# Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — North Little Rock Transportation Co. v. Casualty Reciprocal Exchange

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0251%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondents in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1950
- **Citation:** 340 U.S. 823

## Text

No. 178 AUG 2 1950

CHARLES ELMORE CROPL

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1950

THE NORTH LITTLE ROCK TRANSPORTATION
COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

versus

CASUALTY RECIPROCAL EXCHANGE, et al.,
Respondents.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS NATIONAL BUREAU OF
CASUALTY UNDERWRITERS, AETNA CASUALTY &
SURETY CO., ET AL., IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

James B. Donovan,
New York, N. Y.

Epwarp L. Wricurt,
Little Rock, Ark.

Attorneys for Respondents

BL ALENT ERE AE IEF ORR IIT AS

INDEX

Ne ch pi eae ROSA SAS SEN ON EERO

Somarany OF ARGUMENT. ......cccccccccccssccccee

ARGUMENT:

(1) The Sherman Act is inapplicable to co-
operative action among insurers in rate making
and related matters, to the extent that such ac-
tivities are regulated by State law.............

(A) Background of the applicable prin-
ciples and statutes. ......... cess eeeeeees

(B) Wholly apart from the McCarran
Act, rating combinations do not violate the
Sherman Act if they are regulated by State
law; by that statute, Congress expressly de-
clared that State regulation of the insurance
business is in the public interest, and pro-
vided that the States may permit, under
public regulation, rating combinations and
other activities which might otherwise vio-
late the Sherman Act..........ceseeeeees

(II) The acts of these respondents were au-
thorized and regulated by valid State laws......

(III) The motion for summary judgment was
properly granted ...........ceeeecccecceeees

EES ERE TE OE PETE EO Oe ON TORT

EARS ae ape ge CRE aN RC OOM LY AR SONIC ERFE LITRE REPEL MG PPE FINE OME OE EL EI IAIN AI AOI

ane

Citations”

CasEs:

Associated Press v. United States, 332 U. 8. 392
< | rraaes Feats PEECTLREREXTL LLL LEA

Clark Distilling Co. v. Western Maryland Ry. Co.,
242 U. S. 311 (1917).......... SOS eee ree
Clark Oil Co. v. Phillips Petrolewm Co., 148 F. 2d
580 (8th Cir. 1945), cert. denied 326 U. S. 734
¢ erererereerrrrrr er reer erie Tite
Connecticut Light & Power Co. v. Federal Power
Commission, 324 U.S. 515 (1945) ...........4..

Davis v. Department of Labor, 317 U.S. 429 (1942)

Field v. Barber Asphalt Paving Co., 194 U. 8. 618
SE kia. + deere hcacepepesheows cededves seeds

International Salt Co. v. United States, 332 U. S.
Fe CIE I ck So sisikecauddnnss sauneesnaabestees

Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway Co.,
. sie. eS St. | rrr ere re ere ee
Knickerbocker Ice Co. v. Stewart, 253 U. 8. 149
fo. eeeeT CPE P ET OT TTT eR t ET TET Terie

Madeirense Do Brasil S/A v. Stulman-Emrick
Lumber Co., 147 F. 2d 399 (2d Cir. 1945), cert.
denied 325 U. S. 861 (1945) ............eeeees

McLean Trucking Co. v. United States, 321 U.S. 67
rrr oer rer ster ee eer

National Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Dickinson, 128 Ark.
367, 194 B. W. 264 (1917) 0... cece cceess
New York Central Securities Corp. v. United
States, 287 U. 8. 12 (1982) ........ceccceececs

11-12

16

9,13

14

DRIEST RAE A ect IAL nO EN Duo eA aR ae RR 8 8 ITPRE BRT ERAN ROL BG RUN Oe Bera st

ar

PAGE
North Little Rock Transportation Co. v. Casualty
Reciprocal Exchange, et al., 85 F. Supp. 961
(E. D. Ark. 1949) ; 181 F. 2d 174 (8th Cir. 1950). 2
Olsen v. Smith, 195 U. S. 332 (1904).............. 8
Osborn v. Ozlin, 310 U. S. 53 (1940)............. 9
Panhandle East. Pipe Line Co. v. Public Service
Commission, 332 U. S. 507 (1947)............. 11
Parker v. Brown, 317 U. S. 341 (1943)........... 8
Parker v. Motor Boat Sales, 314 U.S. 244 (1941)... 12
Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U. S.
Se Ene eee Nee Ck Nae Eetaeee eer eaeens 9, 12, 13
Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312
Se SEED. Dieu eaWocbaneeubanbaeuees 15-16
Railroad Commission of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols
Oil Co., 310 U. S. 573; 311 U. S. 615 (1940).... 16
Red Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U. 8. 109
SR cy Ra EE KES IR LER Ee FIA eednh Heh be ies 12
Robertson v. California, 328 U. S. 440 (1946).... 11
Sunshine Anthracite Coal Co. v. Adkins, 310 U. S.
I cs rah te Eek aoe y / 13
Terminal Warehouse Co. v. Pennsylvania R.R. Co.,
ee Se SE ida bond bsckeahevnéinens 16
United States v. South-Eastern Underwriters As-
sociation, 322 U. S. 533 (1944) ............ 6, 9, 10, 14
United States Navigation Co. v. Cunard S.S. Co.,
A i I er re eee 15
Walling v. Richmond Screw Anchor Co., 154 F. 2d
780 (2d Cir. 1946), cert. denied, 328 U. S. 870
16

