# Opposition Brief — Beets v. Hunter

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2309%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1949
- **Citation:** 338 U.S. 832

## Text

INDEX

CITATIONS

Cases:
American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville Railway Co., 148
U. S. 872

Aspen Mining and Smelting Co. v. Billings, 150 U. S. 31____
Bostwick ¥. Brinkerhoff, 106 U. 8. 3.
Fleming v. Borders, 165 F. 2d 101
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. @ Co., 240 U. 8. 251_
Hunter v. Thomas, 173 F. 2d 810
Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing Scale Co., 261 U. 8. 399__._
Statutes:
28 U. 8. C. (1946 ed.) 230
28 U. 8. C. (1948 rev.) 2107
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure :
Rule 59. ,
Rule 78, F. R. Civ. P., as amended Deecmber 27, 1946, but
not effective until March 1948, 329 U. S. 866, 875_...___
Miscellaneous :
Robertson and Kirkham Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court
of the United States, § 119, pp. 208-210_

858811—49

e- fF BPD FARAH AHe H

Yuthe Supreme Gourtof the United States

OocrospER TERM, 1949

No. 241

Ben L. BEETS, PETITIONER
v.

Water A. Hunter, Wappen, Unirep States
PENITENTIARY, LEAVENWORTH, KANSAS

ON PETITION OF A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

In June 1945, petitioner was found guilty of
rape after trial before a court martial convened
at Darmstadt, Germany, and he was sentenced to
life imprisonment. His sentence was later re-
duced, first to 30 and then to 18 years’ imprison-
ment, by orders of the Secretary of War (R. 11-
12). The present proceeding arose upon a peti-
tion for a writ of habeas corpus filed by peti-
tioner in the District Court for the District of
Kansas challenging the validity of his conviction
(R. 5-10). A hearing was held on January 21
and 22, 1948, at which petitioner testified and
adduced the testimony of three other witnesses,

(1)

Me ee

2

and respondent introduced the record of the
court-martial proceedings (R. 86-140). At the
conclusion of the hearing the District Court
announced its decision (R. 138-140) and entered

a decree, dated January 22, 1948, adjudging that
petitioner was unlawfully held by respondent and
directing that he be forthwith discharged from
custody (R. 19). Petitioner was released upon
his personal recognizance without surety pending
appeal (R. 19-20).

On January 29 and 30, 1948, respondent filed
a motion and supplemental motion for a new trial
(R. 25-28) and on March 12, 1948, a motion to
vacate the decree of January 22 and to permit
respondent to adduce additional testimony of
persons whose affidavits were attached to the
motion (R. 28-74). The latter motion alleged
surprise in an amendment of the habeas corpus
petition which the court allowed at the opening of
the hearing on January 21 (R. 18-19, 87) and in
the testimony of the witnesses called on peti-
tioner’s behalf, and stated that since the hearing
other witnesses had been located who could give
pertinent testimony negating the evidence under-
lying the court’s findings and conclusions, entered

' January 29 (R. 20-25), that petitioner did not
have the effective assistance of counsel at his
court-martial trial and that the court martial was
influenced by higher authority and consequently
was not free to render impartial justice (R. 28-
38). A hearing on these motions was held on

Oe ne a

3

April 7, 1948 (R. 146-197), upon the understand-
ing that if the court found the additional testi-
mony adduced by respondent sufficient to refute
petitioner’s contentions it would vacate the decree
of January 22 and enter judgment against him on
the whole record (R. 147-150, 191-196). The
court stated at the conclusion of the hearing,
after the government had adduced all evidence
available for a new trial (R. 195): ‘‘And so, the
case is, in effect, retried. * * * what we are
doing here is retrying this case’’ (R. 196). The
court explained that it had adopted this course,
rather than formally setting aside the decree of
January 22 and granting a new trial, in order to
obviate remanding petitioner to respondent’s cus-
tody pending ultimate decision (ibid.; see also R.
148). The cause was then continued to afford
petitioner an opportunity to bring in additional
witnesses (R. 196-197). Thereafter, on June 2,
1948, petitioner filed an ‘‘Opposition to Further
Proceedings in Said Cause,’’ taking the position
that respondent’s motions to vacate the judg-
ment and for a new trial would not lie and that
the time for appeal had therefore expired (R.
84). On December 30, 1948, without any further
proceedings, the court overruled respondent’s mo-
tions (R. 85).

