# Reply Brief of Petitioner — Killian v. Allied Latex Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0840%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief of Petitioner
- **Published:** January 1, 1951
- **Citation:** 342 U.S. 861

## Text

setae ee

In the Supreme Court of the United States _ (

OCTOBER TERM, 1951.

No. 257.

YOUNGS RUBBER CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
vs.
ALLIED LATEX CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF.

BiytuHe D. Warts,
Morris Hirscu,

Counsel for Petitioner.

7 GeorceE H. Dession,

Of Counsel.
October 4, 1951.

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—MAIN 1-5647

ER DOO hn _ —— resere ¥
Ry pet Re ob oe aes Cote ae c EMIT ER
Baie g ORS oe tance : Soar eR

‘ — _— erty bis SRE NO A NSE OP LO ie a |

INDEX.

The Visual Test Patent No. 2,213,113______________
The Electrical Test Patent No. 2,244,091____________

RNIN = 7 cic nlceaaemnibe menaaeinareadak aioe aesasaeeeaeane

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases.

Brown & Sharpe Mfg. Co. et al. v. Kar Engineering
Co., Inc., 154 F. (2d) 48 (C. A. 1) (certiorari
denied, 328 U. S. 869, Petition for Rehearing

G@unied, dae U. &. Sie) .........-..-.............. 13
Cuno Engineering Corp. v. Automatic Devices Corp.,
Es An! eaitencinkadsak co baane cane 13
Falkenberg v. Bernard Edward Co., 175 F. (2d) 427
(C. A. 7) (certiorari denied, 338 U.S. 870)__._. 13
Minerals Separation, et al., v. James Hyde, 242 U. S.
EE) aiauhkcadees aakestne ae daaiwadeedioessenios 4
Universal Oil Products Co. v. Globe Oil & Refining
a gg OS eee ae 4
Rule.
By Os ae a, IE arc ei recamndinme manne 2,12
Statute.
Oe ee ee Oe Be irre ne ncckcancuccoacn 9

—,

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1951.

No. 257.

YOUNGS RUBBER CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

vs.

ALLIED LATEX CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF.

Respondent’s brief does not meet any of the three
Grounds relied on for allowance of the Writ.

Respondent does not allege any disagreement with
Ground I which reads as follows:
“The Court Below has Magnified and Distorted This
Court’s More Recent Decisions in Patent Cases Into
a Mandate to Invalidate Every Patent that Comes
Before It, Even Such Patents as the One Recently
Held Valid by Unanimous Decision of This Court.”
Respondent offers as its excuse for evading this issue,
that the Court below had found the patents invalid for
“lack of novelty” and for “anticipation,” respectively (pp.
1, 9), and therefore “had no need to apply the exacting
standard of invention, the importance of which this Court
has latterly reiterated.” (p. 2.) We shall show hereinafter
that respondent has misinterpreted the clear language of
the decision below which has not held the patents invalid
on any such grounds, but to the contrary has misapplied
the standards of invention as set forth in Ground I.

2

Respondent’s brief does not even pretend to meet,
and for that matter does not even comment on, Ground II

which reads as follows:

“There is Direct Conflict Between the Decision of the
Court Below and Decisions of This Court and of the
United States Courts of Appeals for the First, Sixth
and Seventh Circuits as to Interpretation of This
Court’s Decision in the Case of Cuno Engineering
Corp. v. Automatic Devices Corp., 314 U. S. 84.”

The inference is inescapable that respondent agrees
the Petition should be granted as to Ground II.

As to Ground III the Petition quotes in detail for
ready comparison no less than five material and controlling
Findings of Fact of the Trial Court which are paired with
the contrary Findings of the Court below (Pet. 11-14). In
each of these instances the Court below had thus upset
Findings of Fact of the Trial Court without showing that
they are clearly erroneous. In fact, the Court below
frankly admitted that it had upset the Trial Court’s Find-
ings of Fact (Pet. 13). Respondent’s brief makes the bald
and unsupported assertion that what the Court below
decided was “‘based on undisputed evidence” (p. 10) but
does not even attempt to point out error in any of these
five instances of violation of Rule 52(a) F. R. C. P.