Rte Pen”

ia 2
y
4

STATUTES:

iv

McCarran Act, 15 U. S. C. 1011-1015; 59 Stat. 33,
34; P. L. 15, 79th Cong., Ist Sess., c. 20, Sees. 1-5,
as amended, P. L. 238, 80th Cong., Ist Sess., ¢.
SON pr re Serre FRE ro ers. 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14

Sherman Act, 15 U. S. C. 1; ¢. 647, Sec. 1, 26 Stat.

ON os hcp cnc es hs Ee Ae oe 1, 5, 6, 8, 15,17

Act No. 116, Ark. Laws, 1947 (Sees. 66-417-66-433,
cS ey rrr ere rr yer ee 13, 15

CoNnGRESSIONAL MATERIAL:

91 Cong. Res. 1442 (1945) .......ccccscccecssvcee
91 Cong. Rec. 1443 (1945) ....... ccc cceccccccees
91 Cong. Bec. 1481 (1945)... 26. occ cccceneens
91 Cong. Rec. 1486 (1945) ..... 0... ccesecscsevees
H. R. Bills 3269, 3270, 78th Cong., Ist Sess. .......
Joint Hearings on 8. 1362, H. R. 3269, H. R. 3270

before the Subcommittees of the Committees on

the Judiciary, 78th Cong., 1st and 2nd Sess.,

is Den rE een ett ere ere yo
Si. 190K, THs Com, Tat Bethe soci evccsecsanves
H. R. Rep. No. 68, 79th Cong., 1st Sess. (1945).....
H. R. Rep. No. 143, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. (1945)...
H. R. Rep. No. 213, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. (1945)...
Sen. Rep. No. 20, 79th Cong., Ist Sess. (1945).....
Sen. Rep. No. 1112, 78th Cong., 2nd Sess. (1944)...

a owe wo oo

wowowroveo eon eS

MISCELLANEOUS:

Clark and Samenow, The Summary Judgment, 38

Wake Fe Bee Ce io ka hee soe ebes cidinesnes 16
10 Fed. Rules Service (1948) (Amendments)

SOV ERC is ok ow chide hen esexianee nese 16
3 Moore, Federal Practice, (1938) Sec. 56.04...... 16
Proceedings, National Ass’n. of Insurance Com-

missioners, 77th Sess. (1946) pp. 212, 353-421... 14

3 Ark. L. Rev. 55, 61 (1948-1949) ..............66. 8, 14
OT Cad. Eee. TEA IE is cvs ke Ae dd vise tvcuen 8, 14
SB Gan. Ts 5. OS CI a vc ce dcdviediadevssaviecss 6

No. 178

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1950

s

Tue Nortu Lirtitze Rock TRaNnspPorta-
TIoN Company, Inc.,
Petitioner,
versus .
CasuaLty Recrprocat ExcHancg,

et al.,
Respondents.

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS NATIONAL BUREAU OF

CASUALTY UNDERWRITERS, AETNA CASUALTY

& SURETY CO., ET AL., IN OPPOSITION TO PETI.-
TION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Statement

This is an action for treble damages and injunctive
relief, based upon an alleged violation of Section 1 of the
Sherman Act. The case was commenced on August 17, 1948
by the filing of a summons and complaint. Petitioner
thereafter, and before joinder of issue, conducted explora-
tory examinations of varivus persons to determine whether
its complaint should be amended (R. 26-150). The complaint
was not amended.

The verified answer of these respondents, in addition to
admissions and denials, contained a separate and complete

a
2

affirmative defense. All parties thereafter agreed upon the
truth of the facts contained in that affirmative defense,
together with certain additional facts (R. 15, 25, 151-155).
Virtually all the facts are matters of public record (R. 225).

The Insurance Commissioner of Arkansas, by the At-
torney General of that State, intervened on February 11,
1949. The Commissioner upheld the conduct and legal
contentions of the respondents and asked for dismissal of
the complaint (R. 24, 25).

Motions by the respondents for summary judgment were
argued before the District Court on February 15, 1949, on
which date the Court also held a pre-trial hearing. The
Court found that there was no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that all such facts were before the Court.
The Court framed the legal questions and ordered the sub-
mission of written briefs (R. 219).

On September 8, 1949 the Court granted the motions of
respondents in all respects, stating the material facts and
the reasons for its decision in a written opinion reported
in 85 F. Supp. 961. The Court of Appeals for the Bighth
Circuit unanimously affirmed, its opinion being reported in
181 F. 2d 174.

