, as the holder
of certain Adjustment Bonds, filed a petition in the Virginia
Court, joined in by other holders of such bonds, alleging
that some provision should have been made for the holders

te set

PATEL SEP GLERE IL LEAT CLL SB AN La RAD A RR RAR ET ASA OIE

9

of the Adjustment Bonds because of the alleged priority
of the lien of the Adjustment Mortgage over the lien of
the Consolidated Mortgage (one of the mortgages securing
ponds participating in the Reorganization Plan), and also
claiming the right to receive certain moneys paid to paying
agents prior to the receivership.

The Virginia Court considered the Blackford petition
on the merits, even though noting that it had been improp-
erly filed, and found that the petitioner and other inter-
vening holders of Adjustment Bonds were barred and
concluded from relief (R. 196), ‘‘(a) by the previous pro-
ceedings, adjudications and decrees * * * impounding all
‘neome of Seaboard Air Line Railway Company and of the
Receivers for the benefit of * * * various mortgages prior
and paramount in lien to the lien of the Adjustment Mort-
gage; (b) by the decree of this Court dated December 10,
1943 * * * which adjudicated that the claims of holders
of Adjustment Bonds have no value and are not entitled to
participate in the distribution of capital securities or other
assets of the new Company, or otherwise in the assets of
the new Company or the earnings or income therefrom;
and (ce) by laches and delay in the assertion of the alleged
rights claimed by them.”’

An appeal from the order denying and dismissing the
Blackford petition was taken to the Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit where that order was affirmed in a
per curiam opinion reported as Blackford v. Powell, 151 F.
29d 392 (October 11, 1945), and certiorari was denied by
this Court on February 4, 1946 (Blackford v. Powell, 327
U. S. 778). In the Petition for Certiorari herein, no
mention is made of the fact that certiorari was denied by
this Court, although the case is referred to in a footnote
on page 12 and in another footnote on page 18. In each

Sn ere
To Ree asap UNC EEA BR ROY SENN PF LEAKS SOLD [is POOL RAT ARE LC

case (and in the index) the citation is erroneously given as
141 F, 2d 302.

In the per curiam opinion of the Fourth Circuit Court
of Appeals in the Blackford case it is said (151 F. 2d 392,
at page 395):

‘‘The conclusive answer to the appeal, however,
is the patent fact that it is an attempt to set aside
the plan of reorganization formulated after years of
careful investigation and approved by the District
Court and by this court on appeal. No satisfactory
excuse or explanation for so extraordinary an effort
has been or can be made.’’

These proceedings and the Petition for Certiorari herein
are a belated renewal of the same attempt.

The Status of the Petitioner and of the Adjustment
Bonds Held by it.

At the hearing before the Virginia Court upon the entry
of Order No. 451 A it was brought out by questions from the
court that this Petitioner, Bondholders, Inc., was incorpo-
rated in the year 1950 (R. 74) and that it acquired its
Adjustment Bonds in that year (R. 73), at which the court
asked counsel for the Petitioner if he was serious in what
he was asking (R. 73). The question was very natural,
for five years earlier, on October 11, 1945, the Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, with respect to the Adjust-
ment Bonds involved in the Blackford appeal, had said
(151 F. 2d 392, at p. 395):

‘*Appellant Blackford’s bonds were acquired on
December 19, 1944, after the decision of this court,
and Simpson’s bonds were acquired by him partly
before and partly after the Decree of the District
Court on December 10, 1943, and none of the appel-

11

lants or other holders of the bonds took any action
against the plan after that decree until February 9,
1945 when the petition now under consideration was
filed. The laches of the appellants has been so gross
that they are entitled to no further consideration by
the Court.”’

Statements and Contentions of the Petitioner.