In its attempt to dissuade this Court from granting
the Petition, respondent was constrained to concede that
each of the two patents in suit shows both invention and
utility (p. 10). The record warrants that concession, for
neither invention nor utility could be seriously contested
in the face of the uncontroverted history of the inventions
set forth in the Petition (p. 10).

“Here we are concerned with lack of novelty” says
respondent (p. 10). Respondent further says “The Court

}

3

of Appeals for the Second Circuit did not* hold the patents
in suit invalid for lack of invention, but for lack of novelty
and for anticipation” (p. 10).

The Court below did not so hold.

It held the Visual Test patent No. 2,213,113 invalid
for “overwhelming simplicity.” On the record a finding of
“lack of novelty” was impossible, for no prior art had been
adduced against this patent for any purpose. As to the
Electrical Test Patent No. 2,244,591, the Court below far
from finding “anticipation,” conceded that “undoubtedly
this would have been held invention in times past.”

The Court below justifies its holding under the im-
pression that “now the climate of opinion has changed”
(R. 421). Respondent (Br. 2, 10), like petitioner (Pet.
7-11), disagrees with the Court below as to any change in
the climate of opinion or standard of invention set by this
Court. This Court has merely stressed that the exacting
standards of invention which it has always prescribed
should not be relaxed.

We shall now more fully reply and shall point out
the errors of fact in respondent's brief, first with respect to
the Visual Test patent and then with respect to the Electri-
cal Test patent.

The Visual Test Patent No. 2,213,113.
Respondent asserts that:

(a) Youngs did nothing more than simply to
observe and understand a natural phenomenon which
is readily perceptible to the human eye (pp. 1, 2, 3,
4), and

(b) petitioner's expert conceded that rubber
gloves had been tested for at least forty years in

_

* Emphasis is respondent's.

cay esate —

4

manner in which the appearance of the dark areas was
inevitable (pp. 2, 3).

Were these assertions established by the record, the
highly experienced Judge William Bondy would not have
held the patent valid as he did. Both assertions are utterly
erroneous and without basis in the record as will now

appear.
(a) As to the Visual Test, the Court below correctly
held:—

“The defendant objects that this is but a patent upon
a law of nature or a natural phenomenon. Objection
thus expressed is too broad, since a method patent in
general must ultimately come back to some law of
nature or natural phenomenon; * * *” (R. 418).

Thus the Court below, contrary to respondent (pp. 1
to 4) expressly refused to hold that Youngs had merely ob-
served a law of nature. The Court held the patent invalid
solely on the astounding and unprecedented presumption
that while “* * * simplicity alone will not negative inven-
tion, Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. v. Ray-O-Vac, 321 U.S.
275, 279,” “* * * overwhelming* simplicity must always
have its effect in contradicting novelty.” (R. 418, 9.) That
assertion is contrary to the principle announced by this
Court in Minerals Separation, et al., v. James Hyde, 242
U. S. 261. That principle was re-stated by this Court as
recently as 1944 in the following words:

“Retrospective simplicity is often a misleading test of
invention where it appears that the patentee’s con-
ception in fact solved a recognized problem that had
baffled the contemporary art * * *” Universal Oil

Products Co. v. Globe Oil & Refining Co., 322 U. S.
471, 486.

* Emphasis ours unless otherwise noted.

at

mre

5

That the contemporary art had been baffled in the
instant case, is undenied, for respondent took no issue with
the following statement:

“Prior to the invention of the patents in suit there had
been more than a decade of unsuccessful effort in the
industry to devise a better test than the expensive
and unreliable method in general use” (R. 12, 22, 63
to 67, 253, 254). (Pet. 7.)

Contrary to respondent’s assertion, there is not an
iota of evidence in the record that anyone prior to Youngs
had ever tested thin rubber articles in stretched condition
over a form by dipping. Indeed there is no evidence that
thin rubber articles had ever been stretched over a form
for test purposes, in any mode of test whether by dipping
or otherwise.

The thin rubber article thus stretched is what the
Trial Court found to be a new instrumentality (Pet. 3).
That new instrumentality alone evokes the dark area
“readily perceptible to the human eye” and this is due to
the spread of water under the stretched rubber sheath,
since the dark area becomes visible against the background
of the supporting form by reason of the translucency of the
thin rubber sheath thereover when thus stretched.

