# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sugarman v. California

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2416%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1949
- **Citation:** 338 U.S. 886

## Text

Subject Index

_ Petition for writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court of the

ere eee eee eee eee ee ee eee eeeeeeeeeeeeee

eee ewe eee tere eee eee ewe eee eee eeeeeeeeereeeeee
ee)
eee eee eee esas

ee

Stages at which the due process question was raised ........
| Questions presented by this writ ..............eeseeeeeeees 10
| Reasons for allowing the writ ..............ceeeeeeeeeeees 10
Cases believed to sustain jurisdiction ................600. 12
| Brief in support of the petition for writ of certiorari......

ee ee

: 4 EE GU . ivcccccntscecvestbeesedasboces
OMNI ooo. h iss des aWacxsnurcacaancand nanan 17
' Summary statement of the facts and the issues involved.... 17
| Specification of errors presented by the writ of certiorari.... 18
_ The Supreme Court of the State of California erred in con-
_ gtruing and applying Sections 954 and 1098 of the Penal
Code of the State of California in this case in a manner
_ that would permit the trial en masse of the defendant on a
_ ‘separate and distinct charge of conspiracy with two other
defendants separately charged with separate and distinct
other conspiracies and other offenses, and to place those is-
_ sues before one and the same jury to be tried all at one
_ _ time wherein seventy-five per cent or more of the evidence
was in no way related to the petitioner. Such statutes, as
thus construed and applied, violate the Fourteenth Amend-

_ ‘ment to the United States Constitution.................. 19
~ Cases believed to sustain our specifications ................ 20

q ‘Motion for permission to dispense with the printing of the

eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eeee eee eet eeeeeeeeeeses

Table of Authorities Cited

Cases Pages
Ashe v. United States, 2 Fed. (2d) 785...........0..005. 12, 20
Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427, 87 L. Ed. 1492...... 12, 20
Carter v. Illinois, 329 U.S. 173, 91 L. Ed. 172............ 12, 20
De Jonge v. Oregon, 299 U.S. 353 ... 20... cece eee eee 20
Heber v. Louisiana, 272 U.S. 312 ........... ccc cece eee eee 20
Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750, 90 L. Ed. 1557. .12, 20
Krulewitch v. United States, 93 L. Ed. 6283................ 12, 20

Lisenba v. California, 314 U.S. 219, 86 L. Ed. 1166. ..7, 12, 20, 21

McElroy v. United States, 164 U.S. 76, 41 L. Ed. 355...... 12, 20
Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 108, 79 L. Ed. 791.......... 13, 20
Optner v. United States, 13 Fed. (2d) 11................ 12, 20
People v, Brower, 207 Pac. (2d) 571 ................055. 13, 20
People v. Davis, 42 Cal. App. (2d) 70..................., 20, 21
People of the State of California v. Don Burton, et al., 91
AGA. G17, 906 Pas. (Bd) 2065..... 0... ccc cc cc ceess 16
Pointer v. United States, 151 U.S. 396.................... 12, 20
Wp Cia: SE A, Fe yk hin bicivatae icant ccecicebiseers 12, 20
Resweber v. Louisiana, 329 U.S. 459. ..............0.00005 20
Statutes

New Federal Judiciary Code:

a 3, 16

EE ok A cd Aba he's oR A eipee Kb ks edu bikin a> 4
Penal Code:

Gotten BES nicks ets. 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 18, 17, 18, 19, 20

WE NEE of wiesras sickness caeceace 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 18, 17, 19, 20

Tasie or AutHorities Crrep iii

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment, Sec-
tion 1

Rules

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

oe

OcroBER TERM, 1949
No.
BEN SUGARMAN,
Petitioner,
vs. ,

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
In the Matter of the Application of
Ben SucaRMAN for a Writ of Habeas

Corpus,
Respondent.

y,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
to the Supreme Court of the State of California.

To the Honorable Fred M. Vinson, Chief Justice of
the United States, and to the Honorable Assoctate
Justices of the Supreme Court of the United
States:

Comes now Ben Sugarman and petitions this Hon-
orable Court for a Writ of Certiorari directed to the

2

Supreme Court of the State of California and for an
Order to the Supreme Court of the State of California
to certify the record of that Court to this Court and
to reverse the decision of the Court below denying the
petitioner, Ben Sugarman, a Writ of Habeas Corpus
for violations of constitutional rights asserted under
the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States, and particularly challenges as to the
unconstitutionality of Sections 954 and 1098 of the
Penal Code of the State of California, as construed —
and applied in this case, denying petitioner procedural
due process of law guaranteed by the Fourteenth
Amendment.

