# Opposition Brief — Aleutian Livestock Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0880%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1951
- **Citation:** 342 U.S. 875

## Text

Page
NE? Soars 1 Da png aw Sdn eihcor biva eb aaa 1
I 265504 usb v Vig o's 4. WY bees hake CPR he Vimeb en 1
NE che i gk tho ee Wk ER RN ATOR ENR NEL RCSD 2
ee aay Ls eth sake BE CDE VATES UR Oa Oe ees 2
£555 ay avn Feb Sot ad Ok SES AYE PAL ROK ONE 9
ENTS 1S ae ey Lah k eis pee tet Med way culate ye 16
CITATIONS
Cases :
Chicago ¢ Alton R. R. v. Tranbarger, 238 U. S. 67...... 13
Gallagher’s Steak House v. Bowles, 142 F. 2d 530, certi-

orari denied, 3222 U. 8. 764.....................05. 14
Hadacheck v. City of Los Angeles, 239 U. S. 394........ 13
Hamilton v. Kentucky Distilleries Co., 251 U. 8. 146.... 13
Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S. 81.............. 10, 12
Jacob Ruppert v. Caffey, 251 U. S. 264................ 13
Marks, et al. v. United States, 187 F. 2d 724, certiorari

denied October 8, 1951, No. 141, this Term........... 12
Miller v. Schoene, 276 U. S. 272...................00. 13
Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U. S. 623...................... 13
Bey GOW VW. UNI, BOE Oe OP. ik svi ciceeeveesis 13
Korematsu v. United States, 323 U.S. 214.............. 10, 12
Oro Fina Consolidated Mines, Inc. v. United States, 92

F. Supp. 1016, certiorari denied, 341 U. S. 948....... 14
ANTON, TN-VE, 280 Oty ONO hoi icici ews sos ee bin ss 13
St. Regis Paper Company v. United States, 110 C. Cls.

271, certiorari denied, 335 U. 8. 815................. 14
Samuels v. McCurdy, 267 U.S. 188.................... 13
Shreveport Engraving Co. v. United States, 143 F. 2d 222,

certiorari denied, 323 U. S. 749..................... 14
Steuart & Bro. v. Bowles, 322 U.S. 398................ 14
United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256................. 14
United States v. Freight Ass’n, 166 U.S. 290........... 13
United States v. General Motors Corporation, 323 U. S. ;

PRES RE EM ISPD eras ene age 14
United States v. Irwin, 127 U. 8. 125.................. 15
United States v. Pacific Railroad, 120 U. S. 227........ 10
United States v. Russell, 13 Wall. 623................. 15

Constitution and Statute:
Constitution of the United States:
ee IE ico eas ch pF Luke DR ee oe 9,10
IN ME Seda 5 deat che ks waeruacoicepecunsakewas 8

II

Miscellaneous:

Ynthe Supreme Court of the Winited States

OctoBER TERM, 1951

No. 315
ALEUTIAN LIVESTOCK CoMPANY, INC., PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Claims (R. 32-35) is
reported at 96 F. Supp.-626.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Claims was en-
tered on April 3, 1951 (R. 35) and a motion for a
new trial, filed on April 23, 1951 (R. 35), was de-
nied on June 5, 1951 (R. 35-36). On August 21,
1951, the time for filing the petition for certiorari

(1)

2

was extended by Mr. Chief Justice Vinson until
September 13, 1951 (R. 36). The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on September 12, 1951.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. 1255.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner operated a sheep ranching business on
Umnak Island, Alaska. In July 1942, the island
was threatened with an attack by Japanese forces
operating in the Aleutian area and the United
States military authorities deemed it necessary
that all civilians be evacuated from the island.
Petitioner’s employees were among those evacu-
ated. As a result of the evacuation, petitioner’s
sheep were left untended and petitioner suffered
considerable loss. The question presented is
whether in the circumstances of this case the evacu-
ation order constituted a taking of petitioner’s
property which is compensable under the Fifth
Amendment.

STATEMENT

Petitioner brought this suit in the Court of
Claims to recover just compensation for an alleged
taking of its property—a leasehold, buildings,
equipment, and livestock used in a sheep ranching
business '—on Umnak Island, Alaska. The United

tates denied that there was a compensable loss.

