# Opposition Brief — Sandroff v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2494%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1950
- **Citation:** 338 U.S. 947

## Text

INDEX

Page
Smeaton below. ..... 22.2.2... ncncccccccccccccececcncce 1
EO 9d. i. dace knenccecsheneksenccsdusesssetsucccsess 1
SING BOODIRAOR. .......nnnncncncanccccccsnccccesccoes 2
_ Statutes, regulations, and rules involved-_------.------------- 2
I 6 cd ai aeteGtacustnvewinnnkesbunisd katintdeneels 2
PEMROME,.. cnn nce n nnn ccnw en cce enon ceseccnesocecce 6
cede. ccc hnakuidhac ak snSGhenebneinenessncekonus 17
© Appendix. -............---------------------------------- 18
CITATIONS
Cases:
rh @, Teh GS 10: Os We eeenacancccuscancuscce 11
3 Se F. MEMUOTEND, GON APs TR Bbw ccwncecbacneenncucda 11
4 Glasser v. United States, 315 U. 8. 60.--..-.------------ 8
4 Hyde v. United States, 225 U. 8. 347........------------ 11
4 Sandroff v. United States, 158 F. 2d 623__...-.-..------ 3, 8, 10
4 Thornton v. United States, 271 U. 8. 414._-..--.--------- 8
3 United States v. Austin-Bagley Corp., 31 F. 2d 229, certio-
g Se GUNG A OE, Oa wind vnnicrgncscecesennanssod 16
4 United States v. Karavias, 170 F. 2d 968____--.--------- 17
F. Williamson v. United States, 207 U. 8S. 425__-...--------- 8
3 Wong Tai v. United States, 273 U. 8. 77_...------------- 8
_ Btatutes:
m Criminal Code, Sec. 37, 18 U. S. C. [1940 ed.] 88__------- 2,18
a Emergency Price Control Act of January 30, 1942, c. 26,
a 56 Stat. 23, as amended, 56 Stat. 767; 57 Stat. 566:
4 Pl MibinncusksacbaiWendeeekkuabecsscecuiesecase 18
4 a. is sisal ialhid anna pee apiiedicmih 19
% PA Dbiskektinnadasdsubsanknenes pithnueeksken 19
4 id ko cdinn ineadublinbenananedeas casi 3, 19
3 Judicial Code, Sec. 42, 28 U. S. C. [1940 ed.} 103_.._.---- 11, 18
4 Maximum Price Regulation No. 30, as amended, 7 Fed.
3 Reg. 9732; 8 F. R. 13049:
EE RE Ee UD nbkcecoccnactuasactecucdqndcasuse 3, 6, 19
i Re iian at che GLEE AEARA RCE REED RRRR A ROE 20
SAR OE) SUR canckschbeecesxpeankckeannackne 6, 20
Rules:
tN Se eee re eee 10
rn: 2 oe COUR, nga chicdcnatchincceeesuadae 16, 17, 20

868032—50—1

Gnthe Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OcroBER TERM, 1949

No. 470

Arvin E. SANDROFF AND THOMAS PaPEeR STOCK
CoMPANY, A CORPORATION, PETITIONERS

Vv.
UnitTep States oF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (R. 239-
248) is reported at 174 F. 2d 1014.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was en-
tered on June 1, 1949 (R. 239), and a petition
for rehearing was denied on October 13, 1949 (R.
255). On November 10, 1949, Mr. Justice Reed
extended the time for filing a petition for a writ
of certiorari to and including December 1, 1949
(R. 255), and the petition was filed on that date.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

(1)

2

28 U. S. C. 1254 (1). See also Rules 37 (b) (2)
and 45 (a), F. R. Crim. P.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the indictment charged and the
proof established a conspiracy to make and keep
false records of transactions in commercially
packed wastepaper in violation of the Emergency
Price Control Act of 1942 and the applicable
regulations thereunder, and whether the trial
court’s instructions properly defined the offense
charged.

2. Whether the overt acts alleged and proved
to have been committed in the trial district were
overt acts in furtherance of the object of the
conspiracy.