The petitioner also asks leave to proceed upon certi-
fied typewritten record sent to the Court below along
with this petition, and in respect to these matters
your petitioner, Ben Sugarman, respectfully shows
as follows: ;

OPINION BELOW.

There was no opinion written by the Supreme Court
of California in this case.

The petition before the Supreme Court of the State
of California was denied—two Justices dissenting, to-
wit, Justices Jesse W. Carter and B. Rey Schauer.
The Attorney General of California also stipulated
before the Supreme Court that the questions raised
herein under the Federal Constitution were of funda-
mental importance.

3

JURISDICTION.

Jurisdiction is conferred by Section 2101 New Fed-
eral Judiciary Code and by Rule 38% jRules of the
Supreme Court of the United States.

The petitioner first filed his application for a Writ
of Habeas Corpus in the {Superior Court of the State
of California in and for the County of San Joaquin,
on June 9, 1949. That Court denied the hearing
without opinion on said date. On June 10, 1949, the
petitioner filed a Writ of Habeas Corpus in the Dis-
trict Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District, State
of California, which petition was denied by that Court
on June 15, 1949. Petitioner thereafter, on July 1,
1949, filed a petition for a Writ of Habeas Corpus in
the Supreme Court of the State of California, which
petition was denied on July 14, 1949, the Supreme
Court of California having considered the said peti-
tion on all of the federal grounds asserted first in. the
Superior Court of the State of California in and for
the County of San Joaquin, and again in the District
Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District, State of
California, and again in the Supreme Court. Justices
Jesse W. Carter and B. Rey Schauer both voted for a
hearing in the Supreme Court.

This petition is filed within 90 days of the said de-
nial as provided by Rule 3844 Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States.

In each of the petitions there was a challenge to
the constitutionality of Section 954 and 1098 of the
Penal Code of the State of California, as construed

4

and applied in this case, under the Federal Constitu-
tion, to-wit, under the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States. There was also a
challenge as to the invidious treatment in which the
petitioner was singled out. The challenge was denied
by the California Court, two justices dissenting.

This is a companion case to Ben Sugarman vs. The
People of the State of California from the Third
Appellate District.

Because all of the questions in the direct appeal
from the judgment itself were not asserted under the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States, those questions were again reasserted
on the Habeas Corpus proceedings herein and the
entire record of the case of People vs. Ben Sugarman
was made a part of the record of this proceeding in
each of the applications for the Writ of Habeas
Corpus before the State of California. Therefore, the
State of California has squarely passed upon each
and all of the issues under the challenge that the
petitioner’s rights under the Fourteenth Amendment
to the Constitution of the United States were asserted
in the State of California and denied by that Court.

Jurisdiction, therefore, is conferred under the New
Judiciary Code, Section 2102, and by Rule 38% of the
Supreme Court of the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
INVOLVED.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of
the United States, Section 1, provides as follows:

‘¢All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,
are citizens of the United States and of the State
wherein they reside. No State shall make or en-
force any law which shall abridge the privileges
or immunities of citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.”’

Section 954 of the Penal Code of California provides
as follows:

‘‘ An indictment, information, or complaint may
charge two or more different offenses connected
together in their commission, or different state-
ments of the same offense or two or more differ-
ent offenses of the same class of crimes or offenses
under separate counts, and if two or more indict-
ments or informations are filed in such cases the
court may order them to be consolidated. The
prosecution is not required to elect between the
different offenses or counts set forth in the in-
dictment or information, but the defendant may
be convicted of any number of the offenses
charged, and each offense upon which the de-
fendant is convicted must be stated in the verdict;
provided, that the court in the interest of justice
and for good cause shown, may, in its discretion,
order that the different offenses or counts set
forth in the indictment or information be tried

6

separately, or divided into two or more groups
and each of said groups tried separately. A ver-
dict of acquittal of one or more counts shall not
be deemed or held to be an acquittal of any other
count.”’

Section 1098 of the Penal Code of California provides
as follows:

‘“‘When two or more defendants are jointly
charged with any public offense, whether felony
or misdemeanor, they must be tried jointly, un-
less the court order separate trials. In ordering
separate trials, the Court in its discretion may
order a separate trial as to one or more defend-
ants, and a joint trial as to the others, or may
order any number of the defendants to be tried at
one trial, and any number of the others at differ-
ent trials, or may order a separate trial for each
defendant. If the defendants are tried jointly, the
state and the defendants shall be entitled to the
number of challenges prescribed by Section 1070
of this code, which challenges on the part of the
defendants must be exercised jointly. Each de-
fendant shall also be entitled to five additional
challenges which may be exercised separately ; the
state shall also be entitled to additional challenges
equal to the number of all the additionai separate
challenges allowed the defendants.’’