It would be impracticable, within a reasonable compass,
to analyze and answer in detail all of the statements and
contentions of the Petitioner that are unsupportable and
erroneous, and upon which its claim is based, but we
are compelled to mention certain of them in this restatement
of the facts. The effort of the Petitioner to reopen the
reorganization on the ground that there have been ‘‘unex-
pected earnings’’ (Pet. 2) is without merit, and needs no
elaboration. If subsequent earnings, whether larger or
smaller than those anticipated, could equitably require or
justify the reopening of railroad reorganizations more
than five years after they have been consummated, no reor-
ganization would ever come to an end. Moreover, as pointed
out above, the ‘“ynexpected earnings’’ have not been large
enough to make the securities of the New Company worth
enough to satisfy fully the claims of the bonds senior to
the Adjustment Bonds.

The petition refers several times to Order No. 442 A,
which was the order entered in 1947 covering the sale of
the proceeds of the earnings of the property between the
sale date and the delivery date (see p. 4, above) as if that
order were still open to attack. No appeal was taken from
that order and, as stated above, it has now become res
adjudicata. The $10,000,000 proceeds of the property sold
pursuant to that order are not involved in any way in the
current proceeding. The Adjustment Bonds never had and

;

spas ce eae |
7

never could have any interest in that property, since
neither the Trustee under the Adjustment Mortgage nor
any holders of the Adjustment Bonds ever instituted any
proceedings to foreclose the mortgage or to establish any
lien on income. It is well settled that a mortgage creates no
lien on earnings or income until the mortgagee takes some
effective action to take possession of such earnings and
income, by impounding or otherwise. 36 Amer. Jur. Mort-
gage Secs. 287 et seq. Evenif an order impounding income }
had been secured, the Adjustment Bonds would still have
had no interest in those earnings, since they were inade-
quate to satisfy the claims of the prior mortgages.

Petitioner repeats many times that all of the bonds dealt
with in the Reorganization Plan have already been ‘‘equi-
tably satisfied.’’ We have shown that that is not true as
to the Refunding Bonds (the issue next senior to the
Adjustment Bonds), because even the face value of the new
securities which holders of those bonds received under the
Reorganization Plan was about $90,000,000 less than the
amount of their claim. The Petition admits (p. 13) that
the face value of new securities allotted to the Refunding
Bonds was only about 53% of their claim. The same situ-
ation exists in respect of some of the other bond issues
dealt with under the Reorganization Plan.

Apparently the Petitioner intends to argue that prior
bond issues must be deemed to have been ‘‘equitably satis-
fied’’ because issues junior thereto received some securities.
However, the Seaboard finant@ial structure was such that
each bond issue (except the Adjustment Bonds) was secured
(a) by a first lien on certain property and, in some cases,
(b) by a junior lien on other property and (ce) by pledge of
bonds issued under another mortgage. The allocations in
the Plan were, in most cases, made in respect of the first lien
property and in respect of the bonds so pledged, not in

13

respect of property on which a particular mortgage might
have a junior lien (see Bondholders, Inc. v. Powell, 190 F.
2d 74, footnote 1, p. 79; R. 282).

In any event no claim of ‘‘equitable satisfaction’ on the
ground suggested can be made in respect of the Refunding
Bonds, since no issue junior to the Refunding Bonds
received any securities under the Plan.

Petitioner seeks to escape the conclusive bar to its con-
tentions resulting from the large unsatisfied balance of the
claim of the Refunding Bonds by taking the position that
that claim no longer exists because the Refunding Bonds
deposited under the Reorganization Plan have been can-
celled. As we have pointed out on page 6 above, the
deposited securities were not cancelled, but were specifically
kept alive, and are entitled to share in the proceeds of sale
of the mortgaged properties. The Reorganization Com-
mittee was obligated to use those deposited securities to
acquire for the New Company the properties sold pursuant
to Orders Nos. 442 A and 451 A (R. 201).