3. Whether the trial judge’s charge to the jury
was unfair and prejudicial to petitioners.

4. Whether the trial court in imposing sen-
tence acted contrary to Rule 32 of the Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure.

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND RULES INVOLVED

These are set forth in the Appendix, infra,
pp. 18-21.

STATEMENT
Petitioners Sandroff and Thomas Paper Stock
Company, a corporation (hereafter called the
Thomas Company), were indicted under Section
37 of the Criminal Code (18 U. 8. C. [1940 ed.]
88), infra, p. 18, for conspiring with Charles
Ginns, Jacob Moss, and Jack Ginns, none of

3

whom were indicted, to commit an offense against
the United States by violating Section 205 (b) of
the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942, as
amended, infra, p. 19, and Section 1347.10 of Max-
imum Price Regulation No. 30, infra, pp. 19-20
(R. 6-13). It was alleged that between Septem-
ber 25 and November 15, 1943, petitioners and
the co-conspirators conspired that the latter would
keep records of wastepaper sales to petitioners
which would falsely state the price of the paper,
so that they might secure and petitioners might
pay a price for the paper in excess of that per-
mitted by the Emergency Price Control Act and
MPR No. 30 (R. 7, 8).

The evidence at petitioners’ second trial* may
be summarized as follows:

Charles Ginns and his partner, Moss, were
dealers in wastepaper in Detroit, Michigan,
operating under the name of Central Waste Mate-
rials Company (hereafter called the Central Com-
pany) (R. 14, 15). About October 5, 1943,
Charles Ginns received a call from petitioner
Sandroff, the president, ‘‘who dictate[d] the rules’’
of the Thomas Company (R. 124, 125, 107), ask-
ing him to come to Sandroff’s Chicago office be-
cause it would be worth his while (R. 15, 105).

? Petitioners’ convictions on an earlier trial were reversed
for error in restricting the cross-examination of government
witness Charles Ginns in respect of promised or expected
immunity. See R. 240 and Sandroff v. United States, 158
F. 2d 623 (C. A. 6).

4

When Charles Ginns went there with his son
Jack,’ Sandroff said that because of the shortage
of wastepaper he would pay him $10.00 a ton
above the O. P. A. ceiling price for corrugated
paper and $6.00 a ton over ceiling for newspaper.
Sandroff told Ginns to go back to Detroit and
buy paper from all available sources, that the in-
voices should be at the ceiling prices, and that
he would pay cash at the end of each week for the
over-ceiling balance. Charles Ginns_ received
from Sandroff a Thomas Company check for
$1,000 on account, went back to Detroit, and
started buying paper. (R. 16, 17, 105, 106, 107.)

After Crane, one of Sandroff’s salesmen, went
to Detroit to buy paper because Charles Ginns
was not sending enough (R. 21), Charles and
Jack Ginns went to Chicago and complained to
Sandroff, who promised that he would not there-
after send Crane to Detroit (R. 22, 108). At this
meeting, Sandroff had his employee, Mrs. Mc-
Gregor, make up a purchase order for 15 cars
of corrugated paper and 15 cars of newspaper at
ceiling prices (Ex. 2, R. 192-193, 23), but the oral
agreement was reiterated that the balance of the
over-ceiling price would be paid in cash at the
end of the week (R. 23, 24, 109). Charles Ginns
was given a $2,000 advance on this visit (R. 25,
109, 194).

? Jack Ginns bought paper for his father and received 8
one-third commission on business he brought in (R. 64).

eam
5

Charles Ginns testified that his company baled
the paper they bought (R. 14), and that the
shipments to the Thomas Company shown in Ex-
hibits 4 through 12 were of baled paper (R. 37).
He also stated that Sandroff had told him that
it was not necessary to bale the paper, but that
the peddlers could put it directly into the cars
the way they found it (R. 66). Jack Ginns’
testimony was that all the paper sent to the
Thomas Company was baled (R. 123), although
Sandroff had said the paper could be shipped
in any form (R. 117).