~" SUMMARY STATEMENT OF THE FACTS.
As all of the facts surrounding the case are set out
in the Statement of Facts in the Petition for the
Writ of Certiorari from the judgment in the District

7

Court of Appeal, State of California, we readopt that
statement by reference as though fully set forth here.

In addition thereto, however, we set out the pro-
cedure and our reasons for seeking a writ of habeas
corpus.

The petitioner, Ben Sugarman, was sentenced -to
the State Prison under the judgment of the District
Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District, from which
we sought a writ of certiorari. Since the Supreme
Court of California did not pass upon the issues here,
nor did the Third Appellate District pass upon the
issues under the challenge of unconstitutionality of the
statute itself, and since we wanted to present every
phase of the issue of unconstitutionality under the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States, we sought in this case, as we did in
Ttsenba v. California, 314 U.S. 166, a writ of habeas
corpus to challenge the constitutionality of Sections
954 and 1098 of the Penal Code of the State of Cali-
fornia as construed and applied in this case.

We not only challenge the constitutionality of the
statutes as construed and applied, but we also chal-
lenge the trial as being unfair under the construction
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of
the United States under the facts of this case, and
also that the defendant was singled out for invidious
treatment by the State of California, in violation of
due process of law guaranteed by the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.

We presented the issues to the State of California
as to whether a person charged individually with an

individual crime or offense and a conspiracy with
another individual may be tried en masse before the
same jury with other persons separately charged
with separate conspiracies and separate crimes.

We have found no case that holds that such proee-
dure and proceedings is due process of law within the
United States; and, for the first time a State Court
has held that joinder of parties may be had, although
the defendants are separately accused of separate al-
leged crimes and offenses. Thus, the accused herein
had to sit through a prolonged trial in which 75% or
more of the evidence was against other defendants
on other charges. This procedure and proceeding was
challenged in the highest Court of the State of Cali-
fornia as being in violation of due process of law,
which guarantees to every accused in the United States
a fair trial by proper American standards. This chal-
lenge was denied by the highest Court of the State of
California, Justices Jesse W. Carter and B. Rey
Schauer, however, voting for hearing.

The Attorney General of the State of California
recognized the importance of the fundamental ques-
tions herein and stipulated that they were of funda-
mental importance and should be decided by a high
Court.

The petition became highly controversial in Cali-
fornia, various district attorneys opposing any deci-
sion or hearing on the matter and various public
defenders, who represent indigent defendants, urging
the hearing on the ground that it would affect a large
number of persons they represent.

The record of the trial Court in the trial itself was
placed in evidence in this habeas corpus case by refer-
ence and is before this Court, having been filed in the
proceedings of Ben Sugarman vs. People of the State
of California, in the appeal from the judgment.

Thus, every remedy in the State of California has
been exhausted both directly from the judgment and
by habeas corpus attack, and both Sections 954 and
1098 of the Penal Code of the State of California
have been challenged as unconstitutional under the
Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States and that challenge denied by the highest
Court of the State of California, two justices voting
for a hearing and the Attorney General of the State
agreeing that the question is one of fundamental im-
portance.

STAGES AT WHICH THE DUE PROCESS QUESTION
WAS RAISED.

The Due Process Question under the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States
in this Habeas Corpus proceeding was first raised in
the Superior Court of the State of California in and
for the County of San Joaquin on June 9, 1949, and
the challenge therein denied by that Court. It was
again raised in the District Court of Appeal, Third
Appellate District, State of California, on June 10,
1949, and denied by that Court on June 15, 1949. It
was again raised in the Supreme Court of the State of
California on July 1, 1949, and denied by that Court
on July 14, 1949, Justices Carter and Schauer voting

for the issuance of the Writ of Habeas Corpus.

10

QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THIS WRIT.
I.

Wuerner Sections 954 anp 1098 oF THE PENAL
Cope oF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, AS CONSTRUED AND
APPLIED IN THis CasE, PERMITTING Mass TRIALS OF
DEFENDANTS SEPARATELY CHARGED WITH DIFFERENT
OFFENsSEs TO BE TRIED BEFORE ONE AND THE SAME
Jury En Masse Vio.atTes Dug Process or Law Guak-
ANTEED BY THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE
CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATEs.