1 The court below treated the alleged taking of the livestock
as the only issue in the case. Petitioner presumably acqui-
esced in the court’s view of the case, and its petition seems
also to treat the livestock as the only part of its property taken.

——

The facts as found by the Court of Claims are as
follows: :

3

Umnak Island is one of the Aleutian chain. It
lies about 140 miles west of Dutch Harbor, 260
miles east of Atka, 310 miles east of Adak, 560 miles
east of Kiska and 740 miles east of Attu. Umnak
Island is about 75 miles long and 12 miles wide
at the widest point (R. 19). From December, 1935
to July 5, 1942, petitioner had carried on a profit-
able venture in sheep ranching on the island, the
entire area of which it had leased from the Gov-
ernment (R. 20,29). Prior to 1942, petitioner had,
at considerable cost, developed a cross-breed of
sheep well adapted to heavy wool production and
the climatic conditions on the island (R. 20). The
sheep so developed produced an unusually clean
fleece of wool of an unusually high average weight
per fleece. Petitioner’s operations were carried on
by a foreman, who lived continuously on the
island, with the aid of three or four helpers (R.
21).? Successful operation of the business re-
quired continuous attendance, careful supervision
of breeding, and shearing during the period June
to September of each year (R. 21).

At the time of the Japanese attack on Pearl
Harbor, the Alaska territory was on the alert and
construction of a number of defense bases had al-
ready been begun (R. 22). The area was, however,

2 The foreman was a Basque with long experience in sheep
raising in this area. All helpers were natives who were em-
ployed as needed.

4

far from ready for war at that time. The Naval
Base at Dutch Harbor was manned by only 67
Naval personnel in addition to civilian workmen,
and the Army had approximately 3,000 officers and
men spread over ten garrisons in the area (R. 22).
Within six weeks after the attack on Pearl Harbor,
a secret airfield was established on Umnak Island,
which was garrisoned by about 950 officers and men
(R. 22).

About May 20, 1942, it became clear to United
States military authorities that the Japanese were
preparing to attack in the Aleutians. Their ob-
jectives were thought to be: ‘‘ (1) to safeguard their
vulnerable northern flank in the Kuriles and, (2)
to threaten Alaska and the northwestern coasts of
Canada and the United States, while creating (3)
a diversion for their primary thrust in the central
Pacific by way of Midway” (R. 22). It was ex-
pected that a powerful enemy force consisting of
aircraft carriers, submarines, and destroyers
would proceed, with train, to the Aleutians. To
meet this attack, and the expected main thrust in
the Midway area, the United States had only slim
forces available (R. 23). On May 21, Admiral
King, Chief of Naval Operations, declared that a
state of fleet-opposed invasion would exist until an
invasion in force of Kodiak or the Alaskan main-
land occurred or was imminent, when a state of
land-opposed invasion would be in effect (R. 23).
On May 27, it was estimated that the Japanese
would strike about June 1 with carrier-based planes

ee
5

at the Umnak-Dutch Harbor-Cold Bay area, and
that the air attack would be followed immediately
by an attempt to seize a base in that area. It was
agreed that if such a base were secured, invasion
of the mainland would be imminent (R. 23).

On June 3, 1942, Japanese carrier-based planes
attacked Dutch Harbor, causing considerable
damage; at the same time, two collateral attacks
were intercepted over Umnak Island by Army
fighters. The air action was indecisive and there
was no surface action (R. 23). Enemy surface
vessels—one aircraft carrier, two heavy cruisers,
and three destroyers—were located about 165 miles
from Dutch Harbor and 135 miles from Fort Glenn,
the airfield on Umnak Island (R. 24). The move-
ments of the remainder of the Japanese task force
were unknown. Because of fog, it was difficult to
maintain contact with or determine the disposition
of the enemy surface vessels (R. 24).

The attack of the enemy in the south was stopped
in the battle of Midway, June 3 to 6, 1942. Between
June 3 and June 11, the Japanese occupied Attu
and Kiska and made untenable the American posi-
tionon Atka. Atka natives were evacuated on June
13 and the enemy attacked three days later (R. 24).
On June 18,* it was thought by the military author-

3 At that time, the enemy was estimated to have the follow-
ing naval strength in northern waters:
3 aircraft carriers, 2 battleships, 5 heavy cruisers, 3 light
cruisers, 1 seaplane tender, 20-22 destroyers, 7-11 sub-
marines, 2-3 converted carriers, 4-6 transports, 2-3 cargo
ships, 8 flying boats, 27 Kurile-base bombers (R. 24).

