# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — California v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0895%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1951
- **Citation:** 342 U.S. 885

## Text

SUBJECT INDEX

Opinions below

PAGE

Jurisdiction

Questions presented

Statutes involved

Statement

Specification of errors to be urged

Reasons for granting the writ

Conclusion

Appendix. Pertinent statutory provisions

App. p. 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases PAGE
Adams v. United States, 319 U. S. 312, 63 S. Ct. 1122, 87 L.
Ed. 1221 és ‘ 13
Arlington Hotel Co. v. Fant, 278 U. S. 439, 49 S. Ct. 227, 73
L. Ed. 447 15
Atkinson v. State Tax Comm., 156 Ore. 461, @ P. 24 161... 16
Brooke v. State, 155 Ala. 78, 46 So. 491 . 16
Collins v. Yosemite Park and Curry Company, 304 U. S. 518,
58 S. Ct. 1009, 82 L. Ed. 1502... 16, 18
Fort Leavenworth Railroad v. Lowe, 114 U. S. 525, 5 S. Ct. 995,
29 L. Ed. 264 15
James v. Dravo Contracting Company, 302 U. S. 134, 58 S. Ct.
208, 82 L. Ed. 155 14
Johnson v. Morrill, 20 Cal. 2d 446, 126 P. 2d 873 16
LaDuke v. Melin, 45 N. D. 349, 177 N. W. 673 16
Mayor and City Council of Baltimore v. Linthicum, 183 Atl.
531 16

Palmer v. Barrett, 162 U. S. 399, 16 S. Ct. 837, 40 L, Ed. 1015 15

Silas Mason Company, Inc. v. State Tax Comm. of the State
of Washington, 302 U. S. 186, 58 S. Ct. 233, 82 L. Ed. 187.... 15

United States v. Tully, 140 Fed. 899. 16
Valley County v. Thomas, 109 Mont. 345, 97 P. OE PR icin “16
STATUTES

Act of October 1, 1890 (26 Stats. 651)

Act of October 9, 1940, Sec. 1 (54 Stats. 1083) 5
Act of October 9, 1940, Sec. 2 (54 Stats. 1083)

United States Code, Title 16, Sec. 47e 17
United States Code, Title 16, Sec. 45a 17
United States Code, Title 16, Sec. 51 17

United States Code, Title 16, Sec. 78 4

United States Code, Title 16, Sec. 80.

United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.

United States Code, Title 16, Sec.

United States Code, Title 16, Sec.
United States Code, Title 16, Sec.

United States Code, Title 16, Sec.

United States Code, Title 18, Sec.

United States Code, Title 28, Sec.
United States Code, Title 40, Sec.

80a. 5, 11
16le 17
167a 17
192b 17
243 17
25la 17
261 17
343b ... 17
403h-11 17
404c-11 17
424b 17
471d 4
7, Subd. 3 3, 10, 12, 16
1254(1) 2
255 3, 9, 13, 16, 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1951.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA and Harry THEODORE PETERSEN,
IpA PETERSEN, CLAYTON LEON DAIGLE and AZILE
Caro, DalIcLe, Individually and as a co-partnership
doing business as “The Lodge,”

Petitioners,
US.

UnITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

The State of California, and Harry Theodore Petersen,
Ida Petersen, Clayton Leon Daigle and Azile Carol Daigle,
individually and as a co-partnership doing business as
“The Lodge,” pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue to
review the Judgment entered in this case on August 2,
1951, by the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit affirming a judgment of the District Court
holding that the United States has exclusive jurisdiction
of a village on private property within the confines of a
national park.

a ee
Opinions Below.

The opinion of the District Court is reported in 91
Fed. Supp. 209. The opinion of the Court of Appeals
[R. 90-96] has not yet been reported.

Jurisdiction.

The Judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered
August 2, 1951. [R.97.] The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U. S. C. 1254(1).

Questions Presented.