II.

WHETHER SucH PROCEDURE AND PROCEEDINGS ViOo-
LATE A Farr TRIAL GUARANTEED BY THE FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED
STaTEs,

IIT.

WHETHER THE PETITIONER BEN SvuGaARMAN Was
DENIED THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE Laws GuaR-
ANTEED BY THE F‘OURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE CON-
STITUTION OF THE Untrep States IN THat He Was
SrInGLED Out For Invipious TREATMENT BY THE STATE
oF CALIFORNIA.

REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT.

This case involves fundamental questions of crim-
inal law and procedure affecting that fundamental
concept which is inherent and at the base of all of our
institutions and must govern all of the States of the
United States.

il

The fundamental question in this case is whether in
the United States of America there can constitutionally
be a mass trial in any state before the same jury of
separate conspiracies, separately stated, and separate
offenses against separate individuals, separately
stated, all combined in one trial before the same jury;
and, whether such procedure ts so offensive to due
process of law as to require reversal of the judgments
below?

This case also involves the question whether a State
may single out an individual for invidious treatment
and unfair trial as was done tn this case?

This Court has been solicitous of the rights of per-
sons accused of crime to receive fair trial and to be
tried in accordance with humane and ethical standards
of justice which inhere in the base of our institutions.
We have set an example and are trying to set an
example for the world of proper and humane and fair
conduct in such trials. The present trial denied that
conduct and raised legal questions as to the right to try
multiple conspiracies before the same jury in any
State of the United States.

This Court is now called upon to pass on whether
such procedure is due process in the United States.

The matter is of great importance in the administra-
tion of justice in the United States. It was recognized
as such by the Public Defenders of the State of Cali-
fornia—both of Los Angeles and of San Francisco—
who urged the California Court to pass squarely upon
these issues which may largely affect a great number
of poor persons who could all be herded together and

12

consolidated into one trial. Various District Attorneys
of the State thought it was proper procedure and they
controversially opposed such a determination, since
under the Ruling of the California Court they could
now proceed en masse against many persons before one
jury. The importance of the question was recognized
by the Attorney General of the State of California—
the highest non-judicial officer of the state—who stipu-
lated that the questions involved were of fundamental
importance and should be determined by a high Court.

We think, therefore, that this Honorable Court
should grant a hearing herein and determine the limits
to which a State may go in trying persons en masse
before one jury.

CASES BELIEVED TO SUSTAIN JURISDICTION.

Pointer v. United States, 151 U.S. 396, 399, 404;

Optner v. United States, 13 Fed. (2d) 11, 12;

Ashe v. United States, 2 Fed. (2d) 735;

Krulewttch v. United States, 93 L.Ed. 623;

Re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257;

Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750, 90
L.Ed. 1557;

MoElroy v. United States, 164 U.S. 76, 41 L.Ed.
355 5

Carter v. Illinots, 329 U.S. 173, 91 L.Ed. 172;

Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427, 87 L.Ed.
1492;

Tisenba v. California, 314 U.S. 219, 86 L.Ed.

1166;

13

Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103, 79 L.Ed. 791;
People v. Brower, 207 Pac. (2d) 571.

Wherefore, for the violation of fundamental and
fair procedure guaranteed by the due process clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of
the United States, and for other reasons set out in
this petition, your petitioner respectfully prays that
this Court issue its Writ of Certiorari to the Court
below, and that it hold that Sections 954 and 1098 of
the Penal Code of the State of California as con-
strued and applied in this case are unconstitutional
and that the defendant was singled out for invidious
treatment in denial of the equal protection of the laws,
guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the Con-
stitution of the United States; that, therefore, the
judgments and each of them as to the petitioner here-
in below be reversed.

Dated, Los Angeles, California,
September 21, 1949.

Respectfully submitted,
Morris LAvVINE,
Attorney for Petitioner.

Max WILLENS,
Of WILLENS AND Bosooe,
Of Counsel.

OcroBER TERM, 1949
‘No.
ag
Ben Svcarman, )
Bias Petitioner,
i. Vs.

' Prortz or THE Stare oF CALIFORNIA,
| In the Matter of the Application of
| Ben Suaarman for a Writ of Habeas
. Corpus,

—~—

= Respondent.
BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

: OPINION BELOW.
_ . There was no opinion below in the Habeas Corpus
| proceedings. The Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus
was denied by the Supreme Court of the State of
| California, without decision on July 14, 1949, Justices
| Jesse W. Carter and B. Rey Schauer voting for the
% g.