The Government’s evidence included a mass of
exhibits of shipping memoranda or invoices with
bills of lading showing that the Central Com-
pany billed the Thomas Company at ceiling
prices (Exs. 4-12, R. 194-195, 34, 35; Exs. 13-21,
R. 196, 35, 36; Exs. 24-34, R. 198-199, 45, 47;
Exs. 35-45, R. 199, 45, 47; Exs. 48-58, R. 200-201,
48, 50; Exs. 59-69, R. 201-202, 48, 50; Exs. 71-77,
R. 202-203, 52; Exs. 78-84, R. 203, 52). The evi-
dence further showed over-ceiling payments in
Chicago by Bert Derdiger, the Thomas Company
office manager,* to Jack Ginns of $1,100 cash on Oc-
tober 18 (R. 111), $1,100 on October 25 (R. 112), and
$650 by check on November 8, 1943 (R. 113, 114).

' 8Derdiger admitted that he was instructed regarding the
payments by Sandroff or Mrs. McGregor; that on several
occasions he went to the bank with Jack Ginns and gave him
eash or turned it over to Sandroff; and that the extra money
paid to Jack Ginns was “around from two to three thousand
dollars” (R. 124, 128, 130).

ce

6

On November 1, Charles Ginns received an over-
ceiling payment of $1,150 by check from Sandroff
himself (R. 51, 202).

The jury found both petitioners guilty (R.
189). Petitioner Sandroff was sentenced to
imprisonment for one year and one day and
fined $10,000 and the corporation was also fined
$10,000 (R. 191). The Court of Appeals
affirmed the convictions (R. 239-248).

ARGUMENT

1. Section 1347.10 (b) of MPR No. 30, infra,
pp. 19-20, provided that ‘‘Every person making
purchases or sales of commercially packed waste-
paper shall keep for inspection * * * com-
plete and accurate records of each purchase or
sale of wastepaper showing’’, inter alia, ‘‘(5)
Prices paid or received’’, and Section 1347.11 (a)
(5), infra, p. 20, defined ‘‘commercially packed”’ as
meaning ‘‘packed in machine compressed bales or
by an optional method of packing where such
method is allowed in the definition of a grade.”’

It is not denied that Sandroff and the Ginns
evolved a scheme to falsify the Central Com-
pany’s records of the prices received from the
Thomas Company for wastepaper sold to it.
Petitioners contend, however, that there was.
neither charge nor proof of a conspiracy involv-
ing commercially packed wastepaper; that the
scheme involved only non-commercially packed
paper not covered by Section 1347.10 (b), supra.

7

They also contend that the trial judge failed in
his instructions to explain that petitioners could
be convicted only if the jury found a conspiracy
to falsify records of transactions in commercially
packed paper. (Pet. 11-23.) ,

The indictment, in pertinent part (R. 7-8),
charged that petitioners, ard the co-conspirators
“did unlawfully * * * conspire * * * to
commit an offense against the United States of
America and the laws thereof, that is to say : to vio-
late Par. (b) of Sec. 205 of the Emergency Price
Control Act * * * and Sec. 1347.10 of Maxi-
mum Price Regulation No. 30 * * *; that the
said defendants and said co-conspirators * * *
did unlawfully * * * conspire to maka and
keep false * * * records of proposed waste
paper sales by co-conspirators * * * to de-
fendants * * *; said defendants and said co-
conspirators * * * well knowing that Sec-
tion 1347.10 of said Maximum Price Regulation
Se = =— he || |
persons making purchases and sales of commer-
cially packed waste paper shall keep correct
records of each such purchase andsale * * *;it
being the purpose and plan of the said defendants
and * * * ¢o-conspirators * * * to make
and to keep records of proposed waste paper deal-
ings between [them] that would falsely, inac-
curately and incompletely reflect the record the