1. When California ceded to the United States ex-
clusive jurisdiction for the establishment of General Grant
National Park and later for Kings Canyon National Park,
and the acts of cession provided among other things that
“exclusive jurisdiction shall be and the same is hereby
ceded to the United States over and within all of the
territory which is now or may hereafter be included in
those several tracts of land in the State of California
set aside and dedicated for park purposes by the United
States” did such acts of cession affect only lands “set
aside and dedicated for park purposes by the United
States”?

2. Did such acts of cession also affect all property
within the exterior boundary line, even though such prop-
erty had never been dedicated for park purposes, was

not owned or controlled by the United States, was pri-

ro

a

vately owned, and where the state had been exercising
exclusive jurisdiction until this controversy arose?

3. Whether the United States District Court has
jurisdiction under 18 U. S: C. Section 7, subdivision 3,
over an alleged offense of selling alcoholic beverages with-
out a license from the Department of Interior where the
sale is not on “land reserved or acquired for the use of
the United States.”

4. Whether the legal philosophy of the relationship
between the various states and the United States has been
and is that the United States does not acquire exclusive
territorial jurisdiction over any parcel of land (other
than District of Columbia) unless the United States is
the owner of the land in question.

5. Whether the United States may take jurisdiction
from a state under 40 U. S. C., Section 255, if the United

States is not the owner of the land in question as_ pro-
vided by said Section 255.

Statutes Involved.

The pertinent statutory provisions will be found in the
appendix.

*

ost

Statement.

By an Act approved October 1, 1890, Congress re-
served and withdrew “from settlement, occupancy and
sale” and set apart as reserved forest land four sections
of land which, until 1940, comprised General Grant Na-
tional Park. This Act did not affect any bona fide entry
of land made before the effective date of the Act. [R.
71, 26 Stats. 651, 16 U. S. C., §471d.] This Act
did not establish General Grant National Park, but ap-
parently the park was established in the following dec-
ade. (16 U. S. C., §78.) In 1891 the Legislature of
California passed a statute which gave the United States
exclusive jurisdiction over all land ceded or conveyed to
the United States during the time the United States shall
be or remain the owner thereof. (App. p. 1.) In
1919 the Legislature of California passed an act ceding
exclusive jurisdiction to the United States ‘over and with-
in all of the territory which is now or may hereafter be
included in those several tracts of land in the State of
California set aside and dedicated for park purposes by
the United States” for various national parks, including
General Grant National Park. [R. 57.] In 1920 Con-
gress adopted an act providing that full and exclusive
jurisdiction was assumed by the United States over the
territory embraced and included within General Grant
National Park, Yosemite National Park and Sequoia
National Park. [R. 58.] In 1940 Congress established
Kings Canyon National Park and at the same time abol-
ished General Grant National Park, but made it a part
of Kings Canyon National Park and provided that in the
future it would be known as the General Grant grove
section of said park. [R. 59.] In 1943, the Legislature

a

of California ceded to the United States exclusive juris-
diction “over and within all of the territory which is
now or may hereafter be included in those several tracts
of land in the State of California set aside and dedicated
for park purposes by the United States as ‘Kings Can-
yon National Park.’” [R. 59-60.]

The area involved in this proceeding is in an unincor-
porated village which is located in Section 5, Township
14, Range 28 east, Mount Diablo base and meridian.
Section 5 of Township 14 was one of the four original
sections of General Grant National Park. When Kings
Canyon National Park was established, land extending
one-half mile east of Section 5 was added. The area
therefore is within the exterior boundary lines of Kings
Canyon National Park. [R. 55, 71.] The particular
area has never been dedicated and set aside for park
purposes by the United States. [R. 55-57.] The area
in question was not described in Section J] of the Act of
Congress of 1940 establishing Kings Canyon National
Park, wherein a vast tract of specifically described prop-
erty was withdrawn “from settlement, occupancy and
disposal,” and was dedicated and set apart as a public

~ park. (16 U.S. C., §80.) Section 2 of the Act added
certain additional lands, and then provided that, “the
lands formerly within the General Grant National Park,