The Facts

Petitioner is a taxicab company operating in and about
Little Rock, Arkansas. The first-named respondent is the
Casualty Reciprocal Exchange, an insurer transacting the
business of casualty insurance in the State of Arkansas and
elsewhere. The other respondents are the National Bureau
of Casualty Underwriters (an unincorporated association)
and forty-nine casualty insurance companies which are
among its members and subscribers. The Casualty Recipro-
cal Exchange is not a member of or subscriber to the Na-
tional Bureau. Every respondent is authorized to transact
its respective business in the State of Arkansas (R. 221,
222, 16, 19, 25, 155).

TREEPSOE TAI AS SRIRAM LER SA YP RE 4s —

_—_

3

Respondent National Bureau of Casualty Underwriters
(hereinafter referred to as ‘‘The National Bureau’’) is a
voluntary, non-profit, unincorporated association of stock
companies engaged in casualty insurance. It is a ‘‘rating
organization’’; in conformity with law, it secures and
analyses data and thereafter establishes for its members
(and for other insurers subscribing to its rating services)
proper underwriting rules, classifications for risks, policy
provisions and other forms, manual rates, minimum pre-
miums and rating plans (R. 221, 16, 25, 155).

Under the Constitution and Regulations of the National
Bureau, every member and subscriber must comply with
its determinations except (a) when such compliance is
established to be in violation of law, or (b) when such
insurer is ordered or permitted to act otherwise by public
governmental authority duly empowered by law to issue
such order or permission. Upon proper application, any
stock company engaged in casualty insurance may become
a member of the National Bureau. Any insurer engaged
in such insurance may become a subscriber and under
National Bureau Regulations it must receive rating services
without discrimination. However, only members may vote
in Bureau meetings and be represented on Bureau com-
mittees (R. 222, 16, 25, 155).

Pursuant to applicable law, the National Bureau is
licensed and authorized to act as a rating organization for
automobile liability insurance and other kinds of insurance
by the State of Arkansas and by every other State pro-
viding for the licensing of such an organization (R. 222,
18, 25, 155).

From July 24, 1946 to May 16, 1948 petitioner was in-
sured by respondent Casualty Reciprocal Exchange for
automobile liability insurance covering its taxicab opera-
tions. While the permissible loss ratio for such insurance
is 64%, the losses incurred by petitioner during that period
amounted to 136.1%. The Exchange accordingly canceled
its policy effective May 16, 1948 (R. 222, 20, 25, 155).

4

Petitioner sought insurance from three other com-
panies but each declined to accept such a risk. It then
applied to the Arkansas Automobile Assigned Risk Plan,
a cooperative undertaking by all insurers licensed to trans-
act such business in Arkansas, under which each insurer
agrees to accept an equitable number of risks which other-
wise would be unable to obtain insurance. The Plan was
organized in 1947 pursuant to Arkansas laws and with the
approval of the Commissioner of Insurance for that State;
it is similar to other such Plans in other States. Petitioner
was assigned by the Plan to respondent Aetna Casualty
and Surety Company, a member of the National Bureau.
The Aetna accepted the risk and issued a policy effective
May 16, 1948, agreeing with petitioner to receive an initial
premium with the final premium to be computed when
proper rate-making data became available (R. 222, 18, 20,
25, 155).

In order to obtain such data, the Aetna thereafter
requested Casualty Reciprocal Exchange (through its rep-
resentatives, Heart of America Insurance Agency, Inc.) to
furnish to the Aetna a statement of the accident experi-
ence of petitioner under the Casualty Reciprocal Exchange
policies. Such exchanges of rating data are necessary and
customary within the industry in order to enable rating
organizations and insurers to determine rates which are in
accordance with the standards established by law. Certain
incomplete data was furnished to the Aetna by the Ex-
change. In conformity with National Bureau procedures,
the Aetna as a member submitted this data to the Bureau
and requested it to establish a rate for the risk. After pre-
liminary calculations by the National Bureau on the data
submitted, at the request of petitioner the Arkansas Insur-
ance Department obtained and sent to the Bureau what was
stated to be complete information on petitioner’s experience
under the Casualty Reciprocal Exchange policies. On the
basis of that information the National Bureau calculated a
rate for the risk in accordance with an appropriate rating

TAT ERMA ites Beds HSS PLS ST SEGA RNR OR Sg Od EOE

» a

plan, which was on file in the Arkansas Insurance Depart-
ment and was effective in accordance with applicable provi-
sions of law. The precise rate established for petitioner and
the basis of its calculation were filed by the National Bureau
in the Arkansas Insurance Department on or about July
16, 1948 (R. 223, 20, 25, 155).