6

ities that the enemy task in the Aleutians was, in
order of probability, as follows (R. 25) :

(1) To protect Kiska and Attu from hostile
forces ;

(2) Toattack and nullify Umnak and Dutch
Harbor;

(3) To deny Nome to our use.

About June 28, the Navai Commander for the
Alaskan Sector ordered the evacuation of all na-
tives from the Aleutian Islands. At the time of
that order it was known that the Japanese occupied
Attu, Kiska and Agattu Islands, but it was not
known what other islands in the chain they had
occupied or what was their potential for further
operations in the area. The order was deemed a
matter of military necessity in order to hinder any
further enemy activities in the Aleutian Islands
(R. 25).

As of July 4, the Army maintained only four
radar stations in Alaska, one of which was on
Umnak Island. The airfield and the radio station
on the island were the westernmost installations of
their kind in possession of the United States.
There were no other fortified islands between
Umnak and the islands known to be held by the
Japanese (R. 25).

On July 5, 1942, the military authorities
evacuated all civilians, except a school teacher,
who acted as a radio operator, and an engineer,
from Umnak. The evacuees included petitioner’s

7

foreman and its other employees. The evacuation
was without notice to petitioner or its foreman
and without its consent (R. 25). Asa result of the
evacuation, petitioner’s sheep were left unattended
from July 5, 1942 until about December 15, 1942,*
at which time petitioner’s employees returned to
the island (R. 26).

The Court of Claims found that as a result of
petitioner’s inability to care for its livestock dur-
ing the period from July 5 to December 15, 1942,
it lost—in addition to its ordinary operating loss
of 21.3 percent per annum—some 6,369 sheep, and
that the fair value of the sheep lost was $12.50
per head.°

* Permission to return to the island was granted in September
1942, but petitioner was unable to secure a qualified foreman
willing to go to Umnak and to transport him and necessary
supplies to the island before December.

5 The court also found that certain losses of sheep and other
supplies occurred through depredation of the Armed Forces
and that petitioner’s claim for such losses was settled by pay-
ment to the plaintiff of $1,477.50—in consideration of which
petitioner on February 8, 1946, executed an amended claim
and acceptance agreement which read as follows:

* * * the undersigned agrees to accept [$1,477.50] in
full satisfaction and final settlement of all claims against
the United States for damage to or loss or destruction
of property arising out of the activities of the United
States Army on Umnak Island, Alaska, during the period
from 6 July 1942 to 31 December 1942.

It is understood that the execution of this release shall
be without prejudice to the right of The Aleutian Livestock
Company, Inc., to seek further relief either by way of a
private relief bill in Congress for any losses or damages
sustained by said company in the ranching and stock-
raising or other business conducted by it on said Umnak
Island, or by way of a bill in Congress to confer juris-
diction upon the United States Court of Claims to hear,

8

The court further found that plaintiff was the
beneficiary of a policy of war risk insurance is-
sued to it by the War Damage Corporation—a
corporation created by the Reconstruction Finance
Corporation pursuant to Section 5(d) of the Re-
construction Finance Corporation Act, as amended
(R. 30). In consideration of the payment of the
premium on the policy, the corporation agreed
‘*to indemnify the Insured * * * against direct
physical loss of or damage to the property * * *
which may result from ENEMY ATTACK INCLUDING
ANY ACTION TAKEN BY THE MILITARY, NAVAL OR AIR
FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES IN RESISTING ENEMY
ATTACK.’’ (Emphasis in record, R. 30-31). The
amount of the policy was $75,000. Petitioner
accepted $38,500.00 (the amount of the insurance
on livestock) in full compromise and settlement
of its claims under the policy. It executed an
Article of Subrogation in which it was stated
(R. 31):

Further, that on & after the 2nd day of July
1942 an evacuation was necessary, by which the
property so insured was damaged or destroyed
to the amount of Thirty-eight thousand five
hundred and no/100 Dollars. Said evacuation
having been caused due to occupation of other

determine, and render judgment upon the claim or claims
of said company for such losses or damages.