' California, and particularly described as follows, to-wit:
All of sections 31 and 32, township 13 south, range 28
east, and sections 5 and 6, township 14 south, range 28
east, of the same meridian, are, subject to valid existing
rights, hereby added to and made a part of the Kings
Canyon National Park and such lands shall be known as
the General Grant grove section of the said park.” (16
U. S. C., §80a.)

saute

The Secretary of the Interior gave notice to the Gov-
ernor of California on April 25, 1945, of the acceptance
o* jurisdiction by the United States as follows:

“Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the
provisions of the act of October 9, 1940 (54 Stat.
1083; 40 U. S. C., Sec. 255) that, effective as of
the Ist day of June, 1945, at 12 m., Pacific War
Time, the United States accepts exclusive jurisdic-
tion over all lands now included in Kings Canyon
National Park. These lands are particularly de-
scribed in the act of March 4, 1940 (54 Stat. 41),
establishing the park, and in proclamation No. 2411,
issued by the President of the United States on
June 21, 1940 (54 Stat. 2710; 3 C. F. R., Cum. Supp.,
163), adding certain lands to the park under autho-
rity contained in section 2 of the said act.” [R.
60-61. ]

The petitioners, except the State of California, are
a co-partnership which operates a restaurant and a tav-
ern, known as “The Lodge,” where alcoholic beverages
are sold. [R. 55.] For simplicity in this petition, the
group of petitioners except the State of California, will
be referred to as “petitioners Petersen.” “The Lodge”
is located in Wilsonia Village, which is in section 5,
township 14 south, range 28 east, Mount Diablo Meridian
in the County of Tulare, State of California. [R. 55.]
Wilsonia Village consists of approximately 120 acres
which have been divided into approximately 500 parcels

and contains about 243 homes. This is a part of a tract

ae

of 160 acres which was originally patented on October
15, 1891, to one Daniel M. Perry. [R. 55-57.] Other
than being entirely surrounded by a national park, Wil-
sonia Village is no different than any other unincor-
porated community in California. What governmental
service is required is performed by the county and state.
There is established, pursuant to the laws of the State
of California, a County Fire District. The State Di-
vision of Forestry and the County Fire District maintains
fire fighting equipment at Wilsonia Village. [R. 67.]
Elementary schools have been established and maintained
for residents of Wilsonia Village, one such school having
been conducted on government land until a few years
ago when the enrollment fell below the required mini-
mum. [R. 68.]

On November 26, 1947, the petitioners Petersen ap-
plied to the Department of Interior for a permit to sell
alcoholic beverages at “The Lodge.” The application was
denied on March 3, 19*8. The petitioners Petersen did
not and do not hold any permit from any federal agency
for the sale of liquor. [R. 64.] On April 15, 1948, the
petitioners Petersen applied to the State Board of Equali-
zation of the State of California for a seasonal on-sale
alcoholic beverage license, pursuant to the provisions of
the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act of California. A
protest was filed on behalf of the National Park Service
on the ground that the United States claimed exclusive
jurisdiction over private lands in Kings Canyon National

Park. The matter came on for hearing before the Board

-— =

itself, pursuant to notice given to all parties. After con-
sideration thereof, the Board of Equalization issued the
seasonal license on July 22, 1948. The license has been
in effect ever since on a seasonal basis. [R. 64-65.]

Five days later, the Regional Director of the National
Park Service at San Francisco notified the petitioners
Petersen by letter that the National Park Service did not
recognize the jurisdiction of the State Board of Equaliza-
tion either to grant or deny the liquor license, and that
any sale of liquor at “The Lodge” without a permit from
the Park Service would subject the petitioners Petersen
to prosecution. [R. 66.] Over one year later this action
was commenced in the United States District Court for
an injunction to restrain the sale of liquor without a
license. [R. 2-10.] The State of California, by stipula-
tion, intervened as a defendant in the proceeding. [R.
15-16.] Sixty-three other residents, owners of summer
homes in Wilsonia Village, also were permitted to inter-
vene as defendants in the District Court. [R. 56, 68.]
The District Court refused to issue the injunction on
the ground that there was an adequate remedy at law, but
determined that it was a matter where a declaratory judg-

ment could be issued and did render a declaratory judg-
ment in favor of the United States. [R. 74, 75-77.]