According to the latest available statistics filed in the
Arkansas Insurance Department, members and subscribers
of the National Bureau write approximately 56% of all
automobile liability insurance written in the State of Ar-
kansas. In addition to National Bureau companies, there
are carriers writing such insurance in Arkansas which are
(a) members or subscribers of the Mutual Casualty Insur-
ance Rating Bureau, another licensed rating organization
similar to the National Bureau, or (b) insurers which are
neither members of nor subscribers to any rating bureau
and write such insurance at rates independently established
by each insurer (R. 224, 19, 155-158).

9]

On or about August 17, 1948 and without further com-
munication with respondents or the Arkansas Insurance
Department, petitioner commenced this action. The com-
plaint describes the foregoing as a ‘‘pattern of action fol-
lowed under a contract or conspiracy between them in
restraint of trade or commerce among the several states’’
and in violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act. Treble
damages and certain injunctive relief are demanded in the
complaint (R. 224, 7, 8).

Summary of Argument

The courts below correctly decided, in accordance with
the decisions of this Court, that:

1. The Sherman Act is inapplicable to cooperative
action among insurers in rate making and related
matters, to the extent that such activities are regulated
by State law;

REMMI EDM AR Tia PIERRE Gay PMO EA TPE AMEE IEEE SOME PMN RY BZ RNY Leg LI

6

2. The acts of these respondents were authorized
and regulated by valid State laws; and

3. The motion for summary judgment should be
granted.

ARGUMENT
POINT I

The Sherman Act is inapplicable to co operative action
among insurers in rate making and related matters, to the
extent that such activities are regulated by State law.

(A) Background of the applicable principles and statutes.

On June 5, 1944 this Court determined for the first time
that (a) an insurance company conducting a substantial
part of its business across State lines is engaged in ‘‘com-
merce among the several States’’ and is subject to regula-
tion by Congress under the Commerce Clause of the Con-
stitution and (b) the Sherman Antitrust Act is applicable
to the business of insurance. United States v. South-
Eastern Underwriters Association, 322 U.S. 533.

While the S. E. U. A. case was pending before the Court,
there were introduced in both Houses of Congress com-
panion bills to exempt the business of insurance from the
Sherman and Clayton Antitrust Acts. H. R. 3270, 8. 1362,
78th Cong., 1st Sess., introduced respectively on September
20 and 21, 1943. See Note (1943) 32 Geo. L. J. 66. These
bills were still being considered at joint public meetings of
House and Senate Judiciary Subcommittees when the
S. E. U. A. decision was rendered. Joint Hearings on S.
1362, H. R. 3269, and H. R. 3270 before Subcommittees of
Committees on the Judiciary, 78th Cong., Ist and 2nd Sess.,
Parts 1-6. On January 18, 1945 Senators McCarran and
Ferguson introduced a proposal by the National Associa-
tion of Insurance Commissioners. After prolonged debate
and substantial amendment, it passed both Houses and was

SRE ARS SR NRE RLU aN SE ERIS METI OME TESA ROR sel tang MERU TE AME 0 OR

7

approved by President Roosevelt on March 9, 1945. P. L.
No. 15, 79th Cong., Ist Sess., Ch. 20, Sees. 1-5 (March 9,
1945) ; 59 Stat. 33, 34; 15 U.S. C. 1011-1015.

The pertinent text of the statute as enacted (hereinafter
referred to as ‘‘The McCarran Act’’) is as follows:

‘‘See. 1. Congress hereby declares that the con-
tinued regulation and taxation by the several States
of the business of insurance is in the public interest
and that silence on the part of the Congress shall not
be construed to impose any barrier to the regulation
or taxation of such business by the several States.

‘*Sec. 2.(a) The business of insurance, and every
person engaged therein, shall be subject to the laws
of the several States which relate to the regulation
or taxation of such business.

‘*(b) No Act of Congress shall be construed to in-
validate, impair, or supersede any law enacted by any
State for the purpose of regulating the business of
insurance, or which imposes a fee or tax upon such
business, unless such Act specifically relates to the
business of insurance: provided, That after January
1, 1948, the Act of July 2, 1890, as amended, known
as the Sherman Act, and the Act of October 15, 1914,
as amended, known as the Clayton Act, and the Act
of September 26, 1914, known as the Federal Trade
Commission Act, as amended, shall be applicable to
the business of insurance to the extent that such
business is not regulated by State law.

*‘Sec. 3.(a) Until January 1, 1948 the Act of July
2, 1890 as amended known as the Sherman Act, and
the Act of October 15, 1914, as amended, known as
the Clayton Act, and the Act of September 26, 1914,
known as the Federal Trade Commission Act, as
amended, and the Act of June 19, 1936, known as the
Robinson-Patman Antidiscrimination Act, shall not
apply to the business of insurance or to acts in the
conduct thereof.

‘*(b) Nothing contained in this Act shall render the
said Sherman Act inapplicable to any agreement to
boycott, coerce, or intimidate, or act of boycott,
coercion, or intimidation.