Even claim 1 of the Visua! Test patent, which the
Court below quotes (R. 418) and calls “very broad” in-
cludes the particular limitation to the thin rubber articles
mounted upon a body in a comparatively stretched condi-
tion and moreover recites the precise mode of passage of
the liquid through any hole in the article over the under-
lying supporting surface of the body with the compara-
tively dark area readily visible through the article.

Regardless whether the Visual Test is used as such or
in the environment of the Electrical Test patent, it reliably,
indeed inevitably, shows the dark area about a hole in the

Hite,
ae
OE OAR

6

thin rubber article under test. Whether the electrical im-
pulse used in the Electrical Test is or is not applied, the
Visual Test functions at all times. It does so, because the
Electrical Test patent like the Visual Test patent uses the
new instrumentality of the thin rubber article stretched
over a metal form and dipped into a bath.

The Visual Test is thus a standby system, at all times
operative, should the fully automatic system of the Elec-
trical Test patent ever fail. By what process of logic res-
pondent spells lack of worth (p. 9) out of this virtue of the
Visual Test is indeed baffling.

(b) That petitioner’s expert had admitted it was old
to test rubber gloves on metal forms dipped in water as al-
leged (pp. 2, 3) is contrary to the fact. Petitioner’s expert
testified that he had no recollection of seeing such a refer-
ence or system (R. 138). Nor has respondent’s expert any
such recollection (R. 224). And respondent’s attorney ad-
mits there is no reference to such practice in the literature
(R. 137). Nor did respondent ever act on petitioner’s in-
vitation to stipulate into evidence the admission of such
reference whenever respondent could produce it. (R. 224.)

Since no prior art was adduced by the Patent Office,
nor by respondent, nor mentioned by the Court below in
support of its holding of invalidity of the Visual Test patent,
that holding being based solely on “overwhelming sim-
plicity,”” respondent is indeed hard pressed to find a basis
for arguing lack of novelty.

And therefore the alleged admission of petitioner’s
expert is here for the first time being urged against the
Visual Test patent. It is being so urged not only without
basis in the record as we shall show, but without basis in
anything said by either of the Courts below and without
mention by respondent in any brief or argument below.

—

7

But that alleged admission on which respondent leans
so heavily, even if taken at its face value does not support
respondent’s argument. For petitioner’s expert referred to
the testing of insulating materials only (R. 112-3), these
being materials used in the electrical arts. Insulating ma-
terial (vulcanite, bakelite, etc.) is neither thin nor
stretched, nor even stretchable, and when such material
is interposed between metal and water, no dark area could
be visible to the eye, for the simple reason that such mate-
rial is thick and not translucent. Should any water pass
through a hole therein, and spread thereunder it would not
and could not be visible through the thick, unstretched and
unstretchable opaque material. Accordingly, in such test
there was no natural phenomenon of the dark area “readily
perceptible to the human eye” or perceptible at all.

With the numerous workers in the electrical testing
arts, it is incredible that in more than forty years of such
test, no one had ever been sufficiently observant to see the
dark area, if it be the fact that such test had ever been
made with materials and instrumentalities that would give
rise to the dark area. The art would not have made shift
for fifteen years with the awkward, expensive and un-
reliable air inflation test were the physical phenomenon on
which the patent is based ever possible of observation in
the countless tests of insulating material made during the
past forty years. The art would not have made its persistent
and unsuccessful efforts for more than a decade to improve
on the objectionable air inflation test that alone was avail-
able prior to Youngs’ invention, were the phenomenon
cited by respondent “readily perceptible to the human
eye.” Some passing reference at least would have been
found somewhere in the technical, if not in the patent
literature, had it ever been possible to observe this phe-
nomenon before Youngs created the new instrumentality

a

8

that for the first time furnished the necessary setting to
call forth the appearance of the dark area. The Patent Of-
fice, or respondent’s counsel, would have found such pub-
lished material to cite against the patent, were the phe-
nomenon in question ever available for observation.

The only citation concerned with testing rubber, in
this case heavy electrical linemen’s gloves, is the Electrical
World article to which respondent refers (p. 6). The rub-
ber here is thick, it is not stretched, it is not mounted on a
form, but is filled with and immersed in water. And not
even respondent argues that the dark area would appear
in use of the teaching of that citation; nor does the Court
below so hold.