The petitioners Petersen and the State of California
appealed to the Circuit Court which affirmed the Judg-
ment of the District Court. [R. 77-78, 97.]

~~

Specification of Errors to Be Urged.
The Court of Appeals erred:

1. In holding that the act of cession of the State of
California in ceding exclusive jurisdiction to the United
States was not limited by its very terms to property “set
aside and dedicated for park purposes by the United
States.”

2. In holding that the Secretary of Interior, contrary
to 54 Stat. 1083, 40 U. S. C., §255, had authority to
and did accept, on behalf of the United States, exclusive
jurisdiction over lands or interests therein which had not
been acquired by the United States and which was not
under his immediate jurisdiction, custody or control.

3. In holding that the State of California has ceded
to the United States and that the United States has ac-
cepted from the State of California the exclusive juris-
diction over that area of privately owned property known
as Wilsonia Village.

4. In holding in effect that the tract of privately
owned land comprising Wilsonia Village “was dedicated
and set apart for park purposes by the United States.”

5. In holding that the United States courts have ter-
ritorial jurisdiction of offenses committed within or on
lands not reserved or acquired for the exclusive use of
the United States.

6. In holding that a liquor license for premises un
privately owned property in Wilsonia Village should be
issued by the National Park Service under regulations of
the Secretary of Interior and not by the State Board of
Equalization of the State of California, pursuant to the
laws of California.

_— on

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

The decisions of the courts below mark a definite re-
versal of the relationship between the States of the Union
and the United States since the establishment of this
government. Until this controversy arose and to the
present time the State of California and the County of
Tulare have exercised such governmental functions and
powers as were necessary in Wilsonia Village. The de-
cisions of the courts below strike down the propriety of
the State of California exercising any governmental func-
tions in Wilsonia Village. The petitioners believe that
these decisions extend by implication the expressed words
of the various acts of the Legislature of California in
ceding jurisdiction to the United States; that the de-
cisions purport to confer territorial jurisdiction upon the
United States District Courts contrary to 18 U. S. C.,
§7, subd. 3; and, that such decisions are contrary to
the legal philosophy not only embodied in the decisions of
this Court, but also in the Acts of Congress on the rela-
tionship between the national government and the various
states, that is, that exclusive jurisdiction is not acquired
by the United States unless the property in question is
owned and controlled by the United States. ‘a

1. In 1919 the Legislature of California enacted a
ceding statute providing that “exclusive jurisdiction shall
be and the same is hereby ceded to the United States over
and within all of the territory which is now or may
hereafter be included in those several tracts of land in
the State of California set aside and dedicated for park
purposes by the United States. . . .” The courts
below have determined that since Wilsonia Village is
within the exterior boundaries of the park that therefore
it is “included within those several tracts of land.”

owiliins

However, the language of the Act of Cession confines the
cession to those several tracts of land set aside and dedi-
cated for park purposes. Wilsonia Village and the par-
ticular property in question has never been dedicated and
set aside for park purposes. Obviously the Legislature
in ceding jurisdiction to the national government was
attempting to conform its action to the action of the na-
tional government in setting aside and dedicating property
for park purposes. Furthermore, the Legislature was
not only looking to the action of the national govern-
ment as it had existed, but also as it might occur in the
future, for it provided that the territory which is now
included and may hereafter be included in those several
tracts set aside and dedicated for purposes. Both the
present cession of jurisdiction and the future cession of
jurisdiction was predicated upon the premise that the
property would be dedicated for park purposes by the
United States.