particular grade, quantity and price of the waste
868032—50-——-2

8

paper proposed to be purchased by the said de-
fendants from the said co-conspirators * * *
to the end that said co-conspirators * * *
might secure and defendants * * * might
pay a price for waste paper in excess of that
permitted to be paid and received under the said
Emergency Price Control Act of 1942 * * *
and said Maximum Price Regulation No.
30 * * *,”? We submit that the indictment
was sufficient to charge a conspiracy to make and
keep false records of sales of ‘‘commercially
packed waste paper.’’ It expressly referred to
Section 1347.10 of MPR No. 30 and charged
that the conspirators knew of its requirements
in respect of sales of commercially packed waste-
paper. Obviously, the sales and records referred
to in the other parts of this paragraph of the
indictment were sales and records involving such
paper. It is not necessary to use “‘the same de-
gree of detail in an indictment for conspiracy
in stating the object of the conspiracy as if it
were one charging the substantive offense.”’
Thornton v. United States, 271 U. S. 414, 423.
Certainty, to a common intent, sufficient to iden-
tify the offense which petitioners conspired to
commit was all that was required. Williamson
v. United States, 207 U. S. 425, 447, 449. Cf.
Glasser v. United States, 315 U. 8. 60, 66; Wong
Tai v. United States 273 U 8. 77, 81. The Court
of Appeals properly decided on the former ap-
peal (158 F. 2d 623, 624) that ‘‘the indictment

9

was sufficiently well drawn to embrace the essen-
tial elements of the conspiracy charged” and “‘to
apprise adequately the defendants of the charges
required to be met’’.

Petitioners’ contention that the evidence did
not establish a conspiracy to falsify records of
transactions in commercially packed wastepaper
is based upon the testimony of Charles and Jack
Ginns on cross-examination that petitioner Sand-
roff told them they could ship the paper unbaled
just as they received it from peddlers (R. 66,
117; see p. 5, supra). There was no evidence,
however, that Sandroff directed them to ship the
paper in that form. And as a matter of fact
all the paper involved in the conspiracy was
baled (R. 123; see p. 5, supra). Sandroff must
have known of this from the invoices, and he con-
tinued to make or direct payment of the agreed
over-ceiling prices to the Ginns (R. 51, 128).

The fact that there was no direct evidence of
a formal initial agreement specifically embracing
baled wastepaper does not negate the existence of
a conspiracy to falsify the records of transactions
in such paper. The agreement broadly covered
wastepaper and the very testimony of the Ginns
upon which petitioners rely shows that Sandroff
wanted all the paper they could supply, baled or
unbaled. The subsequent acts of the conspirators
in dealing in baled paper also supports the infer-
ence that their agreement was to falsify the Cen-
tral Company’s records of such transactions. The

10

fact that the original agreement also embraced
non-commercially packed paper does not excul-
pate petitioners.

Neither is there any merit in petitioners’ asser-
tion that the trial court’s instructions did not
point out the necessity of a finding that the con-
spiracy contemplated dealings in commercially
packed wastepaper. The record does not show
any objection or exception by petitioners’ counsel
on this score, as required by Rule 30, F. R. Crim.
P., and it is clear in any event that the instruc-
tions sufficiently apprised the jury that the charge
against petitioners involved only a conspiracy to
falsify records of sales of baled paper. On the
prior appeal, the Court of Appeals directed that
on re-trial, ‘‘the court should explain to the jury
the pertinent provisions of the Emergency Price
Control Act and, especially, should the language
of the pertinent portion of Section 1347.10 of
Maximum Price Regulation No. 30 be read and
explained to the jury.’”’ 158 F. 2d at 630. In
complying with this mandate, the trial court in
its instructions read the provisions of Section
1347.10 (R. 156-157) and the definition of com-
mercially packed paper contained in Section
1347.11 (a) (5) (R. 158). He also explained
what baling meant (tbid.). In addition, the
court also read from the indictment the provi-
sions of Section 1347.10 regarding commercially
packed wastepaper (R. 160). We think the Court
of Appeals was right in holding that the trial

ll

court had complied with its directions on the first
appeal and that the “jury was sufficiently in-
formed that the conspiracy charged related essen-
tially to dealings in ‘commercially packed’ waste
paper”? (R. 241).