Respondent significantly admits (p. 2) that the ap-
pearance of the dark area at a hole is inevitable when the
new instrumentality of Youngs is used. Anything so in-
evitable would of necessity have been observed in the
myriads of tests of insulating material during the last forty
years, were such tests made under conditions in which the
dark area could possibly have made its appearance. That
which became inevitable once Youngs made his invention,
did not occur even once in the countless millions of elec-
trical tests made in more than forty years before Youngs’
invention.

. warn Siete RS eats elias en oe Pw eT ge Tee ee 2 tik Satanic — — .
yes Pith ESET ce Ma BR eg eM OT CT RENT

The Electrical Test Patent No. 2,244,091.

Respondent says (pp. 1, 10) that this patent was held
invalid for anticipation.
Quite to the contrary, the Court below held as to the
Electrical Test patent:
“Undoubtedly this would have been held invention
in times past, but now the climate of opinion has

changed to require definite novelty in idea and not
merely new adaptations of an old idea.” (R. 428)

ETN ERTIES EI IT, OYE ETA

9

The Court further said:

“Tt will thus be seen that the patentees took one of the
oldest of electrical conceptions and adapted it rather
ingeniously to a particular need of this business.”
(R. 428)

Contrary to respondent’s assertion, the Court below
had found the patent invalid solely for lack of invention.
It did so by applying standards, contrary to the Patent
Statute (35 U.S. C. 31; R. S. 4886) which sanction a pat-
ent, not merely for a new art, but for “any new and use-
ful improvements thereof.” Respondent admittedly is
side-stepping the basic issue of whether the Court below
had correctly applied the standards of invention set by
this Court (pp. 9, 10).

Not only as we have seen, does the Electrical Test pat-
ent use as an element the same new instrumentality of
the Visual Test patent, namely, the thin rubber article
stretched over a form, in this case a metal form, but it
uses that instrumentality in manner to function as a tem-
porary condenser in carrying out the Electrical Test.

In applying the Electrical Test, petitioner electrically
charges this temporary electrical condenser. As stated by
petitioner’s expert without contradiction, “* * * if you do
not charge it, it is just static and there is nothing accom-
plished, and it is not utilized as a condenser” (R. 152).
The condenser maintains its charge if the article is good,
and loses its charge if the article is bad, which affords the
discrimination between a good and a bad article. Respond-
ent is merely indulging in rhetoric in its argument on
page 8.

Respondent makes no attempt to explain away the
admissions of respondent’s expert (R. 216, 219, 220, 227)
that the temporary condenser is new and is both disclosed
in the patent and used by respondent. Furthermore

10

throughout its brief before the Court below, respondent
(consistently with the admissions of respondent’s expert),
eloquently admits that respondent’s system in fact uses
the temporary condenser. We will quote a few of these
admissions.

“* * * defendant * * * does utilize the capacity of that

temporary condenser as the very heart or capital idea
of its system”! (Brief below, p. 20.)

“In short, defendant’s machine positively selects the
good article because the temporary condenser of
which the good article acts as the dielectric carries a
charge which actuates the selecting mechanism.”
(Brief below, p. 21.)

And, referring to the article being tested

“* * * in defendant’s system it is the dielectric of a
temporary condenser.” (Brief below, p. 25.)

Respondent did not gratuitously make this thrice
repeated admission below, but argued that the temporary
condenser though present and admittedly present in re-
spondent’s system, is absent from the patent in suit, as is
also alleged here (pp. 7, 8). The groundlessness of that
contention appears from the face of the specification of
the Electrical Test patent:

“* * * the rubber article which, being a dielectric and
disposed between the metal mandrel body 14 and

the liquid bath, functions therewith as a condenser”
(R. 236, col. 2, lines 72 to 75),

and again

“As previously stated the rubber article in effect con-
stitutes the dielectric of a condenser formed thereby
in conjunction with the mandrel body 14 and the
liquid bath * * *.” (R. 238, col. 1, lines 68 to 71.)

In the face of all this undisputed evidence, respondent
oversimplifies the issue in its summary description of the

2
E
,
:
)
t

CRE RAR et LAE be ip CESAR

11

Electrical Test patent in which it makes no reference to
the temporary condenser (p. 2).