In 1940, when Congress established Kings Canyon Na-
tional Park (16 U. S. C., §80), it described by metes
and bounds a vast area of property, but not including this
property, and provided that such property is reserved and
withdrawn from “settlement, occupancy, or disposal” un-
der the laws of the United States, and is “dedicated and
set apart as a public park.” The second section of the
act (16 U. S. C., §80a) abolished General Grant Na-
tional Park but provided that the lands formerly in such
park would be known as the General Grant grove section
of Kings Canyon National Park. This section of the
act added certain adjoining lands on the east, extending
the easterly boundary about one-half mile, and provided
that certain lands (generally to the south) could be added
by Presidential Proclamation. This act provided, among

=

other things, that “the lands formerly within the Gen-
eral Grant National Park, California, and particularly
described as follows, to-wit: All of sections 31 and 32,
township 13 south, range 28 east, and sections 5 and 6,
township 14 south, range 28 east, of the same meridian
are, subject to valid existing rights, hereby added to and
made a part of the Kings Canyon National Park and
such lands shall be known as the General Grant grove
section of said park.”

It is plain from the act establishing Kings Canyon
National Park that Congress did not intend to include
Wilsonia Village in such park. The act, in referring to
sections 31 and 32 of township 13, says, “All of sections
31 and 32”; but no such language is found with reference
to sections 5 and 6 of to..nship 14. Furthermore, if it
was the intention of Congress to include Wilsonia Village
in Kings Canyon National Park, there would have been
no occasion to use the words, “subject to valid existing
rights” with reference to sections 5 and 6 of township 14.
It is clear that the acts of Congress and the acts of the
Legislature of California relate only to property dedicated
and set aside for park purposes. This, of necessity limits
the land to government owned land.

2. The courts below have held that the petitioners
Petersen may be prosecuted criminally for conducting their
business without a license issued by the Department of

Interior. In so holding, the courts below have held con-
trary to the specific provisions of Title 18, U. S. Code, §7,
subd. 3, relating to the criminal jurisdiction of the United

=_

States courts. This section provides that the term “spe-
cial maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United
States” as used in this title includes:

“3. Any land reserved or acquired for the use of
the United States and under the exclusive or con-
current jurisdiction thereof. ~

None of the property in Wilsonia Village is reserved or
acquired for the use of the United States.

The decision in the instant case is directly contrary to
the case of Adams v. United States, 319 U. S. 312, 63
S. Ct. 1122, 87 L. Ed. 1221. The ultimate question to be
determined was whether Camp Claiborne, Louisiana, was
within the Federal criminal jurisdiction. In that case
the government had acquired title to the land at the time
of the crime, but it had not given notice as required by the
Act of October 9, 1940. (40 U. S. C., §255.) This
Court held that since the government had not accepted
jurisdiction in the manner required by the act, the Fed-
eral court had no jurisdiction over the proceeding. In
the instant case, the government has given notice, but has
not acquired the land.

This act (40 U. S. C., §255) requires the concurrence
of two events before the United States obtains exclusive
jurisdiction: i. ¢., first, the acquisition of the land, and
second, the giving of the required notice. If either step
is omitted, the United States does not acquire exclusive
jurisdiction. The claim of exclusive jurisdiction in Wil-
sonia Village is contrary to the express terms of this act
—the very act that the Secretary of Interior gave notice
under.

3. The legal philosophy of the relationship between
the various states and the national government ever since

— =

the founding of the Union has been that the United States
does not have exclusive jurisdiction to any parcel of land
(other than the District of Columbia) unless the United
States (1) is the owner of the parcel of land involved,
(2) has affirmatively accepted exclusive jurisdiction, and
(3) uses it, directly or indirectly, for a federal purpose.