On February 24, 1949, within 60 days from the
denial of these motions (see 28 U. 8. ©. (1948
rev.) 2107), respondent filed a notice of appeal
from the judgment of January 22, 1948, and the

4

further order of December 30, 1948 (R. 86).
Petitioner thereafter moved in the Court of
-Appeals to dismiss the appeals for lack of juris-
diction (R. 201-205). The motion was denied on
May 11, 1949 (R. 206), and it is this action of the
Court of Appeals which petitioner asks this Court
to review.

The order denying petitioner’s motion to dis-
miss the appeal was only an interlocutory ruling
and not a final judgment, since it did not dispose
of the whole case on its merits, Bostwick v.
Brinkerhoff, 106 U. S. 3, 4, and the appeal is still
pending in the Court of Appeals. It is true that
this Court has power to grant certiorari to re-
view interlocutory as well as final decrees of a
court of appeals. Toledo Scale Co. v. Computing
Scale Co., 261 U. S. 399, 418. However, this
power is exercised only in ‘‘extraordinary cases,”
and the fact that the decree sought to be reviewed
is not final may, of itself, furnish sufficient
ground for denial of the application. Hamilton-
Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U. 8.
251, 258. Certiorari should not issue to review an
interlocutory decree of a court of appeals ‘‘unless
it is necessary to prevent extraordinary incon-
venience and embarrassment in the conduct of
the cause.’? American Construction Co. v. Jack-
sonville Railway Co., 148 U.S. 372, 384." Clearly,

1 Robertson and Kirkham, in their work, Jurisdiction of

the Supreme Court of the United States, express doubt as
to the power of this Court to issue certiorari to review “mere

5

there are here no extraordinary circumstances or
matters of urgent public interest such as to jus-
tify an exception to the general rule. If the
Court of Appeals should reverse the judgment of
the District Court, petitioner will then have
ample opportunity to seek review here of the
order of which he now complains, as well as the
merits of his case. In the meantime, he is free on
his personal recognizance granted by the District
Court immediately following its decree of Janu-
ary 22, 1948.

In any event, it is clear from the summary of
the proceedings in the District Court set forth
above that the final judgment of the court was
embodied in the order of December 30, 1948, over-
ruling respondent’s motions to vacate the earlier
judgment and for a new trial. The motion and
supplemental motion for a new trial were filed
within ten days from the entry of the decree of
January 22, 1948 (see Rule 59, F. R. Civ. P.), and
the motion of March 12, 1948, to vacate that decree
was filed within the same term of court and within
the period which would otherwise have been allowed
rulings by the Circuit Courts of Appeals upon motions pre-
sented in appeals pending before them, not going to the
merits of such appeals,” but they argue that “The conceded
power of the Supreme Court under that section [240 (a) of
the Judicial Code, now 28 U. S. C. 1254 (1)] to review inter-
locutory decrees and non-final judgments is to be exercised,
it is submitted, only in the review of such judgments, decrees
or orders as dispose, for the moment, of the whole con-
troversy before the court.” § 119, pp. 208-210.

6

for appeal." The court entertained all these mo-
tions, held a hearing on April 7, 1948, which was
in effect a continuation of the hearing held on
January 21 and 22, and rendered its ultimate
decision (see R. 192), based upon the evidence
adduced at both hearings, on December 30, 1948,
in the form of the order overruling respondent’s
motions, At the hearing on April 7, the court
refrained from vacating the decree of January
22, which it recognized would have been an appro-
priate step as a preliminary to the reopening of
the hearings (R. 148), and as it had the power to
do (Hunter v. Thomas, 173 F. 2d 810, 812 (C, A.
10)), merely as an accommodation to petitioner
so that he might continue to enjoy the freedom
-granted him on his personal recognizance by the
decree of January 22. In these circumstances, an
appeal prior to the final disposition of respond-
ent’s motions would have been premature (cf.
Fleming v. Borders, 165 F. 2d 101 (C. A. 9)),
since the decree had not taken final effect for the
purposes of appeal (cf. Aspen Mining and Smelt-
ing Co. v. Billings, 150 U. 8S. 31, 36).

* Whether the period was at that time three months (28
U. S. C. (1946 ed.) 230) or 60 days (Rule 73, F. R. Civ. P.,

as amended December 27, 1946, but not effective until March
1948, 329 U. S. 866-867, 875).

7

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted.
Puiu B. PERLMAN,
Solicitor General.
J ALExanpDER M. CAMPBELL,
/ Assistant Attorney General.
Rosert 8. Expauk1,

QRopert G. Maysaoxk,

Attorneys.

SEPTEMBER 1949.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386416_2309%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