2. Equally untenable is petitioners’ contention
that the District Court lacked jurisdiction and
yenue because the overt acts committed within the
district were not in furtherance of the conspiracy
(Pet. 23-25). Overt acts I through V alleged
shipments of wastepaper in furtherance of the
conspiracy from Detroit, ‘‘in the Southern Divi-
sion of the Eastern District of Michigan, and
within the jurisdiction of this Honorable Court’’,
by co-conspirator Charles Ginns to petitioners
(R. 8-10). Though the conspiracy was formed
in Chicago, it was prosecutable in the Eastern
District of Michigan if overt acts in furtherance
of the conspiracy were committed there. See
Section 42, Judicial Code, 28 U. 8. C. [1940 ed. ]
103, infra, p. 18; Hyde v. United States, 225 U.S.
347; Brown v. Elliott, 225 U. S. 392; Gayon v.
McCarthy, 252 U. 8. 171.

It is clear that the shipments in question were
overt acts for the purpose of effecting and accom-
plishing the object of the conspiracy to make and
keep false records so that petitioners might pay
over-ceiling prices for wastepaper. Such ship-
ments were indeed the ultimate object of the con-
spiracy, of which falsification of the Central Com-
pany’s records was an integral part. Without

12

them there would have been no occasion for mak-
ing false records, as the conspiracy contemplated.
As the Court of Appeals said, ‘‘The shipments of
paper were essential overt acts to effectuate the
object of the conspiracy”’ (R. 244).

3. Petitioners complain of three short passages
which they have excerpted from the trial court’s
instructions covering 32 pages of the record (R.
150-182). These objections are frivolous.

First, it is urged that the court’s reading of
Section 1 (a) of the Emergency Price Control
Act. (R. 151-152), with its references to ‘‘prof-
iteering, hoarding, manipulation, speculation, and
other disruptive practices’? (R. 151-152), consti-
tuted ‘‘an appeal to the passions and prejudices
of the jury”’ (Pet. 26). This occurred in the
early part of the charge, when the court was
explaining the statute and regulations involved
in the case. At the conclusion of the charge,
after the court had excused the jury to hear ex-
ceptions (R. 182), petitioners’ counsel objected to
this passage, among others (R. 184). When the
jury was recalled to receive further instructions
as the result of the exceptions made by counsel,
the court adverted to its earlier references to the
statute and explained (R. 185) :

Also, the court explained to the jury cer-
tain passages of the Emergency Price Con-
trol Act. The court did that, because the

court felt that a short background of the
act should be given for a better and fuller

13

understanding of the law by the jurors,
and not with any other purpose in view.

There was no further objection on this score
(see R. 186-187) and it is clear from the whole
context that petitioners were not prejudiced as
they claim.

Next, it is contended that petitioners were prej-
udiced by the court’s references in the main
charge to the Ginns as ‘‘co-conspirators” and to
the criminal liability of a person who knowingly
joins an existing conspiracy (Pet. 26-27). When
these instructions were called to the court’s at-
tention at the conclusion of the charge, the court
agreed that the references to ‘‘co-conspirators’”’
should be corrected and that the instructions con-
cerning a person who joins a conspiracy were
inapplicable in this case (R. 182-183). Accord-
ingly, when the jury were recalled, the court
effectively corrected and clarified its earlier in-
structions (R. 184-185):

In the charge of the court to the jury,
the court referred on a number of occa-
sions to the conspirators, or co-conspira-
tors. The court did not intend to have
the jurors understand that the court has
any preconceived notions that the defend-
ants or either of them have already been
stamped by law as conspirators. I should
have said, and I am instructing you now,
that in each instance where I stated, ‘‘co-
conspirators,”’ or, perhaps, ‘‘conspirators,”’
I should have said, “the alleged, the al-

14

leged conspirators,’ or ‘‘alleged co-
conspirafors.”’

In other words, whether or not they
were conspirators, it is for you, the jury
to say, in your verdict, and not for the
court to determine that fact.

I have also stated to you, during the in-
struction, about a person joining a conspir-
acy after it has already been formed. In
other words, whether persons forming con-
spiracy, and then some outsider then comes
in and, knowing the terms of the con-
spiracy, joins the conspiracy, the court’s
attention has been called to the fact that
the indictment in this case does not charge
a situation of that kind. The indictment
charges a conspiracy was formed, a new,
a fresh conspiracy, and so that any instruc-
tions that the court gave to the jurors with
respect to anyone joining an existing con-
spiracy may be eliminated and forgotten,
and only that portion of the instruction
which the court gave you with reference
to two or more persons forming, by agree-
ment, understanding, and so on, a con-
spiracy to violate a law of the United
States, is the portion of the charge that
the court wishes the jurors and instructs
the jurors to keep in their minds in de-
ciding this case.