Petitioner brought this suit under 28 U.S.C. 1491, and not
pursuant to any private relief act or act conferring jurisdiction
on the Court of Claims for petitioner’s special benefit (R. 29-
30).

9

Islands in the vicinity by enemy Japanese
military & naval forces.

The Court of Claims held that there was no tak-
ing of petitioner’s sheep within the meaning of the
Fifth Amendment (R. 33) and that petitioner’s loss
was ‘‘an incident to the exercise of the sovereign
power and duty to protect the people from attack
by a hostile power.’’ (R. 34). The Court held that
losses occasioned by such action on the part of the
Government are not compensable as of right (R.
34).

ARGUMENT

The only questions decided by the lower court
which are presented by the petition® are (1)
whether the loss of livestock because of the evacua-
tion of petitioner’s employees was the result of a
taking of petitioner’s property by the Government
and therefore compensable under the Fifth Amend-
ment; and (2) whether the finding of the value of
the sheep by the court below ($12.50 per head)
was arbitrary and not supported by the evidence.
Since the first question is dispositive of the case,
we will not, in this brief, discuss the latter to any
extent.’ We submit that the Court of Claims’ deci-

® The petition (page 2) also presents as a question for the
decision of this Court whether petitioner is estopped from
asserting a claim against the United States because it had been
reimbursed in part for its loss under a war damage insurance
policy issued by the War Damage Corporation. (See p. 8,
supra). This question was not decided by the lower court.

“Petitioner-complains-thatthe Court of Claims disregarded
the “uncentradieted- testimony” of -petitioner’s_president—that

10

sion was correct and should not be reviewed by this
Court.

The petition challenges the application to the
facts of this case of the long-standing rule that
destruction of property or deprivation of rights
by the military authorities, when reasonably nec-
essary to protect armies in the field from enemy
action, is damnum absque injuria. United States
v. Pacific Railroad, 120 U. 8. 227, 236, 238, citing
American State Papers, Class XIV, Claims,
pp. 199, 835; President Grant’s Veto Message,
Cong. Globe, 42nd Cong., 2d Sess., Part V, pp.
4155-4156; cf. Hirabayashi v. United States, 320
U.S. 81; Korematsu v. United States, 323 U.S. 214.
Compensation for injury occasioned by such action
is not required by the Fifth Amendment. ‘“‘If a
Government makes compensation under such cir-
cumstances, it is a matter of bounty rather than
of strict legal right.’’ President Grant’s Veto
Message, supra.

Petitioner does not deny that the action taken
here was a military necessity but would restrict
the application of the rule to situations involving
what it calls ‘‘actual combat activities,’’ and would
exclude the fact situation involved here from its
definition of ‘‘actual combat activities.’’ But there
is no basis in history or logic for the limitations
which petitioner suggests. It is true that in this

the-value of the sheep-was-$25-00-per-head,—Sinee-petitioner
has.not-brought up any part-of the-transeript of testimony,-no
basis for-reversal.of that. finding. of-fact-is-presented-here.

—

11

case there was no invasion of Umnak Island, and
that no fight between the enemy forces and those
of the United States took place on the island.
But it cannot be denied that the military situation
in the Aleutian Islands was critical at the time
the evacuation was ordered. It was known that
the Japanese had effective possession of Kiska,
Attu and Agattu. It was not known whether the
Japanese were in possession of other islands closer
to the mainland, nor was the military potential
of the enemy ground forces known. It was known,
however, that the Japanese had in the area naval
forces far more powerful than those immediately
available to the United States and that our military
installations were undermanned. Umnak Island:
was the western-most fortified island in possession
of the United States. Three vital military installa-
tions—the most exposed airfield and radio station
and one of four radar stations in the area—were
located on Umnak Island. It was expected, rightly
or wrongly, but certainly not unreasonably, that
the Japanese planned to strike in the area and,
if possible, to secure a foothold on the Alaskan
mainland. The military authorities, therefore,
ordered the evacuation of all except two civilians
from the island.