> ‘ eee Se negic Pests fe My et Rb
ELE LUE CELLS IP MES LORIN OP ATA SHED EE POT IP NYE RUM AE BRONTE aE SN EA

? 7

The moratorium period in the Act, originally to end
January 1, 1948, subsequently was extended by Congress to
June 30, 1948. P. L. No. 238, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. ch. 326,
appr. July 25, 1947.

During and after the moratorium every State and Terri-
tory (with the single exception of Idaho), and Congress for
the District of Columbia, enacted or revised various regula-
tory laws concerning the business of casualty insurance. See
Notes (1949) 3 Ark. L. Rev. 55 and (1947) 47 Col. L. Rev.
1314. As in Arkansas, all of these authorize rating organi-
zations and other cooperative rating activities, under public
supervision. There can be no doubt but that the object of
these statutes was to accept the invitation of Congress
expressed in the McCarran Act, to preserve State regula-
tion and to render inapplicable the Federal antitrust laws.

q (B) Wholly apart from the McCarran Act, rating combinations
4 do not violate the Sherman Act if they are regulated by
: State law; by that statute, Congress expressly declared that
; State regulation of the insurance business is in the public
3 interest, and provided that the States may permit, under
; public regulation, rating combinations and other activities
3 which might otherwise violate the Sherman Act.

| For purposes of the following discussion, we shall as-
sume that the rating activities of the National Bureau are
such that in ordinary interstate industries they would con-
stitute a violation of the Sherman Act. We also shall as-
sume, as we shall hereinafter demonstrate, that the Ar-
kansas legislature has found it to be in the public interest
to authorize such activities under State regulation, and that
no Federal regulation exists in the field.

Under such circumstances, the State-regulated activities
do not violate the Sherman Act. The acts authorized and
regulated by the State are as effective as its acts and the
Federal courts will not impute to Congress an intention
to nullify what the State legislature has determined to be
in the interests of its citizens. Parker v. Brown, 317 U. S.
341; Olsen v. Smith, 195 U. S. 332; Field v. Barber Asphalt

ty
Say,

a
*
3
‘
2
ae
i

———
9

Paving Co., 194 U. S. 618, 619, 624. See also United States
y. South-Eastern Underwriters Association, 322 U. S.
at 562.

The text and legislative history of the McCarran Act
demonstrates that Congress has intended that the States
should have plenary and exclusive power to regulate the
business of insurance. See McCarran Act, Secs. 1 and 2;
Sen. Rep. No. 1112, parts 1 and 2, September 20, 1944, 78th
Cong., 2nd Sess.; Sen. Rep. No. 20, Jan. 24, 1945, H. R.
Rep. No. 68, Feb. 8, 1945, H. R. Rep. No. 143, Feb. 13, 1940,
H. R. Rep. No. 213, Feb. 22, 1945, 79th Cong., 1st Sess.

In exempting the business of insurance from the anti-
trust laws ‘‘to the extent that it is regulated by State law’’,
Congress further intended that if the States determined
that State-regulated rating bureaus and similar activities
are in the public interest, such acts could not be held to
violate the Sherman Act or the other enumerated statutes.*
See 91 Cong. Ree. 1442, 1443, 1481, 1486 (1945).

The right of Congress to permit regulation by govern-
mental authority, rather than by the free forces of competi-
tion is well established. McLean Trucking Co. v. United
States, 321 U. S. 67. It is equally well established that gov-
ernment has a special relation to insurance and that the
business has ‘‘long been withdrawn from the benefits and
caprices of free competition’. Osborn v. Ozlin, 310 U.S.
53, 65.

Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin

The history of the McCarran Act and the legislative
purposes of its enactment were thoroughly examined by this
Court in the case of Prudential Insurance Co. v. Benjamin,
328 U. S. 408. An insurance company protested an annual

*The sole exceptions to the foregoing are boycott,
coercion and intimidation, which are not involved in this
ease (R. 227).

WEAR tiun.t. —
—_ . a Ee

10

tax levied by South Carolina on foreign insurers (but
not on domestic companies) as a condition of being author-
ized to do business within the State. The tax amounts to
three per cent of the aggregate of premiums received from
business done in South Carolina, regardless of its inter-
state or local character. Citing the S. EF. U. A. decision, the
insurer contended that the tax was an unconstitutional dis-
crimination against interstate commerce in favor of local
business. This Court unanimously upheld the tax.

The late Mr. Justice Rutledge traced the winding paths
of the previous decisions, commenting that ‘‘the history of
the commerce clause has been one of very considerable
judicial oscillation’’, 328 U. S. at 420. The authorities
cited by Prudential were distinguished on the ground that
in none of them had Congress acted or purported to act,
either by way of consenting to the State’s tax or otherwise.
The Court stated (Id. at 424):

‘‘None of the decisions conceded, because none in-
volved any question of the power of Congress to
make conclusive its own mandate concerning what
is commerce. But apart from that function of defin-
ing the outer boundary of its power, whenever Con-
gress’ judgment has been uttered affirmatively to
contradict the Court’s previously expressed view
that specific action taken by the states in Congress’
silence was forbidden by the commerce clause, this
body has accommodated its previous judgment to
Congress’ expressed approval.”’