Finally, petitioners assert (Pet. 27-28) that
they were irreparably prejudiced by the trial
judge’s action, in the course of his charge, in
asking petitioners’ counsel if it was correct to
state that counsel had admitted that petitioners

15

“violated the provisions of the Regulation,
as disconnected from any conspiracy, but that
they did not agree and conspire to violate the
Emergency Price Control Law under which the
Regulation was written.”’ Counsel replied:
“That is right, your Honor. We never have
questioned that matter, at all. We freely con-
fessed our responsibility, and at no time have we
challenged that.”” (R. 171.) We are unable to
see how this colloquy placed counsel in a “highly
embarrassing position,” as petitioners argue.
Counsel was only admitting what he had admitted
throughout the trial and what the evidence clearly
showed. Rather than being prejudicial, the
judge’s remarks were a reiteration of his earlier
admonition to the jury (R. 161), which he re-
peated just before he asked counsel the question
complained of, that petitioners “are not charged
with the commission of the crime of violating ‘the
provisions of the Regulation; they are not charged
with that. They are not charged with any viola-
tion of any substantive law, but they are charged
with the violation of the Criminal Conspiracy
Statute, of forming a conspiracy to violate.’’
(R. 170-171.) These instructions and the question
to counsel were clearly designed to impress the jury
that petitioners were not on trial for their ad-
mitted substantive violations of the price ceilings,
but could be convicted only if the jury found that
they had entered into a conspiracy with the
Ginns as alleged in the indictment. In the con-

16

text, the incident was helpful to petitioners, not
harmful.

4. Petitioners’ final contention is that the trial
court failed to observe the requirements of Rule
32, F. R. Crim. P., in imposing sentence (Pet.
28-30).

Immediately after the announcement of the
verdict and the polling of the jury, the court
sentenced petitioners. Then, in the presence of
petitioner Sandroff, the court asked defense coun-
sel if he wished to say anything and counsel
replied, ‘‘Not so far as the verdict of the jury is
concerned.’’ (R. 191.) In these circumstances,
we think it is clear that petitioners were not de-
prived of ‘‘an opportunity to make a statement in
his [their] own behalf and to present any infor-
mation in mitigation of punishment,’’ as provided
by paragraph (a) of Rule 32.*| As the Court of
Appeals said (R. 247):

While it would have been in appropriate
conformity with the above rule had the
district judge asked appellant Sandroff
whether he desired to make a statement,
it would appear from his inaction that
Sandroff did not wish to do so. Though
the judge posed the query, ‘‘ Anything fur-
ther?’’, neither appellant nor his attorney

*See United States v. Austin-Bagley Corp., 31 F. 2d 229,
234 (C. A. 2), certiorari denied, 279 U. S. 863, decided before
the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure went into effect,
holding that the trial judge’s failure to inquire whether the

defendants had any reason why sentence should not be im-
posed was not reversible error.

17

spoke up to the effect that Sandroff wished
to be heard or to present information in
mitigation of punishment. We cannot say
that appellant was not afforded an oppor-
tunity to make a statement. There is
nothing to indicate that he was shut off.
Petitioners have no standing to complain that
there was no presentence investigation and re-
port from the probation service of the court, in
accordance with paragraph (c) (1) of Rule 32.
In the first place, for aught that appears, such
an investigation and report may have been made
at the first trial. In any event, the provisions
of paragraph (c) (1) are not mandatory upon
the district courts, for it expressly provides that
such a report shall be made ‘‘unless the court
otherwise directs.’’ United States v. Karavias,
170 F. 2d 968, 971-972 (C. A. 7).

CONCLUSION

There is no conflict of decisions and the case
presents no question which warrants review by
this Court. It is respectfully submitted that the
petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Puiuie B. Pertman,
| Solicitor General.
ALEXANDER M. CAMPBELL,
Assistant Attorney General.
BERT S. ERDAHL,
Ropert G. Maysack,

Attorneys.
JANUARY 1950.