Even if we accept petitioner’s interpretation of
the rule which would require that the evacuation
have been ordered in the course of ‘‘actual combat
activities,’’ it would be difficult to exclude this fact

12

situation from its scope. Cf. Marks, et al. v.
United States, 187 F. 2d 724 (C.A. 9), certiorari
denied October 8, 1951, No. 141, this Term. Peti-
tioner’s interpretation would require, in this case,
that the enemy have attacked the island and the
evacuation appear now to have contributed to the
defense against that attack. But the rule requires
only that the action taken have been reasonably
thought necessary at the time. Nichols, Eminent
Domain, Sec. 96. There can be no serious question
that the action taken by the military authorities
was, in the light of the facts then known, eminently
reasonable.®

In any event, the class of cases in which property
rights may be destroyed without compensation is
not so narrow as petitioner contends. It has long
been established that the states or the United States
may, in the exercise of their war or police powers,
deny to individuals the right to pursue certain
activities without compensation for losses occa-
sioned by that denial. In Hirabayashi v. United
States, supra, this Court held that the military
authorities could establish a curfew on United
States citizens of Japanese ancestry residing on
the Pacific Coast. In Korematsu v. United States,

8 It is significant in assaying the reasonableness of the action
taken that, as late as 1944, petitioner and the War Damage
Corporation believed that these losses were compensable under
war risk insurance, which insurance was specifically provided
to cover otherwise uncompensable losses and which was pay-
able only if the losses resulted from enemy action or action
of our own forces necessary to resist the enemy.

POT AAS FE

13

supra, this Court went beyond its previous decision
and held that citizens of Japanese ancestry could
be physically uprooted from their homes and re-
located in camps remote from what were consid-
ered critical areas. In neither of those cases could
there be any proper contention that the military
situation in the affected area was nearly so critical
as the situation in the Aleutian Islands at the
time of this case.

It can scarcely be doubted that the war power
is equally as broad as the federal interstate com-
merce power or the police power of the states, and
it has long been held that the deprivation of rights
and values by the prospective operation of the ex-
ercise of those powers does not violate the due-
process clause or give rise to the right to compen-
sation. See Mulford v. Smith, 307 U. 8.38; Mugler
v. Kansas, 123 U. S. 623; In re Rahrer, 140 U. S.
545; United States v. Freight Ass’n, 166 U.S. 290;
Hadacheck v. City of Los Angeles, 239 U.S. 394;
Chicago & Alton R. R. v. Tranbarger, 238 U.S. 67;
Jacob Ruppert v. Caffey, 251 U. S. 264; Samuels
v. McCurdy, 267 U.S. 188; Miller v. Schoene, 276
U. S. 272; and Hamilton v. Kentucky Distilleries
Co., 251 U.S. 146.

In World War II, the Government frequently
took action designed to secure maximum utilization
of national resources, in the course of which action
many individuals were denied the right to pursue
profitable enterprises. This Court and the lower

14

federal courts have consistently upheld the validity
of such action and have never required compensa-
tion under the Fifth Amendment for losses
occasioned by those orders. Steuart & Bro.
v. Bowles, 322 U. S. 398, 405; Gallagher’s Steak
House v. Bowles, 142 F. 2d 530 (C.A. 2), cer-
tiorari denied, 322 U. S. 764; Shreveport Er -
graving Co. v. United States, 143 F. 2d 222 (C.A.
2), certiorari denied, 323 U.S. 749; St. Regis Paper
Company v. United States, 110 C. Cls. 271, certio-
rari denied, 335 U. S. 815; Oro Fina Consolidated
Mines, Inc. v. United States, 92 F. Supp. 1016
(C. Cls.), certiorari denied, 341 U. S. 948. The
principle established by these and similar cases,
in none of which were ‘‘actual combat activities”’
involved, is that the United States may in the
proper exercise of its war powers for the public
good render useless property of individual citizens
without its action constituting a taking. In those
cases, as here, the order, as a result of which the
complainants were injured, was a general order
reasonably deemed necessary for the protection of
the United States, and the injuries complained of
were incidental to the exercise of the power.