In James v. Dravo Contracting Company, 302 U. S.
134, 58 S. Ct. 208, 82 L. Ed. 155, the question involved
was whether the Dravo Contracting Company, a Pennsyl-
vania corporation, was liable for a tax to the State of
West Virginia on the gross receipts on a group of con-
tracts with the United States for the construction of
locks and dams in the Kenawha River and Ohio River.
This Court held that the title to the beds of the rivers
were in the state and that although the Federal govern-
ment may have paramount authority for the construction
of the dams and locks, nevertheless the title was in the
state. This Court points out that the transfer of legis-
lative jurisdiction carries with it not only benefits but obli-
gations, and it may be highly desirable in the interests
of both the national government and the state that the
latter should not be entirely ousted from its jurisdiction.
The possible importance of reserving to the state juris-
diction for local purposes which involve no interference
with the governmental functions is being more and more
clear as the activities of the government expand, and large
areas within the states are acquired. The Court con-
cluded that as far as the territorial jurisdiction is con-
cerned, the state had authority to lay the tax with respect
to the activities of the contracting company carried on at
the respective dam sites.

This Court arrived at a similar decision in Silas Mason
Company, Inc. v. State Tax Commission of the State of

sesilliee

Washington, 302 U. S. 186, 58 S. Ct. 233, 82 L. Ed. 187,
which involved an occupation tax of the State of Wash-
ington for work performed in connection with the uild-
ing of Grand Coulee Dam on the Columbia River.

This fundamental premise that the government must
own the land and use it for the purpose for which it was
acquired has been consistently applied by this Court from
the earliest decisions to the present date. Thus in Fort
Leavenworth Railroad v. Lowe, 114 U. S. 525, 542, 5
S. Ct. 995, 29 L. Ed. 264, it was held that the jurisdiction
granted by a state is necessarily temporary, to be exercised
only so long as the place is continued to be used for the
public purpose for which the property was acquired or
reserved from sale. When the property ceases to be used
for such purpose, the jurisdiction reverts to the state.
In Palmer v. Barrett, 162 U. S. 399, 16 S. Ct. 837, 40
L. Ed. 1015, this Court held that since the land in ques-
tion was not being used for the purpose for which it was
acquired, that exclusive jurisdiction of the United States
over the land was at least suspended while a lease which
had been made by the government to the City of Brooklyn
remained in force.

In Arlington Hotel Co. v. Fant, 278 U. S. 439, 49 S.
Ct. 227, 73 L. Ed. 447, private interests under lease from
the government operated a hotel on government owned
land in Hot Springs Military Reservation. The State of
Arkansas had ceded to the United States exclusive juris-
diction over the military reservation which embraced a
small hospital site and a contiguous parcel on which the
hotel was being operated. This court held that the hos-
pital and hotel site were within the jurisdiction of the
United States because of the federal purpose to which
the springs and hospital were devoted; and that they prop-

— a

erly included the hotel, which was operated for the con-
venience of persons seeking the benefit of the springs, and
offered means whereby the public might be aided by sur-
plus water not needed by the hospital. The land was
owned by the government, and although the hotel was
operated privately, it was done so for a federal purpose.

The decisions of the Supreme Courts of the various
states and the lower Federal courts are in harmony with
this principle. These include, United States v. Tully, 140
Fed. 899 (D. Mont.); Valley County v. Thomas, 109
Mont. 345, 97 P. 2d 345; Brooke v. State, 155 Ala. 78,
46 So. 491; Mayor and City Council of Baltimore v.
Linthicum, 183 Atl. 531; Atkinson v. State Tax Comm.,
156 Ore. 461, 67 P. 2d 161; Johnson v. Morrill, 20 Cal.
2d 446, 126 P. 2d 873; LaDuke v. Melin, 45 N. D. 349,
177 N. W. 673.

There is no case holding, and it has not been previously
contended, that the United States acquires jurisdiction by
encirclement.