APPENDIX

STATUTES, REGULATIONS, AND RULES INVOLVED

Criminal Code, Section 37, 18 U. S. C. [1940
ed.] 88:

If two or more persons conspire either
to commit any offense against the United
States, or to defraud the United States in
any manner or for any purpose, and one or
more of such parties do any act to effect
the object of the conspiracy, each of the
parties to such conspiracy shall be fined
not more than $10,000, or imprisoned not
more than two years, or both.

Judicial Code, Section 42, 28 U. S. C. (1940
ed.) 103:

When any offense against the United
States is begun in one judicial district and
completed in another, it shall be deemed
to have been committed in either, and may
be dealt with, inquired of, tried, deter-
mined, and punished in either district, in
the same manner as if it had been actually
and wholly committed therein.

The Emergency Price Control Act of January
30, 1942, 56 Stat. 23, as amended (56 Stat. 767; 57
Stat. 566) :

SEc. 2 * * *

(g) Regulations, orders, and require-
ments under this Act may contain such pro-
visions as the Administrator deems neces-
sary to prevent the circumvention or eva-
sion thereof [50 U. S. C. App. 902 (g)].
(18)

19

Sec. 4. (a) It shall be unlawful * * *
to do or omit to do any act, in violation of any
regulation or order under section 2, or of
any price schedule effective in accordance
with the provisions of section 206, or of
any regulation, order, or requirement un-
der section 202 (b) or section 205 (f), or
to offer, solicit, attempt, or agree to do any
of the foregoing [50 U.S. C. App. 904 (a)].

Sec. 202 * * *

(b) The Administrator is further author-
ized, by regulation or order, to require any
person who is engaged in the business of
dealing with any commodity * * *
make and keep records and other docu-
ments, and to make reports * * * [50
U.S. C. App. 922 (b)].

Gao, 205 * * *

(b) Any person who willfully violates
any provision of section 4 of this Act, and
any person who makes any statement or
entry false in any material respect in any
document or report required to be kept or
filed under section 2 or section 202, shall,
upon conviction thereof, be subject to a fine
of not more than $5,000, or to imprison-
ment for not more than two years in the
ease of a violation of section 4 (ce) and
for not more than one year in all other
cases, or to both such fine and imprison-
ment * * * [50 U.S. C. App. 925].

Maximum Price Regulation No. 30, 7 F. R.
9732; 8 F. R. 13049:

Sec. 1347.10 * * *

(b) Every person making purchases or
sales of commercially packed wastepaper
shall keep for inspection by the Office of

a

20

Price Administration for so long as the
Emergency Price Control Act of 1942 shall
remain in effect, complete and accurate rec-
ords of each purchase or sale of wastepaper
rh the following:

(1) Date of purchase or sale.

(2) Name and address of the buyer or
seller.

& Grade of wastepaper purchased or
sold.

® Quantity of each grade purchased or
sold.
(5) Prices paid or received.

(6) Warranties, if any, given or received.

Such records shall set forth separately
the f. o. b. point of shipment price, the
origin and destination of the shipment, the
means of transportation used, the amount
of the transportation charge, and any other
amounts paid or received in connection
with such sale.

Sec. 1347.11 Definitions.

(a) When used in this Maximum Price
Regulation No. 30, the term:
- . = * =

(5) “Commercially packed’’ means pack-
ed in machine compressed bales or by an
optional method of packing where such
method is allowed in the definition of a

grade.

Rule 32, Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:

(a) Sentence. Sentence shall be im-
posed without unreasonable delay. Pend-
ing sentence the court may commit the
defendant or continue or alter the bail.
Before imposing sentence the court shall
afford the defendant an opportunity to
make a statement in his own behalf and to

21

present any information in mitigation of
punishment.
* * * * *

(ec) Presentence Investigation.

(1) When Made. The probation service
of the court shall make a presentence in-
vestigation and report to the court before
the imposition of sentence or the granting
of probation unless the court otherwise
directs. The report shall not be submitted
to the court or its contents disclosed to
anyone unless the defendant has pleaded
guilty or has been found guilty.

©. S$. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1980

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2494%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