The cases cited by petitioner as establishing a
contrary principle are not in point. United States
v. Causby, 328 U. S. 256, involved the taking of
property by flight at low altitudes over respondent’s
property located near a military airfield in Greens-
boro, North Carolina. In United States v. General

15

Motors Corporation, 323 U. 8S. 373, the only ques-
tion involved was the value of a leasehold interest
in a Chicago warehouse condemned in an eminent
domain action. In United States v. Irwin, 127
U. S. 125, a suit was brought pursuant to a private
bill conferring on the Court of Claims jurisdic-
tion to compensate the petitioner for property
taken and impressed into service by the United
States, to keep it from falling into the hands of
the enemy. In United States v. Russell, 13 Wall.
623, the United States appropriated to its own use
ships needed to carry freight for the armed forces.
In all those cases it was clear that the United States
appropriated the property in question to its own
use.

Here, the Government did not appropriate pe-
titioner’s property to its own use. All that the
Government did was to take militarily necessary
action, in an advanced combat zone, when enemy
invasion was imminent, which made it impossible
for petitioner to pursue its ordinary course of busi-
ness for a brief period. As we have shown, com-
pensation in such instances is not obligatory. To
the extent that there is a moral obligation on the
Government to compensate for losses sustained in
those circumstances, that obligation has been satis-
fied in this case by payments made under the war
risk insurance policy. That the Government did
not choose to compensate for all incidental damage
caused to petitioner’s property is irrelevant.

16

CONCLUSION

The decision below is correct, there is no conflict
of decisions, and further review is not warranted.
The petition for a writ of certiorari should there-

fore be denied.

Respectfully submitted.
Puiure B. PERLMAN,

Solicitor General.

HoLMEs BALDRIDGE,

Assistant Attorney General.

SaMUEL D. SuabDe,

ARTHUR W. Murpnry,

Attorneys.

OctToBER 1951.

~ w U. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1951 972424

339

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1951

No. 315

AxguTman Livestock Company, Inoc., Petitioner,
Vv.

Tue Unrrep States, Respondent.

PETITION FOR REHEARING

Comes now the Aleutian Livestock Company, Inc.,
through its counsel of record, and respectfully petitions
the Court for a rehearing of its Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari, denied by order of this Court on November 13,
1951.

Rehearing is requested on the ground that after the
present case was submitted to this Court, the United
States Court of Claims rendered a decision in another
ease which is probably in conflict with that Court’s deci-
sion here. Caltex (Philippines), Inc. v. United States

x
a
se i.
=
4
Be
.

POR SS a ne aa oa

2

and other cases Nos. 48,324, 48,265 and 48,319, decided
November 6, 1951. It is assumed that the decision in
those cases was not considered by this Court in connec-
tion with its order of November 13 in the present case.

It was held in those cases that the plaintiffs were en-
titled to just compensation under the Fifth Amendment
‘to the Constitution for property taken by the armed
forces solely for demolition during combat activity to
prevent its falling into the hands of the closely approach-
ing enemy. The property involved consisted of terminal
facilities at Manila in the Philippine Islands. The armed
forces of the United States took possession of the facili-
ties on December 27, 1941 in the face of plain necessity
of surrendering the port to the enemy, then in occupation
of the city of Manila proper. After three days spent in
placing demolition charges the property was demolished
by our own armed forces on December 31, 1941, and the
sites were surrendered to the Japanese on January 2,
1942.

The conduct of the government toward the property of
the plaintiffs in those cases and its conduct toward the
property of the plaintiff in the present case was sub-
stantially the same. The only difference was that actual
destruction of the property was fortunately not required
in the present case. The situations would have been iden-
tical had surrender of Umnak Island to the Japanese be-
come necessary during the summer and fall of 1942.
Presumably such surrender would also have been preceded
by destruction of all of petitioner’s property that would
have been beneficial to the enemy. The government has
argued here as in the Calter cases that the action was
taken as a matter of military necessity in the face of
threatened military invasion.

We respectfully submit that the Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari in this case should be reconsidered in the

ERLANG LEASES EMG NE NOL TED ENO ES A

* a an East re Oe ee RT ae Od Ce eee

3

light of the aparently opposite result reached in the

Caltex and other cases, decided by the Court of Claims

on November 6.

Ernest L. WILKINSON,

Ray R. Murpocg,

Kerra L. SEEGMILLER
Attorneys for Petitioner.

I hereby certify that the poepd petition for rehear-

ing is presented in good faith and _~ slay oe ha a

Kerrn L. SEEGMILLER.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0880%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