16

This is a companion case of the Petition for Cer-
tiorari in the ease of Ben Sugarman vs. People of the
State of California, we give that citation, which is
People of the State of California v. Don Burton, et al.,
91 A.C.A. 817, 205 Pac. (2d) 1065.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

Jurisdiction is conferred by Section 2101 New Fed-
eral Judiciary Code and by Rule 3814 Rules of the
Supreme Court of the United States,

The Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus was filed in
the Superior Court of the State of California in and
for the County of San Joaquin, pursuant to California
habeas corpus proceeding on June 9, 1949 and denied
by that Court on that date. On June 10, 1949, the
petition for writ of habeas corpus was filed in the
District Court of Appeal, Third Appellate District,
State of California, and denied by that Court on June
15, 1949.

The Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus was then
filed in the Supreme Court of the State of California
on July 1, 1949, and denied by that Court on July
14, 1949, two justices, Jesse W. Carter and B. Rey
Schauer, voting for a hearing. The Attorney General
of the State of California, being the highest non-
judicial officer of the State, also stipulated that the
questions raised herein were of fundamental im-
portance.

Petition for Certiorari is being filed in this Court
within the 90 days permitted by the Statutes.

17

STATUTES INVOLVED.
The Statutes are set out in the petition ante.

SUMMARY STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND THE
ISSUES INVOLVED.

The facts which lead to the petition for certiorari
in the case itself are set out in the Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari in the case of Ben Sugarman vs.
People of the State of California, and are therefore
incorporated herein by reference. However, in this
Habeas Corpus proceeding before this Court we set
out that the defendant was placed upon trial upon a
separate conspiracy, while other conspiracies sepa-
rately charged, against two codefendants and other
separate and distinct crimes charged against said co-
defendants were all joined and linked in the same
indictment and tried before the same jury; that 75%
or more of the evidence in the case was wholly unre-
lated to this defendant involving separate charges and
separate conspiracies against separate defendants and
at different times and against different alleged victims.
This is undenied in any return.

The Petition for the Writ also asserts that Sections
954 and 1098 of the Penal Code permitting such a pro-
cedure, as thus construed and thus applied, is uncon-
stitutional and in violation of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment to the Constitution of the United States. That
mass trials as such ought not to be permitted in the
United States.

18

SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS PRESENTED BY THE
WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

(1) The Supreme Court of the State of California
erred in construing and applying Sections 954 and
1098 of the Penal Code of the State of California in
this case in a manner that would permit the trial
en masse of the defendant on a separate and distinct
charge of conspiracy with two other defendants sep-
arately charged with separate and distinct other con-
spiracies and other offenses, and to place those issues
before one and the same jury and be tried all at one
time wherein seventy-five per cent or more of the
evidence was in no way related to the petitioner.

(2) The Supreme Court of the State of California
erred in holding that such a procedure and proceeding
constituted fair trial guaranteed by the Fourteenth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States.

(3) The defendant was singled out for invidious
treatment by the State of California since in all other
cases heretofore it was held that such procedure is not
permitted.

19

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA ERRED
IN CONSTRUING AND APPLYING SECTIONS 954 AND 1098
OF THE PENAL CODE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN
THIS CASE IN A MANNER THAT WOULD PERMIT THE
TRIAL EN MASSE OF THE DEFENDANT ON A SEPARATE
AND DISTINCT CHARGE OF OONSPIRACY WITH TWO
OTHER DEFENDANTS SEPARATELY CHARGED WITH SEP-
ARATE AND DISTINCT OTHER CONSPIRACIES AND OTHER
OFFENSES, AND TO PLACE THOSE ISSUES BEFORE ONE
AND THE SAME JURY TO BE TRIED ALL AT ONE TIME
WHEREIN SEVENTY-FIVE PER CENT OR MORE OF THE
EVIDENCE WAS IN NO WAY RELATED TO THE PETI-
TIONER. SUCH STATUTES, AS THUS CONSTRUED AND
APPLIED, VIOLATE THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT TO

THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

It is highly important that this Court grant a hear-
ing to determine the fundamental issues of criminal
law and procedure involving due process within the
United States as raised by this case. The Attorney
General of California, being the highest non-judicial
officer of the State, recognized the importance of this
issue and urged that it be judicially determined.
Various public defenders of the State of California
did likewise. District Attorneys of different counties
opposed such a hearing as they wanted the law to re-
main as now construed by the highest Court of the
State of California.