The statement on page 5 of the Petition, that the
reservation of income after sale was because of the recog-
nized inadequacy of the estimated future earnings and the
distributions under the Reorganization Plan, is wholly
without foundation. The Courts were fully aware of the
scope and effect of that reservation, and it was specifically
taken into account in the determination of the upset price
under the Final Decree (See Guaranty Trust Co. v. Sea-
board Air Line Ry. Co., 60 F. Supp. 607, at page 616).

The $6,000,000 worth of property that was sold pursu-
ant to Order No. 451 A consisted almost entirely of
amounts allowed by the United States as refunds in respect
of Federal Income and Excess Profits taxes referable to
the years 1943 and 1944, prior to the sale under foreclosure
(R. 11). The entire amount, therefore, represented refunds

Dh REE Des!

14

in respect of income and earnings of the years 1943 and 1944,
all of which had been impounded for the benefit of the mort-
gages senior to the Adjustment Mortgage. The Reorgan-

ization Courts were fully aware of the existence of the tax
refund claims when the upset prices under the Final Decree
were determined (R. 185).

ARGUMENT.

The Petition Does Not Present Any Basis for
Granting Certiorari.

Even on the Petitioner’s statement of the questions
presented by the petition there is nothing in the petition
to justify the issue of a writ of certiorari, because none of
the questions stated is a question of public or general
interest or raises any conflict with any of the decisions of
this Court or of any Court of Appeals.

Moreover, as we have also pointed out above, the ques-
tion of the right of the Adjustment Bonds to participate
in the reorganization was conclusively and finally deter-
mined against them many years ago. Certainly a bond-
holder acquiring bonds in 1950 is in no position to try
to reopen those decisions at this time.

There Is No Merit in Petitioner’s Contentions.

As we have shown by our statement of facts above, there
could be no merit in Petitioner’s contentions even if the
questions which Petitioner seeks to raise had not already
been finally and conclusively determined.

Petitioner claims, in substance, that, because (as the
Petitioner says) the Reorganization Plan has turned out

Sees Teta

pagan
15

to have been unduly harsh in excluding the Adjustment
Bonds, the helders of those bonds are entitled to have the
Courts disregard the prior lien of the Refunding Bonds
(and other senior issues) on the property sold pursuant to
Order No. 451 A, and give that property to the Adjustment
Bonds.

That argument would be a complete non sequitur, even
if the premise were sound. Any inequity in the Reorgan-
ization Plan due to events after the consummation of the
Reorganization Plan, even if it could be corrected in any
way more than five years after consummation, could not
be corrected by taking property from unsatisfied senior
bond issues for the benefit of junior issues. Moreover, as
our statement of facts clearly shows, the Reorganization
Plan was not, when approved, and is not, even in the light
of subsequent events, unfair in excluding the Adjustment
Bonds.

The conclusive answer to the Petitioner’s claim is that
(a) the Refunding Bonds had a lien on the property sold
pursuant to Order No. 451 A prior to any lien which
the Adjustment Bonds could possibly have had thereon and
(b) the Refunding Bonds have a large unsatisfied claim,
even after applying thereon the proceeds of sale of said
property.

It is respectfully submitted that both Order No. 442 A
of March 28, 1947 (R. 385), which is now res adjudicata,
and Order No. 451 A of October 20, 1950 (R. 1), which the
Petitioner now seeks to have reviewed by this Court, were
strictly in accordance with law, and with the orders and
decrees of the Reorganization Courts and the decisions in
respect thereto, and that Order No. 451 A involves no ques-
tion which should be considered by this Court.

16

Conclusion.

For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully submitted
that the petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Dated, November 23, 1951.
Respectfully submitted,

James B. McDonoveu, JR.,
Seaboard Air Line Railroad
Building,
Norfolk, Virginia,
Counsel for Respondents.
Haroip J. GALLAGHER,
15 Broad Street,
New York, N. Y. °

Lronarp D. Apxkrns,
15 Broad Street,
New York, N. Y.

W. R. C. Cocke,
Citizens Bank Building,
Norfolk, Virginia,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0980%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