Respondent does not deny that the essential elements
that make up the temporary condenser and its use as such
are inherent in the recital in each of the four claims in suit.

The Court below made short shrift of respondent’s
attempt to show that its admitted use of the temporary
condenser can escape infringement of the patent. It said:

“* ® * we should have no difficulty in finding infringe-

ment. The defendant’s device appears to follow so
directly the plaintiff's idea, with only the merest re-
versal of positions—and of circuits—in the form of
testing, as if consciously in search of a formal oppo-
site to plaintiff’s method. * * * and all of defend-
ant’s semantic difficulties with various labels, such
as dielectric, condenser, resistor, or the like, do not
change this fact. Defendant is here caught with the
kind of proposition which in opposite terms it would
apply to the plaintiff; * * * Such word chopping can-
not conceal the fact that the test demonstrates to the
operator the existence or nonexistence of a hole by
means of the electrical circuit.” (R. 423)

Respondent (p. 12) discusses the Electrical World
article of March 12, 1927, but does not comment on the
setting aside by the Court below of significant Findings
of Fact by the Trial Court (Pet. 14). The systems of the
Electrical World article use “a high voltage to puncture
the dielectric, if possible, and thereby determine if the
article is good or bad. They do not utilize or have not
utilized the charge on the condenser for operation of an
indicator” (R. 152). Neither the Court below, nor even
respondent asserts that the action of the temporary con-
denser occurs or can occur with the alternating current
high tension current used in this citation and in the ab-
sence of a form. And respondent’s expert admits that
there is no condenser action here (R. 217-8).

eras

NARS REAR" LAM RMN GSN POLI Ge HES

. LURRYCIN PITRE EROS AD

12

The temporary condenser having been admitted by
respondent’s expert to be fundamentally new in the Elec-
trical Test patent and to be used by respondent and the
Court below having found infringement by respondent,
the Court below should have affirmed the Trial Court’s
holding not only as to infringement but as to validity as
well.

Indeed, by disregarding the clean-cut admission as
to the temporary condenser by respondent’s highly quali-
fied expert, and by disregarding the equally clean-cut
finding of the Trial Court as to the temporary condenser
in the Electrical Test patent (R. 405), the absence of such
temporary condenser in any of the prior art (R. 406) and
the presence of such temporary condenser in respondent’s
system (R. 407) the Court below clearly violated Rule 52a
F. R. C. P. Respondent baldly asserts (pp. 2, 10) that the
Court below had relied upon undisputed evidence. To the
contrary, the Court below disregarded undisputed evi-
dence. In fact as we have shown, the Court below goes
so far as to admit that it had upset Findings of Fact of
’ the Trial Court (Pet. 13).

Respondent does not contradict or even comment in
its general discussion (p. 10) of said Rule 52(a) on any of
the various specific instances quoted in the Petition in
which the Court below has set aside Findings of Fact
made by the Trial Court after observing demonstrations,
viewing motion pictures, listening to conflicting testimony
and passing on the credibility of witnesses (Pet. 11 to 15).

Respondent’s brief does not discuss or even cite a
single authority to support its argument. Nor does it take
exception to our discission of the more recent decisions
of this Court (Pet. 7, 8, 9, 10). In sedulously avoiding
such discussion, respondent evidently shares the gener-
ally prevailing conviction that the Court below is out of
line in the standard of invention that it sets.

———

13

Two United States Courts of Appeals have by schol-
arly analysis determined the metes and bounds of the
principle in the much cited case of Cuno Engineering
Corp. v. Automatic Devices Corp., 314 U. S. 84, and held
valid patents far less impressive than those in the instant
case. Yet this Court took no exception to such interpreta-
tions of the Cuno Engineering case; for it denied review
of such decisions; Brown & Sharpe Mfg. Co. et al. v. Kar
Engineering Co., Inc., 154 F. (2d) 48 (C. A. 1) (certiorari
denied, 328 U. S. 869, Petition for Rehearing denied, 329
U. S. 822); Falkenberg v. Bernard Edward Co., 175 F.
(2d) 427 (C. A. 7) (certiorari denied, 338 U. S. 870).