Since there was no contention by Prudential that com-
merce was not involved, the Court would give effect to the
positive expression by the McCarran Act that the ‘‘con-
tinued regulation and taxation by the several States of the
business of insurance’’ is in accord with Congress’ policy.
The court thus rejected the argument of Prudential that the
Commerce Clause ‘‘of its own force’’, and without reference
to any action by Congress, forbids discriminatory State
taxation of interstate commerce.

11

Reviewing the McCarran Act, the Court found that it
was the intention of Congress to ‘‘put the full weight of its
power behind existing and future state legislation to sus-
tain it from any attack under the commerce clause to what-
ever extent this may be done with the force of that power
behind it, subject only to the exceptions expressly provided
for.’’ The Court declared (Id. pp. 430, 431):

‘*Moreover, in taking this action [enactment of the
McCarran Act] Congress must have had full knowl-
edge of the nation-wide existence of state systems of
regulation and taxation; of the fact that they differ
greatly in the scope and character of the regulations
imposed and of the taxes enacted; and of the further
fact that many, if not all, include features which, to
some extent, have not been applied generally to other
interstate business. Congress could not have been
unacquainted with these facts and its purpose was
evidently to throw the whole weight of its power
behind the state systems, notwithstanding these
variations. ”’

South Carolina and Congress had acted in complete
coordination to sustain the tax, the Court noted, and it is
therefore ‘‘reinforced by the exercise of all the power of
government residing in our scheme’’. Id. at pp. 435, 436.
The judgment of the Supreme Court of South Carolina,
upholding the tax, accordingly was affirmed.

Other pertinent decisions of this Court are in accord.
See Robertson v. California, 328 U. S. 440, 457, 462; Pan-
handle East. Pipe Line Co. v. Pub. Serv. Comm’n., 332 U. 8S.
507, 521.

Arguments of Petitioner

Petitioner has assailed the McCarran Act as unconstitu-
tional, principally upon the ground that Conzress has
unlawfully delegated its legislative power to the States.
Analysis of the brief shows that in support of this argument
petitioner relies upon only one decision, i.e., Knickerbocker

12

Ice Co. v. Stewart, 253 U. 8. 149. The Knickerbocker case
and its related predecessors deal solely with the principles
of maritime jurisdiction under admiralty law, and cannot
be cited as authority in any other field. Parker v. Motor
Boat Sales, 314 U. S. 244, 247; Red Cross Line v. Atlantic
Fruit Co., 264 U. S. 109, 124; Davis v. Dept. of Labor, 317
U. S. 249, 252, 255. This was made manifest by the Court
itself in the Knickerbocker opinion, when it disclaimed any
intention to impair the doctrine of Congressional consent
to State legislation as expounded in Clark Distilling Co. v.
Western Maryland Ry. Co., 242 U.S. 311. Noting that the
Clark case was concerned with the power of Congress under
the Commerce Clause, this Court declared (253 U. S. at
166): ‘‘Here we are concerned with a wholly different
constitutional provision [Article 3, Section 2]—one which
for the purpose of securing harmony and uniformity, pre-
scribes a set of rules, empowers Congress to legislate to
that end, and prohibits material interference by the states.”’
The Court was careful to point out that the ‘‘distinction
between the indicated situation created by the Constitution
relative to maritime affairs and the one resulting from the
mere grant of power to regulate commerce without more,
should not be forgotten... . ’’ Id. at 161.

In any event, this Court has declared that no invalid
delegation of power is contained in the McCarran Act.
Prudential Ins. Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U. S. 408, 433, 438.

The only other constitutional argument made by peti-
tioner is that ‘‘Congress cannot suspend a general law for a
period of time except under war powers’’. This contention
is as obscure as it is irrelevant. A hodgepodge of conflict-
ing decisions are cited in the petition (pp. 10-12), most of
which serve only to confuse whatever point petitioner is
seeking to make.

Congress did not ‘‘suspend a general law’’; it rendered
the Sherman Act inapplicable to the insurance business
until June 30, 1948 and inapplicable to it thereafter ‘‘to
the extent that such business is regulatec by State law”’.

——__
13

It is well established, of course, that Congress may grant
any such exemptions from the anti-trust laws, McLean
Trucking Co. v. United States, 321 U. S. 67, 69; Sunshine
Anthracite Coal Co. v. Adkins, 310 U. S. 381, 396; N. Y.
Central Securities Corp. v. United States, 287 U. S. 12.

In enacting the McCarran Act Congress saw fit to keep
alive ‘‘the hand of state regulatory bodies’’ in the matter
of public supervision of a major interstate industry.
Connecticut L. dé P. Co. v. Federal Power Com’n., 324 U.S.
515, 530. We accordingly submit that Congressional col-
laboration of this order, established to implement a policy
determined by Congress in its legislative discretion, is free
from constitutional defect. Prudential Ins. Co. v. Benjamin,
328 U. S. 408; Connecticut L. & P. Co. v. Federal Power
Com’n., supra.