The petitioners recognize the principle stated by this
Court in Collins v. Yosemite Park and Curry Company,
304 U. S. 518, 58 S. Ct. 1009, 82 L. Ed. 1502, that the
states of the Union and the national government tmay
make mutually satisfactory arrangements as to jurisdic-
tion of territory within their borders, and thus, in a
most effective way, cooperatively adjust problems flowing
from our dual system of government. But neither this
case nor any of the other decisions of this Court part
from the principle that the United States does not have
exclusive jurisdiction of any parcel of land unless it is
the owner of the parcel of land involved. This is recog-
nized in 18 U. S. Code, §7, subd. 3; in 40 U. S. Code,
§255; and by the numerous acts of Congress establishing

x

the various national parks. The various acts of Congress
establishing national parks authorize the Secretary of
Interior to acquire privately owned land. These statutes
provide that when title to the privately owned land has
been vested in the United States, all of the land described
shall be added to and become part of the particular park
and shall be subject to all laws and regulations applicable
thereto. (16 U. S. C., §47e, 51, 45a, 16le, 167a, 192b,
243, 25la, 261, 343b, 404c-11, 424b, 403h-11.)

4. The United States attempts to claim exclusive
jurisdiction of Wilsonia Village contrary to the expressed
terms of the statute authorizing the United States to
accept jurisdiction. The Secretary of the Interior, by
letter dated April 21, 1945, to the Governor of California,
stated among other things that he was giving notice pur-
suant to 40 U. S. C., §255, that the United States ac-
cepts exclusive jurisdiction over all lands now included in
Kings Canyon National Park. [R. 61.] However, this
statute specifically relates to title to land to be purchased
by the United States and acquisition by the United States
of jurisdiction over such lands. It provides that no
public money shall be expended upon any site or land
purchased by the United States unless certain conditions
are met. The last paragraph of the section provides that
“notwithstanding any other provision of law, the obtain-
ing of exclusive jurisdiction in the United States over
lands or interests therein which have been or shall here-
after be acquired by it shall not be required”; but the
head of any department may “accept or secure from the
State in which any lands or interests therein under his
immediate jurisdiction, custody, or control are situated,
consent to or cession of such jurisdiction, exclusive or
partial, not heretofore obtained” by the filing of a notice

=

of such acceptance. The last sentence provides: ‘Unless
and until the United States has accepted jurisdiction over
lands hereafter to be acquired as aforesaid, it shall be
conclusively presumed that no such jurisdiction has been
accepted.” Thus it will be seen that the Act of Congress
by which the Secretary of the Interior claims to accept
exclusive jurisdiction on behalf of the United States spe-
cifically provides that the land shall be acquired by the
United States. Therefore, it follows, that the United
States did not acquire exclusive jurisdiction of Wilsonia
Village.

It is unfortunate that this proceeding arose over the
issuance of a liquor license. The objection by the Park
Service to its issuance did not relate in any way to the
conduct of the business, to the liquor business itself, to
public welfare or morals, nor to any detriment of any
kind to the national park. If the operation of this busi-
ness is illegal it necessarily follows that the operation of
all other businesses within Wilsonia Village, the grocery
store, the hotel, the barber shop, or whatever else there is,
is likewise illegal. It is pointed out by this Court in
Collins v. Yosemite Park and Curry Company, supra
(304 U. S. 518, 58 S. Ct. 1009, 82 L. Ed. 1502), thag all
business in a national park is carried on by a concession
issued by the Department of the Interior. We believe that
the inaction by the Government for sixty years constitutes
an administrative determination that exclusive jurisdic-
tion was never ceded. If the decision of the courts below
stand, then it has been illegal for the State of California
and the County of Tulare to conduct any of their govern-
mental functions, such as the building of roads, police
protection, fire protection, sanitation, operation of schools,
and the establishment of the County Fire District.

— =

Conclusion.

For the foregoing reasons we respectfully submit that
this Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Epmunp G. Brown,

Attorney General of the
State of California,

WALTER L. Bowers,
Assistant Attorney General,
Attorneys for the Petitioner, State of California.

BAYARD RHONE,
Deputy Attorney General,

Of Counsel.

BERTRAM W. GEARHART,

Attorney for Petitioners, Harry Theodore
Petersen, et al.

ELmorE WINKLER,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0895%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