CONCLUSION.

We submit that respondent’s brief has evaded all of
the issues raised and has advanced no reason why this
Court should not grant the Petition.

Respectfully submitted,

BuiytueE D. Warts,
Morris Hirscu,

Counsel for Petitioner.

GeorceE H. Dession,
Of Counsel.

October 4, 1951.

A)
Oo

ition

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1951.

No. 257.

YOUNGS RUBBER CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
vs.
ALLIED LATEX CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITIONER’S REPLY
to
Respondent’s Brief Opposing Petition for Rehearing of
Order Denying Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Biytue D. Watts,
Morris Hirscu,

Counsel for Petitioner.

Georce H. Dession,
Of Counsel.

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—MAIN 11-8647

—_—

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1951.

No. 257.

YOUNGS RUBBER CORPORATION,
Petitioner,

PETITIONER'S REPLY
to
Respondent's Brief Opposing Petition for Rehearing of
Order Denying Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respondent's resort to sarcasm is evidently for lack of
a better answer to the Petition for Rehearing.

Yes, the silly petitioner had heard of retroactive
statutes, but wonders if the all-wise respondent knows
that the Constitution forbids retroactive laws which impair
the obligation of contract.

Petitioner also knew that this is a civil suit and not a
criminal case. The term “ex post facto” was used in the
Petition for Writ (p. 18) in its literal sense of “after the
act” and was used in the Petition for Rehearing in that
sense and also because retroactive and retrospective laws
include ex post facto laws. Calder v. Bell, 3 Dall. 386, 388,
1 L. Ed. 648, 649.

Petitioner's position which respondent seems not to
have understood may be simply restated as follows:

Congress has no power to im:air the obligations of
contract. Calder v. Bell, supra; Continental Illinois N. B.

& T. Co. v. Chicago Rock Island & Pacific Co., 294 U. S.
648, 680, 79 L. Ed. 1110, 1130.

The Courts may not impair contract obligations.
Muhlker v. N. Y. & Harlem R R, 197 U. S. 544, 49 L. Ed.
872, 25 S. Ct. 522.

The laws in force at the time of execution of a con-
tract are a part thereof. Home Building & Loan Assn. v.
Blaisdell, 290 U. S. 398, 78 L. Ed. 413, 54 S. Ct. 231.

A patent is a contract. Seymour v. Osborne, 11 Wall.
516-533, 20 L. Ed. 33.

Under the foregoing principles of law a patent should
be construed under the laws and the decisions of this
Court prevailing when the patent issued and not under
laws and decisions of a later date which changed the laws
or decisions under which the patent issued and impaired
the obligations of the patent contract.

No, petitioner had not overlooked either the fact that
a patent must issue before it can be invalidated by the
Courts; or this Court’s decision in Cuno Engineering Corp.
v. Automatic Devices Corp., 314 U. S. 84. That decision
was cited and quoted from on page 4 of the Petition.

Apparently respondent overlooked the showing on
pages 3 to 5 of the Petition that this Court has constantly
adhered to the “constitutional standard” on the question
of invention; and has never invalidated a patent on a law
or rule forbidden by the Constitution, whether it be called
retroactive, retrospective or ex post facto. None of the
patent decisions handed down by this Court in the past
ten years changed the previously existing law as to the
standard of invention.

The same cannot be said for the Court below. That
Court misconstrued this Court’s decisions, identified on
page 2 of the Petition for Rehearing, and, based on that
misconstruction, and long after the fact of issuance of

_—

3

the patents, evolved an unprecedented basis for invalidat-
ing the patents. Since that decision on that “after the
act” rule seriously impairs the obligations of the patent
contracts here involved, it is not permitted under the fore-
going authority and should not be condoned.

The ground stated on page 1 of the Petition for Re-
hearing is new even though it is supported by facts pre-
viously cited in support of other grounds. Respondent
evidently has ignored the distinction between grounds and
facts since the same facts may support different grounds.

The Petition for Rehearing should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
Biytue D. Warts,
Morris Hirscu,

Counsel for Petitioner.
Georce H. Dession,

Of Counsel.

Dated: Cleveland, Ohio,
Nov. 21, 1951.

Stern : EEN AM
ie RE REE SD oe

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0840%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