POINT Il

The acts of these respondents were authorized and
regulated by valid State laws.

The lower courts have found and it is uncontested, that
the respondents’ acts of which petitioner complains were
authorized and regulated by Act No. 116, Arkansas Laws
1947 (R. 227, 237).

The Arkansas rating law provides the system of regu-
lation most common in the United States. In broad outline
it provides that:

1. Rates must meet certain standards;

2. All rates must be filed with the State Commis-
sioner of Insurance, who is granted various powers
if rates fail to meet the statutory standards;

3. Companies may combine in rating matters but
only if their organizations for such purposes are li-
censed and supervised by the State.

a
14

Such a system of regulation for various lines of insur-
ance existed in many of the States at the time of the S. E.
U. A. decision and passage of the McCarran Act. During
the moratorium granted by Congress, the National Asso-
ciation of Insurance Commissioners and an All-Industry
Committee met to consider a model form of rate regulatory
law. After months of debate the model law was drafted
and agreed upon (the sole disagreement being with respect
to one word not relevant to this case). It is this model
law which was enacted by the Arkansas legislature and
most other States, and was adopted with varying amend-
ments in almost all remaining jurisdictions. See 47 Col.
L. Rev. 1314, 1321 (1947); 3 Ark. L. Rev. 55, 61 (1949);
Proceedings, National Assn. of Insurance Commissioners,
77th Sess., pp. 212, 353-412 (1946).

The significance of enacting such model legislation will
be apparent to the Court as establishing the reasonable-
ness and legality of the law. Such considerations were
weighed by the Supreme Court of Arkansas in National
Union Fire Ins. Co. v. Dickinson, 128 Ark. 367 at 380, 194
S. W. 254. In upholding the legality of a rating law relat-
ing to fire insurance, Wood, J. declared:

‘But the fact that the method adopted by the Ar-
kansas bureau is modeled after a bill that was recom-
mended by the National Convention of Insurance
Commissioners and enacted into law in several of the
States is a cogeat argument in support of the con-
tention of the appellees that the method of the
Arkansas bureau is not arbitrary or unreasonable.”’

Petitioner makes no effort to support its statement that
the statute violates the State Constitution and the State
antitrust laws. These points were examined and dismissed
by the Courts below (R. 227, 238).

ae

15

POINT III

The motion for summary judgment was properly
granted.

There is in effect in Arkansas a comprehensive rate
regulatory statute enacted by the State with the express
consent of the Federal government. Under that statute
rates charged in Arkansas must not be ‘‘excessive, inade-
quate or unfairly discriminatory’’. Methods of challenging
rates, in addition to the required review by the Commis-
sioner before they go into effect, are provided.

By this action, petitioner seeks to use the treble damage
provisions of the Sherman Act to challenge the legality
of its established premium rate and to be awarded ‘‘dam-
ages.’’ This cannot be done. Even assuming a violation
of the Sherman Act, the rate in effect under the Arkansas
statutes is the legal rate and petitioner is not entitled to
question it in proceedings under the Sherman Act. Keogh
v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway Co. et al., 260 U. S. 156.

In addition to the damages sought by petitioner, the
complaint also prays for certain injunctive relief. This lat-
ter plea is obviously an attempt to have the Federal courts
assume the proper duties and responsibilities of the Insur-
ance Coinmissioner of the State of Arkansas. No such plea
ean be granted. The statute provides adequate means for
the determination and correction of abuses and the Com-
missioner possesses the necessary data and ample powers
to hear and determine any complaint. Any order or deci-
sion of the Commissioner is subject to judicial review in the
State courts. See Section 5 and Subsection 6(d), Section 9
and Subsection 17(c) of Act No. 116, Arkansas Laws 1947.
Federal courts will not attempt by injunction to usurp the
authority and assume the responsibilities of duly consti-
tuted administrative officials. United States Navigation
Co., Inc. v. Cunard S. 8. Co., 284 U. 8. 474; Railroad Com’n

16

of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312 U. 8, 496 at 500, 501; Railroad
Commission of Texas v. Rowan & Nichols Oil Co., 310 U.S.
573, 311 U. S. 615; See Terminal Warehouse Co. v. Penn.
R. R. Co., 297 U. S. 500 at 513, 514.

The answer of these respondents set forth detailed facts
constituting an affirmative defense (R. 15-21). Those facts
describe the nature and pertinent operations of the National
Bureau, the company respondents, the Arkansas Auto-
mobile Assigned Risk Plan, and the exact details of all
dealings between these respondents and petitioner. The
truth of these facts has been attested by the sworn state-
ments of the appropriate officers among these respondents,
has been admitted by all parties, has been attested by the
Arkansas Commissioner of Insurance and has been estab-
lished by the trial court. (R. 23, 155, 25, 221-225). In
addition, a stipulation as to the truth of certain additional
facts was entered into between petitioner and these re-
spondents and filed with the District Court (R. 151-180).
The District Court found that all material facts were in
evidence and that no genuine issue exists as to any material
fact (R. 225).