Thus, the fundamental question in this case ought to
be determined by this Court, namely, whether a State
may, under the concept of due process of law guar-
anteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion of the United States, adopt such unfair trial pro-
cedure and practice as to result in unfair trial from
mass trials of a person accused with other persons in

one conspiracy where other persons are charged in
other and separate and distinct conspiracies.

In this Habeas Corpus proceeding, we specifically
challenge the constitutionality of Sections 954 and
1098 of the Penal Code of California as construed and
applied in this case, and the highest Court of the State
of California denied our challenge.

CASES BELIEVED TO SUSTAIN OUR SPECIFICATIONS.

Pointer v. United States, 151 U.S. 396, 399, 404;

Optner v. United States, 13 Fed. (2d) 11, 12;

Ashe v. United States, 2 Fed. (2d) 735;

Krulewitch v. United States, 93 L.Ed. 623;

Re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257;

Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750, 90
L.Ed. 1557 ;

McElroy v. United States, 164 U.S. 76, 41 L.Ed.
355 ;

Carter v. Illinois, 329 U.S. 173, 91 L.Ed. 172;

Buchalter v. New York, 319 U.S. 427, 87 L.Ed.
1492;

Resweber v. Louisiana, 329 U.S. 459;

Tisenba v. California, 314 U.S. 219, 86 L.Ed.
166;

Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103, 79 L.Ed. 791;

De Jonge v. Oregony299 U.S. 353;

Heber v. Louisiana, 272 U.S. 312;

People v. Davis, 42 Cal. App. (2d) 70;

People v. Brower, 207 Pac. (2d) 571.

ae

In People v. Davis, 42 Cal. App. (2d) 70 at 75, it is

stated :
‘every case that we have found involving a situa-
tion similar to that here presented has resulted
in a reversal on the ground that error was preju-
dicial. (Brimie v. United States, 200 Fed. 726
[119 C.C.A. 170] ; Coco v. United States, 289 Fed.
33; Callahan v. United States, 299 Fed. 172;
Zedd v. United States, 11 Fed. (2d) 96; Castellins
v. Umted States, 64 Fed. (2d) 636; Cutjak v.
United States, 53 Fed. (2d) 554.) There is a good
discussion of the various types of factual situa-
tions that may be presented in United States v.
Ashe, 2 Fed. (2d) 735, 738.”’

Except for the fact that we specifically challenge
the constitutionality of the Statutes in this proceeding,
as construed and applied, and the fact that the case
was thus presented to the highest Court of the State
of California (the Supreme Court of the State of
California) our basic argument throughout this case
is identical with that of our Petition for Certiorari
in the case of People vs. Sugarman from the judg-
ment itself. Therefore, in the interest of economy of
time and the convenience of the Court, we adopt by
reference here all the arguments presented in that
petition as though fully set forth herein.

The questions in each of the cases are substantial
and the two cases should no doubt be heard together
and consolidated as were the appeals from the judg-
ment in the case of Insenba v. California and from the
habeas corpus proceeding in that case (314 U.S. 219,
86 L.Ed. 1492).

Wherefore, the petitioner prays that this Honorable
Court grant the writ of certiorari and reverse the —
judgments of the Court below. :

Dated, Los Angeles, California,

September 21, 1949.
Respectfully submitted,
Morris LAvVINe,
Attorney for Petitioner,

Max WILLENs,
Of WILLENS AND Bosooe,
Of Counsel.

In the Supreme Court

Rnited States

OcroBER TERM, 1949

No.

Ben Sucarman, )
4 Petitioner,
, Vs.

"Prope OF THE StaTe OF CALIFORNIA,
_ In the Matter of the Application of
_ Ben Sugarman for a Writ of Habeas
_ Corpus,

Respondent.

MOTION FOR PERMISSION TO DISPENSE WITH THE
PRINTING OF THE RECORD.

_ Comes now, the petitioner Ben Sugarman and moves
this Honorable Court to dispense with the printing of
ithe record on the Petition for Certiorari and on the
hearing thereof. The typewritten certified copy of the
‘record has been furnished to this Court.

24

The petitioner is in prison at San Quentin, Cali-
fornia and therefore requests the dispensing of the
costs in connection with the printing of the record.

Dated, Los Angeles, California,

September 21, 1949.
Morris LavVINE,
Attorney for Petitioner,

Max WIENS,
Of WILLENS AND Bosoor,
Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2416%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