These circumstances present precisely the type of situa-
tion in which a motion for summary judgment pursuant to
Rule 56 is appropriate. Designed as an expeditious pro-
cedural device to obtain prompt justice for all parties in
litigation, the Rule was intended to be used when there
exists no genuine dispute as to any material fact and only
questions of law are presented. Madeirense Do Brasil S/A
v. Stulman-Emrick Lumber Co., 147 F. 2d 399 (C. A. 2),
cert. denied 325 U. S. 861; Walling v. Richmond ‘'crew
Anchor Co., 154 F. 2d 780 (C. A. 2), cert. deniec 328
U. 8. 870; 3 Moore, Federal Practice, Sec. 56.04 (1938) ;
Clark and Samenow, The Summary Judgment, 38 Yale
L. J. 423 (1929). See also, 10 Fed. Rules Serv., (Amend-
ments) XCVII-XCVIII (1948). It has been specifically
upheld as appropriate in cases under the anti-trust laws.
Intern’l Salt Co. v. United States, 332 U. 3. 392; Associated

17

Press v. United States, 326 U. 8.1; Clark Oil Co. v. Phillips
Petroleum Co., 148 F. 2d 580 (C. A. 8), cert. denied 326
U. S. 734.

Conclusion

The acts of these respondents were in accordance with
statutes constituting due exercise of the governmental
powers of the United States and the State of Arkansas.
Respondents have not violated Section 1 of the Sherman
Act, which is inapplicable to the acts of which petitioner
complains.

In view of the foregoing, counsel for these respondents
respectfully submit that the petition should be denied in all
respects.

Respectfully submitted,

James B. Donovan,
New York, N. Y.

Epwarp L. Wricur,
Little Rock, Ark.

Attorneys for respondents Nationa, Bureau
or CasuaLty Unprerwriters, AETNA CasuALTY
anD Surety Company, AMERICAN GENERAL IN-
SURANCE CoMPpaANy, AMERICAN GUARANTEE AND
Liasmity Insurance CoMPANYy, AMERICAN
Surety Company or New York, Arex InpEM-
nity Company, Assocratep Emptoyers Luoyns,
Bankers InpemMNity Insurance Company,
Carotina Casuauty Insurance Company, THE
Century InpEeMNity Company, CoLumBIA
Casusity Company, CommerciaL CasuALTy
Insurance Company, Commercia, Stanparp
Insurance Company, Tue Connecticut In-
DEMNITY Company, Eactz Inpemniry Com-

PRE ROG AEST ROR G IIS! II LOTR TOES AI! AINE EA ETE to TERNATIONAL,

18

pany, EmMpLoyers CasuaLty Company, Factory
Murvuat Liasmity Insurance CoMPANY OF
America, THe Fiperity anp Casuatty Com-
pany or New York, Fipetity anp Deposit
Company or MaryLand, Firemen’s Funp In-
DEMNITY CoMPANY, GENERAL INSURANCE Cor-
PORATION, GLENS Fauus InpDEMNITY COMPANY,
Guiose INDEMNITY Company, Great AMERICAN
InpeMNITY Company, Hartrorp ACCIDENT AND
InpeMNiITY Company, THE Home INDEMNITY
Company or New York, Lonpon GuaARANTEE
anp AccipeENtT Company, Limirep, Manurac-
TURERS AND MrercHants INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Maryianp CasuaLty Company, MassacHUSETTS
Bonp1NnG AND InsuRANCE Company, THE METRO-
POLITAN CasuaLtTy INsuRANCE CoMPANY oF NEW
York, Nationa AUTOMOBILE AND CASUALTY
Insurance Company, Nationa, Surety Cor-
PORATION, New AMSTERDAM CasuaLTy CoM-
pany, New York Casuatty Company, THE
Ocean ACCIDENT AND GUARANTEE CORPORATION,
Limitep, Pactric EmMpioyers INsurANCE Com-
PANY, PHorenrx InpeMNITyY Company, RoyaL
InpemMnity Company, Service Casuatty Com-
PANY oF New York, Stanparp Accipen? [n-
SURANCE CoMPANY, TRADERS AND GENERAL [N-
SURANCE Company, THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY
Company, THe Travecers InsuRANCE CoMPANY,
Untrep Nationa Inpemnity Company, UNITED
States Casuatty Company, Unirep STATES
Fivetiry aNnp Guaranty Company, ZURICH
GeneraL ACCIDENT AND LiaBiLity INSURANCE
Company, Limitep, CoNsoLipaTED UNDER-
writERS, Highway INsuraNcE UNDERWRITERS.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386417_0251%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
